# Amicus Curiae Brief — Medellin v. Texas

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0518%3A17

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2008
- **Citation:** 552 U.S. 491

## Text

AY |
No. 06-984
jniesisieani = OFFICE OF THE CLEAK
3n The
Supreme Court of the Anited States
*

JOSE ERNESTO MEDELLIN,

Petitioner,

V.

STATE OF TEXAS,

Respondent.

On Writ Of Certiorari To The
Court Of Criminal Appeals Of Texas

SJ

BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE OF FORMER
SENIOR OFFICIALS OF THE DEPARTMENT
OF JUSTICE IN SUPPORT OF RESPONDENT

¢

CHARLES J. COOPER

Counsel of Record
BRIAN STUART KOUKOUTCHOS
COOPER & KIRK, PLLC
1523 New Hampshire Avenue, NW
Washington, D.C. 20036
(202) 220-9600

Counsel for Amici Curiae

August 2007

ed - Or > + re eee

a —

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO (800) 225-6954
OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

INTEREST OF AMICI CURIAE ............cc0ccceeceeecsesees 1

INTRODUCTION AND SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT... — 2

TES Oe aE CAE OE RE SE Oe 4
Il. PETITIONER CANNOT ESCAPE THE

I].

CONTROLLING AUTHORITY OF SAN-
i ___ nana TOPE

THE PRESIDENT’S ASSERTION OF POWER
TO PREEMPT STATE PROCEDURAL LAW
IN DEFIANCE OF THE EXPRESS TERMS
OF THE VIENNA CONVENTION VIOLATES
THE SEPARATION OF POWERS ...................

A. The President Has No Treaty-Based
Power To Countermand Treaty Interpre-
tations By This Court And To Preempt
I ED cciinenicitidapatininaenieneieinianininninnniie

B. The President Has No Inherent Foreign-
Relations Power To Override This Court's
Interpretations Of Treaties Nor To Pre-
I Fe ID ceinincticnviniinnitinndireiatinaedinden

C. The President Has No “Independent Au-
thority” To Preempt State Law In The
Course Of Resolving Disputes With For-
ns ee 2 a aeeeniaaanennni

D. The Solicitor General's Remaining Ar-
guments Are Unpersuasive...,...........0..606:

1. The President's assumption of re-
sponsibility for responding to [CJ de-
cisions proves nothing.................:60008

13

a ne, oe ee Ca aie
A eS
1]

TABLE OF CONTENTS -— Continued

Page
2. The President's possession of other re-
sponsibilities “related” to the authority

he claims here proves nothing.............. 25

3. The President’s role in litigation that
implicates foreign policy proves noth-

4. The President’s qualifications to act
in foreign affairs cannot override fed-
eralism or the Constitution’s separa-
RR ID iv ccetstcstntcisiinneciecensssncnadannie 28

TET incccrtihinnnisiisesumuininrineeinmsnnnadnentin 30

il

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page
CASES
American Ins. Ass'n v. Garamendi, 539 U.S. 396
SII aisced.ceiaididesinainasleaietiataen aneainanienaeecatmaliatamaaaaines 3, 15, 16, 18, 19
Avena and Other Mexican Nationals (Mex. v. U.S.),
Se Cans. We) IIIS Ci cnicdssaciecievescotitnnnetnsuiarsnninenattasnnenianta passim
Barclays Bank v. Franchise Tax Bd., 512 U.S. 328
ERIE Oana ae ae ee a ea T a eee oan 20, 21
Bartkus v. Illinois, 359 U.S. 121 (1959).......ccccecceeeeeesceeeess 17
Bowsher v. Synar, 478 U.S. 714 (1986).............ccesceeceeeeeees 29
Breard v. Greene, 523 U.S. 371 (1998)...........c.cccee eee passim
Brecht v. Abrahamson, 507 U.S. 619 (1993)... cece 16
Brown v. Allen, 344 U.S. 443 (1953) .................ccsccescocssceeees 6
Case Concerning Rights of Nationals of the United
States tn Morocco (Fr. v. U.S.), 1952 1.C.J. 176
Fe SD cn coiccassdinnnimnnnsianvenmnaledniaia Madman 25
Chuidian v. Philippine Nat'l Bank, 912 F.2d 1095
I I aascieeadiannnapummmianiasaaiais 27
Clinton v. New York, 524 U.S. 417 (1998)... ee, 7, 30
Dames & Moore v. Regan, 453 U.S. 654 (1981)......... passim
Hilton v. Guyot, 159 U.S. 123 (1 RQ) .............cccccescesseesceees 21
INS v. CRa@GRA, 462 UB. DID ( TBBS).. cccocsecccessesevccccccveceses: 29
LaGrand Case (F-R.G. v. U.S.), 2001 LC.J. 466 (June
0, ER eee a aon a eae nave NT SS en A REO TE Te ERE 24
Marbury vc. Madison, 5 U.S. (1 Cranch) 137 (1803).............30

Sanchez-Llamas v. Oregon, 1268. Ct. 2669 (2006) .... passim

a Renn EE
OO TS A TT RS RS SE SP:
1\

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page
Sanitary District v. United States, 266 U.S. 405

€ FED cscressnenenceduessccuvesmunsdnionseintiseddasaenmuecentesiaanmmamamaaaaaa 28
Societe Nationale Industrielle Aerospatiale v.

United States Dist. Court, 482 U.S. 522 (1987)............ 21
United States v. Belmont, 301 U.S. 324 (1937)............ 15, 20
United States v. Brown, 381 U.S. 487 (1965) .......... 29
United States v. Morrison, 529 U.S. 598 (2000) ............... 17
United States v. Pink, 315 U.S. 203 (1942) ....... 15, 20
Verlinden B.V. v. Central Bank of Nigeria, 461 U.S.

GE ( Da vcvscuvnservscnissniessionneteieliamnnnnaae 27
Wildenhus’s Case, 120 U.S. 1 (1887)......c.ccccsssocesceeesessesees 17
Worcester v. Georgia, 31 U.S. (6 Pet.) 515 (1832)... 17
Youngstown Sheet & Tube Co. v. Sawyer, 343 U.S.

OEE © BD viccccestannqntpensnisisnnienmnstiiaiiindeimmnnainnal passim
OTHER
£7, CNSR. Get, Thy 8 Bicvicrsevesrenncsindibeaenee 14
af Ge Be SD en 10
THE FEDERALIST NO. 70 (Alexander Hamilton)................ 29

BD. GR. BRD BEA. « nsincuvsssnvessiesncssnsesncentensebsinaneseaaaanee l

INTEREST OF AMICI CURIAE

Amicus the Honorable Edwin Meese III served as the
75th Attorney General of the United States and is now the
Ronald Reagan Distinguished Fellow in Public Policy and
Chairman of the Center for Legal and Judicial Studies at
the Heritage Foundation. Amicus the Honorable Dick
Thornburgh served as the 76th Attorney General of the
United States and as Under-Secretary-General of the
United Nations. He had previously served two terms as
Governor of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania and
currently serves as counsel to Kirkpatrick & Lockhart
Preston Gates Ellis LLP. Amicus the Honorable Charles
Fried is former Solicitor General of the United States and
former Associate Justice of the Supreme Judicial Court of
the Commonwealth of Massachusetts. He is now Benefi-
cial Professor of Law at Harvard Law School. Amicus the
Honorable Timothy Flanigan is former Assistant Attorney
General for the Office of Legal Counsel and former Deputy
White House Counsel. Amicus the Honorable Douglas W.
Kmiec is former Assistant Attorney General for the Office
Legal Counsel and former Dean, The Catholic Univer-

y of America School of Law. He is now Chair and Profes-
sor of Constitutional Law at Pepperdine University. Amicus
the Honorable Charles J. Cooper is former Assistant
Attorney General for the Office of Legal Counsel and is
also counsel of record fur umici here’ Although amici are
strong advocates for a robust vision of presidential power
in foreign affairs, amici do not believe that the positions
taken in this case by Petitioner and amicus United States

Counsel for aenict authored this bnef No person other than counsel
or amict made a monetary contnbution w its preparation or submission
S Ct Rule 37 6 Al! partes have consented to the filing of this brief

cme aE
SLE SS DS a ESS. Sen SASS OS
2

can be reconciled with the separation of powers and the
principles of federalism embodied in the Constitution.

INTRODUCTION AND SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

This case is controlled by Sanchez-Llamas v. Oregon,
126 S. Ct. 2669 (2006), and Breard v. Greene, 523 U.S. 371
(1998) (per curtam), in which the Court held that claims to
consular access under Article 36 of the Vienna Convention
are subject to the same procedural default rules applicable to
other federal] statutory and constitutional rights guaranteed
to a criminal defendant. Petitioner Medellin asserts nghts of
consular access under Article 36 as interpreted by the
International Court of Justice (“ICJ”) in Avena and Other
Mexican Nationals (Mex. v. U.S.), 2004 LC.J. 1 (Mar. 31) -
the very decision that this Court rejected in Sanchez-Llamas.

Medellin insists that there is no conflict between Avena
and Sanchez-Llamas because he was one of the 51 particular
Mexican nationals whose cases were before the ICJ in Avena.
Medellin thus invokes Avena not as an authoritative precedent
that this Court is bound to follow in applying Article 36, but
rather as res judicata — a final judgment by the ICJ in Medel-
lin'’s own case that, supposedly, binds this Court on a matter of
United States law. With respect to Medellin, we are told, the
{CJ has already determined his nights under Article 36, and in
that respect this Court is subordinate to the ICJ and not the
“one supreme Court” described in Article II] of the Constitution.

The Solicitor General argues that the ICJ’s Avena
decision misreads Article 36, but nonetheless asserts that
the President, under his Article II foreign-relations power
and the relevant treaties, has authority to preempt state
law and to order the Texas Court of Criminal Appeals to
ignore this Court's construction of Article 36 in Breard and
Sanchez-Llamas, and instead to give effect to the Avena

decision that this Court repudiated. Application of the
analytical framework set forth in Youngstown Sheet &
Tube Co. v. Sawyer, 343 U.S. 579 (1952) (“The Stee! Seizure
Case”), makes clear that the President has no such author-
itv, for the President's power is at low ebb when he acts in
conflict with a congressionally enacted law. Here, the
Article | branch, in the form of the Senate, has ratified a
treaty and thereby enacted the supreme law of the land for
the President to enforce: the Vienna Convention and its
requirement that consular rights be implemented “in
conformity with” the law of the forum state. And this
Court, the head of the Article III branch, has given that
law an authoritative construction contrary to the Presi-
dent's reading. Thus, the President here acts in contraven-
tion of the very treaty he invokes.

The Solicitor General’s contention that the President
may preempt Texas laws of criminal procedure by exercise
of the foreign-affairs power inherent in Article II is like-
wise unavailing. Whatever the extent of that power, it does
not extend to overriding this Court’s interpretation of a
treaty, nor to unilateral presidential preemption of state
law,

The Solicitor General also invokes the President’s
power to resolve international reparations claims involv-
ing foreign sovereigns. See American Ins. Ass'n v. Gara-
mendi, 539 U.S. 396 (20U3); Dunics & Moore v. Regan, 453
U.S. 654 (1981). But there is nothing remotely like that
here. This 1s not a case of an individual claimant in Texas
reaching overseas in an attempt to apply Texas law to a

foreign government or foreign corporation for alleged torts
that occurred in a foreign land. This case involves a Texas
criminal court applving Texas criminal procedures to
Texas judicial proceedings governing a Texas prosecution

csceeeeeeeeremeeenteeeeteeeseeeeeee ep
AS a a SES SS TST SD
4

of a foreign national who committed heinous criminal acts
in Texas against Texas residents. Thus, here Texas acts
within the irreducible core of State sovereignty: the
criminal law. Nothing in this Court’s precedents cedes to
the President power to displace state law — especially not
state laws that are expressly preserved by a treaty ratified
by the United States Senate, in which each sovereign
State is assured equal and perpetual representation.

The Solicitor General’s remaining arguments amount
to little more than an appeal to “efficiency” of the sort that
this Court has consistently rejected. Neither federalism
nor the separation of powers was instituted with the idea
that it would promote governmental efficiency. Those
principles are instead bulwarks against tyranny.

ARGUMENT

1. PETITIONER CANNOT ESCAPE THE CON.-
TROLLING AUTHORITY OF SANCHEZ-LLAMAS.

Petitioner Medellin asserts rights of consular access
under Article 36 of the Vienna Convention, contending
that when the United States ratified the Convention’s
Optional Protocol, it agreed to submit disputes arising out
of the Convention to the ICJ, and that when it ratified the
United Nations Charter (“U.N. Charter”), the United
States agreed to comply with any ICJ decision to which it
was a party. Pet. Br. 19-20. In Avena, the ICJ interpreted
Article 36 to preempt state rules of criminal procedure
under which criminal defendants such as Medellin forfeit
rights if they fail to assert them during trial and appeal.

lhe brief for Petitioner Medellin will be cited as “Pet. Br” The
prief of amicus curtae United States wi!! be cited “U.S. Br”

Pet. Br. 8-9. Mexico brought the Avena action to obtain
enforcement of Article 36 with respect to 51 Mexican
nationals who had been sentenced to death by state courts,
including Medellin himself, who confessed to raping and
then murdering two teenage girls in Texas. Petitioner
contends that the Texas court below, and this Court, too,
are bound by Avena because the treaties listed above are
the supreme federal law of the land under the Supremacy
Clause of Article VI of the Constitution. Pet. Br. 21, 23-28.

Petitioner's argument runs headlong into Sanchez-
Llamas v. Oregon, 126 S. Ct. 2669 (2006), where this Court
expressly repudiated Avena’s interpretation of those treaty
requirements. The Court ruled that the question whether
Article 36 requires preemption of state procedural default
rules “is controlled by our decision in Breard v. Greene,
523 U.S. 371 (1998) (per curiam).” 126 S. Ct. at 2682. The
background rule of international law —- which neither
Petitioner nor the United States disputes — is that, “‘ab-
sent a clear and express statement to the contrary, the
procedural rules of the forum State govern the implemen-
tation of the treaty in that State.’” Jd. at 2682-83 (quoting
Breard, 523 U.S. at 375). Neither Petitioner nor the
United States has identified any such express statement
in any of the treaties here. Indeed, Article 36 expressly
provides precisely the opposite: the rights it confers “‘shall
be exercised in contormity with the laws and regulations of
the receiving State.” Sanchez-Liamas, 126 S. Ct. at 2685
‘quoting the treaty). Thus, by the explicit terms of the
treaty that Petitioner invokes, state procedural default
rules continue to govern. See id. at 2680, 2685; Breard,
523 U.S. at 375.

Medellin recognizes that Sanchez-Llamas, decided

fust a vear ago, is a profound embarrassment for his

-

act ee rp
ls lS
6

argument. Pet. Br. 21-22. Petitioner therefore contends
that this Court’s rejection of Avena’s reading of the treaties
is irrelevant because, “|u|nlike the petitioners in Sanchez-
Liamas, Medellin is a national of Mexico whose case was
specifically adjudicated in Avena, and the United States is
indisputably bound ‘in respect of [his] particular case.’”
Pet. Br. 22. Thus, according to Petitioner, the “issue is not
the effect of the ICJ’s interpretation as a precedent, but the
effect of the ICJ’s decision as a judgment.” Id. (original
emphasis). Despite the fact that this Court rejected Avena
in Sanchez-Llamas, Avena supposedly governs Medellin’s
case because Avena is “a valid final judgment that is
binding on the United States by treaty.” Jd. Petitioner
contends, therefore, that his treaty rights have been
authoritatively adjudicated by the ICJ, that they are res
judicata, and that the final judgment of the ICJ is not
subject to question in this Court. Jd. Even though this
Court rejected Avena’s reasoning and conclusion, it must
nevertheless enforce the Avena judgment in favor of
Medellin, because the ICJ’s decision on this question of
United States federal law is binding on this Court.
Petitioner’s argument works only if the ICJ is a
tribunal superior to this Court on matters of federal law,
and we know that is not so. As Justice Jackson memorably
remarked in an earlier habeas corpus case, “|t)here is no
doubt that if there were a super-Supreme Court, a sub-
stantial portion of our reversals of state courts would also
be reversed. We are not final because we are infallible, but
we are infallible only because we are final.” Brown v.
i (en, 344 U.S. 443, 540 (1953) (Jackson, J., concurring).
aly a “super-Supreme Court” could reverse this Court’s
authoritative construction of Article 36 in Sanchez-Liamas
and Breard, and neither the ICJ nor any other tribunal
qualifies for that role. In fact, the Court appears to have

7

anticipated ‘and dismissed) Medellin’s argument in
Sanchez-Llamas:
Under our Constitution, “the judicial Power of
the United States” is “vested in one supreme
Court”... Art. II], § 1. That “judicial Power...
extends to... Treaties.” ... If treaties are to be
given effect as federal law under our legal sys-
tem, determining their meaning as a matter of
federal law “is emphatically the province and
duty of the judicial department,” headed by the
“one supreme Court” established by the Consti-
tution.
126 S. Ct. at 2684 (quoting Marbury v. Madison, 5 U.S. (1
Cranch) 137, 177 ‘1803)). “It is against this background
that the United States ratified, and the Senate gave its
advice and consent to, the various agreements that govern
referral of Vienna Convention disputes to the ICJ.” Jd. And
“{njothing in the structure or purpose of the ICJ suggests
that its interpretations were intended to be conclusive on
our courts.” /d.

The Senate and the President cannot, by treaty,
rewrite Article III to subordinate this Court to an interna-
tional tribunal convened by the U.N. See Clinton v. New
York, 524 U.S. 417, 445-46 (1998) (“Congress cannot alter
the procedures set out in Art. 1, § 7 without amending the
Constitution.”). But the Court need not address this
constitutional issue because it is clear that the treaties
Petitioner invokes did not intend to subordinate this Court
to the ICJ. As this Court observed in Sanchez-Liamas, the
treaties neither envision nor provide judicial remedies for
violation of consular rights. See 126 S. Ct. at 2680. Neither
party here — not Petitioner nor the State of Texas — was a
party in Avena. Indeed, the ICJ only “arbitrate|s| particular
disputes between national governments,” and enforcement

is exclusively by diplomatic means such as “referral to
the Security Counsel.” Jd. at 2684-85. Thus the treaty
contemplates exclusively and “quintessentially interna-
tional remedies.” Jd. at 2685 (original emphasis).

Petitioner asks this Court to order the Court of
Criminal Appeals of Texas “to honor the undisputed
international obligation of the United States, under
treaties duly ratified by the President with the advice and
consent of the Senate, to give effect to the Avena judgment
in the cases that the judgment addressed.” Pet. Br. i. But
this Court has already held that those treaties impose no
such obligation: “procedural rules of domestic law gener-
ally govern the implementation of an international treaty,”
and “Article 36 makes ciear that the rights it provides
‘shall be exercised in conformity with the laws’” of the
forum State. Sanchez-Liamas, 126 S. Ct. at 2685 (empha-
sis added). “|T|his means that the [Texas] rule of proce-
dural default —- which applies even to claimed violations of
our Constitution — applies also to the Vienna Convention
claims.” /d.

Although the ICJ’s “decisions” have “‘no binding force
except between the parties and in respect of that particu-
lar case,” id. at 2684 ‘quoting the treaty; emphasis
deleted), the same is not true of this Court’s decisions. In
Sanchez-Llamas, the Court did not announce a rule for
that case alone.

Il. THE PRESIDENT’S ASSERTION OF POWER
TO PREEMPT STATE PROCEDURAL LAW IN
DEFIANCE OF THE EXPRESS TERMS OF
THE VIENNA CONVENTION VIOLATES THE
SEPARATION OF POWERS.

The argument of amicus curiae United States likewise
seeks to evade Sanchez-Llamas by focusing just on the

9

“cases filed by the 51 Mexican nationals addressed in that
decision.” U.S. Br. 3. The Solicitor General agrees that
Avena misinterpreted the obligations of the United States
under the treaty (id. at 27-29), but states that the Presi-
dent has nevertheless chosen, for diplomatic reasons, to
comply with Avena “by having State courts give effect to
the decision in accordance with general principles of
comity.” Jd. at 3. The President’s order directing State
courts to ignore controlling decisions of this Court is an
exercise, according to the Solicitor General, of the Presi-
dent’s foreign-affairs power to decide how the nation will
comply with treaty obligations. U.S. Br. 8-9, 10-11. The
Solicitor General offers several different theories for the
President’s supposed judicial authority, but none of them

has merit.

A. The President Has No Treaty-Based
Power To Countermand freaty Interpre-
tations By This Court And To Preempt
State Law.

The Solicitor General first asserts presidential power
lo preempt state law pursuant to treaty, and observes that,
although this Court “hes not specifically addressed how to
assess presidential action under the authority of a treaty
... it seems clear that when the President acts pursuant
to a duly ratified treaty ... his authority is at its zemith.”
U.S. Br. 10 ‘citing Youngstown Sheet & Tube v. Sawyer,
343 U.S. 579, 637 (1952) (Jackson, J., concurring). It 1s
equally clear that presidential power is at its nadir
“Iwlhen the President takes measures incompatible with
the expressed or implied will of Congress.” The Steel
Seizure Case, 343 U.S. at 637 (Jackson, J., concurring). As

Justice Black wrote for the Court in that seminal case,

10

“It}he President's power, if any, to issue the order must
stem either from an act of Congress or from the Constitu-
tion itself.” Jd. at 585. Here, as in Steel Seizure, “[t]here is
no statute that expressly authorizes the President” to
overrule treaty interpretations by this Court and to
preempt state law, “[njor is there any act of Congress ...
from which such a power can fairly be implied.” Jd. Those
statements are equally true if applied to treaties rather

J

than statutes.

The Solicitor General cites two sources of the Presi-
dent’s supposed power to preempt state law and compel
state courts to ignore controlling authority of this Court:
(1) the Vienna Convention’s Optional Protocol, in which
the United States agreed to submit disputes over the
interpretation of Article 36 to the ICJ, and (2) the U.N.
Charter, in which the United States agreed to comply with
decisions of the ICJ. U.S. Br. 8. But those provisions
describe, at most, the procedural apparatus for diplomatic
enforcement of obligations under the Vienna Convention.
They do not impose any substantive treaty obligation, let
alone any treaty obligation that purports to preempt state
law or to deputize the President as a super-Supreme
Court.’

It is quite telling that the Solicitor ‘;eneral fails to
address those portions of the Vienna Convention that do
impose substantive obligations on the United States. The

It goes without saying that a treaty properly ratified by the
Senate hus the same status as an Act of Congress under Article VI of
the Censtituuion

* As Sanchez-Llamas held. these treaty provisions do not make ICJ
decisions “conclusive on our courts” 126 S Ct at 2684. Rather, the
treaties “contemplate|] quintessentially internarional remedies,” such
as referral to the U.N. Secunty Council. Jd. at 2685 ‘original emphasis)

1]

Court held in Sanchez-Llamas that the Vienna Convention
does not set aside the procedural rules that govern imple-
mentation of the treaty in the forum state, absent an
explicit statement to the contrary. 126 S. Ct. at 2682-83.
Instead, the Convention expressly requires that Article 36
rights be enforced only “‘in conformity with the laws’” of
the receiving state. Jd. at 2680. Indeed, the Court stressed
this point repeatedly. See id. at 2678, 2685, 2686. The
Court therefore held that the Vienna Convention does not
preempt state procedural default rules, id. at 2687, and
accordingly provides no basis for the Court to direct
preemption and thereby expand United States obligations
under the treaty, id. at 2679, 2687.

But the Solicitor General defends presidential power
to preempt state procedural default rujes in compliance
with Avena, despite this Court’s decisions rejecting Avena
and holding that the Vienna Convention forbids displace-
ment of state procedural rules. U.S. Br. 8-9. The President
may be free, as a matter of international] diplomacy, to
defer to the ICJ’s misreading of Article 36. But the Presi-
dent’s supposed power pursuant to the Vienna Convention
to preempt state law is limited by the actual terms that
the Senate ratified: the “United States ratified the Con-
vention with the expectation that it would be interpreted
according to its terms.” Sanchez-Llamas,-126 S.Ct. at
2679. And the terms that the United States ratified

As the Solicitor General himself argued when Medellin was
before this Court the first ume, the Vienna Convention was ratified on
the express understanding that it did not “change or affect present U.S
laws or practice” Brief Amicus Curiae of the United States in No 04-
S428. Medellin v Dretke, at 21-22 (“The Senate Foreign Relations
Committee cted as a factor in its endorsement of the treaty that
“tthe Convention dues not change or affect present U.S laws or
practice’ ”- quoung S. Exee Rep Ne 9, 9}st Cong at 211969")

12

expressly mandate enforcement of Article 36 “:n confor-
mity with” state procedural rules. Jd. at 2685 (emphasis

added).

Therefore, there is no authority for the President to
preempt state law under the Vienna Convention because
displacement of state law is “not only unauthorized by any
itreaty!” — it is in fact proscribed by treaty. Steel Seizure,
343 U.S. at 586. See also id. at 602 (Frankfurter, J.,
concurring) (“It cannot be contended that the President
would have had power to issue this order had Congress
explicitly negated such authority in formal legislation.
Congress has expressed its will to withhold this power
from the President as though it had said so in so many
words.”); id. at 635-36 n.2 (Jackson, J., concurring) (This
Court has “intimated that the President might act in
external affairs without congressional authority, but not
that he might act contrary to an Act of Congress.”).

Although the Solicitor General relies on Steel Seizure,
that case is his undoing, for the Vienna Convention, as
authoritatively construed in Sanchez-Llamas and Breard,
limits the means and manner by which the President may
implement United States obligations under that treaty. As
Justice Frankfurther explained in Stee! Seizure, “lilt 1s
quite impossible ... when Congress did specifically ad-
dress itself to a problem, ... to find secreted in the inter-
stices of legislation the very grant of power which
Congress consciously withheld.” 343 U.S. at 609 (concur-

ring opinion).

13

B. The President Has No Inherent Foreign-
Relations Power To Override This Court’s
Interpretations Of Treaties Nor To Pre-
empt State Law.

All parties and amici agree on this:
When the President takes measures incompati-
ble with the express or implied will of Congress,
his power ts at its lowest ebb, for then he can rely
only upon his own constitutional powers minus
any constitutional powers of Congress over the
matter. Courts can sustain exclusive presidential
control in such a case only by disabling the Con-
gress from acting upon the subject. Presidential
claim to a power at once so conclusive and pre-
clusive must be scrutinized with caution, for
what is at stake is the equilibrium established by
our constitutional system.

Steel Seizure, 343 U.S. at 637-38 (Jackson, J., concurring).
See Pet. Br. 35; U.S. Br. 9-10. Here, as in Steel Seizure, “it
is not claimed that express constitutional language grants”
the President power to reverse this Court’s judicial con-
struction of a treaty and to preempt state law; “'t|he
contention is that presidential power should be implied
from the aggregate of his powers under the Constitution.”
343 U.S. at 587. To sustain this claim, the Court would
have to hold that power to preempt state law is - as
Justice Jacksuni put it - “within |the President's] domain
and beyond control by Congress.” /d. at 640 (concurring
opinion).

As explained above. however, the Limit on presidential
power to preempt state procedural rules is imposed by the
express terms of the Vienna Convention - the Senate
ratified a treaty that mandates implementation of Article
36 “in conformity with” state law. To hold that the Senate

14

cannot limit its consent to a treaty by ratifying its express
terms, and that the President is free to ignore the treaty
terms ratified by the Senate because foreign relations is
“within his domain and beyond control by Congress,” id., is
to displace the Senate’s explicit constitutional authority to
give or withhold consent to a treaty. See Art. II, § 2.

Indeed, the President’s power in this case is at a far
lower ebb than in Stee! Seizure. Here, as there, the Article
] branch ‘the Senate) has spoken in a treaty to the issue
before the Court (here, the limits of federal preemption of
forum state procedural law). But unlike Steel Seizure, here
the Article III branch has already definitively interpreted
that treaty with respect to that precise issue of compliance
with state rules of procedural default. See Breard; San-
chez-Llamas. There is no presidential power to preempt
state law in defiance of the terms of a treaty as authorita-
tively interpreted by this Court. Such a power cannot
possibly be “inherent” in Article Il, because any such
reading of Article II is precluded by the express terms of
Article II], which vests “the judicial Power of the United
States ... in one supreme Court.” “If treaties are to be
given effect as federal law under our legal system, deter-
mining their meaning as a matter of federal law ‘is em-
phatically the province and duty of the judicial
department,’ headed by the ‘one supreme Court.’” San-
chez-Llamas, 1268S. Ct. at 2684.

C. The President Has No “Independent Au-
thority” To Preempt State Law In The
Course Of Resolving Disputes With For-
eign Nations.

The Solicitor General argues that the President has
“long established authority to resolve disputes with foreign

15

nations ... involving international! claims.” U.S. Br. 12-15.
See also Pet. Br. 35-37 (making a similar argument). But
all of the authorities adduced for this proposition involved
international reparations claims against foreign sover-
eigns or other foreign entities. See American Ins. Ass'n v.
Garamendi, 539 U.S. 396, 405 (2003); Dames & Moore v.
Regan, 453 U.S. 654, 679 (1981); United States v. Pink,
315 U.S. 203, 227 (1942); United States v. Belmont, 301
U.S. 324, 326 (1937). There is nothing remotely like that
here. This is not a case of an individua! claimant in Texas
reaching overseas and trying to apply Texas law to a
foreign government or foreign corporation for alleged torts
that took place overseas. This case involves a Texas
criminal court applying Texas criminal procedures to
Texas judicial proceedings governing a Texas prosecution
of a foreign national who committed heinous criminal acts
in Texas against Texas residents.

The Solicitor General's own principal authority,
American Ins. Ass'n v. Garamendi, see U.S. Br. 13-15, 23,
25, distinguishes his cases and defeats his argument. The
Court there identified the strength of the state’s interest
as a crucial factor in analyzing whether the President
could preempt the state’s law. See 539 U.S. at 419-20.
Garamendi involved a Califorma insurance-company
disclosure statute. The Court acknowledged the impor-
tance of the state’s general interest in “consumer protec-
tion.” but the disclosure law was not “a_ geterally

applicable” consumer-protection law, but was instead a
law that “singleld) out only policies issued by European
insurance companies, in Europe, to European residents, at
least 55 vears ago.” Jd. at 425-26. The challenged law
ordered the disclosure by the European companies of
infurmation about the policies they had issued to Euro-
pean policyholders who died in the Holocaust. Jd. In that

16

historical, overseas scenario, the Court found California's
highly attenuated regulatory interest to be quite “weak.”
Id. at 425.

In contrast, the Texas procedural default rule at issue
here applies to all criminal defendants in Texas, not just
foreign nationals, and governs all] assertions of rights by
defendants - not just consular rights, but also state and
federal constituticnal rights. And the Texas rule 1s being
applied not to events that happened on the other side of
the world half a century ago, but to a Texas cmminal
prosecution involving brutal crimes of violence - gang rape
and murder — recently committed in Texas against Texas
residents - a pair of teenage girls. With all of these dis-
tinctions, it is hard to imagine how this case could be less
like the Solicitor General’s cases involving international
claims reparations.

In Garamendi, this Court ruled that a state's interest
in applving forum law to foreign litigants and foreign
events is to be considered under “general standards for
evaluating a State’s claim to apply its forum law to a
particular controversy or transaction.” 539 U.S. at 426.
What could possibly be more appropriate and more famil-
iar than for a state to apply its own criminal laws to
crimes committed within its borders by its own residents
against its own citizens? It is beyond cavil that the
“States possess primary authority for defining and enforc-
ing the criminal law.” Brecht v. Abrahamson, 507 US.
619, 635 1993) ‘citation omitted). With respect to the

The Garamendi Court indicated that “|wjhere a State has
acted within its ‘traditional competence,’ but in a way that affects
foreign relations, it might make good sense to require a conflict of a
clarity or substantiahty that would vary with the strength for the
traditional importance of the state concern asserted." /d. at419n ll

17

federal-state balance struck by the Constitution, there is
“no better example of the police power, which the Founders
denied the National Government and reposed in the
States, than the suppression of violent crime and vindica-
tion of its victims.” United States v. Morrison, 529 US.
598, 618 (2000). See Bartkus v. Illinois, 359 U.S. 121, 137
(1959) (denouncing an invasion of State criminal authority
that “would be a shocking and untoward deprivation of the
historic right and obligation of the States to maintain
peace and order within their confines”).

Unsurprisingly, neither Petitioner nor amicus United
States has identified any history of presidential orders, or
congressional acquiescence therein, invoking the foreign-
relations power to preempt application of state procedural
law by state criminal courts to crimes committed within
that state against the state’s people. Petitioner offers two
cases that, he says, define a “long and uninterrupted line
of cases” in which this Court has applied treaties, “even if
those treaties conflict with state law in areas of traditional
state concern.” Pet. Br. 28. But Petitioner's authorities are
irrelevant to this case, where the President purports to
preempt state law not pursuant to a treaty, but despite this
Court's ruling that the relevant treaty expressly preserves,
rather than displaces, state law. See Breard; Sanchez-

Liamas.

Petitioner cites Worcester v. Georg:a, 31 U.S. 16 Pet. 515 (18382),
and Wildenhus’s Case. 120 U.S. 1/1887). But Worcester struck down an
application of Georgia criminal law not because it was in conflict with a
presidential order. but because it was “repugnant to the Constitution,
iaws and treaties of the United States.” $1 U.S. at 561. That is not this
case Petitioner's reliance on Wi/denhus is even more baffling the Court
refused a writ of habeas corpus sought by the Belman consul because
the murder that Wildenhus was accused of took place in a New Jersey
port and threatened pubhe order. and was therefore. the Court held

Continued on following page

15

This case is further distinguishable from Garamendi
and its predecessors in other respects. In Garamendi, the
federal government made an extensive showing of the
disruption of United States foreign policy that would
ensue if California's law, specially enacted to apply to a
single class of foreign companies and foreign insurance
policies, were applied to regulate overseas transactions by
overseas parties 55 vears ago. Neither the Solicitor Gen-
eral nor the Petitioner makes any such demonstration
here, nor could they. At issue is a general law of criminal
procedure applied to all habeas corpus petitions in the
Texas courts. There are no extraterritorial] parties; there is
no extraterritorial operation of Texas law. Moreover, this
Court has already held that the application of such proce-
dural default rules by state courts is no disrespect to the
Vienna Convention, because the relief that Petitioner and
the Solicitor General demand - suspension of Texas’
procedural default rule — would be “extraordinary” relief
“that is accorded to almost no other right, including many
of our most fundamental constitutional protections.”
Sanchez-Liamas, 126 S. Ct. at 2687-88. Therefore, “|iJt is
no slight to the Convention to deny petitioners’ claims
under the same principles we would apply to an Act of
Congress. or to the Constitution itself.” Jd. at 2688.

properly within local jurisdiction pursuant to the treaty in question
120 U.S. at 17-15

Petitioner also cites several cases that he characterizes as involving
federal “treaties” that preempt state business regulation, property law,
or tort law See Pet Br 28 & 14 Insofar as they affirm preempton of
tocal law by a treats, the cases have no bearing on this case, where the
President's assertion of power to preempt state law contrarenes the
treaty in auesuon. Furthermore, like Garamend:. these cases distin-
suish themselves from the vital state interest in its own crmuinal law

that is etuissue here

19

Indeed, it is hard to imagine how the action of the
Texas court below could possibly give any discernible
further affront to the Vienna Convention and the ICd,
given that: (1) this Court has already rejected the ICJ’s
construction of the treaty, (2) the President himself has
denounced the Avena decision as incorrect, (3) the Presi-
dent has repudiated Avena as non-binding on United
States courts, and (4) the President has announced that
the United States no longer recognizes the ICJ’s jurisdic-
tion. See id. at 2685.

As the foregoing discussion makes clear, a presidential
order that preempted state law and directed state courts
to disregard decisions of this Court would raise grave
constitutional issues of separation of powers and federal-
ism. However, the Court need not venture down that path,
because it is doubtful that the President in fact issued any
such edict. The Solicitor General does not characterize the
President’s action as an “executive agreement” with
foreign nations or even as a unilateral executive “order.”
The strongest term that the Solicitor General, the Peti-
tioner, or even the President himself can offer is “determi-
nation” (U.S. Br. 3; Pet. Br. 10):

“] have determined ... that the United States

will discharge its international obligations under

the decision of the |ICJ} in |Avena}) by having

State courts give effect to the decision in accor-

dance with general principles of comity in cases

filed by the 51 Mexican nationals addressed in
that decision.”

Pet. Br. 10 ‘quoting the President's statement.

To begin with, this “determination” is a unilateral act,
not a solemn international “executive agreement” of the
sort to which the Court emphasized deference in Gara-
mendi and its ilk. See Garamendi, 539 U.S. at 406 n.2,

20

407, 408 & n.3, 413, 421: Dames & Moore, 453 U.S. at 665,
679, 682-83: Pink, 315 U.S. at 223, 230-31; Belmont, 301
U.S. at 326, 330-31.

Second, this “determination” is merely an internal
memorandum within the executive branch. The difference
between “Executive Branch actions,” “amicus filings,”
“pronouncements,” “letters,” “decisions,” and sundry other
“statements” of executive policy on the one hand, and
“legally binding executive agreements” on the other, is
that the latter, but not the former, are meant to have the
force of law. Barclays Bank v. Franchise Tax Bd., 512 U.S.
at 328-29 & n.30 (1994). Even if the form of a presidential
action is not necessarily dispositive, it is undeniable that
the President's “determination” here does not display any
of the indicia that usually accompany an executive order
that is intended to have the force of law. And before the
Court decides serious constitutional issues raised by an
executive action, it should first ascertain whether the
President's action was truly meant to be law. “Executive
Branch communications that express federal policy but
lack the force of law cannot render unconstitutional |a
State’s| otherwise valid” rule. Barclays, 512 U.S. at 330.

Third, although the President's “determination” does
address Avena, it does not say that Texas procedural
default rules are preempted — nor does it even imply that.
Only the Solicitor General's amicus brief asserts preemp-
tion, and amicus briefs that urge a particular result are
not a sufficient basis for a court to infer an executive order
that is meant to bind. /d. at 329-30. The President's
“determination” itself speaks only of “having State courts
give effect to the decision in accordance with general
principles of comity” — and “comity” is the hedge. Pet. Br.
10 ‘emphasis added).

Comity is “the courtesy of nations.” Societe Nationale
Industrielle Aerospatiale v. United States Dist. Court, 482
U.S, 522, 543 n.27 (1987) (citations omitted). It is a policy
of courtesy and cooperation, rather than “a matter of
absolute obligation.” Hilton v. Guyot, 159 U.S. 113, 163-64
'1895). The application of foreign law as a matter of

“se

“*comity is, and ever must be, uncertain,” and “‘no nation
will suffer the laws of another to interfere with her own.’”
Id. at 164 (quoting JusTICeE Story, Story’s CONFLICT OF
LAWS § 28) (internal citation omitted). Therefore, the
President’s explicit qualification of the state courts’ con-
sideration of Avena as deriving from “general principles of
comity” means that those courts remain free to reject
Avena if it prejudices the state’s interests or conflicts and
interferes with their own rules — which is precisely what
the court below did. The President's invocation of the “ever
. uncertain” rule of international comity as the basis for
applying Avena renders the President’s determination
“merely precatory.” Barclays Bank, 512 U.S. at 330.
Futhermore, the President’s “comity” hedge should be
considered in hght of his simultaneous decisions: (1) to
reject the Avena decision as incorrect, (2) to repudiate
Avena as non-binding on U.S. courts, and (3) to disavow
the jurisdiction of the ICJ. See Sanchez-Lilamas, 126 §. Ct.

* See also Hilton v. Guyot, i155 U.S. at 165 «*'[I]n the conflict of
laws 1t must often be a matter of doubt which should prevail: and Uiat,
whenever a doubt does exist, the court, which decides, wili prefer the
luws of its own country to that of the stranger’”), id. at 165 ("‘It is the
voluntary act of the nation by which it is offered. and is inadmissible
when contrary to its policy. or prejudicial to its interests. ") ‘citation
omitted), id. at 166 ‘" ‘There is no obligation ... to regard foreign laws
but their application is admitted, oniv from considerations of utility and
the mutual convenience of States — ex comitate, ob reciprocam utill-
tatem.") «quoting WHEATON’S INTERNATIONAL LAW (8th ed. § 79)

i)
bo

at 2685 ‘“|I|t is doubtful that our courts should give
decisive weight to the interpretation of a tribunal whose
jurisdiction in this area is no longer recognized by the
United States.”). Similarly, the President’s “determination”
in 2005 to have state courts apply Avena in accord with
comity must be understood in light of this Court's control-
ling decision in Breard in 1998 that Article 36 does not
displace state-court rules of procedural default. See San-
chez Llamas, 126 S. Ct. at 2682-83. Thus, the President
instructed state courts to consider (under the discretionary
and non-binding policy of comity) a decision (that the
President has denounced) of a foreign tribunal (that the
United States no longer recognizes) enforcing a treaty on
consular rights that had already been authoritatively
interpreted by this Court to conflict with, and to have no
impact on, state-court rules of procedural default. Charac-
terizing the President's Avena “determination” as merely
precatory almost seems to overstate its significance.

D. The Solicitor General’s Remaining Argu-
ments Are Unpersuasive.

Amicus United States offers a grab-bag of additional
arguments to “inform” the Court’s understanding of the
President's preeminent role in foreign affairs. U.S. Br. 11-
12, 16-21. The Solicitor General stops short of contending
that these bases in themselves actually authorize the
President to preempt state law and to order state courts to
defy the decisions of this Court. This is prudent, because
the only illumination that these arguments really cast on
this case reveals just how unprecedented and illegitimate

the President's action truly is.

1. The President’s assumption of respon-
sibility for responding to ICJ decisions
proves nothing.

The Solicitor General contends that, historically, the
President has determined how the United States responds
to decisions of the ICJ. The only authority offered is a cf.
citation to a sentence fragment from Dames & Moore that
supposedly finds relevance in “a ‘history of congressional
acquiescence’ in presidential authority.” U.S. Br. 19 (quot-
ing Dames & Moore, 453 U.S. at 678). What the Court
actually said, in the rest of the sentence that the Solicitor
General omits, is that “[a}t least this is so [1] where there
is no contrary indicatien of legislative intent and [2] when,
as here, there is a history of congressional acquiescence in
conduct of the sort engaged in by the President.” 453 U.S.
at 678 (emphasis added).

Taking the second caveat first, the “conduct” in which
the President has engaged here is preempting a Texas
procedural-default rule and ordering the Texas courts to
ignore a controlling decision by this Court. The Solicitor
General proffers not even one prior historical example of
that, let alone a “history” of congressional acquiescence in
such presidential usurpations of both legislative and
judicial power. Thus Dames & Moore subverts, rather than
supports. the Solicitor General.

The other caveat is that a histury of like executive
actions is relevant “where there is no contrary indication
of legislative intent.” 453 U.S. at 678. That distinguishes
this case as well, for the Legislative Branch ‘the Senate)
clearly indicated, in the language of the Vienna Conven-
tion itself, that the consular rights of Article 36 were to be
implemented “in conformity” with local law, including local
procedural laws. Sanchez-Liamas, 126 S. Ct. at 2685. Thus

24

Dames & Moore, the Solicitor General's sole authority,
defeats his argument.

Furthermore, the four ICJ cases that the Solicitor
General cites as defining a history of congressional acqui-
escence in presidential responses to the ICJ are entirely
beside the point. See U.S. Br. 19-20. In none of those cases
did the President take any action that raised any question
that he was exceeding his lawful authority, whether by
preempting state law or otherwise. Indeed, none of the
cases even involved any domestic orders by the President
at all.”

The LaGrand Case (F-R.G. v. U.S.), 2001 1.C.J. 466
(June 27), is the most revealing of the Solicitor General’s
examples, because it involved Article 36. The ICJ ruled
that the United States had violated the treaty and must
allow reconsideration for defendants denied their consular
rights. The President, as here, determined that the 1CJ’s
judgment was not binding but then, rather than trying to
preempt state law, the President merely sent state gover-
nors, parole boards and clemency boards precatory letters
“encouraging them” to consider the lack of consular notifi-
cation. U.S. Br. 20-21. Thus the case presented no issue of
presidential intrusion on state (or federal judicial) author-
ity because the President did not attempt to intervene in
state “avenues for judicial review” nor presume to preempt
the “domestic law” governing such proceedings. U.S. Br.
20. Would that the President had taken the same course
here.

In the Nicaraguan case. the President ignored the [Cd's decision
and took no domestic action whatever See U.S. Br. 20 In the case
involving Maine. the ICJ resolved a boundary dispute in international
waters and the President's sole response was to tunker with interna-

tional maps. /d

25

Congressional “acquiescence” in executive responses
to ICJ decisions that were devoid of domestic impact
proves, at most, that Congress is not troubled when the
President does not do anything. Contrary to the Solicitor
General's suggestion, this sort of “acquiescence” does not
amount to a congressional license for the President to
ignore a decision of this Court or to preempt state law -
especially not in the face of a Senate-ratified treaty speci-
fving that state law is not to be displaced.”

2. The President’s possession of other re-
-ponsibilities “related” to the author-
ity he claims here proves nothing.

The Solicitor General finds it “lo]f particular impor-
tance” that Congress has authorized the President to
direct functions connected with United States participa-
tion in the UN and the ICJ (U.S. Br. 16), and has given the
President broad authority to obtain the release of citizens
detained abroad. U.S. Br. 17; see aiso Pet. Br. 39-41. The
only case authority offered is, again, another cf. citation to
the same page of the Dames & Moore opinion: “the enact-
ment of legislation closely related to the question of the
President's authority in a particular case which evinces
legislative intent to accord the President broad discretion

The Solicitor General does not even bother to discuss his fourth
ICJ cause or the President’s reaction to it. US. Br. 19 2.4. The Pres-
dent's actions there apparently raised no issue of the Execuuve
exceeding his authority with respect to the Judiciary or the States
because the dispute befure the ICJ involved U.S. consular jurisdicuon
in Morocco and the immunity of U.S. nationals from Moroccan laws and
taxes. See Case Concerning Rights of Nationals of the United States in
Morocco (Fr ve US.) 1952 1LC.J. 176, 212-13 ‘Aug. 27)

26

may be considered to ‘invite’” presidential action in
related areas. 453 U.S. at 678. See U.S. Br. 16.

Once again, the Solicitor General omits the two
caveats contained in the next sentence. See Part II.D.1.,
supra. First, congressional grants of broad presidential
power in related areas “invite” presidential exercises of
discretion except where, as here, there is a contrary indica-
tion of congressional intent — again, the express language
of the treaty mandating enforcement of Article 36 “in
conformity with” local law. The second condition is like-
wise absent: there is no history of congressional acquies-
cence in presidential orders preempting state procedural
laws or ordering state courts to ignore a controlling deci-
sion by this Court. As before, the Solicitor General is
unable to adduce even a single example for the President's
unprecedented usurpation of judicial and state authority.

Furthermore, nothing in the two statutes cited by the
Solicitor General even vaguely hints that the President is
authorized to order state courts to ignore a controlling
decision of this Court or to preempt state criminal law
whenever the President believes that doing so would
advance United States relations with some foreign coun-
try. Indeed, the Solicitor General concedes that these
statutes do not even “authorize the President to imple-
ment an JCJ decision.” U.S. Br. 17.

3. The President's role in litigation that
implicates foreign policy proves noth-
ing.

The Solicitor General contends that the President has
an “established role in litigation implicating foreign-policy
concerns” and that the President has sometimes “exercised
authority to determine whether an international rule of

law should be applied in domestic courts.” U.S. Br. 17; see
also Pet. Br. 29-30, 33. The leading example offered is the
President's former role in deciding whether a foreign
nation received sovereign immunity in American courts.
U.S. Br. 17. But as the United States concedes, that ended
more than 30 years ago. Jd. Furthermore, that ancien
regime, as the Solicitor General's own authority explains,
involved the courts deferring not to the President, but to
the “decisions of the political branches” — that is, to the
Legislative and Executive Branches together. Verlinden
B.V. v. Central Bank of Nigeria, 461 U.S. 480, 486 (1983)
(emphasis added).

Indeed, the Executive’s former role in offering his
“suggestions” in court about sovereign immunity came to
an end because their “application proved troublesome” and
the President’s decision-making was “often” tainted by
“diplomatic pressure” and plagued by “political considera-
tions.” Jd. at 487. Congress enacted the Foreign Sovereign
Immunities Act (“FSLA”) “to free” the process from the
“diplomatic pressures” to which the Executive was histori-
cally vulnerable, id. at 488, and to which the Executive,
ironically, clearly succumbed in issuing the very “determi-
nation” at issue here. The question of sovereign immunity
is now decided by the Judicial Branch “on purely legal
grounds” in accord with the Legislative Branch’s “compre-
hensive sct of legal standards.” Jd. See also Chuidian v.
Philippine Nat'l Bank, 912 F.2d 1095, 1100 (Sth Cir. 1990)
‘Wallace, J.) (Congress enacted the FSIJA to render Execu-
tive immunity “suggestions” non-binding because Execu-
tive decision-making was not “the rule of law”). “ar from
establishing a history of congressional acquiescence in
unbridled Executive authority in foreign-policy litigation,
the FSLA was enacted 30 vears ago to limit the discretion
of the Executive in this area.

28

The second example offered by the Petitioner and the
Solicitor General is Sanitary District v. United States, 266
U.S. 405, 425-26 (1925), where this Court held that the
President has inherent power to sue a political subdivision
of a State even if no statute expressly confers such stand-
ing. See U.S. Br. 18-19; Pet. Br. 29, 33. Would that the
President had followed the example set in that case. Here
the President did not file a lawsuit asking this Court to
interpret and apply the relevant treaty as the supreme
law of the land. Instead, the President acted unilaterally,
purporting to overrule a controlling decision of this Court
interpreting that treaty (Breard) and to preempt Texas
rules of criminal] procedure on his own say-so.

Consider the reasoning behind the proposition ad-
vanced by Petitioner and the Solicitor General: because
the President has standing to petition this Court for
interpretation and enforcement of a treaty, the President
can instead simply dictate the result he seeks and thereby
preempt state law. They urge this reasoning on the Court
even here, where the treaty, as ratified by the Senate and
construed by this Court, expressly preserves those state
laws and mandates treaty implementation “in conformity
with” those laws. Thus would Petitioner and the President
invade the legitimate provinces of the Article | Legisla-
ture, the Article II] Judiciary, and the sovereign States.
Rarely has the Executive attempted such a bold constitu-
tional trifecta.

4. The President’s qualifications to act in
foreign affairs cannot override feder-
alism or the Constitution's separation
of powers.

Finally, the Solicitor General argues that the Presi-
dent is “uniquely suited,” “best positioned,” and “uniquely

qualified” to “respond expeditiously” to decisions of the
ICJ. U.S. Br. 11-12; see also Pet. Br. 37. These points are
pertinent to a discussion of how to divide government
power in the first instance. See, e.g., THE FEDERALIST NO.
70, at 472 (Alexander Hamilton) (J. Cooke ed. 1961). But
they cannot provide a fulcrum for prying the separation of
powers out of the Constitution's structure, nor for overrid-
ing the rule of law that the Senate actually ratified in the
Vienna Convention, as authoritatively construed by this
Court.

If the Solicitor General's “efficiency” argument sounds
familiar, it is because this Court has heard it, and rejected
it, so often. See, e.g., Bowsher v. Synar, 478 U.S. 714, 736
(1986) (“the fact that a given law or procedure is efficient,
convenient, and useful in facilitating functions of govern-
ment, standing alone, will not save it if it is contrary to the
Constitution.”) (citation omitted); INS v. Chadha, 462 U.S.
919, 944 (1983) (“Convenience and efficiency are not the
primary objectives - or the hallmarks - of democratic
government.... ”); United States v. Brown, 381 U.S. 437,
443 (1965) (“This ‘separation of powers’ was obviously not
instituted with the idea that it would promote governmen-
tal efficiency. It was, on the contrary, looked to as a bul-
wark against tyranny.”). Unsurprisingly, the President
pressed this same “efficiency” argument in The Steel
Secure Case. where it was embraced by the dissent, see
343 U.S. at 690 ‘Vinson, C.J., dissenting), and, naturally.
rejected by the Court. See id. at 613-14 (Frankfurter, J.,
concurring’; td. at 629 (Douglas, J., concurring); id. at 649-
50, 655 (Jackson, J., concurring).

Here, the Article | branch, in the form of the Senate,
has ratified a treaty and thereby enacted the supreme
law of the land for the President to enforce: the Vienna

30

Convention and its requirement that consular mghts
thereunder be implemented “in conformity with” the law of
the forum state. And the Afticle III branch has given that
law an authoritative construction. The Article II branch
has no power either to legislate unilaterally a different
rule that suits its needs, see Clinton v. New York, 524 U.S.
at 445-46, nor to reverse this Court and render an inter-
pretation of the treaty that is more to its liking. See
Marbury v. Madison, 5 U.S. (1 Cranch) 137, 177 (1803);
Sanchez-Llamas, 1268S. Ct. at 2684.

CONCLUSION

For these reasons, the decision below should be
affirmed
Respectfully submitted,

CHARLES J. COOPER

Counsel of Record
BRIAN STUART KOUKOUTCHOS
COOPER & KIRK, PLLC
1523 New Hampshire Avenue, NW
Washington, D.C. 20036
202) 220-9600

Counsel for Amici Curiae

August 2007

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0518%3A17. Public record. Not legal advice.
