# Amicus Curiae Brief — Friedrichs v. Cal. Teachers Ass'n, 135 S. Ct. 2933 (2015) (No. 14-915)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0322%3A69

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2015

## Text

Supreme Court, US
FILED

SEP 11 2015

OF FICE OF THE CLERK

No. 14-915

IN THE
Supreme Court of the United States

REBECCA FRIEDRICHS, ET AL.,

Petitioners,

v.
CALIFORNIA TEACHERS ASSOCIATION, ET AL.,
Respondents.

On Writ Of Certiorari To
The United States Court Of Appeals
For The Ninth Circuit

BRIEF OF FORMER CALIFORNIA GOVERNOR
PETE WILSON, PACIFIC RESEARCH INSTITUTE,
AND BIPARTISAN CALIFORNIA EDUCATORS
AND SCHOLARS AS AMICI CURIAE IN

SUPPORT OF PETITIONERS
KEVIN J. RING-DOWELL THEODORE B. OLSON
Gipson, DUNN & CRUTCHERLLP Counsel of Record
555 Mission Street AMIR C. TAYRANI
San Francisco, CA 94105 GIBSON, DUNN & CRUTCHER LLP
(415) 393-8200 1050 Connecticut Avenue, NW
G: DEAN McGrRaTH, JR. aad oo —_
McGraTH & AssocIATEs tolson@gibsondunn.com
‘1025 Thomas Jefferson St., NW
‘Suite 110G
Washington, DC 20007
(202) 295-2304

Counsel for Amici Curiae

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
INTEREST OF AMICI CURIAE ...00......ccccccccseceseseeeeeee 1
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT. ....................cceeeeeeeeeeeeeees 4
IEE, ditiitensinienrtsnianeenienmeitascmmnnnnniememamened 8

I. COLLECTIVE BARGAINING IN’ THE
INEXTRICABLY INTERTWINED WITH

ee ve eee 8
A. Collective Bargaining In Public
Education Is Inherently Political ........... 9

B. Agency Shop Arrangements
Violate Nonmembers’ Speech,

Association, And Petition Rights........... 20

Il. THE FREE-RIDER JUSTIFICATION FOR
AGENCY SHOP ARRANGEMENTS IN THE
PUBLIC-SCHOOL SETTING Is

ii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Page(s)

CASES
Abood v. Detroit Bd. of Educ.,

431 U.S. 209 (1977).............ccec000e. 4, 5, 6, 8, 9, 20, 24
Borough of Duryea v. Guarnieri,

I tate 22, 23
Boy Scouts of Am. v. Dale,

ert trncneatenaeeaanial 21
Cal. Democratic Party v. Jones,

ae ES 22
City of Madison Joint Sch. Dist. No. 8 v. Wis.

Emp’t Relations Comm’n,

ee OT 23
Harris v. Quinn,

134 S. Ct. 2618 (2014)....................cc000 20, 21, 22, 23
Knox v. Serv. Emps. Int'l Union,

Be Oe Gee BO Ci cccnecccccssssccsscensesess 6, 20, 21, 23
McDonald v. Smith,

TE. 22
Regents of the Univ. of Cal. v. Bakke,

Eee 27
Riley v. Nat'l Fed’n of the Blind of N.C., Inc.,

gk a 4
Roberts v. U.S. Jaycees,

ee er 22

United Mine Workers of Am. v. Ill. State Bar
PK ee 22

Vergara v. California,

No. BC484642 (Cal. Sup. Ct. Aug. 27, 2014)............

\ihdaiasiiatciiieeiieiainintiniiaiediiiininnninnninesneennninds 11, 13, 14, 26
Wooley v. Maynard,

I is cninnteaiatcniatstanltniiaammnatadii 22
STATUTES
| I near Te 10, 15
a Ls cttsiamiinntimeciinl 10, 15
Cal. Educ. Code § 44944................c.ssscssssscsssesseees 10, 15
Cal. Educ. Code § 44866...........cccccccoccccccoccocsccocccee 13, 15
OTHER AUTHORITIES

Agreement between Bd. of Educ. San Diego
Unified School Dist. and San Diego Educ.
| EERE RA Ae rene ane Oe aL aN 12, 15

Agreement between Chaffey Joint Union High
Sch. Dist. and Associated Chaffey Teachers
STITT ict iiinsaiietbsiinstensieiinhieiiinndlididadianinesiaiionenmmpnninsees 19

Agreement between L.A. Unified Sch. Dist. Bd.
of Educ. and United Teachers L.A. .....10, 11, 12, 15

Agreement between Oakland Unified Sch. Dist.
Bd. of Educ. and Oakland Educ. Ass’n .....10, 15, 17

Agreement between Sacramento City Unified
Sch. Dist. Bd. of Educ. and Sacramento City
ED ieicciictnrinidniciactintteiitinmnenatnmnpitinaemnsnss 11

Agreement between San Jose Unified School
Dist. Bd. of Educ. and San Jose Teachers

iv

Elaine Allensworth et al., Consortium on Chi.
Sch. Research, The Schools Teachers Leave

acacia teal caine aia etetiliiiniaeemanes 26
Sarah F. Anzia & Terry M. Moe, Collective

Bargaining, Transfer Rights, and

Disadvantaged Schools, 36 Educ. Evaluation

& Pol’y Analysis 83 (2014). ..0.............ccceeeeeseseeeeeeees 16

Joshua Barnett & Gary W. Ritter, When Merit
Pay Is Worth Pursuing, 66(2) Educ.
Leadership (2008), available at
http://www.ascd.org/publications/educational-
leadership/oct08/vol66/num02/When-Merit-
Pay-Is-Worth-Pursuing.aspx...............cccccccseees 18, 27

Bhavini Bhakta, Op-Ed., California’s Pink-Slip
Shuffle, L.A. Times, Dec. 16, 2012,
http://articles.latimes.com/2012/dec/16/
opinion/la-oe-bhakta-teaching-20121216.............. 24

Bill & Melinda Gates Found., Ensuring Fair
and Reliable Measures of Effective Teaching
(2013), available at http://www.metproject.
org/downloads/MET_Ensuring Fair_and_
Reliable_Measures_Practitioner_Brief.pdf............. 9

Matthew Blake, Pres., Cal. Fed’n of Teachers,
Teachers Unions Sued over Dues for Political
Activities, Daily Journal (Apr. 8, 2015) ............ 4, 21

Cal. Teachers Ass’n, About CTA, Mission
Statement, http://Awww.cta.org/About-
CTA/Who-We-Are/Mission-Statement.aspx ........... 6

Raj Chetty & Alex Olssen, The Impacts of Last-
In, First-Out vs. Effectiveness-Based Teacher
IIT sicnnrainccanicniecessumbidiniiongnninesans 13

Vv

Raj Chetty et al., Measuring the Impacts of
Teachers II: Teacher Value-Added and
Student Outcomes in Adulthood, 104(9) Am.

TT a i)
Contract between S.F. Unified Sch. Dist. Bd. of
Educ. and United Educators of S.F........... 10, 11, 15

Thomas Dee & James Wyckoff, Incentives,
Selection, and Teacher Performance:
Evidence from Impact (Nat’] Bureau of Econ.
Research Working Paper No. 19529, 2013)....18, 19

Dan Goldhaber & Roddy Theobald, Assessing
the Determinants and Implications of Teacher
Layoffs (Nat! Ctr. for Analysis of
Longitudinal Data in Educ. Research,
Working Paper 55, 2010)........................0.. 12, 13, 14

Carrie Hahnel et al., Educ. Trust—W., Victims
of the Churn: The Damaging Impact of
California’s Teacher Layoff Policies on
Schools, Students and Communities in Three
Large School Districts (2011), available at
http://1k9gllyevnfp2lpqldhrqe17.wpengine.
netdna-cdn.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/
10/ETW-Victims-of-the-Churn-Report. pdf ........... 14

Eric A. Hanushek, The Single Salary Schedule
and Other Issues of Teacher Pay, 82 Peabody
es ee TE diiirnectninitnpiessncndubnttetisannseinsinesies 17

Eric A. Hanushek, Valuing Teachers: How
Much Is a Good Teacher Worth?, 11(3) Educ.
RIEL eee oR 12,17

Eric A. Hanushek et al., Why Public Schools
Lose Teachers, 39(2) J. Hum. Resources 326

vi

Lance T. Izumi et al., Pac. Research Inst.,
California Education Report Card (2007),
available at https://Awww.heartland.org/sites/
all/modules/custom/heartland_migration/files/
eee aretenssssesssnceemmemmnetasinviaaidiniiatinaabeiaaitel 26

Lance T. Izumi et al., Pac. Research Inst., Not
as Good as You Think: Why the Middle Class
Needs School Choice (2007)..................ses0seesee0e+ 3,11

Terry M. Moe, Bottom-Up Structure: Collective
Bargaining, Transfer Rights, and the Plight
of Disadvantaged Schools (Sept. 14, 2006)
(Educ. Working Paper Archive), available at
http://files.eric.ed.gov/fulltext/ED508944.pdf...3, 24

Umut Ozek, A Closer Look at the Student
Achievement Trends in the District of
Columbia Between 2006-07 and 2012-13
(Nat'l Ctr. for Analysis of Longitudinal Data

in Educ. Research, Working Paper No. 119,

John P. Papay & Susan Moore Johnson, Js PAR
a Good Investment? Understanding the Costs
and Benefits of Teacher Peer Assistance and
Review Programs (2011)...............cccccccccceceeeeeeeeeeees 12

Michael Podgursky, George W. Bush Inst.,
Reforming Educator Compensation

Vii

Press Release, Greenberg Quinlan Rosner
Research, New University of Southern
California Dornsife College of Letters, Arts
and Sciences/Los Angeles Times Poll (Apr. 10,
2015), available at http://www.gqrr.com/
articles/2015/4/12/new-university-of-
southern-california-dornsife-college-of-letters-
arts-and-scienceslos-angeles-times-poll................ 25

Pamela A. Riley et al., Pac. Research Inst.,
Contract for Failure: The Impact of Teacher
Union Contracts on the Quality of California

Nicole S. Simon & Susan Moore Johnson,
Teacher Turnover in High-Poverty Schools:
What We Know and Can Do (Aug. 2013)
(Working Paper, Project on the Next
Generation of Teachers, Harvard Graduate
Sch. of Educ.), available at http://sites.
harvard.edu/fs/docs/icb.topic1231814_files/
Teacher%20Turnover%20in%20High-
Poverty%20Schools. pdf.................-eecccceeeeeeeeees 15, 16

Students Matter, Vergara v. California 2013
California Educators Survey Results (2014),
available at http://studentsmatter.org/wp-
content/uploads/2014/03/SM_Research-Now-
Poll-Results_03.05.14. pdf ................:cccccceeeeeeeceeeeees 25

Daniel Weisberg et al., The New Teacher
Project, The Widget Effect (2009) ................0000000+ 26

BRIEF OF FORMER CALIFORNIA GOVERNOR
PETE WILSON, PACIFIC RESEARCH INSTI-
TUTE, AND BIPARTISAN CALIFORNIA EDU-
CATORS AND SCHOLARS AS AMICI CURIAE
IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONERS

INTEREST OF AMICI CURIAE!

Amici are a former Republican governor of Cali-
fornia, a non-partisan public-policy organization, and
a bipartisan group of California educators and schol-
ars, all of whom have longsta.iding and deep-rooted
interests in California’s education system. Amici are
bound by a common concern that agency shop ar-
rangements—which compel public-school teachers
who are not union members to finance unions’ collec-
tive bargaining activities—have a profoundly detri-
mental impact on the professional lives of Califor-
nia’s teachers, the well-being of California’s public-
school students, and ultimately the entire public-
education system in the State. In amici’s view,
agency shop arrangements contravene not only
sound education policy but also the First Amend-
ment rights of those nonmember teachers forced to

1 Pursuant to this Court’s Rule 37.3(a), amici state that peti-
tioners and those respondents who entered an appearance in
the court of appeals (the union respondents and intervenor Cal-
ifornia Attorney General Kamala D. Harris) have filed letters
with the Clerk granting blanket consent to the filing of amicus
briefs. Pursuant to this Court’s Rule 37.6, amici state that no
counsel for a party authored this brief in whole or in part, and
no counsel or party made a monetary contribution intended to
fund the brief’s preparation or submission. No person other
than amici or their counsel made a monetary contribution to
the briefs preparation or submission.

2

fund the collective bargaining that culminates in
these pernicious effects.

Pete Wilson was governor of California from
1991 to 1999, a U.S. Senator from California from
1983 to 1991, and the Mayor of San Diego from 1971
to 1983. Governor Wilson has extensive experience
with matters of education policy affected by collective

Eric Hanushek is the Paul and Jean Hanna Sen-
ior Fellow at the Hoover Institution at Stanford Uni-
versity. He studies educational issues from an eco-
nomic perspective, and has promoted the idea that
teacher proficiency should be measured by increased
student achievement.

Peter H. Hanley is Executive Director of the
American Center for School Choice. He has three
times been elected president of the San Mateo Union
High School District Board and is currently board
president of Amethod Public Schools, a charter
school management organization. He has also
served four terms in the California School Boards
Association Delegate Assembly.

Pacific Research Institute (“PRI”) is a non-profit,
non-partisan 501(c\(3) organization that champions
individual freedom, opportunity, and personal re-
sponsibility through the advancement of free-market
policy solutions and private initiative. The PRI Cen-
ter for Education publishes research and promotes
outreach regarding a number of important topics in
the education field, including teacher quality, aca-
demic standards, school finance reform, and parental
choice in education. For example, in March 2002,
PRI published a comprehensive study analyzing the
collective bargaining agreements used in 460 Cali-

3

fornia school districts. See Pamela A. Riley et al.,
Pac. Research Inst., Contract for Failure: The Im-

pact of Teacher Union Contracts on the Quality of
California Schools 1-2 (2002). Based on this analy-
sis, PRI researchers concluded that many of the poli-
cies in collective bargaining agreements “erode[ |] the
authority of the school board and district manage-
ment to make important decisions,” “harm| |] teach-
ers,” and are “detrimental to student achievement.”
Id.; see also Lance T. Izumi et al., Pac. Research
Inst., Not as Good as You Think: Why the Middle
Class Needs School Choice 109 (2007).

A full list of the signatories to this brief is set
forth in the Appendix.

In light of their shared goal of improving public
education in California, all of the amici have a signif-
icant interest in the outcome of this case, which pre-
sents a First Amendment challenge to agency shop
arrangements. Collective bargaining funded by such
arrangements “can cover virtually every aspect of
what happens within schools,” including policies on
teacher discipline, assignment, retention, and com-
pensation that provoke heated debate within the
teaching profession—as well as among politicians,
public-policy experts, taxpayers, and parents—and
that can have substantial adverse effects on student
outcomes. Terry M. Moe, Bottom-Up Structure: Col-
lective Bargaining, Transfer Rights, and the Plight of
Disadvantaged Schools, 8 (Sept. 14, 2006) (Educ.
Working Paper Archive), available at
http-//files.eric.ed.gov/fulltext/ED508944.pdf. By re-
quiring nonmember teachers to subsidize unions’
viewpoints on these public-policy matters—including
positions that many teachers believe to be detri-
mental to their own professional careers and to the

4

success of their students—agency shop arrangements
violate the core First Amendment guarantees that
individuals are free to decide “both what to say and
what not to say,” Riley v. Nat'l Fed’n of the Blind of
N.C., Inc., 487 U.S. 781, 796-97 (1988); with whom to
associate or not to associate; and whether and how to
petition the government. The Court should strike
down these coercive union-funding obligations, which
infringe upon the First Amendment rights of public-
school teachers and imperil the well-being of the stu-
dents for whom they are responsible.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

I. In Abood v. Detroit Board of Education, 431
U.S. 209 (1977), this Court held that a State cannot
compel public employees who are not union members
to make financial contributions to unions’ “political”
and “ideological” causes because those mandatory
exactions violate the principle, residing “at the heart
of the First Amendment,” that “one’s beliefs should
be shaped by his mind and his conscience rather
than coerced by the State.” Jd. at 234-35. Because
collective bargaining by unions representing public-
school teachers is necessarily designed to influence
public policy—and is therefore inherently “political”
and “ideological”—this aspect of Abood compels the
conclusion that agency shop arrangements are un-
constitutional in the public-school setting. See Mat-
thew Blake, Pres., Cal. Fed’n of Teachers, Teachers
Unions Sued over Dues for Political Activities, Daily
Journal (Apr. 8, 2015) (“Every element of public edu-
cation is political.”) (internal quotation marks omit-
ted). The Court in Abood nevertheless upheld agen-
cy shop arrangements that require nonmember pub-
lic employees to finance unions’ “collective bargain-

5

ing, contract administration, and _ grievance-
adjustment” activities. 431 U.S. at 225-26.

That conclusion is constitutionally insupportable
in any public-employment context, but is especially
problematic in the public-school setting. Abood
failed to recognize the full extent to which teachers’
unions advocate positions during collective bargain-
ing on intensely divisive public-policy issues, some of
which—from the perspective of nonmember teach-
ers—are harmful to both teachers and students. In
addition, the collective bargaining process has direct
and often substantial effects on taxes, budgets, and
other matters of local governance that are inherently
political and ideological in nature. Under Abood,
nonmember teachers have no choice but to bankroll
unions’ support for collectively bargained policies to
which many nonmember teachers strenuously object
as inconsistent with their own beliefs and detri-
mental to their careers and the well-being of their
students.

In particular, school districts and teachers’ un-
ions collectively bargain teacher discipline, layoff,
assignment, and compensation policies, all of which
directly affect teachers’ professional lives and stu-
dents’ classroom performance. Compensation for
teachers also affects the ability of local governments
to provide benefits to other constituencies and sala-
ries to other public employees. Most of these issues
are the subject of extensive disagreement among
members of the teaching profession, the broader edu-
cational community, and the public. For example,
many teachers disagree with teacher discipline,
layoff, assignment, and compensation policies that
operate—either principally or exclusively—on the
basis of seniority, without regard to teachers’ per-

6

formance. These policies, in the minds of many pub-
lic-school teachers, are antithetical to the teaching
profession’s central mission of “enhancling] the qual-
ity of education for students.” Cal. Teachers Ass’n,
About CTA, Mission Statement, http//www.cta.org/
About-CTA/Who-We-Are/Mission-Statement.aspx
(last visited Sept. 8, 2015).

Yet, despite the strong opposition of many non-
member teachers to the educational policies that
teachers’ unions espouse, agency shop arrangements
compel nonmember teachers to subsidize unions’ col-
lective bargaining activities on these matters as a
condition of their public employment. Moreover,
these arrangements effectively designate unions as
the advocates for the interests of both nonmember
and member teachers in negotiations with school dis-
tricts, even though nonmembers may well have very
different views from the unions that they have no
means of airing during the collective bargaining pro-
cess. These intolerable burdens on nonmember
teachers’ speech, association, and petition rights—
countenanced in Abood based on reasoning that has
failed to withstand the test of time—should be re-
jected by this Court.

II. According to Abood, the “primary purpose” of
agency shop arrangements—and the reason that the
burdens they impose on nonmembers’ First Amend-
ment rights can be countenanced—is to prevent
nonmember employees from “free riding” on dues-
paying union members during the collective bargain-
ing process. Knox v. Serv. Emps. Int'l Union, 132
S. Ct. 2277, 2289 (2012) (citation omitted); see also
Abood, 431 U.S. at 224. While it is doubtful that a
“free-rider” rationale could be a constitutionally suf-
ficient justification for coerced speech, association,

7

and petitioning in any setting, that rationale is par-
ticularly flawed in the public-education context. In-
deed, it is far from the case that nonmember public-
school teachers necessarily benefit from the policies
advocated by teachers’ unions during collective bar-

gaining. To the contrary, many teachers—
particularly those who perform at or near the top of
their profession—are, in fact, harmed by the policies
that unions advance during collective bargaining.

For example, teachers who are new to the profes-
sion or to particular school districts often find them-
selves at risk of being laid off or involuntarily trans-
ferred to another school—even when they have
achieved extraordinary success in the classroom—
due to provisions in collective bargaining agreements
that make important employment decisions depend-
ent primarily, if not entirely, on teacher seniority.
Moreover, many union-supported policies make it ex-
ceedingly difficult for school districts to discipline
underperforming or incompetent teachers, which dis-
incentivizes school district administrators from even
initiating disciplinary proceedings. As a result, fail-
ing teachers remain in the classroom year after year,
and the teachers who teach alongside them are
forced to spend valuable classroom time trying to re-
pair the academic damage that these substandard
teachers have inflicted on their students.

In addition, “single salary schedules”—another
product of the collective bargaining process—require
teachers of the same seniority and education levels to
be compensated exactly the same as one another, re-
gardless of the schools to which they are assigned,
the subject matter that they teach, their effective-
ness in the classroom, or their impact on students’
achievement. This lock-step compensation model

8

penalizes teachers in disadvantaged schools and
hard-to-staff teaching fields, as well as the most ef-
fective teachers, all of whom would be better off un-
der a compensation system designed to reward
teacher quality and improve student outcomes.

As a result, the only “free ride” that teachers’ un-
ions can conceivably offer to many nonmember
teachers is one that takes them further from the des-
tination they aspire to reach—a merit-based teach-
ing profession dedicated, first and foremost, to the
well-being and success of its students. Collective
bargaining, after all, is not focused on what is best
for students, but what is best for the unions them-
selves. Thus, it is the unions that are “free-riding”
on the backs of students and non-member teachers—
not the other way around. Coerced financial support
for public unions, and the infringement on teachers’
core First Amendment rights resulting from such co-
ercion, cannot be justified on so flawed a rationale.
Abood should be overruled.

ARGUMENT

I. COLLECTIVE BARGAINING IN THE PUBLIC-
EDUCATION CONTEXT IS INEXTRICABLY IN-
TERTWINED WITH TEACHERS’ PROFESSION-
AL LIVES, STUDENTS’ ACHIEVEMENT, AND
NONMEMBERS’ FIRST AMENDMENT RIGHTS.

In Abood, this Court acknowledged that agency
shop arrangements “interfere” with public employ-
ees’ “freedom to associate for the advancement of
ideas, or to refrain from doing so, as [they] see[ ] fit.”
Abood v. Detroit Bd. of Educ., 431 U.S. 209, 222
(1977). The Court nevertheless deemed this inter-
ference with core First Amendment rights to be justi-
fied to the extent that nonmembers’ financial contri-

9

butions are used to fund collective bargaining activi-
ties that establish school district policies on “bread
and butter” issues like “wages, hours, vacations, and
pensions.” Id. at 258 (Powell, J., concurring). In so
holding, however, the Court failed to appreciate the
extent to which many of the policies that are estab-
lished during the collective bargaining process—even
those that ostensibly govern the “terms and condi-
tions” of teachers’ employment—involve fundamental
public-policy issues that heavily influence teachers’
professional lives and the achievement of their stu-
dents, and therefore rest at the very core of teachers’
First Amendment interests. Jd. at 220 (majority
opinion).

A. Collective Bargaining In Public Edu-
cation Is Inherently Political.

School district policies that emerge from the col-
lective bargaining process determine which teachers
school districts may hire (or continue to employ) and
the schools to which those teachers are ultimately
assigned. This, in turn, greatly shapes the quality
and equality of students’ educational opportunities.
See Raj Chetty et al., Measuring the Impacts of
Teachers II: Teacher Value-Added and Student Out-
comes in Adulthood, 104(9) Am. Econ. Rev. 2633,
2634 (2014) (explaining that teacher effectiveness
“has substantial impacts on a broad range of [stu-
dent] outcomes”); Bill & Melinda Gates Found., En-
suring Fair and Reliable Measures of Effective Teach-
ing 5 (2013), available at http://www.metproject.
org/downloads/MET_Ensuring Fair_and_ Reliable_M
easures_Practitioner_Brief.pdf (concluding that
“more effective teachers not only cause[ ] students to
perform better on state tests, ... they also cause |
students to score higher on other, more cognitively

10

challenging assessments in math and English”).
Agency shop arrangements compel nonmembers to
fund unions’ views on these policies—despite the det-
rimental impact the unions’ negotiating positions
may have on some teachers’ professional lives and
the well-being of their students.

Discipline Policies. For example, unions com-
monly negotiate for provisions in collective bargain-
ing agreements that require school districts to over-
come a gauntlet of procedural obstacles—verbal rep-
rimands, meetings, notices, and teaching improve-
ment plans—before districts can discipline underper-
forming or failing teachers. See, e.g., Agreement be-
tween L.A. Unified Sch. Dist. Bd. of Educ. and Unit-
ed Teachers L.A., art. X, § 11.0 (“L.A. Agreement”)
(requiring school district to provide notifications and
meetings to underperforming teachers before a notice
of unsatisfactory service or act may be issued);
Agreement between Oakland Unified Sch. Dist. Bd.
of Educ. and Oakland Educ. Ass’n (effective July 1,
2005), art. 25.1.1.1 (“Oakland Agreement”) (“Peer as-
sistance ... must be provided to a [teacher] who has
received an overall unsatisfactory evaluation in the
areas of teaching strategies and instruction . .. .”);
Contract between S.F. Unified Sch. Dist. Bd. of Educ.
and United Educators of S.F. (effective July 1, 2012),
art. 28 (“S.F. Agreement”) (requiring school district
to provide verbal reprimands, written reprimands, a
statement of incident or misconduct, and a statement
of discipline before a teacher may be suspended
without pay).

These contractually-mandated steps—which build
upon various statutory requirements governing
teacher dismissals in California, see Cal. Educ. Code
§§ 44934, 44938, 44944—can constitute “tortuous”

11

impediments to an effective disciplinary process,
“caus[ing] districts in many cases to be very reluc-
tant to even commence” the discipline of a failing
teacher. Vergara v. California, No. BC484642, slip
op. at 11, 12 (Cal. Sup. Ct. Aug. 27, 2014), available
at http://goo.g/ThBjNQ. As one California court re-
cently concluded after a ten-week bench trial, the in-
evitable result of procedural barriers to teacher dis-
cipline is that underperforming or incompetent
teachers remain in the classroom year after year,
imposing “a direct, real, appreciable, and negative
impact on a significant number” of students. Id. at 8;
see also id. at 7 (“[A] single year in a classroom with
a grossly ineffective teacher costs students $1.4 mil-
lion in lifetime earnings per classroom.”). Those
poorly performing teachers occupy positions that
would otherwise be available to highly motivated,
entry-level teachers eager to embark on a new career
and to create the optimal classroom environment for
their students.2

2 Collective bargaining agreements also establish and regu-
late district-wide Peer Assistance and Review (“PAR”) pro-
grams, which provide underachieving teachers with individual-
ized goal-setting plans, mentorship meetings with other teach-
ers, periodic reports and evaluations, and additional profes-
sional development activities. See, e.g., L.A. Agreement, art. X-
A; Agreement between Sacramento City Unified Sch. Dist. Bd.
of Educ. and Sacramento City Teachers Ass’n (effective July 1,
2004), Appx. H; S.F. Agreement, art. 39. Although there is
widespread agreement that struggling teachers should receive
some measure of assistance, some PAR programs can operate,
in practice, to delay the discipline or dismissal of failing teach-
ers who are entirely unable or unwilling to meet basic satisfac-
tory performance standards, and many such programs are over-
seen and controlled by union officials or their appointees. See
Lance T. Izumi et al., Pac. Research Inst., Not as Good as You
Think: Why the Middle Class Needs School Choice 118 (2007).

12

Layoff Policies. Teachers’ unions also frequent-
ly advocate, and persuade school boards to adopt,
policies requiring district-wide reductions in force to
be implemented on the basis of teacher seniority.
See, e.g., L.A. Agreement, art. XIII, § 3.6 (“The order
of termination within a teaching or service field .. .
shall be based on seniority within status... .”);
Agreement between Bd. of Educ. San Diego Unified
School Dist. and San Diego Educ. Ass’n (effective Ju-
ly 1, 2013) (“S.D. Agreement”), art. 19.1.3.1 (“The or-
der of layoff within a service field or teaching subject
shall be in reverse order of seniority ... .”); see also
Dan Goldhaber & Roddy Theobald, Assessing the De-
terminants and Implications of Teacher Layoffs 3
(Nat Ctr. for Analysis of Longitudinal Data in Educ.
Research, Working Paper 55, 2010) (“[IJn the over-
whelming majority of [collective bargaining] agree-
ments, seniority is the determining factor in which
teachers are laid off firat with ‘last hired, first fired’
provisions.”).

These quality-blind reduction-in-force policies—
together with underlying statutory requirements
that can be supplemented during the collective bar-

Thus, in the view of many educators, while PAR programs may
have admirable goals and may achieve some measure of suc-
cess, the time and money that are dedicated to PAR programs
would be better spent enriching the lives of students in other
ways, particularly because “it takes more resources to serve
struggling veterans ... than new teachers, many of whom are
likely to succeed.” John P. Papay & Susan Moore Johnson, /s
PAR a Good Investment? Understanding the Costs and Benefits
of Teacher Peer Assistance and Review Programs 13 (2011); see
also Eric A. Hanushek, Valuing Teachers: How Much Is a Good
Teacher Worth?, 11(3) Educ. Next 41, 44 (2011) (“[T)here is no
substantial evidence that. mentoring programs systematical-
ly make a difference in whether teachers are in fact effective at
driving student achievement.”).

13

gaining process, see Cal. Educ. Code § 44955—result
in the termination of countless highly-effective, well-
liked teachers and the retention of a disproportion-
ately high percentage of below-average teachers. See
Goldhaber & Theobald, supra, at 2 (“[A] very differ-
ent group of teachers would be targeted for layoffs
under an effectiveness-based layoff scenario than
under the seniority-driven system that exists to-
day.”); see also Raj Chetty & Alex Olssen, The Im-
pacts of Last-In, First-Out vs. Effectiveness-Based
Teacher Layoff Policies 1 (2013), Vergara, No.
BC484642, Pls.’ Exhibit 9 (“[TJhe [reverse seniority
layoff] policy ends up laying off many highly effective
teachers who would greatly improve their students’
performance, while retaining ineffective teachers
who would otherwise be laid off under [an effective-
ness]-based policy.”). Indeed, seniority-driven layoff
policies are a barrier to the ability of many newer
teachers—including teachers from diverse back-
grounds with unique viewpoints—to remain in the
public-school teaching profession at all.

It is well-documented that these last-in-first-out
layoff policies impose severe and potentially irrepa-
rable harm on students. In a recent study, research-
ers implemented a hypothetical 5% reduction in the
teaching force of the Los Angeles Unified School Dis-
trict, and compared the effects of a seniority-based
reduction in force (as currently mandated by the Dis-
trict’s collective bargaining agreement) to a reduction
based on teacher effectiveness. See Chetty & Olssen,
supra, at 1. The results are alarming: a seniority-
based reduction in force decreases student test scores
by an average of 11 percentile points relative to an
effectiveness-based reduction in force, and these test-
score decreases translate into a loss in lifetime earn-
ings of $87,000 per student. Id. at 2-3.

14

Worse still, minority and low-income students
“bear the brunt” of these seniority-driven teacher
layoff policies. Vergara, No. BC484642, slip op. at 15
(internal quotation marks omitted). Minority and
low-income students are assigned to junior teachers
at a disproportionately high rate, and are therefore
forced to endure a constant “churning ... of teach-
ers” when district-wide reductions in force become
necessary. Id.; see also Carrie Hahnel et al., Educ.
Trust—W., Victims of the Churn: The Damaging
Impact of California’s Teacher Layoff Policies on
Schools, Students and Communities in Three Large
School Districts 6 (2011), available’ at
http://1k9gllyevnfp2lpq ldhrqe17.wpengine.netdna-
cdn.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/10/ETW-Victims-
of-the-Churn-Report.pdf (“[A] school in the top pov-
erty quartile ... is 65 percent more likely to have a
teacher laid off than a school in the bottom poverty
quartile ....”). This relentless revolving door of
teachers “greatly affects the stability of the learning
process to the detriment of such students.” Vergara,
No. BC484642, slip op. at 15; see also Goldhaber &
Theobald, supra, at 15 (“[T]here are achievement
consequences associated with the churn of teach-
ers.”).

3 In their brief in opposition, the union respondents argued
that teacher discipline, dismissal, and layoff procedures are
“dictated by statute,” and are thus “matters for which the Un-
ions do not and cannot engage in collective bargaining.” CTA
Opp’n at 22-23 & n.13. But respondent California Teachers As-
sociation took the exact opposite position in a recent filing in
the California Court of Appeal, where it claimed that “[n)othing
in [California’s) statutes dictates which teachers are hired or
promoted; whether poor-performing teachers are supported,
asked to resign, or terminated; or which teachers are assigned
to which students.” Opening Br. Intervenors-Appellants CTA &

15

Transfer and Assignment Policies. Teachers’
unions similarly promote and negotiate for teacher
transfer and assignment policies that afford prefer-
ential treatment to teachers on the basis of district
seniority. See, e.8., L.A. Agreement, art. XI, § 6.c
(“[W]hen there is an over-teachered condition, the
teacher with the least District seniority . . . will be

..”); Oakland Agreement, art. 12.4.2
(“[SJeniority . . . Shall be given preference in granting
an assignment.”); S.D. Agreement, art. 12.2.1.1 (“Po-
sitions available immediately following the May post
shall first be offered in seniority order to qualified
unit members ....”). In practice, teachers with sen-
iority tend to invoke this preferential treatment in
order to transfer to or seek assignments at schools
with higher percentages of Caucasian students
and/or more affluent students, environments that are
perceived as having less difficult working conditions
relative to other schools. See Eric A. Hanushek et
al., Why Public Schools Lose Teachers, 39(2) J. Hum.
Resources 326, 328 (2004); see also Nicole S. Simon &
Susan Moore Johnson, Teacher Turnover in High-
Poverty Schools: What We Know and Can Do 5-6

Cal. Fed’n Teachers at 48, Vergara v. California, No. B258589
(Cal. Ct. App. May 1, 2015), 2015 WL 4977003. Moreover,
while California law does impose procedural requirements that
school districts must meet before they can dismiss ineffective
teachers, see Cal. Educ. Code §§ 44934, 44938, 44944, and con-
strains the ability of school districts to conduct reductions in
force in the best interests of their students, id. § 44955, in many
of additional policies and procedures that are not found in the
California Education Code. See, eg., L.A. Agreement § 11.0;
S.F. Agreement art. 28. At most, then, the statutes on which
the union respondents rely establish a procedural floor that can
be supplemented and heightened by the discipline, dismissal,
and layoff provisions in collective bargaining agreements.

16

(Aug. 2013) (Working Paper, Project on the Next
Generation of Teachers, Harvard Graduate Sch. of
Educ.), available at http-/Asites.harvard.edu/fs/
docs/icb.topic1231814.files/Teacher®20Turnover%20i
n%20High-Poverty %20Schools.pdf.

Thus, by affording transfer rights to teachers on
the basis of seniority, collective bargaining agree-
ments result in a well-documented trend whereby
the most experienced teachers transfer from low-
income and minority schools to schools that serve
primarily Caucasian and affluent student popula-
tions. See Sarah F. Anzia & Terry M. Moe, Collective
Bargaining, Transfer Rights, and Disadvantaged
Schools, 36 Educ. Evaluation & Pol’y Analysis 83, 93,
97-98 (2014). This, in turn, results in the staffing of
4 disproportionately high percentage of inexperi-
enced teachers in low-income, minority schools. See
id. (concluding that seniority-based transfer provi-
sions in collective bargaining agreements result in a
60% increase in the number of inexperienced teach-
ers at disadvantaged schools in large California
school districts). Furthermore, because junior teach-
ers are most vulnerable to seniority-based reductions
in force, seniority-based teacher transfer policies feed
into and exacerbate the churn that is so devastating
to California’s most disadvantaged schools and stu-
dents.

Teacher Compensation. Finally, collective bar-
gaining sets school district policy on teacher compen-
sation and has resulted in the near-universal adop-
tion of “single salary schedules”—uniform pay
schedules that compensate teachers based almost ex-
clusively on their number of years of teaching expe-
rience and level of education. Michael Podgursky,
George W Bush Inst., Reforming Educator Compen-

17

sation 4-5 (2014); Eric A. Hanushek, The Single Sal-
ary Schedule and Other Issues of Teacher Pay, 82
Peabody J. Educ. 574, 579-82 (2007); see also, e.zg.,
Oakland Agreement, art. 24.2.4 (“All unit members
shall advance one step on the salary schedule for
each year of service in the District . . . .”); Agreement
between San Jose Unified Sch. Dist. Bd. of Educ. and
San Jose Teachers Ass’n, art. 36110 (“San Jose
Agreement”) (stating that teachers’ salaries are
based on “graduate units” and “years of experience”).
Many nonmember teachers, however, profoundly
disagree with this “homogenization of public school
teachers,” which harms teachers and students alike
in several significant ways. Podgursky, supra, at 7.

“Single salary schedules” equalize teacher com-
pensation regardless of how effective ‘eachers are in
the classroom, thereby disincentivizing the very “best
people [from] enter[ing] or remain|[ing] in the profes-
sion” in service of students. Hanushek, Valuing
Teachers, supra, at 44. In contrast, compensation
systems that reward their most effective teachers
have a “selection effect,” and draw “teachers into the
workforce who are relatively more effective at meet-
ing ... performance targets” in the classroom.
Podgursky, supra, at 7. The equalized pay system
that arises out of the collective bargaining process
therefore “tends to lower overall [teacher] effective-
ness” and, as a result, student achievement. /d.

“Single salary schedules” do further harm to stu-
dent outcomes—as well as the ability of school dis-
tricts to staff their schools in a sensible way—by ig-
noring the very real differences that exist in school
environments and teaching fields. Podgursky, supra,
at 7. Because all teachers of equivalent seniority and
education level are compensated exactly the same,

18

regardless of the schools or fields in which they
teach, teachers are less likely to seek employment in
schools with difficult working conditions and in hard-
to-staff teaching fields, such as special education,
high-school mathematics, and high-school science.
Id. at 5-7; see also Joshua Barnett & Gary W. Ritter,
When Merit Pay Is Worth Pursuing, 66(2) Educ.
Leadership (2008), available at http://www.
ascd.org/publications/educational-leadership/oct08/
vol66/num02/When-Merit-Pay-Is-Worth-Pursuing.
aspx (“Because the current system includes no mone-
tary rewards directly tied to effectiveness, many ef-
fective teachers seek more ‘compensation’ through
better working conditions, often choosing to leave
schools with a high population of disadvantaged stu-
dents and challenging teaching conditions for schools
serving more advantaged students.”). This, in turn,
leads to unfilled teacher rosters at high-poverty
schools, *acancies in hard-to-staff teaching fields,
and an ineffective practice of assigning teachers “out
of field” or with substandard licenses simply to fill
vacant positions. Podgursky, supra, at 5-7.

Recent educational reforms instituted in school
districts outside California provide concrete evidence
of the damage that “single salary schedules” can do
to student achievement. For example, in the 2009-10
schoolyear, the District of Columbia Public Schools
(“DCPS”) eliminated lock-step teacher salaries and
implemented a teacher evaluation and compensation
policy tied, in large part, to classroom observations of
teachers and student test scores. See Thomas Dee &
James Wyckoff, Incentives, Selection, and Teacher
Performance: Evidence from Impact 2-3 (Nat Bu-
reau of Econ. Research Working Paper No. 19529,
2013). Researchers have found that, in the wake of
this reform, low-performing teachers exited the

19

DCPS in droves and highly-effective DCPS teachers
became even more effective. See id. at 23-24 (“[Flor
high-performing teachers, a stronger financial incen-
tive ... meaningfully improve[d] subsequent teacher
performance.”); id. at 26-29 (“[T]he evidence . . . indi-
cates high-powered incentives linked to multiple in-
dicators of teacher performance can substantially
improve the measured performance of the teaching
workforce.”). And, during the same timeframe, stu-
dent achievement in the DCPS soared. See Umut
Ozek, A Closer Look at the Student Achievement
Trends in the District of Columbia Between 2006-07
and 2012-13, at 30 (Nat’] Ctr. for Analysis of Longi-
tudinal Data in Educ. Research, Working Paper No.
119, 2014) (“[E]ven when accounting for changes in
student demographics, test scores in the District
have improved substantially, especially in math.”).

* * *

As these examples make clear, the policies that
are established during the collective bargaining pro-
cess have far-reaching consequences for teachers’
professional lives and the achievement of the stu-
dents for whom they are responsible. Indeed, these
collectively bargained policies shape virtually every
aspect of teachers’ and students’ day-to-day interac-
tions and classroom experiences. See, e.g., Agree-
ment between Chaffey Joint Union High Sch. Dist.
and Associated Chaffey Teachers CTA/NEA,
arts. 10.1, 10.5.6.1.1, 11.1, 11.2 (setting policies with
respect to parent-teacher meetings, class size, and
length of work day). Yet, despite the serious misgiv-
ings that many nonmember teachers have about the
negative effect of these policies on their own careers
and the success of their students, agency shop ar-
rangements compel nonmember teachers to provide

20

financial support for ‘*e unions’ positions on these
intensely personal, and profoundly important, policy
matters.

B. Agency Shop Arrangements Violate
Nonmembers’ Speech, Association,
And Petition Rights.

The “heavy burden” that agency shop arrange-
ments impose on the First Amendment rights of
nonmember public-school teachers, Harris v. Quinn,
134 S. Ct. 2618, 2643 (2014)—who are compelled to
fund bargaining in which unions advocate policies
that the teachers may view as detrimental to their
own careers and the success of their students—is in-
compatible with this Court’s First Amendment juris-
prudence.

Abood itself recognized the severity of this bur-
den, declaring that agency shop arrangements inter-
fere with the “moral” and “religious views,” “econom-
ic” and “political” beliefs, and “ideological” viewpoints
of nonmember employees. 431 U.S. at 222-23. In
more recent cases, the Court has repeatedly under-
scored this “significant impingement on [the] First
Amendment rights” of nonmember employees, reit-
erating that it is equally abhorrent to the First
Amendment for the government to “compel the en-
dorsement of ideas” as it is for the government to
“prohibit the dissemination of ideas that it disfa-
vors.” Knox v. Serv. Emps. Int'l Union, 132 S. Ct.
2277, 2288-89 (2012).

While Abood drew a distinction between union
fees used for “political” and “ideological” causes, on
the one hand, and “collective bargaining activities,”
on the other, subsequent decisions have exposed the
artificiality and unworkability of that distinction. It

21

is no longer open to dispute that a “public-sector un-
ion takes many positions during collective bargaining
that have powerful political and civic consequences.”
Knox, 132 S. Ct. at 2289; see also Harris, 134 S. Ct.
at 2632 (“In the public sector, core issues such as
wages, pensions, and benefits are important political
issues ....”). In fact, the President of the California
Federation of Teachers recently acknowledged that
“feJvery element of public education is political.”
Matthew Blake, Teachers Unions Sued over Dues for
Political Activities, Daily Journal (Apr. 8, 2015) (em-
phasis added; internal quotation marks omitted).
With respect to each of the policies discussed above—
teacher discipline, transfers, assignments, layofis,
and compensation—the objections of nonmember
teachers to unions’ collective bargaining positions are
often based on deeply-rooted personal, political, and
ideological concerns, including the impact that such
policies will have on their professional lives, the well-
being of their students, and, ultimately, the success
of the public-education system as a whole. The free-
dom-of-speech considerations that prompted the
Abood Court to condemn compelled subsidies for un-
ions’ lobbying activities therefore apply with equal
force to agency shop arrangements that compel non-
member teachers to fund unions’ collective bargain-
ing activities.

In addition, agency shop arrangements impose
independent, and equally unacceptable, burdens on
nonmember public-school teachers’ associational
rights and their right to petition the government
about matters of public concern. As this Court has
recognized, the freedom of association is “crucial in
preventing the majority from imposing its views on
groups that would rather express other .. . ideas.”
Boy Scouts of Am. v. Dale, 530 U.S. 640, 647-48

22

(2000). And the right to petition—a right that has
long been recognized as “among the most precious of
the liberties safeguarded by the Bill of
Rights,” United Mine Workers of Am. v. Ill. State Bar
Ass’n, 389 U.S. 217, 222 (1967)—is “integral to the
democratic process” an. ensures that citizens are
free to convey their “special concerns” to the govern-
ment, Borough of Duryea v. Guarnieri, 131 S. Ct.
2488, 2495 (2011); see also McDonald v. Smith, 472
U.S. 479, 483 (1985) (“[Tlhe values in the right of pe-
tition as an important aspect of self-government are
beyond question ....”). Just as the freedom of
speech “includes both the right to speak freely and
the right to refrain from speaking at all,” Wooley v.
Maynard, 430 U.S. 705, 714 (1977), the right of asso-
ciation and the right to petition carry with them con-
comitant rights to refrain from associating with or-
ganizations with which one disagrees and from sup-
porting their petitioning efforts. See Roberts v. U.S.
Jaycees, 468 U.S. 609, 623 (1984) (“Freedom of asso-
ciation ... plainly presupposes a freedom not to as-
sociate.”).

Agency shop arrangements, however, compel
nonmember public-school teachers to “associate with
those who do not share their beliefs” on an array of
matters vital to their careers, the well-being of their
students, and the success of the public-school system
as a whole. Cal. Democratic Party v. Jones, 530 U.S.
567, 586 (2000). These arrangements likewise coerce
public-school teachers who elect not to join a union to
finance the petitioning activities of unions “with
which they broadly disagree” on matters of great
“public concern” and to cede their petitioning rights
to advocates that are urging different positions from
the ones the nonmembers would take if permitted to
bargain directly with the school district. Harris, 134

23

S. Ct. at 2623, 2640; see also City of Madison Joint
Sch. Dist. No. 8 v. Wis. Emp’t Relations Comm’n, 429
U.S. 167, 175-76 (1976) (“To permit one side of a de-
batable public question to have a monopoly in ex-
pressing its views to the government is the antithesis
of constitutional guarantees.”). Because individuals
must be permitted to express their own “ideas,
hopes, and concerns to their government and their
elected representatives,” Borough of Duryea, 131 S.
Ct. at 2495, the First Amendment forbids state-
sanctioned measures—such as agency shop ar-
rangements—that compel individuals to associate
with and finance the petitioning activities of groups
that seek to attain goals inconsistent with their own
personal beliefs and professional aspirations.

Il. THE FREE-RIDER JUSTIFICATION FOR
AGENCY SHOP ARRANGEMENTS IN THE
PUBLIC-SCHOOL SETTING IS FUNDAMEN-
TALLY FLAWED.

Abood’s principal justification for upholding
agency shop arrangements—to prevent purported
free-riding by nonmembers on unions’ collective bar-
gaining efforts—is flawed in multiple respects. As
an initial matter, that rationale cannot be reconciled
with this Court’s subsequent precedent. On multiple
occasions, this Court has made clear that the free-
rider justification animating Abood is “something of
an anomaly” and that “free-rider arguments ... are
generally insufficient to overcome First Amendment
objections.” Harris, 134 S.Ct. at 2627; Knox, 132
S. Ct. at 2289, 2290.

The free-rider justification is also impossible to
square with the real-world implications of compelling
nonmember teachers to fund educational policies
with which they may vehemently disagree. In fact,

24

in many settings, the danger that nonmember pub-
lic-school teachers will “free ride” on unions during
the collective bargaining process is wholly illusory
because—contrary to the assumptions underpinning
Abood, 431 U.S. at 221-22—many nonmember teach-
ers do not believe that they “obtain[ ] benefits (from]
union representation” during collective bargaining.
In fact, many nonmember teachers are manifestly
harmed by these collective bargaining activities and
are forced to subsidize views contrary to their own
professional, economic, ideological, and personal in-
terests.

For example, new, high-performing teachers
commonly find themselves at risk of losing their
teaching positions, or of being transferred to another
school against their will, due to union-backed policies
that prioritize teacher seniority above performance
in the classroom. See supra Part I.A; Terry M. Moe,
Bottom-Up Structure: Collective Bargaining, Trans-
fer Rights, and the Plight of Disadvantaged Schools
10 (Sept. 14, 2006) (Educ. Working Paper Archive)
(explaining that seniority-based transfer provisions
establish a “hierarchy among teachers” because
“(t]hose with lots of seniority have substantial choice
over where they teach, but those who are newer to
the district (and probably the profession) may have
very little choice indeed, and may find themselves
filling slots that senior teachers do not want.”); see
also Bhavini Bhakta, Op-Ed., California’s Pink-Slip
Shuffle, L.A. Times, Dec. 16, 2012, http://
articles.latimes.com/2012/dec/16/opinion/la-oe-bhakta
-teaching-20121216 (recounting that the author lost
her teaching position four times in eight years due to
her relative lack of seniority, even though she was
named a “Teacher of the Year”). Such policies impair

25

the ability of motivated, student-focused teachers to
progress, or even remain, in their chosen profession.

It should come as no surprise, then, that a signif-
icant proportion of teachers (union members and
nonmembers alike) do not support many of the poli-
cies that are established by their collective bargain-
ing agreements. In fact, a survey of California
public-school teachers released last year shows that
the majority of teachers believe that teacher morale
is negatively affected by reduction-in-force policies
that are based, either primarily or solely, on teacher
seniority. See Students Matter, Vergara v. Califor-
nia 2013 California Educators Survey Results 17-
18 (2014), available at http://studentsmatter.org/wp-
content/uploads/2014/03/SM_Research-Now-Poll-Res
ults_03.05.14.pdf. These findings are also consistent
with the attitudes of the U.S. population as a whole,
which overwhelmingly rejects the seniority-based re-
duction-in-force policies advocated by many unions.
See Press Release, Greenberg Quinlan Rosner Re-
search, New University of Southern California
Dornsife College of Letters, Arts and Sciences/Los
Angeles Times Poll (Apr. 10, 2015), available at
http:?//www.gqrr.com/articles/2015/4/12/new-universit
y-of-southern-california-dornsife-college-of-letters-art
s-and-scienceslos-angeles-times-poll (finding that
92% of respondents in a random survey sample of
California registered voters believed that teacher
seniority should not be the primary factor dictating
teacher layoff order).

Many teachers also oppose teacher discipline pol-
icies contained in collective bargaining agreements
that can lead to the entrenchment of habitually un-
derperforming teachers in the classrooms next door
to them. For many reasons, a significant proportion

26

of “teachers ... do not want grossly ineffective col-
leagues in the classroom.” Vergara, No. BC484642,
slip op. at 12. For example, the continued employ-
ment, and inability or unwillingness to improve, of
these substandard teachers make it difficult for high-
performing teachers to engage in collaborative les-
son-planning and co-teaching. See Elaine Al-
lensworth et al., Consortium on Chi. Sch. Research,
The Schools Teachers Leave 25, 30 (2009) (finding
that teachers are more likely to remain in schools
that have a “shared commitment among the faculty
to improve the school” and are more likely to leave
when colleagues are “uncooperative and resistant to
change”). In addition, students assigned to under-
performing teachers fall far behind their peers,
which requires high-performing teachers to expend
tremendous effort simply trying to bring these stu-
dents back up to grade level.

Moreover, highly-effective teachers routinely find
that their excellence in the classroom is not ade-
quately recognized in the compensation that they re-
ceive. That undercompensation is a product, at least
in part, of the “single salary schedules” that unions
and school districts adopt during the collective bar-
gaining process. See Daniel Weisberg et al., The
New Teacher Project, The Widget Effect 6 (2009)
(“Fifty-nine percent of teachers . . . say their district
is not doing enough to identify, compensate, promote
and retain the most effective teachers.”). Many
teachers desire professional acknowledgment and
compensation commensurate with their achieve-
ments, rather than a system that treats all teachers
as interchangeable parts. See id.; see also Lance T.
Izumi et al., Pac. Research Inst., California Educa-
tion Report Card 92 (2007), available at
https://www.heartland.org/sites/all/modules/custom/h

27

eartland_migration/files/pdfs/20907.pdf (“A uniform
salary structure with automatic non-performance-
based pay raises does not provide a good basis for re-
cruitment of better teachers, nor does it help in-
crease the achievement of students.”). By failing to
distinguish among teachers, “single salary sched-
ules” deny outstanding teachers the recognition and
compensation that they so justly deserve. See Bar-
nett & Ritter, supra (“[U]nder a merit-based [com-
pensation] scheme, the most effective teachers would
consistently earn large bonuses ... .”).

In short, many nonmember public-school teach-
ers do not want, need, or seek out a “free ride” that
will continue to deliver them the status quo—a sys-
tem that prioritizes the needs of more-senior teach-
ers (regardless of their performance level) at the ex-
pense of newer, higher-performing teachers and the
students for whom they are responsible. Instead,
these nonmember teachers hold the “deeply rooted”
belief that these employment-related decisions
should be based on teachers’ “individual merit or
achievement,” and that an education system founded
on merit-based principles will ultimately benefit all
students. Regents of the Univ. of Cal. v. Bakke, 438
U.S. 265, 360-61 (1978) (Brennan, J., concurring in
part and dissenting in part).

28

CONCLUSION

This Court should overrule Abood and hold that
agency shop arrangements violate public-school
teachers’ First Amendment speech, association, and
petition rights.

Respectfully submitted.
KEVIN J. RING-DOWELL THEODORE B. OLSON
GIBSON, DUNN & CRUTCHER LLP Counsel of Record
555 Mission Street AMIR C. TAYRANI
San Francisco, CA 94105 GIBSON, DUNN & CRUTCHER LLP
(415) 393-8200 1050 Connecticut Avenue, NW
Washington, DC 20036
C. DEAN MCGRATH, JR. (202) 955-8500
MCGRATH & ASSOCIATES tolson@gibsondunn.com
1025 Thomas Jefferson St., NW
Suite 110G
Washington, DC 20007
(202) 295-2304
Counsel for Amici Curiae

September 11, 2015

APPENDIX

APPENDIX OF SIGNATORIES

Gary Beckner is Executive Director of the Associa-
tion of American Educators, an alternative, non-
union professional organization of teachers that pro-
vides liability insurance and other benefits to teach-
ers who do not want to join their union.

Alan Bonsteel is a physician and long-time public
proponent of school choice, who is president and
founder of California Parents for Educational Choice
(“CPEC”). He is author of A Choice for Our Children:
Curing the Crisis in America’s Schools (1997).

Mark Bucher is President of the California Policy
Center and an attorney who has been active in public
policy since 1993, particularly with respect to Propo-
sition 174 (school choice) and Proposition 226 (union
use of dues for political purposes).

Sandra Crandall, twice elected, is a member of the
Fountain Valley School District Board of Trustees in
Orange County, California. Mrs. Crandall was an
elementary teacher for 39 years, a recipient of the
Fountain Valley School District Teacher of the Year
in 2005, and was an agency fee payer.

Lydia Grant is a California parent activist who
helped get the California “Parent Trigger” law off the
ground. She is a member of the board for Parent
Revolution, the Education Chair for the Saving Los
Angeles Project, and a Los Angeles City Commis-
sioner on the Board of Neighborhood Commissioners.
Ms. Grant also served as the Education Representa-
tive for the Sunland-Tujunga Neighborhood Council.

2a

Peter H. Hanley is Executive Director of the Amer-
ican Center for School Choice. With extensive policy
and business experience, he has three times been
elected president of the San Mateo Union High
School District Board and is currently board presi-
dent of Amethod Public Schools, a charter school
management organization. He has also served four
terms in the California School Boards Association
Delegate Assembly, and has pressed for academic re-
form and accountable professional development,
among other initiatives.

Eric Hanushek is the Paul and Jean Hanna Senior
Fellow at the Hoover Institution at Stanford Univer-
sity. He studies educational issues from an economic
perspective, and has promoted the idea that teacher
proficiency should be measured by increased student
achievement. He is a graduate of the Air Force
Academy and has a Ph.D. from MIT.

Victoria Heggem is a teacher in Arcadia, Califor-
nia, and board member of California Teachers Em-
powerment Network (“CTEN”), a non-profit, non-
union information resource for teachers interested in
education reform. She is a “religious objector” pur-
suant to a provision in California law that allows in-
dividuals who object to unions on religious grounds
to have their compulsory union dues paid to an eligi-
ble charity.

Darren Miller is a high school math teacher in sub-
urban Sacramento and a board member of CTEN.
He previously served as a school site union repre-
sentative, but currently rejects union membership
and is an agency fee payer. He has maintained

3a

“Right on the Left Coast,” a successful blog, for over
10 years.

Pacific Research Institute (“PRI”) is a non-profit,
non-partisan 501(c\(3) organization that champions
individual freedom, opportunity, and personal re-
sponsibility through the advancement of free-market
policy solutions and private initiative. PRI believes
that free interaction among consumers, businesses,
and voluntary associations is more effective than
government action in providing good schools, quality
health care, a clean environment, and economic
growth. PRI's activities include publishing books
and studies, giving commentary to media, providing
legislative testimony, hosting public events, and con-
ducting grassroots and community outreach.

Larry Sand is President of CTEN and a well-known
education-reform activist. Mr. Sand is a retired
teacher who began his teaching career in New York
in 1971. Beginning in 1985, he taught elementary
school as well as English, math, history and ESL in
the Los Angeles Unified School District, where he
also served as a Title 1 Coordinator.

Pete Wilson served as the 36th governor of Califor-
nia (1991-1999), a United States Senator (1983-
1991), the Mayor of San Diego (1971-1983), and a
California State Assemblyman (1967-1971). As gov-
ernor, he won—against the opposition of California’s
teachers’ unions—a rigorous upgrade of public-school
curricular standards and legislation enabling the
creation of charter schools, reducing class size to 20
in K-3 grades, and implementing statewide stand-
ardized testing in grades 2-11. He is a Distinguished

4a

Visiting Fellow of the Hoover Institution and spon-
sored three (ultimately unsuccessful) efforts to ena-
ble school voucher programs and Propositions 226,
75, and 32 (seeking to repeal extractions of involun-
tary political contributions from teachers’ union dues
and non-member agency fees).

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0322%3A69. Public record. Not legal advice.
