# Amicus Curiae Brief — Friedrichs v. Cal. Teachers Ass'n, 135 S. Ct. 2933 (2015) (No. 14-915)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0322%3A21

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2015

## Text

ryet

MOV 13 cic

No. 14-915

In the Supreme Court of the United States

REBECCA FRIEDRICHS, ET AL., PETITIONERS
v.
CALIFORNIA TEACHERS ASSOCIATION, ET AL.

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES AS AMICUS CURIAE
SUPPORTING RESPONDENTS

DONALD B. VERRILLI, JR.

Solicitor General
Counsel of Record
M. PATRICIA SMITH EDWIN S. KNEEDLER
Solicitor of Labor Demity Solicitor General
EDWARD D. SIEGER JouN F. BASH uP
Senior Attorney Assistant to the Solicitor
ADAM R. PULVER General
ALEX VAN SCHAICK Department of Justice
Attorneys Washington, D.C. 20530-0001
Department of Labor SupremeCtBriefs@ usdoj.gov
Washington, D.C. 20210 (202) 514-2217

* , - &
Suis s _. =

OFFICE OF THES

«7

!

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether Abood v. Detroit Board of Education,
431 U.S. 209 (1977), which held that public employers
may require their employees to pay a union selected
as their exclusive representative an “agency fee” to
cover a proportionate share of the union’s costs of
collective bargaining, contract administration, and
grievance adjustment, should be overruled.

2. Whether it violates the First Amendment for a
public employer to require employees to indicate an-
nually whether they object to paying the portion of an
agency fee that is not constitutionally chargeable.

(1D

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
ED BO iccccercancercnemnenmmns 1
iittala car prcrreennaannarintinctncesmenmmninennuimeans 1
III ccnsccsnscsundinnaggensennsenennsemnmnseueteesmesmmemenecte 8
Argument:
I. Abood was correctly decided and should
ee aeniestcctetinsetcneitstinnnsensennnnnminmmmnannnne 11
A. Conditions of public employment are
valid if they are reasonably related to
the government’s interest as an employer.......... 11
B. The line that Abood drew reflects a reason-
able accommodation of the government’s
interests as an employer with public em-
ployees’ First Amendment rights......................... 18
1. A public employer has a legitimate
interest in permitting agency fees
to solve the free-rider problem
inherent in exclusive representation ........... 19
2. Agency fees satisfy the standards
that this Court has applied to
evaluate conditions of public
a EE 26
C. Petitioners have identified no special
justification to overrule the Abood line
OF a cccecccereenesecenatingeasemmnsennsensenancseasnseenceses 30
II. The notice procedure permitted by California
law does not violate the First Amendment................. 34
I cccssnsnsteasencenicintninrsarcnicsillttnssiaeaniainiintanlbimesapsinescscsmnase 36
Appendix — Constitutional, statutory and regulatory
ED ctncncccenersenageccscssnnsncsncsnenmseemeneneecemeencsets la

(IIT)

IV

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases: Page

Abood v. Detroit Bd. of Educ., 431 U.S. 209

COPD ccarnsseenscassnennsnensssncsensenccsunmeensseseese passim
Air Line Pilots Ass'n v. Miller, 523 U.S. 866 (1998) a 20
American Ship Bldg. Co. v. NLRB, 380 U.S. 300

(1965)........ senhiplieeneennasiepesmenaiettitieninttenmneneemees 21
Board of County Come! rs v. Umbehr, 518 U.S.

i cenennerrequenseeccensemneasestntsinteememenennesmenenanmens 16
Board of Regents of Univ. of Wis. Sys. v.

Southworth, 529 U.S. 217 (2000) . yemenpemenementnens 31
Borough of Duryea v. Guarnieri, 131 S. Ct.

ae cocrnnrnsnsesnnssssscenesnnernepsemantensssesectimnesnnmnces 13, 18
Branti v. Finkel, 445 U.S. 507 (1980) ............ccccceceeseeeees 14, 28
Chicago Teachers Union, Local No. 1 v.

Hudson, 475 U.S. 292 (1986)..........cccccessesseceereeenees 31, 33, 35

City of Madison Joint Sch. Dist. No. 8 v.
Wisconsin Emp’t Relations Comm'n,

a ee ee ee rretetertcescctsntiterntncmnsemenseemeeenmnesen 27
City of Ontario v. Quon, 560 U.S. 746

(2010)....... soiesnsnediabeatnenenteesemntenmmmenmgmenee 15, 29
Communications Workers of Am. v. Beck,

487 U.S. 735 (1988)... 2, 3, 15, 20, 23, 33
Connick v. Myers, 461 U.S. 138 (1983)............c.cecceeseee 12, 13
Dickerson v. United States, 530 U.S. 428

SIE ccnittncatesvotennanscetisatuesdesatuentecesnaninenteeetemensssscmecsesncsents 31
Ellis v. Railway Clerks, 466 U.S. 435 (1984) sienenmmesnennginans 32
Elrod v. Burns, 427 U.S. 347 (1976) ........00+0++ .. 5, 15, 30
Engquist v. Oregon Dep't of Agric., 553 U.S. 591

Gi ccnccnsesetssesneantenenalinnmiiedbcemenmnemenmeremnee 14, 15

Fort Stewart Sch. v. Federal Labor Relations
Auth. , 495 U.S. 641 (1900).......0cccccccsecscccscsecccccsccsccsessecsecsee 30

Cases—Continued: Page
Garcetti v. Ceballos, 547 U.S. 410
CBG) .ncccccscscscecesccececrsnecocece 12, 13, 18, 28, 29, 30

Gilpin v. American Fed'n of State, County,
& Mun. Emps., AFL-CIO, 875 F.2d 1310

(7th Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 917 (1989) ..............000.- 20
Glickman v. Wileman Bros. & Elliott, Inc.,

Ee 32
Harris v. Quinn, 134 S. Ct. 2618 a 17, 26, 30, 32
International Ass'n of Machinists v. Street,

ET Te 3, 20, 33
Keller v. State Bar, 496 U.S. 1 (1990)................ 19, 20, 31, 33
Keyishian v. Board of Regents, 385 U.S. 589

Sainte lene nenta cham tees nratananatrsiitainee 5
Knoz v. Service Emps. Int'l Union, 132 S. Ct.

etait iaittiaaaetat iets iatiaerea inlet inane menanemanes 17, 34
Lehnert v. Ferris Faculty Ass'n, 500 U.S. 507

ne passim
Locke v. Karass, 555 U.S. 207 (2009) ............ccccccsessceecseeeeees 16
McAuliffe v. Mayor, 29 N.E. 517 (Mass. 1892).................. 12
Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer Studios Inc. v. Grokster,

8 21
NASA v. Nelson, 562 U.S. 134 (2011)............cccccccesecseeeseesees 15
O'Connor v. Ortega, 480 U.S. 709 (1987) .........c.cceesceeees 15, 29
O’Hare Truck Serv., Inc. v. City of Northlake,

Tee 14, 18, 28
Ohio Bell Tel. Co. v. Public Utils. Comm’n,

LI) Te 36
Perry v. Sindermann, 408 U.S. 593 (1972) ..............0000+. 5, 14
Pickering v. Board of Educ. of Twp. High Sch. Dist.

A 13

Railway Employes’ Dep't v. Hanson, 351 U.S. 225

VI

Cases—Continued: Page
Rutan v. Republican Party, 497 U.S. 62 (1990)..... 12, 14, 18
United States v. United Foods, Inc., 533 U.S.

405 (2001) sestetnciensacecatiniienientsiatatmaignnmneemeetemmenceseenanetnats 32
Wainwright v. Sykes, 433 U.S 72 (1977) ene 34
Williamson County Reg Planning Comm'n v.

Hamilton Bank, 473 U.S. 172 (1985).............-cc-essesseeeseees 35

Constitution, statutes, regulations and rules:

U.S. Const.:
SE Ti laciahnscencsniaiinmmiennanimantinnismenmneened passim, la
II 1 scricrenapenienenniannieenisnsnmniattnmmenietinasenmuaguaietiin 13
BREE BF cence 15
National Labor Relations Act, ch. 372, 49 Stat. 449°
ESTE Ces ee 2
tia cneereannneiameneendeaniens 2
a ciinicreecnainnaammnmnnins ussheimanipies 3
Be eicceennenencesnneesesimenmmnecmanen 2, la
es Be itiicrnsnresenecnctenninpumemnennienieieens 3, 20, 2a
ane 2
29 U.S.C. 164(b)............. me sahinsiidenaialtlanaiainpesibi 3
Railway Labor Act, 45 U.S.C. 8 ease:
45 U.S.C. 162 (Eleventh) ................ccccccsssecsscessesess 3, 20, 3a
Taft-Hartley Act, ch. 120, 61 Stat. 136:
en 2
Cal. Gov’t Code (West 2010):
STITT this hadiaceespeaniaeiieinhaatemnenniannienatenneaseemnnneiainmiinatsionstion 6, 6a
Sasi cosinshintisseneniitaietinipennsinnamsenntiennemmnamenntinionemnel 6
§ 3543.2(a) (West Supp. 2015) ...........c.cccsesececeeeeneneseees 6, 6a

VII

Statutes, regulations and rules—Continued: Page
ESE ara eae ee eee 6, 10a
Siders iia clash tianaeiei iid 6, 10a
ce 6, lla

Cal. Code Regs. tit. 8 (2015):
STE RE ee OR 7, 13a
STITT isthe anesininliaiitiniidies 7, 15a

Fed. R. Civ. P.:
EE ae eee 35
Eee ee wee 35
TET EE Te a EE 35
Ec ee ae 35

Ee a eT ane 34

Miscellaneous:

H.R. Rep. No. 972, 74th Cong., Ist Sess. (1935)............. 1, 22

Casey Ichniowski & Jeffrey S. Zax, Right-to-Work
Laws, Free Riders, and Unionization in the Local

Public Sector, 9 J. Lab. Econ. 255 (July 1991) ................ 22
N.Y. Governor’s Comm. on Pub. Emp. Relations,
ict nteninineteiiieaistiniticanisnianinrinaanecmnenaee 4

Joseph E. Slater, Public Workers: Government

Employee Unions, the Law, and the State,

1900-1962 (2004)........ sslalineitibaiaibidianinbiaiineteneememmnatates 4
S. Rep. No. 105, 80th Cong., ist Sess. es 2
Richard H. Thaler & Cass R. Sunstein, Nudge:

Improving Decisions About Health, Wealth,

I etrcctninciccrincerenntcnensannttnnnsiacneninenecnsteas 35

In the Supreme Court of the Gnited States

No. 14-915
REBECCA FRIEDRICHS, ET AL., PETITIONERS
Vv.
CALIFORNIA TEACHERS ASSOCIATION, ET AL.

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES AS AMICUS CURIAE
SUPPORTING RESPONDENTS

INTEREST OF THE UNITED STATES

The principal question in this case is whether
Abood v. Detroit Board of Education, 431 U.S. 209
(1977), should be overruled. Abood held that the First
Amendment permits public employers to require their
employees to pay a fee to a union selected as their
exclusive representative to cover the costs of collec-
tive bargaining, contract administration, and griev-
ance adjustment. Although the United States does
not require its employees to pay fees to their exclusive
representatives, the National Labor Relations Act and
the Railway Labor Act permit agency-fee arrange-
ments for covered employees.

STATEMENT

1. In the early twentieth century, the Nation expe-
rienced substantial “industrial unrest engendered
* * * by the denial of the right of employees to or-

(1)

2

ganize and by the refusal of employers to accept the
procedure of collective bargaining.” H.R. Rep. No.
972, 74th Cong., lst Sess. 6 (1935) (NLRA House
Report). In response to that problem, Congress en-
acted the National Labor Relations Act (NLRA) in
1935 to stabilize the Nation’s private-sector labor
relations. Ch. 372, 49 Stat. 449 (29 U.S.C. 151 et seq.).

Under the NLRA, a majority of employees in a unit
may select a union to serve as their exclusive repre-
sentative to bargain in good faith with the employer
“in respect to rates of pay, wages, hours of employ-
ment, or other conditions of employment.” 29 U.S.C.
159(a). The exclusive representative must fairly rep-
resent all employees in the unit. Communications
Workers of Am. v. Beck, 487 U.S. 735, 739, 743 (1988);
NLRA House Report 18-19. Congress determined
that this framework would “safeguard[] commerce
from injury, impairment, or interruption, and pro-
mote[] the flow of commerce by removing certain
recognized sources of industrial strife and unrest.” 29
U.S.C. 151.

The NLRA originally allowed employers to agree
to a “closed shop”—that is, to hire only union mem-
bers. 29 U.S.C. 158(3) (1940); see NLRA House Re-
port 17. In 1947, Congress amended the NLRA to
prohibit the closed shop. Taft-Hartley Act, ch. 120,
§ 101, 61 Stat. 140-141. But Congress was concerned
that with that change, “many employees sharing the
benefits of what unions are able to accomplish by
collective bargaining [would] refuse to pay their share
of the cost.” S. Rep. No. 105, 80th Cong., Ist Sess. 7
(1947); see Beck, 487 U.S. at 748-750 & n.5. To ad-
dress that “free rider” problem, Congress permitted
an employer and a union to enter into a “union shop”

3

agreement (if not prohibited by state law) requiring
all employees to join a union after being hired, but
barring their discharge for expulsion from the union
on a ground other than failing to pay dues. See 29
U.S.C. 158(a)(3), 164(b); see also Beck, 487 U.S. at 745.
And four years later, again recognizing the free-rider
problem, Congress amended the Railway Labor Act
(RLA) to authorize railroads to enter into such
agreements even where state law prohibits them. 45
U.S.C. 152 (Eleventh); see Beck, 487 U.S. at 750-751.

In Railway Employes’ Department v. Hanson, 351
U.S. 225 (1956), and International Ass’n of Machin-
ists v. Street, 367 U.S. 740 (1961), this Court consid-
ered First Amendment challenges to the RLA provi-
sion. In Hanson, the Court first held that RLA union-
shop agreements are imbued with governmental ac-
tion when they displace state-law prohibitions on such
agreements. 351 U.S. at 232. The Court then held
that “the requirement for financial support of the
collective-bargaining agency by all who receive the
benefits of its work” does not violate the First
Amendment. /d. at 238. Subsequently, in Street, the
Court construed the RLA provision to avoid a serious
constitutional question by holding that dues collected
from objecting employees may be used to “defray the
expenses of the negotiation or administration of col-
lective agreements, or the expenses entailed in the
adjustment of grievances and disputes,” but not “to
support candidates for public office, and advance polit-
ical programs.” 367 U.S. at 750, 768. The Court later
interpreted the NLRA to embody the same limitation.
Beck, 487 U.S. at 762-763.

2. The NLRA excludes public employees from cov-
erage. 29 U.S.C. 152(2). For decades after its enact-

4

ment, governments generally did not permit their
employees to bargain collectively. That prohibition
could produce volatile labor relations that threatened
disruptions of government services. See, eg., N.Y.
Governor’s Comm. on Pub. Emp. Relations, Final
Report 9 (1966); Att’y Gen. of Cal. Br. 2. But begin-
ning in 1959, many States adopted labor-relations
frameworks for public employees modeled on the
NLRA, including the right of workers to democrati-
cally select an exclusive representative, and the rep-
resentative’s corresponding duty to fairly represent
all employees in a unit. See Joseph E. Slater, Public
Workers: Government Employee Unions, the Law,
and the State, 1900-1962, at 71-72 (2004). Certain
States also authorized public employers to enter into
“agency shop” agreements requiring employees who
choose not to join the union selected as their exclusive
representative to pay the union “agency fees.”

In Abood v. Detroit Board of Education, 431 U.S.
209 (1977), public employees challenged an agency-
shop agreement on the ground that it violated the
“line of decisions holding that public employment
cannot be conditioned upon the surrender of First
Amendment rights.” Jd. at 226. Agreeing with the
challengers in part, the Court held that the First
Amendment permits public employers to authorize
fees only to the same extent as private-sector employ-
ers may do under the RLA and NLRA: to cover the
costs of the union’s activities “germane to its duties as
collective-bargaining representative,” including “col-
lective bargaining, contract administration, and griev-
ance adjustment,” but not to subsidize “the expression
of political views” or activities “on behalf of political
candidates, or toward the advancement of other ideo-

5

logical causes” unrelated to its bargaining duties. /d.
at 225-226, 235-236. That distinction, the Court held,
followed from the Court’s precedents addressing the
speech and expressive-association rights of public
employees. See id. at 234 (citing Elrod v. Burns, 427
U.S. 347 (1976); Perry v. Sindermann, 408 U.S. 593
(1972); and Keyishian v. Board of Regents, 385 U.S.
589 (1967)).

The Court later distilled from Abood and other
precedents a three-part standard for determining
which union expenditures are “chargeable” to non-
members. Lehnert v. Ferris Faculty Ass'n, 500 U.S.
507, 519 (1991). Chargeable activities “must (1) be
‘germane’ to collective-bargaining activity; (2) be
justified by the government’s vital policy interest in
labor peace and avoiding ‘free riders’; and (3) not
significantly add to the burdening of free speech that
is inherent in the allowance of an agency or union
shop.” Jbid. Four Justices would have defined “ger-
mane” activities to encompass only activities “reason-
ably necessary” to fulfillment of the union’s statutory
duties as a bargaining agent, see id. at 557 (Scalia, J.,
concurring in the judgment in part and dissenting in
part); id. at 564 (Kennedy, J., concurring in the judg-
ment in part and dissenting in part), while four other
Justices would have concluded that a somewhat
broader set of activities related “to the ratification or
implementation” of the union’s collective-bargaining
agreement are included in that term, id. at 520 (opin-
ion of Blackmun, J.). But eight Justices agreed, for
example, that lobbying expenses are not chargeable if
they do not relate exclusively to “the ratification or
implementation of [the relevant] collective-bargaining
agreement.” bid.

6

3. California permits its public-school employees to
bargain collectively over wages and other terms of
employment. Cal. Gov’t Code § 3540 (West 2010). As
under the NLRA, 2 majority of employees in a bar-
gaining unit may select an “employee organization” as
their exclusive representative, which then must fairly
represent every employee in the unit. Jd. §§ 3543.1(a),
3544, 3544.9. The scope of the exclusive representa-
tion includes “matters relating to wages, hours of
employment, and other terms and conditions of em-
ployment,” such as certain benefits, leave and transfer
policies, safety concerns, class-size issues, and evalua-
tion and grievance procedures. /d. § 3543.2(a)(1)
(West Supp. 2015).

California law provides that if an employee organi-
zation selected as an exclusive representative furnish-
es notice to a public employer, each employee within a
bargaining unit who has not joined the employee or-
ganization must, “as a condition of continued employ-
ment, * * * pay [a] fair share service fee” (7.¢., an
agency fee), unless a majority of employees vote to
rescind the fee. Cal. Gov’t Code § 3546(a) and (d)
(West 2010). The fee “shall cover the cost of negotia-
tion, contract administration, and other activities of
the employee organization that are germane to its
functions as the exclusive bargaining representative.”
Id. § 3546(a). Although the fee may cover other ex-
penses, nonmember employees “have the right * * *
to receive a rebate or fee reduction upon request, of
that portion of their fee that is not devoted to the cost
of negotiations, contract administration, and other
activities of the employee organization that are ger-
mane to its function as the exclusive bargaining repre-
sentative,” ibid. An exclusive representative must

7

furnish annual notice to each nonmember of the
amount of the agency fee, the percentage attributable
to chargeable expenses, and the procedure for object-
ing to payment of the nonchargeable portion or chal-
lenging the union’s calculations. Cal. Code Regs.
tit. 8, § 32992(a) (2015). The objection procedure
requires that employees have at least 30 days to file
written objections to paying the nonchargeable por-
tion. Id. § 32993.

4. Petitioners include California public-school
teachers who have elected in the past not to pay the
nonchargeable portion of the agency fees. Pet. App.
46a-5la. They object to many of the unions’ public-
policy positions, as well as to positions taken in collec-
tive bargaining. /d. at 46a-49a. Petitioners filed suit
against the unions, the unions’ state and national
affiliates, and the executive officers of their school
districts. Jd. at 4la, 52a-55a. They allege that the
agency-fee requirement violates the First Amendment
both by requiring nonunion employees to pay even the
chargeable portion of the fees and by requiring nonun-
ion employees to object annually if they decide not to
pay the nonchargeable portion. /d. at 69a-73a; see
J.A. 663. Respondent State of California intervened
to defend the constitutionality of its laws. Pet. App.
4a.

Petitioners moved for judgment to be entered
against them on the pleadings, acknowledging that
their claims were foreclosed by controlling precedent.
Pet. App. 7a. The district court granted the motion.
Id. at 8a. On petitioners’ motion, the court of appeals
summarily affirmed. /d. at la-2a.

8

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

I. This Court held in Abood v. Detroit Board of
Education, 431 U.S. 209 (1977), that a public employer
may require its employees to pay fees to an exclusive
representative to cover a proportionate share of the
costs of collective bargaining, contract administration,
and grievance adjustment. The Court should reaffirm
that holcing because it is correct.

A. Petitioners’ attack on Abood rests on a funda-
mental legal error: that conditions of public employ-
ment that advance a public agency’s interest as an
employer are subject to “exacting” scrutiny under the
First Amendment. This Court has never so held. To
the contrary, in an array of contexts, including the
political-affiliation cases on which petitioners rely, this
Court has afforded public employers broad leeway to
establish “reasonable” or “appropriate” conditions
that advance the government’s interest as an employ-
er, while remaining vigilant to ensure that the gov-
ernment does not leverage the employment relation-
ship to stifle employees’ broader expressive activities
as citizens. Petitioners’ attempt to demolish this
Court’s settled framework for analyzing conditions of
public employment would astonish the Founding gen-
eration and would stamp out the State-by-State varia-
tion in public-employment structures that has been
the hallmark of this Court’s First Amendment juris-
prudence for decades.

B. Considered in light of the principles that this
Court invariably employs to evaluate conditions on
public employment, Abood reached the right result,
for the right reasons. The time-tested collective-
bargaining framework instituted by the NLRA relies
crucially on the designation of a single, democratically

9

elected employee representative that is duty-bound to
fairly represent all employees in a unit. As Congress
has determined, and as this Court has explained on
numerous occasions, that framework inevitably pro-
duces a serious “free rider” problem—a problem that
petitioners fundamentally misunderstand. The prob-
lem is not merely that employees who object to the
union’s bargaining positions will “free ride” on the
union’s efforts. Rather, even the employees who favor
the union’s positions will have no incentive to fund the
union if they can reap the benefits of the union’s work
without spending a dime.

The consequence is that those who remain mem-
bers of the union—based on their own associational
choice—are statutorily obligated to subsidize the free
riders for the union’s work on their behalf. Abood
correctly held that public employers may reasonably
conclude that, by eliminating the moral hazard inher-
ent in exclusive representation, agency-shop agree-
ments significantly promote their vital interest in
productive collective-bargaining relationships, amelio-
rate the workplace resentments that could arise if
union members are required to shoulder the costs of
attaining. benefits for other employees, and foster a
productive and effective public workforce.

Abood alse correctly recognized that the burden on
the expressive activities of public employees who truly
object to the union’s bargaining positions—as opposed
to employees who simply want to free ride—is not so
substantial as to render the condition of employment
unreasonable or inappropriate. No public employee is
prohibited from speaking out against the union and its
positions in the workplace or in the public arena. And
Abood ensures that mandatory fees can never support

10

political campaigns, legislative lobbying outside of the
ratification or funding of a collective-bargaining
agreement, or other classically ideological activities—
i.e., those activities that have no connection to the
government’s concrete interest as an employer. As a
result, the Abood rule places both public employers
and public employees in the same position as their
private-sector counterparts who operate under
agency-shop agreements.

C. Petitioners have identified no special justifica-
tion to discard a precedent that has governed public-
sector labor relations for nearly four decades, has
been repeatedly applied by this Court, and has helped
form the foundation for other First Amendment doc-
trines. Overruling the Abood line of cases would dis-
rupt the many state and local government agencies
that have structured their labor relations in reliance
on this Court’s constitutional pronouncements.

II. Requiring public employees to indicate their
objection to paying nonchargeable expenses on an
annual form—a procedure this Court has repeatedly
approved—does not violate the First Amendment.
Contrary to petitioners’ unsupported supposition, it is
often true that an individual must object to invoke a
constitutional right. An employee who is unwilling to
exert even the minimal effort necessary to check a box
and mail in a form suffers no cognizable First
Amendment harm.

11

ARGUMENT

I. ABOOD WAS CORRECTLY DECIDED AND SHOULD
BE REAFFIRMED

This Court held in Abood v. Detroit Board of Edu-
cation, 431 U.S. 209 (1977), that a public employer
may require its employees to pay a proportionate
share of an exclusive representative’s costs of collec-
tive bargaining, contract administration, and griev-
ance adjustment, but that it may not require employ-
ees to subsidize the representative’s political or ideo-

logical activities. That holding should be reaffirmed
because it is correct.

A. Conditions Of Public Employment Are Valid If They
Are Reasonably Related To The Government’s Interest
As An Employer

Petitioners’ attack on Abood rests on a fundamen-
tally mistaken premise: that a condition of public
employment that advances the government’s legiti-
mate interests as an employer, rather than as a sov-
ereign or regulator, is subject to “exacting” scrutiny
under the First Amendment. See Pet. Br. 10, 15-20.
That view has no support in the original understand-
ing of the First Amendment, and it conflicts with this
Court’s long line of precedents addressing the rights
of public employees. Far from the “jurisprudential
outlier” that petitioners portray (Br. 2), Abood fits
comfortably within the broader constellation of consti-
tutional precedents governing conditions of public
employment. Indeed, what petitioners seek is an
exception to the general rule.

1. The First Amendment proscribes laws “abridg-
ing the freedom of speech.” A condition on public
employment related to an employee’s expressive

12

activities was not originally understood to be an
“abridg{ment)” of the freedom of speech at all. For
over a century and a half after the First Amendment
was adopted, “the unchallenged dogma was that a
public employee had no right to object to conditions
placed upon the terms of employment—including
those which restricted the exercise of constitutional
rights.” Garcetti v. Ceballos, 547 U.S. 410, 417 (2006)
(quoting Connick v. Myers, 461 U.S. 138, 143 (1983)).
As Justice Holmes famously put it, a policeman “may
have a constitutional right to talk politics, but he has
no constitutional right to be a policeman.” McAuliffe
v. Mayor, 29 N.E. 517, 517 (Mass. 1892). Thus, for
example, the requirement that an employee be a
member of a particular political party “was, without
any thought that it could be unconstitutional, a basis
for government employment from the earliest days of
the Republic.” Rutan v. Republican Party, 497 U.S.
62, 96 (1990) (Scalia, J., dissenting).

This Court departed from that understanding of
the First Amendment “in the 1950’s and early 1960's,”
in cases involving requirements that “public employ-
ees * * * swear oaths of loyalty to the State and
reveal the groups with which they associated.” Con-
nick, 461 U.S. at 144. The Court in those cases sought
to address the emerging fear that the government
could “leverage the employment relationship to re-
strict, incidentally or intentionally, the liberties em-
ployees enjoy in their capacities as private citizens.”
Garcetti, 547 U.S. at 419. The Court has therefore
drawn a sharp distinction between conditions of public
employment reflecting the sorts of interests and con-
cerns ordinarily held by private-sector employers and
employees, for which public employers receive broad

13

deference, and conditions by which a public employer
might exploit the employment relationship to curtail
the exercise of public employees’ constitutional rights
as private citizens, outside the employment relation-
ship.

2. That basic distinction forms the foundation for a
number of well-settled constitutional rules.

a. In the line of cases beginning with Pickering v.
Board of Education of Township High School District
205, 391 U.S. 563 (1968), this Court has set out a
framework for analyzing claims that a public employer
unconstitutionally penalized an employee for her ex-
pressive activities. Under that framework, if an em-
ployee did not speak “as a citizen on a matter of public
concern,” the “employee has no First Amendment
cause of action” at all. Garcetti, 547 U.S. at 418. But
as the Court explained in Garcetti, even if the speech
related to a matter of public concern, the employee’s
claim fails if “the relevant government entity had an
adequate justification for treating the employee dif-
ferently from any other member of the. general pub-
lic.” Ibid. (emphasis added); see Borough of Duryea
v. Guarnieri, 1381 S. Ct. 2488, 2500 (2011) (applying
same framework to Petition Clause claim).

In applying Pickering’s adequate-justification
standard, a court may not impose “an unduly onerous
burden on the State.” Connick, 461 U.S. at 149. Ra-
ther, it must “balance * * * the interests of the [em-
ployee], as a citizen, in commenting upon matters of
public concern and the interest of the State, as an
employer, in promoting the efficiency »f the public
services it performs through its employees.” Picker-
ing, 391 U.S. at 568. That framework is necessary
because “(t]he government’s interest in achieving its

14

goals as effectively and efficiently as possible is ele-
vated from a relatively subordinate interest when it
acts as sovereign to a significant one when it acts as
employer.” Engquist v. Oregon Dep’t of Agric., 553
U.S. 591, 598 (2008) (citation omitted).

b. This Court has articulated a parallel set of prin-
ciples for assessing claims that a public employee
suffered adverse employment consequences on ac-
count of membership in a political party. In those
cases, this Court held that, while party affiliation in
many circumstances would relate only to an employ-
ee’s role as a private citizen, it may be considered in
making employment decisions if the government “can
demonstrate that party affiliation is an appropriate
requirement for the effective performance of the pub-
lic office involved,” as with many policymaking jobs.
Branti v. Finkel, 445 U.S. 507, 518 (1980) (emphasis
added); see Rutan, 497 U.S. at 64-65, 70-71 nn.4-5.

That rule embodies the same solicitude for the gov-
ernment’s interests as an employer as does the Pick-
ering standard. Indeed, the political-affiliation cases
expressly relied on a Pickering case, Perry v. Sin-
dermann, 408 U.S. 593, 597-598 (1972). See O’Hare
Truck Serv., Inc. v. City of Northlake, 518 U.S. 712,
718 (1996); Branti, 445 U.S. at 514-516; see also Elrod
v. Burns, 427 U.S. 347, 375 (1976) (Stewart, J., con-
curring in the judgment). And in its most recent deci-
sion in this area, the Court explained that the ultimate
inquiry is simply “whether the affiliation requirement
is a reasonable one.” O’Hare, 518 U.S. at 719; ef.
Rutan, 497 U.S. at 101-102 (Scalia, J., dissenting).
Petitioners’ insistence (Br. 18-19) that “exacting scru-
tiny” applies to all political-affiliation employment
requirements—which is apparently drawn from Jus-

15

tice Brennan’s opinion for three Justices in Elrod, 427
U.S. at 362—is therefore incorrect.

c. This Court has also afforded public employers a
broad range of discretion to advance legitimate
employment-related interests with respect to other
constitutional rights. In the Fourth Amendment con-
text, for example, the Court has held that a public
employer may conduct a search of its employees’
employer-issued pagers without a warrant so long as
the search is “motivated by a legitimate work-related
purpose” and is “not excessive in scope.” City of On-
tario v. Quon, 560 U.S. 746, 764 (2010). The Court
further concluded that such a search by a public em-
ployer “would be regarded as reasonable and normal
in the private-employer context” and therefore would
be permissible under the approach of Justice Scalia’s
opinion concurring in the judgment in O'Connor v.
Ortega, 480 U.S. 709, 732 (1987). See 560 U.S. at 764-
765 (citation and internal quotation marks omitted).

The Court has also held that, in light of the “unique
considerations applicable when the government acts
as employer as opposed to sovereign,” the “class-of-
one theory of equal protection does not apply in the
public employment context.” Engquist, 553 U.S. at
598. And most recently, the Court held that a federal-
government background-check form does not violate
any assumed right to informational privacy, given the
government’s “much freer hand in dealing with citizen
employees than * * * when it brings its sovereign
power to bear on citizens at large.” NASA v. Nelson,
562 U.S. 134, 138, 148-149 (2011) (citations and inter-
nal quotation marks omitted).

3. Abood reflects the application of these general
constitutional principles to the specific context of

16

agency fees required “as a condition of employment.”
421 U.S. at 211. That is clear on the face of the opin-
ion. The primary First Amendment argument that
Abood considered was that public-sector agency fees
violated the “line of decisions holding that public em-
ployment cannot be conditioned upon the surrender of
First Amendment rights,” id. at 226, and the chal-
lengers had expressly relied on Pickering and Sin-
dermann, see Appellants Br. 35, Abood, supra (No.
75-1153). The Court drew the central distinction be-
tween activities germane to collective bargaining
within the employment relationship and political or
ideological activities from its public-employee cases,
citing Sindermann and Elrod. 431 U.S. at 233-235.
This Court has thus long grouped the Abood rule with
other First Amendment doctrines protecting govern-
ment workers from “unconstitutional conditions” of
employment, including the rules of Pickering and
Branti. See Board of County Comm’rs v. Umbehr,
518 U.S. 668, 674-675 (1996).

In the course of its analysis, Abood found that
“{tJhe same governmental interests recognized in
* * * Hanson and Street” supporting RLA fee ar-
rangements presumptively supported public-sector
agency-fee arrangements. 431 U.S. at 225. That was
because the RLA decisions rested on the premise that
an RLA union-shop agreement is also imbued with
governmental action, id. at 226-227 & n.23, and be-
cause the Court concluded that public employees do
not have weightier First Amendment interests than
private employees in not being required to pay their
fair share of their exclusive representative’s expenses,
id. at 229-230. See Locke v. Karass, 555 U.S. 207, 213-
214 (2009); see also Lehnert v. Ferris Faculty Ass’n,

17

500 U.S. 507, 516 (1991). Differences in collective
bargaining between the public and private sectors, the
Court explained, result from the external incentives
and political accountability of the public employer, not
from any differences regarding the public employee,
who remains free as a citizen to express his disagree-
ment with the union’s actions. See Abood, 431 U.S. at
230-232.

In any event, even if the Court were to conclude
that Abood’s analysis was less than pellucid, petition-
ers have identified no good reason as an original mat-
ter to review agency fees differently from any other
condition of public employment. Petitioners rely on
the Court’s application of a higher standard of scruti-
ny in Knox v. Service Employees International Un-
ion, 182 S. Ct. 2277 (2012), and Harris v. Quinn, 134
S. Ct. 2618 (2014). Those decisions, however, involved
fees that did not advance the government’s interest as
an employer—a one-time exaction to fund a “union’s
political and ideological activities,” Knox, 132 S. Ct. at
2284, and fees imposed on individuals that the Court
held not to be full-fledged public employees at all,
which would have required “a very significant expan-
sion of Abood” to uphold, Harris, 134 S. Ct. at 2637.

In Harris, the Court, in discussing Pickering, held
only that, given the particular “features of the [state-
law] scheme” governing the home health workers in
that case, under which the :nion had a “very restrict-
ed role,” the governmental interests ordinarily justify-
ing agency fees were not sufficiently implicated to
sustain the fees. 134 S. Ct. at 2640, 2643. In contrast,
for true public employees, positions taken by their
exclusive representative in the course of agency-fee-
supported contract negotiation and administration

18

within the employment relationship are directly anal-
ogous to other employee expression within the em-
ployment relationship, which under Pickering and
Garcetti is subject to reasonable regulation.

Accordingly, because “the Constitution’s prohibi-
tion against laws ‘abridging the freedom of speech’
does not apply to laws enacted in the government’s
capacity as employer in the same way that it does to
laws enacted in the government’s capacity as regula-
tor of private conduct,” Rutan, 497 U.S. at 95 (Scalia,
J., dissenting), petitioners’ central premise that “ex-
acting” scrutiny applies to all agency fees, even those
that fund only activities that advance the govern-
ment’s bona fide interests as an employer, is out of
step with the original understanding of the First
Amendment and this Court’s decisions from Pickering
to O’Hare to Guarnieri. This Court has always coun-
seled a “cautious and restrained approach” to review-
ing conditions of public employment, Guarnieri, 131
S. Ct. at 2495, 2500, asking whether the public em-
ployer had an “adequate justification” for the chal-
lenged action, Garcetti, 547 U.S. at 418, or whether a
job requirement was “appropriate,” Branti, 445 U.S.
at 518, or “reasonable,” O’Hare, 518 U.S. at 719. The
types of agency fees approved in Abood plainly satisfy
those standards.

B. The Line That Abood Drew Reflects A Reasonable
Accommodation Of The Government’s Interests As An
Employer With Public Employees’ First Amendment
Rights

Abood reached the right First Amendment result,

for the right reasons. Like their private-sector coun-
terparts, public employers can reasonably determine
that agency fees covering the cost of matters germane

19

to collective bargaining, contract administration, and
grievance adjustment advance the “vital [governmen-
tal] interests in preserving industrial peace,” Keller v.
State Bar, 496 U.S. 1, 13 (1990), by ensuring a robust
and fairly representative counterparty in bargaining
over the terms of employment and ensuring compli-
ance with agreed-upon terms, avoiding the resentment
that could arise if some employees were required to
subsidize benefits for other employees, and fostering a
productive and effective public workforce.

1. A public employer has a legitimate interest in
permitting agency fees to solve the free-rider
problem inherent in exclusive representation

a. Like private-sector employers, a public employ-
er has a legitimate—indeed, “vital”—interest in good
labor relations. Keller, 496 U.S. at 13. If employees
lack an agreed-upon outlet for their preferences, con-
cerns, and grievances about the terms and conditions
of employment, public agencies could experience crip-
pling disruptions that would bring government ser-
vices to a halt and could find themselves unable to
attract and retain the most talented workers.

The modern labor-relations framework that Con-
gress instituted in the NLRA—an elected exclusive
representative with a duty to fairly represent all
employees—promotes that interest. By allowing
employees to express their views through a single,
democratically selected representative that can serve
as an effective bargaining counterparty, public em-
ployers can achieve more stable labor relations and a
more satisfied and productive workforce.

Congress, however, has found that exclusive repre-
sentation can give rise to a serious free-rider problem,
because employees will realize that they can attain the

20

benefits of exclusive representation without paying for
them. See pp. 2-3, supra. This Court has on numer-
ous occasions recognized the validity of Congress’s
judgment in that respect. See, e.g., Air Line Pilots
Ass’n v. Miller, 523 U.S. 866, 872-873 (1998); Keller,
496 U.S. at 12; Abood, 431 U.S. at 224; International
Ass'n of Machinists v. Street, 367 U.S. 740, 765-766
(1961). And Congress, like many States, further de-
termined that requiring each employee in a bargain-
ing unit to defray a representative’s costs is one ap-
propriate means of solving that problem. 29 U.S.C.
158(a)(3); 45 U.S.C. 152 (Eleventh); see Communica-
tions Workers of Am. v. Beck, 487 U.S. 735, 755-756
(1988).

Throughout their brief, petitioners mischaracterize
the nature of the free-rider problem. The free riders
that this Court’s decisions have discussed are not only
those employees “who oppose union policies” advanced
in collective bargaining and who are therefore in some
sense “compelled by the government to ‘free ride’ on
unions.” Pet. Br. 34, 36-37 (emphasis omitted). The
free-rider problem also, and more broadly, stems from
“the employee who is happy to be represented by a
union but won’t pay any more for that representation
than he is forced to,” and who therefore “wants mere-
ly to shift as much of the cost of representation as
possible to other workers, i.e., union members.” Gil-
pin v. American Fed’n of State, County, & Mun.
Emps., AFL-CIO, 875 F.2d 1310, 1313 (7th Cir.) (Pos-
ner, J.) (emphasis added), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 917
(1989). But once a fair-representation requirement is
imposed, it is impossible to tell who is a true objector
and who just wants a free ride.

21

Ignoring Congress’s express judgment to the con-
trary, petitioners declare it “implausible” (Br. 33) that
many employees who favor the union’s bargaining
positions would not “voluntarily” support the union
financially. It is undoubtedly true that many employ-
ees, out of affinity with the union’s overall goals or for
other reasons, will join the union even without the
agency-fee requirement. And the rates of voluntary
union membership may vary from State to State and
from profession to profession. But in no other context
could it be defensibly maintained that those who bene-
fit from something available for free—be it public
infrastructure, police protection, or music downloads
from the Internet—must invariably be counted on to
voluntarily pay for it. Cf. Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer
Studios Inc. v. Grokster, Ltd., 545 U.S. 913, 928-929
(2005).

b. For at least two reasons, a public agency has a
legitimate interest, as an employer, in solving the
free-rider problem through agency fees. See Abood,
431 U.S. at 224-226.

First, the traditional collective-bargaining frame-
work requires vigorous, “eoequal” advocates on both
sides. American Ship Bldg. Co. v. NLRB, 380 U.S.
300, 317 (1965). But depending on the composition
and preferences of the workforce and what other
services or benefits a union is able to offer members,
the free-rider problem can undermine the effective-
ness of the employee representative. Bargaining,
after all, is not a matter of just showing up to a nego-
tiation session. As Abood explained, “[tJhe tasks of
negotiating and administering a collective-bargaining
agreement and representing the interests of employ-
ees in settling disputes and processing grievances are

22

continuing and difficult ones” that can require “(t]he
services of lawyers, expert negotiators, economists,
and a research staff, as well as general administrative
personnel.” 431 U.S. at 221.

Petitioners’ assert (Br. 30) that the government’s
only interest is ensuring that the elected union
does not “go bankrupt.” But the whole idea of the
collective-bargaining framework—the basic reason
that it helps resolve the most intractable and difficult
problems that confront a workplace—is that employee
interests are soundly represented at the bargaining
table and in other settings within the employment
relationship. An exclusive representative that is hov-
ering just above bankruptcy may be hard-pressed to
fulfill its responsibilities effectively.

Second, a public employer can reasonably conclude
that requiring union members to bear the potentially
significant costs of a bargaining agent’s efforts on
behalf of other employees—even those who welcome
free union representation—is fundamentally unfair
because it effectively penalizes union members. See
Abood, 431 U.S. at 221-222. Absent agency fees for
collective-bargaining expenses, an exclusive repre-
sentative may be forced to “increase the net price that
union members must pay in order to obtain union
services for themselves,” since those members must
subsidize the cost of bargaining, contract administra-
tion, and grievance adjustment for nonmembers.
Casey Ichniowski & Jeffrey S. Zax, Right-to-Work
Laws, Free Riders, and Unionization in the Local
Public Sector, 9 J. Lab. Econ. 255, 257 (July 1991)
(emphasis added). In effect, union members end up
with lower take-home pay than nonmembers based
solely on their own choice to affiliate with a union. It

23

is perfectly reasonable for a public employer to de-
termine that such unequal distribution of costs will
spawn resentment that will hamper the fulfillment of
its public mission. See Beck, 487 U.S. at 749-750; cf.
NLRA House Report 18 (“{I}f better terms were giv-
en to nonmembers, this would give rise to bitterness
and strife.”).

c. Petitioners liken (Br. 34) the endemic free-rider
problem in collective bargaining to the moral hazard
created by any organization that advocates policies
favored by nonmembers. But as Justice Scalia has
explained, that analogy overlooks “[w)hat is distinc-
tive * * * about the ‘free riders’ who are nonunion
members of the union’s own bargaining unit.”
Lehnert, 500 U.S. at 556 (concurring in the judgment
in part and dissenting in part). “[T]hey are free riders
whom the law requires the union to carry—indeed,
requires the union to go out of its way to benefit, even
at the expense of its other interests.” /bid. (emphasis
omitted); accord id. at 562-564 (Kennedy, J., concur-
ring in the judgment in part and dissenting in part);
see Abood, 431 U.S. at 224. Put another way, the
public employer refuses to bargain at all unless it can
bargain with a representative statutorily bound to
represent—and reach an agreement on behalf of—all
employees.

That policy of exclusive representation serves the
government’s basic interest as an employer in bar-
gaining with a single employee representative. See
pp. 19-23, supra. But it also gives rise to the free-
rider problem that could, paradoxically, render the
elected union a less effective bargaining counterparty
and foster resentment among employees forced to
bear the costs of supporting benefits for others. It is

24

for that reason—to ensure that collective bargaining
achieves its basic purposes—that when “the state
imposes upon the union a duty to deliver services, it
may permit the union to demand reimbursement for
them” from nonmembers. Lehnert, 500 U.S. at 556
(Scalia, J., concurring in the judgment in part and
dissenting in part).

Petitioners disagree (Br. 37-44) with that analysis
of the governmental interests justifying agency fees.
But their three critiques do not hold up.

Petitioners first argue (Br. 37-38) that “unions vol-
untarily assume the nondiscrimination ‘duty’ in order
to obtain the extraordinary power of exclusive repre-
sentation.” That misses the point. Although it is
trivially true that no union is required to step forward
to serve as the exclusive representative, the premise
of American labor law is that employers and employ-
ees alike have a vital interest in the benefits that flow
from an exclusive representative that fairly repre-
sents all employees. Once employees democratically
select a union, an employer can reasonably conclude
that it is inefficient and unfair to foist the entire cost
of the union’s execution of its statutory duties on
those employees who have chosen to join the union.

Petitioners also argue (Br. 41) that the duty to fair-
ly represent all employees “does not impose any
meaningful obligation on unions,” even though half-a-
breath later they concede that an exclusive repre-
sentative is statutorily barred “from advocating wage-
and-benefit systems that facially favor union mem-
bers.” Their argument seems to be that most exclu-
sive representatives do not actually engage in such
preferential advocacy. But that is because it has been
prohibited in the private sector since at least 1935

25

(and even so unions have at times violated that prohi-
bition, see Att’y Gen. of Cal. Br. 18 (citing cases)), and
because the main benefit of the system, from the per-
spective of any employer, public or private, is the
ability to bargain with a single representative of all
employees. That the duty of fair representation is
uniformly imposed does not change the fact that the
union is statutorily required to expend resources on
behalf of nonmembers, which justifies agency fees.

Finally, petitioners advert (Br. 43-44) to the disa-
greement among the Justices in Lehnert over whether
the governmental interests supporting agency fees
justify only fees for activities that are “reasonably
necessary” to the discharge of the union’s statutory
duties. 500 U.S. at 556-558 (Scalia, J., concurring in
the judgment in part and dissenting in part). But
reaffirming that the governmental interest supporting
agency fees arises from the exclusive representative’s
statutorily required “duty of fair representation to all
employees in the unit,” Abood, 431 U.S. at 224, does
not require the Court to revisit that separate, later
debate. This case was decided on the pleadings with-
out evidence of the unions’ expenditures or an analysis
of whether they are chargeable to nonmembers under
California law. The possibility that in a future case
the Court might consider refining the “germaneness”
requirement says nothing about whether Abood’s
analysis of the governmental interests permitting
agency fees for at least some contract-negotiation and
administration activities was correct.

26

2. Agency fees satisfy the standards that this Court
has applied to evaluate conditions of public
employment

a. As discussed, this Court’s public-employment
cases have asked whether a requirement is “reasona-
ble,” “adequate,” or “appropriate” in achieving the
government’s interests as an employer. Agency fees
that finance the union’s activities germane to collec-
tive bargaining—defined, at minimum, to encompass
the union’s execution of its statutory duties on behalf
of all employees—satisfy those standards, because
they reasonably advance the government’s interest in
solving the free-rider problem. Although agency fees
and exclusive representation may not be “inextricably
linked,” Harris, 134 S. Ct. at 2640, agency fees are an
effective means of eliminating the intrinsic moral
hazard of exclusive representation.

As Abood acknowledged, those fees do represent a
limited “impingement” on the expressive-association
rights of those employees who truly object to the
union’s bargaining positions (as opposed to those who
only want a free ride). 431 U.S. at 225. But that im-
pingement is not so substantial as to render the condi-
tion on public employment invalid. The fees simply
support the efforts of the exclusive representative
within the special channels in the employment setting
for contract negotiation, contract administration, and
grievance resolution—transactional and workplace
activities that typically are quite different from the
sort of expression in which public employees might
engage as citizens. See Lehnert, 500 U.S. at 551 n.1
(Scalia, J., concurring in the judgment in part and
dissenting in part) (proceeding “on the assumption
* * * that all forced contributions to a union impli-

27

cate the First Amendment, whether or not the activi-
ties to which the contributions are directed are com-
municative”). Indeed, communications to the employ-
er concerning such matters by an individual employee,
in his capacity as an employee, would not, under this
Court’s precedents, be subject to heightened First
Amendment protection. The result should be no dif-
ferent for such communications on behalf of all em-
ployees in the unit by their exclusive representative.

Mandatory agency fees, moreover, do not force an
employee to affiliate or associate with the union in any
meaningfully expressive sense. No reasonable person
would conclude, upon learning that a teacher had paid
mandatory agency fees, but had refused to support a
union’s political or ideological activities, that the
teacher supported the union. If anything, he would
draw the opposite inference.

Nor is a different conclusion called for by the fact
that from the general public’s perspective, the deci-
sions the employer might make in the collective-
bargaining process could have significant fiscal and
public-policy effects or political implications. It is
from that distinct perspective that the issues involved
are matters of public concern. But the payment of
agency fees by individuals in their capacities as public
employees to their representative in the employment
context does not prevent those individuals, in their
capacities as citizens, from “petition[ing] their neigh-
bors and government in opposition to the union which
represents them in the workplace,” Lehnert, 500 U.S.
at 521 (opinion of Blackmun, J.), joining anti-union
organizations, or lobbying their elected representa-
tives. See Abood, 431 U.S. at 230; City of Madison

28

Joint Sch. Dist. No. 8 v. Wisconsin Emp'’t Relations
Comm ’n, 429 U.S. 167, 175-176 & n.10 (1976).

b. Petitioners contend (Br. 20-29, 33) that Abood’s
basic line is illusory because “there is no difference
between collective-bargaining advocacy and other
ideological advocacy.” That is not a realistic view of
the world. The typical worker would surely perceive a
significant difference between, on the one hand, con-
tributing to a union’s legal and research costs to de-
velop a collective-bargaining proposal for his own unit,
and, on the other hand, making a political contribution
to a union-favored candidate for governor.

But in any event, petitioners’ argument misses the
point not only of Abood, but also of this Court’s broad-
er employment-conditions jurisprudence, in such
decisions as Pickering, Branti, Garcetti, and Guar-
niert: The First Amendment generally permits condi-
tions of employment that impact employees’ expres-
sive interests within the context of the employment
relationship, so long as they bear a reasonable or
appropriate relationship to the government’s interest
as an employer. That is why, for example, an employ-
ee can be penalized even for speech on matters of
public concern when the public employer has an “ade-
quate” employment-related justification. Garcetti,
547 U.S. at 418. It is likewise why political affiliation
can be a job requirement when such a requirement is
“reasonable” or “appropriate.” O’Hare, 518 U.S. at
719; Branti, 445 U.S. at 518.

The line drawn by Abood reflects that same basic
reasonableness standard. The government qua em-
ployer has no interest in the union’s efforts to elect
particular candidates to a state board or run a pro-
union advertising campaign. See Lehnert, 500 U.S. at

29

520-521 (opinion of Blackmun, J.). But it does have a
vital interest in a sufficiently funded, robust bargain-
ing counterparty that, in accord with its statutory
duty, fairly represents all employees in a bargaining
unit, and provides an effective voice for their con-
cerns, preferences, and grievances.

That fundamental distinction also affects the mag-
nitude of the impingement on employees’ associational
rights. When public employees pay fees to cover the
costs of collective bargaining, they are required to do
no more than what “would be ‘regarded as reasonable
and normal in the private-employer context.’” Quon,
560 U.S. at 764-765 (quoting O’Connor, 480 U.S. at 732
(Scalia, J., concurring in the judgment)). But if public
employees were required to pay fees to cover a union’s
political and ideological activities unrelated to its
statutory duties, that would go beyond what private
employers may do under the NLRA or RLA, and it
would raise the specter that the purpose of the fees is
to “leverage the employment relationship” to bolster
political allies and infringe public employees’ freedom
of expression and association as private citizens.
Garcetti, 547 U.S. at 419. Abood thus prevents pre-
cisely the same threat to the First Amendment as this
Court’s other public-employee decisions.

ce. Our federalist system leaves room for different
public employers with different workforce composi-
tions, different histories, different needs, and differ-
ent values to reach different conclusions about how
best to ensure an effective bargaining counterparty
and a harmonious workplace. Some States do not
allow public employees to collectively bargain at all;
others allow collective bargaining but not agency fees;
and over 20 States have authorized agency fees for

30

some or all employees. See Harris, 134 S. Ct. at 2652
(Kagan, J., dissenting); Union Resps. Br. 4-5, 32. The
federal government does not allow agency fees, but it
also bars collective bargaining over wages for most
employees. See Fort Stewart Sch. v. Federal Labor
Relations Auth., 495 U.S. 641, 649 (1990). The diverse
models no doubt reflect varying assessments of the
impact and unfairness of the free-rider problem and
genuine policy disagreements about whether public-
sector collective bargaining is worthwhile.

But even under standards of scrutiny more de-
manding than the reasonableness review afforded to
conuitions on government employment, this Court has
not held that a governmental interest is insufficient to
support a challenged legal requirement because the
requirement has not been adopted by all 50 States and
the federal government. Particularly as applied to
conditions of public employment, such a homogenizing
constitutional doctrine would lead to “judicial inter-
vention in the conduct of governmental operations to a
degree inconsistent with sound principles of federal-
ism and the separation of powers,” Garcetti, 547 U.S.
at 423, and would “unnecessarily constitutionalize[]
another element of American life,” Elrod, 427 U.S. at
389 (Powell, J., dissenting).

C. Petitioners Have Identified No Special Justification
To Overrule The Abood Line Of Cases

For the reasons given above, Abood was correctly
decided. But even if the Court harbored some doubt
about that conclusion, stare decisis would strongly
favor declining to revisit a question that has been
settled for nearly four decades. Although “stare deci-
sis is not an inexorable command, * * * even in
constitutional cases, the doctrine carries such persua-

31

sive force that [the Court has] always required a de-
parture from precedent to be supported by some spe-
cial justification.” Dickerson v. United States, 530
U.S. 428, 443 (2000) (emphasis, citations, and internal
quotation marks omitted). No such special justifica-
tion has been established here.

1. Overruling Abood would destabilize First
Amendment law. It would require the Court also to
overrule at least Lehnert, Locke, and Chicago Teach-
ers Union, Local No. 1 v. Hudson, 475 U.S. 292
(1986). In addition, given the state-action holding of
the RLA cases (see pp. 3, 16, supra), overruling Abood
would raise doubt about the constitutionality of an
RLA provision that this Court has upheld for nearly
70 years against First Amendment challenges. More-
over, it would leave lower courts, state and local gov-
ernments, and the broader public at a loss as to why
the Court has jettisoned the traditional deferential
standard of scrutiny for conditions of public employ-
ment only in the context of public-sector unions.

Discarding Abood would also shake the doctrinal
foundations of this Court’s decisions in other areas.
For example, the Court’s unanimous opinion in Keller
permitted mandatory dues for an integrated bar
largely on the strength of Abood, relying on the “sub-
stantial analogy” between a union and a state bar. 496
U.S. at 12, 14. Likewise, in evaluating student activity
fees, the Court has held that “Abood and Keller * * *
provide the beginning point for our analysis.” Board
of Regents of Univ. of Wis. Sys. v. Southworth, 529
U.S. 217, 230-231 (2000). And this Court’s decisions
considering the constitutionality of statutory schemes
imposing assessments to fund generic advertising
relied expressly on a “proper application of the rule in

32

Abood.” United States v. United Foods, Inc., 533 U.S.
405, 413-417 (2001); see Glickman v. Wileman Bros. &
Elliott, Inc., 521 U.S. 457, 471-474 (1997).

Petitioners assert (Br. 53) that “nobody defends
[Abood’s] original rationale,” but that rests on the
mistaken view that Abood did not apply general prin-
ciples of this Court’s public-employee cases. See pp.
15-18, supra. They also contend (Br. 55-56) that
Abood conflicts with subsequent decisions of this
Court. But they do not identify any holding of the
Court that conflicts with Abood, because none exists.
They rely (Pet. Br. 54-55) on dicta in Knoz and then in
Harris, but Harris made clear that the Court was not
disturbing Abood. 134 S. Ct. at 2638 n.19. As between
declining to give effect to dicta and overruling multi-
ple holdings of this Court stretching back almost 40
years, the former is obviously more consistent with
jurisprudential stability.

2. Petitioners contend (Br. 56-57) that the Abood
rule has proven “entirely ‘unworkable,’” noting Har-
ris’s observation that Abood had overlooked the
“‘conceptual difficulty’” of distinguishing between
union expenditures germane to collective bargaining
and those that are not germane. Br. 56 (quoting Har-
ris, 134 S. Ct. at 2632). With respect, that view lacks
support. Since Abood was decided in 1977, this Court
has decided two cases drawing the line between
chargeable and nonchargeable expenses for public
employees (Lehnert and Locke), and one other case
addressing that issue under the RLA (Ellis v. Rail-
way Clerks, 466 U.S. 435 (1984)). Locke was unani-
mous; Ellis was 8-1; and Lehnert was 8-1 on the result
for a number of the challenged expenditures.

33

Overruling Abood, moreover, would not free courts
from having to apply the “germaneness” requirement,
because the same issue arises for private-sector em-
ployers under the NLRA. Beck, 487 U.S. at 745, 762-
763. And in neither context is it particularly difficult
in the mine-run of cases to distinguish between union
activities directed at an employer as part of bargain-
ing, contract administration, and grievance adjust-
ment, and speech directed to the broader political
arena. Cf. Keller, 496 U.S. at 15-16. Any residual
concerns or conceptual difficulty should be addressed
by refining the “germaneness” requirement, not by
sweeping away decades of precedent authorizing fees
even for activities that are clearly constitutionally
chargeable.

3. Most troubling, overruling Abood would invali-
date numerous state collective-bargaining frameworks
erected in reliance on this Court’s longstanding, re-
peated pronouncements that agency fees are permis-
sible. See Att’y Gen. of Cal. Br. 45-46; Union Resps.
Br. 32-34. That would require public employers and
unions to find new sources of funding—for example,
by raising dues for union members—to subsidize em-
ployees who elect to abstain from paying for a free
benefit. Upending decades of settled expectations
would thus inflict substantial costs and disruption on
state and local governments.

34

Il. THE NOTICE PROCEDURE PERMITTED BY
CALIFORNIA LAW DOES NOT VIOLATE THE FIRST
AMENDMENT

Petitioners briefly contend (Br. 60-63) that the pro-
cedure under California law for declining to pay fees
for nonchargeable expenses—essentially, checking a
box on a form and mailing it in—violates their First
Amendment right not to be terminated from employ-
ment for refusal to support the union’s political or
ideological activities. That argument lacks merit.

This Court first held in Street in 1961 that an objec-
tion to paying nonchargeable expenses must “affirma-
tively be made known to the union by the dissenting
employee,” 367 U.S. at 774, and it has adopted the
same rule in the context of public employers, see
Hudson, 475 U.S. at 306 & n.16. Employees, however,
must have a clear, simple opportunity to object each
year to the portion of a fee that is nonchargeable. As
this Court explained in Knoz, it is constitutionally
“tolerable” to give employees “one opportunity per
year” to object “if employees are able at the time to
make an informed choice.” 132 S. Ct. at 2291.

Contrary to petitioners’ evident assumption, an in-
dividual often must interpose an objection to invoke a
constitutional right, even for many rights deemed
fundamental. For example, in criminal trials, most
rights must be invoked by the criminal defendant,
which is why unobjected-to claims are reviewed only
for plain error. See Fed. R. Crim. P. 52(b). A failure
to raise a timely objection to the denial of a constitu-
tional right in state court generally precludes federal
habeas review, precisely because States may permis-
sibly condition federal rights on timely objections.
Wainwright v. Sykes, 433 U.S. 72, 86-88 (1977). Like-

35

wise, in civil litigation, a party must affirmatively
object that a court lacks personal jurisdiction, see
Fed. R. Civ. P. 12(h)(1), must affirmatively opt out
of a Rule 23(b)(3) class action, Fed. R. Civ. P.
23(c)(2)(B)(v), and must request a jury trial, see Fed.
R. Civ. P. 38(d). And when the government takes an
individual’s property, she must affirmatively seek just
compensation through the procedure that the gov-
ernment has established. See Williamson County
Reg'l Planning Comm’n v. Hamilton Bank, 473 U.S.
172, 194-195 (1985).

Of course, if the mechanism for invoking a constitu-
tional right were unduly burdensome, it would raise a
serious constitutional question. But the procedure
authorized by California law is nowhere close to the
line. The notice in the record, for example, states in
plain language that the employee can obtain “a rebate
of the nonchargeable portion of [the] fees.” J.A. 663-
664. The employee is asked only to check a box and
mail in a form. It is difficult to believe that anyone
with a genuine objection would find that annual pro-
cedure overly taxing. And if an objecting employee
challenges the union’s calculations, the union has the
burden of proving the percentage of chargeable ex-
penses. Hudson, 475 U.S. at 306.

Petitioners cite no general constitutional principle,
much less a “venerable” one (Br. 60), suggesting that
requiring employees to state an objection is unlawful,
but rather rely primarily on the latest social-science
theories. See Pet. Br. 61 (quoting Richard H. Thaler
& Cass R. Sunstein, Nudge: Improving Decisions
About Health, Wealth, and Happiness 8 (2009)). The
First Amendment’s prohibition on the “abridg{[ment)”
of speech, however, does not encompass “nudges.”

36

The First Amendment protects those who truly object
to subsidizing the union’s political activities; it is not
designed for public employees who are so indifferent
that they do not make the effort to check a box and
mail in a form. Although courts “do not presume
acquiescence in the loss of fundamental rights,” Ohio
Bell Tel. Co. v. Public Utils. Comm’n, 301 U.S. 292,
307 (1937), no such presumption is required where an
employee is provided clear notice and a simple way to
object, yet does nothing.
CONCLUSION

The judgment of the court of appeals should be
affirmed.

Respectfully submitted.
DONALD B. VERRILLI, JR.

M. PATRICIA SMITH Solicitor General

Solicitor of Labor EDWIN S. KNEEDLER
EDWARD D. SIEGER Deputy Solicitor General

Senior Attorney JOHN F. BASH
ADAM R. PULVER Assistant to the Solicitor
Auax VAN SCHAICK General

Department of Labor

NOVEMBER 2015

APPENDIX

1. U.S. Const. Amend I provides:

Congress shall make no law respecting an estab-
lishment of religion, or prohibiting the free exercise
thereof; or abridging the freedom of speech, or of the
press; or the right of the people peaceably to assemble,
and to petition the Government for a redress of griev-
ances.

2. 29 U.S.C. 158 (1940) provides in pertinent part:
Unfair labor practices by employer defined.

> * * » *

(3) By discrimination in regard to hire or tenure
of employment or any term or condition of employment
to encourage or discourage membership in any labor
organization: Provided, That nothing in sections
151-166 of this title or in any other statute of the
United States, shall preclude an employer from mak-
ing an agreement with a labor organization (not estab-
lished, maintained, or assisted by any action defined in
sections 151-166 of this title as an unfair labor prac-
tice) to require as a condition of employment mem-
bership therein, if such labor organization is the rep-
resentative of the employees as provided in section
159 (a) of this title, in the appropriate collective bar-
gaining unit covered by such agreement when made.

(la)

2a

3. 29 U.S.C. 158 provides in pertinent part:
Unfair labor practices
(a) Unfair labor practices by employer

* * * * s

(3) by discrimination in regard to hire or tenure of
employment or any term or condition of employment to
encourage or discourage membership in any labor or-
ganization: Provided, That nothing in this subchapter,
or in any other statute of the United States, shall preclude
an employer from making an agreement with a labor or-
ganization (not established, maintained, or assisted by
any action defined in this subsection as an unfair labor
practice) to require as a condition of employment mem-
bership therein on or after the thirtieth day following the
beginning of such employment or the effective date of
such agreement, whichever is the later, (i) if such labor
organization is the representative of the employees as
provided in section 159(a) of this title, in the appropriate
collective-bargaining unit covered by such agreement
when made, and (ii) unless following an election held as
provided in section 159(e) of this title within one year
preceding the effective date of such agreement, the Board
shall have certified that at least a majority of the em-
ployees eligible to vote in such election have voted to
rescind the authority of such labor organization to make
such an agreement: Provided further, That no employer
shall justify any discriminatioi against an employee for
nonmembership in a labor organization (A) if he has rea-
sonable grounds for believing that such membership was
not available to the employee on the same terms and con-

3a

ditions generally applicable to other members, or (B) if he
has reasonable grounds for believing that membership
was denied or terminated for reasons other than the fail-
ure of the employee to tender the periodic dues and the
initiation fees uniformly required as a condition of acquir-
ing or retaining membership;

4, 45 U.S.C. 152 provides in pertinent part:
General duties

* *+ * * *

Eleventh. Union security agreements; check-off

Notwithstanding any other provisions of this chapter,
or of any other statute or law of the United States, or
Territory thereof, or of any State, any carrier or carriers
as defined in this chapter and a labor organization or la-
bor organizations duly designated and authorized to rep-
resent employees in accordance with the requirements of
this chapter shall be permitted—

(a) to make agreements, requiring, as a condi-
tion of continued employment, that within sixty days
following the beginning of such employment, or the ef-
fective date of such agreements, whichever is the later,
all employees shall become members of the labor or-
ganization representing their craft or class: Provid-
ed, That no such agreement shall require such condi-
tion of employment with respect to employees to whom
membership is not available upon the same terms and
conditions as are generally applicable to any other

4a

member or with respect to employees to whom mem-
bership was denied or terminated for any reason other
than the failure of the employee to tender the periodic
dues, initiation fees, and assessments (not including
fines and penalties) uniformly required as a condition
of acquiring or retaining membership.

(b) to make agreements providing for the deduc-
tion by such carrier or carriers from the wages of its or
their employees in a craft or class and payment to the
labor organization representing the craft or class of
such employees, of any periodic dues, initiation fees,
and assessments (not including fines and penalties)
uniformly required as a condition of acquiring or re-
taining membership: Provided, That no such agree-
ment shall be effective with respect to any individual
employee until he shall have furnished the employer
with a written assignment to the labor organization of
such membership dues, initiation fees, and assess-
ments, which shall be revocable in writing after the
expiration of one year or upon the termination date of
the applicable collective agreement, whichever occurs
sooner.

(c) The requirement of membership in a labor or-
ganization in an agreement made pursuant to sub-
paragraph (a) of this paragraph shall be satisfied, as to
both a present or future employee in engine, train,
yard, or hostling service, that is, an employee engaged
in any of the services or capacities covered in the First
division of paragraph (h) of section 153 of this title de-
fining the jurisdictional scope of the First Division of
the National Railroad Adjustment Board, if said em-
ployee shall hold or acquire membership in any one of

5a

the labor organizations, national in scope, organized in
accordance with this chapter and admitting to mem-
bership employees of a craft or class in any of said ser-
vices; and no agreement made pursuant to subpara-
graph (b) of this paragraph shall provide for deduc-
tions from his wages for periodic dues, initiation fees,
or assessments payable to any labor organization other
than that in which he holds membership: Provided,
however, That as to an employee in any of said services
on a particular carrier at the effective date of any such
agreement on a carrier, who is not a member of any
one of the labor organizations, national in scope, orga-
nized in accordance with this chapter and admitting to
membership employees of a craft or class in any of said
services, such employee, as a condition of continuing
his employment, may be required to become a member
of the organization representing the craft in which he
is employed on the effective date of the first agreement
applicable to him: Provided, further, That nothing
herein or in any such agreement or agreements shall
prevent an employee from changing membership from
one organization to another organization admitting to
membership employees of a craft or class in any of said
services.

(d) Any provisions in paragraphs Fourth and Fifth
of this section in conflict herewith are to the extent of
such conflict amended.

*_ «+ *+ * *

6a

5. Cal. Gov’t Code § 3540 (West 2010) provides:

Purpose of chapter

It is the purpose of this chapter to promote the im-
provement of personnel management and employer-
employee relations within the public school systems in
the State of California by providing a uniform basis for
recognizing the right of public school employees to join
organizations of their own choice, to be represented by
the organizations in their professional and employment
relationships with public school employers, to select
one employee organization as the exclusive represent-
ative of the employees in an appropriate unit, and to
afford certificated employees a voice in the formulation
of educational policy. This chapter shall not super-
sede other provisions of the Education Code and the
rules and regulations of public school employers which
establish and regulate tenure or a merit or civil service
system or which provide for other methods of admin-
istering employer-employee relations, so long as the
rules and regulations or other methods of the public
school employer do not conflict with lawful collective
agreements.

It is the further intention of the Legislature that
this chapter shall not restrict, limit, or prohibit the full
exercise of the functions of any academic senate or
faculty council established by a school district in a
community college to represent the faculty in making
recommendations to the administration and governing
board of the school district with respect to district pol-
icies on academic and professional matters, so long as
the exercise of the functions does not conflict with law-
ful collective agreements.

Ta

It is further intention of the Legislature that any
legislation enacted by the Legislature governing
employer-employee relations of other public employ-
ees shall be incorporated into this chapter to the ex-
tent possible. The Legislature also finds and declares
that it is an advantageous and desirable state policy to
expand the jurisdiction of the board created pursuant
to this chapter to cover other public employers and
their employees, in the event that this legislation is
enacted, and if this policy is carried out, the name of
the Educational Employment Relations Board shall be
changed to the “Public Employment Relations Board.”

6. Cal. Gov’t Code § 3543.2 (West Supp. 2015) pro-
vides:

Scope of representation; requests to meet and negotiate

(a)(1) The scope of representation shall be limited
to matters relating to wages, hours of employment,
and other terms and conditions of employment.
“Terms and conditions of employment” mean health
and welfare benefits as defined by Section 53200,
leave, transfer and reassignment policies, safety con-
ditions of employment, class size, procedures to be
used for the evaluation of employees, organizational
security pursuant to Section 3546, procedures for
processing grievances pursuant to Sections 3548.5,
3548.6, 3548.7, and 3548.8, the layoff of probationary
certificated school district employees, pursuant to
Section 44959.5 of the Education Code, and alternative
compensation or benefits for employees adversely
affected by pension limitations pursuant to former

8a

Section 22316 of the Education Code, as that section
read on December 31, 1999, to the extent deemed
reasonable and without violating the intent and pur-
poses of Section 415 of the Internal Revenue Code.’

(2) A public school employer shall give reasonable
written notice to the exclusive representative of the
public school employer’s intent to make any change to
matters within the scope of representation of the em-
ployees represented by the exclusive representative
for purposes of providing the exclusive representative
a reasonable amount of time to negotiate with the pub-
lie school employer regarding the proposed changes.

(3) The exclusive representative of certificated
personnel has the right to consult on the definition of
educational objectives, the determination of the con-
tent of courses and curriculum, and the selection of
textbooks to the extent those matters are within the
discretion of the public school employer under the law.

(4) All matters not specifically enumerated are
reserved to the public school employer and may not be
a subject of meeting and negotiating, except that this
section does not limit the right of the public school
employer to consult with any employees or employee
organization on any matter outside the scope of rep-
resentation.

(b) Notwithstanding Section 44944 of the Educa-
tion Code, the public school employer and the exclusive
representative shall, upon request of either party,
meet and negotiate regarding causes and procedures

' Internal Revenue Code sections are in Title 26 of the U.S.C.A.

9a

for disciplinary action, other than dismissal, including
a suspension of pay for up to 15 days, affecting certifi-
cated employees. If the public school employer and
the exclusive representative do not reach mutual
agreement, Section 44944 of the Education Code shall

apply.

(c) Notwithstanding Section 44955 of the Educa-
tion Code, the public school employer and the exclusive
representative shall, upon request of either party,
meet and negotiate regarding procedures and criteria
for the layoff of certificated employees for lack of
funds. If the public school employer and the exclu-
sive representative do not reach mutual agreement,
Section 44955 of the Education Code shall apply.

(d) Notwithstanding Section 45028 of the Educa-
tion Code, the public school employer and the exclusive
representative shall, upon request of either party,
meet and negotiate regarding the payment of addi-
tional compensation based upon criteria other than
years of training and years of experience. If the pub-
lic school employer and the exclusive representative do
not reach mutual agreement, Section 45028 of the
Education Code shall apply.

(e) Pursuant to Section 45028 of the Education
Code, the public school employer and the exclusive
representative shall, upon the request of either party,
meet and negotiate a salary schedule based on criteria
other than a uniform allowance for years of training
and years of experience. If the public school em-
ployer and the exclusive representative do not reach
mutual agreement, the provisions of Section 45028 of
the Education Code requiring a salary schedule based

10a

upon a uniform allowance for years of training and
years of experience shall apply. A salary schedule
established pursuant to this subdivision shall not re-
sult in the reduction of the salary of a teacher.

7. Cal. Gov’t Code § 3544.9 (West 2010) provides:

Exclusive representative; duty

The employee organization recognized or certified as
the exclusive representative for the purpose of meet-
ing and negotiating shall fairly represent each and
every employee in the appropriate unit.

8. Cal. Gov’t Code § 3546 (West 2010) provides:

Member of recognized employee organization or pay-
ment of fair share service fee; condition of employment

(a) Notwithstanding any other provision of law,
upon receiving notice from the exclusive representa-
tive of a public school employee who is in a unit for
which an exclusive representative has been selected
pursuant to this chapter, the employer shall deduct the
amount of the fair share service fee authorized by this
section from the wages and salary of the employee and
pay that amount to the employee organization.
Thereafter, the employee shall, as a condition of con-
tinued employment, be required either to join the
recognized employee organization or pay the fair share
service fee. The amount of the fee shall not exceed
the dues that are payable by members of the employee

lla

organization, and shall cover the cost of negotiation,
contract administration, and other activities of the
employee organization that are germane to its func-
tions as the exclusive bargaining representative.
Agency fee payers shall have the right, pursuant to
regulations adopted by the Public Employment Rela-
tions Boards, to receive a rebate or fee reduction upon
request, of that portion of their fee that is not devoted
to the cost of negotiations, contract administration,
and other activities of the employee organization that
are germane to its function as the exclusive bargaining
representative.

(b) The costs covered by the fee under this section
may include, but shall not necessarily be limited to, the
cost of lobbying activities designed to foster collective
bargaining negotiations and contract administration,
or to secure for the represented employees advantages
in wages, hours, and other conditions of employment in
addition to those secured through meeting and negoti-
ating with the employer.

(c) The arrangement described in subdivision (a)
shall remain in effect unless it is rescinded pursuant to
subdivision (d). The employer shall remain neutral,
and shall not participate in any election conducted un-
der this section unless required to do so by the board.

‘3)(1) The arrangement described in subdivision
(a) may be rescinded by a majority vote of all the em-
ployees in the negotiating unit subject to that ar-
rangement, if a request for a vote is supported by a
petition containing 30 percent of the employees in the
negotiating unit, the signatures are obtained in one
academic year. There shall not be more than one vote

12a

taken during the term of any collective bargaining
agreement in effect on or after January 1, 2001.

(2) If the arrangement described in subdivision
(a) is rescinded pursuant to paragraph (1), a majority
of all employees in the negotiating unit may request
that the arrangement be reinstated. That request
shall be submitted to the board along with a petition
containing the signatures of at least 30 percent of the
employees in the negotiating unit. The vote shall be
conducted at the worksite by secret ballot, and shall be
conducted no sooner than one year after the rescission
of the arrangement under this subdivision.

(3) If the board determines that the appropriate
number of signatures have been collected, it shall
conduct the vote to rescind or reinstate in a manner
that it shall prescribe in accordance with this subdivi-
sion.

(4) The cost of conducting an election under this
subdivision to reinstate the organizational security
arrangement shall be borne by the petitioning party
and the cost of conducting an election to rescind the
arrangement shall be borne by the board.

(e) The recognized employee organization shall
indemnify and hold the public school employer harm-
less against any reasonable legal fees, legal costs, and
settlement or judgment liability arising from any court
or administrative action relating to the school district’s
compliance with this section. The recognized em-
ployee organization shall have the exclusive right to
determine whether any such action or proceeding shall
or shall not be compromised, resisted, defended, tried,

13a

or appealed. This indemnification and hold harmless
duty shall not apply to actions related to compliance
with this section brought by the exclusive representa-
tive of district employees against the public school
employer.

(f) The employer of a public school employee
shall provide the exclusive representative of a public
employee with the home address of each member of a
bargaining unit, regardless of when that employee
commences employment, so that the exclusive repre-
sentative can comply with the notification require-
ments set forth by the United States Supreme Court in
Chicago Teachers Union v. Hudson (1986) 89 L.Ed. 2d
232.

9. Cal. Code Regs. tit. 8, § 32992 (2015) provides:
Notification of Nonmember.

(a) The exclusive representative shall provide annu-
al written notice to each nonmember who will be required
to pay an agency fee. The notice shall include:

(1) The amount of the exclusive representative’s
dues and the agency fee;

(2) The percentage of the agency fee amount that is
attributable to chargeable expenditures and the basis for
this calculation;

(3) The amount of the agency fee to be paid by a
nonmember who objects to the payment of an agency fee

amount that includes nonchargeable expenditures (here-
inafter referred to as an “agency fee objector”); and

l4a

(4) Procedures for (A) objecting to the payment of
an agency fee amount that includes nonchargeable ex-
penditures and (B) challenging the calculation of the
nonchargeable expenditures.

(b)(1) The calculation of the chargeable and non-
chargeable expenditures will be based on an audited
financial report, and the notice will include either a copy
of the audited financial report used to calculate the
chargeable and nonchargeable expenditures or a certifi-
cation from the independent auditor that the summarized
chargeable and nonchargeable expenditures contained ir
the notice have been audited and correctly reproduced
from the audited report, or

(2) the calculation of the chargeable and non-
chargeable expenditures may be based on an unaudit-
ed financial report if the exclusive representative’s an-
nual revenues are less than $50,000 and a nonmember
is afforded a procedure sufficiently reliable to ensure
that a nonmember can independently verify that the
employee organization spent its money as stated in the
notice.

(c) Such written notice shall be sent/distributed to
the nonmember either:

(1) At least 30 days prior to collection of the agency
fee; or

(2) Concurrent with the initial agency fee collec-
tion provided escrow requirements in Section 32995
are met; or

(3) In the case of public school employees, where the
agency fee year covers the traditional school year, on or

15a

before October 15 of the school year, provided escrow
requirements in Section 32995 are met.

10. Cal. Code Regs. tit. 8, § 32993 (2015) provides:
Exclusive Representative’s Objection Procedure.

Each exclusive representative that has an agency fee
provision shall administer <2 Objection Procedure in ac-
cordance with the following:

(a) An agency fee objection shall be filed in writing
with the designated representative of the exclusive rep-
resentative.

(b) The procedure shall allow at least 30 days fol-
lowing distribution of the notice required under Section
32992 of these regulations for the filing of an agency fee
objection.

11. Cai. Code Regs. tit. 8, § 32994 (2015) provides:
Exclusive Representative’s Challenge Procedure.

(a) An agency fee payer who disagrees with the
exclusive representative’s determination of the chargea-
ble expenditures contained in the agency fee amount and
who files a timely agency fee challenge with the exclusive
representative shall be hereafter known as an “agency fee
challenger.” An agency fee challenger may file an unfair
practice charge that challenges the determination of the
chargeable expenditures contained in the agency fee
amount; however, no complaint shall issue until the agen-

l6a

cy fee challenger has first exhausted the Exclusive Rep-
resentative’s Challenge Procedure. No agency fee chal-
lenger shall be required to exhaust the Exclusive Repre-
sentative’s Challenge Procedure where it is insufficient on
its face.

(b) Each exclusive representative that has an agency
fee provision shall administer a Challenge Procedure in
accordance with the following:

(1) An agency fee challenge shall be filed in writ-
ing with the official designated by the exclusive rep-
resentative in the annual notice.

(2) The procedure shall allow at least 30 days fol-
lowing distribution of the notice required under Section
32992 of these regulations for the filing of an agency fee
challenge.

(3) Upon receipt of an agency fee challenge, the
exclusive representative shall within 45 days of the last
day for filing a challenge request a prompt hearing re-
garding the agency fee before an impartial decisionmak-
er.

(4) The impartial decisionmaker shall be selected by
the American Arbitration Association or the California
State Mediation Service. The selection between these
entities shall be made by the exclusive representative.

(5) Any party may make a request for a consolidated
hearing of multiple agency fee challenges based on case
similarities, including but not limited to, hearing location.
At any time prior to the start of the hearing, any party
may make a mot*9n to the impartial decisionmaker chal-
lenging any consoudation of the hearing.

17a

(6) The exclusive representative bears the burden of
establishing the reasonableness of the amount of the
chargeable expenditures.

(7) Agency fee challenge hearings shall be fair, in-
formal proceedings conducted in conformance with basic
precepts of due process.

(8) All decisions of the impartial decisionmaker shall
be in writing, and shall be rendered no later than 30 days
after the close of the hearing.

(9) All hearing costs shall be borne by the exclusive
representative, unless the exclusive representative and
the agency fee challenger agree otherwise.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0322%3A21. Public record. Not legal advice.
