# Opposition Brief — Star Athletica, L. L.C. v. Varsity Brands, Inc., 136 S. Ct. 1823 (2016) (No. 15-866)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0647%3A03

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2016

## Text

OFFICE OF THE CLERK

No. 15-866

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Hnited States

STAR ATHLETICA, L.L.C.,

Petitioner,
v.

VARSITY BRANDS, INC., ET AL.,
Respondents.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari
to the United States Court of Appeals
for the Sixth Circuit

BRIEF FOR THE RESPONDENTS IN

OPPOSITION

GRADY M. GARRISON WILLIAM M. JAY
ADAM S. BALDRIDGE Counsel of Record
BAKER, DONELSON, BRIAN T. BURGESS

BEARMAN, CALDWELL & GOODWIN PROCTER LLP

BERKOWITZ P.C. 901 New York Ave., N.W.
165 Madison Ave.. Washington, DC 20001
Suite 2000 wjay@goodwinprocter.com
Memphis, TN 38103 (202) 346-4000

Counsel for Respondents

(Additional counsel listed on inside cover)
March 4, 2016

—

THOMAS KJELLBERG

J. CHRISTOPHER JENSEN

COWAN, LIEBOWITZ &
LATMAN, P.C.

1133 Ave. of the Americas

New York, NY 10036

ROBERT D. CARROLL
CHRISTINE DIETER
GOODWIN PROCTER LLP
Exchange Place
Boston, MA 02109

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

The Copyright Act provides copyright protection to
original “pictorial, graphic, and sculptural works.” 17
U.S.C. § 102(a)(5). Designs of “useful article[s]” fall
within this category and are eligible for copyright
protection if the design “incorporates pictorial, graph-
ic, or sculptural features that can be identified sepa-
rately from, and are capable of existing independent-
ly of, the utilitarian aspects of the article.” Jd. § 101.
Respondents have registered copyrights for several
two-dimensional graphic designs that they incorpo-
rate onto athletic apparel. The Sixth Circuit held
that these designs were separable from the utilitari-
an aspects of the clothing on which they appear and
therefore are eligible for copyright protection.

The questions presented are:

1. Did the Sixth Circuit err by holding that re-
spondents’ two-dimensional graphic designs are enti-
tled to copyright protection as “pictorial, graphic, and
sculptural works” under 17 U.S.C. § 102(a)(5)?

2. Did the Sixth Circuit commit any reversible
error by holding that the Copyright Office’s registra-
tion decisions merited the modest deference available
under Skidmore v. Swift & Co., 323 U.S. 134 (1944),
after concluding that the Office had applied a con-
sistent approach to similar designs and had explained
its decisions in several well-reasoned letters?

—_—e ke ti

CORPORATE DISCLOSURE STATEMENT

Pursuant to Rule 29.6, respondents state:

Varsity Brands, Inc. (n/k/a Varsity Brands, LLC),
Varsity Spirit Corporation (n/k/a Varsity Spirit LLC),
and Varsity Spirit Fashion & Supplies, Inc. (n/k/a
Varsity Spirit Fashion & Supplies, LLC) are indirect
subsidiaries of Hercules VB Holdings, Inc. No public-
ly held company owns 10% or more of any of the re-
spondents.

il

as ali

TABLE OF CONTENTS
PAGE
QUESTIONS PRESENTED................2..:c0cccceseesseeeeseees i
CORPORATE DISCLOSURE STATEMENT............. ii
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES .......0...........:cccccccsseceeseeeees Vv
takin csindisinntsivenesinediasiupiansipeaiieniidenias 1
a iiicicteniniininsinncsinndiananigsainntinininitnimpiatansinnanie 4

A. The Copyright Act Provides Copyright
Protection For Graphic Designs, Including
Graphic Designs That Are Separable From
The Useful Articles That Incorporate Them.. 4

B. Varsity Is The Author Of Many Two-
Dimensional Graphic Designs, Which
Varsity Uses On Athletic Apparel.................. 5
C. The Copyright Office Has Registered

Hundreds Of Varsity’s Two-Dimensiona!
Graphic Designs, Including The Five

Designs At Issue In This Case ....................... 7
J 8
REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT................... 12

I. The Sixth Circuit’s Conclusion That Varsity’s
Fabric Designs Are Separable From Garments’
Utilitarian Aspects Does Not Warrant Review.. 13

A. There Is No Circuit Split On The Question
Whether Two-Dimensional! Graphic
Designs On Garments Are Copyrightable ... 14

B. Petitioner's Argument Turns On Fact-

1]

C. The Purported Circuit Division Over The
Separability “Test” Is Overstated And Is
Not Implicated By The Facts Of This Case . 22

Il. The Sixth Circuit’s Decision That The

Copyright Office’s Registration Decisions

Should Receive Skidmore Deference Does Not

LE a ES 8 no A 27
Ill. The Interlocutory Petition Is A Poor Vehicle

RE ERO ARE, ee Ma aD 35
TARE ENTRY ESTED RMASTORE AO Meas PTA 37

1V

—————— eee lll lhl lee ,.- 2am 5

Dit nt I il i ll ll ee

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

PAGE(S)
CASES

Brandir Int v. Cascade Pac. Lumber
Co.,
834 F.2d 1142 (2d Cir. 1987).......................... 23, 26

Carol Barnhart Inc. v. Economy Cover

Corp..,
773 F.2d 411 (2d Cir. 19885)................ 23, 26, 29, 30

Chevron U.S.A. Inc. v. Nat. Res. Def.
Council, Inc.,
RT TT 2

Chosun Inti, Inc. v. Chrisha Creations
Ltd.,
413 F.3d 324 (2d Cir. 2005)...................... 17, 18, 22

Folio Impressions, Inc. v. Byer Cal.,
ge yy | 17

Galiano v. Harrah's Operating Co.,
416 F.3d 411, 414, 422 (5th Cir.

Hart v. Dan Chase Taxidermy Supply
Co.,
pA FL 18

Home Legend, LLC v. Mannington Mills,
Inc.,
784 F.3d 1404 (11th Cir.), cert.
denied, 136 S. Ct. 232 (2015) .................cccccseeeseees 27

Inhale, Inc. v. Starbuzz Tobacco, Inc.,
755 F.3d 1038 (9th Cir.), cert. denied,
Lk 25, 28

Jovani Fashion Ltd. v. Fiesta Fashions,
500 Fed. Appx. 42 (2d Cir. 2012), cert.
denied, 133 S. Ct. 1586 (2013) .......................000.. 16

Jovani Fashion, Ltd. v. Cinderella
Divine, Inc..,
808 F. Supp. 2d 542 (S.D.N.Y. 2011)................... 16

Kieselstein-Cord v. Accessories by Pearl,
Inc.,
632 F.2d 969 (2d Cir. 1960)....................0...<0+. 23, 26

Knitwaves, Inc. v. Lollytogs Lid.,
71 F.3d 996 (2d Cir. 1995)...................000.ccee 17, 27

Masquerade Novelty, Inc. v. Unique
Indus., Inc.,
OID F.Bs SSS (Ba Cir. 1GBO).........eccccccssscccescescesees 32

Mazer v. Stein,
LE Ne a eee 5

Microsoft Corp. v. i4i Lid. P’ship,
a 32

Mt. Soledad Mem Ass'n v. Trunk,
EL 35

Norris Indus., Inc. v. Intl Tel & Tel.

Corp.,
696 F.2d 918 (11th Cir. 1983) ..............0..........8. 29

Pivot Point Intl, Inc. v. Charlene Prods.,

Inc.,

372 F.3d 913 (7th Cir. 2004) .......................02 23, 26
Poe v. Missing Persons,

745 F.2d 1238 (9th Cir. 1984) .................ccceeeeeeees 25
Skidmore v. Swift & Co..,

LL passim
Southco, Inc. v. Kanebridge Corp.,

390 F.3d 276 (3d Cir. 2004) (en banc).................. 28
Universal Furniture Int, Inc. v.

Collezione Europa USA, Inc.,

618 F 3d 417 (4th Cir. 2010) (per

ESS SE 24, 26
Va. Military Inst. v. United States,

a e 35
Whimsicality, Inc. v. Rubie'’s Costume

Co.,

891 F.2d 452 (2d Cir. 1989).................0.cccccccceeeeees 18
Wos v. E.M.A. ex rel. Johnson,

8 Te roe 29
STATUTES
Be TT asnneiccrinrsmininisnndtinipinciteduionabigineniiiiiiael passim
if 8 one aos 1, 4, 10

vii

—— = —_— SS —_- - —

nnn aes

RULES AND REGULATIONS

le Mts etennencsasanesewsannsepsonvessemnsenens

Registrability of Costume Designs,

56 Fed. Reg. 56,530 (Nov. 5, 1991) .......

LEGISLATIVE HISTORY

H.R. Rep. No. 94-1476 (1976) ..............000006

Protection for Fashion Design: Hearings
on H.R. 5055 Before the Sudcomm. on
Courts, the Internet, and Intellectual
Property of the H. Comm. on the
Judiciary, 109th Cong., 2d Sess.

I ittnccsninsinshcivensanoniineanveseesengneseresees

OTHER AUTHORITIES

Compendium III of Copyright Office
Practices (2014):

ST iticinnevnscesesaenqvemmmesnnsneesenenscneve
SE icncicenspricanweinacenensemncspiseeinene

1 Goldstein on Copyright § 2.5.3 (3d. ed.

vill

8, 10, 31, 32

soneuponpanses 17

2 Patry on Copyright (2015)

a aoa 25
EEE LEER ee i ee OE rae EE 26
hee lien cnlecaelat ainda ott teiniacetide slidintil 2

Shira Perlmutter, Conceptual
Separability and Copyright in the
Designs of Useful Articles, 37 J.
Copyright Soc’y U.S.A. 339 (1990)..........00.000000. 18

S. Shapiro et al., SUPREME COURT
PRACTICE (100R Od. BOIS) ............cccccccccccsceccesscceses 35

ix

BRIEF FOR THE RESPONDENTS
IN OPPOSITION

Neither question presented implicates any circuit
split, and there is no basis for this Court’s review.
Petitioner’s primary circuit-split claim (concerning
separability as it relates to clothing design) blurs a
basic distinction in copyright law. And petitioner's
second question presented (concerning Skidmore def-
erence) is both splitless and inconsequential.

Respondents (“Varsity”) have registered hundreds
of two-dimensional graphic designs with the Copy-
right Office. Varsity incorporates the designs onto
various items of athletic apparel. The Sixth Circuit
held that five of Varsity’s designs were eligible for
copyright as “graphic . . . works” under 17 U.S.C.
§ 102(a)(5), because, as fabric designs, they are sepa-
rable from the utilitarian aspects of the cheerleading
uniforms on which they appear. Pet. App. 45a-50a.
The Sixth Circuit’s decision is unremarkable. Courts
routinely hold that two-dimensional graphic designs
like Varsity’s are eligible for copyright protection, re-
gardless of whether the design is used on clothing,
rugs, or some other surface. See 1 Nimmer on Copy-
right § 2.08(H], at 2-144 (2015) (“[I]t is now clear”
that “fabric designs” are “copyrightable”). Petitioner
does not identify a single contrary decision.

Instead, petitioner tries to manufacture a circuit
split by comparing the Sixth Circuit’s decision with
decisions from the Fifth and Second Circuit that in-
volve the three-dimensional designs of garments
themselves, often referred to as “dress designs.” In
contrast to “fabric designs,” “dress” or garment de-
signs describe “the shape, style, cut, and dimensions”

2

of a garment. 1 Nimmer on Copyright § 2.08[H], at
2-143. The distinction between fabric design (copy-
rightable) and dress design (typically not copyrighta-
ble) “has been uniformly followed by the courts.” 2
Patry on Copyright § 3:151, at 3-457 (2015). The
Sixth Circuit applied that distinction here and con-
cluded that Varsity’s graphic designs were “like fab-
ric design{s].” Pet. App. 44a, 47a-50a. The Fifth and
Second Circuits have applied this distinction as well.
The two decisions that petitioner claims (Pet. 27)
“conflict{] directly” with the decision below are fully
explained by this basic factual difference, as the
Sixth Circuit recognized in distinguishing both cases.
See Pet. App. 49a-50a & n.3.

Resisting this conclusion, petitioner insists (Pet. 27,
29) that Varsity’s designs cannot be copyrighted be-
cause the “braid[s], chevrons, and color blocks” they
use supposedly are what make cheerleading uni-
forms real cheerleading uniforms. Petitioner’s con-
tention is flawed, as the Sixth Circuit correctly real-
ized. See Pet. App. 43a-44a. But regardless, peti-
tioner’s fact-bound assertion about the essence of
cheerleading uniforms does not warrant review

Petitioner also makes a more generalized claim
(Pet. 21-26) that courts are divided over the test for
separability under the Copyright Act, 17 U.S.C.
§ 101. This Court has repeatedly and recently de-
nied petitions raising this issue,’ and there is no
cause to change course here. Contrary to petitioner's
claims of circuit conflict, many of the supposedly dis-

' See Home Legend, LLC v. Mannington Mills, Inc., No. 15-117
(cert. denied Oct. 5, 2015); Inhale, Inc. v. Starbuzz Tobacco,
Inc., No. 14-396 (cert. denied Dec. 8, 2014); Jovani Fashion,
Ltd. v. Fiesta Fashions, No. 12-863 (cert. denied Mar. 18, 2013).

3

tinct “tests” petitioner discusses simply recite factors
that courts have considered relevant in particular
cases—as demonstrated by petitioner’s reliance on
multiple cases from the same circuit (the Second Cir-
cuit) to support its supposed split. See Pet. 21-23.
Nor did the Sixth Circuit somehow create a tenth
test merely by “restat[ing]” and applying the Copy-
right Act’s definitional section. Pet. 24. To the con-
trary, the Sixth Circuit noted that its approach,
which incorporated several considerations from the
various approaches, “is consistent with the holdings
of .. . sibling circuits.” Pet. App. 38a.

Petitioner told the Sixth Circuit that “[a] single
one-size-fits-all separability test for all useful articles
is neither possible nor desirable,” Pet. C.A. Br. 29,
and even now petitioner declines to endorse any one
test, see Pet. 26. Even if it were possible to fashion
an all-encompassing test for every kind of useful ar-
ticle, this case would be a poor vehicle to create one.
Two-dimensional graphic designs like Varsity’s can
be copyrighted under any plausible standard.

The second question presented, concerning whether
courts may give the responsible agency’s copyright-
registration decisions the modest respect available
under Skidmore v. Swift & Co., 323 U.S. 134 (1944),
also does not warrant review. This issue implicates
no circuit split and did not affect the outcome below.
Indeed, the Sixth Circuit discussed deference at
length mainly to reject the higher level of deference
that applies under Chevron U.S.A. Inc. v. Natural
Resources Defense Council, Inc., 467 U.S. 837 (1984).

Finally, this petition is a poor vehicle to review ei-
ther question presented because it is interlocutory.
The Sixth Circuit decided only that Varsity’s designs

4

could be protected as graphic works and “express/ed]
no opinion” about petitioner’s other defenses to in-
fringement. Pet. App. 50a. If the lower courts on
remand were to hold that petitioner is not liable for
infringement, that would eliminate any need to con-
sider the questions presented here.

The petition for certiorari should be denied.

STATEMENT

A. The Copyright Act Provides Copyright
Protection For Graphic Designs, Includ-
ing Graphic Designs That Are Separable
From The Useful Articles That Incorpo-
rate Them

Authors can obtain copyright protection for several
categories of works of authorship, including “pictori-
al, graphic, and sculptural works.” 17 U.S.C.
§ 102(a)(5). “Pictorial, graphic, and sculptural
works” are defined to include “two-dimensional and
three-dimensional works of fine, graphic, and applied
art.” Id. § 101. The category also includes “works of
artistic craftsmanship insofar as their form but not
their mechanical or utilitarian aspects are con-
cerned.” Ibid.

In the case of “useful article[s],” designs that “in-
corporate[] pictorial, graphic, or sculptural features”
are eligible for copyright if the features “can be iden-
tified separately from, and are capable of existing in-
dependently of, the utilitarian aspects of the article.”
Ibid. “{U]seful article” is defined to mean an “article
having an intrinsic utilitarian function that is not
merely to portray the appearance of the article or to

5

convey information,” and includes “|a]n article that is
normally a part of a useful article.” Jbid.

In providing copyright protection to the separable
pictorial, graphic, or sculptural features of useful ar-
ticles, the Copyright Act “expressly adopts” this
Court’s holding in Mazer v. Stein, 347 U.S. 201
(1954), which construed an earlier version of the
statute. 1 Nimmer on Copyright § 2.08[B}[3], at 2-90.
In Mazer, the Court held that statuettes that were to
be mass-produced and used as lamp stands enjoyed
copyright protection, insofar as protection was tied to
the lamp stands’ “form but not their mechanical or
utilitarian aspects.” 347 U.S. at 217-18 (quotation
marks omitted).

B. Varsity Is The Author Of Many Two-
Dimensional Graphic Designs, Which
Varsity Uses On Athletic Apparel

Varsity designs, manufaci:res, and sells high-
quality apparel and accessories for use in cheerlead-
ing and other athletic activities. Pet. App. 3a. Un-
like some of its competitors, Varsity devotes signifi-
cant resources to employing its own designers, who
create original graphic designs. Varsity then incor-
porates the designs onto its athletic apparel and ac-
cessories. Id. at 3a-4a.

Varsity’s design team begins by creating two-
dimensional sketches on paper. These “design con-
cepts consist[] of ‘original combinations, positionings,
and arrangements of elements which include V's
(chevrons), lines, curves, stripes, angles, diagonals,
inverted V’s, coloring, and shapes.” Pet. App. 3a.
The artistic judgment of Varsity’s designers is not

6

constrained by functional considerations concerning
how a garment eventually would be made. Ibid.

Graphic designs can be incorporated onto clothing
in multiple ways, including by (1) cutting and sewing
together panels of fabric; (2) sublimating the design
by transferring ink onto fabric through a heating
process; (3) embroidering the design onto the fabric;
and (4) screen printing, which involves spraying ink
onto the surface of the garment. Pet. App. 4a. Varsi-
ty primarily uses the “cut-and-sew” and sublimation
methods. Id. at 4a & n.1, 60a.

Customers select from among Varsity’s many “in-
terchangeable” designs, and then customize the col-
ors, shape, and braiding? for the garment on which
the selected pattern will appear. Jd. at 4a, 45a-46a.
Varsity’s designs can be, and have been, applied to
products other than cheerleading uniforms. Pet.
App. 46a. For example, Varsity has applied its de-
signs to jackets, t-shirts, practice wear, and warm-
ups. Ibid. In addition, Varsity’s expert explained
that Varsity’s designs could be incorporated onto
“painted canvases, tote bags, notebooks, iPhone co-
vers, or any number of consumer goods.” Varsity’s
Statement of Undisputed Facts (“Varsity’s SUF”)
§ 40, ECF No. 173;° Declaration of Susan Scafidi
9 17 & Ex. 3, ECF No. 173-4.

2 Petitioner incorrectly asserts (Pet. 14) that Varsity uses braids
to cover the seams in its finished garments. In fact, whether
and where braids are used is determined by the artist’s design.
Declaration of Kimberly Williams § 5, ECF No. 173-2. Moreo-
ver, braids are not used for designs that are incorporated onto
garments through the sublimation process. Declaration of Gary
Spencer 4 8, ECF No. 173-1.

* All ECF numbers refer to the district court docket.

7

C. The Copyright Office Has Registered
Hundreds Of Varsity’s Two-Dimensional
Graphic Designs, Including The Five De-
signs At Issue In This Case

Varsity has registered hundreds of original graphic
designs with the Copyright Office as_ two-
dimensional artwork. Pet. App. 4a, 2la-22a. Regis-
tering these designs has involved extensive back-
and-forth between the Copyright Office and Varsity.

The Copyright Office registered more than 50 of
Varsity’s designs (not at issue here) following an ini-
tial rejection. Varsity’s SUF 4 35. Contrary to peti-
tioner’s assertion (Pet. 13), the initial refusals were
based on questions about originality, not functionali-
ty. See Varsity’s SUF 44 35-37; Declaration of Brian
Carroll 4 5 & Ex. A, ECF No. 173-6. Varsity re-
quested reconsideration, and the Copyright Office,
after careful review, ultimately concluded that all of
the designs—the “treatment and arrangement of the
elements, coupled with their coloring”—were origina!
and separable. Declaration of Brian Carroll Ex. A.
The Office set forth its reasoning in letters issued to
Varsity. /bid.; Pet. App. 21a-22a.

None of Varsity’s designs—including the five at is-
sue here—was registered under the Copyright Of-
fice’s “Rule of Doubt.” Pursuant to that rule, the Of-
fice may register a design despite reasonable doubt
that the submitted material constitutes copyrighta-
ble subject matter—depriving the copyright of a pre-
sumption of validity. See Compendium III of Copy-
right Office Practices § 607, at 600-35-600-36 (2014).
When the Office relies on this rule, it adds an anno-

8

tation to the certificate of registration and the online
public record. Ibid.

This case involves the infringement of five of Varsi-
ty’s two-dimensional graphic designs, which were
created by Varsity’s in-house designers. Joint
Statement of Undisputed Facts (“Joint SUF”) 94 7-
45, ECF No. 170. Varsity received a federal copy-
right registration for each of the designs. Pet. App.
4a-10a. Three of the designs were registered by the
Copyright Office within five years after first publica-
tion, making them eligible for a presumption of va-
lidity under 17 U.S.C. § 410(c). Pet. App. 15a. The
deposit materials, which display the registered de-
signs, are reproduced in the Sixth Circuit’s opinion.
Id. at 5a-9a.*

D. Procedural History

1. Petitioner Star Athletica sells athletic uni-
forms and accessories. Pet. App. 10a. Shortly after
its founding in 2010, petitioner began to sell cheer-
leading uniforms. Jbid. Varsity observed that peti-
tioner’s marketing materials included uniforms that
depicted five of Varsity’s registered designs.

‘ Petitioner erroneously asserts (Pet. 14-15) that Varsity de-
scribed the copyrighted work differently in litigation than it did
before the Copyright Office. In fact, Varsity has consistently
represented that its copyright was for two-dimensional graphic
designs depicted in its deposit materials, not for three-
dimensional garments. See Varsity C.A. Reply Br. 11-15. Peti-
tioner’s contention that Varsity has extended its copyright to
cover three-dimensional garments—rather than the designs
that appear on those garments—has no basis in the record.
See Pet. 32 (citing Jack Adelman, Inc. v. Sonners Gordon, Inc.,
112 F. Supp. 187 (S.D.N.Y. 1934)).

9

Varsity filed suit against petitioner, asserting, inter
alia, five claims for copyright infringement. Pet.
App. 10a, 61a. The district court denied petitioner's
motion to dismiss, and also granted Varsity’s motion
to dismiss petitioner's antitrust counterclaim. See
Order (W.D. Tenn. Apr. 21, 2011), ECF No. 56; Order
(W.D. Tenn. Oct. 31, 2011), ECF No. 80.5 Following
discovery, the parties cross-moved for summary
judgment. Pet. App. lla. With respect to Varsity’s
copyright claims, petitioner argued that Varsity’s de-
signs were not protected because the designs were
for useful articles and were not separable from the
utilitarian function of cheerleading uniforms. /d. at
lla-12a.

2. The district court granted summary judgment
to petitioner on Varsity’s copyright claims. Pet. App.
58a-78a. The district court based its conclusion sole-
ly on petitioner's separability argument. /d. at 50a.

In deciding the separability issue, the district court
identified its “central” task as “think[ing] about, and
com[ing] close to defining, the essence of a ‘cheer-
leading uniform.” Pet. App. 58a. The district court
concluded that Varsity’s graphic designs are not sep-
arable from cheerleading uniforms because, the court
believed, the designs are intrinsic to “the core of the
ideal [] of ‘cheerleading-uniform-ness.” Jd. at 59a.
The district court acknowledged Varsity’s argument
that a “blank cheerleading silhouette” could cover
the body just as well as any other cheerleading uni-

* Despite the dismissal of its counterclaim, petitioner recycles
its antitrust allegations in its petition as though they were fact.
See Pet. 13, 31; see also Public Knowledge Amicus Br. 8-9. Peti-
tioner’s allegations are both meritless and entirely irrelevant to
the questions presented.

-

10

form. Jd. at 74a. But the court thought this was ir-
relevant, because the designs supposedly were too
closely associated with “the ideal of a ‘cheerleading
uniform” to be copyrighted. Jd. at 59a, 75a. In
reaching this conclusion, the district court noted
Varsity’s contention that, under 17 U.S.C. § 410(c),
Varsity was entitled to a presumption that the copy-
rights it registered within five years of first publica-
tion were valid, but the court concluded the pre-
sumption was “easily dispensed with” in this case.
Pet. App. 64a n.2.

3. The Sixth Circuit reversed. Pet. App. la-53a.
The court held that Varsity’s designs are eligible for
copyright as graphic works under 17 U.S.C.
§ 102(a)(5). The court remanded to the district court
for further proceedings, allowing the district court to
address the remaining issues of infringement, origi-
nality, and damages in the first instance. Id. 3, 50,
52-53.

a. The Sixth Circuit began its opinion by ad-
dressing the level of deference that should apply to
the Copyright Office’s determination that Varsity’s
designs are the subject of valid copyrights. Pet. App.
15a-22a. The court concluded that Chevron defer-
ence did not apply to the Copyright Office’s registra-
tion decisions. Jd. at 19a-21la. Instead, the court
held that such decisions can receive only Skidmore
deference, under which judicial deference depends on
the quality and consistency of the agency’s reason-
ing. Id. at 21a. In this case, the court concluded that
some deference was appropriate because the Copy-
right Office had “consistently found,” that compara-
ble graphic designs were copyrightable, and had ex-
plained its previous registration decisions in letters

1]

to Varsity that “use[d] sound legal reasoning” that
was grounded “in the text of the statute.” Jd. at 22a.

The Sixth Circuit then turned to what the court
identified as “the question that strikes at the heart of
this appeal”: whether “cheerleading uniforms are
truly cheerleading uniforms without the stripes,
chevrons, zigzags, and color blocks” used in Varsity’s
designs. Pet. App. 2a; see id. at 22a-50a. Concluding
that they were, the court held that Varsity’s designs
were copyrightable. Jd. at 42a-50a.

The Sixth Circuit based its conclusion on the an-
swers to “a series of questions ... grounded in the
text of the Copyright Act.” Pet. App. 37a. After de-
termining that Varsity’s designs were “works of .. .
graphic ... art” and designs of useful articles, the
court turned to identifying the relevant “utilitarian
function” of Varsity’s garments as “cover[ing] the
body. wick[ing] away moisture, and withstand[ing]
the rigors of athletic movements.” Jd. at 42a-43a.
The court rejected petitioner's much broader view of
function—“identify[ing] the wearer as a cheerlead-
er”—because the statute expressly excludes the mere
“convey|[ing] [of] information” from the definition of
“useful article.” Jd. at 43a (quoting 17 U.S.C. § 101).
Likewise, the court rejected petitioner’s contention
that designs that serve a “decorative function” on
clothing are purely utilitarian and uncopyrightable
because, inter alia, that argument contradicted “well-
established” law recognizing that fabric designs are
eligible for copyright. Jd. at 44a. Applying its un-
derstanding of function, the court concluded that
cheerleading uniforms can exist without Varsity’s
graphic features—indeed, record evidence “estab-
lishe[d]” that “not all cheerleading uniforms must

12

look alike to be cheerleading uniforms.” Id. at 45a-
46a. The court also determined that Varsity’s de-
signs could exist independently of the uniforms, be-
cause they are transferable to other surfaces includ-
ing other apparel. Jd. at 46a-47a.

Summarizing its decision, the Sixth Circuit ex-
plained that its holding was “consistent with other
courts’ treatment of the protectability of clothing and
the pictorial and graphic features that appear on
clothing.” Pet. App. 47a. The court observed that
courts “have drawn a line between ‘fabric design’ and
‘dress design,” with courts generally regarding only
the former category as readily copyrightable. Id. at
47a-49a. Because Varsity’s graphic designs “are
more like fabric design than dress design,” the court
“hielld that they are protectable subject matter un-
der the Copyright Act.” Jd. at 50a. By contrast, the
court distinguished the Second Circuit and Fifth Cir-
cuit decisions relied upon by petitioner, because
those cases involved “dress designs.” Id. at 48a-49a.

b. Judge McKeague dissented. Pet. App. 53a-
57a. He would have held that “the stripes, braids,
and chevrons on a cheerleading uniform” were not
copyrightable because they are essential to a cheer-
leading uniform’s “identifying function” and cannot
be separated from that function. Jd. at 54a-56a.

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT

The decision below does not create or implicate any
circuit conflict. Petitioner’s contention that other
circuits would hold that Varsity’s designs cannot be
copyrighted ignores a basic distinction in copyright
law between fabric designs like Varsity’s and the de-
signs of garments. This factual distinction—which

13

the petition skips over—rather than any disagree-
ment over how to interpret the Copyright Act, fully
explains the decisions that petitioner claims are in
conflict with the Sixth Circuit. Petitioner’s »ttempt
to identify a higher-level circuit split over the test for
copyrighting features of useful articles also provides
no basis for review, because every circuit would hold
that two-dimensional graphic designs are eligible for

copyright.

Petitioner’s second question presented also does not
warrant certiorari. Petitioner does not identify any
circuit that has adopted petitioner's position that
Skidmore deference is categorically inapplicable to
copyright registration decisions, and several circuits
have applied at least this level of deference to Copy-
right Office decisions. Moreover, there is no reason
to believe the modest level of deference available un-
der Skidmore affected the outcome in this case: the
court of appeals spent time on deference primarily to
rule out applying Chevron.

This case is also a poor vehicle because the petition
is interlocutory. If petitioner on remand were to suc-
cessfully defend against infringement, then there
would be no reason to consider either question pre-
sented.

I. The Sixth Circuit’s Conclusion That Var-
sity’s Fabric Designs Are Separable From
Garments’ Utilitarian Aspects Does Not
Warrant Review

The Sixth Circuit’s decision does not implicate or
create any circuit split on the issue of separability
under the Copyright Act. Petitioner’s claims to the
contrary ignore the distinction between’ two-

14

dimensional surface designs (i.e., fabric designs) and
dress designs, and also substantially overstate any
methodological disagreement in the circuits.

A. There Is No Circuit Split On The Ques-
tion Whether Two-Dimensional Graphic
Designs On Garments Are Copyrightable

Although petitioner claims that the circuits are
“hopelessly fractured” on the issue of separability
(Pet. 26), it identifies just two decisions that suppos-
edly “conflict{] directly” (Pet. 27-29) with the decision
below: a Fifth Circuit decision and an unpublished
Second Circuit decision. Petitioner compares apples
and oranges. The Fifth and Second Circuit decisions
are not applicable here because they addressed
whether dress designs (i.e., design features of gar-
ments) not fabric designs (i.e., graphic designs that
may appear on the surface of garments) are copy-
rightable. The Sixth Circuit recognized this well-
settled difference and expressly distinguished both
the Fifth and Second Circuit decisions. See Pet. App.
49a & n.13.

1. In Galiano v. Harrah’s Operating Company,
the Fifth Circuit held that the design of a uniform for
casino employees—and in particular the uniform’s
arrangement of “buttons, pleats, and collars”—could
not be copyrighted. 416 F.3d 411, 414, 422 (2005).
The court reasoned that these design features were
not separable from the utilitarian features of the uni-
forms. Id. at 422.

The Fifth Circuit cautioned that its reasoning was
applicable to “garment design only,” which the court
specifically distinguished from “fabric design.” 416
F.3d at 419-20, 421. The court explained that

15

“{flabric designs include patterns or artistic features
imprinted onto a fabric or that appear repeatedly
throughout the dress fabric,” whereas garment or
“dress” designs “set forth the shape, style, cut, and
dimensions of converting fabric into a finished dress
or other clothing garment.” /d. at 419. The court
recognized that fabric designs “are generally entitled
to copyright protection” because “one can generally
separate the artistic elements of thfe] design from
the utility of the wearable garment.” I/bid. By con-
trast, the court explained, designs of garments them-
selves “generally do not have artistic elements that
can be separated from the utilitarian use of the gar-
ment.” Jbid. Concluding that the plaintiffs copy-
right for the layout of buttons, pleats, and collars on
casino uniforms was a garment design with no sepa-
rable creative features, the Fifth Circuit held that
designs were not copyrightable. Jd. at 421-22.

As the Fifth Circuit itself explained, Galiano’s hold-
ing does not apply to the graphic designs at issue in
this case. As discussed, pp. 11-12, supra, the Sixth
Circuit recognized the same distinction between
“fabric designs” and “dress designs”; the Sixth Cir-
cuit simply concluded that, in contrast to the casino
uniform design in Galiano, “the graphic features of
Varsity’s cheerleading-uniform design are more like
fabric design than dress design.” Pet. App. 50a (em-
phasis added). The Sixth Circuit indicated that it
likely would have reached the same result as the
Fifth Circuit if presented with the same garment de-
sign, because “the aesthetic features of th[e] [casino]
uniforms could not be identified separately from” and
were not “capable of existing independently of, the
utilitarian aspects of the uniform pieces.” Pet. App.
49a n.13 (quotation marks omitted).

16

The two circuits thus agreed on the basic legal dis-
tinction between design categories, and the different
outcomes simply turned on the different facts. Peti-
tioner may disagree with the Sixth Circuit’s charac-
terization of Varsity’s designs. See Pet. 17 (claiming,
without support, that the two-dimensional graphic
designs are somehow related to the “shape, contour,
cut, style, and fit of cheerleading uniforms” even
though they can be added onto garments through,
e.g., sublimation). But petitioner’s fact-bound asser-
tion does not warrant review.

2. The Second Circuit's unpublished summary
order in Jovani Fashion Limited v. Fiesta Fashions,
500 Fed. Appx. 42 (2012), cert. denied, 133 S. Ct.
1596 (2013), is also distinguishable. In Jovani, the
court addressed whether three-dimensional design
features for a prom dress were copyrightable. The
court held that they were not, rejecting the argument
that particular decorative features—“sequins and
crystals,” “horizontal satin ruching at the dress
waist[,] and layers of tulle on the skirt”—were sepa-
rable from the dress’s utilitarian furiction. Jd. at 44.°

The Jovani summary order provides no reason to
believe the Second Circuit would have reached a dif-
ferent result from the Sixth Circuit with respect to
Varsity’s two-dimensional graphic design. Again, the
Sixth Circuit expressly agreed with the holding in

* The plaintiff in Jovani “acknowledged that there is no discern-
ible pattern of sequins” in its design and therefore “conceded
that it [was] not claiming a copyright in the fabric designs of its
dress.” Jovani Fashion, Lid. v. Cinderella Divine, Inc., 808 F
Supp. 2d 542, 551 (S.D.N.Y. 2011). As a result, the district
court distinguished precedents that “concerned the pattern of
an object—a fabric design—that generally could be copyrighta-
ble in isolation.” [hid.

17

Jovani, explaining that the “creative arrangement”
of the dress features in that case “do not qualify for
copyright protection” because they all serve merely
“to clothe the body.” Pet. App. 49a. Thus, Jovani
was about garment design and not fabric design.
The Sixth Circuit’s endorsement of Jovani’s outcome
belies petitioner’s claim that there is a conflict be-
tween the decisions.

In any event—and fatal to petitioner’s argument—
because the Jovani summary order lacks preceden-
tial status in the Second Circuit, it cannot provide
the basis for a circuit split. See 2d Cir. R. 32.1.1.
Published Second Circuit decisions are consistent
with the Sixth Circuit’s decision here.’ For example,
the Second Circuit has repeatedly recognized a dis-
tinction between fabric designs and garment designs
and held that the former are copyrightable. See, e.g.,
Knitwaves, Inc. v. Lollytogs Ltd., 71 F.3d 996, 1002
(2d Cir. 1995) (“fabric designs, such as the artwork
on... sweaters” are protectable by copyright); Folio
Impressions, Inc. v. Byer Cal., 937 F.2d 759, 762-63
(2d Cir. 1991) (distinguishing between “fabric de-
signs’ and “dress designs” in a case involving “print-
ed textile[]” designs for imprinting on apparel).

Moreover, the Second Circuit has rejected argu-
ments, like petitioner's here, that would treat all
“decorative” elements of clothing as functional in
their own right and thus ineligible for copyright. In
Chosun International, Inc. v. Chrisha Creations Ltd.,
413 F.3d 324 (2d Cir. 2005), the court held that the

? Petitioner's amici get this backwards when they argue that
Jovani somehow qualifies published circuit precedent. See
Formlabs Amicus Br. 14. Non-precedential summary orders do
not change circuit law, and they provide no basis for certiorari.

18

plaintiff stated a claim for copyright infringement of
Halloween costume designs. Jd. at 329-30. The
court reasoned that the plaintiff could show that the
sculpted “heads” on the costumes were separable
from the costume’s function as clothing. Jbid. In do-
ing so, the court “express[ed] skepticism” about the
defendant’s contention that the costume’s useful
function included “masquerad[ing] as an animal
character” rather than merely “cloth{ing] the wear-
er’s body.” Jd. at 329 n.3. As the court explained,
such an expansive approach to functionality was “at
odds with the Copyright Act’s very definition of ‘use-
ful articles,” which specifies that “portray[ing] the
appearance of something” is not a “useful” function.
Ibid. (citing 17 U.S.C. § 101); see also Hart v. Dan
Chase Taxidermy Supply Co., 86 F.3d 320, 323 (2d
Cir. 1996) (taxidermy mannequin was not a “useful
article” because its function was merely to portray
the appearance of a fish).*

The Sixth Circuit applied the same reasoning in
this case, rejecting petitioner’s contention that a pic-
torial, graphic, or sculptural work’s “decorative” ele-
ments are inherently functional and ineligible for

* Petitioner briefly alludes (Pet. 29 n.10) to the Second Circuit's
statement in an earlier opinion that “decorative elements” are
“intrinsic to the decorative function of clothing” and thus
generally ineligible for copyright. Whimsicality, Inc. v. Rubie’s
Costume Co., 891 F.2d 452, 455 (1989). This statement was
dicta because the court went on to explain that it “need not ad-
dress” separability and decided the case on a different ground.
Ibid. The Second Circuit has not applied the dicta in a pub-
lished opinion, and commentators have criticized it as “remark-
able language” that is contrary to the text and purpose of the
Copyright Act. Shira Perlmutter, Conceptual Separability and
Copyright in the Designs of Useful Articles, 37 J. Copyright
Soc’y U.S.A. 339, 370 (1990).

19

copyright. See Pet. App. 43a-45a. There is no split
between these circuits.

3. Petitioner’s claim (Pet. 30-32) that the Sixth
Circuit’s decision breaks new ground because it con-
tradicts “deliberate congressional inaction” conflates
different types of designs, just like petitioner’s case-
law analysis. Debate in Congress has focused on
whether the designs of garments and other industri-
al items themselves—e.g., the shape of a dress or of a
television set—should receive copyright protection.
See, e.g., Protection for Fashion Design: Hearings on
H.R. 5055 Before the Subcomm. on Courts, the Inter-
net, and Intellectual Property of the H. Comm. on the
Judiciary, 109th Cong., 2d Sess. (2006) (statement of
the U.S. Copyright Office) (summarizing congres-
sional debate on this issue over time). The copy-
rightability of two-dimensional designs that appear
on garments and other useful articles has been un-
derstood differently. For example, petitioner cites
(Pet. 30) a House Committee Report on the 1976 Act
that petitioner claims rejected the copyrightability of
“garment designs.” But that same Committee Report
recognized that “two-dimensional . . graphic
work[s]” that are “printed on or applied to utilitarian
articles such as textile fabrics, wallpaper, containers,
and the like” are eligible for copyright protection.
H.R. Rep. No. 94-1476, at 55 (1976). The legislative
debate over garment design thus gives petitioner no

support.

20

B. Petitioner’s Argument Turns On Fact-
Bound Assertions About Cheerleading
Uniforms

Because graphic designs that appear on clothing or
other useful articles routinely receive copyright pro-
tection, petitioner’s claim that Varsity’s graphic de-
signs are different depends on factual assertions
about the unique nature of cheerleading uniforms.
The district court believed that defining the “the es-
sence,” or “ideal” form, of a cheerleading uniform was
the “central” issue presented in the case, and the
court ultimately concluded that Varsity’s designs
could not be copyrighted because a uniform without
them would lack the requisite “cheerleading-
uniform-ness.” Pet. App. 58a-59a. The Sixth Circuit
also believed that the true nature of cheerleading
uniforms “strikes at the heart” of the case (Pet. App.
2a), but the court adopted a different understanding
of the uniform’s essential characteristics (Pet. App.
43a-46a).®

Petitioner continues to rely on this framing. Citing
only the district court’s opinion, petitioner claims
that the “braids, chevrons, and color blocks” in Varsi-
ty’s designs are not copyrightable because “these
decorative elements of cheerleading uniforms are in-
trinsically linked to the utilitarian function of cheer-
leading uniforms—identifying the wearer as a cheer-
leader, associating the wearer with a certain team,
and enhancing the wearer's attractiveness.” Pet. 29;

* Judge McKeague’'s dissent likewise relied on his aesthetic
judgment that a “blank white pleated skirt and crop top” was
not “appropriate attire for a member of a cheerleading
squad.” Pet. App. 53a.

21

see also Pet. C.A. Br. 32 (arguing that although “[a]
sweater is still a sweater” without a particular pat-
tern on the front, a “cheerleading uniform is not a
cheerleading uniform without the constituent ele-
ments of team colors, stripes and chevrons”).

The Court should reject petitioner’s invitation to
review the metaphysics of cheerleading uniforms.
Unsurprisingly, there is no circuit split on the ques-
tion whether a cheerleading uniform without “braids,
chevrons, and color blocks” is really a cheerleading
uniform. And deciding a case that turns on fact-
bound assertions about the “essence” of cheerleading
uniforms would offer little guidance to lower courts
about general copyright principles.

The Sixth Circuit got this narrow question right in
any event. As the Sixth Circuit explained, it is per-
fectly possible to conceptualize a cheerleading uni-
form that exists without Varsity’s graphic designs.
Citing photos in the record, the Sixth Circuit noted
numerous examples of “plain white” cheerleading
tops and skirts that are “easily identified as cheer-
leading uniforms”—and serve the same functions by
allowing “the wearer to cheer, jump, kick, and flip”—
yet lack the “stripes, chevrons, zigzags, or color-
blocking” featured in Varsity’s designs. Pet. App.
45a.

Moreover, the Sixth Circuit also correctly held that
Varsity’s graphic designs can exist independently of
cheerleading uniforms. Pet. App. 46a-47a. As the
court recognized, Varsity’s designs have been “incor-
porated onto the surface of a number of different
types of garments,” including not only cheerleading
uniforms but also “practice wear, t-shirts, warm-ups,
and jackets.” Jd. at 46a. Indeed, the Varsity designs

22

could be “printied] or paintied]” and displayed “on
the wall as art.” Id. at 47a. The designs accordingly
satisfy the statutory criteria for copyright protection,
because they can “be identified separately from, and
are capable of existing independently of, the utilitar-
ian aspects of” cheerleading uniforms and other
clothing. 17 U.S.C. § 101.

Petitioner's insistence (Pet. 29) that Varsity’s
graphic designs are inseparable from cheerleading
uniforms because they “identify{] the wearer as a
cheerleader,” is contrary to the statutory text. The
Copyright Act specifies that the “utilitarian function”
of a useful article does not include design features
that merely “portray the appearance of the article or
... convey information.” 17 U.S.C. § 101. See Pet.
App. 43a; Chosun, 413 F.3d at 329 n.3. Yet accord-
ing to petitioner, the mere fact that Varsity’s designs
are associated with cheerleading—and thus may
help to identify a wearer as a cheerleader—means
the designs are inseparable from the useful elements
of cheerleading uniforms. The plain language of the
statute precludes this argument.

C. The Purported Circuit Division Over The
Separability “Test” Is Overstated And Is
Not Implicated By The Facts Of This Case

Petitioner abstracts away from the supposed con-
flict over garments to argue more generally (Pet. 19-
26) that there is a “multi-circuit conflict” over the
test for separability under 17 U.S.C. § 101. But there
is no direct split on this issue, and a case involving a
two-dimensional graphic design is a poor vehicle to
provide guidance to help lower courts resolve more

23

difficult cases involving the designs of three-
dimensional objects.

1. Petitioner asserts (Pet. 20) that there were “at
least nine different separability tests” before this
case, and that the Sixth Circuit brought forth a tenth
test. But most of the supposed tests on petitioner's
list do not actually belong to different circuits. To
begin with, only six of the ten tests are “judicial
tests” at all. Pet. 23.!° And of those six, two come
from dissenting opinions, while another three are as-
cribed, in whole or in part, to the Second Circuit.
See Pet. 21-22.

In addition, the cited decisions regard the various
“tests” and verbal formulations as complementary,
rather than competing. For example, in Pivot Point
International, Inc. v. Charlene Products, Inc., 372
F.3d 913 (2004), the Seventh Circuit surveyed deci-
sions on the issue of copyright in the creative fea-
tures of useful articles before articulating its “design-
process” approach, which the court believed “recon-
cile{d] the earlier case law.” Jd. at 930. In other
words, what petitioner identifies as a fifth test was
intended by the Seventh Circuit to build upon what
petitioner labels tests two, three, and four. See id. at
924-32; see also Brandir Intl v. Cascade Pac. Lumber
Co., 834 F.2d 1142, 1145 (2d Cir. 1987) (stating that
its focus on design process is “consistent with the
holdings” of earlier cases, including Kieselstein-Cord
v. Accessories by Pearl, Inc., 632 F.2d 989 (2d Cir.
1980), and Carol Barnhart Inc. v. Economy Cover
Corp., 773 F.2d 411 (2d Cir. 1985)). Other circuits

‘© If “academic approaches that have not been adopted by any
federal appellate courts” (Pet. 23) justified certiorari review,
this Court’s workload would be unmanageable.

24

have likewise “[s|]ynthesiz[ed]” case law on separabil-
ity from other circuits without suggesting the deci-
sions apply conflicting tests. Universal Furniture
Intl, Inc. v. Collezione Europa USA, Inc., 618 F.3d
417, 434 (4th Cir. 2010) (per curiam).

2. The Sixth Circuit used a similarly inclusive
approach here. Contrary to petitioner's assertion
(Pet. 17, 23) the Sixth Circuit did not “reject{]” all
preexisting tests. Instead, the court noted that other
circuits “have used multiple ... approaches in the
same case when analyzing whether the ‘pictorial,
graphic, or sculptural features” are separable from
the utilitarian aspects of a useful article. Pet. App.
33a (quoting 17 U.S.C. § 101). And noting that “it is
difficult to select one approach” for all fact-patterns,
the Sixth Circuit followed these circuits in applying a
“similar hybrid approach.” Jd. at 37a. Thus, the
Sixth Circuit expressly built several existing “tests”
into its analysis. See id. at 40a (embracing aspects of
the “objectively necessary approach” and the “design-
process approach,” as well as the Copyright Office's
“side by side” approach).

Petitioner previously endorsed such an ecumenical
approach to separability, explaining that “[a] single
one-size-fits-all separability test . is neither possi-
ble nor desirable.” Pet. C.A. Br. 29. Even now, peti-
tioner finds “much to commend” in a combination of
several tests, and never specifies just what it thinks
the right test would be (or why it would prevail).
Pet. 26. Thus, aside from petitioner's odd criticism of
the Sixth Circuit for hewing too closely to the Copy-
right Act’s definitions (Pet. 24), it is not clear what
disagreement petitioner has with the Sixth Circuit's
methodology. Instead, petitioner simply disagrees

25

with how the court applied the text of the statute to
the facts of this case.

To be sure, the Sixth Circuit declined to apply the
“likelihood-of-marketability” test that the Fifth Cir-
cuit used in Galiano. Pet. App. 41a.'! But the Sixth
Circuit’s rejection of this much-criticized approach!”
does not conflict with Fifth Circuit precedent be-
cause, as discussed above, pp. 14-15, supra, the Gali-
ano court limited application of the test to “garment
design only’—a category the court expressly distin-
guished from “fabric design.” 416 F.3d at 419-22.)
Because the Sixth Circuit understood that Varsity’s
copyright is for a type of fabric design (Pet. App.
50a), there is no conflict.

3. This case is a poor vehicle for the Court to
provide any general guidance on the test for separa-
bility. Two-dimensional graphic designs like Varsi-

'' The Sixth Circuit also indicated that it did not “endorse look-
ing at why the designer chose the ultimate design as the final
expression of the result she was trying to achieve to the exclu-
sion of other evidence.” Pet. App. 40a-41a. Neither the Seventh
Cireuit in Pivot Point nor any other circuit applying the “de-
sign-process” approach has held that the designer's motivation
is the only evidence courts may consider. There is accordingly
no conflict.

'2 See, e.g., 2 Patry on Copyright § 3:143, at 3-423 (describing
the likelihood-of-marketability approach as “discredited” and
“the worst possible solution” to determining separability).

'3 Petitioner briefly references (Pet. 28) the Ninth Circuit's deci-
sion in Poe v. Missing Persons, 745 F.2d 1238 (1984). Like Gal-
iano, Poe addressed the design of a garment (a swimsuit) rather
than a pattern design. See id. at 1239. Moreover, the court did
not establish a t«ct for separability, as subsequent Ninth Cir-
cuit case law makes clear. See Inhale, Inc. v. Starbuzz Tobacco,
Inc., 755 F.3d 1038, 1040-41 (9th Cir.), cert. denied, 135 S. Ct.
758 (2014).

26

ty’s do not raise any of the line-drawing difficulties
that sometimes exist in cases involving three-
dimensional designs; indeed, under the statutory
text, separability analysis should not even apply to
Varsity’s graphic designs.

The Sixth Circuit’s decision proceeded from the as-
sumption that the copyrightability of Varsity's
graphic designs turned on separability analysis. Pet.
App. 42a. But in order for this Court to provide any
guidance to lower courts on separability, the Court
would first have to determine that Varsity’s designs
are “of a useful article” under 17 U.S.C. § 101. In
fact, two-dimensional graphic designs like Varsity’s
are not themselves “design{s] of [a] useful article”; ra-
ther, they can be “applied to” useful articles such as
clothing, rugs, or other objects. 2 Patry on Copyright
§ 3:150, at 3-453-3-454. “Accordingly, use of the sep-
arability test is inappropriate.” Ibid.

Even assuming separability analysis is relevant,
this petition does not provide an opportunity for the
Court to “clarifly]. . the law of separability.” Pet.
41. The hard separability cases—and most of the
cases that petitioner cites—involve designs of three-
dimensional objects that hav both functional and
decorative features. See, ey., Universal Furniture,
618 F.3d at 424-25 (furniture collections); Pivot
Point, 372 F.3d at 915-16 (human mannequin head);
Brandir, 834 F.2d at 1143 (bicycle rack); Carol
Barnhart, 773 F.2d at 412 (human mannequin); Kie-
selstein-Cord, 632 F.2d at 990-91 (belt buckle). Con-
firming the point, petitioner’s amici specifically seek
guidance about the copyrightability of “3D” “mixed-
use objects” that can be reproduced with 3D printing.
Formlabs Amicus Br. 9-11.

27

By contrast, courts and commentators have recog-
nized that “it is relatively easy to obtain copyright
protection for designs of useful articles appearing in
two-dimensional rather than three-dimensional
form.” 1 Goldstein on Copyright § 2.5.3, at 2:83 (3d.
ed. 2005); see also Home Legend, LLC v. Mannington
Mills, Inc., 784 F.3d 1404, 1413 (11th Cir.), cert. de-
nied, 136 S. Ct. 232 (2015) (explaining that it is “ob-
viously true” that “any two-dimensional image” is
conceptually separable from the object on which it is
appears). Moreover, as discussed at length above,
pp. 1-2, 12-17, supra, it is well established in the
clothing industry that fabric designs are eligible for
copyright while dress designs typically are not. See,
e.g., Knitwaves, Inc., 71 F.3d at 1002 (graphic de-
signs on sweaters are copyrightable); see generally |
Nimmer on Copyright § 2.08[H], at 2-143 to 2-149.

Varsity registered its copyrights in_ two-
dimensional designs that the Sixth Circuit properly
characterized as being “like fabric design{s].” Pet.
App. 4a, 50a. The designs would be copyright-
eligible as graphic works in any circuit and under
any plausible test for separability (assuming separa-
bility doctrine applies). Reviewing this fact-pattern
would not provide lower courts with the guidance
that petitioner claims they need to resolve other,
harder cases.

Il. The Sixth Circuit’s Decision That The
Copyright Office’s Registration Decisions
Should Receive Skidmore Deference
Does Not Warrant Review

The Sixth Circuit determined that the Copyright
Office’s decisions to register Varsity’s numerous

ry

28

graphic designs should receive a measure of defer-
ence under Skidmore. That conclusion does not war-
rant review. Petitioner has not identified any circuit
conflict, and there is no basis to conclude that appli-
cation of this minimal level of deference determined
the outcome below.

1. The Sixth Circuit did not create any circuit
conflict by applying Skidmore deference (but no
more) to the Copyright Office’s set of decisions regis-
tering Varsity’s designs. To the contrary, the circuits
agree on the relevant principles, and no circuit has
adopted petitioner’s position denying any deference.
Thus, contrary to petitioner’s claim, the Sixth Cir-
cuit’s application of Skidmore deference was hardly
“unprecedented.” Pet. 34.

As the Sixth Circuit noted (Pet. App. 17a-19a), sev-
eral courts of appeals have recognized that the Copy-
right Office’s interpretations of the Copyright Act
should, at a minimum, receive Skidmore deference.
See, e.g., Southco, Inc. v. Kanebridge Corp., 390 F.3d
276, 286 n.5 (3d Cir. 2004) (en banc) (Alito, J.) (defer-
ring to the Office’s “longstanding practice” not to reg-
ister short phrases, and explaining that “[a]t a min-
imum, the practice of the Copyright Office reflects a
body of experience and informed judgment to which
courts . . may properly resort for guidance”). Par-
ticularly relevant here, courts have deferred to the
Copyright Office’s position on separability for the de-
signs of useful articles, e.g., Inhale, Inc. v. Starbuzz,
755 F.3d 1038, 1042 (9th Cir.), cert. denied, 135 S.
Ct. 758 (2014), including to individual registration
decisions concerning where to draw the line between
“copyrightable works of art and noncopyrightable in-

29

dustrial designs,” Norris Indus., Inc. v. Intl Tel &
Tel. Corp., 696 F.2d 918, 922 (11th Cir. 1983).

Petitioner asserts (Pet. 35-36) that each of the cir-
cuit decisions applying Skidmore deference is some-
how distinguishable, but that is hardly an argument
for certiorari. Petitioner does not identify any deci-
sion in which courts have refused to apply Skidmore
deference to copyright registrations. The closest pe-
titioner comes is its reference to a three-decades-old
Second Circuit opinion, Carol Barnhart. But the
Second Circuit’s decision did not even mention
Skidmore deference, much less reject the doctrine’s
application—which is unsurprising given the state of
agency-deference law in 1985. Rather, the Second
Circuit merely indicated that it was “permissible for
the district court itself to consider how the copyright
law applies to the articles under consideration,” and
to reject the “mute testimony” of the Copyright Of-
fice’s registration approval. 773 F.2d at 414 (empha-
sis added). The court’s holding and reasoning are
consistent with the premises behind Skidmore defer-
ence, because the doctrine provides that agency in-
terpretations are “entitled to respect” only “in pro-
portion to their power to persuade.” Wos vu. E.M.A. ex
rel. Johnson, 133 S. Ct. 1391, 1402 (2013) (quotation
marks omitted). An isolated and “mute” registration
decision may lack significant persuasive value.

In contrast to Carol Barnhart, the Copyright Office
was not “mute” here. As the Sixth Circuit recounted,
the Office discussed the basis for approving similar
Varsity graphic designs for registration in several
letters, in which the Office “grounded its decisions to
register Varsity’s designs in the text of the statute
using sound legal reasoning.” Pet. App. 22a. The

30

Copyright Office registered a number of these de-
signs only after reconsidering prior denial decisions
that were challenged by Varsity. Pet. 13-14. Given
this context and the evidence of the Copyright Of-
fice’s careful deliberation, the Sixth Circuit reasona-
bly concluded that the registration decisions had
some persuasive value. Even on the dubious as-
sumption that the Second Circuit would today treat
Carol Barnhart as a precedent requiring no Skid-
more deference to a single “mute” agency decision,
that position is entirely consistent with the Sixth
Circuit’s decision. The flexible Skidmore framework
properly takes account of different evidence of agen-
cy deliberation and consistency. When that evidence
differs, the outcome may as well.'4

As for petitioner’s attempt to distinguish the nu-
merous other circuit decisions applying Skidmore
deference, the lines petitioner draws do not with-
stand scrutiny. For example, petitioner acknowledg-
es that courts have deferred “to the Copyright Of-
fice’s decision to deny a registration,” Pet. 35 (em-
phasis added), yet petitioner claims that decisions to
approve a registration are categorically ineligible for
deference. Petitioner does not identify any precedent

'4 Petitioner points (Pet. 37) to the Copyright Office’s policy of
erring on the side of registration in borderline cases. But as
noted, the Copyright Office did not register Varsity’s designs
pursuant to this “Rule of Doubt” policy. See pp.7-8, supra. In
any event, such a policy does not suggest that Skidmore defer-
ence is categorically inapplicable to registration decisions. To
the extent petitioner argues that Varsity’s reference to this doc-
trine in one of its reconsideration letters to the Copyright Office
concerning designs not at issue in this case makes deference in-
appropriate here, its fact-bound assertion does not warrant re-
view.

31

from any court that supports (much less requires)
making deference a one-way ratchet by giving weight
to an agency’s expertise when it says “no” but disre-
garding the same agency’s reasoning when it says
“yes.” Petitioner also contends that most (though not-
all) of the out-of-circuit decisions relied on by the
Sixth Circuit involved deference to the Copyright Of-
fice as a whole, not to the decision of “a single regis-
tration specialist.” Ibid. That is not a basis for dis-
tinction, however, because the Sixth Circuit likewise
looked beyond the registration decisions at issue, ex-
plaining that “the record suggests that the Copyright
Office consistently applied the same interpretation of
separability to Varsity’s numerous designs like the
ones at issue in this case.” Pet. App. 21a.

2. Unable to identify a circuit split, petitioner ar-
gues the merits and contends (Pet. 34) that the Sixth
Circuit’s decision to apply Skidmore deference is in-
consistent with the burden-shifting framework estab-
lished by 17 U.S.C. § 410(c). Section 410(c) provides
that proof of registration before or within five years
of the first publication of a work “shall constitute
prima facie evidence of the validity of the copyright.”
Ibid. Petitioner asserts that the shift in the burden
of proof accomplished by this provision already pro-
vides deference to the Copyright Office’s registration
decision, and petitioner argues that the statute
therefore must implicitly bar courts from granting
any additional deference to registration decisions
under Skidmore.

Petitioner's contention is not only splitless, but also
meritless. As an initial matter, it is not clear how
and whether section 410(c)’s burden allocation even
applies to questions of statutory interpretation that

32

are the subject of Skidmore deference. Cf. Microsoft
Corp. v. i4i Ltd. P’ship, 131 S. Ct. 2238, 2253 (2011)
(Breyer, J., concurring) (indicating that the “clear
and convincing” evidentiary standard applicable to
patent validity controls only the factual—not the le-
gal—aspects of validity disputes in patent infringe-
ment cases). But even assuming section 410(c)’s
burden-shifting framework is relevant to questions of
legal interpretation, nothing in the statute suggests
that courts must give equal weight to unexplained
registrations and registrations that are supported by
well-reasoned written explanations from the Copy-
right Office. See Masquerade Novelty, Inc. v. Unique
Indus., Inc., 912 F.2d 663, 669 n.7 (3d Cir. 1990)
(stating that deference under section 410(c) is limited
to burden-shifting “[a]bsent an indication from the
Copyright Office as to why it registered [the design],
or the existence of a controlling administrative regu-
lation or interpretation” (emphasis added)). When,
as here, the court concludes the Office’s decision is
well explained and persuasive, Pet. App. 22a, it is
consistent with section 410(c) and with basic admin-
istrative-law principles for the court to grant at least
the minimal level of deference that the Skidmore
doctrine recognizes.

Petitioner’s contrary approach would produce odd
results. Petitioner would rule out Skidmore defer-
ence to any registration statements that satisfy sec-
tion 410(c)’s criteria to constitute prima facie evi-
dence of validity, but its theory would allow for def-
erence to similar registrations from other cases be-
cause they are not specifically addressed by the stat-
ute. Petitioner provides no reason to believe that
Congress intended to bar deference to copyright reg-
istrations in the cases they are challenged, even

33

though courts may rely on the persuasive value of
the very same registrations in separate litigation.

Underscoring the weakness of its position, petition-
er strays well beyond the question presented about
whether Skidmore deference applies and devotes sev-
eral paragraphs to criticizing how the Sixth Circuit
understood the Copyright Office’s policy in this case.
See Pet. 37-38 (accusing the majority of “selective
deference”). The fact-bound question whether the
Sixth Circuit correctly applied Skidmore deference in
this case does not merit review.

Petitioner's survey of Copyright Office policy is also
flawed. Once again, petitioner conflates policies con-
cerning garment designs with the two-dimensional
graphic designs at issue here. As the very sources
petitioner references make clear, the Copyright Of-
fice views the latter category of designs as copyright-
able. See, e.g., Registrability of Costume Designs, 56
Fed. Reg. 56,530-32 (Nov. 5, 1991) (describing a
“general policy of nonregistrability of garment de-
signs,” while explaining that “[a] two-dimensional
design applied to the surface of . clothing may be
registered” (emphasis added)). In fact, the Copyright
Office has expressly stated that “[a]lthough the copy-
right law does not protect the shape or design of
clothing, . . . designs imprinted in or on fabric are
considered conceptually separable from the utilitari-
an aspects of garments.” Compendium III of Copy-
right Office Practices § 924.3(A)(1), at 900-42. Peti-
tioner’s suggestion that the Sixth Circuit misunder-
stood Copyright Office policy is baseless. '®

‘6 Contrary to petitioner’s claim (Pet. 37), the Sixth Circuit's
inquiry into whether an observer could imagine a cheerleading

34

3. Review of this question is also not warranted
because it was not outcome-determinative here. The
panel majority did not invoke Skidmore deference in
its discussion of separability or give any indication
that it was placing a thumb on the scale in favor of
copyrightability based on the registration decision.
Instead, the court thoroughly examined the statutory
text, legislative history, case law, and academic
commentary to decide whether Varity’s two-
dimensional graphic designs were copyrightable.
See Pet. App. 22a-50a. If administrative deference
were doing real work in the court’s analysis, the
Sixth Circuit could have written a much shorter
opinion on the merits. The Sixth Circuit’s discussion
of deference served largely to reject the application of
greater deference, such as that available under
Chevron. Id. at 16a-21a.

The low stakes involved in this issue are confirmed
by the dissent, which accepted the majority’s applica-
tion of Skidmore deference. See Pet. App. 56a. The
fact that judges on the panel agreed about this issue
yet divided on the merits strongly suggests that the
Skidmore label did not affect the outcome.

uniform without the registered graphic designs (Pet. App. 45a-
46a) is consistent with the Copyright Office’s policy. See Com-
pendium III of Copyright Office Practices § 924.2(B), at 900-40
(explaining that the separability inquiry asks, inter alia,
whether an artistic feature could be “imagined separately and
independently from the useful article without destroying the
basic shape of that article”).

35

Ill. The Interlocutory Petition Is A Poor Ve-
hicle For Review

The interlocutory posture of this case makes the
petition a poor vehicle to review either question pre-
sented. The Court generally reviews final judg-
ments, rather than interlocutory decisions. See
S. Shapiro et al., SUPREME COURT PRACTICE 250
(10th ed. 2013); see also Mt. Soledad Mem? Ass'n v.
Trunk, 132 S. Ct. 2535, 2536 (2012) (statement of
Alito, J., respecting denial of certiorari) (certiorari
was properly denied “[b]ecause no final judgment has
been rendered”); Va. Military Inst. v. United States,
508 U.S. 946 (1993) (opinion of Scalia, J., respecting
the denial of certiorari) (“We generally await final
judgment in the lower courts before exercising our
certiorari jurisdiction.”). By doing so, the Court en-
sures that the record is adequately developed and
conserves judicial resources by limiting review to is-
sues that are potentially outeome-determinative in
the litigation.

In this case, the lower courts have not yet resolved
whether petitioner infringed Varsity’s copyrights. In
particular, petitioner has argued that Varsity’s in-
fringement claims has relied on design elements that
are not original. Pet. App. 12a. This argument is an
independent defense to infringement, and while Var-
sity has explained to the lower courts why petition-
er’s argument lacks merit, petitioner can and evi-
dently will pursue it on remand. See Pet. App. 50a.
If the lower courts ultimately were to accept peti-
tioner’s argument or conclude that petitioner was not
liable for infringement for some other reason, there
would be no need for this Court to decide the ques-
tions presented here.

36

xe eke &

The Sixth Circuit reached two unremarkable con-
clusions in this case: that Varsity’s two-dimensional
graphic designs are eligible for copyright because
they are “like fabric design[s}” (Pet. App. 50a), that
are easily separable from cheerleading uniforms and
other clothing; and that the Copyright Office’s con-
sistent, and well-reasoned registration decisions
were entitled to some deference under Skidmore, but
not Chevron deference. Neither holding creates a
circuit split. And neither issue warrants this Court’s
review, particularly before final judgment.

37
CONCLUSION

The petition for a writ of certiorari should be

denied.
Respectfully sutm itted.

GRADY M. GARRISON

ADAM S. BALDRIDGE

BAKER, DONELSON,
BEARMAN, CALDWELL &
BERKOWITZ P.C.

165 Madison Ave.,

Suite 2000

Memphis, TN 38103

THOMAS K.JELLBERG

J. CHRISTOPHER JENSEN

COWAN, LIEBOWITZ &
LATMAN, P.C.

1133 Ave. of the Americas

New York, NY 10036

March 4, 2016

WILLIAM M. JAY

Counsel of Record
BRIAN T. BURGESS
GOODWIN PROCTER LLP
901 New York Ave., N.W.
Washington, DC 20001
wjay@goodwinprocter.com
(202) 346-4000

ROBERT D. CARROLL
CHRISTINE DIETER
GOODWIN PROCTER LLP
Exchange Place
Boston, MA 02109

Counsel for Respondents

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0647%3A03. Public record. Not legal advice.
