# Amicus Curiae Brief — Tyson Foods, Inc. v. Bouaphakeo ex rel. Situated, 135 S. Ct. 2806 (2015) (No. 14-1146)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0547%3A19

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2015

## Text

No. 14-1146

IN THE
Supreme Court of the Gnited States

Tyson Foops. INc..
Petitioner.
V.

PeG Bou aAPHAkEo, ef al., INDIVIDUALLY AND ON BEHALF
OF ALL OTHER SIMILARLY SITUATED INDIVIDUALS,
Respondents.

On Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals
for the Eighth Circuit

BRIEF OF THE AMERICAN FEDERATION OF
LABOR AND CONGRESS OF INDUSTRIAL
ORGANIZATIONS AS AMICUS CURIAE
IN SUPPORT OF RESPONDENTS

LYNN K. RHINEHART

HAROLD CRAIG BECKER
(Counsel of Record)

YONA ROZEN

S15 Sixteenth Street, NW

Washington, DC 20006

(202) 637-5310

Peake Delancey Pooters. LLC - (90°) 341-4800 - Chevery MD

<>

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE
SUMMARY OF THE ARGUMENT
ARGUMENT

i

TABLE OF CONTENTS

CER ee

ee ee ee

PoP PPP eee eee ee eee ee eee eee eee eee eee eee eee eee eee ee eee

I. TYSON WAIVED ANY OBJECTION TO

IL.

If.

CONCLUSION

THE COLLECTIVE ACTION UNDER

§ 216(b) OF THE FLSA BY NOT
ADEQUATELY PRESENTING THE
|__| EE RRR RR

THE DISTRICT COURT PROPERLY
CERTIFIED THE CLASS UNDER
RULE 23(b)(3) DESPITE VARIATIONS
IN HOURS WORKED AMONG THE
“GANG TIME” EMPLOYEEB..................

THE DISTRICT COURT PROPERLY
CERTIFIED THE CLASS EVEN
THOUGH IT WAS POSSIBLE THAT
NOT EVERY EMPLOYEE WOULD
RECOVER DAMAGE SG.................:ceeeeeeee

. THE DISTRICT COURT PROPERLY

PERMITTED THE ACTION TO
PROCEED AS A COLLECTIVE
ACTION UNDER § 216(B)

Oe eee ee ee ee

CRE RRR Oe eee

eee eee ree eee ee

31

i
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
CASES Page
Acevedo v. Allsup’s Convenience Stores, Inc.,
600 F'3d 516 (5th Cir. 2010) ow. 17

Amgen v. Connecticut Retirement Plans
and Trust Funds, 133 S.Ct. 1184 (2013)... 4, 21

Anderson v. Mt. Clemens Pottery Co..,
I 2

Becker v. Southern Soils,
No. 6:06-cv-Orl-28JGG, 2006 U.S. Dist.
LEXIS 85111 (M.D. Fla, Nov. 20, 2006)...... 16

Borges v. Serrano-Isern,

GaP EB COE GU BPO Poiececticecciccacorancesnones Q
Carducci v. Regan,

714 F2d 171 (D.C.Cir. 1983) ........................ Mi
Coldiron v. Pizza Hut, Inc.,

No. CVC3-05865TJHMCX, 2004 U.S. Dist.

LEXIS 23610 (C.D. Cal., Oct. 25, 2004)....... 17
Comcast Corp. v. Behrend,

see 21, 22
Crown, Cork & Seal, Inc. v. Parker,

ti | een eananrene 15
Espenscheid v. DirectSat USA, LLC,

705 F.3d 770 (7th Cir. 2013) oe 6, 10
Genesis Healthcare Corp. v. Symcezyk,

133 S.Ct. 1523 (2013) ................ccc000e. 1,8,9, 11, 15

Graver Tank & Mfg. Co. v.
Linde Air Products Co..
tk es dena 24

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

CASES Page
Grayson v. K Mart Corp.,

79 F.3d 1086 (11th Cir. 1996) 2.000000. 17, 18
Halliburton Co. v. Erica P John Fund, Inc..

134 S.Ct. 2398 (2014) oo... eccececcccessesececesess, 33

Harkins v. Riverboat Servs..
No. 99 C 123, 2002 U.S.Dist.

LEXIS 19637 (N.D. Ill., May 16, 2002)........ 16
Hoffman-LaRoche, Inc. v. Sperling,

SG |) ___, aa 6, 8, 12, 13
IBP, Inc. v. Alvarez,

fe) | Re ee 7
Ingersoll v. Royal & Sunalliance USA, Inc..

No. C05-1774-MAT, 2006 U.S. Dist.

LEXIS 50912 (W.D. Wash., July 25, 2006)... 16
Int'l Brotherhood of Teamsters v. U.S.,

Jf GS ; ee Io Leeaee e 25

Kohen v. Pacific Investment Management Co..,
571 F.3d 672 (7th Cir. 2009) occ. 33

Luna v. Del Monte Fresh Produce
(Southeast), Inc.,
2007 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 36893 (N.D. Ga., 2007). 16

McElmurry v. U.S. Bank National Ass’n,
495 F.3d 1136 (9th Cir. 2007) o.oo. 14

Morgan v. Family Dollar Stores, Inc.,
551 F.3d 1233 (11th Cir. 2008) ................ 16, 17, 34

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

CASES Page
Mt. Clemens Pottery Co. v. Anderson,

149 F.2d 461 (6th Cir. 1945) 30
Myers v. Hertz Corp.,

624 F.3d 537 (2d Cir. 2010)..............ceeeeseeeee 18
In re Nexium Antitrust Litigation,

717 F.3d 9 (ist Cir. 20158)............2.........c00.000. 33
O’Brien v. Ed Donnelly Enters..,

575 F.3d 567 (6th Cir. 2009) ........0000.0.0.. 17, 18, 34

Procter & Gamble Co. v. Amway Corp..,
376 F.3d 496 (5th Cir. 2004) oe 10

Schmidt v. Fuller Brush Co..,
527 F.2d 532 (8th Cir. 19775) ...............ccsc.0000. 14

Steiner v. Mitchell,
8 fg ESSERE SEES eer eere 6

Tennessee Coal, Iron & Railroad Co. v.
Muscoda Local No. 123,
a I Ss ccrnentcpnsechasnoniceninianideaneas 4,12

Thiessen v. General Electric Capital Corp.,
267 F.3d 1095 (10th Cir. 2001) ..0...00. ee. 11

U.S. Parole Comm'n v. Geraghty,
ee IIE secceinrsteiccepinbencinncanvoeninbeanti 10

Zavala v. Wal-Mart Stores Inc.,
691 F.3d 527 (3d Cir. 2012).................... 11, 17, 34

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued
Page
STATUTES AND REGULATIONS:

Equal Pay Act of 1963, 29 U.S.C. § 206(d) .... 12

Fair Labor Standards Act of 1938
Pub. L. No. 75-718, 52 Stat. 1060
ae Ch OF OOD ccnssescivatieniiiiddaag omar 7
BP Ura FD oisinceinenindantabiean passim
Lik C1 | GRR Me SR 15
ae a. CID vcecntiniisinticnuaaieine 12
ek « BT |}. yy eee ee 7
RULES:
Federal Rules of Civil Procedure
SE TEE nesevottnindsnsauibisagineteanenan onan passim
ft Re ee Rs nao passim
Iowa Code § 91A.6(1)(d)..........0ccccceceteeeeeeeees 7
LEGISLATIVE MATERIALS:

S. Rep. No. 48, 80th Cong., Ist Sess. 49
CER TD, TIED esctintcnesisnercipntenseiestinmintaatadiste 13

H.R. Rep. No. 326, 80th Cong., Ist Sess. 13
Ff srr a tts Tae 13

93 Cong. Rec. 2,182 (1947).............-.sc0ccssscssssee 13

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page

MISCELLANEOUS:
7B Wright & Miller, Federal Practice and

RESETS ll
2 W. Rubenstein, Newberg on Class Actions

§ 4:54, p. 205 (5th ed. 2012) on. cecceeen 22
Fed. R. Civ. P. 23, advisory committee's note,

reprinted in 39 F.R.D. 69, 104 (1966)........... 14

l
INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE

The American Federation of Labor and Congress
of Industrial Organizations (AFL-CIO) is a federation
of 56 national and international labor organizations
with a total membership of approximately 12 million
working people.' The AFL-CIO has a strong interest
in employees being able to represent and join with
one another to enforce their rights under the Fair La-
bor Standards Act (FLSA) and other federal and state
labor standards laws.

SUMMARY OF THE ARGUMENT

I. Tyson waived any objection to this case proceed-
ing as a collective action under § 216(b) by not ade-
quately presenting the issue in its brief. The issue is
an important one to all employees covered by the
FLSA and one of first impression in this Court, yet
Tyson makes no argument in support of its position.
Rather, Tyson makes the bald and unsupportable as-
sertion that the standards for determining whether
employees are “similarly situated” under § 216(b)
“can be no less stringent” than those applied under
Rule 23(b)(3). But § 216(b) and Rule 23(b)(3) differ
on their face; have different origins, distinct purpos-
es, and vastly different scopes; and operate in “fun-
damentally different” manners. Genesis Healthcare
Corp. v. Symezyk, 133 S.Ct. 1523, 1529 (2013). Thus,

' Counsel for the petitioner and counsel for the respondent
have filed letters with the Court consenting to the filing of am-
icus briefs on either side. No counsel for a party authored this
brief amicus curiae in whole or in part, and no person or ern
tity, other than the amicus, made a monetary contribution to
the preparation or submission of this brief.

2
the overwhelming majority of lower federal courts
have rejected Tyson's position, specifically in rela-
tion to the predominance requirement.

Il. The District Court did not abuse its discretion
in certifying the Rule 23(b)(3) class despite variation
in the hours worked by “gang time” employees. The
Rule requires only that common questions “predomi-
nate.” “[Q]uestions affecting only individual mem-
bers” of the class can exist, including questions relat-
ing to damages.

Tyson's argument is not actually about certification
of the class, but about the quality of the evidence in-
troduced at trial concerning hours worked. But even
assuming that evidence was somehow deficient, any
error at trial does not infect the certification deci-
sion. Viewed from the perspective of the trial judge
deciding the motion to certify a class, the common
questions predominated because the individual ques-
tions did not require wholly individualized proof and
could have been efficiently tried in a number of ways,
including that employed by Plaintiffs, without over-
whelming the common questions.

This Court's holding in Anderson v. Mt. Clemens
Pottery Co., 328 U.S. 680 (1946), permitting employ-
ees to prove how many hours they worked “as a mat-
ter of just and reasonable inference” when their em-
ployer has * reached its duty to keep records applies
both to proof that the employees worked more than
40 hours and to proof of how many more. But appli-
cation of Mt. Clemens is not necessary to hold that
Plaintiffs could and did prove hours worked using
appropriate representative proof that did not over-
whelm the fully common questions.

3

III. The District Court did not abuse its discretion
by certifying the Rule 23(b)(3) class despite the fact
that it was likely some members never worked more
than 40 hours in a week because Plaintiffs’ evidence
identified such employees and the judge's instruc-
tions insured that their claims did not add to the jury
award and that they did not share in that award. Un-
der Tyson's reading of Rule 23(b)(3), the only indi-
vidual questions that could exist would be about the
amount of damages contrary to the unambiguous
text of the Rule. Tyson's reading would preclude cer-
tification in almost every case.

IV. If this Court decides that Tyson has not waived
its objection to the case proceeding as a collective
action under § 216(b), it should hold that the District
Court did not abuse its discretion in so permitting
because the more stringent standards of Rule 23(b)
(3) were met and because each of the criteria identi-
fied by the lower federal courts applying the similarly
situated standard supports the conclusion that the
employees were so situated here.

ARGUMENT
Introduction

Four preliminary points place this case in context.

1. The employees at issue all work in Tyson's
Storm Lake lowa pork processing plant. The work
they perform is hard, demanding and dirty. See J.A.
51-52 (on Cut Line ), 58-59 (on Slaughter Floor), 67
(on Retrim Line),’ 118 (generally). For example,

* The Processing Floor includes the cut and retrim lines.
J.A. 146.

4

one “Splitter” testified that he uses a 200lb saw with
an 18 inch blade to cut about 17 hogs in half per
minute. J.A.303-05. The employees earn between
$11 and $15.50 per hour (or between $23,000 and
$32,000 per year). J.A. 122. The employees all al-
leged that they were not compensated as required
by the federal FLSA and the lowa Wage Payment
and Collection Law for time spent performing re-
quired tasks at the start and end of their work day,
such as donning and doffing protective garments,
sanitizing knives and other equipment, and travel-
ing to and from their work stations.

Tyson and many of its amici seek to characterize
this case as being about “enterprising lawyers and
their experts.” Chamber Br. 19. But, as this Court
held over a half century ago, here, “we are dealing
with human beings and with a statute that is intended
to secure to them the fruits of their toil and exertion.”
Tennessee Coal, Iron & Railroad Co. v. Muscoda Lo-
cal No. 123, 321 U.S. 590, 592 (1944).

2. The Rule 23 class and the subset thereof that
joined the action pursuant to 29 U.S.C. § 216(b) are
relatively small (3,344 and 444 respectively), clearly
defined, and “sufficiently cohesive.” Amgen v. Con-
necticut Retirement Plans and Trust Funds, 133
S.Ct. 1184, 1196 (2013).

All the employees work for a single employer at a
single plant. J.A. 117. Even more specifically, all the
employees work on two floors of the plant, the
Slaughter or “Kill” floor and the Processing or “Fabri-
cation” floor. They do similar work using similar
tools and wearing similar protective clothing.

5

All the employees are paid according to the same
system. The fact that that pay system—unique to
members of the class—is denominated “gang time’
by Tyson itself further evidences the cohesive na-
ture of the group. Pet.App. 45a446a (emphasis add-
ed). The method used to calculate employees’ base
compensation does not vary by individual]. Rather,
each employee starts getting paid when the first hog
“hits the floor” and stops getting paid when the last
hog “hits the floor.” Jd. Every employee spends ad-
ditional time before and after the start and end of
such “gang time” changing in and out of protective
clothing, preparing and cleaning tools, and travel-
ing to and from their work stations, but no “gang
time” employee is compensated for the precise
amount of time spent performing those required
tasks. Pet.App. 47a-48a.

Tyson’s own practices evidence the cohesive-
ness of the class in relation to the precise question
at issue here. Not only did Tyson not compensate
all members of the class based on the actual time
each individual spent performing required tasks at
the start and end of the day, Tyson itself consid-
ered the time the individuals spent engaged in such
activities to be sufficiently similar that it paid them
the same, lump-sum amount to compensate them
for the time. J.A. 48, 65, 121, 432. In fact, Tyson
calculated the extra pay using methods that close-
ly parallel the proof in this case. J.A. 434, 437 (“the
industrial engineer will do their [sic] study to de-
termine how many minutes” for each position),
437 (“That’s what the K-code is. It is the amount of
time that we expect you to do that pre and post-
shirt activity [in].”)

6

3. The injuries in this case are precisely the type
that class and collective actions were designed to en-
able individuals to remedy in court. The average
damage award was $846.94 ($2,892,378.70/3,344).
Without access to class and collective actions, these
employees and others similarly situated who have
been illegally deprived of small amounts of pay will
be unable, as a practical matter, to enforce their stat-
utory rights. As Judge Posner observed in Espensc-
heid v. DirectSat USA, LLC, 705 F.3d 770, 776 (7th
Cir. 2013), “Although each class member claims to
have lost several thousand dollars as a result of [the
employer]'s alleged [wage and hour] violations, that
isn’t enough to finance a modern federal lawsuit;
it is class treatment or nothing.”

Even more specifically, Congress intended §
216(b) of the FLSA to enable groups of workers to
recover unpaid wages in amounts that are small in
relation to the cost of litigation, but nevertheless
crucial to the well-being of the workers. See Hoff-
man-LaRoche, Inc. v. Sperling, 493 U.S. 165, 170
(1989). When Congress amended § 216(b) in 1947,
claims of the precise type at issue here, for compen-
sation for start and end of the day activity and walk-
ing time - for “portal-to-portal” pay - were the cen-
tral focus of the debate. And Congress decided to
leave untouched employees’ rights both to compen-
sation for clothes changing that is “an integral part
of and indispensable to their principal activities”
and to walking time once such “principal” activities
have begun as well as to sue on behalf of others
“similarly situated,” while it revised other parts of
the FLSA, including § 216(b). Steiner v. Mitchell,

7
350 U.S. 247, 255 (1956); IBP, Inc. v. Alvarez, 546
U.S. 27, 37 (2 005). infra at 12 n. 9.

4. Finally, the sole non-common question al-
leged by Tyson is entirely the product of Tyson's
violation of the law. Tyson was required by law to
keep accurate records of all hours worked by its
employees each week. See 29 U.S.C. § 211{(c); 29
C.F.R. § 516.21(7); lowa Code § 914.6(1)(d). Had
it done so, the calculation of the damages owed
each class member would have been wholly me-
chanical.

In fact, Tyson used seven time clocks in the
plant. If employees were one minute late, a clock
recorded the time and their pay could be docked.
J.A. 174. Tyson’s Human Resource Manager ac-
knowledged that that “the company has a time-
system in place where it is administratively prac-
tical to keep up with the employees’ time down to
the minute.” J.A. 175. Tyson could easily have
instructed employees to punch in at the start of
their first work activity and punch out at the con-
clusion of their last activity. J.A. 208-09. Yet the
parties stipulated, “Tyson does not use such re-
corded time to determine an employee's compens-
able hours or pay. J.A. 120.

Tyson chose both to violate the substantive law
and to ignore the record keeping requirements and
now uses the consequences of the latter transgres-
sion to suggest that its employees cannot resort to a
class or collective action and therefore cannot, as a
practical matter, obtain a remedy for Tyson's viola-
tion of the substantive law.

8

I. Tyson Waived Any Objection to the Collective
Action Under § 216(b) of the FLSA by Not
Adequately Presenting the issue In Its Brief

Tyson's brief does not address the § 216(b) issue
with sufficient detail for this Court to reverse the
court of appeals.’ In full, Tyson’s argument con-
cerning § 216(b) occupies two pages and, as we ex-
plain oerom, contains no colorable argument. Pet.
Br. at 25-27.

A. The standard courts should apply in deciding
whether to permit an action to proceed as a collec-
tive action under § 216(b) is an issue of first impres-
sion in this Court. The only decisions of this Court
considering § 216(b), Hoffmann-La Roche and Gen-
esis, in no way address the meaning of the term
“similarly situated.” The sole and “narrow question”
presented in Hoffman-La Roche was “whether a
district court conducting a suit [under § 216(b)] may
authorize and facilitate notice of the pending ac-
tion.” 493 U.S. at 167, 169. This Court did not man-
date or even approve a certification-type procedure,
but held only “that district courts have discretion in
appropriate cases, to implement 29 U.S.C. § 216(b)

by facilitating notice to potential plaintiffs” and
that “the District Court was correct to permit dis-
covery of the names and addresses of the” similarly-
situated employees for that purpose. /d. at 169-70.
Nothing in the opinion speaks to the standards that

‘Tyson's Petition did not point to any split in the Circuits
conceming § 216(b).
* Tyson's amici also make no relevant argument conceming

§ 216(b).

9

should apply to determine if employees are “simi-
larly situated” for purposes of permitting such dis-
covery and notice.

Genesis considered only whether an action brought
as a collective action under § 216(b) “is justiciable
when the lone plaintiffs individual claim becomes
moot.” 133 S.Ct. at 1526. In Genesis, the case was
dismissed as moot before the trial court authorized it
to proceed as a collective action and thus this Court
had no occasion to consider the standards that should
apply in making that determination.

Despite the fact that this Court has not addressed
the question, Tyson asserts that “the standards gov-
erning certification[*] of a collective action under the
FLSA can be no less stringent” than those under Rule
23(b)(3). Given the complete absence of relevant ju-
risprudence in this Court speaking to the standards
applicable under § 216(b) and Tyson's complete fail-
ure to present any substantive argument on the is-
sue, it would be unwise for this Court to address this
important and unsettled issue. As then Judge Scalia
stated, “the issue is one of first impression, and of
major importance to all employees We will not
resolve that issue on the basis of briefing and argu-
ment by counsel which literally consisted of no more
than the assertion . . ., with no discussion of case law
supporting that proposition or of the statutory text
and legislative history relevant to the central ques-
tion.” Carducci v. Regan, 714 F.2d 171, 177 (D.C.Cir.
1983). See also, e.g., Borges v. Serrano-Isern, 605
F.3d 1, 6 (1st Cir. 2010) (“failure to present any devel-

* Nothing in § 216(b) requires “certification.

10

oped argumentation” resulted in waiver); Procter &
Gamble Co. v. Amway Corp., 376 F.3d 496, 499 n.1
(5th Cir. 2004) (“Failure adequately to brief an issue
on appeal constitutes waiver of that argument.”)
This Court has observed that “[t]he imperatives of a
dispute capable of judicial resolution are sharply
presented issues. .and __ parties vigorously advo-
cating opposing positions.” U.S. Parole Comm’n v.
Geraghty, 445 U.S. 388, 403 (1980). Here, Tyson has
made an unsupported assertion and therefore not
presented the issue at all.

Moreover, Tyson's bald assertion is contradicted
by the authorities it cites. After asserting that the
standards under § 216(b) “can be no less stringent”
than under Rule 23(b)(3), Tyson cites a single court
of appeals decision and for the different proposi-
tion that assessing whether employees are “similar-
ly situated” for purposes of § 216(b) “requires an
analysis similar to that under Rule 23(b)(3).” Pet.
Br. 26 (emphasis added). And in the cited decision,
Judge Posner acknowledges that his position is con-
trary to that of the Sixth and Eleventh Circuits. Fs-
penscheid, 705 F.3d at 772. Moreover, the one court
of appeals decision cited for support in Espensc-
heid actually states:

Congress clearly chose not to have the Rule 23
standards apply to class actions under the ADEA,
and instead adopted the ‘similarly situated’ stan-
dard. To now interpret this ‘similarly situated’
standard by simply incorporating the require-
ments of Rule 23 (either the current version or
the pre-1966 version) would effectively ignore
Congress’ directive.

ll

Thiessen v. General Electric Capital Corp., 267 F.3d
1095, 1105 (10th Cir. 2001).° Indeed, just three months
before Espenscheid issued, the Third Circuit noted
that no court of appeals had adopted a standard for
applying the “similarly situated” test derived from
Rule 23. Zavala v. Wal-Mart Stores Inc.. 691 F.3d
527, 536 (3d Cir. 2012).

The only other authority concerning § 216(b) Ty-
son cites is 7B Wright & Miller, Federal Practice and
Procedure § 1807. Pet. Br. 27 n. 3. But Wright &
Miller state, “Most courts have held that the Rule 23
certification requirements do not apply in collective
actions” under § 216(b). Jd. at 479. The treatise
specifically notes that “courts also have held that
the ‘similarly situated’ standard is less stringent
than the requirement of Rule 23(b)(3), which speci-
fies that common questions of law and fact predom-
inate.” Jd. at 482.

B. Section 216(b) and Rule 23(b)(3) differ on their
face, in the scope of their application, and in their
operation. Nothing suggests that the same stan-
dards should apply under the distinct provisions. In
Genesis, this Court observed, “there are Significant
differences between certification{"] under Federal
Rule of Civil Procedure 23 and the joinder process
under §216(b).”._ 133 S.Ct. at 1527 n. 1. “Whatever

* The Court did, however, go on to state that “there is little
difference in the various approaches.” Jd. That is not correct
as we demonstrate in § I(D) infra.

* This Court did “not express an opinion on the propriety of

this use of class-action nomenclature” by some lower courts.
133 S.Ct. at 1527 n. 1.

12

significance ‘conditional certification’ may have in
§216(b) proceedings, it is not tantamount to class
certification under Rule 23.” Jd. at 1532. Indeed,
this Court observed, “Rule 23 actions are fundamen-
tally different from collective actions under the
FLSA.” Jd. at 1529.

Section 216(b) is a statutory provision‘ that origi-
nally applied only to actions brought to enforce the
FLSA. FLSA of 1938, Pub. L. No. 75-718, 52 Stat. 1060.
Subsequently, the Equal Pay Act was inserted into
the FLSA and the Age Discrimination in Employment
Act incorporated § 216(b). See 29 U.S.C. § 206(d) and
626(b). Thus, the procedures created by § 216(b) are
now available only in actions to enforce three federal
employment laws while Rule 23 potentially applies
to any action brought in federal court.

The policies embodied in the FLSA as well as the
two subsequently enacted employment laws incor-
porating § 216(b) appropriately infuse § 216(b)’s
construction in contrast to the relationship be-
tween substantive laws and Rule 23. This Court
has held that the provisions of the FLSA “are reme-
dial and humanitarian in purpose” and thus the
statute “must not be interpreted or applied in a
narrow, grudging manner.” Tenn. Coal, 321 U.S. at
597. This Court has recognized that in § 216(b)
“Congress has stated its policy that [FLSA, EPA,
and] ADEA plaintiffs should have the opportunity
to proceed collectively.” Hoffman-La Roche, 493
U.S. at 170. And this Court stated with specific ref-

* The Rules Enabling Act thus has no application to the con-
struction of § 216(b).

13

erence to § 216(b), “The broad remedial goal of the
statute should be enforced to the full extent of its
terms.” /d. at 173.

Not only does § 216(b) have a unique origin, dis-
tinct purpose, and narrower scope than Rule 23, the
procedures and standards created by Rule 23 are en-
tirely distinct from those embodied in § 216(b). Sec-
tion 216(b) provides:

An action... may be maintained against any employ-
er... by any one or more employees for and in behalf
of himself or themselves and other employees simi-
larly situated. No employee shall be a party plaintiff
to any such action unless he gives his consent in writ-
ing to become such a party and such consent is filed
in the court in which such action is brought.°

Section 216(b) does not contain any of the procedural
requirements contained in Rule 23(c)-(h)'’ or the sub-

* The section was amended in 1947, but Congress did not in
any way alter the “similarly situated” standard. The Senate
Report on the amendments made clear, “Collective actions
brought by an employee or employees (a real party in interest)
for and in behalf of himself or themselves and other employ-
ees similarly situated may continue to be brought in accor-
dance with the existing provisions of the act.” S. Rep. No. 48,
80th Cong., Ist Sess. 49 (March 10, 1947). The Conference Re-
port provided the same. H.R. Rep. No. 326, 80th Cong., Ist
Sess. 13 (April 29, 1947). Senator Donnell, chairman of the
drafting subcommittee, confirmed this intent on the floor. 93
Cong. Rec. 2,182 (1947).

'° Similarly, while Rule 23(f) authorizes courts of appeal to
permit an appeal from an order granting or denying class cer-
tification, the lower federal courts have held that an order
granting or denying a request to proceed as a collective action

14

stantive requirements contained in Rule 23(a) and (b).
Likewise, the substantive standard contained in §
216(b)—that the employees be “similarly situated” —
is not contained in any of the sections of Rule 23(a) or
(b). And the procedural requirement contained in §
216(b)—written consent to become a party plaintiff—
is not contained in any of the provisions of Rule 23.

There can also be no suggestion that the standards
and procedures in Rule 23 should be read into the
earlier-adopted § 216(b). The drafters of the 1966
amendments to Rule 23 that created (b)(3) classes
and placed the Rule in its current form specifically
stated that “the present provisions of 29 U.S.C. §
216(b) are not intended to be affected by Rule 23, as
amended.” Fed. R. Civ. P. 23, advisory committee's
note, reprinted in 39 F.R.D. 69, 104 (1966).”’ If the
Rule itself was not intended to alter construction of
§ 216(b) surely subsequent Supreme Court construc-
tion of the Rule, such as that in the cases relied on by
Tyson, was not either.

C. Congress adopted different standards under
Rule 23 and § 216(b) because an action maintained
under Rule 23(b)(3) and an action maintained under
§ 216(b) are distinct in highly significant respects.

under § 216(b) is not immediately appealable. See, ¢.g..
McElmurry v. U.S. Bank National Ass'n, 495 F.3d 1136, 1139-
40 (9th Cir. 2007).

'' In the Court of Appeals, Tyson erroneously argued that
Rule 23 actually “governs” FLSA actions, Br. For Appellant at
38 n. 7, failing to cite controlling precedent granting a writ of
mandamus directing a district court to vacate an order certify-
ing a Rule 23 class in an FLSA action. Schmidt v. Fuller Brush
Co., 527 F.2d 532 (8th Cir. 1975).

15

First, an action that proceeds as a class action un-
der Rule 23(b)(3) includes all persons within the de-
scription of the class who do not opt out while an
action that proceeds under § 216(b) includes only
those persons who consent in writing to be a party
plaintiff. As this Court observed in Genesis:

a putative class acquires an independent legal sta-
tus once it is certified under Rule 23. Under the
FLSA, by contrast, ‘conditional certification’ does
not produce a class with an independent legal sta-
tus, or join additional parties to the action. The
sole consequence of conditional certification is
the sending of court-approved written notice to
employees. whointurn become parties to a col-
lective action only by filing written consent with
the court.

133 S.Ct. at 1530. Thus, courts need not be concerned
about binding absent class members who have not
consented to join an action under § 216(b).

Second, the filing of an action as a class action un-
der Rule 23 stays the running of the statute of limita-
tions for all persons within the description of the
class while the filing of an action as a collective ac-
tion under § 216(b) does not do so. Compare Crown,
Cork & Seal, Inc. v. Parker, 462 U.S. 345, 353-54
(1983), with 29 U.S.C. § 256 (FLSA action is not com-
menced for tolling purposes for any person, even
those specifically named in the original complaint,
until written consent is filed).

Third, in an action maintained under Rule 23, ab-
sent class members are not considered full parties
while under § 216(b) each person who files written

16

consent becomes a “party plaintiff.” The Eleventh
Circuit observed, “by referring to them as ‘party
plaintiff[s}’ Congress indicated that opt-in plain-
tiffs should have the same status in relation to the
claims of the lawsuit as do the named plaintiffs.’”
Morgan v. Family Dollar Stores, Inc., 551 F.3d
1233, 1259 n. 35 (11th Cir. 2008). Thus, one district
court observed that under § 216(b) “Plaintiffs

are not absent members of a Rule 23 class action,
but opt-in plaintiffs under § 216(b) of the FLSA.

Having opted into the litigation, [plaintiffs] are not
‘passive’ in the same sense as absent Rule 23 class
members.” Luna v. Del Monte Fresh Produce
(Southeast), Inc., 2007 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 36893 at
*22 (N.D. Ga., 2007). In some jurisdictions, plain-
tiffs’ counsel is required to amend the complaint to
add all the individuals who file consent forms as
plaintiffs and state claims on their behalf. “Sec-
tion 216(b) operates in conjunction with Rule 8 of
the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure and requires
the employee to name the individual plaintiff and
allege his or her cause of action in the complaint.”
Harkins v. Riverboat Servs., No. 99 C 123, 2002
U.S.Dist. LEXIS 19637 at *16-17 (N.D. Ill., May 16,
2002). See also Becker v. Southern Soils, No. 6:06-
cv-Orl-28JGG, 2006 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 85111 at *2n.1
(M.D. Fla., Nov. 20, 2006). And in some jurisdic-
tions, each person who files a consent is subject to
party discovery (7.e., is obligated to respond to in-
terrogatories and requests for admissions and pro-
duction). See, e.g., Ingersoll v. Royal & Sunal-
liance USA, Inc., No. C05-1774-MAT, 2006 U.S.
Dist. LEXIS 50912 at 7-8 (W.D. Wash., July 25, 2006)
(“the Court is persuaded by the reasoning of courts

17
permitting individualized discovery of opt-in plain-
tiffs”); Coldiron v. Pizza Hut, Inc., No. CV03-

O5865TJHMCX, 2004 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 23610 at *4-5
(C.D. Cal., Oct. 25, 2004).

Finally, ina § 216(b) action, “decertification” should
result in severance of all party plaintiffs’ claims,
while after decertification of a Rule 23 class absent
class members must file new actions in order to pur-
sue their claims. Cf. Lee v. Cook County, 635 F.3d
969, 971 (7th Cir. 2011) (mis-joinder under Rule 20
results in severance).

D. For the foregoing reasons, the overwhelming
majority view is that Rule 23 standards should not be
used in applying § 216(b)’s “similarly situated” stan-
dard. See, e.g., Zavala, 691 F.3d at 536; Grayson v. K
Mart Corp., 79 F.3d 1086, 1096 n. 12 (11th Cir. 1996)
(“it is clear that the requirements for pursuing a §
216(b) class action are independent of, and unrelated
to, the requirements for class action under Rule 23”);
Acevedo v. Allsup’s Convenience Stores, Inc., 600 F.3d
516,519 n. 1 (5th Cir. 2010) (“we have clearly held that
not all Rule 23 class action standards are applicable to
§ 216(b) actions”); O’Brien v. Ed Donnelly Enters..,
575 F.3d 567, 584 (6th Cir. 2009) (“Under the FLSA,
opt-in plaintiffs only need to be ‘similarly situated.’
While Congress could have imported the more strin-
gent criteria for class certification under Fed. R. Civ. P.
23, it has not done so in the FLSA.”)*

* Lower federal courts are unanimous in holding that the
decision to permit an action to proceed as a collective action
is reviewed using an abuse of discretion standard See, e.g.
Morgan, 551 F.3d at 1261-62.

18

The lower federal courts have specifically held that
Rule 23(b)(3)'s predominance requirement is not ap-
plicable to § 216(b) actions.'’ The Second Circuit
held that the question of whether employees are
“similarly situated” “is quite distinct from the ques-
tion whether plaintiffs have satisfied the much higher
threshold of demonstrating that common questions
of law and fact will ‘predominate’ for Rule 23 pur-
poses.” Myers v. Hertz Corp., 624 F.3d 537, 556 (2d
Cir. 2010). The Court continued, “we are easily able
to determine here that the higher predominance stan-
dard has not been met without addressing whether
the same evidence plaintiffs have put forward in sup-
port of Rule 23 class certification could satisfy the
lower standard” of “similarly situated.” Jd. The Sixth
Circuit held that “unless one excludes Rule 23 pre-
dominance from being an implicit requirement for §
216(b) collective actions,” the standard “is more de-
manding than what the statute requires.” O’Brien,
575 F.3d at 585. “[A}pplying the criterion of predomi-
nance undermines the remedial purpose of the [§
216(b)} collective action device.” Jd. at 585-86. The
Eleventh Circuit stated that § 216(b)’s similarly situ-
ated requirement “is considerably less stringent than
the requirement of [Rule 23(b)(3)] that common
questions ‘predominate. Grayson, 79 F.3d at 1096.

E. In the lower courts here, both parties well un-
derstood that different standards apply under Rule
23 and § 216(b). In fact, in contrast to its unsupport-
ed assertion in this Court, in the District Court, Ty-

'S Rule 23(b)(3) (and thus the predominance requirement)
did not exist in either 1935 or 1947 when § 216(b) was adopted
and amended.

19

son argued, “These class procedures in the FLSA and
Rule 23 are intentionally in contrast to each other.”
Defendant's Resistance to Plaintiffs’ Motion for Class
Certification at 6, Dkt. 45. Tyson there asserted that
there was a “fundamental inconsistency between the
opt-in provisions of the FLSA and the provisions of
Rule 23.” Jd.

In the District Court, Plaintiffs made two separate
motions—one for class certification under Rule 23
and another to proceed as a collective action under
§ 216(b). Plaintiffs’ Memorandum in Support of Mo-
tion for Rule 23 Class Certification, Dkt. 35; Plain-
tiffs’ Memorandum in Support of Motion for Condi-
tional Certification as a Collective Action, Dkt. 34.
Tyson filed two separate oppositions. Defendant’s
Resistance to Plaintiffs’ Motion for Class Certifica-
tion, Dkt. 45; Defendants Brief in Opposition to
Plaintiffs’ Motion for Conditional Certification as a
Collective Action, Dkt. 49. The moving papers and
the oppositions cited wholly distinct lines of cases.
As a result, the District Court properly analyzed
each issue separately. Pet.App. 69a-93a, 93a-110a.
In the Court of Appeals, Tyson acknowledged that
the Eighth Circuit had “not decided the proper test
for determining whether a plaintiff has carried his
burden to certify an FLSA class” and stated that “the
court need not decide the proper standard.” Br. for
Appellant at 37, 38 n. 7. Not until the case reached
this Court did Tyson make the bald and unsupport-
able assertion that the standards are identical under
Rule 23(b)(3) and § 216(b).

This Court should hold that Tyson waived the §
216(b) issue.

20

II. The District Court Properly Certified the
Class Under Rule 23(b )(3 ) Despite Variations
in Hours Worked Among the “Gang Time”
Employees

A. Tyson concedes that all of the requirements for
certification of the class under Rule 23(b)(3) were sat-
isfied in this case except one: predominance. But in
arguing that the trial court erred in finding predomi-
nance, Tyson effectively changes the requirement
from one requiring that common questions predomi-
nate to one requiring that all questions be common.

At the certification stage, the District Court correct-
ly described the non-common questions that existed
and correctly weighed them against the common ques-
tions as part of the predominance inquiry. The Court
found in its initial certification order, “Individual ques-
tions may exist, but the court does not believe they
predominate.” Pet.App. 109a. The Court did not reach
that correct conclusion by assuming that the individu-
al questions could be answered “with statistical tech-
niques that presume all class members are identical to
the average observed in a sample” as Tyson suggests.
Rather, the Court reasoned that while the damage
questions were not wholly common to all members of
the class, neither were they wholly unique to each in-
dividual. The Court found that all the employees “wear
some sort of PPE [Personal Protective Equipment],
and all store their PPE in the same lockers, at the same
plant, and all are required to don and doff their PPE.”
Pet.App. 99a. The Court reasoned:

(A]Jmong gang time paid employees, the evidence
only shows factual differences regarding the spe-

2}

cific PPE these employees wear and the tools they
carry. The court does not feel these differences ne-
cessitate individualized inquiry to prove a viola-
tion because most all gang time employees wear at
least the same basic PPE and use some kind of
knife or tool. Moreover, there is not an indefinite
amount of PPE to don and doff or tools to be used,
and thus the factual variations between employees
paid via gang time are limited.

Pet.App. 100a-10la. In other words, the District
Court concluded that proof of time worked could
not be via wholly common evidence, but neither
would it require separate evidence for each employ-
ee. On that basis, the Court correctly found pre-
dominance.

Predominance does not require that there be no
individual questions. “Rule 23(b)(3), however, does
not require a plaintiff seeking class certification to
prove that each ‘elemen(t] of [her] claim [is] sus-
ceptible to classwide proof.’ What the rule does
require is that common questions ‘predominate
over any questions affecting only individual [class]
members.” Amgen, 133 S.Ct. at 1196 (quoting Rule
23(b)(3)). The question is not whether any non-
common issues exist, the question is whether there
is “‘some fatal dissimilarity’ among class members
that would make use of the class-action device inef-
ficient or unfair. /d. at 1197 (emphasis added).
That was clearly not the case here.

Relying on a single sentence in Comcast Corp. v.
Behrend, 133 S.Ct. 1426 (2013), Tyson argues that,
even if common questions predominate, the need for
individualized damage calculations precludes certifi-

9)

as

cation. But nothing in the text of Rule 23(b)(3) sug-
gests that result and the single sentence in Comcast
cannot be read as such a holding. Rather, the single
sentence - “Questions of individual damage calcula-
tions will inevitably overwhelm questions common
to the class” — applies only to the facts of that case.
Id. at 1433. As Justice Ginsburg pointed out, as a
general proposition,

Recognition that individual damages calcula-
tions do not preclude class certification under
Rule 23(b)(3) is well nigh universal. See 2 W.
Rubenstein, Newberg on Class Actions § 4:54, p.
205 (5th ed. 2012) (ordinarily, ‘individual
damage(|s] calculations should not scuttle class
certification under Rule 23(b)(3)’). Legions of
appellate decisions across a range of substan-
tive claims are illustrative.

Id. at 1437 (Ginsburg, J., dissenting).

A simple example demonstrates that Tyson over-
reads Comcast. Imagine every employee spends a
different amount of time donning and doffing protec-
tive garments. But imagine Tyson had kept accurate
time records of all hours worked. There would still
be “|qjuestions of individual damage calculations,”
but it is clear that they would not “inevitably over-
whelm questions common to the class” because the
questions would be easily answered. Thus, Comcast
cannot possibly stand for the categorical proposition
advanced by Tyson.

Because it overreads the sentence in Comcast, Ty-
son focuses exclusively on the one factual question it
claims is not common to all members of the class—

23
the number of hours worked each week.’* But the
predominance standard cannot be answered without
also considering the common questions and then
comparing the two. By doing so, the District Court
correctly found predominance.

B. Tyson's argument is actually not about class
certification at all. Tyson's argument is about the
quality of evidence introduced at trial. This is clear
from the very terms in which Tyson framed the ques-
tion presented—whether a trial court may certify a
class “where liability and damages will be determined
with statistical techniques that presume all class
members are identical to the average observed in a
sample.” Pet. Br. i. Liability and damages are not
“determined” until trial. In this case, as Plaintiffs
demonstrate, the jury found liability and assessed
damages based on representative evidence, together
with other forms of proof, that permitted a reason-
able inference concerning the damages suffered by
each class member. There was no “presumption.”
But even if the District Court had permitted liability
and damages to be proven at trial with evidence ad-
mitted based on such a presumption, it might have
constituted an error in the admission of the evidence
or the failure to grant a motion for a directed verdict
or anew trial,"® but it would not have undermined the
ruling granting class certification.

‘* Tyson argues that there are other individual questions,
such as whether some employees were paid for start and end
of the day activities, but not only are such employees not “gang
time” employees and thus not class members, Tyson's payroll
records make answering those questions simple.

‘© This was Tyson's first and primary argument in the Court

24
At trial, Tyson proposed and the judge gave an ap-
propriate instruction on representative proof. Final
Instruction 10 read:

(I]f some employees testify about the activities they
performed orthe amount of unpaid time they worked,
other non-testifying employees who performed sub-
stantially similar activities are deemed to have shown
the same thing by inference. This kind of evidence
called [sic] ‘representative evidence. . [T]he weight
to be accorded the evidence is a function not of its
quantity, but of its quality — whether the testimony
covers similarly situated workers, and is generally
consistent. You may also consider whether the wit-
nesses who testified worked in or with similar posi-
tions and similar departments as the non-testifying
employees; whether they wore similar sanitary
and protective items; whether the testifying em-
ployees performed donning and doffing activities
simuarly to non-testifying employees.

of Appeals. Tyson's arguments that “Judgment as a matter of
law should have been granted to Tyson because Plaintiffs
failed to prove overtime liability on a class-wide basis” and
that “because Plaintiffs’ trial-by-formula approach was im-
proper’ and parallel argument that the District Court erred by
not granting a new trial consumed 20 of the 27 pages of argu-
ment in its Brief and all but three pages in its Reply Brief. Br.
for Appellant at 19-38; Reply Br. for Appellant at 4-30. Here,
Tyson has improperly recast its argument about the inadequa-
cy of the evidence at trial as an attack on class certification in
order to avoid the “two court rule.” See, e. g., Graver Tank &
Mfg. Co. v. Linde Air Products Co., 336 U.S. 271, 275 (1949)
(“A court of law, such as this Court is, rather than a court for
correction of errors in fact finding, cannot undertake to review
concurrent findings of fact by two courts below.”)

25

J.A. 472 (emphasis added), 93 (Tyson's proposal). Jf
the Plaintiffs’ evidence did not meet that standard as
a matter of law, Tyson could have so argued to the
jury,’* moved for a directed verdict and, if the motion
was denied, appealed. In fact, Tyson did all of those
things. But a failure of proof at trial does not infect
the certification decision.

Tyson's argument is about the quality of the trial evi-
dence: “the lower courts then compounded their error
by allowing plaintiffs to ‘prove’ injury and damages on
a classwide basis with statistical sampling that masked
these individual differences.” Pet. Br. 19. Plaintiffs
demonstrate that there was no such error, but, even as-
suming there was, the error was at trial and is not rel-
evant to certification or decertification of the class.

Tyson and its amici are wrong when they argue that
alleged flaws in the trial evidence undermine the orig-
inal certification decision or should have constituted
grounds for decertification. See, e.g., Dow Br. 9 (“Once
a class is certified, the practical realities of trial mean
that such individualized differences among class mem-
bers will never be examined.”) The trial court ac-
knowledged the existence of questions not common
to all members of the class in its certification decision
and, as Plaintiffs demonstrate, those questions were
examined at trial and Tyson had every opportunity to
explore them more fully. This Court need not alter the
standards for certification in order to insure compe-
tent evidence is introduced at trial.

'° As this Court recognized in Intl Brotherhood of Team-
sters v. U_S., 431 U.S. 324, 340 (1977), “statistics are not irrefut-
able; ... they may be rebutted.”

26

C. Appellate courts must review the certification
decision from the perspective of the trial judge. A
trial judge cannot know what evidence plaintiffs will
offer to prove each element of their claim. In fact,
plaintiffs’ counsel cannot be expected to know, at
the certification stage, what evidence they will prof-
fer at trial. A trial judge can and should assess the
common questions of law and fact and weigh them
against the “questions affecting only individual mem-
bers” of the putative class and in doing so a trial judge
can and should consider the various ways in which
the latter could be presented.

Thus, it is critical to recognize that while Tyson ar-
gues correctly that “Plaintiffs. . must show that they
worked more than 40 hours without receiving over-
time compensation,” Tyson is incorrect when it states
that “(t]he latter showing cannot be made with com-
mon evidence because individual class members
wear different combinations of personal protective
equipment that take varying amounts of time to don,
doff, and rinse.” Pet. Br. 19. That is incorrect or, at
best, a gross overstatement, because there is no dis-
pute about the fact that much of the protective cloth-
ing worn by employees was common as were many
of the other start and end of day activities and the
requirement of walking. For that reason, the District
Court correctly concluded that Plaintiffs could pres-
ent proof concerning the not fully common questions
at trial without overwheiming the common ques-
tions, i.e., that the latter predominated.

Plaintiffs’ opening brief demonstrates that the proof
actually introduced at trial both confirmed the District
Court's earlier finding that the common questions pre-

27

dominated and provided a sufficient basis for the jury's
verdict. Rather than reiterate that argument, we dem-
onstrate here that there were, in fact, numerous ways
in which Plaintiffs could have proven damages with-
out the individual questions overwhelming the com-
mon questions and thus that the District Court's find-
ing of predominance was correct.

The parties stipulated that all “gang time” employ-
ees are required to wear Some common items of pro-
tective clothing for safety and sanitation purposes.
J.A. 119, § 19, 249-50. Further, all processing employ-
ees wear a frock and all Slaughter employees a light-
color shirt and pants and an apron. J.A. 119, 150, 233.
Tyson acknowledges in its brief that the specific
items of protective clothing required in each unique
position in the plant are listed at J.A. 125-38. Pet. Br.
10. See also J.A. 162-64, 241-42. All the unique posi-
tions in the plant (e.g., “Gut hogs”) are listed on the y
axis and each of the unique pieces of protective cloth-
ing employees in each position are required to wear
are listed on the x axis (e.g., “shin guards”). The
chart reveals that there are only 14 unique pieces of
protective clothing, J.A. 125-38, 163, see also J.A. 74-
85, 118-19, of which only 11 were actually worn by
employees at the plant. J.A. 163. Using representa-
tive proof to demonstrate how long it takes to put on
and take off each item, it would have been mechani-
cal to calculate damages for each individual based
simply on their position, their wage rate, and Tyson's
time and attendance records,'’ even assuming that

‘" In the Court of Appeals, dissenting Judge Beam found that
Tyson maintained “adequate attendance, assignment, equip-
ment, work time and payroll records.” Pet. App. l21la.

28
there are more than 420 positions as Tyson suggests.
Pet. Br. 4."°

Proof of damages did not require that each em-
ployee who wore a particular type of protective
garment testify about how long it took him or her
to don and doff the garment. Testimony from a
representative sample of employees required to
wear each protective garment would have suf-
ficed.'* For example, if three representative em-
ployees testified about each of the 11 unique gar-
ments, there would only have been 33 witnesses
and, given the simple nature of the testimony (e.g.,
“how long did it take you to put on and take off the
shin guards”), this testimony would not have been
burdensome for the court to receive. Alternative-
ly, an industrial engineer could have studied how
long it took a sample of employees to put on and
take off each unique garment.~”

‘* 420 appears to be the total number of positions and not
the total number of “gang time” positions.

' Tyson argues that “[n]o court would allow an individual
employee to meet his ‘burden of proving that he performed
work for which he was not properly compensated, ... by sub-
mitting evidence of the amount of time worked by other em-
ployees who did different activities requiring a different
amount of time to perform.” Pet. Br. 36. But surely any court
would permit representative testimony concerning how long it
took each employee to perform the same task rather than re-
quiring thousands of employees to each testify about how long
it took them to perform the task.

* This is what Tyson's own industrial engineers did to derive
the K-code time for each position. See J.A. 446-53. The “group
manager of industrial engineers for the Pork Division” de-
scribed this as “a very simple time study.” J.A. 452.

29

Plaintiffs could easily have proved the hours worked
by each employee at trial in any number of manners
(in addition to the manner actually used) that would
not have overwhelmed the fully common questions.
Thus, looked at from the certification stage, the Dis-
trict Court was correct when it concluded, “Tyson's
possible defenses _are not as individualized as Ty-
son wants the court to believe” and thus that the com-
mon questions predominated. Pet.App. 89a.

D. This Court's decision in Mt. Clemens, fully sup-
ports the foregoing argument, but the forms of repre-
sentative proof that were and could have been of-
fered in this case were proper regardless of whether
Mt. Clemens applies.

The Mt. Clemens Court recognized “that it is the em-
ployer who has the duty under § 11 (c) of the Act to
keep proper records of wages, hours and other condi-
tions and practices of employment.” 328 U.S. at 687.
Mt. Clemens further recognized that, in the absence of
such records, it may be difficult for employees to prove
both liability (because liability always depends to some
degree on the number of hours worked) and damages.
This Court reasoned that the employee “has the burden
of proving that he performed work for which he was
not properly compensated,” i.e., to prove liability, and
held that “[t]he remedial nature of this statute and the
great public policy which it embodies. . . militate against
making that burden an impossible hurdle for the em-
ployee.” /d. (emphasis added).

Tyson argues that Mt. Clemens’ holding does not
apply until after the employee has proven liability.”

“ Even accepted, this argument has extremely limited ap-

30

Similar to its reading of Comcast, Tyson does this by
taking a single sentence, indeed, in this case, a single
part of a sentence, out of context. Tyson points to
the following language: “an employee has carried
out his burden if he proves that he has in fact per-
formed work for which he was improperly compen-
sated.” Tyson argues that it is only after carrying that
burden that the employee can prove the amount of
damages he suffered with “sufficient evidence to
show the amount and extent of that work as a matter
of just and reasonable inference.” But such a reading
of Mt. Clemens would defeat its central hoiding.
When an employer has failed to keep records, it is no
less difficult for employees to prove they worked
over 40 hours in a work week than it is to prove how
many hours over 40 they worked. It would make no
sense and wholly undermine the rationale of Mt. Cle-
mens to demand exacting proof of the first 40.1 hours
worked but not of any additional hours.

Tyson's reading of Mt. Clemens is also inconsis-
tent with its actual holding. The evidence the court
of appeals found insufficient in that case was not
simply evidence of the amount of damage suffered,
but evidence that the FLSA was violated. The court
of appeals reinstated a master’s finding that “the
plaintiffs had not established by a fair preponder-
ance of evidence a violation of the {[FLSA].” 149
F.2d 461, 464 (6th Cir. 1945). That was the holding
reversed by this Court.

plicability here because it is undisputed that the vast majority
of “gang time” employees worked six days a week for at least
48 hours. J.A. 122, 181-82, 326, 437.

31

Finally, even accepting Tyson's reading of Mt. Clem-
ens, nothing in the single phrase Tyson cites suggests
that the employee cannot carry “his burden if he
proves that he has in fact performed work for which
he was improperly compensated” with competent evi-
dence of how long it took other similarly situated em-
ployees to perform the same tasks the employee per-
formed. In other words, competent representative
proof can be used to prove that an individual employ-
ee worked more than 40 hours per week and to prove
how many hours over 40 he or she worked per week
regardless of the ambit of Mt. Clemens’ holding.

Ill. The District Court Properly Certified the
Class Even Though It Was Possible That Not
Every Employee Would Recover Damages

The second question presented is “Whether a class
action may be certified or maintained under Rule 23(b)
(3), or a collective action certified or maintained under
the Fair Labor Standards Act, when the class contains
hundreds of members who were not injured and have
no legal right to any damages.” Pet. Br. i. But in its
brief, Tyson argues that a court may certify a class only
if plaintiffs “show (1) that they can prove with common
evidence that all class members were injured, or (2)
that there is a mechanism for identifying the uninjured
class members and ensuring that they do not contrib-
ute to the size of the damages award and cannot re-
cover damages.” Pet. Br. 21 (emphasis added).

Plaintiffs demonstrate that the evidence intro-
duced at trial did “identify{] the uninjured class
members and ensur[e] that they d[id}] not contrib-
ute to the size of the damages award and cannot

32

recover damages.” The jury was specifically in-
structed that “[a]ny employee who has already re-
ceived full compensation for all activities you may
find to be compensable is not entitled to recover
any damages.” J.A. 481.~ We demonstrated in §
Il(C) supra that there were, in fact, multiple
“mechanism(s]” that could have been employed at
trial “for identifying the uninjured class members
(in this case] and ensuring that they do not con-
tribute to the size of the damages award and can-
not recover damages.” Thus, Tyson’s restated stan-
dard was clearly met here.

Tyson restates the question to avoid the untenable
suggestion that a class cannot be certified if some
members may ultimately not recover. To hold that a
class cannot be certified if it contains members who
might ultimately not sustain a claim that they have a
right to damages would read the predominance stan-
dard out of Rule 23. To so hold would be to conclude
that proof of injury must always be common. That
would be inconsistent with the plain text of Rule 23
which makes plain that there may be some “ques-
tions affecting only some [class] members” and does
not limit the subject matter of those questions. Rule

23(b)(3).

A no answer to Tyson's original question would be
starkly inconsistent with the predominance standard
because it would mean that if there is any non-com-
mon issue that might preclude some class members

= Because Tyson filed its notice of appeal before there was any
allocation of the jury award to individual class members, it surely
camot argue uninjured class members received damages.

33
from prevailing, certification cannot be granted. In
other words, it suggests that the only question that
cannot be common is the amount of damages owed

each class member. Nothing in Rule 23 supports
such a contention.

In fact, accepting Tyson’s argument would pre-
clude certification in almost all cases because unique
deficiencies of proof and unique defenses are possi-
ble, even likely, in almost all cases. This Court con-
cluded in Halliburton Co. v. Erica P. John Fund,
Inc., 134 S.Ct. 2398, 2412 (2014), that the fact that
“defendant might attempt to pick off the occasional
class member here or there through individualized
rebuttal” does “not render class certification inap-
propriate.” See also Kohen v. Pacific Investment
Management Co., 571 F.3d 672, 677 (7th Cir. 2009)
(“Such a possibility or indeed inevitability does not
preclude class certification.”); In re Nexium Anti-
trust Litigation, 777 F.3d 9, 22 (1st Cir. 2015) (“ex-
cluding all uninjured class members at the certifica-
tion stage is almost impossible in many cases”).

IV. The District Court Properly Permitted the
Action to Proceed as a Collective Action
Under § 216(b)

If this Court decides that Tyson has not waived
the argument that the District Court abused its dis-
cretion by permitting the action to proceed as a col-
lective action under § 216(b), it should nevertheless
reject the argument based on its conclusion that
Plaintiffs satisfied the more demanding standards
of Rule 23(b)(3) as explained in §§ II and III supra.
And even if this Court finds it necessary to further

34

construe the “similarly situated” standard despite
the complete absence of any colorable argument by
Tyson as to its meaning, this Court should conclude
that the District Court did not abuse its discretion
in holding that the “gang time” employees were sim-
ilarly situated.

Each of the criteria identified by courts of ap-
peals applying the similarly situated standard sup-
port the District Court’s conclusion. First, the
“gang time” employees are “employed in the same
corporate department, division, and location.” Za-
vala, 691 F.3d at 537. Second, the employees have
similar but not identical “job requirements” and
“pay provisions.” Morgan, 551 F.3d at 1259-60.
Third, the employees “advance similar claims.”
Zavala, 691 F.3d at 537. Fourth, the employees
were “subjected to some common employer
practice[s] that, if proved, would help demonstrate
a violation of the FLSA.” /d. at 538. Fifth, the em-
ployees “claims were unified by common theories
of defendants’ statutory violations.” O’Brien, 575
F.3d at 585. Sixth, the employees “seek substan-
tially the same form of relief.” Zavala, 691 F.3d at
537. Seventh, the “defenses were not so individu-
ally tailored to each Plaintiff as to make [the] col-
lective action unwarranted or unmanageable.”
Morgan, 551 F.3d at 1263. Finally, the employees
are similarly situated even though “proof of a vio-
lation as to one particular plaintiff does not prove
that the defendant violated any other plaintiff's
rights under the FLSA.” O’Brien, 575 F.3d at 585.

35
CONCLUSION
The judgment below should be affirmed.

Respectfully submitted,

LYNN K. RHINEHART

Haro_p CRAIG BECKER
(Counsel of Record)

YONA ROZEN

815 Sixteenth Street, NW

Washington, DC 20006

(202) 637-5310

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0547%3A19. Public record. Not legal advice.
