# Reply Brief — United States v. Atlantic Research Corp.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0501%3A03

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Reply Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2007
- **Citation:** 551 U.S. 128

## Text

ha A
3 la i o. «0
ra ‘ ‘2
ee .
. >
‘a
tg = A
‘

No. 06-562 . SuPaci*
In the Supreme Court of the Anited States

sac~

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, PETITIONER
v.

ATLANTIC RESEARCH CORPORATIO®.

-

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
| FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

REPLY BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES

PAUL D. CLEMENT
Solicitor General
Counsel of Record
Department of Justice
Washington, D.C. 20530-0001
(202) 514-2217

In the Supreme Court of the Gnited States

No. 06-562
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, PETITIONER
Vv.
ATLANTIC RESEARCH CORPORATION

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

REPLY BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES

1. Respondent concedes that the Court should grant
review in this case to resolve the circuit conflict over the
question whether a potentially responsible party (PRP)
under the Comprehensive Environmental Response,
Compensation, and Liability Act (CERCLA), 42 U.S.C.
9601 et seq., that is not eligible to bring an action for
contribution under Section 113(f) of CERCLA, 42 U.S.C.
9613(f), may nevertheless bring an action against an-
other PRP under Section 107(a), 42 U.S.C. 9607(a). Re-
spondent contends only that, in the event the Court
grants review, it should also consider, as an alternative
ground for affirmance, the argument that respondent
was eligible to bring an action for contribution against
the government under Section 113(f), on the theory that,
even if respondent lacked a cause of action against the
government under Section 107(a), it could pursue a re-
quest for declaratory relief under Section 107(a) (and

(1)

2

thereby trigger the right to bring a claim under Section
113(f)). That argument, however, has been forfeited
because respondent failed properly to preserve it below.
In the district court, respondent expressly dropped its
claim under Section 113(f) in the wake of this Court’s
decision in Cooper Industries, Inc. v. Aviall Services,
Inc., 543 U.S. 157 (2004). See Mot. for Leave to File
Am. Compl. 2 (stating that, “[uJnder [Cooper Indus-
tries}, the Section 113(f)(1) claim may no longer be main-
tained”). Accordingly, the district court held only that
respondent did not have a cause of action under Section
107(a). Pet. App. 2la-28a. In the court of appeals,
moreover, respondent did not advance this argument
until its reply brief, and the court of appeals did not ad-
dress it. See, e.g., Navarijo-Barrios v. Ashcroft, 322
F.3d 561, 564 n.1 (8th Cir. 2003) (stating that “[iJt is well
settled that we do not consider arguments raised for the
first time in a reply brief’). In the event the Court
grants review in this case, therefore, it need not con-
sider respondent’s alternative argument.

In any event, that argument plainly lacks merit. As
the petition demonstrates (Pet. 15-23), Section 107(a)
does not afford a cause of action for one PRP to sue an-
other PRP. If that understanding of the scope of Sec-
_tion 107(a) is correct, it necessarily follows that a PRP
cannot pursue a claim for declaratory relief against an-
other PRP under Section 107(a). As even respondent
concedes (Br. in Opp. 8 n.2), the Declaratory Judgment
Act is purely procedural and remedial in nature, see
Skelly Oil Co. v. Phillips Petroleum Co., 339 U.S. 667,
671 (1950); it cannot supply a substantive cause of action
where none exists. Thus, if PRPs are not within the
class of parties entitled to sue for the relief afforded by
Section 107(a), they cannot by sleight-of-hand overcome

3

that fundamental flaw by seeking declaratory relief un-
der the same provision. See Franchise Tax Bd. v. Con-
struction Laborers Vacation Trust for So. Cal., 463 U.S.
1, 27 (1983).

Even assuming arguendo that one PRP could re-
quest a declaration that another party was a PRP in
some circumstances, therefore, such a request would not
arise under Section 107(a) and thus could not constitute
“(a] civil action under [Section 107(a)]” so as to trigger
the right to bring suit under Section 113(f). Franchise
Tax Bd., 463 U.S. at 27; ef. Cooper Industries, 543 U.S.
at 160-161 (stating question presented as “whether a
private party who has not been sued under § 106 or
§ 107(a) may nevertheless obtain contribution under
§ 113(f)(1) from other liable parties”). A contrary read-
ing of Section 113(f) would effectively render superflu-
ous the statutory requirement that a PRP may bring a
claim for contribution only “during or following” an ac-
tion under Section 106 or Section 107(a), by enabling a
PRP to manufacture a qualifying Section 107(a) action
through the simple expedient of including a request for
declaratory relief. Nothing in CERCLA, or the case law
interpreting it, supports such a peculiar result.

2. This Court has before it three petitions involving
the same principal question: 7.e., whether a potentially
responsible party can pursue an action against another
PRP under Section 107(a). See #.J. du Pont de Ne-
mours & Co. v. United States, petition for cert. pending,
No. 06-726 (filed Nov. 21, 2006) (DuPont); UG/ Utilities,
Inc. v. Consolidated Edison Co. of New York, Inc., peti-
tion for cert. pending, No. 05-1323 (filed Apr. 14, 2006).'

' In all of those cases, the courts of appeals held, as a categorical
matter, that a PRP either could or could not sue another PRP under

4

It now appears that all three petitions will be considered
together at the Court’s January 19 Conference. Accord-
ingly, because this case squarely presents all relevant
aspects of the question that has divided the circuits, the
petition for a writ of certiorari should be granted. The
later-filed petition in DuPont also would be an appropri-
ate vehicle for resolving the question presented, so the
Court may wish to grant certiorari in that case as well.
As explained at greater length in the government’s brief
in UGI, however, the petition in UG/ would constitute a
less suitable vehicle than either this case or DuPont in
which to resolve the circuit conflict. First, in light of the
arguments that have been advanced by the respondent
in UGI (see 05-1323 Resp. Supp. Br. 3-9), that case now
clearly presents additional (and complex) factual and
legal questions concerning the precise parameters of the
cause of action for contribution under another provision
of CERCLA, Section 113(f)(3)(B)—questions that are
not independently worthy of review and over which
there is at present no disagreement among the circuits.

Section 107(a), without drawing any distinction based on whether the
defendant PRP was a private party or the federal government. See
Pet. App. 19a; E./. du Pont de Nemours & Co. v. United States, 460
F.3d 515, 528-529 (3d Cir. 2006); Consolidated Edison Co. of New York,
Inc. v. UGI Utilities, Inc., 423 F.3d 90, 100 (2d Cir. 2005). There is no
basis for the suggestion (05-1323 Pet. Supp. Br. 2-3) that the govern-
ment’s liability as a PRP under Section 107(a) could somehow be
broader than that of private PRPs. To the contrary, CERCLA makes
clear that the government’s waiver of sovereign immunity is limited to
circumstances in which private parties would also be liable under
Section 107(a). See 42 U.S.C. 9620(a)(1) (providing that “felach
department, agency, and instrumentality of the United States * * *
shall be subject to * * * this chapter in the same manner and to the
same extent, both precedurally and substantively, as any nongovern-
mental entity, including liability under [Section 107]").

5

Additionally, VG/ does not present the subsidiary ques-
tion of whether one PRP could bring an action against
another on the theory that Section 107(a) contains an
implied right to contribution.’ The petition in that case
should therefore be held pending the Court’s disposition
of this case, even if the Court decides to grant review
only in this case or in DuPont.

CONCLUSION

The petition for a writ of certiorari should be
granted. In the event that the Court also grants-the
petition in E./. du Pont de Nemours & Co. v. United
States, No. 06-726, the cases should be consolidated for
oral argument.

Respectfully submitted.

PAUL D. CLEMENT
Solicitor General

JANUARY 2007

* In UGI, the court of appeals considered only the question whether
the specific language of Section 107(a)(1)-(4)(B) authorizes one PRP to
sue another (regardless of whether that cause of action would be
characterized as “express” or “implied”). See 423 F.3d at 99. The court
did not consider whether Section 107 more generally contains an
implied right to contribution, in the sense that the court of appeals in
this case contemplated. See Pet. App. 15a-17a. Nor did the respondent
in (/G/ adivanee any such argument in the court of appeals. See 05-1323
U.S. Br. 13.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0501%3A03. Public record. Not legal advice.
