# Petitioners Brief — Panetti v. Quarterman

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0369%3A10

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petitioners Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2007
- **Citation:** 551 U.S. 930

## Text

gn The
Supreme Court of the Anited States

SCOTT LOUIS PANETTI,

Petitioner,

NATHANIEL QUARTERMAN, Director,
Texas Department of Criminal Justice,
Correctional Institutions Division,

Respondent.

On Writ Of Certiorari
To The United States Court Of Appeals
For The Fifth Circuit

BRIEF FOR PETITIONER

KEITH S. HAMPTON®* GREGORY W. WIERCIOCH

1103 Nueces Street TEXAS DEFENDER SERVICE
Austin, Texas 78701 430 Jersey Street

(512) 476-8484 San Francisco, California 94114

(512) 476-0953 (facsimile) (415) 285-2472
‘Counsel of Recard (415) 285-2472 (facsimile)

al ———-
a

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO) sii) 225-6964
OR CALL COLLECT (402) 442-2851

|

CAPITAL CASE
QUESTION PRESENTED

Does the Eighth Amendment permit the execution of a
death row inmate who has a factual awareness of the
reason for his execution but who, because of severe mental
illness, has a delusional belief as to why the State is
executing him, and thus does not understand that his
execution is intended to seek retribution for his capital
crime?

il
PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS BELOW

The caption of the case contains the names of all
parties to the proceedings in the courts below and in this
Court, with the exception that during part of the prior
proceedings, other individuals (Wayne Scott, Gary John-
son, Janie Cockrell, Douglas Dretke) served as the named
Director of the Texas Department of Criminal Justice,
Correctional Institutions Division.

ill

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
EE OF EIT IIIIEED secssnisicsensiscitenhsclsiiinvensnamansinsiinsien i
PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS BELOW .............. il
ee IT sisi siitcicitaeseniaitineiscenadintnsdndeonpenieni lil
ee Ce ae Es cistiniicsisihincssingennnsnnsscinsecanianans Vv
SY I inhsciseccnsiininsnrnicciieeabncssnbemnadiguainecelaniabnidininian 1
Nestle hebdieahiepaeaihabaanicibaaebiticeabins 1

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVISIONS
SE Tae inistsssetcsitchinieneieidinnaniceisasnncieiateipiibckenbiaiialinenaniiieaisaidingsscdeta 1
STATEMENT OF THE CASE .......ccccccoscssssssoscssesssesceeees 2
i i I saci iiticnctanicpicinicioicnciiueiicinin 2
B. Facts Material to the Issue Presented............... 6
1. Biomtal Beadtts History ...........cccccccssccsescossee. 6
2. Deterioration ....... ccesnaieiaeiabiinuanbtingbieiaibiags 16
DB. Preset Camsteisy .....csccsecsescsscesccssssescessess 18
SUMMARY OF THE ARGUMENT ...................:cccceeeeees 28
TEE sccsisniesiicgtnsccuiinnnniienninmneninmendaiienndseséannioniitniin 30

THE EIGHTH AMENDMENT PROHIBITS THE
EXECUTION OF A PERSON WHO, BECAUSE OF A
SEVERE MENTAL IMPAIRMENT, IS INCAPABLE
OF RATIONALLY UNDERSTANDING THE REA-
EFES PRFEe SED MAG) COIS ceccceccvetccsesneceisossoroesceosenseen 30

iv

TABLE OF CONTENTS - Continued
Page

I. THE ANCESTRAL LEGACY OF THE COM-
MON LAW INSISTS THAT THE DEATH
PENALTY CANNOT BE IMPOSED ON A
PERSON SO LACKING IN RATIONAL UN-
DERSTANDING THAT HE IS UNABLE TO
PERCEIVE THE CONNECTION BETWEEN
HIS CRIME AND HIS PUNISHMENT ............. 33

A. Ford identified the common-law justifica-
tions for the ban on executing the insane
that retain contemporary validity............... 33

B. The common-law rationales embraced by
the Ford opinions logically imply the need
for rational understanding.......................0 37

Il. CONTEMPORARY STANDARDS REQUIRE
THE INMATE TO RATIONALLY UNDER-
STAND THE CONNECTION BETWEEN HIS

CRIME AND HIS PUNISHMENT..................... 40
a, I III ciccsdisacensstainnnnieanipeiandsiatendiucdutenitianitibiien 40
B. Informed Professional Opinion ................... 42

Ii]. EXECUTING A PERSON INCAPABLE OF
RATIONALLY UNDERSTANDING THE CON-
NECTION BETWEEN HIS CRIME AND HIS
PUNISHMENT WOULD NOT SERVE THE
PENOLOGICAL PURPOSES OF THE DEATH

IIIT cicisseeaichnashdienasidedlncsda tiessnsinisitieiiibaihceiangaiiaatcesiis 44
FN iain aias eran ibiniihiaciaeinalennen 44
UNI cnc alia atid amanda 47
C. Uniquely Cruel and Inhuman..................... 48

SIU eceipiisinticdcsticsdebcdclediinsiubiaaingiicinsbesinininatinninenen 49

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Page
CASES
Atkins v. Virginia, 536 U.S. 304 (2002)........... 32, 40, 42, 43
Barnard v. Collins, 13 F.3d 871 (5th Cir. 1994) ...........0000. 5
Beverley’s Case of Non Compos Mentis, 76 Eng. Rep.

SE CE: CRED wcisesvsiscviterniscieincunteniabtidiiameeidananadaaii 47
Billiot v. State, 655 So. 2d 1 (Miss. 1995).........ccc ee eeeeeees 41
Ex parte Caldwell, 58 S.W.3d 127 (Tex. Crim. App.

SIP vnconsvsccsansnccesinessepnsensotiseniteneauiiieinaannaaaee 4
Caritativo v. California, 357 U.S. 549 (1958)............... 49
Chapman v. California, 386 U.S. 18 (1967) «0... cece 31
Ex parte Chesser, 112 So. 87 (Fla. 1927)..........:ccsssccseeeeeees 39
Coker v. Georgia, 433 U.S. 584 (1977) ........csceseceseeeeeeeeees 44
Enmund v. Florida, 458 U.S. 782 (1982)................006 44, 46
Ford v. Wainwright, 477 U.S. 399 (1986) 0.0... passim
Ford v. Wainwright, 752 F.2d 526 (11th Cir. 1985),

PIS, STE WE, GD CAD vanssescsuscnsissceneseenaemuehaamman 46
Gregg v. Georgia, 428 U.S. 153 (1976)........ccccceees 44, 45, 48
Harmelin v. Michigan, 501 U.S. 957 (1991)... ee. 32
Pe? mee Eo FS 38
Lee v. State, 45 S.E. 628 (Ga. 1903)................:seesesereeeeeeees 38
Martin v. Dugger, 686 F.Supp. 1523 (S.D. Fla.

BEI .xoccocccotessienenessessenstscesenistsinenssilemeicesstinseiissianianlianannananannnn 45
Musselwhite v. State, 60 So. 2d 807 (Miss, 1952)............. 38
Panetti v. Drethke, 448 F.3d 815 (5th Cir. 2006)................... 1

vl

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES -— Continued

Page
Panetti v. Dretke, 401 F. Supp. 2d 702 (W.D. Tex.

a cea ace igacnnennitnriintasateienienemumiinnee 1
Provenzano v. State, 750 So. 2d 597 (Fla. 1999)............... 41
Roper v. Simmons, 543 U.S. 551 (2005)... eee 32
Spaziano v. Florida, 468 U.S. 447 (1984)... 44
State v. Genna, 112 So. 655 (La. 1927) ..........cccccceceeeteee noes 39
State v. Harris, 789 P.2d 60 (Wash. 1990) ...........c00cc0cceeeee 42
State v. Noel, 133 A. 274 (N.J. 1926) ...........ccccceeecceeeeeeeeees 38
Thompson v. Oklahoma, 487 U.S. 815 (1988) ............... 47

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS
i ec passim
I peer a memnctccnnenctenen 1,31
STATUTES
I a enmusipnmnngentedanee 40
EER a ne a ea OE l
esr nrnnensnenesenite 1,4
Ms Ce GOED, FUOS. GIG. BD.GTD cncccccccccccecseccveccccccsovesoeses 15
Ten. Code Cota. Prec. O96. 46.06.....cccccccccscccccsscccseeses 1,2,3,4
OTHER AUTHORITIES

American Bar Association, Recommendation and
Report on the Death Penalty and Persons with
Mental Disabilities, 30 Mental & Physical Dis-
ee, Ts ctaeanciesibleneionncnscosecovers 43, 46

vil

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page
American Psychiatric Association, Diagnostic and
Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (4th ed.
ek EE eS See 28
American Psychiatric Association, Mentally Ill
Prisoners on Death Row (Dec. 2005)...............cccc000000000 43
American Psychological Association, Council Policy
Manual: N. Public Interest - Part 2, VIII.2 (Feb.
Sere ccheasiciieiniiesiinihatiillatiiauliinaiataciaiaiinie iinet icine 43
William Blackstone, 4 Commentaries. ...............cccccceceee000 33

Richard Bonnie, The Competence of Criminal
Defendants: Beyond Dusky and Drope, 47 U. Mi-
I ran ee ee eiccicieiiciniehcchesitcinitiehienienaaiiatinapuaaie 49

R.W. Buchanan & William T. Carpenter, Concept of
Schizophrenia, in Comprehensive Textbook of
Psychiatry (B. Sadock & V. Sadock eds., 8th ed.

Sir Edward Coke, 3 /nstitutes (6th ed. 1680) .............. 34, 47

Bruce Ebert, Competency to Be Executed: A Pro-
posed Instrument to Evaluate an Inmate’s Level
of Competency in Light of the Eighth Amendment
Prohibition Against the Execution of the Presently
Insane, 25 Law & Psychol. Rev. 29 (2001)..................6. 6

J.D. Feltham, The Common Law and the Execution
of Insane Criminals, 4 Melb. U. L. Rev. 434

(Uae ccscvnsnsensscunicncsnnciiidecscnasadanbidimtdadibdaniidedtabeienbiadiiints 39
Mary Ellen Gale, Retribution, Punishment, and
Death, 18 U.C. Davis L. Rev. 973 (1985).................. 45, 46

Sir John Hawles, Remarks on the Trial of Mr.
Charles Bateman, in XI State Trials ‘T. Howell
iin Se TnTED stcacineitestpsccicsicsseintaiiegnlnebiciaaiiatiiaiaatiiisatatitiamesiatincecaiadmatins 38

viii
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Geoffrey C. Hazard & David W. Louisell, Death, the
State, and the Insane: Stay of Execution, 9

FARK, Go, TRBC, BBG CBP accccesscscesscsonnsmncsesssconsecs

Wayne LaFave & Austin Scott, Handbook on

SESS SRSERE Pesca. Pree

S. Reynolds ed., The Essays of Francis Bacon (1890)

Robert F. Schopp, Wake Up and Die Right: The
Rationale, Standard, and Jurisprudential Sig-
nificance of the Competency to Face Execution

Requirement, 51 La. L. Rev. 995 (1991)..................

L. Shelford, A Practical Treatise on The Law Con-
cerning Lunatics, Idiots, and Persons of Unsound

NESE SeSR Es Ss, are ee es eee oer

Barbara A. Ward, Competency for Execution: Prob-
lems in Law and Psychiatry, 14 Fla. St. U. L.

| TT Sa ee rere nee Lee wea D NA eR Oe

Henry Weihofen, A Question of Justice: Trial or
Execution of an Insane Defendant, 37 A.B.A. J.

GI (pee cnecussccscessessenesnnnnennanenenesesscnessnssensceanpemnocnses

Patricia A. Zapf et al., Assessment of Competency
for Execution: Professional Guidelines and an
Evaluation Checklist, 21 Behav. Sci. & L. 103

Page

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the United States Court of Appeals for
the Fifth Circuit, Panetti v. Dretke, 448 F.3d 815 (5th Cir.
2006), affirming the District Court’s decision, appears at
JA 374-84. The District Court’s opinion, Panetti v. Dretke,
401 F. Supp. 2d 702 (W.D. Tex. 2004), appears at JA 354-
73.

JURISDICTION

The Fifth Circuit entered its judgment on May 9,
2006, JA 374, and denied rehearing en banc on June 8,
2006. JA 385. Petitioner filed his petition for writ of
certiorari on September 6, 2006. This Court has jurisdic-
tion under 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

CONSTITUTIONAL AND
STATUTORY PROVISIONS AT ISSUE

This case involves the Eighth and Fourteenth
Amendments, 28 U.S.C. § 2254(d), and Article 46.05 of the
Texas Code of Criminal Procedure. The relevant portion of
the Eighth Amendment states: “nor [shall] cruel and
unusual punishments [be] inflicted.” The relevant portion
of the Fourteenth Amendment provides: “nor shall any
state deprive any person of life ... without due process of
law.” The relevant portion of 28 U.S.C. § 2254(d) states:

An application for a writ of habeas corpus on be-
half of a person in custody pursuant to the judg-
ment of a State court shall] not be granted with
respect to any claim that was adjudicated on the
merits in State court proceedings unless the ad-
judication of the claim —

2

(1) resulted in a decision that was
contrary to, or involved an unreason-
able application of, clearly established
Federal law, as determined by the Su-
preme Court of the United States|.|

The text of Article 46.05 is set out in Appendix A.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE
A. Course of Proceedings

Petitioner Scott Louis Panetti was convicted of capital
murder for killing his parents-in-law and sentenced to
death in 1995 in Texas? On October 31, 2003, after the
conclusion of the direct appeal and collateral review
proceedings, the trial court set Mr. Panetti’s execution for
February 5, 2004. On December 10, 2003, counsel for Mr.
Panetti filed in state court a motion under Article 46.05,
alleging that Mr. Panetti was not competent to be exe-
cuted. The trial court denied the motion without a hearing,
finding that Mr. Panetti had failed to make a substantial
threshold showing of incompetence.

On January 26, 2004, counsel for Mr. Panetti filed in
federal district court a motion for stay of execution and a
petition for writ of habeas corpus raising a competency-to-
be-executed claim under Ford v. Wainwright, 477 U.S. 399
(1986). After some preliminary proceedings, the District
Court stayed Mr. Panetti’s execution so that the state
court would have time to adjudicate a renewed Article
46.05 motion. JA 113-16. The state court ordered the
district attorney and habeas counsel to provide it with the
names of mental health experts that it should consider
appointing under Article 46.05(f). See App. A. Counsel for
Mr. Panetti provided the court with the name of a mental
health expert and filed ten motions related to the Article

3

46.05 proceedings.’ Relying on Article 46.05(f), the court
appointed two mental health experts — neither of whom

had been recommended by habeas counsel — to examine
Mr. Panetti. See JA 59-60.

The state court judge denied Mr. Panetti’s motion to
videotape the competency examinations and his motion for
discovery. The judge said that he would revisit the remainder
of the motions only if both court-appointed experts concluded
that Mr. Panetti was competent to be executed. Counsel for
Mr. Panetti filed a motion to reconsider, pointing out that the
state court’s inaction until after the experts had conducted
their examinations would moot a number of the motions. JA
61-69. The court never ruled on the motion to reconsider.

On April 28, 2004, the court-appointed experts filed a
joint report concluding that Mr. Panetti was competent to
be executed. JA 70-76. Despite the judge’s earlier decision
to revisit the remainder of Mr. Panetti’s motions if the
experts concluded he was competent, the judge did not
rule on any of the motions. Instead, he ordered the parties
to raise any other matters regarding competency by May
21, 2004. JA 77-78. Counsel for Mr. Panetti filed objections

‘ Among the motions counsel filed were requests for appointment and
compensation of counsel, funds to hire a mental health expert and investi-
gator, discovery, videotaping of the mental health examinations, ensuring
procedural due process in the competency determination, and transcription
of all proceedings. In the motion for funds to retain an expert, counsel
reviewed the procedural due process discussions in Ford and concluded
that the decision demands “that a death row inmate who has made a
substantial threshold showing of incompetence be provided with the means
to retain the services of a consulting mental health expert to assist him in
the competency determination.” JA 57. Mr. Panetti’s counsel made a
similar argument in his motion to ensure procedural due process in the
competency determination: that, at a minimum, Ford guarantees the
prisoner's “mght to present expert opinion differing from those offered by
State or court-appointed experts.” JA 53.

4

to the methods used and the conclusions reached by the
court-appointed experts. JA 79-95. Counsel renewed his
motions for appointment of counsel, funds to hire a mental
health expert, and funds to hire an investigator. JA 95-97.
He also asked the court to hold an evidentiary hearing, as
indicated by the plain language of Article 46.05(k). JA 98;
see App. A. On May 26, 2004, the state court held that Mr.
Panetti “has failed to show, by a preponderance of the
evidence, that he is incompetent to be executed.” JA 99.”

In federal habeas, the District Court ordered an
evidentiary hearing and granted Mr. Panetti’s motion for
funds for expert assistance. JA 117-35.’ After a two-day

* Counsel for Mr. Panetti could not appeal this ruling, because the
Court of Criminal Appeals had previously held that it has jurisdiction
only to review a finding of incompetence. Ex parte Caldwell, 58 S.\W.3d
127, 130 (Tex. Crim. App. 2000).

* The State argued below that the District Court erred in failing to
give the state court’s decision the deference demanded by AEDPA. The
Fifth Circuit did not address this contention. JA 376 & n.1. The
argument lacks merit, because the state court’s adjudication of Mr.
Panetti’s claim was “an unreasonable application of ... clearly estab-
lished federal law, as determined by the Supreme Court of the United
States[.!” 28 U.S.C. § 2254(d\1). The state court disregarded Justice
Powell's concurrence in Ford, which sets out the Court’s holding on the
minimum procedural due process requirements in determining compe-
tency for execution. Although Justice Powell did not undertake to define
the precise contours of due process in such proceedings, he did require
the states to provide a forum to “receive evidence and argument from
the prisoner's counsel, including expert psychiatric evidence that may
differ from the State’s own psychiatric examination.” 477 U.S. at 427.
Despite the state court’s finding that Mr. Panetti had made a substan-
tial showing of incompetency, and despite Mr. Panetti’s repeated
requests for adversarial proceedings by which he could contest the
court-appointed experts’ opinions, the state court refused to allow any
such proceedings. See JA 49-53, JA 54-58, JA 65-68, JA 95-98. As a
result, the state court decided the competency claim without ever
“receiv[ing) ... from the prisoner's counsel ... expert psychiatric

(Continued on following page)

hearing, the District Court denied relief on the Ford claim,
JA 354-73, but later granted a certificate of appealability
on the issue. The Fifth Circuit succinctly stated the issue
presented on appeal: |

Panetti argues that the district court employed

an erroneous legal standard in evaluating

whether he was competent to be executed. The

district court held that it is sufficient that Pa-

netti knows: 1) that he committed two murders;

2) that he will be executed; and 3) that the rea-

son the state has given for that execution is his

commission of those murders. Panetti argues

that the Eighth Amendment forbids the execu-

tion of a prisoner who lacks a rational under-

standing of the State’s reason for the execution.

Panetti contends that this understanding is lack-

ing in his case because he believes that, although

the State’s purported reason for the execution is

his past crimes, the State’s real motivation is to

punish him for preaching the Gospel.
JA 377. The panel rejected these arguments as a matter of
law under the controlling precedent of Barnard v. Collins, 13
F.3d 871 (5th Cir. 1994). “Barnard, like Panetti. suffered
from paranoid delusions that his execution was the result of
a conspiracy against him and not his crimes,” JA 379, but the
panel held this delusional belief irrelevant to the question of
competency to be executed. JA 380. The panel found Barnard
“nearly identical” to Mr. Panetti’s case, JA 379, and “consis-
tent with Justice Powell’s concurrence in Ford.” JA 381.
Because “Justice Powell did not state that a prisoner must
‘rationally understand’ the reason for his execution, only

evidence that ... differ{ed) from the State’s own psychiatric examina-
tion.” 477 U.S. at 427 | Powell, J., concurring).

6

that he must be ‘aware’ of it,” JA 381, the panel concluded
that the District Court's findings were sufficient to establish
that Mr. Panetti is competent to be executed. JA 384; see JA
384 (holding that “‘awareness,’ as that term is used in Ford,
is not necessarily synonymous with ‘rational understand-
ing”). The Fifth Circuit denied rehearing en banc. JA 385-
86. This Court granted certiorari on January 5, 2007. JA 387.

B. Facts Material to the Issue Presented

Justice Powell stated in Ford that a condemned inmate
“does not make a claim of insanity against a neutral back-
ground,” because “in order to have been convicted and
sentenced, {the inmate] must have been adjudged competent
to stand trial, or his competency must have been sufficiently
clear as not to raise a serious question for the trial court.”
477 U.S. at 425-26 (Powell, J., concurring). Certainly, the
legal presumption of competency at the time of execution
applies in Mr. Panetti’s case. Factually, however, it rests
upon a frail foundation. Evidence of incompetency runs like a
fissure through every proceeding in this case.

1. Mental Health History’

Unlike Alvin Ford, Mr. Panetti suffered from a severe
mental illness long before he ever arrived on Texas's death

‘ Mental health professionals note that reviewing an inmate's
psychological and psychiatric history is an essential component of making a
reliable determination of the inmate's present competency for execution.
See. e.g., Patricia A. Zapf et al., Assessment of Competency for Execution.
Professional Guidelines and an Evaluation Checklist, 21 Behav. Sa. & L.
103, 106 (2003), Bruce Ebert, Competency to Be Executed. A Proposed
Instrument to Evaluate an Inmate's Level of Competency in Light of the
Eighth Amendment Prohibition Against the Execution of the Presently
Insane, 25 Law & Psychol. Rev. 29, 47-45 (2001).

row. Cf. Ford, 477 U.S. at 401-02. In the decade leading up
to the offense, Mr. Panetti was hospitalized over a dozen
times in numerous institutions for schizophrenia, schizoaf-
fective disorder, bipolar disorder, depression, psychosis,
auditory hallucinations, and delusions of persecution and
grandiosity. See n.14, infra (summarizing hospitaliza-
tions). Several weeks before the crime, Mr. Panetti and his
second wife Sonja had separated. 31 RR 60. Sonja testi-
fied that Mr. Panetti had threatened and hit her. 31 RR
62. At that time, Mr. Panetti had not been taking his
antipsychotic medication regularly or continuing his
follow-up care at the Kerrville V.A. Medical Center. See 37
RR 1552; Federal Petition for Writ of Habeas Corpus, No.
1:99-CV-00260 (W.D. Tex. Sept. 7, 1999) (hereinafter
“Federal Petition”) (Ex. 14: summary of medical records).
On September 8, 1992, Mr. Panetti shaved his head,
dressed in camouflage combat fatigues, armed himself with a
sawed-off shotgun and a deer rifle, and went to the home of
his parents-in-law, Joe and Amanda Alvarado. He shot them
at close range with the rifle in front of his wife and daughter.
37 RR 1544-46. He then took his wife and daughter to a
bunkhouse where he had been living. 37 RR 1547. He
eventually released them unharmed and, after a lengthy
standoff with the police, he surrendered. 37 RR 1548-51.

Based on Mr, Panetti’s long history of mental
health problems, the judge ordered a psychiatrist to
determine his competency to stand trial. Dr. E. Lee Simes

- Citations to the transcript of testimony from Mr. Panetti’s capital
murder trial and both competency-to-stand-trial proceedings are noted
as “RR” (“Reporter's Record”). Citations to the pleadings, orders, and
motions filed in the trial court during these proceedings are noted as
“CR” (“Clerk's Record”). Citations to the Ford hearing held in federal
district court are noted as “FH.”

8

reported that Mr. Panetti did not know what vear it was or
who the President was; had some looseness and tangentiality
in his thought processes; admitted to both auditory and
visual hallucinations, including seeing Jesus in his jail cell;
related chronic delusions marked by religiosity; appeared to
have “an odd fragmentation of his personality in describing
himself as several different people;” and suffered from
“obvious mental difficulties.” JA 9-14 ‘(Defense Ex. 44, 37 RR
1429, 1430). Nonetheless, Dr. Simes concluded that Mr.
Panetti was competent to stand trial. JA 13.

A competency trial was held on July 28-29, 1994. After
the jury deliberated for nearly twelve hours, the judge
declared a mistrial. 10 RR 371, 379. After the trial court
_ ordered a change of venue, a new jury heard nearly identi-
cal evidence about Mr. Panetti’s competency to stand trial.
At the second competency trial, Mr. Panetti’s defense
counsel testified that Mr. Panetti would become delusional
and unresponsive to his questions under stress. 13 RR 27.
During conversations, Mr. Panetti often said that he felt
possessed by demons and had been visited by angels and
Jesus in his jail cell. 13 RR 29-31. Defense counsel testi-
fied that he had never had a meaningful and rational
conversation with Mr. Panetti about the legal issues in the
case. 13 RR 34-36, 46.

Dr. Richard Coons, a forensic psychiatrist, found that
Mr. Panetti suffers from schizophrenia. 13 RR 60. Dr.
Coons testified that Mr. Panetti decompensates when
under stress, causing his thinking to become tangential,
circumstantial, and inefficient. 13 RR 61-64. As an exam-
ple, during one of their meetings Mr. Panetti:

* Notes in the record indicate that the jury deadlocked 9-to-3 in
favor of finding Mr. Panetti incompetent to stand trial. 3 CR 290.

9

began to talk about scripture and then he began, _
with no prompting from me, no interjection from
me whatsoever, he went from scripture to being in
jail in Bell County to the way prisoners look, to the
Waco Veterans Administration Hospital. He de-
scribed patients. He talked about lightning, talked
about having been drowned a couple of times, the
Lord wants me to help a person, talked about the
meaning of life, suicidal thoughts, his mother’s
prayers, so much to be thankful for, problem mar-
riages, women he’s dated, rodeo, drinking, tequila
in old Mexico, the YO Ranch, his battle with the
bottle, a mescal dream of a bottle with worms in it,
dope dealer sitting in the courtroom, Luke, Chap-
ter 13 Verse 33, new saddle, boots, boot maker is
dead, hobbles for a horse, an old piece of cotton
rope and riding with a lead shank.

13 RR 63-64. According to Dr. Coons, Mr. Panetti had
other distractions besides his inefficient thinking: He
hears voices that may have “particular religious signifi-
cance” and others that are “more precise and command-
ing.” 13 RR 65. Although Mr. Panetti was then taking
antipsychotic medication that diminished some of the
symptoms of his schizophrenia, 13 RR 69-70, Dr. Coons
said that Mr. Panetti still suffered from the disorganized
thought processes that characterize schizophrenia. 13 RR
75, 77. He said that Mr. Panetti’s mind “saddles up and
rides off in all directions.” 13 RR 85. Mr. Panetti was not

~ Shortly after arriving on death row, a medical services worker
described a visit with Mr. Panetti: “He assertively opened the interview
{with} a rambling, tangential, circumstantial diatribe ‘e.g. - ‘I read Dr.
Orr’s belt buckle — hard to see at a distance — thought it said “Stand
Tall, Walk in Peace” — like a code I saw on my milk carton — saw 3
ravens and a very contented bunny rabbit’ —- have a Woman Warrior in
Washington,’ etc., ete.” JA II 36 ‘Respondent’s Ex. 3, 1 FH 46, 91)
(punctuation in orginal).

10

malingering, Dr. Coons testified, because his symptoms
were consistent with the psychiatric records beginning in
the 1980's. 13 RR 82.

Dr. Simes testified that Mr. Panetti is clearly mentally
ill, that his thought processes are tangential, and that he
most likely suffers from schizophrenia. 13 RR 144-45, 158.
Although he concluded that Mr. Panetti was competent to
stand trial, 13 FR 146, Dr. Simes admitted that he recalled
Mr. Panetti’s delusional, irrational thinking about “gold dust
coming down and spiritually filling him,” “the demons Dagon
and Beelzebub,” and “the tinglies.” 13 RR 153-54. He also
recalled Mr. Panetti’s discussion about the four personalities
inside him and his belief that the purpose of the competency
trial was to provide him with the proper medication. 13 RR
154-56. Because stress exacerbates the symptoms of schizo-
phrenia, Dr. Simes testified that, as the capital murder trial
progressed and the stress increased, Mr. Panetti could
decompensate and his delusions could render him incapable
of assisting his attorneys. 13 RR 163, 172, 174.

The jury found Mr. Panetti competent to stand trial.
13 RR 206-07.

Seven months later, Mr. Panetti experienced his “April
Fool’s Day revelation” that God had cured his schizophre-
nia. 15 RR 9. He refused to take any more antipsychotic

* Mr. Panetti described this religious experience in his opening state-
ment to the jury at the guilt-innocence phase of his capital murder tral:
In my year in the Waco Branch Davidian expert's cell in Bell
County, I didn’t hear from my previous law firm. and | got
paranoid that I wasn’t being told or lost a chance to appeal
the decision of the illegal evidence that was found illegal and
then found legal, and I came to the conclusion after my medi-
cine was taken from me and I went into the paranvia and the
thought disorder that it depended on me, the April fool, as I
consider myself the born again April fool, not saving being
(Continued on following page)

11

medication. He asked the trial court that he be allowed to
represent himself. 15 RR 14-16, 26. His attorneys objected,
15 RR 12-13, as did the District Attorney. 15 RR 23-24.
The trial court ruled that Mr. Panetti could represent
himself. 15 RR 29-30.

Wearing a cowboy outfit,” Mr. Panetti raised a defense
of not guilty by reason of insanity. He told the jury in his
opening statement that only an insane person could prove
insanity. 31 RR 29. Mr. Panetti made bizarre and inappro-
priate statements to the jury; went on irrelevant, irra-
tional, and illogical reveries; exhibited sudden flights of
ideas; asked questions that were incomprehensible or
burdened with excessive and extraneous detail; rambled
incessantly; perseverated; recited senseless, fragmented
aphorisms and anecdotes; badgered the judge, the prose-
cuting attorney, and witnesses; and was unable to control
his behavior despite the judge’s repeated efforts.

Mr. Panetti applied for over 200 subpoenas, including
John F. Kennedy, the Pope, and Jesus. See 36 RR 1207 (“I
didn’t want to go subpoena crazy and I turned the Pope
loose and J.F.K. and I never subpoenaed them, but Jesus

born again bars someone from being able to sin, but I depended
on the Lord to do for me what the medicine wasn't doing.

31 RR 31-32; see JA 339, 345 (Petitioner’s Ex. 2, 1 FH 159, 159).
’ His standby counsel described Mr. Panetti’s appearance:

Scott dressed in a “Tom Mix” stvle costume like an old TV
western. Scott wore his hat in Court. He had-pants that
looked like leather suede tucked into his cowboy boots. He
wore a cowboy style shirt with a bandana. The shirt was the
double fold over type western shirt. One shirt was green,
the other was burgundy. Scott wore a big cowboy hat that
hung on a string over his back. It was a joke. It was hke out
of a dime store novel.

JA 23-24. °

12

Christ, he doesn’t need a subpoena. He’s right here with me,
and we'll get into that.”). He made unintelligible comments
to the panel of prospective jurors during general voir dire:

The death penalty doesn’t scare me, sure but not
much. Be killed, power line, when | was a kid.
I've got my Injun beliefs as a shaman. | sent the
buffalo horn to my sister. Adjustment, Jesus
wrote. I was born in the North woods in a reser-
vation hospital and my granddad was a justice of
the peace and he sobered up the doctor and the
doctor was half sobered and they delivered me
and my mom had a bad sickness in her milk and
they wondered why I wasn’t dead, and a lot of
beatings I took from the kids that show me had
prejudice, which I don’t have any prejudice, and
they said this about me in the newspapers in the
beginning, but I don’t love Injuns and Mexicano,
and Mexicano know, but | suffered a lot of re-
verse prejudice from Colored people, which is
rare, darn rare, but | was named “He who doesn't
ery” because I didn’t cry when | should have, and
1 must admit, though, in Gillespie County Jail
when I was in my little suicide box where there
was an old boy committed suicide, | went
through about a week of pretty much scuba
diver’s tears; although, I don’t scuba.

21 RR 87-88. He became fixated on irrelevant issues when
examining witnesses:

The Court: Mr. Panetti, at this time I don’t see
how the belt buckle is relevant to
any issue this jury is going to de-
termine and so if you can't explain
the relevance to me, I'm going to
sustain the objection. Can vou ex-
plain to me how the belt buckle is
relevant to any issue in this case?

13

Mr. Panetti: Yes, I can, Your Honor. It has to do
with jailhouse religion. It has to do
what some men would do for a belt
buckle. It has to do with the differ-
ence between a rodeo hand and a
buckaroo poet. It has to do with my
whole outlook and this will come
up, God forbid, in the punishment
stage.

Before religion, when you got relig-
ion, prior religion, church member,
I'm going to have witnesses from
the church come in and Chaplain
Bob got on his knees and read that
buckle, Ranger Cummings, read
this buckle and people go out of
their way. At rodeos cowboys make
sure they look at your buckle with-
out you looking at it.

33 RR 755-56. He prefaced incoherent questions with
rambling statements:

Mr. Panetti: Canteen where — I was expecting
the whole list to question, Donna
Stanley, educated, expert.

The Court: You need to ask a question, Mr.
Panetti.

Mr. Panetti: I hope you don’t find any more —
well, Dr. Bayardo, he didn't find
any offense when I[ mentioned
“Quincy.” We didn’t say whether
we liked the show, but we men-
tioned about the beginning where
the cops got sick, and I asked him
that naturally for a reason, but I
didn't ask him if it made the job
popular or anything, but when it

14

comes to dealing with blood, his
autopsy, and the crime scene, your
expert evidence, autopsy, crime
scene. I’m thinking out loud, so |
don’t ask you questions that you're
— well, it would be like asking a
rodeo hand what cutting a horse
means. They might know it all, but
I just — have you got those pictures
of the glow-in-the-dark?

32 RR 443. He assumed the personality of “Sarge” when he
testified about the crime:

Joe, Joe, Amanda, no talking, no words, knife,
Sarge knife, threatened, scared, fight, no. Sarge
shoots, CC. Sarge turns, shoots, boom, boom.
Where is Amanda? Mom is dead. Joe look up. No.
Where's Birdie? Sonja bedroom. Birdie. Joe.
Where’s Amanda? Sarge, Sarge, left a bullet.
Scott, what? Scott, what did you see Sarge do?
Fall. Sonja, Joe, Amanda, kitchen. Joe bayonet, not
attacking. Sarge not afraid, not threatened. Sarge
not angry, not mad. Sarge, boom, boom. Sarge,
boom, boom, boom, boom. Sarge, boom, boom.
Sarge is gone. No more Sarge. Sonja and Birdie.
Birdie and Sonja. Joe, Amanda lying kitchen, here,
there, blood. No, leave. Scott, remember exactly
what Sarge did. Shot the lock. Walked in the
kitchen. Sonja, where’s Birdie? Sonja here. Joe,
bayonet, door, Amanda. Boom, boom, blood, blood.
Demons. Ha, ha, ha, ha, oh, Lord, oh, you.

The Court: Mr. Panetti, let’s stop.

37 RR 1544-46. He delivered an incoherent guilt-innocence
phase closing argument:
Ladies and gentlemen of the jury, | think that

State will have more than a few comments, judg-
ing by the time allowed to respond to mine.

15

Briefly, in 45 minutes you might wonder a little
bit about when I testified, and Scott and Sarge
and who talked and who talked about who and
who talked about what and in light of Dr. Simes
not being here, he did leave this letter and it will
explain that and it has something to do about me
showing you the tattoo and introduce you to Will,
and I don’t tell you Texas Will and Chaplain or
Montana Will and go into that, and the evidence
will, if you read that, look over that, might explain
that. I wish you not to mistake charisma for sanity.
Charisma is by definition a spiritual gift.

Briefly touching on just a few of the — demon
dabbling is my understanding just a nonphysical
being hostile to humans and God, caused by bad
influences and disease, mental distress on hu-
man beings.

38 RR 1645-46.

On September 21, 1995, the jury found Mr. Panetti
guilty of capital murder. The next day, the punishment
phase began. The prosecution called two witnesses, includ-
ing Dr. James Grigson, who testified that antipsychotic
medications would not reduce the likelihood that Mr.
Panetti would be a future danger to society. 39 RR 54, 60.
Mr. Panetti called only one witness, his standby counsel.
He was sentenced to death the same day. 7 CR 1033-38."

“ Less than two months after Mr. Panetti was sentenced to death,
the tnal court found him incompetent to waive the appointment of state
habeas counsel under Article 11.071 of the Texas Code of Criminal
Procedure. 43 RR 6-9. Soon thereafter, Mr. Panetti wrote to the tnal
court that he wished to waive his right to direct appeal. Federal
Petition at Ex. 32. The judge denied his request and appointed an
attorney to represent him on direct appeal.

16

Dr. Wolfgang Selck, a psychiatrist who treated Mr.
Panetti during one of his hospitalizations years before the
crime, watched part of the trial. Dr. Selck described Mr.
Panetti’s behavior in the courtroom:

I saw Scott’s rambling and antics as a sign of his
clear incompetence. I suspect that the members
of the Jury as lay persons saw Scott and thought
he was normal and pretending to be mentally ill.
In my opinion it [is] not possible to imitate the
words and deeds of a mentally ill person. To an
expert, there are too many details of voice and
action that indicate the signs of mental illness:
the inappropriate behavior, the repetition of
words, the fixation on details, the bizarre presen-
tation. He should be institutionalized in a State
Hospital for the criminally insane. In my opinion,
Seott is not a malingerer. Scott was not faking a
mental illness. Scott was severely mentally ill
and has not changed and most likely shall not
improve to an appreciable degree. When | was
treating Scott in 1986 he was not facing any
charges and had no reason to act mentally ill.

JA 34-35.

2. Deterioration

It is undisputed that Mr. Panetti’s mental health
markedly déteriorates when he is not taking antipsychotic
medication. At the time Mr. Panetti was found competent
to stand trial, he was on antipsychotic medication to
alleviate some of the symptoms of his schizophrenia. 13
RR 69-70. However, after his 1995 April Fool’s Day reli-
gious experience, he stopped taking his medication. By the
time the trial began, he had been in an unmedicated state
for five months. Except for a brief period shortly after
arriving on death row, Mr. Panetti has not taken any

17

antipsychotic medication since the day he declared that
God had cured him of his schizophrenia. See JA 196; JA II
26, 32-33. 7

The evidence at the competency-to-stand-trial proceed-
ings showed that Mr. Panetti’s schizophrenic symptoms
(delusions, hallucinations, tangentiality, and circumstantial
thinking) markedly diminished when he was taking his
medication. 13 RR 67-70; see 13 RR 74 (testimony of Dr.
Coons stating that medication and hospitalization have had
a “positive influence” on Mr. Panetti); 13 RR 80 (testifying
that Mr. Panetti “gets better” when he is treated). Mr.
Panetti was then being treated with such a heavy dosage of
Trilafon that it would render somebody without a severe
mental illness dysfunctional. 13 RR 69, 71. Without any
medication, Dr. Coons testified, Mr. Panetti would be “very
psychotic,” “tremendously paranoid,” and “more delusional.”
13 RR 71. Dr. Simes agreed that Mr. Panetti’s condition
would worsen if he were not taking any antipsychotic medi-
cation. 9 RR 279."

At the federal hearing, the evidence confirmed that
Mr. Panetti’s mental condition has deteriorated since he
was found competent to stand trial. Dr. Conroy attributed
the deterioration to the fact that Mr. Panetti has not been
on any kind of psychotropic medication since April 1, 1995.
JA 195. She testified that “|iJt is likely with Mr. Panetti
that his condition would be worse the farther he is from
the medication.” JA 195. Dr. Silverman testified that Mr.

“ After reviewing the trial record and examining Mr. Panetti for
state habeas counsel, psychiatrist Michael R. Arambula concluded: “As
a result of his unmedicated state. Mr. Panetti’s disease process deterio-
rates to such a level that he was subject to persecutory delusions, and
severe disturbances in his thinking ‘and ability to communicate with
others).” JA 353.

18

Panetti was “more. lucid, coherent, and logical when he
took his medication.” JA 228. He suspected that since Mr.
Panetti stopped taking his medication, “his illness has
progressed more significantly.” JA 228. Noting the type
and amount of psychotropic medication that Mr. Panetti
was taking on a daily basis prior to the 1994 competency
proceedings, Dr. Silverman explained that:

I can’t imagine anybody getting that dose waking

up for two to three days .... And he, actually, be-

fore that had to be put on 32 milligrams of Ste-

lazine and then, Trilafon. He got that regularly,
and he was still walking and talking. You would
have to be extremely psychotic just to tolerate it
and then, benefit from it. To me, that’s almost di-
agnostic — that is diagnostic of a psychotic illness.
JA 233." Dr. Silverman concluded that the lack of medica-
tion in a case like Mr. Panetti’s would most likely lead to
“a more severe refractory kind of illness.” JA 236.

3. Present Competency

Shortly before Mr. Panetti was scheduled to be exe-
cuted on February 5, 2004, habeas counsel visited him on
death row to gather evidence of his present competence.
Counsel reported that Mr. Panetti believed that his imminent
execution was part of a satanic conspiracy to prevent him
from preaching the Gospel. JA 102. Clutching a well-worn

* Dr FE. Seale, who treated Mr. Panetti at Starlite Hospital in
1986, testified at trial that he prescribed “huge doses of Thorazine to
bring [Mr. Panetti] under control, up to 2400 milligrams a day. We
finally settled on about 2,000 milligrams of Thorazine a day. when 100
milligrams would knock the average person out, but it took that to
control [Mr Panetti).” 38 RR 1568-69. Dr. Seale also testified that,
without antipsychotic medication for several days, Mr. Panetti could
lapse into a severe psychosis. 38 RR 1574-75.

19

and meticulously tabulated Bible, Mr. Panetti described in
rambling and disjointed fashion how the Holy Spirit had
freed him from his handcuffs after prison guards had
placed him in a room filled with inmates who began
beating him. JA 102-03.

Having represented Mr. Panetti for several years,
counsel was familiar with his lengthy mental health
history, his delusions of persecution, and his excessive
religiosity. Nearly two decades earlier — years before the
crime — Mr. Panetti first succumbed to the delusion that
he was engaged in an apocalyptic struggle with the devil.”
With this history in mind, counsel arranged for Mark
Cunningham, a clinical and forensic psychologist, and
David Dow, a law professor who represents condemned
inmates in post-conviction proceedings, to visit Mr. Pa-
netti. Dr. Cunningham reported that Mr. Panetti exhibited
disorganized thinking, characterized by flight of ideas,

* In 1986, Mr. Panetti’s first wife provided an affidavit in support
of her request to have Mr. Panetti transferred from Kerrville State
Hospital and involuntarily committed to the Waco V.A. Hospital:

My husband ... has over the last two months been experi-
encing hallucinations and has been generally out of touch
with reality. He became very paranoid and was always
thinking that someone was watching him from the creek in
our backyard. He would sit on the porch all day to keep
watch. The paranoia has continued to the present. After our
buby was born in March, he became obsessed with the idea
that the devil was in our house. He finally had a ceremony
to get rid of the devil during what he called the “devil’s
birthday.” He buried many valuables next to the house and
stacked other furnishings and valuables above the ground
‘which he washed with water. He would stay up during the
night and “make magic with the lights.” He claims that he
saw the devil on a wall and cut the devil with a knife and
that blood had run out on him.

JA 38-39. c

20

tangentiality, and circumstantiality. JA 108-09 (Peti-
tioner’s Ex. 7, 2 FH 53, 53). He found that Mr. Panetti was
actively psychotic, had delusional beliefs that were both
grandiose and paranoid, and was suffering from schizo-
phrenia or schizoaffective disorder. JA 109. Dr. Cunning-
ham said that Mr. Panetti believed that he is the target of
evil forces that “included not only Wicken [sic] national
headquarters in Wisconsin, but also reached even into ‘the
administration.’” JA 109. He attributed his impending
execution to these demonic forces that wish to stop him
from continuing to preach the Gospel. JA 109. Mr. Panetti
also described himself as a “born again April fool,” miracu-
lously healed by God and, therefore, no longer in need of
medication or treatment. JA 109. Dr. Cunningham con-
cluded that Mr. Panetti was not malingering his symp-
toms, because it is nearly impossible to imitate the
disorganized thinking he exhibited and because he has a
history of “psychotic decompensation and inpatient psy-
chiatric treatment.” JA 110.

Professor Dow stated that Mr. Panetti was unable to
answer questions in a linear fashion, bounced wildly from
topic to topic, freely associated, and peppered his remarks
with random and irrelevant biblical quotations. JA 111
(Petitioner’s Ex. 10, 2 FH 73, 74). He described Mr. Pa-
netti’s delusion that prison officials and inmates had
thrown boiling water on him, but Jesus had cooled the
water before it touched his skin. JA 111. Mr. Panetti also
said that he had not shed any blood when inmates had
shot him with blowgun darts. JA 111. Half a dozen times
during Professor Dow’s interview, Mr. Panetti had ex-
plained that his imminent execution was being orches-
trated by evil, “anti-Christian forces” that wanted to “rub

him out” to keep him from preaching the Gospels of Jesus
Christ. JA 111.

21

Based on this evidence, the state court appointed two
mental health experts. JA 59-60. These experts, Mary
Anderson, a psychiatrist, and George Parker, a clinical
psychologist, conducted a joint evaluation of Mr. Panetti
and co-authored’a report. JA 70-76. They described Mr.
Panetti as controlling and uncooperative, ignoring their
repeated questions and, instead, “filibustering about the
Bible and the Lord.” JA 70. Mr. Panetti did, however,
unambiguously state that he is on death row, because
“(t]hey don’t want me to preach the Word of God.” JA 72.
Deciding that further questioning was futile, the experts
ended the clinical interview after an hour. JA 73. Dr.
Anderson and Dr. Parker believed that “Mr. Panetti
deliberately and persistently chose to control and manipu-
late our interview situation by deflecting the interview
into religious topics.” JA 75. They concluded that Mr.
Panetti knows that he is to be executed, and that,
“{allthough Mr. Panetti chooses not to discuss the reason
that he is to be executed, he has the ability to understand
the reason he is to be executed.” JA 75. The state court
agreed and found that Mr. Panetti “has failed to show, by a
preponderance of the evidence, that he is incompetent to
be executed.” JA 99-100.

At the federal evidentiary hearing, counsel for Mr.
Panetti presented the testimony of four mental health
experts. The State presented the testimony of three death
row correctional officers and the two mental health ex-
perts who had been appointed by the state court.

Mary Alice Conroy, a forensic psychologist, testified
that Mr. Panetti has “a severe thought disorder,” meaning
that “his thinking does not fit together in any kind of
logical, rational way.” JA 139. She believed he suffers from
schizoaffective disorder. JA 144. His symptoms include

~~

22

pressured speech, flight of ideas, loose associations, and
inappropriate affect. JA 146. Dr. Conroy testified that Mr.
Panetti knows he is on death row and that the State
intends to execute him. JA 147. However, Mr. Panetti told
her that:

His understanding of why he is to be executed is
a part of spiritual warfare, and that spiritual
warfare is war between the demons and the
forces of the darkness, and God and the angels
and the forces of light, which he said there are
angels but they do not have wings. He pointed
that out several times. And the reason that the
State wants to kill him is not what they're saying.
He says granted he understands that the state is
saying that they wish to execute him for this
murder, he knows that, but that’s really a sham,
that that’s not why the state wants to execute
him. The state wants to execute him to stop him
from preaching.
JA 149; see JA 150, 155 (explaining delusion that his
execution is part of “spiritual warfare”). She testified that
Mr. Panetti believes these evil forces first manifested
themselves in the mid-1980’s, when demons possessed his
home, his furniture, and his possessions. JA 149-50; see
n.13, supra.'' Dr. Conroy concluded that Mr. Panetti does

“ Mr. Panetti was involuntarily committed for psychiatric prob-
lems over a dozen times in hospitals in Texas and Wisconsin in the
decade preceding the crime. Treatment professionals repeatedly found
him to be paranoid, grandiose, delusional, and hallucinating. He
exhibited tangential and circumstantial thinking, severely impaired
judgment, and excessive religiosity. These profound disturbances in his
thinking and perception consistently led to diagnoses of chronic
undifferentiated schizophrenia and schizoaffective disorder. The doctors
frequently prescribed antipsychotic medication to alleviate some of his
psychotic symptoms. Auditory and visual hallucinations exacerbated

‘Continued on following page?

23

not appreciate the connection between his killing of his
wife’s parents and his execution. JA 150. Because of the
difficulty of imitating the symptoms of a severe thought
disorder — jumping from topic to topic, thinking illogically,
and making loose associations — Dr. Conroy found that Mr.
Panetti was not malingering. JA 150-51, 153-54. Adding
support to her conclusion, she noted that Mr. Panetti’s
lengthy mental health history showed that his delusions
about demonic persecution had remained remarkably
consistent. JA 182-83.

Susana A. Rosin, a psychologist, testified about Mr.
Panetti’s inability to maintain a train of thought, his flight
of ideas, and his use of excessive, irrelevant detail. JA 200-
02. She said that his symptoms are consistent with some-
one suffering from schizophrenia. JA 205. She also noted
that he displayed some signs of schizoaffective disorder,
which she described as a thought disorder accompanied by
rages, manic episodes, and sleeplessness. JA 206. Dr.
Rosin testified that Mr. Panetti has a set of fixed delusions

his delusions of persecution and grandiosity. He believed that the devil
had possessed his furniture. He buried it in the backyard and sprayed it
with water to exorcize the devil. He claimed to have seen the devil on
the walls of his home and admitted to hearing the voice of the devil. He
believed he was being controlled by an unseen power. He believed the
neighbors were spying on him, so he nailed his curtains shut. Two vears
before the crime, Mr. Panetti was involuntarily committed for homicidal
behavior after he began swinging a sword around the house and
threatening to kill his wife, baby, father-in-law, and himself. He thought
the citizens of Fredericksburg were plotting against him. In July 1991,
he was hospitahzed and found to be suffering from delusions of
grandiosity and psychotic religiosity. The possible presence of three
alternative personalities was noted. See generally JA 339-41 (summa-
rizing psychiatric history). Each of the experts who testified at the
federal hearing reviewed Mr. Panetti’s mental health records predating
the cnme. JA 141; JA 211-12; JA 222; JA 240; JA 307, 2 FH 56-57.

24

that date back to the 1980’s, centered around grandiose
ideas that he must save others by preaching the word of
God. JA 203. She explained that Mr. Panetti could hold a
normal conversation if the discussion did not deal with his
fixed delusional system. JA 203-04. She believed that he
knows he is on death row and that he is going to be exe-
cuted. JA 207. Dr. Rosin also testified that Mr. Panetti
knows he killed his parents-in-law. JA 208. However, he
told her that he does not believe these murders are the real
reason the State seeks his execution. Instead, he believes
that he was put on death row to preach the Gospel to save
other inmates, and that “the forces of evil, demons, devils”
have been in a conspiracy for years to kill him and put an
end to his preaching. JA 202, 209. She concluded that Mr.
Panetti was not malingering. JA 202, 205, 213.

Seth Silverman, a forensic psychiatrist, diagnosed Mr-
Panetti with schizophrenia. JA 227, 233. He testified that
Mr. Panetti believes an individual named “Sarge” killed
his wife’s parents. JA 221, 235. Dr. Silverman said that
Mr. Panetti knows the State wants to execute him, but
that these murders are not the reason. JA 221. Mr. Panetti
persisted in his belief that the real reason is “[blecause he
preaches the word of the gospel.” JA 222. He does not
associate his killing of his parents-in-law with his execu-
tion, or have a rational understanding of why the State
wants to execute him. JA 221-22, 231. Dr. Silverman
concluded that Mr. Panetti was not feigning symptoms of
severe mental illness, because no one could fabricate the
intensity, the grandiosity, and the tangentiality of thinking
that Mr. Panetti has consistently exhibited. JA 222-24.

As its first witness, the State called Dr. George
Parker, the psychologist whom the state court had ap-
pointed to evaluate Mr. Panetti. According to Dr. Parker,

25

Mr. Panetti refused to cooperate with the evaluation,
because Dr. Parker and Dr. Mary Anderson would not
answer his question about their religious preferences. JA
238. Dr. Parker did not dispute that Mr. Panetti suffers
from “significant psychological problems.” JA 239. He
testified that Mr. Panetti said he was going to be executed
to keep him from preaching the word of God. JA 255, 272.
However, Dr. Parker testified that Mr. Panetti is not
incapable of understanding why the authorities have
ordered his execution even though he is preoccupied with
religion and may, on some level, genuinely believe that he
is being executed for preaching the Gospel. JA 247. Dr.
Parker admitted that he does not know whether Mr.
Panetti understands why he is going to be executed, but he
insisted that Mr. Panetti is “capable of understanding.” JA
247.

The State also called Mary Anderson, the forensic
psychiatrist who had examined Mr. Panetti in the state
execution competency proceedings. She explained that Mr.
Panetti would not answer her and Dr. Parker’s questions,
because they refused to respond to his question whether
they believed in Jesus. JA 299-301. Mr. Panetti told Dr.
Anderson that “the devil is trying to rub me out for
preaching the word of Jesus Christ.” JA 309; see JA 303,
319. However, Dr. Anderson believed that Mr. Panetti had
the mental capacity to understand the real reason he is
going to be executed. JA 304, 315. She said that Mr.
Panetti'’s refusal to cooperate with the evaluation was the
result of deliberate, conscious choice rather than the
product of mental illness. JA 312-13. She refused to
conclude that Mr. Panetti suffers from schizophrenia,

26

because she did not think that his mental illness was
relevant to the competency determination. JA 313-14.”

In rebuttal, counsel for Mr. Panetti called Dr. Cun-
ningham, the same expert who had visited Mr. Panetti
days before his scheduled execution. After conducting a
more thorough evaluation, Dr. Cunningham testified that
the conclusions of Dr. Parker and Dr. Anderson that Mr.
Panetti was deliberately uncooperative were not a fair
characterization of his behavior. JA 324. Dr. Cunningham
explained that Mr. Panetti has a lengthy history of re-
sponding to questions with religiosity rather than concrete
answers. JA 324-26. Emphasizing that Mr. Panetti

" The State also called three correctional officers at the hearing.
Steven Miller testified that Mr. Panetti knows that he is going to be
executed. JA 296. However, Miller did not have any idea whether Mr
Panetti knows why he is going to be executed. JA 296. Tern Hill
testified that Mr. Panetti appeared to be aware of his situation, but that
she had never had a lengthy conversation with him. 1 FH 196-97. She
described an incident where Mr Panetti was jogging “frantically”
around the recreation room, preaching to the other inmates from a
Bible he carried. 1 FH 195. The inmates shouted profanities and velled
at him to stop, but Mr Panetti was undeterred. 1 FH 195. Victoria
Williams testified that Mr. Panetti is different from others because he
“over-preaches” to the inmates and correctional officers. 1 FH 201. She
said that he realizes his preaching angers the other inmates but that he
keeps doing it anyway. 1 FH 204.

“ Mr. Panetti behaved in a similar manner when his post-
conviction counsel attempted to discuss the issues with him in prepara-
tion for filing the federal habeas petition:

When I attempted to mention a topic, he was unable to con-
tinue the same line of thought in his conversation, instead
going off on some bizarre tangent. He would talk about the
Death Row guards and the “belly of the whale” or his spiri-
tual healing and role as God's son. ... Mr. Panetti was often
making esoteric references to the Bible and would hold up
his copy to show us some important significance that only
he saw. To answer a question from counsel, he would open
his Bible to read a verse that signified to him the answer
‘(Continued on following page)

27

behaved in a manner consistent with someone suffering

from schizophrenia, Dr. Cunningham explained:
|W]hy we call schizophrenia thought disorder is
the logical integration and reality connection of
their thoughts are disrupted, so the stimulus
comes in, and instead of being analyzed and
processed in a rational, logical, linear sort of way,
it gets scrambled up and comes out in a tangen-
tial, circumstantial, symbolic sort of relevant, not
really relevant kind of way. That’s the essence of
somebody being schizophrenic.
And so, when I encounter somebody like that and
they respond in that way, they're behaving like
somebody who is unmedicated, untreated schizo-
phrenic....

JA 328. According to Dr. Cunningham, Mr. Panetti be-
lieves the State of Texas is not acting as a lawfully consti-
tuted authority in seeking his execution. JA 333. Instead,
Mr. Panetti thinks that the State “is in league with the
forces of evil to prevent him from preaching the gospel.” JA
333. Dr. Cunningham identified this as a “specific delu-
sional belief,” consistent with Mr. Panetti’s “long-standing
delusions of religiosity” and diagnoses of schizophrenia
and schizoaffective disorder documented in the records

Among his many bizarre statements, Mr. Panett: said that

he alone was a “closet commando Guru” and that “he who is

first is last.”
JA 43, see JA Il 1 (Death Row medical records noting that: “The patient
reports: he is a preacher and is to deliver the Word of God to those
around him.... Pt was hyperreligious.... Pt would only speak of the
Bible and God.”)

28

from his numerous psychiatric hospitalizations since the
1980's. JA 334.”

SUMMARY OF THE ARGUMENT

Scott Louis Panetti is a captive to a malfunctioning
brain that cannot tell the difference between what is real
and what is imagined. Nearly all of the experts and
treating professionals who have examined him over the
last two decades have consistently diagnosed him as
suffering from schizophrenia or schizoaffective disorder.
Profound distortions in thinking and perception character-
ize these mental illnesses." The hallmark of Mr. Panetti’s
condition is his psychotic delusion of religious persecution.
Mr. Panetti believes that demonic forces, in league with
the State of Texas, have orchestrated his execution in a
final effort to prevent him from preaching the Gospels of
Jesus Christ. According to Mr. Panetti, the State of Texas
is using the murder of his wife’s parents as a pretext to

" The District Court found it significant that “no witness was able
to state as a matter of fact that Panetti understands he is being
executed for the murders he committed.” JA 364.

*“ Schizophrenia is one of the most chronic and disabling of the
severe mental illnesses, because its core symptoms include “distortions
in thought content (delusions), perception (hallucinations). language
and thought process ‘disorganized speech), and self-monitomng of
behavior ‘grossly disorganized or catatonic behavior.” American
Psychiatric Association, Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental
Disorders 299 (4th ed. text revision 2000). “The essential feature of
Schizoaffective Disorder is an uninterrupted period of illness during
which, at some time, there is a Major Depressive, Manic, or Mixed
Episode concurrent with [the characteristic symptoms! for Schizophre-
ma.” /d. at 319. Schizophrenia and schizoaffective disorder affect less
than one percent of the population. R.W Buchanan & William T.
Carpenter, Concept of Schizophrenia, in Comprehensive Textbook of
Psychiatry 1330 (B. Sadock & V. Sadock eds.. 8th ed. 2005).

29

fulfill the devil’s plot to silence him. In short, Mr. Panetti
is in the grip of a delusion that puts his execution at the
center of his irrational beliefs.

Mr. Panetti’s execution can proceed, the Fifth Circuit
held, because the Eighth Amendment does not require
that a prisoner must “rationally understand” the reason
for his punishment, only that he must be “aware” of the
reason the State has given. JA 381. This functionless
distinction is incompatible with the Eighth Amendment
and Ford v. Wainwright. Analysis of the relevant indica-
tors of the Amendment’s meaning demonstrates that it
does not permit the execution of a person who is so lacking
in rational understanding that he cannot comprehend that
he is being put to death because of the crime he was
convicted of committing.

First, the reasons for the firmly-embedded common-
law rule against executing the insane include the recogni-
tion that killing a person who is unable to understand that
the execution is a punishment for his crimes (1) serves no
retributive purpose, and (2) denies the condemned an
opportunity to prepare properly for death. The Ford
majority opinion and Justice Powell’s concurrence agree
that these rationales retain contemporary cogency. In
requiring an inmate to have a rational understanding of
the reason for his execution, Justice Powell crafted a
standard that implements the enduring purposes of the
common-law ban.

Second, among the States that have defined a stan-
dard of competency for execution, there is a broad contem-
porary consensus against executing condemned inmates
who are too mentally ill to understand the connection
between the crime and its punishment. This consensus
confirms that the capacity for such an understanding

30

continues to this day to be recognized as a necessary
component of the competency standard.

Third, putting to death a person who has no rational
understanding of the reason for his execution does not
measurably contribute to the retributive or deterrent
functions of capital punishment and is, therefore, mere
wanton cruelty for Eighth Amendment purposes. More-
over, executing a person who cannot understand that his
impending death is the result of the crimes for which he
stands convicted adds a further dimension to this cruelty,
because it deprives the person of any opportunity to
expiate the offense by making amends with his conscience
or his God.

Each one of these indicators — recognized by the Court’s
precedents as keys to Eighth Amendment interpretation —
points in the same direction. To execute someone like Scott
Panetti - a man who, in Justice Powell's Ford formulation,
cannot “perceive! | the connection between his crime and his
punishment,” 477 U.S. at 422 — offends a standard of decency
with established common-law roots, pervasive contemporary
acceptance, and a particular fitness to accommodate the
recognized aims of capital punishment with those of Cruel
and Unusual Punishment doctrine.

ARGUMENT

THE EIGHTH AMENDMENT PROHIBITS
THE EXECUTION OF A PERSON WHO, BE-
CAUSE OF A SEVERE MENTAL IMPAIR-
MENT, IS INCAPABLE OF RATIONALLY
UNDERSTANDING THE REASON FOR HIS
EXECUTION.

In Ford v. Wainwright, 477 U.S. 399 (1986), counsel
for the petitioner argued that the right not to be executed

31

while insane was a substantive federal constitutional
right, guaranteed by the Eighth Amendment, as incorpo-
rated into the Fourteenth Amendment. Alternatively,
counsel argued that, even if the right were merely a
creature of Florida law, the Due Process Clause required ©
Florida to administer it through fair procedures. A major-
ity of the Court made a clear choice to rest its decision
upon the first of these two grounds, holding that the
Eighth Amendment “places a substantive restriction on
the State’s power to take the life of an insane prisoner.” Jd.
at 405. It follows that, while the States may have some
leeway in crafting the specific terms of their local test for
competency to be executed, the Eighth Amendment im-
poses a constitutional minimum standard that all these
tests must meet. “With faithfulness to the constitutional
union of the States, we cannot leave to the States the
formulation of the authoritative laws, rules, and remedies .
designed to protect people from infractions by the States of
federally guaranteed rights.” Chapman v. California, 386
U.S. 18, 21 (1967); accord Ford, 477 U.S. at 419 (Powell,
J., concurring) (“The Court holds today that the Eighth
Amendment bars execution of a category of defendants
defined by their mental state. The bounds of that category
are necessarily governed by federal constitutional law.”).
This case requires the Court to determine whether that
minimum Eighth Amendment standard includes the
mental capacity to understand that one is being executed
as a punishment for a crime.

Texas proposes to execute Petitioner Scott Louis
Panetti, despite overwhelming evidence that his schizo-
phrenia has left him shackled to a psychotic delusion
strong enough to thwart the power of logic and reason. Mr.
Panetti believes that he and the devil have been engaged
in an apocalyptic struggle — “spiritual warfare” — for years,

32

and that the devil has specifically targeted him because of
his profound Christian faith and relentless efforts to
persuade others to follow the teachings of Jesus Christ. He
thinks that the actual reason for his execution is the
devil’s persecution for spreading the Gospels, not the
State’s retribution for killing his wife’s parents. He views
his capital murder conviction as simply part of the State’s
grand design to cover up the diabolical conspiracy that will
make him a martyr. Mr. Panetti’s distorted perception of
reality falls substantially short of the constitutional
minimum, which requires at least that the inmate “per-
ceives the connection between his crime and his punish-
ment.” Ford, 477 U.S. at 422 (Powell, J., concurring).

“The prohibition against ‘cruel and unusual punish-
ments,’ like other expansive language in the Constitution,
must be interpreted according to its text, by considering
history, tradition, and precedent, and with due regard for
its purpose and function in the constitutional design.”
Roper v. Simmons, 543 U.S. 551, 560 (2005). Recognizing
that Eighth Amendment analysis “should be informed by
‘objective factors to the maximum possible extent,’” Atkins
v. Virginia, 536 U.S. 304, 312 (2002) (quoting Harmelin v.
Michigan, 501 U.S. 957, 1000 (1991) (Kennedy, J., concur-
ring) (internal quotation marks omitted), this Court has
looked to the “ancestral legacy” of the common law, Ford,
477 U.S. at 408; a discernible contemporary consensus of
“legislative enactments and state practice,” Simmons, 543
U.S. at 563, particularly when that is reflective of “a much
broader social and professional consensus,” Atkins, 536
U.S. at 316 n.21; and the conformity or disjuncture be-
tween the particular infliction of capital punishment and
generally understood “penological justifications for the death
penalty.” Simmons, 543 U.S. at 571. With regard to the
narrow question presented in Mr. Panetti’s case - whether

33

the Eighth Amendment permits the execution of a person
who is incapable of understanding that his death will be
the punishment for a crime he has committed — all of these
objective indicators point to the same, negative answer.

I. THE ANCESTRAL LEGACY OF THE COMMON
LAW INSISTS THAT THE DEATH PENALTY
CANNOT BE IMPOSED ON A PERSON SO
LACKING IN RATIONAL UNDERSTANDING
THAT HE IS UNABLE TO PERCEIVE THE
CONNECTION BETWEEN HIS CRIME AND
HIS PUNISHMENT.

A. Ford identified the common-law justifica-
tions for the ban on executing the insane
that retain contemporary validity.

In holding that the Eighth Amendment prohibits the
execution of the insane, Ford found that this ancient
proscription was unquestioned and firmly embedded in the
common law at the time the Bill of Rights was adopted.
477 U.S. at 406-08. The common law had settled on no
single reason for the ban, and because some of its ration-
ales might have become obsolete,” the prevailing Ford
opinions undertook to identify those common-law purposes
that still retain vitality today.

Both the majority and Justice Powell cited Blackstone
for asserting that the rule reflected not only “‘the human-
ity of the English law” in appreciating that an insane
prisoner might be unable to allege “‘something in stay of
judgment or execution, ” 477 U.S. at 407 (quoting William

See Geoffrey C. Hazard & David W. Louisell, Death, the State.
and the Insane: Stay of Execution, 9 U.C.L.A. L. Rev. 381, 383 : 1962).

34

Blackstone, 4 Commentaries *24-*25),” but also a recogni-
tion that “execution serves no purpose in these cases
because madness is its own punishment.” Jd. at 407-08.
Coke viewed the execution of the insane as but “‘a miser-
able spectacle, both against Law, and of extream inhuman-
ity and cruelty, and can be no example to others.’” Jd. at
407 (quoting Sir Edward Coke, 3 Institutes 6 (6th ed.
1680)). His explanation suggests that execution of the
insane “contributes nothing to... deterrence” and “simply
offends humanity.” Jd. Still another rationale had religious
roots: Executing a person who is unable to reflect on his
conduct and predicament deprives him of a last opportu-
nity to make peace with God. /d. A final rationale rested
on the assertion that the execution of the insane does not
satisfy “the community’s quest for retribution.” Jd. at 408
(internal quotation marks omitted).

The majority opinion specifically concluded that at
least three of these common-law rationales continue to
“have no less logical, moral, and practical force than they
did when first voiced.” Jd. at 409. First, the Court noted
that “we may seriously question the retributive value of
executing a person who has no comprehension of why he
has been singled out and stripped of his fundamental right
to life.” Jd. The Court characterized executions lacking
retributive purpose as nothing more than “mindless
vengeance.” Jd, at 410. Second, the Court believed that
modern society abhorred the practice of executing “one
who has no capacity to come to grips with his own con-
science or deity.” Jd. at 409. Consequently, Eighth

” Justice Powell found that the rationale of protecting an inmate's
ability to articulate legal grounds in bar of execution had “shght merit
today.” Jd. at 421, see id. at 422 n.3.

35

Amendment prohibition of the practice would “protect the
condemned from fear and pain without comfort of under-
standing.” /d. at 410. Third, the Court concluded that, no
less than in ancient times, execution of the insane “simply
offends humanity.” Id. at 409.

Justice Powell joined this portion of the majority
opinion, but wrote separately to offer additional analysis
that could guide specific application of the majority’s
Eighth Amendment holding. In defining “the meaning of
insanity” in the execution setting, id. at 418, he looked to
the common law and the modern practices of the States -
the same sources that informed the majority’s recognition
of a substantive right against execution of the incompetent
— to formulate a “precise definition” of incompetency. Jd. at
419. Because the various rationales supporting the ancient
ban on executing the insane “do not provide a common
answer when it comes to defining the mental awareness
required by the Eighth Amendment,” id., Justice Powell
focused on the two that he believed still had merit in
modern practice. First, because most people today “value
the opportunity to prepare, mentally and spiritually for
their death,” he determined that the general concern of the
common law — “that executions of the insane are simply
cruel” — remained valid. /d. at 421. Second, he found that
one of the “critical justifications” for the modern use of
capital punishment - its retributive force — coincided with
the common-law rationale that required “the defendant's
awareness of the penalty’s existence and purpose.” Jd. He
concluded that a constitutionally appropriate standard for
competency to be executed had to satisfy both of these
rationales: :

If the defendant perceives the connection be-

tween his crime and his punishment, the retribu-
tive goal of the criminal law is satisfied. And only

36

if the defendant is aware that his death is ap-
proaching can he prepare for his passing.
Id. at 422. Accordingly, he proposed a standard that would
prohibit the execution of those “who are unaware of the

punishment they are about to suffer and why they are to
suffer it.” Jd.”

This review of the majority opinion and Justice
Powell’s concurring opinion in Ford leads to three unre-
markable conclusions. First, the competency standard that
Justice Powell endorsed must be read in light of the
common-law rationales that he found had modern-day
merit: (1) that the retributive goal of capital punishment is
not furthered by executing someone so lacking in under-
standing that he cannot grasp “the connection between his
crime and his punishment,” and (2) that it is uniquely
cruel to execute a person who has no chance to obtain
mental or spiritual consolation in preparation for his
death, because he does not comprehend the reason he is to
die. Second, Justice Powell’s standard is consistent with
the majority's stated reasons for finding that the Eighth
Amendment embodies the common-law prohibition: that
“executing a person who has no comprehension of why he
has been singled out and stripped of his fundamental right
to life” has no retributive value, and that it offends hu-
manity to execute someone who lacks the “comfort of
understanding” his impending fate, because he does not
have the “capacity to come to grips with his own con-
science or deity.” Jd. at 409. Third, for these underlying
common-law rationales to be satisfied, an inmate must

* Justice Powell’s use of the term “suffer” is instructive. It provides
additional support for the conclusion that his proposed test incorporates
the common-law retributive rationale.

37

possess a rational understanding of his predicament,
including a capacity to perceive the punitive connection
between his criminal conviction and his impending execu-
tion.” The inmate must be capable of realizing his moral
guilt before he can prepare himself for death as expiation
for his offense, and the state’s punitive purpose must be
intelligible to him for retribution to be meaningful.

B. The common-law rationales embraced by
the Ford opinions logically imply the need
for rational understanding.

In Ford, both the majority and Justice Powell referred
to Hawles’s commentaries, which emphasize that:

|T]here being so many to be made examples of,
besides those on whom the misfortunes of mad-
ness fall, it is inconsistent with humanity to
make examples of them; it is inconsistent with
religion, as being against christian charity to

send a great offender quick ... into another
world, when he is not of a capacity to fit himself
for it. ,

~ Justice Powell's opinion contains five slightly different formula-
tions of the competency standard he approved. These formulations
prohibit the execution of persons ‘1) who “are unaware of the punish-
ment they are about to suffer and why they are to suffer it,” (2) “who
dio} not have the mental capacity to understand the nature of the death
penalty and why it was imposed on them,” (3) who are “unable to
understand the nature and purpose of such sentence.” (4) who are
unable “to understand the nature of the sentencing proceedings, i.e.,
why he was being punished and the nature of his punishment:” and (5)
who do not “know the fact of their impending execution and the reason
for it.” Jd. at 421-22, 422 n.3 (citations and internal quotation murks
omitted! A rational understanding of the connection between one’s
criminal conviction and execution is explicit or implicit in each formula-
tion.

38

Sir John Hawles, Remarks on the Trial of Mr. Charles
Bateman, in XI State Trials 477 (T. Howell ed., 1816).
Hawles is the most explicit of the common-law writers
regarding the specific capacity demandee for competency
to be executed, and courts in the common-law tradition
continue to echo his point. See State v. Noel, 133 A. 274,
283 (N.J. 1926) (“The law is zealous in permitting one
condemned to death to make his peace with the Almighty,
before he pays the penalty of his crime. This expiation
cannot be made by one who is insane.”); Musselwhite v.
State, 60 So. 2d 807, 811 (Miss. 1952) (“It is... part of due
process that there be available to [the condemned] as a
rational person avenues toward ... spiritual consola-
tion.”). Plainly, the capacity to understand why one is to
die — the capacity to connect one’s death with one’s life and
deeds and to come to terms with one’s responsibilities in
the end — is a necessary condition for fitting oneself for
execution in the common-law sense.

Equally plainly, to inflict death upon one who does not
understand its punitive purpose would substitute “mind-
less vengeance,” Ford, 477 U.S. at 410, for the concept of
just deserts that is central to the retributive justification
for capital punishment. This is why common-law courts
have insisted that, “before the prisoner could be found
insane, it should be shown that he would not know he
would deserve punishment for doing a wrong act, and, if
punishment therefor should be inflicted upon him, would
not comprehend the reason why he was being punished.”
Lee v. State, 45 S.E. 628, 630 (Ga. 1903); see In re Lang, 71
A. 47, 49 (N.J. 1908) (explaining that a mentally ill pris-
oner cannot be executed unless a “court or a jury has
found that he is conscious of having committed a crime, is
aware that he is amenable to punishment and is apprecia-
tive of his situation as a murderer condemned to death”).

39

The tests that common-law courts have developed for
competency to be executed thus focus upon a condemned
inmate’s rational understanding of the purpose for which
the State is about to put him to death. See, e.g., Ex parte
Chesser, 112 So. 87, 89-90 (Fla. 1927) (holding that, if the
inmate is “unable to understand the nature, purpose and
effect of the process about to be executed upon him,” then
the execution shall not be carried out until the inmate
“regains his senses”); State v. Genna, 112 So. 655, 661 (La.
1927) (“He must be capable of understanding the situation
in which he stands and the nature of the proceedings
against him.”). Scholars have agreed that the common-law
standard was “generally said to be whether the con-
demned man has the capacity to understand the nature
and purpose of the punishment about to be executed upon
him.” Henry Weihofen, A Question of Justice: Trial or
Execution of an Insane Defendant, 37 A.B.A. J. 651, 652
(1951): see Wayne LaFave & Austin Scott, Handbook on
Criminal Law 303 (1972) (“{[H]je must be so unsound
mentally as to be incapable of understanding the nature
and purpose of the punishment about to be executed upon
him.”). As one commentator has suggested:

(PJerhaps the most convincing purpose for which

the rule has been said to exist in modern circum-

stances is that punishment should not be in-

flicted upon a person incapable of comprehending

the reason why he is punished. Thus in the

United States where the common law rules are

still operative in many States the tests of insan-

ity adopted consider the mental condition of the

prisoner in regards closely connected with the

purposes of execution.
J.D. Feltham, The Common Law and the Execution of
Insane Criminals, 4 Melb. U. L. Rev. 434, 468 (1964)

40

(footnotes omitted). Only through a radical divergence
from the common-law tradition could a court today con-
clude — as the Fifth Circuit did below — that it is permissi-
ble to execute a psychotic who delusionally believes that
the purpose of his execution is to aid and abet the devil by
depriving Jesus of the benefits of his ministry.

Il. CONTEMPORARY STANDARDS REQUIRE THE
INMATE TO RATIONALLY UNDERSTAND THE
CONNECTION BETWEEN HIS CRIME AND
HIS PUNISHMENT.

A. State Law

The “clearest and most reliable objective evidence of
contemporary values” relevant to the Eighth Amendment
is state legislation. Atkins, 536 U.S. at 312 (citation
omitted). Nineteen states currently have a statutory
definition of competency for execution.’ Of these, 14 states
provide that a condemned inmate must “understand the
reason” or “know why” he is being punished, or must
“understand the purpose” or the “object” of the punish-
ment. These formulas expressly require capability to
connect punishmen with crime. That capability is proba-
bly implied, as well, by three additional statutes that
forbid an execution if the inmate is “unaware that he is to
be punished for the crime of murder” or “lacks awareness”

” For the Court's convenience, the relevant statutory provisions
and case law decisions of the states are set out in Appendix B.

* Arkansas, Florida, Georgia. Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi,
Missouri. New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Oregon, Texas, Utah, and
Wyoming. The relevant federal statute also provides that. “A sentence
of death shall not be carried out upon a person who, as a result of
mental disability, lacks the mental capacity to understand the death
penalty and why it was imposed on that person.” 18 U.S.C. § 35961C).

41

that he “is to be executed for the crime of murder.”” The
two remaining states with statutory definitions assimilate
competency-to-be-executed with competency-to-be-sentenced
and forbid an execution if the inmate “lacks capacity” or “is
unable” to “understand the proceedings against” him.”
Thus, no state statutory definition expressly permits the
execution of someone incapable of connecting the execu-
tion to his criminal conviction; three-quarters of the
definitions explicitly forbid such an execution; and the
remaining quarter most likely forbid it implicitly.

Nine states do not have a statutory standard for
determining incompetency,” and ten states have no stat-
ute at all.” No judicial decisions appear to spell out the
competency-to-be-executed standard in most of these
states. However, in the six states where such decisions are
found, at least five require an inmate to be capable of
understanding the connection between his conviction of a

* Arizona, Colorado, and Maryland.
“ Idaho and Montana.

* See, e.g., Provenzano v. State, 750 So. 2d 597, 602 (Fla. 1999)
(noting that Florida’s statutory definition “does allow for a prisoner's
rational appreciation of the connection between his crime and the
punishment he is to receive”), Billiot v. State, 655 So. 2d 1, 16 (Miss.
1995) ‘explaining that the inmate “must comprehend the reasons for
the penalty and its implications, he must understand ‘the penalty’s
existence and purpose, and in order for the retributive goal of the
criminal law to be satisfied, he must ‘perceive! | the connection between
his crime and his punishment,’ and be ‘aware that his death is ap-
proaching |so] he can prepare himself for his passing”) ‘quoting Ford,
477 U.S. at 417, 422 ( Powell, J., concurring)).

“ Alabama, California, Connecticut, Kansas, Nebraska, Nevada,
New Mexico, Oklahoma, and South Dakota.

“ Delaware, Illinois, Indiana, New Hampshire, New Jersey,
Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia, and Washington.

42

crime and his execution.” The remaining decision is silent
on the issue. »

In summary, all of the states in which the relevant
legal rule can be ascertained with any confidence prohibit
the execution of an inmate so lacking in rational under-
standing that he cannot comprehend the connection
between his crime and his execution. The rest of the death
penalty states have not reached a different conclusion;
they simply have not addressed the issue.

B. Informed Professional Opinion

This Court has looked to the positions of “organiza-
tions with germane expertise” to determine whether the
judgment of state legislatures “reflects a much broader
social and professional consensus.” Atkins, 536 U.S. at 316
n.21. That is certainly the case here. The American Psy-
chiatric Association, the American Psychological Associa-
tion, and the American Bar Association have all adopted
position statements regarding the execution of mentally
impaired inmates. With minor differences, presently
irrelevant, the positions of these national organizations
are identical, stating that: “A sentence of death should not
be carried out if the prisoner has a mental disorder or
disability that significantly impairs his or her capacity .. .
to understand the nature and purpose of the punishment,

“ Pennsylvania requires that the inmate comprehend the reasons
for the death penalty. Tennessee and Indiana require that he be aware
of why he is to suffer it. South Carolina requires that he be able to
understand the reason for the punishment, and Oklahoma requires
that he be able to understand the punishment’s purpose.

“ The Washington standard says only that an inmate must be
“capable of properly appreciating his peril and of rationally assisting in
his own defense.” State v. Harris, 789 P.2d 60, 65 (Wash. 1990).

43

or to appreciate the reason for its imposition in the pris-
oner’s own case.”” The supporting commentary to the
American Bar Association’s resolution makes clear that
the standard includes a rational understanding compo-
nent:
[The standard] would require that an offender
not only must be “aware” of the nature and pur-
pose of punishment but also must “appreciate”
its personal application in the offender’s own
case — that is, why it is being imposed on the of-
fender. This formulation is analogous to the dis-
tinction often drawn between a “factual
understanding” and a “rational understanding”
of the reason for the execution.

American Bar Association, Resolution 122A, supra, at 675.
The consistency of the professional organizations’ stan-
dards with state legislative and case law evidence “lends
further support to [the] conclusion that there is a consen-

sus among those who have addressed the issue.” Atkins,
536 U.S. at 316 n.21.

“ American Psychiatric Association, Mentally Jil Prisoners on
Death Row, par. (a) (Dec. 2005), available at http://www psych.org/edu/
other_res/lib_archives/archives/200505. pdf. American Psychological
Association, Council Policy Manual: N. Public Interest - Part 2, VIIL.2,
par. 3ia) (Feb. 2006), available at http://www apa org/aboutdivision/
cpmpubint2.html#8, American Bar Association. Resolution 122A. par
3(a) ‘Aug. 7-8, 2006), in Recommendation and Report on the Death
Penalty and Persons uith Mental Disabilities, 30 Mental & Physical
Disability L. Rep. 668, 668 (2006).

44

Ill. EXECUTING A PERSON INCAPABLE OF
RATIONALLY UNDERSTANDING THE CON-
NECTION BETWEEN HIS CRIME AND HIS
PUNISHMENT WOULD NOT SERVE THE
PENOLOGICAL PURPOSES OF THE DEATH
PENALTY.

The imposition of capital punishment violates the
Eighth Amendment when it is excessive, “involv|ing) the
unnecessary and wanton infliction of pain.” Gregg uv.
Georgia, 428 U.S. 153, 173 (1976) (joint opinion of Stewart,
Powell, and Stevens, JJ.). To execute a person who lacks
the mental capacity to understand the causal connection
between his crime and his punishment is excessive on two
counts. First, execution of such a person does not serve
either of the principal penological justifications for the
death penalty: “retribution and deterrence of capital
crimes.” Jd. at 183. Unless the imposition of the death
penalty “measurably contributes to one or both of these
goals, it ‘is nothing more than the purposeless and need-
less infliction of pain and suffering,’ and hence an uncon-
stitutional punishment.” Enmund v. Florida, 458 U.S. 782,
798 (1982) (quoting Coker v. Georgia, 433 U.S. 584, 592
(1977) (plurality opinion)). Second, executing a person who
lacks rational understanding is “uniquely cruel,” Ford, 477
U.S. at 421 (Powell, J . concurring), because it subjects the
prisoner to “fear and pain without comfort of understand-
ing.” Jd. at 410 (majority opinion).

A. Retribution

Retribution is “the primary justification for the death
penalty.” Spaziano v. Florida, 468 U.S. 447, 461 (1984). In
retributive theory, capital punishment serves as “an
expression of society's moral outrage at particularly

45

offensive conduct,” Gregg, 428 U.S. at 183, and is “an
attempt to right the balance for the wrong to the victim.”
Simmons, 543 U.S. at 571. Retribution demands that,
when the time for execution arrives, the offender be able to
recognize death as the price he must pay for his culpable
deeds. See Mary Ellen Gale, Retribution, Punishment, and
Death, 18 U.C. Davis L. Rev. 973, 1031 (1985) (“To give
someone her just deserts implies her recognition that those
deserts are just.”). Society demands that the condemned
inmate suffer the anguish of realizing that he is being put to
death “for what he did.” Martin v. Dugger, 686 F. Supp. 1523,
1569 (S.D. Fla. 1988). Because retribution attempts to
awaken the conscience of the offender, Gale, supra, at 1031-
32, it is designed to apply exclusively to rational persons who
have the cognitive capacity to answer for their conduct. See
generally Barbara A. Ward, Competency for Execution:
Problems in Law and Psychiatry, 14 Fla. St. U. L. Rev. 35,
57-58 (1986).

Executing a delusional psychotic who believes that a
conspiracy of demonic forces is orchestrating his execution
does not serve the retributive goal of capital punishment.
The condemned’s lack of rational understanding severs the
critical connection between crime and punishment, de-
stroying his ability to appreciate that his suffering is
payback for his offense. See id. at 54 (“Because of the
immense suffering caused by the prisoner’s criminal
actions, he is to suffer in anticipation of his death, and this
goal cannot be achieved if the prisoner does not appreciate
his impending fate because of mental illness.”) ‘footnote
omitted); Gale, supra, at 1031 n.167 (“[W]e believe pun-
ishment appeals, whether successfully or not, to the
offender’s consciousness and conscience — |this] may help
explain our moral distaste for killing those who cannot
understand either what we are doing or why we are doing

46

it.”); Ford v. Wainwright, 752 F.2d 526, 531 (11th Cir.
1985) (Clark, J., dissenting) (noting that “the social goal of
retribution is frustrated when the power of the State is
exercised against one who does not comprehend its signifi-
cance”), rev'd, 477 U.S. 399 (1986); American Bar Associa-
tion, Resolution 122A, supra, at 676 (“[T)he retributive
purpose of capital punishment is not served by executing
an offender who lacks a meaningful understanding that
the state is taking his life in order to hold him accountable
for taking the life of one or more people.”). Under these
circumstances, execution serves as vengeance, not retribu-
tion.”

The absence of any retributive value in executing
those who do not possess a rational understanding of the
reason for their impending death substantially influenced
Justice Powell’s formulation of the Eighth Amendment
competency standard in Ford. See 477 U.S. at 421-22
(explaining that, only “liJf the defendant perceives the
connection between his crime and his punishment,” is “the
retributive goal of the criminal law ... satisfied”). It also
served as one of the mainstays of the Ford majority’s decision
to constitutionalize the common-law rule. See id. at 409.
Executing a person who lacks the rational understanding
needed to make the connection between his crime and his
punishment thwarts “the retributive end of ensuring that
the criminal gets his just deserts.” Enmund, 458 U.S. at

* “Retribution focuses on the offender's deserved punishment;
revenge focuses on retaliation and tries to satisfy the victim’s or
society's desire to strike back at the criminal.” Gale, supra, at 1033
(internal quotation marks and footnote omitted), see The Essays of
Francis Bacon 34 (S. Reynolds ed., 1590) “Revenge is a kind of wild
justice, which the more man’s nature runs to, the more ought law to
weed it out.”).

47

801. Prohibiting such executions “protect|s] the dignity of
society itself from the barbarity of exacting mindless
vengeance.” Ford, 477 U.S. at 410."

B. Deterrence )

Most of the common-law authorities concluded, like
Coke, that the execution of the insane “should be a miser-
able spectacle ... of extream inhumanity and cruelty, and
can be no example to others.” Coke, supra, at 6; see, e.g.,
Beverley’s Case of Non Compos Mentis, 76 Eng. Rep. 1118,
1120-21 (K.B. 1598); L. Shelford, A Practical Treatise on
The Law Concerning Lunatics, Idiots, and Persons of
Unsound Mind 295 (1833). These writers suggest that the
life of an incompetent person can be spared without
weakening the deterrent effect of the death penalty. A
prospective offender cannot imagine losing his capacity for
rational understanding so that he will be spared from
execution. Hazard & Louisell, supra, at 385. Moreover, an
offender’s execution can proceed if he regains his sanity,
and it can have “the same deterrent effect as if he had
been sane throughout.” Jd. Consequently, inflicting capital
punishment upon a person who lacks a rational under-
standing of his predicament is “unnecessary to the accom-
plishment of the end of deterrence.” Jd. at 386.”

\

“ Thompson v. Oklahoma, 487 U.S. 815 (1988), cited Ford as an
example of a case where the Court found a death sentence unconstitu-
tional because the “retributive value is so low.” /d. at 836 n.44 (plurality
opinion).

* The “natural abhorrence” society feels at executing the insane,
Ford, 477 U.S. at 409, also counsels against the practice:
If the general population shares the opimon that execution
of disturbed offenders constitutes cruel, brutal, and barbaric
behavior, then the practice could cause the law to diverge
(Continued on following page)

48

C. Uniquely Cruel and Inhuman

An inmate who rationally understands the reason for
his execution can allay some of the fear and torment he
faces by coming to terms with his moral guilt, seeking
forgiveness, expressing remorse, making amends, or
clearing his conscience. An inmate who does not have this
capacity cannot make this expiation.” Executing such a
person, who is without the “comfort of understanding,”
Ford, 477 U.S. at 410, is a uniquely cruel and inhuman
practice that does not “comport|]| with the basic concept of
human dignity at the core” of the Eighth Amendment.
Gregg, 428 U.S. at 182.

When Ford found that executing an insane prisoner
would violate the Eighth Amendment, the majority invoked
“the natural abhorrence civilized societies feel at killing

from conventional morality so drastically that some would
consider certain illegal conduct to be not only morally ac-
ceptable but morally mandatory. Thus, the |competency-for-
execution] requirement might undermine the deterrent ef-
fect of capital punishment to some unspecified degree vet
serve the preventive function of the criminal law by avoid-
ing a practice that would promote alienation between the
law and conventional] morality.

Robert F. Schopp, Wake Up and Die Right: The Rationale, Standard,
and Jurisprudential Significance of the Competency to Face Execution
Requirement, 51 La. L. Rev. 995, 1016 (1991).

*“ Compare Last Statement of Derrick O’Brien ‘executed Jul. 11,
2006), available at http://www.tdcj.state.tx.us/stat/obrienderricklast.
htm (“I have always been sorry. It is the worst mistake that I ever made
in my whole life. Not because I am here, but because of what I did and |
hurt a lot of people — you, and my family. I am sorry; I have always been
sorry. | am sorry.”), with Last Statement of Manty Delk ‘executed Feb.
28, 2002), available at http://www.tdcj.state.tx.us/stat/delkmontylast.
htm (“I've got one thing to say, get your Warden off this gurney and
shut up. I am from the island of Barbados. I am the Warden of this unit.
People are seeing you do this.”).

49

one who has no capacity to come to grips with his own
conscience or deity.” 477 U.S. at 409. Equally concerned,
Justice Powell formulated his standard, in part, to allevi-
ate the excessive cruelty involved in dispatching persons
who do not have the ability “to prepare, mentally and
spiritually, for their death.” Jd. at 421. To execute an
inmate laboring under a psychotic delusion about the
reason for his execution would be “a uniquely cruel pen-
alty,” id., inconsistent with the fundamental premise of the
‘Eighth Amendment that even the most contemptible
criminal remains a human being entitled to respect and

dignity.”

CONCLUSION ~—

To affirm that the Eighth Amendment forbids the
execution of a prisoner so mentally impaired that he
cannot “perceive||] the connection between his crime and
his punishment,” 477 U.S. at 422, implements the consti-
tutional standard that Justice Powell endorsed in Ford. It
is consistent with the reasons the Ford majority gave for
holding that the Constitution imposes a substantive
restriction on the States’ power to execute the insane. It is
in the grain of a tradition of decency that has a deep and
distinguished pedigree in the common law, yet still retains

” To execute a person “who lacks a rudimentary understanding of
the nature and purpose of the proceedings .. . offends the moral dignity
of the process because it treats the defendant not as an accountable
person, but as an object....” Richard Bonnie, The Competence of
Criminal Defendants: Beyond Dusky and Drope. 47 U. Miami L. Rev
539, 551 (1993) ‘emphasis in original), see Cartiativo v. California, 357
U.S. 549, 559 (1958) (Frankfurter, J. dissenting) ‘explaining that it
would be “barbaric” to execute a person who is “mentally unfit to meet
his destiny”).

50

contemporary validity. Its approval by state legislatures
and state courts without dissent, and by informed national
mental health and legal organizations, signifies more than
simply historical continuity. It reveals a broad social
consensus that a condemned inmate must have the mental
capacity to rationally understand the reason for his
execution. To execute someone like Scott Panetti, who
lacks this rudimentary level of rational understanding,
would disserve the penological purposes of the death
penalty and would exact a uniquely cruel punishment at
odds with the core value of the Eighth Amendment -
human dignity.

This Court should reverse the Fifth Circuit's judgment
and remand the case so that the District Court can deter-
mine Mr. Panetti’s competency under the proper constitu-
tional standard.

Respectfully submitted,
KEITH S. HAMPTON* GREGORY W. WIERCIOCH
1103 Nueces Street TEXAS DEFENDER SERVICE
Austin, Texas 78701 430 Jersey Street
(512) 476-8484 San Francisco, California 94114

(512) 476-0953 (facsimile) (415) 285-2472
*Counsel of Record ~ (415) 285-2472 (facsimile)

—————————————————

A-1

APPENDIX A

CONSTITUTIONAL AND
STATUTORY PROVISIONS AT ISSUE

Article 46.05 of the Texas Code of Criminal Procedure
Competency to be Executed

(a) A person who is incompetent to be executed may not
be executed.

(b) The trial court retains jurisdiction over motions filed
by or for a defendant under this article.

(c) A motion filed under this article must identify the
proceeding in which the defendant was convicted, give the
date of the final judgment, set forth the fact that an
execution date has been set if the date has been set, and
clearly set forth alleged facts in support of the assertion
that the defendant is presently incompetent to be exe-
cuted. The defendant shall attach affidavits, records, or
other evidence supporting the defendant's allegations or
shall state why those items are not attached. The defen-
dant shall identify any previous proceedings in which the
defendant challenged the defendant’s competency in
relation to the conviction and sentence in question, includ-
ing any challenge to the defendant’s competency to be
executed, competency to stand trial, or sanity at the time
of the offense. The motion must be verified by the oath of
some person on the defendant’s behalf.

(d) On receipt of a motion filed under this article, the
trial court shall determine whether the defendant has
raised a substantial doubt of the defendant’s competency

to be executed on the basis of:

(1) the motion, any attached documents, and
any responsive pleadings; and

A-2

(2) if applicable, the presumption of competency
under Subsection (e).

(e) Ifa defendant is determined to have previously filed a
motion under this article, and has previously been deter-
mined to be competent to be executed, the previous adjudi-
cation creates a presumption of competency and the
defendant is not entitled to a hearing on the subsequent
motion filed under this article, unless the defendant
makes a prima facie showing of a substantial change in
circumstances sufficient to raise a significant question as
to the defendant’s competency to be executed at the time of
filing the subsequent motion under this article.

(f) If the trial court determines that the defendant has
made a substantial showing of incompetency, the court
shall order at least two mental health experts to examine
the defendant using the standard described by Subsection
(h) to determine whether the defendant is incompetent to
be executed.

(g) If the trial court does not determine that the defen-
dant has made a substantial showing of incompetency, the
court shall deny the motion.

(h) A defendant is incompetent to be executed if the
defendant does not understand:

(1) that he or she is to be executed and that the
execution is imminent; and

(2) the reason he or she is being executed.

(i) Mental health experts who examine a defendant
under this article shall provide within a time ordered by
the trial court copies of their reports to the attorney
representing the state, the attorney representing the
defendant, and the court.

A-3

(j) By filing a motion under this article, the defendant
waives any claim of privilege with respect to, and consents
to the release of, all mental health and medical records
relevant to whether the defendant is incompetent to be
executed.

(k) If, on the basis of reports provided under Subsection
(i), the motion, any attached documents, any responsive
pleadings, and any evidence introduced in the final compe-
tency hearing, the trial court makes a finding by a pre-
ponderance of the evidence that the defendant is
incompetent to be executed, the clerk <.all send immedi-
ately to the court of criminal appeals in accordance with
Section 8d), Article 11.071, the appropriate documents for
that court’s determination of whether any existing execu-
tion date should be withdrawn and a stay of execution
issued. If a stay of execution is issued by the court of
criminal appeals, the trial court periodically shall order
that the defendant be reexamined by mental health
experts to determine whether the defendant is no longer
incompetent to be executed.

(1) If the trial court does not make the finding as de-
scribed by Subsection (k), the court may set an execution
date as otherwise provided by law.

B-1

APPENDIX B

COMPETENCE TO BE EXECUTED: STATUTORY AND CASE LAW STANDARDS

Statute

State Case Law Interpreting Standard*

“If after conviction and sentence to death, but at any ume before
the exccution of the sentence, it is made to appear to the
satisfaction of the trial court that the convict is then insane, such
trial court shall forthwith enter an order in the tnal court
suspending the execution of the sentence... .”

Ala. Code § 15-16-23 (2006).

No case law.

“A person who is sentenced to death shali not be executed as
long as he is mentally incompetent to be executed.”

“As used in this article, ‘mentally incompetent to be executed’
means that duc to a mental disease or defect a person who ts
sentenced to death is presently unaware that he 1s to be punished
for the crime of murder or that he is unaware that the impending
punishment for that crime is death.”

Ariz. Rev. Stat. § 13-4021 (A),(B) (2006).

3. Arkansas

“{ AJn individual under sentence of death is not competent [to be
executed when], due to mental illness, [he or she does not]
understand the nature and reasons for that punishment... .”
Ark. Code § 16-90 506(d)(1) (2006).

4. California

If the warden has “good reason to believe that a defendant, under
judgment of death, has become insane,” he must notify the

Since 1850, competency for execution has been
governed by statute in California. Ex parte Phyle, 186

* No case law is provided for those states that have an explicit statutory definition of incompetency.

B-2

Jurisdiction

Statute

State Case Law Interpreting Standard*

district attorney for the county in which the prison is located.
The district attorney is required to notify the court, which must
in turn convene a jury to decide the issue.

“[W hen it is found that the defendant is insane, the order must
direct that he be taken to a medical facility of the Department of
Corrections, and there kept in safe confinement until his reason
is restored.”

Cal. Penal Code §§ 3701, 3703 (2007).

P.2d 134, 139 (Cal. 1947), cert. granted, Phyle v.
Duffy, 333 U.S. 841, and cert. dismissed, 334 U.S. 431
(1948). The current statutory scheme, enacted im 1941,
1S a continuation of the provisions in place since at
least 1905, id., though the procedures and authority for
decision-making have been amended. Applying the
msanity provisions in 1918, the Supreme Court of
California stated:

“The evidence on the question of insanity was amply
sufficient to support the conclusion that the defendant
was sanc, within the meaning of the law applicable.
That he was not perfectly poised mentally may be
freely conceded. Such, however, is not the test. There
was no substantial showing to the effect that his mind
was tn such a condition that he did not nghtly
comprehend his own condition with reference to the
proceedings against him that he had been convicted of
a crime punishable by death, and was before the court
for the purposes of judgment on that conviction, or that
he was then unable to present in a rational manner any
defense that he might have, either on motion for new
trial or to the pronouncing of judgment.”

People v. Lawson, 174 P. 885, 888 (Cal. 1918).

5. Colorado

“*Mentally incompetent to be executed’ means that, due to a
mental disease or defect, a person who has been sentenced to
death is presently unaware that he or she is to be punished for
the crime of murder or that the impending punishment for that

B-3

Jurisdiction

Statute

State Case Law Interpreting Standard*

crime is death.”
Colo. Rev. Stat. § 18-1.3-1401(2) (2006).

6.

Connecticut

If a prisoner “awaiting execution of a sentence of death appears
to the warden thereof to be insane,” the warden may apply to the
court, which may in turn have the prisoner examined by
physicians. “Upon return to said court or such judge of a
certificate by such physicians, or a majority of them, stating that
such person is insane, said court or such judge shall order the
sentence of execution to be stayed and such person to be
transferred to any state hospital for mental illness for
confinement... .”

Conn. Gen. Stat. § 54-101 (2007).

No case law.

No statute.

No case law.

An inmate is incompetent to be executed if he “does not have
the mental capacity to understand the nature of the death penalty
and why it was imposed on him.”

Fla. Stat. Ann. § 922.07(3) (2006).

“A person under sentence of death is insane for purposes of
execution if the person lacks the mental capacity to understand
the fact of the impending execution and the reason for it.”

Fla. R. Crim. Pro. 3.811(b) (2006).

An inmate is incompetent to be executed if “because of a mental
condition the person 1s presently unable to know why he or she
is being punished and understand the nature of the punishment.”
Ga. Code Ann. § 17-10-60 (2006).

Jurisdiction

Statute

-

State Case Law Interpreting Standard*

10. Idaho

“No person who as a result of mental disease or defect lacks
capacity to understand the proceedings against him or to assist in
his own defense shall be tned, convicted, sentenced or punished
for the commission of an offense so long as such incapacity
endures.”

Idaho Code § 18-210 (2006).

11. Illinois

No statute.

Until 1994, an Illinois statute mandated that a
“defendant is considered unfit to be executed only if,
because of a mental condition, he is unable to
understand the nature and purpose of such sentence.”
People v. Owens, 564 N.E.2d 1184, 1186 (Tll. 1990)
(citing Til. Rev. Stat. 1989, ch. 38, par. 1005-2-3). The
Illinois statute was repealed in 1994 and has not been
replaced. People v. Johnson, 730 N.E.2d 1197, L115
(lil. 2000) (“Our legislature, however, has since
repealed section 5-2-3 .. . and has not adopted a
statutory provision delineating procedures for raising
and determining fitness for execution... .”).

12. Indiana

No statute.

“Ford v. Wainwright holds that the Fighth Amendment
prohibits a state from executing persons who are
insane at the time of execution. In this context,
persons are insane if they are unaware of the
punishmentthey are about to suffer and why they are
to suffer ut.” Baird v. State, 833 N_E.2d 28, 29 (Ind.
2005) (internal citation and quotation marks omitted).

Jurisdiction

Statute

State Case Law Interpreting Standard*

13. Kansas

“At any time prior to execution, a convict under sentence of
death, such convict’s counsel or the warden of the correctional
institution or sheriff having custody of such convict may request
a determination of the convict’s sanity by a district judge of the
judicial district in which such convict was tned and sentenced
_... If the district judge determines that there is sufficient
reason to believe that the convict is insane, the judge shal!
suspend the execution and conduct a hearing to determine the
sanity of the convict.”

“If, at the conclusion of a hearing pursuant to this section, the
judge determines that the convict is insane, the judge shall
suspend the execution until further order.”

Kan. Stat. Ann. § 22-4006(a),(d) (2005).

No case law.

14. Kentucky

“If the condemned person is insane, as defined in KRS 431.213
_.., on the day designated for the execution, the execution shall
be suspended until the condemned is restored to sanity... .”
Ky. Rev. Stat. § 431.240 (2006).

‘Insane’ means the condemned person does not have the ability
to understand: (a) That the person is about to be executed; and
(b) Why the person is to be executed.”

Ky. Rev. Stat. § 431.213 (2006).

15. Louisiana

“A person who is not competent to proceed to execution may not
be executed.”

“A person is not competent to proceed to execution when a
defendant presently lacks the competence to understand that he

B-6

Jurisdiction

Statute

State Case Law Interpreting Standard*

is to be executed, and the reason he is to suffer the penalty.”
La. Rev. Stat. § 15:567.1(A),(B) (2006).

16. Maryland

An inmate is incompetent to be executed if, “as a result of a
mental disorder or mental retardation,” the inmate “lacks
awareness: (i) of the fact of the inmate’s impending execution;
and (ii) that the inmate is to be executed for the crime of
murder.”

Md. Cede Ann., Correctional Services, § 3-904(a)(2) (2006).

17. Mississippi

“If it is found that the convict is insane, as defined in thts
subsection, the court shall suspend the execution of the
sentence.”

“{A] person shall be deemed insane if the court finds the convict
does not have sufficient intelligence to understand the nature of
the proceedings against him, what he was tned for, the purpose
of his punishment, the impending fate which awaits him, and a
sufficient understanding to know any fact which might exist
which would make his punishment unjust or unlawful and the
intelligence requisite to convey such information to his attorneys
or the court.”

Miss. Code Ann. § 99-19-57(2)(a),(b) (2006).

18. Missouri

“No person condemned to death shall be executed if as a result
of mental! disease or defect he lacks capacity to understand the
nature and purpose of the punishment about to be imposed upon
him or matters in extenuation, arguments for executive clemency
or reasons why the sentence should not be carried out.”

Mo. Ann. Stat. § 552.060(1) (2006).

B-7

Jurisdiction

Statute

State Case Law Interpreting Standard*

|

19. Montana

“If after judgment of death there is good reason to suppose that
the defendant lacks mental fitness, the mental fitness of the
defendant will be determined in accordance with the provisions
of chapter 14 of this title.”

Mont. Code Ann. § 46-19-201 (2005).

“A person who, as a result of mental disease or defect or
developmental disability, is unable to understand the
proceedings against the person or to assist in the person’s own
defense may not be . . . sentenced for the commission of an
offense so long as the incapacity endures.”

Mont. Code Ann. § 46-14-103 (2005).

20. Nebraska

“{I}f, after judgment and before execution of the sentence, such
person shall become mentally incompetent, then in case the
punishment be capital, the execution thereof shall be stayed until
the recovery of such person from the incompetency.”

Neb. Rev. Stat. § 29-1822 (2006).

“If any convict under sentence of death shall appear to be
mentally incompetent, the warden or shernff having him or her in
custody shall forthwith give notice thereof to a judge of the
district court of the judicial district in which the convict was
tried and sentenced and such judge shall at once make such
investigation as shall satisfy him or her as to whether a
commission ought to be named to examine such convict.”

“If the judge shal] determine that a commission ought to be
appointed to examine such convict, he or she shall make a
finding to that effect and cause it to be entered upon the records

Since at least 1901, if not earlier, the procedures for
determining insanity for the purpose of execution have
been regulated by statute. Jn re Grammer, 178 N.W.
624, 625 (Neb. 1920). However, “it was not the
purpose of the statute to do away with the definition of
insanity as it was understood 1n such cases at common
law.” Id. at 626.

Applying the common law standard, the Nebraska
court held that “Grammer, before he could reasonably
ask a suspension of his execution in this court, should
have made a showing liere that he has become insane,
not in some slight or peculiar or classical degree, but
that his state of mind and mental condition are such
that he does not understand, and ts incapable of
understanding, the nature of the proceedings against
him and of his impending fate and execution, and

'

B-8

Jurisdiction

Statute

State Case Law Interpreting Standard*

’
of the district court in the county in which such convict was
sentenced, and, if necessary, the judge shall suspend the
execution....”

“If two of the commission shall find the convict mentally
incompetent, the judge shall suspend his or her execution until
further order.”

Neb. Rev. Stat. § 29-2537 (2006).

therefore is unable, in a rational manner, to offer a
defense or make objection to execution.” Jd.

Although the procedures for determining competency
for execution have varied over time, there has been no
alteration of the competency standard. “Statutes are
not to be understood as affecting any change in the
common law beyond that which is clearly indicated.”
Ebert v. Wenzl, 260 N.W. 480, 482 (Neb. 1977).

21. Nevada

“If it is found by the court that the convicted person is insane,
the judge shall make and enter an order staying the execution of
the judgment of death until the convicted person becomes sane,
and shall therein order the director of the department of
corrections to confine such person in a safe place of confinement
until his reason is restored.”

Nev. Rev. Stat. § 176.455(1) (2005).

No case law.

22. New
Hampshire

No statute.

No case law.

23. New Jersey

No statute.

“If, therefore, a person sentenced for a crime is capable
of understanding the nature and object of the
proceedings going on against him, if he nghtly
comprehends his own condition in reference to such
proceedings and can conduct his defence in a rational
manner, he is, for the purpose of undergoing
punishment, deemed to be sane, although on some
other subjects his mind may be deranged or unsour.J.”
In re Lang, 7\ A. 47, 48 (NJ. 1908).

Jurisdiction

Statute

State Case Law Interpreting Standard*

“[W Je are not willing to adopt the view that in cases
where the law has decreed that a murderer should be
put to death, and the court or a jury has found that he 1s
conscious of having committed a crime, is aware that
he is amenable to punishment, and is appreciative of
his situation as a murderer condemned to death, he
shall be permitted to escape just punishment because
of a mental] infirmity which has no bearing on any of
these features of the case.” /d. at 49. '

24. New Mexico

“If, after his delivery to the warden for execution, there is good
reason to believe that a defendant, under judgment of death, has
become insane, the warden must call such fact to the attention of
the district attorney of the county in which the state penitentiary
is situated, whose duty it is to immediately file in the district
court of such county a petition, stating the conviction and
judgment, and the fact that the defendant is believed to be
insane, and asking that the question of his sanity be inquired
into. Thereupon it shal] be the duty of said court to inquire into
said question and render judgment thereon.”

“When it 1s found that the defendant is insane, the order shall
direct that the defendant be taken to the New Mexico behavioral
health institute at Las Vegas, and there kept in safe confinement
until his reason is restored.”

N.M. Stat. Ann. §§ 31-14-4, 31-14-6 (2006).

“Sanity” for the purposes of execution is not defined
by statute but has a clear definition in the common law
of New Mexico. In /n re Smith, the court held:

“If the prisoner has not at the present time, from the
defects of his facultics, sufficient intelligence to
understand the nature of the proceedings against him,
what he was tried for, the purpose of his punishment,
the impending fate which awaits him, a sufficient
understanding to know any fact which might exist
which would make his punishment unjust or unlawful,
and the intelligence requisite to convey such
information to his attorneys or the court, then he would
not be sane and should not be executed.”

176 P. 819, 823 (N.M. 1918).
In New Mexico, “[i]n criminal cases where no

provision of this code is applicable, the common law,
as recognized by the United States and the several

!

Jurisdiction Statute State Case Law Interpreting Standard*
states of the Union, shall govern.” N.M. Stat. Ann. §
30-1-3 (2006); see also State v. Bryant, 655 P.2d 161,
162 (N.M. 1982) (“A statute designed to effect a
change from that which existed under the common law
- must be strictly construed; it must speak in clear and
uneq. vocal terms and the presumption is that no
change is intended unless the statute is explicit.”).
25. New York “The state may not execute an inmate who is incompetent. An
inmate is ‘incompetent’ when, as a result of mental disease or
defect, he lacks the mental capacity to understa

[Text truncated at 120,000 characters. The full text is on the page linked above.]

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0369%3A10. Public record. Not legal advice.
