# Reply Brief — Samsung Elecs. Co. v. Apple Inc., 136 S. Ct. 1453 (2016) (No. 15-777)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0640%3A14

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Reply Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2016

## Text

Supreme Court of the United States

SAMSUNG ELECTRONICS Co., LTD., SAMSUNG
ELECTRONICS AMERICA, INC., AND SAMSUNG
TELECOMMUNICATIONS AMERICA, LLC,

Petitioners,
Vv.

APPLE INC.,
Respondent.

On Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals
for the Federal Circuit

REPLY BRIEF FOR PETITIONERS

MICHAEL T. ZELLER

B. DYLAN PROCTOR

QUINN EMANUEL URQUHART
& SULLIVAN, LLP

865 S. Figueroa Street

10th Floor

Los Angeles, CA 90017

(213) 443-3000

VICTORIA F. MAROULIS

BRETT J. ARNOLD

QUINN EMANUEL URQUHART
& SULLIVAN, LLP

555 Twin Dolphin Drive

5th Floor

Redwood Shores, CA 94065

(650) 801-5000

KATHLEEN M. SULLIVAN
Counsel Of Record
WILLIAM B. ADAMS
DAVID M. COOPER
CLELAND B. WELTON II
QUINN EMANUEL URQUHART
& SULLIVAN, LLP
51 Madison Avenue
22nd Floor
New York, NY 10010
(212) 849-7000
kathleensullivan@
quinnemanuel.com

Counsel for Petitioners
TEN nn ae AN a be mn =

WALSON-EPes Printine Co .iInc. — (202) 788-0006 -— WasrHiwcTon,D C 20002

August 29, 2016

TABLE OF CONTENTS

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES ................. iiiaatdeiin
TT ison cli teninnnddndansnesbeipteonnnanancts
I Edatinicipesctlensicssistauenacinsieitiitlindesimiigatiiinivanignadbonns

I.

IT.

SECTION 289 PRECLUDES RECOV-
ERY OF THE TOTAL PROFIT ON
AN ENTIRE PRODUCT WHERE A
PATENTED DESIGN IS APPLIED
ONLY TO A COMPONENT OF THE
ITI citbiicetilaiindiciidihcatbisrssidaaliaaiuaietatbiateindann

A. An “Article Of Manufacture” Under
Section 289 May Be Less Than An
Entire Product, As Apple And The
Government Now Agree ......................

B. Congress Did Not Abrogate Back-
ground Principles Of Causation In
Enacting Section 289....................:00008

C. Apple And Its Amici Fail To Dispel
The Adverse Practical Consequences
Of The Federal Circuit’s Rule .............

CONTRARY TO APPLE’S ARGUMENT,
THIS COURT SHOULD REVERSE OR
VACATE THE JUDGMENT BELOV .....

A. Apple Cannot Rewrite The Decisions

1. The District Court’s Jury Instruc-
tions Misconstrued Section 289.....

2. The Federal Circuit Misconstrued
ERR iS aS a

11

13

TABLE OF CONTENTS—Continued

B. This Court Should Reverse And
Direct Judgment For Samsung...........

1. The Patent Claims Themselves
Delimit The Relevant Articles Of

TREAT RES CERN ADA TET

2. Apple Bore The Burden Of
Identifying The Relevant Articles
Of Manufacture ....................cccccseees

3. No Properly Instructed Jury Could
Have Found For Apple On This
PN icanidisdiienlinnedunintabtidebteseniyibtandss

C. Alternatively, This Court Should

APPENDIX

APPENDIX A: Plaintiff's Exhibit 8, Photo-
graphs of Apple Products (excerpts) ..........

APPENDIX B: Defendants’ Exhibit 2519,
Presentation: Mini-Teardown Samsung
Galaxy S (T-Mobile Vibrant) (excerpts).....

Page

15

15

16

18

20
23

la

4a

CASES

ill

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Page(s)

Alaska Dep’t of Envti.

Conservation v. EPA,

540 U.S. 461 (2004)................0..ce eee eee 17
Apple Inc. v. Samsung Elecs. Co.,

678 F.3d 1314 (Fed. Cir. 2012)................. 9
Aro Mfg. Co. v. Convertible Top

Replacement Co..,

os vntcsicevsvevbindannicnnnasteas 8
Boyle v. United Techs. Corp.,

487 U.S. 500 (1988)..................cccccccceeseeeees 19
Burrage v. United States,

BP Os ats Ie GI icvtssccccssnscccncesescecesccess 5
Contessa Food Prods., Inc. v. Conagra, Inc.,

282 F.3d 1370 (Fed. Cir. 2002).................. 10
CSX Transp., Inc. v. McBride,

GP Is WP SE iv nveccccccceceesecscccssscencconse 5
Dowagiac Mfg. Co. v. Minn. Moline Plow Co.,

BD SPs BO Conn cnccsccnsncsnccsccssesecssenses 5
eBay, Inc. v. MercExchange, LLC,

DET UE. BE CIGD ona nccncccecccccccccnccsccscesseee 5
Gorham v. White,

GO AP CO av ocecsccccccecceniececconccacccaes 9
Hertz Corp. v. Friend,

BU Ps WO Gi cevinencsnsvecnsncssnssvensesnancei 22
Hunter v. Cty. of Sacramento,

652 F.3d 1225 (9th Cir. 2011)......00000000..... 13
Lucent Techs., Inc. v. Gateway, Inc.,

580 F.3d 1301 (Fed. Cir. 2009)................. 16

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Markman v. Westview Instruments, Inc.,
i‘, gs) @ |, Seas

Medtronic, Inc. v. Mirowski Family
Ventures, LLC,
BOS B. Ce. BEB CBGIS) 0.00000 0c0ccecceseceressceeseee

Meyer v. Holley,
fit S|. ene

Nordock, Inc. v. Systems Inc.,
803 F.3d 1344 (Fed. Cir. 2015)...............

Pac. Coast Marine Windshields Ltd. v.
Malibu Boats, LLC,
2014 WL 4185297
(M.D. Fla. Aug. 22, 2014)..................00004.

Pearson v. Duane,
A oss cdoeuiediagecoianeeees

Schaffer v. Weast,
BE TD, Gp cn cceenevesececnecsennczosscesses

Sheldon v. Metro-Goldwyn Pictures Corp.,
BE EEE, Ba Ci ocecevscesccnsccsccccssesesesese.

Story Parchment Co. v. Paterson
Parchment Paper Co.,
y kik ef) | rrr

Teva Pharms. USA, Inc. v. Sandoz, Inc.,
| oe | | ee

Transp. Line v. Hope,
OB U.S. BOT CIBTT)....00.000rccccrerccesccccccesseees

Uniloc USA, Inc. v. Microsoft Corp.,
632 F.3d 1292 (Fed. Cir. 2011)...............

Page(s)

2 16

= 13

7 16

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page(s)
United States v. Texas,
Se ee I caiccecsoncececnsntacusynsersuntnes 5
Univ. of Texas Sw. Med. Ctr. v. Nassar,
oe ee eS yg) rere 16
STATUTES
SS a.” SEE aeesonn rene aemm 17
I orc ccacentallatacsiiceidaaanienienans 17
SEI IIIII. cid cteccosisosinbentbacsencuunceaneiinl 11, 12, 18
SE ES HI vc. Chnniasssiedusscecaesnpeenstesntindgeunepennnes 8
is Te ee 1, 2, 4, 5, 6, 9, 10, 11,
12, 13, 15, 17, 20
i a oa en La alnteaaeadehaens 5
LEGISLATIVE MATERIALS
18 CONG. REC. 834 (1887)...............cc0cceceeeee 6
H.R. REP No. 49-1996 (1886)........................ 6, 17
S. REP. No. 49-206 (1886) ...................:00cceeees 18
OTHER AUTHORITIES
McCorRMICK ON EVIDENCE § 337 (7th ed.
STII tihashasreach nickle calacice i danieacatiniiancnadichdeasnlatbeiaes 17

Michael Macagnone, Apple v. Samsung
Could Spur ‘Patent Trolls,’ Tech Cos.
Warn, LAW360 (Aug. 2, 2016)................... 7

William F. Lee & A. Douglas Melamed,
Breaking the Vicious Cycle of Patent
Damages, 101 CORNELL L. REV 385
TT nsec nincieholaasotaiiianbmmeiniasbagpucsioumeten 8

INTRODUCTION

In its brief, Apple makes a remarkable about-face.
It now admits, agreeing with Samsung and the gov-
ernment, that Section 289 does not require an award
of the total profit on an entire product as sold. It now
admits, agreeing with Samsung and the government,
that the “article of manufacture” to which a patented
design is “applied” may be only a component of a prod-
uct. And it now admits, agreeing with Samsung and
the government, that, where the patented design is
applied only to a component of a product, the total
profit under Section 289 is the profit attributable to
the component, not the product. Those admissions are
correct and compel reversal on the record here.

Apple nonetheless urges affirmance, suggesting
that the district court and the Federal Circuit did
not actually apply an entire-product rule after all. But
the record will not bear such an attempt to rewrite the
rulings below. Apple argued before, during, and after
trial that Section 289 precludes any award less than
the total profit on an entire product as sold. The dis-
trict court agreed, instructing the jury that Section
289 precludes any award less than the total profit on
an entire product as sold. And the Federal Circuit
affirmed, holding that Section 289 precludes any
award less than the total profit on an entire product
as sold.

Apple also suggests that it was Samsung’s burden to
show that Apple’s patented designs applied only to
components of the accused phones, and that Samsung
failed to do so. But it was Apple, not Samsung, that
bore the burden of proving infringer’s profits. And
it was thus Apple’s burden to show that the patented
designs were applied to the entire phones, not

2

Samsung’s burden to show that they were not.
Because Apple put all its chips at trial on entitlement
to Samsung’s total profit on the entire phones as a
matter of law, it failed to make any such factual show-
ing. Nor could it have done so, for the unambiguous
evidence in the record, including the admissions of
Apple’s own witnesses, shows that Apple’s design
patents here cover only narrow components of a
phone—namely the front face, the front face with
bezel, and a single array of icons.

This Court therefore should reverse, and make clear
that Section 289 has the meaning on which Apple,
Samsung and the government now agree. If the Court
declines to reverse, it should nonetheless vacate and
remand for the parties to litigate the appropriate
amount of infringer’s profits under the correct inter-
pretation of Section 289.

ARGUMENT

I. SECTION 289 PRECLUDES RECOVERY
OF THE TOTAL PROFIT ON AN ENTIRE
PRODUCT WHERE A PATENTED DESIGN
IS APPLIED ONLY TO A COMPONENT OF
THE PRODUCT

A. An “Article Of Manufacture” Under Sec-
tion 289 May Be Less Than An Entire
Product, As Apple And The Govern-

ment Now Agree

The parties and the government have reached
consensus before this Court that Section 289 permits
an award of infringer’s profits from a component of
a product rather than the entire product. As the
government rightly explains, “(t]he phrase ‘article of
manufacture’ ... encompasses any item that is made

3

by human labor, including manufactured items that
are not sold as separate commodities but instead func-
tion as components of a larger product.” U.S. Br. 17;
see Resp. Br. 36; Pet’r Br. 29-31. As the parties and
the government likewise agree, the Patent Office and
the lower courts (e.g., in the Piano Cases) have “con-
strued the term ‘article of manufacture[]’ ... to include
components of larger products.” U.S. Br. 19; see Resp.
Br. 37, 40-41; Pet’r Br. 32-34. And all agree that, in
1952, Congress enacted Section 289 against that
backdrop. See U.S. Br. 19; Resp. Br. 30, 37; Pet’r Br.
44.

The parties and the government also now agree
that, where the relevant article of manufacture is a
component of a product, it follows that total profit is
limited to that attributable to the component, not the
entire product. For instance, Apple concurs with the
government and Samsung that “[t}he source of the
‘total profit’ for which the infringer ‘shall be liable” is
the “sale of the ‘article of manufacture to which the
design has been applied.” Resp. Br. 29 (quoting U.S.
Br. 11); see Pet’r Br. 24. And as the government ex-
plains, no separate sale of the component is required,
because “the sale of the complete product in commerce
is properly viewed as a sale of the component as well.”
U.S. Br. 19.

In contrast to these now-uniform positions, the
Federal Circuit held categorically that no component
may constitute an “article of manufacture” under

' Apple’s amici likewise concede that the relevant article of
manufacture can be less than the entire product as sold. See, e.g.,
ACT Br. 9 (“the ‘article of manufacture’ will not always be the
finished product that is sold in commerce”); Bison Br. 8 (“the
article of manufacture is not necessarily the entire product sold
to consumers’).

4

Section 289 unless it is “sold separately” to consumers.
Pet. App. 29a. As the government rightly states, the
Federal Circuit held that “the relevant ‘article of
manufacture’ is invariably the entire product as sold.”
U.S. Br. 8 (emphasis added). This reading of the
Federal Circuit’s rule is beyond serious dispute; even
Apple's amici agree that the Federal Circuit’s test
“considers whether the portion of the product contain-
ing the patented design is sold separately.” Nordock
Br. 2; see AIPLA Br. 6 (similar).

The Federal Circuit’s holding is contrary to the
statutory text, as the government correctly shows
(U.S. Br. 17-19) and as Samsung has consistently
argued (see Pet’r Br. 20-23, 28-34). Apple no longer
contends otherwise. Compare Resp. Br. 35-38 with
BIO 29-31. This Court should now confirm that
Section 289 permits an award of infringer’s profits in
a case like this one based on only a component of an
entire product.

B. Congress Did Not Abrogate Back-
ground Principles Of Causation In
Enacting Section 289

Background principles of causation likewise counsel!
interpreting “article of manufacture” as encompassing
a product component to which a patented design is
applied and not necessarily the entire product. Any
other imserpretation would permit windfalls unteth-
ered from the infringement. For example, infringe-
ment of a patented cupholder design could result in
an award of the total profit on a car—without proof
that the cupholder caused the entire car’s value. As
amici 50 Intellectual Property Professors explain (Br.
8), “basic principles of remedies law require a plaintiff

5

to show some connection between the damages and the
infringement.” See Pet’r Br. 35-39.

Apple and the government do not deny (see Resp. Br.
33-34; U.S. Br. 15) that Congress is presumed to have
“intend[ed] its legislation to incorporate” centuries-old
requirements of causation and proportionality, and
that this presumption may be overcome only if the
statute “speak(s] directly’ to the question.” Meyer v.
Holley, 537 U.S. 280, 285 (2003) (quoting United
States v. Texas, 507 U.S. 529, 534 (1993)); see, e.g.,
eBay, Inc. v. MercExchange, LLC, 547 U.S. 388, 391-

92 (2006).

Contrary to Apple’s assertion (Br. 33-34), Congress
made no such plain statement abrogating traditional
principles of causation here. To the contrary, Section
289 contains language expressly invoking causation
principles. The phrase “total profit” begs the question
of causation: total profit from what? The only plain
language in Section 289 touching on causation indi-
cates that the answer is “profit made from the infringe-
ment,” a standard “requirement of but-for causation,”
Burrage v. United States, 134 S. Ct. 881, 887-89 (2014)
(reviewing phrases like “results from,” “based on” and
“by reason of”); see Sheldon v. Metro-Goldwyn Pictures
Corp., 309 U.S. 390, 399 (1940); Dowagiac Mfg. Co. v.
Minn. Moline Plow Co., 235 U.S. 641, 648-51 (1915).?

* Apple identifies no statute in which Congress has been found
to have eliminated the requirement to prove causation. Apple
cites (Br. 34) CSX Transportation, Inc. v. McBride, 564 U.S. 685
(2011), but the statute there did not “eliminate[] the concept of
proximate cause,” id. at 700—it merely provided “a relaxed stand-
ard of causation,” id. at 691-92. And it did so explicitly by limiting
liability to cases where “injury or death resultled) in whole or in
part” from negligent conduct. 45 U.S.C. 51 (emphasis added).
Section 289 contains no similar language.

6

Nor, contrary to Apple’s suggestion (Br. 33), did the
1887 Congress signal any intent to abandon back-
ground principles of causation in enacting Section
289’s predecessor. To the contrary, the members of
Congress who spoke in favor of the bill focused exclu-
sively on products like “carpeting, oil-cloths, wall-
paper, and things of that sort”—-products as to which
“designs are the principal feature.” 18 CONG. REC.
834-35 (1887) (Rep. Martin);* see, e.g., H.R. Rep. No.
49-1996, at 3 (1886) (discussing decorative items
like “carpets and wall-papers and oil-clothes”).
Accordingly, when Congress found that “design sells
the article” and “makels] it possible to realize any
profit at all,” it did not find that “design drives sales”
in general, but rather that design drives sales where
(as with rugs) the design and product are nearly
coextensive. Thus, far from abrogating causation,
Congress at most exercised its fact-finding power to
presume causation in a limited class of cases where it
determined that the design causes sales of the article
of manufacture to which the design is applied—treliev-
ing a design-patent holder of the evidentiary burden of
proving as much. Congress did not indicate that it
would endorse any similar presumption for products
where (as here) design is not “the principal feature.”

‘ Apple disparages (Br. 33) Representative Martin's credibility
because he said he was not perfectly “familiar with the |1887
Act's! language employed about patents”—but he was speaking
there of the “colorable imitation” clause, not the remedies provi-
sion. 18 CONG. REC. 835.

7

C. Apple And Its Amici Fail To Dispel The
Adverse Practical Consequences Of The
Federal Circuit’s Rule

Apple does not dispute the harms the Federal Cir-
cuit’s rule would cause to innovation and competition
except to suggest (Br. 57-60) that they are speculative.
They are not. As amici supporting Samsung explain,
this Court’s affirmance of the Federal Circuit’s rule
would “transform a design patent into a sort of
super-utility patent, allowing a design patentee to con-
trol an industry in a way that would be nearly impos-
sible with utility patents.” CCIA Br. 5; see Public
Know. Br. 8. And it would open up new frontiers of
litigation that would stifle the very innovation that the
patent system seeks to encourage, leaving “legally un-
sophisticated entrepreneurs” (Engine Advocacy Br.
16) and “small companies lacking diverse product
lines” (HLF Br. 8) especially vulnerable. See Internet
Ass’n Br. 28.

Apple protests (Br. 57, 59) that, if such consequences
were likely, they already would have come about. But
cases like this one have not arisen frequently in the
past only because the Federal Circuit had never
before announced a rule that a design patent for a com-
ponent of a complex product like a smartphone could
be a litigation ticket to total profit on the entire phone.
Affirmance would create new and “outsized incen-
tives” for design-patent applications and lawsuits
(Engine Advocacy Br. 24), inspire a new “cottage
industry of opportunistic litigation” (Public Know. Br.
16), and embolden patent trolls to use design patents
as their new weapon of choice (CCIA Br. 15-16).*

* See Michael Macagnone, Apple v. Samsung Could Spur
‘Patent Trolls,’ Tech Cos. Warn, LAW360 (Aug. 2, 2016),

8

Apple alternatively suggests (Br. 58) that there is no
reason to fear such negative consequences because
design similarities can arise only through deliberate
copying. Not so. To begin with, Apple’s tired refrain
that Samsung supposedly “copied” the iPhone may
have worked with a jury but should be disregarded in
this Court, especially in light of the record evidence
that Samsung and others independently developed
rectangular, round-cornered, flat-faced phones before
Apple released the iPhone."

In any event, Apple’s suggestion is unavailing
because “[platent infringement is a strict liability
offense,” William F. Lee & A. Douglas Melamed,
Breaking the Vicious Cycle of Patent Damages, 101
CORNELL L. REV. 385, 403-04 (2016); see Aro Mfg. Co.
v. Convertible Top Replacement Co., 377 U.S. 476, 484
(1964). Thus, contrary to Apple’s suggestion (Br. 30
n.7), “notice and marking requirement(s]” would
not protect against innocent infringement. See 35
U.S.C. 287 (either marking or actual notice permits
recovery for infringement). Indeed, Apple did not
mark its phones with the patents at issue, and
Samsung was already designing and selling accused
phones by the time Apple gave notice. See Pet. App.
141a. Moreover, design patents are easily issued,
often in a crowded field, and often for designs that

http://www .law360.com/appellate/articles/822904/apple-v-sam
sung-could-spur-patent-trolls-tech-cos-warn.

* See Pet’r Br. 5; J.A. 262-64; J.A. 354; J.A. 506-10; J.A. 217-
18; J.A. 211. Apple’s suggestion (Br. 2, 9, 52) that Samsung
“copied” Apple's front face out of a “crisis of design” is especially
disingenuous; the referenced “crisis” concerned problems with an
old, pre-Android operating system, not the look of Samsung’s
products. See J.A. 417 (referring to Windows-based phone, see
JA. 410); J.A. 147; J.A. 300; Dkt. 2842 at 1047.

9

include structural and non-ornamental functional
features. Cf. Pet. App. 10a-18a (holding Apple’s trade
dresses on the same designs invalid as functional).
Thus, contrary to Apple’s suggestion (Br. 58), award-
ing the total profit on an entire product containing
an infringing component will impose punitive
consequences on many innocent infringers who have
no intent to copy an ornamental design. See Pet’r Br.
50-51; Internet Ass’n Br. 24-27

Nor are Apple and its amici correct to suggest that
ordinary infringement rules will prevent dispropor-
tionate design-patent awards under the Federal
Circuit’s interpretation of Section 289. Some amici
argue that a finding of infringement necessarily
means that an infringer has “captured sales” of
an entire product, making the total profit on the
entire product an appropriate remedy. See Industrial
Design Prof'ls Br. 25; Cleveland Golf Br. 15-16; see also
Resp. Br. 53-54. But that is incorrect, for design-
patent law (unlike other areas of law such as trade-
mark) does not require any showing of consumer con-
fusion, nor was there any evidence below that any
consumer bought a Samsung phone thinking it was
an iPhone. Cf. Pet. App. 162a (instructions); id. 24a
(affirming same). Thus, it is wrong to suggest that an
infringement finding is a proxy for causation.

Apple asserts that the ordinary consumer “would
never confuse a cupholder design with a car or think
that a cupholder gave a car its ‘peculiar or distinctive
appearance.” Resp. Br. 53 (quoting Gorham v. White,
81 U.S. 511, 525 (1871)). But Apple overlooks that
the governing “ordinary observer” test compares the
claimed design and the portions of the accused product
that correspond to that design, disregarding other
product design features. See, e.g., Apple Inc. v.

10

Samsung Elecs. Co., 678 F.3d 1314, 1326-27 (Fed. Cir.
2012) (requiring comparison of only claimed features
of design patents for invalidity analysis); Contessa
Food Prods., Inc. v. Conagra, Inc., 282 F.3d 1370, 1378
(Fed. Cir. 2002) (same for infringement analysis;
“lilf features appearing in the figures are not desired
to be claimed, the patentee is permitted to show the
features in broken lines to exclude those features from
the claimed design”). Thus, contrary to amici’s argu-
ment (Industrial Design Prof'ls Br. 30), it is irrelevant
whether an ordinary observer would confuse a Jeep
with a Porsche in a case involving infringement of a
cupholder design. Yet under the Federal Circuit's
rule, infringement of the cupholder design would still
entitle the patent-holder to the total profit on the Jeep
that incorporated the cupholder—a plainly untenable
result.

In contrast, no adverse practical consequences will
flow from awarding only profits from the “article of
manufacture” to which a design is applied. Apple’s
amici suggest (see Nike Br. 21-30; Tiffany Br. 14-19;
Crocs Br. 17-21) that a _ total-profit-on-the-product
rule is needed to deter counterfeiters. But where a
patented design is applied to an article that is
coextensive with a product (like a rug or a shoe), the
total profit on the product will still be available under
Section 289. And if the patented design is applied only
to a component of a product (like a heel or a sole of a
shoe), then any infringement would not amount to
“counterfeiting,” and an award of the total profit on the
entire product would be disproportionate. Moreover,
design-patent holders still may obtain awards of lost
profits under Section 284—obviating amici’s concern
that consumers would be diverted to counterfeit prod-
ucts. There is thus no need to require disgorgement of
all profits on products as sold in all instances, no

1]

matter how trivial the patented design; counterfeiting
will be deterred even absent such a draconian rule.

Il. CONTRARY TO APPLE’S ARGUMENT,
THIS COURT SHOULD REVERSE OR
VACATE THE JUDGMENT BELOW

Abandoning its defense of the entire-product rule on
the merits, Apple suggests that the courts below did
not in fact limit Section 289 awards to the total profit
on the entire product and that Samsung in any event
was obliged to show that the relevant “articles of
manufacture” were not its entire phones. Both of
Apple’s suggestions are incorrect.

A. Apple Cannot Rewrite The Decisions
Below

1. The District Court’s Jury Instruc-
tions Misconstrued Section 289

a. As the government recognizes (U.S. Br. 31-32),
the district court instructed the jury—at Apple's
request—to award all of Samsung’s profits on the
products it sold by “equatling] the relevant ‘article of
manufacture’ with the accused phones as a whole.”
See Pet. App. 165a (Instruction No. 54); see also Pet’r
Br. 21, 58-59.

Contrary to Apple’s suggestion (Br. 47), viewing that
instruction in “context” cannot dispel its invocation of
an entire-product rule. The district court’s instruc-
tions used the words “product” and “article” inter-
changeably in phrases like “profits from sales of
products” and “profit on the sale of the article” (or
“total profit attributable to the infringing products”
and “all profit earned by that defendant on sales of
articles”). Pet. App. 165a (emphases added); id. (also
indiscriminately using “articles” in relation to revenue

12

and “products” in relation to costs). Apple is also
wrong to suggest (see Br. 45, 47) that the phrase “may
award” meant that the jury could find an “article of
manufacture” less than the entire product. That
instruction just meant that the jury may award either
total profit under Section 289 or a lost-profits or rea-
sonable-royalty remedy under Section 284. J.A. 268-
y 2

And far from telling the jurors that the instruction
allowed them to determine the articles of manufacture
for themselves (see Resp. Br. 42-48), Apple argued the
opposite in closing. Capitalizing on the instruction it
had obtained, Apple told the jury: “[Ajs [the district
judge] just told you, Congress awards the entire profit
on a product, not just part of that product.” Dkt. 1997
at 4124 (emphasis added).

Apple likewise errs in suggesting (Br. 45-46) that
Samsung somehow assented to the district court’s
instructions. Apple buries in a footnote its admission
that Samsung’s operative proposed instruction re-
ferred to profits on “articles,” not “products.” Jd. 46
n.16; J.A. 203-04. And Samsung plainly objected to
the district court’s instruction. J.A. 246-47

b. Apple also fails to justify the court’s failure
to give Samsung’s proposed article-of-manufacture
instruction. See J.A. 206-07 (Instruction No. 42.1); see
also Pet’r Br. 20-21. Contrary to Apple’s suggestion
(Br. 44), there was ample evidence in the record to
support that instruction. See infra, at 20-22. But
Apple successfully objected by arguing that, under
Section 289, “a patent holder may recover total profits
on ‘the article of manufacture” and that “[t]he Federal
Circuit in Nike explains that this refers to the product
that is sold.” J.A. 208 (emphasis added).

13

Apple’s new attacks on Samsung’s proposed instruc-
tion are unfounded. Contrary to Apple’s suggestion
(Br. 44), Samsung did not ask the court to tell the
jury that the “article of manufacture” was a portion of
the product as a matter of law, but rather that “(t]he
article to which Apple’s design was applied may be the
same as or different from Sam_.uing’s devices as sold”
(J.A. 207 (emphasis added)). Also contrary to Apple’s
suggestion (Br. 45), the court could have properly told
the jury that, where the relevant article of manufac-
ture was only a “part or portion of the product,” the
award should not include profits from other parts of
the product, including “the technology by which the
devices operate or from any other functions of the
devices.” J.A. 207. Even if Samsung’s proposed
instruction had been deficient, the district court was
obliged to modify it rather than omit it altogether. See,
e.g., Hunter v. Cty. of Sacramento, 652 F.3d 1225, 1235
n.11 (9th Cir. 2011).®

2. The Federal Circuit Misconstrued
Section 289

The Federal Circuit adopted the same categorical
rule as the district court. Rather than defend the
Federal Circuit’s rule, Apple now seeks (Br. 41) to
rewrite the decision below to try to take advantage of
the government’s argument (U.S. Br. 25-27) that
determining the relevant article of manufacture is a
question for the finder of fact based on the totality of

* Transportation Line v. Hope, 95 U.S. 297 (1877) (cited in
Resp. Br. 45), is not to the contrary. This Court there held that
the charge given on the issue was correct, and thus there was no
duty to give a competing and erroneous instruction in its place;
nothing was said about omitting an instruction on an issue
altogether. /d. at 299-301.

14
the circumstances. But contrary to Apple’s assertion,

the Federal Circuit nowhere suggested that the
district court’s instructions had allowed the jury here
to decide as a factual matter what the relevant articles
of manufacture were, or to determine profits accord-
ingly. See Pet. App. 29a.

Any doubt that the Federal Circuit adopted a cate-
gorical product-as-sold rule is dispelled by that court’s
own interpretation and application of the decision
below. In Nordock, Inc. v. Systems Inc., 803 F.3d 1344
(Fed. Cir 2015), pet. for cert. filed, No. 15-978 (Jan. 28,
2016), the plaintiff's expert calculated profits based on
the entire product (a dock leveler), and the defendant's
expert calculated profits based on the accused compo-
nent as shown in the patent (a lip and hinge plate).
The Federal Circuit did not treat the choice between
the two as an issue of fact but rather held, as a matter
of law, that “the article of manufacture at issue is a
dock leveler” rather than the “lip and hinge plate”
because the defendant did not sell “a ‘lip and hinge
plate’ separate from the leveler as a complete unit.”
Id. at 1354-56. In support, the Federal Circuit cited
its decision in this case. Id. at 1354 (citing Pet. App.
29a).’

’ Contrary to Apple's suggestion (Br. 55), Pacific Coast Marine
Windshields Ltd. v. Malibu Boats, LLC, 2014 WL 4185297 (M.D.
Fla. Aug. 22, 2014), applied the same categorical rule, relying on
the district court's decision below, id. at *11 (citing Pet. App.
133a). The court ruled as a matter of law that “Pacific is entitled
to Malibu's profits from the sale of its boats with the windshield”
because “Malibu sells boats, to which patented windshields have
been applied.” Id. (emphasis added).

15

B. This Court Should Reverse And Direct
Judgment For Samsung

The Federal Circuit’s misinterpretation of Section
289 necessitates reversal. On the existing record, no
reasonable jury could find that the relevant articles
of manufacture were Samsung’s entire phones. And
because Apple adopted an all-or-nothing strategy, it
furnished no basis for a reasonable jury to award
profits on any article of manufacture less than the en-
tire phones. Samsung is therefore entitled to entry of
judgment in its favor.

1. The Patent Claims Themselves
Delimit The Relevant Articles Of
Manufacture

While the government identifies (U.S. Br. 27-29)
four “considerations” to guide the determination of the
article of manufacture to which a design has been ap-
plied (all of which favor Samsung, see infra, at 20-22),
the patent claim itself is by far the most important.
As Apple acknowledges (Br. 53), the scope of the in-
fringer’s profits remedy should be tied to the scope of
infringement. See Pet’r Br. 50; U.S. Br. 23-24. But the
infringement inquiry compares a claimed design with
the corresponding portion of the accused product, not
with other unaccused portions of the product or
the product as a whole. The “article of manufacture”
used to determine infringer’s profits should likewise
correspond to the patent claim and the portion of the
product accused of infringing it, in keeping with tradi-
tional principles of causation. Accordingly, where, as
here, a patent holder asserts only a partial claim
against only discrete portions of a product, the corre-
sponding article of manufacture cannot be the entire
product.

16

And because the principal consideration for the
article-of-manufacture inquiry is the patent claim
itself, in most instances the determination may be
conducted by a court rather than a jury. The district
courts, rather than juries, determine claim construc-
tion, Markman v. Westview Instruments, Inc., 517 U.S.
370, 390 (1996), even where fact disputes exist, Teva
Pharms. USA, Inc. v. Sandoz, Inc., 135 S. Ct. 831, 835
(2015). Similarly here, judicial “construction” of the
article of manufacture to which a design patent is
applied would promote “uniformity” and eliminate
“uncertainty” as to what the patent procvects. Mark-
man, 517 U.S. at 390.

2. Apple Bore The Burden Of Identify-
ing The Relevant Articles Of Manu-
facture

Apple, as the party seeking infringer’s profits, bore
the burden of identifying the relevant articles of man-
ufacture. The “ordinary default rule” is that “plaintiffs
bear the burden of persuasion regarding the essential!
aspects of their claims.” Schaffer v. Weast, 546 U.S.
49, 56-57 (2005). “Absent some reason to believe that
Congress intended otherwise ... the burden of persua-
sion lies where it usually falls, upon the party seeking
relief.” Id. at 56,57 Thus, in patent cases, “|t]he bur-
den of proving damages falls on the patentee.” Lucent
Techs., Inc. v. Gateway, Inc., 580 F.3d 1301, 1324 (Fed.
Cir. 2009); see Uniloc USA, Inc. v. Microsoft Corp. , 632
F.3d 1292, 1315 (Fed. Cir. 2011). And, likewise, it is
traditionally the plaintiffs burden to prove causa-
tion—i.e., that the legal wrong caused injury. See, e.g.,
Univ. of Texas Sw. Med. Ctr. v. Nassar, 133 S. Ct.
2517, 2524 (2013).

17

Nothing in the text of Section 289 reveals any intent
to impose any burden of proof on defendants, in sharp
contrast to other profits-disgorgement statutes that
explicitly shift burdens to defendants, see, e.g., 15
U.S.C. 1117(a) (trademark); 17 U.S.C. 504(b) (copy-
right). Moreover, the legislative history is clear that
the default burden applies: “the patentee recovers the
profit actually made on the infringing article if he can
prove that profit.” H.R. REP. No. 49-1966, at 3 (empha-
sis added).*

The government proposes (U.S. Br. 31) shifting the
burden to defendants based on a supposed asymmetry
of information. But the “peculiar means of knowledge”
mentioned in Alaska Department of Environmental
Conservation v. EPA, 540 U.S. 461, 494 n.17 (2004);
see Medtronic, Inc. v. Mirowski Family Ventures, LLC,
134 S. Ct. 843, 851 (2014) (similar), refers to situations
where there is “exclusive knowledge in one party” such
that that party alone can prove or disprove a fact at
issue. 2 MCCORMICK ON EVIDENCE § 337 (7th ed.
2013) (emphasis added). There is no reason to believe
that design-patent defendants will have exclusive
access to relevant information that the plaintiff does
not already have or could not obtain in discovery.
Apple does not suggest in its brief that it lacked any
information relevant to determining the articles
of manufacture. And, in any event, Congress has
already addressed any potential problems of proof by
setting a statutory minimum floor for potential
recovery. See H.R. REP. No. 49-1966, at 3 (“[Tlo meet

—_——

* Apple cites authorities (Br. 38) holding that damages are gen-
erally an issue of fact, but those cases say nothing about shifting
the burden of proving damages to defendants. See Story Parch-
ment Co. v. Paterson Parchment Paper Co., 282 U.S. 555, 562
(1931); Pearson v. Duane, 71 U.S. 605, 614 (1867).

18

the case when the exact profit in dollars and cents
cannot be proved ... the bill prescribes a minimum
recovery of $250.”); S. Rep. No. 49-206, at 2 (1886)
(similar); see also 35 U.S.C. 284. There is thus no
statutory basis for shifting any burden to design-
patent defendants.

3. No Properly Instructed Jury Could
Have Found For Apple On This
Record

Apple’s failures of proof warrant entry of judgment
for Samsung. Apple neither opposed nor appealed the
district court’s proper instruction that it was Apple’s
burden “to prove the defendant’s profits.” J.A. 268.
Apple made a strategic decision to prove only Sam-
sung’s profits on the entire accused phones. See Resp.
Br. 21. And even though it was asserting only patents
with narrow claims, Apple chose not to offer any
alternative calculation of profits attributable to the
components of Samsung’s phones corresponding to the
claimed designs. To the contrary, Apple insisted in the
district court that it was entitled as a matter of law to
Samsung’s total profit on its entire phones.*

But Apple presented no evidence that the entire
Samsung phones were the relevant articles of manu-

* See, e.g., Dkt. 940-1 at 21; Dkt. 1059-1 at 12 (Apple's Daubert
motion to preclude Samsung’s damages expert from testifying
to any total-profit amount less than that on the entire phones),
Dkt. 1189 at 18 (Apple’s pretrial statement, arguing that it was
“entitled to recover all of Samsung's profits relating to the
accused products”) (emphasis added); Dkt. 1323 at 21 (Apple's
trial brief, arguing that it was entitled to “all profits received
by the infringer for sale of the product”) (emphasis added); supra,
at 12.

19

facture. Apple tries to overcome that glaring defi-
ciency now by suggesting (Br. 54) that the three
asserted patents together evoke the “look and feel” of
an iPhone and thus make the entire phone the rele-
vant article of manufacture. But “look and feel” is not
a patentable subject matter, and the three narrow
designs that Apple actually patented and asserted
here (a front face, a front face with bezel and a specific
array of icons) claim only fractional portions of a
phone. See Pet’r Br. 6-9. In any event, Apple omits to
mention that its supposed three-patent combination
played no role whatsoever in the $399 million award.
To the contrary, the jury found that ten of the eleven
phones at issue infringed only a single patent, and that
none of those phones infringed all three. See Pet’r Br.
19 & n.10."°

The only reasonable conclusion is that the relevant
articles of manufacture were less than the entire
phones. But Apple offered no proof of Samsung’s total
profit from anything less than the entire phones,
thereby failing to prove the total profit attributable to
the relevant articles of manufacture. In these circum-
stances, reversal is warranted. See, e.g., Boyle v.
United Techs. Corp., 487 U.S. 500, 513 (1988) (judg-
ment may be entered for defendant “without a new
trial” where “the evidence presented in the first trial
would not suffice, as a matter of law, to support a jury
verdict” for the plaintiff under correct instructions).''

Apple cites (Br. 21-22 n.6) evidence that it intended to make
a “beautiful object” (e.g., J.A. 97) and that some consumers value
“design” in general (J.A. 107-10; J.A. 310), but such evidence
shows nothing about whether profits on any Samsung phone were
attributable to any of the narrow patented designs.

'' Apple asserts (Br. 48-49) that Samsung did not challenge
the sufficiency of the evidence, but ignores that Samsung argued

20

C. Alternatively, This Court Should
Vacate And Remand For Further
Proceedings

1. If Samsung is not entitled to judgment as a
matter of law, then at minimum a new trial on design-
patent damages is warranted because the district
court failed to properly instruct the jury. See supra, at
11-13. Contrary to Apple’s new argument (Br. 42-44),
ample evidence supported instructing the jury that the
relevant articles of manufacture could be something
less than Samsung’s entire phones, as application of
the government’s four considerations (U.S. Br. 27-29)
makes clear:

First, the jury heard undisputed evidence that “the
scope of the design[s} claimed in the plaintiffs
patent[s)” was limited to discrete portions of the
products. The parties’ experts agreed that the patents
were limited in scope to the front face, bezel, and
single GUI screen, with all other design elements
disclaimed. J.A. 149-50; J.A. 153; J.A. 169; J.A. 175;
Dkt. 1840 at 2579-80.

Second, the jury also heard abundant evidence
concerning “the relative prominence of the design(s]
within the product[s}) as a whole” and whether there
were “other components unaffected by the design|s].”
For the D’677 and D’087 patents, Apple’s media
articles about Samsung’s devices showed that non-
accused components, particularly the entire “curved
plastic back” casing on the phones and “curved candy

below that no properly instructed jury could have awarded
Samsung's entire profits on the accused phones. See Samsung
C.A. Br. 39-40. Apple is thus wrong to suggest (Br. 49 n.20) that
there must be a damages retrial if this Court holds that the courts
below interpreted Section 289 incorrectly.

21

bar shape,” were distinct parts of the phones’ external
appearance that did not embody the claimed designs.
J.A. 359-61. The evidence also showed that Apple
changed the appearance of the back and sides of the
iPhone, not the front face, to offer new designs to
consumers. Reply App. la-3a. For the D’305 patent,
the jury heard that the “applications screens” found
to infringe on the Samsung phones were buried
several layers deep in the user interface. J.A. 174-76.
And there was substantial evidence regarding the
importance of functionality in the parties’ smart-
phones that was unrelated to the designs at issue. See
Pet’r Br. 9-10, 57-58.

Third, the jury also heard unequivocal evidence that
the patented designs were “conceptually distinct
from the product(s] as a whole.” Apple’s experts, in
their infringement analyses, intentionally ignored
numerous dissimilar portions of Samsung’s product
designs that did not correspond to the patent claims.
Dkt. 1611 at 1016, 1050-51, 1059; J.A. 175. Further,
for the D’677 and D’087 patents, Apple’s own exhibit
described the phones’ various accused and unaccused
external features as distinct components. J.A. 359.
And the jury heard hours of testimony and saw exhib-
its about numerous applications and GUI screens that
are displayed on the phones quite apart from the
specific array of icons depicted in the D’305 patent—
including, for example, the home screen, web browser,
contacts program, and picture gallery. E.g., Dkt. 1695
at 1741-1907; J.A. 174-76; J.A. 495; Reply App. 5a,
lla.

Fourth, as to the “physical relationship between
the patented design and the rest of the product,” the
jury heard that each “design pertains to a component
that a user or seller can physically separate from the

22

product” or “is embodied in a component that is
manufactured separately from the rest of the product.”
For the D’677 and D’087 patents, witnesses described
how the various parts of the phones were separately
manufactured and assembled in relation to one
another, including the glass surface and bezel. J.A.
127-29; Dkt. 1840 at 2605, 2610; see J.A. 99-100. The
jury also saw an Apple presentation showing all of the
components of a Samsung phone separated. Reply
App. 4a-1la. And for the D’305 patent, the jury heard
that the applications menu was separable because it
could be changed through a software update without
needing to alter any other part of the phone. See Dkt.
2842 at 996, 1030; see also Dkt. 1842 at 3195-96.

There was ample evidence in the record entitling
Samsung to its requested instruction, and at mini-
mum a new trial is warranted.

2. A new trial would be especially warranted if this
Court were to adopt a new and sui generis rule impos-
ing a burden on design-patent defendants to prove the
relevant article of manufacture and the profits there-
from. The parties never joined issue on the burden
question, and the courts below never decided it.
Because no such rule was raised or contemplated in
the courts below, Samsung should have a “fair oppor-
tunity to litigate [its] case in light of [the Court’s] hold-
ing.” Hertz Corp. v. Friend, 559 U.S. 77, 95-97 (2010).

23

CONCLUSION
The judgment of the court of appeals should be

reversed or vacated.

MICHAEL T. ZELLER

B. DYLAN PROCTOR

QUINN EMANUEL URQUHART
& SULLIVAN, LLP

865 S. Figueroa Street

10th Floor

Los Angeles, CA 90017

(213) 443-3000

VICTORIA F. MAROULIS

BRETT J. ARNOLD

QUINN EMANUEL URQUHART
& SULLIVAN, LLP

555 Twin Dolphin Drive

5th Floor

Redwood Shores, CA 94065

(650) 801-5000

Respectfully submitted,

KATHLEEN M. SULLIVAN
Counsel Of Record
WILLIAM B. ADAMS
DAVID M. COOPER
CLELAND B. WELTON II
QUINN EMANUEL URQUHART
& SULLIVAN, LLP
51 Madison Avenue
22nd Floor
New York, NY 10010
(212) 849-7000
kathleensullivan@
quinnemanuel.com

Counsel for Petitioners

August 29, 2016

APPENDIX

rAHIB
Plaintiffs Exhibit No

iPhone First Generation

Plaintiffs Exhibit No. &

iPhone First Generation

iPhone 3G

Plaintiffs Exhibit No

iPhone 3G

Plaintiff's Exhibit N«

da

APPENDIX B

DEFENDANTS’ EXHIBIT NO. 2519

’
i

2519.00

ds

Defendants’ Exhibit No

cc». -—/]s

8 a meN SUCUYgI/Pog

(LUBIQIA a]IQoW-| )
S Axeyey Bunswes

WMO PIP3) HUI)

—_——s

Stee 2 Remowe batrery

quo y Gusnoy-piw 3eQ GuBroyt A

wou Puvsvy 22PQ PUUelUy

1B NQWPtHY Be Ol; NQuidtty g >

~~
use MYA /V WK

Spe > WIS/OS

1034 NQUWI8SSY Gd

anpow Crave

it

.

sluaUOdWwC

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0640%3A14. Public record. Not legal advice.
