# Reply Brief — United States v. Texas, 136 S. Ct. 2271 (2016) (No. 15-674)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0635%3A21

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Reply Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2016

## Text

ee

FILE®
APR 11 20%

No. 15-674 OFFICE OF THE Lm

IN THE
Supreme Court of the Gnited States

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, ET AL..,
Petitioners,
Vv.

STATE OF TEXAS, ET AL.,
Respondents.
On Writ of Certiorari to the United States
Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit

REPLY BRIEF FOR INTERVENORS-
RESPONDENTS JANE DOES

ADAM P. KOHSWEENEY THOMAS A. SAENZ

GABRIEL MARKOFF NINA PERALES

WARD A. PENFOLD (Counsel of Record)
SAMUEL WILSON MEXICAN AMERICAN LEGAL
MALLORY JENSEN DEFENSE AND EDUCATIONAL
JUAN CAMILO MENDEZ FUND

REMI MONCEL 110 Broadway, Ste. 300
O"MELVENY & MYERS LLP San Antonio, TX 78205
Two Embarcadero Center (210) 224-5476

San Francisco, CA 94111 nperales@ maldef.org
DARCY M. MEALS LINDA J. SMITH

JEREMY R. GIRTON* DLA PIPER LLP
O'MELVENY & MYERS LLP 2000 Avenue of the Stars
Washington, DC 20006 Los Angeles, CA 90067

*Not yet admitted; supervised
by principals of the firm.

Attorneys for Intervenors- Respondents Jane Does

A.

C.

i

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Respondents Cannot Sue Because
The Guidance Does Not Affect
Their Sovereign Interests..............

The Alleged Financial Injuries Do
Not Meet The Requirements Of
Injury-In-Fact, Causation, Or
I is natnremmciesinnindvabe

Massachusetts v. EPA Is
SIN «1c sascsccateesuerbsguiiaiuiuenesnis

I]. RESPONDENTS’ APA CLAIMS FAIL

A.

“Lawful Presence” Is Not A Status

Or Classification Established By
oS FRESE AE RSE ae ae sen wee

The Guidance Is Not Reviewable
I I Bi Rinicsnccinevecsscesecesesssas

The Guidance Is A Non-Binding
Policy Statement Exempt From
Notice-And-Comment ....................

II]. RESPONDENTS CANNOT ASSERT
A CLAIM UNDER THE TAKE CARE

vom 12

PT iin ntntinhiniitannpiniiemertncamapiisnpiasearcatinens 24

rf)

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES

Alfred L. Snapp & Son, Inc. v. Puerto
Rico,

GD Cs Ee CRIN kecniscecscesssccsesevscnccnssssees

Appalachian Power Co. v. EPA,

208 F.3d 1015 (D.C. Cir. 2000)..................

Arizona Christian Sch. Tuition Org. v.
Winn,

uk fT: } | eer een

Arizona v. United States,

oe ee. ee

Arpaio v. Obama,

797 F.3d 11 (D.C. Cir. 2015) .............00000

Arizona Dream Act Coalition v. Brewer,
2016 WL 1358378 (9th Cir. Apr. 5,

Baylor Univ. Med. Ctr. v. Heckler,

758 F.2d 1052 (5th Cir. 1985) ................++.

Bob Jones Univ. v. United States,

ey Te CD Benescnecescsnenieintosinnisswienes

Chrysler Corp. v. Brown,

GEE TE, ee CRT OD cocssscenenescsveazvesscnesccssaese

Clapper v. Amnesty Int'l USA,

RSS T. Ch, BE GGG ccvesiviesovesccsscesscsoesses

Crawford v. Marion Cnty. Election Bd.,

Be SF WURO GI vcr etnstcessccmncanscennssooesees

Page(s)

saninalendes 23

ill

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
(continued)
Page(s)

Heckler v. Chaney,

ye bik St eee ete 15, 16, 17
Mada-Luna v. Fitzpatrick,

SERA GG. f To 1; er eens 23
Massachusetts v. EPA,

yi EAE EE te 9, 10, 11
Perez v. Mortgage Bankers Ass'n,

t F ie SB). |. | RTRs A 23
Pub. Citizen v. Dep't of State,

S76 F.3G C34 GD.C. Car. BOGE) caseccccvcscocesecsceccesssecs 23
Pub. Citizen, Inc. v. Nuclear Regulatory

Comm'n,

fs fy, fi lome A: | ee = 21
Reno v. American-Arab Anti-

Discrimination Comm..,

ds Ee Beer 13, 15, 16
Sure-Tan, Inc. v. NLRB,

Yc gek & f. Reece wren eRe S 3
Valley Forge Christian Coll. v.

Americans United for Separation of

Church & State,

SG GE ee Ce wie hcsninidsticcdeitnsnnichstvercseseesindadinn 2

Vermont Yankee Nuclear Power Corp. v.
Nat. Res. Def. Council, Inc.,

00 0. WU II ooo ciettnetracsnrttccet 23

Wyoming v. Dep't of Interior,
O74 FD TBD CRG Cae, DEED csisncaseisecnsssccestivccses 4

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
(continued)
Page(s)

Youngstown Sheet & Tube Co. v.

Sawyer,

oid lcasccniusenenensatencousonte 24
Zivotofsky ex rel. Zivotofsky v. Clinton,

EE bce nnisvenahedubeonnsavensevenscncesnonece 24
CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS AND STATUTES
io ian rcreipasupanenatsneunennceosens 22
i scascrsndcransbennioniowses 17
Oe a. sssscesceseceanavsacessesens 15, 17
a aemensaesnensebenionens 10
EEN a 17
ee Oe IED cc scccocssexcceszsssccicessoveees 14, 20
IED oi cnnencadnnnvatsnccessnctenensenncces 13
OD Oe IT sscnsvosncncetsonsaverennscocsooscoes 14
Eee 19
oii esnnteecsiceiinnsinbsitnedeannensen 14, 20
ES 14, 20
cassis awnnninsbineicontaanacadads 14, 20
a ladisenmmennnssiennnems 10
REGULATORY MATERIALS
oes cisisasidiaidsasanansansaanansanen 20
ian ciscttnicdenininnnsagniies 20

I se eiariesintilninn 19

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
(continued)

28 C.F.R. § 1100.35 (b)(2) .o..cccccccccceseceeseoveveees
yt 2 EF * eee
46 Fed. Reg. 25,079 (1981)......ccccccccceceeseeeeees

OTHER AUTHORITIES

13B Charles A. Wright et al., Federal
Practice & Procedure

§ 3531.11.1 & nn.4-5 (3d ed. 2008) ...........

Tex. Dep't of Pub. Safety, Driver
License Division,
https://www.txdps.state.tx.us/DriverL

ee ec aeaaamasiaoiae

Tex. Dep't of Pub. Safety, Operating
Budget for Fiscal Year 2014,
I].A.2, IT1.A.38, I'V.D.5 (Dec. 1, 2013),
https://www.dps.texas.gov/LBB/opera

i uiiiinceesensretwnnctticnstesintenesecsenses

l
INTRODUCTION

Respondents’ brief proves that their grievance is
a mere political dispute that does not belong in fed-
eral court. While they argue without support that
they can sue to enjoin the Executive's immigration
enforcement decisions based on incidental budgetary
costs, they fail to explain how those costs are actual
or imminent, certainly impending, or fairly traceable
to the Guidance. Moreover, their concessions negate
redressability and reveal the internal inconsistency
of their arguments.

Respondents now admit that the Secretary could
lawfully decline to remove every single immigrant
who meets the Guidance’s eligibility criteria—
including by affirmatively granting hypothetical!
“low-priority identification cards” on a class-wide ba-
sis. Resps.’ Br. 39 (quotation omitted). But the re-
lief they admit the Secretary can grant is no differ-
ent in effect from deferred action under the Guid-
ance, and it would also allow recipients to apply for
work authorization and benefits by operation of oth-
er laws. Pet. App. 413a. Being “lawfully present” in
this way does not mean that the non-citizen receives
an immigration status or classification, and it does
not bestow substantive rights or provide a defense to
removal. Pet. App. 419a. Rather, the phrase “law-
fully present,” which is not defined in the INA, is an
informa] term describing the condition necessarily
resulting either from having lawful immigration sta-
tus under the INA, or from being a removable non-
citizen whose presence is known to and temporarily
tolerated by the Secretary under the enforcement
discretion Respondents admit he possesses.

2

This admission concedes Respondents’ case.
Their alleged injuries are not redressable because,
while they speculate that enjoining the Guidance
will eliminate all costs allegedly resulting from
grants of deferred action, they admit the Secretary
could still defer removal for all DAPA-eligible immi-
grants even if the Guidance remains enjoined. Their
APA claims fail, because there is no difference be-
tween grants of deferred action under the Guidance
and the deferred removals Respondents admit are
lawful and unreviewable. Resps.’ Br. 39, 69.

Finally, Respondents’ admission forecloses their
purported claim under the Take Care Clause. Even
if the Clause allowed justiciable claims against the
Executive, the Guidance constitutes a faithful at-
tempt to enforce immigration law by channeling dis-
cretionary relief on a case-by-case basis to help en-
sure uniform enforcement, consistent with the prior-
ities set by Congress. Because Respondents concede
that such relief is lawful, their claims fail.

ARGUMENT
I. THERE IS NO STANDING

A. Respondents Cannot Sue Because The
Guidance Does Not Affect Their Sover-
eign Interests

Respondents ask the Judiciary to interfere with
the Executive’s enforcement of immigration law,
thereby violating the separation of powers. But fed-
eral court is not the “forum in which to air [one’s]
grievances about the conduct of government or the
allocation of power in the Federal System.” Valley
Forge Christian Coll. v. Americans United for Sepa-
ration of Church & State, 454 U.S. 464, 479 (1982).

3

Respondents have no sovereign interest in the en-
forcement of immigration law, Arizona v. United
States, 132 S. Ct. 2492, 2506-07 (2012); Sure-Tan,
Inc. v. NLRB, 467 U.S. 883, 897 (1984), and thus
may not use the federal courts to “usurp the powers
of the political branches.” Clapper v. Amnesty Int
USA, 133 S. Ct. 1138, 1146 (2013).

Respondents seek to avoid this bar with the pre-
text that they are actually “asserting an interest in
avoiding financial harm[.]” Resps.’ Br. 20-21. But
incidental costs to a State’s budget cannot give
standing to challenge the Executive’s conceded pow-
er over immigration enforcement. Arizona, 132 S.
Ct. at 2506-07; Does’ Cert. Br. 16-17. In their brief,
Respondents argue that a bare financial injury to a
State’s budget counts as an injury to “proprietary” or
“sovereign” interests giving standing to sue the
United States. Resps.’ Br. 21. Their only support for
this novel proposition—which would allow States to
sue the federal government in almost any situa-
tion—is a single treatise section confirming that
States have standing when their ownership interests
over State lands are implicated, or when a federal!
statute preempts State law. Resps.’ Br. 21 (citing
13B Charles A. Wright et al., Federal Practice &
Procedure § 3531.11.1 & nn.4-5 (3d ed. 2008)). The
single decision the treatise cites addressing a finan-
cial injury without more held that Wyoming lacked
standing to challenge a regulation that might inci-
dentally decrease its tax revenues and increase its
expenses, and the decision echoed concerns that a
State’s suit for mere budgetary harm presents “only
a generalized grievance and holding otherwise might
spark a wave of unwarranted litigation against the

4

federal government.” Wyoming v. Dep't of Interior,
674 F.3d 1220, 1231-36 (10th Cir. 2012) (original ty-
po corrected).

As Respondents’ former counsel (and current
amicus), then-Texas Attorney General Greg Abbott,
admitted four days after filing this suit, the asserted
financial harms are a mere pretext to invoke juris-
diction. Under questioning, counsel admitted that
“we're not suing for that economic harm. It’s the way
that Texas has been impacted that gives us stand-
ing. What we’re suing for is actually the greater
harm, and that is harm to the constitution by em-
powering the president of the United States to enact
legislation on his own without going through Con-
gress.” J.A. 268 (Dec. 7, 2014 interview) (emphasis
added). There could be no clearer expression of a
generalized grievance. The philosophical dispute
Texas has with the Executive does not provide
standing. !

' Respondents claim an interest in avoiding financial pres-
sure to change their driver’s-license fees, arguing that pressure
“to make a different and less desirable choice is itself a cog-
nizable injury.” Resps. Br. 22 (alterations omitted). This ar-
gument would convert every budgetary cost resulting from a
federal policy decision into a sovereign interest triggering
standing. Regardless, Respondents do not argue that the
Guidance preempts State law or otherwise prevents them from
charging applicants the actual costs of issuing driver's licenses.
Indeed, the Ninth Circuit recently refused to hold that the 2012
DACA initiative has preemptive effect. Arizona Dream Act Co-
alition v. Brewer, 2016 WL 1358378, at *12-14 (9th Cir. Apr. 5,
2016) (holding the JNA preempts a State executive order creat-
ing new immigration classifications).

5

B. The Alleged Financial Injuries Do Not
Meet The Requirements Of Injury-In-
Fact, Causation, Or Redressability

Even if an asserted financial injury to a State’s
budget could support standing without more, Re-
spondents’ particular allegations fail.

1. The Does’ opening brief explained why Texas’s
alleged costs of issuing driver’s licenses do not suffice
for standing. Does’ Br. 29-35. Respondents do not
attempt to rebut these points, instead arguing that
this Court must defer to the district court’s concluso-
ry statements about financial injury, made at the
preliminary injunction stage without the benefit of
an evidentiary hearing. Resps.’ Br. 19-20. But this
Court rigorously examines claims of standing based
on allegations of future harm, and Respondents’
claims simply do not measure up as a matter of law.
Clapper, 133 S. Ct. at 1147-51.

The district court’s conclusion that implementing
the Guidance would make Texas spend money—the
only injury it held sufficient for standing—is unsup-
ported. Without making factual findings, that court
concluded that “[iJf the majority of DAPA beneficiar-
ies currently residing in Texas apply for a driver's
license, it will cost the state $198.73 to process and
issue each license, for a net loss of $174.73 per li-
cense. Even if only 25,000 of these individuals apply
... Texas will still bear a net loss of $130.89 per li-
cense, with total losses in excess of several million
dollars.” Pet. App. 272a (citation omitted). Howev-
er, the only evidence supporting this conclusion is a
single, cursory declaration making vague “estimates”
about expenses Texas’s Department of Public Safety

6

(DPS) might incur to process an influx of applica-
tions. J.A. 380.

Critically, that declaration speculates there will
be a mass influx of DAPA applications, which the
history of Family Fairness shows is in no way guar-
anteed.2 Moreover, it does not claim that issuing a
license actually costs Texas a certain amount—a
claim that would be untenable since Texas makes a
profit in the ordinary course of business from the $25
license application fee. Tex. Dep't of Pub. Safety,
Operating Budget for Fiscal Year 2014, I1A.2,
I11.A.38, [V.D.5 (Dec. 1, 2013).5 Instead, without ex-
plaining how it arrived at these numbers or how
many applications a DPS employee can process in a
given time period, the declaration speculates that an
influx of applications would cause “expenses that
DPS would incur to hire and train... additional
lemployees], purchase additional office equipment
and technology ...{and] open additional driver li-
cense offices or expand current facilities.” J.A. 379-
80. The declaration “estimates” tiers of possible

2 Respondents correctly state that approximately 47,000
immigrants applied for Family Fairness, Resps.’ Br. 54, but
this was a small fraction of the approximately 1.5 million eligi-
ble to apply. Does’ Br. 12-13. Like the Guidance, Family Fair-
ness did not automatically grant relief, and ultimately few in-
dividuals chose to seek relief. With respect to the Guidance,
the temporary, revocable nature of relief means that the initial
application pace is likely to be slow and uneven, particularly in
light of the pending presidential election.

* Respondent Texas's official publications are judicially no-
ticeable. Crawford v. Marion Cnty. Election Bd., 553 U.S. 181,
199 n.18 (2008). DPS charges a $1 administrative fee with the
$24 statutory fee. Tex. Dep't of Pub. Safety, Driver License Di-
vision, https://www.txdps.state.tx.us/DriverLicense/fees.htm.

7

costs, but it does not explain what these lump-sum
costs consist of, why (or at what point) hiring new
employees would be necessary to handle increased
application volume, or why 100% of the two-year cost
of hiring employees, buying equipment, and opening
new office space is an injury caused by the Guidance.
J.A. 380. Over two years of employment, assuming
50 five-day workweeks per year, these employees
would only have to process an average 1.62 applica-
tions daily, leaving their time mostly free to do other
profitable work and offset any putative additional
costs. J.A. 380.

Thus, the declaration does not show that Texas
will suffer injury, but simply speculates that an as-
sumed influx of license applications could cause DPS
to expend resources on new employees and office
space—uncertain future occurrences that are not
certainly impending. Clapper, 133 S. Ct. at 1147,
1151. Likewise, while the declaration speculates
that DPS’s expenses could increase, it is silent as to
how the Guidance would affect Texas’s overall budg-
et. Issuing licenses not only promotes Texas's stated
policy interests in issuing licenses to drivers, includ-
ing all other recipients of deferred action; it also de
creases public safety costs and increases revenues
from gasoline taxes and vehicle-registration fees.
Does’ Br. 33-34. As discussed in this Court’s taxpay-
er standing cases, a governmental entity's decision
to make expenditures in one field often causes its
other revenues to increase, thus making it conjec-
tural that the entity as a whole will suffer injury in
fact. E.g., Arizona Christian Sch. Tuition Org. v.
Winn, 563 U.S. 125, 136 (2011). Speculation that
Texas's overall budget will suffer a net loss if the

8

Guidance is implemented cannot provide standing.

2. Respondents cannot base standing on the
claim that the Guidance will cause them to incur
health care, educational, and law enforcement costs.
Resps.’ Br. 27-30. Even if undocumented immigra-
tion is revenue-negative for Respondents’ budgets—
an easily disputed hypothesis—these alleged costs
“are not caused by DAPA” but rather result from a
stable population of undocumented immigrants al-
ready resident in the country. Pet. App. 309a.

Respondents’ only argument that the Guidance
might impose additional costs of this kind is that it
could cause some resident immigrants to remain in
the United States instead of returning to their coun-
tries of origin. Resps.’ Br. 28-29. This is just “specu-
lation about the complex decisions of non-citizens”
who consider “the myriad economic, social, and polit-
ical realities in the United States and in foreign na-
tions” in deciding whether to immigrate or emigrate.
Arpaio v. Obama, 797 F.3d 11, 21 (D.C. Cir. 2015).
The district court itself rejected Respondents’ argu-
ment as “without supporting evidence,” stating that
“the presence of damages . . . is too speculative to be
relied upon.” Pet. App. 313a.

Indeed, long-term resident immigrants eligible
for deferred action under the Guidance are very un-
likely to emigrate of their own accord, given that do-
ing so could separate them from their U.S. citizen
children. And, in any case, the Guidance is likely to
decrease State law enforcement costs by helping
DHS to focus its limited enforcement resources on
removing serious criminals instead of non-criminals
like the Does, and by allowing deferred action recipi-

9

ents with work authorization to better support
themselves and reduce their and their children’s re-
hance on State-funded health services. Arpaio, 797
F.3d at 24.

3. Respondents’ concession that the Secretary
can defer removal on a class-wide basis for all indi-
viduals eligible under the Guidance—including by
affirmatively issuing them “low-priority identifica-
tion cards”—defeats redressability for all alleged in-
juries. Resps.’ Br. 39 (quotation omitted). Even
without work authorization, individuals receiving
such relief would be “lawfully present” as that in-
formal term is understood and thus able to apply for
Texas driver's licenses just as if they had received
deferred action under DAPA, and such individuais
would be similarly incentivized not to return to their
countries of origin. Enjoining the Guidance would
not redress the financial injuries Respondents com-
plain of, demonstrating lack of standing.

C. Massachusetts v. EPA Is Inapposite

Not satisfied with misrepresenting to this Court
that States can have true parens patriae standing
against the United States,‘ Respondents argue that
Massachusetts v. EPA, 549 U.S. 497 (2007), relaxes
the standing requirement for their suit. Resps.’ Br.
31-32. Not so. Massachusetts applies only when the
alleged injury and its cause are undisputed and the

‘ Compare Resps. Br. 31 (“/Pjarens patriae standing is
available to the States. Nothing bars such a parens patriae
action against the federal government.”), with Alfred L. Snapp
& Son, Inc. v. Puerto Rico, 458 U.S. 592, 610 n.16 (1982) (“A
State does not have standing as parens patriae to “ring an ac-
tion against the Federal Government.”).

10

harm incrementally worsens with increasing volume;
in addition, the harm must be generalized across so-
ciety and emanate from many sources. Massachu-
setts, 549 U.S. at 521-26. In this narrow context,
States can sue if they have an affected “quasi-
sovereign” interest and an express procedural right
protecting that particular interest. Jd. at 520.

Here, Respondents have neither. They do not
have a procedural right allowing them to protect
their asserted financial interests. While the Clean
Air Act provision allowing suit to challenge rulemak-
ing petition denials was closely tailored to Massa-
chusetts’s interests, Respondents here can only point
to the general APA cause of action, 5 U.S.C. § 706.
Massachusetts, 549 U.S. at 520 (citing 42 U.S.C. §
7607(b)(1)). That cause of action is not closely tai-
lored to the generic financial injuries they claim, and
Congress has not created a specific procedural right
allowing challenges to immigration policy decisions.
Moreover, the procedural-right requirement would
be meaningless if satisfied by the general APA cause
of action.

Furthermore, even if Respondents had a proce-
dura) right, they lack the quasi-sovereign interest
necessary to show a particularized injury. A mere
budgetary loss, without a more complete accounting
of all effects, does not implicate a State quasi-
sovereign interest in the well-being of the populace,
and is more akin to a speculative generalized private
injury. As noted, States’ unique interests go to the
physical domain within their borders. Massachu-
setts reiterated that States (but not private litigants)
have standing to protect these “quasi-sovereign” in-
terests by suing to prevent loss of land from rising

1]

sea levels caused by greenhouse-gas emissions. Id.
at 518-23. Because it had unique interests in its ca-
pacity as a State, Massachusetts could sue even
though a similar injury to a private landowner not
possessing such interests would be insufficiently
particularized. Jd. at 521-23.

In contrast, Respondents’ allegations are specula-
tive, and their alleged interest in avoiding financial
injury insufficient. Even though immigration policy
is important to Respondents, they do not have a qua-
si-sovereign interest in regulating immigration or in
avoiding financial costs of immigration in the way
that they have an interest in regulating pollution
harming their physical territory. Arizona, 132 S. Ct.
at 2496-97, 2506-07. While the interest in Massa-
chusetts was unique to the State, the financial inter-
est Respondents assert is no different from that as-
serted by private litigants who have already unsuc-
cessfully tried to challenge the Guidance. Arpaio,
797 F.3d at 21.

Finally, Respondents’ alleged injury is fundamen-
tally unlike that in Massachusetts, which worsened
incrementally but indisputably (and without the
possibility of offsetting the loss of land) with every
additional carbon dioxide molecule emitted. Massa-
chusetts, 549 U.S. at 523-25. Thus, redressability
was satisfied because even though emissions had
many distinct sources, the EPA could act to regulate
some of those sources and reduce some emissions,
thereby incrementally redressing the injury. Id. at
525-26. Unlike in Massachusetts, Respondents’ al-
leged injury does not incrementally increase with
each grant of deferred action because not all recipi-
ents will apply for licenses, Texas will not need to

12

expand its infrastructure to accommodate any single
applicant, and applicants pay taxes and fees that off.-
set costs. Respondents lack standing.

Il. RESPONDENTS’ APA CLAIMS FAIL

A. “Lawful Presence” Is Not A Status Or
Classification Established By Congress

Nearly all of Respondents’ arguments under the
APA rest on the false premise that “lawful presence”
is a formal immigration status or classification that
conveys attendant benefits, and thus that only Con-
gress can bestow “presence.” They assert throughout
their brief that “lawful presence” “placies] aliens in a
legal status with significant consequences” and
“deem|s] the unlawful conduct of millions of aliens to
be lawful.” Resps.’ Br. 40 (emphasis added). At the
same time, they now admit that the Secretary has
authority to defer removal for DAPA-eligible immi-
grants, and that these deferrals are unreviewable
under the APA. Resps.’ Br. 39, 69. This concession
highlights the incoherence of their arguments.

Neither “lawful presence” nor “lawfully present”
is a term of art in immigration law, much less a sta-
tus or classification created by Congress. The specif-
ic phrase “lawful presence” does not even appear in
the INA, and the term “lawfully present” is only in-
formally understood to be the condition that results
either (1) when a non-citizen has a lawful immigra-
tion status pursuant to the INA, or (2) when the Sec-
retary knows that a removable non-citizen is present
and temporarily declines to remove her—including

13

by granting deferred action.5 Reno v. American-Arab
Anti-Discrimination Comm., 525 U.S. 471, 483-84
(1999). In both situations, the non-citizen is present
in a fashion that DHS describes as being “lawfully”
present.

However, whether a non-citizen is lawfully pre-
sent is separate from and does not affect whether
she has an immigration status, or whether she is
admissible, removable, or eligible for visas or ad-
justment of status. This understanding is confirmed
by the Guidance itself, which states that “[o]nly an
Act of Congress can confer” eligibility for status or
substantive rights, and which recognizes that
“|djeferred action does not confer any legal status in
this country, much less citizenship; it simply means
that, for a specified period of time, an individual is
permitted to be lawfully present in the United
States.” Pet. App. 413a.

The statutes in which the term “lawfully present”
appear further confirm that the condition is an in-
formal one separate from immigration statuses or
defined concepts like admissibility and removability.
Whether a non-citizen is removable depends not on
whether she is “lawfully” present but on whether she
is “present in the United States in violation of this
chapter or any other law of the United States.” 8
U.S.C. § 1227(a)(1)(B). In determining whether she
can meet her burden to defend against removal,

5 Other examples of discretionary relief from removal not
specifically authorized by statute include orders of supervision,
granted to individuals already ordered removed, and “parole in
place,” granted to undocumented family members of U.S. ser-
vicemembers.

14

what matters is not being “lawfully present” but
whether, in relevant part, she can demonstrate she
is not removable or inadmissible—including that she
is “lawfully present in the United States pursuant to
a prior admission.” Id. § 1229a(c)(2)(B) (emphasis
added). In another context, whether she can become
eligible for certain Social Security benefits depends
on if she is “lawfully present” as “determined by the
[Secretary].” Jd. § 1611(b)(2)-(4). And whether she
is “unlawfully present” for purposes of the reentry
bars depends on whether she is “present.in the Unit-
ed States after the expiration of the period of stay
authorized by the [Secretary]” or “present in the
United States without being admitted or paroled.”
Id. § 1182(a)(9)(B)(ii).

Respondents attempt to confuse matters by
claiming that the “lawful presence” supposedly
granted by the Guidance is a status or classification
similar to or overlapping with defined statutory
terms such as admissibility, status, parole, visas,
and removability. Resps.’ Br. 2-6. But the Guidance
does not affect eligibility for these things because de-
ferred action does not grant “admission” into the
United States, confer eligibility to adjust to an im-
migration status, or undo the original improper en-
try rendering the recipient removable. As discussed,
what being “present” means varies by provision, but
it has no real definition other than the informal un-
derstanding that someone is present in accordance
with the INA or at the Secretary’s discretion.

Without the misconception that “presence” is
something other than the condition of having remov-
al deferred, Respondents’ arguments fall apart.
Their suit depends on artificially distinguishing the

15

non-existent immigration status of “lawful pres-

ence’—which they claim the Executive cannot

grant—from the longstanding practice of deferring
removals, which they admit the Executive can do,

even on a class-wide basis. Resps.’ Br. 39. But being
lawfully present under the Guidance pursuant to a

discretionary grant of deferred action is the exact

same thing as having removal deferred—and it has

always been understood in this way. Reno, 525 U.S.

at 483-84. For purposes of the Guidance, “legal pres-

ence simply reflects an exercise of discretion by a

public official”—nothing more. Pet. App. 222a (Hig-

ginson, J., dissenting) (emphasis original, quotation

omitted). Because Respondents concede that defer-

ral of removal—deferred action—is unreviewable™
and lawful, they cannot plausibly maintain that the

condition of being “lawfully present,” the inherent

result of deferred action, renders the Guidance re-

viewable and unlawful.

B. The Guidance Is Not Reviewable Under
The APA

With Respondents’ concession laying bare the
false premise that the Guidance “placles] aliens in a
legal status with significant consequences,” their re-
viewability arguments fail. Resps.’ Br. 39-40. They
misapply Heckler v. Chaney, 470 U.S. 821 (1985),
failing to comprehend that the Guidance is properly
understood as establishing uniform standards to ap-
ply in exercising prosecutorial] discretion, a matter
“committed to agency discretion by law.” 5 U.S.C. §
701(a)(2).

Respondents concede, as they must, that Heck-
ler’s presumption of unreviewability applies to “an

16

agency's decision not to take enforcement action.”
Resps.’ Br. 38 (citation omitted). The Guidance is a
prototypical example of an agency decision not to ex-
ercise its enforcement authority in certain circum-
stances. Heckler, 470 U.S. at 828. And this Court's
deference to agency nonenforcement decisions makes
particular sense in the removal context, where,
“{djue to limited resources, DHS and its Components
cannot respond to all immigration violations or re-
move all persons illegally in the United States.” Pet.

App. 412a.

Contrary to Respondents’ insistence that the
Guidance “transform[s] unlawful conduct into lawful
conduct,” Resps.’ Br. 41, deferred action under the
Guidance is no different from all other grants of de-
ferred action, including those endorsed in Reno, 525
U.S. at 483-84 & n.8, or from other forms of relief
temporarily allowing non-citizens to remain in the
United States. Supra, at 12-15. Moreover, the
Guidance does not itself grant deferred action; it
simply provides “specific eligibility criteria for de-
ferred action,” leaving “the ultimate judgment as to
whether an immigrant is granted deferred action [to]
be determined on a case-by-case basis.” Pet. App.
419a. Similarly, the Guidance does not purport to
grant eligibility for employment and benefits, simply
noting that recipients can apply for work authoriza-
tion that the Secretary can grant under “separate
authority.” Pet. App. 415a. The Guidance itself
grants nothing, so Respondents’ attempts to portray
it as reviewable agency “action” are unavailing.

Respondents’ other argument for reviewability is
that “[w]hen Congress intends to create unreviewa-
ble power, it uses clear language such as ‘sole and

17

unreviewable discretion.” Resps.’ Br. 42. This mis-
reads Heckler. Under APA Section 701(a)(1), re-
viewability is lacking when “statutes preclude judi-
cial review” using this kind of clear language. 5
U.S.C. § 701(a)(1). But the Heckler presumption
arises under Section 701(a)(2) when such language is
absent, that is, “where Congress has not affirmative-
ly precluded review” but a “statute is drawn so that
a court would have no meaningful standard against
which to judge the agency’s exercise of discretion.”
Heckler, 470 U.S. at 830. Respondents cannot rebut
the Heckler presumption because the INA does not
“provide[] guidelines for the agency to follow in exer-
cising its enforcement powers.” Jd. at 832-33. Ra-
ther, Congress has expressly granted the Secretary
authority to establish enforcement priorities. 6

U.S.C. § 202(5).

As Heckler points out, this does not leave Con-
gress without recourse. If it disapproves of the
Guidance, Congress can legislate to “limit [the]
agency's exercise of enforcement power if it wishes.”
Heckler, 470 U.S. at 833. But it has not done so, and
thus the Guidance is unreviewable.

C. The Guidance Is Lawful

1. Respondents rely on the erroneous notion that
DAPA grants “lawful presence” to argue the Guid-
ance is unlawful, but they failure to explain how it
actually conflicts with any part of the INA or how it
differs from any other previous deferred action initi-
ative. The Guidance fits squarely within the Secre-
tary’s longstanding authority over the removal sys-
tem. Arizona, 132 S. Ct. at 2506-07. For more than
50 years, DHS and INS before it have issued policies

18

guiding conferral of deferred action and other forms
of discretionary relief, such as the Family Fairness
policy of the Reagan and first Bush administrations,
which was available to a similar percentage of the
undocumented population. Does’ Br. 6-13; see supra,

n.2.

Historical practice supports the Guidance’s legal-
ity. Respondents incorrectly point to Congress’s de-
cision to limit the Secretary’s authority to grant pa-
role and voluntary departure as a limit on deferred
action. But Congress chose not to put statutory lim-
its on the Secretary’s ability to grant deferred action,
and all statutes mentioning deferred action assume
that the Secretary has preexisting authority to grant
it. Does’ Br. 11 12. Congress’s decision to limit only
some forms of relief shows that it can limit the Exec-
utive’s authority to grant deferred action at any time
but has chosen not to do so. Bob Jones Univ. v.
United States, 461 U.S. 574, 601 (1983) (congres-
sional acquiescence to agency prartice inferred from
failure to overrule practice).

2. Respondents also claim the Guidance is un-
lawful because deferred action recipients may apply
for work authorization and certain benefits. Because
they concede the Executive’s broad prosecutorial au-
thority to defer removal, this is the linchpin of their
remaining case. Yet this argument also fails, for
whether a benefit is available under another law
does not affect the Guidance’s legality. Regardless,
the Secretary has full authority to grant all these
benefits to deferred action recipients.

Respondents claim that deferred action recipients
should not be able to receive work authorization, and

19

that 8 C.F.R. § 274a.12(c)(14)—a regulation promul-
gated by the Reagan Administration through notice-
and-comment rulemaking that extends work author-
ization eligibility to all deferred action recipients—is
only lawful as applied to four specific categories of
recipients identified by Congress. Resps.’ Br. 51
n.39. This argument fails for at least two reasons.

First, the plain text of a key section of IRCA, 8
U.S.C. § 1324a(h)(3), specifically states that the Sec-
retary has power to grant work authorization to im-
migrants not already authorized by statute: it de-
fines an “unauthorized alien” for employment pur-
poses as someone who is not “authorized to be so
employed by this chapter or by the [Secretary].” 8
U.S.C. § 1324a(h)(3) (emphasis added). This means
that the Secretary has discretionary authority to de-
fine new categories of immigrants who may lawfully
work. Respondents’ citation-free argument that this
provision means something other than what it says
is frivolous. Resps.’ Br. 53. Their interpretation
would render the second clause surplusage because
it would only allow work authorization for categories
of immigrants already specified by statute, leaving
no work to be done by the clause “or by the [Secre-
tary]).” 8 U.S.C. § 1324a(h)(3). Second, Section
1324a(h)(3) was enacted with the understanding
that the Secretary already had authority to grant
work authorization to all recipients of deferred ac-
tion, as prior regulations allowed. 46 Fed. Reg.
25,079, 25,079-81 (May 5, 1981). Instead of limiting
this preexisting authority, Section 1324a(h)(3) reaf-
firmed it.

The Secretary's authority to suspend accrual of
unlawful presence for purposes of the reentry bar is

20

similarly grounded in the INA, which treats undoc-
umented immigrants as “unlawfully present” for
purposes of the reentry bar if they are “present in
the United States after the expiration of the period
of stay authorized by the [Secretary] or [are] present
in the United States without being admitted or pa-
roled.” 8 U.S.C. § 1182(a)(9)(B)(ii). This provision
specifically contemplates that the Secretary may au-
thorize an immigrant to remain in the United States
without accruing unlawful presence. Accordingly,
regulations interpret a “period of stay authorized by
the [Secretary]” to include periods when an immi-
grant is a recipient of deferred action. 8 C.F.R. §
214.14(d)(3); 28 C.F.R. § 1100.35(b)(2). The same is
true of eligibility for benefits like Social Security.
Here, again, the statute gives the Secretary authori-
ty to “determine[]” which immigrants are “lawfully
present in the United States” for purposes of being
eligible for these benefits, 8 U.S.C. § 1611(b)(2)-(4),
and formal regulations treat deferred action recipi-
ents as lawfully present for these purposes. 8 C.F.R.
§ 1.3(a)(4)(vi); 42 C.F.R. § 417.422(h).

® If this Court believes these regulations unlawful, the rem-
edy is not to invalidate the Guidance, but to state that deferred
action recipients are not eligible for suspension of accrual. Re-
gardiess, such an order would have minimal effect. Because
over a year has passed since the date the Guidance sets as the
date when applicants must have been present without lawful
status, all potential DAPA applicants, with the exception of a
limited number of individuals eligible for tolling independent of
deferred action, will have already accrued the time necessary to
trigger application of the maximum 10-year bar.

21

D. The Guidance Is A Non-Binding Policy
Statement Exempt From Notice-And-
Comment

Respondents’ argument that the Guidance is sub-
ject to APA notice-and-comment procedures also
rests on their error that DAPA creates “rights and
obligations” because it “grants lawful presence and
eligibility for benefits.” Resps.’ Br. 61, 69 (citations
omitted). Again, the Guidance does not confer sta-
tus, deferred action, work authorization, or other
benefits available under other laws. It lacks the
“important touchstone” of legislative rules requiring
notice-and-comment: an immediate legal effect on
rights and obligations. Chrysler Corp. v. Brown, 441
U.S. 281, 302 (1979). Instead, the Guidance at-
tempts to avoid “blindly enforc[ing]” the immigration
laws “without consideration given to the individual
circumstances of each case.” Pet. App. 412a. As a
policy statement operating prospectively to help di-
rect the case-by-case exercise of the Secretary’s dis-
cretionary power, the Guidance is exempt from no-
tice-and-comment. Does’ Br. 44-49.

Respondents urge the Court to disregard the cau-
tious, discretionary language of the Guidance as
“mere[] pretext,” Pet. App. 56a, and declare DAPA
binding as a practical matter before it is even im-
plemented. But courts should consider how a policy
statement is applied in practice only when its “lan-
guage and context .. . are inconclusive.” Pub. Citi-
zen, Inc. v. Nuclear Regulatory Comm'n, 940 F.2d
679, 682 (D.C. Cir. 1991). The Guidance’s operative
language instructing employees how to evaluate ap-
plications is clear: employees should review applica-
tions “on a case-by-case basis,” “exercise .. . discre-

22

tion,” and use “judgment.” Pet. App. 417a, 419a.
Further, it states that employees considering appli-
cations should determine whether each applicant is
a priority for removal, meets the other specified
DAPA criteria, and “present[s] no other factors that,
in the exercise of discretion, make[] the grant of de-
ferred action inappropriate.”’ Pet. App. 417a.

As the dissent below noted, this case presents the
first time an unimplemented policy statement has
been enjoined based on speculation that employees
might interpret it as binding. Pet. App. 13la-132a
(King, J., dissenting). There is no record evidence
that employees would treat the Guidance as “control-
ling in the field.” Appalachian Power Co. v. EPA,
208 F.3d 1015, 1021 (D.C. Cir. 2000). Nor could
there be, because the Guidance has never been im-
plemented. Respondents nevertheless suggest that
the Court may “extrapolat{e]” evidence—as the
courts below did—from the implementation of 2012
DACA while ignoring critical differences between the
two initiatives. Pet. App. 59a. But DAPA’s use of
new discretionary criteria alone makes evidence of
DACA’s implementation an unreliable predictor of
how DHS would implement DAPA. Does’ Br. 47-49.

Respondents mislead this Court by asserting
there is “concrete evidence concerning DAPA’s im-
plementation” in the Executive's accidental grant of
three-year deferred action terms (and work authori-

’ Respondents focus on mandatory language in the Guid-
ance’s procedural sections, directing employees to “establish a
process” to accept applications. Resps. Br. 64. That language
constitutes “rule[s] of agency organization, procedure, or prac-
tice” exempt from notice-and-comment. 5 U.S.C. § 553(b)(A).

23

zation cards) in the period before and just after the
Guidance was enjoined. Resps.’ Br. 65. These ex-
panded terms were given only to individuals already
eligible for deferred action under the 2012 DACA ini-
tiative, not to individuals newly eligible for deferred
action under the Guidance. J.A. 729, 753-54. Nei-
ther the expanded DACA nor the DAPA criteria have
ever been put into effect, so there is no evidence of
how they would be implemented.

Finally, Respondents argue that the Guidance
must be a legislative rule carrying force of law be-
cause it has the potential to affect many people.*
Resps.’ Br. 60. But the APA’s exemptions from the
notice-and-comment process are “categorical”—the
breadth of an initiative’s effects is immaterial where
the initiative is otherwise exempt. Perez v. Mortgage
Bankers Ass'n, 135 S. Ct. 1199, 1206 (2015). Holding
otherwise would impose procedural requirements
beyond what Congress has established, violating a
bedrock principle of administrative law. Vermont
Yankee Nuclear Power Corp. v. Nat. Res. Def. Coun-
cil, Inc., 435 U.S. 519, 524 (1978).

Ill. RESPONDENTS CANNOT ASSERT A
CLAIM UNDER THE TAKE CARE CLAUSE

Respondents’ arguments under the Take Care
Clause consist of repackaged statutory claims and
an inapposite discussion of English legal history that

* This appears to be an attempt to revive the “substantial
impact” test that nearly every circuit long ago abandoned. E.z.,
Pub. Citizen v. Dep't of State, 276 F.3d 634, 640 (D.C. Cir.
2002); Mada-Luna v. Fitzpatrick, 813 F.2d 1006, 1016 (9th Cir.
1987); Baylor Univ. Med. Ctr. v. Heckler, 758 F.2d 1052, 1061
(5th Cir. 1985).

24

adds no analysis. Neither approach rebuts the fact
that the Clause defines Executive power without giv-
ing rise to a cause of action, and Respondents cannot
identify any case holding otherwise. Does’ Br. 55-56;
cf. Youngstown Sheet & Tube Co. v. Sawyer, 343 U.S.
579 (1952) (Take Care Clause asserted as defense by
Executive). Even if a claim could be asserted under
the Clause, it would not be justiciable, for the Clause
does not provide “judicially discoverable and man-
ageable standards for resolving” whether the Execu-
tive has “faithfully” applied enforcement discretion.
Zivotofsky ex rel. Zivotofsky v. Clinton, 132 S. Ct.
1421, 1428 (2012).

In any event, any theoretical claim under the
Clause fails with Respondents’ false premise that the
Guidance confers legal status. Resps.’ Br. 74. As
they concede, there is nothing unlawful about defer-
ring removals. Resps.’ Br. 39. The Guidance consti-
tutes faithful execution of the immigration laws by
setting criteria for uniform exercise of the Execu-
tive’s enforcement discretion, reducing the danger
that such discretion—a clear and longstanding part
of immigration law—would be implemented in an
arbitrary and inconsistent fashion. It was not a rad-
ical move for the Secretary to issue the Guidance as
a focusing mechanism for enforcement. In fact, it
was the only course of action consistent with his ob-
ligation to faithfully execute the laws given the prac-
tical challenges posed by insufficient congressional
appropriations. Does’ Br. 14-15.

CONCLUSION

The judgment of the court of appeals should be
reversed.

25
Respectfully submitted,

ADAM P. KOHSWEENEY
GABRIEL MARKOFF

WARD A. PENFOLD
SAMUEL WILSON

MALLORY JENSEN

JUAN CAMILO MENDEZ
REMI MONCEL
O’MELVENY & MYERS LLP
Two Embarcadero Center
San Francisco, CA 94111

DARCY M. MEALS

JEREMY R. GIRTON*
O’MELVENY & MYERS LLP
Washington, DC 20006

*Not yet admitted; super-
vised by principals of the
firm.

THOMAS A. SAENZ

NINA PERALES

(Counsel of Record)
MEXICAN AMERICAN
LEGAL DEFENSE AND
EDUCATIONAL FUND
110 Broadway, Ste. 300
San Antonio, TX 78205
(210) 224-5476
nperales@maldef.org

LINDA J. SMITH

DLA PIPER LLP

2000 Avenue of the Stars
Los Angeles, CA 90067

Attorneys for Intervenors-Respondents Jane Does

April 11, 2016

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0635%3A21. Public record. Not legal advice.
