# Amicus Curiae Brief — V.L. v. E.L., 136 S. Ct. 1017 (2016) (No. 15-648)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0632%3A09

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2016

## Text

¥

E_L., AND GUARDIAN AD LITEM, AS REPRESENTATIVE
Ov Minor CHILDREN,
Respondents

ate ~ A} 1 — ele

( amee
Bates v Bates.
730 8.E. 2d 482 (Ga. Ct. App. 2012)
Eldredge v Taylor.

339 P 3d BAB (Okla 2014)

Ellie v West ex rel West,
971 Se. 2d 20 (Ala. 2007)

In re Adoption of Doe,
326 P 3d 347 (idaho 2014)

In re Adoption of K.8.P., |

In re Adoption fA RBF & RCFE,

In re Adoption of Tammy,
619 N_E.24 315 (Mase 1993)

In re tion of Two Children by
HNR,

666 A.24 6365 (N 4. Super. Ct. App.
Div. 1996)

In re Jacob,
660 N_E. 24 997 (N.Y. 1995)

13,

In reMM.D &BHM,
662 A.2d 837 (D.C. 1995)

In re Petition of KM &4DM,

Obergefell v Hodges.
136 8. Ct. 2684 (2015)

73 P.3d 5664 (Cal. 2009)

Williams v Willams.
717 8.E.24 663 (Ga. Ct. App. 2011)

42 U B.C. $416) (2015)

Ala. Code (2015)
§161-112

§25°5°31
Alaska Stat. §25.23.140 (2015)
Ariz. Rev. Stat. Ann. §6 123 (2015)
Ark. Code Ann. §9°9-216 (2015)

99617
99102

iv

Colo. Rev. Stat. (2015)

§19-5-203(1)(d.5)(D

§19-5-208(5)

§19-5-210(1.5)

§19-5-211(1.5)

§19-5-214
Conn. Gen. Stat. §45a-724(a)(3) (2015)
D.C. Code Ann. §16-310 (2015)
Del. Code Ann., tit. 13, §918 (2015)
Fla. Stat. Ann. §63.182 (2015)
Ga. Code Ann. §19-8-18(e) (2015)
Haw. Rev. Stat. §578-12 (2015)
750 Ill. Comp. Stat. 50/11 (2015)
Ind. Code Ann. §31-19-15-2(a) (2015)
Ky. Rev. Stat. Ann. §199.540 (2015)
La. Child. Code art. 1148 (2015)
Md. Code Ann., Fam. Law (2015)

§5-342

§5-353
Mich. Comp. Laws Ann. §710.64 (2015)
Miss. Code Ann. §93-17-15 (2015)
Mo. Rev. Stat. §453.140 (2015)

N.C. Gen. Stat. §48-2-607 (2015)

cnaenTxTnTrmlC OOlOmUmlmCOCWD]

Vv
N.D. Cent. Code §14-15-15 (2015)
N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. §170-B:21 (2015)
Neb. Rev. Stat. §43-116 (2015)
Ohio Rev. Code Ann. §3107.16 (2015)

Okla. Stat. Ann. tit. 10, §7505-7.2
(2015)

Or. Rev. Stat. §109.381 (2015)

R.I. Gen. Laws §9-21-2 (2015)

Tenn. Code Ann. §36-1-122 (2015)

Tex. Fam. Code Ann. §162.012 (2015)
Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 15A, §1-102(b) (2015)
W. Va. Code Ann. §48-22-704 (2015)

Wash. Rev. Code Ann. §26.33.360
(2015)

Court Rules

Sup. Ct. R.
37.3(a)
37.6

con ft @

vi
Other Authorities

American Academy of Pediatrics,
Coparent or Second-Parent Adoption
By Same-Sex Partners (2002),
available at http://pediatrics.
aappublications.org/content/pediatri
cs/109/2/339.full.pdf

James X. Bembry & Carolyn Ericson,
Therapeutic Termination with the
Early Adolescent Who Has
Experienced Multiple Losses, 16
Child & Adolescent Soc. Work J. 177
(1999)

Susanna Birdsong, Voiding
Motherhood: North Carolina's
Shortsighted Treatment of Subject
Matter Jurisdiction in Boseman v.
Jarre!], 21 Am. U.J. Gender Soc.
Pol'y & L. 109 (2012)

W Andrew Collins & L. Alan Sroufe,
Capacity for Intimate Relationships:
Developmental Construction, in The
Development of Romantic
Relationships in Adolescence
(Wyndol Furman et al., eds., 1999)

Frank J. Dyer, Termination of Parental
Rights in Light of Attachment
Theory: The Case of Kaylee, 10
Psychol. Pub. Pol’y & L. 5 (2004)

17

10, 11

12

10

10, 11

Vii

Yvon Gauthier et al., Clinical
Application of Attachment Theory in
Permanency Planning for Children
in Foster Care: The Importance of
Continuity of Care, 25 Infant
Medical Health J. 379 (2004)

Joseph Goldstein, Anna Freud & Albert
J. Solnit, Beyond The Best Interests
of the Child (1979)

2 Ann M. Haralambie, Handling Child
Custody, Abuse and Adoption Cases
(Westlaw database updated Dec.
2015)

§14:1
§14.28

Leslie Harris, Voluntary
Acknowledgments of Parentage for
Same-Sex Couples, 20 Am. U.J.
Gender Soc. Pol'y & L. 467 (2012)

William F. Hodges, Interventions for
Children of Divorce: Custody, Access
and Psychotherapy (2d ed. 1991)

Joan H. Hollinger, Adoption Law and
Practice (3d ed. 2015)

Ana H. Marty et al., Supporting Secure
Parent-Child Attachments: The Role
of the Non-Parental Caregiver, 175
Early Child Dev. & Care 271 (2005)

16

10

15

11

15

16

IDENTITY AND INTEREST OF AMICI
CURIAE!

Since 1996, the Donaldson Adoption Institute
(DAD has worked to improve the lives of children
and families across the country and around the
world through research, education, and advocacy
that have led to better laws, policies, practices, and
perceptions. To achieve its goals, DAI investigates
the issues and problems of greatest concern to
first/birth parents, adopted persons, adoptive fami-
lies, and the people who love them. DAI then deter-
mines best practices and offers policy recommenda-
tions. It works with a broad array of partners in edu-
cational efforts and advocacy campaigns to eliminate
policy and practice barriers—including obstacles
faced by gay anda lesbian individuals and couples—to
adoption of children in foster care waiting for per-
manent homes. DAI’s newest initiative, Let's Adopt
Reform, seeks to reframe the adoption conversation
with new public opinion research and the voices of
the adoption community to ignite a new national
dialogue about adoption in the 21st century and
advocate for change by outlining critical policy and
practice reforms.

The North American Council on Adoptable
Children (NACAC) is a non-profit organization that

‘Pursuant to Supreme Court Rule 37.3(a), all parties have
consented to the filing of this brief. Letters evidencing such
consent have been filed with the Clerk of the Court. Further,
pursuant to Rule 37.6, no person other than Amicus Curiae and
their counsel have participated in drafting this brief or made a
monetary contribution intended to fund the preparation or
submission of this brief.

2

promotes and supports permanent families for chil-
dren and youth in the U.S. and Canada—especially
children and youth who are or have been in foster
care and those with special needs. To accomplish its
mission, NACAC offers adoption support, capacity
building for parents and youth, policy and advocacy,
and education and information sharing. NACAC has
long been dedicated to reducing barriers that pre-
vent all children and youth from having a perma-
nent, loving family, including restrictions that pre-
vent or discourage gays and lesbians from adopting
or fostering children who need a family.

First Focus is a bipartisan advocacy organization
dedicated to making children and families the prior-
ity in federal policy and budget decisions. First
Focus leads a comprehensive advocacy strategy, with
its hands-on experience with federal policymaking
and a commitment to seeking policy solutions. One of
First Focus’ priority issues is Child Rights: Every
child should have quality healthcare, a good educa-
tion, and a safe home and community.

The Center for the Study of Social Policy (CSSP),
a nonpartisan Washington, D.C., non-profit organi-
zation, has been working with state and federal poli-
cymakers and communities across the country for
over thirty years. Focused on public policy, research
and technical assistance, CSSP promotes smart poli-
cies that improve the lives of children and their
families and works to achieve equity for those too
often left behind. Using data, extensive community
experience and a focus on results, CSSP’s work
covers several broad areas, including promoting
public policies that strengthen vulnerable families;
reforming child welfare systems; mobilizing a
national network to prevent child abuse and promote
optimal development fer young’ children

3

(Strengthening Families Initiative); assisting tough
neighborhoods with the tools needed to help parents
and their children succeed (Promise Neighborhoods);
educating residents to be effective consumers secur-
ing better goods and services (Customer Satisfaction
Project); and promoting, through all its work, an
even playing field for children of all races, ethnici-
ties, and income levels. CSSP’s work in child welfare
focuses on ensuring that child welfare policies, prac-
tices, and systems meet the safety, permanency, and
well-being needs of the children and youth that come
to the attention of the public child welfare system.
At the core of CSSP’s efforts is a long-standing com-
mitment that children need the stability and support
of life-long families and that, whenever possible,
children should remain with their biological families.

The Child Welfare League of America (CWLA),
established in 1920, is the nation’s oldest and largest
membership-based child welfare organization.
CWLA is a coalition of public and private agencies
serving children and families who are vulnerable by
advancing standards of excellence, accreditation, and
the best research-based practices with respect to
child welfare work. In particular, CWLA is recog-
nized nationally as the standard-setter for child wel-
fare services and publishes thirteen “Standards of
Excellence” as a means to achieve professionalism
and uniformity in the administration of child welfare
services, including in particular Standards of
Excellence for Adoption Services. CWLA’s Standards
also influence and improve child welfare practices
throughout North America, as well as informing the
Standards of Accreditation for agency administra-
tion, management, and service delivery for accred-
ited child welfare agencies.

et

HHT

The Center for Adeption Policy (CAP) i « New

tid
jeaytin

LETH mee

oad edantion auosiaiene an otanen alictan atten
etegtienp Se eumanies Ase result thew
. hove gained an addi

recognition parent
_ See intra Bection INA) ‘le eddition to the
cri Wrauma that cane ras by meverance

> ¢ : aa - id cuppent, i
Si rar bt the “ld thereof the bg
caVfhiret parents death See infra Section 11K)

Ses ob 6 these cnasene, the Aicheme Ganeme

Corts decumen presente o serwus nek to adopted
children thet warrants granting certiorar:

vont
aes

>

33
a3

43}?
:

2932 fize
Har

t sty
ae

rife

Hit

aceatos

os elaptos hed on ti

iit
He

nd

i
vadtscs

i
i

23s

virtually any kind of collateral attack on an adoption

has passed Ala Code §26 10A 2544)

{3

Ale

Jef
Het

| il

move yn yw tt ssetectinn dikteen oho have

:
se
‘if
ne
Hn

i83]

att

iF

us

Ht

tH

beeome bonded to » parent from the trauma of sepa

t B
ii

ii

3

Work 4.177, 182 (908: W Androw

Alan Srowle, Cs

*

:

*
' |

il

ibis

2

11

Bembry & Ericson, supra, at 179; see also Dyer,
supra, at 11 (“there are numerous empirical findings
that provide a solid research basis for predictions of
long-term harm associated with disrupted attach-
ment _ loss of a child’s central parental love
o ”).

Children assume that they can depend on the
adults who are their parents. When that assump-
tion proves wrong, “a child may question many other
assumptions about the world [including] whether he
or she can count on the availability of any parent.”
William F. Hodges, Interventions for Children of
Divorce: Custody, Access and Psychotherapy 8 (2d
ed. 1991) (emphasis in original).

The emotional damage to a child arising from the
termination of a parental relationship can have
dramatic and concrete adverse effects on the child.
The severing of a school-age child’s bonded relation-
ship with a person who has functioned as his or her
parent can lead to behavioral problems at school and
with the law. Dyer, supra, at 11.

The Alabama Supreme Court has opened the door
to reconsideration of any adoption that could be said
to deviate in any way from the statutory require-
ments of the State where it was granted. That is a
very dangerous precedent that stands only to harm
children. While States may, of course, impose limits
and regulations on adoption, once an adoption takes
place, it is critical to the child’s well-being that it not
be subject to rescission years after the fact. For this
reason, the Court should grant certiorari to protect
all adopted children.

12

Il. CERTIORARI SHOULD BE GRANTED TO
PROTECT SIMILARLY SITUATED
CHILDREN NATIONWIDE.

A. The Decision Threatens The Finality Of
~~ rhe Adoptions In Numerous
tes.

The instant case does not arise from unique facts
or law; to the contrary, Georgia’s adoption statutes
are typical of adoption statutes nationwide. As a
result, the Alabama Supreme Court’s re-examination
of the merits of an adoption performed in another
state represents a serious risk to adopted children
throughout the country if embraced by other States.

As in Georgia, the statutes of most States were
written with the traditional adoption in mind, in
which two things happen: (1) a child is adopted by a
new parent or parents who are not biologically
related to the child, and (2) the parental rights of the
child’s birth parents are simultaneously terminated.
Haralambie, supra, §14:1. In light of this paradigm,
most state adoption statutes anticipate that an
adoption terminates the rights of all biological par-
ents.

Most States, however, recognize stepparent adop-
tion as an exception to the rule that an adoption
automatically terminates the rights of a child’s
existing parents. Susanna Birdsong, Voiding
Motherhood: North Carolina’s Shortsighted
Treatment of Subject Matter Jurisdiction in
Boseman v. Jarrell, 21 Am. U.J. Gender Soc. Pol’y &
L. 109, 112 (2012). Under that exception, one of the
child’s biological parents may consent to having a
person to whom that parent is legally married adopt

13

the child, without the termination of that biological
parent’s rights and responsibilities.’ See, e.g., Ind.
Code Ann. §31-19-15-2(a) (2015); In re Adoption of
K.S.P., 804 N.E.2d 1253, 1255 (Ind. Ct. App. 2004).

In recent decades, most States have extended the
stepparent exception to adoptions known as second
parent adoptions in which the adoptive parent is not
legally married to the current legal parent. See infra
pp.14-15. As with a stepparent adoption, the child
is adopted by a second, non-biological parent, with
the consent of the first parent who does not relin-
quish parental rights and responsibilities. These
reforms enabled same-sex partners to adopt the chil-
dren of their partner, even before any State permit-
ted same-sex marriage,‘ just as stepparents in oppo
site-sex marriages could.

Although many second parent adoptions involve
same-sex couples, the California Supreme Court has
explained that second parent adoptions are also
granted in other situations. Sharon S. v. Superior
Court, 73 P.3d 554, 571 (Cal. 2003). As examples, it
identified adoption by an unmarried partner in an

3In stepparent adoptions and second parent adoptions in
which there is another living biological parent, most States
require that the parental rights of that other biological parent
be terminated before a stepparent adoption is granted. In this
case, however, the children had only one biological parent, E.L.

‘With this Court’s decision in Obergefell v. Hodges, 135 S.
Ct. 2584 (2015), same-sex couples now have the right to marry
in every State. That does not resolve the problem the Alabama
Supreme Court's decision has created for second-parent
adoptions granted prior to Obergefell to same-sex partners who
were then unable to marry. And, as discussed below, second-
parent adoptions are not and have not been limited to same-sex
couples previously excluded from marriage.

14

opposite-sex relationship and “kinship adoptions, in
which a grandparent or other relative [becomes] a
second legal parent to a child whose very young
mother is unable to raise the child on her own.” /d.
Accordingly, the need to protect finality remains
crucial to a variety of completed second parent adop-
tions.

While stepparent adoption is recognized by
statute in most jurisdictions, second parent
adoptions by non-married couples are provided for by
statute in only four states: California,5 Colorado,®
Connecticut,’ and Vermont.* Ten other jurisdictions
have recognized second parent adoptions through
appellate court decisions: the District of Columbia,®
Idaho, !° Illinois, !! Indiana, !? Maine, !%

5Cal. Fam. Code §8617. Prior to the California Legislature
authorizing second parent adoption by statute in 2013, the
California Supreme Court had recognized second parent
adoptions in Sharon S. v. Superior Court, 73 P.3d 554, 571 (Cal.
2003).

®Colo. Rev. Stat. §§19-5-203(1)(d.5)(D, 19-5-208(5), 19-5-
210(1.5), 19-5-211(1.5) (2015).

7Conn. Gen. Stat. §45a-724(a)(3) (2015) Cany parent of a
minor child may agree in writing with one other person who
shares parental responsibility for the child with such parent
that the other person shall adopt or join in the adoption of the
child”).

®Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 15A, §1-102(b) (2015) (‘If a family unit
consists of a parent and the parent's partner, and adoption is in
the best interest of the child, the partner of a parent may adopt
a child of the parent. Termination of the parent's parental
rights is unnecessary in an adoption under this subsection.”).

®In re M.M.D. & B.H.M., 662 A.2d 837 (D.C. 1995).

10Jn re Adoption of Doe, 326 P.3d 347 (Idaho 2014).

15

Massachusetts,'4 New Jersey,’5 New York,'®
Oklahoma,’’ and Pennsylvania.'* Trial court judges
have granted second parent adoptions in at least six-
teen additional states, including: Alabama, Alaska,
Delaware, Georgia, Hawaii, Iowa, Louisiana,
Maryland, Michigan, Minnesota, Nevada, New
Mexico, Oregon, Rhode Island, Texas, and
Washington. Joan H. Hollinger, Adoption Law and
Practice (3d ed. 2015); see also Leslie Harris,
Voluntary Acknowledgments of Parentage for Same-
Sex Couples, 20 Am. U.J. Gender Soc. Pol’y & L. 467,
471-72 (2012).

Accordingly, while at least 30 states have permit-
ted second-parent adoptions, almost all of them have
done so under statutory frameworks that, like
Georgia’s, do not expressly embrace the concept. As
a result, the number of children who could be
adversely affected by the Alabama Supreme Court's
decision is large. See Sharon S., 73 P.3d at 571-72
(noting that permitting challenge to second-parent
adoption “would cast a shadow of uncertainty over

(Footnote Cont'd From Previous Page)

\\fn re Petition of K.M. & D.M., 653 N.E.2d 888 (Ill. App. Ct.
1995).

12Jn re Adoption of K.S.P., 804 N.E.2d 1253 (Ind. Ct. App.
2004).

13Jn re Adoption of M_A., 930 A.2d 1088 (Me. 2007).
\4Jn re Adoption of Tammy, 619 N.E.2d 315 (Mass. 1993).

15In re Adoption of Two Children by H.N.R., 666 A.2d 535
(N.J. Super. Ct. App. Div. 1995).

16 Jn re Jacob, 660 N.E.2d 397 (N.Y. 1995).
17 Eldredge v. Taylor, 339 P.3d 888 (Okla. 2014).

18Jn re Adoption of R.B.F. & R.C.F., 803 A.2d 1195 (Pa.
2002).

16

the legal relationships between thousands of chil-
dren and their adoptive parents”). Not only are all
children in Alabama who had a _ second-parent
arrangement formalized in another State at risk, but
similarly situated children in other States are also at
risk if other state courts follow the flawed reasoning
of the Alabama Supreme Court.

B. In Addition To the Trauma of Separation,
The Decision Will Deprive Affected Children
areca eet ete

1
a Parent Would Otherwise Afford
m

As discussed in Section I, separation from a par-
ent can cause tremendous and lasting emotional
harm to a child. Research demonstrates those nega-
tive mental health consequences can occur regard-
less of whether the parent is biologically related to
the child. See, e.g., Yvon Gauthier et al., Clinical
Application of Attachment Theory in Permanency
Planning for Children in Foster Care: The
Importance of Continuity of Care, 25 Infant Mental
Health J. 379, 381, 394 (2004) (“Children cannot
understand why they are being separated from the
parents that were given to them and that they
somehow gave themselves through an attachment
process ”). Disruption to _ children’s bonded
attachments to adults serving as their parents can
cause the children to experience aggression, aca’
demic problems in school, and psychopathology.
Ana H. Marty et al., Supporting Secure Parent-Child
Attachments: The Role of the Non-Parental
Caregiver, 175 Early Child Dev. & Care 271, 274
(2005). The Alabama Supreme Court’s decision has
thus placed the children in this case and other
affected children at serious risk.

17

In addition to emotional trauma, the Alabama
Supreme Court’s decision will also cause tangible
harms to those adopted children who lose their legal
relationship with their second parent. Second par-
ent adoption protects children by giving them the
security of having two legally recognized parents.
The American Academy of Pediatrics supports
second parent adoption by non-married partners
because “these families and children need the per-
manence and security provided by having [two] fully
sanctioned and legally defined parents.”!® It follows
that unwinding completed second-parent adoptions
creates very real insecurity and deprives the chil-
dren affected of important rights.

The California Supreme Court, in rejecting a col-
lateral attack on a second parent adoption by a bio-
logical mother who later regretted consenting to the
adoption, explained that to allow such challenges
“would invite withdrawals of entitlements to pre-
viously available health and pension benefits . .
The ultimate financial and emotional losers [would]
be children who are the intended beneficiaries of the
adoption laws.” Sharon S., 73 P.3d at 571-72 (inter-
nal quotation marks omitted).

The practical effects on adopted children of sev-
ering second-parent adoptions are many and include
the following:

e Health Insurance. The child may be ineligi-
ble for employer-provided health insurance of

Am. Acad. of Pediatrics, Coparent or Second-Parent
Adoption By Same-Sex Partners (2002), available at
http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/pediatrics/109/2/33
9.full pdf.

December 17, 2015.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0632%3A09. Public record. Not legal advice.
