# Amicus Curiae Brief — Merrill Lynch, Pierce, Fenner & Smith Inc. v. Manning, 136 S. Ct. 1562 (2016) (No. 14-1132)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0545%3A12

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2016

## Text

Supreme Court US
FILCD

OCT 23 2015

OFFICE OF THE CLERK

No. 14-1132

3n the Supreme Court of the Hnited States

MERRILL LYNCH, PIERCE, FENNER & SMITH, INC.; KNIGHT
CAPITAL AMERICAS L.P, FORMERLY KNOWN AS KNIGHT
EQUITY MARKETS L.P; UBS SECURITIES LLC; E*TRADE
CAPITAL MARKETS LLC; NATIONAL FINANCIAL SERVICES
LLC; AND CITADEL DERIVATIVES GRouP LLC,

Petitioners,
Vv.

GREG MANNING; CLAES ARNRUP; POSILJONEN AB;
POSILJONEN AS; SVEABORG HANDEL AS; FLYGEXPO AB;
AND LONDRINA HOLDING LTD.,

Respondents.

On Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit

BRIEF FOR RESPONDENTS

RADHA A. PATHAK PETER K. STRIS

Whittier Law School BRENDAN S. MAHER

3333 Harbor Blvd. Counsel of Record

Costa Mesa, CA 90026 DANIEL L. GEYSER
DANA BERKOWITZ

SHAUN P. MARTIN Victor O'CONNELL

University of San Diego MICHAEL N. JONES

School of Law Stris & Maher LLP

5998 Alcalé Park 725 S. Figueroa St., Ste. 1830

San Diego, CA 92110 Los Angeles, CA 90017
(213) 995-6800

Counsel for Respondents brendan. maher@ strismaher.com

(Additional counsel listed on signature page)
ee Se ee Tn Sn Se

i
QUESTION PRESENTED

Section 27 of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934
(Exchange Act) provides that federal courts “shall have
exclusive jurisdiction” over “violations of {the Exchange
Act] or the rules and regulations thereunder, and of all
suits in equity and actions at law brought to enforce any
liability or duty created by [the Exchange Act] or the
rules and regulations thereunder.” 15 U.S.C. § 78aa(a).

In this case, Respondents filed suit under state law in
New Jersey state court seeking to enforce liabilities and
duties created by New Jersey law, not the Exchange Act
or its regulations. It is undisputed that not a single claim
raised in this suit necessarily turns on federal law, but
Petitioners maintain that at least one claim might
possibly turn on an Exchange Act regulation, a
contention the court of appeals rejected and
Respondents dispute.

The question presented is:

Whether Section 27 of the Exchange Act strips away
traditional state-court jurisdiction over state-law claims
whenever there is a mere possibility that an issue

related to the Exchange Act might resolve one element
of a single claim.

‘i

RULE 29.6 STATEMENT

Posiljonen AB has no parent corporation, and no
publicly held corporation owns 10% or more of
Posiljonen AB’s stock.

Posiljonen AS has no parent corporation, and no
publicly held corporation owns 10% or more of
Posiljonen AS’s stock.

Sveaborg Handel AS has no parent corporation, and
no publicly held corporation owns 10% or more of
Sveaborg Handel AS’s stock.

Flygexpo AB has no parent corporation, and no
publicly held corporation owns 10% or more of Flygexpo
AB’s stock.

Londrina Holding Ltd. has no parent corporation,
and no publicly held corporation owns 10% or more of
Londrina Holding Ltd.’s stock.

1

TABLE OF CONTENTS
se i
5 Ee ED ii
ee Vv
a crentiriicsisisomiciesccenbciininnetcnsetcsiiecinevenieniahtenanion l
ETT LIS EN He SOT RR EEO 3

A. Statutory Backgrouna .............ccccceeesseeseeeeeees 3
ETE 8
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT ......0.......cccccecceseeseeeeneeneeees 19
| ______,_ AEE RTT ET E ET NO eT OES 25

I. Section 27 of the Exchange Act Was Not
Intended to Strip State Courts of Jurisdiction
Over State-Law Claims That Might Turn on

GEREN ESS SIE SIRE VS OO 26
A. Petitioners Misread the Text of Section
AREA ENR OY A eee SERBS eee eee ne YET CI 27

B. Petitioners’ Reading of Section 27 Is
Irreconcilable With Identical Language
im the Securities Act .........cc.cccccscssecsessescessesseeees 35

C. Petitioners’ Reading of Section 27 Is
Irreconcilable With This Court’s Long-
standing Interpretation of the Precise
Statutory Phrase at Issue.................:..cccsceeseees 37

D. Petitioners’ Reading of Section 27 Does
Not Advance the “Purposes” of the
ND ectittestctnentesinninninennmnemmmannns 40

iv

II. Petitioners’ “Federal Possibility” Rule Is a
Radical and Unwise Departure from One of
the Most Enduring Principles of Federal
IIR scncstceriteesinenesiettiianiiliadinsiptsistainseiiiaiiismaininaaes 45

A. It Is a Bedrock Presumption That,
Absent Complete Preemption, There Is
No Federal Jurisdiction Over State Law
Claims Unless They Necessarily Raise a
RESET ARIETICS ALEE = Were eno nO 46

B. The Federal Necessity Presumption Is
Easily Administrable and Strikes the
Appropriate Balance Between Federal
ne Ce ccnncrtineranmtiniinteentinnecienes 48

IY cenerrnstiniininsniniesnicnitinntmnents 53

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases Page(s)

Anderson v. Mikel Drilling Co.,
102 N.W.2d 293 (Minn. 1960)...............cccccssesseseseesereeees 5

Avenius v. Banc of America Securities LLC,
Civ. No. 06-4458, 2006 WL 4008711
ke GS Reena 1,9

Capece v. DTCC,
Civ. No. 05-80498, 2005 WL 4050118
a St ci teiabenitpirninniciiniidacsesieiasiotseenn 1,9

Christianson v. Colt Indus. Operating Corp.,
a es I ieninernneninsinnenevimimnnein 48, 52

Curtis v. State,
109 S.E.2d 868 (Ga. Ct. App. 1959)... eececeeeseeeeees 5

Fairfax Financial Holdings. Ltd. v. S.A.C.
Capital Management, LLC,
Civ. No. 06-4197, 2007 WL 1456204
Rs GIN WIE TE icccesccnecscotsnsncnictsiiesnsoutscovenesesetoene 1,9

Franchise Tax Bd. of Cal. v. Construction

Laborers Vacation Trust for S. Cal.,

I rence 46, 47, 49
Gieringer v. Silverman,

539 F. Supp. 498 (E.D. Wis. 1982),

aff'd, 731 F.2d 1272 (7th Cir. 1984)... ceceeseeeeeeees 7

Grable & Sons Metal Products, Inc. v. Darue
Engineering & Manufacturing,
a 48

Gully v. First National Bank,
Se a ecinieicidariiasietneniiinieninenemninteniasiniil 46, 47

vl

Gunn v. Minton,

Be es i ED cictctoncncnctcesecenctnsnitetnnen 45, 48, 51, 52
Hall v. Geiger-Jones Co.,

I elie 3
Holmes Group, Inc. v. Vornado Air Circulation

Systems, Inc., 535 U.S. 826 (2002).................. 49, 51, 52
J.J. Case Co. v. Borak,

SP i eieineneeall 6
Kardon v. Nat'l Gypsum Co.,

Fs Fi 8 | | ee 6
King v. Burwell,

TT eR ee aL TT 35
Kircher v. Putnam Funds Trust,

gk ET a ES 8
Leroy v. Great W. United Corp.,

Ee ee 5
Lippitt v. Raymond James Financial Services,

Inc., 340 F.3d 1033 (9th Cir. 2003) ..............cccceeeeeeeees 18
Louisville & Nashville R.R. Co. v. Mottley,

SEEN IR ER ete 49
Matsushita Electric Industrial Co., Ltd. v.

Epstein,

i as ictteenenaintenil passim
Merrick v. Halsey & Co.,

EE er a ae OR 3

Merrill Lynch, Pierce, Fenner & Smith Inc.
v. Dabit,
ee icintsincnnnicisinisnmiienenteniepetnnioens 7, 8, 43

Morris Canal & Banking Co. v. Fisher,
DF. TI Gay ae TID erccnesncescsveczsezscseensevencenncensetes 11

vill
Norfolk S. Ry. Co. v. Sorrell,

as a intendcertirnniiacisinsctsiciisisiiiiinatnitinsateiiens 41, 44

Pan American Petroieum Corporation v.
Superior Court of Delaware for New Castle

County, 366 U.S. 656 (1961).............ccceeeceeeeee 22, 39, 47
Prudential Ins. Co. of Am. v. Bank of Am.,

Nat'l Ass’n,

14 F. Supp. 3d 591 (D.N.J. 2014) ..........c.scccsccscsescereosess ll
Radzanower v. Touche Ross & Co.,

I 37
Rodriguez v. United States,

RE ee 41
Shamrock Oil & Gas Corp. v. Sheets,

STE ET en ee 52
State v. Ball,

LE Cee ere a ll
Strawbridge v. Curtiss,

ETE a Sea Rte 52
Tucker v. Mariani,

655 So. 2d 22 (Fla. Dist. Ct. App. 1995)...............:ec000 7

United Sav. Assn. of Tex. v. Timbers of Inwood
Forest Associates, Ltd.,

nn II iciisiihecnetieinciseecebciticemianiniiacon 35
White v. Fin. Guarantee Corp.,
56 P2d 550 (Cal. Ct. App. 1936) ................cccescecceresesees 5

Will v. Calvert Fire Ins. Co.,
EE ce eS ae ar ee 37

vill

Federal Statutes
Securities Act of 1933,

LEI ae ene aOR 4

I iain ciineciemnciehinditaionentinsieasiin 5, 22, 36
Securities Exchange Act of 1934,

I a nccncnaititallaliaa deans 4
RNa III ili eiscccielechtiahan sethantes 5
NN echinciatincincdupinceieiannicennatsaiiaiiba passim
Ss Ta oscnerinertnnininshtiniaicetitiiisinatii 31, 32, 42
Ee aa eames 28

Rs I ates aetna 52
tas Tt UI cinlhcserstcreveenciesnadepthieniniiceniedadenteneummaipatinateds passim
STEN A Tess cincteiapiasieiendinetipnpeeidaaaanimeaniaimemiannateitd 49
State Statutes
Uniform Securities Law (1997), N.J. Rev. Stat.
I aca alcetiii iat alcamenitntans ll
New Jersey Code of Criminal Justice, N.J. Rev.
i STITT Tac scinsininticitienerihcineaeaediiiniiiaeipigiiieineiingsiiin 13
New Jersey Code of Criminal Justice, N.J. Rev.
ENTE i cinicicinidiseiiincosiipcbininaiiisimssiiansiniensesii 12, 13
Racketeering Influenced and Corrupt Organization

Act, N.J. Rev. Stat. § 20:41 et 8€9........cccccccccssseseseeeees 11
8 ne 1]
ee es IE chardcdeseinniiersennasnnionnmsmmtais 9

BN Ee ena OD 11

Rules & Regulations
17 C.F.R.:
BU CURIE PII ccrcccesesneccocecenevoncasssenccseonsune 6,15
TES ET a ae ae OS NR EOE 14
Titi iasasat hn talaaiersiiiianlapapieasiaalaicidtadaciats 14
Exchange Act Release No. 34-3230 (May 21,
SERRE REESE ROIS See CENA 6

“Naked” Short Selling Antifraud Rule, SEC
Release No. 34-58774, 73 Fed. Reg. 61,666

EEE CEASE Tam, 05 8 SA nn 14
Short Sales, SEC Release No. 34-50103, 69 Fed.
Reg. 48,008 (Aug. 6, 2004)................:ccccccssccsessessseeseees 6,7

Short Sales of Securities, SEC Release No. 34-
13091 (Dec. 21, 1976), 41 Fed. Reg. 56,530

IY ARR ea A Ne 7
Legislative History
H. R. Rep. No. 709, 75th Cong., Ist Sess., (1937) ........... 18
SLUSA, Pub. L. No. 105-353, §§ 2(2), (5), 112
RE A rene 7
H.R. Rep. No. 105-640 105th Cong., 2nd Sess.,
REAR RECS AAC ES 9 aes a ae 7
H.R. Conf. Rep. No. 104-369, 31 (1995), reprinted
pt ot eS | SEER 7

Hearings on S. Res. 84 (72d Cong.), 56, and 97
(73d Cong.) before the S. Comm. on Banking
and Currency, 73d Cong., lst Sess., 6577

x

Securities Act of 1933, Pub. L. No. 73-22,

ts Sele CIEE cssinccverhicnetendeinssscnassatinicectnnanenmensnee

Securities Exchange Act of 1934, Pub. L. No. 73-

ig Ns Ie GIT sacicitcesictcncsicnisecsecentanetiinnnnmmenscees

The Securities Litigation Uniform Standards
Act of 1997 — S. 1260: Hearing before the
Subcomm. on Sec. of the S. Comm. On

Banking, Hous. & Urban Affairs, 105th Cong.

70 (1998) (statement of John F. Olson, Gibson,

te a i ceenmees

Hearings on S. Res. 84, S. Res. 56 & S. Res. 97
Before the S. Comm. on Banking and

Currency, 73d Cong. 6577 (1984) .e.cccsccccssssssseeeeseee

Pub. L. No. 105-353, §§ 2(2), (5), 112 Stat. 3227,

Se ee ecsctsnsiecnnninisesuissnentieeisinsninaneinineantiteianmntienicte

Other Authorities
1 Louis Loss & Joel Seligman, Securities

RE RL a

13D Charles A. Wright & Arthur R. Miller,
Federal Practice and Procedure: Jurisdiction

er SI eee ntncnnicseenncstniasenctimeenentenmnnensgies

Arthur R. Miller, Of Frankenstein Monsters and
Shining Knights: Myth, Reality, and the
“Class Action Problem”, 92 Harv. L. Rev. 664,

IE iivtemnsuivaphincantsiseccunininiesnicianinesuastonesisenee

In re Cady, Roberts & Co.,
Exchange Act Release No. 6668, [1961-1964
Transfer Binder] Fed. Sec. L. Rep. (CCH) 9

76,803, at 81,013 (Nov. 8, 1961) .........cccceceseeeeeeeeeeees

xl

James Burk, Values in the Marketplace: The
American Stock Market Under Federal
SEL ER 3

James M. Landis, The Legislative History of the
Securities Act of 1933, 28 Geo. Wash. L. Rev.
ART Ve EG IES a 4

Joel Seligman, Remarks at University of
Washington Securities Law Conference

REE TE SILLS ae LS Se oe nee 5
Joel Seligman, The Transformation of Wall
EEE Sie ES na 3

John E. Floyd, RICO State by State: A Guide to
Litigation Under the State Racketeering
SIT crerionadenrepaieetdideiaiatenauecinalibdsienteatpuntnaisacanen 11

Jonathan R. Macey & Geoffrey P Miller, Origin
of the Blue Sky Laws, 70 Tex. L. Rev. 347
ERR tA Re NERS ete ae ec 3

Key Points about Regulation SHO, SEC Office of
Investor Education and Advocacy (April 8,
2015), http://www.sec.gov/investor/pubs/

REESE Ean E DS Saar st 9 ao 11
Larry D. Soderquist, Understanding the

Securities Laws (2d ed. 1990)............cccccescececessesseseeseees 4
Louis Loss & Edward M. Cowett, Blue Sky

en biinicccitasincinsiceanearesiapinnubaimpastionimayetniinininceecsenvenaenie 3

Michael A. Perino, Fraud and Federalism:
Preempting Private State Securities Fraud
Causes of Action, 50 Stan. L. Rev. 273 (1998)......4, 5, 6

Office of Investor Educ. and Advocacy, SEC, Key
Points About Regulation SHO,
http:/Awww.sec.gov/investor/pubs/regsho.htm.... 11, 14

xl

Raymond Moley,
After Sawars Fear e (IGG P occ ccecevesseessccssineseessenicnionneensntins

l

INTRODUCTION

This dispute involves a classic case of market
manipulation. Respondents were investors in Escala
Group, Inc. (“Escala”). They sued Petitioners, a group of
major financial institutions, in New Jersey state court
asserting a series of New Jersey state-law claims. In
each of those state-law claims, Respondents alleged that
Petitioners caused their investment in Escala to decline
substantially through a pattern of manipulative “naked
short-selling.”

“Short-selling’ is the practice of borrowing shares of
stock, selling them and seeking to repurchase those
shares at a lower price, returning the lower-priced
shares to the lender and keeping the difference as
profit.” Fairfax Fin. Holdings. Ltd. v. S.A.C. Capital
Mgmt, LLC, Civ. No. 06-4197, 2007 WL 1456204, at *!
(D.N.J. May 15, 2007).

“Naked short-selling’ occurs when traders sell
shares they do not own or borrow, or ever intend to own,
and never deliver the ‘borrowed’ securities that they
sell.” Report and Recommendation, ECF No. 36, at 2-3
(citing Avenius v. Banc of Am. Sec. LLC, Civ. No. 06-
4458, 2006 WL 4008711, at *1 (N.D. Cal. Dec. 30, 2006);
Capece v. DTCC, Civ. No. 05-80498, 2005 WL 4050118, at
*3 (S.D. Fla. Oct. 11, 2005)).

Manipulative naked short-selling can artificially
depress a stock’s price at the expense of innocent
investors and the gain of abusive brokers and traders.
That is what Respondents allege occurred here—
Petitioners did not merely fail to follow the fine print of
some technical regulation; they engaged in pure and
simple manipulative and deceptive practices, exactly the

2

kind of behavior that has been long prohibited under
New Jersey common law and statutes.

New Jersey is not alone. The common and statutory
law of numerous states similarly forbids Petitioners’
conduct, and the Securities Exchange Act of 1934
(“Exchange Act”) and its implementing regulations
likewise target this financial misbehavior.

As is their right, Respondents chose to seek a
remedy for Petitioners’ misconduct exclusively under
New Jersey law. Every claim asserted by Respondents
is a New Jersey claim seeking to remedy violations of
New Jersey law. And as the court of appeals expressly
held, none turns in any way on federal law: “As we read
the Amended Complaint, no causes of action are
predicated at all on a violation of (federal law].” Pet.
App. 14a (emphasis in original). Were the entirety of the
Exchange Act and its regulations repealed tomorrow,
not a single claim in Respondents’ complaint would be
threatened.

Undaunted, Petitioners claim Section 27 of the
Exchange Act confers exclusive jurisdiction in these
circumstances, stripping New Jersey state courts of the
ability to determine whether Petitioners violated New
Jersey state law. Not so.

Petitioners misread the text of the Exchange Act to
suggest a radical jurisdictional theory that is
simultaneously unfaithful to Congressional intent, this
Court’s jurisdictional teachings, and common sense.

Affirmance is warranted.

3

STATEMENT
A. Statutory Background

1. States have long made it illegal to manipulate the
securities markets. See generally James Burk, Values in
the Marketplace: The American Stock Market Under
Federal Securities Law 169 (1988) (Table: C.2: Major
Actions by Various States to Regulate Securities
Business, 1852-1921) (describing state efforts); Jonathan
R. Macey & Geoffrey P Miller, Origin of the Blue Sky
Laws, 70 Tex. L. Rev. 347, 352-64 (1991) (discussing
impetus behind state “blue sky laws”); Louis Loss &
Edward M. Cowett, Blwe Sky Law 7-8 (1958) (asserting
that blue sky laws grew out of awareness of “the many
instances in which unsophisticated ... investors had
been bilked of their life savings by sellers of worthless or
fraudulent securities”).

By the time Congress passed the first federal
securities laws, every state but Nevada had enacted its
own. Joel Seligman, The Transformation of Wall Street
45 (rev. ed. 1995). Many of these state statutes had
prohibitions on fraud and misrepresentation.'’ And the
state regulatory infrastructures were generally well-

' See, e.g., Br. in Opp. 1 n.1 (collecting statutes). These statutes
survived numerous constitutional challenges because they were
deemed legitimate exercises of the states’ police power. As this
Court confirmed in upholding one statute:

[W]e think the statute under review is within the power of

the state. It burdens honest business, it is true, but

burdens it only that, under its forms, dishonest business
may not be done.

Merrick v. N.W. Halsey & Co., 242 U.S. 568, 587 (1917). See also
Hall v. Geiger-Jones Ca, 242 U.S. 539, 551 (1917) (“{[We shall not
pause to do more than state that the prevention of deception is
within the competency of government ... .”).

4

developed. See Larry D. Soderquist, Understanding the
Securities Laws 16 (2d ed. 1990) (noting exclusive
securities regulation by states until 1933).

2. It was against this backdrop of established state
regulation that Congress passed the Securities Act of
1933, 15 U.S.C. § 77a et seg. (“Securities Act”), and the
Securities Exchange Act of 1934, 15 U.S.C. § 78a et seq.
(“Exchange Act”). Drafters of the federal Acts relied
heavily on existing state statutes for guidance. See 1
Louis Loss & Joel Seligman, Securities Regulation 180
(1989) (antifraud provisions drawn from New York’s
Martin Act). In enacting federal legislation, they hoped
to make it more difficult for prospective fraudsters to
elude regulation through state loopholes or by crossing
state lines. See generally Michael A. Perino, Fraud and
Federalism: Preempting Private State Securities Fraud
Causes of Action, 50 Stan. L. Rev. 273, 280-82 (1998)
(explaining impetus to improve deterrence and
enforcement).

Both Acts largely preserved and supplemented
existing state authority over the securities markets.
They explicitly provided that “the rights and remedies
provided by this subchapter shall be in addition to any
and all other rights and remedies that may exist at law
or in equity.” Securities Act of 1933, Pub. L. No. 73-22,
ch. 38, § 16, 48 Stat. 74, 84 (1933); Securities Exchange
Act of 1934, Pub. L. No. 73-291, ch. 404, § 28, 48 Stat.

* See also Raymond Moley, After Seven Years 180 (1939)
(drafter Benjamin Cohen said to have “considerable experience in
the drafting of state [securities] laws”); James M. Landis, The
Legislative History of the Securities Act of 1988, 28 Geo. Wash. L.
Rev. 29, 33 (1959) (drafter James Landis had spent several years
studying state blue sky laws).

5

881, 903 (1934) (emphasis added). And the Securities Act
included a removal bar that permitted plaintiffs to
litigate their claims in state court regardless of the
defendants’ forum preference. 15 U.S.C. § 77v(a).

Indeed, the available legislative history makes clear
that Congress specifically intended an ongoing role for
the states in securities regulation. See Hearings on S.
Res. 84, S. Res. 56 & S. Res. 97 Before the S. Comm. on
Banking and Currency, 73d Cong. 6577 (1934)
(statement of Thomas Corcoran, principal Exchange Act
draftsman, regarding intention to leave states as much
leeway as possible to regulate securities transactions);
Leroy v. Great W. United Corp., 443 U.S. 178, 182 n.13
(1979) (legislative history of Exchange Act indicated
intent to leave states significant authority).’

The Exchange Act did not include an express private
right of action for defrauded purchasers or sellers of
securities.‘ After its passage, defrauded securities
investors continued to bring state lawsuits in state
courts. See, e.g., White v. Fin. Guarantee Corp., 56 P2d
550, 551 (Cal. Ct. App. 1936) (securities fraud under
California Corporate Securities Act); Anderson v. Mikel
Drilling Co., 102 N.W2d 293, 297 (Minn. 1960)
(securities fraud under Minnesota Securities Act);

* See also Perino, Fraud & Federalism, at 281-82 (explaining
that displacing state authority would have heightened already
significant constitutional questions); Joel Seligman, Remarks at
University of Washington Securities Law Conference (Mar. 1997)
(asserting that Speaker Rayburn insisted on preservation of state
securities regulation as condition of speedy passage).

‘ It did create a private right of action for market manipulation.
See 15 U.S.C. § 78i.

6

Curtis v. State, 109 S.E.2d 868, 871 (Ga. Ct. App. 1959)
(securities fraud under Georgia Securities Act).

3. Meaningful federal-securities litigation had to
await a number of watershed developments, including:
the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC)
promulgation of Rule 10b-5 (1942);° judicial recognition
of a private right of action to enforce Rule 10b-5 (1946);*
SEC support for private federal securities law
enforcement (early 1960s);’ and the liberalization of Rule
23 of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure (1966).*

Following the advent of the modern federal class
action device, the growing plaintiffs’ securities class
action bar largely ignored the state courts.’ It remained

> Exchange Act Release No. 34-3230 (May 21, 1942). Rule 10b-5
specifically prohibits fraud and misrepresentation in connection
with the purchase or sale of any security. See 17 C.FR.
§ 240.10b-5. It is the principal antifraud provision in the federal
securities regime.

® See Kardon v. Nat'l Gypsum Co., 69 F. Supp. 512, 514-15 (E.D.
Pa. 1946).

” See J.J. Case Co. v. Borak, 377 U.S. 426, 427 (1964); Jn re Cady,
Roberts & Co., Exchange Act Release No. 6668, [1961-1964 Transfer
Binder) Fed. Sec. L. Rep. (CCH) 9 76,803, at 81,013 (Nov. 8, 1961).

* See Arthur R. Miller, Of Frankenstein Monsters and Shining
Knights: Myth, Reality and the “Class Action Problem”, 92 Harv.
L. Rev. 664, 665-68 (1979) (analyzing effect of the 1966
amendments).

* As one prominent practitioner told Congress, “State court
class actions involving nationally traded securities were virtually
unknown ....” The Securities Litigation Uniform Standards Act of
1997 — S. 1260: Hearing before the Subcomm. on Sec. of the S.
Comm. On Banking, Hous. & Urban Affairs, 105th Cong. 70 (1998)
(statement of John F. Olson, Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher LLP). See
generally Perino, Fraud and Federalism, at 284-86 (explaining that
federal class action litigation under Rule 10b-5 offers advantages

7

uncontroversial, however, that a victim of securities
fraud or market manipulation could choose between
bringing suit in state court for state law violations,"° in
federal court for Exchange Act violations, or in federal
court for both state law and Exchange Act violations."

4. By the mid-1990s, there was broad legislative
consensus that federal securities class actions had
evolved into a practice rife with abuse. See Merrill
Lynch, Pierce, Fenner & Smith Inc. v. Dabit, 547 US.
71, 81 (2006) (“Dabit”). Congress enacted the Private
Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995 (“PSLRA”) to
curb these perceived abuses, in large part by imposing
significant new procedural hurdles. H.R. Conf. Rep. No.
104-369, 31 (1995), reprinted in 1995 U.S.C.C.A.N. 730,
730. But because these rules did not apply to state court
litigation, the PSLRA had the “unintended
consequence” of driving securities class actions to state
courts. Dabit, 547 U.S. at 81-82; see also H.R. Rep. No.
105-640, at 10 (1998).

In response, Congress passed the Securities
Litigation Uniform Standards Act of 1998 (“SLUSA”),
which effectively abolished state law class actions
concerning fraud or manipulation of the federally
regulated securities market. See SLUSA, Pub. L. No.
105-353, §§ 2(2), (5), 112 Stat. 3227, 3227 (1998) (goa) to

over state actions, including easier class certification and greater
potential damages from nationwide classes, and that many state
laws limit securities actions in important ways).

© See, e.g., Tucker v. Mariani, 655 So. 2d 221, 224 (Fla. Dist. Ct.
App. 1995) (securities fraud under Florida Statutes).

" See, e.g., Gieringer vu Silverman, 539 F. Supp. 498, 501 (E.D.
Wis. 1982), aff'd, 731 F.2d 1272 (7th Cir. 1984) (Exchange Act and
Wisconsin Securities Act claims).

8

“prevent certain State private securities class action
lawsuits alleging fraud from being used to frustrate the
objectives of the [PSLRA]”).

As this Court has explained, SLUSA did not
“preempt” state law, but rather made “some state-law
claims nonactionable through the class action device in
federal as well as state court.” Kircher v. Putnam Funds
Trust, 547 U.S. 633, 636 n.1 (2006). In other words,
Congress did not choose to preempt all state laws
prohibiting fraud or market manipulation in connection
with federally regulated securities, but only to preclude
class action lawsuits asserting those claims. Dabit, 547
U.S. at 87 (“The [Exchange] Act does not deny any
individual plaintiff, or indeed any group of fewer than 50
plaintiffs, the right to enforce any state-law cause of
action that may exist.”).

Consequently, the dual state-federal regulatory
regime contemplated by the Depression-era Congress
continues to this day.

B. Procedural History

Respondents are former sharehoiders of Escala, a
New Jersey-based company whose market capitalization
plummeted nearly $800 million in the short span of
eleven months. Pls.’ Reply, ECF’ No. 30, at 7 n.8; Pet.
App. 45a-46a (AC 99 7-13). Petitioners are several large
financial institutions who facilitated the manipulative
naked short-selling of Escala common stock. Pet. App.
46a-47a (AC 119 14-20).

“*Short-selling’ is the practice of borrowing shares of
stock, selling them and seeking to repurchase those
shares at a lower price, returning the lower-priced
shares to the lender and keeping the difference as

9

profit.” Fairfax Fin. Holdings. Ltd. v. S.A.C. Capital
Mgmt., LLC, Civ. No. 06-4197, 2007 WL 1456204, at *1
(D.N.J. May 15, 2007).

“Naked short-selling’ occurs when traders sell
shares they do not own or borrow, or ever intend to own,
and never deliver the ‘borrowed’ securities that they
sell.” Report and Recommendation, ECF No. 36, at 2-3
(citing Avenius v. Banc of Am. Sec. LLC, Civ. No. 06-
4458, 2006 WL 4008711, at *1 (N.D. Cal. Dec. 30, 2006);
Capece v. DTCC, Civ. No. 05-80498, 2005 WL 4050118, at
*3 (S.D. Fla. Oct. 11, 2005)). Naked short-selling can be a
tool for market manipulation. This case is about whether
Petitioners engaged in a pattern of manipulative naked
short-selling in violation of New Jersey laws.

1. On May 8, 2012, Respondents sued Petitioners in
the Superior Court of New Jersey, Law Division, Morris
County. Pet. App. 26a. Plaintiff Gregory Manning, the
owner of approximately 2.1 million shares of Escala
stock during the relevant period, lives in Morris County,
Pet. App. 45a (AC 1% 7), which neighbors Escala’s
principal place of business, Essex County, Pet. App. 48a
(AC 1 22). In an Amended Complaint, Respondents
alleged two kinds of wrongdoing under New Jersey
law:

Specifically, the Amended Complaint asserts ten specific
causes of action under New Jersey law: (1) violation of NJRICO
§ 2C:41-2(c), Pet. App. 82a-90a (AC 11 88-113); (2) violation of
NJRICO § 2C:41-2(a), Pet. App. 9la-93a (AC 99 114-22); (3) unjust
enrichment, Pet. App. 93a-94a (AC 9 123-27); (4) unlawful
interference with prospective economic advantage, Pet. App. 94a-
95a (AC 7% 128-33); (5) tortious interference with contractual!
relations, Pet. App. 95a-97a (AC 1% 134-40); (6) unlawful
interference with contractual relations, Pet. App. 97a-98a (AC 19
141-45); (7) third party beneficiary claims, Pet. App. 98a-99a (AC 99

10

First, they alleged that Petitioners—in their capacity
as securities brokers—intentionally gave false “locates”
to customers who wanted to short Escala stock. See, e.g.,
Pet. App. 58a (AC 9 41) (“Defendants were saying they
had Escala securities available to lend to facilitate
additional short selling at the same time they did not
have sufficient Escala securities to cover past sales.”)
(emphasis added); Pet. App. 58a (AC 1 42) (“Defendants
claimed to receive Locates from other Defendants (or
non-party banks) on dates when those other Defendants
(or non-party banks) did not have sufficient Escala
securities to cover the alleged Locates and accepted
Locates they knew were unreliable.”); Pet. App. 74a (AC
1 79a) (“[Defendants} created false documentation of
their . .. loaning and ownership in Escala shares.”).

According to the Amended Complaint, Defendants’
motive was simple: to reap massive commissions for
doing nothing. Pet. App. 88a (AC 1106) (“Defendants
charged short sellers fees for these sham ‘loans’ of
stock.”). By permitting their customers to short more
stock than actually existed in a small, thinly-traded
company, Defendants depressed Plaintiffs’ share value
to collect bogus commissions for themselves. Pet. App.
56a (AC 49 37a) (alleging harm through “creating and/or
using unauthorized counterfeit shares to increase the
pool of tradable common stock which operated to dilute
the shares owned by Plaintiffs”).

146-49); (8) breach of the covenant of good faith and fair dealing,
Pet. App. 99a-100a (AC 9% 150-54); (9) negligence, Pet. App. 100a-
Ola (AC 99 155-58); and (10) punitive and exemplary damages, Pet
App. 10la (AC 99 159-61).

'’ Because Escala is a thinly-traded company, naked short-
selling is much more likely to materially depress the price of its
stock. For large companies with many traded shares, the likelihood

11

These factual allegations support claims under two
different New Jersey statutes, each of which constitutes
a predicate act for purposes of the New Jersey
Racketeering Influenced and Corrupt Organization Act,
N.J. Rev. Stat. § 2C:41 et seg. (“NJRICO”); see Pet. App.
82a-93a (AC 99 88-122) (Counts One and Two).”

a. They constitute securities fraud under New
Jersey’s Uniform Securities Law, (1997) N.J. Rev. Stat.
§ 49:3-47 et seg. (“NJUSL’).”° Pet. App. 85a (AC 199)

that a short position will be quickly matched with a long position is
high, even if a specific long cannot be immediately located. For
companies with only a small amount of actively traded shares, the
odds are higher that shorts will not find corresponding longs, in
which case “counterfeit” shares that dilute the value of actual
shares are effectively created. See generally Key Points about
Regulation SHO, SEC Office of Investor Education and Advocacy
(April 8, 2015), http://www.sec.gov/investor/pubs/regsho.htm.

“ The New Jersey legislature enacted NJRICO in 1981 “to
provide that activity which is inimical to the general health, welfare
and prosperity of the State and its inhabitants be made subject to
strict civil and criminal sanctions.” N.J. Rev. Stat. § 2C:41-1.1. The
statute contains a liberal construction provision. N.J. Rev. Stat.
§ 2C:41-6. New Jersey courts have interpreted NJRICO consistent
with that intent. See, e.g., State v Ball, 661 A.2d 251, 258-59 (N.J.
1995). See generally John E. Floyd, RICO State by State: A Guide
to Litigation Under the State Racketeering Statutes 520 (1998).

’° For over 150 years, New Jersey investors have relied on state
common law for protection against manipulation of the securities
markets. See, e.g., Morris Canal & Banking Co. v. Fisher, 9 N.J.
Eq. 667 (N.J. 1855) (addressing negotiability of bonds allegedly
issued without stockholder authorization). Such is still the case
today. See, e.g., Prudential Ins. Co. of Am. u Bank of Am., Nat'l
Ass'n, 14 F. Supp. 3d 591 (D.N.J. 2014) (addressing allegations of
fraud and negligent misrepresentation regarding underwriting
guidelines for residential mortgage backed securities). To enhance
its common law protections for investors, New Jersey adopted and
later amended the NJUSL, a version of the Uniform Securities Act.

12

(alleging that Defendants violated NJUSL “by making
phantom loans of counterfeit Escala stock to facilitate
naked short sale transactions...”). See generally Pet.
App. 84a-87a (AC 99 96-101h).

b. They constitute theft by taking under the New
Jersey Code of Criminal Justice (“New Jersey Criminal
Code”), N.J. Rev. Stat. § 2C:20-4 (2013). Pet. App. 88a
(AC 9106) (“Defendants engaged in theft by taking by
purporting to loan short sellers Escala stock that
Defendants did not own nor had any intention of
obtaining and never did obtain ... .”). See generally Pet.
App. 87a-89a (AC 9 106).

Second, the Amended Complaint alleges that
Petitioners—in their capacity as proprietary traders—
engaged in a scheme to short Escala stock which they
knew or should have known they could not possibly
cover, and that they used their status as brokers to
conceal that scheme. See, e.g., Pet. App. 44a (AC 4 4)
(“Defendants implemented a sophisticated scheme to
conceal and cover-up their illegal conduct to avoid
detection.”); Pet. App. 74a (AC 179a) (“[T]o conceal
their unlawful naked short selling of Escala stock,
Defendants... created false documentation of their
trading ... in Escala shares.”); Pet. App. 74a (AC 9 79c)
(“[T]o conceal their unlawful naked short selling of
Escala stock, Defendants ... knowingly and
intentionally mis-marked order tickets ... and falsely
report{ed) counterfeit or phantom shares on brokerage
statements to investors, including the Plaintiffs in order
to mislead them.”).

According to the Amended Complaint, Petitioners’
motive was simple: to make money by driving down the
price of Escala stock. Pet. App. 73a (AC 9 78) (“The data

13

reflects that there was an illegal bear raid on Escala
securities, with massive volumes of non-existent
counterfeit stock used to manipulate pricing.”). By
shorting more stock in a small, thinly-traded company
than actually existed, Petitioners both financially gained
and diluted Respondents’ interest. Pet. App. 56a (AC
137a) (alleging harm through “creating and/or using
unauthorized counterfeit shares to increase the pool of
tradable common stock which operated to dilute the
shares owned by Plaintiffs”).

These factual allegations support claims under three
different New Jersey statutes, each of which constitutes
a predicate act for the purposes of NJRICO.

a. They constitute securities fraud under NJUSL.
Pet. App. 85a (AC 198a) (alleging that Petitioners
violated NJUSL by “selling Escala stock short at times
when Defendants neither possessed nor intended to
obtain Escala stock to deliver by the Settlement Date”).
See generally Pet. App. 84a-87a (AC 19 96-101a).

b. They constitute theft by taking under the New
Jersey Criminal Code, N.J. Rev. Stat. §2C:20-4. Pet.
App. 87a (AC 9105) (“Defendants unlawfully took
property of Plaintiffs, with the intention of depriving
them of that property by . . . selling Escala stock short at
times when they neither possessed nor intended on
obtaining Escala stock to deliver by the Settlement Date

me |

c. They constitute theft by deception under the New
Jersey Criminal Code, N.J. Rev. Stat. § 2C:20-3. Pet.
App. 89a (AC 9 110) (“Defendants, by . . . promis[ing] to
borrow Escala stock that it did not borrow and had no
intention of borrowing, committed the crime of theft by

14

deception prohibited by NJS.A. 2C:20-4.”). See
generally Pet. App. 89a-113a (AC 99 108-113).

2. To be clear: the Amended Complaint explicitly
does not assert any federal causes of action. See Pet.
App. 82a-10la (AC 4% 88-161). Nor does it allege
violations of federal law or regulation as predicate acts
for violations of NJRICO alleged in Counts One and
‘Two. See Pet. App. 87a-93a (AC 99 88-122).

The Amended Complaint does, however, seek to
educate the reader about the history of clear SEC
guidance that manipulative naked short-selling is illegal
under federal law and many state laws, making
Petitioners’ conduct especially egregious. See, e.g., Pet.
App. 53a (AC 9 30) (“[T]he SEC, which regulates federal
securities laws that are substantially similar to New
Jersey’s Securities Act, has explicitly stated that selling
stock short and failing to deliver shares at the time of
settlement with the purpose of driving down the
security’s price constitutes a ‘manipulative » Uivity’ that
‘in general, would violate various securities laws ””).’°

'* In 2004, the SEC adopted Regulation SHO to clarify that
manipulative naked short-selling is illegal and to curb its spread.
See 17 C.F-R. § 242.200 et seq.; Short Sales, SEC Release No. 34-
50103, 69 Fed. Reg. 48,008 (Aug. 6, 2004) (codified at 17 C.F-R. pts.
240, 241 and 242) (“Regulation SHO Release”). As the SEC
explained, manipulative naked short-selling is fraudulent. See, e.g.,
“Naked” Short Selling Antifraud Rule, SEC Release No. 34-57511,
73 Fed. Reg. 61,666, 61,674 (Oct. 17, 2008) (codified at 17 C.F-R. pt.
240) (“[F Jails to deliver might be indicative of manipulative ‘naked’
short selling . . . .”); Office of Investor Educ. and Advocacy, SEC,
Key Points About Regulation SHO, http:/Avww.sec.gov/investor/pu
bs/regsho.htm (“Those who deceive about their intention or ability
to deliver securities in time for settlement are committing fraud .. .
when they fail to deliver securities by the settlement date.”); id
(“Selling stock short and failing to deliver shares at the time of

15

The Amended Complaint also explains that the “SEC
formally articulated the pernicious effects of naked short
selling on the securities markets” over a decade ago in
enacting Regulation SHO, Pet. App. 5la-53a (AC 99 28-
29); and that the SEC had since “reaffirmed its ‘. . . zero
tolerance for abusive naked short selling’ by
strengthening investor protection,” Pet. App. 53a-54a
(AC 730). And it describes Petitioners’ history of
repeated violations of Regulation SHO to explain
that Petitioners had a history of sanctions by the
Financial Industry Regulatory Authority and other
regulatory agencies and thus punitive damages would be
warranted. See Pet. App. 75a-82a (AC 1% 81-87)
(discussing history of sanctions by the FINRA and other
regulatory agencies).

3. Petitioner Merrill Lynch, Pierce, Fenner & Smith
(“Merrill”) filed a Notice of Removal. Pet. App. 26a.
Petitioners contended that removal was proper because
(1) the claims in the Amended Complaint “arise under”
federal law and therefore confer federal question
jurisdiction pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1331, and (2) the
federal district court was vested with exclusive
jurisdiction under Section 27 of the Exchange Act.

Respondents then moved to remand. Pet. App. 26a. As
Respondents explained, there was no “arising under”
jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C. § 1331 because they could
establish each of their state law claims without reference
to federal law. See, e.g., Motion to Remand, ECF No. 11-
2, at 16 (“Here, Plaintiffs can prevail .. . without relying

settlement with the purpose of driving down the security's price . . .
would violate various securities laws, including Rule 10b-5 under the
Exchange Act.”).

16

on or proving a violation of federal law by demonstrating
that Defendants engaged in deceptive conduct in never
intending to make delivery of the shorted Escala
stock.”); Pls.’ Reply, ECF No. 30, at 2 (“It is the intent
and effect of Defendant{s’] wrongful conduct that serves
as the measure of liability for Defendants’ violation of
state RICO and other common law claims, not the
violation of any federal] regulation or rule.”).

Respondents also explained that the exclusive
jurisdiction provision in Section 27 of the Exchange Act
does not apply because Respondents sought to vindicate
only their rights under New Jersey law:

Because Plaintiffs’ claims arise out of state law
rights and duties, Plaintiffs have state law rights
to be free from fraud, misrepresentation, and
material omissions in the sale of securities, state
law rights to be free from market manipulation
and state law rights to be free from deceit and
theft.... [New Jersey] provide[s] claims for
relief from abuses in the securities field
independent of and in addition to federal claims
for relief ....

Motion to Remand, ECF No. 11-2, at 16-17 (emphasis in
original).

4. Recognizing that none of Respondents’ claims is
predicated on an alleged violation of federal law, the
federal magistrate judge recommended remanding the
action. Pet. App. 9a (Third Circuit discussing Magistrate
Judge’s Report and Recommendation).

First, the magistrate rejected Petitioners’ argument
that there is “arising under” jurisdiction:

17

Plaintiffs correctly note that, because they may
succeed on their New Jersey RICO claims
(Counts 1-2) and state common law claims
(Counts 3-10) without establishing liability under
federal law, the Amended Complaint . . . does not
raise necessarily a substantial issue of federal
law.

Report and Recommendation, ECF No. 36, at 8.

Next, the magistrate rejected Petitioners’ alternative
argument that there is exclusive jurisdiction in federal
court pursuant to Section 27 of the Exchange Act. See
Report and Recommendation, ECF No. 36, at 10-12.

The magistrate found that the references to
violations of the Exchange Act in the Amended
Complaint “merely . . . support independent state causes
of action.” Report and Recommendation, ECF No. 36, at
10-11. See also Pls.’ Reply, ECF No. 30, at 2 (“The
gravamen underlying Plaintiffs’ Amended Complaint is
not that Defendants violated Reg. SHO or other federal
regulations, but that by manipulating the value of Escala
stock through unlawful naked short sales, Defendants
engaged in a pattern of racketeering activity in violation
of New Jersey law, resulting in Plaintiffs suffering
significant damages.) (cited in Report § and
Recommendation, ECF No. 36, at 10).

5. The district court rejected the magistrate’s
recommendation and denied the motion to remand. Pet.
App. 25a. The court began by stating the fundamental—
but mistaken—-premise of its decision:

Notably, Plaintiffs do not dispute that the alleged
unlawful conduct is predicated on a violation of
Regulation SHO, 17 C.F-R. § 242.204, promul-

18

gated by the Securities and Exchange
Commission (“SEC”).

Pet. App. 29a.

The district court did not square its finding with
multiple provisions of the Amended Complaint. As
Respondents explained and the magistrate understood,
Petitioners’ unlawful conduct was violating duties owed
to Respondents under New Jersey law, not federal law.
See, e.g., Pet. App. 43a (AC 9 2) (making clear that entire
complaint is based on violations of state law without
predication on any violation of Regulation SHO); Motion
to Remand, ECF No. 11-2, at 16-17 (same); Report and
Recommendation, ECF No. 36, at 10-11 (recognizing
same).

Resting entirely on its original premise, the district
court nevertheless found exclusive jurisdiction under
Section 27 of the Exchange Act, see Pet. App. 30a-32a, as
well as “arising under” jurisdiction, see Pet. App. 32a-
38a. See Pet. App. 32a (“As the case at bar is premised
upon and its resolution depends upon the alleged
violation of a regulation promulgated under the Act, this
Court has jurisdiction.”); Pet. App. 33a (“To prevail on
their various state law claims, . . . Plaintiffs must show
that the alleged naked short sales were illegal.”).

6. The Third Circuit reversed. Pet. App. 6a. First,
the Third Circuit rejected Petitioners’ argument that
there is “arising under” jurisdiction. Pet. App. 1la-18a.
It determined that Petitioners referred to violations of
federal law merely as atmospheric evidence that similar
New Jersey state law was violated. See Pet. App. 14a-15a
(citing Lippitt v. Raymond James Fin. Servs., Inc., 340
F3d 1033, 1037 (9th Cir. 2003) (no jurisdiction even
where the complaint “unnecessarily describes the

19

alleged conduct of the defendants in terms that track
almost verbatim the misdeeds proscribed by [federal
law].”) (alteration in original)).

In this case, the Third Circuit concluded, “no causes
of action are predicated at all on a violation of
Regulation SHO.” Pet. App. 14a (emphasis in original).
See also Pet. App. 13a (“Regulation SHO is not an
element of Plaintiffs’ claims.... The claims, therefore,
could be decided without reference to federal law.”).""

Second, the Third Circuit considered—for the sake
of argument—what result would obtain if Respondents’
claims “were partially predicated on federal law.” Pet.
App. 15a (emphasis omitted). The Third Circuit
determined that if a state law claim has a sufficient
“federal ingredient” to satisfy 28 U.S.C. § 1331, then
Section 27 of the Exchange Act makes that jurisdiction
“exclusive.” Pet. App. 20a, 22a. If the state law claim,
however, does not include a sufficient federal ingredient
to satisfy 28 U.S.C. § 1331, then Section 27 provides no
alternative means to confer jurisdiction. Pet. App. 20a,
22a.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

Contrary to Petitioners’ contention, Section 27 of the
Exchange Act does not aggressively strip away
traditional state-court jurisdiction over ordinary state-
law claims simply because there is a mere possibility
that some issue related to the Exchange Act might

'T See also Pet. App. 18a (“Plaintiffs’ claims could rise or fall
entirely based on the construction of state law.”). And Petitioners’
arguments that federal law contradicted Respondents’ claims did
not authorize removal under the well-pleaded complaint rule. Pet.
App. 16a-18a.

20

prove relevant. Petitioners’ view of the law is
indefensible in multiple respects, and it should be
rejected.

I. Petitioners’ jurisdictional theory flunks every
modern mode of statutory analysis.

A. Petitioners misread Section 27’s plain text. There
is no basis for saying that Congress intended federal
courts to displace state courts whenever a plaintiff
happens to mention an Exchange Act “violation” in his
complaint. Even on Petitioners’ own admission,
Congress wanted certain suits in federal court so federal
courts could decide securities issues—not so federal
courts could resolve purely state-law claims whenever a
plaintiff mentions a federal “violation” in passing.
Congress created jurisdiction in federal courts because
the Act gave rise to direct criminal liability (and related
civil enforcement provisions); it needed to authorize
federal courts to hear those claims, not state-law suits,
under state law, that have no business directly punishing
or enforcing “violations” of the Act.

Nor are Petitioners correct that Respondents’ action
falls within Section 27 by somehow seeking to enforce
Regulation SHO. That theory is not even factually
presented, since Respondents’ complaint unequivocally
does not seek to enforce any component of federal law.
In form and substance, the complaint asserts state-law
claims seeking to invoke independent standards under
New Jersey’s civil jurisprudence. Regulation SHO has
nothing to do with Respondents’ ability to prevail on
these claims.

In any event, Section 27 is textually limited to suits
brought to enforce liabilities and duties created by the
Act, not liabilities and duties created by state law. A

21

state-law cause of action is brought to enforce a liability
“created” under state law. It makes no difference that a
state standard may mirror the federal standard. The
content of state law is still determined by the State’s
political branches. It is the State’s decision to shape its
own duties and liabilities however it wishes, even if that
means replicating federal law. Congress expressly
preserved the States’ role in regulating securities by
authorizing state-created “rights and remedies” “in
addition” to those under the Act. Litigants are entitled
to pursue those rights, rather than federal rights, in
seeking relief for unlawful conduct. And suits seeking
those state-created rights are indisputably not brought
to enforce anything created by the Act itself. If Congress
were unhappy with that result, it would not have limited
Section 27's jurisdictional sweep to matters created by
the Act while simultaneously authorizing matters not
created by the Act.

This Court has further confirmed that Section 27’s
language means what it plainly says. In Matsushita
Electric Industrial Co. v. Epstein, 516 U.S. 367 (1996),
this Court examined a state-law claim, acknowledged
that it turned on an embedded Exchange Act issue, and
still refused to dislodge state-court jurisdiction—all
because the state-court action “was not ‘brought to
enforce’ any rights or obligations under the Act.” /d. at
381-82, 382 n.7. Actions under state law seek to enforce
duties and liabilities under state law. Petitioners offer
no reason this Court should flatly depart from its
holding in Matsushita.

B. Nor can Petitioners square their expansive
reading of Section 27 with its critical surrounding
provisions. The Securities Act’s anti-removal
provision used the same jurisdictional language as the

22

Exchange Act—“all suits in equity and actions at law
brought to enforce any liability or duty created by thle
Act].” But it also prohibited parties from “remov[ing]”
cases “brought in any State court of competent
jurisdiction” that “aris[e] under th[e Act].” 15 U.S.C.
§ 77v. The language defining each category is technically
different, but it is inconceivable that Congress intended
any daylight between actions to “enforce” the Act and
actions “arising under” the Act. Yet according to
Petitioners, cases that merely “enforce” a federal right
(without arising under federal law) form the exclusive
subset that can be removed to federal court. This leaves
federal claims in state court and state claims in federal
court—exactly the opposite of any _ sensible
interpretation.

C. Petitioners’ understanding of Section 27 directly
conflicts with this Court’s consistent characterization of
Section 27 itself and analogous statutes. In a long line of
cases, this Court has invoked Section 27 and described it
(in passing) as covering cases “arising under” the Act.
This Court chooses its words carefully, and it is well
accustomed to reading jurisdictional provisions. If
Section 27 textually embraced the extraordinary sweep
that Petitioners urge, surely the Court would have
noticed before now. Casual readings are often natural
readings, and this Court’s language in those cases
confirms Section 27’s plain and ordinary meaning.

Moreover, this Court has twice construed this key
language in cases where it actually mattered. It
construed the language in Matsushita in a manner
impossible to square with Petitioners’ reading. And it
construed materially indistinguishable language in Pan
American Petroleum Corporation v. Superior Court of
Delaware for New Castle County, 366 U.S. 656 (1961),

23

and again reached the same conclusion: Section 27 was
not intended as a sharp departure from the jurisdictional
norm, but rather codified the usual jurisdictional
principles that respect the proper relationship between
federal and state courts.

D. Contrary to Petitioners’ contention, an
unprecedented exclusion of state judicial authority is
unnecessary to advance Congress’s statutory objectives.
Uniformity was assuredly important to Congress, but it
did not pursue that goal at all costs. Quite the contrary,
the Exchange Act reflects Congress’s careful balancing
of federal and state interests. Congress directly
authorized states to regulate in the area, and it
indisputably tolerated state courts reviewing federal
claims (as defenses and counterclaims), just as Congress
tolerates similar incursions to “uniformity” in virtually
every other “exclusive jurisdiction” setting. Petitioners’
flawed views would upset the concurrent roles Congress
preserved for state law and state courts. And this is no
minor deal: it is simply breathtaking to presume that
Congress would rather uproot a broad swath of state-
law claims from state courts just to avoid the possibility
that state courts might occasionally resolve a matter of
federal law. Congress does not endorse such remarkable
intrusions on the federal-state relationship in such
subtle (and counter-textual) ways.

II. Petitioners’ “federal possibility” theory invites a
radical and unsound departure from one of the most
enduring and fundamental principles of federal
jurisdiction.

A. There is no principle of law or logic that permits

exclusive federal jurisdiction to turn on the mere
possibility that a claim might rely on a federal violation.

24

Congress is well aware how to eliminate al] state-court
control over certain federal issues—it is called complete
preemption. Yet Congress refused to include anything
approaching that high standard in Section 27. As with all
other statutes, Congress drafts jurisdictional statutes
against the backdrop of settled and accepted principles.
In this area, there are few principles more settled or
accepted than the notion that mere “possibilities” are
not enough: federal jurisdiction requires that the federal
ingredient be a necessary component of a state-law
claim. Petitioners admit they cannot meet that bedrock
standard here, and they are wrong to suggest Congress
threw it out the door without so much as a hint it was
embracing such a drastic shift.

B. Unlike Petitioners’ theory, a more traditional view
of Section 27 is sound in principle and workable in
practice. Adhering to traditional concepts (those that
have served the courts well for centuries) ensures that
courts and litigants can operate under a known,
predictable, administrable standard. In many cases, it
will be highly difficult to determine whether a state-law
claim is actually “enforcing” some unspecified federal
law. It avoids messy disputes over efforts to read federal
issues between the lines of purely state-law claims (as
here), and it prevents eliminating state-court jurisdiction
only so federal courts can entertain countless state-court
actions that are ultimately resolved without any remote
airing of any federal issue. Congress does not divest an
entire category of state judicial authority in such a
haphazard fashion. Petitioners’ theory is fundamentally
unsound, and it should be rejected.

25

ARGUMENT

Petitioners are correct that the “jurisdictional test”
established by Section 27 is “clear and simple.” Pet. Br.
2. But they have gotten that simple test wrong.

These facts are undisputed: Respondents alleged ten
claims below, and not a single one necessarily turns on
federal law. Each and every claim was a product of New
Jersey law, and premised on duties and liabilities created
by New Jersey, not Congress. Each and every claim has
at least some means of prevailing without uttering a
single syllable on the Exchange Act or its regulations.

In fact, putting aside Section 27, none of these claims
would even conceivably belong in federal court by
themselves. Under any existing, ordinary jurisdictional
analysis, the states would retain their authority to
adjudicate matters of state law in their own state courts.
In other words, there is not a jurisdictional test that
exists today, in any other area or form, that would even
permit these claims to enter federal court, much less to
eliminate state judicial authority in the process.

Petitioners, however, do not advance any ordinary or
existing jurisdictional theory. On the contrary,
Petitioners have introduced a new concept of federal
jurisdiction, one based on the mere possibility that a
federal issue might arise in the case. According to
Petitioners, the fact that a single claim might possibly
turn on a federal regulation is sufficient to eviscerate
state-court jurisdiction and remove the entire dispute to
federal court—even if the case never ultimately raises a
single federal ingredient.

As explained below, Petitioners are wrong. There is
no such thing as “federal possibility” jurisdiction.
Section 27 nowhere hints of such a radical intrusion on

26

traditional state authority, or such a stark departure
from the most fundamental and enduring principles of
federal jurisdiction. Congress crafted Section 27 to
usher true federal claims to federal court; it did not
intend or allow the complete displacement of the state
judiciary whenever a state-law complaint mentions
federal law.

The decision below should be affirmed."

I. Section 27 of the Exchange Act Was Not Intended
to Strip State Courts of Jurisdiction Over State-
Law Claims That Might Turn on Federal Law.

Petitioners cannot prevail without establishing that
Section 27 embraces exclusive jurisdiction whenever
there is a mere possibility that a federal issue under the
Exchange Act will arise. Petitioners’ theory is at odds
with Section 27's plain text, incompatible with its
surrounding provisions, out of step with this Court’s

Petitioners devote several pages of their brief ascribing error
to the court of appeal for “[holding) that § 27 does not grant
jurisdiction at all, but instead merely deprives state courts of
jurisdiction when federal jurisdiction would exist under another
provision, such as § 1331.” Pet Br. at 28-32. With all due respect to
Petitioners, they have misconstrued the decision below. In
rejecting the position urged by Petitioners, the Third Circuit
concluded the jurisdictional scope of Section 27 is no broader than
Section 1331, and therefore simply meant to say that Section 27
could not supply an independent conceptual basis for awarding
jurisdiction. Accordingly, while the Third Circuit’s decision
admittedly relies on jurisdictional concepts embodied in 1331
(something the Petitioners believe, incorrectly, is error), it did not
formally hold, as Petitioners claim, that Section 27 could “not grant
jurisdiction at all” were 28 U.S.C. § 1331 repealed. In any event,
that debate is academic because, whether Section 27 of the
Exchange Act is a “standalone” grant of jurisdiction or not—it
simply does not reach claims like those of Respondents.

27

cases, and inconsistent with legislative intent. Congress
does not typically abandon centuries of jurisdictional
practice by saying so little and meaning the opposite of
what it said. Petitioners’ theory must be rejected.

A. Petitioners Misread the Text of Section 27.

In Section 27 of the Exchange Act, Congress
specifically granted’ district courts “exclusive
jurisdiction” over “violations of this chapter or the rules
and regulations thereunder, and of all suits in equity and
actions at law brought to enforce any liability or duty
created by this chapter or the rules and regulations
thereunder.” 15 U.S.C. § 78aa(a). In arguing that
“section 27 confers exclusive federal jurisdiction over
respondents’ complaint,” Pet. Br. 19 (capitalization
removed), Petitioners advance two textual arguments.
Neither is correct.

1. In passing, but repeatedly, Petitioners maintain
that there is exclusive federal jurisdiction over this case
simply because the Amended Complaint asserts that
Petitioners violated Regulation SHO, irrespective of any
connection to an actual claim. See, e.g., Pet. Br. 2 (“The
jurisdictional test established by thie] language [of
Section 27] is clear and simple: if the complaint on its
face alleges a violation of the Act or its regulations .. .
then federal courts have exclusive jurisdiction.”).'”

® Petitioners repeat this assertion throughout their opening
brief. See Pet. Br. 17 (“federal courts have exclusive jurisdiction
when a complaint alleges ‘violations of’ the Exchange Act or its
regulations”); id at 23 (“if the complaint on its face asserts a
violation of the Act or its regulations . . . the complaint is subject to
the exclusive jurisdiction of the federal courts”); id. at 34 (“The rule
established by § 27's plain text could hardly be clearer: whether the
complaint on its face asserts a violation of the Act or its regulations
or seeks to enforce a duty thereunder.”).

28

This reading of Section 27 is untenable. Consider a
garden-variety state law breach-of-contract action in
which plaintiff alleges, for atmospherics, that defendant
is a bad actor who recently violated the Exchange Act.
Under Petitioners’ theory, Section 27 would divest the
state court of jurisdiction—despite the contract claim
having nothing whatsoever to do with the background
allegation. There is no reason to believe that Congress
intended such an absurd result.

Of course, there is a far simpler and more sensible
reading of the phrase vesting “exclusive jurisdiction of
violations of thfe Act].” 15 U.S.C. § 78aa(a). And that
reading is made clear from the very next two sentences
of Section 27—which describe venue for criminal
proceedings and civil-enforcement actions asserting
“violations” of the Act. See id. (“Any criminal proceeding
may be brought in the district wherein any act or
transaction constituting the violation occurred. Any suit
or action . . . to enjoin any violation of such chapter or
rules and regulations, may be brought in any such
district or in the district wherein the defendant is
found .. . .”) (emphases added).

Put simply, Congress referred to _ exclusive
jurisdiction of “violations of this chapter” as distinct
from “all suits in equity and actions at law brought to
enforce any liability or duty created by this chapter”
because the former phrase was needed to confer
jurisdiction over lawsuits to criminally punish or civilly
enjoin violations of the Exchange Act.”

” Of course, “violations of this chapter” will often subject the
violator to “liability.” See, e.g., 15 U.S.C. § T8ff(c)(1)(A) (“Any issuer
that violates subsection (a) or (g) of section 78dd-1 of this title shall
be fined not more than $2,000,000.”) If a lawsuit is actually

29

2. Alternatively, Petitioners argue that Section 27
eliminates state court jurisdiction over Respondents’
suit because Respondents’ state law claims indirectly
seek to enforce “duties” imposed by a federal regulation:

The complaint .. . seeks “to enforce dutfies]
created by [the Act] or the rules and regulations
thereunder,” id., because respondents’ complaint
seeks to hold petitioners liable for violating the
“locate” and “close-out” duties of Regulation
SHO. The fact that respondents seek to enforce
those duties though state-law causes of action
does not matter, because the statute applies
broadly to “all suits in equity and actions at law
brought to enforce” duties created by the
Exchange Act or its regulations.”

Pet. Br. 21. Again, Petitioners are mistaken.

a. As an initial matter, Petitioners’ theory is based
on a factual premise that was expressly rejected by the
Third Circuit—ce., that at least one of Respondents’

causes of action might somehow require a judicial
determination that Regulation SHO had been violated.

“brought to enforce [that] liability,” it would surely be subject to
exclusive federal jurisdiction. But whether Respondents’ lawsuit
was “brought to enforce any liability” resulting from an Exchange
Act violation is the very disputed issue in this case. Petitioners
cannot obtain reversal by merely accusing Respondents of
“allegiing} a violation of the act or its regulation.” Such an
accusation begs the relevant question—ce., whether Petitioners’
lawsuit is actually “brought to enforce any liability” resulting from
the alleged Exchange Act violation. Indeed, Petitioners’ own amici
concede as much. See, e.g., Sec. Indus. and Fin. Mkt. Assoc. Br. at 7
(“By its terms, the first clause of Section 27—the violations ciuuse—
extends to suits that, whether or not pleaded under the Exchange
Act, are predicated on alleged violations of the Act.”) (emphasis
added).

30

See Pet. App. 14a (“As we read the Amended Complaint,
no causes of action are predicated at all on a violation of
Regulation SHO.”) (emphasis in original). The court of
appeals was correct.

There is no mention of Regulation SHO (or any
federal law) in any of the 73 paragraphs of the Amended
Complaint setting forth Respondents’ claims against
Petitioners. See Pet. App. 82a-93a (AC 9988-122). Put
simply, Respondents do not need to prove anything
about Regulation SHO to establish their state law
claims. And their state law RICO claim turns entirely on
state law predicates, none of which invokes Regulation
SHO or even mirrors its terms. Indeed, the only
conceivable role Regulation SHO will have in this case is
as a defense—should Petitioners argue that New Jersey
law is conflict preempted because of Regulation SHO. A
federal issue arising as a defense is categorically
irrelevant for purposes of “exclusive jurisdiction” under
Section 27.

Nor does it make one whit of difference that the fact
section of Respondents’ Amended Complaint references
Regulation SHO and explains that Petitioners have
violated it in the past. These references did not seek “a
judicial determination that .. . Regulation SHO . . . was
violated.” Pet. Br. 3. To the contrary, those references
simply illustrated that Petitioners had a history of
sanctions by the Financial Industry Regulatory
Authority and other regulatory agencies and thus
punitive damages would be warranted against them. See
Pet. App. 75a-82a (discussing history of sanctions by the
Financial Industry Regulatory Authority and other
regulatory agencies). Indeed, the bulk of these
particular references involved other parties and other
events, “violations” that obviously have nothing to do

31

with proving the underlying merits of any claim in this
case.”

b. In any event, Petitioners misread Section 27's
plain terms. On its face, Section 27 is textually limited to
suits brought to enforce liabilities and duties “created by
[the Exchange Act],” not liabilities and duties created by
state law. A suit asserting claims under state law,
invoking state-created rights and remedies, is not a suit
brought to enforce federal law.

This is the most natural reading of the text. A state
lawsuit is by definition brought to enforce a liability
“created” under state law; the liability would not exist
but for the state’s decision to create the cause of action,
and any “liability” is authorized by the state itself, not
federal law. When a court enters judgment on a state law
claim, it is awarding relief based on the “liability and
duty” created by state law. If the state repealed those
rights and remedies, the action would fail—even if the
same rights and remedies were found independently in
the Exchange Act.

Nor does it matter if state law is modeled after
federal standards. State regulation is still state
regulation. When a party invokes state law, it is invoking
“any and all other rights and remedies that may exist,”
Le., those of the state, 15 U.S.C. § 78bb(a)(2), and those
rights and remedies are created by the state. The fact
that the state elected to mirror federal law (if that is

“| A fair reading of the complaint, as confirmed by the court of
appeals, confirms that the factual predicate for Petitioners’ theory
simply does not exist. This is a complaint with claims based
exclusively on state law—in every respect. Because the question
presented is not actually presented on these facts, the Court should
consider dismissing the petition as improvidently granted.

32

what it did) is irrelevant to the source of the rights
invoked in state court. The operative question under
Section 27’s text is which body of law “created” the
liabilities and duties at issue. There is no basis in law or
logic for saying that a right created by state law (in
every sense of the word) is actually a right created by
federal law just because one resembles the other.”

Petitioners’ contrary position misunderstands the
nature of state regulation. States, as independent
sovereigns, may prohibit in their own law (and make
actionable in their own courts) whatever conduct they
choose. Congress did not “create” any state laws, and
the SEC did not promulgate any New Jersey
regulations pursuant to the Exchange Act. These are
New Jersey rights created by its legislature, and their
content is dictated by New Jersey law. They survive
independently of any federal law or regulations.

Indeed, Congress expressly preserved the States’
independent regulation in this area, 15 U.S.C.
§ 78bb(a)(2), including the power to authorize additional
rights and remedies. If Congress wanted those rights
and remedies adjudicated exclusively in federal court, it
would have said so. It instead limited Section 27's
jurisdictional provision to liabilities and duties created
by the Act—at the same time it explicitly contemplated

# If Federal Law A bars Misconduct X, and New Jersey Law A
bars Misconduct X, then only claims relying on the former can be
said to have brought to enforce duties “created by” Federal Law A.
For example, if New York also enacted laws that barred Misconduct
X, a New Jersey suit entirely invoking New Jersey law seeking to
remedy Misconduct X could not be said to be enforcing duties
created by New York law, even though New York law would be
consonant with the result.

33

additional rights not created by the Act. Petitioners’
theory is simply incompatible with the statutory text.

ec. For the same reasons, certain amici are also
wrong that Petitioners can dodge Section 27’s textual
requirements by focusing on the source of the claim:
“(njeither prong of Section 27 turns on whether the
Exchange Act itself creates the claim that is being
asserted, and thus it is irrelevant whether the asserted
claims purport to arise under state law.” NASDAQ et al.
Br. 7 (emphasis in original).

Section 27 expressly requires the suit to enforce a
duty or liability “created by [the Exchange Act].” A suit
to enforce liabilities or duties under state law is not a
suit to enforce liabilities or duties created by the Act—
and that holds true even if the state’s substantive law
tracks some federal standards.

Again, the content of a state’s substantive law is
reserved to the state’s political branches. States may
decide to mirror federal law or deviate from federal law,
just as New Jersey is alleged to depart from federal law
here. A suit enforcing those policy determinations is one
enforcing a state rule or regulation, not a federal rule or
regulation. So even if the Exchange Act need not “create
the claim that is being asserted,” the claim still must be
brought to enforce the Exchange Act’s provisions—not
state law standards that voluntarily (and unremarkably)
overlap (or are entirely coterminous) with federal law.

3. This Court has already construed this language
to mean exactly what it says. In Matsushita Electric
Industrial Co. v. Epstein, 516 U.S. 367 (1996), the Court
confronted a state law claim alleging corporate waste by
“exposing the corporation to liability under the
[Exchange Act],” and the Court still held that the state

34

court retained jurisdiction: it made no difference that
“the plaintiff class premised one of its claims of fiduciary
breach” on a federal allegation because “the cause
pleaded was nonetheless a state common-law action for
breach of fiduciary duty.” /d. at 382 n.7. The Court thus
specifically held that “(t]he Delaware court asserted
judicial power over a complaint asserting purely state-
law causes of action,” and thus “the Delaware action was
not ‘brought to enforce’ any rights or obligations under
the Act.” Jd. at 381-82.

Petitioners’ reading of Section 27 is impossible to
square with Matsushita. A suit seeking relief on state-
created “rights or obligations” is not seeking to enforce
any “rights or obligations” under the Act, even if aspects
of the claim are premised on federal law. It is still the
state, not the federal government, that elected to make
federal law relevant, and it is still a state-created
“liability or duty” that will be the ultimate source of any
judgment.

Petitioners attempt to brush aside Matsushita as
holding only that state courts can review and approve
proposed settlements of federal claims. Pet. Br. 24.
Matsushita indeed did hold exactly that, but it was not
all that Matsushita held. See 516 U.S. at 380-86, 389 n.7.
The predicate question was whether the state court was
properly exercising jurisdiction in the first place. Jd. at
375. Were it the rule that any incorporation of federal
law into a state-created right defeated state jurisdiction,
Matsushita would have come out exactly the other way.
Petitioners’ view is directly at odds with Matsushita’s
holding and its plain-text reading of Section 27's
unambiguous language. Petitioners are thus right that
“(jjurisdiction is not always so simple, but that is no
reason to complicate things when it is.” Pet. Br. 2. Both

35

Section 27 and Matsushita mean what they say, and
Petitioners lose for exactly those reasons.

B. Petitioners’ Reading of Section 27 Is
Irreconcilable With Identical Language in the
Securities Act.

At best, the meaning of Section 27 in this context is
ambiguous, requiring an examination of the Act’s
“broader structure”:

[W]e must turn to the broader structure of the
Act to determine the meaning of [the provision].
“A provision that may seem ambiguous in
isolation is often clarified by the remainder of the
statutory scheme . . . because only one of the
permissible meanings produces a substantive
effect that is compatible with the rest of the
law.” United Sav. Assn. of Tex. v. Timbers of
Inwood Forest Associates, Ltd., 484 U.S. 365,
371, 108 S.Ct. 626, 98 L.Ed.2d 740 (1988).

King v. Burwell, 135 S. Ct. 2480, 2492 (2015) (quoting
United Sav. Assn. of Tex. v. Timbers of Inwood Forest
Associates, Ltd, 484 U.S. 365, 371 (1988)). But
Petitioners urge this Court to do precisely the opposite:
to read an ambiguous provision in a way that would
render a related provision absurd.

The Securities Act uses the terms “created by” and
“arising under” to refer to the same universe of claims.
Although certain amendments have altered the statute’s
functional reach, the law authorizes federal jurisdiction
over certain claims while simultaneously prohibiting
removal of those same claims:

The district courts of the United States .. . shall
have jurisdiction . . . with respect to .. . all suits
in equity and actions at law brought to enforce

36

any liability or duty created by this
subchapter. ... | Yet] no case arising under this
subchapter and brought in any State court of
competent jurisdiction shall be removed to any
court of the United States.

15 U.S.C.A. § 77v. This provision, admittedly, is one
designed to preserve concurrent jurisdiction. But the
way the provision uses “created by” and “arising under”
to preserve concurrent jurisdiction is telling. For this
provision to make sense, Congress must have considered
the set of suits enforcing duties “created by” the
Securities Act to be no more expansive than the set of
suits “arising under” the Securities Act.

This provision alone shows the impossibility of
Petitioners’ reading of Section 27. Petitioners have
argued that “created by” has a broader jurisdictional
reach than “arising under,” with “created by” reaching
state law claims that might possibly turn on federal law,
and “arising under” only reaching claims that, among
other things, necessarily turn on federal law. If
Petitioners are right about the meaning of “created by,”
then here is how the above provision reads:

The district courts of the United States . . . shall
have jurisdiction . . . with respect to. . . all suits
that might turn on federal law.... [Yet] no
case that necessarily turns on federal law
brought in any State court of competent
jurisdiction shall be removed to any court of the
United States.

That Congress would want to bar removal with respect
to claims that actually turned on federa! law but permit
removal for claims that might turn on federal law is,
respectfully, absurd.

37

C. Petitioners’ Reading of Section 27 Is
Irreconcilable With This Court’s Long-
standing Interpretation of the Precise
Statutory Phrase at Issue.

Petitioners cannot square their novel and sweeping
view of Section 27’s language with this Court’s
consistent interpretation of exactly the same language in
Section 27 itself and analogous statutes.

1. For decades, this Court has described Section 27
as a traditional “arising under” jurisdictional grant. See,
e.g., Radzanower v. Touche Ross & Co., 426 U.S. 148, 159
(1976) (Stevens, J., dissenting) (Section 27 addresses
cases “arising under” the Exchange Act); Will v. Calvert
Fire Ins. Co., 4837 U.S. 655, 670 (1978) (Brennan, J.,
dissenting) (“Section 27 of the 1934 Act .. . gives the
federal courts exclusive jurisdiction over claims arising
under the Act.”) (emphasis omitted).

While the Court has often invoked those
characterizations in passing, they still underscore a
fundamental point: Section 27’s plain text is most
naturally read—as one does in passing—-to mean exactly
what this Court has repeatedly said: it applies to cases
arising under the Act. Petitioners’ contrary view
requires a_ startling departure from longstanding
practice. If Section 27 were most naturally read to mean
what Petitioners contend, the Court would likely have
noticed something amiss in its past cases; there is no
reason to believe that Congress would have legislated
such a novel change in such a subtle fashion.”

*% Petitioners, both at the petition stage and in their merits
brief, repeatedly cite dicta from prior decisions of this Court for the
proposition that Section 27 of the Exchange Act confers jurisdiction.
Oddly, however, they fail to acknowledge that the very same dicta

38

In any event, not all of the Court’s past language on
this point has been in passing. Indeed, as noted above,
Matsushita confronted this question and read Section 27
exactly the way Respondents do. Jurisdiction is simply
not triggered when a party brings suit to enforce state
law liabilities and duties created by state law claims—
even if aspects of those claims turn on federal law:

While § 27 prohibits state courts from
adjudicating claims arising under the Exchange
Act, it does not prohibit state courts from
approving the release of Exchange Act claims in
the settlement of suits over which they have
properly exercised jurisdiction, ie., suits arising
under state law or under federal law for which
there is concurrent jurisdiction. /n this case, for
example, the Delaware action was not “brought
to enforce” any rights or obligations under the
Act.

516 U.S. at 381-82 (emphasis added). And the Court
reached this conclusion despite acknowledging,
explicitly, that the class plaintiffs “alleg[ed]” that the
defendant violated state law by “exposing the
corporation to liability under [the Exchange Act].” /d. at
382 n.7. If Petitioners were correct, it is hard to
understand how that “state common-law action for
breach of fiduciary duty” was “not ‘brought to enforce’
rights or obligations under the Act.” Jd. at 381, 82 n.7.

makes clear that the jurisdiction conferred by Section 27 is no
broader than the familiar “arising under” language of Section 1331.
And they further fail to acknowledge the critical passages, noted
above, where the Court again squarely confronted the issue in a
context where its language mattered. Petitioners have no obvious
answer for the Court’s deliberate choice of words in this setting.

39

2. This Court has also had an opportunity to
consider the meaning of “created by” language nearly
identical to that in Section 27 in a different substantive
setting. In Pan American Petroleum Corporation v.
Superior Court of Delaware for New Castle County, 366
U.S. 656 (1961), this Court considered the meaning of
the Natural Gas Act (NGA)’s jurisdictional provision.
The relevant NGA provision provided that federal courts
“shall have exclusive jurisdiction of violations of [the
NGA] or the rules, regulations, and orders thereunder,
and of all... actions at law brought to enforce any
liability or duty created” by the NGA. /d. at 662. This
Court concluded that, based on both’ general
jurisdictional principles and the legislative history of the
act, the meaning of “brought to enforce any liability or
duty created” was no broader than the meaning of
“arising under” in 28 U.S.C. § 1331. Jd. at 665 n.2.

According to Petitioners, however, Pan American
was all about the well-pleaded complaint rule; it did not
purport to equate 28 U.S.C. § 1331 and the NGA. It
simply held that a federal issue arising as a defense
could not satisfy the terms of the NGA’s “exclusive”
jurisdiction provision.

Petitioners, again, are hAalf-right. But their view
simply refuses to acknowledge the Court’s critical
footnote, which presumably meant (again) exactly what
the Court said: the “exclusive” jurisdiction language was
coterminous with the traditional “arising under”
standard, and there was no reason to think Congress
intended to depart from that settled standard. /d.

Petitioners’ only effort to acknowledge this
declaration is brushing aside the Court’s direct
statement as rooted exclusively in legislative history.
Pet. Br. 38-39. To be sure, that legislative history—a

40

single snippet reproduced in the opinion—presumably
did bolster the Court’s conclusion, but the Court’s
predominant consideration was the same one that
applies here: Congress legislates against the backdrop of
traditional jurisdictional principles, and it presumably
intends to invoke those traditional principles unless it
affirmatively says otherwise. As in Pan American,
Congress did not say otherwise here.

Petitioners accordingly err in attempting to shoehorn
this discussion into the well-pleaded complaint rule.
Their position is out of step with Pan American, and
they offer no compelling basis for construing the
identical language in each Act to mean two very
different things. Their argument should be rejected.

D. Petitioners’ Reading of Section 27 Does Not
Advance the “Purposes” of the Exchange Act.

According to Petitioners, “uniformity” was the
driving concern underlying Section 78aa. Pet. Br. 24. It
was essential, Petitioners tell us, to preserve federal
control over all features of the Exchange Act: only
expert federal judges could construe and apply its
provisions in a uniform, fair, and predictable manner. /d.
at 25-27. This policy concern, Petitioners argue,
warrants construing Section 27 to its ower limit: “[s]tate
courts, of course, are considered competent to decide
most questions of federal law,” but here “Congress has
concluded that state courts are not well-equipped to
conduct the careful application of the sensitive federal
interests.” /d. at 27. Thus, according to Petitioners, any
reading that permits state courts to resolve federal
questions undermines the statutory purpose. See, e.g.,
id. at 25 n.8.

41

Petitioners are mistaken. It is assuredly true that
Congress was concerned about preserving some degree
of federal uniformity. But “no legislation pursues its
purposes at all costs.” Rodriquez v. United States, 480
U.S. 522, 525-26 (1987) (per curiam). Petitioners cannot
simply invoke “uniformity” and assume that anything
promoting that value to its outer bounds is automatically
correct. “{I]t frustrates rather than effectuates
legislative intent simplistically to assume that whatever
furthers the statute’s primary objective must be the
law.” Id. at 526; see also Norfolk S. Ry. Co. v. Sorrell, 549
U.S. 158, 171 (2007).

The right question is not whether Congress felt that
federal courts should retain more control than usual, but
whether Congress indicated an obvious intent to
advance that interest to the exclusion of everything else.
Congress expressed no such intention here. Petitioners’
novel theory would frustrate the careful balance
Congress struck between federal and state authority,
and Petitioners’ reading of Section 27 is unnecessary to
promote uniformity in this area. Their argument should
be rejected.”

1. Petitioners’ sweeping theory is at odds with
Congress’s scheme. Congress intended to preserve
concurrent roles for state law and state courts in
regulating securities, and Petitioners cannot seriously
suggest otherwise. By its plain language, Section 27
directly contemplates that States will retain their
traditional role in securities regulation, authorizing

* The United States’ failure to support Petitioners in this case
speaks volumes about whether or not it believes claims like those
made by Respondents threaten the uniformity or efficacy of federal
securities regulation.

42

independent “rights and remedies” in addition to those
found in the Act. 15 U.S.C. § 78bb(a)(2). If Congress felt
that the states’ participation threatened the “uniform”
enforcement of the federal securities laws, it would not
have expressly permitted those laws to coexist with the
federal scheme.

It makes little sense to suggest that Congress
permitted states to pass laws in this area, but refused to
permit states to enforce those laws in their own courts
whenever the subject matter overlaps too closely with
federal regulation. Matsushita, 516 U.S. at 383
(“Congress plainly contemplated the possibility of dual
litigation in state and federal courts relating to securities
transactions.”) (citing 15 U.S.C. § 7T8bb(a)).

Nor are Petitioners correct that Congress refused
state courts any role in resolving federal issues under
the Exchange Act. Congress indisputably accepted that
some federal issues—even pure federal issues—would
remain in state court. Under the well-pleaded complaint
rule, for example, all federal defenses will be resolved in
state actions, even those requiring courts to construe
and apply federal law. One cannot determine the scope of
federal conflict preemption, for example, without
construing and applying federal law—even though that
leaves state court judges to “say definitively what the
Exchange Act means and enforce legal liabilities and
duties thereunder.” Pet. Br. 24 (quoting Matsushita, 516
U.S. at 383). And Congress was surely aware that
federal counter-clarms would remain in state court for
adjudication—a counter-claim is not a “suit” even if it
“enforces” federal issues.

If Congress wanted to avoid this result, it assuredly
knew how to: it could have adopted language more like
SLUSA, which provides an easy model for removing all

43

matters involving federal securities to federal court. See,
e.g., Merrill Lynch, Pierce, Fenner & Smith Inc. v
Dabit, 547 U.S. 71, 74, 82-83 (2006) (permitting removal
and dismissal of all class claims alleging wrongdoing “in
connection with” a covered security).

Instead, however, Congress carefully limited Section
27's “exclusive” jurisdiction to those suits particularly
enforcing rights “created by” the Act itself. This may
leave open the possibility of state courts adjudicating
federal questions, but it also respects the natural
balance that Congress struck between the state and
federal systems. Just as in other common settings,
Congress has refused to strip away all state jurisdiction
in order to achieve perfect uniformity.

2. In any event, Petitioners’ theory is unnecessary
to accomplish Congress’s objectives. Petitioners first
overstate the problem: by ushering all true federal
claims to federal court, Congress ensures that the
federal judiciary will develop a sufficient body of law on
these questions that can inform state judges when they
happen to encounter federal issues. That promotes
“uniformity” without disturbing the proper role
Congress preserved for state courts.

And Pan American itself squarely refutes
Petitioners’ view that any state court adjudication is too
much state court adjudication. See 366 U.S. at 665
(rejecting contention that “permit{ting] the state courts
to entertain the [state-law] suits . . . will jeopardize the
uniform system of regulation that Congress established
through the Natural Gas Act”). As this Court explained,
it can always ensure uniformity by reviewing cases from
state courts that decide any important federal question.
Id. at 665-66. If the Court felt that its supervisory role
accommodated “uniformity” concerns under the Natural

44

Gas Act, it is unclear why Petitioners believe this Court's
supervisory role is inadequate to accommodate the same
concerns under the Exchange Act.

. + >

It is worth pausing to consider what Petitioners ask
this Court to do. Petitioners ask this Court to presume
that Congress was so concerned about “uniformity” that
it was willing to forbid state court jurisdiction not only
over federal claims, but also over any state law claim
that just might possibly turn on federal law. Any
directive forbidding state courts from determining
federal claims is already unusual. But it is simply
extraordinary to presume that Congress, without saying
so directly, intended to intrude on the states’ power in
their own courts to review claims created by their own
legislature, despite possibly never implicating a single
federal issue. If that were truly Congress’s intent, one
would expect to find language far clearer than this.

In the end, Petitioners cannot use a general sense of
legislative purpose to rewrite the actual text. See, e.g.,
Norfolk S. Ry. Co. v. Sorrell, 549 U.S. 158, 171 (2007)
(“the statute’s remedial purpose cannot compensate for
the lack of a statutory basis”). And in any event,
Petitioners’ general sense of legislative purpose is
wrong. Congress wrote a measured jurisdictional statute
that respects traditional jurisdictional principles and
preserves the states’ traditional role in this area—all
while increasing uniformity by ushering the vast
majority of federal issues to federal courts (in exactly
the same fashion, with exactly the same exceptions, that
Congress embraced in parallel contexts). The fact that
Congress authorized “exclusive” jurisdiction—even to
promote uniformity—does not mean that Congress
stripped away state jurisdiction over common state-law

45

claims simply to avoid the possibility of any federal issue
being resolved in a state tribunal. Cf Gunn v. Minton,
133 S. Ct. 1059 (2013).

II. Petitioners’ “Federal Possibility” Rule Is a
Radical and Unwise Departure from One of the
Most Enduring Principles of Federal Jurisdiction.

According to Petitioners, Congress intended Section
27 to confer jurisdiction over any cause of action that
might rely on a violation of the Exchange Act. As
Petitioner puts it:
To be clear, nothing in § 27's language states or
suggests that jurisdiction attaches only if the
Regulation SHO violations and duties alleged in
the complaint are necessary elements of
respondents’ claims. The language instead
provides that when a violation or duty of the Act
or its regulations is asserted, a federal court is
the only court that can decide whether the alleged
violation occurred or the duty was breached. It is
accordingly irrelevant that other grounds also
may provide a basis for liability—§ 27’s text bars
a state court from even considering whether the
asserted violation occurred or the asserted duty
was breached, because those matters are subject
to the exclusive jurisdiction of the federal court.
The presence of those allegations in a state-court
complaint justifies removal, even if the complaint
also asserts other possible bases for liability.

Pet. Br. at 22 (emphasis in original).

As Petitioners would have it, the mere possibility of a
federal issue is enough for jurisdiction. As explained
below, Petitioners’ view is radical, unwise, and contrary
to this Court’s sensible jurisdictional modesty. Indeed,

46

just two years after the passage of the Exchange Act, no
less a jurist than Justice Cardozo rejected the kind of
“federal possibility jurisdiction” put forth by Petitioners.
See Gully v. First National Bank, 299 U.S. 109, 117, 118
(1936) (“[A] dispute so doubtful and conjectural” is not
sufficient to divest a state court of jurisdiction; “(t]he
most one can say is that a question of federal law is
lurking in the background.”) (emphasis added).

Also telling is that, although Section 27 has been law
for over eight decades, absent from Petitioners’ brief is
even a single citation to a judicial decision that has
adopted Petitioners’ position. If Congress had intended
for federal possibility jurisdiction, it seems unlikely that
this particular innovation would have escaped notice for
81 years. More likely is that Petitioners are alone in
their error. It should remain that way.

A. It Is a Bedrock Presumption That, Absent
Complete Preemption, There Is No Federal
Jurisdiction Over State Law Claims Unless
They Necessarily Raise a Federal Issue.

Petitioners’ view is a monumental departure from the
traditional rules of federal jurisdiction. It is a bedrock
presumption that state-law claims must (at a minimum)
necessarily raise a federal issue to create jurisdiction:
“{A] right or immunity created by the Constitution or
laws of the United States must be an element, and an
essential one, of the plaintiff's cause of action.”
Franchise Tax Bd. of Cal. v. Construction Laborers
Vacation Trust for S. Cal, 463 U.S. 1, 10-11 (1983)
(quoting Gully v. First Natl Bank in Meridian, 299
U.S. 109, 112 (1936)) (emphasis added).

Petitioners concede, as they must, that none of
Respondents’ claims necessarily turns on federal! law.

47

But, according to Petitioners, that is irrelevant because
“nothing in §27’s language states or suggests that
jurisdiction attaches only if the Regulation SHO
violations and duties alleged in the complaint are
necessary elements of respondents’ claims.” Pet. Br. 22.

This is twice wrong. First, it flips the relevant
standard on its head. The presumption is that traditional
jurisdictional principles apply, not the other way around.
The question is thus not whether “§ 27’s language states
or suggests” that the traditional rules apply, but whether
Petitioners have identified any reason to think
otherwise. See, e.g., Pan American, 366 U.S. at 665 n.2
(refusing to set aside traditional limits on jurisdiction
simply because the Natural Gas Act did not explicitly
invoke those traditional “limitations”). Petitioners have
wholly failed in that regard.

Second, in any event, Petitioners again misread
Section 27’s text. The traditional rule recognizes that
suits do not truly arise under federa] law—or enforce
any rights under federal law—when they assert
independent state-law theories sufficient to resolve the
dispute. Any claim that does not have an essential
federal ingredient is not necessarily brought to enforce
federal law. It is possibly brought to enforce federal law,
and there is no such thing as “federal possibility”
jurisdiction. The fairest reading of Section 27 is that
claims are “brought” to enforce a duty when they
necessarily present the question.

This Court has taken pains to be clear about what it
means by “necessary.” The jurisdiction triggering issue
must be unavoidable; alternate theories that could
invoke the issue are an insufficient basis for jurisdiction.
Cf Christianson v. Colt Indus. Operating Corp., 486
U.S. 800, 809-10 (1988) (“{A] claim supported by

48

alternative theories in the complaint may not form the
basis for § 1338(a) jurisdiction unless patent law is
essential to each of those theories.”). In Christianson,
after examining both patent law and _ generally
applicable principles of jurisdiction, the Court declared
that jurisdiction turns on “claims, not theories.” Jd. at

811.

A Congressional provision of exclusive jurisdiction is
not a_ sufficient reason to relax the _ necessity
requirement. Even in that context, this Court has
insisted that only state-law claims that, inter alia,
“necessarily raise a stated federal issue” can be heard in
federal court. Gunn v. Minton, 133 S. Ct. 1059, 1065
(2013) (quoting Grable & Sons Metal Products, Inc. v.
Darue Engineering & Mfg., 545 U.S. 308, 314 (2005)).

B. The Federal Necessity Presumption Is Easily
Administrable and Strikes the Appropriate
Balance Between Federal and State Interests.

1. Making jurisdiction dependent on the federal
issue being a necessary one is a condition consonant with
this Court’s institutional reluctance to expand federal
jurisdiction absent pellucid Congressional command.
The requirement that the federal issue be essential to
the state claim avoids unnecessarily divesting state
courts of authority. (whether systematically if federal
jurisdiction is exclusive, or in only certain cases via
removal if federal jurisdiction is concurrent) over state
law disputes, and federalism presumptively respects a
state’s prerogative to enact laws that promote the
welfare of its citizens and to resolve disputes over those
laws, without federal interference.

Indeed, absent that solicitude, the well-pleaded
complaint rule would make little sense. That long-settled

49

rule denies general federal question jurisdiction, as well
as other more specific types of federal question
jurisdiction, to any case that does not present a federal
issue on the face of the well-pleaded complaint, even if a
federal issue is certain to appear as a defense or in a
counterclaim. Holmes Group, Inc. v. Vornado Air
Circulation Systems, Inc., 535 U.S. 826, 831-32 (2002);
Franchise Tax Bd. v. Constr. Laborers Vacation Trust,
463 U.S. 1, 9-10 (1983), superseded by 28 U.S.C.
§ 1441(e); Louisville & Nashville R.R. Co. v. Mottley,
211 U.S. 149 (1908).

The well-pleaded complaint rule thus guarantees
that issues of federal law raised in defenses and
counterclaims are routinely decided by state courts in
the context of state law claims. That has not troubled
this Court, even in areas of exclusive federal jurisdiction
where the Congressional interest in uniformity is
heightened. See, e.g., Holmes Group, 535 U.S. at 831-32
(rejecting federal jurisdiction in cases involving a patent-
law counterclaim); Cf 13D Charles A. Wright & Arthur
R. Miller, Federal Practice and Procedure: Jurisdiction
§ 3584 (3d ed. 2002) (explaining that “an affirmative
defense based upon federal law, including the Exchange
Act, may be adjudicated by a state court”). State law
decisions on federal law are not binding outside the
State, and even within the State, the appellate process
(aided by SEC intervention where appropriate) is likely
to correct an erroneous reading of federal law. Should
that fail, review by this Court can address the problem.

2. Petitioners fail to acknowledge a very real harm
of their “federal possibility” rule: it guarantees state
courts will be divested of jurisdiction in cases in which no
actual federal issue is ultimately reached. Litigants (or
aggressive judges) would only need identify a potential

90

federal issue relevant to the claims asserted to unlock
the doors of federal court; whether that issue was ever
reached (or even likely to be reached) would not matter.
If possibility rather than necessity is sufficient to trigger
jurisdiction, federal courts would routinely decide purely
state-law claims. Necessity imposes a meaningful limit
on the divestment of state court jurisdiction; possibility
does not.”

3. Nor is Petitioners’ rule practical. Necessity as a
jurisdictional minimum makes sense because it is
workable. When federal necessity is the test, a judge
reading a state law complaint need only confirm a
proffered state law theory could legitimately vindicate
the state law claims; if so, states retain jurisdiction. In
contrast, under Petitioners’ approach, judges would be
obligated to examine the factual allegations of all
complaints to determine whether those allegations
corresponded to an Exchange Act violation that would
aid the prosecution of a state law claim; only after such a
searching review, and a rejection of that possibility, could
the case proceed in state court. Petitioners will
presumably protest that, here, Respondents mentioned
Regulation SHO in the complaint, and therefore their
test is easy to apply. But rules transcend cases. As a
hypothetical plaintiff would not need to name the Act to
plead facts that would (1) constitute a violation or breach
of duty under the Act and (2) therefore might serve as a
potential ingredient in a plaintiff’s state law claim,

* And given that state courts, under the well-pleaded complaint
rule, already decide Exchange Act claims or issues that arise in the
context of counterclaims or defenses, the incremental benefit of a
“federal possibility” rule—limiting state courts from weighing in on
federal questions embedded in state law claims—seems modest.

51

Petitioners’ rationale would reach, and _ require
examination of, unlabeled factual allegations.

4. Ultimately, Petitioners know that under
traditional jurisdictional principles and assumptions—
that state-law claims should not be heard in federal
court absent a necessary federal ingredient; that states
are presumed competent arbiters of federal law; and
that conflict preemption can protect federal substantive
interests—Petitioners lose (as they did below). They
therefore must insist here that such principles, and
jurisdictional restraint generally, are specific to Section
1331 and play no meaningful role in Section 27. Pet. Br.
34-35 (arguing that this Court’s narrow interpretation of
“arising under” is attributable to policy reasons specific
to Section 1331).

Petitioners credit the rooster for the sunrise.
Professions of jurisdictional caution draw vitality from
this Court’s commitment to federalism, not something
peculiar about Section 1331. Section 1331 is admittedly
the context in which this Court most frequently has the
opportunity to express restraint, but a reluctance to
interfere with state laws and tribunals does not vanish
merely because Section 1331 is not at issue. Cf Gunn v.
Minton, 133 S. Ct. 1059, 1064 (2013) (holding that
28 U.S.C. § 1338 cannot reach state law claims that fail
to “necessarily raise a stated federal issue”); Holmes
Group, Inc. v. Vornado Air Circulation Sys., Inc., 535
U.S. 826 (2002), superseded by 28 U.S.C. § 1295(a)(1)
(applying well-pleaded complaint rule to patent claims);
Matsushita Electric Industrial Co., Ltd. v. Epstein, 516
U.S. 367 (1996) (explaining that a state law derivative
claim that might turn on an Exchange Act violation is
still properly before a state court); Christianson v. Colt
Indus. Operating Corp., 486 U.S. 800, 809-10 (1988)

o2

(denying Section 1338 jurisdiction unless patent law is
essential to each theory of a claim); Shamrock Oil & Gas
Corp. v. Sheets, 313 U.S. 100, 109 (1941) (articulating, in
a diversity setting, this Court’s “|d]ue regard for the
rightful independence of _ state governments”);
Strawbridge v. Curtiss, 7 U.S. 267 (1806) (adopting
complete diversity rule). Honest federalism requires
jurisdictional restraint, across contexts, and that is a
truth this Court has never failed to recognize.

Given the above, one would therefore expect
unmistakable language from Congress were it to invent
a heretofore unprecedented “federal possibility”
jurisdictional paradigm that would throw open federal
court to anyone capable of identifying, from the vast
universe of federal regulations promulgated under the
Act, a single regulation potentially at issue.” To the
contrary, all the relevant contextual evidence is that
Congress meant nothing of the sort. If Congress
intended so stinging a rebuke to state courts as
Petitioners’ federal possibility jurisdiction, it would have
done so plainly.

** Congressional desire for uniformity cannot be enough, as the
Court has not jettisoned traditional jurisdictional principles in those
settings. See, e.g., Gunn vu Minton, 133 S. Ct. 1059 (2013); Holmes
Group, Inc. v Vornado Air Circulation Systems, Inc., 535 U.S. 826
(2002); Christianson v. Colt Indus. Operating Corp., 486 U.S. 800
(1988).

53

CONCLUSION

For the reasons set forth above, the judgment of the
Third Circuit should be affirmed.

RADHA A. PATHAK
Whittier Law School
3333 Harbor Blvd.
Costa Mesa, CA 90026

SHAUN P MARTIN
University of San Diego
School of Law

5998 Alcala Park

San Diego, CA 92110

NEAL H. FLASTER

Law Offices of

Neal H. Flaster, LLC
30A Vreeland Rd.,

Ste. 230

Florham Park, NJ 07932

Respectfully submitted,

PETER K. STRIS

BRENDAN S. MAHER
Counsel of Record

DANIEL L. GEYSER

DANA BERKOWITZ

VICTOR O’CONNELL

MICHAEL N. JONES

Stris & Maher LLP

725 S. Figueroa St., Ste. 1830

Los Angeles, CA 90017

(213) 995-6800

brendan. maher@strismaher.com

JOHN A. SCHEPISI

GREGORY M. DEXTER
Schepisi & McLaughlin, PA.
473 Sylvan Avenue
Englewood Cliffs, N.J 07632

Counsel for Respondents

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0545%3A12. Public record. Not legal advice.
