# Amicus Curiae Brief — Merrill Lynch, Pierce, Fenner & Smith Inc. v. Manning, 136 S. Ct. 1562 (2016) (No. 14-1132)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0545%3A13

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2016

## Text

S Ipreme © “ot, U S
mao

ocT 30 2ci5
No. 14-1132 OFMICE OF THE CLERK |

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

MERRILL LYNCH, PIERCE, FENNER & SMITH, INC.,

ET AL.,
Petitioners,
v.
GREG MANNING, ET AL.,
Respondents.

On Writ of Certiorari to the United States
Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit

BRIEF OF AMICUS CURIAE
PUBLIC CITIZEN, INC.,
IN SUPPORT OF RESPONDENTS

ScoTT L. NELSON
Counsel of Record
ALLISON M. ZIEVE
PUBLIC CITIZEN
LITIGATION GROUP
1600 20th Street NW
Washington, DC 20009
(202) 588-1000
snelson@citizen.org

Attorneys for Amicus Curiae

October 2015

i

TABLE OF CONTENTS
ae OE REF CE EOE vervnscecimreenesseeraeninnsiccinta il
INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE .....000.0. eee |
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT ...............0sscsccssesssrcesseees 2
RIES tenicnntreisiiniinnntininiiinitinpinmaiaiien 4

I. This Court has long limited statutory
grants of federal question jurisdiction to
cases in which federal law creates the
right of action and to a small category of
exceptional cases presenting claims that
necessarily rest on substantial questions
OF I WN, scincevsnsisidnisentenipnincbinsietdiediaeet iene 4

II. The Securities Exchange Act’s jurisdictional
provision and similar provisions in other
statutes do not confer jurisdiction more
broadly than the general federal-question
SERRE CII, sscicsccscictictcisietentapinenans 9

CETUS ciccescnvcisnsevipsnesenesinntisiiiansanaaatanaaaaa 19

il

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Page(s)

Cases:
Am. Well Works Co. v. Layne & Bowler Co.,

I csttatincsnn 7,11
Christianson v. Colt Indus. Operating Corp.,

EEE EEE a 16
Dart Cherokee Basin Operating Co. v. Owens,

Se 1
Deckert v. Indep. Shares Corp.,

css 13, 15
The Fair v. Kohler Die & Specialty Co.,

ET 12
Franchise Tax Bd. v. Constr. Laborers Vacation

ns cessnasuensvensons 6,7
Grable & Sons Metal Prods., Inc. v. Darue Eng’g

& Mfg., 545 U.S. 308 (2005)............ 6, 7, 8, 9, 15, 16
Gully v. First Nat’l Bank,

I a oss ccscenseccscnnsccescsose 8, 11, 12, 13
Gunn v. Minton,

133 S. Ct. 1059 (2013)......2, 3, 7, 8, 9, 15, 16, 18, 19
Kellogg Brown & Root Servs., Inc. v. United States

ex rel. Carter, 135 S. Ct. 1970 (2015) ................... 14
Kircher v. Putnam Funds Trust,

Ee l
Louisville & Nashville R.R. v. Mottley,

a seenanotonet 8

Matsushita Elec. Indus. Co. v. Epstein,
io crcescncssntsnsncsnansocscoees 12, 18

iil

Merrell Dow Pharm. Inc. v. Thompson,

ERE IS ee 6, 7
Mims v. Arrow Fin. Servs., LLC,

Ss is 1, 6, 7, 15
Miss. ex rel. Hood v. AU Optronics Corp.,

ee 1
Osborn v. Bank of the United States,

I 4
Pan Am. Petroleum Corp. v. Super. Ct.,

366 U.S. 656 (1961)...................... 2, 3, 10, 11, 13, 17
Powerex Corp. v. Reliant Energy Servs., Inc.,

I 1
Romero v. Int’l Terminal Operating Co.,

ns it incall cence 5, 11
Skelly Oil Co. v. Phillips Petroleum Co.,

SE ae aaa 8,12
Smith v. Kansas City Title & Trust Co.,

8 ER ear ne 7,11
Tafflin v. Levitt,

I i liiciciceinctnrsdittaas cnet aad 18
T.B. Harms Co. v. Eliscu,

339 F.2d S23 (2d Cir. 1964) ...............cccccccccccseesscees 7
Textile Workers Union v. Lincoln Mills,

I a 6
Transamerica Mortgage Advisors, Inc. v. Lewis,

| GE Se er eee 3, 14, 15

Verlinden B.V. v. Central Bank of Nigeria,
8 A ee ee 4

iv

Will v. Hallock,
TEER ee a aE EE l

Constitutional Provisions and Statutes:

Os a I, i Od 3
il) |) FREESE 2, 5, 9, 10, 11, 13, 16, 17
Se scinieeeuneeenien 16
Connally Hot Oil Act of 1935,

RSE eee eee a 9,16
Federal Power Act of 1935,

| | nee anen 9, 16, 17
Federal Question Jurisdictional Amendments

Act of 1980, Pub. L. No. 96-486,

ETERS See Seance meen teND neem eR Ie ee 5
International Wheat Agreement Act of 1949,

£ | N —_RREE SREEESREESERERRSRERS eae oer 10, 16
Interstate Land Sales Full Disclosure Act of 1968,

ST Ui Uc is cnsseciceteetncintateicetnceliceiinibimae’ 10, 16
Investment Advisers Act of 1940,

Ie Rs, lls 10, 14, 16
Investment Company Act of 1940,

ee ie We el istninsnrsnsnncnnenseiedeisisinidiuedsisitiasiiats 10, 16
Jurisdiction & Removal Act of 1875,

i a 4
Natural Gas Act of 1938,

kre 9, 11, 12, 16, 17

Pub. L. No. 101-429,
De, BRS RE, Be Ce ccccczsccersrescsesesemnccssenees 15

v

Public Utility Holding Company Act of 1935,

RN Ty CN Or a ciccteeiietbielcaimndiil 9, 16
Securities Act of 1933,

ERE eee eae 9, 13, 16, 17
Securities Exchange Act,

see 2, 3, 9, 12, 15, 16, 18

ARES areca eee tee eT A 9,12
Trust Indenture Act of 1939,

a ay OF FR iivccinncsnemicscccsueesncieeseneseti 10, 16

INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE'

Public Citizen, Inc., is a consumer advocacy organ-
ization with members and supporters nationwide.
Since its founding in 1971, Public Citizen has ap-
peared on behalf of its members before Congress, ad-
ministrative agencies, and courts on a wide range of
issues and has worked for enactment and enforce-
ment of laws protecting consumers, workers, and the
public.

Public Citizen has a longstanding interest in the
proper construction of statutory provisions defining
and limiting the jurisdiction of the federal courts. The
resolution of such issues often has significant impacts
on the efficacy of statutory and common-law remedies
under both state and federal law, as well as on the al-
location of power in our federal system and the proper
implementation of congressional intent. Public Citi-
zen attorneys have therefore frequently represented
parties or amici before this Court in cases involving
significant issues of federal jurisdiction, including
questions of original, removal, and appellate jurisdic-
tion.”

' This brief was not authored in whole or part by counsel for
a party. No one other than amicus curiae or its counsel made a
monetary contribution to preparation or submission of this brief.
Letters of consent to filing from counsel for all parties are on file
with the Clerk.

? See, e.g., Dart Cherokee Basin Operating Co. v. Owens, 135
S. Ct. 547 (2014); Miss. ex rel. Hood v. AU Optronics Corp., 134
S. Ct. 736 (2014); Mims v. Arrow Fin. Servs., LLC, 132 S. Ct. 740
(2012); Powerex Corp. v. Reliant Energy Servs., Inc., 551 US.
224 (2007); Kircher v. Putnam Funds Trust, 547 U.S. 633 (2006);
Will v. Hallock, 546 U.S. 345 (2006).

2

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The question posed by this case is not whether
section 27 of the Securities Exchange Act, 15 U.S.C.
§ 78aa, is a jurisdictional statute, but whether the
federal question jurisdiction it confers sweeps more
broadly than that granted by the general federal-
question jurisdiction statute, 28 U.S.C. § 1331, over
cases arising under the laws of the United States.

This Court has long construed § 1331’s broad
grant of federal question jurisdiction to comprehend
virtually all actions asserting rights of action created
by federal law. At the same time, the Court has con-
strued § 1331’s grant of jurisdiction to include only a
few exceptional cases outside those bounds. That
small category of cases encompasses only actions in
which the plaintiff's well-pleaded complaint reveals
that its affirmative claims necessarily depend on a
substantial, disputed issue of federal law that requires
a federal forum. See Gunn v. Minton, 133 S. Ct. 1059,
1065 (2013). In this case, the lower courts have held
that the claims fall outside § 1331, and Merrill Lynch
does not challenge those rulings here.

The Exchange Act’s jurisdictional provision does
not command a different result. The provision, in lan-
guage also used in a handful of other statutes, pro-
vides for jurisdiction over actions seeking to “enforce
any liability or duty created by this [Act].” Those
words, read in light of their natural meaning and this
Court’s longstanding reluctance to give overbroad
readings to jurisdictional grants, are no broader than
those of § 1331’s grant of jurisdiction over cases “aris-
ing under” federal law. Indeed, this Court held more
than fifty years ago that the language used in the Ex-

change Act provision is congruent with § 1331’s “aris-

3

ing under” standard. See Pan Am. Petroleum Corp. v.
Super. Ct., 366 U.S. 656 (1961). Merrill Lynch offers
no reason for overturning that reading.

The Exchange Act’s grant of jurisdiction over “vio-
lations” likewise is not a font of expansive jurisdic-
tion: Its natural meaning and effect is to provide ju-
risdiction over enforcement and criminal actions seek-
ing statutory penalties for violations and over actions
brought to enjoin violations of federal law. It is not a
source of jurisdiction over damages actions, see
Transamerica Mortgage Advisors, Inc. v. Lewis, 444
U.S. 11, 21-22 (1979), let alone damages actions based
on state law.

Nor does the statute’s grant of “exclusive” juris-
diction call for a broader construction. The Exchange
Act’s jurisdictional provision defines the scope of fed-
eral jurisdiction in terms identical to other statutes
that grant non-exclusive jurisdiction to federal courts.
The meaning of those terms does not vary depending
on whether they are incorporated in a statute that
makes the resulting jurisdiction exclusive. “Exclu-
siveness is a consequence of having jurisdiction, not
the generator of jurisdiction ....” Pan Am. Petroleum,
366 U.S. at 664. Merrill Lynch’s policy arguments
about the need for uniform interpretation of federal
law are no more persuasive than those that have been
advanced and rejected by other litigants seeking ex-
pansive readings of statutes granting exclusive juris-
diction. See, e.g., Gunn, 133 S. Ct. at 1067-68.

4

ARGUMENT

I. This Court has long limited ctatutory
grants of federal question jurisdiction to
cases in which federal law creates the
right of action and to a small category of
exceptional cases presenting claims that
necessarily rest on substantial questions
of federal law.

Article II] of the Constitution grants Congress
broad power to confer on the federal courts jurisdic-
tion over cases “arising under this Constitution, the
Laws of the United States, and Treaties made, or
which shall be made, under their Authority.” U.S.
Const., art. I], § 2, cl. 1. Although the outer limits of
that power are untested, this Court’s decision in Os-
born v. Bank of the United States, 22 U.S. 738 (1824),
“reilects a broad conception of ‘arising under’ juris-
diction, according to which Congress may confer on
the federal courts jurisdiction over any case or con-
troversy that might call for the application of federal
law.” Verlinden B.V. v. Central Bank of Nigeria, 461
U.S. 480, 492 (1983).

For most of the first century under the Constitu-
tion, Congress declined to exercise its authority to
confer sweeping federal question jurisdiction on the
federal courts, and instead granted the federal courts
relatively narrow authority over particular types of
federal claims. Beginning in 1875, however, Congress
broadly granted federal trial courts jurisdiction—in
terms mirroring those used in Article [[1]—over cases
“arising under the Constitution or laws of the United
States, or treaties made, or which shall be made, un-
der their authority.” Jurisdiction & Removal Act of
1875, ch. 137, § 1, 18 Stat. 470. That jurisdictional

4)

grant, the forerunner of today’s general federal-
question jurisdictional statute, 28 U.S.C. § 1331, ush-
ered in an era in which deciding cases based on feder-
al law has increasingly come to be seen as a preemi-
nent task of the federal court system.

For much of that new era, until the elimination of
§ 1331’s amount-in-controversy requirement in 1980,
see Federal Question Jurisdictional Amendments Act
of 1980, Pub. L. No. 96-486, 94 Stat. 2369, more spe-
cific grants of federal question jurisdiction over cases
involving particular areas of federal law, without
amount-in-controversy limits, supplemented § 1331
by conveying more expansive authority over areas
where Congress thought that the availability of a fed-
eral forum was particularly important. In some in-
stances, moreover, statutes granted exclusive federal
jurisdiction over cases arising under particular types
of federal law.

Although Congress used broad language to accom-
plish the transformation in the business of the federal
courts that the ascendancy of statutory federal ques-
tion jurisdiction has brought about, this Court has
never interpreted these statutory jurisdictional grants
as sweepingly as Article III would theoretically allow.
Rather, the construction of federal-question jurisdic-
tional statutes has been guided by “the deeply felt and
traditional reluctance of this Court to expand the ju-
risdiction of the federal courts through a broad read-
ing of jurisdictional statutes.” Romero v. Int’l Termi-
nal Operating Co., 358 U.S. 354, 379 (1959).

In particular, the Court has been concerned that
reading such statutes as broadly as the Constitution’s
own “arising under” language would “permi(t] ‘asser-
tion of original federal question jurisdiction on the

6

remote possibility of presentation of a federal ques-
tion.’” Verlinden, 461 U.S. at 492 (quoting Tertile
Workers Union v. Lincoln Mills, 353 U.S. 448, 482
(1957) (Frankfurter, J., dissenting)). Such a broad
construction of federal jurisdictional statutes, the
Court has recognized, could distort congressional
judgments about the proper division of federal- and
state-court authority over cases involving issues of
federal law. Thus, the Court has “consistently empha-
sized” that “determinations about federal jurisdiction
require sensitive judgment about congressional in-
tent, judicial power, and the federal system.” Merrel/
Dow Pharm. Inc. v. Thompson, 478 U.S. 804, 810
(1986). The Court has “forcefully reiterated the need
for prudence and restraint in the jurisdictional in-
quiry,” id., and construed the scope of statutory
grants of federal question jurisdiction “with an eye to
practicality and necessity,” Franchise Tax Bd. v. Con-
str. Laborers Vacation Trust, 463 U.S. 1, 20 (1983), as
well as due recognition that expansive assertion of
federal question jurisdiction “always raises the possi-
bility of upsetting the state-federal line drawn (or at
least assumed) by Congress.” Grable & Sons Metal
Prods., Inc. v. Darue Eng’g & Mfg., 545 U.S. 308, 314
(2005).

Applying the broad statutory language of Con-
gress’s grants of federal question jurisdiction consist-
ently with these principles of restraint, the Court has
identified a solid core of cases almost invariably sub-
ject to statutory federal question jurisdiction: “when
federal law creates a private right of action and fur-
nishes the substantive rules of decision, the claim
arises under federal law, and district courts possess
federal-question jurisdiction” unless Congress has
acted to divest them of it. Mims v. Arrow Fin. Servs.,

7

LLC, 132 S. Ct. 740, 748-49 (2012). Put more simply,
in Justice Holmes’s famous aphorism, “A suit arises
under the law that creates the cause of action.” Am.
Well Works Co. v. Layne & Bowler Co., 241 U.S. 257,
260 (1916). The rule that “a case arises under federal
law when federal law creates the cause of action as-
serted,” as this Court recently stressed, “accounts for
the vast bulk of suits that arise under federal law.”
Gunn v. Minton, 133 S. Ct. at 1064; accord, e.g., Mer-
rell Dow, 478 U.S. at 808; Franchise Tax Bd., 463
U.S. at 9.

Although statutory federal question jurisdiction
will almost always exist over a case asserting a right
of action created by federal law, the Court has
acknowledged that this principle is “more useful for
inclusion than for ... exclusion.” Merrell Dow, 478
U.S. at 809 n.5 (quoting T.B. Harms Co. v. Eliscu, 339
F.2d 823, 827 (2d Cir. 1964)). The Court has recog-
nized that in some exceptional cases, actions asserting
rights of action created by state law that necessarily
pose substantial federal-law issues may be deemed to
be subject to federal question jurisdiction. See, e.g.,
Grable, 545 U.S. at 314; Smith v. Kansas City Title &
Trust Co., 255 U.S. 180 (1921). The circumstances
under which such actions may serve as the basis for
invocation of federal question jurisdiction, however,
have long been carefully limited by this Court.

The Court has insisted, for example, that to give
rise to jurisdiction, the existence of a federal question
must appear on the face of a well-pleaded complaint.
Franchise Tax Bd., 463 U.S. at 9-10. That a federal
issue may be implicated by a defense to a right of ac-
tion—even one that is anticipated in the complaint
itself or that serves as the basis for a declaratory

8

judgment action—does not suffice to allow statutory
federal question jurisdiction. Louisville & Nashville
R.R. v. Mottley, 211 U.S. 149 (1908); Skelly Oil Co. v.
Phillips Petroleum Co., 339 U.S. 667, 673 (1950). And
it is not enough that a federal question “is lurking in
the background” of a case. Gully v. First Nat’l Bank,
299 U.S. 109, 117 (1936). “Not every question of fed-
eral law emerging in a suit is proof that a federal law
is the basis of the suit”; rather, “a right or immunity
created by the Constitution or laws of the United
States must be an element, and an essential one, of
the plaintiff's cause of action.” Jd. at 115, 112.

The Court has recently crystalized these principles
“into the following inquiry: Does the ‘state-law claim
necessarily raise a stated federal issue, actually dis-
puted and substantial, which a federal forum may en-
tertain without disturbing any congressionally ap-
proved balance of federal and state judicial responsi-
bilities’?” Gunn, 133 S. Ct. at 1065 (quoting Grable,
545 U.S. at 314). “That is, federal jurisdiction over a
state law claim will lie if a federal issue is: (1) neces-
sarily raised, (2) actually disputed, (3) substantial,
and (4) capable of resolution in federal court without
disrupting the federal-state balance approved by Con-
gress.” Id. The Court emphasized that the set of cases
meeting these criteria is “special and small” and that
this “slim category” is reserved for “only extremely
rare exceptions” to the general rule that a case falls
within federal question jurisdiction if federal law cre-
ated a right of action it asserts. Jd. at 1064—65.

9

Ill. The Securities Exchange Act’s jurisdic-
tional provision and similar provisions in
other statutes do not confer jurisdiction
more broadly than the general federal-
question jurisdictional statute.

A. As this case comes before the Court, it has been
established that the claims asserted do not meet the
Gunn-Grable criteria for the invocation of general
federal question jurisdiction over state-created rights
of action. The Third Circuit so held, and Merrill
Lynch neither sought review of that ruling in its peti-
tion for certiorari nor contested the issue in its brief
on the merits. Rather, Merrill Lynch’s sole assertion
is that section 27 of the Exchange Act, 15 U.S.C.
§ 78aa, confers jurisdiction over a broader set of cases
that potentially implicate issues of federal law than do
28 U.S.C. § 1331 and other jurisdictional statutes that
employ its “arising under” language.

The Exchange Act is one of a small set of statutes,
most enacted during the New Deal era, providing fed-
eral district-court jurisdiction over “violations of this
[Act] or the rules and regulations thereunder, and of
all suits in equity and actions at law brought to en-
force any liability or duty created by this {Act] or the
rules and regulations thereunder.” 15 U.S.C.
§ 78aa(a). Other examples include:

e the Securities Act of 1933, 15 U.S.C. § 77v(a);

e the Public Utility Holding Company Act of 1935,
former 15 U.S.C. § 79y;

e the Federal Power Act of 1935, 16 U.S.C. § 825p;

ethe Connally Hot Oil Act of 1935, 15 U.S.C.
§ 715i(c);

e the Natural Gas Act of 1938, 15 U.S.C. § 717u;

10

ethe Trust Indenture Act of 1939, 15 U.S.C.
§ 77vvv(b);

e the Investment Company Act of 1940, 15 U.S.C.
§ 80a-43;

e the Investment Advisers Act of 1940, 15 U.S.C.
§ 80b-14(a);

e the International Wheat Agreement Act of 1949,
7 U.S.C. § 1642(e);

e and the Interstate Land Sales Full Disclosure
Act of 1968, 15 U.S.C. § 1719.

In addition to their nearly identical language con-
ferring jurisdiction over “violations” as well as “suits
in equity and actions at law brought to enforce any
liability or duty created by” the relevant federal stat-
ute, the provisions were all enacted when the general
federal-question jurisdictional statute had a substan-
tial amount-in-controversy requirement, which each
of these special jurisdictional provisions lacked.
Though the scope of the jurisdiction they describe is
identical, the statutes differ in that some (including
the Exchange Act, the Federal Power Act, the Hot Oil
Act, and the Natural Gas Act) confer “exclusive” ju-
risdiction on the federal courts, while the rest do not.

Notably, these statutes use a narrower definition
of the scope of jurisdiction than does 28 U.S.C. § 1331,
which tracks the Constitution’s sweeping “arising
under” language. Merrill Lynch’s submission that by
using narrower language they confer jurisdiction
more broadly than does § 1331 is unusual, to say the
least. Contrary to Merrill Lynch’s argument, that
paradoxical result is by no means compelled by the
plain language of these jurisdictional provisions and is

11

contradicted by this Court’s longstanding construc-
tion of them.

Merrill Lynch’s contention that a statute confer-
ring jurisdiction over actions “brought to enforce any
liability or duty created by this Act” sweeps more
broadly than § 1331 finds little grounding in the stat-
ute’s actual words. Particularly when read in light of
the Court’s “traditional reluctance” to construe juris-
dictional statutes broadly, Romero, 358 U.S. at 379,
the words seem most readily adapted to confer juris-
diction over rights of action created by the federal
laws in question—that is, to express the Holmesian
view of the scope of statutory federal question juris-
diction as encompassing suits arising “under the law
that creates the cause of action.” Am. Well Works, 241
U.S. at 260. Congress’s choice of narrower language
than that used in § 1331 to describe the scope of ju-
risdiction, moreover, may well have stemmed from
uncertainty regarding the limits of § 1331’s “arising
under” jurisdiction in light of this Court’s decisions at
the time, compare Gully, 299 U.S. at 112-13, with
Smith, 255 U.S. at 199, and an impulse to describe
the limits on statutory federal question jurisdiction
more precisely.

Not surprisingly, therefore, when this Court has
engaged with this jurisdictional language, it has con-
strued it to be congruent with the more limited view
of § 1331 that the Court has generally adhered to
from Gully onward rather than as encompassing a
radical expansion of jurisdiction. Thus, in Pan Ameri-
can Petroleum Corp., the Court, construing the iden-
tically worded jurisdictional provision of the Natural
Gas Act, 15 U.S.C. § 717u, held that a suit invoking a
state-created right of action was outside the scope of

12

federal court jurisdiction, notwithstanding that it
might implicate issues under the Natural Gas Act, be-
cause the action was “based upon claims arising un-
der state, not federal, law.” 366 U.S. at 663.

The Court relied throughout its analysis on cases
decided under the general federal-question jurisdic-
tion statute and other statutes employing the stand-
ard “arising under” terminology, including Gully and
Skelly Oil, and The Fair v. Kohler Die & Specialty
Co., 228 U.S. 22 (1913). And it dismissed as immate-
rial the difference between the “arising under” lan-
guage and that used in the Gas Act’s jurisdictional
provision: It explicitly stated that its reliance on “aris-
ing under” precedents was “not affected by want of
explicit limitation to jurisdiction ‘arising under’ the
Natural Gas Act. Such limitation is clearly implied
....” Id. at 665 n.2.

The Court’s opinion in Matsushita Electrical In-
dustrial Co. v. Epstein, 516 U.S. 367 (1996), while
terser, reflects a similar construction of the jurisdic-
tional language at issue. In Matsushita, the Court
held that while a state court may not adjudicate
claims arising under the Exchange Act, a state-court
action may settle (with preclusive effect) Exchange
Act causes of action subject to exclusive federal juris-
diction under 15 U.S.C. § 78aa(a), as long as the state
court properly had jurisdiction over the action in the
first instance. See id. at 381. In so holding, the Court
pointed out that the state-law claims originally filed
in state court were not subject to exclusive federal ju-
risdiction because they were claims “arising under
state law” and were thus not “‘brought to enforce’
any rights or obligations under the Act.” /d. at 381.

13

The Court’s earlier decision in Deckert v. Inde-
pendence Shares Corp., 311 U.S. 282 (1940), similarly
indicates that the jurisdictional language at issue is
directed at rights of action arising under federal law.
In Deckert, the Court considered whether the Securi-
ties Act of 1933 created a right of action for rescission
and restitution to redress violations of the Act, and
whether such an action fell within the jurisdiction
granted by the Securities Act’s jurisdictional provi-
sion, 15 U.S.C. § 77v(a). That provision, in language
identical to the relevant terms of the Exchange Act
provision at issue here, gives district courts jurisdic-
tion (albeit nonexclusive) over actions “brought to en-
force any liability or duty created by this [Act].” In
deciding both issues in the affirmative, the Court em-
phasized that the jurisdiction to “enforce” was “the
power to make effective the right of recovery afforded
by the Act.” 311 U.S. at 288 (emphasis added).

This Court’s precedents construing the language
at issue thus reinforce its most natural reading in
light of the Court’s traditional approach to construing
statutes granting federal question jurisdiction. Far
from embracing an adventuresome expansion of ju-
risdiction far beyond that conferred by § 1331’s “aris-
ing under” language, the statutory language at issue
here reflects an alternative formulation aimed at the
same end: bringing within the purview of the federal
courts actions asserting rights of action created by
federal law and, potentially, a few exceptional cases in
which the complaint discloses that a substantial ques-
tion of federal law is “an element, and an essential
one, of the plaintiff's cause of action.” Pan Am. Petro-
leum, 366 U.S. at 663 (quoting Gully, 299 U.S. at 112-
13).

14

B. The statutory language granting jurisdiction
over “violations” does not alter this conclusion. That
language is not aimed at bringing within federal ju-
risdiction any complaint that describes conduct that
violates federal law, but is most naturally read to con-
fer jurisdiction over actions seeking the criminal and
civil penalties the Act authorizes for violations, as
well as actions seeking to enjoin violations.®

This construction finds strong support in this
Court’s decision in Transamerica Mortgage Advisors,
Inc. v. Lewis, 444 U.S. 11 (1979). There the Court
considered whether the Investment Advisers Act of
1940 conferred a private cause of action for injunctive
relief or damages. The Court’s decision not to find a
private damages remedy in the Act rested significant-
ly on construction of its jurisdictional provision,
which at the time used language similar to that of the
statute at issue here, but with an important variation:
It conferred jurisdiction over “violations” and “suits
in equity to enjoin any violation,” but omitted the
language covering “actions at law” to enforce any “li-
ability or duty” created by the Act. See 444 U.S. at
21-22 & n.11.* Concluding that the jurisdiction over

* This construction is reinforced by the fact that almost all of
the statutory provisions containing the language at issue are
headed “Jurisdiction of offenses and suits.” “Offenses” itself is a
term that is generally limited to criminal matters. See Kellogg
Brown & Root Servs., Inc. v. United States ex rel. Carter, 135 S.
Ct. 1970, 1976-77 (2015). The operative terms of these statutory
provisions use the broader term “violations,” but the use of the
narrower term in the title provides important context suggesting
that the intended meaning is actions seeking the civil and crimi-
nal penalties created by the statutes for violations.

* The Advisers Act was subsequently amended in 1990 so
that its jurisdictional provision, 15 U.S.C. § 80b-14, like that of

(Footnote continued)

15

“violations” would not itself encompass an action at
law for damages, the Court held that the absence of a
grant of jurisdiction over such actions suggested that
Congress had not intended to create them. See id. If,
as Merrill Lynch now argues, jurisdiction over “viola-
tions” itself broadly included jurisdiction over damag-
es actions alleging violations, the Court could not
have drawn the inference that it drew regarding con-
gressional intent.

Thus, neither the grant of jurisdiction over “viola-
tions” nor that over actions to enforce any “liability
or duty created by the Act” suggests an intent to
sweep within federal jurisdiction state-law rights of
action that implicate potential violations of federal
law but do not meet the criteria for arising-under ju-
risdiction stated in Gunn, Grable, and the earlier case
law on which they are based. Such a reading by no
means strips the jurisdictional provisions of the Ex-
change Act and similar statutes of meaning or effect.
At the time these statutes were passed, the general
federal-question jurisdictional grant had a substantial
amount-in-controversy requirement, which increased
still further in later decades before its ultimate aboli-
tion. See Mims, 132 S. Ct. at 747-48 & n.7. The stat-
utes employing the language used here, by contrast,
lacked jurisdictional amounts, see Deckert, 311 U.S. at
289-90, and thus were far from superfluous in light of
the existing statutory grant of general federal ques-
tion jurisdiction.

the other statutes discussed in this brief, now covers not only
“violations” and equitable suits, but also legal] actions seeking to
enforce “any liability or duty” created by the Act. See Pub. L.
No. 101-429, § 401, 104 Stat. 931 (1990).

16

C. The Exchange Act, of course, also has the addi-
tional consequence of making the jurisdiction it de-
scribes exclusive. Contrary to Merrill Lynch’s sugges-
tion, however, the exclusivity of the jurisdiction does
not imply a broader scope. This Court made exactly
that point in Christianson v. Colt Industries Operat-
ing Corp., 486 U.S. 800 (1988), where it rejected the
view that 28 U.S.C. § 1338(a)’s grant of jurisdiction
over cases arising under the patent laws is broader
than § 1331’s general grant of federal question juris-
diction merely because it is exclusive. Because both
statutes define the scope of jurisdiction using the
same language, “linguistic consistency” demands that
they be given the same limits. See id. at 808-09. Thus,
cases under § 1338(a), like those under § 1331, are
subject to the well-pleaded complaint rule and limited
to rights of action created by federal law and the
small category of exceptional cases that meet the cri-
teria laid out in Grable and Gunn. See Gunn, 133 S.
Ct. at 1064.

Likewise, policy arguments based on the exclusive
nature of the jurisdiction play no role in determining
the scope of jurisdiction conferred by the Exchange
Act, as exactly the same language is used to define the
scope of non-exclusive jurisdiction conferred by other
statutes. The language at issue (conferring jurisdic-
tion over “violations of this Act” and suits and actions
“to enforce any liability or duty created by this Act”)
is used to confer exclusive jurisdiction in the Ex-
change Act, the Federal Power Act, the Natural Gas
Act, and the Hot Oil Act, and non-exclusive jurisdic-
tion in the Securities Act, the former Public Utility
Holding Companies Act, the Trust Indenture Act, the
Investment Company Act, the Investment Advisers
Act, the International Wheat Agreement Act, and the

17

Interstate Land Sales Full Disclosure Act. That lan-
guage has the same meaning regardless of whether
the jurisdiction it generates is exclusive. If the same
type of allegations could not support concurrent juris-
diction under, say, the Securities Act, they cannot
support exclusive jurisdiction under the Exchange
Act.

Thus, in Pan American Petroleum, this Court ex-
pressly rejected the argument that the use of the word
“exclusive” in the Natural Gas Act’s jurisdictional
grant was relevant to the scope of federal jurisdiction:
“*Exclusive jurisdiction’ is given the federal courts
but it is ‘exclusive’ only for suits that may be brought
in the federal courts. Exclusiveness is a consequence
of having jurisdiction, not the generator of jurisdic-
tion because of which state courts are excluded.” 366
U.S. at 664. The Court specifically cited decisions giv-
ing the patent jurisdictional statute the same scope as
§ 1331, see id., and it applied the same principle to the
Natural Gas Act’s jurisdictional provision.°

® Merrill Lynch’s amici curiae the Natural Gas Supply Asso-
ciation and the Interstate Natural Gas Association of America
appear to request that this Court indicate in its decision that the
jurisdictional provision of the Natural Gas Act (and presumably
that of the Federal Power Act) effectively confers exclusive juris-
diction over all state-law contract claims involving wholesale
natural gas (and electricity) transactions subject to the jurisdic-
tion of the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission, as al] such
cases in their view involve efforts to enforce liabilities created by
federally approved tariffs or rate filings. That position is incon-
sistent with the holding in Pan American, and it confuses the
question of jurisdiction with a merits defense that a state-law
contract claim is preempted. The argument also suggests a view
that the Natural Gas Act and Federal Power Act “completely
preempt” (i.e., federalize) nominally state-law claims, which
(Footnote continued)

18

Merrill Lynch’s policy arguments based on the
need for uniform interpretation of federal law would
not suffice to justify an expansive interpretation of
the Exchange Act’s grant of exclusive federal jurisdic-
tion even if the statute were open to a construction
different from that of similar provisions granting non-
exclusive jurisdiction. This Court has consistently re-
jected arguments that state courts lack competence to
decide important questions of federal law that arise in
state-law based actions—or even, for that matter, in
actions arising under federal law. See, e.g., Gunn, 133
S. Ct. at 1067-68; Pan Am. Petroleum, 366 U.S. at
665-66; Tafflin v. Levitt, 493 U.S. 455, 464-67 (1990).

Indeed, this Court in Gunn did not perceive the
need for uniformity to be a sufficient basis for an ex-
panded view of exclusive federal jurisdiction even un-
der the patent laws, where federal law occupies the
field substantively and where the need for uniformity
is such that Congress vested appellate review of fed-
eral patent cases entirely in a single court of appeals.
Regulation of securities, by contrast, remains an area
of shared state and federal substantive authority, see
Matsushita, 516 U.S. at 382-83, and even within the
federal court system, securities cases are vulnerable
to the “inconsistency ... which a multi-membered,
multi-tiered federal judicial system already creates.”
Tafflin, 493 U.S. at 465. The Exchange Act offers no

would be an unusual result for statutes that themselves do not
create federal rights of action that could completely preempt
state-law ones. In any event, amici’s far-reaching arguments
concerning particular applications of the jurisdictional language
at issue to very different types of actions under different
schemes of substantive law are best reserved for a case in which
they are presented.

19

more reason than the patent law at issue in Gunn to
believe that Congress’s desire for uniformity is not
adequately served by the means it chose: exclusive ju-
risdiction over claims arising under federal law. See
Gunn, 133 S. Ct. at 1067.

CONCLUSION

The judgment of the Third Circuit should be af-
firmed.

Respectfully submitted,

Scott L. NELSON
Counsel of Record
ALLISON M. ZIEVE
PUBLIC CITIZEN LITIGATION
GROUP
1600 20th Street NW
Washington, DC 20009
(202) 588-1000
snelson@citizen.org

Attorneys for Amicus Curiae

October 2015

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0545%3A13. Public record. Not legal advice.
