# Amicus Curiae Brief — Tyson Foods, Inc. v. Bouaphakeo ex rel. Situated, 135 S. Ct. 2806 (2015) (No. 14-1146)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0547%3A16

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2015

## Text

Sudrerré Wour, U.S.

SEP 29 2015
No. 14-1146

In the Supreme Court of the Cinited States

TYSON Foops, INC., PETITIONER
U’.
PEG BOUAPHAKEO, ET AL., INDIVIDUALLY AND
ON BEHALF OF ALL OTHERS SIMILARLY SITUATED

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIGHTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES
AS AMICUS CURIAE SUPPORTING RESPONDENTS

DONALD B. VERRILLI. JR.
Solicitor General

M. PATRICIA SMITH Counsel of Record
Solicitor of Labor EDWIN S. KNEEDLER
JENNIFER S. BRAND Deputy Solicitor General
Associate Solicitor BRIAN H. FLETCHER
PAUL L. FRIEDEN Assistant fo the Solicitor
Counsel for Appellate General
Litigation Department of Justice
LAURA M. Moskow1T7 Washington, D.C. 20530-9001
Senior Attorney SupremeCt Briefsta usdoj.qor
Department of Labor (202) 514-2217

Washington, D.C. 20210

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether respondents’ suit seeking unpaid over-
time on behalf of employees at a meat-processing
plant was properly maintained as a class action under
Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 23(b)(3) and a collec-
tive action under the Fair Labor Standards Act of
1938 (FLSA), 29 U.S.C. 201 et seg., where the compen-
sability of the disputed activities turned on common
questions of law and fact and where respondents es-
tablished the extent of the employees’ unpaid work on
a class-wide basis by using the burden-shifting frame-
work set forth in Anderson v. Mt. Clemens Pottery
Co., 328 U.S. 680 (1946).

2. Whether a Rule 23(b)(3) class action or an FLSA
collective action may be certified or maintained when
the class members or collective-action plaintiffs in-
clude individuals who may ultimately be shown to have
no entitlement to recover damages.

(T)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
Interest of the United States ........cccccccssssccsssssesssssssscsesoeoseessecccce ]
Statutory provisions, regulations, and rule involved................ 2
Statement:
A. The Fair Labor Standards Act and
EN 2
B. The present controversy ......c..cccccccccsecsessssseccseeccoseee 7
SES Ean 12
Argument:
I. Respondents’ suit was properly maintained as a
class action under Rule 23(b)(3) and a collective
action under the Fair Labor Standards Act... l4
A. Respondents’ suit was properly maintained
EE 14
1. The predominance inquiry is shaped by
the governing substantive law .........-...cccccc. 15

2. Mt. Clemens sets forth a substantive

rule of law that allows employees to

establish the extent of their unrecorded

work with common proof ..............ccccceccesecesseoes 17
3. The trial record demonstrates that

individual questions did not predominate

because respondents properly invoked

Mt. Clemens to prove their case on a

I 18
4. Petitioner's challenges to the lower

courts’ application of Mt. Clemens lack

ES ee 23
B. Respondents’ suit was properly maintained
as an FLSA collective action .................... 29

II. The presence of employees who were ultimately
shown to have no right to recover did not require
decertification of the class and collective actions........31

(IIT)

Iv

Table of Contents—Continued: Page

A. The possibility that some class members
may ultimately be found to have no right
to recover does not preclude certification

ee ietibaiiictinttiitiniisitniasidletsiictetasiciniitaiy 31
B. The presence of some members who were
shown to have no right to recover did not
require decertification of the class and
ARETE IRE MASEL NES 38
SI ncccsessiciniuniinieinittiiniatcatiiaits tai tlie lawn ty wi Ee 35
Appendix — Statutory provisions, regulations, and rule......1a
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases:
Acosta v. Tyson Foods, Inc., No. 08-cv-86, 2013 WL
7849473 (D. Neb. May 31, 2013), rev'd, No. 14-1582,
2015 WL 5023643 (8th Cir. Aug. 26, 2015) .......cccccccceenens 8
Amgen, Inc. v. Connecticut Ret. Plans & Trust
Funds, 133 S. Ct. 1184 (20138) ......ccccccccccsseeneees 16, 17, 23, 38
Andersen v. Mt. Clemens Pottery Co., 328 U.S. 680
SUITE wiechicusievnnictiiiniiammaiaeiadeaieiadlaahaptitiaiiahinshienatans passim
Basic Inc. v. Levinson, 485 U.S. 224 (1988).......c.cccccceccceseees 16
Brock v. Norman's Country Mkt, Inc., 835 F.2d 823
(11th Cir.), cert. denied, 487 U.S. 1205 (1988) ...0.......000. 7
City & County of SF. v. Sheehan, 135 S. Ct. 1765
SR e einsieatincsestincenenienitaatinnntceimatigtianiaiaeatastaattiariilaitesiasaemeaiai 32
Comcast Corp. v. Behrend, 133 S. Ct. 1426 (2013)........ 16, 18
Comer v. Wal-Mart Stores, Inc., 454 F.3d 544 (6th
SS rear nsesisicsersteceiensssinceisebieniinsceeinieteiindaieiidedlibibisatntadanishtas 4
Davis v. United States, 131 S. Ct. 2419 (2011) ....... eee 32
DOL v. Cole Enters., Inc., 62 F.3d 775 (6th Cir. 1995).......23
Donovan v. Bel-Loc Diner, Inc., 780 F.2d 1113 (4th
GD Bare streennssceneniepusnnnpinitnaieoniiieesasvapaiianiniaiiniiniaatiidaiibidiaalal 17

Cases—Continued: Page

Dybczak v. Tuskegee Inst., 737 F.2d 1524 (11th Cir.

1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 1211 (1985)... cceceeseees 19
Erica P. John Fund, Inc. v. Halliburton Co.,

as San TT aacincinrrescnteathiteinetateesicniananinesiienniaiy 15, 16
Espenscheid v. DirectSat USA, LLC, 705 F.3d 770

ee ee iesicctrinieniesininctnrstenesiiseiniliiessininsitebidienitapeal, 26, 30
Garria v. Tyson Foods, Inc., 770 F 3d 1300 (10th Cir.

STE onehadellhaciaieinsceicentatieneppiedetesaeiueritnntemeitaiattiastiddininiasninmadaedion 25
Genesis Healthcare Corp. v. Symezyk, 133 S. Ct.

NRE a ee ee ee Or em: 3, 4, 30, 35
Grayson v. K Mart Corp., 79 F.3d 1086 (11th Cir.),

cert. denied, 519 U.S. 982, and 519 U.S. 987 (1996)......... 30
Halliburton Co. v. Erica P. John Fund, Inc.,
Hoffmann-La Roche Inc. v. Sperling, 493 U.S. 165

Trai etcsiciesnicataenentaneieicduadeg inant diindiubadanidtpiastninagetes, 29, 30, 31
IBP, Inc. v. Alvarez, 546 U.S. 21 (2005) .........ccceccceceeeees 2, 3,6
Kohen v. Pacific Inv. Mgmt. Co., 571 F.3d 672

(7th Cir. 2009), cert. denied, 559 U.S. 962 (2010)............. 32
Martin v. Selker Bros., 949 F.2d 1296 (3d Cir. 1991)......... 27
Martin v. Tony & Susan Alamo Found., 952 F.2d

1050 (8th Cir.), cert. denied, 505 U.S. 1204 (1992)........... 23
McLaughlin v. Ho Fat Seto, 850 F.2d 586 (9th Cir.

1988), cert. denied, 488 U.S. (1989) ...........ccccccseseeessseseeeeees 23
Monsanto Co. v. Geertson Seed Farms, 561 U.S. 139

SS iistahisciipeedinaiisiaiidalaan tinier ninvaiaeinaibmmiaa

Morgan v. Family Dollar Stores, Inc., 551 F.3d 1233
(11th Cir. 2008), cert. denied, 558 U.S. 816

Mt. Clemens Pottery Co. v. Anderson, 149 F.2d 461
a See eibnseatanicnrnicensihichssenestonseneinontsinniteapiteipniealictusentaiet 5, 24

Cases—Continued: Page

Mullins v. Direct Digital, LLC, 795 F.3d 654

EE ee ee ene ee 33
O’Brien v. Ed Donnelly Enters., Inc., 575 F.3d 567

NI siniditi chelate cnet ities 18, 30, 35
Ortiz v. Jordan, 562 U.S. 180 (2011) ..........cccccccescesesceseseeceee 18
Perez v. Mountaire Farms, Inc., 650 F.3d 350

(4th Cir. 2011), cert. denied, 132 S. Ct. 1634 (2012)......... 25
Reich v. Gateway Press, Inc., 13 F.3d 685 (3d Cir.

STIPUITIID ssscnshsessenemshesibipieipinaniastenitetataiantieteniatieadeiiamsinbitaaatataciandsintanlanss 17
Reich v. Southern New England Telecomm. Corp.,

ee Ge A ee 17, 27
Secretary of Labor v. DeSisto, 929 F.2d 789 (ist Cir.

SEIT cinching ganttaaen neciadartihaataidaaac 24, 27

Thiessen v. General Elec. Capital Corp., 267 F.3d
1105 (10th Cir. 2001), cert. denied, 536 U.S. 934

Urethane Antitrust Litig., In re, 768 F.3d 1245
(10th Cir. 2014), petition for cert. pending,

No. 14-1091 (filed Mar. 9, 2015) 0.0... eee 18, 34
Wal-Mart Stores, Inc. v. Dukes, 131 S. Ct. 2541
RRR RSME OR RES RS Ei IES AE ae aN 15, 16, 19

Constitution, statutes, regulations and rules:

Se I Shs I cntinisctichicenearersneihbeiinipracnaipemninitsiadinsatdetnenintine 32
Age Discrimination in Employment Act of 1967,
III ccinsssssininicnnnianiinsiaisientehiintissinmtbciaienminnmantiin 1
aan ER achasaiinsnhiieniatiritsiethinstiimtiinirednmeanipesmimmemnientes 1
Equal Pay Act of 1963, 29 U.S.C. 206() 202... cccecccceseeeeeeeees 1
Fair Labor Standards Act of 1938, 29 U.S.C. 201
I ceencarctasaenniniesiestsniasenecerniitantiatainitataiemsintisntateumansintitiiinaasignts 1,2
PE Wi wiiicncicnictiistiincesnieitinlimsibacieasiiiatnitastapinaiaiogiaiies ]

VII

Statutes, regulations and rule—Continued: Page
ls Hla iisihiatininietisatdaicainansiaibiahabaniiietiaapenatanlzinbiaial 2
EERE NEE EI ee, 32
a ts I cihicinsshinseincinbicihitinthantntnarnbieiabbatsccintiuealal 4,27
Re ee passim
IE ee ae tee CLIPS 1,3
SF pnt iniiceiapiinsibhesetimatntindepiihatiniaciiadiisttaeaa i 1,3

Portal-to-Portal Act of 1947, 29 U.S.C. 251 et seq... 2
Ss MI uiliiiiilinsiiiicilatirhaienlistaatas de aa aa we 2,3
29 C.F.R.:
ETRE AI See A ee Nee ea 4
Ne aI taiscrtiiteieihitiaCihiiteiinnisieiaiiitiansinamainiitiindiainiintial 3
lowa Code Ann. (West 2007):
SeastT siseciviainsicicesnhicceansaiitoeiceath eile taal 4
SII peecaescidne scien 9
Fed. R. Civ. P.:
SII idiassaiAtnsiseasimeeaseindininiatansiantnianidneeiateal 9, 11, 29, 31, 32
Rule 23 advisory committee’s note (1966) .........cc00. 29
PIII i cicisncesteetieniieiieciatesiemenemeceniunanesel passim
SIT EI ee eS 33
Rule 23(c)(1) advisory committee’s note (2003) ............ 18
> EERE ane nem E ES ere 34
Miscellaneous:

Dep't of Labor, Op. Letter, 2001 WL 58864 (Jan. 15,
2001), withdrawn in part on other grounds, 2002

WL 33941766 (June 6, 2002)..............ccscesssssserssesesesssesesesscerees 8
Laurie E. Leader, Wages and Hours: Law and
Pe Ci crnnsscensstatnsentusnicconioisiidateneinnncnmnenaniets 7, 17, 30

2 William B. Rubenstein, Newberg on Class Actions
TT aiebertecsshinssiceesihisetisatecdccbetinnestaiestniniiatertabinsteniiatindgs 16

VII

Miscellaneous—Continued:

Page
Charles Alan Wright et al., Federal Practice and
Procedure:
Vol. 7B (3d ed. Supp. 2015) .......cscccssccssssessesssssesssssseseococe 30

Vol. 18 (2d ed. 2002)

In the Supreme Court of the United States

No. 14-1146
TYSON Foops, INC., PETITIONER
v.

PEG BOUAPHAKEO, ET AL., INDIVIDUALLY AND
ON BEHALF OF ALL OTHERS SIMILARLY SITUATED

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES
AS AMICUS CURIAE SUPPORTING RESPONDENTS

INTEREST OF THE UNITED STATES

The Secretary of Labor administers the Fair Labor
Standards Act of 1938, 29 U.S.C. 201 et seq., by, inter
alia, bringing enforcement actions to recover unpaid
wages for employees. 29 U.S.C. 204, 216(c), 217.
Private coliective actions under 29 U.S.C. 216(b) are
an essential supplement to the Secretary’s enforce-
ment. Such actions also supplement enforcement of
the Equal Pay Act of 1963, 29 U.S.C. 206(d), and the
Age Discrimination in Employment Act of 1967, 29
U.S.C. 621 et seg. See 29 U.S.C. 216(b), 626(b). The
government similarly relies on class actions under
Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 23(b)(3) to supple-
ment its enforcement of other statutes. And the Unit-

(1)

»
“

ed States is a potential defendant in both class and
collective actions.
STATUTORY PROVISIONS, REGULATIONS,
AND RULE INVOLVED

Pertinent statutory provisions, regulations, and
provisions of Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 23 are
reproduced in an appendix to this brief. App., infra,
la-16a.

STATEMENT

A. The Fair Labor Standards Act and Mt. Clemens

1. The Fair Labor Standards Act of 1938 (FLSA),
29 U.S.C. 201 et seqg., generally requires employers to
pay a minimum wage for all hours worked and an
overtime rate of one and one-half times an employee's
regular wage for work in excess of 40 hours in a
workweek. 29 U.S.C. 206, 207. This Court has long
held that “the statutory workweek” ordinarily in-
cludes “all time during which an employee is neces-
sarily required to be on the employer’s premises, on
duty or at a prescribed workplace.” /BP, Inc. v. Alva-
rez, 546 U.S. 21, 25-26 (2005) (citation omitted).

Congress responded to that broad interpretation
by enacting the Portal-to-Portal Act of 1947 (Porta!
Act), 29 U.S.C. 251 et seg. The Porta! Act did not alter
“this Court's earlier descriptions of the terms ‘work’
and ‘workweek,’” but it created “express exceptions
for travel to and from the location of the employee's
‘principal activity,’ and for activities that are prelimi-
nary or postliminary to that principal activity.” Alva-
rez, 546 U.S. at 28 (quoting 29 U.S.C. 254(a)). Those
exceptions apply only “prior to the time on any partic-
ular workday at which [an] employee commences, or
subsequent to the time on any particular workday at

3

which he ceases, [his] principal activity or activities.”
29 U.S.C. 254(a). Accordingly, the compensable
workday generally encompasses “the period between
the commencement and completion” of an employee's
principal activities. 29 C.F.R. 790.6(b); see Alvarez,
546 U.S. at 28-29.

The term “principal activities” includes “all activi-
ties which are an ‘integral and indispensable part of
the principal activities’” a worker is employed to per-
form. Alvarez, 546 U.S. at 29-30 (citation omitted).
For example, “the donning and doffing of specialized
protective gear” by factory workers is a compensable
principal activity if it is an integral and indispensable
part of their job. /d. at 30. And “any walking time
that occurs after the beginning of the employee's first
principal activity and before the end of the employee's
last principal activity”—including time spent walking
between a locker room and the production line after
donning and before doffing protective gear—is there-
fore “covered by the FLSA.” /d. at 37.

2. The Secretary of Labor is authorized to sue to
compel an employer to pay wages owed under the
FLSA. 29 U.S.C. 216(¢), 217. The FLSA also author-
izes “any one or more employees” to bring an action—
known as a “collective action"—to recover unpaid
wages “for and in behalf of himself or themselves and
other employees similarly situated.” 29 U.S.C. 216(b);
see Genesis Healthcare Corp. v. Symczyk, 133 S. Ct.
1523, 1527 (2013). Such actions are “fundamentally
different” from class actions under Federal Rule «
Civil Procedure 23. /d. at 1529. Among other things,
a collective action binds only employees who opt in by
filing written consents, and those employees become
“party plaintiffis].” 29 U.S.C. 216(b).

4

Courts hearing collective actions typically follow a
two-step joinder process commonly—albeit somewhat
imprecisely—called “certification.” Comer v. Wal-
Mart Stores, Inc., 454 F.3d 544, 546-547 (6th Cir.
2006); see Genesis Healthcare, 133 S. Ct. at 1527 n.1.
First, if the named plaintiffs make a preliminary
showing that other employees are “similarly situated,”
the court may “conditionally certify” the collective
action—i.e., allow the plaintiffs to take discovery of
the names and addresses of potential opt-in plaintiffs
and notify them of the action. Genesis Healthcare,
133 S. Ct. at 1530. Second, after the filing of opt-in
consents and further discovery, the employer may
move to “decertify” the collective action in whole or in
part. Comer, 454 F.3d at 546-547, 549. The court
must then determine whether the challenged opt-in
plaintiffs are, in fact, “similarly situated” to the
named plaintiffs. /d. at 549.

3. To facilitate enforcement of the FLSA, Con-
gress mandated that every covered employer keep
“records of the persons employed by him and of the
wages, hours, and other conditions and practices of
employment maintained by him” in accordance with
regulations issued by the Secretary. 29 U.S.C. 211(c).
Those regulations require employers to record each
employee's “{hjours worked each workday,” “total
hours worked each workweek,” and regular and over-
time pay. 29 C.F.R. 516.2(6)-(9). If an employer has
kept those records, the Secretary or employee plain-
tiffs can “easily” establish the extent of any uncom-
pensated work in an action to recover backpay. An-
derson v. Mt. Clemens Pottery Co., 328 U.S. 680, 687
(1946) (Mt. Clemens). But “where the employer's

5

records are inaccurate or inadequate,” the task be-
comes far more difficult. /bid.

This Court addressed that problem in Mt. Clemens,
which was a collective action brought by approximate-
ly 300 factory workers seeking to recover overtime for
pre-shift activities, including time spent walking to
their workstations, putting on gear, and preparing
equipment. Mt. Clemens Pottery Co. v. Anderson, 149
F.2d 461, 461-464 (6th Cir. 1945). Because the em-
ployer had not recorded the time spent on those pre-
shift tasks, the workers relied on testimony from eight
employees. /d. at 462. The court of appeals found
that evidence inadequate, concluding that “the burden
rested on each of the plaintiffs to prove by a prepon-
derance of the evidence that he did not receive the
wages that he was entitled to receive under the
[FLSA], and to show by evidence, not resting upon
conjecture, the extent of overtime worked.” /d. at
465. “It does not suffice,” the court held, “for the em-
ployee to base his right to recovery on a mere esti-
mated average of overtime worked.” /bdid.

This Court disagreed, holding that the court of ap-
peals had imposed “an improper standard of proof”
that would have had “the practical effect of impairing
many of the benefits of the [FLSA].” Mt. Clemens,
328 U.S. at 686. The Court reasoned that employees
should not be penalized for their employer's “failure
to keep proper records in conformity with his statuto-
ry duty,” and that such a failure instead calls for a
burden-shifting framework. /d. at 687.

Under that framework, employees carry their bur-
den if they show that they “in fact performed work for
which [they were] improperly compensated and if
[they] produce[] sufficient evidence to show the

6

amount and extent of that work as a matter of just and
reasonable inference.” 328 U.S. at 687. The burden
then shifts to the employer, who must “come forward
with evidence of the precise amount of work per-
formed or with evidence to negative the reasonable-
ness of the inference” from the employees’ proof. /d.
at 687-688. If the employer fails to do so, “the court
may then award damages to the employee(s], even
though the result be only approximate.” Jd. at 688.
The Court made ciear that “even where the lack of
accurate records grows out of a bona fide mistake”
about the compensability of the unrecorded work, “the
employer, having received the benefits of such work,
cannot object to the payment for the work on the most
accurate basis possible under the circumstances.”
Ibid.

In Mt. Clemens itself, the Court determined that
the workers were entitled to be paid for time spent
walking to their workstations and for any preliminary
activities performed there, subject to a de minimis
rule. 328 U.S. at 690-693.' The Court further held
that the workers could not “be barred from their stat-
utory rights” on the ground that “the amount of time
taken up by the activities * * * had not been proved
by [them] with any degree of reliability or accuracy.”
Id. at 693. The Court remanded to the district court
to determine the amount of compensable time, reiter-
ating that “({u]nless the employer can provide accurate
estimates, it is the duty of the trier of facts to draw
whatever reasonable inferences can be drawn from
the employees’ evidence.” /d. at 693-694.

' That aspect of Mt. Clemens was abrogated in part by the Portal
Act. Alvarez, 46 U.S. at 28.

7

For nearly 70 years, the Mt. Clemens framework
has been essential to effective enforcement of the
FLSA because it allows the Secretary or private
plaintiffs to establish the amount of unrecorded work
performed by a group of emplovees using “repre-
sentative testimony from a sampling of [the] affected
employees.” Laurie E. Leader, Wages and Hours:
Law and Practice § 9.03(2], at 9-32 (2015) (Wages and
Hours). Although such proof necessarily relies on
approximations, “[iJt is firmly established [that] where
an employer has not kept adequate records,” employ-
ees “will not be denied a recovery of back wages on
the ground that their uncompensated work cannot be
precisely determined.” Brock v. Norman’s Country
Mkt., Inc., 835 F.2d 823, 828 (11th Cir.), cert. denied,
487 U.S. 1205 (1988).

B. The Present Controversy

1. Petitioner operates a pork-processing plant in
Storm Lake, Iowa. Pet. App. 45a. Most workers in
the plant use knives or other cutting tools, and peti-
tioner requires all employees to wear protective and
sanitary gear. /d. at 26a, 46a-47a. The equipment is
provided by petitioner and stored in lockers at the
plant. J.A. 118-119. Employees generally don their
equipment in locker rooms before walking to their
stations on the production line, and they are required
to be fully dressed before their work on the line be-
gins. Pet. App. 26a, 47a; J.A. 120.

Petitioner pays its production employees on a sys-
tem known as “gang time.” Pet. App. 2a, 26a. Pay
begins when the first hog of the day arrives at an
employee’s workstation and ends when the last hog
leaves. J.A. 171. During the years at issue in this
case, petitioner also paid some employees for a few

8

additional minutes per day—known as “K-code”
time—intended to estimate the time required for some
(but not all) required pre- and post-shift activities.
J.A. 121-122. Before 2007, petitioner paid four
minutes of K-code time to all production employees to
cover the estimated time required to don and doff
certain equipment worn to protect against knife cuts.
Ibid.* In 2007, after this Court’s decision in Alvarez,
petitioner began paying knife-wielding employees for
the time spent walking between the locker room and
the production line. /bzd. Petitioner also revised the
amount of donning and doffing time attributed to
those employees, resulting in total K-code payments
of between 4 and 8 minutes per day, depending on the

* Petitioner began making those payments in 1998, following two
enforcement actions brought by the Department of Labor against
petitioner’s predecessor, IBP. Acosta v. Tyson Foods, Inc., No.
08-cv-86, 2013 WL 7849473, at *9-*11 (D. Neb. May 31, 2013),
rev'd, No. 14-1582, 2015 WL 5023643 (8th Cir. Aug. 26, 2015). The
first action resulted in an injunction requiring IBP to comply with
the FLSA’s overtime and recordkeeping requirements with re-
spect to pre- and post-shift work at Storm Lake and other facili-
ties. Jd. at *10. In settling a second enforcement action brought to
remedy IBP’s violation of the injunction, the Department agreed
that IBP coud pay for the donning and doffing held to be compen-
sable in the original action by paying four minutes of K-code time,
but only “until such time as the Department announces its position
with respect to recordkeeping in the industry.” /d at *11 (empha-
sis and citation omitted). In 2001—well before the class period in
this case—the Department clarified that meatpacking companies
may not rely on such estimates and must instead “record and pay
for each employee's actual hours of work, including compensable
time spent putting on, taking off and cleaning his or her protective
equipment, clothing, or gear.” Dep't of Labor, Op. Letter, 2001
WL 58864, at *2 (Jan. 15, 2001), withdrawn in part on other
grounds, 2002 WL 33941766 (June 6, 2002).

9

position. /bid. At the same time, petitioner ceased
paying K-code time to non-knife-wielding employees,
taking the position that donning and doffing the
standard sanitary and protective equipment those
employees wore was not compensable. /bid. At no
point did petitioner record the actual amount of time
workers devoted to any of their pre- and post-shift
activities. Pet. App. 2a; J.A. 175.

2. Respondents are current and former production
employees at the Storm Lake plant. They filed this
action under the FLSA, alleging that petitioner un-
lawfully failed to pay overtime for pre- and post-shift
activities and for donning and doffing during meal
breaks. Pet. App. la, 5a. Respondents also brought a
parallel claim under an Iowa statute that provides a
cause of action to collect wages owed under another
source of law—here, the FLSA. /d. at 56a; see lowa
Code Ann. §§ 91A.3, 914.4 (West 2007). Respondents
moved to certify their FLSA claim as a collective
action and t« certify the parallel Iowa law claim as a
class action under Federal Rule of Civil Procedure
23(b)(3).

a. The district court conditionally certified a collec-
tive action and certified a class action, holding that the
requirements of Section 216(b) and Rule 23 were sat-
isfied. Pet. App. 4la-113a. The court rejected peti-
tioner’s contention that differences in the equipment
worn by employees precluded certification for lack of
similarity and commonality, finding that “there are far
more factual] similarities than dissimilarities” among
the collective- and class-action members. /d. at 88a-
89a; see id. at 98a-99a. The court also concluded un-
der Rule 23(b)(3) that questions common to the class
predominated over questions affecting only individual

10

members, noting that “common evidence that [peti-
tioner’s} compensation system cannot account for even
the basic or standard [equipment] employees need to
don, doff, and clean would establish a prima facie case
for the class.” /d. at 109a. A total of 444 employees
joined the collective action; the parallel class had 3344
members. J.A. 117.

b. The case proceeded to trial before a jury. The
parties stipulated that employees were entitled to be
paid for donning and doffing certain equipment worn
to protect from knife cuts. J.A. 120. But it was for the
jury to determine whether donning and doffing other
protective and sanitary equipment was compensable,
whether petitioner was required to pay for donning
and doffing during meal breaks, and the total amount
of time spent on work not compensated under peti-
tioner’s gang-time system. J.A. 473-481.

To establish the time employees spent on the activ-
ities at issue, respondents presented employee testi-
mony, video recordings of donning and doffing at the
plant, and a study performed by an _ industrial-
engineering expert. Pet. App. 5a, 13a. Based on 744
videotaped observations, the expert estimated that
donning, doffing, and related activities required 21.25
minutes per day for positions on the plant’s slaughter
floor and 18 minutes per day for positions on the pro-
cessing floor. J.A. 123-124. A second expert combined
those estimates with petitioner’s available wage-and-
hour records to calculate the amount of uncompen-
sated overtime worked by each class and collective
action member. J.A. 139. Based on those calculations,
plaintiffs sought approximately $6.7 million in unpaid
overtime. J.A. 139, 465-466.

ll

The jury returned a special! verdict finding that the
disputed pre- and post-shift activities were compensa-
ble, but that donning and doffing during meal breaks
was not. J.A. 486-487. It awarded roughly $2.9 mil-
lion. J.A. 488.

3. The court of appeals affirmed. Pet. App. la-24a.

a. The court first rejected petitioner’s contention
that differences in the equipment worn by employees
rendered the certification of the class and collective
actions inappropriate, explaining that the employees
“used similar equipment” and were paid under the
same system. Pet. App. 7a-8a. The court recognized
that determining the amount of unrecorded time
worked by class members “require[d] inference”
based on respondents’ representative proof, but it
held that “this inference is allowable under |Mt. Clem-
ens].” Id. at 8a. The court rejected petitioner’s chal-
lenge to the sufficiency of the evidence for similar
reasons, holding that the jury could draw “a ‘reasona-
ble inference’ of classwide liability.” Jd. at 12a-13a
(quoting Mt. Clemens, 328 U.S. at 687).

The court also rejected petitioner's contention
“that the class should be decertified because evidence
at trial showed that some class members did not work
overtime” and therefore were not entitled to recover.
Pet. App. 8a. The court reasoned that a class may be
certified even if some members’ claims ultimately fail
on the merits. Jd. at 9a & n.5. It also observed that
the jury instructions ensured that the presence of
those class members did not increase the size of the
verdict. Jd. at 10a.

b. Judge Beam dissented, concluding that differ-
ences among employees should have precluded certifi-
cation of the Rule 23 class. Pet. App. 14a-24a.

12

4. The court of appeals denied rehearing and re-
hearing en banc. Pet. App. 114a-131a.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

I. Respondents’ suit was properly maintained as a
class action under Federal Rule of Civil Procedure
23(b)(3) and a collective action under the Fair Labor
Standards Act.

A. Respondents’ lowa-law claim satisfied Rule
23(b)(3)’s requirement that questions common to the
class predominate over those affecting only individual
members. That standard requires a court to assess
the extent to which the plaintiffs’ claim will be capable
of class-wide proof. Here, the trial record and jury
verdict demonstrate that respondents did prove their
ease on a class-wide basis. There is no dispute that
respondents relied on common evidence to prove that
all “lass members’ pre- and post-shift activities were
compensable under the FLSA. And because petition-
er failed to record the time spent on those activities,
respondents properly invoked the burden-shifting
framework under Anderson v. Mt. Clemens Pottery
Co., 328 U.S. 680 (1946), to establish the extent of that
unrecorded work using representative evidence.

Petitioner asserts that respondents’ class-wide
proof was inadequate, pointing to some differences in
the protective equipment worn by class members and
variations in the amount of time spent donning and
doffing. Under Mt. Clemens, however, employees are
not required to prove the precise extent of the work
their employer improperly failed to record, and may
instead rely on inferences drawn from representative
proof. After considering essentially the same factual
contentions petitioner presents here, the jury deter-
mined that respondents’ representative proof was

13

sufficient to carry their burden on a class-wide basis.
Petitioner provides no sound reason to second-guess
the jury’s verdict. In particular, petitioner’s insist-
ence that employees who did comparable work in the
same plant must make individualized showings of pre-
and post-shift work time echoes the standard of proof
this Court emphatically rejected in Mt. Clemens.

B. Respondents’ parallel FLSA claim was properly
brought as a collective action. The FLSA itself grants
employees a right to proceed collectively if they are
“similarly situated.” 29 U.S.C. 216(b). Here, that
standard was amply satisfied because the opt-in plain-
tiffs worked in the same plant, engaged in comparable
unpaid activities, and were subject to the same unlaw-
ful compensation policy.

II. The inclusion of some employees who were ulti-
mately shown at trial to have no right to recover nei-
ther precluded certification of the class and collective
actions at the outset nor required decertification fol-
lowing the jury verdict. Petitioner has rightly aban-
doned its contention that the possible presence of such
individuals precluded certification altogether. And
although petitioner is correct that parties who have
been shown to have no right to recover should not be
granted relief, petitioner forfeited that objection in
this case by failing to seek to exclude such individuals
from the action and by opposing a proposal to struc-
ture the trial to prevent them from sharing in any
award. In any event, the jury instructions ensured
that individuals who were not entitled to recover did
not increase the size of the verdict.

14

ARGUMENT

I. RESPONDENTS’ SUIT WAS PROPERLY MAINTAINED
AS A CLASS ACTION UNDER RULE 23(b)(3) AND A
COLLECTIVE ACTION UNDER THE FAIR LABOR
STANDARDS ACT

A. Respondents’ Suit Was Properly Maintained As A
Class Action

Although petitioner frames the question before the
Court as one about the rigor of Rule 23(b)(3)’s pre-
dominance standard, at bottom the parties’ dispute
turns on a question governed by the underlying sub-
stantive law: Where, as here, an employer violates the
FLSA by failing to record its employees’ working
time, what proof is required to establish the extent of
the unrecorded work?

This Court answered that question in Anderson v.
Mt. Clemens Pottery Co., 328 U.S. 680 (1946), which
held that such employees are not required to prove
the “precise extent” of the work their employer im-
properly failed to record. Jd. at 687. Since Mt. Clem-
ens, it has been established that employees need not
offer individualized proof of unrecorded working time,
and may instead rely on inferences based on repre-
sentative evidence about other employees who per-
formed comparable work. In this case, no individual-
ized inquiries were required at trial because respond-
ents relied on the Mt. Clemens framework to prove
their case on a class-wide basis. Petitioner’s predomi-
nance argument thus reduces to the factbound conten-
tion that individualized inquiries should have been
required because differences among class members

15

meant that respondents’ common proof was insuffi-
cient to satisfy their burden under Mt. Clemens.’

That question—whether respondents’ claim could
be “proved on a classwide basis”—was certainly rele-
vant to initial class certification. Wal-Mart Stores,
Inc. v. Dukes, 131 S. Ct. 2541, 2555 (2011) (Wal-Mart).
But it was also a merits question, and it has now been
resolved by a jury. After hearing nine days of evi-
dence and considering essentially the same factual
arguments about differences among class members
that petitioner presents here, the jury determined
that respondents’ evidence was sufficient to carry
their burden under Mt. Clemens on a class-wide basis.
Petitioner identifies no sound basis for second-
guessing that conclusion.

I. The predominance inquiry is shaped by the govern-
ing substantive law

Under Rule 23(b)(3), a class may be certified if the
district court finds, inter alia, that “questions of law
or fact common to class members predominate over
any questions affecting only individual members.”
Fed. R. Civ. P. 23(b)(3). “Considering whether ‘ques-
tions of law or fact common to class members predom-
inate’ begins, of course, with the elements of the un-
derlying cause of action.” Erica P. John Fund, Inc. v.
Halliburton Co., 131 S. Ct. 2179, 2184 (2011). The
district court must identify the relevant factual and
legal issues and “compare the issues subject to com-

’ Although the Rule 23 class action involves a claim under an
Iowa statute, the parties have litigated the case on the understand-
ing that the FLSA and Mt. Clemens establish the governing
substantive law. J.A. 479; see p. 9, supra.

16

mon proof against the issues subject solely to individ-
ualized proof.” 2 William B. Rubenstein, Newberg on
Class Actions § 4:50, at 197 (5th ed. 2012). The pre-
dominance inquiry thus “generally involves considera-
tions that are enmeshed in the factual and legal issues
comprising the plaintiff's cause of action.” Comcast
Corp. v. Behrend, 133 8. Ct. 1426, 1432 (2013) (citation
omitted).

As this Court’s decisions addressing securities-
fraud class actions illustrate, the burdens borne by the
parties under the governing substantive law play a
critical role in determining whether issues are “capa-
ble of resolution on a common, classwide basis.” Hal-
liburton, 131 S. Ct. at 2184. If securities-fraud plain-
tiffs were required to prove direct reliance on a de-
fendant’s misrepresentations, the reliance element
“would ordinarily preclude certification of a class
action [under Rule 23(b)(3)] because individual reli-
ance issues would overwhelm questions common to the
class.” Amgen Inc. v. Connecticut Ret. Plans & Trust
Funds, 133 8. Ct. 1184, 1193 (2013). But ii the plain-
tiffs are able to invoke the fraud-on-the-market pre-
sumption recognized in Basic Inc. v. Levinson, 485
U.S. 224 (1988), “the problem dissipates.” Wal-Mart,
131 S. Ct. at 2552 n.6. The Basic presumption “is a
substantive doctrine of federal securities-fraud law
that can be invoked by any * * * plaintiff.” Amgen,
133 S. Ct. at 1193. But that substantive doctrine also
“facilitates class certification” because it allows the
use of common proof to establish a “rebuttable pre-
sumption of classwide reliance” without individualized
inquiries. /bid.

17

2. Mt. Clemens sets forth a substantive rule of law
that allows employees to establish the extent of
their unrecorded work with common proof

Like the Basic presumption, the Mt. Clemens
framework is a substantive doctrine that allows a
group of employees to establish an element of their
claim using common evidence. Employees need not
offer individualized proof of the extent of their unre-
corded work in order to carry their burden. Instead,
evidence of the work performed by “a representative
sample of employees” can be used to establish the
extent of the work performed by the entire group.
Reich v. Southern New England Telecomms. Corp.,
121 F.3d 58, 67 (2d Cir. 1997) (SNET).

Mt. Clemens itself involved representative testi-
mony from eight employees concerning work done by
300 collective-action plaintiffs. See pp. 5-6. supra.
And decades of decisions confirm that Mt. Clemens
allows the use of “representative employees to prove
violations [of the FLSA] with respect to all employ-
ees” ina case. Reich v. Gateway Press, Inc., 13 F.3d
685, 701 (3d Cir. 1994). Indeed, “{clourts have fre-
quently granted back wages under the FLSA to non-
testifying employees based upon the representative
testimony of a small percentage of the employees.”
Donovan v. Bel-Loc Diner, Inc., 780 F.2d 1113, 1116
(4th Cir. 1985); see Morgan v. Family Dollar Stores,
Inc., 551 F.3d 1233, 1278-1279 (11th Cir. 2008) (collect-
ing cases), cert. denied, 558 U.S. 816 (2009); Wages
and Hours § 9.03|2], at 9-32 (same).

Accordingly, the Mt. Clemens framework has “par-
ticular significance” under Rule 23(b)(3), Amgen, 133
S. Ct. at 1193, because it allows a group of employees
to use common evidence to establish the extent of

18

their unrecorded work on a class-wide basis even
though such proof “would ordinarily be individual-
ized.” O'Brien v. Ed Donnelly Enters., Inc., 575 F.3d
567, 585 (6th Cir. 2009).

3. The trial record demonstrates that individual ques-
tions did not predominate because respondents
properly incoked Mt. Clemens to prove their case
on a class-wide basis

When predominance questions are presented at the
class-certification stage, the district court necessarily
must rely on predictions about “how the case will be
tried.” Fed. R. Civ. P. 23(c)(1) advisory committee's
note (2003). The court may also be required to deter-
mine whether the elements of the plaintiffs’ claim will
be “susceptible of class-wide proof,” even though that
question overlaps with the merits. /bid.; see Comcast,
133 S. Ct. at 1432. Here, however, there is “no need to
make a prediction” about how respondents’ claim will
be tried because this Court “ha[s] the benefit of seeing
what ultimately took place at trial.” Jn re Urethane
Antitrust Litig., 768 F.3d 1245, 1259 (10th Cir. 2014),
petition for cert. pending, No. 14-1091 (filed Mar. 9,
2015); ef. Ortiz v. Jordan, 562 U.S. 180, 184 (2011)
(“Once the case proceeds to trial, the full record de-
veloped in court supersedes the record existing at the
time of [a] summary judgment motion.”). Further-
more, to the extent the propriety of class certification
turns on whether respondents’ claims were capable of
class-wide proof, the Court should not disturb the
jury's finding—i.e., that respondents did prove their

19

case on a class-wide basis—absent some error in the
trial or a legal insufficiency of the evidence.‘

The jury’s special verdict resolved four common
questions that determined the compensability of the
disputed activities performed by all class members.
The jury found that: (1) donning and doffing protec-
tive and sanitary equipment was “work” under the
FLSA; (2) donning and doffing that equipment was
“‘integral and indispensable’ to the employees’ gang-
time work” and therefore marked the start and end of
the compensable workday; (3) donning and doffing
during meal] breaks was not compensable; and (4) the
compensable activities were not de minimis. J.A. 486-
487. Petitioner does not dispute (Br. 28-29) that those
findings applied equally to all class members. The
class-action procedure thus made it possible to resolve
“in one stroke” issues that were “central to the validi-
ty of each one of the [class members’] claims.” Wal-
Mart, 131 S. Ct. at 2551.

The common conclusion that employees’ pre- and
post-shift work was compensable did not, of course,
fully resolve the case. To establish that employees
were entitled to additional overtime, respondents also
had to show that they worked more than 40 hours per
week and that the K-code time paid by petitioner did
not fully compensate for pre- and post-shift work. But
with a single exception, respondents relied on peti-

* In other contexts, it is “well settled” that “‘all findings neces-
sarily made by the jury in awarding the verdict * * * are binding
on the parties as well as on the trial court."” Dydczak v. Tuskegee
Inst., 737 F.2d 1524, 1526-1527 (11th Cir. 1984) (citation omitted),
cert. denied, 469 U.S. 1211 (1985); see 18 Charles Alan Wright et
al., Federal Practice and Procedure § 4418 & n.24, at 472 (2d ed.
2002).

20

tioner’s own records to establish all of the facts rele-
vant to that showing. Using “time sheets” and “[pJay
data” obtained “directly from [petitioner],” respond-
ents’ expert provided individualized calculations for
each class member (and aggregate calculations for the
class) reflecting each worker's shift work (gang time)
for each week, any additional K-code time paid, and
the worker's rate of pay. Pet. App. 13a. There was no
dispute over the expert’s calculations, and petitioner
does not appear to contend that those essentially
mechanical determinations caused individual ques-
tions to predominate.

Petitioner's predominance argument depends, in-
stead, on the one fact not discernible from its records:
the time each employee spent on pre- and post-shift
work. Had petitioner complied with its obligation to
keep records of that time, the amount of additional
compensable time would have been equally subject to
mechanical proof. But petitioner asserts that, given
the absence of such records, the only way for respond-
ents to establish the time spent on pre- and post-shift
work was through laborious individualized inquiries
into the donning, doffing, and walking routines of each
class member.

Petitioner’s argument ignores the legal conse-
quences of its recordkeeping violation. Petitioner
assumes (Br. 19, 34) that each class member was re-
quired to prove the “actual” amount of time he spent
on pre- and post-shift activities. Under Mt. Clemens,
however, petitioner’s recordkeeping violation relieved
respondents of the need “to prove the precise extent
of [their] uncompensated work.” 328 U.S. at 687.
Instead, respondents could carry their burden by
using representative evidence to establish the extent

21

of employees’ uncompensated work as a matter of
“just and reasonable inference”’—a standard that
necessarily allows “approximat{ion].” /d. at 687-688.

Respondents followed that approach here, present-
ing representative testimony from employees, video
recordings of donning and doffing, and a study caleu-
lating averages of pre- and post-shift working time for
slaughter and processing positions based on 744 vide-
otaped observations. Pet. App. 5a, 13a; J.A. 123-124.
Such proof is permissible as a substantive matter
under Mt. Clemens. Petitioner therefore errs in sug-
gesting (Br. 36) that the class-action procedure low-
ered respondents’ burden of proof or altered its sub-
stantive rights: The same standard would have ap-
plied in an enforcement action by the Secretary or an
individual action by an employee, and either the Sec-
retary or the employee could have relied on the same
type of evidence to carry his burden at the first stage
of the Mt. Clemens framework.

Petitioner could have sought to rebut the reasona-
ble inferences drawn from respondents’ proof. Mt.
Clemens, 328 U.S. at 687. If, for example, petitioner
believed that respondents’ expert overlooked salient
differences between jobs in the plant by dividing them
into only two categories (slaughter and processing),
petitioner could have presented a study using a differ-
ent methodology—for example, dividing jobs between
those that involved knives and those that did not, or
relying on more granular categories. But petitioner
made no effort to offer competing estimates of the
time spent on pre- and post-shift work.

Instead, petitioner sought to present the jury with
an all-or-nothing choice, arguing that it should deny
recovery to the class because “there has been a total

22

lack of proof of representative evidence.” Tr. 1751-
1752. Indeed, a central theme of petitioner’s closing
argument was that respondents’ representative proof
could not support a class-wide award because the jobs
in the plant required “different combinations of sani-
tary and protective items” that took different amounts
of time to don and doff. Tr. 1753-1754; see Tr. 1751-
1760, 1782-1783, 1786-1787. Petitioner thus presented
the jury with essentially the same factual arguments it
now seeks to have this Court accept as a basis for
decertification.

The jury rejected those arguments and found re-
spondents’ evidence sufficient under the Mt. Clemens
standard. Using language proposed by petitioner, the
district court instructed the jury that respondents
could prove their case using “representative evidence”
from employees who performed “substantially simi-
lar” work, and it specifically instructed the jury to
consider whether the class members “wore similar
sanitary and protective items” and engaged in “simi-
lar” donning and doffing activities. J.A. 472; see J.A.
93. Again using language proposed by petitioner, the
court further instructed that if the jury found the
activities at issue compensable, it should apply the Mt.
Clemens framework in determining the amount the
class was entitled to recover. J.A. 480-481; see J.A.
100-101. In returning a verdict for the class, there-
fore, the jury necessarily concluded that the differ-
ences among class members were not so substantial as
to prevent a reasonable inference of the amount of
uncompensated work they performed.

The trial record and jury verdict thus demonstrate
that respondents’ suit satisfied Rule 23(b)(3)’s pre-
dominance requirement because respondents proved

23

their case on a class-wide basis. Individual issues did
not “overwhelm questions common to the class,”
Amgen, 133 S. Ct. at 1193; to the contrary, aside from
matters established mechanically with petitioner's
own records, individualized inquiries were not re-
quired at all.

4. Petitioner's challenges to the lower courts applica-
tion of Mt. Clemens lack merit

Petitioner’s challenge to the decision below thus at
bottom must be based not on the stringency of the
standard imposed by Rule 23(b)(3), but rather on the
contention (Br. 40-44) that respondents’ class-wide
evidence failed to satisfy the Mt. Clemens standard.
But petitioner has abandoned its direct sufficiency-of-
the-evidence challenge, and its indirect attacks on the
adequacy of respondents’ proof lack merit.

a. Petitioner principally repeats its factbound ar-
gument (Br. 29-35, 42-44) that variations in the don-
ning and doffing routines of individual class members
rendered respondents’ evidence insufficient for the
jury to draw a reasonable inference of the extent of
class members’ uncompensated work. But petitioner
provides no sound basis for disturbing the jury’s de-
termination. In particular, it is well-settled that em-
ployees relying on representative evidence need not
establish that they performed identical work. All that
is required is that the proof be “fairly representa-
tive’—a standard that necessarily allows for some
variation. Morgan, 551 F.3d at 1279-1280 (citation
omitted); see, e.g., DOL v. Cole Enters., Inc., 62 F.3d
775, 781 (6th Cir. 1995); Martin v. Tony & Susan
Alamo Found., 952 F.2d 1050, 1052 (8th Cir.), cert.
denied, 505 U.S. 1204 (1992); McLaughlin v. Ho Fat

24

Seto, 850 F.2d 586, 589 (9th Cir. 1988), cert. denied,
488 U.S. 1040 (1989).

Petitioner insists (Br. 42) that Mt. Clemens cannot
allow an employee to establish the extent of his un-
compensated work based on the amount of time that
“a different employee” spent performing “different
activities” or support an award of damages based on
“averages.” But those arguments echo the stringent
standard of proof rejected in Mt. Clemens itself. Like
petitioner, the court of appeals in that case had em-
phasized that the uncompensated activities at issue
“varied from department to department, and from job
to job within the department,” and like petitioner the
court of appeals had insisted that such variation re-
quired individualized proof rather than reliance on an
“estimated average of overtime worked.” Mt. Clem-
ens Pottery Co. v. Anderson, 149 F.2d 461, 462-465
(6th Cir. 1945). But this Court emphatically disap-
proved that “improper standard of proof,” explaining
that it would thwart enforcement of the FLSA and
impermissibly penalize employees for their employers’
recordkeeping violations. Mt. Clemens, 328 U.S. at
686-687.

The estimates offered by respondents’ expert nec-
essarily reflected some imprecision. But the initial
burden under Mt. Clemens “is a minimal one” and
tolerates such uncertainty. Secretary of Labor v.
DeSisto, 929 F.2d 789, 792 (ist Cir. 1991). The obliga-
tion to come forward with more precise estimates then
shifts to the employer, who “bear|s] the lion’s share of
the burden,” ibid., because the employer’s record-
keeping violation created the uncertainty in the first
place and because the employer is best positioned to
offer evidence of the “amount of work performed.”

25

Mt. Clemens, 328 U.S. at 687. Accordingly, courts
have consistently held that Mt. Clemens permits em-
ployees to rely on inferences from average working
times—including average times spent “donning and
doffing” by large groups of workers at meat-
processing plants. Perez v. Mountaire Farms, Inc.,
650 F.3d 350, 372 (4th Cir. 2011), cert. denied, 132 S.
Ct. 1634 (2012); see also, e.g., Garcia v. Tyson Foods,
Ine., 770 F.3d 1300, 1306-1307 (10th Cir. 2014).

It is of course true that the employees invoking Mt.
Clemens must have engaged in sufficiently compara-
ble work to allow the factfinder to draw reasonable
inferences based on their representative proof. But
the jury permissibly concluded that such inferences
were reasonable here. In arguing otherwise, petition-
er exaggerates the differences among class members.
For example, petitioner places great weight (Br. 30-
31) on the variation suggested by the outlier donning
and doffing times observed in the study performed by
respondents’ expert. But the expert explained that
most of his observations were “clustered around the
average|s],” and the jury had a list of all the expert’s
observations and was able to evaluate that claim for
itself. J.A. 348; see Pl. Ex. 242. Similarly, petitioner
emphasizes (Br. 29-31) that employees wore varying
combinations of protective equipment. But the dis-
trict court, in certifying the class, found that the vari-
ation was “limited” and that there were “far more
factual similarities than dissimilarities.” Pet. App.
89a, 10la. The jury evidently agreed, finding that
class members were sufficiently similar to permit
reasonable inferences based on respondents’ class-
wide proof. Indeed, trial evidence showed that em-
ployees frequently rotated between jobs requiring

26

different equipment, meaning that the variation
among employees was smaller than the variation
among jobs. J.A. 210, 224-225, 234.

Petitioner therefore is wrong to suggest (Br. 42-44)
that this case is comparable to Espenscheid v. Di-
rectSat USA, LLC, 705 F.3d 770 (7th Cir. 2013).
There, the plaintiffs proposed to use a “small, unrep-
resentative sample” of 42 hand-picked employees to
establish the amount of work performed by more than
2000 employees who worked widely varying hours in
different locations. Jd. at 774-775. Petitioner’s at-
tempt to depict equally great differences among its
employees is implausible—particularly because for
much of the class period petitioner itself paid all class
members exactly the same amount (four minutes per
day) to cover pre- and post-shift activities. J.A. 121.

b. Petitioner also asserts (Br. 41) that the Mt.
Clemens framework applies only to a determination of
damages and not where, as in many overtime cases,
proving the extent of unrecorded work is also a factor
in determining liability. Petitioner therefore suggests
that class members should have been required to
establish liability—i.e., the existence of some unpaid
work in excess of 40 hours in at least one workweek—
on an individualized basis.

It is well-settled, however, that Mt. Clemens per-
mits employees to use representative evidence to
establish the extent of their unrecorded work when
that fact is relevant to liability as well as damages.
This Court held that employees’ initial burden is to
establish that they “ha[ve] in fact performed work for
which {they were] improperly compensated” and to
provide “sufficient evidence to show the amount and
extent of that work as a matter of just and reasonable

27

inference.” 328 U.S. at 687. But as Mt. Clemens itself
illustrates, both of those showings can be made with
representative proof. In that case, the Court found
that 300 workers had carried their burden using rep-
resentative testimony from eight employees. See pp.
5-6, supra. A rule requiring individualized evidence to
establish an overtime violation with respect to each
employee would contradict the central teaching of this
Court’s decision, which is that an employee’s “burden
of proving that he performed work for which he was
not properly compensated” must be set with “|dJue
regard” to the fact that “it is the employer who has
the duty under [29 U.S.C. 211(c)] to keep proper rec-
ords.” Mt. Clemens, 328 U.S. at 687.°

Lower courts have consistently held that the Mt.
Clemens framework permits the use of inferences
from representative proof to establish both liability
and damages. See, e.g., Morgan, 551 F.3d at 1278 (Mt.
Clemens establishes a means to “prove an FLSA vio-
lation”); SNET, 121 F.3d at 66 (Mt. Clemens permits
reasonable inferences related to “violations of the Act
and the amount of an award”) (quoting Martin v.
Selker Bros., 949 F.2d 1286, 1296-1297 (3d Cir. 1991));
DeSisto, 929 F.2d at 792 (“It is well established that
not all employees need testify in order to prove
[FLSA] violations.”). Consistent with that precedent,

* Petitioner relies (Br. 41) on this Court's statement that an ap-
proximate award of damages is permissible because liability is
certain and “[t}he uncertainty lies only in the amount of damages.”
Mt. Clemens, 328 U.S. at 688. But that statement reflects the fact
that if a court awards damages at the third step of the Mt. Clem-
ens burden-shifting framework, the employees have by definition
established a statutory violation at the first two steps. It does not
foreclose the use of appropriate representative evidence to estab
lish a violation in the first place. SNET, 121 F.3d at 69.

28

the jury in this case was instructed, without objection,
that it was required to find by a preponderance of the
evidence that the class members “ha[d] been under-
paid,” but that it could make that finding as to absent
class members based on “inference” from “repre-
sentative evidence.” J.A. 471-472; see J.A. 464.

In addition, the jury’s findings regarding compen-
sable activities and the undisputed evidence regarding
petitioner’s pay practices indicate that all class mem-
bers performed some unpaid work, even setting aside
respondents’ proof of the amount of time required for
pre- and post-shift activities. At various points during
the class period, petitioner paid certain employees K-
code time to compensate for donning and doffing
knife-specific protective gear, but before 2007 those
payments did not include any allowance for compen-
sable time walking to and from the locker rooms. J.A.
121-122. In addition, all class members were required
to wear a basic set of sanitary and protective equip-
ment. J.A. 119. The jury found that donning and
doffing that equipment was compensable, but peti-
tioner never included it in K-code time. J.A. 120-122,
486-487. Accordingly, so long as a class member oth-
erwise worked at least 40 hours in a workweek, his
entitlement to at least some unpaid overtime followed
directly from the jury’s findings on compensability.
And the evidence further established that class mem-
bers typically worked at least five (and often six)
eight-hour shifts per workweek. J.A. 122, 326, 435.°

* The evidence indicated that approximately 200 class members
were not entitled to any overtime pay, and that other class mem-
bers were owed only small amounts. J.A. 414-415. Respondents’
expert explained that those individuals likely worked part time or

29

B. Respondents’ Suit Was Properly Maintained As An
FLSA Collective Action

Although petitioner principally challenges the cer-
tification of the Rule 23(b)(3) class, it also briefly
contends (Br. 25) that the FLSA collective action
should not have been allowed to proceed because the
standards for a collective action “can be no less strin-
gent” than those in Rule 23(b)(3). This Court need not
decide that question because, as demonstrated above,
Rule 23(b)(3) was satisfied here. But if the Court does
address the issue, it should hold that a collective ac-
tion need not conform to the reticulated requirements
of Rule 23.

The FLSA confers on employees a “right” to bring
a collective action. 29 U.S.C. 216(b). That “explicit
statutory direction of a single [FLSA] action for mul-
tiple [FLSA] plaintiffs,” Hoffmann-La Roche Inc. v.
Sperling, 493 U.S. 165, 172 (1989), does not condition
employees’ right to proceed collectively on any show-
ing beyond a demonstration that they are “similarly
situated.” To interpret Section 216(b) by incorporat-
ing the requirements of Rule 23, which was adopted
decades later, “would effectively ignore Congress’
directive” that a different standard applies. Thiessen
v. General Elec. Capital Corp., 267 F.3d 1095, 1105
(10th Cir. 2001), cert. denied, 536 U.S. 934 (2002). It
would also contravene the Advisory Committee’s ad-
monition that “[Section] 216(b) [was] not intended to
be affected by Rule 23.” Fed. R. Civ. P. 23 advisory
committee’s note (1966).

were employed by petitioner for only a short period. J.A. 409-410,
429-430.

30

Rule 23(b)(3) embodies a different standard be-
cause “Rule 23 actions are fundamentally different
from collective actions.” Genesis Healthcare Corp. v.
Symezyk, 133 8. Ct. 1523, 1529 (2013). Section 216(b)
is not a procedure for litigating the rights of absent
class members, but rather a mechanism for allowing
multiple employees to join an action as “party plain-
tiff[s].” 29 U.S.C. 216(b). And because Section 216(b)
sets forth Congress’s “policy that [FLSA] plaintiffs
should have the opportunity to proceed collectively,”
this Court has emphasized that its “broad remedial
goal * * * should be enforced to the full extent of its
terms.” Hoffmann-La Roche, 493 U.S. at 170, 173.

Consistent with that understanding, the great
weight of authority holds that “the FLSA’s ‘similarly
situated’ requirement is less demanding than Rule
23.” 7B Charles Alan Wright et al., Federal Practice
and Procedure § 1807 (3d ed. Supp. 2015); see, e.¢.,
O'Brien, 575 F.3d at 585-586; Grayson v. K Mart
Corp., 79 F.3d 1086, 1096 © n.12 (llth Cir.), cert.
denied, 519 U.S. 982, and 519 U.S. 987 (1996); but see
Espenscheid, 705 F.3d at 772. Rather than importing
Rule 23(b)(3)'s predominance requirement, courts
hearing collective actions consider factors including
the similarity of the “factual and employment settings
of the individual plaintiffs,” any defenses “individual
to each plaintiff,” and “fairness and procedural con-
siderations.” Thiessen, 267 F.3d at 1103 (citation
omitted); Wages and Hours § 9.02[3](b]{i], at 9-20.

The district court considered those factors here
and correctly concluded that a collective action was
appropriate. Pet. App. 69a-90a. The opt-in plaintiffs
worked in the same plant, were paid under the same
unlawful policy, and performed comparable unpaid

31

work. A suit brought by such employees has long
been a paradigmatic example of a collective action—as
Mt. Clemens itself illustrates. A rule that variations
in working time preclude such employees from vindi-
cating their rights in a single suit would drain the
collective-action procedure of much of its function and
disserve the “broad remedial goal” of Section 216(b).
Hoffmann-La Roche, 493 U.S. at 173.

Il. THE PRESENCE OF EMPLOYEES WHO WERE UL-
TIMATELY SHOWN TO HAVE NO RIGHT TO RECOV-
ER DID NOT REQUIRE DECERTIFICATION OF THE
CLASS AND COLLECTIVE ACTIONS

Although respondents’ trial evidence established
that all class members engaged in some unpaid work,
it also indicated that approximately 200 of them had
no right to recover overtime because they never
worked more than 4¢ hours in a workweek. J.A. 414-
415. Petitioner could nave sought to amend the class
to remove those individuals or to structure the trial in
a manner that would have prevented them from shar-
ing in any award. But it failed to do so, and it may not
invoke the result of its own tactical decisions as a
basis for decertification after an unfavorable verdict.

A. The Possibility That Some Class Members May Ulti-
mately Be Found To Have No Right To Recover Does
Not Preclude Certification Of A Rule 23 Class

1. In’ seeking certiorari, petitioner asserted
(Pet. 26) that a Rule 23 class may not be certified if it
“includes members who were not injured and thus
have no claim for damages.” Petitioner has now es-
sentially abandoned that position, acknowledging
(Br. 49) that a class may be certified even “in the
absence of proof that all class members were injured.”

32

The Court may therefore wish to dismiss the second
question presented as improvidently granted. Cf. City
& County of S.F. v. Sheehan, 135 8S. Ct. 1765, 1772-
1774 (2015).

2. Any consideration of that question in this case
would require two important clarifications.

First, petitioner at times “confuses weakness on
the merits with absence of Article III standing.”
Davis v. United States, 131 S. Ct. 2419, 2434 n.10
(2011); see Pet. Br. 20-21, 44-45. Class members who
did not work more than 40 hours in a workweek failed
to establish one of the elements of an FLSA overtime
claim. 29 U.S.C. 207(a)(1). Ordinarily, however,
“(t]he question whether [parties] are entitled to the
relief that they seek goes to the merits, not to stand-
ing.” Monsanto Co. v. Geertson Seed Farms, 561 U.S.
139, 151 n.1 (2010). Article III does not require dis-
missal for lack of jurisdiction every time an FLSA
plaintiff fails to prove his case.

Second, many of the decisions cited in the petition
considered whether a court may certify a class if it is
clear at the outset that the class definition includes
individuals who have no injury or lack a colorable
legal claim. See, e.g., Kohen v. Pacific Inv. Mgmt.
Co., 571 F.3d 672, 676 (7th Cir. 2009), cert. denied, 559
U.S. 962 (2010). Here, in contrast, petitioner relies
(Br. 52) on the fact that the evidence ultimately intro-
duced at trial] established that some class members
lacked a right to relief.

3. Petitioner was correct to abandon its contention
that the possible presence of such individuals pre-
cludes class certification at the outset. Provided that
the requirements of Rule 23 are otherwise satisfied, a
class may be certified even if none of its members

33

ultimately recover because the defendant prevails on
the merits. Amgen, 133 S. Ct. at 1197 & n.5. It may
also be appropriate—again, assuming compliance with
Rule 23—to certify a class even where some members’
claims may ultimately fail for individual reasons.
Halliburton Co. v. Erica P John Fund, Inc., 134 S.
Ct. 2398, 2412 (2014). Indeed, requiring that a class
be defined to include only individuals with meritorious
claims would violate the rule that courts may not cer-
tify a “fail-safe” class “defined in terms of success on
the merits.” Mullins v. Direct Digital, LLC, 795 F.3d
654, 657 (7th Cir. 2015).

B. The Presence Of Some Members Who Were Shown To
Have No Right To Recover Did Not Require Decertifi-
cation Of The Class And Collective Actions

Petitioner now advances the more modest argu-
ment (Br. 49) that a Rule 23(b)(3) class may be certi-
fied and maintained only if there is “some mechanism”
to ensure that individuals who are shown to have no
right to relief neither “contribute to the size of any
damage award” nor “recover such damages.” Peti-
tioner is of course correct that a defendant should not
be required to pay damages to individuals who are
shown to have no right to recover, and a court consid-
ering whether to certify a Rule 23(b)(3) class should
take into account the availability of mechanisms for
identifying such individuals when assessing “the likely
difficulties in managing a class action.” Fed. R. Civ.
P 23(b)(3)(D). In this case, however, such mecha-
nisms were available, and they went unused only be-
cause of petitioner’s own choices.

Here, the most sensible approach may have been to
structure the trial so that the jury first made findings
about the compensability of the activities at issue and

34

“the number of minutes it takes to perform [them].”
J.A. 112-113. Caleulating the “individual backpay
amount for each class member” would then have been
“ministerial.” J.A. 113. Respondents proposed exact-
ly that approach, ibid., which would have ensured that
only class members with meritorious claims received
an award. But petitioner opposed that proposal, J.A.
115, and asked that the jury be permitted to make
only a lump-sum award to the entire class, J.A. 104.
Alternatively, when respondents’ trial evidence re-
vealed that some class members were not entitled to
recover, petitioner could have moved to exclude those
individuals from the class. Fed. R. Civ. P. 23(¢)(1)(C).
But petitioner did not do that either.

Petitioner’s contention that the inclusion of some
class members who are not entitled to relief requires
that the entire class be decertified is also unavailing
because the jury instructions ensured that those indi-
viduals did not contribute to the size of the award.
Pet. App. 10a. At petitioner’s request, the district
court instructed the jury that backpay was owed only
for “hours worked in excess of 40 hours in each work-
week” and that “[a]ny employee who has already re-
ceived full compensation * * * is not entitled to re-
cover any damages.” J.A. 481; see J.A. 471. The
presence of such employees thus had no effect on
petitioner’s liability to the class and is relevant only to
allocation of the award among the class members—a
step that has not yet occurred and in which petitioner
has no stake. L’rethane, 768 F.3d at 1269.

Finally, petitioner's suggestion (Br. 45, 51) that the
presence of employees who lacked meritorious claims
required “decertification” of the FLSA collective
action is particularly unsound. A collective action

35

“does not produce a class with an independent legal
status.” Genesis Healthcare, 133 S. Ct. at 1530. In-
stead, it authorizes similarly situated employees to
join an action as “party plaintiffls].” 29 U.S.C. 216(b).
A showing that some of those plaintiffs lack a right to
relief would be grounds for dismissing them from the
action or rejecting their claims on the merits, but
provides no basis for preventing the remaining plain-
tiffs from going forward. O'Brien, 575 F.3d at 586.

CONCLUSION
The judgment of the court of appeals should be affirmed.
Respectfully submitted.

DONALD B. VERRILLI, JR.

M. PATRICIA SMITH Solicitor General
Solicitor of Labor EDWIN S. KNEEDLER
JENNIFER S. BRAND Deputy Solicitor General
Associate Solicitor BRIAN H. FLETCHER
PAUL L. FRIEDEN Assistant to the Solicitor
Counsel for Appellate General
Litigation
LAURA M. MOSKOWITZ
Senior Attorney
Department of Labor

SEPTEMBER 2015

APPENDIX

l. 29 U.S.C. 206\4)(1) provides:
Minimum wage

(a) Employees engaged in commerce; home workers in
Puerto Rico and Virgin Islands; employees in Ameri-
can Samoa; seamen on American vessels; agricultural
employees

Every employer shall pay to each of his employees
who in any workweek is engaged in commerce or in the
production of goods for commerce, or is employed in
an enterprise engaged in commerce or in the produc-
tion of goods for commerce, wages at the following
rates:

(1) except as otherwise provided in this section,
not less than—

(A) $5.85 an hour, beginning on the 60th day
after May 25, 2007;

(B) $6.55 an hour, beginning 12 months af-
ter that 60th day; and

(C) $7.25 an hour, beginning 24 months af-
ter that 60th day;

(la)

2a
2. 29 U.S.C. 207(a)(1) provides:
Maximum hours

(a) Employees engaged in interstate commerce; addi-
tional applicability to employees pursuant to sub-
sequent amendatory provisions

(1) Except as otherwise provided in this section, no
employer shall employ any of his employees who in any
workweek is engaged in commerce or in the production
of goods for commerce, or is employed in an enterprise
engaged in commerce or in the production of goods for
commerce, for a workweek longer than forty hours un-
less such employee receives compensation for his em-
ployment in excess of the hours above specified at a
rate not less than one and one-half times the regular
rate at which he is employed.

3. 29 U.S.C. 211(c) provides:
Collection of data
(c) Records

Every employer subject to any provision of this
chapter or of any order issued under this chapter shall
make, keep, and preserve such records of the persons
employed by him and of the wages, hours, and other
conditions and practices of employment maintained by
him, and shall preserve such records for such periods
of time, and shall make such reports therefrom to the
Administrator as he shall prescribe by regulation or
order as necessary or appropriate for the enforcement
of the provisions of this chapter or the regulations or

3a
orders thereunder. The employer of an employee
who performs substitute work described in section
207(p)(3) of this title may not be required under this

subsection to keep a record of the hours of the substi-
tute work.

4. 29U.S8.C. 216(b) provides:
Penalties

(b) Damages; right of action; attorney's fees and costs;
termination of right of action

Any employer who violates the provisions of section
206 or section 207 of this title shall be liable to the em-
ployee or employees affected in the amount of their un-
paid minimum wages, or their unpaid overtime compen-
sation, as the case may be, and in an additional equal
amount as liquidated damages. Any employer who vio-
lates the provisions of section 215(a)(3) of this title shall be
liable for such legal or equitable relief as may be appro-
priate to effectuate the purposes of section 215(a)(3) of
this title, including without limitation employment, rein-
statement, promotion, and the payment of wages lost and
an additional equal amount as liquidated damages. An
action to recover the liability prescribed in either of the
preceding sentences may be maintained against any em-
ployer (including a public agency) in any Federal or State
court of competent jurisdiction by any one or more em-
ployees for and in behalf of himself or themselves and
other employees similarly situated. No employee shall
be a party plaintiff to any such action unless he gives his
consent in writing to become such a party and such con-

4a

sent is filed in the court in which such action is brought.
The court in such action shall, in addition to any judgment
awarded to the plaintiff or plaintiffs, allow a reasonable
attorney’s fee to be paid by the defendant, and costs of the
action. The right provided by this subsection to bring an
action by or on behalf of any employee, and the right of
any employee to become a party plaintiff to any such ac-
tion, shall terminate upon the filing of a complaint by the
Secretary of Labor in an action under section 217 of this
title in which (1) restraint is sought of any further delay in
the payment of unpaid minimum wages, or the amount of
unpaid overtime compensation, as the case may be, owing
to such employee under section 206 or section 207 of this
title by an employer liable therefor under the provisions
of this subsection or (2) legal or equitable relie* is sought
as a result of alleged violations of section 215(a)(3) of this
title.

5. 29C.F.R. 516.2(a) provides:

Employees subject to minimum wage or minimum wage
and overtime provisions pursuant to section 6 or sections 6
and 7(a) of the Act.

(a) Items required. Every employer shall main-
tain and preserve payroll or other records containing the
following information and data with respect to each em-
ployee to whom section 6 or both sections 6 and 7(a) of the
Act apply:

(1) Name in full, as used for Social Security record-
keeping purposes, and on the same record, the employee's

5a

identifying symbol or number if such is used in place of
name on any time, work, or payroll records,

(2) Home address, including zip code,
(3) Date of birth, if under 19,

(4) Sex and occupation in which employed (sex may
be indicated by use of the prefixes Mr., Mrs., Miss., or
Ms.) (Employee’s sex identification is related to the equal
pay provisions of the Act which are administered by the
Equal Employment Opportunity Commission. Other
equal pay recordkeeping requirements are contained in
29 CFR part 1620.)

(5) Time of day and day of week on which the em-
ployee’s workweek begins (or for employees employed
under section 7(k) of the Act, the starting time and length
of each employee’s work period). Ifthe employee is part
of a workforce or employed in or by an establishment all
of whose workers have a workweek beginning at the same
time on the same day, a single notation of the time of the
day and beginning day of the workweek for the whole
workforce or establishment will suffice,

(6)(i) Regular hourly rate of pay for any workweek in
which overtime compensation is due under section 7(a) of
the Act, (ii) explain basis of pay by indicating the mone-
tary amount paid on a per hour, per day, per week, per
piece, commission on sales, or other basis, and (iii) the
amount and nature of each payment which, pursuant to
section 7(e) of the Act, is excluded from the “regular rate”
(these records may be in the form of vouchers or other
payment data),

6a

(7) Hours worked each workday and total hours
worked each workweek (for purposes of this section, a
“workday” is any fixed period of 24 consecutive hours and
a “workweek” is any fixed and regularly recurring period
of 7 consecutive workdays),

(8) Total daily or weekly straight-time earnings or
wages due for hours worked during the workday or
workweek, exclusive of premium overtime compersation,

(9) Total premium pay for overtime hours. This
amount excludes the straight-time earnings for overtime
hours recorded under paragraph (a)(8) of this section,

(10) Total additions to or deductions from wages paid
each pay period including employee purchase orders or
wage assignments. Also, in individual employee records,
the dates, amounts, and nature of the items which make
up the total additions and deductions,

(11) Total wages paid each pay period,

(12) Date of payment and the pay period covered by
payment.

6. 29 C.F.R. 785.19(a) provides:
Meal.

(a) Bona fide meal periods. Bona fide meal peri-
ods are not worktime. Bona fide meal periods do not
include coffee breaks or time for snacks. These are rest
periods. The employee must be completely relieved from
duty for the purposes of eating regular meals. Ordinar-
ily 30 minutes or more is long enough for a bona fide meal

7a

period. A shorter period may be long enough under spe-
cial conditions. The employee is not relieved if he is re-
quired to perform any duties, whether active or inactive,
while eating. For example, an office employee who is re-
quired to eat at his desk or a factory worker who is re-
quired to be at his machine is working while eating.
(Culkin v. Glenn L. Martin, Nebraska Co., 97 F. Supp.
661 (D. Neb. 1951), aff'd 197 F. 2d 981 (C.A. 8, 1952), cert.
denied 344 U.S. 888 (1952); Thompson v. Stock & Sons,
Inc., 93 F. Supp. 213 (E.D. Mich 1950), aff'd 194 F. 2d 493
(C.A. 6, 1952); Biggs v. Joshua Hendy Corp., 183 F.2d 515
(C. A. 9, 1950), 187 F. 2d 447 (C.A. 9, 1951); Walling v.
Dunbar Transfer & Storage Co., 3 W.H. Cases 284; 7
Labor Cases para. 61.565 (W.D. Tenn. 1943); Lofton v.
Seneca Coal and Coke Co., 2 W.H. Cases 669; 6 Labor
Cases para. 61,271 (N.D. Okla. 1942); aff'd 136 F. 2d 359
(C.A. 10, 1943); cert. denied 320 U.S. 772 (1943); Mitchell
v. Tampa Cigar Co., 36 Labor Cases para. 65, 198, 14
W.H. Cases 38 (S.D. Fla. 1959); Douglass v. Hurwitz Co.,
145 F. Supp. 29, 13 W.H. Cases (E.D. Pa. 1956))

7. 29 C.F.R. 785.47 provides:

Where records show insubstantial or insignificant periods
of time.

In recording working time under the Act, insubstan-
tial or insignificant periods of time beyond the scheduled
working hours, which cannot as a practical administrative
matter be precisely recorded for payroll purposes, may be
disregarded. The courts have held that such trifles are
de minimis. (Anderson v. Mt. Clemens Pottery Co., 328
U.S. 680 (1946)) This rule applies only where there are

8a

uncertain and indefinite periods of time involved of a few
seconds or minutes duration, and where the failure to
count such time is due to considerations justified by in-
dustrial realities. An employer may not arbitrarily fail to
count as hours worked any part, however small, of the
employee's fixed or regular working time or practically
ascertainable period of time he is regularly required to
spend on duties assigned to him. See Glenn L. Martin
Nebraska Co. v. Culkin, 197 F. 2d 981, 987 (C.A. 8, 1952),
cert. denied, 344 U.S. 866 (1952), rehearing denied, 344
U.S. 888 (1952), holding that working time amounting to
$1 of additional compensation a week is “not a trivial
matter to a workingman,” and was not de minimis; Addt-
son v. Huron Stevedoring Corp., 204 F. 2d 88, 95 (C.A. 2,
1953), cert. denied 346 U.S. 877, holding that “To disre-
gard workweeks for which less than a dollar is due will
produce capricious and unfair results.” Hawkins v. E. I.
du Pont de Nemours & Co., 12 W.H. Cases 448, 27 Labor
Cases, para. 69,094 (E.D. Va., 1955), holding that 10 min-
utes a day is not de minimis.

8. 29 C.F.R. 790.6 provides:
Periods within the “workday” unaffected.

(a) Section 4 of the Portal Act does not affect the
computation of hours worked within the “workday”
proper, roughly described as the period “from whistle to
whistle,” and its provisions have nothing to do with the
compensability under the Fair Labor Standards Act of
any activities engaged in by an employee during that

Ga

period.“ Under the provisions of section 4, one of the
conditions that must be present before “preliminary” or
“postliminary” activities are excluded from hours worked
is that they ‘occur either prior to the time on any partic-
ular workday at which the employee commences, or
subsequent to the time on any particular workday at
which he ceases’ the principal activity or activities which
he is employed to perform. Accordingly, to the extent
that activities engaged in by an employee occur after the
employee commences to perform the first principal activ-
ity on a particular workday and before he ceases the
performance of the last principal activity on a particular
workday, the provisions of that section have no applica-
tion. Periods of time between the commencement of the
employee's first principal activity and the completion of
his last principal activity on any workday must be in-
cluded in the computation of hours worked to the same
extent as would be required if the Portal Act had not been
enacted.* The principles for determining hours worked
within the “workday” proper will continue to be those
established under the Fair Labor Standards Act without

“ The report of the Senate Judiciary Committee states (p. 47),
“Activities of an employee which take place during the workday are
*** not affected by this section (section 4 of the Portai-to-Portal
Act, as finally enacted) and such activities will continue to be com-
pensable or not without regard to the provisions of this section.”

* See Senate Report, pp. 47, 48; Conference Report, p. 12: state-
ment of Senator Wiley, explaining the conference agreement to the
Senate, 93 Cong. Rec. 4269 (also 2084, 2085); statement of Repre-
sentative Gwynne, explaining the conference agreement to the
House of Representatives, 93 Cong. Rec. 4388; statements of Sen-
ator Cooper, 93 Cong. Rec. 2293-2294, 2296-2300; statements of
Senator Donnell, 98 Cong. Rec. 2181, 2182, 2362.

10a

reference to the Portal Act,* which is concerned with this
question only as it relates to time spent outside the

“workday” in activities of the kind described in section
hg

(b) “Workday” as used in the Portal Act means, in
general, the period between the commencement and com-
pletion on the same workday of an employee's principal
activity or activities. It includes all time within that
period whether or not the employee engages in work
throughout all of that period. For example, a rest period
or a lunch period is part of the “workday”, and section 4 of
the Portal Act therefore plays no part in determining
whether such a period, under the particular circum-
stances presented, is or is not compensable, or whether
it should be included in the computation of hours
worked.* If an employee is required to report at the
actual place of performance of his principal activity at a
certain specific time, his “workday” commences at the
time he reports there for work in accordance with the
employer's requirement, even though through a cause
beyond the employee's control, he is not able to commence
performance of his productive activities until a later time.
In such a situation the time spent waiting for work would

“ The determinations of hours worked under the Fair Labor
Standards Act, as amended is discussed in part 785 of this chapter.

* See statement of Senator Wiley explaining the conference
agreement to the Senate, 93 Cong. Rec. 3269. See also the discus-
sion in $§ 790.7 and 790.8.

* Senate Report, pp. 47, 48. Cf. statement of Senator Wiley ex-
plaining the conference agreement to the Senate, 93 Cong. Rec.
4269; statement of Senator Donnell, 93 Cong. Rec. 2362; statements
of Senator Cooper, 93 Cong. Rec. 2297, 2298.

lla

be part of the workday,“ and section 4 of the Portal Act
would not affect its inclusion in hours worked for pur-
poses of the Fair Labor Standards Act.

10. Fed. R. Civ. P. 23 provides in pertinent part:

Class Actions

(a)

(b)

Prerequisites. One or more members of a class may
sue or be sued as representative parties on behalf of
all members only if:

(1) the class is so numerous that joinder of all
members is impracticable;

(2) there are questions of law or fact common to
the class;

(3) the claims or defenses of the representative
parties are typical of the claims or defenses
of the class; and

(4) the representative parties will fairly and ad-
equately protect the interests of the class.

Types of Class Actions. A class action may be
maintained if Rule 23(a) is satisfied and if:

* 7 * * *

(3) the court finds that the questions of law or
fact common to class members predominate
over any questions affecting only individual

* Colloquy between Senators Cooper and McGrath, 93 Cong.
Rec. 2297, 2298.

12a

members, and that a class action is superior
to other available methods for fairly and ef-
ficiently adjudicating the controversy. The
matters pertinent to these findings include:

(A)

(B)

(C)

(D)

the class members’ interests in individu-
ally controlling the prosecution or de-
fense of separate actions;

the extent and nature of any litigation
concerning the controversy already be-
gun by or against class members;

the desirability or undesirability of con-
centrating the litigation of the claims in
the particular forum; and

the likely difficulties in managing a class
action.

(c) Certification Order; Notice to Class Members:
Judgment; Issues Classes; Subclasses.

(1) Certification Order.

(A)

(B)

Time to Issue. At an early practicable
time after a person sues or is sued as a
class representative, the court must de-
termine by order whether to certify the
action as a class action.

Defining the Class; Appointing Class
Counsel. An order that certifies a class
action must define the class and the class
claims, issues, or defenses, and must ap-
point class counsel under Rule 23(g).

(C)

l3a
Altering or Amending the Order. An
order that grants or denies class certifi-

cation may be altered or amended before
final judgment.

(2) Notice.

(A)

(B)

For (b)(1) or (b)(2) Classes. For any
class certified under Rule 23(b)(1) or
(b)(2), the court may direct appropriate
notice to the class.

For (b)(3) Classes. For any class certi-
fied under Rule 23(b)(3), the court must
direct to class members the best notice
that is practicable under the circumstanc-
es, including individual notice to all mem-
bers who can be identified through rea-
sonable effort. The notice must clearly
and concisely state in plain, easily under-
stood language:

(i) the nature of the action;
(ii) the definition of the class certified:
(iii) the class claims, issues, or defenses;

(iv) that a class member may enter an
appearance through an attorney if
the member so desires;

(v) that the court will exclude from the
class any member who requests ex-
clusion;

l4a

(vi) the time and manner for requesting
exclusion; and

(vii) the binding effect of a class judg-
ment on members under Rule
23(¢)(3).

(3) Judgment. Whether or not favorable to the
class, the judgment in a class action must:

(A) for any class certified under Rule 23(b)(1)
or (b)(2), include and describe those
whom the court finds to be class mem-
bers; and

(B) for any class certified under Rule
23(b)(3), include and specify or describe
those to whom the Rule 23(c)(2) notice
was directed, who have not requested ex-
clusion, and whom the court finds to be
class members.

(4) Particular Issues. When appropriate, an
action may be brought or maintained as a
class action with respect to particular issues.

(5) Subclasses. When appropriate, a class may
be divided into subclasses that are each
treated as a class under this rule.

* 7 * * *

15a
11. lowa Code 914.3 provides in pertinent part:
Mode of payment

1. An employer shall pay all wages due its em-
ployees, less any lawful deductions specified in section
91A.5, at least in monthly, semimonthly, or biweekly
installments on regular paydays which are at con-
sistent intervals from each other and which are desig-
nated in advance by the employer. However, if any of
these wages due its employees are determined on a
commission basis, the employer may, upon agreement
with the employee, pay only a credit against such
wages. If such credit is paid, the employer shall, at
regular intervals, pay any difference between a credit
paid against wages determined on a commission basis
and such wages actually earned on a commission basis.
These regular intervals shall not be separated by more
than twelve months. A regular payday shall not be
more than twelve days, excluding Sundays and legal
holidays, after the end of the period in which the wages
were earned. An employer and employee may, upon
written agreement which shall be maintained as a
record, vary the provisions of the subsection.

* cal * * *

12. lowa Code 914.8 provides:
Damages recoverable by an employee

When it has been shown that an employer has in-
tentionally failed to pay an employee wages or reim-
burse expenses pursuant to section 91A.3, whether as

l6a

the result of a wage dispute or otherwise, the employer
shall be liable to the employee for any wages or ex-
penses that are so intentionally failed to be paid or re-
imbursed, plus liquidated damages, court costs and
any attorney's fees incurred in recovering the unpaid
wages and determined to have been usual and neces-
sary. In other instances the employer shall be liable
only for unpaid wages or expenses, court costs and us-
uai and necessary attorney’s fees incurred in recover-
ing the unpaid wages or expenses.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0547%3A16. Public record. Not legal advice.
