# Amicus Curiae Brief — McLane Co. v. Equal Emp't Opportunity Comm'n, 137 S. Ct. 30 (2016) (No. 15-1248)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0658%3A05

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2016

## Text

REFS No. 15-1248

IN THE
Supreme Court of the Gnited States

MCLANE COMPANY, INC.,
Petitioner,
Vv.
EQUAL EMPLOYMENT OPPORTUNITY COMMISSION,
Respondent.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals
for the Ninth Circuit

BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE OF THE
EQUAL EMPLOYMENT ADVISORY COUNCIL
IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONER

RAE T. VANN
MICHAEL P. BRACKEN
Counsel of Record

NT LAKIS, LLP

Suite 400

1501 M St., N.W.
Washington, DC 20005

(202) 629-5608
Attorneys for Amicus Curiae

Equal Employment Advisory
Council

May 2016

ee
WiLSON-EPES PRINTING Co., INC. — (202) 789-0096 — WASHINGTON, D. C. 20002

TABLE OF CONTENTS

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES. ................cccseesceeeeeees
INTEREST OF THE AMICUS CURIAE............
STATEMENT OF THE CASE ................-s00eeeeees
SUMMARY OF REASONS FOR GRANTING

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT..........

REVIEW OF THE DECISION BELOW IS
NECESSARY TO PROVIDE CLARITY ON
ISSUES OF SUBSTANTIAL IMPORTANCE
TO THE EMPLOYER COMMUNITY ................

A. The Ninth Circuit's Decision Below Is
Contrary To Title VII’s Plain Text And
This Court’s Decision In EEOC v. Shell

B. The Ninth Circuit’s Ruling Is At Odds
With Other Circuits That Have
Interpreted Shell Oil As Limiting The
Scope Of An EEOC Inquiry To Matters
Relevant To The Specific Charge Being
BE siiscuieierinsidiinstnecciiniesineihentnnediiacenmemtaniiales

C. The Decision Below Increases Signifi-
cantly The Risk Of Disclosure Of
Confidential Information And Resulting
Irreparable Harm To Employers And
SII. cisitiuinttnidnasscniaadianioaiammaaiiieanties

(i)

11

ii
TABLE OF CONTENTS—Continued
Page

D. The EEOC’s Increasingly Aggressive
Investigation And Enforcement Philoso-
phy Reinforces The Need To Clarify The
Limited Scope Of Its Subpoena Authority. 17

ET sncisinvisnnodeiaidesinaniiettnaiiondes \onsaibatennis 21

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
FEDERAL CASES Page(s)
Burlington Northern & Santa Fe Railway
v. White, 548 U.S. 53 (2006) ..................... 3
Desert Palace, Inc. v. Costa, 539 U.S. 90
II oididl chine cieepeanensentaaaniesicatadtbbiiduedlgantemumtets 3
EEOC v. Bailey Co., 563 F.2d 439 (6th Cir.
HEI acsiiteclnisudclinciocdeniitichesaiadanaibattatmiediamnsialienin 10, 18
EEOC v. Ford Motor Credit Co., 26 F.3d 44
ESS er ene Soree ee 14
EEOC v. Freeman, 778 F.3d 463 (4th Cir.
IIIT ccichasealictnscnatis eeligtlbtelvesteiesiaitdadiiieialsieiasaanhadiniscialinaii 19
EEOC v. Great Steaks, Inc., 667 F.3d 510
aR Ire am eae 18
EEOC v. HomeNurse, Inc., 2013 WL
5779046 (N.D. Ga. Sept. 30, 2013)........... 19
EEOC v. Kronos Inc., 620 F.3d 287 (3d Cir.
I ihtiianicisiciDicnteiadeunasiet a ncscedvatcabedldtebintiteadin 11,19
EEOC v. Peoplemark, Inc., 732 F.3d 584
I a cemicneiiaiaie 19
EEOC v. Royal Caribbean Cruises, Lid.,
771 F.3d 757 (11th Cir. 2014)................... 11,19

EEOC v. Shell Oil Co., 466 U.S. 54 (1984) passim

EEOC v. Southern Farm Bureau Casualty
Insurance Co., 271 F.3d 209 (5th Cir.

EEOC v. Technocrest Systems, Inc., 448
F.3d 1036 (8th Cir. 2006)...........c.c0ccccceeseee 15

iv
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page(s)
EEOC v. TriCore Reference Laboratories,
493 F. App’x 955 (10th Cir. 2012) ............ 19
EEOC v. United Air Lines, Inc., 287 F.3d
ee ES SE eescccsesencaetenssnies 10, 11, 12, 19
EEOC v. U.S. Steel Corp., 2013 WL 625315
C28. 9 8 8 ees 19
EEOC v. University of Pennsylvania, 493
Eas hole rere 8

EEOC v. West Customer Management
Group, LLC, 2014 WL 4435980 (N.D. Fla.

RR ES AR RR te 19
Gross v. FBL Financial Services, Inc., 557

EN REE SRE PETES RRS Ree er 3
Mach Mining, LLC v. EEOC, 135 S. Ct.

a 3
Venetian Casino Resort, L.L.C. v. EEOC,

409 F.3d 359 (D.C. Cir. 2005)................... 16

FEDERAL STATUTES
Freedom of Information Act,

Be is Sr I OI aicisccccsccscsennnssosesscuses 15
Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964,

42 U.S.C. §§ 20006 et seq. ..................20000 passim
42 U.S.C. § 2000e-2(aN(1)............ccccceeccccecseers 8
I I viiicenccihnsdcncsacsudcteiesesnciie 7
42 U.S.C. § 200D]-B(b)................ccccccesevoreeeees 8
ls Be vi ivncscsvccssecoseenetgecvnanccdenacss 9

42 U.E.C. § BOD S-Bla)..........ccccceeccccesesersseseess 8,9

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued
LEGISLATIVE HISTORY Page(s)

EEOC: An Agency on the Wrong Track?
Litigation Failures, Misfocused Priori-
ties, and Lack of Transparency Raise
Concerns About Important Anti-
Discrimination Agency, U.S. Senate
Committee on Health, Education, Labor,
and Pensions, Minority Staff Report

ELLE 20
OTHER AUTHORITIES
Donald R. Livingston, EEOC Litigation
and Charge Resolution (BNA 2005)......... 18
EEOC, Effective Position Statements .......... 15, 16

EEOC Compliance Manual, Section 26:
Selection and Analysis of Evidence,
§ 26.3 Selection of Records, 2006 WL
4673113 (Aug. 2009 & Supp. 2016).......... 15

EEOC Con -iance Manual, Section 26:
Selection and Analysis of Evidence,
§ 26.9 Records Maintained by Employers,
2006 WL 4673119 (Aug. 2009 & Supp.
SI ist oscadisteheaidnimabaaiaepeibadnicinieadsaiiaion 14

EEOC Compliance Manual, Section 83:
Disclosure of Information in Charge Files
I sia hsccset dices depuncmatebeinianhisisienidaets 15

EEOC Compliance Manual, Section 83:
Disclosure of Information in Charge
Files, § 83.6(a) Security of Files, Copies
Made by Others (May 2016)..................... 16

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page(s)

EEOC Compliance Manual, Section 602:
Evidence, § 602.4 Quality of Evidence,
2006 WL 4672676 (Aug. 2009 & Supp.
FID occeconccoccoccesnssesnesecnipesneuniani aan

EEOC, Fiscal Year 2015 Performance and
Accountability Report..................:.c0.:cceeeees

Press Release, Sen. Lamar Alexander,
Appropriations Committee Advances Bill
Directing EEOC to Focus on “Massive”
Backlog of 76,000 Unresolved Workplace
Discrimination Cases (Apr. 21, 2016) ......

Statement of OPM Press Secretary (Sept.
1B, BRB onccccceccsseecsosssscussinssesnsenienanae

12

20

21

16

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Anited States

No. 15-1248

McLANE COMPANY, INC.,

Petitioner,
Vv.

EQUAL EMPLOYMENT OPPORTUNITY COMMISSION,
Respondent.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals
for the Ninth Circuit

BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE OF THE
EQUAL EMPLOYMENT ADVISORY COUNCIL
IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONER

The Equal Employment Advisory Council respect-
fully submits this brief amicus curiae in support of the
Pccition for a Writ of Certiorari.'

‘ Counsel of record for all parties received notice at least 10
days prior to the due date of the amicus curiae’s intention to file
this brief. Both parties have consented to the filing of this brief.
Counsel for amicus curiae authored this brief in its entirety. No
counsel for a party authored this brief in whole or in part, and no
counsel or party made a monetary contribution intended to fund
the preparation or submission of this brief. No person other than
amicus curiae, its members, or its counsel made a monetary
contribution to its preparation or submission.

2
INTEREST OF THE AMICUS CURIAE

The Equal Employment Advisory Council (EEAC)
is a nationwide association of employers organized
in 1976 to promote sound approaches to the
elimination of discriminatory employment practices.
Its membership includes over 250 major U.S.
corporations, collectively providing employment to
millions of workers. EEAC’s directors and officers
include many of the nation’s leading experts in
the field of equal employment opportunity. Their
combined experience gives EEAC a unique depth of
understanding of the practical, as well as legal,
considerations relevant to the proper interpretation
and application of equal employment policies and
requirements. EEAC’s members are firmly committed
to the principles of nondiscrimination and equal
employment opportunity.

All of EEAC’s member companies are employers
subject to Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 (Title
VID), 42 U.S.C. $§ 2000e et seg. , as amended, and other
federal employment-related laws enforced by the U.S.
Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC).
As employers, and as potential targets of EEOC
discrimination charge investigations and enforcement
actions, EEAC’s members have a substantial interest
in the issue presented in this matter concerning the
authority of the EEOC to compel the production of
evidence that is irrelevant to resolution of the specific
charge under investigation.

Because of its interest in the application of the
nation’s fair employment laws, EEAC has filed
numerous briefs as amicus curiae in cases before this
Court and the courts of appeals involving the proper

3

construction and interpretation of Title VII and other
federal laws.”

EEAC seeks to assist the Court by highlighting the
impact its decision may have beyond the immediate
concerns of the parties to the case. Accordingly, this
brief brings to the attention of the Court relevant
information that has not already been brought to its
attention by the parties. Because of its experience
in these matters, EEAC is well-situated to brief the
Court on the relevant concerns of the business
community and the significance of this case to
employers.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Petitioner McLane Company (McLane) administers
a physical capability test to all new hires, as well as to
current employees returning from medical leaves of
absence. Pet. App. 3. Damiana Ochoa was required to
take the test before being allowed to return to work
from maternity leave. Id. She took and failed the test
three times, and therefore was not permitted to return
to work. Id.

Ochoa subsequently filed an administrative charge
with Respondent EEOC, alleging that use of the test
discriminated against her on the basis of sex
(pregnancy) in violation of Title VII of the Civil Rights
Act of 1964 (Title VID, 42 U.S.C. $§ 2000e et seq., as
amended. Pet. App. 2.

2 See, e.g., EEOC v. Shell Oil Co., 466 U.S. 54 (1984); Mach
Mining, LLC v. EEOC, 135 S.Ct. 1645 (2015); Gross v. FBL Fin.
Sues., Inc., 557 U.S. 167 (2009); Burlington Northern & Santa Fe
Rwy. v. White, 548 U.S. 53 (2006); Desert Palace, Inc. v. Costa,
539 U.S. 90 (2003).

4

As part of its investigation of the Ochoa charge, the
EEOC asked McLane to provide extensive information
about the test, including, for each person who took it:

® name, sex, date of birth, social security
number, and contact information;

e disability status;

e the reason why he or she was required to take
the test;

e test score; and
e reason for termination, if applicable.

Pet. App. 3-4, 20-21. The EEOC’s request for infor-
mation was not limited to the McLane facility where
Ochoa worked, but rather extended to all McLane
facilities nationwide. Id.

McLane challenged the breadth and scope of the
information request. The EEOC responded by issuing
a subpoena, in response to which McLane provided
a database of all individuals who took the test
nationwide by sex, location, position, test date, reason
for the test, score, and (for applicants) whether the test
taker was deemed minimally qualified for the position.
Id. Dissatisfied, the EEOC filed an action in the U.S.
District Court for the District of Arizona to enforce the
subpoena.

In opposition, McLane argued that the EEOC was
not entitled to any disability-related information,
because Ochoa does not claim either to be disabled or
that she was discriminated against because of actual
or perceived disability. Pet. App. 23-26. It also
contended that the additional “pedigree” information
sought by the EEOC, including (among other data)
name, date of birth, social security number, last
known address, and phone number, was not relevant

5

to whether or not use of the test discriminated against
Ochoa because of her pregnancy. Pet. App. 20-21.
Finally, McLane argued that the information pertain-
ing to the “reason for termination” for all those who
took the test was overly broad and unduly burden-
some. Id.

The district court refused the EEOC access to the
disability-related information on the ground that
Ochoa could not state a claim for disability discrimina-
tion. Pet. App. 25-27. The district court also found
that the additional pedigree information sought in this
case — in particular, the names, contact information,
and social security numbers of individual employees —
was not relevant to resolution of the Ochoa charge:

[A]n individual’s name, or even an interview he or
she could provide if contacted, simply could not
“shed light on” whether the [test] represents a tool
of gender discrimination in the aggregate. The
EEOC has provided nothing to the Court to allay
the concerns raised by McLane that such data has
been requested as a means of trolling for possible
complainants.

Pet. App. 29. The district court also declined to require
McLane to produce the “reason for termination”
information. Pet. App. 30-31.

The EEOC appealed the district court’s order
denying enforcement of its subpoena for pedigree and
termination information, but only as to the sex
discrimination claims. Pet. App. 1, 5. It abandoned
the argument that the subpoena should be enforced
because of its purported relevance to suspected
disability discrimination. Pet. App. 5-6.

6

The Ninth Circuit reversed the district court,
enforcing the EEOC’s subpoena for nationwide pedi-
gree information. Pet. App. 15-16. It reasoned that
the information was relevant because it would allow
the EEOC to identify and contact other test takers who
might have information casting light on Ochoa’s
allegations against McLane. Pet. App. 10-14. It
also ruled that information concerning McLane’s
termination of other test takers was relevant, but
remanded on the issue of whether requiring produc-
tion of such information would be unduly burdensome.
Pet. App. 14-16.

After its request for rehearing en banc was denied,
McLane filed a Petition for a Writ of Certiorari with

this Court on April 4, 2016.

SUMMARY OF REASONS FOR
GRANTING THE WRIT

The decision below, which rubber-stamped an
overbroad administrative subpoena for nationwide
data having no relevance to the allegations of the
EEOC discrimination charge being investigated, is
contrary to Title VII's plain text and this Court’s
holding and rationale in EEOC v. Shell Oil Co., 466
U.S. 54 (1984), and is inconsistent with interpreta-
tions of at least three federal courts of appeals. The
lower court’s misapplication of Title VII, as construed
in Shell, will have an immediate and widespread effect
on the conduct of EEOC charge investigation activities
nationwide, to the profound disadvantage of employ-
ers and employees alike. Accordingly, this Court
should grant the petition and reverse the decision
below.

The relevance of an EEOC inquiry must be
inextricably tied to the harm allegedly suffered by the

7

individual charge-filer. This interpretation is most
consistent with Title VII and its requirement that
the charging party be personally aggrieved. 42 U.S.C.
§ 2000e-5. Permitting the EEOC to demand infor-
mation pertaining to issues outside the scope of
the underlying charge also would unfairly deprive
employers — large and small — of the due process
guarantees to which they are entitled. More
importantly, however, unfocused efforts such as these
do little, if anything, to satisfy the EEOC’s obligations
to individual charging parties whose claims are, for all
intents and purposes, left to languish while the agency
pursues bigger “fish.”

Indeed, there has been a steady shift at the EEOC
towards incentivizing staff to seek out claims with
potentially broad-based, systemic implications, which
serves only to increase the agency’s use of fantastically
broad and irrelevant investigative subpoenas, to the
detriment of employer-respondents, as well as to
individual charging parties.

Furthermore, allowing the EEOC to obtain overly
broad and irrelevant employment data, which often
contain highly sensitive information such as employee
social security numbers, unnecessarily increases the
risk that such information will become available to the
public, either through the charging party or as a result
of an unauthorized data breach. At a minimum, when
the EEOC requests sensitive data, the relevance of
and need for the information must be balanced against
the harm that will be suffered if the information
is disclosed. The Court should use this case as an
opportunity to clarify the meaning of Shell Oil in light
of the cybersecurity and data breach concerns that
have become so prevalent in recent years.

8
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

REVIEW OF THE DECISION BELOW IS NECES-
SARY TO PROVIDE CLARITY ON ISSUES
OF SUBSTANTIAL IMPORTANCE TO THE
EMPLOYER COMMUNITY

The EEOC is authorized by Congress to enforce Title
VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 (Title VID, 42 U.S.C.
§§ 2000e et seg., which prohibits discrimination
against a covered individual “with respect to his
compensation, terms, conditions, or privileges of
employment, because of such individual’s race, color,
religion, sex, or national origin.” 42 U.S.C. § 2000e-
2(a)(1). Title VII sets forth “an integrated, multistep
enforcement procedure’ that ... begins with the filing
of a charge with the EEOC alleging that a given
employer has engaged in an unlawful employment
practice.” Shell Oil Co., 466 U.S. at 62 (quoting
Occidental Life Ins. Co. v. EEOC, 432 U.S. 355, 359
(1977) (footnote omitted)); see also EEOC v. Univ. of
Pa., 493 U.S. 182, 190 (1990). Upon the filing of a
charge, Title VII provides that the EEOC “shall make
an investigation thereof ....” 42 U.S.C. § 2000e-5(b).

In conducting discrimination charge investigations,
the EEOC does not possess unfettered discretion to
seek out other forms of discrimination not alleged
by the charging party and outside the scope of its
reasonable investigation of the charging party’s
claims. To the contrary, its authority to compel
the production of evidence is limited to materials
“relevant” to the allegations in the charge. 42 U.S.C.
§ 2000e-8(a). Thus, “unlike other federal agencies that
possess plenary authority to demand to see records
relevant to matters within their jurisdiction, the
EEOC is entitled ... access only to evidence ‘relevant to

9

the charge under investigation.” Sheil Oil Co., 466
U.S. at 64 (citation and footnote omitted) (emphasis
added).

By enforcing a wildly overbroad administrative
subpoena for nationwide data having no relevance to
the allegations of the charge being investigated, the
Ninth Circuit disregarded Title VII’s plain text and
contravened this Court’s admonitions in Shell Oil.
Accordingly, the petition should be granted and the
decision below reversed.

A. The Ninth Circuit’s Decision Below Is
Contrary To Title VII’s Plain Text And
This Court’s Decision In EEOC v. Shell
Oil

The EEOC’s investigative power derives from the
charges that are filed with it. Shell Oil Co., 466 US.
at 64. As such, during an investigation, the EEOC
is only entitled to evidence that is relevant to the
issues raised in the underlying discrimination charge.
42 U.S.C. § 2000e-8. The applicable statutory author-
ity provides:

In connection with any investigation of a charge
filed under section 706 [42 U.S.C. § 2000e-5], the
Commission or its designated representative shall
at all reasonable times have access to, for the
purposes of examination, and the right to copy
any evidence of any person being investigated
or proceeded against that relates to unlawful
employment practices covered by this [subchapter]
and is relevant to the charge under investigation.

42 U.S.C. § 2000e-8(a) (emphasis added).

10

Thus, in vesting the EEOC with primary respon-
sibility for enforcing Title VII, Congress unambigu-
ously restricted the EEOC’s subpoena power to
inspecting and copying evidence relevant to the charge
under investigation. Jd. This “requirement of rele-
vance, like the charge requirement itself, is designed
to cabin the EEOC’s authority and prevent ‘fishing
expeditions.” EEOC v. United Air Lines, Inc., 287
F.3d 643, 653 (7th Cir. 2002) (quoting EEOC v. K-Mart
Corp., 694 F.2d 1055, 1066 (6th Cir. 1982)). As this
Court emphasized in Shell Oil, “Congress did not
eliminate the relevance requirement, and we must be
careful not to construe the regulation adopted by the
EEOC governing what goes into a charge in a fashion
that renders that requirement a nullity.” 466 U.S. at
69.

In this case, the EEOC’s subpoena extends well
beyond the four corners of the Ochoa charge, seeking,
among other things, personal pedigree information
such as social security numbers and dates of birth
about all McLane test takers nationwide. It contains
no meaningful boundaries whatsoever and, if found to
be valid and enforceable as written, essentially would
authorize the agency to launch a full-scale, uncon-
strained audit of myriad employment practices
affecting McLane employees generally.

When the EEOC exceeds its statutory authority by
issuing subpoenas for information pertaining to
matters outside the bounds of the allegations being
investigated, it unilaterally dispenses with Title VII's
statutory requirements, as explained by this Court in
Shell Oil, and robs employers of the basic protections
they afford. EEOC v. Bailey Co., 563 F.2d 439, 450
(6th Cir. 1977). By permitting the EEOC, in seeking
enforcement of its administrative subpoena, “merely

11

to allege that an employer has violated Title VII,”
Shell Oil, 466 U.S. at 72, the Ninth Circuit effectively
has “renderled] nugatory the statutory limitation of
the Commission’s investigative authority to materials
‘relevant’ to a charge,” id., and thereby has thwarted
“Congress desire to prevent the Commission from
exercising unconstrained investigative authority ....”
Id. at 65.

B. The Ninth Circuit’s Ruling Is At
Odds With Other Circuits That Have
Interpreted Shell Oil As Limiting The
Scope Of An EEOC Inquiry To Matters
Relevant To The Specific Charge Being
Investigated

The Ninth Circuit’s decision below also is at odds
with other courts that have addressed this issue. In
EEOC v. Southern Farm Bureau Casualty Insurance
Co., for instance, the Fifth Circuit refused to enforce
an EEOC subpoena seeking information concerning
gender in connection with the investigation of a race
discrimination charge. 271 F.3d 209, 211-12 (5th Cir.
2001). The court observed that the EEOC’s authority
to demand information is not unlimited, but rather
must be based on the specific claims raised in a valid
charge. Id. See also EEOC v. Kronos, Inc., 620 F.3d
287, 300-02 (3d Cir. 2010) (inquiry into potential race
discrimination is not a reasonable expansion of a
disability discrimination charge); EEOC v. Royal
Caribbean Cruises, Lid., 771 F.3d 757, 761 (11th Cir.
2014) (affirming lower court’s decision not to enforce
EEOC subpoena where information sought in sub-
poena, which pertained to employees and applicants
across the globe, would not aid the EEOC in resolving
the disputed issues in the specific charge being investi-
gated); EEOC v. United Air Lines, Inc., 287 F.3d 643,

12

655 (7th Cir. 2002) (refusing to enforce portions of
subpoena that sought information unrelated to charge
of discrimination because “[ajllowing the EEOC to
conduct such a broad investigation would require [the
court] to disregard the Congressional requirement
that the investigation be based on the charge”).

Even the EEOC’s own Compliance Manual counsels
investigators against collecting irrelevant information
and data exceeding the scope of the charging party’s
allegations, instructing them, for example, to collect
only evidence that is both “material to the charge” and
“relevant to the issue(s) raised in the charge.” EEOC
Compl. Man., Section 602: Evidence, § 602.4 Quality
of Evidence, 2006 WL 4672676 (Aug. 2009). Evidence
is material, the agency explains, “when it relates to
one or more of the issues raised by a charge ... or by a
respondent’s answer to it.” Id. at § 602.4(a) Material
evidence. Evidence is relevant “if it tends to prove or
disprove [a material] issue raised by a charge.” Id. at
§ 602.4(b) Relevant evidence.

Accordingly, the manual explains that where the
charging party alleges that the employer denied
“training, assignments, pay increases, retention
rights, transfer, and promotion ... to laid off employees
eligible to retire but made available to younger
employees,” material evidence would include “infor-
mation on [the charging party] and his/her perfor-
mance; information on the ages, positions, and perfor-
mance of laid off employees, remaining employees, and
recalled employees; copies of company benefit plans
and policy statements; any actuarial data used to
support benefit reductions; and testimony” but would
not include “[vjoluminous data ... which has nothing
to do with [the] employment practices [being]
investigated ....” Id. at § 602.4(a) Example 2.

13

The subpoena at issue here seeks a variety of
information and documents pertaining to personally
identifiable and other information for all McLane
employees who took the physical capability test, in-
cluding dates of birth, social security numbers, dates
of application, and dates of hire. These data will do
nothing to shed light upon Ochoa’s Title VII pregnancy
discrimination claim, however, and should be held
beyond the agency’s investigative reach.

Allowing the EEOC to seek out information pertain-
ing to issues outside the scope of the charge being
investigated would discourage employers from provid-
ing thorough and comprehensive responses for fear
that such information likely would trigger an
“expanded” investigation. At worst, such a practice
could lead employers to refuse to provide any infor-
mation requested in connection with a charge inves-
tigation, thereby forcing the EEOC each time to go
through the time-consuming and tedious process of
attempting to compel production of the data it seeks.

C. The Decision Below Increases Signifi-
cantly The Risk Of Disclosure Of
Confidential Information And Result-
ing Irreparable Harm To Employers
And Employees

Most companies understandably are reluctant to
hand over to the EEOC voluminous, confidential
business and employee information that has no
relevance to resolution of issues raised in a pending
charge of discrimination. There are many reasons for
this reluctance, including the fear that the infor-
mation may be given to the charging party (perhaps a
former employee with an axe to grind) and/or become
the casualty of a data breach. Allowing the EEOC to

14

obtain broad categories of sensitive employment data
that are not carefully tailored to elucidate allegations
raised in the specific charge being investigated unnec-
essarily increases the risk that confidential employer
and employee information will become available to a
competitor or to the public. Because Shell Oil was
decided at a time when cybersecurity and data breach
concerns were nonexistent, this Court should use this
case as an opportunity to provide much needed clarity
as to its meaning in this context.

EEOC investigators routinely exceed their authority
by asking employers to hand over confidential and
sometimes highly sensitive business and employee
information during charge investigations, even when
the information has no relevance to the underlying
charge. Disclosure of only marginally relevant em-
ployee data increases the risk that such information
will be disclosed to the charging parties or worse,
accessed by criminals through an unauthorized data
breach.

Depending on the case, the EEOC might demand
that an employer provide information relating to
recruitment, hiring and promotional practices, work-
place policy and procedure, organizational structure
and succession planning, compensation and benefits,
as well as many other employment-related practices
that in one way or another shed light on the company’s
structure and operations. EEOC Compl. Man.,
Sectio.. 26: Selection and Analysis of Evidence, § 26.9
Records Maintained by Employers, 2006 WL 4673119
(Aug. 2009); see also EEOC v. Ford Motor Credit Co.,
26 F.3d 44 (6th Cir. 1994) (EEOC seeking detailed
employment data for all workers employed at respond-
ent’s facility for a period of twelve years, including job
titles, starting grade level and salary, assignments

15

and promotions). Moreover, the agency can (and fre-
quently does) require unrestricted access to electronic
payroll, accounting, and human resource data relating
to specific individuals, entire business units and
work facilities—often, as here, on a company-wide
basis. EEOC Compl. Man., Section 26: Selection and
Analysis of Evidence, § 26.3 Selection of Records, 2006
WL 4673113 (Aug. 2009); see also EEOC v. Technocrest
Sys., Inc., 448 F.3d 1035, 1037 (8th Cir. 2006) (EEOC
requesting “the complete contents of all personnel
files and records” for all technical employees of
the company). These broad requests for data also
can seek sensitive personal information, including
employee social security numbers and other pedigree
information.

Once this information is given to the EEOC, it
becomes part of the investigative file and is subject to
disclosure under the agency’s disclosure rules, which
means that in certain circumstances it can be viewed
by the charging party or witnesses. The EEOC dis-
closes information from case files pursuant to the
Freedom of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. §§ 552
et seq., and Section 83 of the EEOC’s Compliance
Manual. See EEOC Compl. Man., Section 83: Disclo-
sure of Information in Charge Files (May 2016). And
while the EEOC is only supposed to release non-
confidential materials to the charging party, under
a recently announced nationwide policy, the agency
has indicated that it will unilaterally decide
whether a document marked by an employer as
“confidential” is sufficiently proprietary to justify
withholding it from a charging party. See EEOC,
ong Position Saatennents, available at https;//

Ey Gas acinaaiatend thet fhe investiontere can

16

and routinely do share confidential business infor-
mation supplied by employers with charging parties
and witnesses in all types of cases as an “investigative
technique” for the purpose of “elicit{ing] more infor-
mation.” See Venetian Casino Resort, L.L.C. v. EEOC,
409 F.3d 359, 362 (D.C. Cir. 2005). Turning over
confidential employer information to an employee or
former employee that may be seeking retribution
carries significant risk.

Setting aside the dangers posed by providing
confidential employer information to charging parties,
there is also a very real concern today over electronic
data breaches. Recent high-profile government agency
data breaches highlight the risks of permitting the
EEOC to maintain vast amounts of proprietary and
sensitive information electronically.* Inadvertent dis-
closure of the sensitive and confidential information
collected by the EEOC during its investigations would
have predictably damaging (and often irreparably
harmful) consequences. And the EEOC currently has
no meaningful process in place to reasonably guard
against the types of massive data breaches that have
resulted in far reaching litigation and harm to a
number of businesses.‘

° See, e.g., ee ne anny Ces. 15, em,

statement-923/ (last visited May 5, 2016) (reporting that a recent
government data breach resulted in theft of personal information
of 21.5 million individuals, including social security numbers and
fingerprint data).

* Indeed, the EEOC’s current written procedures do little to
ensure protection of confidential information that is produced
during investigations. See, e.g., EEOC Compl. Man., Section 83:
peep ee nena tr on dene A mggmae

17

With these risks of disclosure in mind, it is all the
more important for the EEOC’s investigative author-
ity to be appropriately constrained. The EEOC’s
standard practice of requesting voluminous confiden-
tial and sensitive data that have no relevance to
the charge under investigation unnecessarily increases
the amount of information subject to harmful dis-
closure. Proper application of Shell Oil and the Title
VII principles underlying it would minimize the risk
of such threats.

D. The EEOC’s Increasingly Aggressive
Investigation And Enforcement Philos-

ophy Reinforces The Need To Clarify
The Limited Scope Of Its Subpoena
Authority

The EEOC’s disregard for the statutory constraints
on its investigative and enforcement authority is well-
documented, causing harm to employers as weil as
employees. If the decision below is permitted to stand,
the EEOC undoubtedly will continue (even formalize)
the practice of crafting vague and indefinite charges
for the purpose of conducting unfettered “fishing
expeditions” — in direct contravention of its statutory
mandate. See Shell Oil, 466 U.S. at 90 (“Experience
teaches that Government administrative agency
investigations can be prone to abuse [and] are likely

Security of Files, Copies Made by Others - Offices may
require requesters to make special arrangements to
have copies made by persons other than EEOC (or its
contractor's) staff. Persons granted access to files are not
normally permitted to remove files from EEOC’s (or its
contractor’s) premises. District Directors or designees may
allow a file to be copied away from the premises in unusual
circumstances if proper safeguards are observed to prevent
loss or mutilation of the file.

18

to be conducted more reasonably, more carefully, and
more fairly, when the concerned parties are ade-
quately notified of the causes of the investigation that
are in progress”) (O’Connor, J., concurring in part,
dissenting in part).

Such a result would deny employers a meaningful
opportunity to respond to charges and unfairly rob
them of the “due process guaranties” to which they are
entitled. EEOC v. Bailey Co., 563 F.2d 439, 450 (6th
Cir. 1977) (citation omitted).° This case thus presents
the Court with an opportunity to clarify Shell Oil
in light of the EEOC’s recent, notoriously aggressive
enforcement tactics which have become standard
practice in recent years.

The EEOC holds a highly leveraged position over
the employers it investigates, which is no surprise,
given the “vast disparity of resources between the
government and private litigants.” EEOC v. Great
Steaks, Inc., 667 F.3d 510, 519 (4th Cir. 2012). As
noted, the EEOC routinely capitalizes on its position
of advantage by serving overly broad requests for
information that are unconnected to the particular
allegations of the charge under investigation. See, e.g.,
Southern Farm Bureau, 271 F.3d at 211-12; Kronos,

® The EEOC has a variety of statutory tools at its disposal for
the purpose of investigating and eradicating employment dis-
crimination. The very purpose of a Commissioner charge,
for example, is to enable the agency to investigate possible
discrimination in situations where either no individual charge
has been filed or where discrimination is believed to be “more
widespread than the specific allegations made by an individual
charge.” Donald R. Livingston, EEOC Litigation and Charge
Resolution 243-44 (BNA 2005). The EEOC should not be
permitted to circumvent the statute’s requirement that it obtain
a Commissioner charge where, as here, it otherwise lacks the
authority to investigate allegations not contained in the charge.

19

620 F.3d at 300-02; Royal Caribbean Cruises, 771 F.3d
at 761; United Air Lines, 287 F.3d at 655. An employer
served with such a request often will find itself in an
untenable position of either incurring substantial
costs to produce the requested irrelevant information
or incurring substantial costs to fight, just to risk
losing and then being compelled to incur the costs to
produce the documents anyway. While the EEOC
often targets large companies, employers with as few
as 15 employees are subject to the laws the EEOC
enforces, and thus also are potential targets of
these abusive information requests. In one case, the
EEOC was criticized for its “highly inappropriate” and
“dogged pursuit” of a small business whereby it sought
extremely broad categories of documents that were
unrelated to any aggrieved person’s charge of
discrimination. EEOC v. HomeNurse, Inc., 2013 WL
5779046, *14 (N.D. Ga. Sept. 30, 2013). The district
court refused to enforce the subpoena, concluding that
the agency’s actions in that case “constituteld] a
misuse of its authority.” Id.

A number of courts have sanctioned the EEOC for
prosecutorial abuses in similar contexts. See, e.g.
EEOC uv. Freeman, 778 F.3d 463, 472-73 (4th Cir.
2015); EEOC v. Peoplemark, Inc., 732 F.3d 584, 616
(6th Cir. 2013); EEOC v. TriCore Reference Labs.,
493 F. App’x 955, 960-61 (10th Cir. 2012); EEOC uv.
West Customer Management Group, LLC, 2014 WL
4435980, at *1 (N.D. Fla. Sept. 8, 2014); EEOC v. U.S.
Steel Corp., 2013 WL 625315 (W.D. Pa. Feb. 20, 2013).
The EEOC also has garnered considerable criticism
from members of Congress, who have taken the

agency to task for among other things “pursuing

20

many questionable cases through sometimes overly
aggressive means.”

In recent years, the EEOC has put a high priority
on pursuing systemic litigation where alleged dis-
crimination has a potentially broad impact on an
industry, profession, company or geographic area. In
fact, the agency requires its field offices to ensure that
a specific percentage of its lawsuits is systemic in
nature. See EEOC, Fiscal Year 2015 Performance and
Accountability Rep. 22 (Systemic Cases — Performance
Measure 4).’ These systemic case quotas serve to
further encourage the EEOC to disregard the statu-
tory limits on its investigative authority by demanding
overly broad company-wide information that has no
connection to the charge under investigation.

However, these self-imposed systemic case quotas
have no statutory basis, and undermine effective
enforcement of employment discrimination laws by
diverting valuable resources away from investigations
of ripe claims contained in a filed charge, and towards
unbridled fishing expeditions in search of class-based,
systemic claims. Indeed, “the [EEOC has] gone far
afield of [its] critical task, allowing its massive backlog
of unresolved cases to climb to more than 76,000,
while pursuing cases where there is no complaint ....”
Press Release, Sen. Lamar Alexander, Appropriations

& See EEOC: An Agency on the Wrong Track? Litigation
Failures, Misfocused Priorities, and Lack of Transparency Raise
Concerns About Important Anti-Discrimination Agency, U.S. Sen.
Comm. on Health, Educ., Labor and Pensions, Minority Staff

_ wth ar re wc see ry

ix.pdf ast visited May 5, s18).
” Available at https://www.ceoc.gov/eeoc/plan/upload/2015par.
pdf (last visited May 5, 2016).

21

Committee Advances Bill Directing EEOC to Focus on
“Massive” Backlog of 76,000 Unresolved Workplace
Discrimination Cases (Apr. 21, 2016).

CONCLUSION

For all of the foregoing reasons, the Equal
Employment Advisory Council respectfully requests
the Court grant the Petition for a Writ of Certiorari
and reverse the decision below.

May 2016

Respectfully submitted,

RAE T. VANN

MICHAEL P. BRACKEN
Counsel of Record

NT LAKIS, LLP

Suite 400

1501 M St., N.W.

Washington, DC 20005

mbracken@ntlakis.com

(202) 629-5608

Attorneys for Amicus Curiae
Equal Employment Advisory
Council

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0658%3A05. Public record. Not legal advice.
