# Amicus Curiae Brief — Beckles v. United States (No. 15-8544)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0685%3A11

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2017

## Text

RECORD, ORE
a CTED COpy
gras

No. 15-8644

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Anited States

TRAVIS BECKLES,

Petitioner,
Vv.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Respondent.

On Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals
for the Eleventh Circuit

BRIEF OF THE FEDERAL PUBLIC AND
COMMUNITY DEFENDERS AND THE
NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF FEDERAL
DEFENDERS AS AMICI CURIAE
IN SUPPORT OF PETITTIONER

DONNA COLTHARP AMY BARON-EVANS
SARAH GANNETT Counsel of Record
DANIEL KAPLAN JENNIFER NILES COFFIN
Co Chairs FEDERAL DEFENDERS
BRETT SWEITZER NATIONAL SENTENCING
Member RESOURCE COUNSEL
Amicus Committee 51 Sleeper St., 5th Floor
NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF Boston, MA 02210
FEDERAL DEFENDERS (617) 391-2253
abaronevans@gmail.com

en ee
Wi SON-EPES PRINTING Co..INC. — (202) 789-0086 — WasHiNGTON,D. C 20002

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether the residual clause in U.S.S.G. § 4B1.2(aX2)
is void for vagueness in light of Johnson, thereby
rendering Petitioner’s challenge to his career offender
sentence cognizable under 28 U.S.C. § 2255(a).

2. Whether Johnson has retroactive effect in this
collateral proceeding.
3. Whether Petitioner’s conviction for unlawful

possession of a sawed-off shotgun, an offense listed as
a “crime of violence” only in the commentary to
U.S.S.G. § 4B1.2, qualifies as a “crime of violence”

after Johnson.

(i)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTIONS PRESENTED ...............................
TABLE OF AUTHORITIESG..................0.:::::cc00

IT.

The Career Offender Guideline Creates a
Particularly Severe Punishment That
Has Been Applied To An Overly Broad
Category of Defendants ............................

A. The Guideline Is Harsh.......................
Re
1. Controlled Substance Offenses......
2. Crimes of Violence..........................

C. Prisoners Sentenced To Harsh Prison
Terms Based on Relatively Minor
Offenses Have Been Unable to Get

The Career Offender Guideline Has An
Unwarranted Adverse Impact on African
I a abunes

A. Many Career Offender Predicates
Reflect Disparate Policing Practices ....

B. The Career Offender Guideline Calls
for Punishment That Is Excessive to
Advance Any Purpose of Sentencing ..

Is ritadisinubedsiinttih cuts tacpendasiedicbabaanin

owmww w

10

17

17

18

26
32

iv
TABLE OF CONTENTS—Continued

APPENDIX Page

APPENDIX A: Career Offender Data Analyses la

APPENDIX B: Federal Public

and Community
Defenders

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
CASES Page(s)

Begay v. United States,

Se i OD odiinnticaveriscsssesnveseinesancti passim
Brown v. Caraway,

719 F.3d 583 (7th Cir. 2013)..................... 13
Buford v. United States,

Te SE EE OE ae er 3
Chambers v. United States,

Be ls IED ves ctvssnsonsarnssens 12, 13, 15, 17

Floyd v. City of New York,
959 F. Supp.2d 540 (S.D.N.Y. 2013)......... 22-23

Hawkins v. United States,

706 F.3d 820 (7th Cir. 2013)..................... 17
James v. United States,

a siseunabeabe 14
Johnson v. United States,

) 8s Sf. re passim
Kimbrough v. United States,

ns I cermameiononenene 5
Peugh v. United States,

Oe sos cococdenteusetstoudsins 6
Spears v. United States,

| 8 ERT Cena a 5,6
Spencer v. United States,

773 F.3d 1132 (11th Cir. 2014)................. 13, 17

Sun Bear v. United States,
611 F.3d 925 (8th Cir. 2010),
vacated on other grounds, 644 F.3d 700
Eg eR 12,17

vi
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page(s)

Sykes v. United States,

RY eo sescadindaaeameonions 14
Torres v. Lynch,

Bo rrnenciinasnsesonsdbades g
United States v. Alderman,

601 F.3d 949 (9th Cir. 2010).................0... 15
United States v. Almenas,

553 F.3d 27 (ist Cir. 2009) ....................... 15
United States v. Amos,

501 F.3d 524 (6th Cir. 2007)..................... 16-17
United States v. Archer,

531 F.3d 1347 (11th Cir. 2008)................. 13
United States v. Baker,

559 F.3d 443 (6th Cir. 2009)..................... 13
United States v. Barr,

132 F. Supp. 3d 290 (D.R.I. 2015)............ 7
United States v. Bellazerius,

24 F.3d 698 (5th Cir. 1994)..............00000.... 10
United States v. Booker,

ee cs ss ccsscteneniinpasecwenions 5
United States v. Bureau,

52 F.3d 584 (6th Cir. 1995)....................... 16
United States v. Cardosa,

606 F.3d 16 (ist Cir. 2010)................0000... 7
United States v. Carthorne,

726 F.3d 503 (4th Cir. 2013)..................... 12

United States v. Clay,
787 F.3d 328 (5th Cir. 2015)..................... 6

vii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page(s)

United States v. Corner,

588 F.3d 1130 (7th Cir. 2009),

overruled on other grounds,

598 F.3d 411 (7th Cir. 2010)...........000000.... 5, 16
United States v. Delaney,

427 F.3d 1224 (9th Cir. 2005)................... ll
United States v. Ellis,

815 F.3d 419 (8th Cir. 2016)............0........ 15
United States v. Evans,

576 F.3d 766 (7th Cir. 2009)..................... 12
United States v. Fernandez,

436 F. Supp. 2d 983 (E.D. Wis. 2006) ...... 4
United States v. Fiore,

963 F.2d 1 (ist Cir. 1902)......................... 11
United States v. Flemming,

617 F.3d 252 (3d Cir. 2010).................... 7
United States v. Foote,

784 F.3d 931 (4th Cir. 2015)..............0000... 17
United States v. Ford,

560 F.3d 420 (6th Cir. 2009)............000.0.... 13

United States v. Funk, 534 F.3d 522
(6th Cir. 2008), vacated by 560 F.3d 619

I 5
United States v. Gavin,

2008 WL 4418932

(E.D. Ark. Sept. 29, 2008)......................... 4

United States v. Ghoston,
530 F. App’x 468 (6th Cir. 2013) .............. 16

viii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page(s)

United States v. Giggey,

551 F.3d 27 (1st Cir. 2008) ....................... 12
United States v. Goodpasture,

595 F.3d 670 (7th Cir. 2010)..................... 13
United States v. Goodwin,

625 F. App’x 840 (10th Cir. 2015) ............ 16
United States v. Green,

436 F.3d 449 (4th Cir. 2006)..................... 5
United States v. Haste,

292 F. App’x 249 (4th Cir. 2008) .............. 17
United States v. Herrick,

545 F.3d 53 (1st Cir. 2008) ....................... 13
United States v. High,

576 F.3d 429 (7th Cir. 2009)..................... 13
United States v. Hollins,

514 F App’x 264 (3d Cir. 2013)................ 15
United States v. Hornyak,

805 F.3d 196 (5th Cir. 2015)..................... 16
United States v. Jarmon,

596 F.3d 228 (4th Cir. 2010)......... Ry ESS 15
United States v. Jenkins,

631 F.3d 680 (4th Cir. 2011)................... 15
United States v. Johnson,

587 F.3d 203 (3d Cir. 2009) ...................... 15
United States v. Johnson,

616 F.3d 85 (2d Cir. 2010)........................ 16

ix

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page(s)

United States v. Knox,

573 F.3d 441 (7th Cir. 2009)..................... i)
United States v. LaBonte,

a ceemubhosneionn 3
United States v. Martin,

753 F.3d 485 (4th Cir. 2014)..................... 12
United States v. Martinez,

602 F.3d 1166 (10th Cir. 2010)................. 16
United States v. Mayer,

560 F.3d 948 (9th Cir. 2009)..................... 16
United States v. McFalls,

592 F.3d 707 (6th Cir. 2010)..................... 12
United States v. McGee,

553 F.3d 225 (2d Cir. 2009) ...................... 7
United States v. McGill,

618 F.3d 1273 (11th Cir. 2010)................. 17
United States v. Mendoza-Figueroa,

28 F.3d 766 (8th Cir. 1994),

vacated, 65 F.3d 691 (8th Cir. 1995)........ 10
United States v. Michael,

576 F.3d 323 (6th Cir. 2009)..........00.00...... 5
United States v. Miller,

721 F.3d 435 (7th Cir. 2013)...........00000..... 16
United States v. Moore,

420 F.3d 1218 (10th Cir. 2005)................. 11, 12

United States v. Moore,
541 F.3d 1323 (11th Cir. 2008)................. 7

x
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page(s)

United States v. Moreland,

437 F.3d 424 (4th Cir. 2006)..................... 5
United States v. Moreland,

568 F. Supp. 2d 674 (S.D. W. Va. 2008)... 9
United States v. Mosley,

575 F.3d 603 (6th Cir. 2009)..................... 13
United States v. Munn,

595 F.3d 183 (4th Cir. 2010)..................... 7
United States v. Newhouse,

919 F. Supp. 2d 955 (N.D. Iowa 2013) ..... 4
United States v. Parson,

955 F.2d 858 (3d Cir. 1992)...................... 11
United States v. Peterson,

629 F.3d 432 (4th Cir. 2011)..................... 13
United States v. Petite,

703 F.3d 1290 (11th Cir. 2013)................. 15
United States v. Posey,

294 F App’x 765 (4th Cir. 2008) .............. 5
United States v. Preacely,

628 F.3d 72 (2d Cir. 2010) ........................ 4
United States v. Price,

990 F.2d 1367 (D.C. Cir. 1993)................. 10
United States v. Rivera,

662 F.3d 166 (2d Cir. 2011)...................... 7
United States v. Rivers,

595 F.3d 558 (4th Cir. 2010)..................... 13

United States v. Rosas,
410 F.3d 332 (7th Cir. 2005)...............0..... 11

xi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page(s)

United States v. Royal,

731 F.3d 333 (4th Cir. 2013)..................... 13
United States v. Schmidt,

623 F.3d 257 (5th Cir. 2010)..................... 15
United States v. Skipper,

552 F.3d 489 (6th Cir. 2009)..................... 15
United States v. Stinson,

592 F.3d 460 (3d Cir. 2010)...................... 15
United States v. Sun Bear,

307 F.3d 747 (8th Cir. 2002)..................... 11
United States v. Taylor,

696 F.3d 628 (6th Cir. 2012)..................... 15
United States v. Tiger,

538 F.3d 1297 (10th Cir. 2008)................. 12
United States v. Vazquez,

558 F.3d 1224 (11th Cir. 2009)................. 5-6
United States v. Welch,

683 F.3d 1304 (11th Cir. 2012)................. 15
United States v. Welton,

583 F.3d 494 (7th Cir. 2009)..................... 5
United States v. Wesson,

583 F.3d 728 (9th Cir. 2009)..................... 7
United States v. Whitson,

597 F.3d 1218 (11th Cir. 2010)................. 13

United States v. Williams,
456 F.3d 1353 (11th Cir. 2006)................. 5,6

xii
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued
Page(s)

United States v. Williams,
537 F.3d 969 (8th Cir. 2008)..................... 12

United States v. Wilson,
562 F.3d 965 (8th Cir. 2009)..................... 13

Vazquez v. United States,
ET PEL INN GP iaiiacceccecessosesnssnnocesenses 6

STATUTES
i a I ccd ovadeiedsennadaseniodiosindenss 8,9
I cc ccnneiinschiieatinniienaenninoninnties 32
ee EE ER LEN pee il
18 U.S.C. § 924(eX2KAMi) & (ii)......... ee.
eh I sicinrnticisnticneencinnicsiabinndincinatalee
ERNE Rar PRES a eee ore
IE icciccsnsisiisuncentanscnteenmneroees
i inepnmatcemneciatbianeie
aetna
GEREN RFE mene ee Teme nee
I on i steadier
I sn rsseerssmsonicesenonoeiins
21 U.S.C. § 955 ....... Slab patiitiainiaensupetilidee sears
ee ID scien con cersanssusrnetopnsesennenntion 16
yO oe) es _.. passim
2B DBC. GODARD) ....1--00ccccrrccecccccccnseee 8

omowreowrweWvsntn @&Fee eo ®

xili

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page(s)
28 U.S.C. § SB4(hM2NB) ................0ccecccesscees 8
eS ere 8

GUIDELINES

U.S.S.G. § 1B1.1, cmt. (n.1(A))................006- 7
eS | nD 28
Seer esa 28
I eikienel 28
lillian 28
U.S.S.G. § 4A1.3(b)3XA), p.s. ........000..ccccee 5
FEET enemies 6, 27
I. § GBB. Ma)AD) ..0.0000000000ccsccccsssceseeeesee 4
U.S.S.G. § 4B1.1, cmt. (backg’d)

4 EMERSON a ee ee ane 10
SERENE S RR rater Nee eee 11
U.S.S.G. § 4B1.2(a)(2) (Supp. 2016)............. 14,17
U.S.S.G. § 4B1.2(b) (Supp. 2016)............... ' 8

U.S.S.G. § 4B1.2, cmt. (n.1) (Nov. 1, 2004).. 16
U.S.S.G. § 4B1.2, cmt. (n.1) (Supp. 2016)...passim

U.S.S.G. § 4B1.2, cmt. (n.2) (2015) «00.0.0... il
U.S.S.G. § 4B1.2, cmt. (1.4)......ccccccccecseceeeeees 14
ee 27

U.S.S.G. app. C, amend. 528 (Nov. 1, 1995) .. 10

U.S.S.G. app. C, amend. 651
Pe SE Widccindhrsdioadaniosanpitiinisivovhesiiiiiannbica 5

x1V
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued
Page(s)
U.S.S.G. app. C, amend. 674 (Nov. 1, 2004) .. 16

OTHER AUTHORITIES
58 Fed. Reg. 67,522 (Dec. 21, 1993)............. 11
128 Cong. Rec. 26,517-18 (Sept. 30, 1982).. 11

All Things Considered, To Reduce Bias,
Some Police Departments Are Rethinking
Traffic Stops (NPR radio broadcast
July 25, 2016), transcript available at
http://www.npr.org/templates/transcript/

transcript.php?storyld=486945181.......... 25
Amy Baron-Evans & Kate Stith, Booker
Rules, 160 U. Pa. L. Rev. 1631 (2012)...... 18

Bureau of Justice Statistics, Arrest Data
Analysis Tool, available at http//www.bjs.
gov/index.cfm?ty=datool &surl=/arrests/
IE iilsiccsisiibediicesddaniesiinthieisdanintsces 19

Charles Epp & Steven Maynard-Moody,
Driving While Black, Wash. Monthly,
Be iit tckadchdnntclinsdiadteedeeaieaiiiiionibeswes 21, 24

Daniel S. Nagin, Deterrence in the Twenty-
First Century, 42 Crime & Justice 199

David A. Harris, The Stories, the Statistics,
and the Law: Why “Driving While Black”
Matters, 84 Minn. L. Rev. 265 (1999)....... 21, 24

David Kocieniewski, New Jersey Argues
That the U.S. Wrote the Book on Race
Profiling, N.Y. Times, Nov. 29, 2000 ....... 20-21

xv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page(s)

Dep’t of Justice, Civil Rights Div., Jnves-
tigation of the Ferguson Police Depart-
I i

Emily Green, Huge Racial Disparities in
S.F. Arrest Citations, S.F Chron., Apr.
RERUNS SR GR aR cess lh nore

Frank R. Baumgartner et al., Targeting
Young Men of Color for Search and Arrest
during Traffic Stops: Evidence from
North Carolina, 2002-2013, Politics,
Groups, & Identities (2016), http://dx.doi.
org/10.1080/21565503.2016.1160413 .......

Gary Webb, Driving While Black: Tracking
Unspoken Law-Enforcement Racism,
Esquire, Jan. 29, 2007, www.esquire.com/
news-politics/a 1223/driving-while-black-

Ian Ayres & Jonathan Borowsky, A Study
of Racially Disparate Outcomes in the Los
Angeles Police Department (2008), avail-
able at http:/Aslandia.law.yale.edu/ayres
/Ayres%20LAPD%20Report. pdf...............

John F. Stinneford, Subsidiarity, Federalism
and Federal Prosecution of Street Crime,
2 J. Catholic Soc. Thought 495 (2005) .....

Katherine Beckett et al., Race, Drugs, and
Policing: Understanding Disparities in
Drug Delivery Arrests, 44 Criminology
Ia siti sudan scdingiaaeotscnnrademobntaeians

26

21, 24

20

22

20

xvi
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued
Page(s)

Matthew B. Ross et al., Inst. for Mun. &
Reg’! Policy, Cent. Conn. State Univ.,
State of Connecticut: Traffic Stop Data
Analysis and Findings (2016), available at
www.ccsu.edu/imrp/Publicatona/Files/May
%202016%20Connecticut%20Racial%20
Profiling%20Report.pdf .....................0..004. 24

Matthew R. Durose et al., Bureau of Justice
Statistics, Recidivism of Prisoners
Released in 30 States in 2005: Patterns
from 2005 to 2010 (2014) .............ccccccceeeeeee 30

Nat'l Research Council, The Growth of
Incarceration in the United States:
Exploring Causes and Consequences
(Jeremy Travis et al. eds., 2014) ............. passim

Office of the Public Advocate, City of New
York, Stop and Frisk and the Urgent
Need for Meaningful Reforms (2013),
available at http://archive.advocate.nyc.
IT icnicriniciicthindeuisnastibecsdcadienmienicius 23

Office of the San Francisco Dist. Att’y,
Report of the Blue Ribbon Panel on
Transparency, Accountability, & Fair-
ness in Law Enforcement (2016), available
at http://sfdistrictattorney.org/sites/
default/ files/Document/BRP_report.pdf.. 24

Paul J. Hofer, The Commission Defends an
Ailing Hypothesis: Does Judicial Discre-
tion Increase Demographic Disparity?, 25
Fed. Sent’g Rep. 311 (2013)...........0000.00... 18

xvii
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued
Page(s)

Paul J. Hofer & Mark H. Allenbaugh, The
Reason Behind the Rules: Finding and
Using the Philosophy of the Federal
Sentencing Guidelines, 40 Am. Crim. L.
a REA SE RC a as ee 28

Remarks for Public Meeting, Chief Judge
Patti B. Saris, Chair, U.S. Sent’g Comm’n
(Jan. 8, 2016), http://-www.ussc.gov/sites/
default/files/pdf/amendment-process/
public-hearings-and-meetings/20160108/
aiiciinicencieenssiiscinisnendnnnitabinecseiess 7-8

Rich Morin, Pew Research Center, The
Demographics and Politics of Gun-Own-
ing Households (July 15, 2014), www.
pewresearch.org/fact-tank/2014/07/15/the-
demographics-and-politics-of-gun-owning-
AERTS Aig LER ee eee 19

Robin Shepard Engel & Jennifer M. Calnon,
Examining the Influence of Drivers’
Characteristics during Traffic Stops with
Police: Results from a National Survey,

a Ne i i iccevecccncsscsccsseccscsncsnenes 21, 24

S. Rep. No. 98-225 (1983)..............-.sssssseseeee: 10

Sharon LaFraniere & Andrew W. Lehren,
The Disproportionate Risk of Driving
While Black, N.Y. Times, Oct. 25, 2015 ..passim

xvill
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued
Page(s)

Substance Abuse & Mental Health Servs.
Admin., Results from the 2010 National
Survey on Drug Use and Health, avail-
able at http:/Awww.samhsa.gov/data/sites/
default/files)sNSDUHNationalFindingsRes
ults2010-web/2k10ResultsTables/NSDUH
Tables2010R/HTM/Sect 1 peTabs1to46.htm... 19

U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Estimates of
the Resident Population by Sex, Race, and
Hispanic Origin for the United States,
States, and Counties: April 1, 2010 to July
1, 2015, available at http/Aactfinder.census.
gov/faces/tableservices/jsf/pages/product
view.xhtm]?pid=PEP_2014_PEPSR6H&
aE SI AE RS, 8 NA 19

U.S. Sent’g Comm’n, 2014 Sourcebook
of Federal Sentencing Statistics (2014),
http://www.ussc.gov/research/2015-
sourcebook/archive/sourcebook-2014 ....... 10

U.S. Sent’g Comm’n, Fifteen Years of
Guidelines Sentencing: An Assessment
of How Well the Federal Criminal Justice
System Is Achieving the Goals of Sentenc-
ND I a ccichcecrnstinccctutevinnisinnadannaed passim

U.S. Sent’g Comm’n, Measuring
Recidivism: The Criminal History
Computation of the Federal Sentencing
EY TID Kciccndcsstrscnenccetnoneove 27, 28, 31-32

xix
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued
Page(s)

U.S. Sent’g Comm'n, Public Data Briefing:
“Crime of Violence” and Related Issues,
http://www.ussc.gov/sites/default/files/

pdf7amendment-process/public-hearings-
and-meetings/20151105/COV_briefing.pdf. 9

U.S. Sent’g Comm’n, Quick Facts — Career
Offender (2015), http:/Awww.ussc.gov/
sites/default/files/pdf/research-and-pub
lications/quick-facts/Quick_Facts_Career_
a , csccintdeinnpscenineniouneses 6

U.S. Sent’g. Comm'n, Recidivism Among
Federal Offenders: A Comprehensive
I ceeecieenieill 27-28

U.S. Sent’g Comm’n, Report to the
Congress: Career Offender Sentencing
Enhancements (2016)..............0.:cesesseseeeees passim

INTEREST OF AMICI CURIAE'

Amicus curiae, Federal Public and Community
Defenders in the United States (not including the
Defender representing the petitioner in this case),
have offices in 91 of the 94 federal judicial districts.
Amicus curiae, the National Association of Federal
Defenders, formed in 1995, is a nationwide, non-profit,
volunteer organization whose members are attorneys
who work for federal public and community defender
organizations authorized under the Criminal Justice
Act. Amici represent tens of thousands of individuals
in federal court each year, including many who were
previously sentenced under the residual clause of the
Career Offender Guideline. Amici have particular
expertise and interest in the issues presented in this
case.

INTRODUCTION AND
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

Amici write to place the issues in this case in
broader context by discussing the history of the Career
Offender Guideline, its impact on those to whom it has
been applied and who remain in prison, and the
implications of a ruling in Petitioner’s favor on them
and the federal criminal justice system.

Of the handful of most extreme punishments under
federal law, the Career Offender Guideline has been
applied most broadly. The courts have applied the

' The parties to the case, and amicus appointed by the Court,
have consented to the filing of this brief and copies of letters of
consent have been lodged with the Clerk of the Court. Sup. Ct.
R. 37.3(a). No counsel for a party authored any part of this brief,
and no person or entity other than amici curiae made a monetary
contribution to the preparation or submission of this brief. Sup.
Ct. R. 37.6.

2

guideline expansively to reach relatively minor
offenses under the vague language of the residual
clause. The Commission has defined its predicates to
reach conduct well beyond that specified or warranted
by the congressional directive upon which it is based.
For these reasons and others discussed below, the
Career Offender Guideline has a severe disproportion-
ate impact on African Americans, and fails to promote
any purpose of sentencing in most cases in which it has
been applied. At the same time, retroactive relief
under ameliorating guideline amendments and changes
in law has been foreclosed to many career offenders
serving harsh prison terms. As a result of the extreme
severity and sweeping breadth of the Career Offender
Guideline, and the unavailability of relief, career
offenders comprise over eleven percent of the federal
prison population even though they are only about
three percent of defendants sentenced each year.

For the persuasive reasons argued by Petitioner,
amici urge the Court to hold that the residual clause
in the Career Offender Guideline is void for vagueness
in light of Johnson v. United States, 135 S. Ct. 2551
(2015), that Johnson applies retroactively to Career
Offender Guidelines cases on collateral review, and
that offenses listed in the guideline’s commentary that
conflict with its text absent the residual clause are
invalid. Doing so will not unduly burden the courts.
Now that the statute of limitations has run and
motions have been filed, amici are able to estimate
that at most 6,000 prisoners who were sentenced
under the Career Offender Guideline are seeking
retroactive relief under Johnson.’

* App. at 9a-1la.

3
ARGUMENT

I. The Career Offender Guideline Creates a
Particularly Severe Punishment That Has
Been Applied To An Overly Broad
Category of Defendants.

The Career Offender Guideline creates a “category
of offender subject to particularly severe punishment.”
Buford v. United States, 532 U.S. 59, 60 (2001).
Because Congress mandated that the Sentencing
Commission specify a term of imprisonment at or near
the statutory maximum, 28 U.S.C. § 994(h), the
Commission’s one attempt to ameliorate the severity
of the guideline was held invalid. See United States v.
LaBonte, 520 U.S. 751, 757 (1997). At the same time,
the Commission has expanded the reach of the
guideline beyond that required or warranted by
§ 994(h)’s plain language, and the courts have applied
the guideline broadly under the vague language of
the residual clause. Career offenders sentenced to
harsh prison terms based on minor offenses have been
unable to get relief under ameliorating guideline
amendments or changes in law. While career
offenders are just over three percent of defendants
sentenced each year, they comprise over 11 percent of
the federal prison population.*

A. The Guideline Is Harsh.

Congress mandated that the Commission “specify
a sentence to a term of imprisonment at or near
the maximum term authorized” for “categories of
defendants” convicted for at least the third time of a
“felony that is” a “crime of violence” or “an offense

*U.S. Sent’'g Comm'n, Report to the Congress: Career Offender
Sentencing Enhancements 24 (2016).

4

described in” particular federal statutes prohibiting
drug trafficking. See 28 U.S.C. § 994(h). The Com-
mission implemented the level of punishment required
by the directive by tying the offense level to the
statutory maximum for the instant offense of
conviction and automatically placing the defendant in
Criminal History Category VI.‘

Several additional features make being categorized
as a career offender particularly harsh. Although the
guideline regularly applies to low-level federal offend-
ers with a criminal! history produced by addiction and
disadvantage,’ the offense level may not be reduced
for a minor or minimal role in the offense, and the
Commission limited “departures” to one criminal
history category for career offenders whose placement
in the highest criminal history category overstates the

*U.S.S.G. §4B1.1(a)(b).

* See, e.g., United States v. Preacely, 628 F.3d 72, 83-84 (2d Cir.
2010) (Lynch, J., concurring) (defendant's “sad, addicted life”
produced a “history of multiple (if mostly minor) criminal
convictions (almost exclusively tied to the possession and sale of
narcotics),” so that “the only ‘career’ he ever had seems to have
been selling drugs” and “earn[ing| an extraordinary sentence for
a relatively mundane offense”); United States v. Gavin, 2008 WL
4418932 (E.D. Ark. Sept. 29, 2008) (“[Djefendant’s criminal
history [consisting of two crimes of violence] reflects criminal
behavior consistent with a vagrant and substance abuser as
opposed to a violent offender.”); United States v. Fernandez, 436
F.Supp.2d 983, 990 (E.D. Wis. 2006) (“[T)he broad language
will often sweep within the career offender guideline defendants
with relatively minor records,” such as fleeing, walk-away escape
and car theft, “though they are likely not what Congress had in
mind.”); United States v. Newhouse, 919 F Supp.2d 955, 991 (N.D.
Iowa 2013) (defendant was “a long-term, chronic drug addict
whose entire criminal history is tied to her addiction,” whose
“height of [| involvement in the drug trade has been as a low-level
pill smurfer”).

5

seriousness of their criminal history or their likelihood
of re-offense.®

Moreover, the Career Offender Guideline not only
was mandatory for over seventeen years, it was
treated as mandatory long after United States v.
Booker, 543 U.S. 220 (2005), and even after
Kimbrough v. United States, 552 U.S. 85 (2007), and
Spears v. United States, 555 U.S. 261 (2009). Four
circuits expressly prohibited district courts from vary-
ing from the Career Offender range based on a policy
disagreement,’ and even in other circuits, some

* See U.S.S.G. §4A1.3(bX3)A), p.s.; id. app. C, amend. 651 (Oct.
27, 2003).

’ See United States v. Green, 436 F.3d 449, 459 (4th Cir. 2006)
(holding that district court was “not free to ignore” Congress's
policy judgment in § 994(h)); United States v. Moreland, 437 F.3d
424 (4th Cir. 2006) (“To the extent that the sentence imposed by
the district court rests on [an outright] rejection of congressional
policy with respect to repeat drug offenders, it is subject to
reversal on that basis alone.”); United States v. Posey, 294 F.
App’x 765 (4th Cir. 2008) (later recognizing district courts may
disagree with the career offender guideline); United States v.
Funk, 534 F.3d 522, 530 (6th Cir. 2008) (district court erred by
“impos{ing] his own policy determination [and] supplanting] that
of the Sentencing Commission (and Congress)”), vacated by 560
F.3d 619, 619-20 (6th Cir. 2009) (appeal voluntarily dismissed by
the government); United States v. Michael, 576 F.3d 323, 327-28
(6th Cir. 2009) (later holding that “district court may lawfully
conclude that the policies underlying the career-offender
provisions yield a sentence ‘greater than necessary to serve
the objectives of sentencing”); United States v. Welton, 583 F.3d
494 (7th Cir. 2009) (prohibiting disagreement with career
offender guideline), overruled by United States v. Corner, 598
F.3d 411, 415-16 (7th Cir. 2010) (em banc); United States v.
Williams, 456 F.3d 1353, 1369-70 (11th Cir. 2006) (holding
district court erred in mitigating a sentence based on its
disagreement with “Congress’s policy of targeting recidivist drug
offenders for more severe punishment”); United States v.

6

district courts failed to recognize that the guideline
was advisory for many years.®

For 46.3% of defendants sentenced as career
offenders in 2014, the Career Offender Guideline
increased the average guideline minimum by 260%
(from 70 to 188 months); for 32.6%, it increased the
average guideline minimum by 183% (from 92 to 168
months); for another 12.4%, it increased the average
guideline minimum by about 25%.° And the Career
Offender Guideline “exertled] controlling influence
on the sentence[s]” imposed.'° The average sentence
imposed on career offenders was 2.3 times that
imposed on non-career offenders convicted of the same

offense types.''

Moreover, it is exceedingly rare for a non-career
offender to receive a sentence as severe as a career
offender. Among career offender and non-career
offenders convicted of the same offense types in 2014,

Vazquez, 558 F.3d 1224, 1227-28 & n.2 (llth Cir. 2009)
(reaffirming Williams after Spears), vacated by Vazquez v. United
States, 558 U.S. 1144 (2010) (remanding for further consideration
in light of Solicitor General's position).

* At sentencing in 2014, the district court “refusled) to vary
downwardly because there was no ‘Fifth Circuit guidance’ related
to variances when a defendant is subject to the career-offender
provision.” United States v. Clay, 787 F.3d 328, 330 (5th Cir.
2015). The Fifth Circuit held for the first time in 2015 that the
“district court’s sentencing discretion is no more burdened when
a defendant is characterized as a career offender under §4B1.1
than it would be in other sentencing decisions.” Jd. at 331.

* See U.S. Sent’g Comm'n, Quick Facts — Career Offender
(2015), http://www.ussc.gov/sites/default/files/pdf/research-and-
publications/quick-facta/Quick_Facts_Career_Offender_FY14.pdf.

" Peugh v. United States, 133 S. Ct. 2072, 2085 (2013).
'' App. at 2a.

7

only 1.2 percent of non-career offenders received a
sentence as high as the guideline minimum for career
offenders.'* For firearms offenses, it was only 0.9
percent.'*

At the same time, retroactive relief is not available
for career offenders for a subsequent reduction in the
guideline range for the underlying offense, and the
Commission has prohibited retroactive relief even
when the court departed or varied based on that
range.'* The Commission’s prohibition overruled a
majority of the courts of appeals,'® and “closed the door
of lenity on anyone who qualified for the career
offender provision, regardless of how harsh the
result.”'"® And while the Commission recently made
ameliorating changes to the definition of “crime of
violence,” it did not make those changes retroactive
for reasons that would appear to preclude retroactivity
for any narrowing of career offender predicates. "’

'2 Id. at Ga.
"8 Id.
' See U.S.S.G. §1B1.1, comment. (n.1(A)).

'® See United States v. Cardosa, 606 F.3d 16, 21 (ist Cir. 2010);
United States v. Rivera, 662 F.3d 166, 174, 177 (2d Cir. 2011);
United States v. McGee, 553 F.3d 225, 227, 230 (2d Cir. 2009);
United States v. Flemming, 617 F.3d 252, 259-60, 260-64 (3d Cir.
2010); United States v. Munn, 595 F.3d 183, 189-95 (4th Cir.
2010); United States v. Wesson, 583 F.3d 728, 732 (9th Cir. 2009);
United States v. Moore, 541 F.3d 1323, 1329-30 (11th Cir. 2008).

'® United States v. Barr, 132 F. Supp.3d 290, 295 (D.R.I. 2015).
’ It was “difficult, if not impossible,” to estimate the impact
because Commission data does not include which criminal history
events were used as predicates or under which definition they

qualified. Remarks for Public Meeting, Chief Judge Patti
B. Saris, Chair, U.S. Sent’g Comm'n, at 4 (Jan. 8, 2016),

4
B. Its Reach Is Broad.

The Commission has unnecessarily broadened the
scope of the Career Offender Guideline, and the courts
have applied it expansively under the vague language
of the residual clause.

1. Controlled Substance Offenses

The Commission defined “controlled substance
offense” more broadly than required or warranted.
Congress directed the Commission to specify a term of
imprisonment at or near the maximum for “categories
of defendants” convicted of a “felony that is an offense
described in” 21 U.S.C. §§ 841, 952(a), 955, 959, and
46 U.S.C. § 70503, and who were previously convicted
of two or more prior “felonies, each of which is” one
of those same federal offenses.'* Nonetheless, the
Commission included state drug offenses and a
number of less serious federal drug offenses than those
specified.'? If Congress intended to include state drug
offenses, it knew how to say so, see, e.g., 18 U.S.C.
§ 924(eX 2AM) & (ii); 21 U.S.C. § 802(44); 8 U.S.C.

http://www.ussc.gov/sites/default/files/pdf/amendment-process/
public-hearings-and-meetings/20 160 108/remarks. pdf.

'* 28 U.S.C. § 994(hX 1B), (2B) (emphasis added).

'® The following state and federal offenses were added to the
drug offenses specified in § 994(h) from 1987 through 1997, and
remain today: any state offense punishable by more than one
year; aiding and abetting, attempt, conspiracy; “{u]nlawfully
possessing a listed chemical with intent to manufacture a con-
trolled substance,” 21 U.S.C. § 841(cX 1); “{ulnlawfully possessing
a prohibited flask or equipment with intent to manufacture a
controlled substance,” 21 U.S.C. § 843(aX6); “[mJaintaining any
place for the purpose of facilitating a controlled substance
offense,” 21 U.S.C. § 856; and “[ujsing a communications facility
in committing, causing or facilitating a drug offense,” 21 U.S.C.
§ 843(b). See U.S.S.G. §4B1.2(b) & comment. (n.1) (Supp. 2016).

9

§ 1101(a)(43),” and “the precision with which § 994(h)
includes certain [federal] drug offenses but excludes
others indicates that the omission of § 846 [conspiracy]
was no oversight.”*'

As a result of the Commission’s expansion on
Congress’s directive, the Career Offender Guideline
applies to a great many low-level drug sellers.”
Indeed, drug trafficking is the most frequent prior
conviction in career offender cases,” and is the instant

” The Court recently held that when 8 U.S.C. § 1101(aX43)
states that “[t]he term ‘aggravated felony’ means an offense
described in” a particular federal statute, it applies to violations
of state statutes with the same substantive elements because the
penultimat sentence of § 1101(aX43) expressly says so. See
Torres v. Lynch, 136 S. Ct. 1619, 1623 (2016). The career offender
directive says no such thing, and moreover, says that the
defendant must be convicted of a felony that “is an offense
described in” the specified drug statutes.

*' United States v. Knox, 573 F.3d 441, 448 (7th Cir. 2009).

2 See, e.g., United States v. Moreland, 568 F .Supp.2d 674, 687
(S.D. W. Va. 2008) (noting that distribution of one marijuana
cigarette in 1992 and 6.92 g. crack in 1996 “hardly constitute the
type and pattern of offenses that would indicate Mr. Moreland
has made a career out of drug trafficking,” and entire amount
distributed in his lifetime “would rattle around in a matchbox”).

23 While the Commission does not collect data regarding the
number or type of career offender predicates, a recent compilation
of “criminal history events” of any kind for a sample of career
offenders sentenced in 2014 showed that drug trafficking far
outnumbered offenses that could be a “crime of violence” under
any legal definition before or after Johnson or under the
Commission’s recently-amended definition. See U.S. Sent’g
Comm'n, Public Data Briefing: “Crime of Violence” and Related
Issues at slides 17, 19, http://www.ussc.govw/sites/default/files/
pdf/amendment-procesa/public-hearings-and-meetings/20 15 1 106/COV
_briefing.pdf.

10

offense in nearly three quarters of cases. In response
to decisions holding that it had impermissibly
exceeded the terms of § 994(h),”°> the Commission
amended the commentary to state that it had relied on
its general amendment authority to “modifly] this
definition in several respects to focus more precisely
on the class of recidivist offenders for whom a lengthy
term of imprisonment is appropriate and to avoid
‘unwarranted sentencing disparities.”** But the Com-
mission later found that the Career Offender Guide-
line is inappropriately severe and creates unwar-
ranted disparities for defendants who qualify based on
drug crimes.”’

2. Crimes of Violence

Congress had in mind for the Career Offender
Guideline “repeat violent offenders,” “a relatively
small number of repeat offenders [who] are responsi-
ble for the bulk of the violent crime on our streets,” i.e.,

** See U.S. Sent’g Comm'n, 2014 Sourcebook of Federal
Sentencing Statistics, tbl. 22 (instant offense was drug trafficking
for 73% of career offenders in 2014); Career Offender Report,
supra note 3, at 24 (instant offense was drug trafficking for
74.1%, and selling drugs in a protected location for 1.6%, of career
offenders in 2014).

* See United States v. Price, 990 F.2d 1367 (D.C. Cir. 1993);
United States v. Bellazerius, 24 F.3d 698 (5th Cir. 1994), United
States v. Mendoza-Figueroa, 28 F.3d 766 (8th Cir. 1994), vacated,
65 F.3d 691 (8th Cir. 1995) (en banc).

* U.S.S.G. app. C, amend. 528 (Nov. 1, 1995); id. §4B1.1,
comment. (backg’d) (Nov. 1, 1995).

47 See U.S. Sent’g Comm'n, Fifteen Years of Guidelines
Sentencing: An Assessment of How Well the Federal Criminal
Justice System Is Achieving the Goals of Sentencing Reform 133-
34 (2004).

*®S. Rep. No. 98-225, at 175 (1983).

11

those “who stab, shoot, mug, and rob.” But given the
“hopeless indeterminacy” of the residual clause and
its dependence on a “judge-imagined abstraction,”
Johnson, 135 S. Ct. at 2557-58, the courts interpreted
the clause expansively. Contributing to the problem,
the Commission issued commentary removing the link
between the residual clause and the enumerated
offenses.” Thus, defendants were classified as career
offenders under the residual clause based on “crimes
of violence” that involved no injury or serious risk of
injury and no violent or aggressive conduct.*'

2 128 Cong. Rec. 26,517-18 (Sept. 30, 1982) (statement of Sen.
Kennedy).

*” From November 1, 1989 until August 1, 2016, the
commentary stated that “crime of violence” includes offenses in
which “the conduct set forth in the count of conviction by its
nature, presented a serious potential risk of physical injury to
another.” U.S.S.G. §4B1.2, comment. (n.2) (2015). Courts relied
on this commentary to hold that “conduct that presents a serious
potential risk of physical injury to another” need not be similar
in kind or degree of risk to the enumerated offenses. See, e.z.,
United States v. Parson, 955 F.2d 858, 874-75 (3d Cir. 1992).
When the problem was brought to the Commission's attention,
id., it acknowledged that the commentary had broadened the
definition, such that “crimes not traditionally considered crimes
of violence might qualify as a crime of violence under §4B1.2,
but would not qualify as a crime of violence under § 924(e),” and
proposed to fix it. See 58 Fed. Reg. 67,522, 67,533 (Dec. 21, 1993).
With no explanation, it didn’t.

™' See, e.g., United States v. Moore, 420 F.3d 1218, 1220-22
(10th Cir. 2005) (driving under the influence); Parson, 955 F.2d
at 870-71 (reckless endangerment); United States v. Fiore, 983
F.2d 1, 4-5 (1st Cir. 1992) (conspiracy to break and enter a non-
dwelling); United States v. Rosas, 410 F.3d 332, 334 (7th Cir.
2005) (fleeing and eluding); United States v. Delaney, 427 F.3d
1224 (9th Cir. 2005) (possession of short-barreled shotgun);
United States v. Sun Bear, 307 F.3d 747, 752 (8th Cir. 2002)
(attempted vehicle theft).

12

In Begay, the Court narrowed the breadth of the
residual clause when it held that driving under the
influence is not a “violent felony” because it does not
involve the “purposeful, violent, and aggressive con-
duct” that the enumerated offenses “typically involve,”
Begay v. United States, 553 U.S. 137, 144-45 (2008).
The Court then concluded in Chambers that an escape
conviction based on a failure to report for service of
sentence did not satisfy the ACCA’s residual clause as
interpreted by Begay, relying on a Commission report
finding no failure to report cases involving violence.
Chambers v. United States, 555 U.S. 122, 128-29
(2009).

Courts thereafter applied Begay to both the ACCA
and the Career Offender Guideline to hold that many
offenses previously held to be “crimes of violence” were
not—including driving while intoxicated,*? auto theft
and auto tampering,®* attempted vehicle theft, non-
residential burglary,” negligent burglary,* reckless
assault without actual force,*” spitting on a police
officer® or a pregnant woman,” assault defined to
include “unlawful touching, whether violent or

“ United States v. Tiger, 538 F.3d 1297 (10th Cir. 2008),
overruling United States v. Moore, 420 F.3d 1218 (10th Cir. 2005).

United States v. Williams, 537 F.3d 969 (8th Cir. 2008).

“ Sun Bear v. United States, 611 F.3d 925, 928 (8th Cir. 2010),
vacated on other grounds, 644 F.3d 700 (8th Cir. 2011) (en banc).

“ United States v. Giggey, 551 F.3d 27 (1st Cir. 2008) (en banc).
“ United States v. Martin, 753 F.3d 485, 493 (4th Cir. 2014).
United States v. McFalls, 592 F.3d 707, 716 (6th Cir. 2010).
United States v. Carthorne, 726 F.3d 503, 508 (4th Cir. 2013).
’ United States v. Evans, 576 F.3d 766 (7th Cir. 2009).

13

nonviolent and no matter how slight” and encompass-
ing reckless conduct,* failing to stop for a blue light,*’
statutory rape involving two teenagers,** sexual mis-
conduct that may be committed by one teenager
“kissing or fondling” another teenager,“ starting a fire
without intent to set fire to, burn, or damage prop-
erty,“ child endangerment under a statute allowing
conviction for such passive behavior as leaving
children unattended near an unfenced pond or with a
physically abusive spouse,** involuntary manslaugh-
ter involving an accidental shooting of a close friend,“
negligent vehicular homicide,*’ walkaway escape,“
carrying a concealed weapon,‘ non-overt act conspir-
acy,” reckless endangerment,"' and opposing or obstruct-
ing a police officer.

But Begay and Chambers could not cure the intrac-
table vagueness of the residual clause. Courts were
still required to imagine in the abstract the degree of

“© United States v. Royal, 731 F.3d 333, 342 (4th Cir. 2013).
*! United States v. Rivers, 595 F.3d 558 (4th Cir. 2010).

*? Spencer v. United States, 773 F.3d 1132, 1136 (11th Cir.
2014) (en banc).

“ United States v. Goodpasture, 595 F.3d 670 (7th Cir. 2010).
“ Brown v. Caraway, 719 F.3d 583 (7th Cir. 2013).

“ United States v. Wilson, 562 F.3d 965, 967 (8th Cir. 2009).
“© United States v. Peterson, 629 F.3d 432, 434 (4th Cir. 2011).
*’ United States v. Herrick, 545 F.3d 53, 60 (1st Cir. 2008).

“* E.g., United States v. Ford, 560 F.3d 420 (6th Cir. 2009).

“ United States v. Archer, 531 F.3d 1347 (11th Cir. 2008).

™ United States v. Whitson, 597 F.3d 1218 (11th Cir. 2010).

"! United States v. High, 576 F.3d 429, 430 (7th Cir. 2009),
United States v. Baker, 559 F.3d 443, 454 (6th Cir. 2009).

" United States v. Mosley, 575 F.3d 603 (6th Cir. 2009).

14

risk posed by the “ordinary case,” Johnson, 135 S. Ct.
at 2559, and in doing so also followed the “ad hoc
test[s]” from James and Sykes, id. at 2558—tests that
themselves undermined any hope of tenable results.

In James, the Court held that attempted burglary is
a violent felony under the ACCA because, it said, the
risk posed by attempted burglary “is comparable” to
the risk posed by completed burglary, its “closest
analog” of the enumerated offenses. 550 U.S. 192, 203-
04 (2007). The Court supported its conclusion with
suppositions regarding the typical risk posed and with
the assumption—mistaken, it turns out—that the
Commission included attempt crimes in the Career
Offender Guideline “based on [its] review of empirical
sentencing data.” Jd. at 206 (citing §4B1.2, comment.
(n.1)).*

In Sykes, the Court relied on “commonsense” that
vehicular flight is a violent felony under the ACCA’s
residual clause, 564 U.S. 1, 10 (2011), even though the
statute “covered everything from provoking a high-
speed car chase to failing to stop immediately after
seeing a police officer.” Johnson, 135 S. Ct. at 2558-
59. In the process, the Court suggested that courts
had been overreading Begay’s “purposeful, violent and
aggressive” test, Sykes, 564 U.S. at 12-13, which
precipitated backtracking in some courts.

™’ The Commission has now deleted “burglary of a dwelling”
from the career offender guideline based on extensive empirical
evidence demonstrating that “burglary offenses rarely result in
physical violence.” U.S.S.G. §4B1.2(aX2) (Supp. 2016) (Reason
for Amendment). Going forward, a prior burglary conviction may
be used solely as a reason for upward departure, and even then
only in the unusual case in which it involved physical injury. Jd.
§4B1.2 comment. (n.4).

15

The result was “pervasive disagreement about the
nature of the inquiry [the court] is supposed to conduct
and the kinds of factors [the court] is supposed to
consider,” id. at 2560, with courts free to guide their
imaginations by mistaken assumptions, non-record
statistics, Google searches, or “gut instinct,” id. at
2557-58. Offenses that continued to qualify as “crimes
of violence” after Begay and Chambers include pick-
pocketing, attempted larceny from a person,” theft of
a firearm,” purse-snatching,”’ simple assault,” resist-
ing arrest,®® misdemeanor resisting arrest,” resisting
arrest by fleeing,®' simple vehicular flight encompass-
ing failure to stop with no high speed,” trespass of
habitation by stealth or deception,® trespass of a

“4 United States v. Jarmon, 596 F.3d 228 (4th Cir. 2010)
(statute criminalizing theft of over $5 in money or goods from
another person).

55 United States v. Taylor, 696 F.3d 628, 631 (6th Cir. 2012);
see also United States v. Alderman, 601 F.3d 949, 953 (9th Cir.
2010) (theft from a person).

United States v. Schmidt, 623 F.3d 257, 264 (5th Cir. 2010).

5’ United States v. Hollins, 514 F. App’x 264 (3d Cir. 2013); see
also United States v. Welch, 683 F.3d 1304, 1313 (11th Cir. 2012)
(robbery by sudden snatching).

8 United States v. Johnson, 587 F.3d 203 (3d Cir. 2009).
5° United States v. Jenkins, 631 F.3d 680 (4th Cir. 2011).

© United States v. Stinson, 592 F.3d 460 (3d Cir. 2010); United
States v. Almenas, 553 F.3d 27, 34-35 (1st Cir. 2009).

*' United States v. Ellis, 815 F.3d 419 (8th Cir. 2016).
*2 United States v. Petite, 703 F.3d 1290 (11th Cir. 2013).

® United States v. Skipper, 552 F.3d 489, 492-93 (6th Cir.
2009).

16

dwelling,” attempted burglary encompassing posses-
sion of burglary tools,“ attempted burglary encom-
passing attempt to remove an air conditioner,™
criminal trespass,® entering a public telephone booth
to steal change from coin boxes,™ organizing, taking
part in, or inciting a hunger strike or other organized
disobedience,® and fleeing by vehicle, including a
bicycle, while obeying all traffic laws.”

Meanwhile, conflict reigned, as demonstrated by the
disarray regarding whether mere possession of a
firearm described in 26 U.S.C. § 5845(a) poses the
requisite risk. In 2004, the Commission amended the
guideline commentary to except unlawful possession
of a firearm described in 26 U.S.C. § 5845(a) from the
firearm-possession exclusion, because a number of
courts at the time had held that possession of such a
firearm satisfied the residual clause.”' Thereafter, a
number of courts of appeals held that it did not satisfy
the identical residual clause in the ACCA. See United
States v. Miller, 721 F.3d 435, 440 (7th Cir. 2013);
United States v. Amos, 501 F.3d 524, 529 (6th Cir.

“ United States v. Corner, 588 F.3d 1130, 1134 (7th Cir. 2009),
overruled on other grounds, 598 F.3d 411 (7th Cir. 2010) (en
banc).

** United States v. Martinez, 602 F.3d 1166 (10th Cir. 2010).

“ United States v. Ghoston, 530 F. App’x 468 (6th Cir. 2013)
(relying on United States v. Bureau, 52 F.3d 584 (6th Cir. 1995).

*’ United States v. Goodwin, 625 F. App’x 840 (10th Cir. 2015).

* United States v. Mayer, 560 F.3d 948, 952 (9th Cir. 2009)
(Kozinski, C.J., dissenting from denial of rehearing en banc).

* United States v. Johnson, 616 F.3d 85, 88 (2d Cir. 2010).
™” United States v. Hornyak, 805 F.3d 196, 198 (5th Cir. 2015).

" U.S.S.G. app. C, amend. 674 (Nov. 1, 2004); id. §4B1.2,
comment. (n.1) (Nov. 1, 2004).

17

2007); United States v. McGill, 618 F.3d 1273, 1279
(11th Cir. 2010); United States v. Haste, 292 F App’x
249, 250 (4th Cir. 2008). Others, such as the lower
court in Johnson, disagreed.

C. Prisoners Sentenced To Harsh Prison
Terms Based on Relatively Minor
Offenses Have Been Unable to Get
Relief.

The many people sentenced as career offenders
based on minor crimes even after Begay and Chambers
had no prospect of relief. Relief was foreclosed to many
who would not have been sentenced as career
offenders had they been sentenced after Begay and
Chambers.” And many would not be career offenders
under the Commission’s new definition, which deletes
the residual clause, eliminates “burglary of a dwell-
ing,” and narrows the definition of statutory rape and
child sex abuse,” but the Commission did not make
those changes retroactive.

II. The Career Offender Guideline Has An
Unwarranted Adverse Impact on African
Americans.

In the late 1980s, a wide gap opened up between
the sentences of black defendants and those of other

™ Non-constitutional errors have been held not to present a
cognizable miscarriage of justice in advisory guidelines cases, see
United States v. Foote, 784 F.3d 931, 937-39 (4th Cir. 2015);
Spencer v. United States, 773 F.3d 1132, 1144 (11th Cir. 2014);
Hawkins v. United States, 706 F.3d 820, 822-24 (7th Cir. 2013),
and in one circuit even in mandatory guidelines cases, Sun Bear
v. United States, 644 F.3d 700, 704-06 (8th Cir. 2011) (en banc).
But see Narvaez v. United States, 674 F.3d 621, 627-30 (7th Cir.
2011); United States v. Doe, 810 F.3d 132, 159-60 (3d Cir. 2015).

™ U.S.S.G. §4B1.2(a2) & comment. (n.1) (Supp. 2016).

18

races.’* The gap resulted from new statutes and guide-
lines, including the Career Offender Guideline, “that
have a disproportionate impact on” black defendants
but “serve no clear sentencing purpose.”” As the
Commission itself has said, “if a sentencing rule has a
significant adverse impact and there is insufficient
evidence that the rule is needed to achieve a statutory
purpose of sentencing, then the rule might be
considered unfair toward the affected group.”

From 1992 through 2014, black defendants com-
prised 32.7 percent of defendants convicted of the eight
most common instant offense types eligible for career
offender status, but they were 61.6 percent of such
defendants sentenced as career offenders, and they are
65.8 percent of those defendants who likely remain in
prison.”” This severe disparity is unnecessary and
unfair. It arises in large part from police practices that
put African Americans at greater risk of conviction
than similarly situated whites, and it promotes no
relevant sentencing purpose even for convictions that
do not result from unequal law enforcement.

A. Many Career Offender Predicates Reflect
Disparate Policing Practices.

Though African Americans have been convicted of
more career offender predicates than whites, this is
not explained by racial differences in the commission

’ Paul J. Hofer, The Commission Defends an Ailing
Hypothesis: Does Judicial Discretion Increase Demographic
Disparity?, 25 Fed. Sent’g Rep. 311, 313 fig.1 (2013).

" Fifteen Year Review, supra note 27, at 131; see also Amy
Baron-Evans & Kate Stith, Booker Rules, 160 U. Pa. L. Rev. 1631,
1686-87 (2012).

™ Fifteen Year Review, supra note, 27 at 114.
” App. at 9a.

19

of such offenses. Blacks comprised about 13% of the
U.S. population in 2010." They reported using an
illicit drug in the past year at about the same rate
as whites (16.8% and 15.3%, respectively”), and “there
is also little evidence, when all drug types are
considered, that blacks sell drugs more often than
whites.” Blacks are about half as likely as whites to
have a firearm in their homes.*' Nonetheless, African
Americans accounted for 39% of drug sale arrests and
41% of weapon possession arrests in 2010.

The Career Offender Guideline’s disproportionate
impact on black defendants arises in large part from
disparate state and local policing practices that result
in black defendants having prior convictions for drug

* U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Estimates of the Resident
Population by Sex, Race, and Hispanic Origin for the United
States, States, and Counties: April 1, 2010 to July 1, 2015,
available at http://factfinder.census.gov/faces/tableservices/jsf/
pages/productview xhtm]l?pid=PEP_2014 PEPSR6H&prodType
=table.

Substance Abuse & Mental Health Servs. Admin., Results
from the 2010 National Survey on Drug Use and Health, tbl.
1.19B, available at http://www.samhsa .gov/data/sites/defau!t/
files/NSDUHNationalFindingsResults20 10-web/2k 10Results
Tables/NSDUHTables2010R/HTM/Sect | peT abs 1to46.htm.

™ Nat'l Research Council, The Growth of Incarceration in the
United States: Exploring Causes and Consequences 60 (Jeremy
Travis et al. eds., 2014).

*' Rich Morin, Pew Research Center, The Demographics
and Politics of Gun-Owning Households (July 15, 2014),
www.pewresearch.org/fact-tank/20 14/07/15/the-demographics-
and-politics-of-gun-owning-households.

" Arrest rates for 2010 were obtained from the Bureau
of Justice Statistics, Arrest Data Analysis Tool, available at
http://www.bjs.gov/index.cfm ?ty=datool&surl=/arresta/index.cfm
#.

20

trafficking and many “crimes of violence” that they
would otherwise not have, and that they would
not have if they were white. This is also true of
instant federal offenses, as many federal prosecutions
originate with arrests by state and local police.”
According to the National Research Council, extreme
racial disparities in imprisonment have been “partly
caused and substantially exacerbated” by police arrest
practices associated with the “war on drugs,” including
racial profiling, and harsh sentencing laws and
guidelines that apply disproportionately to black
people, including three-strikes laws.™

Research from across the country shows that black
drivers and pedestrians are stopped, frisked, searched
and arrested far in excess of their portion of the
population or their share of criminality. The use of
racial profiling to stop, question and search black and
brown drivers in an effort to find drugs, guns and cash
originated in 1984 with “Operation Pipeline,” a key
initiative of the “war on drugs.” Endorsed and
financed by the Drug Enforcement Administration,
thousands of state and local police officers were
trained in its methods.” The practice became institu-
tionalized in police departments across the country,

“ John F. Stinneford, Subsidiarity, Federalism and Federal
Prosecution of Street Crime, 2 J. Catholic Soc. Thought 495, 507-
09 (2005).

™ Nat'l Research Council, supra note 80, at 70-71, 73, 91, 102-
129.
“ See Gary Webb, Driving While Black: Tracking Unspoken
Law-Enforcement Racism, Esquire, Jan. 29, 2007, www.esquire.com/
litica/a1223/drivi hile-black-0499 (original blished
as DWB, Esquire, Apr. 1999, at 118-127); see also David
Kocieniewski, New Jersey Argues That the U.S. Wrote the Book
on Race Profiling, N.Y. Times, Nov. 29, 2000, at Al.

21

and was adopted in some cities to stop and frisk
pedestrians.”

The practice of targeting minorities for investiga-
tory stops has been defended as an effective and
efficient policing strategy on the theory that minori-
ties are more likely to commit crime.*’ But this theory
has been tested and disproved in studies across the
nation. These studies, which analyze data recorded
by police officers“ and control for crime rates and
other variables, consistently find that minorities are
stopped, frisked, searched and arrested at dispro-
portionately high rates, but that drugs, weapons and
other contraband are found at significantly lower rates
in frisks and searches of minorities than of whites.

For example, in Los Angeles, analysis of field data
reports on pedestrian and motor vehicle stops from
July 2003 through June 2004 revealed that the black
stop rate per 10,000 residents was 3,400 stops higher

® See, e.g., Charles Epp & Steven Maynard-Moody, Driving
While Black, Wash. Monthly, Jan. 1, 2014, at 14.

*’ See Robin Shepard Engel & Jennifer M. Calnon, Examining
the Influence of Drivers’ Characteristics during Traffic Stops with
Police: Results from a National Survey, 21 Just. Q. 49, 50 (2004);
David A. Harris, The Stories, the Statistics, and the Law: Why
“Driving While Black” Matters, 84 Minn. L. Rev. 265, 294 (1999).

“ In response to public attention and lawsuits, police in some
jurisdictions are required to record the details of traffic and
(sometimes) pedestrian stops, including the reason for the stop,
the race of the person stopped, and (in some jurisdictions) the
outcome. See Frank R. Baumgartner et al., Targeting Young Men
of Color for Search and Arrest during Traffic Stops: Evidence
from North Carolina, 2002-2013 at 5, Politics, Groups, &
Identities (2016), http//dx.doi.org/10.1080/21565503.2016.
1160413; Sharon LaFraniere & Andrew W. Lehren, The
Disproportionate Risk of Driving While Black, N.Y. Times, Oct.
25, 2015, at Al.

22

than the white stop rate, after controlling for crime
rates in the reporting districts and a range of other
variables.*® Stopped blac':s were 127% more likely to
be frisked, 76% more likely to be searched, and 29%
more likely to be arrested than stopped whites.” But
frisked blacks were 42% less likely than frisked whites
to be found with weapons, 25% less likely to be found
with drugs, and 33% less likely to be found with other
contraband. Searched blacks were 37% less likely
than searched whites to be found with weapons, 24%
less likely to be found with drugs, and 25% less likely
to be found with other contraband.*' The researchers
concluded that it was thus “implausible that higher
frisk and search rates are justified by higher minority
criminality,”” and that if the same level of justification
were used to search minorities and whites, fewer
minorities would be searched, or proportionately more
whites would be searched.”

Similar results are found in New York City. Based
on analysis of 4.4 million documented pedestrian stops
in New York City from 2004 through 2012, the court
in Floyd v. City of New York, 959 F.Supp.2d 540
(S.D.N.Y. 2013) found that 52 percent of those stopped
were black, 31 percent were Hispanic, and 10 percent
were white, while the population was 23 percent black,

“ Ian Ayres & Jonathan Borowsky, A Study of Racially
Disparate Outcomes in the Los Angeles Police Department 5-6
(2008), available at http://Aslandia.law.yale.edu/ayres/Ayres®
20LAPD%20Report.pdf.

™ Td. at 27.

*' Id. at 7-8. Similar, but less extreme, results were found for
Hispanics.

* Id. at 27.

™ Id. at 23-24.

23

29 percent Hispanic, and 33 percent white.“ A
weapon was seized in one of every 71 stops of whites,
100 stops of blacks, and 91 stops of Hispanics; other
contraband, including illegal drugs and _ stolen
property, was seized in one of every 43 stops of whites,
56 stops of blacks, and 59 stops of Hispanics.” When
the total number of stops declined by 22 percent in
2012, the disparity in “hit rates” was even more
pronounced: a weapon was found in one of every 49
stops of whites, while it took 93 stops of blacks and 71
stops of Hispanics to find a weapon.” The court found
that blacks and Hispanics were more likely to be
stopped above and beyond the crime rate in a given
area,” and that “blacks are likely targeted for stops
based on a lesser degree of objectively founded suspi-
cion than whites.”

™ Floyd vu. City of New York, 959 F .Supp.2d 540, 559 (S.D.N_Y.
2013).

* Id.

* Office of the Public Advocate, City of New York, Stop and

Frisk and the Urgent Need for Meaningful Reforms 1 (2013),
available at http://archive.advocate.nyc.gov/stop-frisk.

” Floyd, 959 F.Supp.2d at 560.
% Td.

24

Data from North Carolina,” Kansas City,'”
Connecticut,'*' Illinois,’ San Francisco,'“ and a
national survey,'“ point to the same conclusion:
Blacks, and to a lesser extent Hispanics, are dispro-
portionately stopped, frisked, searched and arrested,
but are found with contraband significantly less often
than whites. Because police find contraband where
they look for it, blacks are arrested and convicted
in disproportionate numbers relative to similarly situ-
ated whites,'” and “[pJolice profiling results in many
more arrests of black people than would otherwise
occur.” While some police departments are
beginning to institute reforms,'” even in “most of the
states that monitor traffic stops most closely, officials

” Baumgartner et a/., supra note 88.
'” Epp & Maynard-Moody, supra note 86, at 14.

'°' Matthew B. Rosas et al., Inst. for Mun. & Reg’ Policy, Cent.
Conn. State Univ., State of Connecticut: Traffic Stop Data
Analysis and Findings iv, 73, 95, 108, 134, 161, 175 (2016),
available at www.ccsu.eduAmrp/Publicatons/Files/May%2020 16%
20Connecticut%20Racial®20Profiling%20Report. pdf.

' LaFraniere & Lehren, supra note 88.

'S Office of the San Francisco Dist. Att’y, Report of the Blue
Ribbon Panel on Transparency, Accountability, & Fairness in
Law Enforcement 29-31 (2016), available at http://sfdistrictattorney.
org/sites/default/files/Document/BRP_report. pdf.

'* Engel & Calnon, supra note 87.
' Harris, supra note 87, at 297, 301-02.
'* Nat'l Research Council, supra note 80, at 91 n.16.

'\T See All Things Considered: To Reduce Bias, Some Police
Departments Are Rethinking Traffic Stops (NPR radio broadcast
July 25, 2016), transcript available at http//www _.npr.org/templates/
transcript/transcript.php?storyld=486945 18 1.

25

acknowledge that this close attention has not had a
discernible effect.”'

Another contributing factor is that in poor urban
areas, the purchase and consumption of illegal drugs,
and incidents like drunkenness and domestic disturb-
ances are more likely to take place in public, whereas
in suburban and more affluent urban areas, these
activities are more likely to take place in private.'’®
Residents of poor urban areas are thus “more exposed
to police scrutiny and are more likely to be arrested
than people residing in the suburbs or in wealthier
urban neighborhoods.”''® However, there is evidence
that police overlook criminality by whites when they
see it. A study of indoor and outdoor drug markets in
Seattle found that blacks were overrepresented in
both outdoor and indoor arrests, with arrests of
suspected black dealers outnumbering arrests of
suspected white dealers by nearly two to one, and that
significant outdoor drug activity that overwhelmingly
involved whites appeared to be “largely invisible” to
the police."

The upshot is that African Americans appear in
federal court with career offender predicates that they
would likely not have if they were white. And it is
reasonable to assume that many offenses that were

* LaFraniere & Lehren, supra note 88.
8 Nat'l Research Council, supra note 80, at 128.

' TId.; see also Fifteen Year Review, supra note 27, at 134
(noting the “relative ease of detecting and prosecuting offenses
that take place in open-air drug markets, which are most often
found in impoverished minority neighborhoods”).

'" Katherine Beckett et al., Race, Drugs, and Policing:
Understanding Disparities in Drug Delivery Arrests, 44 Criminol-
ogy 105, 119, 122, 129-30 (2006).

26

“crimes of violence” only under the residual clause,
such as resisting arrest,''? carrying a concealed
weapon, possessing certain kinds of weapons, driving
under the influence, vehicular flight, and failure to
stop for a blue light, also have resulted from greater
scrutiny and more frequent contact with police.

B. The Career Offender Guideline Calls
for Punishment That Is Excessive to
Advance Any Purpose of Sentencing.

The only purposes of sentencing that the Career
Offender Guideline might have been thought to
promote are deterrence and incapacitation. But it is
now well-established that increasing the severity of
punishment does little, if anything, to deter crime.'"®

' Studies show that blacks are arrested for the sole charge of
resisting arrest significantly more often than whites. See Dep't
of Justice, Civil Rights Div., Investigation of the Ferguson
Police Department 65 (2015) (finding that the sole reason for 14
arrests following a traffic stop was resisting arrest and that the
person arrested in each instance was black); id. at 67 (African
Americans comprise 67% of Ferguson's population, but account
for 92% of charges for resisting arrest); LaFraniere & Lehren,
supra note 88 (traffic stop data from Greensboro, North Carolina,
showed that more than four times as many blacks as whites were
arrested on the sole charge of “resisting, obstructing or delaying
an officer”); Emily Green, Huge Racial Disparities in S.F Arrest
Citations, S.F. Chron., Apr. 29, 2015, at Metro Al (“African
Americans in San Francisco are cited for resisting arrest at a rate
eight times greater than whites even when serious crimes are not
involved, according to statistics drawn from court records.”).

''S See Nat'l Research Council, supra note 80 at 134-40, 337
(examining empirical studies and concluding that because the
marginal deterrent effect of long sentences, if any, is so small and
so far outweighed by the increased costs of incarceration, long
sentences are “not an effective deterrent”); Daniel S. Nagin,
Deterrence in the Twenty-First Century, 42 Crime & Justice 199,

27

As to the need for incapacitation, the Commission has
consistently found that the ordinary criminal history
rules are a good measure of the risk of recidivism,''*
but that the Career Offender Guideline is not.

In its initial evaluation of the predictive accuracy of
the criminal! history rules, the Commission found that
each increase in the criminal history category (CHC)
was associated with a statistically significant increase
in the risk of recidivism, except the increase from CHC
V to CHC VI. This was because “offenders sentenced
under the career offender guideline (§4B1.1) and the
armed career criminal guideline (§4B1.4) can be
assigned to criminal history category VI, even if they
have fewer than 13 criminal history points.”""* When
recidivism was measured against criminal history
points alone, all categories were significantly different
from one another.''® In a more recent evaluation, the
Commission found that the rates of re-arrest and
reconviction for career offenders and armed career
criminals together were significantly lower than those
rates for offenders in CHCs IV, V, and VI.'"’

202 (2013) (“[Llengthy prison sentences cannot be justified on a
deterrence-based, crime prevention basis.”).

4 See U.S. Sent’g Comm'n, Measuring Recidivism: The
Criminal History Computation of the Federal Sentencing
Guidelines 8 (2004); U.S. Sent’g. Comm'n, Recidivism Among
Federal Offenders: A Comprehensive Overview 18 (2016); Career
Offender Report, supra note 3, at 6.

'® Measuring Recidivism, supra note 114, at 9.
116 Id.

''? See Comprehensive Overview, supra note 114, at app. A-1,
Rearrest Rates Across Selected Variables (Mar. 2016) (69.5%
rearrest rate for “Career Offender/Armed Career Criminal,”
74.7% for Criminal History Category IV, 77.8% for Criminal
History Category V. and 80.1% for Criminal History Category V1)

28

The Commission has thus concluded that the
automatic assignment of offenders to CHC VI under
the Career Offender Guideline is not justified by their
recidivism risk.’ This makes sense, given the
blanket, dramatic increases required by the Career
Offender Guideline for prior offenses that meet its
expansive definitions. The ordinary criminal history
rules treat prior offenses more incrementally, and
account for relevant differences among prior offenses,
such as sentence duration, recency, and other
details.''®

Moreover, most career offenders not only are
assigned to the highest criminal history category, but
receive an increase in offense level tied to the statutory
maximum. Because the offense level prior to this
adjustment is designed tw reflect the seriousness of the
instant offense,'” this increase can be justified only for
the purpose of incapacitation. Yet, the Commission
has found “no apparent relationship” between offense
levels and recidivism risk.'*!

To date, the Commission has focused on how the
inclusion of drug offenses as career offender predicates

id. app. A-2, Reconviction Rates Across Selected Variables,
(47.6% reconviction rate for “Career Offender/Armed Career
Criminal,” 51.6% for Criminal History Category IV, 56.6% for
Criminal History Category V, and 59.3% for Criminal History
Category V1).

'* Measuring Recidivism, supra note 114, at 9.
' See, e.g., U.'S.S.G. §§4A1.1(a)(c), 4A1.2(c)-(e).

'” Paul J. Hofer & Mark H. Allenbaugh, The Reason Behind
the Rules: Finding and Using the Philosophy of the Federal
Sentencing Guidelines, 40 Am. Crim. L. Rev. 19, 62-67 (2003).

'*! Measuring Recidivism, supra note 114, at 13.

29

fails to identify defendants most in need of incapac-
itation. The Fifteen Year Review found that the
recidivism rate for drug defendants who qualified for
career offender status based on prior drug convictions
was lower than other defendants in CHC VI.'?? Simi-
larly, the Commission’s most recent report concludes
that the recidivism rate of career offenders qualifying
based on drug offenses was similar to non-career
offenders. '**

The Commission has not addressed the rates or
kinds of recidivism for offenses that qualify as “crimes
of violence” under the residual clause. Its most recent
study included all federal offenders who were released
from prison or placed on probation in 2005, and 1,998
career offenders who were released from prison from
2004 through 2006. Based on the “instant offense” (for
which they had served the federal prison sentence)
and “prior arrests” (prior to the instant offense), career
offenders were divided into three “pathways”: (1) “drug
trafficking only” if the instant offense was drug
trafficking and they had two or more prior arrests for
drug trafficking and no prior arrests for “violent
offenses,” (2) “mixed” if they had at least one “violent”
and one drug trafficking event as either the instant
offense or a prior arrest, or (3) “violent only” if the
instant offense was “violent” and they had two or more
prior arrests for “violent offenses” and no prior arrests
for drug trafficking.'* “Prior arrests,” and “re-arrests”
over an eight-year post-release follow-up period, were
obtained from FBI RAP sheets.

'2 Fifteen Year Review, supra note 27, at 134.
'23 Career Offender Report, supra note 3, at 40.
'% Td. at 38-39.

30

These “pathways,” however, were not based on any
legal definition of “crime of violence,” after Begay, after
Johnson, or under the Commission’s post~Johnson
definition. Instead, an instant offense or arrest was
counted as “violent” based on the Bureau of Justice
Statistics’ “violent offense” category,'* which includes
both first degree murder and vehicular manslaughter,
forcible rape and statutory rape, robbery by force and
purse snatching, aggravated assault and simple
assault, and a variety of “other” offenses including
illegal abortion and cruelty towards a child or wife.'*
As a result, the “mixed” and “violent only” categories
include people who have never been arrested for
a “crime of violence” as defined after Begay, after
Johnson, or under the Commission’s post-~Johnson
definition.

Notably, a number of offenses that have at some
point been “crimes of violence” under the residual
clause, such as escape, burglary, pickpocketing, motor
vehicle theft, DUI, and unlawful possession of a
weapon, were not counted as “violent.”’””’ Thus, the
“drug trafficking only” category-with the lowest re-
arrest rate'“—includes people who have been arrested
for offenses that were “crimes of violence” under the
residual clause. Because the Bureau of Justice Statis-
tics does not categorize weapons possession as violent,
offenders like Mr. Beckles who were part of the study

% Td. at 39.

"6 Matthew R. Durose et al., Bureau of Justice Statistics,
Recidivism of Prisoners Released in 30 States in 2005: Patterns
from 2005 to 2010, at 22 (2014) (providing BJS definitions of
“violent offenses”).

'27 Id. at 22-23.
'* Career Offender Report, supra note 3, at 40.

31

were “drug trafficking only” offenders, with the lowest
recidivism rate.

Other aspects of the report are worth noting. The
Commission used a broad definition of recidivism,
defined as any re-arrest, including for alleged vio-
lations of probation or supervised release, and regard-
less of whether offenders were convicted of any
crime.’ Strikingly, the Commission did not report
how many career offenders were in any of the three
pathways, or the number or types of events for
which they were arrested.'® It did report that assault
(including simple assault) was the “most frequent”
“most serious” post-release event for both career
offenders (24.9% of all recidivating events) and non-
career offenders (23.3%).'*' In a previous study, the
Commission found that violation of probation or
supervised release conditions (38.3%) was the most
common reason for re-arrest among offenders in CHC
VI, followed by larceny (14.9%)."* Re-arrest for a
“serious violent felony"—homicide, kidnapping, rob-
bery, sexual assault, aggravated assault, domestic

' Jd. at 39.

'™ The assertion in the “Current Sentencing Practices” part of
the report, id. at 27-37, that 73.3% of career offenders sentenced
in 2014 had at least one “violent offense” (60.6% “mixed,” 12.7%
“violent only”), id. at 28, is misleading. The Commission divided
a sample of 449 defendants sentenced in 2014 into its three
“pathw 3” based on all “criminal history events” listed in
presentence reports, and counted them as “violent” based on a
different list including many offenses that would not be “crimes
of violence” under any past or present legal definition. Jd. at 27
& n.39, 28 n.41. If legal definitions had been used, the “mixed”
category would shrink significantly and the “drugs only” category
would grow accordingly.

' Id. at 39-40.
'"® Measuring Recidivism, supra note 114, at 32 Ex.13.

32

violence, and weapons offenses—was relatively rare
(12.5% of all recidivating events, committed by 7% of
all CHC VI offenders).'* Further, other Commission
reports provide data on both re-arrest and re-
conviction, and it makes a big difference. For example,
the rate of re-arrest for those with 12 criminal history
points like Mr. Beckles was 48.7%, but the rate of re-
conviction was 14.0%.'™

CONCLUSION

Mr. Beckles was deemed a career offender based on
his offense of unlawful possession of a firearm in
violation of 18 U.S.C. § 922(g), an unloaded sawed-off
shotgun, and two prior state convictions for possession
with intent to distribute cocaine. His case is in many
ways typical of those subject to the harsh punishment
delivered by the Career Offender Guideline. He was
abandoned by his parents at age five, began using
drugs and having legal problems at a young age, and
was unable to read or write at the time of sentencing
at age 24. J.A. 21. His prior record consisted of five
state convictions for low-level possession with intent
to sell cocaine, marijuana possession offenses for
which adjudication was withheld, and a conviction for
burglary of an unoccupied structure. Jd. His instant
offense arose from being approached by a Miami police
detective who had no suspicion that he had committed
a crime. The detective simply saw Mr. Beckles, a
young black man, outside of a public housing project,
decided to question him about where he lived, and
exited his vehicle. Trial Tr. at 16, 25-26. Mr. Beckles
fled to his girlfriend’s apartment, with the detective in

™ Td. at 21 Ex.2 (55.2% were re-arrested); id. at 32 Ex.13
(12.5% were for “serious violent offenses”).

™ Td. at 23 Ex.4.

33

pursuit. /d. 17. After removing Mr. Beckles from the
apartment and placing him in his police car, the
detective asked the girlfriend if there were any drugs
or guns in the apartment. /d. at 18-19. She said there
was a gun, but the detective was unable to find it, so
he brought Mr. Beckles back into the apartment,
whereupon Mr. Beckles showed him the gun hidden
beneath the mattress. Jd. at 20. The gun was
unloaded, and there was no ammunition in the
apartment. /d. at 33.

The only career Mr. Beckles had was selling and
using drugs. Like many others still in prison, he is
serving a sentence under the Career Offender Guide-
line that the judge “would not” have imposed “but for
the minimum offense levels assigned by the Sentenc-
ing Commission.” J.A. 149. Their only hope of relief
from its disproportionate and needless severity is for
the Court to hold that Johnson applies retroactively to

Career Offender Guideline cases.
Respectfully submitted,

DONNA COLTHARP AMY BARON-EVANS
SARAH GANNETT Counsel of Record
DANIEL KAPLAN JENNIFER NILES COFFIN

Co Chairs FEDERAL DEFENDERS
BRETT SWEITZER NATIONAL SENTENCING

Member RESOURCE COUNSEL

Amicus Committee 51 Sleeper St., 5th Floor
NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF Boston, MA 02210
FEDERAL DEFENDERS (617) 391-2253

abaronevans@gmai!.com

APPENDIX

la

APPENDIX A
CAREER OFFENDER DATA ANALYSES

Data Source and Methodology

The data used for these analyses were extracted
from the U.S. Sentencing Commission’s Fiscal Year
2014 Individual Offender Datafiles by Dr. Paul J.
Hofer, Policy Analyst, Sentencing Resource Counsel
Project, Federal Public and Community Defenders,
and former Special Projects Director, U.S. Sentencing
Commission.' Although these particular analyses
have not been performed or published by the
Commission, the underlying data are the same as the
data used in the Commission’s annual Sourcebook of
Federal Sentencing Statistics. The data are publicly
available at the Commission’s website. Using
standard statistical software, such as SAS or SPSS,
the Individual Offender Monitoring Datafiles can be
used to perform a wide variety of analyses and
generate tables and graphs beyond those published by
the Commission.

Percentages are rounded to the nearest percent, or
to the nearest tenth in cases of one percent or less.

' For a description of the Datafiles, see U.S. Sent’g Comm'n,
Fifteen Years of Guideline Sentencing: An Assessment of How
Well the Federal Criminal Justice System is Achieving the Goals
of Sentencing Reform app. D at 1 (2004).

? See Commission Datafiles, http://www.ussc.gov/research-
and-publications/com mission-datafiles.

2a

I. Guideline Minimum, Average Sentence Imposed,
Outside-Guideline Rates for Non-Career
Offenders and Career Offenders By Instant
Offense of Conviction®

For ease of reference, the results described below are
collected in the following chart:

ro All Majer C rtenes of Vietenee
O@leme Ofteune Types
Type
‘areer | New Carver Carver —
O@euder | Career | Offender | Career | Oender | Carver | Offade | Career
Average =| 54 “ a ee wT
Gettiie | months | months months | months months reorths feonths months
Mintewe
o—— iw a 314 +7]
Seagrass monchs months months worth months months months
lopneed
Above ae. ae, Tr 1 i, _ a
Range
i ¥, 6 a 7, ¥. ae. Ta
us Os us as as as as as
Pua ww. ”. +s 3*. are ae 1s
NOS NOS NOS NGS NOS NUS NGS NGS
: Ms ». 24%, poo | 23s Me 2”.

GS: Government-apomsored = NCS Non-goveramem sponsored

A. The Eight Major Offense Types

Considering only the 2,186 career offenders and
28,770 non-career offenders convicted of the eight
major offense types found among career offenders
(murder, sexual abuse, assault, robbery, arson, drug
trafficking, firearms, racketeering/extortion‘), the
average guideline minimum was 205 months for
career offenders, and 82 months for non-career

offenders.

* The Commission Datafiles contain no information regarding
the types of prior convictions upon which career offender status
was based.

* See U.S. Sent’g Comm'n, 2014 Sourcebook of Federal
Sentencing Statistics, tb].22.

3a

The average sentence imposed was 149 months for
career offenders, and 66 months for non-career

offenders.

Sentences above the guideline range were imposed
on 0.8 percent of career offenders, and on 2 percent of
non-career offenders.

Sentences below the guideline range were imposed
on 73 percent of career offenders (46 percent govern-
ment sponsored and 26 percent not), and on 62 percent
of non-career offenders (38 percent government
sponsored and 24 percent not).

B. Drug Trafficking
Of the offenders for whom the Commission received

complete information in FY2014, 21,257 offenders

were sentenced primarily under the drug guidelines.°
Of these, 1,702 were classified as career offenders, and

19,555 were not.

The average guideline minimum was 205 months
for career offenders, and 83 months for non-career
offenders.

The average sentence imposed was 138 months for
career offenders, and 61 months for non-career
offenders.

* The primary sentencing guidelines are §§2D1.1 (Drug
Trafficking), 2D1.2 (Protected Locations), 2D1.5 (Continuing
Criminal Enterprise), 2D1.6 (Use of a Communication Facility),
2D1.8 (Rent/Manage Drug Establishment), or 2D2.1 (Simple
Possession). These are the offenders described further in the
Commission's 2014 Sourcebook of Federal Sentencing Statistics,
tbis.33-45.

4a

Sentences above the guideline range were imposed
on 0.5 percent of career offenders, and on 1.0 percent
of non-career offenders.

Sentences below the guideline range were imposed
on 77 percent of career offenders (49 percent govern-
ment sponsored and 28 percent not) and on 70 percent
of non-career offenders (46 percent government
sponsored and 24 percent not).

C. Crimes of Violence

Of the offenders for whom the Commission received
complete information in FY2014, 9,668 offenders were
convicted primarily under statutes for assault, rob-
bery, firearms offenses, and racketeering/extortion.®
Of these, 519 were classified as career offenders,’ and
9,149 were not. The 519 career offenders are 98
percent of career offenders convicted of a crime of

violence.

The average guideline minimum was 198 months
for career offenders, and 67 months for non-career
offenders.

The average sentence imposed was 176 months

for career offenders, and 70 months for non-career
offenders.*

* These are the offenders categorized in these “primary offense
categories” in the Commission’s 2014 Sourcebook of Federal

Sentencing Statistics, tbl.13.

’ See U.S. Sent’g Comm'n, 2014 Sourcebook of Federal
Sentencing Statistics, tb|.22.

* For non-career offenders, the sentence imposed is higher
than the guideline minimum due to mandatory minimums that
in some cases trump the guideline range.

5a

Sentences above the guideline range were imposed
on 2.5 percent of career offenders, and on 4.2 percent
of non-career offenders.

Sentences below the guideline range were imposed
on 57 percent of career offenders (35 percent govern-
ment sponsored and 22 percent not), and on 43 percent
of non-career offenders (20 percent government
sponsored and 23 percent not).

D. Firearms

Of the offenders for whom the Commission received
complete information in FY2014, 7,419 offenders were
convicted of a firearms primary offense.’ Of these, 254
were classified as career offenders, and 7,165 were not.

The average guideline minimum was 241 months
for career offenders, and 66 months for non-career
offenders.

The average sentence imposed was 216 months
for career offenders, and 74 months for non-career
offenders. '°

Sentences above the guideline range were imposed
on 1.6 percent of career offenders, and on 4.0 percent
of non-career offenders.

Sentences below the guideline range were imposed
on 64 percent of career offenders (40 percent govern-
ment sponsored and 24 percent not), and on 43 percent
of non-career offenders (19 percent government
sponsored and 23 percent not).

® These are offenders with a “primary offense category” of
firearms in the Commission’s 2014 Sourcebook of Federal
Sentencing Statistics, tbls.13, 22.

'© For non-career offenders, the sentence imposed is higher
than the guideline minimum due to mandatory minimums that
in some cases trump the guideline range.

6a

Il. Percentage of Non-Career Offenders Who
Received Sentences as High as the Guideline
Minimum for Comparable Career Offenders

For ease of reference, the results described below are
collected in the following chart:

Non-Career Offenders Who Received Sentences As
High As the Career Offender Guideline Minimum

Drug Trafficking + 1.2 percent
Crimes of Violence

Drug Trafficking 0.5 percent
Crimes of Violence 2.8 percent
Firearms 0.9 percent

Analyses were performed to determine how often
non-career offenders received upward departures or
variances that increased the sentence imposed to a
level at least as high as the guideline minimum for
comparable career offenders.

Offenders were divided into comparable groups
based on types of instant offenses and the cells of the
Sentencing Table they were in prior to any upward
departure or variance or any adjustment for career
offender status. For example, non-career offenders
with a guideline minimum of 57 months were com-
pared to career offenders whose guideline minimum
was also 57 months prior to the Chapter Four
enhancement for career offender status. Final
sentences for the non-career offenders were compared
to the lowest minimum of the guideline range appli-
cable to the career offenders following the career
offender enhancement.

7a
A. Drug Trafficking

The analyses were performed on the 192 non-career
offenders who were sentenced above the guideline
range, and the 1,552 career offenders whose career
offender status increased their guideline range.

Sentences for non-career offenders were the same as
or greater than the lowest career offenders’ guideline
minimum in 111 cases. This means that in just 0.5
percent of drug cases, offenders who did not receive
career offender status received sentences at least as
high as the lowest guideline minimum for comparable
drug offenders who did receive career offender status.

B. Crimes of Violence

The analyses were performed using the 385 non-
career offenders convicted primarily under statutes for
assault, robbery, firearms offenses, and racketeering/
extortion who were sentenced above the guideline
range, and the 456 career offenders convicted of those
same offense types whose career offender status
increased their guideline range.

Sentences for non-career offenders were the same as
or greater than career offenders’ guideline minimum
in 271 cases. This means that in just 2.8 percent of
these types of cases, offenders who did not receive
career offender status received sentences at least as
high as the lowest guideline minimum for comparable
offenders who did receive career offender status.

C. Drug Trafficking and Crimes of Violence

The analyses were performed using the 577 non-
career offenders in the offense types above who were
sentenced above the guideline range, and the 2,008
career offenders in those same offense types whose
career offender status increased their guideline range.

8a

Sentences for non-career offenders were the same as
or greater than the lowest career offenders’ guideline
minimum in 382 cases. This means that in just 1.2
percent of these types of cases, offenders who did not
receive career offender status received sentences at
least as high as the lowest guideline minimum for
comparable offenders who did receive career offender
status.

D. Firearms

The analyses were performed using the 284 non-
career firearms offenders who were sentenced above
the guideline range, and the 207 firearms career
offenders whose career offender status increased their
guideline range.

Sentences for non-career offenders were the same as
or greater than career offenders’ guideline minimum
in 70 cases. This means that in just 0.9 percent of
firearms cases, offenders who did not receive career
offender status received sentences at least as high as
the lowest guideline minimum for comparable
offenders who did receive career offender status.

9a

Ill. Race/Ethnicity of Career Offenders and Non-
Career Offenders In Eight Most Common

Career Offender Offense Types
Total Sentenced for Eight Most Common Offenses*
Race/Ethnicity | All Sentenced in
FYs 1992-2014
White 29.2%
Black 32.7%
Hispanic 34.2%
Other 3.9%
All Sentenced in Fiscal Years 1992-2014 and Those |ikety Still in Prison*
Career Offender States Race/Ethnicity | All Seatenced ia | Likely Still in
Carece offen: iis ie
Black 61.6% 65.8%
Hispamc aa% as
"Other Lm AM
Now career offender White 6% 23.5%
Black Ws wa
Hispanic 35.4% 33.6%
ai 16%

* Cases with full information; Data before 1992 not
available; Includes offense types: murder, sexval
assault, assault, robbery, arson, drug trafficking,
firearms, racketeering/extortion, see U.S. Sent’g
Comm’n, 2014 Sourcebook of Federal Sentencing
Statistics, tbl.22.

IV Number of Prisoners Seeking Collateral
Review

Data from FY1992 (the earliest date for which the
Commission has made data available) through
FY2014 (the year before Johnson v. United States, 135
S. Ct. 2551 (2015) was decided) were used to estimate
the number of offenders sentenced under the career
offender guideline, and the number of those offenders

10a

likely to remain in prison, by district and nationwide.
The estimate of the number likely to remain in prison
is necessarily imprecise, because it is based only on
information available at the time of sentencing,
including estimates of the prison time likely to be
served by offenders, assuming they receive full good
time credits. Information on re-sentencings, other
possible post-sentencing reductions, and prison con-
duct that may affect good time credits is not available.
Publicly available data also do not indicate the precise
date of sentencing, only the fiscal year. Offenders who
would be more than 70 years old today are excluded
from the estimate.

Based on this information, about 39,953 offenders
were sentenced under the career offender guideline
from FY1992 through FY2014, and about 23,546 of
those offenders are likely still in prison.

The number of prisoners who may be eligible for
relief if Johnson is held to be retroactive is necessarily
lower than the number of career offenders likely still
in prison. The majority of career offender predicates
are “controlled substance offenses,”"' and many
“crimes of violence” qualify under the enumerated
offense clause or the elements clause.

After the statute of limitations passed, Federal
Defender Offices were asked to report the number of

'' The Commission’s Datafiles do not contain information
regarding the types of prior convictions upon which career
offender status was based, but the most common “criminal
history event” for career offenders sentenced in fiscal year 2014
was drug trafficking. See U.S. Sent’g Comm’n, Public Data
Briefing: “Crime of Violence” and Related Issues at slides 17, 19,
available http://www.ussc.gov/sites/default/files/pdf/amendment-
process/public-hearings-and-meetings/20151105/COV_briefing.
pdf.

lla

28 U.S.C. § 2255 motions they had filed in career
offender cases, but only if they had undertaken a
thorough effort to file motions for as many people as
appeared to be eligible for relief. For each of the
responding districts, the number of motions filed was
divided by the number of defendants sentenced under
the career offender guideline in that district from
FY1992 through FY2014 who are likely still in prison.
The average was 25.6 percent. Taking 25.6 percent
of the 23,546 career offenders likely still in prison
nationwide, a maximum of 6,027 motions were filed.
This overstates the number of motions filed by Federal
Defender Offices, as many offices were unable to file
any motions or as many motions as there are prisoners
eligible for relief. At the same time, an unknown
number of prisoners filed pro se motions. Nonetheless,
we believe that 6,000 motions is a fair estimate, and
likely overstates the number of motions filed, as it is
based on data from Federal Defender Offices that filed
motions for as many people as appeared to be eligible.

12a
APPENDIX B

FEDERAL PUBLIC AND COMMUNITY DEFENDERS

Alabama, Northern
KEVIN BUTLER

Alabama, Middle
CHRISTINE FREEMAN

Alabama, Southern
CARLOS WILLIAMS

Alaska

FRED RICHARD CURTNER
Arizona

JON M. SANDS

Arkansas, Eastern
JENNIFFER MORRIS HORAN

Arkansas, Western
BRUCE EDDY

California, Central
HILARY POTASHNER

California, Eastern
HEATHER ERICA WILLIAMS

California, Northern
STEVEN GARY KALAR

California, Southern
REUBEN CAHN

Colorado
VIRGINIA L. GRADY

Connecticut
TERENCE S. WARD

Delaware
EDSON A. BOSsTIC

13a

District of Columbia
A. J. KRAMER

Florida, Middle
DONNA LEE ELM

Florida, Northern
RANDOLPH P. MURRELL

Georgia, Middle
CHRISTINA HUNT

Georgia, Northern
STEPHANIE KEARNS

Guam
JOHN T. GORMAN

Hawaii

PETER C. WOLFF, JR.

Idaho, Central and Northern
ANDREA GEORGE

Idaho, Southern
SAMUEL RICHARD RUBIN

Illinois, Central
THOMAS W PATTON

Illinois, Northern
CAROL BROOK

Illinois, Southern
PHILLIP J. KAVANAUGH

Indiana, Northern
JEROME T. FLYNN

Indiana, Southern
MONICA FOSTER

Iowa, Northern and Southern
JAMES F. WHALEN

l4a

Kansas
MELODY BRANNON

Kentucky, Western
ScoTT WENDELSDORF

Louisiana, Eastern
CLAUDE KELLY

Louisiana, Middle and Western
REBECCA L. HUDSMITH

Maine
DAVID BENEMAN

Maryland
JAMES WYDA

Massachusetts
MIRIAM CONRAD

Michigan, Eastern
MIRIAM L. SIEFER

Michigan, Western
SHARON TUREK

Minnesota
KATHERIAN D. ROE

Mississippi, Northern and Southern
SAMUEL DENNIS JOINER

Missouri, Eastern
LEE LAWLESS

Missouri, Western
MADELEINE CARDARELLA

Montana
ANTHONY R. GALLAGHER

Nebraska
DAVID STICKMAN

15a

Nevada
RENE VALLADARES

New Hampshire
MIRIAM CONRAD

New Jersey
RICHARD COUGHLIN

New Mexico
STEPHEN P MCCUE

New York, Eastern and Southern
DAVID PATTON

New York, Northern
LISA PEEBLES

New York, Western
MARIANNE MARIANO
North Carolina, Eastern

THOMAS P. MCNAMARA

North Carolina, Middle
Louls C. ALLEN IIT

North Carolina, Western
Ross RICHARDSON

North and South Dakota
NEIL FULTON

Ohio, Northern
STEPHEN C. NEWMAN

Ohio, Southern
DEBORAH WILLIAMS

Oklahoma, Eastern and Northern
JULIA L. O’CONNELL

Oklahoma, Western
SUSAN M. OTTO

16a

Oregon
LISA HAY

Pennsylvania, Eastern
LEIGH SKIPPER

Pennsylvania, Middle
JAMES V. WADE

Pennsylvania, Western
LISA B. FREELAND

Puerto Rico
Eric A. Vos

Rhode Island
MIRIAM CONRAD

South Carolina
PARKS NOLAN SMALL

Tennessee, Eastern
ELIZABETH FORD

Tennessee, Middle
HENRY A. MARTIN

Tennessee, Western
DoRIS RANDLE-HOLT

Texas, Eastern
G. PATRICK BLACK

Texas, Northern
JASON D. HAWKINS

Texas, Southern
MARJORIE A. MEYERS

Texas, Western
MAUREEN SCOTT FRANCO

Utah
KATHRYN N. NESTER

17a

Vermont
MICHAEL L. DESAUTELS

Virgin Islands
OMODARE JUPITER

Virginia, Eastern
GEREMY KAMENS

Virginia, Western
LARRY W. SHELTON

Washington, Eastern
ANDREA GEORGE

Washington, Western
MICHAEL FILIPOVIC

West Virginia, Northern
BRIAN J. KORNBRATH

West Virginia, Southern
CHRISTIAN M. CAPECE

Wisconsin, Eastern and Western
DANIEL STILLER

Wyoming
VIRGINIA L. GRADY

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0685%3A11. Public record. Not legal advice.
