# Amicus Curiae Brief — Morgan Stanley Capital Group Inc. v. Public Util. Dist. No. 1 of Snohomish Cty.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0538%3A30

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2008
- **Citation:** 554 U.S. 527

## Text

SBOLY a

AIM5P Nos. 06-1457 and 06-1462

In the
Supreme Court of the United States

MORGAN STANLEY CAPITAL GROUP INC., PETITIONER,

V.

PUBLIC UTILITY DISTRICT NO. 1 OF SNOHOMISH COUNTY,
WASHINGTON, ETAL, RESPONDENTS.

CALPINE ENERGY SERVICES, L.P., ET AL, PETITIONERS,

V.

PUBLIC UTILITY DISTRICT NO. 1 OF SNOHOMISH COUNTY,
WASHINGTON, ET AL., RESPONDENTS.

On Writ of Certiorari to the United States
Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit

BRIEF FOR THE STATES OF ILLINOIS,
CONNECTICUT, IOWA, MASSACHUSETTS,
MINNESOTA, MONTANA, NEW HAMPSHIRE;
OKLAHOMA, AND RHODE ISLAND AS AMICI
CURIAE IN SUPPORT OF RESPONDENTS

MICHAEL A. SCODRO* LISA MADIGAN
Solicitor General Attorney General of Illinois
JANE ELINOR NOTZ 100 West Randolph Street
Deputy Solicitor General Chicago, Illinois 60601
SUSAN HEDMAN (312) 814-3698

Sr. Ass't Attorney General
* Counsel of Record

[additional counsel listed on signature page]

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether, in response to complaints filed under
§ 206 of the Federal Power Act, 16 U.S.C. § 824e, the
Federal Energy Regulatory Commission
misconstrued the public interest standard
established by this Court in United Gas Pipe Line
Co. v. Mobile Gas Serv. Corp., 350 U.S. 332 (1956),
and Federal Power Comm'n v. Sierra Pacific Power
Co., 350 U.S. 348 (1956).

ll

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
QUESTION PRESENTED ................:ccssssssssscssereesees i
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES. ..............cccecssssesessseees ill
INTEREST OF THE AMICI CURIAE .................00++ 1
ccs chicdeitiinatgnnnltninciinatiiliidaibe 2
SUMMARY OF THE ARGUMENT .................:.:::00+ 6
ITE hi tscccoesiceosaptinniiiaianienidiciiationieiniinsiansicnibeliiiiedibniats 7

I. The “Public Interest” Inquiry Properly Turns
On A Comparison Between Price and
ST ona iteemsiignieatinah couminniibenenniiaiiie 8

Il. The “Public Interest” Test That FERC
Applied Is Incompatible With The Decisions
Of This Court And Ignores The Practical
Realities of State Utility Regulation ............... 12

IIIT scessnistessosisnstnnnetiiemnntadioneiinetenilatensiusiines 16

il

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases: Page

American Paper Inst. v. American Elec. Power,

SN Se: SI vcsccecocsnasnnccaninesrsesecaneperenties 13
Federal Power Comm'n v. Sierra Pacific Power Co.,

350 U.S. 348 (1956) ........esceccessccecsessesesseeee passim
FPC v. Texaco Inc., 417 U.S. 380 (1974) .......... 12, 13

Nantahala Power & Light Co. v. Thornburg,
A TT FE CD dntcnne cee ccnssecentsesescsscncocsoseoses 14

United Gas Pipe Line Co. v. Mobile Gas Serv. Corp.,
EE SEO .,sscradamdsiniaadaunanesionetdeia passim

Statutes and Rules:

BO U.B.G. © GRER-BIID) ..0..cccceccccccnsesccoccsccossessese 12-13
BG TRE. © GRID sccacccsrccccccsccsccscsssrcessesnscspsescrsncosese 2
OBI nnccccensentinsonsosincensseniorisnsisesccoveteneses 3
Miscellaneous:

James Bonbright, Principles of Utility
UII id als stsasieniniatnbbananpnsiniionnipiinimintits 14

I Alfred E. Kahn, The Economics of Regulation:
Principles & Institutions (1988) ...............-:0000000 9

INTEREST OF THE AMICI CURIAE'

This case asks whether the- Federal Energy
Regulatory Commission (“FERC”) misapplied this
Court’s decisions in United Gas Pipe Line Co. uv.
Mobile Gas Serv. Corp., 350 U.S. 332 (1956), and
Federal Power Comm'n v. Sierra Pacific Power Co.,
350 U.S. 348 (1956) (together, “Mobile-Sierra”), in
refusing to modify wholesale electricity contracts.’
Because state-regulated utilities across the country
increasingly purchase electricity in FERC-regulated
markets, and because FERC alone determines
whether wholesale electricity prices are lawful, this
case is of critical interest to the amici States.

Resolution of the question presented is likely to
have a particular impact on States that have
deregulated and/or restructured their electricity
sectors. In these States, public utilities rely on the

' Pursuant to this Court’s Rule 37.2(a), the amici curiae
provided notice of their intention to file this brief to counsel
of record at least 10 days prior to its filing.

* Under these contracts, petitioners sold electricity to
various entities, including public utilities, which purchased
power to provide service to retail customers. These entities,
as well as state agencies charged with protecting the
interests of retail customers, are the respondents and
intervenors in this case. Pet. App. 2a, 316a. (All citations
to “Pet. App.” in this brief refer to the appendix filed by
petitioner Morgan Stanley in No. 06-1457.)

wholesale markets heavily, and in some cases
exclusively, to purchase electricity for their retail
customers. Indeed, even States with a traditional
regulatory framework, in which public utilities both
generate and supply electricity at retail, will be
affected by the outcome of this case, for public
utilities in these States routinely purchase electricity
at wholesale to supplement the electricity they
generate themselves.

As a result of this increased reliance on the
wholesale markets to purchase electricity for
consumer use, retail rates in many States depend
largely on FERC-regulated wholesale prices.
Moreover, because the Federal Power Act (“FPA” or
“Act”) gives FERC exclusive jurisdiction over
wholesale markets, see 16 U.S.C. § 824d(a),
wholesale prices are not subject to regulation by the
States. Consequently, if FERC fails to ensure that
wholesale rates are lawful—and fails to modify rates
that are not—States cannot adequately protect their
retail customers.

STATEMENT

1. Sections 205 and 206 of the FPA set forth the
standards by which FERC regulates rates for the
sale of electricity at wholesale. Section 205 requires
that all such rates “be just and reasonable” and
declares “unlawful” any rate failing to meet that
standard. 16 U.S.C. § 824d(a). Section 206 then
provides that, if FERC determines that a wholesale
rate is “unjust, unreasonable, unduly discriminatory

or preferential,” FERC “shall determine the just and
reasonable rate” and “shall fix the same by order.”
Id. § 824e(a).

2. In late 2001 and 2002, respondents filed
complaints pursuant to § 206, seeking FERC review
of certain wholesale electricity contracts between
respondents and petitioners. Pet. App. 247a; J.A.
1484a. The complaints alleged that the contract
prices were unreasonably high because, at the time
the contracts were negotiated in 2000 and 2001,
electricity markets in the western United States
were dysfunctional. Pet. App. 247a-248a; J.A. 1485a.
The complaints asked FERC to modify the contracts
to render the terms just and reasonable. Ibid.

3. FERC concluded that the contracts were not
contrary to “the public interest” and therefore denied
respondents’ requests, purporting to apply the so-
called “Mobile-Sierra doctrine.” Pet. App. 248a-249a.
Mobile and Sierra, two cases decided on the same
day in 1956, involved requests by a natural gas
distributor and an electricity supplier, respectively,
to increase rates in their existing contracts.
Although the Court rejected both requests to change
the rates in those cases, it established FERC’s
authority to modify existing contracts to protect the
public interest. See Mobile, 350 U.S. at 344 (holding
that FERC may modify wholesale natural gas
contracts “when necessary to protect the public
interest”); Sierra, 350 U.S. at 355 (holding that
FERC may modify wholesale electricity contracts
that “adversely affect the public interest”).

Accordingly, while natural gas companies may not
change their contracts “simply because it is in their
private interests to do so,” the law affords them “an
avenue of relief when their interests coincide with
the public interest.” Mobile, 350 U.S. at 344. The
Court characterized this as “a reasonable
accommodation between the conflicting interests of
contract stability on the one hand and public

regulation on the other.” Ibid.

In Sierra, the Court identified factors that may
be used in determining whether a rate is so low that
it imperils the public interest—namely, whether the
rate threatens to “impair the financial ability of the
public utility to continue its service, cast upon other
consumers an excessive burden, or be unduly
discriminatory.” 350 U.S. at 355. The Court
emphasized, however, that “a contract may not be
said to be either ‘unjust’ or ‘unreasonable’ simply
because it is unprofitable to the public utility.” Ibid.

4. FERC purported to apply the Mobile-Sierra
“public interest” test to the contracts at issue in this
case—but in a form that FERC acknowledged would
render the standard for contract modification
“practically insurmountable.” Pet. App. 209a.
Concluding that the contracts failed to satisfy this
standard, FERC limited its analysis to the examples
from Sierra and held, specifically, that the
agreements did not cause the utility respondents
“financial distress” sufficient “to threaten their
ability to continue service * * * for] cast an excessive
burden on their customers.” Jd. at 252a. Nor were

the contracts “unduly discriminatory to the
detriment of other customers.” Ibid.

5. On respondents’ petition for review of the
FERC orders, the Ninth Circuit reversed, holding
that FERC’s application of Mobile-Sierra was both
procedurally and substantively flawed. Id. at 3a.
First, FERC erred procedurally by applying the
Mobile-Sierra public interest standard at all, for that
standard does not apply to contracts negotiated in a
dysfunctional market that fails to produce the just
and reasonable prices that the FPA requires. Id. at
42a-60a. Second, even if the Mobile-Sierra standard
does control, FERC misapplied it by focusing solely
on the extent to which the contracts placed an
“excessive burden” on respondents and their retail
customers, without comparing the contract prices to
the marginal cost of producing electricity to ensure
that those prices were within the “zone of
reasonableness.” Id. at 63a-65a. The court of
appeals remanded for FERC to determine whether
review under Mobile-Sierra is proper in this case
and, if so, to apply that standard correctly. Id. at
66a-67a.

SUMMARY OF THE ARGUMENT

The Ninth Circuit properly rejected FERC’s
misinterpretation of this Court’s holdings in Mobile
and Sierra.’ As the court of appeals recognized, the
Mobile-Sierra doctrine necessarily implies what
amounts to an economic test, under which the “public
interest” inquiry turns on a comparison between the
contract price and the marginal cost incurred in
producing the electricity. If the wholesale supplier
contracts to sell at a price either significantly above
or below its marginal cost, the test holds that the
public interest is threatened, and FERC must modify
the contract price. The standard applicable to high-
rate challenges (like this one) is identical to that
applied to the low-rate claims in Mobile and
Sierra—either way, what matters is whether the
contract price strays significantly from marginal
cost.

* The amici States adopt respondents’ argument that, as a
procedural matter, FERC erred in applying the Mobdile-
Sierra public interest standard without first determining
that the contracts, which were negotiated in a market so
dysfunctional that even FERC calls it “the worst electricity-
market crisis in American history,” FERC Br. Op. 12; FERC
Br. 16, were just and reasonable. See Snohomish Br. 28-49;
GSWC Br. 28-51; CPUC Br. 19-54. This brief argues that
FERC substantively misinterpreted Mobile and Sierra and,
as a result, used the wrong standard to determine whether
the contracts at issue were contrary to the public interest.

Rather than undertake the comparison between
price and marginal cost that Mobile-Sierra demands,
FERC mistakenly limited its inquiry to the burdens
on respondent utilities and their retail customers.
Not only is this approach inconsistent with Mobile
and Sierra, but it is impossible to square with other
decisions from this Court and ignores the practical
realities of state public utility regulation.

Accordingly, the amici States urge this Court to
affirm the judgment of the Ninth Circuit. On
remand, FERC must compare the contract prices
with the marginal cost of producing the electricity, as
Mobile-Sierra requires, and modify the challenged
contracts if these figures are not reasonably close.

ARGUMENT

FERC fundamentally misinterpreted the Mobile-
Sierra test. As the Ninth Circuit correctly
determined, that test requires FERC to compare
contract prices with the marginal costs of electricity
production. This approach follows not only from
Mobile and Sierra, but from bedrock economic
principles favoring a close connection between price
and marginal cost. Moreover, FERC’s “practically
insurmountable” alternative test—which asks
whether contract prices threaten “financial distress”
for the wholesale buyer and place an “excessive
burden” on consumers—cannot be reconciled with
decisions of this Court and ignores the practical
realities of state public utility regulation.

I. The “Public Interest” Inquiry Properly
Turns On A Comparison Between Price And
Marginal Cost.

It is undisputed that FERC may modify contract
rates that are “so low as to conflict with the public
interest,” Mobile, 350 U.S. at 345, such that the rates
threaten to “impair the financial ability of the public
utility to continue its service, cast upon other
consumers an excessive burden, or [are] unduly
discriminatory,” Sierra, 350 U.S. at 355. In short, it
is neither in the public interest for an electricity
supplier to jeopardize its financial integrity by
selling at a loss, nor for it to favor one customer and
cover its marginal costs by selling to others at higher
prices. Under either circumstance, FERC can and
should exercise its authority to modify the contract
rate.

At the same time, it is not enough that a contract
price is “unprofitable to a public utility,” for § 206
enables FERC to protect “the public interest, as
distinguished from the private interests of the
utilities.” Sierra, 350 U.S. at 355. Thus, the Court
drew a critical distinction between a price that
impairs the financial ability of a public utility to
operate and a rate that is sustainable but
unprofitable. This distinction may be expressed in
simple economic terms: it is in the public interest to
increase the utility’s contract price when that price is
less than the marginal cost of producing the
electricity. Indeed, an enterprise need not charge
prices in excess of marginal cost to be sustainable,

but it must cover its marginal expenses. See I Alfred
E. Kahn, The Economics of Regulation: Principles &
Institutions 67 (1988) (“[I]t pays * * * to continue to
produce and sell as long as * * * incremental
revenues cover * * * incremental cost.”). The
negative effects of underpricing that Mobile-Sierra
uses as examples of a threat to the public interest
follow inexorably from pricing below marginal cost,
for, to remain viable, a producer selling below cost
must choose between discontinuing service or
subsidizing the low-price contract by burdening other
customers with higher prices, precisely the ills that
Mobile-Sierra empowers FERC to prevent in the
public interest.

The converse is also true. It is well-established
that prices significantly above marginal cost arise
only in imperfectly competitive markets, and that
such prices lead to the misallocation of resources.
See Kahn, supra, at 66. Accordingly, in order to
maximize utility “from society’s limited aggregate
productive capacity * * * prices * * * for * * * various
goods and services * * * must accurately reflect their
respective [marginal] opportunity costs.” Ibid.

The Ninth Circuit thus correctly applied the
marginal cost test derived from Mobile-Sierra to
respondents’ claim that their contract rates are too
high. The court of appeals recognized that “a
functioning marketplace will drive prices toward
marginal cost,” Pet. App. 64a, and properly
determined that Mobile-Sierra requires the

10

wholesale contract price to fall within a “reasonable
range” of marginal cost:

[elven if a particular rate exceeds
marginal cost[,] * * * it may still be
within this reasonable range—or “zone of
reasonableness’—if that higher-than-
cost-based price results from normal
market forces and is part of a general
trend toward rates that do reflect costs.

Ibid. The court correctly concluded that “the proper
standard for the Mobile-Sierra ‘public interest’ mode
of review in a high-rate challenge is whether the
wholesale energy contract price is outside the ‘zone of
reasonableness,” too high relative to marginal cost.
Id. at 65a.

Accordingly, petitioners are wrong to say that
the Ninth Circuit held that “application of the
[Mobile-Sierra] standard must be asymmetrical,”
Calpine Br. 47, and specifically that the court of
appeals applied a less rigorous test to determine
whether a contract price is too high than Mobile and
Sierra applied to alleged underpricing, id. at 52-56;
Morgan Stanley Br. 48-50. In fact, the court of
appeals asked precisely the question that follows
from Mobile-Sierra—whether the contract price is
significantly out of line with marginal cost.

The court thus held that “FERC should have

performed a more sophisticated economic analysis to
determine if the challenged contract affected the

/

11

public interest.” Pet. App. 66a. In particular, FERC
should have analyzed the marginal cost of generating
the electricity needed to fulfill the terms of the
contracts. Because FERC did not collect or analyze
data on the cost of generating the electricity supplied
to respondents, moreover, it is impossible to
determine conclusively whether the contracted rates
depart impermissibly from marginal cost.‘ These
costs are readily ascertainable on remand, however,
and if FERC determines that a contract price is
significantly higher than marginal cost, FERC must
modify the contract price accordingly.

* The contract prices at issue here may have been
significantly above the marginal cost of generating the
electricity needed to supply the contracts. Since the electric
systems are typically operated by first deploying the low-
cost generators (typically, nuclear- and coal-powered), and
by operating the high-cost generators (powered by natural
gas) only during peak demand periods, the marginal cost of
generating electricity is usually much lower during off-peak
than peak periods. Thus, the marginal cost—which would
be expressed in dollars per megawatt-hour (““MWH”)}—of
producing electricity to fulfill a hypothetical contract to
supply electricity around the clock for a year might be less
than $30/MWH 90% of the time (during nonsummer months
and on summer nights, when only low-cost generators are
operating), and may exceed $100/MWH as little as 1% of the
time (on hot summer afternoons, when high-cost generators
are brought on line to meet the increased demand caused by
air-conditioning use). The contracts in this case called for
payment of as much as $290/MWH, even during off-peak
periods, when the marginal] cost of generating electricity is
low. Pet. App. 30a.

12

Il. The “Public Interest” Test That FERC
Applied Is Incompatible With The Decisions
Of This Court And Ignores The Practical
Realities Of State Utility Regulation.

Rather than compare price and marginal cost, as
the reasoning in Mobile-Sierra and fundamental
economics require, FERC asked whether the contract
prices caused “financial distress” for respondents, the
wholesale electricity buyers, sufficient to threaten
their viability or placed “an excessive burden” on the
ultimate consumer. Pet. App. 252a. This approach
is not only impossible to square with the principle
underlying Mobile-Sierra, but runs afoul of other
decisions by this Court and ignores the realities of
state public utility regulation.

First, requiring “an excessive burden” on the
consumer before FERC will modify a contract price
violates this Court’s “small dent’ admonition.” Pet.
App. 64a. This Court has long recognized that:

fijn the context of ratemaking, it is
typically the case that any increment in
the rate will “make a small dent in the
consumer's pocket,” FPC v. Texaco Inc.,
417 U.S. 380, 399 (1974), while that same
increment will have’ substantial
consequences for the parties to whom the
rate is paid. FERC’s statutory mandate to
prescribe a rate that “shall be just and
reasonable to the electric consumers of the
electric utility,” 16 U.S.C. 824a-3(b)(1)

13

(1976 ed., Supp. V), obviously reflects a
congressional determination that potential
savings for consumers as a class are
important even though rate changes will
generally not have great economic
significance for any individual consumer.

American Paper Inst. v. American Elec. Power, 461
U.S. 402, 417 n.11 (1983). In short, the impact on
consumer rates need not be “excessive” to impair the
public interest. To the contrary, “even a small dent
in the consumer’s pocket”—so long as that increase
arises from a contract price that is outside the zone
of reasonableness—may warrant contract
modification under Mobile-Sierra, as the Ninth
Circuit correctly held. Pet. App. 64a (quoting Texaco,
417 U.S. at 399). Indeed, to require “an excessive
burden” on the end user is to abandon Mobile-Sierra
for the “practically insurmountable” test that FERC
applied. Pet. App. 209a.

Second, the practical realities of utility
regulation make it nonsensical to define the “public
interest” entirely in terms of the contract rate’s effect
on the wholesale buyer’s viability and on the
“excessive[ness]” of the retail price. These factors
often have an inverse relation—the more the
wholesale buyer is able to pass along wholesale price
increases to the end user in the form of higher retail
rates, the smaller the effect of an increase on the
wholesale buyer and the greater its effect on the
ultimate consumer. Likewise, this Court has noted
that increases in wholesale rates need not lead to an

14

increase in retail rates at all, if savings in other
areas offset the wholesale rate increase. See
Nantahala Power & Light Co. v. Thornburg, 476 U.S.
953, 967-968 (1986).

State commissions decide the extent to which
regulated utilities may pass these costs along to
consumers, depending on a variety of factors
including public acceptability, rate stability, and
fairness to the various consumer classes.° The more
the wholesale buyer is allowed to pass along price
increases to the end user in the form of higher retail
rates, the smaller the effect of a price increase on the
wholesale buyer and the greater its effect on the
ultimate consumer. As a result, it is impossible for
FERC to determine accurately whether wholesale
contract prices are contrary to the public interest by
looking selectively at retail rates at fixed points in
time, as it did here, Pet. App. 210a-220a, and
nonsensical in any event to define the “public
interest” in terms of two criteria that are frequently
inversely related. For instance, a utility may be able
to avoid bankruptcy—but only if retail rates
skyrocket. That is, injury to the public utility can be
avoided by harming its customers. Conversely, retail
customers may benefit if the public utility fully
absorbs a wholesale rate increase, but doing so may

* For a complete list of criteria that state utility
commissions use to develop a sound rate structure, see
James Bonbright, Principles of Utility Rates 291 (1961).

15

cause the public utility to go bankrupt. Neither
scenario is in the public interest.

If FERC fails to ensure that wholesale rates are
just and reasonable and that wholesale contracts are
in the public interest, States will be faced with
unworkable choices, and, moreover, will not be able
to protect retail utilities or their customers
adequately. In short, FERC needs to do its job, so
States can properly do theirs.

16

CONCLUSION

The judgment of the court of appeals should be
affirmed.

Respectfully submitted,

LISA MADIGAN
Attorney General of Illinois
MICHAEL A. SCODRO*
Solicitor General
JANE ELINOR NoTz
Deputy Solicitor General
SUSAN HEDMAN
Sr. Ass't Attorney General
100 West Randolph Street
Chicago, Illinois 60601
(312) 814-3698

*Counsel of Record

January 2008

17

RICHARD BLUMENTHAL KELLY A. AYOTTE

Attorney General of Attorney General of
Connecticut New Hampshire

55 Elm Street 33 Capitol Street

Hartford, CT 06106 Concord, NH 03301

THOMAS J. MILLER W.A. DREW EDMONDSON

Attorney General of lowa Attorney General of

1305 E. Walnut Street Oklahoma

Des Moines, IA 50319 313 N.E. 21st Street
Oklahoma City, OK

MARTHA COAKLEY 73105-4894
Attorney General of
Massachusetts PATRICK C. LYNCH
One Ashburton Place, Attorney General of
20th Floor Rhode Island
Boston, MA 02108 150 South Main Street

Providence, RI 02903
LorI SWANSON

Attorney General of
Minnesota

102 State Capitol

75 Rev. Dr. Martin

Luther King, Jr. Blvd.

St. Paul, MN 55155-1609

MIKE MCGRATH

Attorney General of
Montana

P.O. Box 201401

Helena, MT 59620-1401

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0538%3A30. Public record. Not legal advice.
