# Amicus Curiae Brief — King v. Burwell, 135 S. Ct. 475 (2014) (No. 14-114)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0338%3A27

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2014

## Text

MICHAEL CONNELLY

Attorney for Amicus Curiae

No. 14-114

IN THE
Supreme Court of the United States

DAVID KING, ET AL., Petitioners,
Vv.
SYLVIA BURWELL, SECRETARY OF HEALTH AND
HUMAN SERVICES, ET AL., Respondents.

On Writ of Certiorari
to the United States Court of Appeals
for the Fourth Circuit

Brief Amicus Curiae of Virginia State Delegates
Mark Berg, Bob Marshall, and David LaRock,

Virginia State Senator Dick Black, U.S. Justice
Foundation, Lincoln Institute for Research and
Education, Abraham Lincoln Foundation, Institute

on the Constitution, Conservative Legal Defense and

Education Fund, and Policy Analysis Center in

Support of Petitioners

HERBERT W. TITUS*

U.S. JUSTICE FOUNDATION Ww J. OLSON
932 D Street J L. MORGAN
Suite 2 JOHN S?>MILES

Ramona, CA 92065 ROBERT J..OLSON
WILLIAM 4 OLSON, P.C.
370 Maple Avenue West
Suite 4
Vienna, VA 22180-5615

(703) 356-5070

U.S. Justice Foundation

*Counsel of Record
December 29, 2014

wjo@mindspring.com
Attorneys for Amici Curiae

|

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
TABLE OF AUTHORMITINS §..2 kckce eeics. iii
INTEREST OF THE AMICI CURIAE pa es 1
IE oS ck wanma Hah e Res oe
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT __.......... ww. a ees 10

ARGUMENT

1. THEIRS REGULATION IS ENTIRELY OUTSIDE
ANY POWER VESTED BY THE CONSTITUTION IN
THE PRESIDENT

Ae ee Cote haleua pia eS axe 12
A. Unpopular and Unworkable, ACA Has

Survived Only by the Obama

Administration’s Grant of a Series of

WN Dire ct aik eae bers Geet wns 12
B. The IRS Regulation Violates the

Separation of Powers Principle 15
C. The IRS Regulation is an Unconstitutional

Exercise of Prerogative Power . eta

I]. JUDGED AGAINST ANY ACCEPTED PRINCIPLE OF
STATUTORY CONSTRUCTION, THE
GOVERNMENT'S POSITION AND THE POSITIONS
OF THE JUDGES BELOW ARE UNSOUND AND
SHOULD BE RE!ECTED ee 21

ul

A. The Statute Clearly Limits Federal Tax
Credits to Those Purchasing from Exchanges
Created by the States ........ om hs 21

B. The District Court Erroneously Elevated
Legislative History Over and Against the

I EE ae eee ae eA 22
C. Section 36B Is Not Ambiguous ... 7 24
D. The IRS Regulation Cannot Be Justified on the

Ground of Undesirable

Consequences 28

E. The Sea Change in Congress since Passage
of the ACA Must Not Drive this Court’s
Decision ..... 4 4F YOR ATEN een

CONCLUSION ..... a . 35

lll

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

U.S. CONSTITUTION
Aeteese 1, Bettjem 1... 6 ke Gk hide Ue 17
Article I, Section 7, — 2. oceans . 19
Article I, Section 8, Clause 16. 17
Article I], Section 1 ee ase irre 15
Article I], Section2 . ...... 17
STA ES
26 U.S.C. § 36B ia Oe ee 15
Patient Protection and Affordable Case

Act (“ACA”), Pub. L. No. 111-148 . . . 3, passim
CASES

.5.A., Inc. v. Natural Resources

Defense Council, Inc., 467 U.S. 837 (1984) . . 26
Kendall v. United States ex rel Stokes, 37 U.S.

(11 Peters) 524 (1838) . .. .. : es
Francis v. Franklin, 471 U.S. 307 (1985) 34
Halbig v. Burwell, 758 F.3d 290 (D.C.

Cir. 2014). . . A ate . 29, 30
National Treasury — Rlaiees v. Nixon,

492 F.2d 587 (D.C. Cir. 1974) . 15
Oklahoma v. Burwell, 2014 U.S. Dist. LEXIS

139501 (Sept. 30,2014)... . -23,390,31,38
Printz v. United States, 521 U.S. 898 (1997) .... 28

Sundance Assocs., Inc. v. Reno, 139 F.3d 804

(10" Cir. 1996) . .. 34
United States v. Great Northern Ry. 267 U. S.

546 Chee os kaa oeeees 26

Util Air Regula tory Gro. v. EPA, 134 S.Ct. 2427
GeieG . 3 64 eee etek 26

iv

Youngstown Sheet & Tube Co. v. Sawyer, 343
U.S. 579 (1952) ee at Ue

MISCELLANEOUS

“Administration adds major exemption for
ObamaCare individual mandate,” Fox
News (Mar. 13, 2014) . kr ta

M. Cannon, “Congress’s Obamacare Waiver,”

National Review Online (Aug. 6, 2013)

M. Cannon and J. Adler, “The Illegal IRS Rule |

to Increase Taxes & Spending under
ObamaCare,” Testimony before Committee
on Oversight and Reform, U.S. House of
Representatives (Aug. 2, 2012) ae

L. Carroll, Through the Looking Glass (1871) .

Staff Report, Committee on Oversight and
Government Reform, U.S. House of
Representatives, Lois Lerner’s Involvement
in the IRS Targeting of Tax Exempt
Organizations (March 11, 2014) _ ..

T. Cruz, “The Legal Limit, Report No. 2” .

Z. Evans, “Who Gets an Exemption From
Obamacare?” Reason.com (Oct. 1, 2013) .

R. Fournier, “Why I'm Getting Sick of
Defending Obamacare,” National Journal
PC -. oe
Oliver Wendell eves “The Theory of Legal

Interpretation” in Col r

(Dover sore sates 1920) .. . 23

E. Johnsen, “Pelosi: Of course I stand by my

‘we have to pass it so you can find out what’s

in it’ remark,” Hot Air (Nov. 18, 2013) .. . . 5
G. Kessler, “Did Obama exempt 1,200 groups,

including Congress, from Obamacare?”

The Washington Post (Oct. 16,2013) . .. . 13
G. Kessler, “Explainer: What Gruber meant

when he said ‘if CBO scored the mandate as

taxes, the bill dies,” The Washington Post

(Nov. 19, 2014) is «©
P. Klein, “Half of the Senators who voted for

Obamacare won't be part of new Senate,”

Washington Examiner, (Dec. 6, 2014)... 33
C. Krauthammer, “The Gruber Confession,”
The Washington Post (Nov. 13, 2014) . 5

“Mike Lee: Latest Obamacare delay is ‘lawless —
‘he is not an emperor,” — Examiner
es SG ED comecnvesss oe
“The Obama administration hes | a ‘mandate on
the health-care law, too,” The Washington

. f ,. SS 9 Serer ree Seay
“Obama Rewrites ObamaCare.” The Wall
Street Journal (Feb. 10,2014) . . rs

A. Scalia & B. Garner, Reading Law: The
I retation of Legal

(Thompson/West: 2012) ..... 25, 27, 29, 30

>»

vi

B. Shaprio, “Lawless: Obamacare and the
Imperial Government” .... . . .. ..
L. Tribe, “Comment,” in A. Scalia, A Matter

of Interpretation: Federal Courts and the
Law, 65-66 (Princeton U. Press, 1997) ... .. 24

4,5

INTEREST OF THE AMI TAE'

Mark J. Berg, M.D. is a member of the Virginia
House of Delegates, representing the 29‘ House
District. He practiced as an Emergency Department
physician for 13 years and as a primary care physician
for 10 years, retiring from practice in 2007.

Robert “Bob” Marshall is a member of the Virginia
House of Delegates, representing the 13" House
District since his first election in 1991. In 2010, he
was the Chief Patron of the Virginia Health Care
Freedom Act (HB 10’) which was passed by the
Virginia General Assembly and signed into law to
protect Virginians from the mandates in Obamacare.

Dave LaRock is a member of the Virginia House of
Delegates, representing the 33™ House District. He is
a businessman and a general contractor.

Richard “Dick” Black is a member of the Virginia
State Senate, representing the 13° Senate District,
and is a former member of the Virginia House of
Delegates. He served as a Marine combat helicopter
pilot in Vietnam, and retired as a Colonel serving at
the Pentagon in the office of the U.S. Army Judge
Advocate General. Earlier this year, Senator Black led

' It is hereby certified that counsel for the parties have consented
to the filing of this brief; that no counsel for a party authored this
brief in whole or in part; and that no person other than these
amici curiae, their members, or their counsel made a monetary
contribution to its preparation or submission.

2

the fight to block Medicaid expansion during the
Special Session of the Virginia legislature.

U.S. Justice Foundation, The Lincoln Institute for
Research and Education, Conservative Legal Defense
and Education Fund, and Policy Analysis Center are
nonprofit educational organizations, exempt from
federal income tax under Internal Revenue Code
(“IRC”) section 501(c)(3). The Abraham Lincoln
Foundation for Public Policy Research, Inc. is a
nonprofit social welfare organizations, exempt from
federal income tax under IRC section 501(c)(4).
Institute on the Constitution is an educational!
organization.

These organizations were established, inter alia,
for educational purposes related to participation in the
public policy process, which purposes include programs
to conduct research and to inform and educate the
public on important issues of national concern, the
construction of state and federal constitutions and
statutes related to the rights of citizens, and questions
related to human and civil rights secured by law. Each
organization has filed many amicus curiae briefs in
this and other courts.

Some of these amici have filed amicus curiae briefs
in the following recent cases challenging the
Affordable Care Act, including three filed in this
Court:

3

- Virginia, ex rel. Kenneth T. Cuccinelli, IL, Attorney
General of Virgini la v. Kathleen Sebelius, 656 F.3d
253 (4 Cir. 2011).°

* Virgini rel. Kennet ) t
eneral of Virginia v. Kathl lius, No. 11-
420, On Petition for Certiorari (Nov. 3, 2011).*

D Ith an v. Florida
(consolidated with NFIB v. Sebelius, 567 U.S. __
132 S.Ct. 2566 (2012).°

Conestoga Wood Specialties v. Sebelius, 573 U.S.
___, 184 S.Ct. 2751 (2014).°

STATEME

The history of the Patient Protection and
Affordable Care Act’ (“ACA”) is, to put it bluntly, a
history of lawlessness. Shamelessly hatched “behind
closed doors,” political deal-makers inside the

3

http://www_lawandfreedom.com/site/health/VA v_Sebelius
Amicus.pdf.

4

http://www.lawandfreedom.com/site/health/VA_v_ Sebelius _
Amicus SC.pdf.

5

http://www.lawandfreedom.com/site/health/DHHSvFlonda
Amicus.pdf.

° Jiwww.law m.com/site/constitutio onestoga

%20Wo0d%20Amicus%20Brief pdf.

7 Pub. L. No. 111-148, 124 Stat. 119 (Mar. 23, 2010).

4

legislative and executive branches “rammed [ACA]
through Congress in record time.” See Petitioners
Reply to Brief in Opposition at 11. When finally
exposed to light, there could be no mistake, “the
passage of Obamacare ... relied on ... bribery ... to gain
the necessary votes” in the Senate of the United States

(B. Shapiro, “Lawless: Obamacare and the Imperial
Government”):

The bill originally included the so-called
Cornhusker Kickback ... to earn the vote of
Sen. Ben Nelson (D-NE).... Similarly, Sen. Bill
Nelson (D-FL) originally handed over his
Obamacare vote in return for avoiding cuts to
Medicare Advantage in Florida ... — the so-
called Gator-Aid payoff. Then there was the
Louisiana Purchase in which Sen. Mary
Landrieu (D-LA) effectively sold her
Obamacare vote in return for $4.3 billion in
Medicaid funds....” [Jd. (emphasis added). }

Equally hidden from view, unelected elites,
including the now infamous MIT economist Jonathan
Gruber,’ assisted in an effort to make ACA
“deliberately obscure and deceptive ... in order to get it

_ * http://goo.gV/1iQO9Q.

* “Touted by press and politicians alike as an objective and fair-
minded arbiter of health-care reform, the MIT economist was in
fact a warrior for the cause, invested emotionally, politically and,
as it turns out, financially through undisclosed consulting
arrangements. See J. Goldberg, “The Real Person of the Year,”
Nationa! Review (Dec. 17, 2014) http://www.nationalreview.com/
nod 4/print.

5

passed.” See C. Krauthammer, “The Gruber
Confession,” The Washington Post (Nov. 13, 2014).'°
“Lack of transparency,” Professor Gruber bragged, “is
a huge political advantage,” not only to fool the
“stupid[] American voter,” but also to manipulate the
nonpartisan Congressional Budget Office (“CBO”) into
scoring ACA’s controversial individual mandate as not
a “tax” (id.), thereby ensuring ACA’s passage. See G.
Kessler, “Explainer: What Gruber meant when he
said ‘if CBO scored the mandate as taxes, the bill
dies,” The Washington Post (Nov. 19, 2014)."'

While Professor Gruber has since backed off his
claim to be ACA’s “architect,” former House Speaker
Nancy Pelosi has never retracted her revealing
assertion as to how poorly the bill was understood by
her colleagues in March of 2010 that “[w]e have to pass
the bill so that you can find out what is in it.”
Instead, the former Speaker is still defending the
“legislative process”’* whereby a 2,700-plus-page bill

'’ http://goo.g/uKmCoS.

1

http://goo.gV/j2vitR.

'? E. Johnsen, “Pelosi: Of course I stand by my ‘we have to pass it
so you can find out what's in it’ remark,” Hot Air (Nov. 18, 2013),

http://goo.gi/sEbyVa.

‘* “Obamacare ... quickly passed [the House] without anyone
reading the final bill.... And Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid
(D-NV) rammed through a vote on Obamacare just before
Christmas 2009 to avoid blowback from the American people
when Senators went home for the holidays. Both Pelosi and Reid
used myriad procedural conjurings in order to pass the bill.” See
B. Shapiro, “Lawless: Obamacare and the Imperial Government,”

6

was squeezed through the Senate, rammed through
the House, and ceremoniously signed by the President:

[I]t took a great deal for us to pass this bill. I
said if we go up to the gate and the gate is
locked, we'll unlock the gate. If we can’t do
that, we'll climb the fence. If the fence is too
high, we'll pole vault in. If we can’t do that,
we'll helicopter in, but we’ll get it done. [J/d.]

Introduced in the House, the ACA began as H.R.
3590,'* the “Service Members Home Ownership Tax
Act of 2009.” The six-page bill stated its modest
purpose: to “modify the first-time homebuyers credit
in the case of members of the Armed Forces and
certain other Federal emp oyees....” Passed
unanimously by the House, the Bill was forwarded to
the Senate where Senator Harry Reid ripped away all
of its six pages, and replaced them with a bill 450
times its original length under the brand new name of
“Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act.” On
Christmas Eve, December 24, 2009, ACA was passed
by the Democrat-controlled Senate.”

Having shirked their solemn duty as legislators to
know the contents of a bill before voting for it,
members of Congress should not have been surprised

Breitbart (Feb. 11, 2014), http://goo.g)/1iQO9Q.
‘“* https://www.congress.gov/bill/111th-congress/house-bill/3590.

'S http://www.congress.gov/111/bills/hr3590/BILLS-111hr3590
eas.pdf.

7

by what has ensued. The Galen Institute reported
that, by 2014, “more than 42 significant changes
already have been made ... at least 24 [of which]
President Obama has made unilaterally....”— T.
Hartsfield and G-M. Turner, “42 Changes to
ObamaCare ... So Far” (Nov. 6, 2014)."® In the last
year of this cascade of changes, the Obama
Administration announced that the employer mandate
compliance deadline was extended a second time, from
2015 to 2016. This announcement triggered reactions
from across the political spectrum. The Wall Street
Journal, a long-time opponent of ACA, editorialized:

“ObamaCare” is useful shorthand for the
Affordable Care Act not least because the law
increasingly means whatever President
Obama says it does on any given day. His
latest lawless rewrite arrived on Monday as
the White House decided to delay the law’s
employer mandate for another year and in
some cases maybe forever. [“Obama Rewrites
ObamaCare,” The Wall Street Journal (Feb.
10, 2014) (emphasis added)."”}

A long-time supporter of the ACA, The Washington
Post has also slammed the President for his
“increasingly cavalier approach to picking and

‘© http://www.galen.org/newsletters/changes-to-obamacare-so-far/.

'” http://goo.pl/XbsOlv.

8

choosing how to enforce this law.”'” Another champion
of ACA, National Journal Editorial Director Ron
Fournier, headlined a biting editorial “Why I’m
Getting Sick of Defending Obamacare””’ that stated:

Not coincidentally, the delays punt

implementation beyond congressiona!] elections
in November, which raises the first problem

with defending Obamacare: The White
House has politicized its signature policy.
|Id. (emphasis added).]

Upon hearing of the latest ACA “waiver,” longtime
critic Charles Krauthammer observed:

This is stuff that you do in a banana republic.
It’s as if the law is simply a blackboard on
which Obama writes any number he wants,
any delay he wants....”° [Jd.]

Utah Senator Mike Lee framed the issue as one of
separation of powers:

At some point the President of the United
States has to recognize that we are a nation
that operates under a system of laws. He is

'® “The Obama administration has a mandate on the health-care
law, too,” The Washington Post (Feb. 11, 2014),

'* http://goo.g/MHLS8FP.
»” http://goo.gl/y4s2Ha.

9

not an emperor. He is not a super-legisiature.
And he doesn’t have the power to just trump
what Congress does. [“Mike Lee: Latest
Obamacare delay is ‘lawless’ — ‘he is not an

emperor,” Washington Examiner (Feb. 10,
2014).*’]

Although the President has maintained that he is
simply exercising his discretion pursuant to his
constitutional obligation to “take care that the laws be
faithfully executed,” this duty does not “impll[y] a
power to forbid their execution.” See Kendall v. United
States ex rel Stokes, 37 U.S. (11 Peters) 524, 612-13
(1838). Indeed, the President’s expansive
interpretation of his power to faithfully execute the
law “would be vesting in the President a dispensing
power, which has nocountenance for its support in any
part of the constitution; and is asserting a principle,
which ... would be clothing the President with a power
entirely to control the legislation of congress, and
paralyze the administration of justice.” Id.

Against this highly politicized backdrop, this case
presents the question of not only whether one more
provision of ACA may be unilaterally waived, but also
whether a new provision for subsidies to a broad new
class of taxpayers can be read into the statute. The
rationale for the regulation is simple: the ACA statute
— as written by Congress — is at odds with what the
President now wants.

*! http://goo. gV/306lgP.

10

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The Government views this case as a matter of
statutory construction — whether federal tax subsidies
for health insurance coverage apply only to those
persons who purchase insurance through an
“Exchange established by the State” under section
1311 of the ACA. In truth, the statute being so clear,
the question really is: Shall the statutory text be

applied, or instead disregarded to conform to the policy
wishes of the Executive Brancii?

This question has not reached the Court in a
political and constitutional vacuum. Birthed and
enacted into law by a process of political intrigue and
deception, the Obama Administration has adopted a
lawless strategy of ACA implementation, unilaterally
waiving or delaying various statutory requirements
under the guise of presidential discretion. Contrary to
his claim of discretion under his constitutional duty to
take care that the law be faithfully executed, the
President has instead exercised an unconstitutional
prerogative power, dispensing with explicit,
congressionally imposed deadlines, in violation of the
separation of powers principles and ministerial
practices contemplated by the Constitution.

The Government claims that the President —
under the rulemaking powers of the Internal Revenue
Service — may dispense with the clearly established
statutory rule that tax subsidies are available only to
persons who purchase health insurance in an
Exchange established by a State. This is an
unconstitutional usurpation of the legislative powers

11

vested by the Constitution solely in Congress. To
reach this result, the Government urges this Court to
ignore well-established rules of statutory construction.

This would be rule by bureaucratic fiat, not rule by
law.

Driven by politics, the Obama Administration has
adopted a strategy to save ACA from further
congressional scrutiny, by reading the ACA to reflect
a presidential policy, governed by congressionally
established means. The Government seeks to short-
circuit this constitutional process in order to save ACA
from any change by Congress, whose membership is
very different from the Congress that barely passed
the ACA just five years ago.

If the rule of law is to mean anything, this Court
must not sanction policies promulgated by an
unelected bureaucracy — like the IRS — in direct
contradiction of the written text of a duly enacted
statute. The ACA provision in question should be
interpreted according to the plain meaning of the
statutory text, rather than according to the Humpty-
Dumpty approach — “words mean what I want them
to mean” — urged by the Government.

12

ARGUMENT

I. THE IRS REGULATION IS OUTSIDE ANY
POWER VESTED BY THE CONSTITUTION
IN THE PRESIDENT.

A. Unpopular and Unworkable, ACA Has
Survived Only by the Obama
Administration’s Grant of a Series of
Waivers.

In ACA’s infancy, the Obama Administration
began to issue waivers. First in line were “politically
connected businesses,” including “restaurants and hip
nightclubs in former-Speaker Nancy ‘'osi’s
{congressional} district." Next were members of
Congress, who obtained a waiver protecting their
staffs from ACA-required health insurance coverage
that would have cost each member of Congress and
each staffer between $5,000 and $11,000 per year.”
These early waivers defused a key motivation to
reopen Obamacare. Id.

As the increase in real costs and less coverage of
insurance plans became more widespread, special
individual waivers proliferated in number until over
1,200 recipients, ranging from McDonald's to Goodwill
Industries, were given temporary waivers in order to

“ 72. Evans, “Who Gets an Exemption From Obamacare””

Reason.com (Oct. 1, 2013), http://goo.g/RJOJZW.

8 M. Cannon, “Congress's Obamacare Waiver,” National Review

Online (Aug. 6, 2013), http://goo.g/geVTN 1.

13

avoid having to reduce hours of already economically
strapped low-wage workers.** “[T]}he rul[ings] enabled
employers and their workers to keep [for a whole] year
the plans they had before the law was passed, even
though they didn’t meet the new [ACA] minimum
standards.” In short, “although [ACA] required so-
called mini-med insurers to provide guaranteed levels
of insurance, [HHS] gave waivers to favored
corporations, relieving them of the duty to meet the
regulatory and thus also the statutory levels.””

“The rest of us must obey the laws”*’ — until
further increases in ACA’s unpopularity produced an
across-the-board waiver for companies with 50 or more
full-time employees, delaying that mandate until 2015,
after the 2014 midterm elections.” Shortly after that,
again with an eye on the November 2014 elections, the
White House “added a mega-exemption that critics say
would allow virtually anybody to skirt” the infamous

** G. Kessler, “Did Obama exempt 1,200 groups, including
Congress, from Obamacare””’ The Washington Post (Oct. 16, 2013),
http:// tnP7.

* J. Healey, “The real story behind all those Obamacare waivers,”
Los Angeles Times (Oct. 3, 2013), http://goo.gl/Aok915.

26 See P. Hamburger, Is Administrative Law Unlawful? at 124
(Univ. of Chi. Press: 2014).

27 P. Hamburger, “Are Health-Care Waivers Unconstitutional?”
National Review Online (Feb. 8, 2011), http://goo.gl/FOxTUh.

** See “The Lega) Limit, Report No. 2,” pp. 1-2, by U.S. Senator
Ted Cruz, Ranking Member, Senate Judiciary Subcommittee on
the Constitution, Civil Rights, and Human Rights.

14

individual mandate requiring every American to get
government-approved health insurance or pay a
penalty to the IRS.”

As Columbia Law Professor Philip Hamburger has
perspicaciously observec:

When Americans are subject to severe
legislation, they can unite to seek its repeal.
All persons subject to a harsh law ordinarily
must comply with it and wil] therefore
cooperate to fight it. Waivers, however,
allow the executive to preserve such
legislation by offexing relief to the most
powerful of those who might demand
repeal, thereby purchasing their
nonresistance at the cost of other Americans.
Waivers thus shift the cost of objectionable
laws from the powerful to others, with the
overall effect of entrenching oppressive laws.

[Philip Hamburger, Is Administrative Law
Unlawful?, p. 127 (Univ. of Chi. Press: 2014)

(hereinafter “Hamburger’s Unlawful Law’)
(emphasis added).]}

Without a doubt, the Obama Administration has
employed “waivers to co-opt political support for [a]
politically insupportable law[].” See id.

* “Administration adds major exemption for ObamaCare

individual mandate,” Fox News (Mar. 13, 2014),
J} zl.

15

Such waivers, Professor Hamburger argues,
“revert to a particularly lawless mode of prerogative
power|,] [njot merely an extralegal lawmaking power,
[but] an extralegal power to undo the law without even
adopting extralegal legislation.” Jd. The duty imposed
on the President by 26 U.S.C. § 36B is decidedly not a
discretionary one subject to the President's
independent political judgment, but a ministerial one
subject to the rule of law. See, e.g., National Treasury
Employees Union v. Nixon, 492 F.2d 587 (D.C. Cir.
1974). By dispensing with the section 36B limit on tax
credits and subsidies to Exchanges established by the
States, the Obama Administration has done exactly
what Hamburger contends — unmade the law by an

extralegal “legislative” process in violation of the
Constitution.

B. The IRS Regulation Violates’ the
Separation of Powers Principle.

The Government would have this Court believe
that, by equating a fallback Exchange established by
HHS with an Exchange established by a State, the IRS
was exercising its ordinary interpretative powers
vested in the executive department by Article II,
Section 1. See Brief for Respondents in Opposition to
Petition for Certiorari (“Govt. Opp. Br.”) at 8, 10, 13,
17, 18, 24, and 29-31. In support of its position, the
Government has touted ACA as a measure with the
overriding singular purpose to ensure “affordable
(health) insurance to millions of Americans.” /d. at 13.
Thus, the Government insists that any interpretation
which interferes with “the Act’s stated objective of

16

ensuring ‘near-universal coverage” must be rejected.
Id. at 25.

Although the Government contends that this
purpose is expressly stated in ACA, at no point in this
litigation has the Government produced any specific
supporting statutory text. See, e.g., id. at 24. Indeed,
as pointed out in Petitioners’ brief on the merits, even
when directly challenged in the rulemaking process to
justify its authority, the IRS furnished no textual
support for its action; instead, it simply justified its
“interpretation” as generally “consistent with the
language, purpose, and structure of [26 U.S.C.]! section
36B and the [ACA] as a whole.” See Brief for
Petitioners (“Pet. Br.”) at 6-7.

However, as Petitioners have argued in their brief,
the Government may not ignore the specific text of
section 36B, which limits ACA tax credits and
subsidies to persons who purchase health insurance
through an Exchange established by a State:

[I]Jnvoking this amorphous “purpose” to
“construe” § 36B to mean the opposite of what
it says would not be legitimate interpretation,
but wholly lawless revision. [/d. at 33.]

Rather, as Petitioners have also demonstrated, by
creating “a new ‘subsidies-everywhere’ purpose,” the
Government would “defeat the Act’s clearly enunciated
purpose of encouraging state-established Exchanges.”
Id. Thus, Petitioners contend that the purported IRS
“\nterpretation” of section 36B is “simply a transparent
device to rewrite § 36B’s plain text”:

17

to elevate the Executive's policy preference
(subsidies everywhere) to the detriment of
Congress's policy of encouraging states to
establish Exchanges. Under this lawless
reasoning, the IRS could grant § 36B subsidies
to those who buy coverage directly from
insurers, instead of through an Exchange, in
light of Congress’s “purpose” to make al]

coverage affordable through federal subsidies.
Id. at 35.)

It is not within the powers vested in the President
to formulate by policy through executive action and,
then, by that same action to determine the manner in
which that policy will be executed. See Youngstown
Sheet & Tube Co. v. Sawyer, 343 U.S. 579 (1952). To
the contrary, Article Il, Section 2 of the Constitution
vests in the President only the power to execute the
law, not to make — much less remake — the law as
the IRS has done here. Instead, the power to make the
law is vested by Article I, Section 1 of the Constitution
in Congress. It is, therefore, for Congress, not the
President, to set the nation’s health care insurance
policy. And Article I, Section 8, Clause 16 vests in
Congress — not the President — the power to make all
laws that are “necessary and proper” to carry out the
policies of Congress. In short, both the objectives, and
the means to meet those objectives, belong to the
legislative branch, not the executive’ branch.

Youngstown Sheet & Tube at 588.

In setting up the insurance Exchange marketing
system, Congress set both the purpose of ACA and the
means by which that purpose would be carried out.

18

The IRS regulation would alter the means chosen by
Congress, overriding the statutory means in order to
better achieve the Obama Administration’s goal of
universal health care insurance coverage. ‘To
paraphrase Justice Black’s opinion in Youngstown, the
IRS regulation “does not direct that a congressional
policy be executed in a manner prescribed by Congress
— it directs that a presidential policy be executed in a
manner prescribed by the President.” Jd. at 588.
Moreover, by divesting Congress of its authority to
determine both the ends and means of a law, the IRS
regulation here is the product of the exercise of a
prerogative power totally foreign to the American
constitutional republic. See Hamburger’s Unlawful
Law at 50.

C. The IRS Regulation Is an Unconstitutional
Exercise of Prerogative Power.

According to the Government, in order to save the
ACA from total collapse, it was necessary for the IRS
to extend tax subsidies and credits to purchasers of
health insurance in all Exchanges, those established
by the States and those established by HHS. See Govt.
Opp. Br. at 18-28. Relying in part on the reasoning of
the court of appeals below, the Government contends
that “denying tax credits to individuals ... would throw
a debilitating wrench into the Act’s internal economic
machinery and obstruct the operation of the
interdependent reforms through which Congress
sought to address the previous failures of the

19

individual market for insurance.” Jd. at 25.°° The IRS
employed its “interpretive” powers to amend the Act in
an effort to right the ACA ship which was about to
sink in choppy waters created by the unanticipated
decisions of 37 States not to establish their own
Exchanges.

Pursuant to the IRS’s rulemaking powers, the
Government now asserts that “an Exchange
established by HHS in a State’s stead is, as a matter
of law, ‘an Exchange established by the State.” Govt.
Opp. Br. at 12. However, as Petitioners point out, this
claim “is pure ipse dixit; the Act says nothing of the
sort.” Pet. Br. at 13. While “Congress could have
deemed HHS Exchanges to be ‘established by the
State’ for subsidy purposes,” Petitioners observe, “it
never did.” Jd. And, while the Obama Administration
could have presented the issue to Congress, it never
did. Instead, the Government argues, “necessity
required prompt action ... that could not wait for the
legislature,”*' and out of such necessity the IRS by
bureaucratic fiat decided that the two kinds of
Exchanges were one. This is government by
“proclamation,” not by the bicameral and presentment
process dictated by Article I, Section 7, Clause 2. See
Hamburger’s Unlawful Law at 38-39. It smacks of the

® Although the Government concerns are opaquely stated (id. at
25), the Petitioners forthrightly aver that “the IRS Rule triggers
ACA mandates and penalties for millions of individuals and
thousands of employers in states served by HealthCare.Gov.” Pet.
Br. at 8-9.

* See Hamburger’s Unlawful Law at 41.

20

exercise of the “prerogative” powers of law-making and
unmaking, which was characteristic of the English
Star Chamber (an institution abolished in 1641 (id. at
41 and 57)), rather than the tripartite federal

government created by the United States Constitution
in 1789.

It is simply not for the IRS “to fill the gaps tn” in
ACA through interpretive law making. See
Hamburger’s Unlawful Law at 51. It is wholly
illegitimate tor the IRS to proclaim by “faux
interpretation” that, as a matter of law, an HHS-
established Exchange in a State is the equivalent of a
State-established Exchange in that State. By
presuming to do so, the IRS arrogated to itself
prerogative power characteristic of Roman law, not the
English common law. See id. at 52-53. Instead of
filling in a “gap” in the ACA, the IRS embarked on a
mission of its own, a mission comparable to the various
efforts chronicled in this brief to rescue the Obama
Administration from the increasingly unpopular ACA.

21

Il. JUDGED AGAINST ANY ACCEPTED
PRINCIPLE OF STATUTORY
CONSTRUCTION, THE GOVERNMENT'S
POSITION AND THE POSITIONS OF THE
JUDGES BELOW ARE UNSOUND AND
SHOULD BE REJECTED.

A. The Statute Clearly Limits Federal Tax
Credits to Those Purchasing from
Exchanges Created by the States.

Four central provisions of the ACA govern the
issue in this case. Each is short and easy to
understand:

1. “Each State shall, not later than
January 1, 2014, establish an American
Health Benefit Exchange ... for the state....”
ACA section 1311(b), Petitioner’s’ Brief
Addendum (“Pet. Br. Add.”) 2A (emphasis
added).

2. “If... a State is not an electing State ...
the Secretary shall ... establish and operate
such Exchange within the State.” ACA section
1321(c), Pet. Br. Add. 31A (emphasis added).

3. “The premium assistance amount
[applies to taxpayers who were] enrolled in
through an Exchange established by the
State under 1311.” ACA section 1401(a), Pet.
Br. Add. 35A (emphasis added).

22

4. The term “coverage month” applies to a
taxpayer “that was enrolled in through an
Exchange established by the State under
section 1311....” ACA section 1401(a), Pet. Br.
Add. 42A (emphasis added).

Because the statutory text is so clear, it took
considerable ingenuity for each of the judges of the
courts below to develop theories to uphold the IRS
regulation allowing premium assistance to taxpayers
not enrolled in an Exchange established by a State —
a result directly contrary to the unambiguous
statutory text. Upon careful examination, the reasons
offered by the courts below are revealed to be little
more than cover for dispensing with the statutory text.

B. The District Court Erroneously Elevated
Legislative History Over and Against the
Statutory Text.

Despite the fact that District Court Judge Spencer
acknowledged that “Plaintiffs’ plain meaning
interpretation ... has a certain common sense appeal”
he rejected that meaning solely because it “lack[ed]
any support in the legislative history.” Petition for
Certiorari Appendix (“Pet. App.”) at 7la (emphasis
added). Although Judge Spencer acknowledged that
“It}]he legislative history ... is long and complex,” he
nevertheless concluded “that Congress did not
expect the states to turn down federal funds [but
rather] assumed that tax credits would be available
nationwide because every state would set up its own
exchange.” Jd. at 70a (emphasis added).

23

Judge Spencer echoed the only identifiable reason
that the IRS presented for its regulation: “the relevant
legislative history does not demonstrate that
Congress intended to limit the premium tax credit to
State Exchanges.” Pet. App. at 9a (emphasis added).
Judge Spencer therefore ruled that “had Congress

intended to condition tax subsidies it would have
needed to provide clear notice.” Id. at 71a.

However, there is no rule which requires that the
“plain meaning” of a statute be supported by
legislative history in order to be given effect. It is
enough that the statutory language itself is clear, such
as itisin this case. See Pet. Br. at 18-20. It is through
the words of a statute alone that Congress exercises
the legislative function. Congress votes only on the
words of a statute. Only the words of the statute are
law. As Justice Oliver Wendell Holmes explained:
“We do not inquire what the legislature meant; we ask
only what the statute means.” Judge Spencer
inverted the Holmes rule and concluded, in essence,
that it does not matter what the statute says, if a
judge cannot independently validate what the
legislature may have meant based upon legislative
history, the executive is free to adopt any
interpretation it wishes.

Judge Spencer’s attempt to impose a new burden
on Congress — that it demonstrate in legislative

*® Oliver Wendell Holmes, “The Theory of Legal Interpretation”
in Collected Legal Papers 203, 207 (Dover Publications: 1920)

(cited in Oklahoma v. Burwell, 2014 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 139501 at
*15, n.16 (Sept. 30, 2014).)

24

history that it really meant each provision of every law
— constitutes an embarrassingly transparent effort to
avoid the “plain meaning” of the text. Harvard Law
Professor Laurence Tribe captured the absurdity of
elevating legislative history over the statutory text:

I never cease to be amazed by the arguments
of judges ... who proceed as though legal texts
were little more than interesting documentary
evidence of what some lawgiver had in mind....
[I}t is the text’s meaning, and not the content
of anyone’s expectations or intentions, that
binds us as law. [Laurence H. Tribe,
“Comment,” in Antonin Scalia, A Matter of
Interpretation: Federal Courts and the Law,
65-66 (Princeton U. Press, 1997).]

C. Section 36B Is Not Ambiguous.

Circuit Court Judges Gregory and Thacker agreed
with the district court that “plaintiffs offer[ed] no
compelling support in the legislative record for their
argument.” Pet. App. 24a. But they also recognized
that the defendants could not make a convincing case
either. Pet. App. 22a. Based on this dearth of
legislative history, they concluded “that the applicable
statutory language is ambiguous and subject to
multiple interpretations.” Thus, they upheld the IRS
regulation “as a permissible exercise of the agency’s
discretion.” Pet. App. 6a.

Yet, in viewing the actual text apart from the
ACA’s legislative history, the circuit court below
admitted that “there is a certain sense to the

25

plaintiffs’ position” as well as “common-sense appeal
of the plaintiffs’ argument; a literal reading of the
statute undoubtedly accords more closely with their
position.” Pet. App. 16a, 18a (emphasis added).
Further, the court acknowledged that “[i]f Congress
did in fact intend to make the tax credits available to
consumers on both state and federal] Exchanges, it
would have been easy to write in broader
language as it did in other places in the statute.” /d.
at 17a (emphasis added). Nevertheless, ignoring the
clear text, the court found “that Congress has not

‘directly spoken to the precise question at issue....” Jd.
at 26a (citations omitted.)

Unless one departs from the principle that the text
is paramount, no ambiguity can be found. See A.
Scalia & B. Garner, Read) w: The In retation
of Legal Texts (Thompson/West: 2012), p. 56.
Nevertheless, the circuit court adopted the
Government’s position that it should give preeminence
to the great and historic purposes of the ACA, the
signature law of the Obama Administration. The
panel stated that “we are primarily persuaded by
the IRS Rule’s advancement of the broad policy
goals of the Act.” Pet. App. 27a (emphasis added).

Likewise, in this Court, the Government again
focuses on the law’s broad purposes — that the ACA
was enacted to increase the number of Americans
covered by health insurance and to decrease the costs
of health care, and achieving this result required the

IRS to issue its regulation in question. Gov't. Br. Opp.,
p. 2.

26

Having found ambiguity in the statute, the courts
below deferred to the IRS rule, applying step two of

the test developed in Chevron U.S.A., Inc. v. Natural
Resources Defense Council, Inc., 467 U.S. 837 (1984).
In doing so, the courts below allowed an
administrative agency the latitude to choose to expend
billions of dollars of federal money without express
Congressional authorization. As Petitioners have
argued, a court might “expect Congress to speak
clearly if it wishes to assign to an agency decisions of
vast ‘economic and political significance.” Util Air
Regulatory Grp. v. EPA, 134S.Ct. 2427, at 2444 (2014)

(quoting FDA v. Brown & Williamson Tobacco Corp..,
529 U.S. 120, 160 (2000). See Pet. Br., p. 52.

The courts below found an ambiguity only by
violating the rule of statutory construction which gives
supremacy to law’s text. As Justice Cardozo
explained, “we Lave not traveled, in our search for the
meaning of the lawmakers, beyond the borders of the
statute. In aid of the process of construction we are at
liberty, if the meaning be uncertain, to have recourse
to the legislative history of the measure....” United
States v. Great Northern Ry., 267 U.S. 144, 154 (1932).
Here, of course, there was no uncertain textual
meaning, only uncertain legislative history, and
therefore Judge Cardozo’s predicate for reliance upon
legislative history was not met.

Indeed, in order to ensure the “Supremacy-of-Text-
Principle,” there are four rules limiting a court’s
consideration of the purpose of a law, each of which is
designed to ensure judicial fidelity to, while
minimizing judicial creativity in, applying a legal

27

text.” The courts below shattered all of these
limitations. See Pet. Br. at 32-33.

First, the courts below failed to derive ACA’s
purpose from its text. Reading Law at 56. Instead
they relied on extrinsic sources, including ACA’s
sparse legislative history and the IRS self-serving
formula to paint a broad and sweeping statement of
universal health insurance coverage, while
disregarding the text’s emphasis upon the role that the
States were expected to play in governing their
respective insurance markets.

Second, the purpose must be defined “precisely,
and not in a manner that smuggles in the answer to
the question before the decision-maker.” /d. at 56.
Instead, the Government would have this Court be
satisfied with a general reference to the ACA
structure, history and purpose, without specifying
what that structure and history is, in relation to the
relevant text. Such imprecision opens the door “to
provide the judge’s answer rather than the text’s
answer as to the “purpose” of the distinction between
an Exchange established by the State as contrasted
with an Exchange established for a State that has
declined to establish one. 7d.

Third, the purpose must be defined “as concretely
as possible, not abstractly.” Jd. at 57. Yet the
Government describes the purpose to “increase” the
number of Americans covered by health insurance and

“ Reading Law at 56-58.

28

to “decrease” the costs of health care without
indicating the practical means prescribed by ACA to
accomplish those two goals. Stated so broadly, the
lack of concreteness in the stated purpose “effectively”
lets the judge decide what the statute should mean.

Finally, in the absence of “an obvious scrivener’s
error,” the courts below have allowed perceived
purpose to “contradict text” by “supplement[ing] it.”
Id. at 56-57. The courts below have disregarded the
truth that “the limitations of a text — what a text
chooses not to do [here, granting tax credits to those
who sign up with the HHS exchanges] — are as much
a part of its ‘purpose’ as its affirmative dispositions.
These ... limitations must be respected, and the only
way to accord them their due is to reject the
replacement or supplementation of text with purpose.”
Id. at 56-68. The courts below allowed what they
believed to be the grand purpose of the law, increasing
health insurance coverage, to override other possible
other Congressional purposes for section 36B,
including providing an incentive to states to establish
Exchanges — a requirement that Congress could not
constitutionally impose.”

D. The IRS Regulation Cannot Be Justified
on the Ground of Undesirable
Consequences.

The present case is only one of several challenges
which have been brought against these same IRS

“ See, e.g., Printz v. United States, 521 U.S. 898 (1997). See Pet.
Br. at 2.

29

regulations. In Halbig v. Burwell, 758 F.3d 290 (D.C.
Cir. 2014) (vacated by Order granting Rehearing en
banc, 2014 U.S. App. LEXIS 17099), Judges Griffith
and Randolph concluded that the IRS Rule is not
based on a permissible reading of ACA. They reached
this conclusion “with reluctance” due to the
“consequences both for the millions of individuals
receiving tax credits through federal Exchanges and
for health insurance markets more broadly.” Id. at
412. However, they understood:

the principle of legislative supremacy ... guides
us [and it is] our duty when interpreting a
statute is to ascertain the meaning of the
words of the statute.... This limited role serves
democratic interests by ensuring that policy is
made by elected, politically accountable

representatives, not by appointed, life-tenured
judges. [/d.]

Dissenting Circuit Judge Edwards viewed the case
not as a legitimate challenge to a set of regulations
based on variance with statute, but as a “not-so-veiled
attempt to gut” the ACA. To thwart that perceived
attempt, Judge Edwards realized that the text was not
his friend. But he also knew that “the more the
interpretive process strays outside a law’s text, the
greater the interpreter’s discretion.” Hence, Judge
Edwards insisted that the “words of a statute must be
read in their context” and interpreted as to uphold the
IRS Regulation, because otherwise “[i])mplausible

*® See Reading Law at xxii.

30

results would follow.” Halbig at 427. In focusing on
what he viewed to be the undesirable consequences of
following the statutory text, Judge Edwards dabbled in
the flawed interpretative approach of
“consequentialism,” urging that the ACA be
interpreted to achieve the results he believes to be

sensible and desirable. This is a dangerous judicial
technique, for:

it is precisely because people differ over what
is sensible and what is desirable that we elect
those who will write our laws — and expect
courts to observe what has been written.
There is an uncanny correspondence between
the consequentialist’s own policy views and his
judicial decisions. [Reading Law at 22.]

Indeed, both courts below focused on how the statute
should have been written rather than on how it was
written.

In upholding one of the other challenges to the IRS
regulation, District Judge Ronald A. White warned of
the impropriety of a court “helping’ one side or the
other” in litigation before it. Oklahoma v. Burwell,
2014 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 139501, *24 (Sept. 30, 2014).
“This is a case of statutory interpretation. “The text is
what it is, no matter which side benefits.” Jd. (citation
omitted). Moreover, referring to D.C. Circuit Judge
Edward's characterization of Petitioners’ motive in
Halbig, Judge White added:

[s]Juch a case ... does not “gut” or “destroy”
anything. On the contrary, the court is

31

upholding the Act as written. Congress is
free to amend the ACA to provide for tax
credits in both state and federal exchanges,
if that is the legislative will. [/d. at *24-25
(emphasis added).]

E. The Sea Change in Congress since
Passage of the ACA Must Not Drive this
Court’s Decision.

Judge White is right — Congress could amend the
ACA to legitimize the IRS regulation. However, left
unstated by Judge White is what could be viewed as
the elephant in the room — the political backdrop to
this litigation: that is, despite Congress’ awareness of
the textual issue raised in this litigation, it has not
acted to moot this litigation by conforming the
statutory text to the IRS regulation.” It is for this
political reason that the Government has resorted to a
regulatory fix, and now asks this Court to avert its
eyes to the Government’s textually unfettered reading
of the statute and the usurpation of legislative
authority inherent in the Government's approach.”’

% See, e.g.. M. Cannon and J. Adler, “The Dlegal IRS Rule to
Increase Taxes & Spending under ObamaCare,” Testimony before
Committee on Oversight and Reform, U.S. House of

ps ere ee —_ 2, 2012). hetp: Jiwww.cato. orgipublic potiana

*’ The reputation of the IRS as a nonpartisan entity has suffered
greatly from exposure of its targeting of certain categories of
applicants for tax-exempt status. See generally, Staff Report,
Committee on Oversight and Government Reform, U.S. House of

32

The stakes in this litigation are so high precisely
because the President and the Justice Department
recognize that Congress passed the 2010 law that the
President requested, but Congress now will not amend
the ACA as the President would want in 2015. ACA
passed the Senate by a strictly partisan vote of 60
Democrat Senators™ to 39 Republican Senators (with
one Republican not voting).*® ACA passed the House
of Representatives with only Democrat support by a
vote of 219 to 212 (the “no” vote consisting of 178
Republicans and 34 Democrats).“° Since then, three
federal elections have ensued, with the Democratic
Party losing control of both the Senate and House”:

Representatives, Lois Lerner’s Involvement in the IRS Targeting
of Tax Exempt Organizations (Mar. 11, 2014).
http://oversight. house.gov/wp-content/uploads/20 ‘ ner-R

eport 1.pdf.
“For purposes of this analysis, independent members of
Congress (Senator Bernard Sanders and Senator Angus King) are
counted with the Democrat party with which they caucus.

” ttp://www .povilegislativ call lists/roll call
vote cfm ?con = ion=1&vote= 6.
* http://clerk.house.gov/evs/2010/roll165.xml.

41

In each case, party composition at the beginning of each
Congress is used.

33

Party Composition of U.S. Congress
(111 - 114 Congress)
November

Election Congress Democrats Republicans

U.S. Senate
2008 FD ia 58” 41
2010 112" 53 47
2012 113" 55 45
2014 114" 46 54
U.S. House of Representatives
2008 423° 256 178
2010 112" 193 242
2012 us 200 233
2014 114" 188 247

As the American people have voted in federal
elections since ACA was enacted in March 2010, a
great many of the supporters of the ACA are no longer
serving in Congress. Moreover, the Republican Party,
which provided not one vote in either house to enact
the ACA, has achieved dominant positions in both
chambers.** The obvious political reality of this shift
in political winds is that the Obama Administration

*” Note: bolding indicates the party in control of each branch of
Congress.

*’ P. Klein, “Half of the Senators who voted for Obamacare won't
be part of new Senate,” Washington Examiner, (Dec. 6, 2014).
(Congressional passage of the ACA “triggerjed] a massive
backlash that propelled Republicans to control of the House the
following year. On the Senate side ... half of the Senators who
voted for Obamacare will not be part of the new Senate.”)

34

cannot rely on Congress to remedy the problem with
the ACA, and for this reason has attempted to use
regulation as a substitute for legislation.

However, the rules of statutory construction
cannot be adjusted to fix problems created by elections,
no matter how much one might otherwise want. For
example, in his concurrence in the Fourth Circuit
below, Judge Davis deferred to the Government’s
position asserting that “Congress has mandated ... tax
credits to all consumers” regardless of who established
the exchange. Pet. App. at 34a. Judge Davis stated
that the basis for his conclusion was “a simple reason:
‘(E]stablished by the State’ indeed means established
by the state — except when it does not....” Pet. App. at
36a.“ Indeed, in Oklahoma v. Burwell, District Judge
White analogized the Government’s creative argument
to Sundance Assocs., Inc. v. Reno, 139 F.3d 804, 807
(10" Cir. 1996), where the Tenth Circuit rejected a
Government assertion that an “evident exception in
[the Child Protection and Obscenity Enforcement Act
of 1988] statute was actually intended to broaden the
statute’s scope” as an exercise that “leads us down a
path toward Alice’s Wonderland, where up is down and
down is up and words mean anything.” lahoma v.

Burwell, at *16; Sundance Assocs. at 808.

“ Judge Davis’ “simple reason” brings to mind Justice

Rehnquist's critique that “[t]he reasoning which leads to this
conclusion would appeal only to a lawyer....” Francis v. Franklin,
471 U.S. 307, 338 (1985) (Rehnquist, J., dissenting).

35

The analogy to Alice’s world deserves
amplification, by reviewing Lewis Carroll’s telling of a
conversation between Humpty Dumpty and Alice:

“I don’t know what you mean by ‘glory,” Alice
said. Humpty Dumpty smiled
contemptuously. “Of course you don’t—till I
tell you. | meant ‘there’s a nice knock-down
argument for you!” “But ‘glory’ doesn’t mean ‘a
nice knock-down argument’,” Alice objected.
“When J use a word,” Humpty Dumpty said in
rather a scornful tone, “it means just what J
choose it to mean—neither more nor less.”
“The question is,” said Alice, “whether you
CAN make words mean so many different
things.” “The question is,” said Humpty
Dumpty, “which is to be master—that’s all.”*°

Faced with an unambiguous statute, the Government
urges this Court to become the master of words by
investing a statutory text with a meaning completely
contrary to its plain meaning. This exercise is being
pursued not based on established rules of statutory
construction, but for an extra-legal reason best
understood as Realpolitik. That, this Court cannot
countenance.

NCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the decision of the court
of appeals should be reversed.

* Lewis Carroll, Through the Looking Glass (1871).

36

Respectfully submitted,

MICHAEL CONNELLY HERBERT W. TITUS*
U.S. JUSTICE WILLIAM J. OLSON
FOUNDATION JOHN S. MILES

932 D Street, Ste. 2 JEREMIAH L. MORGAN
Ramona, CA 92065 ROBERT J. OLSON

(760) 788-6624 WILLIAM J. OLSON, P.C.
Attorney for Amicus 370 Maple Avenue West
Curiae U.S. Justice Suite 4
Foundation Vienna, VA 22180-5615
(703) 356-5070
wjo@mindspring.com

Attorneys for Amici Curiae

*Counsel of Record
December 29, 2014

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0338%3A27. Public record. Not legal advice.
