# Petitioners Brief — Kansas v. Carr, 135 S. Ct. 1698 (2015) (No. 14-449)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0353%3A06

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petitioners Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2015

## Text

No. 14-449, 450
Jn the Supreme Court of the Anited States

STATE OF KANSAS,

Petitioner,
Vv.

JONATHAN D. CARR AND
REGINALD DEXTER CARR, JR.,
Respondents.

On Writ of Certiorart to the
Supreme Court of Kansas

BRIEF FOR PETITIONER

Derek ScHMIDT

Attorney General of Kansas
JeFrrrReY A. CHANAY

Chief Deputy Attorney General
STEPHEN R. MCALLISTER

Solicitor General of Kansas

(Counsel of Record)
KRISTAFER R. AILSLIEGER

Deputy Solicitor General
NATALIE CHALMERS

Assistant Solicitor General
Davip LowDEn

Chief Assistant District Attorney

18 Kansas Judicial District
120 S.W. 10th Ave., 2nd Floor
Topeka, KS 66612
(785) 296-2215
steve.mcallister@trqlaw.com

June 2015 Counsel for Petitioner

Becker Gallagher Cincinnati, OH Washington, D.C.- 800.890.500!

i
CAPITAL CASE

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether the trial court’s decision not to sever the
sentencing phase of the co-defendant brothers’ trial!
here—a decision that comports with the traditional
approach preferring joinder in circumstances like
this—violated an Eighth Amendment right to an
“individualized sentencing” determination and was
not harmless in any event?

2. Whether the Eighth Amendment requires that a
capital-sentencing jury be affirmatively instructed
that mitigating circumstances “need not be proven
beyond a reasonable doubt,” as the Kansas Supreme
Court held here, or instead whether the Eighth
Amendment is satisfied by instructions that, in
context, make clear that each juror must
individually assess and weigh any mitigating
circumstances?

ii

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTIONS PRESENTED i
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES vi
OPINIONS BELOW 1
JURISDICTION 1
CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS INVOLVED 1
STATEMENT OF THE CASE 2

A. The Multiple Violent Crimes Underlying
These Cases. 2

B. The Extensive Trial and Detailed Penalty
Proceedings 5

C. The Kansas Supreme Court Reversed The
Death Sentences. 11

1. The Majority Ruled That Failure To Sever
The Penalty Phase Was Constitutional
Error. 12

a. Failure to Sever for Reginald Carr 12
b. Failure to Sever for Jonathan Carr 15

2. The Majority Ruled That The Instructions
Violated The Eighth Amendment Because
They Failed To Affirmatively Inform The
Jury That Mitigating Circumstances
Need Not Be Proven Beyond A
Reasonable Doubt. 16

ill

3. One Dissent Disagreed That Failure To
Sever Was Constitutional Error And Both
Dissents Disagreed That There Was Error

In The Instructions. 17
SUMMARY OF THE ARGUMENT 20
ARGUMENT 25

I. The Joint Penalty Phase Proceeding Did Not
Violate The Eighth Amendment. Severance
Decisions Are Reviewed Only For An Abuse Of
Discretion And Require Defendants To Meet A
High Burden Not Satisfied Here. 25

A. The Reasons Joinder Is Generally Proper
And Desirable Apply Fully Here. The Eighth
Amendment Does Not Create A Per Se Bar
To Joinder In Capital Cases. 27

1. As A General Rule, Joinder Is Strongly
Favored, And There Is No Need For A
Special Or Contrary Rule In Capital
Cases. 27

a. This Court’s Cases Strongly Favor
Joinder. 27

b. The Court Has Recognized The Value
And Propriety Of Having A Single
Jury In Capital Cases Generally, And
Of Joinder In The Analogous Context
Of A Non-Capital Defendant Tried
With A Capital Codefendant. 31

iV

c. The Reasons For Permitting Joinder
Apply Fully In Capital Sentencing
Proceedings And, In Some Respects,
With Special Force. 33

2. Jurors Are Presumed To Follow Their
Instructions, And There Is No Reason Not
To Follow That Foundational Principle
Here. 36

3. Because There Is No Eighth Amendment
Right To Have A Capital Sentencing Jury
Consider “Mercy,” There Can Be No
Entitlement To Separate Penalty Phase
Proceedings On That Basis. 40

. Severance Decisions Are Subject Only To
Abuse Of Discretion Review And Require
Defendants To Satisfy A High Burden, One
Not Met Here By Either Carr. 42

1. Neither Carr Met The “Heavy Burden” Of
Establishing “Compelling, Specific, And
Actual Prejudice.” 43

a. There Was No Compelling, Specific,
And Actual Prejudice To Reginald
Carr. 43

b. There Was No Compelling, Specific,
And Actual Prejudice To Jonathan
Carr. 47

2. Any Perceived Error Here Had To Be
Harmless Given The Overwhelming
Evidence Against Each Carr. 49

v

Il. There Was No Reasonable Likelihood That The
Jury Applied The Instructions Here To Prevent
The Consideration Of Mitigating
Circumstances. 53

CONCLUSION 62

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES
Blueford v. Arkansas,

566 U.S. ___, 1382 S. Ct. 2044 (2012)

Blystone v. Pennsylvania,
494 U.S. 299 (1990)

Boyde v. California,
494 U.S. 370 (1990)

Bruton v. United States,
391 U.S. 123 (1968)

Buchanan v. Angelone,
522 U.S. 269 (1998)

Buchanan v. Kentucky,
483 U.S. 402 (1987)

California v. Brown,
479 U.S. 538 (1987)

Commonwealth v. Rainey,
656 A.2d 1326 (Pa. 1995)

CSX Transp., Inc. v. Hensley,
556 U.S. 838 (2009) (per curiam)

Dawson v. State,
637 A.2d 57 (Del. 1994)

Deck v. Missouri,
544 U.S. 622 (2005)

Gregg v. Georgia,
428 U.S. 153 (1976)

21, 37

54

passim

29

23

31, 32, 33

21, 41

41

21, 36, 37

57

48

31

vil
Kansas v. Marsh,
548 U.S. 163 (2006)

Lockhart v. McCree,
476 U.S. 162 (1986)

Matheney v. State,
688 N.E.2d 883 (Ind. 1997)

Opper v. United States,
348 U.S. 84 (1954)

People v. Lewis,
28 P.3d 34 (Cal. 2001)

People v. Welch,
976 P.2d 754 (Cal. 1999)

Puiatti v. McNeil,

626 F.3d 1283 (11th Cir. 2010)

Richardson v. Marsh,
481 U.S. 200 (1987)

Saffle v. Parks,
494 U.S. 484 (1990)

State v. Gleason,
329 P.3d 1102 (2014)

State v. J. Carr,
329 P.3d 1195 (Kan. 2014)

State v. Johnson,
723 N.E.2d 1054 (Ohio 2000)

State v. Lafferty,
20 P.3d 342 (Utah 2001)

05

20, 31, 33

58

29, 42

4]

57

34, 35

passim

21, 41

passim

41

41

Vill

State v. R. Carr,

331 P.3d 544 (Kan. 2014) 1
United States v. Abfalter,

340 F.3d 646 (8th Cir. 2003) 43
United States v. Bernard,

299 F.3d 467 (5th Cir. 2002) 35
United States v. Clark,

989 F.2d 1490 (7th Cir. 1993) 43
United States v. Driver,

535 F.3d 424 (6th Cir. 2008) 43
United States v. Fazio,

770 F.3d 160 (2d Cir. 2014) 43
United States v. Gonzalez,

804 F.2d 691 (11th Cir. 1986) 43
United States v. Lane,

474 U.S. 438 (1986) 29
United States v. Marchant & Colson,

25 U.S. (12 Wheat.) 480 (1827) 27, 28
United States v. McConnell,

749 F.2d 1441 (10th Cir. 1984) 43
United States v. Pindell,

336 F.3d 1049 (D.C. Cir. 2003) 43
United States v. Thornton,

1 F.3d 149 (3d Cir. 1993) 43

United States v. Tipton,
90 F.3d 861 (4th Cir. 1996) 35

United States v. Wheeler,
802 F.2d 778 (5th Cir. 1986)

Weeks v. Angelone,
528 U.S. 225 (2000)

Zafiro v. United States,
506 U.S. 534 (1993)

CONSTITUTION AND STATUTES
18 U.S.C. § 3592(a)(4)

28 U.S.C. § 1257(a)

U.S. Const. amend. VI

U.S. Const. amend. VIII

U.S. Const. amend. XIV

43

23, 37

passim

26

1

12, 32
passim

1, 41

]
OPINIONS BELOW

The decisions of the Kansas Supreme Court are
reported, State v. R. Carr, 331 P.3d 544 (Kan. 2014),
State v. J. Carr, 329 P.3d 1195 (Kan. 2014), and are
reproduced as appendices to the respective Petitions for
Writ of Certiorari.

JURISDICTION

The Kansas Supreme Court decided these cases
July 25, 2014. This Court has jurisdiction under 28
U.S.C. § 1257(a).

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS INVOLVED

The Eighth Amendment to the United States
Constitution provides in relevant part that
“le]xcessive bail shall not be required, nor excessive

fines imposed, nor cruel and unusual punishments
inflicted.” U.S. Const. amend. VIII.

The Fourteenth Amendment to the United
States Constitution provides, in pertinent part,
“... nor shall any State deprive any person of life,

liberty, or property without due process of law ....” U.S.
Const. amend. XIV.

2

STATEMENT OF THE CASE’

A. The Multiple Violent Crimes Underlying
These Cases.

Reginald Carr, Jr., and Jonathan Carr, brothers,
were charged, jointly tried, convicted, and sentenced for
crimes committed in a series of three violent incidents
in December 2000 in Wichita, Kansas.

1. The Schreiber Carjacking. In the first
incident, on December 7, 2000, the respondents
carjacked Andrew Schreiber and drove to various
ATMs, forcing Schreiber at gunpoint to withdraw
money from his bank account. The Carrs ultimately
abandoned Schreiber in a rural area after taking his
watch, striking him in the head with a gun, and
shooting out the tires of his vehicle. RC App. 29-32.

2. The Walenta Murder. Four days later, the
respondents followed Linda Ann Walenta to her home.
As she pulled into her driveway, one of the Carrs
approached her vehicle and pointed a gun through the
driver’s side window. Walenta attempted to reverse her

vehicle and was shot. She survived for a few days, but
died from the shooting. RC App. 33-35.

' Kansas will refer to the appendices to the Petitions for Writ of
Certiorari by utilizing “RC App.” for Kansas v. Reginald Carr,
No. 14-450, and “JC App.” for Kansas v. Jonathan Carr, No. 14-
449. When the cited material in the appendices is the same,
Kansas cites the “RC App.” The parties deferred the prirting of the
Joint Appendix until after the Respondents’ briefs were filed. After
the printing and filing of the Joint Appendix, Kansas filed this
brief substituting “JA” citations where possible.

3

3. The Birchwood Rapes, Torture, Robberies,
and Multiple Murders. The third and final incident
began on December 14, 2000, at a Birchwood
neighborhood home shared by three young men, Aaron
S., Brad H., and Jason B. Two women, Holly G. and
Heather M., also were at the home that night. RC
App. 35.

Shortly after the occupants of the house went to
bed, the Carrs, armed with guns, forced their way
inside. They rounded up the occupants, gathered them
into one bedroom, and demanded money. When the
victims said they had no cash, the Carrs demanded
ATM cards. The Carrs also ordered the victims to
remove their clothes and forced all five into a closet. RC
App. 35-36.

The Carrs then removed the two women from the
closet and forced them to perform oral sex on each
other and to penetrate each other with their fingers,
while the Carrs watched and gave instructions. Next,
the Carrs brought the male victims out of the closet one
at a time and ordered each to have sexual intercourse
with Holly G. The Carrs threatened to shoot the men if
they did not perform. When one victim said he would
not do it, he was struck in the back of the head with a
hard object. RC App. 37-38.

The Carrs next ordered each of the men to have
sexual intercourse with Heather M. After these
numerous coerced sex acts, Reginald drove Brad H. to
several ATMs to withdraw money. While they were
gone, Jonathan raped Holly G., and then raped or
attempted to rape Heather M. RC App. 38-39, 61.

4

Brad H. and Reginald returned after about 30
minutes, and Reginald then took Jason B. to two ATMs
to withdraw money. Upon their return, Reginald took
Holly G. to several ATMs to withdraw money. Finally,
Reginald returned with Holly G. and took Aaron S. to
withdraw money. RC App. 39-41, 62-63.

When Reginald and Aaron S. returned, Reginald
raped Holly G. and forced her to perform oral sex.
Meanwhile, Jonathan raped Heather M. again, and
then raped Holly G. again. RC App. 41-42.

After these rapes, the Carrs forced the men into the
trunk of Aaron S.’s car, put Heather M. in the back
seat of the car, and put Holly G. in the passenger seat
of Jason B.’s truck. Jonathan drove Aaron S.’s car,
followed by Reginald driving Jason B.’s truck. The
Carrs drove to a soccer field and ordered all of the
victims out, forcing them to kneel in a line. The Carrs
then shot each of the five victims in the back of the
head, and drove away. RC App. 43-44, 57-58.

Miraculously, Holly G. survived. The bullet fired at
her head fractured her skull, but did not enter her
brain, apparently because a plastic hairclip she was
wearing deflected the bullet. The impact stunned Holly
G., but she remained kneeling until one of the Carrs
kicked her to the ground. She could hear the Carrs
talking, and felt the impact when one of them drove
Jason B.’s truck over her body as they left. RC App. 44-
46, 57.

After the Carrs left the murder scene, Holly G. got
up and used the only piece of clothing she had in a
futile effort to bandage Jason B.’s fatal head wound.
She then spotted lights from a house in the distance.

5

Naked, barefoot, shot in the back of the head, and
having been run over by a vehicle, she somehow

managed to travel more than a mile through snow and
over fences to reach the house. RC App. 44, 57, 496.

Holly G. pounded on the door and awoke the
homeowners, who took her inside and called 911. Holly
G. survived her numerous serious injuries. The other
four victims, however, died. Holly G. provided police
with details of these heinous crimes and eventually
would testify against the Carrs at trial. RC App. 44-45,
57-58.

Soon after the murders the police apprehended
Reginald. When he was arrested, Reginald had a gas
card bearing Jason B.’s name, a watch that belonged to
Heather M., and $996. Inside the apartment where the
police arrested Reginald, they found numerous
additional items belonging to the four murder victims
and Holly G. RC App. 51-52.

Meanwhile, Jonathan was at a friend’s apartment.
When the friend and her mother saw news footage of
Reginald’s arrest and learned that police were looking
for another individual, they grew suspicious of
Jonathan and called police. Police arrived and
apprehended Jonathan. Like Reginald, Jonathan had
property of the victims, including the engagemeit ring
Jason B. had purchased for, but not yet given to, Holly
G. RC App. 52-55.

B. The Extensive Trial and Detailed Penalty
Proceedings.

The Carrs were charged with and convicted of
numerous offenses arising from their crime spree,
including the felony murder of Walenta, and four

6

capital murders of Aaron S., Brad H., Jason B., and
Heather M. RC App. 25-27. They were tried jointly in
the guilt phase.

After both Carrs were convicted of capital murder,
the court conducted a joint penalty proceeding. The
State’s case-in-chief for the penalty phase consisted
solely of relying on the State’s guilt-phase evidence
already presented. JA 73-74. The State argued that the
guilt-phase evidence established four aggravating
factors applicable to each Carr:

(1) That the defendant knowingly or
purposely killed or created a great risk of
death to more than one person.

(2) That the defendant committed the crime
for the defendant’s self or another for the
purpose of receiving money or any other
thing of monetary value.

(3) That the defendant committed the crime
in order to avoid or prevent a lawful
arrest or prosecution.

(4) That the defendant committed the crime
in an especially heinous, atrocious or
cruel manner.

RC App. 502-503, 505-506.

In mitigation, the Carrs offered extensive evidence
of their childhoods, including various events, incidents,
and experiences. They presented that evidence through
the testimony of family members, in particular their
mother, sister, an aunt and two cousins. Sentencing Tr.
Vol. 41-A, at 36-138, Vol. 41-B, at 31-48 (mother); Vol.

7

41-B, at 64-121 (sister); Vol. 41-B, at 122-141, Vol. 43-
B, at 52-142 (aunt); Vol. 42, at 106-141 (cousin); Vol.
45-B, at 142-152, Vol. 46, at 5-26 (cousin). Each Carr
also presented a forensic psychologist to testify as an
expert about the psychological effects each Carr’s
childhood had on him. Sentencing Tr. Vol. 43-A, at 17-
123, Vol. 43-B, at 5-50 (Dr. Reidy for Reginald); Vol. 45-
A, at 4-145, Vol. 45-B, at 4-140 (Dr. Cunningham for
Jonathan). They also presented a retired medical
doctor, Dr. Preston, as an expert witness, who opined
that both Reginald and Jonathan showed abnormal
brains on PET scans performed in preparation for these
cases. Sentencing Tr. Vol. 42, at 6-105.

Reginald presented evidence that he tries to be a
good father to his three children. Sentencing Tr. Vol.
42, at 113-114, 172-173, 181. Jonathan presented
evidence that he was considered a good kid growing up,
and some evidence that he was negatively influenced
by his brother. E.g., Sentencing Tr. Vol. 41A, at 116;
Vol. 42, at 149; Vol. 43-A, at 6.

The only evidence that the State responded to with
rebuttal evidence was the expert testimony that each
brother showed brain abnormalities. In that regard, the
State presented a neuroradiologist, Dr. Pay, who
testified that the PET scans of Reginald and Jonathan
showed normal brains. Sentencing Tr. Vol. 46, at 34-90.
In any event, in closing argument, Jonathan’s counsel
acknowledged that the “brain injury” evidence was not
intended to show that a brain injury caused Jonathan
to commit the crimes or somehow excused his
commission of the crimes. JA 429.

8

The State did not contest that the Carrs had
troubled childhoods, that their parents had many
problems, that Reginald took some actions to be a good
parent to his children, that Jonathan was considered
by some to be a good kid growing up, or that Jonathan
was influenced at times by his older brother. All of that
evidence was essentially uncontested.

At the close of the sentencing phase evidence, the
trial court conducted a jury instruction conference that
was extremely short, taking up less than five pages in
the transcript. JA 373-376. Neither defendant objected
to the instructions on mitigation. Nor did either
defendant propose a mitigation instruction that said
anything about burden of proof. Nor did either
defendant suggest or argue that the instructions as
proposed would confuse the jurors because the
instructions included a “beyond a reasonable doubt”
burden of proof for aggravating factors but no burden
of proof for mitigating circumstances. Id.

The trial court instructed the jury that, in
determining the sentence for each defendant, “you
should consider and weigh everything admitted into
evidence during the guilt phase or the penalty phase of
this trial that bears on either an aggravating or a
mitigating circumstance.” Instruction No. 2, RC
App. 500. Further, the trial court emphasized to the
jury that “[yljou must give separate consideration to
each defendant. Each is entitled to have his sentence
decided on the evidence and law which is applicable to
him. Any evidence in this phase that was limited to
only one defendant should not be considered by you as
to the other defendant.” Instruction No. 3, RC
App. 501.

9

With respect to mitigation, the trial court instructed
the jury that “you may consider sympathy for a
defendant,” and the “appropriateness of exercising
mercy can itselfjbe a mitigating factor ....” Instructions
No. 6, 8, RC App. 503, 507. The court went on to
emphasize that the

determination of what are mitigating
circumstances is for you as jurors to decide
under the facts and circumstances of the case.
Mitigating circumstances are to be determined
by each individual juror when deciding whether
the State has proved beyond a reasonable doubt
that the death penalty should be imposed. The
same mitigating circumstances do not need to be
found by all members of the jury in order to be
considered by an individual juror in arriving at
his or her decision.

Instructions No. 6, 8, RC App. 504, 507. The trial court
then instructed the jury on six statutory mitigating
circumstances (no prior criminal history, mental or
emotional disturbance, defendant was a relatively
minor accomplice, extreme duress or domination by
another, term of imprisonment will protect the public,
and age of the defendant), but made clear that
mitigating circumstances, unlike aggravating factors,
were not limited to the statutory list: “You may further
consider as a mitigating circumstance any other factor
which you find may serve as a basis for imposing a
sentence of less than death. Each of you must consider
every mitigating circumstance found to exist.”
Instruction Nos. 6, 8, RC App. 505, 508 (emphasis
added).

10

During closing arguments, neither Carr tried to put
the blame on the other, nor did either Carr argue that
he was less culpable than the other. Instead, both
Carrs focused on evidence of their childhoods, arguing
that such a background favored giving them life
sentences rather than death. JA 405-423, 426-433.

Furthermore, the Carrs’ closing arguments
emphasized the individuality of each defendant, with
counsel for Reginald arguing at length about the
reasons to show mercy to Reginald. Referring to
“Reggie” numerous times, Reginald’s counsel detailed
the mitigating evidence relating to “Reggie,” and never
once mentioned “Jonathan.” JA 405-423. Similarly,
though briefer overall in his closing, Jonathan’s counsel
referred to Reginald only once and even then not by
name, when he mentioned that Jonathan “has come to
court every day, unlike his brother.” JA 431. Also,
Jonathan’s counsel emphasized that “[ylou know, any
one of you can decide to save this young man’s life. Any
one of you.” JA 433.

Simply put, the vast majority of sentencing phase
evidence was not antagonistic as between the two
Carrs, nor did either Carr, much less both, attempt in
closing argument to put the blame for the crimes on the
other. Instead, each Carr focused his efforts to
establish mitigating circumstances on demonstrating
his individual history, his upbringing, his family
situation, and his life experiences. JA 405-423, 426-
433.

The jury explicitly found the existence of all four of
the aggravating factors the State alleged for each
defendant, and that those factors were not outweighed
by any mitigating circumstances. Verdict Form (1),

11

JA 461-462 (Reginald); JA 477-478 (Jonathan). The
jury declined to utilize either of the other two verdict
forms provided. See Verdict Form (2), JA 463
(Reginald) (to be used if the jury found no aggravating
circumstances had been proved beyond a reasonable
doubt); JA 479 (Jonathan) (same); Verdict Form (3),
JA 464 (Reginald) (to be used if the jury was unable to
reach a unanimous verdict sentencing the defendant to

death); JA 480 (Jonathan) (same).

The trial court sentenced both Reginald and
Jonathan to death for the capital murder convictions.
The court gave each a life sentence for the Walenta
murder, and additional terms of imprisonment for
other convictions. RC App. 27.

C. The Kansas Supreme Court Reversed The
Death Sentences.

The Kansas Supreme Court affirmed 32 of
Reginald’s 50 convictions, including one count of capital
murder. RC App. 28. The court also affirmed 25 of

Jonathan’s 43 convictions, including one count of
capital murder. JC App. 26.

But a majority of the court reversed the death
sentences, finding three constitutional errors in the
penalty proceedings, two of which are under review
here: (1) each Carr’s Eighth Amendment right to an
individualized sentencing determination was violated
by the trial court’s decision not to sever their penalty
phase proceedings, RC App. 404-414, JC App. 45; and
(2) the trial court’s failure to affirmatively inform the
jury that mitigating circumstances need not be proved
beyond a reasonable doubt violated the Eighth

12

Amendment. RC App. 445-446, JC App. 47.’ This Court
granted review of these two issues.”

One justice dissented on both issues, and would
have affirmed the death sentences. RC App. 483-497;
JC App. 65-66. Another justice dissented only from the
jury instructions holding. RC App. 481-483; JC App.
63-65.

1. The Majority Ruled That Failure To
Sever The Penalty Phase Was
Constitutional Error.

a. Failure to Sever for Reginald Carr

For the severance issue, the Kansas Supreme Court
only discussed Reginald’s claim in full. The court began
by observing that Reginald asserted the failure to sever
“violated his Eighth Amendment to the United States
Constitution right to an individualized capital
sentencing determination ....” RC App. 404-405. The
court then asserted that “J.Carr makes at least one
distinct argument in favor of severance in the penalty
phase: He asserts the joint trial inhibited the jury’s
individualized consideration of him because of family

* In deciding this issue, the Kansas Supreme Court relied on its
opinion in State v. Gleason, 329 P.3d 1102 (2014), released only one
week earlier, to explain its reasoning. This Court granted review
of Gleason, No. 14-452, which is being briefed and argued
simultaneously with these cases.

* The third constitutional error the Kansas Supreme Court found
was that the Carrs’ Sixth Amendment right to confrontation was
violated by the admission of hearsay evidence in the sentencing
phase. RC App. 421-424. The State included that question in its
petitions, but the Court has taken no action on that question.

13

characteristics tending to demonstrate future
dangerousness that he shared with his brother.” Jd. at
405. The court also noted that “[aJlthough R. Carr’s
visible handcuffs are not specified as another source of

prejudice to J. Carr, they also factor into our decision
a

The Kansas Supreme Court purported to
acknowledge that the Eighth Amendment “does not
categorically mandate separate penalty phase
proceedings for each codefendant in a death penalty
case.” RC App. 406. The court then proceeded to
identify what appear to be its three main rationales for
finding error in the trial court’s decision not to sever
the penalty phase here:

(1) Because capital sentencing is about moral
culpability, “mercy from a single juror is all it takes to
send a capital defendant to prison rather than to
execution,” thus “[mJercy may overcome even the most
obvious imbalance between forceful evidence of
aggravators from the State and a defense mitigation
case that is so weak it would not pull the skin off a rice
pudding,” RC App. at 408-409;

(2) J. Carr’s lawyer cross-examined the
codefendants’ sister, Temica, and elicited a statement
from Temica that Reginald may have told her, during

14

a visit to him in jail, that he was the shooter, id. at
409-410*; and

(3) ‘“[T)his is a rare instance in which our usual
presumption that jurors follow the judge’s instructions
is defeated by logic.” Id. at 411. The court’s only
explanation for the third rationale was that “the
maelstrom that was [the codefendants’] family and
their influence on and interactions with one another,
including testimony that tended to show that R. Carr
was a corrupting influence on J. Carr,” id., required the
legal conclusion that “the penalty phase evidence
simply was not amenable to orderly separation and
analysis.” Id.

After concluding that the failure to sever the
penalty phase violated the “Eighth Amendment right
to an individualized capital sentencing,” RC App. 412,
the Kansas Supreme Court very briefly considered the
following question: “Can this error be considered
harmless?” /d. The court articulated the harmless error
standard as “not whether a death penalty sentence
would have been imposed but for the error,” id. at 413,

* The court recognized that Temica’s testimony might have been
admitted against R. Carr(who called her as his mitigation witness)
in a penalty phase proceeding even if severed, RC App. 409, that
there is no evidence the State was aware that she might give such
testimony (it was very “possible that the State was completely
unaware of R. Carr’s admission to Temica,” id. at 410), and that
when the State did cross-examine Temica she was vague and
equivocal: “I believe I heard him tell me something like that. I
don’t remember ... like when he asked me who he shot and all that,
I don’t remember who was, you know, shot by who.” /d.
Furthermore, the vast majority of Temica’s testimony was about
family dynamics and childhood experiences, because she is the
oldest child in the family. See JA 131-158.

15

but instead as “whether the death verdict actually
rendered in this trial was surely unattributable to the
error.” Id.

The court’s sole sentence of “rationale” applying this
standard consists of the following:

The evidence that was admitted, the
especially damning subset of it that may not
have been admitted in a severed proceeding, and
the hopelessly tangled interrelationship of the
mitigation cases presented by the defendants
persuades us that the jury could not have
discharged its duty to consider only the evidence
limited to one defendant as it arrived at their
death sentences.

Id. Thus, the Kansas Supreme Court concluded that
“[wle cannot say that the death verdict was
unattributable, at least in part, to this error,” id., and
it reversed Reginald’s death sentence.

b. Failure to Sever for Jonathan Carr

For Jonathan Carr’s claim regarding severance, the
Kansas Supreme Court said very little, summarizing
its conclusion: “A majority of six members of the court”
find a constitutional violation (1) “for the reasons
explained in Section P1 of the R. Carr opinion,”
(2) “because of the family circumstances argument
raised by J. Carr,” and (3) “the prejudice to J. Carr
flowing from R. Carr’s visible handcuffs during the
penalty phase.” JC App. 45. With that, the Kansas
Supreme Court reversed Jonathan’s death sentence.

16

2. The Majority Ruled That The
Instructions Violated The Eighth
Amendment Because They Failed To
Affirmatively Inform The Jury That
Mitigating Circumstances Need Not Be
Proven Beyond A Reasonable Doubt.

The Kansas Supreme Court resolved the mitigation
instruction question on the basis of its then recent
decision in Kansas v. Gleason, and commented only
minimally as follows:

When nothing in the instructions mentions
any burden other than “beyond a reasonable
doubt,” jurors may be “prevented from giving
meaningful effect or a reasoned moral response
to” mitigating evidence, implicating a
defendant’s right to individualized sentencing
under the Eighth Amendment. State v. Gleason.
This is unacceptable.

Were we not already vacating R. Carr’s death
sentence on Count 2 and remanding the case
because of Judge Clark’s failure to sever the
penalty phase, error on this issue would have
forced us to do so.

RC App. 446 (full citations omitted).

17

3. One Dissent Disagreed That Failure To
Sever Was Constitutional Error And
Both Dissents Disagreed That There
Was Error In The Instructions.

The dissenting justice’ on severance observed that
the “majority's discussion finding an Eighth
Amendment violation” in the trial court’s failure to
sever the penalty phase proceedings was “logically
flawed and, at times, difficult to follow.” RC App. 487.
Further, with regard to harmless error, “the majority’s
nearly nonexistent analysis goes entirely awry.” /d.

The dissent found any concern about codefendants
attempting to put the blame on each other both
insufficient to justify severance generally, and
misplaced here, especially, because “most of the two
brothers’ mitigating evidence was not antagonistic.” RC
App. 489. Furthermore, the fact that Temica’s
statements “might not have been admitted in the
penalty phase of a separate trial” did not create a
“constitutional violation.” Jd.

The dissent harshly criticized the majority’s
“unsupported” analysis that the “jury did not follow its
explicit instructions” to consider each defendant
individually. RC App. 490. Indeed, the “majority’s logic
overlooks that this jury had already demonstrated its
ability to differentiate ... when it refused to convict
Jonathan Carr on counts related to the Schreiber
incident.” Jd. “Instead, the majority vaguely offers a

° The dissenting justice on this issue was former Kansas Supreme
Court Justice Nancy Moritz, who is now a judge on the U.S. Court
of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit.

18

statement I cannot even loosely characterize as logical!
....” Id. Thus, the dissent simply could “not agree with
the highly flawed and limited rationale offered by the
majority for finding constitutional error ....” Jd.

Assuming for the sake of argument that error had
occurred, the dissent “strongly disagree[d] with the
majority's conclusory, one-paragraph harmless-error
analysis ..... RC App. 491. “Reginald Carr’s death
penalty verdict must be attributed to the overwhelming
evidence of extreme terror, humiliation, pain, and
anguish inflicted upon the multiple victims.” Jd. In
fact, the dissent had “no hesitation whatsoever in
concluding that when viewed in light of the record as a
whole [any prejudice from joinder] had little, if any,
likelihood of changing the jury’s ultimate conclusion
....” Id. at 493. The jurors “heard overwhelming and
convincing evidence of heinous and atrocious acts
committed by Reginald Carr,” including from “Holly,
the unintended survivor of this savage attack. It is
nearly impossible to convey in a few short paragraphs
the overwhelming nature of that evidence.” Jd. at 493-
494.

The dissent concluded that the trial court did not
err in refusing to sever J. Carr’s penalty phase, JC Pet.
App. 65, and that, “even considering a joinder error in
the penalty phase, I would affirm the jury’s imposition
of the death penalty for Jonathan Carr.” Jd. at 65-66.
The “mitigating evidence simply pales in comparison to
the aggravating circumstances,” id. at 66, and thus

° The dissent summarized that evidence in seven paragraphs, RC
App. 494-496, but in the interests of brevity the State addresses
that summary below in Section I.B.2. of the Argument.

19

“beyond a reasonable doubt {) the jury’s decision to
impose the death penalty was not attributable to any
joinder error below.” Id. To the contrary, “the jury
imposed a sentence of death because it understood that

the horrendous circumstances called for that sentence.”
Id.

With respect to the mitigation instructions issue,
two Justices dissented, with Justice Biles issuing a
shortened version of his dissent in Kansas v. Gleason.’

’ Kansas’ opening brief in Kansas v. Gleason describes the dissent
in Gleason. Kansas will not repeat that discussion here.

20

SUMMARY OF THE ARGUMENT

Nothing in this Court’s precedents mandates
severance in capital cases as an Eighth Amendment
requirement to insure defendants receive
individualized sentencing. The Kansas Supreme
Court’s reasoning and holding in these cases—which
effectively makes severance mandatory, given that
codefendants are likely to always try to lessen their
own moral culpability in comparison to each other—is
contrary to the long-standing preference for joint trials
in the criminal justice system. Richardson v. Marsh,
481 U.S. 200, 209-210 (1987); Zafiro v. United States,
506 U.S. 534 (1993). Nothing about the Carrs’ penalty
proceedings required severance here.

“Joint trials generally serve the interests of justice
by avoiding inconsistent verdicts and enabling more
accurate assessment of relative culpability—
advantages which sometimes operate to the defendant’s
benefit.” Richardson, 481 U.S. at 210. But, “[e]ven
apart from these tactical considerations, joint trials
generally serve the interests of justice by avoiding the
scandal and inequity of inconsistent verdicts.” Id.
Furthermore, “it seems obvious that in most, if not all,
capital cases much of the evidence adduced at the guilt
phase of the trial will also have a bearing on the
penalty phase: if two different juries were to be
required, such testimony would have to be presented
twice, once to each jury.” Lockhart v. McCree, 476 US.
162, 181 (1986).

The “individualized sentencing” principle is not
incompatible with joint penalty phase proceedings, and
may even be enhanced in such proceedings. The same
considerations that favor joinder in the guilt phase

21

remain in play during the sentencing phase. Forcing
the States to utilize multiple, separate, and largely
repetitive sentencing hearings before the same jury or
even different juries would have several undesirable
consequences. Such an approach could permit one or
more capital defendants to preview the State’s penalty
phase evidence and arguments, increasing the
possibility of inconsistent and inequitable verdicts.
Such an approach also would greatly increase the time
commitments of jurors and the resources required to
try these proceedings. Lastly, mandating separate,
repetitive proceedings also could work to the detriment
of victims who might have to testify in multiple
proceedings.

Instead, the rule is that jury instructions are
sufficient to cure any risk of prejudice from joinder.
Zafiro, 506 U.S. at 540-541. Contrary to the holding of
the Kansas Supreme Court, juries can be presumed to
follow instructions explicitly informing them each
defendant must be given individualized consideration
in determining the sentences. This Court long has
embraced and emphasized the presumption that juries
follow their instructions. Richardson, 481 U.S. at 211;
CSX Transp., Inc. v. Hensley, 556 U.S. 838, 841 (2009)
(per curiam); Blueford v. Arkansas, 566 U.S. ___, 132
S. Ct. 2044, 2051 (2012). No logical rationale exists to
disregard the presumption here.

Further, there is no Eighth Amendment right to
have a capital sentencing jury consider mercy.
California v. Brown, 479 U.S. 538 (1987) (jury can be
instructed not to consider mercy or sympathy); see also
Saffle v. Parks, 494 U.S. 484 (1990) (contention that
Eighth Amendment requires jury be allowed to base

22

capital sentencing decision on sympathy for defendant
would be a “new rule” not applicable on federal habeas
review). As a result, the Eighth Amendment cannot
mandate separate sentencing proceedings on the
rationale that “mercy” can only be fully considered in
separate proceedings. Again, the Kansas Supreme
Court erred.

Finally, joinder is erroneous only when a defendant
can demonstrate actual and substantial prejudice, an
extremely high standard, and one that is rarely met.
Here, neither Carr can meet that high standard.
Moreover, any potential risk was cured both by the
instructions and the separate verdict forms. The
Kansas Supreme Court’s flimsy “rationales” for its
contrary conclusions simply do not withstand scrutiny.
Ultimately, the evidence supporting a death sentence
for each defendant in this case was overwhelming. The
repeated torture each defendant inflicted on the victims
was horrific.

Just as there was no basis in the Court’s precedents
for the Kansas Supreme Court’s severance rulings,
there likewise is nothing in the Court’s precedents
justifying the Kansas court’s holding that the Eighth
Amendment requires a jury in a death penalty
proceeding to be affirmatively instructed that
mitigating circumstances need not be proven beyond a
reasonable doubt. Indeed, that holding stands in stark
contrast to this Court’s precedents, and is both legally
and logically insupportable. Instead, the controlling
constitutional standard here is “whether there is a
reasonable likelihood that the jury has applied the
challenged instruction in a way that prevents the
consideration of constitutionally relevant evidence.”

23

Boyde v. California, 494 U.S. 370 (1990). The Boyde
Court relied on three factors to make that
determination, and those three factors demonstrate
there was no error here.

First, the language of the instructions did not
impose any burden of proof on the Carrs to prove
mitigating circumstances. In Buchanan v. Angelone,
522 U.S. 269 (1998), the Court made clear that the
Eighth Amendment does not require detailed
instructions on mitigation, or that any particular
requirements for mitigation be included in the jury
instructions. Instead, the Court emphasized that, with
respect to mitigation, the Eighth Amendment only
requires “that the sentencer may not be precluded from
considering, and may not refuse to consider, any
constitutionally relevant evidence.” 522 U.S. at 276.
Otherwise, “the state may shape and structure the
jury’s consideration of mitigation so long as it does not
preclude the jury from giving effect to any relevant
mitigating evidence.” Id. See also Weeks v. Angelone,
528 U.S. 225 (2000) (same holding).

Second, in this case, as in Boyde, the State did not
vigorously contest the existence of the mitigating
circumstances presented, apart from a battle of the
experts on whether the Carrs actually presented
evidence of demonstrable brain abnormalities. Rather,
the State focused its argument on the weight the jury
should give the proposed mitigators. Third, the parties’
closing arguments, the final factor under Boyde,
properly emphasized each jurors role to act
individually and independently to consider all
mitigating evidence.

24

Applying the Boyde standard and factors here, there
is no reasonable likelihood that jurors applied the
instructions to prevent the consideration of any
relevant mitigating evidence, or to prevent them from
giving whatever individual effect they chose to such
evidence. Thus, there was no Eighth Amendment
violation, and the Kansas Supreme Court was wrong.

25

ARGUMENT

I. The Joint Penalty Phase Proceeding Did Not
Violate The Eighth Amendment. Severance
Decisions Are Reviewed Only For An Abuse Of
Discretion And Require Defendants To Meet A
High Burden Not Satisfied Here.

Despite purporting to acknowledge that severance
is not constitutionally required in all capital penalty
phase proceedings, the Kansas Supreme Court
effectively established a per se rule requiring
severance. Kansas will refute each of the Kansas
Supreme Court’s rationales for that result below. But
there can be no doubt that the Kansas Supreme Court
ultimately found that the failure to sever the penalty
phase for these two capital defendants was Eighth
Amendment error because, in that court’s view, the
defendants each failed to receive the “individualized
sentencing” this Court has determined the Eighth
Amendment requires.

The Kansas Supreme Court’s ultimate conclusion
appears to rest on three primary contentions. First, the
court opined that the differentiation in the moral
culpability of codefendants necessarily affects the jury’s
ability to individually apply mercy to each defendant,
effectively making joinder in the penalty phase
constitutionally problematic in any capital case. RC
App. 407-409. Second, the court opined that some
evidence potentially harmful to Reginald might not
have been admitted in his sentencing proceeding had
he not been joined with Jonathan. Jd. at 409-411.
Third, the court opined that any severance problem
could not be cured by the jury instructions (which
properly and explicitly informed the jury that it was to

26

consider each defendant and the evidence against him
individually), allegedly because “this is a rare instance
in which our usual presumption that jurors follow the
judge’s instructions is defeated by logic.” /d. at 411.
Thus, the Kansas Supreme Court concluded that “the
penalty phase evidence simply was not amenable to
orderly separation and analysis,” which resulted in an
Eighth Amendment violation. Jd. at 411-412.

That conclusion is wrong as a matter of federal
constitutional law for several reasons. First,
codefendants will virtually always attempt to
distinguish their moral culpability to avoid death
sentences, and capital sentencing schemes typically
permit them to do so as part of their mitigation
argument. See, e.g., 18 U.S.C. § 3592(a)(4) (Jury may
consider as mitigating factor that “[a]Jnother defendant
or defendants, equally culpable in the crime, will not be
punished by death.”). Moreover, many capital
sentencing schemes, like the Kansas scheme, permit
defendants to seek “mercy” from the jury and allow the
jury to consider mercy. Thus, the Kansas Supreme
Court’s first rationale for finding an Eighth
Amendment violation here effectively creates a per se
bar against joinder in the penalty phase of capital cases
under several] capital sentencing regimes.

Second, the evidence about which Reginald
complains was in fact offered by a witness he called; it
was not elicited by the State, and ultimately the
witness (his sister) equivocated significantly in her
testimony. The Kansas Supreme Court recognized that
the most it could say was that this evidence “might” not
have been admitted if there were separate penalty
proceedings, and the court further recognized the State

27

did nothing improper. That is not the stuff of which
Eighth Amendment violations are made.

Finally, the Kansas Supreme Court did not offer
anything in support of its bald assertion that here the
court could not accept the presumption that jurors
follow their instructions—-not one sentence, not one
citation, and not one shred of evidence that such a
foundational presumption should be thrown out the
window. Instead, the Kansas Supreme Court’s finding
of an Eighth Amendment violation runs contrary to
almost 200 years of American legal history, and
conflicts with the strong, traditional presumptions in
favor of joinder in criminal cases and that juries can
and do follow their instructions.

A. The Reasons Joinder Is Generally Proper
And Desirable Apply Fully Here. The
Eighth Amendment Does Not Create A Per
Se Bar To Joinder In Capital Cases.

1. As A General Rule, Joinder Is Strongly
Favored, And There Is No Need For A
Special Or Contrary Rule In Capital
Cases.

a. This Court’s Cases Strongly Favor
Joinder.

The Court first addressed a challenge to the joint
trial of capital defendants almost 200 years ago; the
Court quickly and soundly rejected the challenge. In
United States v. Marchant & Colson, 25 U.S. (12
Wheat.) 480 (1827), the question was “whether two or
more persons, jointly charged in the same indictment
with a capital offence, have a right, by the laws of the
country, to be tried severally, separately, and apart ....”

28

Id. at 480. Writing for the Court, Justice Story declared
“it is a matter of discretion in the Court, and not of
right in the parties.” Jd.

The Court found no right to compel severance in
federal statutes, noting that “if the right can be
maintained at all, it must be as a right derived from
the common law ....” 25 U.S. at 480. The Court pointed
to Hawkins, Pleas of the Crown, for the proposition that
the common law “plainly supposes that it is in the
election of the prosecutor whether there should be a
joint or separate trial.” Jd. at 483. Otherwise,

lilf there had been any known right in the
prisoner to control this election, it seems
incredible that so accurate and learned an
author should not have stated it, when the
occasion indispensably required him to take
notice of a qualification so important to his text.
His silence is, under such circumstances, very
significant.

Id. Thus, the Court concluded that the question of
severance “is a matter of sound discretion, to be
exercised by the Court with all due regard and
tenderness to prisoners, according to the known
humanity of our criminal jurisprudence.” Id. at 485.

This Court’s respect for the principles recognized in
Marchant & Colson has not changed or waned over

29

time. Instead, the Court has reaffirmed the
discretionary nature of severance decisions,° and
continued to express a clear preference for joint trials
in criminal cases generally. Most notably, perhaps, in
Zafiro v. United States, 506 U.S. 534 (1993), the Court
spoke emphatically of the “preference in the federal
system for joint trials of defendants who are indicted
together.” Jd. at 537. Pointing out that joint trials play
a vital role and serve the interests of justice, the Court
observed that “[flor these reasons, we repeatedly have
approved of joint trials.” Id.

In Zafiro, the defendants urged the Court to “adopt
a bright-line rule, mandating severance whenever
codefendants have conflicting defenses.” 506 U.S. at
538. But the Court declined to do so, because
“(mutually antagonistic defenses are not prejudicial
per se,” id., and “the tailoring of relief to be granted, if
any, [is left] to the district court’s sound discretion.” Jd.
at 539. Instead, a party seeking severance has to
demonstrate serious and actual prejudice: the
complainant’s burden is to establish that “there is a
serious risk that a joint trial would compromise a
specific trial right of one of the defendants, or prevent

® See, e.g., Opper v. United States, 348 U.S. 84, 95 (1954) (“It was
within the sound discretion of the trial judge as to whether the
defendants should be tried together or severally and there is
nothing in the record to indicate an abuse of discretion when
petitioner’s motion for severance was overruled.”) United States v.
Lane, 474 U.S. 438, 449 (1986) (“In common with other courts, the
Court long has recognized that joint trials ‘conserve state funds,
diminish inconvenience to witnesses and public authorities, and
avoid delays in bringing those accused of crime to trial.”) (quoting
Bruton v. United States, 391 U.S. 123, 134 (1968)).

30

the jury from making a reliable judgraent about guilt or
innocence.” Jd.

Even when a serious risk of prejudice is shown, the
Court in Zafiro observed that “less drastic measures,
such as limiting instructions, often will suffice to cure
any risk of prejudice.” 506 U.S. at 539. Moreover, the
Court emphasized two additional considerations that
generally weigh against severance. First, “it is well
settled that defendants are not entitled to severance
merely because they may have a better chance of
acquittal in separate trials.” Id. at 540. Second,
generally any risk of prejudice “is of the type that can
be cured with proper instructions, and ‘juries are
presumed to follow their instructions.” Jd. at 540-541
(quoting Richardson, 481 U.S. at 211).

In other cases, the Court has emphasized that
“(j]oint trials generally serve the interests of justice by
avoiding inconsistent verdicts and enabling more
accurate assessment of relative culpability—
advantages which sometimes operate to the defendant’s
benefit.” Richardson, 481 U.S. at 210. But, “[e]ven
apart from these tactical considerations, joint trials
gene: _lly serve the interests of justice by avoiding the
scandal and inequity of inconsistent verdicts.” Id.

The strong general presumption in favor of joinder,
and the foundations on which it rests, are not so
ephemeral that they evaporate and disappear in capital
proceedings merely because codefendants may attempt
to distinguish their respective moral culpability by
possibly blaming each other. In fact, both this Court
and the Circuits have recognized the value of utilizing
a single jury for capital cases in a variety of
circumstances.

31

b. The Court Has Recognized The Value
And Propriety Of Having A Single
Jury In Capital Cases Generally, And
Of Joinder In The Analogous Context
Of A Non-Capital Vefendant Tried
With A Capital Codefendant.

This Court has recognized the propriety and
desirability of having a single jury hear entire capital
cases, and of joinder in circumstances that raise similar
considerations to those at issue in this case. First, in
Lockhart v. McCree, 476 U.S. 162 (1986), the Court
considered and rejected Eighth Amendment challenges
to Arkansas’ use of a “unitary jury in capital cases.” Jd.
at 180. The Court noted that it had upheld the Georgia
system against a similar attack in Gregg v. Georgia,
428 U.S. 153 (1976), and then proceeded to discuss two
critical reasons why a unitary jury makes sense in
capital cases: (1) “the defendant might benefit at the
sentencing phase of the trial from the jury’s ‘residual
doubts’ about the evidence presented at the guilt
phase,” 476 U.S. at 181; and (2) “it seems obvious that
in most, if not all, capital cases much of the evidence
adduced at the guilt phase of the trial will also have a
bearing on the penalty phase: if two different juries
were to be required, such testimony would have to be
presented twice, once to each jury.” Id.

Second, the Court has rejected the claim that a non-
capital defendant’s guilt phase proceeding cannot be
joined with a capital codefendant. In Buchanan v.
Kentucky, 483 U.S. 402 (1987), a juvenile defendant
was charged with non-capital murder in connection
with a robbery, rape, and murder in which his adult
codefendant was charged with capital murder.

32

Defendant argued that his Sixth Amendment jury trial
rights were violated because in their joint trial he was
tried by a “death-qualified” jury due to his
codefendant’s capital murder charge.

The Court rejected the claim, pointing out that the
State has an “interest in promoting the reliability and
consistency of its judicial process, an interest that may
benefit the noncapital defendant as well.” Jd. at 418.
The Court emphasized that ‘[i]n joint trials, the jury
obtains a more complete view of all the acts underlying
the charges than would be possible in separate trials.”
Id. Such a perspective “is particularly significant
where, as here, all the crimes charged against the
joined defendants arise out of one chain of events.” Id.
Furthermore, the State has a legitimate “concern that
it not be required to undergo the burden of presenting
the same evidence to different juries where, as here,
two defendants, only one of whom is eligible for a death
sentence, are charged with crimes arising out of the
same events.” Jd. at 418-419.

Kansas recognizes that this case involves two
capital defendants, and they are making an Eighth
Amendment claim about their joint penalty proceeding,
obvious factual differences from Buchanan.
Nonetheless, the interests the Court addressed in
Buchanan are front and center here, including the
many advantages of joint trials for defendants as well
as the interests of justice.

33

c. The Reasons For Permitting Joinder
Apply Fully In Capital Sentencing
Proceedings And, In Some Respects,
With Special Force.

The reasons that support joinder apply with full
force to capital proceedings, including capital
sentencing proceedings. As this Court has recognized,
“lijn joint trials, the jury obtains a more complete view
of all the acts underlying the charges than would be
possible in separate trials.” Buchanan, 483 U.S. at 418.
Such a perspective “is particularly significant where, as
here, all the crimes charged against the joined
defendants arise out of one chain of events.” /d.
Furthermore, the State has a legitimate “concern that
it not be required to undergo the burden of presenting
the same evidence to different juries where. as here,
two defendants ... are charged with crimes arising out
of the same events.” Jd. at 418-419.

Moreover, “(jjoint trials generally serve the
interests of justice by avoiding inconsistent verdicts
and enabling more accurate assessment of relative
culpability—advantages which sometimes operate to
the defendant’s benefit.” Richardson, 481 U.S. at 210.
But, “[e]ven apart from these tactical considerations,
joint trials generally serve the interests of justice by
avoiding the scandal and inequity of inconsistent
verdicts.” Jd. Furthermore, “it seems obvious that in
most, if not all, capital cases much of the evidence
adduced at the guilt phase of the trial will also have a
bearing on the penalty phase: if two different juries
were to be required, such testimony would have to be
presented twice, once to each jury.” Lockhart, 476 U.S.
at 181.

34

Even when a risk of prejudice from joinder is shown,
this Court in Zafiro observed that “less drastic
measures, such as limiting instructions, often will
suffice to cure any risk of prejudice.” 506 U.S. at 539.
Indeed, generally any risk of prejudice “is of the type
that can be cured with proper instructions, and ‘juries
are presumed to follow their instructions.” Jd. at 540-
541 (quoting Richardson, 481 U.S. at 211).

The Circuits have recognized that the Eighth
Amendment does not prohibit joint capital proceedings.
For instance, in Puiatti v. McNeil, 626 F.3d 1283 (11th
Cir. 2010), the Court of Appeals noted that, “[a]lthough
[defendant’s} argument intertwines severance and
individualized sentencing,” id. at 1308, those are
separate arguments, and the two are not incompatible:

although Puiatti attempts to connect and
intertwine severance with his constitutional
right to an individualized sentencing
determination, we can locate, and Puiatti has
cited, no Supreme Court decision doing so.
Lockett and its progeny do not address joint
penalty phases or say that the presence of a co-
defendant at a capital defendant’s penalty phase
trial has any Eighth Amendment implications
whatsoever. None of the Lockett line of cases
relates to severance or helps Puiatti’s claim at
all. Puiatti ... cites no precedent that suggests a
joint penalty trial is improper for co-defendants
who were properly joined in the guilt phase. The
Supreme Court has never intimated, much less
held, that the special concerns in capital cases
require, or even suggest, that severance is
necessary.

35

Id. at 1315. In fact, a joint proceeding “avoid[s} the
inequity of inconsistent verdicts and one capital
defendant going second with the benefits of previewing
the State’s evidence and arguments.” Jd. at 1318.
Further, “the Lockett-Eddings-Penry-Abdul-Kabir
principle that the sentencer must be allowed to
consider and give effect to ‘all relevant mitigating
evidence,’ is quite compatible with a joint trial.” Jd.

Likewise, in United States v. Tipton, 90 F.3d 861
(4th Cir. 1996), the Fourth Circuit readily identified
several reasons supporting joinder in capital
sentencing proceedings: (1) the relevant federal
statutes “require that ... the penalty hearing shall be
conducted before the same jury that determined guilt,”
so severance “would have required [multiple] separate,
largely repetitive penalty hearings before this jury,” id.
at 892; (2) the same considerations that favor joinder in
the guilt phase “must remain generally in play at the
penalty phase,” id.; (3) any potential risk to
individualized sentencing “could not of course have
been entirely removed by conducting three sequential,
largely repetitive hearings before the same jury,” id.;
(4) “More critically, ... the court’s frequent instructions
on the need to give each defendant’s case individualized
consideration sufficed,” id.; and (5) individual
consideration was emphasized by “the court's
submission of separate packets of penalty verdict forms
for each defendant.” Jd. at 893. See also United States
v. Bernard, 299 F.3d 467 (5th Cir. 2002) (affirming
denial of motion to sever capital penalty phase
proceedings).

36

The Circuits, faithfully applying this Court’s
precedents, have gotten it right. The Kansas Supreme
Court stands alone and was wrong.

2. Jurors Are Presumed To Follow Their
Instructions, And There Is No Reason
Not To Follow That Foundational
Principle Here.

In concluding that reversal was required, the
Kansas Supreme Court turned an unquestioned legal
presumption on its head by refusing to believe the jury
could follow the instructions given here, instructions
that plainly required the jury to give each defendant
individualized consideration in determining the
sentences. The court’s rejection of such a foundational
principle is both unwarranted and contrary to the
Zafiro holding that any risk of prejudice arising from
joint proceedings generally can be cured by giving
proper jury instructions. 506 U.S. at 539.

In fact, if courts begin to question the presumption
that juries follow their instructions, judges will be
invited by disappointed litigants to second-guess the
unexplained decisions of juries. This Court has
explained that “the jury system is premised on the idea
that rationality and careful regard for the court’s
instructions will confine and exclude jurors’ raw
emotions.” CSX Transp., Inc. v. Hensley, 556 U.S. 838,
841 (2009) (per curiam). Thus, the Court long has
embraced the presumption:

The rule that juries are presumed to follow
their instructions is a pragmatic one, rooted less
in the absolute certitude that the presumption is
true than in the belief that it represents a

37

reasonable practical accommodation of the
interests of the state and the defendant in the
criminal justice process.

Richardson, 481 U.S. at 211.

The presumption is not discarded or altered in
capital cases: “Jurors routinely serve as impartial
factfinders in cases that involve sensitive, even life-
and-death matters. In those cases, as in all cases, juries
are presumed to follow the court’s instructions.” CSX
Transp., 556 U.S. at 841. Moreover, this Court has
applied the presumption in capital cases on a number
of occasions. See, e.g., Weeks v. Angelone, 528 U.S. 225,
234 (2000) (“A jury is presumed to follow its
instructions”); Blueford v. Arkansas, 566 U.S. __, 132
S. Ct. 2044, 2051 (2012) (same).

Here, in fact, the jury was explicitly instructed in
ways that made clear each juror’s obligation to consider
the defendants individually. For example, the trial
court expressly instructed the jury, at the
commencement of the penalty proceeding, that “[i}t is
the responsibility of the jury to decide the proper
sentence for the individual defendant in these [the
capital murder] counts.” JA 60. (emphasis added). The
trial court repeated that instruction at the end of the
penalty phase as well, just before the court read the
jury all of the instructions. JA 378. At the conclusion of
the penalty phase, the court instructed the jury as
follows:

You must give separate consideration to each
defendant. Each is entitled to have his sentence
decided on the evidence and law which is
applicable to him.

38

Any evidence in this phase that was limited
to only one defendant should not be considered
by you as to the other defendant.

RC App. 501 (Instruction No. 3). Furthermore, the jury
was given several individual instructions for each
defendant. In other words, there was an instruction on
aggravating circumstances for Reginald (Instruction
No. 5, RC App. 502-03), and one for Jonathan
(Instruction No. 7, RC App. 505-506). There was a
mitigation instruction for Reginald (Instruction No. 6,
RC App. 503-505), and one for Jonathan (Instruction
No. 8, RC App. 507-508).

Finally, the verdict forms and accompanying
instructions also distinguished the two defendants.
First, the jury was instructed that “[w]hen considering
an individual defendant,” the jury must find that there
are one or more aggravators and that they outweigh
any mitigation beyond a reasonable doubt. RC App. 509
(Instruction No. 10) (emphasis added). That same
instruction tells the jury that “lif you sentence the
particular defendant to death,” then the jury is to use
Verdict Form (1). Jd. (emphasis added). In addition, the
trial court gave the jury separate verdict forms for each
defendant. JA 387. There were three forms for each of
the four capital murder counts. The first verdict form
for Reginald, the one the jury used for all four capital
counts, found specific aggravating factors, found
“unanimously beyond a reasonable doubt that the
aggravating circumstances found to exist outweigh
mitigating circumstances found to exist,” and found
“the proper sentence for Reginald D. Carr is death.”

39

JA 461-462, 465-466, 469-470, 473-474.° The first form
for Jonathan, also the one the jury used for all four
capital counts, was identical except the jury found “the

proper sentence for Jonathan D. Carr is death.”
JA 477-478, 481-482, 485-486, 489-490.

Thus, the jury instructions and the verdict forms
plainly distinguished between the two defendants,
curing any risk of prejudice from joinder.’®° The Kansas
Supreme Court offered no legal or logical reason for
discarding the presumption in this case, nor did it point
to any evidence in the record indicating or even
remotely suggesting that the jury might not have
followed its instructions to consider each defendant
individually. Instead, the court just baldly asserted
that there was a serious and presumed risk that the
jurors did not follow their instructions. That is not law,
nor is it traditional judicial review.

* The second verdict form was to be used if the jury found that no
aggravating circumstances had been proved beyond a reasonable
doubt. JA 463. The third verdict form was to be used if the jury
could not unanimously agree that a death sentence was proper. JA
464.

'© Notably, this same jury already had proven its ability to
distinguish between the Carrs and assess the evidence against
each individually when in the guilt phase the jury acquitted
Jonathan Carr of counts against him regarding the carjacking of
Andrew Schreiber, but convicted Reginald. RC App. 174; JC
App. 25.

40

3. Because There Is No Eighth Amendment
Right To Have A Capital Sentencing
Jury Consider “Mercy,” There Can Be
No Entitlement To Separate Penalty
Phase Proceedings On That Basis.

The Kansas Supreme Court erred when it relied on
the proposition that severance was required in order to
give full effect to the jury’s ability to consider “mercy”
in sentencing. Again, neither defendant was prevented
from presenting any allegedly mitigating evidence, or
from making any and all arguments to the jury about
sparing their lives, including a request for mercy.
Further, the jurors were instructed to consider each
defendant individually. That ought to be the end of the
matter.

But the Kansas Supreme Court at least implied, if
not effectively held, that because Kansas generously
permits capital sentencing juries to consider “mercy,”"'
the Eighth Amendment requires that any capital
codefendants in Kansas necessarily have to be
sentenced separately in order for the jury to evaluate
“mercy” for each individual. Such a conclusion has no
basis in federal constitutional law.

First, consideration of mercy is not required by the
Eighth Amendment. This Court has held that States
instead constitutionally may preclude capital
sentencing juries from considering “mercy,” and may
explicitly instruct juries that they “must not be swayed

"In this case, the jury was instructed, “mercy can itself be a
mitigating factor in determining whether the state has proved
beyond a reasonable doubt that the death penalty should be
imposed.” RC App. 503-504.

4]

by mere sentiment, conjecture, sympathy, passion,
prejudice, public opinion or public feeling.” California
v. Brown, 479 U.S. 538 (1987). See Saffle v. Parks, 494
U.S. 484 (1990) (contention that Eighth Amendment
requires that juries be allowed to base capital
sentencing decision on sympathy for defendant would
be a “new rule” not applicable on federal habeas
review). State courts, likewise, uniformly have rejected
the notion that consideration of “mercy” is a federal
constitutional requirement. See e.g. People v. Lewis, 28
P.3d 34, 75 (Cal. 2001) (Eighth Amendment does not
require an instruction stating “[liJn determining
whether to sentence the defendant to life imprisonment
without possibility of parole, or to death, you may
decide to exercise mercy on behalf of the defendant.”);
State v. Lafferty, 20 P.3d 342, 373 (Utah 2001) (federal
constitution does not require an instruction telling
jurors they should be guided by mercy); State v.
Johnson, 723 N.E.2d 1054, 1076, 1080 (Ohio 2000)
(summarily finding no Eighth or Fourteenth
Amendment error in instruction that “fairness” and
“mercy” are to be excised from the definition of
mitigating factors); Commonwealth v. Rainey, 656 A.2d
1326, 1333-1334 (Pa. 1995) (counsel was not ineffective
for failing to request a mercy instruction since allowing
the jury unbridled discretion to grant mercy would be
clearly erroneous).

Second, the Kansas Supreme Court's effective
holding does not follow from its apparent premise.
There is absolutely nothing inconsistent about
permitting the jury to consider “mercy” and conducting
a joint penalty phase proceeding. Indeed, the presence
of more than one defendant may in fact work to the
advantage of one or more other defendants in this

42

regard, by helping the jury to more accurately assess
the defendants’ relative blameworthiness and
culpability. Severance might well, in effect, work to the
detriment of some capital defendants when it comes to
“mercy.” Thus, this “rationale” of the Kansas Supreme
Court is inherently intertwined with that court’s
rejection of the foundational principle that jurors are
presumed to follow their instructions which explicitly
tell the jury to consider each defendant individually.

Ultimately, the Kansas Supreme Court has
essentially held that the federal constitution mandates
automatic severance of all capital sentencing
proceedings in which a jury is permitted to consider
“mercy, even though the Constitution does not require
that capital juries even be allowed to consider “mercy.”
Such a holding extends the Eighth Amendment’s
“individualized sentencing” requirement well beyond
the Court’s precedents, and produces illogical results.
The fact that Kansas gives juries broad discretion to
consider mitigation should not count against Kansas in
determining whether severance was constitutionally
required here.

B. Severance Decisions Are Subject Only To
Abuse Of Discretion Review And Require
Defendants To Satisfy A High Burden, One
Not Met Here By Either Carr.

This Court long has recognized that severance
decisions are subject only to abuse of discretion review
by appellate courts. E.g., Zafiro v. United States, 506
U.S. 534 (1993); Opper v. United States, 348 U.S. 84, 95
(1954). Although the Court has not been more specific
in its review of severance decisions, many Circuits have
been quite clear about the high burden a defendant

43

challenging joinder has to meet. Reading this Court’s
precedents, the Circuits have stated that a “district
court's decision to deny severance is ‘virtually
unreviewable’ and will be overturned only if a
defendant can demonstrate prejudice ‘so severe that his
conviction constituted a miscarriage of justice and that
the denial of his motion constituted an abuse of
discretion.” United States v. Fazio, 770 F.3d 160, 165-
66 (2d Cir. 2014) (internal citations omitted).

Similarly the Circuits emphasize that the defendant
challenging joinder bears a “heavy burden,” e.g., United
States v. Thornton, 1 F.3d 149, 153 (3d Cir. 1993);
United States v. McConneil, 749 F.2d 1441, 1444 (10th
Cir. 1984), to show “compelling, specific, and actual
prejudice,” e.g., Thornton, 1 F.3d at 153; United States
v. Driver, 535 F.3d 424, 427 (6th Cir. 2008); United
States v. Wheeler, 802 F.2d 778, 782 (5th Cir. 1986):
United States v. Gonzalez, 804 F.2d 691, 694-95 (11th
Cir. 1986), or “real,” “actual,” or “clear” prejudice. E.g.,
United States v. Abfalter, 340 F.3d 646, 652 (8th Cir.
2003); McConnell, 749 F.2d at 1444; United States v.
Clark, 989 F.2d 1490, 1499 (7th Cir. 1993); United
States v. Pindell, 336 F.3d 1049, 1057 (D.C. Cir. 2003).

1. Neither Carr Met The “Heavy Burden”
Of Establishing “Compelling, Specific,
And Actual Prejudice.”

a. There Was No Compelling, Specific,
And Actual Prejudice To Reginald
Carr.

In reversing Reginald’s death sentence based on the
failure to sever the penalty proceedings, the court
relied on the following factors: (1) Jonathan “continued

44

the pattern he had set in the guilt phase by
emphasizing that [Reginald] was the more culpable
actor and a negative influence in [Jonathan’s} life,” RC
App. 406; (2) this mitigating factor created antagonistic
defenses because the mitigation evidence differentiated
between the brothers’ moral culpability and could have
impacted a juror’s decision to show mercy, RC App..
407-409; (3) Jonathan’s cross-examination of Temica
resulted in her testimony that, during a visit she made
to Reginald when he was in jail awaiting trial, he may
have admitted to shooting the victims, RC App. 409-
410; (4) Temica’s testimony could have negated any
juror’s willingness to show mercy based on residual
doubt regarding Reginald, or a belief that Jonathan
was the shooter, RC App. 410; and (5) Jonathan’s
mitigating evidence could have been considered by the
jury as improper, nonstatutory aggravating evidence
against Reginald. RC App. 411.

None of these “rationales” or the record supports a
finding that there was compelling, specific and actual
prejudice to Reginald. First, reading the penalty phase
transcripts and the parties’ closing arguments belies
the suggestions that Jonathan’s defense against the
death penalty was to blame Reginald, or that their
defenses were inherently or even significantly
antagonistic. Quite the contrary, the vast majority of
the mitigation evidence was overlapping and
complementary in showing and describing the
childhood experiences and family circumstances that
the brothers had shared. JA 79-85, 87, 92-94, 98;
Sentencing Tr. Vol. 41-A, at 44-45, 63-65, 78 (mother);
JA 134-135, 145-147 (sister); JA 345-346, 348-350
(cousin).

45

To similar effect, one forensic psychologist testified
about Reginald’s childhood and its effects on him, JA
224, 227-228, 234-237, 240-241; a different forensic
psychologist testified about the same matters with
regard to Jonathan. Sentencing Tr. Vol. 45-A at 89, 93-
94, 115-116, 129-133, 136; Vol. 45-B, 11-12, 17-20. In
addition, an expert opined that both Carrs showed
demonstrable brain abnormalities. JA 202; Sentencing
Tr. Vol. 42, at 53. No expert opined that Reginald was
the more culpable actor, or that Jonathan was less
culpable.

Finally, one will search the closing argument of
Jonathan’s counsel in vain for any suggestion that
Jonathan was seeking mercy by blaming Reginald.
Instead, just as Reginald did, Jonathan primarily
argued that his horrible childhood and bad life
experiences should sway the jury to give him a life
sentence. JA 425-431.”

The only other “prejudice” the Kansas Supreme
Court found was Reginald’s complaint that his sister
equivocally suggested he may have told her that he
shot some or all of the victims. But it is important to
remember that Temica was Reginald’s witness, and he
called her to testify as part of his mitigation case.
Furthermore, the State did not elicit the testimony

" There is absolutely no basis for the Kansas court’s assertion that
Jonathan's evidence might somehow have been relied upon by the
jury as “nonstatutory” aggravation, not least because the jury was
plainly instructed that it could consider only the aggravating
circumstances the State asserted. RC App. 503, 506. Further, the
court does not even identify what evidence Jonathan presented
that arguably would fall into a category of “nonstatutory”
aggravation as opposed to mitigation.

46

about which Reginald complains, and in any event
Temica’s testimony was vague and equivocal.

The initial, brief statements Temica made came in
response to questions from Jonathan’s counsel:

Q. Did Reggie tell you [during a visit she made
to him when he was in jail] he was the one who
shot those people?

A. Yes.
Q. Did he tell you he shot all of them?
A. I don’t remember the conversation.

JA 158. When the State later questioned Temica she
said the following:

Q. And you told us that your brother Reginald
Carr said that he personally shot these people?

A. I believe I heard him tell me something like
that. I don’t remember.

Q. You don’t remember?

A. Right. I believe he told me something like
that, but like when he asked me who he shot
and all that, I don’t remember who was, you
know, shot by who.

JA 180-181.

The Kansas Supreme Court recognized that the
most it could say was that this evidence “might” not
have been admitted if there were separate penalty
proceedings, and the court further recognized that the
State did nothing improper. This short and equivocal

47

testimony, from one of Reginald’s own witnesses,
testimony that very possibly would have been
presented even in a separate penalty proceeding, does
not meet the heavy burden of showing compelling,
specific and actual prejudice to Reginald.

b. There Was No Compelling, Specific,
And Actual Prejudice To Jonathan
Carr.

In reversing Jonathan’s death sentence, the Kansas
court summarily adopted the findings it had made in
Reginald’s appeal, and without explanation added that
the court was relying on the “family circumstances
argument” raised by Jonathan, and on prejudice to
Jonathan from Reginald’s visible handcuffs during the
penalty phase. JC App. 45.

The court’s reasoning, however, is inherently flawed
because the same rationales cannot be applied to both
Reginald and Jonathan. Remember, it was Jonathan’s
counsel who elicited the testimony from Temica about
Reginald’s alleged jailhouse confession. JA 158.
Necessarily, even if there was evidence of Reginald’s
heightened culpability presented in the sentencing
proceeding, such evidence likely would have helped
Jonathan, not prejudiced him.

The Kansas Supreme Court’s rationales regarding
Reginald utterly fail to resolve Jonathan’s severance
claim in his favor. Indeed, the court never articulated
how the failure to sever prejudiced Jonathan in any
way. Further, although the State is largely at a loss to
know what the “family circumstances” argument
consists of (Jonathan made no argument about “family
circumstances” in his briefs in the Kansas Supreme

48

Court, much less in his brief in opposition to Kansas’
petition for writ of certiorari in this Court), even
assuming that notion is based on expert and other
testimony about Reginald’s and Jonathan’s childhoods,
the evidence also clearly differentiated between the two
of them. None of the evidence about Reginald was
attributed to Jonathan.

For instance, Jonathan lived with an aunt in Texas
for over a year when he was nine, and then in Ohio for
a portion of time during his teenage years while
Reginald was in prison. In fact, this was the evidence
Jonathan relied on to argue “grave emotional harm”
from his separation from his family, especially his
siblings, at various times in his life. Sentencing Tr. Vol.
45-A, at 106. He also presented witnesses who testified
that he was a good person and good worker while in
Ohio. Other witnesses who knew him from a
construction job in Dodge City, Kansas, testified that
Jonathan was a good kid when they knew him.
Sentencing Tr. Vol. 42, at 143, 149, 160-161; Vol. 43-A,
at 6. Additionally, there was evidence that Jonathan
attempted to commit suicide at least once, if not twice,
prior to committing the crimes in these cases.
Sentencing Tr. Vol. 45-A, at 89, 104.

Finally, the Kansas Supreme Court’s single,
unexplained assertion that Reginald wearing visible
handcuffs during the penalty phase proceeding
somehow prejudiced Jonathan leads nowhere. Although
this Court has held that shackling a capital defendant
during the guilt phase is per se error, Deck v. Missouri,
544 U.S. 622 (2005), the same is not true of the penalty
phase, which is the only phase at issue here. The
Kansas Supreme Court’s reference to Reginald’s

49

handcuffs somehow prejudicing Jonathan is even more
bizarre given that the Kansas court did not rely on
Reginald’s visible handcuffs as a justification for
granting severance to Reginald.

Reginald’s deliberate refusal to do anything to
conceal his handcuffs, JA 59, did not obviously or
automatically prejudice Jonathan. Instead, just the
opposite seems likely: seeing Reginald’s handcuffs but
not seeing any restraints on Jonathan might have
suggested to the jury that Jonathan was better
behaved than Reginald. In closing argument,
Jonathan’s counsel essentially made that point:
“(Jonathan] has come to court every day, unlike his
brother. And he has treated me like a gentleman. It’s
been my pleasure to represent him.” JA 431 (emphasis
added).

Ultimately, the Kansas Supreme Court failed to
articulate any reason based in the law or logic, or to
identify any facts in the record, to demonstrate
compelling, specific, and actual prejudice to Jonathan.
Denial of Jonathan’s request for severance was not
error, constitutional or otherwise.

2. Any Perceived Error Here Had To Be
Harmless Given The Overwhelming
Evidence Against Each Carr.

Even if the failure to sever the Carrs’ sentencing
proceedings somehow violated the Eighth Amendment,
any error was harmless. The Kansas Supreme Court
could arrive at a contrary conclusion only by ignoring
and discounting the overwhelming evidence of the
atrocities each Carr committed against multiple
victims.

50

In order to conclude any error was harmless, this
Court merely has to review the facts of the crimes.
Reginald’s purported confession (as hesitatingly and
equivocatingly relayed by his sister, Temica), and
Jonathan’s meager attempts to claim Reginald was a
negative influence on Jonathan, could not have made
any difference in the jury’s sentencing determinations
given the overwhelming evidence. As the dissent below
aptly summarized:

For more than 3 hours, Reginald and
Jonathan Carr inflicted their perverse form of
torture on the five victims in this case, forcing
their often naked captives to commit sexual acts
on one another as the two intruders watched.
Holly recounted that over those 3 hours she was
raped once by Reginald Carr, who after raping
her, grabbed her by the back, turned her around,
ejaculated into her mouth, and directed her to
swallow. The jury also heard Holly describe how
she was twice raped by Jonathan Carr, forced to
digitally penetrate herself, and forced into
sexual intercourse with Heather, Brad, Aaron,
and Jason.

When she was not being violated herself,
Holly sat naked in a closet with her fellow
captives, so terrified she wet herself, listening to
Heather moaning in pain as she repeatedly was
raped in the same fashion. Heather's moans
caused her boyfriend, Aaron, to break down,
sobbing and crying, “[T]his shouldn’t happen
this way.” Holly performed oral sex on Jason
while in the closet because one of the two

51

defendants threatened additional violence if the
men could not get an erection.

Each victim also was forced to leave the
Birchwood residence and travel alone with
Reginald Carr to withdraw money from his or
her bank accounts. Holly recounted her
experience, explaining she was clothed only in a
sweatshirt, and that Reginald Carr groped her
vagina while they were in the car. Holly asked
Reginald if he was going to kill them, and he
said “no.”

But any slight hope Holly might have had
that her life and the lives of her friends would be
spared was dashed when they returned to the
house and Reginald Carr told Holly, “[Djon’t
worry. I’m not going to shoot you yet.” Carr’s
threat proved true when the five victims were
taken at gunpoint into the garage, and Jason,
Brad, and Aaron were forced into the trunk of
Aaron’s car. Jonathan Carr then drove Aaron’s
car, with Heather seated on the passenger side,
while Reginald Carr drove Jason’s truck with
Holly seated on the passenger side.

The defendants then took their victims to a
soccer field in a remote location. They ordered
the men out of the trunk and ordered Heather
and Holly out of the car. Eventually, Reginald
Carr and Jonathan Carr forced each of their five
victims, who were naked or partially clothed, to
kneel next to each other, single file, on the snow-
covered ground in below freezing temperatures.
As these victims did so, surely each suspected
his or her fate.

52

Holly testified she heard one shot, then heard
Aaron pleading, and then “another shot and
another one and another one” as each victim was
shot, execution style, in the back of the head.
Then everything went briefly gray for Holly. But
even after being shot in the back of the head,
Holly remained kneeling. One of the defendants
kicked her in the back, causing her to fall face
forward in the snow. She heard the defendants
having a conversation before they drove off in
Jason’s truck. She felt an impact as the truck
ran over her.

After the two men drove off, Holly got up and
checked on the others, wrapping her only
remaining piece of clothing around Jason’s head
in a futile attempt to save his life. And then she
ran—terrified, naked, bleeding, and freezing for
over a mile to get help. Meanwhile, Reginald and
Jonathan Carr, unaware that Holly had
survived, returned to the home at Birchwood to
steal belongings from the victims and beat
Holly’s dog to death.

RC App. 494-496.

Kansas cannot sum up the situation better than the
dissenting justice did when, after reviewing the
preceding evidence, she concluded:

The majority gives lip service to the standard of
review.... But it entirely fails to conduct the
analysis. Had it done so, I do not believe it could
arrive at any conclusion other than that the
severance error, if any, had little, if any,
likelihood of changing the jury’s ultimate

53

conclusion. Instead, the court should hold that
this jury, which demonstrated its willingness to
independently assess the respective culpability
of each defendant, appropriately conducted the
required weighing of aggravating and mitigating
circumstances and concluded Reginald Carr
deserved the penalty of death.

RC App. 496-497.

Any error here, even assuming error can be found,
was harmless by any standard the Court might apply.

Il. There Was No Reasonable Likelihood That
The Jury Applied The Instructions Here To
Prevent The Consideration Of Mitigating
Circumstances.

Relying on its decision in State v. Gleason, 329 P.3d
1102 (2014), the Kansas Supreme Court ruled that the
trial court’s failure to affirmatively instruct the jury
that mitigating circumstances need not be proven
beyond a reasonable doubt was constitutional error. RC
App. 445-446. In Gleason, the court held that because
“the instructions repeatedly emphasized the State’s
burden to prove the existence of aggravating
circumstances beyond a reasonable doubt and to prove
beyond a reasonable doubt that the death penalty
should be imposed,” but “never informed or explained
to the jury that no particular burden of proof applied to
mitigating circumstances,” the Eighth Amendment was
violated. 329 P.3d at 1148.

o4

The Court explained its reasoning as follows:

[the] jury was left to speculate as to the
correct burden of proof for mitigating
circumstances, and reasonable jurors might
have believed they could not consider mitigating
circumstances not proven beyond a reasonable
doubt. Thus, jurors may have been prevented
from giving meaningful effect or a reasoned
moral response to [the defendant’s} mitigating
evidence, implicating [the defendant’s] right to
individualized sentencing under the Eighth
Amendment.

329 P.3d at 1148.

The relevant instructions in the Carr cases were
virtually identical to those the Kansas Supreme Court
found deficient in Gleason. Thus, the same legal
arguments Kansas has made at length in its opening
brief in Kansas v. Gleason are incorporated by
reference.'* Kansas here will only summarize those
arguments and focus on facts and arguments specific to
the Carr cases.

Nothing in this Court’s precedents holds that the
Eighth Amendment mandates an_ instruction
affirmatively informing a capital sentencing jury that
mitigating circumstances are not subject to any
particular burden of proof. The Constitution only
requires that capital sentencing juries be allowed to
consider and give effect to all relevant mitigating
evidence. Blystone v. Pennsylvania, 494 U.S. 299, 307
(1990). So long as they do not prevent juries from

'S See Kansas Opening Brief in Kansas v. Gleason, at 23-42.

at)

considering relevant mitigation, the States “are free to
determine the manner in which a jury may consider
mitigating evidence.” Kansas v. Marsh, 548 U.S. 163,
171 (2006). Thus, to the extent the Kansas Supreme
Court held that the Eighth Amendment requires a jury
in a capital sentencing proceeding to be affirmatively
instructed that mitigating circumstances need not be
proven beyond a reasonable doubt, that ruling is
erroneous.

Even if such an instruction were required as a
matter of Kansas law, that circumstance would not
establish an Eighth Amendment violation. Instead, the
controlling constitutional standard is articulated in
Boyde v. California, 494 U.S. 370 (1990): “the proper
inquiry in such a case is whether there is a reasonable
likelihood that the jury has applied the challenged
instruction in a way that prevents the consideration of
constitutionally relevant evidence.” Jd.

The Boyde Court relied on three factors to decide
whether the jury likely understood the instruction to
prevent the consideration of mitigating evidence. First,
the Court analyzed the language of the instructions
and concluded that there was no reasonable likelihood
that jurors would have read the challenged instruction
to prevent consideration of any mitigating
circumstances. Id. at 381-382. Second, the Court
considered the actual evidence presented, pointing out
that the defendant had offered considerable mitigating
evidence with no opposition from the prosecution. Jd. at
384. Third, the Court considered the arguments of
counsel, and noted that the prosecutor never suggested
that the mitigation evidence in question could not be
considered. Jd. at 385. Putting these considerations

56

together, the Court concluded that there was no
reasonable likelihood the jury understood the
instructions to prevent the consideration of relevant
mitigating evidence.

Consideration of the three Boyde factors here leads
to the inevitable conclusion that the jury instructions
were constitutionally sound. As in Gleason, the jury
was told that the “State has the burden to prove
beyond a reasonable doubt that there are one or more
aggravating circumstances and that they outweigh
mitigating circumstances found to exist.” RC App. 501
(Instruction No. 4). Critically, the jury was told in
detail that it had complete freedom to consider and
assess mitigating circumstances:

The determination of what are mitigating
circumstances is for you as jurors to decide
under the facts and circumstances of this case.
Mitigating circumstances are to be determined
by each individual juror when deciding whether
the State has proved beyond a reasonable doubt
that the death penalty should be imposed. The
same mitigating circumstances do not need to be
found by all members of the jury in order to be
considered by an individual juror in arriving at
his or her sentencing decisions.

RC App. 504 (Instruction No. 6).

The instructions on their face thus emphasize that
jurors may consider virtually anything as mitigation,
and that such circumstances are “to be determined by
each individual juror.” Nowhere do the instructions
ever suggest that a burden of proof applies to
mitigation. To the contrary, the fairest reading of them

57

is that determining and considering mitigation is
within the unfettered discretion of each juror.

Indeed, there does not even have to be evidence at
all, because the instruction also informed the jury that
“lylou may further consider as a _ mitigating
circumstance any other factor which you find may
serve as a basis for imposing a sentence of less than
death.” RC App. 505. As a result, the instructions
would permit a juror to vote for a life sentence even if
virtually no mitigation evidence was presented, so long
as the juror concluded that “any other factor” such as
“mercy” or almost anything else outweighed any
aggravating factors.

Moreover, at least three state supreme courts have
reviewed virtually identical instructions and concluded
that the most natural reading of such instructions is
that there is no burden of proof for mitigation, not that
the jury would be confused and think that a “beyond a
reasonable doubt” standard applies. People v. Welch,
976 P.2d 754, 797 (Cal. 1999) (“because the trial court
instructed specifically that the reasonable doubt
standard applied (partially erroneously) to aggravating
factors, and mentioned nothing about mitigating
factors, the reasonable juror would infer that no such
reasonable doubt standard applied to mitigating
factors”); Dawson v. State, 637 A.2d 57, 64-65 (Del.
1994) (“in the absence of express guidance concerning
the proper burden of proof to establish the existence of
mitigating circumstances,” court would not “assume
that the jury applied the same ‘beyond a reasonable
doubt’ standard of proof that it was instructed to use in
determining whether the State had established the
existence of statutory aggravating circumstances”);

58
Matheney v. State, 688 N.E.2d 883, 902 (Ind. 1997) (“All

instructions to a jury on reasonable doubt place that
burden on the State,” and thus “[t]here is no inference
in any portion of a trial that defendant’s evidence
comes under that scrutiny.”).

Second, in its argument to open the penalty phase,
the State expressly told the jurors they had
considerable discretion to consider mitigation, broadly
defined: “mitigators” are “whatever they choose to
prove or show to lessen or to change any culpability
under the death penalty statute.” JA 62. Indeed, the
State made clear that “[a]nything, in fairness, may be
considered as extenuating or reducing the degree of
culpability or blame which justifies a sentence of less
than death ....” JA 63-64.

Similarly, Jonathan’s counsel told the jury that
“(mlitigating evidence is what you decide it is. You
decide how much mitigating evidence is worth.” JA 68.
And he emphasized the individualized nature of each
juror’s consideration: “what’s important to one juror
about mitigating might not be important to another.”
Id.

The State did not vigorously contest the existence of
most of the mitigating circumstances presented. Apart
from a battle of experts on the question whether either
Carr presented actual scientific or medical evidence of
demonstrable brain abnormalities, the State’s
argument focused almost entirely on the weight the
jury should give the proposed mitigators. In fact, the
State’s case-in-chief in the penalty phase consisted
entirely of resting on the evidence the State presented
in the guilt phase. The State offered no new evidence or

59

witnesses to support its proof of aggravating factors.
See JA 73-74. |

The Carrs presented extensive evidence of their
childhoods and how their lives paralleled risk factors
the United States Department of Justice had identified
in people who commit violent crimes. JA 408-409. This
evidence included domestic violence in their home,
alcohol and drug abuse by their parents, being
abandoned, emotional detachment of their mother,
family history of mental illness, and beatings they
received when they misbehaved. JA 409-412, 415-417,
428, 430.

Reginald presented evidence of his early sexual
conduct and drug dealing. JA 414. He further
presented evidence that he tried to be a good father and
that his children loved him. JA 418. And he
emphasized that he would spend the rest of his life in
prison if the jury chose to let him live. JA 420-421.

Jonathan presented evidence that he suffered when
sent to another state to live with his aunt after he was
accused of rape in the third grade. JA 427. He also
presented evidence that he tried to commit suicide,
perhaps twice, had a learning disability, and had no
serious criminal record prior to these crimes. JA 428,
430. Jonathan also presented witnesses who
remembered him as a good person growing up. JA 431-
432. Finally, Jonathan reminded the jury that he would
spend at least 50 years in prison if the jury spared his
life. JA 432-433.

The only real point of contention regarding the
evidence was the claim made by both Reginald and
Jonathan that they had demonstrable brain

60

abnormalities. Their expert, Dr. Preston, a retired
doctor who was qualified as an expert in “nuclear
medicine,” testified about PET scans, and how they can
demonstrate the presence of brain abnormalities. His
opinion was that the PET scan of each Carr done in
preparation for this case showed abnormal brain
functioning. JA 201, 203-204; Sentencing Tr. Vol. 42, at
6-105.

The State’s only rebuttal witness in the penalty
proceeding, and its only rebuttal evidence, was Dr. Pay,
a neuroradiologist, who testified about PET scans and
whether those of the Carrs in fact showed brain
abnormalities. He disagreed with Dr. Preston’s
conclusions, testifying that he had consulted with a
number of his colleagues and their consensus was the
PET scans showed each Carr had a normal brain. JA
370-371; Sentencing Tr. Vol. 46, at 34-90.

Finally, the parties’ closing arguments (the third
Boyde factor), also made clear the jurors’ responsibility
to consider all of the mitigating evidence, broadly
defined, and did nothing to give the impression
mitigation could not be considered unless proven
beyond a reasonable doubt. The State acknowledged
that there had been “quite a bit of [mitigation]
evidence.” JA 392. The State reiterated that what
counts as a mitigating circumstance is “{s)omething for
the jury to decide.” JA 396. The State certainly
challenged the weight to be given mitigation evidence
in comparison to the heinous nature of the crimes. E.z.,
JA 398-399. But with the exception of the brain
abnormality dispute, the State did not genuinely
challenge the existence of the mitigating circumstances
upon which either Carr relied. Rather, the State asked

61

the jury to consider whether anything either Carr
presented reduced his “degree of moral culpability.” JA
435. The State argued that the death penalty was
appropriate for each Carr because the aggravating
circumstances outweighed “any and all mitigation.” JA
404-405, 434-436, 442-443.

Reginald’s counsel emphasized that “[i]t is all for
you to consider ... whether you want to give [any
particular mitigating circumstance] any weight.” JA
408. Likewise, Jonathan’s counsel emphasized that “it

is for you to decide how much impact a bad family life
has.” JA 426.

Applying Boyde, there is no reasonable likelihood
the jurors applied the instructions in this case to
prevent the consideration of any relevant mitigating
evidence either Carr presented, or to prevent the jurors
from giving whatever individual effect they chose to
such evidence. Certainly, no reasonable juror would
have understood these instructions to prevent
consideration of mitigating circumstance unless such
factors were proven beyond a reasonable doubt.

Ultimately, there is no basis in this Court’s
precedent, in logic, or in the record for the Kansas
Supreme Court’s Eighth Amendment rulings.

62
CONCLUSION

Kansas requests that the Court reverse the Kansas
Supreme Court on both questions presented.

June 2015

Respectfully submitted,

DEREK SCHMIDT

Attorney General of Kansas
JEFFREY A. CHANAY

Chief Deputy Attorney General
STEPHEN R. MCALLISTER

Solicitor General of Kansas

(Counsel of Record)
KRISTAFER R. AILSLIEGER

Deputy Solicitor General
NATALIE CHALMERS

Assistant Solicitor General
DAVID LOWDEN

Chief Assistant District Attorney

18 Kansas Judicial District
120 S.W. 10th Ave., 2nd Floor
Topeka, KS 66612
(785) 296-2215
steve.mcallister@trqlaw.com

Counsel for Petitioner

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0353%3A06. Public record. Not legal advice.
