# Amicus Curiae Brief — Aktiebolag v. First Quality Baby Prods., LLC, 136 S. Ct. 1824 (2016) (No. 15-927)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0648%3A21

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2016

## Text

Fe ee ee

Supreme Court, U.S.
FILED

_No. 15-927 SEP ~ 7 2016

OFFICE OF THE CLERK

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

SCA HYGIENE PRODUCTS AKTIEBOLAG
AND SCA PERSONAL CARE, INC.,

Petitioners,
v.

FIRST QUALITY BABY PRODUCTS, LLC, FIRST
QUALITY HYGENIC, INC., FIRST QUALITY PRODUCTS,
INC., AND FIRST QUALITY RETAIL SERVICES, LLC,

Respondents.

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FEDERAL CIRCUIT

BRIEF OF THE ELECTRONIC FRONTIER
FOUNDATION AND PUBLIC KNOWLEDGE AS
AMICI CURIAE IN SUPPORT OF RESPONDENTS

CHARLES DUAN VERA RANIERI

PUBLIC KNOWLEDGE Counsel of Record
1818 N Street NW, Suite 410 E,:LECTRONIC FRONTIER
Washington, DC 20036 FOUNDATION

(202) 861-0020 815 Eddy Street

cduan@publicknowledge.org San Francisco, CA 94109
(415) 436-9333
vera@eff.org

Counsel for amici curiae

TABLE OF CONTENTS

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES ek be © eke
INTEREST OF AMICICURIAE ......
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

ARGUMENT

I. Laches in Patent Cases Is Necessary to Promote

Fairness in Validity Determinations..... ....
A.

C.

D.

Evidence of Invalidity Is Susceptible to Loss
After Delay

1. Anticipation

EEE

3. Insufficiency of the Specification

Cases and Business Practices Show the Effect

of Delay on Invalidity Defenses .

Internet-Related Prior Art Is Particularly Sen-

sitive to Loss overTime.. .........

The Public at Large Is ened When Laches

Frustrates Proof of Invalidity

II. Patent-Specific Concerns of Invalidity Evidence
Make Petrella Inapplicable

A.

B.

In Stark Contrast to Patent Validity, Copyright
Validity Is Rarely Contested
Unlike Copyright Owners, Patentees Do Not

Generally Require Fvidence — to Loss

over Time ...

III. Section 286 Does Not Deter » ethan Delay
CONCLUSION

(1)

ii

11

. 16

Bs

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
CASES

A.C. Aukerman Co. v. R.L. Chaides Construction Co.,

960 F.2d 1020 (Fed. Cir. 1992) ......... —
Alice Corp. Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank International,

134 S. Ct. 2347 (2014) oars « een
Allen Engineering Corp. v. Bartell Industries, Inc.,

299 F:3d 12336 (Fed. Cir. 2002) Te , 26
Amazon.com, Inc. v. Barnesandnobdle.com, Inc.,

73 F. Supp. 2d 1228 (W.D. Wash. 1999) 17
Ariad Pharmaceuticals, Inc. v. Eli Liliy & Co.,

598 F.3d 1236 (Fed. Cir.2010)(enbanc)... . ae
Art Attacks Inc, LLC v. MGA Entertainment Inc.,

581 F.3d 1128 (9th Cir. 2009) ; - - 26
Arthur Andersen LLP v. United States,

544 U.S. 696 (2005) 13
Bayer, In re,

568 F.2d 1357 (C.C.P.A. 1978) -

Blonder-Tongue Laboratories, Inc.
v. University of Illinois Foundation,

402 U.S. 313 (1971). . : 21
Blue Calypso, LLC v. Groupon, Inc.,

815 F.3d 1331 (Fed. Cir. 2016) dean ; 7
Bonito Boats, Inc. v. Thunder Craft Boats, Inc.,

489 U.S. 141 (1989) ; 22
Campbell v. Acuff-Rose Music, Inc.,

510 U.S. 569 (1994) 23-24
Cardinal Chemical Co. v. Morton International, Inc.,

508 U.S. 83 (1993) ; 21

(it)

(111)

Carnegie-Mellon University
v. Marvell Technology Group,
807 F.3d 1283 (Fed. Cir. 2015) pee he . 29

Carnegie-Mellon University
v. Marvell Technology Group,
No. 09-CV-290, 2014 WL 183212 (W.D. Penn. Jan. 14,
2014) ; oe ek 29

Constant v. Advanced Micro-Devices, Inc.,
848 F.2d 1560 (Fed. Cir. 1988) ae
Egbert v. Lippmann,

104 U.S. 333 (1881) ... 6

Feist Publications, Inc. ». Rural cei smpesimetunan
499 US.340(1991).. .... ... . 25

Galliher v. Cadwell,
145 U.S. 368(1892) .. . .. . 22

Graham v. James,
144 F.3d 229 (2d Cir. 1998) . .. We .; wero

Graham v. John Deere Co.,
383 U.S. 1 (1966) aa iva ees 9, 27

Hall, In re,
781 F.2d 897 (Fed. Cir. 1986) , se a »

(11)

Halo Electronics, Inc. v. Pulae Electronics, Inc.,
136 S. Ct. 1923 (2016) oe

Hamilton Beach Brands, Inc.
v. Sunbeam Products, Inc.,
726 F.3d 1370 (Fed. Cir. 2013)

Holmberg v. Armbrecht,
327 U.S. 392 (1946)

i4i LP v. Microsoft Corp.,
598 F.3d 831 (Fed. Cir.2010) ......

141 LP v. Microsoft Corp.,
670 F. Supp. 2d 568 (E.D. Tex. 2009) .

Kendall v. Winsor,
62 U.S. 322 (1858)

Klopfenstein, In re,
380 F.3d 1245 (Fed. Cir. 2004)

KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc.,
550 U.S. 398 (2007) ;

Lamps Plua, Inc. v. Seattle Lighting Fixture Co.,
345 F.3d 1140 (9th Cir. 2003)

Lear, Inc. v. Adkins,
395 U.S. 653 (1969)

Lister, In re,
583 F.3d 1307 (Fed. Cir. 2009)

Mahurkar v. C._R. Bard, Inc.,
79 F.ad 1572 (Fed. Cir. 1996)

1, 26

22

. 7,12-14,17

14

. 30

Massachusetts Institute of Technology v. AB Fortia,

774 F.2d 1104 (Fed. Cir. 1985)

Mazer v. Stein,
347 U.S. 201 (1954)

(v)

Medicines Co. v. Hospira, Inc.,
No. 14-1469, -1504, 2016 WL 3670000 (Fed. Cir. July

11, 2016) (en banc) . 6
Medtronic, Inc. v. Miroweki Family Ventures, LLC,

1348. Ct. 843 (2014)... ... ce < _—
Merck & Cie v. Watson Laboratories, Inc.,

822 F.3d 1347 (Fed. Cir.2016) ...... 6
Micron Technology, Inc. v. Rambus Inc.,

645 F.3d 1311 (Fed. Cir. 2011) _——
Microsoft Corp. v. i41 LP,

131 S. Ct. 2238 (2011) 7, 11-12, 25
Mintz v. Dietz & Watson, Inc.,

679 F.3d 1372 (Fed. Cir. 2012) ;, 27
Motion Picture Patents Co.

v. Universal Film Manufacturing Co.,

243 U.S. 602(1917). . bes 22
National Railroad Passenger Corp. v. ili

536 U.S. 101 (2002) 3
Nautilus, Inc. v. Biosig Instruments, Inc.,

134 S. Ct. 2120 (2014) _~ : 1,9, 11
Octane Fitness, LLC v. Icon Health & Fitness, Inc.,

134 S. Ct. 1749 (2014) . ; ‘ae oe)
Odetics, Inc. v. Storage Technology Corp.,

116 F.3d 1497 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (unpub. tbl.op.)... .12
Odetics, Inc. v. Storage Technology Corp.,

919 F. Supp. 911 (E.D. Va. 1996). .. « «12-18
Petrella v. Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer, Inc.,

134 S. Ct. 1962 (2014) 4, 23, 25-26, 28

Pfaff v. Wells Electronics, Inc.,
625 U.S.55(1998) ... . ; . 6

(11)

Pope Manufacturing Co. v. Gormully,
144 US. 224 (1892) ;

Precision Instrument Manufacturing Co.
v. Automotive Maintenance Machinery Co.,
324 U.S. 806 (1945). . <<

Sid & Marty Krofft Television Productions, Inc.
v. McDonald's Corp.,
562 F.2d 1157 (9th Cir. 1977)

Suffolk Technologies, LLC v. AOL Inc.,
752 F.3d 1358 (Fed. Cir. 2014)

Tesco Corp. v. National Oilwell Varco, LP,
804 F.3d 1367 (Fed. Cir. 2015)

Topliff v. Topliff,
145 U.S. 156 (1892) .

Trans Web, LLC v. 3M Innovative Properties Co.,
812 F.3d 1295 (Fed. Cir. 2016) . . ,

Unwired Planet, LLC v. Apple Inc.,
106 F. Supp. 3d 1083 (N.D. Cal. 2015)

Unwired Planet, LLC v. Apple Inc.,
No. 15-1725, 2016 WL 3947839 (Fed. Cir. July 22, 2016)

Vas-Cath Inc. v. Mahurkar,
935 F-2d 1555 (Fed. Cir. 1991)

VirnetX, Inc. v. Cisco Syatems, Inc.,
767 F.3d 1308 (Fed. Cir. 2014)

Voter Verified, Inc. v. Premier Election Solutions, Inc.,
698 F.3d 1374 (Fed. Cir. 2012) :

Wanda, In re,
858 F.2d 731 (Fed. Cir. 1988)

W.L. Gore & Associates, Inc. v. Garlock, Inc.,
721 F.2d 1540 (Fed. Cir. 1983)

. 21

21

17

11

10

(11)

Woodland Trust v. Flowertree Nursery Inc.,
148 F.3d 1368 (Fed. Cir. 1998) 7

STATUTES AND REGULATION

17 USC. § 410(c) ' . 25
34C.F.R.§99.31(ax6MiIiXB) .. . . ... —
35 U.S.C. § 102 . 7, 24
——§102(aXl) ... , ; .. 6&6
—— § 108 pie 8-9, 24
——§112 . , vee .. 10-11
——— § 112(a) - , —
——§112o)_... s 0) Secees } 2h eee
SEE ‘csees vvxeevseses aa
—— § 2 —
——— § 282(b\(2) . 2
—— § 284 : , . 26
—— § 286 . 27-29
—— § 311(b) ' : ~e ene
——$§3l(e) ln ee es —
America Invents Act, Pub. L. No. 112-29, 125 Stat. 284
(2011) . , : rer : . 6,9
OTHER SOURCES

John R. Allison et al., Understanding the Realities of
Modern Patent Litigation, 92 Tex. L. Rev. 1769(2014). 24

(vit)

Ass’n of Records Managers & Adm’rs, Generally Ac-
cepted Recordkeeping Principles (2014), http://www.
arma.org / docs / sharepoint - roadshow / the - principles _
executive-summaries_finaldoc .. ......

Brief for Petitioner, Petrella v. Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer,
Inc., 134 S. Ct. 1962 (Nov. 15, 2013) (No. 12-1315)

Brief of Amicus Curiae the California Society of Enter-
tainment Lawyers in Support of Petitioner, Petrella v.
Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer, Inc., 134 S. Ct. 1962 (Nov. 21,
2013) (No. 12-1315)

Frederick P. Brooks, Jr., The Mythical Man-Month: Es-
says on Software Engineering (1975) .....

Jennifer Cloer, 10 Years of Git: An Interview with Git Cre-
ator Linus Torvalds, Linux Found. (Apr. 6, 2015), https://
www.linux gp tainamramaa owe
linus-torvalds

Comments of ABA Section of Intellectual ne

Law, Prior Art Resources for Use in the Exami-
nation of Software-Related Patent Applications, 79
Fed. Reg. 644 (USPTO Apr. 23, 2014), available
at http: // www.americanbar.org / content / dam / aba /
administrative / intellectual _ property _ law / advocacy /
abaip| _ commentsPriorArtResources.authcheckdam.
pdf ,

Christopher A. Cotropia, Nonobviousness and the Fed-
eral Circuit: An Empirical Analysis of Recent Case
Law, 82 Notre Dame L. Rev. 911 (2007)

Christopher A. Cotropia & Mark A. Lemley, Copying in
Patent Law, 87 N.C. L. Rev. 1421 (2009) :
Lyle Denniston, No Subs for Lawyers in Court Lines,

SCOTUSblog (Oct. 5, 2015), http://www.scotusblog.com/
2015/10/no-subs-for-lawyers-in-court-lines/

13

17

. 16

19

(ix)

Rebecca S. Eisenberg, Obvious to Whom? Evaluating
Inventions from the Perspective of PHOSITA, 19 Berke-
ley Tech. L.J. 885 (2004) . Wi hes

William Q. de Funiak, Handbook of Modern satiee

(1956) ieee eo! +e een be wees

Megan Garber, 49% of the Links Cited in Supreme Court
Decisions Are Broken, The Atlantic (Sept. 23, 2013),
http://www.theatlantic.com/technology/archive/2013/09/
49-of-the-links - cited -in- eaaninecniee cae
broken/279901/ ‘ae 2S eee, eee ee

Stuart J.H. Graham et al., Heh Technology En-
trepreneurs and the Patent System: Results of the 2008
Berkeley Patent Survey, 24 Berkeley Tech. L.J. 1255

a st, Ser OOP ee gag

Davin Granroth, How to Write Release Notes (Mar.
3, 2010), http://blog. ~“eeuapeemrniesasmeaual
write-release-notes/ ..... Pe, ay

Jason Hennesey & Steven Xijin Ge, A Cross Disci-
plinary Study of Link Decay and the Effectiveness of
Mitigation Techniques, 14 (Supp. 14) BMC Bioinfor-
matics S6 (2013), available at http://bmcbioinformatics.

S5 eae ae '

Megan M. La Belle, Patent Litigation, Personal Juris-
diction, and the Public Good, 18 Geo. Mason L. Rev. 43
(2010)

Jill Lepore, The Cobweb: Can the Internet Be Archived?,
New Yorker, Jan. 26, 2015, at 34, available at http://www.
newyorker.com/magazine/2015/01/2G/cobweb .
LexisNexis, Elements of a Good Document Re-
tention Policy (2007), http://www.lexisnexis.com /
applieddiscovery /lawlibrary /whitePapers/ADI_ WP _

ElementsOfAGoodDocRetentionPolicy.pdf ........

biomedcentral.com/articles/10.1186/1471-2105-14-S14-

16

. 16

19

. 19

(x)
Adam Liptak, /n Supreme Court Opinions, Web Links
to Nowhere, N.Y. Times, Sept. 24, 2013, at A13

Stefan Lueders, Computer Security: Mac Security: Noth-
ing for Old Versions, CERN (July 7, 2016), https://home.

cern/cern -people/updates/2016/04/computer- security -

mac-security-nothing-old-versions

Glynn S. Lunney, Jr. & Christian T. Johnson, Not So Ob-
vious After All: Patent Law's Nonobviousness Require-
ment, KSR, and the Fear of Hindsight Bias, 47 Ga. L.
Rev. 41 (2012)

Gregory N. Mandel, Patently Non-Obvious: Empirical
Demonstration that the Hindsight Bias Renders Patent
Decisions Irrational, 67 Ohio St. L.J. 1391 (2006)

Ronald J. Mann & Thomas W. Sager, Patents, Ven-

ture Capital, and Software Start-Ups, 36 Res. Pol’y 193

(2007)

Robert McMillan, Turns Out the Dot-Com Bust’s Worst
Flops Were Actually Fantastic Ideas, Wired (Dec. 8,
2014), http://www. wired.com/2014/12/da-bom/

Joseph V. Meigs, Time: The Essence of Patent Law (1940)

Christina Mulligan & Timothy B. Lee, Scaling the Patent
System, 68 N.Y. Ann. Surv. Am. L. 289 (2012)

Melville B. Nimmer & David Nimmer, Nimmer on Copy-
right (2016) as kena .

David W. O’Brien, Discovery of Draft Patent Applica-
tions: Considerations in Establishing a Draft Retention
Policy, 2 Tex. Intell. Prop. L.J. 237 (1994)

Eric S. Raymond, The Cathedral and the Bazaar: Mus-
ings on Linux and Open Source by an Accidental Revo-
lutionary (rev. ed. 2001) :

. 16

10

. 16

14

15-16

ae

(x1)

Peter Vogel, Why You Shouldn't Comment (or Docu-
ment) Code, Visual Studio Mag. (June 27, 2013), https://
visualstudiomagazine.com/articles/2013/06/01/roc-rocks.
aspx ae 17
Tom Warren, Windows 10: The Top 10 Most Re-
quested Features, The Verge (Oct. 17, 2014), http://www.
theverge.com/2014/10/17/6993471/windows-10-features-
top-requests 04 a 15
Jonathan Zittrain et al., Perma: Scoping and Addressing
the Problem of Link and Reference Rot in Legal Cita-
tions, 127 Harv. L. Rev. F. 176 (2014) 18-20

INTEREST OF AMICI CURIAE

The Electronic Frontier Foundation’ (“EFF”) is a
nonprofit civil liberties organization that has worked for
over 25 years to protect consumer interests, innovation,
and free expression in the digital world. EFF and its
more than 26,000 dues-paying members have a strong in-
terest in helping the courts ensure that intellectual prop-
erty law serves the public interest.

Public Knowledge is a non-profit organization that
is dedicated to preserving the openness of the Internet
and the public’s access to knowledge, promoting creativ-
ity through balanced intellectual property rights, and up-
holding and protecting the rights of consumers to use in-
novative technology lawfully. Public Knowledge advo-
cates on behalf of the public interest for a balanced patent
system, particularly with respect to new and emerging
technologies.

The Electronic Frontier Foundation and Public
Knowledge have previously served as amici in patent
cases. E..g., Halo Elecs., Inc. v. Pulse Elecs., Inc., 136 S.
Ct. 1923 (2016); Alice Corp. Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank Int'l,
134 S. Ct. 2347 (2014); Nautilus, Inc. v. Biosig Instru-
ments, Inc., 1348. Ct. 2120 (2014); Octane Fitness, LLC v.
Icon Health & Fitness, Inc., 134 S. Ct. 1749 (2014).

‘Pursuant to Supreme Court Rule 37.3(a), all parties received ap-
propriate notice of and consented to the filing of this brief. Pursuant
to Rule 37.6, no counsel for a party authored this brief in whole or
in part, and no counsel or party made a monetary contribution in-
tended to fund the preparation or submission of the brief. No person
or entity, other than amici, their members, or their counsel, made a
monetary contribution to the preparation or submission of this brief.

]

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

In the library of this Court sits a small volume, a gift to
the Honorable Learned Hand, that opens with a proposi-
tion: “The element of time . . . pervades the entire patent
law structure.” Joseph V. Meigs, Time: The Essence of
Patent Law vii (1940). There can be little doubt of this
truth. A patent is awarded to the applicant who is first
in time, and no patent may issue on an invention that
was earlier in time patented, described, or known to the
public. In advancing the inventions of the future, patent
law constantly relies on evidence of the past to determine
which patents are valid.

That temporal dimension is why patent law should
retain the equitable doctrine that encourages timeliness.
Laches is and ought to be available in patent infringement
cases because it helps to ensure that patent validity, a
concern central to the patent system and highly sensitive
to time delay, is fully and fairly adjudicated. In patent
law as in others, the doctrine of laches serves to abate
the possibility that the passage of time may obscure evi-
dence of invalidity. The fact that “testimonial evidence is
frequently critical to invalidity defenses” supported the
Federal Circuit’s retention of laches in A.C. Aukerman
Co. v. R.L. Chaides Construction Co., 960 F:2d 1020, 1035
(Fed. Cir. 1992), and it counsels strongly toward retaining
the defense now.

1. In patent infringement actions, evidentiary prej-
udice created by the passage of time disproportionately
harms those accused of infringement. Patent invalidation
often depends on fact- and time-specific evidence such as
what products were available as of a particular date, the
time and conditions of an article’s publication, and know!-
edge at a given point in the past—evidence that is easily

2

3

lost or forgotten over time. In case after case, including
cases that have come before this Court, those accused
of patent infringement have proffered evidence of inva-
lidity, but the difficulty in procuring facts from the past
prevented those defendants from meeting the clear-and-
convincing evidence burden required for patent invalida-
tion.

Internet architecture and software industry norms
have exacerbated the rate of loss of technological prior
art. Ordinary fast-paced software industry practices are
not conducive to the meticulous documentation of prior
invention that the patent system demands. Furthermore,
the Internet is notorious for losing information over time,
heightening the likelihood of loss of evidence needed to-
day.

When time delay frustrates a charge of patent invalid-
ity, the injury is not merely to the party to the lawsuit—
the injury falls upon the entire public, who now must
pay licensing fees that may not have been required if the
patent had been timely adjudicated and invalidated.

Delay in bringing suit over patent infringement thus
creates a unique harm: it fades away evidence that might
otherwise have invalidated the patent at issue. Laches in
patent cases is necessary to avoid this possibility to the
largest extent possible.

Not all delay is due to laches, and many of the exam-
ples of the harms of delay described below cannot be ad-
dressed by laches. But laches has never been intended
to cure all the harms of delay; the doctrine’s more mod-
est raison d’étre has always been to discourage a limited
class of inequitable and prejudicial delays. See, e.g., Nat'l
R.R. Passenger Corp. v. Morgan, 536 U.S. 101, 122 (2002).
That the laches defense will at least in some cases deter

4

the serious harms described herein is reason enough to
preserve that defense.

2. Besides pointing to strong reasons why laches
serves necessary purposes of the patent system, inva-
lidity evidence concerns render the copyright precedent,
Petrella v. Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer, Inc., 134 S. Ct. 1962
(2014), inapplicable to the patent context. First, invalid-
ity is rarely disputed in copyright cases; Petrella had lit-
tle occasion to contemplate whether laches was needed to
facilitate copyright invalidity defenses. By contrast, in-
validity is often the central focus of patent cases; insofar
as the availability of laches could strongly affect patent
invalidity outcomes, considerations outside the scope of
Petrella must be considered here.

Second, Petrella relied in part on a view that copy-
right claimants and defendants would be equally harmed
by delay, rendering the incentive effect of laches unnec-
essary. But patent law provides a strikingly different
context. While the nature of invalidity defenses ren-
ders alleged patent infringers greatly prejudiced by de-
lay, patent owners rarely need to offer evidence of the
past. A prima facie case of patent infringement can be
made by comparing information in the four corners of a
patent to a product on a store shelf; little to no histori-
cal investigation is needed. This asymmetry in eviden-
tiary burdens demands a different result in application of
laches in the patent context.

ARGUMENT

I. LACHES IN PATENT CASES Is NECESSARY TO
PROMOTE FAIRNESS IN VALIDITY DETERMINA-
TIONS

By encouraging timeliness in bringing patent infringe-
ment cases, laches promotes fairness in patent validity de-
terminations. Invalidity defenses often rely on evidence
that is attenuated or lost over time. Undue delay thus
makes invalidity harder to prove, unfairly harming both
the accused infringer and the public at large. By deter-
ring undue delay, laches mitigates these harms.

A. EVIDENCE OF INVALIDITY Is SUSCEPTIBLE TO
Loss AFTER DELAY

Those accused of infringement regularly raise the de-
fense of patent invalidity along three avenues: anticipa-
tion by prior art, obviousness over prior art, or insuffi-
cient description or enablement. The effect of delay on ev-
idence of each of these avenues to invalidity is described
in turn.

1. ANTICIPATION

A patent is invalid as anticipated by prior art if its
invention was “described in a printed publication, or in
public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public”
before the relevant filing date of the patent. 35 U.S.C.
§ 102(a)(1).2 Because of the backward-looking nature of
this defense, laches can hinder proof of anticipation.

?Patents based on applications filed prior to March 16, 2013 are
subject to a different anticipation requirement, though similar in
relevant substance. See America Invents Act, Pub. L. No. 112-29,
sec. 3(n\1), 125 Stat. 284, (2011).

5

6

1. For example, a key defense against improperly
granted patents is showing that the invention was “in
public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public.”
Id. In just the last few years, the Federal Circuit has
considered numerous cases involving potentially invali-
dating public use, including a recent significant en banc
case; district courts have heard many more.’ Thus, con-
trary to the suggestions of one other amicus,‘ invalidity
disputes over public use are a critical and frequent occur-
rence in patent law.

Proving invalidity based on prior public use is much
more difficult after delay. The defense often turns on ex-
acting showings of the precise times of invention. See,
e.g., Pfaff v. Wells Elecs., Inc., 525 U.S. 55, 67 (1998) (re-
quiring evidence of when invention is “ready for patent-
ing”); Egbert v. Lippmann, 104 U.S. 333, 336-37 (1881)
(relying on time when garment was first worn in public as
evidence of public use). That evidence, by definition not

"See, e.g., Meda. Co. v. Hospira, Inc., No. 14-1469, -1504, 2016 WL
3670000, at *& (Fed. Cir. July 11, 2016) (en banc); Merck & Cie v. Wat-
nom Lahe., Inc., R22 F.3d 1347, 1361-52 (Fed. Cir. 2016); Trans Web,
LLC v. 3M Innovative Props. Co., 812 F.3d 1296, 1299, 1301-03 (Fed.
Cir. 2016) (“The primary issues are whether sufficient corroborat-
ing evidence exists to support the finding of prior public use ");
Delano Farms Co. v. Cal. Table Grape Comm'n, 778 F.3d 1243, 1247-
48 (Fed. Cir. 2015); Hamilton Beach Brands, Inc. v. Sunbeam Prods.,
Inc., 726 F.3d 1370, 1375-79 (Fed. Cir. 2013); Unwired Planet, LLC v.
Apple Inc., 106 F. Supp. 3d 1083, 1099-100 (N.D. Cal. 2015), vacated
on other grounds, No. 15-1725, 2016 WL 3947839 (Fed. Cir. July 22,
2016); see also Tesco Corp. v. Nat'l Oilwell Varco, LP, 804 F.3d 1367,
1369-70 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (relating to invalidity determination based
on on-sale bar).

‘See ABA Br. 14 & n.15, July 22, 2016. Even if ABA were correct
that invalidity disputes often turn on printed publications, time delay
remains a concern in light of evidence necessary for that prior art as
well. See Section 1.A.1(2) infra p. 7.

7

recorded in printed publications, is not the type typically
archived by libraries and is thus notoriously susceptible
to loss or deterioration over time. Indeed, the Federal
Circuit is so concerned with quality of public use evidence
that it demands a “heavy burden when establishing prior
public knowledge and use based on long-past events,”
and requires corroboration of oral testimony. Woodland
Trust v. Flowertree Nursery Inc., 148 F:3d 1368, 1373
(Fed. Cir. 1998).° This “burden” was justified by the Fed-
eral Circuit, in part, based on its belief that “in modern
times, by the ubiquitous paper trail of virtually all com-
mercial activity” would mean that it would be “rare in-
deed that some physical record . . . does not exist.” Jd.
Without laches, however, that “heavy burden” of corrob-
oration becomes increasingly heavy, and eventually, es-
pecially “in modern times,” likely insurmountable. See
Section I.B infra p. 11.

2. Even patent invalidation based on printed publi-
cations is made more difficult after delay. In order for
a printed publication to serve as prior art under § 102,
the proponent must prove that the publication was “suffi-
ciently accessible to the public interested in the art.” Jn
re Cronyn, 890 F:2d 1158, 1160 (Fed. Cir. 1989) (quoting
Constant v. Advanced Micro-Devices, Inc., 848 F.2d 1560,
1568 (Fed. Cir. 1988)). That may involve showing the time
that the relevant document was indexed for searching,
see, e.g., Blue Calypso, LLC v. Groupon, Inc., 815 F:3d
1331, 1349-50 (Fed. Cir. 2016), or demonstrating that the
forum or journal of publication was of sufficient renown

’The Federal Circuit's corroboration requirement is asymmetric:
patent challengers seeking invalidity must provide corroboration,

but patentees rebutting invalidity charges need not. See isi LP v.
Microsoft Corp., 598 F.3d 831, 847 (Fed. Cir. 2010), aff'd, 131 S. Ct.

2238 (2011).

8

to those in the relevant technical field, see, e.g., Voter Ver-
ified, Inc. v. Premier Election Solutions, Inc., 698 F.3d
1374, 1380-81 (Fed. Cir. 2012).

Evidence of whether a document was “sufficiently ac-
cessible” is easy to lose over time. At least three cases
have turned on detailed facts regarding whether proce-
dures for indexing and cataloging library holdings meant
that a dissertation qualified as prior art. See Cronyn,
890 F.2d at 1161; Jn re Hall, 781 F-2d 897, 899 (Fed. Cir.
1986); In re Bayer, 568 F.2d 1357, 1361 (C.C.P.A. 1978).
These are facts that are unlikely to be retained. Indeed,
evidence of library procedures in two of these cases de-
pended on the memory and testimony of librarians. See
Hall, 781 F.2d at 897-98; Bayer, 568 F.2d at 1358.

In other cases, a document’s status as a printed publi-
cation has depended on such facts as the number of people
attending a conference, Mass. Inst. of Tech. v. AB Fortia,
774 F.2d 1104, 1109 (Fed. Cir. 1985), professional norms
and expectations about copying or taking notes when the
document is presented, see In re Klopfenstein, 380 F.3d
1345, 1351 (Fed. Cir. 2004), and the technical operations of
online database services at a particular point in time, see
In re Lister, 583 F.3d 1307, 1317 (Fed. Cir. 2009). These
are all ephemeral facts, often left unrecorded and likely
to escape memory.

Thus, for both public use and printed publications,
time delay can erase necessary evidence of what might
have been a strong case for invalidity by anticipation.

2. OBVIOUSNESS

Time delay also interferes with proving patent invalid-
ity for obviousness under 35 U.S.C. § 103. Determination
of obviousness of patent claims is based on a four-part

9

inquiry into (1) “the scope and content of the prior art,”
(2) “differences between the prior art and the claims at is-
sue,” (3) “the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art,”
and (4) “secondary considerations” that may serve as “in-
dicia of obviousness or nonobviousness.” Graham v. John
Deere Co., 383 U.S. 1, 17-18 (1966).

Because obviousness turns on prior art, time delay
hinders proof of obviousness in all the ways that delay hin-
ders proof of anticipation, as described above. And delay
attenuates evidence of a further element of obviousness,
namely the determination of the “level of ordinary skill in
the pertinent art.”

The relevant level of skill in the art is that as of “the
effective filing date of the claimed invention.” 35 U.S.C.
§ 103.° Assessment of that level “requires the oft-difficult
but critical step of casting the mind back to the time of
the invention.” In re Dembiczak, 175 F-3d 994, 999 (Fed.
Cir. 1999). Experts are often called on to both discuss the
state of the prior art as of the priority date and mentally
exclude any post-priority advances in a field. See, ¢.g.,
Rebecca S. Eisenberg, Obvious to Whom? Evaluating In-
ventions from the Perspective of PHOSITA, 19 Berkeley
Tech. L.J. 885, 899 (2004). That feat of mental gymnastics
only becomes more difficult as time elapses.

Furthermore, this Court recognized not long ago that
the obviousness inquiry must also consider the common
sense inferences that the skilled artisan’ would reach.

*Prior to the America Invents Act, § 103 used the language “the
time of the invention.” The difference is inconsequential for purposes
of the argument here.

"Rather than the lengthy phrase “person having ordinary skill in
the art,” courts and litigants use short forms such as “PHOSITA.”
This brief uses the more readable “skilled artisan.” See Nautilus,
Inc. v. Biosig Instruments, Inc., 134 S. Ct. 2120, 2130 (2014).

10

See KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 420-21
(2007). Envisioning the scope of common sense at a par-
ticular time in history is difficult, and that difficulty is mul-
tiplied as the time gap increases.

Difficulty in assessing the skilled artisan’s past know!-
edge tends to disfavor those seeking invalidation by ob-
viousness. The difficulty of “casting the mind back” has
led the Federal Circuit to be hypervigilant for hindsight
bias and to reject obviousness determinations where the
knowledge of a skilled artisan might be in question. See,
e.g., W.L. Gore & Assocs., Inc. v. Garlock, Inc., 721 F.2d
1540, 1553 (Fed. Cir. 1983); In re Cyclobenzaprine Hy-
drochloride Extended-Release Capsule Patent Litig., 676
F3d 1063, 1073 (Fed. Cir. 2012); Glynn S. Lunney, Jr. &
Christian T. Johnson, Not So Obvious After All: Patent
Law’s Nonobviousness Requirement, KSR, and the Fear
of Hindsight Bias, 47 Ga. L. Rev. 41, 42-43 (2012) (not-
ing dramatic decrease in success of obviousness defenses
following creation of Federal Circuit). Evidentiary diffi-
culties in determining obviousness, in practice, have re-
sulted in fewer patents being determined obvious.

3. INSUFFICIENCY OF THE SPECIFICATION

Time delay may also diminish evidence of a patent’s
invalidity for failure to meet the statutory requirements
for the written specification. Under 35 U.S.C. § 112, a
patent must satisfy three primary requirements: it must
include a written description demonstrating possession of
the patented invention, § 112(a), it must enable one of or-
dinary skill in the art to practice the invention without
undue experimentation, id., and it must include claims
specifying the patent’s exclusionary right with sufficient
definiteness, § 112(b).

1]

Each of these three requirements is measured with re-
spect to a skilled artisan. Under the written description
requirement, the patent must “clearly allow persons of
ordinary skill in the art to recognize that the inventor in-
vented what is claimed.” Ariad Pharm., Inc. v. Eli Lilly
& Co., 598 F.3d 1336, 1351 (Fed. Cir. 2010) (en banc) (quot-
ing Vas-Cath Inc. v. Mahurkar, 935 F.2d 1555, 1563 (Fed.
Cir. 1991)) (internal alterations omitted). Under enable-
ment, the oft-cited factors of Jn re Wands include “the
relative skill of those in the art.” 858 F:2d 731, 737 (Fed.
Cir. 1988). And definiteness of claims “is to be evaluated
from the perspective of someone skilled in the relevant
art.” Nautilus, Inc. v. Biosig Instruments, Inc., 134 S.
Ct. 2120, 2128 (2014).

As explained above with respect to obviousness deter-
minations, determination of the knowledge of a skilled ar-
tisan at the time of the invention is a fact-specific inquiry
that often involves evidence susceptible to loss over time.
That possibility of lost evidence means that time delays
can impede determinations of whether a patent satisfies
§ 112. Because patents are statutorily presumed valid,
see 35 U.S.C. § 282, and may only be invalidated over clear
and convincing evidence, Microsoft Corp. v. i4i LP, 131 S.
Ct. 2238, 2243 (2011), any deficiency in evidence will tend
to disfavor invalidation. Thus, as with anticipation and
obviousness, a delay in litigating a patent will increase
the difficulty of proving invalidity under § 112.

B. CASES AND BUSINESS PRACTICES SHOW THE
EFFECT OF DELAY ON INVALIDITY DEFENSES

It is not mere theory that delay impedes proof of in-
validity. The negative effect of delay on invalidity de-

12

fenses is both seen in past cases and made more likely
by industry-standard business practices.

1. Cases demonstrate that delay can make invalidity
defenses harder or even impossible to prove.

In Odetics, Inc. v. Storage Technology Corp., the
patent owner asserted a patent on data backup systems
against a manufacturer of such systems. See 919 F. Supp.
911, 916 (E.D. Va. 1996), vacated on other grounds, 116
F.3d 1497 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (unpub. tbl. op.). Contesting
the validity of the patent, the manufacturer argued that
it had invented the backup systems before the patent
owner. See id. at 922 & n.17. But the patentee had de-
layed bringing suit for over six years. Jd. at 921. In the
interim, the manufacturer had destroyed 600-800 docu-
ments that might have proven invalidity, and the manu-
facturer’s patent counsel had forgotten he had ever repre-
sented the manufacturer. See id. at 922. The loss of those
facts due to the patentee’s delay, said the district court,
had rendered the manufacturer’s ability to raise its inva-
lidity defense “somewhat less than ‘full and fair.’” Jd. at
923 (quoting A.C. Aukerman Co. v. R.L. Chaides Constr.
Co., 960 F:2d 1020, 1033 (Fed. Cir. 1992)).

Absent a laches defense, delay in bringing suit in
Odetics may very well have rendered a practicing manu-
facturer liable for patent infringement for a product that
it invented first.

Similarly, i47 LP v. Microsoft Corp. involved a patent
on a method of displaying and editing certain special
computer files using word processing software, and the
patent owner alleged that the word processing program
Microsoft Word infringed the patent. See 598 F.3d 831,
839-40 (Fed. Cir. 2010), aff'd, 131 S. Ct. 2238 (2011). Mi-
crosoft contended that the patent was invalid because the

13

patentee had sold a product called S4 before the relevant
date of the patent. See id. at 846.

A factual dispute ensued, which could have easily
been resolved with a single piece of evidence: the source
code of S4.° But the litigation was filed fourteen years
after S4’s creation, and the patentee had destroyed S4’s
source code “years before this litigation began.” /d.
With only circumstantial evidence of the S4 program, Mi-
crosoft was unable to meet the threshold of clear and con-
vincing evidence to invalidate the patent. See id. at 847-
48.

2. Thedocument losses observed in both Odetics and
i4i are not idiosyncratic to those cases, but reflective of
ordinary business practices. Company records are reg-
ularly destroyed pursuant to standard document reten-
tion policies. See, e.g., Arthur Andersen LLP v. United
States, 544 U.S. 696, 704 (2005) (noting document destruc-
tion policies to be “common in business” and “not wrong-
ful”).2 Indeed, document destruction may sometimes be
legally required.'°

Patent applicants, owners, and attorneys regularly
destroy patent-related records in this manner, even
though the records may become relevant to patent as-

8Source code is a set of written instructions that a computer can in-
terpret (possibly through a translational step called “compilation”) to
perform desired operations. All computer programs originate from
a software developer writing source code.

®See also Ass’n of Records Managers & Adm'rs, Generally
Accepted Recordkeeping Principles 9 (2014), URL supra p. viii;
LexisNexis, Elements of a Good Document Retention Policy 3
(2007), URL supra p. ix.

10 See, e.g., 34 C.F-R. § 99.31(a)(6XiiiB) (requiring school contrac-
tors to destroy educational records when no longer needed).

14

sertion later.'' Of course, the interest of patent owners
and their attorneys is to destroy potentially harmful docu-
ments and to retain helpful ones,'* an interest that has on
occasion been followed so zealously that it led to sanction-
able conduct. See Micron Tech., Inc. v. Rambus Inc., 645
F.3d 1311, 1825-26 (Fed. Cir. 2011) (patentee held “shred
days” before imminent litigation)."* Delay in bringing
suit could leave patent infringement defendants without
key documents that would have been present had the law-
suit been timely filed.

These cases and practices show how delay affects evi-
dence of patent invalidity: key documents are destroyed,
and memories fade. Where delay in bringing suit is excus-
able, such losses may be written off as the unfortunate
uncertainties of litigation.’ But where it is within the
power of the patentee to avoid the prejudice of delay, the
law ought strongly to encourage early filing of lawsuits
to give parties a fuller, fairer opportunity to litigate ques-
tions of invalidity. Laches is the well-established tool for
encouraging that behavior, and it ought to be retained.

"See David W. O’Brien, Discovery of Draft Patent Applications:
Considerationa in Establishing a Draft Retention Policy, 2 Tex. In-
tell. Prop. L.J. 237, 255-56 (1994).

'2 Helpful documents might include, for example, evidence that the
inventor on a patent conceived of an invention at an earlier time than
the filing date of the application. See Mahurkar v. C.R. Bard, Inc., 79
F.3d 1572, 1578 (Fed. Cir. 1996).

'31t is worth considering whether, if the patentee in Micron had
engaged in laches after destroying the documents, the accused in-
fringer would have had any evidence left to prove that the unlawful
destruction had occurred.

'4In 743, for example, the district court ultimately found the paten-
tee’s delay excusable. See i4i LP v. Microsoft Corp., 670 F. Supp. 2d
568, 603-05 (E.D. Tex. 2009).

15

C. INTERNET-RELATED PRIOR ART IS PARTICU-
LARLY SENSITIVE TO LOSS OVER TIME

Ties between the Internet and prior art render dis-
couraging delay through the laches defense even more
important today than ever before. Increasingly, prior art
that can be used to invalidate patents can be found on the
Internet, either because it is published on that network
or because it is software built for that network. But soft-
ware technology lifecycles outpace the level of documen-
tation needed for prior art purposes and the Internet is
notoriously unreliable as a long-term archive.

1. Software development happens at a fast pace, of-
ten in a context of intense competition. It is an iterative
process that must rapidly respond to user needs and fea-
ture requests.’” The processes are often decentralized,
and the formal development tools are optimized for collab-
oration and efficiency rather than litigation record keep-
ing. Moreover, disclosure of new features and innova-
tions to the public often occurs by releasing new versions,
rather than through patents or traditional printed jour-
nals. The community mantra is, as one veteran software
developer put it: “Release early. Release often. And lis-
ten to your customers.” Eric S. Raymond, The Cathedral
and the Bazaar: Musings on Linux and Open Source by
an Accidental Revolutionary 29 (rev. ed. 2001).

In seeking to please a demanding user base with rapid
improvements, software developers rarely take the time
to chronicle al] the details of their work at each release
time. The conventional avenue of documenting prior art,
namely filing a patent application, is rarely undertaken in

'®See, e.g., Tom Warren, Windows 10: The Top 10 Most Requested
Features, The Verge (Oct. 17, 2014), URL supra p. xi (Microsoft so-
liciting feature requests for its Windows operating system).

16

the software industry: multiple studies have found that
“most venture-backed software firms did not acquire any
patents.”"* And historical versions of the software itself
often go unarchived, because software users are regu-
larly encouraged to update immediately to the latest and
greatest versions. '”

The fast pace of software creation often means that
software developers have little time to extensively doc-
ument their progress. Release notes, if prepared at all,
are often written in sparse shorthand, which make search-
ing difficult."* Often software developers forgo detailed,
timestamped documentation of their work because they

'6Ronald J. Mann & Thomas W. Sager, Patents, Venture Capital,
and Software Start-Ups, 36 Res. Pol’y 193, 197 (2007); see also Stuart
J.H. Graham et al., High Technology Entrepreneurs and the Patent
System: Resulta of the 2008 Berkeley Patent Survey, 24 Berkeley
Tech. L.J. 1255, 1278-79 (2009).

'TIndeed, because many software updates address security flaws
and vulnerabilities, many companies strongly discourage users from
retaining old versions. See, e.g., Stefan Lueders, Computer Secu-
rity: Mac Security: Nothing for Old Versions, CERN (July 7, 2016),
URL supra p. x. Certainly some developers keep old versions in
archival programs, or code repositories, that keep track of a software
project over time. Those software archives are sometimes even pub-
licly available, in the case of open source software. See generally
Raymond, supra. But mere availability of old software does not nec-
essarily render it useful prior art. Searching myriad repositories for
relevant computer code is often an exercise in futility. See Christina
Mulligan & Timothy B. Lee, Scaling the Patent System, 68 NYU.
Ann. Surv. Am. L. 289, 300 (2012). Locating the right art in a soft-
ware repository will often depend on the memories of users and au-
thors of that software—memories subject to loss over time.

'*See, e.g., Davin Granroth, How to Write Release Notes (Mar. 3,
2010), URL supra p. ix (“Release notes are often little more than a
bullet list of updates, and that’s fine.”); Jennifer Cloer, 10 Years of Git:
An Interview with Git Creator Linus Torvalds, Linux Found. (Apr. 6,
2015), URL supra p. viii (discussing difficulties with producing good

17

believe—rightly—that the practice is error-prone: for a
frequently updated program, out-of-date documentation
can do more harm than good.'* And to the extent that
company-internal documentation is generated, that doc-
umentation may very well be destroyed in the ordinary
course of business. See Section I.B(2) supra p. 13.

The likelihood of loss of primary evidence of software
prior art is further emphasized by how often patent liti-
gators rely on circumstantial evidence such as mailing list
postings and product brochures. See, e.g., Suffolk Techs.,
LLC v. AOL Inc., 752 F.3d 1358, 1361-65 (Fed. Cir. 2014)
(Internet newsgroup posting); 141, 598 F.3d at 847 (letter
to investors); Amazon.com, Inc. v. Barnesandnoble.com,
Inc., 73 F. Supp. 2d 1228, 1233-34 (W.D. Wash. 1999) (re-
tailer advice book mentioning relevant software). This
circumstantial evidence is presumably offered only be-
cause the more direct evidence, such as source code or
detailed documentation, is unavailable.

And it is not just that material from software firms is
prone to loss—the firms themselves often disappear, tak-
ing relevant prior art with them. Many “dotcom bubble”
companies in the early 2000s quickly failed, but similar
technologies are now used by modern, profitable compa-
nies.” Documents and code from defunct startups, if they

commit messages and other documentation when using Git Hub, a Git
repository hosting service).

'8See Frederick P. Brooks, Jr., The Mythical Man-Month: Essays
on Software Engineering 169 (1975) (noting “folly of trying to main-
tain independent files [e.g., software code and documentation] in syn-
chronism”); Peter Vogel, Why You Shouldn't Comment (or Docu-
ment) Code, Visual Studio Mag. (June 27, 2013), URL supra p. xi.

See Robert McMillan, Turns Out the Dot-Com Bust’s Worst
Flops Were Actually Fantastic Ideas, Wired (Dec. 8, 2014), URL
supra p. x (describing Pets.com). The ABA brief’s assertion (at 14
n.16) that dotcom-era patents from the 1990s are in large part expired

18

even existed in the first place, are unlikely to remain af-
ter the companies cease to exist. But those documents
and code could easily be relevant prior art to patents that
are asserted today. When a software patent owner en-
gages in laches, a firm with key prior art could very well
go bankrupt during the delay period, making that prior
art impossible to find or authenticate.

Rapid, iterative development in software and Inter-
net technologies positions alleged infringers poorly, often
through no fault of their own, to fight patent infringement
suits after delay. Absent the risk of laches, patent owners
can exploit these realities to more easily assert patents
that would be invalidated but for the practical inability
to find and establish cognizable evidence of invalidity.

2. The Internet further exacerbates the problems
caused by delay, because Internet-published documents
such as websites and online articles are subject to greater
loss. The problem, sometimes generally referred to as
“link rot,” is that information on a website can be moved,
altered, or even deleted at the website operator’s whim,
making that information difficult or impossible to find
later. See Jonathan Zittrain et al., Perma: Scoping and
Addressing the Problem of Link and Reference Rot in Le-
gal Citations, 127 Harv. L. Rev. F. 176, 176 (2014).”!

Studies confirm the prevalence of link rot. One sur-
vey found that websites cited in scientific literature had

(even though they are not, see, ¢.g., VirnetX, Inc. v. Cisco Sys., Inc.,
767 F.3d 1308 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (involving 1998 patents)) is entirely ir-
relevant to concerns about loss of dotcom-era non-patent prior art.
That prior art is frequently necessary to invalidate patents filed well
after that era.

2! As just one example of link rot, citations in this very brief had to
be modified from those referenced in the brief amici filed at the Fed-
eral Circuit, in part because several of the links no longer worked.

19

a median lifespan of only 9.3 years—less than half of or-
dinary patent term. See Jason Hennesey & Steven Xi-
jin Ge, A Cross Disciplinary Study of Link Decay and
the Effectiveness of Mitigation Techniques, 14 (Supp. 14)
BMC Bioinformatics S5, 3 (2013), available at URL supra
p. ix; 35 U.S.C. § 154(a)(2). Another found that URL refer-
ences in three major law journals over a 17-year window
worked only about 30% of the time, with the balance re-
turning errors or incorrect data. See Zittrain et al., supra,
at 184.

Services like the Internet Archive’s “Wayback Ma-
chine” seek to ameliorate link rot.“ But even that service,
which periodically archives and timestamps the contents
of the Internet, cannot solve this problem. The Internet
is large and archivists struggle to collect it all: the sur-
vey described above found that only 62% of links studied
were saved on the Internet Archive. See Hennesey & Ge,
supra, at 3.

More importantly, services like the Internet Archive
generally do not (and likely cannot) store interactive con-
tent like database query results or programmed Inter-
net scripts. See Comments of ABA Section of Intellec-
tual Property Law 2, Prior Art Resources for Use in
the Examination of Software-Related Patent Applica-
tions, 79 Fed. Reg. 644 (USPTO Apr. 23, 2014), avail-
able at URL supra p. viii (web pages “including certain
JavaScript enabled links and instructions may not be
archived”). Those services thus fail to archive the in-

=See generally Jill Lepore, The Cobweb: Can the Internet Be
Archived?, New Yorker, Jan. 26, 2015, at 34, available at URL supra
p. ix (describing the Internet Archive and related services). The In-
ternet Archive itself is currently accessible at https://archive.org/.

™Those comments, as with other examples of gaps in Internet
archiving, are difficult to resolve with the ABA amicus brief, which

20

formation perhaps most useful to prove software patent
invalidity, especially where the patented technologies in-
volve databases and interactive programs.

Indeed, this Court itself has observed the depth of the
link rot problem. Responding to criticisms that almost
half of website links in Supreme Court opinions no longer
worked,” the Court adopted a new policy of archiving and
making available copies of Internet content it cites.”

Link rot shows that the Internet, as useful as it may
be, is a poor archive of historical information. To the ex-
tent that online information is necessary prior art for in-
validating a patent, then, time delay will severely dimin-
ish the availability of that information. In an age where
the Internet is more and more the central hub of publi-
cation, discouragement of time delay through the laches
doctrine is only more essential.

D. THE PUBLIC aT LARGE Is HARMED WHEN
LACHES FRUSTRATES PROOF OF INVALIDITY

The evidentiary harm to invalidity defenses caused by
undue delay does not merely affect one defendant to a
patent lawsuit. It affects the entire public, and the grav-
ity of that widespread effect strongly counsels toward re-
taining legal disincentives to delay.

contends without relevant citation that services like the Wayback
Machine “capture and preserve nearly everything published on the
internet.” ABA Br. 14, July 22, 2016.

4 See Megan Garber, 49% of the Links Cited in Supreme Court De-
cisions Are Broken, The Atlantic (Sept. 23, 2013), URL supra p. ix;
Adam Liptak, Jn Supreme Court Opinions, Web Links to Nowhere,
N.Y. Times, Sept. 24, 2013, at A13; Zittrain et al., supra, at 186-87.

Lyle Denniston, No Subs for Lawyers in Court Lines, SCOTUS-
blog (Oct. 5, 2015), URL supra p. viii.

21

An issued but invalid patent is a public evil, and in-
validation of that patent is a public good. Because it
imposes a restraint on all people subject to the laws of
the United States, every patent “by its very nature is
affected with a public interest.” Precision Instrument
Mfg. Co. v. Auto. Maint. Mach. Co., 324 US. 806, 816
(1945); see also Medtronic, Inc. v. Mirowski Family Ven-
tures, LLC, 1348S. Ct. 843, 851-52 (2014). Where a patent
owner possesses a statutorily defective but nonetheless
issued patent, “the public may continually be required to
pay tribute to would-be monopolists without need or jus-
tification.” Lear, Inc. v. Adkins, 395 U.S. 653, 671 (1969).
As a result, this Court has many times “emphasized the
importance to the public at large of resolving questions
of patent validity.” Cardinal Chem. Co. v. Morton Int'l,
Inc., 508 U.S. 83, 100 (1993); see also Pope Mfg. Co. v. Gor-
mully, 144 U.S. 224, 234 (1892) (it is “important to the
public that competition should not be repressed by worth-
less patents”).

A defense of invalidity of a patent is often the best,
and sometimes the only,” way to reap that public good. A
judicial determination works to collaterally estop a paten-
tee from making future accusations of infringement. See
Blonder-Tongue Labs., Inc. v. Univ. of Ill. Found., 402
U.S. 313, 350 (1971). Thus, the result of patent invalida-
tion is “the creation of a public good enjoyed by society
as a whole, not just the party who challenged the patent.”

Although there exist several administrative avenues to chal-
lenge patent validity, each is limited to certain types of challenges.
See, e.g., 35 USC. § 311(b) (inter partes review, limited to printed
publication prior art); 356 U.S.C. § 321(c) (post-grant review, limited
to 9 months after patent issuance). Only district court litigation al-
lows every type of validity challenge.

22

Megan M. La Belle, Patent Litigation, Personal Jurisdic-
tion, and the Public Good, 18 Geo. Mason L. Rev. 43, 61
(2010).

Where undue delay renders what would have been a
successful invalidity defense unprovable due to loss of ev-
idence, that public good is lost.2” Unjustified tribute to
would-be monopolists must be paid not only by one law-
suit defendant, but also by the entire population.

That broad harm defeats the foundational premise of
the patent system itself. The “primary object” of the
patent monopoly is its benefit to the public and commu-
nity at large. Motion Picture Patents Co. v. Universal
Film Mfg. Co., 243 U.S. 502, 511 (1917). Public disclosure
of new and useful inventions is the “centerpiece of federal
patent policy,” because disclosure both makes innovation
publicly accessible and demarcates the limited monopoly
right. Bonito Boats, Inc. v. Thunder Craft Boats, Inc.,
489 US. 141, 157 (1989). And no less important to the
patent system is “substantially free trade” in publicly
known, unprotected conceptions so the public can build

on prior knowledge. Jd. at 155. Permitting patent own-
ers to impede invalidity determinations by unreasonably
delaying litigation would undermine these fundamental

principles.

“'Certainly laches as a defense is personal to the asserting party.
See Holmberg v. Armbrecht, 327 U.S. 392, 396 (1946) (laches is
“founded upon some change in the condition or relations of the prop-
erty or the parties”) (quoting Galliher v. Cadwell, 145 U.S. 368, 373
(1892)). But the incentive effect of the laches defense is not so limited:
it produces a benefit that accrues to the entire public.

23

Il. PATENT-SPECIFIC CONCERNS OF INVALIDITY
EVIDENCE MAKE PETRELLA INAPPLICABLE

Based on a detailed statutory analysis of the Copy-

right Act, Petrella v. Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer, Inc. re-
jected the defense of laches in copyright cases. See 134

S. Ct. 1962, 1974 (2014). But that copyright-specific anal-

above, for at least two reasons. First, validity chal-
lenges in patent cases have no significant counterpart
in the copyright context. Second, Petrella relied on the
premise that plaintiffs and defendants in copyright cases
are equally harmed by delay, but that premise fails to
carry over to patent law, where defendants are uniformly
more harmed.

A. In STARK CONTRAST TO PATENT VALIDITY,
COPYRIGHT VALIDITY Is RARELY CONTESTED
Although a valid copyright is required to make a claim
for copyright infringement, validity is often not contested
in copyright matters. See, e.g., Campbell v. Acuff-Rose
Music, Inc., 510 U.S. 569, 574—75 (1994) (validity not at is-
sue, as it was “uncontested” that defendant’s acts “would
be an infringement” but for fair use). A database search
of all copyright cases pending as of January 2009 shows
that only 2.7% of judgment events resulted in a finding
of a lack of ownership/validity of the copyright at issue,
with a further 6.4% percent of judgment events finding
ownership/validity.”
These values were computed based on data from the online ser-
vice Lex Machina, as of April 20,2015. Among 3019 judgment events

recorded there, 193 found that the copyright was valid and that the
party asserting it had the right to do so, and 84 found the opposite.

24

In contrast, defendants in patent cases commonly
challenge the validity of the patent at issue, often based
on the lack of novelty under § 102 or nonobviousness un-
der § 103. One study found that, of cases filed in 2008-2009,
motions for summary judgment on invalidity were filed in
roughly 45% of cases, of which 70% related to anticipation
or obviousness. John R. Allison et al., Understanding the
Realities of Modern Patent Litigation, 92 Tex. L. Rev.
1769, 1778, 1784-85 (2014).

That distinction, in turn, presents patent defendants
with evidence-gathering challenges that copyright defen-
dants rarely face. For example, as discussed above, antic-
ipation and obviousness invalidity defenses require prior
art predating the priority date of the patent. Thus patent
defendants must frequently rely on evidence from many
years prior to the filing of a lawsuit in order to make their

In addition, patent validity is directly affected by the
actions of third parties. Third parties have evidence that
defines the scope and content of the prior art, and those
third parties likely give little thought, if any, to maintain-
ing records for use by others in patent infringement ac-
tions. Copyright defendants, in contrast, often defend al-
legations of infringement using their own materials. See,
e.g., Campbell, 510 U.S. at 582 (lyrics of defendant’s own
song established parody defense); Graham v. James, 144
F.3d 229, 235-38 (2d Cir. 1998) (discussing use of license

as defense to copyright infringement).
A further distinction lies in the burdens of proof. In

both copyright and patent litigation, an alleged infringer
Judgment events include the following: default judgment, consent
judgment, judgment on the pleadings, summary judgment, trial, and
judgment as a matter of law.

25

can raise invalidity as a defense. Compare 17 U.S.C.

§ 410(c) (copyright registration carries presumption of va-
lidity), with 35 U.S.C. § 282(b)(2) (defenses to patent in-
fringement include patent invalidity). However, patent
defendants, unlike their copyright counterparts, must es-
tablish invalidity with “clear and convincing” evidence.
Compare isi, 131 S. Ct. at 2251-52, with Lamps Plus,
Inc. v. Seattle Lighting Fixture Co., 345 F-3d 1140, 1144
(9th Cir. 2003) (copyright defendant “must simply offer
some evidence or proof” to rebut presumption of valid-
ity). Thus, stale evidence risks prejudices not faced by
defendants in copyright infringement litigation.

B. UNLIKE COPYRIGHT OWNERS, PATENTEES
Do Not GENERALLY REQUIRE EVIDENC=
SUBJECT TO Loss OVER TIME

In reasoning that laches should not apply in copyright
cases, Petrella relied in part on a view that evidentiary
suaietbasimeniiiebeaiiite“eatanhadtiae ation
copyright owners as alleged copyright infringers. 134 S.
Ct. at 1977. That strongly distinguishes Petrella from the
patent context, because patentees generally do not rely
on evidence that is likely to be lost due to delay.
1. The most important time-sensitive evidence that
a copyright owner must show is proof of copying. See
Mazer v. Stein, 347 US. 201, 218 (1954) (“Absent copy-
ing there can be no infringement of copyright.”); Feist
Publ’ns, Inc. v. Rural Tel. Serv. Co., 499 U.S. 340, 361
(1991). A copyright owner that delays filing suit may
find it difficult to gather evidence of copying; indeed the
briefs opposing laches in Petrella repeatedly emphasized
this point to show that “laches is unnecessary to protect

26

copyright defendants” from undue delay.” And it is true:
proof of copying generally requires either direct evidence
of the copying act or a showing of access and substantial
similarity to the copyrighted work. See, e.g., Sid & Marty
Krofft Television Prods., Inc. v. McDonald’s Corp., 562
F.2d 1157, 1162 (9th Cir. 1977). A tardy plaintiff may be
hard-pressed to obtain that evidence of direct copying or
access to the original work.”

In contrast, copying “is of no import on the question
of whether the claims of an issued patent are infringed.”
Allen Eng’g Corp. v. Bartell Indus., Inc., 299 F:3d 1336,
1351 (Fed. Cir. 2002).*' Indeed, from the patent owner’s
perspective, the facts needed to maintain an infringement
action can be found within the four corners of a patent on
file with the United States Patent and Trademark Office,
along with evidence from the alleged infringer showing

Brief for Petitioner at 54, Petrella, 134 S. Ct. 1962 (Nov. 15, 2013)
(No. 12-1315); see also Brief of Amicus Curiae the California Soci-
ety of Entertainment Lawyers in Support of Petitioner at 10-11,
Petrella, 134 8. Ct. 1962 (Nov. 21, 2013) (No. 12-1315).

Cf. Art Attacks Inc, LLC ». MGA Entm't Inc., 581 F.3d 1138,
1143-45 (9th Cir. 2009) (discussing level of evidence needed to prove
access); 4 Melville B. Nimmer & David Nimmer, Nimmer on Copy-
right § 13.01[B] (2016) (element of “copying” includes “the factual
question [of] whether the defendant, in creating its work, used the
plaintiff’ material as a model, template, or even inspiration.”).

"' Actual copying is potentially relevant to enhancement of dam-
ages under 35 U.S.C. § 284. See Halo Elecs., Inc. v. Pulse Elecs.,
Inc., 136 S. Ct. 1923, 1929 (2016) (citing Topliff ». Topliff, 145 U.S.
156, 174 (1892)). But allegations of copying are very rare in patent
litigation. See Christopher A. Cotropia & Mark A. Lemley, Copying
in Patent Law, 87 NC. L. Rev. 1421, 1443, 1452 (2009) (finding that
of cases examined in dataset, only 10.9% of cases included an allega-
tion of copying, and only 1.76% of cases had an established case of

copying).

27

each element of the patent claim at issue. While a copy-
right owner might have to look to decades-old evidence
of an initial act of copying, the patent owner need go no
further than buying the accused product at a store and
comparing it to the patent.™

2. Patent owners do on occasion rely on evidence of
so-called “secondary factors” to rebut an obviousness con-
tention. Those factors include “commercial success, long
felt but unsolved needs, failure of others,” and the like,
and tend to show that a patented invention was not obvi-
ous to those of skill in the art at the time of the invention.
Graham, 383 U.S. at 17-18; see Mintz v. Dietz & Watson,
Inc., 679 F.3d 1372, 1378 (Fed. Cir. 2012).

Evidence of secondary considerations might seem to
be sensitive to time delay, but this evidence of validity
is far less sensitive to time than evidence of invalidity.
For one thing, many of these secondary considerations,
like industry praise, commercial success, and copying by
others, occur after the time of the invention, as opposed
to invalidating prior art which by definition must be cre-
ated before that time. That differential in time means that
evidence rebutting invalidity will less likely be lost than
evidence favoring invalidity.

Also, the patent owner has the advantage of know-
ing in advance what evidence to seek out and preserve to
prove these secondary considerations. The patentee who
delays bringing suit can spend the years of delay gather-
ing evidence of secondary considerations; by contrast, the
accused infringer generally is ignorant to what patents

To the extent that the patent owner needs proof of past infringe-
ment, 35 U.S.C. § 286 limits the necessary look-back period to six

years.

28

may be asserted in the future and thu. cannot preemp-
tively gather evidence of invalidity. The end result, when
the lawsuit is filed after long delay, is a case that tilts only
farther from a full and fair hearing, and only farther from
the necessary task of ensuring that the public is burdened
only by valid patents.

And in any event, multiple empirical studies confirm
that “secondary considerations play a very insignificant
role in nonobviousness jurisprudence.” Christopher A.
Cotropia, Nonobviousness and the Federal Circuit: An
Empirical Analysis of Recent Case Law, 82 Notre Dame
L. Rev. 911, 946 (2007); Gregory N. Mandel, Patently
Non-Obvious: Empirical Demonstration that the Hind-
sight Bias Renders Patent Decisions Irrational, 67 Ohio
St. L.J. 1391, 1423 (2006) (secondary considerations rele-
vant to obviousness determination in “only one to two per-
cent of reported cases” considered). Comparing loss of
evidence of secondary considerations to loss of evidence
of overall invalidity as a practical matter, then, it cannot
at all be said that plaintiffs are “at least as likely” to be
harmed as defendants, as was found in Petrella.

Thus, while a delay in suit may be “at least as likely” to
harm plaintiffs as defendants in copyright cases, the bal-
ance of evidentiary prejudice is very different under the
Patent Act. The substantial differences in the causes of
action and defenses condone, even demand, a substantial
difference in the application of the doctrine of laches.

Ill. SECTION 286 DoEs Not DETER EVIDEN-
TIARY DELAY
The six-year look-behind period for damages provided
in 35 U.S.C. § 286 is inadequate to deter the prejudice that

29

would result from a patent owner’s delay in bringing suit,
and instead may actually encourage delay.

Six years of past damages can be substantial. For ex-
ample, in Carnegie-Mellon University v. Marvell Tech-
nology Group, a patent owner learned of a manufacturer
that was possibly infringing, but then waited five years
and eleven months—one month shy of the § 286 limit—to
bring suit. See No. 09-CV-290, 2014 WL 183212, at *19
(W.D. Penn. Jan. 14, 2014). The district court found that
the delay period had caused real prejudice to the manu-
facturer: lab notebooks and emails of key witnesses had
been lost, evidence that “may have been relevant to [the
manufacturer]’s invalidity defenses.” See id. at *32. Un-
clean hands* prevented the manufacturer from using the
defense of laches, though, meaning that the patent owner
was awarded damages for the full five year, eleven month
period, an award of $1.45 billion.“

Carnegie-Mellon exemplifies conventional wisdom:
six years of patent damages is no small amount, and yet
six years is plenty of time to cause evidentiary prejudice.
The § 286 limitation thus will not deter patent owners
from delaying and causing harms to the patent system.

“Specifically, the district court found that the manufacturer had
engaged in copying the patented technology. See id. at *37. This
is a unique and unusual situation, as copying is very rare in patent
cases. See note 31 supra p. 26. While the manufacturer in Carnegie-
Mellon thus was on notice of the patent and thus could have avoided
prejudice, most accused infringers w:ll be unaware of the patent and
thus unable to adequately protect against evidentiary prejudice. See
discussion supra p. 27.

“The Federal Circuit reduced this amount to $278 million and or-
dered a new trial on the balance, based on an unrelated issue of ex-
traterritoriality. See Carnegie-Mellon Univ. v. Marvell Tech. Group,
807 F.3d 1283, 1302 (Fed. Cir. 2015).

30

By waiting until the end of patent terms, patent own-
ers may be able to maximize potential damages as well as
maximize the chances that evidence relating to the impor-
tant defense of invalidity will be lost. But patent law has
never prioritized patent holders’ interests over the inter-
ests of the general public in granting patents only where
truly deserved and only to the extent necessary to encour-
age disclosure and creation of new inventions. See, e.g.,
Kendall v. Winsor, 62 U.S. 322, 327-28 (1858) (“It is un-
deniably true, that the limited and temporary monopoly
granted to inventors was never designed for their exclu-
sive profit or advantage; the benefit to the public or com-
munity at large was another and doubtless the primary
object in granting and securing that monopoly.”).

Laches, especially when viewed within the broader
goals of patent law, has an important role to play in en-
couraging patent owners to bring suits earlier, making it
less likely that the mere passage of time allows an illegit-
imate monopoly. “{L]aches does not result from a mere
lapse of time but from the fact that, during the lapse of
time, changed circumstances inequitably work to the dis-
advantage or prejudice of another if the claim is now to
be enforced.” William Q. de Funiak, Handbook of Modern
Equity § 24, at 41 (1956). As demonstrated, the “changed
circumstances” caused by the passage of time result in
evidentiary prejudice that not only prejudices defendant,
but also the general public. Limiting damages to only six
years prior to suit does not compensate for the fact that
accused infringers may have to pay tribute to someone
who did not, in fact, disclose any invention to the public.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, this Court should affirm
the Court of Appeals.

Respectfully submitted,

VERA RANIERI
Counsel of Record
ELECTRONIC FRONTIER
FOUNDATION
815 Eddy Street
San Francisco, CA 94109
(415) 436-9333
vera@eff.org

CHARLES DUAN
PUBLIC KNOWLEDGE
1818 N Street NW, Suite 410

Washington, DC 20036
(202) 861-0020
eduan@publicknowledge.org

Counsel for amici curiae
September 2016

31

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0648%3A21. Public record. Not legal advice.
