# Respondents Brief — Panetti v. Quarterman

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0369%3A11

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Respondents Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2007
- **Citation:** 551 U.S. 930

## Text

( Yp% a , [Supreme Cour, CS]
r eme nh, vio.
' - FILED

j

No. 06-6407 |
MAP 29 2007
In The _OFFICE OF THE CLERK
Supreme Court of the United States

SCOTT LOUIS PANETTI,
Petitioner.

We

NATHANIEL QUARTERMAN, Director,
Texas Department of Criminal Justice.
Correctional Institutions Division,

Respondent.

—_— *

On Writ Of Certiorari To The
United States Court Of Appeals
For The Fifth Circuit

e

BRIEF FOR RESPONDENT

— .

GREG ABBOTT R. TED CRUZ
Attorney General! of Texas Solicitor General
KENT C. SULLIVAN Counsel of Record

First Assistant RANCE L. CRAFT
Attorney General WILLIAM L. DAvVis

BRANTLEY STARR
Assistant Solicitors General

ERIC JR. NICHOLS
Deputy Attorney General
for Criminal Justice TINA J. DETTMER
Assistant Attorney General

P.O. Box 12548
Austin, Texas 78711
(512) 936-1700

CAPITAL CASE
QUESTIONS PRESENTED

Does the Antiterrorism and Effective Death Penalty
Act of 1996 (AEDPA) require deference to the state
court’s determination that Panetti is competent to be
executed — and thereby statutorily preclude Panetti’s
request for federal habeas relief?

Does the Eighth Amendment prohibit execution of a
validly convicted capital murderer who, despite his
mental illness, knows that he committed capital mur-
der and has been found as a factual matter to have
the capacity to recognize that his punishment (1) is
the result of his being convicted of capital murder and _
(2) will cause his death?

TABLE OF CONTENTS
Page
Bn pe scincstinsscsisnchissishiniininsiishamsdeibbantadtitaiattibiis i
NE III cosicsicenancseceseninsetecibinuiiabicneniihinddediniindssials ii
EE IIa a a een a TC vi
EF Oe GD icictcintesirtcistnesicticiciiniiiniiaiaieadaniiee 1
ic ee citeicticsteiesniieniiesacipaininiiiniiniinaiapitbinin 1

B. Panetti’s Exhaustively Affirmed Conviction
and Sentence and the Rejection of His Alleged
Incompetence to Stand Trial and to Waive

TITIES sessuichisisiiierhespimsinasttinienenpeidieniiaaialanihiinhanintiiiiaipiaducie 3

C. Panetti’s Efforts to Prove Incompetence To Be
Executed in State and Federal Court ................ 6
Summary of the Argument ...............cccccccesssessesssesserseees 10
TIE icistccicnnitntencinniniinn RIN OES SN RoE 13

I. The State Court’s Determination That Panetti
Is Competent To Be Executed Is Entitled to
Tee eee aL Cee Oe 13

A. Ford Requires Only Minimal Process for
Deference To Be Afforded to the State
Court’s Competence Determination............ 15

B. The State Court’s Procedures Easily Satis-
fied Ford’s Minimal Due-Process Require-

TABLE OF CONTENTS - Continued

1.

Page

II. Even If AEDPA Deference Does Not Apply,
Panetti’s Execution Does Not Violate ‘the
Be IOI occcccmmscrcserecscennessnasnenninasensans

A. The General Rule Against Executing the
Insane in 1791 Does Not Illuminate the
Specific Level of Understanding That De-
fines the Eighth Amendment Floor.............

Eighteenth-century courts did not em-
ploy a competence standard that corre-
sponds to any particular level of

understanding defined today.................

The Court should reject amici Legal
Historians’ speculation that Panetti
would not have been executed under
eighteenth-century standards ...............

a. The standard for execution compe-
tence in 1791 was not discernibly
lower than that for competence to
I ittinitntictrnntisinicntienaiinnien

b. Hale’s fourteen-year-old standard
provides no basis to conclude that a
court would have stayed Panetti’s
GORDOUMEGR GE BFE ccccccecececcccssccesesescece

c. Panetti’s claimed delusional be-
havior would not necessarily have
exempted him from execution in

The Court cannot reliably derive the
precise scope of the ban on executing
the insane in 1791 from rationales ad-
vanced to justify the ban........................

21

22

24

24

26

27

iv

TABLE OF CONTENTS - Continued
Page

B. Contemporary State Legislation Does Not
Yield a National Consensus on the Thresh-
old Level of Execution Competence.............. 29

C. The Court Should Hold That the Appro-
priate Constitutional Standard for Compe-
tence To Be Executed Is Whether a
Defendant Has the Capacity To Recognize
That His Punishment Is the Result of His
Being Convicted of Capital Murder and
Will Cause His Death ..............ccceeeeeeeeeeeeee 33

1. Because of the inherent uncertainties
and subjectivity of psychiatric testing,
and the risks of malingering and abuse,
any standard for competence to be exe-
cuted should be rigorous and clear.......... 34

2. Panetti’s proposed “rational under-
standing” standard has no basis in the
Court’s precedent and would invite
ID sceciciesinecssictniinitintetintaiepiiiidinanininnionnseen 36

a. A “rational understanding” inquiry
would engraft Fifth and Sixth
Amendment concerns on an Eighth

Amendment test ..........cccccccceeseeesees 37
b. Panetti’s conception of “rational un-
derstanding” is far too expansive ...... 38

3. To prevent manipulation of the test,
execution competence should turn on
cognitive capacity, not on professed be-
ii ineasiachinicctnsiiniitiunsatinsingiiainaiiinditintnandaceniinenenie 41

TABLE OF CONTENTS -— Continued

Page

4. Application of the State’s proposed test
will advance the modern penological
interests behind the death penalty........

a. The State’s test will further the re-
tributive purpose of punishment.....

i. The retributive justification for

punishment necessarily pre-
cedes any execution-competence
CURED ccerccnscccinsnssinnininiaitnnitiin

ii. There are substantial prob-
lems with the wholly personal
view of retribution that Pa-
Netti AdVANCES .............seseeeseerees

b. Adoption of the State’s standard
will effectively deter would-be
GRU GUD cccccnscescsniinnnmsniannmeniatainiie

D. Under Both the State’s Proposed Test and
the Test That the Court of Appeals Applied,
Panetti Is Competent To Be Executed ..........

CUeENI NII... ncrccccosssecsneneninesisbeaeiean

43

43

45

46

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page
CASES
Addington v. Texas, 441 U.S. 418 (1979) ........ccccccecsseeeeeeee 35
Ake v. Oklahoma, 470 U.S. 68 (1985) ......ccccccccccceceseceeeeeees 34
Atkins v. Virginia, 536 U.S. 304 (2002) ...........ccecceee passim
Baird v. State, 833 N.E.2d 28 (Ind. 2005)...........:..ccceeceee 32
Barefoot v. Estelle, 463 U.S. 880 (1983) ......csvsssssssssseseeee 38
Billiot v. State, 655 So. 2d 1 (Miss. 1995) .............cccceceeeees 31
Bingham v. State, 169 P.2d 311 (Okla. Crim. App.

Fai tctenniseenngrceenenepeninnieeemimeannnninnnen 32
Boykin v. Alabama, 395 U.S. 238 (1969) ..........::ccccccceeeees 37
Clark v. Arizona, 126 S.Ct. 2709 (2006) ..................000 35, 47
Commonwealth v. Jermyn, 652 A.2d 821 (Pa. 1995)........ 32
Cooper v. Oklahoma, 517 U.S. 348 (1996) ........ccccseceeeees 39
Drope v. Missouri, 420 U.S. 162 (1975).............006. 36, 38, 42
Dusky v. United States, 362 U.S. 402 (1960) (per

i cesiathiterncitiientiatiiniianaininapnidaiatamniiiaiateiatibianmaimetd 32, 37, 39
Enmund v. Florida, 458 U.S. 782 (1982)..........cccccccee 44, 47
Ex parte Panetti, No. 37,145-01 (Tex. Crim. App.

May 20, 1998) (per curiam) (unpublished) ..................... 5
Ex parte Panetti, No. 74,868 (Tex. Crim. App. Jan.

28, 2004) (per curiam) (unpublished) ..................cseeee 6
Faretta v. California, 422 U.S. 806 (1975)....................008 38
Ford v. Wainwright, 477 U.S. 399 (1986)...............0 passim
Godinez v. Moran, 509 U.S. 389 (1993) ........... 37, 38, 39, 41

Gregg v. Georgia, 428 U.S. 153 (1976) .......cc.ccceseeseseees 43, 46

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page
Herrera v. Collins, 506 U.S. 390 (1993) ...........cccccseeeeeeeeees 38
Marks v. United States, 430 U.S. 188 (1977).................... 16
Massie v. Woodford, 244 F.3d 1192 (CA9 2001).............0.. 48
Panetti v. Cockrell, 73 Fed. Appx. 78 (CA5 2003)

ED cccscecsteesencmanenntinmemmmnemnamne 5
Panetti v. Dretke, 540 U.S. 1052 (2003) (Mem.).................. 5
Panetti v. Dretke, No. 04-CA-042 (W.D. Tex. Nov. 4,

Se cenpsennvesemsnsnsnennntsnmncsnemennmnnpginpieenmmnmennenente 10
Panetti v. Dretke, 448 F.3d 815 (CA5 2006) ...............:cc00 10 -
Panetti v. Johnson, No. 99-CV-260 (W.D. Tex. Mar.

BR, Se cantresenensnieninctninengnanintnteiseimmeninaeninianeten 5
Panetti v. Johnson, No. 99-CV-260 (W.D. Tex. June

Be Be erinenutstisuntntanineimeusnnainnempmemuemie 5
Panetti v. Texas, No. 72,230 (Tex. Crim. App. Dec. 3,

IIIT incrriititncciisitininnsinnstiidiiinninpundiemmmnmen 5
Panetti v. Texas, 525 U.S. 848 (1998) (Mem.).................044. 5
Penry v. Lynaugh, ee, UU 15
Provenzano v. State, 750 So. 2d 597 (Fla. 1999) (per

GROGRID ceseessseemneniemsemmnamnsenmne 31
Rector v. Bryant, 501 U.S. 1239 (1991)............cccceeeeeeeeeeeee 15
Rector v. Clark, 923 F.2d 570 (CA8 1991)...........cseeecseesees 48
Rees v. Peyton, 384 U.S. 312 (1966) (per curiam)............. 36
Roper v. Simmons, 543 U.S. 551 (2005)... passim
Schriro v. Summerlin, 542 U.S. 348 (2004)..................008 43
Scott v. Mitchell, 250 F.3d 1011 (CAG 2001) .............. eee 48

Singieton v. State, 437 S.E.2d 53 (S.C. 1993) ............eee 32

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page
Skipper v. South Carolina, 476 U.S. 1 (1986)...............:0 48
Solem v. Helm, 463 U.S. 277 (1983)..........:ccccceeseeseseeeeeeeees 20
Solesbee v. Balkcom, 339 U.S. 9 (1950)...........cccccceceeeeecees 34
Spaziano v. Florida, 468 U.S. 447 (1984) .........::cccccceeceeee 43
Thompson v. Oklahoma, 487 U.S. 815 (1988)..............00+. 43
Tison v. Arizona, 481 U.S. 137 (1987)..........ccccccceeceeeeeeeeees 43
‘Trop v. Dulles, 356 U.S. 86 (1958) (plurality op.) ............. 20
Valdez v. Cockrell, 274 F.3d 941 (CA5 2001).................000 14
Van Tran v. State, 6 S.W.3d 257 (Tenn. 1999)................... 32
Walton v. Johnson, 440 F.3d 160 (CA4 2006) ................... 48
Williams v. Taylor, 529 U.S. 362 (2000).................ceceeeeeeee 15
Yarborough v. Alvarado, 541 U.S. 652 (2004)... 16
STATUTES AND RULES
IE cnciicicenesnsnienennemenmmmneccnonnnte 14, 16, 18, 19
28 U.S.C. §2254(d 2) (19B4).........0.ccrrcccosscccsrsccesesrsenes 14, 15
2B U.S.C. §2254(OK1) ..cccccssneseeeeecesssseneesees a N 15
Ariz. Rev. Stat. Ann. §13-4021(B) .0..........cccccecceceeeeeeeeeeeeees 30
Ark. Code Ann. §16-90-506(d)(1)(B)..........ccccccseeseeeeeeeeeeeees 31
COED, Tames GR. BBB. a ecceccccsccesnsceccccccssesssssesevesese 30
SP ts Sir icactuhsanicnasinnnnnmnnncenennennenieetmimanndiisagnnnnstionen 30
Ss, ee, SPI cccciinninsiritcericnnminneciinnicsnnnenpeteanaial 30, 31
ee I, SEU cccnesecesicerniemenemsennmannannnt 30, 31

SS ee 30, 31

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES -— Continued

Page
La. Rev. Stat. Ann. §15:567.1(B)...........c.....ssessessssorsessseeees 31
Md. Code Ann., Corr. Servs. §3-904(a)(2) ........cccecccsseeeeeees 30
Miss. Code Ann. §99-19-57(2Mb).......ccccesscccssesseseesesererseees 31
Fe 30, 31
Mont. Code Ann. §46-14-103...............ccccccsssseeseeseeeeseees 30, 31
a a FR cctcccrtscrcwiteitnsarericnncntanesssiciniin 31
Ne 30, 31
Ohio Rev. Code Ann. §2949.28(A) .00.......ccccccececesseeeeeeees 30, 31
Cs Tare, Baa. FET a ercenserssvecescsaceevsnsnssccsssessvessnenees 31
Tex. Code Crim. Proc. art. 46.05 .0...........ccccccseeeesseeeeeees 18, 30
Tex. Code Crim. Proc. art. 46.05(b)...............c:ceeeeeesseeeeeeee 17
Tex. Code Crim. Proc. art. 46.05(C) ...........ccccccssecesseeeeeeeeees 17
Tex. Code Crim. Proc. art. 46.05(f) .............ccseeceeeesereeeeeeees 18
Tex. Code Crim. Proc. art. 46.05(h) ..............ccsssseseeeereeeeees 30
ee A, Sr crrreceentnctnsininctinensmnctinniaaneiens 30
Wyo. Stat. Ann. §7-13-901(a)(v)s......ccccseseeeeesereeeeeeeee 30, 31
OTHER AUTHORITIES
ALI, Model Penal Code §4.01(1) ..0..........cccccceeeeeeeeeeeeseeeees 47

Am. Bar Ass’n, Report with Recommendations No.
107, Feb. 1997, available at http://www.abanet.
org/irr/rec107.html (last visited Mar. 27, 2007) ........... 41

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES -— Continued

Page

Am. Psychiatry Ass’n, Moratorium on Capital Pun-
ishment in the United States: Position Statement,
Oct. 2000, available at http://www.psych.org/edu/
other_res/lib_archives/archives/200006.pdf (last
ee ee iis Be iecectncinintiicnnniasiicicennitinntaiaunnnitentoeianies 41

Am. Psychological Ass’n, The Death Penalty in the
United States, Aug. 2001, available at http://
www.apa.org/pi/deathpenalty.html (last visited

SETI Tints IIE ientapeetiehiennindasbanndgeiininiinidinitidentabesidadenininnsicne 41
Amnesty International, United States of America:

the Death Penalty (1987) ..................cccceeseeeeeseseeeeeeeeeeees 40
William Blackstone, Commentaries on the Laws of

England (1st English ed. 1769).................... 23, 25, 26, 28

Bluestone & McGahee, Reaction to Extreme Stress:
Impending Death by Execution, 119 Am. J. Psy-
I Ee eittntneedntinnsansctartioteitimnesiintentmenes 40

Dale O. Cloninger & Roberto Marchesini, Execution
Moratoriums, Commutations and Deterrence:
The Case of Illinois, 38 Applied Econ. 967 (2006)........ 46

Edward Coke, The Third Part of the Institutes of
the Laws of England: Concerning High Treason,
and Other Pleas of the Crown, and Criminal
I i vincictitentnevitenneteneiiantedeiiemenineeieninnennnts 29

Hashem Dezhbakhsh, Paul H. Rubin & Joanna M.
Shepherd, Does Capital Punishment Have a De-
terrent Effect? New Evidence from Postmorato-
rium Panel Data, 5 Am. Law & Econ. Rev. 344

xl
; TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Joel Peter Eigen, Unconscious Crime: Mental Ab-
sence and Criminal Responsibility in Victorian
I Ge nicenccncnanintopiniitinnnicesaninnmenaninaiemieel 22, 23

Joel Peter Eigen, Witnessing Insanity: Madness and
Mad Doctors in the English Court (1995)............. 22, 23, 27

Matthew Hale, The History of the Pleas of the
ee ccnnnteienissiaieiinsinnencenmasemaiiainiiiis 23, 25, 26, 36

John Hawles, Remarks on the Trial of Charles
Bateman, in 11 A Complete Collection of State
Trials and Proceedings for High Treason and
Other Crimes and Misdemeanors (1811)....4:......00000000 29

Nancy S. Horton, Restoration of Competency for
Execution: Furiosus Solo Furore Punitur, 44 Sw.
Siete: SRIPeD ID scncnnnssnsccssnsmnensesunsteanensbemumemmnmcaeniannintes 40

H. Naci Mocan & R. Kaj Gittings, Getting Off
Death Row: Commuted Sentences and the Deter-
rent Effect of Capital Punishment, 46 J. L. &

TET IET RE Me MT SDT ET ORO OTT sesseesees 47
Douglas Mossman, Atkins v. Virginia: A Psychiatric -

Can of Worms, 33 N.M. L. Rev. 255 (2003).............. 40, 41
Isaac Ray, A Treatise on the Medical Jurisprudence

BS I Ga ccctccnnntnsnnattneneiemivccsemnisenneinmavesnemenn 28

Safeguards Guaranteeing Protection of the Rights
of Those Facing the Death Penalty, E.S.C. Res.

RI ics bao ccidhachegiaiacachiiags bainsietmamiabiniiatiiaihtid iatateete 33
U.N. ESCOR, Supp. No. 1, U.N. Doc. E/1984/92
RG LETS LITRES SETS 33

Nigel Walker, The Insanity Defense Before 1800,
477 Annals Am. Acad. Pol. & Soc. Sci. 25 (1985).......... 23

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES -— Continued

Barbara A. Ward, Competency for Execution:
Problems in Law and Psychiatry, 14 Fla. St. U. L.
SEER Sa CUNT cncinsocnsenntatnisascnenicncantaeatenntneninetenaiectunenenss 40

Paul R. Zimmerman, State Executions, Deterrence,
and the Incidence of Murder, 7 J. Applied Econ.
oT TUTE cisnceiicecsuntedisiduiauabntnbndniietameieninttbeniniedionmainemess 46

STATEMENT OF THE CASE
A. The Crime

Scott Louis Panetti has led a troubled and violent life.
Between 1981 and 1992, Panetti was hospitalized on
multiple occasions and variously diagnosed with substance
abuse and dependence, personality disorders, depression,
chronic undifferentiated schizophrenia, and schizoaffective
disorder. JA 339-41;' Federal Petition for Writ of Habeas
Corpus, No. 1:99-CV-00260 (W.D. Tex. Sept. 7, 1999)
(hereinafter “Federal Petition”) (Ex. 14). Although his
doctors initially treated him only with therapy, they later
placed him on medication, which proved effective in
controlling his mental illness. /d., at 462-63 (noting in
1986 that, while taking medication, Panetti “shows no
evidence of thought disorder” and “was not paranoid in his
attitude”), 466 (observing in 1990 that, after Panetti was
stabilized on his medication, he displayed no evidence of
“any delusions or any psychotic thinking, or any suicidal
or homicidal] ideations”).

Panetti married his second wife, Sonja, in 1988, and
they had a daughter the following year. 31.RR.61. In
August 1992, Sonja separated from Panetti because of his
drinking and physical threats. 31.RR.62. She took their
daughter, then three years old, to live with her parents,
Amanda and Joe Alvarado. 31.RR.60-61. Panetti later
called to threaten Sonja and his in-laws, saying he would
kill both her and the Alvarados or burn down their house.
31.RR.64. On September 2, 1992, in response to these
threats, Sonja obtained a protective order against Panetti.
31.RR.65-66; 41.RR (SX 91).

’ Citations to the transcript of Panetti’s capital-murder trial are
noted as “RR” (“Reporter’s Record”). Citations to the State’s exhibits
admitted into evidence during those proceedings are noted as “SX”
(“State Exhibit”). Citations to the pleadings, orders, and motions filed
in the trial court are noted as “CR” (“Clerk’s Record”). Citations to the
federal district court’s hearing on execution competence are noted as
“FH” (“Federa) Hearing”). Citations to the joint appendix filed in this
Court are noted as “JA.” c

2

Six days later, Panetti awoke before dawn, 33.RR.695,
shaved his head, 31.RR.95-96, and dressed himself in
camouflage, 33.RR.679. Arming himself with a rifle, a
sawed-off shotgun, 33.RR.696, and several knives,
33.RR.706-07, Panetti drove to the Alvarados’ house,
33.RR.696. When he arrived, Panetti broke his shotgun
trying to shatter a sliding glass door near Sonja’s bed.
31.RR.69; 33.RR.717. He chased Sonja out of the house
and confronted her in the front yard, 33.RR.704, hitting
her face with the butt of his rifle, 31.RR.73.

Although Sonja managed to retreat into the house and
lock the front door, Panetti shot the lock off and cornered
Joe and Amanda Alvarado in the kitchen. 31.RR.42-43;
33.RR.705. He asked Sonja, who was standing in the
adjoining hallway, who she would like to see die first.
31.RR.84. Using his rifle, Panetti then shot and killed Joe
Alvarado. 31.RR.84. Sonja begged Panetti not to kill her
mother, 31.RR.91, but Panetti pressed the rifle against
Amanda Alvarado’s chest and pulled the trigger,
32.RR.417-18, killing her and spraying Sonja and their
daughter with blood, 31.RR.91. Then his rifle jammed.
31.RR.92.

Panetti grabbed Sonja and their daughter and walked
them out to his Jeep. 31.RR.92-93. He drove them back to
his bunkhouse, 31.RR.94, where he had them wash off the
blood, 31.RR.96. When Sonja asked if she could go check
on her parents, he responded: “I just shot your parents. No
more mommy, no more daddy; get that through your
head.” 31.RR.96-97. He then forced Sonja to read the
protective order aloud. 31.RR.97-98. Sonja asked Panetti if
he planned to shoot her and her daughter. 31.RR.98. He
replied that he had not yet decided. 31.RR.98.

At dawn, Panetti allowed both Sonja and their daugh-
ter to leave the bunkhouse, telling Sonja that he planned
to stay there and “shoot two or three policemen” before
taking his own life. 31.RR.101. Panetti surrendered to
police that afternoon. 31.RR.241. Later the same day,
Panetti confessed to the murders, recounting the details of
the crime to police. 33.RR.692-737. When asked if he

3

thought that his mental condition excused his behavior,
Panetti replied, “it doesn’t excuse me from any of that. You
know, I made my bed and I’m going to lie in it... . I f***ed
up. I feel a lot of remorse.” 33.RR.734-35; see also JA 208.

Dr. Michael Lennhoff, a psychiatrist, interviewed
Panetti several times at the local jail. Panetti stated that
he had followed his drug regimen over the preceding year,
but he later confessed that he had not taken his medica-
tion for one week before the murders. Federal Petition Ex.
14, at 431, 436. Although Dr. Lennhoff noted that Panetti
exhibited genuine mental illness, he also concluded that
“Panetti may have wanted to impress me with how men-
tally disturbed he is, perhaps in an exaggerated way.” Jd.,
at 434. After a later meeting, Dr. Lennhoff felt that Pa-
netti was “still trying to impress me as not having commit-
ted a deliberate crime.” /d., at 436.

B. Panetti’s Exhaustively Affirmed Conviction and
Sentence and the Rejection of His Aileged In-
competence to Stand Trial and to Waive Counsel

Panetti was charged with capital murder. 1.CR.8. The
trial court appointed Dr. E. Lee Simes, a psychiatrist, to
evaluate Panetti’s competence for trial. JA 9. Dr. Simes noted
that, despite Panetti’s delusional thinking, “his overall story
was quite consistent and insightful.” JA 13. In particular, Dr.
Simes observed that Panetti understood why he was facing
capital-murder charges, the significance of those charges,
and the significance of the punishment he might receive. JA
13. Panetti also displayed ability to process questions and
information and to assist in his defense. JA 13. Dr. Simes
concluded that Panetti was competent to stand trial. JA 13.

In April 1994, Panetti moved for a competence hear-
ing. 2.CR.236-41. In the first trial-competence hearing, the

jury deadlocked at four for incompetent, three for compe-
tent, and five unaecided. 3.CR.295-96; 10.RR.379.’ At the

* Panetti incorrectly reports the final vote as nine-to-three in favor
of incompetence. Panetti Br. 8, n.6. That vote occurred earlier in the
deliberations. 3.CR.290.

4

second trial-competence hearing, the jury found Panetti
competent to stand trial. 13.RR.206-07.

Eight months later, Panetti sent the trial judge a
letter explaining that he had stopped taking all medica-
tion and, as a result, was “restored to sanity”; he had
dismissed his attorneys; he felt competent to represent
himself; he did not intend to “act like a lawyer” in his trial;
and he would be able to prove that he was insane at the
time of the murders. 3.CR.360. Panetti’s attorneys then
moved to withdraw as his counsel. 3.CR.363-64.

The trial court called a pretrial hearing to inquire
further into Panetti’s expressed desire to represent him-
self. 15.RR.5. The judge told Panetti that he personally did
not want Panetti to represent himself, 15.RR.10, and
asked Panetti’s attorneys to confer privately with Panetti
about waiving counsel, 15.RR.11. After this consultation,
Panetti’s attorneys reported that they did not think
Panetti should represent himself, but that was his “clear
intent.” 15.RR.12-13. Panetti confirmed that he wanted to
represent himself because he had the right to do so under
Texas law and the United States Constitution, and that he
was “fully aware” of the penalty for the charges against
him. 15.RR.18. Panetti then executed a voluntary waiver
of counsel. 3.CR.369. The district attorney informed the
court that, because the State was “concerned about pro-
tecting the Defendant’s rights,” he did not want Panetti’s
attorneys to withdraw. 15.RR.24. When the court re-
examined Panetti about his decision, Panetti replied, “I
understand everything that’s been going on today, sir. I do,
however, feel a little bit insulted that I have been asked
the same question so many times, Your Honor.” 15.RR.25-
28. The court held that Panetti had voluntarily and
intelligently exercised his right to represent himself and
then appointed standby counsel for Panetti. 15.RR.29-30.

At trial, Panetti entered a plea of not guilty by reason
of insanity. 31.RR.24. In his rambling opening statement,
Panetti informed the jury that he had been diagnosed with
paranoid schizophrenia and manic depression in 1986, and
that he believed only an insane person could prove the

5

insanity defense. 31.RR.28-29. As Panetti explains in his
brief, he exhibited bizarre and incoherent behavior
throughout his trial. Panetti Br. 11-15. He did call as
witnesses two psychiatrists who had previously treated
him, 38.RR.1567-1616, and endeavored to establish
through one that, when he did not take his medication, his
mental illness could prevent him from distinguishing right
and wrong, 38.RR.1574-75. The jury nonetheless found
Panetti guilty of capital murder and sentenced him to
death. 7.CR.1041-44; 38.RR.1685; 39.RR.102. The Texas
Court of Criminal Appeals (CCA) affirmed Panetti’s
conviction and sentence, Panetti v. Texas, No. 72,230 (Tex.
Crim. App. Dec. 3, 1997) (unpublished), and the Court
denied certiorari, 525 U.S. 848 (1998) (Mem.).

Panetti then filed a state habeas petition raising
fourteen claims, including whether he was competent to
stand trial and competent to waive counsel. State Petition
for Writ of Habeas Corpus, No. 3310-A, at 3-4 (Tex. Crim.
App. June 19, 1997). The CCA denied relief. Ex parte
Panetti, No. 37,145-01 (Tex. Crim. App. May 20, 1998) (per
curiam) (unpublished). Panetti next filed a federal habeas
petition, asserting the same fourteen claims that he had
alleged in his state habeas petition. See JA 355. The
district court denied this petition, Panetti v. Johnson, No.
99-CV-260 (W.D. Tex. Mar. 9, 2001), but granted a certifi-
cate of appealability on, inter alia, whether Panetti was
competent to stand trial and competent to waive counsel,
Panetti v. Johnson, No. 99-CV-260 (W.D. Tex. June 3,
2001). The court of appeals denied habeas relief, Panetti v.
Cockrell, 73 Fed. Appx. 78 (CA5 2003) (unpublished), and
the Court again denied certiorari, Panetti v. Dretke, 540
U.S. 1052 (2003) (Mem.).

In sum, one jury and four courts rejected Panetti’s
trial-incompetence claim; one court found him competent
to waive counsel and four courts rejected his collateral
challenge to that determination; and another jury and two
courts rejected his insanity defense. No judge or jury has
ever found him incompetent.

6

C. Panetti’s Efforts to Prove Incompetence To Be
Executed in State and Federal Court

Once an execution date was set, Panetti filed a motion
in the state trial court under Texas Code of Criminal
Procedure Article 46.05 asserting incompetence to be
executed. JA 355. After concluding that Panetti had failed
to make a substantial showing of incompetence, the state
court denied his Article 46.05 motion, JA 355, and the CCA
dismissed his appeal, Ex parte Panetti, No. 74,868 (Tex.
-Crim. App. Jan. 28, 2004) (per curiam) (unpublished).

Panetti then filed a habeas petition in federal district
court, asserting that Ford v. Wainwright, 477 U.S. 399
(1986), prohibited his execution. JA 355-56. The district
court granted a stay of execution and allowed Panetti an
opportunity to present his renewed allegations to the state
trial court. JA 357.

In response to Panetti’s second Article 46.05 motion,
the state court appointed two neutral experts, Dr. George
Parker and Dr. Mary Anderson, to assess Panetti’s compe-
tence to be executed. JA 59. After conducting a joint
interview of Panetti, Drs. Parker and Anderson filed a
report documenting their observations and conclusions. JA
70-76. This report reflects Panetti’s hostility to Drs.
Parker’s and Anderson’s questions, his tendency toward
religious conversation, his attempted manipulation of the
interview process, and his general refusal to cooperate
with the court-appointed experts. JA 70-73, 75.

Because of Panetti’s refusal to cooperate, Drs. Parker
and Anderson also relied on several sources of collateral
data — including prison records; letters that Panetti had
recently written to friends and family; court documents,
including documents relating to other competence deter-
minations; discussions with prison staff; and another
expert evaluation of Panetti — to help form their relevant
opinions. JA 73-75. Based on these data and their personal
observations, Drs. Parker and Anderson concluded that
Panetti (1) “knows that he is to be executed, and that his
execution will result in his death” and (2) “has the ability
to understand the reason he is to be executed.” JA 75.

In response, Panetti filed a detailed submission
criticizing Drs. Parker and Anderson’s methodology and
contrasting their conclusions with those in a psychiatric
evaluation that Panetti had previously presented to the
court. JA 79-98. After considering that submission, the
state court again denied relief under Article 46.05. JA 99.

Panetti then sought habeas relief in the federal
district court, JA 375,- which concluded that the state
court’s determination of Panetti’s competence to be exe-
cuted was not entitled to AEDPA deference because Pa-
neti: allegedly failed to receive constitutionally sufficient
process, JA 359-61. After granting Panetti’s motions for
appointment of counsel, discovery, and funds for expert
and investigative assistance, JA 358, the district court
held an evidentiary hearing on competence, JA 362.

At the hearing, Panetti presented expert testimony
from Dr. Mary Alice Conroy, a psychology professor, JA
136; Dr. Susan Rosin, a psychologist, JA 198; Dr. Seth
Silverman, a forensic psychiatrist, JA 219; and Dr. Mark
Cunningham, a clinical and forensic psychologist, JA 323.
The State presented expert testimony from Dr. Parker and
Dr. Anderson — the neutral experts that the state trial
court had appointed — and lay testimony from Steve
Miller, Major of Correctional Officers for the prison in
which Panetti is incarcerated, JA 275-76; Terri Hill, a
Texas Department of Criminal Justice (TDCJ) Lieutenant
assigned to Panetti’s housing area, 1 FH 192; and Victoria
Williams, a TDCJ security officer who frequently con-
versed with Panetti, 1 FH 199.

All of the expert witnesses agreed that Panetti suffers
from some degree of mental illness. Although some of the
experts labeled this illness schizophrenia or schizoaffective
disorder, e.g., JA 144-45, 205, they were collectively unable
to agree on a single diagnosis, see JA 239, 313.°

* Dr. Conroy noted that “the major portion of our population in our
inpatient units in federal Bureau of Prisons hospitals are diagnosed
with some form of schizophrenia,” JA 142, and Dr. Silverman opined
that most schizophrenics are competent to be executed, JA 227.

8

The experts did agree, however, that Panetti has the
capacity to — and does, in fact —- understand that he will be
executed. JA 147-48, 207, 236, 243, 245.*

Further expert testimony established Panetti’s spe-
cific understanding that he committed the murders.
Indeed, Dr. Rosin testified that Panetti recounted details
of his activity on the day of the murders and expressed
sorrow for having committed the crime. JA 208; see also
JA 148-49 (Dr. Conroy’s testimony that Panetti believed
that God had forgiven him for killing the Alvarados and
had “wiped the slate clean”). Dr. Silverman testified to
uncertainty about whether Panetti knows that he killed
the Alvarados, but only because Panetti steadfastly re-
fused to answer his questions on this topic. JA 221.

Several experts also concluded that Panetti’s delu-
sions created a false sense of the true reason for his
execution. E.g., JA 149, 156, 202, 209 (testimony from Drs.
Conroy and Rosin that Panetti believes his execution was
ordered to prevent him from preaching the Gospel).
Importantly, however, these same experts testified that
Panetti understands that the State’s stated reason for his
execution is punishment for capital murder. JA 157, 214.

Dr. Parker testified that portions of Panetti’s re-
sponses to the experts’ execution-competence examinations
could be attributed to malingering, see JA 241-43; see also,
e.g., JA 174, 177, 181 (noting additional reports of Pa-
netti’s suspected malingering in the past), and Drs. Parker
and Anderson each specifically testified that Panetti has

* Lay testimony corroborated this point. Major Miller testified that
Panetti cooperated with him in going over the State’s pre-execution
forms, JA 281, IJ-42-53, and demonstrated his understanding of the
forms’ questions about disposition of assets, choice of last meal, and the
like. JA 287-88. Additional lay testimony reflected Panetti’s demon-
strated ability to communicate coherently - and politely — with prison
staff. E.g., 1 FH 193-96 (testimony of Terri Hill); 1 FH 200 (testimony of
Victoria Williams).

9

the capacity to understand the reason for his execution,
JA 245, 247, 303-04. Both Dr. Parker and Dr. Anderson
emphasized that Panetti was deliberately manipulative
and uncooperative during his interview with them. JA
239-40, 244-46, 271, 300, 303, 312-14; accord JA 75. They
based their ultimate conclusions on Panetti’s overall
cognitive functionality, as demonstrated through letters he
wrote to friends and family, his logical responses to inter-
view questions, and his ability to understand such things
as history and movies. JA 242-43, 302-04.

Dr. Parker’s suspicions of malingering were corrobo-
rated by evidence of psychiatric evaluations conducted in
the two years following Panetti’s capital trial. For exam-
ple, Dr. Michael Gilhousen noted that loosening of Pa-
netti’s thought processes “appeared to be intentional on
his part to create the impression of mental illness.” JA
167, I-30. After another interview, Dr. Gilhousen de-
scribed Panetti’s behavior as “obviously manipulative and
theatrical.” JA 171-72, II-20. Another doctor expressed the
belief that Panetti’s switching among different voices was
“contrived ... to impress us or lead us to believe that he
did have alter personalities.” JA 170, II-41.

After hearing all the evidence, the federal district
court made three factual findings. First, based on the
experts’ agreement, the court concluded that Panetti is
aware that he will be executed. JA 372.

Second, the district court found that Panetti is aware
that he committed both murders. JA 372. The court based
this conclusion on Dr. Conroy’s and Dr. Rosin’s testimony
that Panetti knows that he murdered the Alvarados. JA
372. Although the court recognized that Dr. Silverman’s
testimony cast doubt on this conclusion, the court dis-
counted that testimony, noting that it was based on
Panetti’s limited responses during his interview with Dr.
Silverman. JA 372.

Third, the district court found that Panetti under-

stands the State’s stated reason for execution. JA 372.
The court based this finding on the testimony of Drs.

10

Conroy and Rosin, and discounted Dr. Silverman’s con-
trary testimony for the same reason. JA 372-73.

Additionally, the district court recounted Dr. Parker’s
and Dr. Anderson’s assessments that “some portion of
Panetti’s behavior could be attributed to malingering,” and
it expressly concluded that, although all of the experts had
agreed Panetti had “some degree” of mental illness, their
testimony collectively “casts doubt on the extent of Pa-
netti’s mental illness and symptoms.” JA 363.

Finally, the district court noted Dr. Cunningham’s
testimony that “suggests” that Panetti’s delusions prevent
him from understanding that Texas is a lawfully consti-
tuted authority and lead him to believe that the State “is
in league with the forces of evil that have conspired
against him,” and it observed that this testimony was
consistent with the testimony of Panetti’s other experts.
JA 373. The court made no finding, however, whether
these delusions were genuine or the partial product of
malingering, because the court deemed it irrelevant to the
question of whether Panetti “knows the reason for his
execution” within the meaning of the court of appeals’s
execution-competence test. JA 373.

Based on these factual findings, the district court
concluded that Panetti is competent to be executed. JA
373. Although the court denied Panetti’s habeas petition, it
stayed his execution pending appeal, JA 373, and granted
a certificate of appealability, Panetti v. Dretke, No. 04-CA-
042 (W.D. Tex. Nov. 4, 2004). The court of appeals affirmed
the district court’s denial of habeas relief, Panetti v.
Dretke, 448 F.3d 815 (CA5 2006); JA 374-84, and the Court
granted certiorari, JA 387.

SUMMARY OF THE ARGUMENT

In devoting fully half of his brief to his statement of the
case, Panetti endeavors to focus the Court’s attention on his
lengthy mental-health history, explaining that “incompe-
tency runs like a fissure through every proceeding in this
case.” Panetti Br. 6. But that fissure has been mostly sealed
once and for all by the conclusive determinations of state

11

and federal courts repeatedly rejecting Panetti’s direct and
collateral challenges to adverse rulings on his insanity
defense, his competence to stand trial, and his competence
to waive counsel. For that reason, Panetti correctly con-
cedes that, as a matter of law, he is now presumed compe-
tent to be executed. Ibid.

The state court, the district court, and the court of
appeals have all concluded that Panetti has failed to
overcome that presumption. The district court found as a
factual matter that Panetti knows that he murdered the
Alvarados, that he will be executed, and that the State’s
stated reason for executing him is that he committed two
murders. Panetti has not challenged those factual findings
on appeal.

Distilled to its core, Panetti’s case does not turn on the
weighing of his mental-health history or a reconsideration
of his capital trial, but rather on the resolution of two
purely legal issues: (1) whether the state court’s determi-
nation of execution competence was entitled to AEDPA
deference; and (2) whether the Eighth Amendment re-
quires a capita] convict to have a “rational understanding”
of the reason for his execution.

Panetti virtually ignores the first question, but it
alone is dispositive. His sole argument against AEDPA
deference is that the state court’s competence ruling
violated his procedural-due-process rights under Ford v.
Wainwright, 477 U.S. 399 (1986), because the court did not
conduct a ful] evidentiary hearing or appoint a psychiatric
expert to-submit evidence on his behalf. But Ford does not
extend any such guarantee, requiring only an opportunity
to be heard and an impartial tribunal — both of which
Panetti received. Because the state-court procedures were
adequate under Ford, the AEDPA statutorily bars Pa-
netti’s request for habeas relief.

Even if AEDPA deference were not due the state
court’s findings, the Court still should affirm the court of
appeals’s judgment that Panetti is competent to be exe-
cuted. There is no disputing that, under Ford, it violates
the Eighth Amendment to execute the insane. The only

12

merits question here is what is the proper standard for
measuring “insanity.” The court of appeals correctly
rejected Panetti’s claim that the proper standard is
whether a defendant “rationally understands” the reason
for his capital sentence. Although the Court has not yet
resolved this question, its approach to Eighth Amendment
questions leaves no doubt that “rational understanding” is
not the constitutional threshold of execution competence.

The Court’s usual empirical bases for evaluating the
constitutionality of punishments - eighteenth-century
practice and modern state legislation — do not settle the
issue. The vague standards for execution competence that
courts applied at the time of the Bill of Rights, when
today’s diagnostic methods were unknown, do not trans-
late into any definitive level of understanding that the
Court could identify as the constitutional minimum. And
because only half of the death-penalty States have any
statutory definition of execution competence — and even
those States diverge in their definitions — there is no
consensus in contemporary values on this point.

The Court is left, then, to exercise its own independ-
ent judgment in defining the level of mental incapacity
that renders death a constitutionally impermissible
penalty. Both Panetti’s and his amici’s proposed standards,
which require that a convict “rationally understand” the
reasons for his execution, are fundamentally flawed. Given
the inherent subjectivity and manipulability of such a
standard, capital murderers could as a routine matter
claim a lack of “rational understanding” through malinger-
ing or refusing to cooperate with experts. Moreover, such a
requirement — imported from the Court’s Fifth and Sixth
Amendment jurisprudence concerning defendants’ strate-
gic participation at the guilt and sentencing phases — is
out of place at the moment of execution. Finally, the
retributive and deterrent interests served by the death
penalty — focused primarily as they are on society at large
rather than the capital murderer — do not demand the
“rational understanding” that Panetti urges.

13

The Court should instead adopt a clear and objective
test for execution competence. Specifically, the Court
should hold that a mentally ill capital convict is incompe-
tent to be executed only if, because of his illness, he lacks
the capacity to recognize that his punishment (1) is the
result of his being convicted of capital murder and (2) will
cause his death. This standard controls for the malinger-
ing or uncooperative convict, is appropriately tailored to
the execution stage of capital proceedings, and serves the
twin goals of retribution and deterrence that justify
capital punishment. Applying this standard, the Court
should hold that Panetti is competent to be executed.

ARGUMENT

I. The State Court’s Determination That Panetti
Is Competent To Be Executed Is Entitled to
AEDPA Deference.

Contrary to the district court’s conclusion, JA 359-61,
the state court’s adjudication of Panetti’s competence
claim, JA 99-100, is entitled to deference under the AEDPA
because it was neither contrary to, nor involved an unrea-
sonable application of, clearly established federal due-
process law as set out by this Court in Ford. This defer-
ence provides an alternative basis on which the Court
should affirm the court of appeals’s judgment that Panetti
is not entitled to federal habeas relief.° See JA 376 & n.1.

Like Panetti’s claim, the execution-competence claim
in Ford arose from a federal habeas appeal. 477 U.S., at
404-05. Under the federal habeas statute in effect at the
time, deference was afforded to factual determinations
made by the state court unless the petitioner established
one of the enumerated exceptions, one of which was
whether the state proceedings provided a “full and fair
hearing.” 477 U.S., at 411 (plurality op.); id., at 423

* The State raised the AEDPA-deference issue in the district court,
JA 359, the court of appeals, JA 376, and in its brief in opposition to
certiorari in this Court, Br. Opp. Cert. 7-9.

14

(Powell, J., concurring in the judgment); see also 28 U.S.C.
§2254(d)(2) (1984). Ultimately, a majority of the Court
concluded that deference was not appropriate because the
state procedure for determining execution competence was
found to be inadequate. Ford, 477 U.S., at 416 (plurality
op.); id., at 423 (Powell, J., concurring in the judgment).

The federal habeas statute has been amended since
Ford was decided. Under the AEDPA, a federal habeas
writ “shall not be granted” with respect to a state-court
judgment unless that adjudication:

“(1) resulted in a decision that was contrary to,
or involved an unreasonable application of,
clearly established Federal} law, as determined by
the Supreme Court of the United States; or

(2) resulted in a decision that was based on an
unreasonable determination of the facts in light
of the evidence presented in the State court pro-
ceeding.” 28 U.S.C. §2254(d).

As a statutory matter, the AEDPA — unlike the prior
version of §2254(d) — contains no requirement of a “full
and fair hearing” before deference is required. See Valdez
v. Cockrell, 274 F.3d 941, 946 (CA5 2001); JA 376, n.1.
Nevertheless, because it believed that Ford required, as a
constitutional matter, a full evidentiary hearing in state
court, the district court appears to have held §2254(d) of
the AEDPA to be unconstitutional as applied in this case."
JA 130-33, 361. That holding was in error.

* The district court’s reasoning on this question is somewhat
oblique and is potentially subject to an alternative interpretation,
which Panetti advances, Panetti Br. 4, n.3, that the court merely found
the state court’s failure to conduct a full evidentiary hearing to be “an
unreasonable application of ... clearly established federal law” under
§2254(d). Either way, the district court’s failure to accord AEDPA
deference to the state court’s competence finding was erroneous for the
same reason — that Ford compels no such conclusion.

15

A. Ford Requires Only Minimal Process for
Deference To Be Afforded to the State
Court’s Competence Determination.

Echoing the district court’s analysis, JA 359-61,
Panetti’s sole argument that AEDPA deference does not
apply is that the state court disregarded Ford’s holding
establishing the minimum procedural due process re-
quirements in assessing execution competence, Panetti Br.
4, n.3.’ Because the state court’s procedures fully com-
ported with the minimum protections outlined in Ford, its
judgment was entitled to statutory deference.

In concluding that the state competence determina-
tion in Ford was rot entitled to deference, the Court
established that the Constitution guarantees certain due-
process rights to habeas petitioners challenging their
competence to be executed. 477 U.S., at 411-16 (plurality
op.); id., at 423-27 (Powell, J., concurring in the judgment).
But because no majority of the Ford Court agreed on what

” Panetti does not raise an AEDPA challenge to the state court’s
application of the legal standard for execution competence, and with
good reason: there was (and is) no “clearly established federal law as
determined by the Supreme Court of the United States” on that point.
Justice Powell noted in his Ford concurrence that the plurality opinion
did not address the “meaning of insanity.” 477 U.S., at 418 (Powell, J.,
concurring in the judgment). Later, Justice Marshall, the author of the
Ford plurality opinion, confirmed that Ford did not establish a test for
execution competence. Rector v. Bryant, 501 U.S. 1239, 1241 (1991)
(Marshall, J., dissenting from denial of cert.). Although the Court has
subsequently acknowledged Justice Powell’s proffered test as the
appropriate standard in dicta, see Penry v. Lynaugh, 492 U.S. 302, 333
(1989), that reference does not constitute “clearly established law”
under the AEDPA. See Williams v. Taylor, 529 U.S. 362, 412 (2000)
(“That statutory phrase refers to the holdings, as opposed to the dicta,
of this Court’s decisions as of the time of the relevant state-court
decision.”).

And to the extent that the state court’s competence ruling encom-
passes factual determinations, Panetti likewise does not raise an
AEDPA challenge to the reasonableness of those determinations under
§2254(d\2). Accordingly, those facts must be presumed correct. 28
U.S.C. §2254(e)(1).

16

specific type or amount of process is due, Justice Powell’s
opinion concurring in the judgment — the opinion that
states the narrowest ground for the Court’s due-process
holding — controls. Marks v. United States, 430 U.S. 188,
193 (1977).

Justice Powell rejected any notion that a full-scale
“sanity trial” was constitutionally required:

“The State should provide an impartial officer or
board that can receive evidence and argument
from the prisoner’s counsel, including expert psy-
chiatric evidence that may differ from the State’s
own psychiatric examination. Beyond these basic
requirements, the States should have substantial
leeway to determine what process best balances
the various interests at stake.” Ford, 477 U.S.,
at 427 (Powell, J., concurring in the judgment)
(emphasis added).

Thus, as long as at least this level of process was provided,
former §2254(d)’s presumption of correctness applied.
And given the “substantial leeway” that state courts are
expressly given under Ford, the AEDPA today requires
even greater deference to the state court’s case-by-case
application of it. Yarborough v. Alvarado, 541 U.S. 652,
664 (2004) (“The more general the rule, the more leeway
{under the AEDPA that] courts have in reaching outcomes
in case-by-case determinations.”).

B. The State Court’s Procedures Easily Satis-
fied Ford’s Minimal Due-Process Require-
ments. ~

The Ford plurality identified three principal failings
with Florida’s procedure: (1) that it denied the prisoner
the opportunity be heard — specifically an opportunity to
submit “any material relevant to the ultimate decision;”
(2) that it denied the prisoner “any. opportunity to chal-
lenge or in.peach the state-appointed psychiatrists;” and
(3) that it placed the decision “wholly within the execu-
tive branch.” Ford, 477 U.S., at 413-16 (plurality op.).
Once those three failings are corrected, the plurality was

17

™~ —

explicit: “We do not here suggest that only a full trial on the
issue of sanity will suffice to protect the federal interests;
we leave to the State the task of developing appropriate
ways to enforce the constitutional restriction upon its
execution of sentences.” Jd., at 416 (plurality op.) (emphasis
added). And Justice Powell’s controlling concurrence was
even more emphatic, expressly noting that state procedures
“far less formal than a trial” would suffice. Jd., at 427
(Powell, J., concurring in the judgment) (emphasis added).

The procedures employed by the state court satisfy all
three requirements of Ford. First, unlike Ford — who was
not “included in the truth seeking process,” id., at 413
(plurality op.) — Panetti was provided with ample opportu-
nity to be heard. Florida prehibited consideration of any
materials submitted by Ford, ibid.; Panetti, in contrast,
was statutorily entitled to submit any “affidavits, records,
or other evidence” supporting his allegation of incompe-
tence, Tex. Code Crim. Proc. art. 46.05(c); JA 59, and he
did in fact submit such materials, JA 102, 108-12.

Second, unlike Ford — who was denied “any opportu-
nity to challenge or impeach the state-appointed psychia-
trists,” Ford, 477 U.S., at 415 (plurality op.) - Panetti was
expressly invited by the Court to submit any objections or
challenges to the court-appointed psychiatrists, JA 77-78,
and he did in fact submit such objections and challenges,
JA 79-98.

Third, and most importantly, unlike Ford — whose
competence proceedings were “wholly within the executive
branch,” Ford, 477 U.S., at 416 (plurality op.) - Panetti
had his competence challenge adjudicated by an impartial
court of law. Tex. Code Crim. Proc. art. 46.05(b). This is in
stark contrast to Ford, which considered the executive-
branch nature of the proceedings to be “[p]erhaps the most
striking defect in the [Florida] procedures.” 477 U.S., at
416 (plurality op.); see also id., at 427 (Powell, J., concur-
ring in the judgment).

Nonetheless, Panetti complains that the state court
denied his requests for “adversarial proceedings by which
he could contest the court-appointed experts’ opinions.”

18

Panetti Br. 4, n.3. But nothing in Justice Powell’s control-
ling Ford concurrence suggests that a live adversarial
hearing is necessary to satisfy due-process requirements in
this context. Indeed, Justice Powell expressly observed to
the contrary that “ordinary procedures — complete with live
testimony, cross-examination, and oral argument by counsel
— are not necessarily the best means of arriving at sound,
consistent judgments as to a defendant’s sanity.” Ford, 477
US., at 426 (Powell, J., concurring in the judgment).

Additionally, Panetti argues that the state court
erroneously decided his competence claim without ap-
pointing a psychiatric expert for him. Panetti Br. 4-5, n.3.
This argument is likewise unavailing. Although Justice
Powell’s opinion stated that due process requires that the
court accept any evidence from petitioner’s counsel, “in-
cluding psychiatric evidence that may differ from the
State’s own psychiatric examination,” see Ford, 477 U.S.,
at 427 (Powell, J., concurring in the judgment), nothing in
Ford gave Panetti a constitutional right to the appoint-
ment of his own expert at state expense. And, unlike in
Ford, neither Dr. Parker nor Dr. Anderson was the State’s
expert. Rather, each was a neutral mental-health expert
appointed by the state court. JA 59-60; see Tex. Code
Crim. Proc. art. 46.05(f).

In any event, Panetti did in fact submit his own
expert psychiatric evidence to the state court. Specifically,
Panetti presented the report of Dr. Mark Cunningham in
his second motion to determine competence under Texas
Code of Criminal Procedure Article 46.05, JA 102, 108-10,
which in turn prompted the state court to appoint its own
experts to evaluate Panetti, JA 59. After Drs. Parker and
Anderson submitted their report, the court invited Panetti
to respond. JA 77-78. In his detailed submission, JA 79-98,
Panetti relied on the Cunningham report to challenge Drs.
Parker and Anderson’s conclusions, JA 94-95.

Under any measure, the state-court proceedings
satisfied the strictures of Ford. Therefore, §2254(d),
as applied, is not unconstitutional. And because the
procedures were consistent with Ford, the state court’s

19

adjudication likewise did not contradict or unreasonably
apply “clearly established Federal law, as determined
by the Supreme Court of the United States.” 28 U.S.C.
§2254(d). Accordingly, the state court’s determination that
Panetti is competent to be executed statutorily bars his
request for federal habeas relief.

Il. Even If AEDPA Deference Does Not Apply, Pa-
netti’s Execution Does Not Violate the Eighth
Amendment.

Only if the Court concludes that the AEDPA does not
bar habeas review should it reach Panetti’s claim that the
court of appeals employed the wrong legal standard for
execution competence. Although Ford held that the Eighth
Amendment proscribes execution of the “insane,” 477 U.S.,
at 409-10, the Court did not define “insanity” or otherwise
delineate the constitutional threshold of competence to be
executed, id., at 418 (Powell, J., concurring in the judg-
ment), a question which remains unresolved.

Before turning to the merits of that claim, two issues
bear emphasis. First, there is no dispute that, under Ford,
executing the insane violates the Eighth Amendment.
Executing the insane was forbidden at common law, and it
is forbidden today. Although Panetti and his amici en-
deavor to frame this case as the final and most important
installment in the soon-to-be Atkins-Roper trilogy, that
book has already been written — in Ford. And second,
there is no dispute that, like many capital defendants,
Panetti suffers from some degree of mental illness. Panetti
devotes considerable energy to demonstrating this undis-
puted fact, while never confronting the fact findings made
by the state and federal district courts and the unbroken
line of judicial determinations of his competence.

The only legal question before the Court on the merits
of this case is what is the definition of “insanity” — that is,
what must a court find to conclude that a capital murderer
is constitutionally incompetent to be executed.

20

In determining whether the Eighth Amendment bars
a particular punishment as “cruel and unusual,” the Court
has followed a well-established analytical path. First, the
Court examines whether the punishment was among
“those modes or acts of punishment that had been consid-
ered cruel and unusual at the time that the Bill of Rights
was adopted” in 1791. Ford, 477 U.S., at 405; see also
Solem v. Helm, 463 U.S. 277, 285-86 (1983). Second, the
Court considers whether the punishment is deemed cruel
and unusual according to modern “standards of decency.”
Roper v. Simmons, 543 U.S. 551, 560-61 (2005) (quoting
Trop v. Dulles, 356 U.S. 86, 101 (1958) (plurality op.)).
Those standards derive principally from “objective evi-
dence of contemporary values,” the “clearest and most
reliable” of which is “the legislation enacted by the coun-
try’s legislatures.” Atkins v. Virginia, 536 U.S. 304, 312
(2002) (citation and quotation marks omitted). Finally, the
Court applies its “independent judgment” to evaluate “the
acceptability of a particular punishment under the Eighth
Amendment.” Roper, 543 U.S., at 563-64. In capital cases,
the Court has made this assessment primarily by refer-
ence to “the penological justifications for the death pen-
alty.” See id., at 571; Atkins, 536 U.S., at 317.

This three-part analysis does not support Panetti’s
contention that, under the Eighth Amendment, a capital
convict must “rationally understand” the reasons for his _
execution before it may proceed. Although execution of the
“insane” was deemed cruel and unusual in 1791, Ford, 477
U.S., at 406-08, the common law did not then draw fine
distinctions in mental ability, and thus did not delineate
any precise competence standard. Consequently, the
standards of the common law are, at best, inconclusive.
Likewise, a survey of modern state legislation offers
indefinite guidance, as it yields no consensus at all on the
mental faculty a capital murderer must possess at the
time of his execution. Finally, in the exercise of its inde-
pendent judgment, the Court should reject the proposition
that a capital convict must possess a “rational understand-
ing” of the reasons for his execution to render death an
acceptable punishment under the Eighth Amendment.

21

Such a standard is not tailored to the particular interests
at stake in the post-sentencing phase of capital proceed-
ings, invites malingering and abuse, and is not necessary
to advance the retributive and deterrent justifications for
the death penalty.

For all of these reasons, the Court should reject
Panetti’s and his amici’s proposed execution-competence
standards. It should instead hold that a mentally ill
capital convict is incompetent to be executed only if,
because of his illness, he lacks the capacity to recognize
that his punishment (1) is the result of his being convicted
of capital murder and (2) will cause his death. Under this
standard, Panetti is competent to be executed.

A. The General Rule Against Executing the
Insane in 1791 Does Not [Illuminate the
Specific Level of Understanding That De-
fines the Eighth Amendment Floor.

“(T]he Eighth Amendment’s ban on cruel and unusual
punishment embraces, at a minimum, those modes or acts
of punishment that had been considered cruel and unusual
at the time that the Bill of Rights was adopted” in 1791.
Id., at 405. It is now settled that this category included
execution of the “insane.” Jd., at 406-08. Thus, the relevant
historical inquiry is what degree of mental incapacity
qualified as “insanity” and triggered the ban, or, con-
versely, what level of understanding a capital convict then
had to possess to be eligible for execution.

As amici Legal Historians explain, the law of that
time “reveals no precise definitions or uniform standards
used ... to determine mental competency.” Legal Histori-
ans Br. 4. For that reason, no contemporary competence
metric defined as a specific consciousness level — including
the court of appeals’s “awareness” standard and Panetti’s
proposed “rational understanding” test — can claim any
eighteenth-century pedigree. Because the Court’s task
here is to prescribe the grade of understanding that marks
the constitutional threshold, the historical prong of the
Eighth Amendment inquiry is ultimately unhelpful.

22

Nevertheless, the historians believe that they can
divine enough of the ancient meaning of insanity to
conclude that a court in the Framers’ era would have
spared Panetti from his sentence. Panetti and the histori-
ans also infer from rationales for the ban on executing the
insane that it protected all who did not “rationally under-
stand” the reasons for their execution. The Court should
reject this speculation. Whether Panetti’s delusional
behavior would have earned him a reprieve from execution
in 1791 is, at best, indeterminate. And whatever one may
infer in hindsight from commentators’ justifications for
insulating the “insane” from capital punishment, such
inferences still do not confirm any discernible scale of
mental awareness that eighteenth-century judges and
juries actually applied in assessing execution competence.

1. Eighteenth-century courts did not employ
a competence standard that corresponds
to any particular level of understanding
defined today.

The State agrees with amici Legal Historians that the
Eighth Amendment incorporates “at least those protec-
tions from punishment the common law afforded English
subjects” at the time it was adopted, Legal Historians Br.
7, and thus that late eighteenth-century English prece-
dents and practice are the primary sources of information
about the Amendment’s original scope. The State further
agrees that these sources “did not bequeath definitive
standards to determine competence for execution.” /d., at
21.

* Indeed, this was true of competence at any stage of criminal
proceedings, as “there were simply no clear, accessible definitions of
derangement judges could include in their instructions to a jury that
might indicate what ‘threshold level’ might preclude criminal responsi-
bility.” Joel Peter Eigen, Witnessing Insanity: Madness and Mad
Doctors in the English Court 38 (1995); see also Joel Peter Eigen,
Unconscious Crime: Mental Absence and Criminal Responsibility in
Victorian London 24 (2003).

23

To the extent the common law did draw any distinc-
tions in competence levels for criminal proceedings, it was
only between “total insanity” and “partial insanity.” Only
the former provided a basis for acquittal or a reprieve from
execution. Eigen, Unconscious Crime, supra, at 40 (noting
that, prior to 1800, “criminal law recognized only a total
want of understanding and memory - a total insanity — as
grounds for acquittal”); 1 Matthew Hale, The History of
the Pleas of the Crown 30 (1736) (observing that “partial
insanity seems not to excuse them in the committing of
any offence for its matter capital”). Even then, Hale
acknowledged that “it is very difficult to define the indi-
visible line that divides perfect and partial sanity” and
explained that ultimately the judge and jury must make
that determination based on the particular circumstances
of the case. 1 Hale, supra, at 30; see also 4 William Black-
stone, Commentaries on the Laws of England 25 (lst
English ed. 1769) (“But if there be any doubt, whether the
party be compos or not, this shall be tried by a jury.”).

In this endeavor, courts of that era could not avail
themselves of “the sophisticated and intricate diagnostic
tools and categories developed by modern psychiatry.”
Legal Historians Br. 16. Indeed, doctors seldom even
participated in competence assessments. Eigen, Witness-
ing Insanity, supra, at 42 (noting that “medical men were
rarely present [in criminal] proceedings) throughout the
late 1700s”). “Usually it was not medical evidence but the
testimony of relatives, friends, or spectators that per-
suaded the court that the defendant had been mad... .”
Nigel Walker, The Insanity Defense Before 1800, 477
Annals Am. Acad. Pol. & Soc. Sci. 25, 30 (1985).

Given the indefinite insanity criteria of eighteenth-
century English practice, the historians urge that the
relatively strict competence standard applied by the court
of appeals — requiring that Panetti simply be “aware” of
his impending execution and the State’s reasons for it —
finds no support in the common law in 1791. Legal Histo-
rians Br. 19. That may well be the case.

24

But for the very same reason that the court of ap-
peals’s “awareness” test was unknown in 1791, so too was
Panetti’s proposed “rational understanding” test. Just as
English courts “did not draw the fine lines the Fifth
Circuit did,” ibid., neither did they draw the equally—
specific line that Panetti proposes. The vague formulations
employed by eighteenth-century courts, lacking a clear
taxonomy and uninformed by expert analysis, do not
translate to any of the specific competence standards
known to modern jurisprudence. Consequently, this first
stage of the Eighth Amendment inquiry does not define
the threshold level of execution competence.

2. The Court should reject amici Legal
Historians’ speculation that Panetti
would not have been executed under
eighteenth-century standards.

Although the historians acknowledge that the Fram-
ers would have found their era’s competence standards
“imprecise or even amorphous,” they nonetheless conclude
that “the law as generally understood then would not have
allowed the execution of a mentally ill and delusional
defendant like Mr. Panetti.” Legal Historians Br. 22. This
assertion appears to rest on two interpretations they
suggest concerning the eighteenth-century standard for
execution competence: (1) that it was more lenient than
the standard for trial fitness; and (2) that it approximated
the understanding of a fourteen-year-old child. Jd., at 14-
16, 18-19. Neither proffered interpretation is well founded.

a. The standard for execution compe-
tence in 1791 was not discernibly
lower than that for competence to
stand trial.

Because the common law dictated that a person could
be adjudged insane and spared execution even when he had

previously been found competent to stand trial, the histori-
ans deduce that either (1) the common law accounted for

25

mental] deterioration between conviction and execution or
(2) execution competence was a lower standard than trial
fitness. Jd., at 14-15. They settle on the latter explanation,
id., at 15, but for dubious reasons.

First; the historians speculate that it would have been
uncommon for a convict’s mental state to deteriorate
during the relatively short interval between conviction and
execution. However infrequent, though, such lapses —
rather than application of a lower competence standard —
were in fact the explicit basis of the common-law rule
allowing reassessment of sanity before execution: “[IIf,
after judgment, he becomes of nonsane memory, execution
shall be stayed.” 4 Blackstone, supra, at 24 (emphasis
added); see also 1 Hale, supra, at 35 (same). Second, the
historians note that it was within the discretion of the
court or king to assess a convict’s execution competence.
Legal Historians Br. 15. Even so, Blackstone and Hale
agree that the assessment itself was generally left to a
jury, 4 Blackstone, supra, at 25; 1 Hale, supra, at 35, and
they do not suggest that jurors used any different test for
insanity in this regard. Third, the historians reason that
an execution reprieve, which could be temporary, logically
demanded a lower standard than did a trial, in which
“resolution of the defendant’s criminal responsibility” was
at stake. Legal Historians Br. 15. That supposition has no
eighteenth-century basis and ignores the strong interest in
carrying out a valid sentence.

In any event, the historians’ interpretation is refuted
by the plain text of Hale’s and Blackstone’s lengthy dis-
courses on the law of insanjty, neither of which draws any
distinction at all between the standards for trial fitness
and execution competence. 1 Hale, supra, at 35 (explaining
that “if such person after his plea, and before his trial,
become of non sane memory, he shall not be tried . . . or, if
after judgment he becomes of non sane memory, his
execution shall be spared”); 4 Blackstone, supra, at 388-89
(applying term non compos to describe basis for exempting
defendant from further proceedings at all stages of capital
cases). Surely if execution competence required a different

26

test, these venerable authorities would have noted it in
these pertinent sections of their texts.

b. Hale’s fourteen-year-old standard
provides no basis to conclude that a
court would have stayed Panetti’s
execution in 1791.

Relying on Hale and other commentators, the histori-
ans also argue that “the level of understanding required to
meet the more forgiving standard of fitness for execution
was at least that of a child less than 14 years old.” Legal
Historians Br. 19.° Conceding that this test is “indefinite,”
they nonetheless argue that “it does not support the Fifth
Circuit’s approach.” Jbid. But as with other competence
definitions of the time, it is too vague to support any
particular metric of understanding.

First, one can only speculate how the Framers would
have ranked the mental capacity of a fourteen-year-old. But
more importantly, Hale’s age-based criterion was not the
definitive eighteenth-century standard. Blackstone, writing
in 1769, observed that the legal capacity of children them-
selves no longer hewed strictly to age groupings in capital
cases. 4 Blackstone, supra, at 23 (“[T]he capacity of doing
ill, or contracting guilt, is not so much measured by years
and days, as by the strength of the delinquent’s understand-
ing and judgment. For one lad of eleven years old may have
as much cunning as another of fourteen . .. .”). He then
describes the execution of several children between ages
eight and thirteen under this standard. /d., at 23-24.

And to the extent that Hale’s formulation still had any
currency in 1791, the historians admit that its application

* The historians’ implications that Hale’s 14-year-old standard was
specifically tailored for “fitness for execution” and was somehow “more
forgiving” than the competence test applied at other stages are incor-
rect. Hale expressly discussed this standard as applying to all phases of
capital proceedings. 1 Hale, supra, at 30.

27

“appears, if anything, to have been more indefinite.” Legal
Historians Br. 19 (emphasis added). Consequently, the
fourteen-year-old standard is of negligible utility in assess-
ing whether an eighteenth-century judge or jury would
have found Panetti competent to be executed.

c. Panetti’s claimed delusional behavior
would not necessarily have exempted
him from execution in 1791.

It is at the very least doubtful whether the specific
mental infirmity at the heart of Panetti’s claim — his
delusion of religious persecution, Panetti Br. 28 — would
have earned him a reprieve from execution in 1791. As one
commentator notes, “delusions” were not introduced as an
insanity defense until the trial of James Hadfield for the
attempted assassination of King George III in 1800, nine
years after the Eighth Amendment’s adoption. Eigen,
Witnessing Insanity, supra, at 49-51. And even Hadfield’s
acquittal “did not inaugurate delusion’s ‘career’ as a
regular feature of the insanity defense.” Jd., at 51. Indeed,
“(ijt was another twelve years before delusion was intro-
duced into testimony at the Old Bailey by a medical
witness.” Ibid.

Another commentator confirms that Hale’s “perfect
insanity” and fourteen-year-old measures did not encom-
pass delusional behavior as we understand it today:

“In the time of this eminent jurist insanity was a
much less frequent disease than it now is, and
the popular notions concerning it were derived
from the observation of those wretched inmates
of the mad-houses .... Those nice shades of the
disease, in which the mind, without being
wholly driven from its propriety, pertinaciously
clings to some absurd delusion, were either re-
garded as something very different from real
madness, or were too few, too far removed from
the common gaze, and too soon_converted by bad
management into the more active forms of the
disease to enter much into the general idea

28

entertained of madness.” Isaac Ray, A Treatise
on the Medical Jurisprudence of Insanity 21
(1962).

Accordingly, although eighteenth-century precedents may
yield limited examples of persons adjudged “insane” who
exhibited delusional behavior, the relevant commentaries
call into question the notion that such persons would
generally have been spared from capital sentences.

3. The Court cannot reliably derive the
precise scope of the ban on executing
the insane in 1791 from rationales ad-
vanced to justify the ban.

The Legal Historians invite the Court to divine the
precise level of understanding contemplated by the eight-
eenth-century ban on executing the “insane” by drawing
inferences from various suggested rationales for the
prohibition. Legal Historians Br. 22; see also Panetti Br.
37-40. Such an approach is fraught with uncertainty,
particularly when the rationales “do not provide a common
answer.” Ford, 477 U.S., at 419 (Powell, J., concurring in
the judgment).

If the contours of the ban hinged on the ability of the
convict to seek clemency or on the inhumanity of executing
the severely mentally ill, one has to question the extent to
which those reasons actually influenced the administra-
tion of capital punishment by courts that also sentenced
eight- and ten-year-old children to be hanged. See 4
Blackstone, supra, at 23-24. If the prohibition reflected the
view that mental illness is its own punishment, see id., at
389, the application would have depended entirely on the
jury’s assessment of whether the convict’s particular
illness was a sufficient penalty for his capital crime. If the
idea was to spare those who could not prepare for their
deaths, Justice Powell believed that to be satisfied so long
as the defendant is “aware that his death is approaching,”
Ford, 477 U.S., at 422 (Powell, J., concurring in the
judgment), which Panetti has been found to be, JA 372.

29

And although some believed that execution of the insane
would not deter sane persons, others at the time clearly
disagreed.”

B. Contemporary State Legislation Does Not
Yield a National Consensus on the Thresh-
old Level of Execution Competence.

In addition to forbidding punishment that was consid-
ered cruel and unusual in 1791, the Eighth Amendment
also prohibits modes of punishment that are inconsistent
with “evolving standards of decency that mark the pro-
gress of a maturing society.” Ford, 477 U.S., at 406 (cita-
tion omitted). The “clearest and most reliable objective
evidence of contemporary values is the legislation enacted
by the country’s legislatures.” Atkins, 536 U.S., at 312
(citation omitted). A survey of this legislation does not
support Panetti’s claim that a national consensus places
the threshold of execution competence at “rational under-
standing.” Panetti Br. 40. Rather, it reveals that no dis-
cernible consensus currently exists on this question.

As Panetti notes, of the thirty-eight States that
authorize capital punishment, half do not have any statu-
tory definition of execution competence. /bid. By itself, this
statistic undermines the notion that there is any sort of
national “standard” on the requisite level of understand-
ing. Because those States’ citizens have yet to weigh in on
this issue, it is impossible to know how they would define
competence in this context.”

* Compare Edward Coke, The Third Part of the Institutes of the
Laws of England: Concerning High Treason, and Other Pleas of the
Crown, and Criminal Causes 6 (1797) (citing lack of deterrent effect),
with John Hawles, Remarks on the Trial of Charles Bateman 476, in 11
A Complete Collection of State Trials and Proceedings for High Treason
and Other Crimes and Misdemeanors (1811) (disagreeing with Coke
because “the terror tq the living is equal, whether the person [executed}
be mad or in his senses”).

" Panetti rightly does not suggest that the lack of a death-penalty
statute in the remaining twelve States bears in any way on whether a
(Continued on following page)

30

Furthermore, the state legislatures that have ad-
dressed the issue do not agree upon a standard. Texas
classifies as incompetent for execution a convict who “does
not understand: (1) that he or she is to be executed and
that the execution is imminent; and (2) the reason he or
she is being executed.” Tex. Code Crim. Proc. art. 46.05(h).
But this statute does not require the “rational understand-
ing” that Panetti urges, and indeed, Panetti was adjudged
competent to be executed under Article 46.05. JA 99. Four
other States mimic the court of appeals’s test, requiring
only that the convict be “aware” that he will be put to
death for a capital crime.”

The remaining fourteen States define execution
competence in terms of the convict’s capacity to under-
stand or know his sentence and the reasons for it.’ Like

consensus exists for purposes of execution competence. Although the
Roper Court found it appropriate to count those States in tallying the
jurisdictions that barred execution of juvenile offenders, 543 U.S., at
574, the present analysis demands a different calculus. Although a
State’s wholesale rejection of the death penalty may subsume its view
as to whether a particular category of offenders may be executed, it does
not speak to the distinct issue of when a person presumed competent
and eligible for his capital sentence may nonetheless be deemed
incompetent to proceed with the execution. See Ford, 477 U.S., at 425
(Powell, J., concurring in the judgment) (noting that in execution-
competence context, “the only question raised is not whether, but when,
|the) execution may take place”).

" Ariz. Rev. Stat. Ann. §13-4021(B); Colo. Rev. Stat. §18-1.3-
1401(2); Md. Code Ann., Corr. Servs. §3-904(a)(2); Utah Code Ann. §77-
19-201. Panetti mistakenly omits Utah from this group. Panetti Br. 40-
41 & n.25. Panetti also incorrectly posits that these statutes “implicitly”
embrace what Panetti inaccurately labels a “rational understanding”
requirement. J/bid.; see infra Part II.C.2. The word “awareness” alone
certainly does not imply the robust appreciation that Panetti mislabels
“rational understanding.”

* Florida, Idaho, Missouri, Montana, New York, Ohio, and Wyoming
use the words “capacity” or “capable.” Fla. Stat. §922.07(3); Idaho Code
Ann. §18-210; Mo. Ann. Stat. §552.060(1); Mont. Code Ann. §46-14-103;
N.Y. Correct. Law §656(1); Ohio Rev. Code Ann. §2949.28(A); Wyo. Stat.
Ann. §7-13-901(aXv). Georgia, Kentucky, North Carolina, and Oregon use
the term “ability.” Ga. Code Ann. §17-10-60; Ky. Rev. Stat. Ann.

(Continued on following page)

31

Texas’s statute, most of these provisions are ambiguous
with respect to the type of “understanding” that is the
focus of the capacity inquiry. Only four contain language
that arguably requires, or has been interpreted to require,
the “rational understanding” showing that Panetti pro-
poses." Georgia directs that the convict be able “to know”
why he is being executed and the nature of the punish-
ment, Ga. Code Ann. §17-10-60, which implies simply an
awareness of the reasons for his impending death. The
other nine use the term “understand” without qualifica-
tion,” leaving it unclear whether those statutes require for
competence to be executed “factual understanding” or
“rational understanding” — a distinction that has been a
feature of competence-to-stand-trial jurisprudence at least

§431.213; N.C. Gen. Stat. §15A-1001; Or. Rev. Stat. §137.463(6\a).
Arkansas and Louisiana use “competence” to understand. Ark. Code
Ann. §16-90-506(d)(1)(B); La. Rev. Stat. Ann. §15:567.1(B). Finally,
Mississippi uses the phrase “sufficient intelligence.” Miss. Code Ann.
§99-19-57(2)(b). As the district court observed, assessing a convict’s
capacity to understand is not the same as assessing whether he in fact
actually understands. JA 364-65; see infra Part II.C.3.

“ See Provenzano v. State, 750 So. 2d 597, 602 (Fla. 1999)
(per curiam) (holding that Florida’s éxecution-competence provision
“contains a rationality element, albeit a limited one”); Billiot v. State,
655 So. 2d 1, 15 (Miss. 1995) (suggesting that Mississippi's execution-
competence statute contemplates whether the convict has “a rational
understanding of what it means to be executed” and “the ability to
rationally connect his crime with the fact that he will be executed”);
N.C. Gen. Stat. §15A-1001 (requiring as element of competence for any
punishment that convict be able “to comprehend his own situation in
reference to the proceedings”); Or. Rev. Stat. §137.463(6)(a) (requiring
that capital convict be “able to comprehend the reasons for the sentence
of death and its implications”).

* Ark. Code Ann. §16-90-506(d)(1XB); Idaho Code Ann. §18-210;
Ky. Rev. Stat. Ann. §431.213; La. Rev. Stat. Ann. §15:567.1(B); Mo. Ann.
Stat. §552.060(1); Mont. Code Ann. §46-14-103; N.Y. Correct. Law
§656(1); Ohio Rev. Code Ann. §2949.28(A); Wyo. Stat. Ann. §7-13-
90 l(av). ;

32

since the Court handed down Dusky v. United States, 362
U.S. 402, 402 (1960) (per curiam)."*

Thus, the States whose legislatures have defined
“ execution competence make up a fractured lot. Although a
majority emphasizes the convict’s capacity, neither a
majority view, nor even a clear plurality view, emerges
about what level of understanding a capital murderer
must have the capacity to possess. Even the fourteen
States that look to convicts’ capacity still represent only 37
percent of the jurisdictions that authorize capital punish-
ment. And of those fourteen, only four arguably embrace
some form of what Panetti would term “rational under-
standing,” and even they focus on capacity, rather than an
actual demonstration of specific understanding. Those four
jurisdictions constitute only 10.5 percent of death-penalty
States, far less than a consensus by any measure. Indeed,
an equal number adopt a variant of the court of appeals’s
“awareness” test that Panetti challenges. Thus, at least at
the current time, the varied approaches of the several
state legislatures yield no objective consensus from which
the Court can divine any national standard reflecting
contemporary values on execution competence.”

* Panetti includes in his accounting judicial decisions from five
States with no statutory definition of execution competence. Panetti Br.
41-42 & n.30. The Court should reject this attempted expansion of the
Eighth Amendment inquiry for two reasons. First, because the point of
this survey is to assess “contemporary values,” the Court has focused
principally on “the legislation enacted by the country’s legislatures,”
Atkins, 536 U.S., at 312 (citation omitted), which presumably reflects
the mores of the electorate. By contrast, judicial opinions cannot claim
the same representative quality. Second, only three of these decisions
purport to express state law, and they each differ in substance. Bing-
ham v. State, 169 P.2d 311, 314 (Okla. Crim. App. 1946); Singleton v.
State, 437 S.E.2d 53, 58 (S.C. 1993), Van Tran v. State, 6 S.W.3d 257,
265-66 (Tenn. 1999). The remaining two address the federal constitu-
tional standard. Baird v. State, 833 N.E.2d 28, 29 (Ind. 2005); Com-
monwealth v. Jermyn, 652 A.2d 821, 822 (Pa. 1995).

” Panetti further relies on professional opinion to support his view
that “rational understanding” should be the constitutional standard.
Panetti Br. 42-43. This reliance is misplaced. In Atkins, the Court

(Continued on following page)

33

C. The Court Should Hold That the Appropriate
Constitutional Standard for Competence To
Be Executed Is Whether a Defendant Has the
Capacity To Recognize That His Punishment
Is the Result of His Being Convicted of Capi-
tal Murder and Will Cause His Death.

Because the foregoing historical and contemporary
surveys yield no clear standard for execution competence
under the Eighth Amendment, the Court’s typical past
practice would be to apply its “own independent judgment”
to define the level of mental incapacity that renders death
a constitutionally impermissible penalty. See Roper, 543
U.S., at.564. Both Panetti’s and his amici’s proposed
execution-competence standards are deeply flawed. The
State urges the Court to reject those proposals and instead
adopt a clearer and more objective test. Specifically, the
Court should hold that a mentally ill capital convict is
incompetent to be executed only if, because of his illness,
he lacks the capacity to recognize that his punishment
(1) is the result of his being convicted of capital murder
and (2) will cause his death.

The State’s proposed standard — derived from Ford
and the Court’s Eighth Amendment jurisprudence -
prevents the execution of the truly incompetent, while at
the same time (1) incorporating essential safeguards

looked to professional] opinion, religious opinion, international consen-
sus, and polling data only after it had found a state-law consensus
against executing the mentally retarded. See 536 U.S., at 316, n.21.

Even if there were such a consensus, the additional evidence that
Panetti cites is sparse in comparison to that adduced in Atkins. Cf. ibid.
Panetti, for example, proffers no evidence of any international consen-
sus, perhaps because no other country has yet addressed the specific
question before the Court. And when the United Nations addressed the
question, it declined to opine at al] as to the substantive standard that
should be employed. See Safeguards Guaranteeing Protection of the
Rights of Those Facing the Death Penalty, E.S.C. Res. 1984/50, U.N.
ESCOR, Supp. No. 1, at 33, U.N. Doc. E/1984/92 (1984) (setting a
prohibition on execution of “persons who have become insane” but not
defining insanity).

34

against malingering and noncooperation with psychologi-
cal examiners, (2) being specifically tailored to the post-
sentencing phase of capital proceedings, and (3) effectively
advancing the modern penological interests behind the
death penalty.

1. Because of the inherent uncertainties
and subjectivity of psychiatric testing,
and the risks of malingering and abuse,
any standard for competence to be exe-
cuted should be rigorous and clear.

Panetti and his amici endeavor to frame this case as a
natural extension of Atkins and Roper. But mental illness
. differs from mental retardation and age in several mate-
rial respects. Unlike age and mental retardation, severe
mental illness is (1) subject to conflicting diagnoses,
(2) given to subjectivity, (3) mutable over time, and (4) in
some instances, within the ability of the individual to
ameliorate or exacerbate, by voluntarily taking —- or
ceasing to take — medications that may help control the
illness. Each of these distinctions renders incompetence to
be executed far more susceptible to malingering or abuse
than is either age or mental retardation.

The Court has often noted the difficulties that attend
even the most skilled psychiatric diagnoses. “[P]sychiatrists
disagree widely and frequently on what constitutes mental
illness [and] on the appropriate diagnosis to be attached to
given behavior and symptoms.” Ake v. Oklahoma, 470 U.S.
68, 81 (1985). For that reason, “a particularly acute need
for guarding against error inheres in a determination that
‘in the present state of the mental sciences is at best a
hazardous guess however conscientious.” Ford, 477 U.S.,
at 412 (plurality op.) (quoting Solesbee v. Balkcom, 339
U.S. 9, 23 (1950) (Frankfurter, J., dissenting)). As Justice
Powell explained,

“Unlike issues of historical fact, the question

of petitioner’s sanity calls for a basically subjec-

tive judgment. And unlike a determination of

whether the death penalty is appropriate in a

35

particular case, the competency determination
depends substantially on expert analysis in a
discipline fraught with ‘subtleties and nuances.’”
Id., at 426 (Powell, J., concurring in the judg-
ment) (quoting Addington v. Texas, 441 U.S. 418,
430 (1979)) (citations omitted).

Just last Term, the Court observed that the medical
definitions of mental illness “are subject to flux and
disagreement,” and that such diagnoses “may mask
vigorous debate within the profession about the very
~ contours of the mental disease itself.” Clark v. Arizona,
126 S.Ct. 2709, 2722, 2734 (2006). “[T]he consequence of
this professional ferment,” the Court noted, “is a general
caution in treating psychological classifications as predi-
cates for excusing otherwise criminal conduct.” Id., at
2734.

Not only are psychiatric diagnoses subjective and
frequently conflicting, they are by their nature subject to
change. Atkins and Roper were predicated on constant
variables: if a defendant is fifteen or seventeen or twenty
at the time of the crime, that age at that instant is fixed
and unchanging; likewise, if an individual is of normal
intelligence throughout his or her life, that person cannot
be expected later to become mentally retarded. In contrast,
if a person is sane yesterday and today, that does not mean
he or she will be sane tomorrow.

As Justice O’Connor cautioned in Ford, that mutabil-
ity carries with it serious risks of malingering:
“(T]he potential for false claims and deliberate
delay in this context is obviously enormous. This
potential is exacerbated by a unique feature of
the prisoner’s protected interest in suspending
the execution of a death sentence during incom-
petency. By definition, this interest can never be
conclusively and finally determined: Regardless
of the number of prior adjudications of the issue,
until the very moment of execution the prisoner
can claim that he has become insane sometime
after the previous determination to the contrary.”
477 U.S., at 429 (O’Connor, J., concurring in part

36

and dissenting in part) (citations omitted) (first

two emphases added).”

Finally, unlike with age or retardation, capital
murderers facing execution may have some ability to
voluntarily choose to render themselves incompetent to
be executed simply by ceasing to take their medication.
Indeed, in the case at bar, the evidence indicates that
Panetti’s medication had been largely successful in con-
trolling his mental illness, Federal Petition Ex. 14, at 462-
63, but that he willingly chose to stop taking it, id., at 431,
436; 3.CR.360.

2. Panetti’s proposed “rational understand-
ing” standard has no basis in the Court’s
precedent and would invite abuse.

The Court has recognized that “a defendant’s mental
condition may be relevant to more than one legal issue,
each governed by distinct rules reflecting quite different
policies.” Drope, 420 U.S., at 176: Accordingly, legal compe-
tence evaluations must be specifically tailored to the stage
of proceedings at which they apply. See Rees v. Peyton, 384
U.S. 312, 314 (1966) (per curiam). :

As Justice Powell accurately noted in Ford, an
“Eighth Amendment [incompetence to be executed] claim
can arise only after the prisoner has been validly convicted
of a capital crime and sentenced to death.” 477 U.S., at 425
(Powell, J., concurring in the judgment). Thus, the rele-
vant inquiry is merely when, and not whether, a valid
death sentence may be carried out. Jd., at 425 & n.5; see
Panetti Br. 47 (recognizing that “an offender’s execution
can proceed if he regains his sanity”). Because the “ra-
tional understanding” test that Panetti and the APA urge
addresses concerns that are absent in the post-sentencing

* In so noting, Justice O'Connor echoed the concerns of Hale, who,
some three centuries earlier, likewise urged courts to guard against the
potential for “great fraud” concerning those claiming incompetence. 1
Hale, supra, at 35; Legal Historians Br. 15, n.8.

37

phase of capital proceedifigs, the Court should decline to
adopt it.

a. A “rational understanding” inquiry
would engraft Fifth and Sixth Amend-
ment concerns on an Eighth Amend-
ment test.

Although Panetti uses the phrase loosely, “rational
understanding” is a specific term of art; it describes the
core of several] pre-sentencing competence tests. “Rational
understanding” was introduced in Dusky, in which the
Court defined the test for competence to stand trial as
whether the defendant has “sufficient present ability to
consult with his lawyer with a reasonable degree of ra-
tional understanding” and has “a rational as well as
factual understanding of the proceedings against him.”
362 U.S., at 402 (quotation marks omitted); see also
Godinez v. Moran, 509 U.S. 389, 398 (1993) (concluding
that the “rational understanding” test should also be used
to measure a defendant’s competence to plead guilty and
to waive the right to counsel).

In explaining the “rational-understanding” compo-
nent of pre-sentencing competence determinations, the
Godinez Court emphasized the “strategic choices” that
criminal defendants must be capable of making for a
court to find them competent to relinquish such signifi-
cant trial rights as the Fifth Amendment’s privilege
against self-incrimination and the Sixth Amendment’s
rights to jury trial and confrontation of adverse witnesses.
Ibid.; see Boykin v. Alabama, 395 U.S. 238, 243 (1969).
The Court went on to note additional strategic choices,
including “whether (and how) to put on a defense and
whether to raise one or more affirmative defenses,” that a
defendant who pleads not guilty will be called upon to
make during the course of trial. Godinez, 509 U.S., at 398.

For all of these strategic choices, a “rational under-
standing” is necessary to ensure that defendants do not
foolishly or mistakenly relinquish valuable constitutional
rights. A defendant faced with such choices must be able to

38

“understand the nature and object of the proceedings
against him, to consult with counsel, and to assist in
preparing his defense.” Drope, 420 U.S., at 171.

But a capital convict, unlike a capital defendant, has
substantially fewer rights, and there are no significant
strategic choices left for him to make. See Herrera v.
Collins, 506 U.S. 390, 399 (1993) (explaining that the
presumption of innocence disappears after conviction and
listing numerous constitutional rights that defendants
enjoy but that convicts do not); Barefoot v. Estelle, 463 U.S.
880, 887-88 (1983) (discussing the “secondary and limited”
nature of federal habeas proceedings); see also Ford, 477
U.S., at 421 (Powell, J., concurring in the judgment)
(noting that, because the Court’s “decisions already recog-
nize ... that a defendant must be competent to stand trial,
... the notion that a defendant must be able to assist in
his defense is largely provided for”). Assuming that a
convict is competent to be executed, only the remote
possibilities of clemency or commutation — processes that
_call for no significant strategic decisions by a convict — can
prevent the sentence from being carried out.

b. Panetti’s conception of “rational un-
derstanding” is far too expansive.

Panetti’s argument is, in fact, even more aggressive
than one for inclusion of only a pure “rational understand-
ing” component. Although he invokes that phrase through-
out his brief, the substantive requirement that Panetti
asks the Court to incorporate is actually a version of the
heightened “knowing and voluntary” requirement that the
Court has held applicable, over and above the “rational
understanding” competence component, with respect to a
defendant’s decision to plead guilty or to waive his right to
counsel. Godinez, 509 U.S., at 400-01 & n.12; Faretta v.
California, 422 U.S. 806, 835 (1975).

As Godinez explained, “knowing and voluntary” is not
part of any competence test; it is an additional safeguard
designed to ensure not merely that a defendant has the
capacity to understand trial proceedings, but rather that

39

he “actually does understand the significan.. and conse-
quences of a particular decision and whether the decision
is uncoerced.” 509 U.S., at 401, n.12 (emphasis added).

The heightened level of cognizance embodied in the
“knowing and voluntary” standard lies at the heart of the
test that Panetti and his amici ask the Court to adopt.
See, e.g., Panetti Br. 37, 45 (asserting that, before execu-
tion, a convict should be able to “prepare himself for death
as expiation for his offense” and “suffer the anguish of
realizing that he is being put to death for what he did”
(quotation marks omitted)); APA Br. 17 (proposing a test
that would require capital convicts to have “more than a
shallow understanding of why they are being executed”);
ABA Br. 5-6 (urging that convicts must have a “meaning-
ful” or “deeper” understanding of their fates).

The true substance of Panetti’s proposed test is thus
even less supportable than an accurately labeled “rational
understanding” test would be. Even putting aside concerns
about vagueness, requiring a “deep” or “meaningful”
appreciation of the State’s reasons for imposing the death
penalty would create an even greater risk that the Court’s
test could be circumvented through malingering or abuse.
See supra Part II.C.1. These same concerns would apply at
the competence-to-stand-trial stage — which explains, in
part, why the mere capacity to have a “rational under-
standing” of the proceedings, rather than actual demon-
stration of the “deeper” type of understanding embodied in
the “knowing and voluntary” requirement, is all that
competence test requires. Cooper v. Oklahoma, 517 U.S.
348, 354 (1996) (quoting Dusky, 362 U.S., at 402).”

* By contrast, use of the “knowing and voluntary” inquiry in the
specific contexts of competence to plead guilty or to waive the right to
counsel presents no such risk because malingering or noncooperation
would only frustrate, rather than facilitate, a defendant’s expressed
intention to waive those nghts.

40

When viewed in light of the overall death-row popula-
tion, Panetti’s proposal is especially problematic. As a
matter of common understanding, most individuals who
commit heinous murders are, almost by definition, not
entirely sane. Although estimates vary, some sources
indicate that as many as 70 percent of death-row inmates
suffer from some form of schizophrenia or psychosis.
Nancy S. Horton, Restoration of Competency for Execu-
tion: Furiosus Solo Furore Punitur, 44 Sw. L.J. 1191, 1204
(1990) (citing Amnesty International, United States of
America: the Death Penalty 108-09 (1987)); see JA 142
(expert testimony that most of the convicts in federal
Bureau of Prisons hospitals are schizophrenic). Many, if
not most, schizophrenics exhibit the type of delusional
thinking that Panetti has been observed to exhibit. See
Douglas Mossman, Atkins v. Virginia: A Psychiatric Can of
Worms, 33 N.M. L. Rev. 255, 280 (2003); APA Br. 8 (noting
that “[djelusional thinking is a hallmark symptom of
schizophrenia” (citing DSM-IV-TR 299-301, 312)).” Accord-
ingly, Panetti’s “rational understanding” requirement
would be applied to a population that is, in significant
part, delusional — and thus necessarily irrational. See APA
Br. 9, n.11.

This situation contrasts sharply with the factual baek-
drop of Atkins. There, the Court quoted expert testimony
that “[mjental retardation is a relatively rare thing. It’s
about one percent of the population.” 536 U.S., at 309, n.5
(quotation marks omitted). Here, the potential population
is much larger, and the introduction of Panetti’s ill-defined

* Indeed, one death-row study of a limited population noted that
half of the profiled inmates exhibited delusional tendencies, which
included persecutory delusions (e.g., inmate’s belief that he was target
of a Jewish conspiracy). Barbara A. Ward, Competency for Execution:
Problems in Law and Psychiatry, 14 Fla. St. U. L. Rev. 35, 39-40 & n.26
(1986) (citing Bluestone & McGahee, Reaction to Extreme Stress:
Impending Death by Execution, 119 Am. J. Psychiatry 393, 393 (1962)).
Other inmates in the study coped with their predicament through
obsessive rumination, “thinking furiously about other things, such as
appeals, religion, or philosophy.” /bid.

41

— and inherently indefinite - “rational understanding”
component would render the execution-competence stan-
dard substantially overinclusive. See Mossman, supra, at
289 (“Given the high rate of serious mental illness among
homicide defendants, granting psychiatric exemptions
could leave very few individuals eligible for the death
penalty.”).

Nor is this potential for exempting vast numbers of
convicted murderers from execution an unintended conse-
quence of Panetti’s and his amici’s proposed test. Indeed,
amicus APA is nothing if not candid, explaining that both
its own position and the ABA’s is that “an individual who
is found incompetent to face the death penalty” should not
have his sentence “merely suspended,” but should “have
his sentence permanently commuted to a non-capital
punishment.” APA Br. 17, n.15 (emphasis added). Thus, -
the conceded objective of these amici (and the predictable
consequence of their proposed test) is not simply avoiding
the inhumanity of executing a person who is truly insane,
but rather removing from death row as large a class of
capital convicts as reasonably possible.”

3. To prevent manipulation of the test, exe-
cution competence should turn on cogni-
tive capacity, not on professed beliefs.

In general, “the focus of a competency inquiry is the
defendant’s mental capacity; the question is whether he
has the ability to understand the proceedings.” Godinez,

* The objective sought by these amici is in keeping with their
stated public policy position — that there should be a national morato-
rium on all executions. See Am. Bar Ass’n, Report with Recommenda-
tions No. 107, Feb. 1997, available at http://www.abanet.org/irr/rec107.
htm] (last visited Mar. 27, 2007); Am. Psychiatry Ass’n, Moratorium on
Capital Punishment in the U.S.: Position Statement, Oct. 2000,
available at http://www.psych.org/edu/other_res/ib_archives/archives/
200006. pdf (last visited Mar. 27, 2007); Am. Psychologica] Ass’n, The
Death Penalty in the U.S., Aug. 2001, available at http://www.apa.org/
pi/deathpenalty.htm] (last visited Mar. 27, 2007).

42

509 U.S., at 401, n.12; Drope, 420 U.S., at 171 (articulat-
ing a capacity-based test for competence to stand trial).
The execution-competence standards that Panetti and his
amici propose are at times appropriately phrased in terms
of capacity. See, e.g., Panetti Br. 29-30, 38, 39, 40 & n.24,
41, 44, 45, 47; APA Br. 6, 16; ABA Br. 4, 5, 7, A-1, B-1. But,
at other times, their arguments focus instead on their
characterizations of what Panetti actually believes. See,
e.g., Panetti Br. 22, 27-29, 31-32, 40, 45; APA Br. 3-4, 6-8,
12-13; ABA Br. 7-8.”

But any execution-competence standard not phrased
in terms of capacity would be readily susceptible to cir-
cumvention by lies or noncooperation. There are undoubt-
edly numerous capital convicts who, though mentally ill,
are capable of reading and understanding this Court's
decisions — or, at the least, understanding their lawyers’
explanations of those decisions. If the Court announces an
execution-competence test that is not phrased in terms of
cognitive capacity, any such convict would have consider-
able incentive to attempt to avoid execution by “incor-
rectly” answering (or refusing to answer) any relevant
question about his impending fate.”

# As much as cognitive capacity should be a part of any execution-
competence test that the Court adopts, the “significantly impairs”
qualifier that amici propose, APA Br. 3, 16; ABA Br. 5, should not.
Notably, amici offer no defense of this ambiguous qualifier. Indeed,
despite the appearance of the phrase in their proposed tests, amici at
other times appear to support a pure capacity analysis. See, e.g., APA
Br. 11-12; ABA Br. 7-8. In any event, given the conflicting diagnoses and
subjectivity inherent in mental-illness determinations, “significantly
impairs” is no more definite than “rationally understands.”

* The sample interview questions that the APA offers, APA Br. 18
(“Why have you been sentenced to death?”; “Will you be executed?”),
illustrate the problem. Assuming that these questions would strike at
the core of the execution-competence test that the Court adopts, and
further assuming that capacity were not the test’s linchpin, a convict
whose mental illness does not affect the relevant aspects of his cogni-
tive capacity could nevertheless escape execution through deliberate
misstatements. Perhaps for this reason, in this passage of its brief, the

(Continued on following page)

43

4. Application of the State’s proposed test
will advance the modern penological in-
terests behind the death penalty.

The Court has recently confirmed that retribution and
deterrence are capital punishment’s two predominant
social purposes. Roper, 543 U.S., at 571 (citing Gregg v.
Georgia, 428 U.S. 153, 183 (1976) (joint opinion of Stewart,
Powell, and Stevens, JJ.)); accord Atkins, 536 U.S., at 318-
19. As shown below, application of the State’s proposed test
will advance each of those interests.”

a. The State’s test will further the re-
tributive purpose of punishment.

Retribution aims either “to express the community’s
moral outrage or ... to right the balance for the wrong to
the victim.” Roper, 543 U.S., at 571; see Atkins, 536 U.S.,
at 319 (explaining that retribution is “the interest in
seeing that the offender gets his ‘just deserts’”). The Court
has repeatedly emphasized the societal focus of retribu-
tion. See, e.g., Thompson v. Oklahoma, 487 U.S. 815, 836
(1988); see also Schriro v. Summerlin, 542 U.S. 348, 360
(2004) (Breyer, J., dissenting); Gregg, 428 U.S., at 183-84
(joint opinion of Stewart, Powell, and Stevens, JJ.). Pa-
netti misunderstands the societal nature of retribution,
erroneously equating it with vengeance. Panetti Br. 46 &
n.33. In fact, retribution is the legitimate penological
interest that helps prevent vengeance. Tison v. Arizona,
481 U.S. 137, 181 & n.19 (1987) (Brennan, J., dissenting)
(explaining that the Eighth Amendment channels imper-
missible private vengeance into constitutionally permissi-
ble retribution); see also Gregg, 428 U.S., at 183 (joint

APA acknowledges that the interviewer’s focus should be the convict’s
“mental capacities,” rather than his mere professed beliefs. /bid.

* It will also further the penological interest in incapacitation. See
Athins, 536 U.S., at 350 (Scalia, J., dissenting) (quoting Gregg, 428
U.S., at 183, n.28) (joint opinion of Stewart, Powell, and Stevens, JJ.));
Spaziano v. Florida, 468 U.S. 447, 461-62 (1984).

44

opinion of Stewart, Powell, and Stevens, JJ.) (noting that
the retributive “function ... is essential in an ordered
society that asks its citizens to rely on legal processes
rather than self-help to vindicate their wrongs”).

i. The retributive justification for
~ punishment necessarily precedes
any execution-competence analysis.

The viability of retribution as a permissible theory of
punishment depends not on the “rational understanding”
that a convict may or may not have, see supra Part II.C.2;
cf. Panetti Br. 46, but rather on the convict’s moral culpa-
bility at the time he committed his crime, Enmund v.
Florida, 458 U.S. 782, 800-01 (1982) (reflecting that
“personal responsibility and moral guilt” define a crimi-
nal’s level of culpability and concluding that execution of
one convict for murders that he did not personally commit
failed to serve the retributive goal of punishment).

Roper and Atkins illustrate this point. In those cases,
the Court’s decisions turned on its conclusions that mem-
bers of specific classes of criminals lack sufficient moral
culpability at the time of their crimes to be sentenced to
death. Roper, 543 U.S., at 556, 571 (stating the issue as
whether the Constitution permits execution of a criminal
“younger than 18 when he committed a capital crime” and
concluding that retribution is not served by imposing the
death penalty on those “whose culpability or blameworthi-
ness is diminished|} to a substantial degree”); Atkins, 536
U.S., at 319 (weighing the retributive value cf the death
penalty in light of “the lesser culpability of the mentally
retarded offender”). If Roper had looked instead to the
status of the criminal at the time of trial, conviction, or
sentencing, its holding would not have forbidden his execu-
tion. Roper, 543 U.S., at 556 (noting that, at the time of his
conviction and sentencing, the defendant had turned 18).

In contrast to the proportionality concerns addressed
in Roper and Atkins, in the present context the question
of culpability will already have been conclusively — and
affirmatively — resolved. The issue is not whether the

.

45

Constitution permits society to impose the death penalty
on a criminal who was, for some reason, less culpable at
the time of his crime, cf. Roper, 543 U.S., at 556, 578;
Atkins, 536 U.S., at 306-08, 321, but rather whether an
unquestionably valid death sentence may be carried out
against a criminal who has subsequently become mentally
ill, see Ford, 477 U.S., at 425 (Powell, J., concurring in the
judgment). This is so because any convict to whom the
execution-competence test is applied will necessarily have
been adjudicated both sane at the time of his offense and
competent to stand trial, removing any doubts about
culpability that might in some cases arise from mental
illness.

ii. There are substantial problems
with the wholly personal view of
retribution that Panetti advances.

In addition to its predominate societal focus, the
retributive rationale has a secondary concern for capital
convicts’ awareness of what the death sentence means and
why it is being imposed. See Ford, 477 U.S., at 409; id., at
422 (Powell, J., concurring in the judgment). Panetti,
however, misunderstands both the scope and the promi-
nence of this secondary retributive interest.

Relying heavily on nonjudicial sources, Panetti asserts
that retribution requires a condemned prisoner to have a
subjective appreciation of the moral impropriety of his
criminal conduct and to “suffer the anguish” of knowing
the reason for his fate. Panetti Br. 45; see also APA Br. 15
(centering the APA’s retribution argument on convicts’
“thinking about their forthcoming execution|s]” and
whether they have “more than a shallow understanding of
why they are being executed” (quotation marks omitted);
ABA Br. 6, 8 (supporting a proposed requirement that
capital convicts have “a-deeper understanding of the
state’s justifying purpose” of punishment and asserting
that a capital convict should “have the capacity to accept
responsibility for his crimes” (quotation marks omitted)).

46

Putting aside its lack of support in case law, there are
significant problems with Panetti’s mind-of-the-criminal
approach. First, tailoring the execution-competence test to
the innermost thoughts of capital convicts would present
substantial practical problems. It is difficult to imagine
how anyone other than the convict himself could accu-
rately assess whether he truly appreciates the magnitude
of his moral wrong — at least with respect to a convict who
is willing to lie about such things. And under Panetti’s
proposed test, it would be remarkably easy for a convict to
feign his way out of a death sentence.

Second, allowing the execution-competence test to be
shaped primarily by a personal, subjective view of the
retributive rationale would prevent the execution of
convicts who genuinely lack moral qualms about their
crimes. It cannot be that amoral capital convicts should be
excused from death sentences based on amorality alone.
Yet Panetti’s proposed standard would yield that result.

b. Adoption of the State’s standard will
effectively deter would-be murderers.

Deterrence is another legitimate basis for punishment
distinct from retribution. See Atkins, 536 U.S., at 319;
Roper, 543 U.S., at 571. It embodies society’s interest in
preventing future criminal acts. Jbid. Historically, the
deterrent effect of capital punishment has been a matter of
substantial debate. See Gregg, 428 U.S., at 184-85 (joint
opinion of Stewart, Powell, and Stevens, JJ.). The most
recent — and most methodologically advanced — scholar-
ship, however, reflects a growing consensus among eco-
nomics scholars that imposition of the death penalty
substantially deters capital murder.” See Panetti Br. 47

* See, e.g., Dale O. Cloninger & Roberto Marchesini, Execution
Moratoriums, Commutations and Deterrence: The Case of Illinois, 38
Applied Econ. 967, 971 (2006); Paul R. Zimmerman, State Executions,
Deterrence, and the Incidence of Murder, 7 J. Applied Econ. 163, 189-90
(2004); Hashem Dezhbakhsh, Paul H. Rubin & Joanna M. Shepherd,
Does Capita] Punishment Have a Deterrent Effect? New Evidence from

(Continued on following page)

47

(acknowledging “the deterrent effect of the death pen-
alty”); see also Legal Historians Br. 25 (noting that
“{djeterrence was a key rationale for the death penalty at
common law”).

Necessarily, the question of execution competence will
arise only in proceedings founded on valid convictions, and
valid convictions depend on criminals’ sanity at the time of
the crime, Clark, 126 S.Ct., at 2718-21; ALI, Model Penal
Code §4.01(1). Assuming he is neither underage nor
mentally retarded, any sane prospective criminal can be
expected to fully appreciate the possibility that he could be
put to death for committing capital murder. In Roper and
Atkins, a prospective criminal in the same class as the
defendant would either be mentally retarded or under
eighteen years of age at the time of the prospective crime —
and thus arguably unable to appreciate the force of the
death penalty’s deterrent effect. Roper, 543 U.S., at 571-
72; Atkins, 536 U.S., at 319-20. By contrast, a prospective
criminal who is legally sane at the time he commits capital
murder has no such excuse. He is fully capable of “pre-
meditation and deliberation” — and, therefore, fully sus-
ceptible to the death penalty’s deterrent effect. Enmund,
458 U.S., at 799 (quotation marks omitted).

Moreover, the deterrent effect of execution will not be
measurably lessened by a prospective criminal’s un-
founded speculation that he might become incompetent
after sentencing. See Panetti Br. 47 (agreeing that a_
prospective capital murderer would not foresee losing his
competence to be executed sometime after he commits his
crime). But, were Panetti’s standard to be adopted, the
increased likelihood of avoiding the death penalty through
malingering or manipulating psychological examiners
might well reduce the fears of prospective murderers and,

Postmoratorium Panel Data, 5 Am. Law & Econ. Rev. 344, 372-73
(2003); H. Naci Mocan & R. Kaj Gittings, Getting Off Death Row:
Commuted Sentences and the Deterrent Effect of Capital Punishment,
46 J. L. & Econ. 453, 473-74 (2003).

48

as a result, unjustifiably reduce the death penalty’s
deterrent force. Cf. Skipper v. South Carolina, 476 U.S. 1,
14 & n.2 (1986) (Powell, J., concurring in the judgment).”

D. Under Both the State’s Proposed Test and
the Test That the Court of Appeals Applied,
Panetti Is Competent To Be Executed.

In evaluating Panetti’s competence to be executed, the
court of appeals — like all of the other courts of appeals
that have faced this issue” — applied its interpretation of
the execution-competence test articulated by Justice
Powell in his Ford concurrence. It asked whether the
evidence showed Panetti to be “unaware of the punish-
ment [he is] about to suffer and why [he is] to suffer it,” JA
379 (quoting Ford, 477 U.S., at 422 (Powell, J., concurring
in the judgment)), and appropriately rejected Panetti’s
argument for inclusion of a “rational understanding”
component, id., at 384; see supra Part II.C.2.

Under the State’s proposed test, Panetti could prop-
erly be held incompetent to be executed only if, because of
mental illness, he lacked the capacity to recognize that his
punishment (1) is the result of his being convicted of
capital murder and (2) will cause his death. To the extent
this test varies from that applied by the court of appeals,
any such variances are immaterial to the result because,

*° Indeed, adoption of the APA’s and ABA's proposed standard -
whereby the sentences of convicts lacking “rational understanding”
would be permanently commuted to non-capital sentences, APA Br. 17,
n.15 — would provide a predictable ex ante roadmap for a would-be
murderer currently on medication for mental illness. If that murderer
were to commit his crime, be convicted, and be sentenced to death, he
could simply intend to go off his medication and lose rationality for a
time, thus avoiding the death penalty permanently. For such an
individual, the deterrent effect of capital punishment would, at the very
least, be substantially diminished.

*” Walton v. Johnson, 440 F.3d 160, 173 (CA4 2006); Scott v.
Mitchell, 250 F.3d 1011, 1014 (CA6 2001); Massie v. Woodford, 244 F.3d
1192, 1195 & n.1 (CA9 2001); Rector v. Clark, 923 F.2d 570, 572 (CA8
1991).

49

as shown below, the record establishes that Panetti is
competent to be executed under either standard.

First of all, it is undisputed that Panetti has the
capacity to recognize that the punishment he faces is
death. Indeed, the experts all agreed and the district court
expressly found that, as a factual matter, “Panetti is aware
he is to be executed,” JA 363, 372; accord JA 3738. Panetti
did not oppose this conclusion in the district court, see JA
367, 372, did not challenge it in the court of appeals, and
does not challenge it here. Therefore, Panetti is unques-
tionably “[Jaware of the punishment fhe is] about to
suffer,” JA 379 (quoting Ford, 477 U.S., at 422 (Powell, J.,
concurring in the judgment)) ~ a finding that, in reflecting -
Panetti’s actual demunstration of his capacity to recognize
that his punishment will cause his death, goes beyond the
capacity that the State’s test requires.

The only question that remains is whether Panetti
has the capacity to recognize that his punishment is the
result of his being convicted of capital murder, or, under
the court of appeals’s analysis, whether he is aware of why
he is to be executed, JA 379. The record establishes that
Panetti passes each of these prongs as well.

Dr. Parker and Dr. Anderson each testified that
Panetti has the capacity to understand that he is being
executed for the murders of which he was convicted. JA
245, 247 (testimony of Dr. Parker), 303-04 (testimony of
Dr. Anderson); accord JA 75 (joint report of Drs. Parker
and Anderson), and the district court explicitly concluded
that “[t}here is evidence in the record to support a finding
that Panetti is capable of understanding the reason for his
execution,” JA 367. Again, Panetti does not challenge this
conclusion. And under the State’s proposed test, it is
irrelevant that these witnesses “were unable to reach a
formal conclusion that [Panetti] did, in fact, understand”
the reason for his execution. JA 364. For the reasons
already noted, it is the capocity to understand — rather
than actual demonstration of understanding ~ that defines
the minimal level of competence needed to satisfy this
prong of the State’s proposed test. See supra Part II.C.3.

50

And with respect to the court of appeals’s test, the
district court accurately noted that two of Panetti’s own
execution-competence experts testified that, “despite his
delusions, Panetti understands [that] the State’s stated
reason for seeking his execution is for his murders.” JA
366; see also JA 157 (testimony of Dr. Conroy); JA 214
(testimony of Dr. Rosin). Thus, not only did the district
court explicitly find that “Panetti is aware he committed
the murders that serve as the basis for his execution,” JA
372, but the court further found that “Panetti understands
the State’s stated reason for executing him is that he
committed two murders,” JA 372.

The district court also correctly concluded that the
alternative sense of “understand” embodied in Panetti’s
proposal did not match the court of appeals’s standard. JA
369 (noting that the court of appeals’s test does not require
the type of “rational understanding” that Panetti purports
to distill from Justice Powell’s Ford concurrence); JA 373
(noting that a capital convict’s delusional beliefs “do not
bear on the question of whether [he] knows the reason for
his execution for the purposes of the Eighth Amendment”
(quotation marks omitted)).

In sum, the record establishes that Panetti: (1) has
the capacity to recognize that his punishment will cause
his death (and does in fact does recognize this); and (2) has
the capacity to recognize that his punishment is the result
of his being convicted of capital murder (or, within the
mea

[Text truncated at 120,000 characters. The full text is on the page linked above.]

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0369%3A11. Public record. Not legal advice.
