# Amicus Curiae Brief — Jennings v. Rodriguez, 136 S. Ct. 2489 (2016) (No. 15-1204)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0657%3A18

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2016

## Text

FILED

OCT 2 4 2016

RECORS
AND i
BREE,

No. 15-1204

Iu the Supreme Court of the Anited States

DAVID JENNINGS, ET AL.,

Petitioners,
V.
ALEJANDRO RODRIGUEZ, ET AL.,

Respondents.

On Writ of Certiorari to the United States Court of
Appeals for the Ninth Circuit

BRIEF OF AMICI CURIAE MEMBERS OF
ASIAN AMERICANS ADVANCING JUSTICE IN
SUPPORT OF RESPONDENTS

LABONI A. Ho@ ANJAN CHOUDHURY
CHRISTOPHER M. LAPINIG Counsel of Record
ASIAN AMERICANS JOHN F. MULLER
ADVANCING JUSTICE — DAVID J. FEDER
Los ANGELES JOON S. HUR
1145 Wilshire Boulevard MUNGER, TOLLES &
2nd Floor OLSON LLP
Los Angeles, CA 90017 355 South Grand Avenue
35th Floor

Los Angeles, CA 90071
anjan.choudhury@mto.com
(213) 683-9100

(Counsel Continued on Inside Cover)

October 24, 2016
a

WILSON-EPES PRINTING CO., INC. — (202) 789-0096 — WASHINGTON, D. C. 20002

ANOOP PRASAD

JENNY ZHAO

KEVIN LO

ASIAN AMERICANS
ADVANCING JUSTICE —
ASIAN LAW CAUCUS

55 Columbus Avenue

San Francisco, CA 94111

CECELIA CHANG

EUGENE F. CHAY

ASIAN AMERICANS
ADVANCING JUSTICE —
AAJC

1620 L St. NW

Suite 1050

Washington, DC 20036

JAVERIA JAMIL

ASIAN AMERICANS
ADVANCING JUSTICE —
ATLANTA

6040 Unity Drive

Suite E

Norcross, GA 30071

ANDREW KANG

VAN HUYNH

ASIAN AMERICANS
ADVANCING JUSTICE —
CHICAGO

4753 N. Broadway

Suite 502

Chicago, IL 60640

i

TABLE OF CONTENTS
Page
INTERESTS OF AMICI CURIALE ...............ccecesccseeeeee 1
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT. ................ccsseecsecseeeeesseee 2
IT scsi be cesasteiaines comeiniaetiesbaigeouaeiesanneninadcaintieamiantnnkaaan 4
|. The Plenary Power Doctrine is Rooted
in Racism Against AAPI Immigrants............ 4
ll. The Plenary Power Doctrine Should
Not Be Extended Beyond Exclusion
and Deportation to Civil Detention of
PII snacinuicnasesakctussscdecsnadbcimintescsatnnel e.. 12
Ill. Built on Racism and Exclusion, the

Plenary Power Doctrine Should be
NE icavainciiscicasituiiniemiiatebinhsiiatieisidomas 18

CN IIIET ince tschicdexdstubcsncinnncmnitlaniebiinlasehibebeiteousicin 22

ii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

FEDERAL CASES

Carlson v. Landon,

A ee

Chae Chan Ping v. United States,
130 U.S. 581 (1889) ............ i

Davis v. Beason,

BE TFB Se CRUD 008s tsssccerccecssececens

Demore v. Kim,

ge | ee

Fiallo v. Bell,

gg fF yt eee

Fong Yue Ting v. United States,

149 US. 698 (1893) ................:ccceees

Galvan v. Press,

347 U.S. GER (IGG4) ..............000000000...

Harisiades v. Shaughnessy,

$42 U.S. 580 (1962) .....................+...

Kaoru Yamataya v. Fisher,

BE WD. GB CRD wcccecsccscececcsercecoeses

Page(s)

iii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
(cont.)
Page(s)

Kleindienst v. Mandel,

I I oii ncn entgnneninniiendinanetndosaaningn 20
Knauff v. Shaughnessy,

SEERA NEN borne tre ree My 5, 16, 19
Korematsu v. United States,

cleanin 11,12
Ex parte Lockwood,

a sam meemennenpeannnieliins 18
Mahler v. Eby,

gt EEE canine ee re ee ae 13
Mathews v. Diaz,

a II eiicduninneparssiniiceiemciensimnnntiel 4, passim
Ng Fung Ho v. White,

ne nS. enncenstassepmmmemmina 13
Nishimura Ekiu v. United States,

Oe Sy ee ID siedicctintecabscvenesevetcvenetience 7, passim
Plessy v. Ferguson,

ny MI IN os iciccnsanasepeniotiominneensunenten 3, 12,18

Reno v. Flores,
Se SI ee SI Sicnssnisesestuitniinennenin 4, 14, 15, 20

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
(cont.)
Page(s)

Shaughnessy v. United States ex rel.

Mezei,

I BEE CIID vciccsetamecnvssesscovassuteses 4,17, 19, 20
United States ex rel. Turner v. Williams,

Se I his siceecac ccs insinnidvtshaisinnwiecscnvehiduamiein 13
United States v. Ju Toy,

I i 13
Wong Wing v. United States,

UII I a 13, 14
Yick Wo v. Hopkins,

REINA REA REED Rss EN fa 13
Zadvydas v. Davis,

En IE ss dctdncasctebnkedendabenchodoessen 14, 17
FEDERAL STATUTES
Act of Feb. 5, 1917, ch. 29, 39 Stat. 874...................... 8
Act of March 3, 1875, ch. 141, 18 Stat.

MET Fels atc. dota ncarnaaasiteg dase Tealaaiaiiechindakstiainnetsaatdniastadata de 5
Act of October 1, 1888, ch. 1064, 25 Stat.

eisai pcdeacneluisadinaiaaeeeaoenidaeindenmcdaaranmeedsccek 6, 7,8

The Chinese Exclusion Act of 1882, Pub.
ah, ee aE PEAT HT AI Was rtehniciosecdodccibsbituscsesebvnion 5

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
(cont.)

Immigration Act of 1924, ch. 190, 43

a ean raegoueiincass
Pub. L. No. 78-199, 57 Stat. 600 (1943).......

LEGISLATIVE MATERIALS

Chinese Exclusion Act,

13 Cong. Rec. 1645 (1882)..............-..20065

Senate Judiciary Comm., The
Immigration and Naturalization
Systems of the United States, S. Rep.

No. 81-1516 (1960)...........0sccr-crcccresecovcceeees

OTHER AUTHORITIES

Abrams, Polygamy, Prostitution, and the
Federalization of Immigration Law,

105 Colum. L. Rev. 641 (2005)................

Chin, Segregation’s Last Stronghold:
Race Discrimination and the
Constitutional Law of Immigration,

46 UCLA L. Rev. 1 (1998) ................0

Commission on Wartime Relocation and
Internment of Civilians, Personal

Justice Denied (1997) ..........ccccccceeeceeeeeeees

Page(s)

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
(cont.)

Daniels, The Japanese American
Incarceration Revisited: 1941-2010,

18 Asian Am. L.J. 1383 (2011)......0.0.0000....

Greene, The Anticanon, 125 Harv. L.

Bs ED siasnesasstenccnnesuseressivessacdvesess

Henkin, The Constitution and United

States Sovereignty: A Century of
Chinese Exclusion and its Progeny,

100 Harv. L. Rev. 853 (1987) ..................

Riley, Jason L., The Mythical Connection
Between Immigrants and Crime,
Wall St. J. (July 14, 2015),
http:/‘ vww.wsj.com/articles/the-
mythical-connection-between-

immigrants-and-crime-1436916798 .......

Ting, “Other Than a Chinaman”: How
U.S. Immigration Law Resulted
From and Still Reflects a Policy of
Excluding and Restricting Asian
Immigration, 4 Temp. Pol. & Civ.

Rts. L. Rev. 301 (1995) ...............ssssrseceees

Page(s)

INTERESTS OF AMICI CURIAE'

This brief is submitted by all members of Asian
Americans Advancing Justice (Advancing Justice),
the national affiliation of five nonprofit, nonpartisan
civil rights organizations: Asian Americans Advanc-
ing Justice —- AAJC, Asian Americans Advancing Jus-
tice — Asian Law Caucus, Asian Americans Advanc-
ing Justice — Atlanta, Asian Americans Advancing
Justice — Chicago, and Asian Americans Advancing
Justice — Los Angeles. Members of Advancing Justice
routinely file amicus curiae briefs in cases in this
Court and other courts. Through direct services, im-
pact litigation, policy advocacy, leadership develop-
ment, and capacity building, the Advancing Justice
affiliates advocate for marginalized members of the
Asian American, Native Hawaiian, Pacific Islander
and other underserved communities, including immi-
grant members of those communities.

Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders (AAPI) have
a strong interest in this case in light of their long and
troubled experience with our immigration system.
Much of modern immigration legal doctrine relies on
cases concerning racist laws that were enacted over a
century ago specifically to exclude AAPI immigrants.
Today, segments of the AAPI community remain dis-
proportionately represented in immigration detention
and, in turn, bear a significant share of the physical
and emotional harms that flow from it, together with

—_—

‘ No counsel for a party authored this brief in whole or in
part, and no person other than amici or their counsel has made
a monetary contribution intended to fund the preparation or
submission of the brief. All parties have filed with the Clerk a
letter of blanket consent to the filing of briefs of amici curiae.

2

other immigrant communities. The length of immi-
gration detention today, especially when considered
with the conditions that detainees typically experi-
ence, renders immigration policies effectively puni-
tive for many detainees. And this harm extends to
the families and communities from which these de-
tainees are plucked, destabilizing households and
causing lasting psychological suffering for children.
This experience—of detainees, families, and society
as a whole—provides important historical and con-
temporary context in this case.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

Amici write to place in context the Government’s
deeply troubling argument that the “plenary power”
doctrine justifies minimal constitutional scrutiny of
immigration detention. The plenary power doctrine
was born as a means to rationalize racist laws exclud-
ing AAPIs from this country. It effectuated the Gov-
ernment’s widespread reduction of individual immi-
grants to pernicious stereotypes, particularly as
threats to public safety. This sort of generalizing
about immigrants—which the Government again
employs in this case, echoing the justifications offered
for Chinese exclusion and Japanese American in-
ternment—is one of the very harms that the individ-
ualized custody hearings at issue here are designed to
prevent. The Court should pause before extending
the plenary power doctrine particularly where, as
here, the authority the Government seeks will once
again significantly affect AAPI and other immigrant
communities who have been demonized in public dis-
course.

Viewed in context, the plenary power doctrine has
no relevance to this case. The doctrine is best under-

3

stood to do no more than limit constitutional scrutiny
over the Government’s power to exclude and deport
noncitizens. The small handful of decisions that in-
voke plenary power outside the context of exclusion
and deportation do not support the much broader no-
tion that the Government may deprive noncitizens in
immigration detention of the baseline liberty protec-
tions afforded to all persons by the Due Process
Clause. Because the Due Process Clause protects
“persons,” citizens and noncitizens in civil detention
are equally entitled to its liberty protections. The
Government asks, in essence, for the Court to ignore
that basic truth, and extend the plenary power doc-
trine because of amorphous and unsubstantiated con-
cerns about public safety. But there is no legal basis
to detain the immigrants in this case based on dan-
gerousness. The Government’s appeal to public safe-
ty in this context is based on the xenophobic—and
empirically false—notion that immigrants are inher-
ently more dangerous than citizens. It should be re-
jected.

To the extent that the plenary power doctrine limits
the irreducible liberty protections afforded to persons
in immigration detention, it should be relegated to
the ash heap of history, alongside other racist doc-
trines handed down by the Fuller Court. See, e.g.,
Plessy v. Ferguson, 163 U.S. 537 (1896). The doctrine
has never outgrown its racist origins. Modern cases
simply reiterate the old rationalizations offered for
excluding AAPI immigrants, even as those rationali-
zations have grown steadily more indefensible. If
Congress were to enact a law today that excluded all
AAPI immigrants in the name of preserving a dis-
torted vision of racial purity, it is hard to imagine
this Court would uphold such a law under the plena-
ry power doctrine. The Court should not sanction the

4

continued use of a doctrine that was first employed to
achieve just that result. Eschewing plenary power,
moreover, would leave Congress with ample authori-
ty to make immigration law. Congress simply would
be required, in the immigration context as elsewhere,
to exercise its authority consistent with the liberty
interests protected by the Due Process Clause.

ARGUMENT

The Government contends that it may deprive im-
migration detainees of their liberty in ways that
would unquestionably violate the Due Process Clause
but for the detainees’ lack of citizenship. In particu-
lar, the Government contends (1) that it has “plenary
authority over immigration and the exclusion or ex-
pulsion of aliens,” Pet. Br. at 53, (2) that this authori-
ty justifies subjecting noncitizens to “rules that would
be unacceptable if applied to citizens,” id. (quoting
Mathews v. Diaz, 426 U.S. 67, 79-80 (1976)), and (3)
that deprivations of liberty that would violate the
Due Process Clause as applied to citizens may per-
missibly be applied to noncitizens, id. at 54 (citing
Fiallo v. Bell, 430 U.S. 787 (1977)). This argument,
which permeates the Government’s brief, see e.g., id.
at 11, 14, 21, 25, 53, rests not on principle but on a
legacy of racism. It cannot bear the constitutional
weight the Government places upon it.

I. The Plenary Power Doctrine is Rooted in
Racism Against AAPI Immigrants

The Government invokes several decisions to sup-
port its reliance on the plenary power doctrine. See
Pet. Br. at 19, 20, 27, 53, 54 (citing Demore v. Kim,
538 U.S. 510 (2003); Reno v. Flores, 507 U.S. 292
(1993); Fiallo v. Bell, 430 U.S. 787 (1977); Mathews v.
Diaz, 426 U.S. 67 (1976); Shaughnessy v. United

5

States ex rel. Mezei, 345 U.S. 206 (1953) (“Mezezi”);
Carlson v. Landon, 342 U.S. 524 (1952); and Knauff
v. Shaughnessy, 338 U.S. 537 (1950) (“Knau/ff’)).

These cases are built from an anachronistic founda-
tion of racial animus and xenophobia directed toward
AAPI immigrants. For the first hundred or so years
of this country’s history, the federal government im-
posed no restrictions on immigration. Ting, “Other
Than a Chinaman”: How U.S. Immigration Law Re-
sulted From and Still Reflects a Policy of Excluding
and Restricting Asian Immigration, 4 Temp. Pol. &
Civ. Rts. L. Rev. 301, 302 (1995). But when Chinese
immigration began to increase, Congress reassessed
this policy, propelled by fierce and often violent public
reactions to Chinese immigrants. Id. Shortly after
the Civil War, Congress began passing a series of
laws closing the country’s borders to Chinese immi-
grants. The first such law, the Page Law of 1875,
prohibited entry of Chinese immigrants deemed “un-
desirable,” namely convicts and prostitutes. Act of
March 3, 1875, ch. 141, 18 Stat. 477. A few years lat-
er, in the Chinese Exclusion Act of 1882, Congress
extended this prohibition to all new immigrants from
China. Pub. L. No. 47-126, 22 Stat. 58. Chinese ex-
clusion remained in effect for sixty years, until it was
finally repealed during World War II. Pub. L. No. 78-
199, 57 Stat. 600 (1943).

The legislative history of the Chinese Exclusion Act
made its racism plain. For instance, Senator Henry
M. Teller of Colorado defended the law as follows:
“The Caucasian race has a right, considering its su-
periority of intellectual force and mental vigor, to
look down upon every other branch of the human

family .... We are the superior race today. We are
superior to the Chinese.” 13 Cong. Rec. 1645, 1645

6

(1882). Likewise, Senator John Franklin Miller of
California warned that “[t]he presence of an inferior
race either inevitably expels the superior race or re-
duces it to the ways, modes of life, and all the other
conditions of the new-comers.” Jd. at 1744; see also
id. at 1978 (statement of Rep. Cassidy) (“We reli-
giously believe that unrestricted Mongolian immigra-
tion means ultimate destruction.”); id. at 2031
(statement of Rep. Brumm) (“The Chinaman is nei-
ther socially, morally, nor politically fit to assimilate
with us.”). There is no historical dispute that Chi-
nese exclusion was the product of a virulent mix of
“nativism, racism, and xenophobia.” Henkin, The
Constitution and United States Sovereignty: A Cen-
tury of Chinese Exclusion and its Progeny, 100 Harv.
L. Rev. 853, 855 (1987). Much of this anti-Chinese
animosity was “rooted in fear of both the competition
Chinese men posed to white labor, and of the regen-
erative and polluting power of Chinese women.”
Abrams, Polygamy, Prostitution, and the Federaliza-
tion of Immigrat +» Law, 105 Colum. L. Rev. 641, 664
(2005).

Congress extended the scope of Chinese exclusion
still further in 1888 in the Scott Act. Under the Act,
Chinese exclusion applied to virtually “all persons of
the Chinese race,” including such persons who had
once legally resided in the United States. Act of Oc-
tober 1, 1888, ch. 1064, 25 Stat. 504. The Act did not
require deportation of Chinese immigrants present in
the country, but provided that such immigrants who
traveled outside the country would not be permitted
to return. Id.?

* The Scott Act made exceptions for Chinese government offi-
cials, teachers, students, tourists, and merchants.

7

The plenary power doctrine emerged as an affirma-
tion and rationalization of these racist laws. The doc-
trine is typically traced to Chae Chan Ping v. United
States, often cited simply as the Chinese Exclusion
Case, which upheld the constitutionality of the Chi-
nese Exclusion Act of 1882. 130 U.S. 581 (1889). The
petitioner in Chae Chan Ping, a Chinese immigrant
who had obtained a certificate of identity proving his
legal residence in the United States, traveled to Chi-
na in 1887 and, upon his return to the United States,
was refused reentry under the Scott Act of 1888. The
Court rejected the petitioner’s argument that his ex-
clusion was unconstitutional, reasoning that it was
“not . . . open to controversy” that the federal gov-
ernment could “exclude aliens from its territory.” Id.
at 603. The Court explained that “|j)urisdiction over
its own territory to that extent is an incident of every
independent nation,” and that if the federal govern-
ment could not exclude noncitizens, “it would be to
that extent subject to the control of another power.”
Id. Chae Chan Ping thus effectively afforded Con-
gress carte blanche to exclude noncitizens, including
on grounds of racism.

Chae Chan Ping’s progeny further cleared the con-
stitutional path for racist immigration laws concern-
ing admission and deportation of noncitizens. In
Nishimura Ekiu v. United States, the Court held that
immigrants denied admission could not challenge
their exclusion on due process grounds, reasoning
that “the decisions of the executive officers, acting
within powers expressly conferred by congress, are
due process of law.” 142 U.S. 651, 659 (1892). The
following year, in Fong Yue Ting v. United States, the
Court extended this seemingly unbridled power over
exclusion of noncitizens to laws regarding deporta-
tion. 149 U.S. 698 (1893). It held: “The right of a

8

nation to expel or deport foreigners who have not
been naturalized, or taken any steps towards becom-
ing citizens of the country .. . is as absolute and un-
qualified as the right to prevent their entrance into
the country.” Jd. at 707; but see Kaoru Yamataya v.
Fisher, 189 U.S. 86, 100-101 (1903) (limiting Fong
Yue Ting by holding that Congress nevertheless could
not “disregard the fundamental principles that inhere
in ‘due process of law” in deportation).

These decisions gave the Court’s imprimatur to a
steady stream of racist and exclusionary immigration
laws and policies directed toward AAPIs. The Chi-
nese Exclusion Act of 1882, initially effective for only
a ten-year period, was renewed in 1892 and made
permanent in 1902. Chin, Segregation’s Last Strong-
hold: Race Discrimination and the Constitutional
Law of Immigration, 46 UCLA L. Rev. 1, 37 (1998).
Against this backdrop, immigration law and policies
continued to evolve primarily to exclude immigrants
from other Asian countries. For instance, when im-
migrants from Japan began to arrive in the United
States in significant numbers, the two countries en-
tered the Gentleman’s Agreement of 1907-1908,
which provided that Japan would not issue docu-
ments for travel to the United States. See id. at 13.
In 1917, as immigration from India and Southeast
Asia began to grow, Congress extended immigration
exclusions to all races indigenous to the “Asiatic
Barred Zone,” which it defined to include nearly all of
Central and Southeast Asia. Act of Feb. 5, 1917, ch.
29, § 3, 39 Stat. 874, 876; see also Senate Judiciary
Comm., The Immigration and Naturalization Sys-
tems of the United States, S. Rep. No. 81-1515, at 67

9

(1950).° Notably, Congress excepted from this exclu-
sion all “white persons born in the zone.” Id.

These exclusionary laws were consolidated in the
Immigration Act of 1924. Under the Act, “aliens inel-
igible to citizenship” were denied admission to the
country. Immigration Act of 1924, ch. 190, 43 Stat.
153, 168. “This phrase was a euphemism for [AAPIs]
because the act defined an alien ‘ineligible to citizen-
ship’ as one covered by the Chinese Exclusion Act or
racially ineligible to naturalize.” Chin, supra, at 13-
14. Following the law, nearly all AAPIs were barred
from immigrating to the United States, and even
AAPI immigrants lawfully present in the United
States were barred from becoming U.S. citizens. Id.
at 14. These exclusions were explicitly racial in na-
ture: even if a person of Chinese descent sought to
immigrate to the United States from a country sub-
ject to no comparable exclusion, the racial exclusion
would apply to that person. Id.

The racism against AAPIs reflected and reinforced
by these exclusion and deportation laws permeated
into the detention context as well, in what is widely
accepted as a stain on our constitutional jurispru-
dence. During World War II, the federal government
forcibly interned Japanese Americans following the
attack on Pearl Harbor. The chief architects of in-
ternment did not conceal their racism. General John
DeWitt, the Commander of the Western Defense,
made the case for internment to Secretary of War

* The zone “include[d] the East Indies, western China, French
Indochina, Siam, Burma, India, Bhutan, Nepal, eastern Afghan-
istan, Turkestan, the Kirghiz Steppe, and the southeastern por-
tion of the Arabian Peninsula.” S. Rep. No. 81-1515, at 67.

10

Henry Stimson in transparently racial terms: “In the
war in which we are now engaged, racial affinities
are not severed by migration. The Japanese race is
an enemy race and while many second and third gen-
eration Japanese born on United States soil have be-
come ‘Americanized,’ the racial strains are undilut-
ed.” Commission on Wartime Relocation and In-
ternment of Civilians, Personal Justice Denied 6
(1997). Stimson assessed internment through the
same racial lens; shortly before President Roosevelt
authorized internment, Stimson wrote in his diary
that “the racial characteristics [of U.S.-born Japanese
Americans] are such that we cannot understand or
trust even the citizen Japanese.” Daniels, The Japa-
nese American Incarceration Revisited: 1941-2010, 18
Asian Am. L.J. 133, 134 (2011).

General DeWitt made the same racist case for Jap-
anese American internment before Congress, distin-
guishing it from treatment of European immigrants
from other enemy nations. He explained that “[tjhe
danger of the Japanese was, and is now,—if they are
permitted to come back—espionage and sabotage. It
makes no difference whether he is an American citi-
zen, he is still a Japanese. American citizenship does
not necessarily determine loyalty.” Personal Justice
Denied, supra, at 66. Asked why persons of Japanese
heritage should be treated differently from those of
Italian and German heritage, General DeWitt re-
plied: “You needn’t worry about the Italians at all
except in certain cases. Also, the same for the Ger-
mans except in individual cases. But we must worry
about the Japanese all the time until he is wiped off
the map.” Jd. In line with General DeWitt’s think-
ing, “[t]here were no serious proposals for the mass
movement of categories of American citizens of Ger-
man and Italian descent.” Jd. at 286.

11

As early as 1948, Congress conceded that “there
was recorded during [World War II] not one act of
sabotage or espionage attributable to those who were
the victims of the forced relocation.” Jd. at 50. This
widespread reduction of individuals to erroneous
mass generalization is not merely a stain of history; it
is one of the very harms that the individualized cus-
tody hearings at issue here are designed to prevent.

Only after the United States allied with China dur-
ing World War II did Congress begin to repeal its ex-
clusions of AAPI immigrants. Ting, supra, at 305.
Even then, direct discrimination against AAPIs per-
sisted in federal immigration policy into the 1960s.
Although immigration from China was allowed, for
instance, the strictest possible quota applied: only
100 persons were admitted each year. Id. This quo-
ta, like the Immigration Act of 1924, operated based
on race, not national origin: only 100 persons of Chi-
nese descent were allowed in the country each year,
whether or not they were born in China. /d. Similar
quotas applied to other AAPI immigrants. Jd. When
these quotas were abolished in 1965, it was only
amidst assurances that immigration patterns were
not expected to change significantly. Jd. at 307.

KK

Unfortunately, the letter of the law remains stained
by this legacy even today. One branch of this legacy
is, of course, this Court’s response to Japanese Amer-
ican internment in Korematsu v. United States, 323
U.S. 214 (1944). Korematsu is a decision that, while
not formally overruled, has been rejected “in the
court of history,” see Tribe, American Constitutional
Law 237 n.118 (3d ed. 2000). But whereas Korematsu
has become something of a cautionary tale, e.g.
Greene, The Anticanon, 125 Harv. L. Rev. 379, 422

12

(2011) Gdentifying the “anticanon” of constitutional
law as including Dred Scott v. Sandford, Plessy v.
Ferguson, Lochner v. New York, and Korematsu), the
plenary power doctrine—born of the same racist ani-
mus—remains very much alive, including as support
cited by the Government here. This legacy should
counsel for serious pause before extending the doc-
trine further, particularly in this case where the au-
thority the Government seeks will once again dispro-
portionately affect AAPI and other immigrant com-
munities who have been demonized in public dis-

course.

Il. The Plenary Power Doctrine Should Not Be
Extended Beyond Exclusion and Deporta-
tion to Civil Detention of Noncitizens

The Government’s argument for extending the ple-
nary power doctrine to this case relies heavily on lan-
guage enunciated in Mathews and now running
through several of the Court’s decisions, including
Demore: “In the exercise of its broad power over nat-
uralization and immigration, Congress regularly
makes rules that would be unacceptable if applied to
citizens.” Pet. Br. at 53; Mathews, 426 U.S. at 79-80;
see also Demore, 538 U.S. at 521 (quoting Mathews).
This statement is, of course, a truism: Virtually all of
immigration law involves the exercise of powers that
Congress could not employ as to citizens. But the
Government invokes these words to suggest some-
thing more—that Congress may operate largely free
from constitutional constraint in the immigration
arena. This suggestion would extend plenary power
beyond its doctrinal moorings and should be rejected.

Since its inception, the plenary power doctrine has
concerned the power to exclude and deport nonciti-

13

zens. This power, broad as it may be, is critically a
power over the flow of immigration, not over the
physical liberty of immigrants held in custody. It
thus has no bearing at all on what is at issue in this
case: civil detention. This is not to say that the Gov-
ernment may not detain noncitizens in order to im-
plement the immigration laws, just as it may detain
citizens in other civil detention contexts. Rather, as
“persons,” noncitizens in civil detention are entitled
to the same due process protections as citizens in
analogous contexts, including individualized custody

hearings.

This is apparent from a brief review of the doctrinal
history. In the decades following Chae Chan Ping,
Nishimura Ekiu, and Fong Yue Ting, the Court
steadily invoked those decisions for the proposition
that the federal government has plenary power over
exclusion and expulsion of noncitizens. E.g. United
States ex rel. Turner v. Williams, 194 U.S. 279, 289-
90 (1904) (exclusion and expulsion); United States v.
Ju Toy, 198 U.S. 253, 263 (1905) (exclusion); Ng Fung
Ho v. White, 259 U.S. 276, 280 (1922) (expulsion);
Mahler v. Eby, 264 U.S. 32, 40 (1924) (expulsion).
The Court also approved “detention or temporary con-
finement, as part of the means necessary to give ef-
fect to the provisions for the exclusion or expulsion,”
so long as such detention or confinement was non-
punitive. Wong Wing v. United States, 163 U.S. 228,
235 (1896). But nowhere did these decisions hold
that the Government has plenary authority to mini-
mize the constitutional liberty interest to be free from
detention that applies to all persons under the Due
Process Clause. See Yick Wo v. Hopkins, 118 U.S.
356, 369 (1886) (holding the Due Process Clause ap-
plicable to “all persons,” including noncitizens).

14

In Zadvydas v. Davis, citing Wong Wing, this Court
recognized that noncitizens have important liberty
interests in avoiding immigration-related detention.
533 U.S. 678, 694 (2001). There, as here, the Gov-
ernment had argued that, in the context of civil de-
tention of noncitizens, courts “must defer to Execu-
tive and Legislative Branch decisionmaking” pursu-
ant to “cases holding that Congress has ‘plenary pow-
er to create immigration law.” Id. at 695. The Court
rejected this view, explaining that the plenary power
doctrine is “subject to important constitutional limi-
tations,” id., including the Due Process Clause, which
“applies to all ‘persons’ within the United States, in-
cluding aliens, whether their presence here is lawful,
unlawful, temporary, or permanent,” id. at 683; see
also id. at 695 (noting that Zadvydas did not “require
[the Court] to consider the political branches’ authori-
ty to control entry into the United States,” as opposed
to their authority to infringe on physical liberty).

In Demore, the Court recognized this principle, not-
ing that “lilt is well established that the Fifth
Amendment entitles [noncitizens] to due process of
law in deportation proceedings.” 538 U.S. at 523.
But Demore nonetheless relied on the plenary power
doctrine in concluding that noncitizens subject to civil
detention are entitled to lesser due process protec-
tions than citizens. It cited a series of plenary power
decisions invoked by the Government in this case, in-
cluding Mathews, Flores, and Carlson. Id. at 521-26.

None of these three decisions should be read to es-
tablish that plenary power is relevant to civil deten-
tion. Mathews does not support the view that Con-
gress’s power to distinguish between citizens and
noncitizens has any bearing on the dictates of due
process in civil detention. The plaintiffs in Mathews

15

claimed that all noncitizens—rather than only noncit-
izens who had resided in the country for more than
five years—should be afforded Medicare benefits
equal to those received by citizens. 426 U.S. at 69.
The Court rejected this claim, holding that “the fact
that Congress has provided some welfare benefits for
citizens does not require it to provide like benefits for
all aliens.” Jd. at 80. It reasoned that the federal
government’s decision to confer such “munificence,”
could properly consider the length and character of
the relationship between a noncitizen and the coun-
try. Id. The distinction between citizens and nonciti-
zens drawn in Mathews likely could have been upheld
under the standard of review applicable in federal
equal protection cases from other contexts. In any
event, Mathews did not hold that Congress could re-
duce the baseline due process rights afforded to all
persons when physical liberty is at issue.

Flores also does not support a contrary view. Flores
did not involve a mandatory detention scheme; it ad-
dressed the unique circumstances that arise with de-
tention of juveniles. 507 U.S. at 302-05. It held that
“freedom from physical restraint” was “not at issue”
in the case because children are always in some form
of physical custody. Jd. at 302. Flores went on to say
that the plenary power doctrine provided an alterna-
tive ground to uphold the statute at issue in the case
insofar as the statute applied to noncitizens. Jd. at
305-06. In so stating, Flores quoted Mathews for the
proposition that “Congress regularly makes rules
that would be unacceptable if applied to citizens.” Jd.
(quoting Mathews, 426 U.S. at 79-80); see also
Demore, 538 U.S. at 522 (quoting this language from
Flores, in addition to quoting it from Mathews). To
the extent that this alternative holding in Flores
meant to suggest that Mathews allowed Congress to

16

ignore the due process requirements afforded all per-
sons with respect to physical liberty, it was clearly
mistaken: Mathews held no such thing. That Con-
gress has even broad power to exclude and deport
noncitizens or, as Mathews held, provide them vary-
ing levels of immigration benefits, does not mean it
can detain them without providing the due process
rights afforded all persons.

Nor should this Court rely on Carlson to hold that
the plenary power doctrine alters the irreducible pro-
tections of the Due Process Clause in the civil deten-
tion context. In Carlson, four noncitizen communists
brought habeas petitions challenging, among other
things, the Attorney General’s authority to confine
them without bail during the pendency of deportation
proceedings. The Court invoked a long line of plenary
power decisions for the proposition that “[t]he power
to expel [noncitizens]” was “essentially a power of the
political branches,” albeit one subject to “judicial in-
tervention under the ‘paramount law of the constitu-
tion.” 342 U.S. at 537 (citing Fong Yue Ting, Nishi-
mura Ekiu, and Kaoru Yamataya). The Court then
held, however, that there is no denial of due process
“where there is reasonable apprehension of hurt from
{noncitizens] charged with a philosophy of violence
against this Government.” Id. at 542. The Court’s
finding of a “reasonable apprehension of hurt” based
upon demonstration of a “philosophy of violence” in
Carlson distinguishes it from this case, where the
Government does not and cannot justify such an as-
sumption as to the varied types of immigrants who
are detained here. More importantly, Carlson gave
no justification for this aspect of its holding. The only
authority Carlson cited was Knauff, an exclusion case
that did not address the due process rights afforded
to persons in civil detention. /d.

17

Finally, the Government’s reliance on Mezei is simi-
larly misplaced. Mezei is primarily an exclusion case:
relying on the plenary power doctrine, the Court up-
held the Government’s authority to exclude a nonciti-
zen harbored on Ellis Island. 345 U.S. at 212; see al-
so id. at 213 (describing the case as “an exclusion pro-
ceeding”). As the Government emphasizes, Mezei al-
so suggested that noncitizens denied admission have
no due process rights aside from those granted by
Congress. See Pet. Br. at 19. Whatever the merits of
this suggestion as to the facts in Mezei—which in-
volved the “continued exclusion,” 345 U.S. at 215, of
someone who had lost the right to live in the United
States and could not be repatriated because no other
country would take him—it should not be read to
support the general proposition that noncitizens as a
general matter have lesser liberty interests in “free-
dom from imprisonment.” Zadvydas, 533 U.S. at 690.

Because the Due Process Clause protects “persons,”
citizens and noncitizens in civil detention are equally
entitled to its liberty protections. The Government
asks, in essence, for the Court to ignore that basic
truth, and extend the plenary power doctrine to civil
detention because of concerns about public safety.
But there is no legal basis to detain the immigrants
in this case based on dangerousness. Many of them
have no criminal history, and those that do have
served their sentences. The appeal to public safety in
this context is based on the xenophobic—and empiri-
cally false—notion that immigrants are inherently
more dangerous than citizens. See, e.g., Jason L. Ri-
ley, The Mythical Connection Between Immigrants
and Crime, Wall St. J. (July 14, 2015),
http://www.wsj.com/articles/the-mythical-connection-
between-immigrants-and-crime-1436916798 (collect-
ing sources). Indeed, the Government’s appeal to

18

public safety is comprised of the same hollow justifi-
cations used to rationalize incarcerating immigrants
in the past. It should be rejected.

lil. Built on Racism and Exclusion, the Plenary
Power Doctrine Should be Discarded

Even if the plenary power doctrine did apply to
immigration detention, the Court should not rely on
it because the doctrine belongs in the ash heap of his-
tory alongside other racist doctrines handed down by
the Fuller Court. See, e.g., Plessy v. Ferguson, 163
U.S. at 552 (upholding “separate but equal” accom-
modations); Ex parte Lockwood, 154 U.S. 116 (1894)
(upholding exclusion of female lawyers from the Vir-
ginia bar); Davis v. Beason, 133 U.S. 333 (1890) (up-
holding conviction of Mormon for attempting to vote).
The doctrine has never outgrown its racist origins.

Scholars have singled out the plenary power doc-
trine “for the sharpest criticism,” Henkin, supra, at
858, and have “argued forcefully for years that [the
doctrine] should be reexamined or abolished,” Chin,
supra, at 7-8. In short, the doctrine “has no founda-
tion in principle. It is a constitutional fossil, a rem-
nant of a prerights jurisprudence that we have proud-
ly rejected in other respects.” Henkin, supra, at 862.

A close look at the cases invoked by the Govern-
ment illustrates the fossilized nature of the doctrine.
As described above, the Court’s initial decisions on
plenary power invoked conclusory notions of national
sovereignty to justify racism against AAPIs. In the
years since, the Court’s invocations of plenary power
have simply reiterated the flawed and unprincipled
claims of those initial cases, even as their flaws have
grown more and more apparent.

19

The normalization of the racist underpinnings of
the plenary power doctrine is particularly clear in a
series of decisions following World War II. For in-
stance, in 1950, the Court upheld the exclusion of a
noncitizen based on a determination by the Attorney
General that “her admission would be prejudicial to
the interests of the United States.” Knau/ff, 338 U.S.
at 539-40. Citing Nishimura Ekiu and Fong Yue
Ting, the Court observed: “Whatever the rule may be
concerning deportation of persons who have gained
entry into the United States, it is not within the prov-
ince of any court, unless expressly authorized by law,
to review the determination of the political branch of
the Government to exclude a given alien.” Jd. at 543.
It added, again citing Nishimura Ekiu: “[w]hatever
the procedure authorized by Congress is, it is due
process as far as an alien denied entry is concerned.”
Id. at 544.

In decisions over the next several years, the Court
repeatedly affirmed the plenary power doctrine based
purely on the legacy of its decisions upholding Chi-
nese exclusion. In Carlson, the Court stated that the
plenary power doctrine was “not questioned and re-
quire[d] no reexamination,” citing Nishimura Ekiu
and Fong Yue Ting. 342 U.S. at 534. Likewise, Mezei
grounded the plenary power doctrine in Chae Chan
Ping and Fong Yue Ting as well as the Court’s deci-
sion in Knauff from a few years previously. 345 U.S.
at 210. The following Term, the Court acknowledged
the dangers of leaving the plenary doctrine unex-
amined, noting that “[i]n light of the expansion of the
concept of substantive due process as a limitation up-
on all powers of congress, even the war power,.. .
much could be said for the view, were we writing on a
clean slate, that the Due Process Clause qualifies the
scope of political discretion heretofore recognized as

20

belonging to Congress in regulating the entry and de-
portation of [noncitizens].” Galvan v. Press, 347 U.S.
522, 530-31 (1954) (citation omitted). But the Court
concluded that “the slate is not clean,” observing that
“there is not merely ‘a page of history,’ but a whole
volume.” Jd. at 531 (citation omitted). That this vol-
ume of history is a volume inscribed with racism and
exclusion received no comment, but was implicit.

Chinese exclusion also remains close beneath the
surface—if not on the surface—of the Court’s more
recent affirmations of the plenary power doctrine.
For instance, the Government invokes Fiallo v. Bell
for the proposition that the Court “ha[s] long recog-
nized the power to expel or exclude aliens as a fun-
damental sovereign attribute exercised by the Gov-
ernment’s political departments largely immune from
judicial control.” 430 U.S. at 792 (quoting Mezei, 345
U.S. at 210); Pet. Br. at 19. In support of this propo-
sition, Fiallo cited Fong Yue Ting and Chae Chan
Ping. The Court’s distinction between citizens and
noncitizens in Mathews, see Pet. Br. at 53, likewise
was built on an artifice of Chinese exclusion cases.
Mathews cited Galvan and a pair of other decisions:
Kleindienst v. Mandel, 408 U.S. 753 (1972), and Ha-
risiades v. Shaughnessy, 342 U.S. 580 (1952).
Kleindienst and Harisiades, in turn, rested their as-
sertions of plenary power on Chae Chan Ping and
Fong Yue Ting. See Kleindienst, 408 U.S. at 765 (cit-
ing Chae Chan Ping and Fong Yue Ting); Harisiades,
341 U.S. at 586 (citing Fong Yue Ting). The plenary
power discussions in Flores and Demore invoked the
same artifice of decisions built on Chae Chan Ping,
Nishimura Ekiu, and Fong Yue Ting. See Flores, 507
U.S. at 305-06 (citing Mathews, Fiallo, and Carlson);
Demore, 538 U.S. at 521-22 (citing Flores, Mathews,
Fiallo, Carlson, and Harisiades).

21

The failure to take stock of the origins of the plena-
ry power doctrine has grown only more glaring with
time. When Chae Chan Ping, Nishimura Ekiu, and
Fong Yue Ting were decided, “the Bill of Rights had
not yet become our national hallmark and the princi-
pal justification and preoccupation of judicial review.
It was an era before United States commitment to in-
ternational human rights; before enlightenment in
and out of the United States brought an end both to
official racial discrimination at home and to national-
origins immigration laws.” Henkin, supra, at 862-63.
If Congress were to pass a law excluding all AAPI
immigrants today in the name of preserving a dis-
torted vision of racial purity, it is hard to imagine
that this Court would uphold such a law as within
the federal government’s plenary power. Yet the
Court persists in accepting the doctrine that was
crafted to achieve that indefensible result.

Discarding the plenary power doctrine would not
require discarding the truism that Congress may
make laws applying to noncitizens—like exclusion
and deportation laws—that Congress could not apply
to citizens. It would simply require that immigration
laws, like all laws of this country, be subject to oth-
erwise-applicable constitutional constraints, includ-
ing appropriate judicial review to ensure compliance
with the Constitution’s demands. Here, the relevant
constitutional constraints are those imposed by the
Due Process Clause regarding deprivations of physi-
cal liberty. The Court should not ignore, in the con-
text of immigration detention, the due process protec-
tions that are and should be applicable to all persons.
There is no defensible justification for such a rule.

22

CONCLUSION

For the above reasons, the Court should analyze
the immigration detention scheme at issue here in
accordance with the due process requirements that
attach to all other forms of civil detention, and not
under the plenary power doctrine, which is both ir-
relevant and illegitimate. The detentions at issue
here that deprive immigrants of individualized custo-
dy review are plainly unlawful as measured against
those due process standards. Accordingly, the judg-
ment of the court of appeals should be affirmed.

Respectfully submitted.

LABONI A. Hoq ANJAN CHOUDHURY
CHRISTOPHER M. LAPINIG Counsel of Record
ASIAN AMERICANS JOHN F. MULLER
ADVANCING JUSTICE — DAVID J. FEDER
LoS ANGELES JOON S. HUR
1145 Wilshire Boulevard |MUNGER, TOLLES &
2nd Floor OLSON LLP

Los Angeles, CA 90017

355 South Grand Avenue
35th Floor

ANOOP PRASAD Los Angeles, CA 90071
JENNY ZHAO anjan.choudhury@mto.com
KEVIN LO (213) 683-9100
ASIAN AMERICANS
ADVANCING JUSTICE — JAVERIA JAMIL
ASIAN LAW CAUCUS ASIAN AMERICANS
55 Columbus Avenue ADVANCING JUSTICE —
San Francisco, CA 94111 ATLANTA
6040 Unity Drive
Suite E

Norcross, GA 30071

(Counsel Continued on Next Page)

CECELIA CHANG

EUGENE F. CHAY

ASIAN AMERICANS
ADVANCING JUSTICE —
AAJC

1620 L St. NW

Suite 1050

Washington, DC 20036

October 24, 2016

23

ANDREW KANG

VAN HUYNH

ASIAN AMERICANS
ADVANCING JUSTICE —
CHICAGO

4753 N. Broadway

Suite 502

Chicago, IL 60640

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0657%3A18. Public record. Not legal advice.
