# Amicus Curiae Brief — Friedrichs v. Cal. Teachers Ass'n, 135 S. Ct. 2933 (2015) (No. 14-915)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0322%3A61

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2015

## Text

US.
FILED

NOV 13 2015

No. 14-915 OFFICE OF THE CLERK

IN THE
Supreme Court of the United States

REBECCA FRIEDRICHS, ET AL.,
Petitioners,
We

CALIFORNIA TEACHERS ASSOCIATION, ET AL..,
Respondents.

On Writ of Certiorari to the United States Court
of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit

BRIEF OF REPUBLICAN CURRENT AND
FORMER MEMBERS OF STATE
LEGISLATURES AND CONGRESS AS AMICI
CURIAE IN SUPPORT OF RESPONDENTS

ELIZABETH B. WYDRA*

BRIANNE J. GOROD

DAVID H. GANS

CONSTITUTIONAL
ACCOUNTABILITY CENTER

1200 18th Street NW
Suite 501

Washington, D.C. 20036

(202) 296-6889

elizabeth@theusconstitution.org

Counsel for Amici Curiae
November 13, 2015 * Counsel of Record

ETE ETT LT EE ST TT TITTIES
WiLsOn-EPes PRINTING Co., INC. — (202) 789-0096 — WasHINGTON, D.C. 20002

TABLE OF CONTENTS

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES ................cccceeseseeeeeees
INTEREST OF AMICI CURIAE..................c0000++:
INTRODUCTION AND SUMMARY OF AR-

I.

II.

ITT.

THE FIRST AMENDMENT DOES NOT
DEPRIVE STATES OF THE POWER TO
ENACT AGENCY-SHOP LAWS REQUIR-
ING GOVERNMENT EMPLOYEES TO
PAY THEIR FAIR SHARE OF THE
COSTS OF COLLECTIVE BARGAINING.

THIS COURT HAS LONG RECOGNIZED
THE IMPORTANT ROLE THAT FEDER-
ALISM PLAYS IN OUR CONSTITU-
TIONAL STRUCTURE. ............:ccccssseeeeeeeeees

CONSISTENT WITH FEDERALISM
PRINCIPLES, STATES SHOULD BE
ABLE TO DETERMINE FOR THEM-
SELVES WHETHER TO ADOPT AGEN-
CY FEE ARRANGEMEN TB. .................00006+

GP IEIEEEIED scnccsccccssecensengeseccnsevenevecsssecsecessseseces

(i)

12

16

iz

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Page(s)
Cases
Abood v. Detroit Bd. of Educ.,
Ge Cee Ie Oi rctettcenneccntnescccssnsesscess passim
Bond v. United States,
5 S&T 13
Borough of Duryea, Pa. v. Guarnieri,
. ff. ee 7,10

Brown v. Brown,
No. 6:15-cv-01523 (D. Or. complaint filed

iia nlek acbisdcemennenies 22
Brown v. Glines,

, - « | ce 9
Connick v. Myers,

Eran 11
Engquist v. Or. Dep’t of Agric.,

a eae 4, 7,10
Ex parte Curtis,

a cecnenlchneeinaininniads 8
Garcetti v. Ceballos,

ee ee He cctescccnssnnssenceennsenntonens 7,9, 10
Gregory v. Ashcroft,

A ETEe 5, 12, 16
Harris v. Quinn,

RB 11, 20, 22
Lehnert v. Ferris Faculty Ass’n,

0 8 11

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - cont’d.

Page(s)

Lincoln Fed. Labor Union No. 19129 v. Nw.

Iron & Metal Co.,

en 18
Mentele v. Inslee,

No. 3:15-cv-05134 (W.D. Wash. complaint

a 22
New State Ice Co. v. Liebmann,

EE 5, 16

U.S. Civil Serv. Comm'n v. Nat Ass'n. of
Letter Carriers,

EE a )
United Pub. Workers v. Mitchell,

EERIE a 9
Rutan v. Republican Party of Iil.,

EEE 7
Texas v. White,

cea 12, 13
Waters v. Churchill,

aR 7, 8,10
Winner v. Rauner,

No. 1:15-cv-07213 (N.D. Ill. complaint
I SE ITI i iedinrcenigtinisitensertniieenens 22

iv
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - cont'd.

Page(s)
Cal. Gov't Code § 3543 .................cccccssscsceseees 2
Cal. Gov't Code § 3544 220.0... ececeeeeeeeees 3
Cal. Gov't Code § 3546 ................ccccccccssessceees 3
Se NT dik iiintlicenidaiitaitiinhabtinemintniinnmion 12

2 The Records of the Federal Convention of
1787 (Max Farrand ed., 1911)................... 14

Charles Fried, Federalism—Why Should
We Care?, 6 Harv. J.L. & Pub. Poly 1
TRESS Ae eee ee eR 15

Deborah Jones Merritt, The Guarantee
Clause and State Autonomy: Federalism
for a Third Century, 88 Colum. L. Rev. 1
lait liana hacen ctai aise 14, 15

Henry H. Drummonds, The Sister Sover-
eign States: Preemption and the Second
Twentieth Century Revolution in the Law
of the American Workplace, 62 Fordham

. < — ease seen 16, 17, 20
Henry J. Friendly, Federalism: A Fore-
word, 86 Yale L.J. 1019 (1977).................- 15

James Madison, Report on the Virginia
Resolution (1800), in 4 The Debates in the
Several State Conventions on the Adop-
tion of the Federal Constitution 546 (Jon-
athan Elliot ed., 1896)......................ccc.cc.00- 8

Vv
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - cont'd.
Page(s)

Joseph E. Slater, The Court Does Not Know
‘What a Labor Union Is’: How State
Structures and Judicial
(Mis)constructions Deformed Public Sec-
tor Labor Law, 79 Or. L. Rev. 981 (2000). 17

Michael W. McConnell, Federalism: Evalu-
ating the Founders’ Design, 54 U. Chi. L.
Sn as 4, 13, 14, 15

Richard C. Kearney & Patrice M.
Mareschal, Labor Relations in the Public

Sector (6th ed. 2014) ...................ecss00. 17, 20, 21
The Federalist No. 3? (John Jay) (Clinton
By MI iccecitnncncnrnsnicisetnsnsneninsenn 14

The Federalist No. 10 (James Madison)
(Clinton Rossiter ed., 1961) ....................... 4,15

1

INTEREST OF AMICI CURIAE'

Amici are 47 Republican current and former state
legislators and one Republican former member of
Congress. Amici are familiar with the statutory
schemes governing labor relations and collective bar-
gaining in their respective States, and they appreci-
ate the significant role that States have long played
in determining the content of their own labor laws.
They are also familiar with the many reasons why
decisions about the substance of those laws are best
made at the state level, by individuals who are famil-
iar with the unique needs and interests of each State.

Amici believe that nothing in the Constitution
prohibits the agency fee arrangements at issue in this
case and that whether these arrangements are good
policy is a decision that belongs to the relevant state
and local governments. It is also a decision on which
jurisdictions can and do differ. After all, no one ar-
rangement will make sense for every State in the
country, and state officials will be best able to weigh
the potentially competing interests of public employ-
ers, public employees, unions, and the public to de-
termine what makes the most sense for their State.
State officials have a particularly strong interest in
making these determinations because they are held
democratically accountable for providing effective and

1 The parties have consented to the filing of this brief and
their letters of consent have been filed with the Clerk. Under
Rule 37.6 of the Rules of this Court, amici state that no counsel
for a party authored this brief in whole or in part, and no coun-
sel or party made a monetary contribution intended to fund the
preparation or submission of this brief. No person other than
amici or their counsel made a monetary contribution to its prep-
aration or submission.

2

efficient state government services through the work
of public employees.

Some amici state legislators come from States
that allow for agency fees like those at issue in this
case. These amici have a particularly strong interest
in representing their constituents and the many oth-
er governmental leaders in their States who have de-
termined that these agency fee arrangements make
sense for their States and help ensure ordered labor
relations that benefit employers, employees, and the
public. Moreover, amici have a strong interest in
avoiding the significant disruption to carefully cali-
brated labor schemes that would result in the nearly
half of States that permit agency fees if this Court
were to conclude that these agency fee arrangements
are no longer valid.

More generally, amici state legislators have a
strong interest in ensuring that this Court respects
the federalism values embedded in our Constitution
and long recognized by this Court’s opinions. Alt-
hough amici take no position on the legal question
whether Congress could legislate in this area if it so
chose, they believe that Congress’s decision to allow
States to structure public sector labor relations as
they see fit reflects federalism principles that are
fundamental to our constitutional structure.

A full listing of amici appears in the Appendix.

INTRODUCTION AND
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

Under California law, if a majority of the employ-
ees in a bargaining unit choose to be represented by a
union, that union will serve as the exclusive bargain-
ing representative for all employees in the unit, even
those who choose not to join the union. Cal. Gov't

3

Code §§ 3543, 3544, 3546. Like many other States,
California allows public sector unions acting as exclu-
sive bargaining representatives to charge non-
member state employees an agency fee, provided that
such employees “have the right . . . to receive a rebate
or fee reduction upon request, of that portion of their
fee that is not devoted to the cost of negotiations, con-
tract administration, and other activities of the em-
ployee organization that are germane to its function
as the exclusive bargaining representative.” Id.
§ 3546(a).

This Court explicitly upheld States’ authority to
adopt statutory schemes such as this one nearly forty
years ago in Abood v. Detroit Board of Education, 431
U.S. 209 (1977). In that case, this Court recognized
that “[t]he National Labor Relations Act leaves regu-
lation of the labor relations of state and local gov-
ernments to the States.” Id. at 223. Recognizing that
its “province [was] not to judge the wisdom of Michi-
gan’s decision to authorize the agency shop in public
employment,” the Court concluded that “important
government interests” justified the “impingement up-
on associational freedom created by the agency shop
[arrangement].” Id. at 224-25.

Despite this long-standing precedent, Petitioners
argue that the question whether non-member gov-
ernmental employees must pay agency fees—a ques-
tion that Abood left to each individual State to de-
termine for itself—may no longer be left to the States
because the First Amendment compels one uniform
answer for the entire country. This is plainly wrong.
Petitioners’ attempt to constitutionalize this aspect of
labor relations is not required by the First Amend-
ment, as Respondents’ brief demonstrates, see
Resp’ts’ Br. at 15-31, and is inconsistent with the sig-
nificant deference long accorded state determinations

4

about how labor relations in public sector employ-
ment should be ordered. Even when regulating
speech and association protected by the First
Amendment, “government has significantly greater
leeway in its dealings with citizen employees than it
does when it brings its sovereign power to bear on cit-
izens at large,” Engquist v. Or. Dep't of Agric., 553
U.S. 591, 599 (2008), allowing state governments
broad authority to manage their workforces effective-
ly and efficiently. Amici state legislators understand
well the significant policy judgments inherent in de-
termining how States establish the law governing la-
bor relations in public sector employment, and they
appreciate the value of allowing individual States to
determine for themselves whether agency shop ar-
rangements make sense given the various competing
interests at play in their States.

When the Framers drafted our enduring Consti-
tution, integral to their design was a vibrant federal-
ist system that empowered the federal government to
provide national solutions to national problems, while
preserving a significant role for State and local gov-
ernments to exercise general police power and craft
policies “adapted to local conditions and local tastes.”
Michael W. McConnell, Federalism: Evaluating the
Founders’ Design, 54 U. Chi. L. Rev. 1484, 1493
(1987). As James Madison described it, the federalist
system would “form{] a happy combination” with “the
great and aggregate interests being referred to the
national, the local and particular to the State legisla-
tures.” The Federalist No. 10, at 77 (James Madison)
(Clinton Rossiter ed., 1961).

Because federalism permits decentralized deci-
sionmaking in contexts where no other constitutional
provision limits state action, there are many areas in
which State and local policymakers can adopt policies

5

best suited to their local needs. There are also many
contexts in which the States can serve as “labora-
torfies]” of “experimentation,” as Justice Brandeis
famously put it. New State Ice Co. v. Liebmann, 285
U.S. 262, 311 (1932) (Brandeis, J., dissenting). This
Court has long recognized these benefits of federal-
ism, observing that federalism both “assures a decen-
tralized government that will be more sensitive to the
diverse needs of a heterogeneous society” and allows
for “more innovation and experimentation in govern-
ment.” Gregory v. Ashcroft, 501 U.S. 452, 457, 458
(1991).

Consistent with our federalist structure and its
commitment to allowing States to govern in areas
where uniform national! legislation is not necessary,
key aspects of labor policy have long been left to the
States. Indeed, as noted above, Abood itself recog-
nized that the Court's role was not to assess the wis-
dom of Michigan’s judgment that agency fee ar-
rangements would best preserve ordered labor rela-
tions in that State, but simply to determine whether
there was any specific constitutional bar to Michi-
gan’s decision. Concluding that there was not, the
Court deferred to the judgment of Michigan state offi-
cials about how best to structure labor relations in
that state.

Amici state legislators are responsible for deter-
mining the proper labor regimes in their respective
States, and they thus appreciate the flexibility and
discretion provided by this Court’s decision in Abood.
Indeed, as amici well understand, and as this Court
recognized in Abood, “[t]he ingredients of industrial
peace and stabilized labor-management relations are
numerous and complex.” 431 U.S. at 225 n.20 (quot-
ing Ry. Emps.’ Dep't v. Hanson, 351 U.S. 225, 234
(1956)). Based on their experiences serving in their

6

state legislatures, amici state legislators know that
they and their colleagues in state government are
best positioned to determine what regime will work
best in their States. Moreover, amici state legislators
who serve in the legislatures of States that have
adopted agency fee arrangements like those adopted
by California also know that a decision invalidating
those arrangements would cause significant disrup-
tion in their States.

In sum, this Court recognized in Abood that the
First Amendment does not require one uniform rule
of labor relations for the entire country. Rather, def-
erence should be given to the judgments of state poli-
cymakers about what rules would be best for their
States. This Court should re-affirm that decision

now.

ARGUMENT

I. THE FIRST AMENDMENT DOES NOT DE-
PRIVE STATES OF THE POWER TO EN-
ACT AGENCY-SHOP LAWS REQUIRING
GOVERNMENT EMPLOYEES TO PAY
THEIR FAIR SHARE OF THE COSTS OF
COLLECTIVE BARGAINING.

Urging this Court to overrule Abood and to strike
down the laws of California and 23 other States,
Friedrichs insists that the First Amendment prohib-
its a state from enacting an agency-shop law that re-
quires non-member state employees to pay their fair
share of the costs of collective bargaining. In Frie-
drichs’s view, bargaining over the wages and hours of
government employees is political speech, and there-
fore agency-shop laws must be subject to the strictest
judicial scrutiny. See Pet’rs’ Br. at 16-20. Neither
constitutional first principles nor this Court’s case

7

law supports this sweeping reinterpretation of the
First Amendment.

The First Amendment's guarantee of freedom of
speech, as construed in numerous decisions of this
Court, gives considerable leeway to States to regulate
their workforces to ensure that government runs ef-
fectively and efficiently. This Court has refused to
apply the strictest standard of judicial scrutiny—a
standard that often applies when the government di-
rectly regulates the speech of its citizenry—in favor of
a lower level of scrutiny, because of the “unique con-
siderations applicable when the government acts as
employer as opposed to sovereign.” Engquist, 553
U.S. at 598; Waters v. Churchill, 511 U.S. 661, 672-75
(1994); Rutan v. Republican Party of Ill., 497 U.S. 62,
99-100 (1990) (Scalia, J., dissenting) (“[Gjovernment
employment decisions taken on the basis of an em-
ployee’s speech do not ‘abridgfe] the freedom of
speech’ merely because they fail the narrow-tailoring
and compelling-interests tests applicable to direct
regulation of speech.” (internal citation omitted)).

By choosing to apply this lower level of scrutiny,
the Court has ensured that the First Amendment's
protection of speech is not so broadly construed that
it intrudes into state managerial prerogatives in a
manner “inconsistent with sound principles of feder-
alism and separation of powers.” Garcetti v. Ceballos,
547 U.S. 410, 423 (2006); see also Borough of Duryea,
Pa. v. Guarnieri, 131 S. Ct. 2488, 2496 (2011) (reject-
ing interpretation of the Petition Clause that would
“subject a wide range of government operations to in-
vasive judicial superintendence” and “raise serious
federalism and _ separation-of-powers concerns”).
Friedrichs’s argument, which relies heavily on many
cases concerning direct regulation of speech by the

8

government as sovereign, cannot be squared with
these principles. See Petr’s’ Br. at 16-18.

As this Court’s case law makes clear, “even many
of the most fundamental maxims of our First
Amendment jurisprudence cannot reasonably be ap-
plied to speech by government employees.” Waters,
511 U.S. at 672. For example, the First Amendment,
at its core, protects the “right of freely examining
public characters and measures, and of free commu-
nication among the people thereon,” see James Madi-
son, Report on the Virginia Resolution (1800), in 4
The Debates in the Several State Conventions on the
Adoption of the Federal Constitution 546, 554 (Jona-
than Elliot ed., 1836), reflecting that “the censorial
power is in the people over the Government, and not
in the Government over the people.” 4 Annals of
Congress 934 (1794). Nevertheless, this Court has
long recognized that “[e]ven something as close to the
core of the First Amendment as participation in polit-
ical campaigns may be prohibited to government em-
ployees.” Waters, 511 U.S. at 672.

For example, in Ex parte Curtis, 106 U.S. 371
(1882), this Court upheld a federal criminal statute
that prohibited federal employees from giving or re-
ceiving political contributions from other federal
workers. The Court concluded that the statute was
consistent with the First Amendment because it
served “to promote efficiency and integrity in the dis-
charge of official duties, and to maintain proper dis-
cipline in the public service,” id. at 373, and it reject-
ed the dissent’s argument that the statute unconsti-
tutionally “prevents the citizen from co-operating
with other citizens of his own choice in the promotion
of his political views.” Id. at 376 (Bradley, J., dissent-
ing).

9

In 1947, in United Public Workers v. Mitchell, 330
U.S. 75 (1947), this Court upheld the constitutionali-
ty of the Hatch Act’s prohibition on government em-
ployees participating actively in political manage-
ment or political campaigns, reasoning that Con-
gress’s “conviction that an actively partisan govern-
mental personnel threatens good administration” jus-
tified the statute’s limitation on core First Amend-
ment freedoms. Id. at 97-98; see also id. at 99 (“Con-
gress and the President are responsible for an effi-
cient public service. If, in their judgment, efficiency
may be best obtained by prohibiting active participa-
tion by classified employees in politics as party offic-
ers or workers, we see no constitutional objection.”);
U.S. Civil Serv. Comm'n v. Nat Ass’n. of Letter Car-
riers, 413 U.S. 548 (1973) (reaffirming Mitchell). In
reaffirming Mitchell, this Court, once again, deferred
to the considered legislative judgment of Congress,
observing that “[p]erhaps Congress at some time will
come to a different view of the realities of political life
and Government service; but that is its current view
of the matter, and we are not now in any position to
dispute it.” Id. at 567.

While the government may not “leverage the em-
ployment relationship to restrict . . . the liberties em-
ployees enjoy in their capacities as private citizens,”
Garcetti, 547 U.S. at 419, this Court’s case law estab-
lishes that “a governmental employer may subject its
employees to such special restrictions on free expres-
sion as are reasonably necessary to promote effective
government.” Brown v. Glines, 444 U.S. 348, 356
n.13 (1980).

Court precedent is clear that “constitutional re-
view of government employment decisions must rest
on different principles than review of speech re-
straints imposed by the government as sovereign.”

10

Waters, 511 U.S. at 674. Thus, rather than applying
strict scrutiny, this Court has held that First
Amendment rights “must be balanced against the re-
alities of the employment context,” Engquist, 553
U.S. at 600, giving “substantial weight to government
employers’ reasonable predictions of disruption, even
when the speech involved is on a matter of public
concern, and even though when the government is
acting as sovereign our review of legislative predic-
tions of harm is considerably less deferential.” Wa-
ters, 511 U.S. at 673; see also Garcetti, 547 U.S. at
422 (noting “the emphasis of our precedents on af-
fording government employers sufficient discretion to
manage their operations”); Guarnieri, 131 S. Ct. at
2495 (noting the “substantial government interests
that justify a cautious and restrained approach to the
protection of speech by public employees”).

Consistent with these basic principles, this Court
held in Abood that agency-shop laws that require
government employees to pay their fair share of the
costs of collective bargaining do not violate the First
Amendment’s guarantee of freedom of speech, up-
holding Michigan’s judgment that “labor stability will
be served by a system of exclusive representation and
the permissive use of an agency shop in public em-
ployment.” Aboad, 431 U.S. at 229. Drawing on
Congress's judgment reflected in the Railway Labor
Act of 1926 and the National Labor Relations Act of
1935, Abood concluded that a state could constitu-
tionally conclude that a union-shop arrangement pro-
vides an efficient and effective way to run its work-
place and secure labor peace, one that balances the
competing interests of all its employees. As Abood
explained, such an arrangement “has been thought to
distribute fairly the cost of [collective bargaining] ac-
tivities among those who benefit, and it counteracts

11

the incentive that employees might otherwise have to
become ‘free riders’ to refuse to contribute to the un-
ion while obtaining benefits of union representation
that necessarily accrue to all employees.” Id. at 222;
see also Lehnert v. Ferris Faculty Ass'n, 500 U.S. 507,
556 (1991) (Scalia, J., concurring in part and dissent-
ing in part) (‘Where the state imposes upon the union
a duty to deliver services, it may permit the union to
demand reimbursement for them; or, looked at from
the other end, where the state creates in the non-
members a legal entitlement from the union, it may
compel them to pay the cost.”).

Contrary to Friedrichs’s claim, Abood is no outli-
er, but simply reflects basic well-recognized First
Amendment principles—applicable to government
regulation of its own employees—that give the gov-
ernment “wide discretion and control over the man-
agement of its personnel and internal affairs.” Con-
nick v. Myers, 461 U.S. 138, 151 (1983) (quoting
Arnett v. Kennedy, 416 U.S. 134, 168 (1974) (Powell,
J., concurring)); cf. Harris v. Quinn, 134 S. Ct. 2618,
2642 (2014) (refusing to defer to managerial judg-
ment where “the State is not acting in a traditional
employer role”). Friedrichs’s claim that public-sector
collective bargaining is inherently political does not
change the basic constitutional calculus. Indeed,
Abood properly recognized that “decisionmaking by a
public employer is above all a political process,” but
properly held that, given the weight of the govern-
ment interests at stake, “[njothing in the First
Amendment . . . makes the question whether the ad-
jective ‘political’ can properly be attached to [non-
members’ beliefs the critical constitutional inquiry.”
Abood, 431 U.S. at 228, 232. Abood also properly rec-
ognized that States have broad leeway to choose how
to run their workplaces to preserve labor peace and

12

ensure the efficient delivery of services. The First
Amendment does not take from the States the power
to choose the means most conducive to these im-
portant ends.

As the next section demonstrates, Abood is also
consistent with first principles of federalism insofar
as it allows States to determine what legal regime
will enable them to manage their workforces most ef-
fectively.

Il. THIS COURT HAS LONG RECOGNIZED
THE IMPORTANT ROLE THAT FEDERAL-
ISM PLAYS IN OUR CONSTITUTIONAL
STRUCTURE.

Article I of the Constitution confers on Congress
“fajll legislative Powers” and enumerates the specific
powers encompassed by that phrase. U.S. Const. art.
I. That provision, taken with the Tenth Amendment,
establishes a carefully crafted balance of federal-state
power. On the one hand, the federal government en-
joys substantial authority to act in contexts where
national action is necessary. On the other hand,
there are some contexts in which the States may craft
innovative policy solutions reflecting the diversity of
America’s people, places, and ideas, so long as those
state policies are otherwise consistent with the Con-
stitution. Cf., supra, Section I (agency-shop arrange-
ments do not violate the First Amendment).

This Court has long recognized this “fundamental
principle” that “our Constitution establishes a system
of dual sovereignty between the States and the Fed-
eral Government.” Gregory, 501 U.S. at 457. As this
Court explained over a century ago, “the people of
each State compose a State, having its own govern-
ment, and endowed with all the functions essential to
separate and independent existence.” Texas v. White,

13

74 U.S. 700, 725 (1868), overruled in part by Morgan
v. United States, 113 U.S. 476 (1885); see id. at 726
(“the preservation of the States, and the maintenance
of their governments, are as much within the design
and care of the Constitution as the preservation of
the Union and the maintenance of the National gov-
ernment”); Bond v. United States, 131 S. Ct. 2355,
2364 (2011) (“State sovereignty is not just an end in
itself: “Rather, federalism secures to citizens the lib-
erties that derive from the diffusion of sovereign
power.”” (quoting New York v. United States, 505
U.S. 144, 181 (1992))).

When the Framers drafted our enduring Consti-
tution, this federalist system was an integral part of
their design. See McConnell, supra, at 1492
(“[d]uring the debates over the drafting and ratifica-
tion of the Constitution, supporters and opponents
alike came to articulate complex and sophisticated
theories of federalism”). As one scholar explains:

The federal system resulted from a com-
promise between those who saw the need
for a strong central government and those
who were wedded to the independent sov-
ereignty of the states. It was unthinkable
to most eighteenth century citizens that
the Constitution should abolish state gov-
ernments. At the same time, the difficul-
ties experienced under the Articles of
Confederation demonstrated the need for
a strong central power. Given these con-
straints, the Framers of the Constitution
pursued the practical course: a federal
system that would maintain independent
state governments while giving the new
central government supreme authority in
certain designated areas.

14

Deborah Jones Merritt, The Guarantee Clause and
State Autonomy: Federalism for a Third Century, 88
Colum. L. Rev. 1, 3 (1988).

Indeed, although the Framers’ experiences under
the Articles of Confederation convinced them that the
national government must be given significantly
greater powers than it possessed under the Articles of
Confederation government, see, e.g., The Federalist
No. 3, supra, at 36 (John Jay) (noting agreement on
“the importance of . . . continuing firmly united under
one federal government, vested with sufficient powers
for all general and national purposes”); cf. 2 The Rec-
ords of the Federal Convention of 1787, at 132 (Max
Farrand ed., 1911), they also recognized that a sys-
tem of dual sovereignty could produce a number of
benefits. Merritt, supra, at 3 (noting that “eighteenth
century thinkers perceived several advantages in
their federalist compromise”); see McConnell, supra,
at 1492 (articulating “three complementary objec-
tives” that the Framers thought “the new system of
dual sovereignty would promote”).

For example, the Framers recognized that in
some contexts, it is better that States be able to adopt
policies that are best suited to the specific needs and
interests of their people. As former Judge Michael
McConnell has written, “decentralized decision mak-
ing is better able to reflect the diversity of interests
and preferences of individuals in different parts of
the nation.” Jd. at 1493; see Merritt, supra, at 8 (ob-
serving that one “advantage of independent state
governments stems from the political and cultural di-
versity they provide” because “[a]cting through their
state and local governments, citizens in each region
create the type of social and political climate they
prefer”).

Moreover, when States are allowed to adopt dif-

15

ferent policies, they can serve as valuable testing
grounds by which the country can see how effective
those different policies are. McConnell, supra, at
1493 (“decentralization allows for innovation and
competition in government”); Merritt, supra, at 9
(noting that state governments have repeatedly “pio-
neer[ed] new social and economic programs”); Charles
Fried, Federalism—Why Should We Care?, 6 Harv.
J.L. & Pub. Pol’y 1, 2 (1982) (noting that one “value”
of federalism which is “quite important” is the “con-
cept of the states as ‘laboratories for experiment”);
Henry J. Friendly, Federalism: A Foreword, 86 Yale
L.J. 1019, 1033-34 (1977) (‘Although some state gov-
ernments may be ignorant or venal, many are far-
seeing and courageous; and not all wisdom reposes in

Washington.”).

Related, a federalist system also ensures that in
the context of those questions that do not require one
uniform policy for the nation, policies can be made by
those officials who are best acquainted with the
unique needs and interests of their constituents. As
James Madison wrote in Federalist No. 10, there are
dangers inherent in both large and small republics: in
the former, “the representative[s] [are] too little ac-
quainted with . . . local circumstances and lesser in-
terests,” while in the latter, representatives may be
unable to “pursue great and national objects.” The
Federalist No. 10, supra, at 77 (James Madison). A
federal system, he wrote, “form[ed] a happy combina-
tion in this respect; . . . the great and aggregate in-
terests being referred to the national, the local and
particular[,] to the State legislatures.” Jd. at 77-78;
Merritt, supra, at 9.

This Court has repeatedly recognized the benefits
offered by our federalist system of government. In
Gregory, for example, this Court observed that “[t]his

16

federalist structure of joint sovereigns preserves to
the people numerous advantages. It assures a decen-
tralized government that will be more sensitive to the
diverse needs of a heterogeneous society; it increases
opportunity for citizen involvement in democratic
processes; [and] it allows for more innovation and ex-
perimentation in government.” Gregory, 501 U.S. at
458; see New State Ice Co., 285 U.S. at 311 (Brandeis,
J., dissenting) (“There must be power in the states
and the nation to remould, through experimentation,
our economic practices and institutions to meet
changing social and economic needs. . . . It is one of
the happy incidents of the federal system that a sin-
gle courageous state may, if its citizens choose, serve
as a laboratory; and try novel social and economic ex-
periments without risk to the rest of the country.”).

In short, our constitutional system recognizes
that there are some contexts in which States may
usefully serve as laboratories for experimentation
and in which policy is best made at the State level.
Amici believe that the question whether non-member
employees may be required to pay agency fees is one
such policy, as the next Section discusses.

III. CONSISTENT WITH FEDERALISM PRIN-
CIPLES, STATES SHOULD BE ABLE TO
DETERMINE FOR THEMSELVES WHETH-
ER TO ADOPT AGENCY FEE ARRANGE-
MENTS.

Consistent with our federalist structure and its
commitment to allowing States to govern in areas
where uniform national legislation is not necessary,
key aspects of labor law have long been left to the
States. See, e.g., Henry H. Drummonds, The Sister
Sovereign States: Preemption and the Second Twenti-
eth Century Revolution in the Law of the American
Workplace, 62 Fordham L. Rev. 469, 585 (1993) (not-

17

ing the “wide-ranging role still given to the states in
our federal labor reiations scheme”); id. at 584 (“the
states already retain an important role in many as-
pects of labor relations under current law. . . . [includ-
ing] whether membership or financial support of a
union bargaining agent may be compelled”); Richard
C. Kearney & Patrice M. Mareschal, Labor Relations
in the Public Sector 30 (5th ed. 2014) (noting “the
complex legal environment” in public sector unionism
because there is “one set of laws for federal workers
and 50 sets for the states, plus numerous executive
orders, local ordinances, legal rulings, provisions, and
practices”); Drummonds, supra, at 585 (“most aspects
of employment law outside the labor relations context
remain subject to state regulation”).

The National Labor Relations Act, for example,
“leaves regulation of the labor relations of state and
local governments to the States.” Abood, 431 U.S. at
223; Drummonds, supra, at 584 (“NLRA leaves an is-
sue basic to any regime of collective labor relations to
state control.”). While the law’s legislative history
provides no explanation for this decision, one theory
is that the law’s drafters believed that Congress
“lacked the authority to regulate the labor relations
of states and localities.” Joseph E. Slater, The Court
Does Not Know ‘What a Labor Union Is’: How State
Structures and Judicial (Mis)constructions Deformed
Public Sector Labor Law, 79 Or. L. Rev. 981, 1025
(2000); see id. at 1026 (“Through to the present day,
courts have resisted Congressional attempts to apply
federal employment laws to state and local govern-
ments.”).

Whether or not Congress has the legal authority
to enact legislation that would govern public sector
labor relations in the States (and amici take no posi-
tion on that question), the fact that it has not done so

18

reflects the deference customarily accorded state
judgments in this context and is consistent with the
values inherent in our federalist system. This Court
has long recognized the deference that should be ac-
corded state judgments about how to structure labor
relations in their States. See, e.g., Lincoln Fed. Labor
Union No. 19129 v. Nw. Iron & Metal Co., 335 U.S.
525, 536 (1949) (“states have power to legislate
against what are found to be injurious practices in
their internal commercial and business affairs, so
long as their laws do not run afoul of some specific
federal constitutional prohibition, or of some valid
federal law”). Indeed, that principle was an im-
portant one in Abood itself.

The Court began its analysis in Abood by examin-
ing two of its prior cases that addressed the constitu-
tionality of agency shop arrangements in the private
sector and then explained the relevance of those deci-
sions to its consideration of Michigan’s statute. Rec-
ognizing that it had previously held that Congress’s
“legislative assessment of the important contribution
of the union shop to the system of labor relations es-
tablished by Congress” “constitutionally justified” the
attendant interference with First Amendment inter-
ests, Abood, 431 U.S. at 222, the Court held in Abood
that Michigan’s legislative judgment was entitled to
the same respect as Congress’s. As the Court ex-
plained, “[t]he governmental interests advanced by
the agency-shop provision in the Michigan statute are
much the same as those promoted by similar provi-
sions in federal labor law.” Id. at 224. Given that the
“same important government interests recognized [in
the private sector cases]” underpin Michigan’s policy
decision, those interests “presumptively support the
impingement upon associational freedom created by
the agency shop here at issue.” Id. at 225.

19

In deciding Abood, this Court recognized that its
“province is not to judge the wisdom of Michigan’s de-
cision to authorize the agency shop in public employ-
ment.” Id. at 224-25. Rather, the Court made clear
that it should defer to Michigan’s judgment about
what would best preserve “labor stability” in that
State. Id. at 229. “[T]here can be no principled ba-
sis,” the Court concluded, “for according [Michigan’s]
decision less weight in the constitutional balance
than was given in [the private sector cases] to the
congressional judgment.” Jd. Thus, Abood stands for
the fundamental proposition that the Court should
defer to state judgments on this complicated policy
question, at least as much as it stands for the specific
balancing of state and First Amendment interests at
issue in that case.

In reliance on Abood, States have adopted differ-
ent approaches to regulating labor relations in their
States. Amici state legislators, who are responsible
for determining the proper labor regime in their re-
spective States, appreciate the flexibility and discre-
tion this gives States to adopt a framework that will
work best for them. As this Court recognized in
Abood, “[t]he ingredients of industrial peace and sta-
bilized labor-management relations are numerous
and complex. They may well vary from age to age
and from industry to industry. . . . The decision rests
with the policy makers, not with the judiciary.” Jd. at
225 n.20 (quoting Hanson, 351 U.S. at 234).

Tellingly, parts of Petitioners’ brief read more
like a policy argument against unions and collective
bargaining than like a legal analysis. See, e.g., Pet’rs’
Br. at 36 (arguing that “[e]xclusive representation
‘extinguishes the individual employee’s power to or-
der his own relations with his employer” (quoting
NLBB v. Allis-Chalmers Mfg. Co., 388 U.S. 175, 180

20

(1967))); id. at 35 (“Respondent Unions advocate nu-
merous policies that affirmatively harm teachers who
believe they are above-average.”). These arguments
(on which amici have no view) simply underscore the
extent to which there are policy judgments at play in
this case. See Harris, 134 S. Ct. at 2658 (Kagan, J.,
dissenting) (“For many decades, Americans have de-
bated the pros and cons of right-to-work laws and
fair-share requirements. All across the country and
continuing to the present day, citizens have engaged
in passionate argument about the issue and have
made disparate policy choices.”). Those policy judg-
ments are best made by state officials who are know!l-
edgeable about the history of labor relations in their
State and who have the richest understanding of the
complicated interests of employers and employees
alike.

As amici state legislators know well from their
experience serving in state legislatures and talking to
legislators from other States, what makes sense for
one State may not make sense for another State, giv-
en the competing interests at play. See, e.g., Kearney
& Mareschal, supra, at 64 (noting that “[a] variety of
important issues [related to collective bargaining]
had to be faced by the state lawmakers,” and
“[ljegislative outcomes were hammered out in fierce
battles fought between public employee unions, pub-
lic employers, and numerous interest groups”). Al-
lowing these decisions to be made at the state level
also means that laws can be shaped to reflect the cul-
ture and politics of the individual State. See, e.g.,
Drummonds, supra, at 585 (noting that “[mJjany of
the states in the American South, Southwest, Plains,
and Rocky Mountains areas operate under [“right-to-
work”] laws now deeply imbedded in local culture”);
Kearney & Mareschal, supra, at 68 (observing that

21

“fhjistory and political culture have predisposed the
southern states against unions”).

Petitioners argue that the divergence of State ap-
proaches undermines any claim that arrangements
like the one at issue here pass constitutional muster,
see Pet’'rs’ Br. 12 (noting that “public-sector unions
are flourishing in the federal government and the
many states that prohibit agency fees”), but this
misses the fundamental point that different regimes
work in different States. The Constitution does not
tie the hands of state employers, denying them the
discretion to choose the rules most conducive to labor
stability and efficiency. That state legislators in
some States have decided that their State is better
served by a regime that does not allow for agency fee
arrangements says nothing about whether such ar-
rangements are critical to the stability of labor rela-
tions, and hence the effective provision of public ser-
vices, in other States. Indeed, the fact that States
have made different decisions about how to structure
public-sector collective bargaining generally reflects
the different values and belief systems of people in
different States, as well as the varying histories of
different States. See, e.g., Kearney & Mareschal, su-
pra, at 67 (observing that “[t]he states with compre-
hensive bargaining laws tend to share certain traits
and experiences’).

The Court should credit the reasoned judgment of
those States that do allow for agency fee arrange-
ments that those arrangements are an important and
effective method of ensuring that unions are able to
fulfill their exclusive-representation duties. This is
particularly true because States have relied on Abood
in crafting these arrangements for decades. Based on
their familiarity with labor relations in their States
and the laws governing public sector collective bar-

22

gaining, those amici state legislators who serve in
States that allow for agency fee arrangements know
how disruptive it would be if this Court were to inval-
idate those relationships. Relying on this Court’s de-
cision in Abood and its holding that public sector un-
ions can rely on agency fees to ensure they will have
the resources necessary to fulfill their duties as em-
ployees’ exclusive bargaining representative, “public
entities of all stripes have entered into multi-year
contracts with unions containing such clauses.” Har-
ris, 134 S. Ct. at 2652 (Kagan, J., dissenting); see id.
(“governments and unions across the country have
entered into thousands of contracts involving millions
of employees in reliance on Abood. Reliance interests
do not come any stronger.”); id. at 2645 (noting Abood
rule is “deeply entrenched”). A decision overturning
Abood would interfere with all of those contracts.

A decision overturning Abood would also invite
significant ‘itigation in States across the country, as
non-members would likely seek to recoup agency fees
paid in the past. Since this Court decided Harris v.
Quinn and held that agency fee arrangements are in-
valid in the context of home health care workers who
are not full public employees, numerous lawsuits
have been filed seeking the repayment of agency fees.
See, e.g., Brown v. Brown, No. 6:15-cv-01523 (D. Or.
complaint filed Aug. 12, 2015); Winner v. Rauner, No.
1:15-cv-07213 (N.D. Ill. complaint filed Aug. 17,
2015); Mentele v. Inslee, No. 3:15-cv-05134 (W.D.
Wash. complaint filed Mar. 4, 2015). The litigation
that would be spurred by a decision overturning
Abood would almost certainly be significantly great-

er.

In sum, amici know well the complicated calculus
involved in determining how to structure public sec-
tor labor relations, and they know how much of that

23

decisionmaking is based on local interests and values.
Overturning Abood and imposing one uniform rule on
the entire country would not only cause significant
disruption in the many States that use agency fee ar-
rangements, it would also take decisionmaking on
this important issue away from the state officials who
are best positioned to engage in it. Nothing in tle
First Amendment or this Court’s precedents requires
that result, and the decision of the court of appeals
should be affirmed.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the Court should af-
firm the judgment of the court of appeals.

Respectfully submitted,

ELIZABETH B. WYDRA*

BRIANNE J. GOROD

DAVID H. GANS

CONSTITUTIONAL
ACCOUNTABILITY CENTER

1200 18th Street NW
Suite 501

Washington, D.C. 20036

(202) 296-6889

elizabeth@theusconstitution.org

Counsel for Amici Curiae
November 13, 2015 * Counsel of Record

APPENDIX

la

APPENDIX:

LIST OF AMICI*
Abeler, Jim
Former Representative of Minnesota

Benton, Don
Senator of Washington

Bishop, Click
Senator of Alaska

Brown, Adam
Representative of Illinois

Bryant, Terri
Representative of Illinois

Butler, Marc
Assemblymember of New York

Cathcart, Richard C.
Former Representative of Delaware

Costa, Doreen
Representative of Rhode Island

Colver, Jim
Representative of Alaska

Davidsmeyer, C.D.
Representative of Illinois

DiGirolamo, Gene
Representative of Pennsylvania

2a
LIST OF AMICI — cont'd

Duprey, Janet
Assemblymember of New York

Golden, Martin
Senator of New York

Hammond, Norine
Representative of Illinois

Hannon, Kemp
Senator of New York

Hicks, Ron
Representative of Missouri

Howard, Seth A.
Delegate of Maryland

Kay, Dwight
Representative of Illnois

Lancia, Robert B.
Representative of Rhode Island

Lanza, Andrew
Senator of New York

LaTourette, Steve
Former Representative of Ohio in the U.S.

House of Representatives

Latvala, Jack
Senator of Florida

3a
LIST OF AMICI — cont'd

LeDoux, Gabrielle
Representative of Alaska

Lofink, Vincent
Former Representative of Delaware

Martins, Jack
Senator of New York

McCann, Sam
Senator of Illinois

Miloscia, Mark
Senator of Washington

Mitchell, Bill
Representative of Illinois

Mullin, Kevin J.
Senator of Vermont

Munoz, Cathy
Representative of Alaska

Murray, Dean
Assemblymember of New York

Nozzolio, Michael
Senator of New York

Oberle, Jr., William A.
Former Representative of Delaware

4a
LIST OF AMICI — cont'd

Poe, Raymond
Representative of Illinois

Ra, Edward
Assemblymember of New York

Ramone, Michael
Representative of Delaware

Roach, Pam
Senator of Washington

Robach, Joseph
Senator of New York

Savage, John A.
Former Representative of Rhode Island

Saviano, Angelo “Skip”
Former Representative of Illinois

Seaton, Paul
Representative of Alaska

Smyk, Stephen T.
Representative of Delaware

Stec, Dan
Assemblymember of New York

Stevens, Gary
Senator of Alaska

5a
LIST OF AMICI — cont'd

Stutes, Louise
Representative of Alaska

Thompson, Steve
Representative of Alaska

Tilton, Cathy
Representative of Alaska

Volker, Dale
Former Senator of New York

* Amici who no longer serve in a state legislature
or Congress join solely in their individual capacities
as former members of a state legislature or Congress.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0322%3A61. Public record. Not legal advice.
