# Amicus Curiae Brief — Campbell-Ewald Co. v. Gomez, 135 S. Ct. 2311 (2015) (No. 14-857)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0321%3A12

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2015

## Text

No. 14-857

—siprsna oat US. |
e.7C

AUG 3 | ih :

| OFFICE =f THES pth A

pd
In the Supreme Court of the United States

CAMPBELL-EWALD COMPANY, PETITIONER

v.

JOSE GOMEZ

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES
AS AMICUS CURIAE SUPPORTING RESPONDENT

DONALD B. VERRILLI, JR.
Solicitor General

Counsel of Record

BENJAMIN C. MIZER
Principal Deputy Assistant

eneral

MALCOLM L. STEWART
Deputy Solicitor General

ANTHONY A. YANG
Assistant to the Solicitor

General

MARK B. STERN
WILLIAM E. HAVEMANN

Attorneys

Department of Justice

Washington,

.C. 20530-0001

SupremeCtBriefa@ nsdoj.gov
(202) 514-2217

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether respondent’s individual claim for dam-
ages became+ moot when petitioner offered to pay
respondent an amount greater than the maximum
damages that respondent could have obtained by liti-
gating that individual claim to judgment, and respon-
dent did not accept the offer.

2. Whether respondent’s assertion of a class claim
under Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 23 alters the
proper mootness analysis.

3. Whether petitioner was entitled to “derivative
sovereign immunity” from respondent’s suit because
respondent’s claims arose out of petitioner’s perfor-
mance of a contract with the federal government.

(I)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
a ee Te 1
ITs clack aieseemnbarnpnineiaiinnnienineiatenndabeaaenenecennietiy 2
PITTI. csciinaienceninhiesouninmennsinceciielineinanmnsetnianmestntnainn 7
Argument:
I. Petitioner’s offer of judgment did not render
a sircccntenteseasceeestteninaintiinintsiitinanteninanimnnacen 10

A. Petitioner’s unaccepted settlement offer
did not render moot respondent’s individual
_——__NESREEESSSEESEIE Reeredv reer Stent oan na Teo 10
B. Under Roper, respondent would retain a
sufficient interest to pursue class certification

even if his individual claim were moot.................. 19
II. Petitioner is not entitled to “derivative sovereign
ID ciciiscusietiintianiecninsiiiniaseiincinsiiiniindanenitiaiiaenininncinmnti 23
ee iiiradateiccrinsisaiecteasictnticapisictidaennaamrnnaenicainatteniasmminieiatesinnnisiagl 32
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases:
Alabama v. North Carolina, 560 U.S. 330 (2010)............... 22.
Bais Yaakov v. ACT, Inc., No. 14-1789, 2015 WL
4979406 (1st Cir. Aug. 21, 2015) ............. cece ee eee 11
Bobby v. Bies, 556 U.S. 825 (2009)..............cceceseseeeeeeseeees 18
Boeing Co. v. Van Gemert, 444 U.S. 472 (1980) .................. 21
Boyle v. United Techs. Corp., 487 U.S. 500 (1988)........ 29, 30
Brady v. Roosevelt Steamship Co., 317 U.S. 575
(Siri ssichiecinssisiciniieesiaeniiinseitiniaeiaiitisaniataiaaniitantiaiiianationmaniees 26, 29
California v. San Pablo & Tulare R.R., 149 U.S. 308
Eiri scarcssineuionniuiatindniidenssnahinbinisianiattaiediinbianiniiaitabesieienticnennainnnen 15, 16
Camreta v. Greene, 131 S. Ct. 2020 (2011)... cccccccesceeeees 25
Chafin v. Chafin, 133 S. Ct. Wi'T (2013)... eeccceceeeseseeeeees 10

(IIT)

Cases—Continued: Page

Chapman v. First Index, Inc., Nos. 14-2773,
14-2775, 2015 WL 4652878 (7th Cir. Aug. 6,

ITT derectreneeiceensenibanannienaubatdiiebatemnmiiadiniiteiapaicntianaNes 11,13
Decker v. Northwest Envtl. Def. Ctr., 133 8. Ct. 1326

Te 10
Deposit Guar. Natl Bank v. Roper, 445 U.S. 326

(1980) suiseniensemetetaesenimenmeniemneitnil 9, 19, 20, 21, 22
Diaz v. First Am. Home Sugere Prot. Corp.,

ig.) ee 6, 12
Eliason v. Henshaw, 17 U.S. (4 Wheat.) 225 (1819) ..... 11
FDIC v. Meyer, 510 U.S. 471 (1994) 2.0.........ccccccceceseseneesereees 25
Filarsky v. Delia, 132 S. Ct. 1657 (2012) ipianeninmatel 27
Friends of the Earth, Inc. v. Laidlaw Envtl. Servs.

(TOC), Inc., 528 U.S. 167 (2000) ......ccecccceeseseeeereeees 10, 12, 22
Genesis HealthCare Corp. v. Symczyk, 133 S. Ct.

ET passim
Greenlaw v. United States, 554 U.S. 237 (2008)............ 18
Hooks v. Landmark Indus., Inc., No. 14-20496,

2015 WL 4760253 (5th Cir. Aug. 12, 2015) .................. 11
Illinois Cent. R.R. v. Adams, 180 U.S. 28 (1901)................ 14
KBR, Inc. v. Metzgar, 135 S. Ct. 1153 (2015) ...................... 30
Knowles v. Towa, 525 U.S. 118 (1998) ............0ecececeesereseeeneees 14
Knox v. Service Emps. Int'l Union, 132 S. Ct. 2277

EES eRe. ee ee 10
Lewis v. Continental Bank Corp., 494 U.S 472

ESSE ee Cee ok A ey ee 22
Little v. Bowers, 134 U.S. 547 (1890) .........ccccccccesseseeeeeenees oa
Marek v. Chesny, 473 U.S. 1 (1985)..........cccccscceeccesseeeeees 4
McCardle, Ex parte, 74 U.S (7 Wall.) 506 (1869) ................ 14

Mims v. Arrow Fin. Servs., LLC, 132 S. Ct. 740

Cases—Continued: Page

Minneapolis & St. Louis Ry. v. Columbus Rolling

es Be Cs I icceciincininnctieniniininitniinatunceeninennisinenenes ll
Mitchell v. Forsyth, 472 U.S. 511 (1985) ...........cccccsccceseeeeseee 25
Nardone v. United States, 302 U.S. 379 (1937)............. 24
O’Brien v. Ed Donnelly Enters., Inc., 575 F.3d 567

es I iceniteisiennnasinnctnncenenncinicenestnarenmnmnitipnitensmnnmueten 18
Plaut v. Spendthrift Farm, Inc., 514 U.S. 211 (19965) ........ 14
Richardson v. McKnight, 521 U.S. 399 (1997) ..........c000000+ 24
Russell v. United States, 661 F.3d 1371 (Fed. Cir.

SIT aicicedhianiieeedeiicannsieainsata lila aati iipataetaeaaaiaaaaae 12
San Mateo Cnty. v. Southern Pac. R.R., 116 U.S. 138

EE 16
Sloan Shipyards Corp. v. United States Shipping

Bd. Emergency Fleet Corp., 258 U.S. 549 (1922)............. 26
Sosna v. Towa, 419 U.S. 393 (1975) ...........cc-sccsesecerersesssseeerers 20
Steel Co. v. Citizens for a Better Env't, 523 U.S. 83

ee 14, 22
Stein v. Buccaneers Ltd. P’ship, 772 F.3d 698

Ee 12

Tanasi v. New Alliance Bank, 786 F.3d 195
(2d Cir. 2015), petition for cert. pending,

No. 15-84 (filed July 17, 2015) 0.0.0... ceceecceeeeeeeee 12, 18
Vermont Agency of Nat. Res. v. United States ex rel.

Stevens, S29 U.S. TE5 (2000) .....2.0cecececscscsvsecerecsessseresersssereres 23
Williamson Cnty. Reg Planning Comm'n v.

Hamilton Bank, 473 U.S. 172 (1985) .........cccccccececsseeseeeeeees 28
Wood v. Milyard, 132 S. Ct. 1826 (2012) 00.0... ccceeceeeees 14, 18
Wyatt v. Cole, 504 U.S. 158 (1992)...........c.cecececesssesseseseeeeeseees 24

Yearsley v. W.A. Ross Constr. Co., 309 U.S. 18

VI

Constitution, statutes and rules: Page
ili 10, 22
Suits in Admiralty Act, 46 U.S.C. 741 et seq. (1940)........... 26
Telephone Consumer Protection Act of 1991,

EEN IE REED ee a l
ER ee 2
Tenn ee 2
eee eee: 2
en aE 2
calli 23

a nC a 24
EE ne eT 30
TR eo Se RON h 2
I ical cede dest iiitiaaiailammtioati 23
Fed. R. Civ. P.:
FREE eae en Rea nae OTT Ne 14
tiated ahaa teiehnaeanismtcmmtertastiainiisinasanel 8,17, 19
I aaah tenia neice aid taaaalacinas 17
SN ae 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 11
sie aiaes lalitaletianeinniadiaieaialesaabiiial 4, 7,13
TE 5, 7,11, 16
EEE een ee aN EE 4,11
I Osa caiomniaiiinniiinanaieibiaiies 12
Miscellaneous:
FCC:
Public Notice, 29 FCC Red. 11,268 (2014).........00.0000.....31
Public Notice, 29 FCC Red. 13,916 (2014)..................... 31

Rules and Regulations Implementing the
Telephone Consumer Protection Act of 1991,
In re, 18 FCC Red. 14,014 (2008) ..0.......ceccsseceseseseneneee 2

Vil

Miscellaneous—Continued: Page
Restatement (Second) of Agency (1958):
WH © crneennnicomusnniiotinndiaitneiamedaeneial 24, 25, 29
WAIEs 5B ccessvsenensitsoccasnnecssnmenegsunenieitesontsiieeaiiaanennieiapiiiiaiaal 24, 25, 29
2 Restatement (Third) of Agency (2006)...............:0.:c008 29
2 Restatement (First) of Contracts (1982) ............ccceeeees 13
Restatement (Second) of Contracts (1981):
WUD Ft sceussrencusonctsnssiniascssinteibadanunitaitesaiavaeiesastenindiemadiiiaiaa 16
Fie Bb cncerasssnresssnesennienecsnssantasmnncitaiantcentaattinéinineipaiinidaaemuadaiia 13

In the Supreme Court of the United States

No. 14-857
CAMPBELL-EWALD COMPANY, PETITIONER
v.

JOSE GOMEZ

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES
AS AMICUS CURIAE SUPPORTING RESPONDENT

INTEREST OF THE UNITED STATES

This case presents the question whether a defend-
ant can moot a putative class action by offering to pay
the named plaintiff the full amount of damages that
the plaintiff could obtain by successfully litigating his
individual! claim to judgment. The United States has a
significant interest in the resolution of that question.
The United States is charged with enforcing numer-
ous laws establishing private rights of action through
which individuals may seek redress in individual or
class actions. The United States is also a potential
defendant in such suits.

This case presents the further question whether a
federal contractor may be held liable for violating the
Telephone Consumer Protection Act of 1991 (TCPA),
47 U.S.C. 227, if the contractor’s allegedly unlawful

(1)

2

actions were taken while executing a contract with the
federal government. The United States has a sub-
stantial interest in that question, both because the
Federal Communications Commission (FCC) adminis-
ters the TCPA and because the liability of numerous
federal contractors could be affected by the Court’s
decision. '
STATEMENT

1. As relevant here, the TCPA prohibits “any per-
son” in the United States from “mak[{ing] any call
* * * using any automatic telephone dialing system”
to “any telephone number assigned to a * * * cellular
telephone service,” unless the call is made “for emer-
gency purposes” or with the “prior express consent of
the called party.” 47 U.S.C. 227(b)(1)(A)(iii). The
FCC has authority to adopt regulations implementing
Section 227(b) and to issue “rules{s] or order{s]” ad-
dressing questions arising under the Act. 47 U.S.C.
227(b)(2); see 47 U.S.C. 154(i). The FCC has con-
strued the TCPA prohibition described above as ap-
plying to both “voice calls and text calls to wireless
numbers.” Jn re Rules and Regulations Implement-
ing the Telephone Consumer Protection Act of 1991,
18 FCC Red. 14,014, 14,115 (2003). Neither party
disputes that interpretation. Pet. App. 3a.

Congress created a private right of action to re-
dress violations of Section 227(b) through damages or
injunctive relief. 47 U.S.C. 227(b)(3); see Mims v.
Arrow Fin. Servs., LLC, 132 S. Ct. 740, 745 (2012). In
such an action, the plaintiff is entitled “to recover for
actual monetary loss from such a violation, or to re-
ceive $500 in damages for each such violation, which-
ever is greater.” 47 U.S.C. 227(b)(3). A court may

3

treble the ddmages award if it finds that the defend-
ant violated the TCPA “willfully or knowingly.” /bid.

2. In performing a marketing contract with the
United States Navy, petitioner caused to be sent ap-
proximately 100,000 text messages. Pet. App. 2a; Pet.
5. Under that contract, petitioner was responsible for
developing and implementing a Navy recruiting cam-
paign targeting young adults. Pet. App. 2a. Although
the Navy approved the content of a text message,
ibid., it “intended the messages to be sent only to indi-
viduals who had consented or ‘opted in’ to receive
messages like the recruiting text,” id. at 4a. Con-
strued in the light most favorable to respondent (the
non-moving party), the summary-judgment evidence
indicated that “[petitioner] was not authorized to send
texts to individuals who had not opted in,” ibid., and
that petitioner had agreed “to send [the] messages
only to cellular users that had consented to solicita-
tion,” id. at 2a.

Petitioner hired a subcontractor, MindMatics, to
generate a list of opt-in recipients and send the text
message to them. Pet. App. 2a. Respondent contends
that he received a text message without his consent.
Id. at 2a-3a; J.A. 20.

3. In 2010, respondent filed this suit in federal dis-
trict court. Pet. App. 2a. His class-action complaint
(J.A. 16-24) alleged that petitioner had violated the
TCPA by sending text messages to respondent’s and
others’ cellular phones without consent. J.A. 20, 23.
The complaint asked the district court to certify a
class of all persons who had received one or more
“unauthorized text message advertisements” from
petitioner. /bid. The complaint also requested injunc-

4

tive relief, trebled actual and statutory damages, and
reasonable attorney’s fees and costs. J.A. 23.

Before petitioner responded to the complaint, the
parties stipulated that the class-certification-motion
deadline should be extended until after petitioner had
filed its response and respondent had received an op-
portunity to conduct precertification discovery. Pet.
App. 37a. Petitioner agreed that it would be “ineffi-
cient for the Court and the parties to expend re-
sources on class certification-related activities before
[petitioner] ha[d] responded to the Complaint and
before any threshold motions [had been] resolved.”
Ibid.

Before discovery commenced, petitioner tendered
to respondent an offer of judgment (Pet. App. 52a-
56a) under Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 68. See
Pet. App. 48a. A valid Rule 68 settlement offer must,
inter alia, propose entry of judgment for the plaintiff
on specified terms, Fed. R. Civ. P. 68(a), and may “not
implicitly or explicitly provide that the judgment not
include costs.” Marek v. Chesny, 473 U.S. 1, 6 (1985).
If the plaintiff accepts a valid Rule 68 offer within 14
days and a party “file[s] the offer and notice of ac-
ceptance” with proof of service, the district court clerk
must enter judgment accordingly. Fed. R. Civ. P
68(a). If the plaintiff does not accept the offer and
ultimately obtains a judgment no more favorable than
the offer, the plaintiff must pay the “costs” incurred
after the offer was made, including any attorney's fees
properly treated as “costs.” Fed. R. Civ. P. 68(d); see
Marek, 473 U.S. at 10-11. Rule 68 further provides
that “[aJ]n unaccepted offer is considered withdrawn,”
and that “[elvidence ofan unaccepted offer is not

5

admissible except in a proceeding to determine costs.”
Fed. R. Civ. P. 68(b).

Petitioner’s Rule 68 offer proposed the entry of a
district court judgment against petitioner that would
have awarded respondent (a) permanent injunctive
relief, (b) $1503 in damages for each unauthorized text
message that respondent had received, and (c) “rea-
sonable costs allowable under law.” Pet. App. 53a; see
id. at 55a-56a (proposed injunction). Petitioner’s con-
temporaneous settlement letter (id. at 57a-59a) ex-
plained that its “offer d{id] not include attorneys’
fees” requested in respondent’s complaint. /d. at 58a.
Consistent with Rule 68, the offer stated that it “shall
be deemed withdrawn unless written notice of ac-
ceptance is received within fourteen days of service.”
Id. at 54a. Because respondent failed to respond
within 14 days, the offer “lapse[d] in accordance with
its own terms.” /d. at 3a.

Petitioner then moved to dismiss the action for
want of jurisdiction, arguing that the unaccepted Rule
68 offer had rendered respondent’s claim moot. On
the same day, respondent moved for class certifica-
tion. J.A. 7-8. The district court denied petitioner’s
motion to dismiss, Pet. App. 40a-49a, and struck from
the record the offer of judgment (id. at 52a-56a) that
petitioner had filed, explaining that “Rule 68 does not
allow a party to file a Rule 68 offer unless it has been
accepted,” id. at 49a. The court deferred ruling on
class certification “until after the parties have had an
opportunity to engage in class discovery.” Jd. at 50a.

After limited discovery, petitioner moved for sum-
mary judgment, arguing that its status as a federal
contractor entitled it to “derivative sovereign immuni-
ty.” Pet. App. 30a; J.A. 11. Cf. Dist. Ct. Doc. 129

6

(10/31/2011) (discovery status report). The district
court granted petitioner’s motion. Pet. App. 22a-34a.
The court concluded that, “[iJnasmuch as [petitioner]
acted on behalf of the Navy, it is also immune under
the doctrine of derivative sovereign immunity estab-
lished by the Supreme Court in Yearsley v. W.A. Ross
Constr. Co., 309 U.S. 18, 21-22 [1940].” Jd. at 30a; see
id. at 30a-34a. The district court entered final judg-
ment (J.A. 14) without separately denying respond-
ent’s pending motion for class certification.

4. The court of appeals vacated and remanded.
Pet. App. la-21la. As relevant here, the court held that
petitioner’s unaccepted offer of judgment did not moot
respondent’s action, id. at 4a-7a, and that petitioner
was not entitled to “derivative sovereign immunity,”
id. at 14a-20a.'

a. The court of appeals rejected petitioner’s
mootness argument, relying on its then-recent holding
that “[aJn unaccepted Rule 68 offer that would fully
satisfy a plaintiff's claim is insufficient to render the
claim moot.” Pet. App. 5a (quoting Diaz v. First Am.
Home Buyers Prot. Corp., 732 F.3d 948, 950 (9th Cir.
2013)). The court further held that an unaccepted

' The court rejected petitioner’s remaining contentions, includ-
ing petitioner’s argument that it could not be held vicariously lia-
ble for the actions of its subcontractor. Pet. App. 10a-14a.

* In Diaz, the court of appeals noted that a majority of the Court
in Genesis HealthCare Corp. v. Symezyk, 133 S. Ct. 1523 (2013),
had reserved the question, but that four dissenting Justices and
the Solicitor General had concluded that an unaccepted offer of
judgment could not moot a plaintiff's underlying claim. 732 F.3d
at 952-953. Diaz concluded that “Justice Kagan[’s dissenting opin-
ion in Genesis HealthCare] has articulated the correct approach.”
Td. at 954; see id. at 953-955.

7

offer of judgment likewise does not render a class
action moot. 7d. at 5a-7a.

b. The court of appeals held that the district court
had erred by granting petitioner derivative sovereign
immunity. Pet. App. 14a-20a. The court stated that
this Court’s decision in Yearsley, which involved a
contractor whose damage-causing actions were re-
quired by its contract with the United States, was “not
applicable” because Yearsley had “established a nar-
row rule regarding claims arising out of property
damage caused by public works projects.” /d. at 15a.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

I. Neither petitioner’s offer to settle this case by
paying respondent the full value of his individual
claim, nor respondent’s failure to accept that offer,
rendered this case moot.

A. Petitioner’s settlement offer did not moot re-
spondent’s individual claim. If the mere communica-
tion of a Rule 68 offer of judgment could moot a case,
the offer would foreclose the court from performing
the action—entry of judgment for the plaintiff in ac-
cordance with the offer—that Rule 68(a) mandates if
the offer is accepted. And if the mere communication
of an offer to pay the plaintiff’s individual claim in full
does not moot the case, the plaintiff’s refusal to accept
the offer cannot have that effect. Under Rule 68(b),
“(ajn unaccepted offer is considered withdrawn,” and
the plaintiff is left as before with an unsatisfied claim
that a court can redress if the claim is found to have
merit.

Although petitioner argues that respondent’s indi-
vidual claim is moot, petitioner also contends that the
district court may enter judgment in respondent’s
favor on that claim in accordance with petitioner’s

8

prior Rule 68 offer. That combination of arguments is
self-contradictory, because a district court that has
been divested of jurisdiction can do nothing more than
dismiss the case. Although entry of judgment in the
plaintiff’s favor is sometimes the appropriate course
of action when the defendant offers to capitulate, the
propriety of that disposition depends on the under-
standing that the offer does not render the case moot.

The nineteenth-century decisions of this Court on
which petitioner relies do not support its cause. Those
decisions address the effect of a plaintiff’s acceptance
of full payment, not the effect of an unaccepted set-
tlement offer.

If a defendant offers to surrender by agreeing to
all of the relief the plaintiff could realistically have
obtained, and if further litigation would serve no other
legitimate purpose, the court should enter judgment
for the plaintiff in accordance with the defendant’s
offer, even if the plaintiff objects. Entry of judgment
for the plaintiff, rather than dismissal of the action as
moot, is the appropriate course of action in the (pre-
sumably rare) case where the plaintiff's obstinacy or
vindictiveness prompts him to reject the defendant’s
capitulation. Entry of judgment in accordance with
petitioner’s Rule 68 offer would have been inappropri-
ate, however, under the circumstances of this case.
Petitioner’s offer to pay the full value of respondent’s
individual claim did not give respondent all that he
might have achieved by litigating the case, since entry
of judgment on those terms would have prevented
respondent from invoking the cost-sharing mecha-
nisms of Rule 23.

B. Even if the Court concludes that petitioner’s
unaccepted settlement offer mooted respondent’s indi-

9

vidual claim, respondent retained a litigable stake in
the question whether class certification was appropri-
ate, since certification of a class would have allowed
respondent to shift litigation costs to other class mem-
bers. That conclusion follows logically from this
Court’s decision in Deposit Guaranty National Bank
v. Roper, 445 U.S. 326 (1980), which petitioner has not
asked the Court to overrule.

II. Petitioner is not entitled to “derivative sover-
eign immunity” from respondent’s suit. This Court
has consistently held that private companies perform-
ing work for the federal government do not acquire
the government’s own immunity from suit. Those
decisions are consistent with the common-law rule
that immunities are not delegable but rather are per-
sonal to those who possess them. Individuals who
perform governmental functions may assert qualified
immunity from liability for wrongs they commit in
that capacity. But the question of qualified immunity
is not before this Court, and petitioner cites no deci-
sion in which this Court has held that a corporate
entity (as distinct from an individual) was entitled to
such immunity, let alone demonstrate that it meets the
distinct requirements of a qualified-immunity claim.

Because the United States and its agencies are not
subject to the substantive prohibitions imposed by the
TCPA, federal agencies have a “privilege” to engage
in conduct that private actors could not lawfully un-
dertake. The Navy therefore could lawfully have sent
automated recruiting text messages to unconsenting
recipients like respondent. Unlike immunities, privi-
leges have traditionally been delegable, and the Navy
might have been able to delegate to petitioner its
privilege of making such calls. The Navy did not do

10

so, however, but instead authorized petitioner to send
recruiting texts only to individuals who had opted in.

ARGUMENT

I. PETITIONER’S OFFER OF JUDGMENT DID NOT REN-
DER THIS CASE MOOT

A. Petitioner’s Unaccepted Settlement Offer Did Not Ren-
der Moot Respondent's Individual Claim

The court of appeals correctly held that respond-
ent’s individual TCPA claim is not moot. Neither
petitioner’s communication of a settlement offer, nor
respondent’s failure to accept that proposal, deprived
the district court of jurisdiction over that claim.

1. To establish an Article III “case” or “controversy,”
a plaintiff must show that he possessed Article ITI stand-
ing when “the action commence[d].” Friends of the
Earth, Inc. v. Laidlaw Envtl. Servs. (TOC), Inc., 528
U.S. 167, 191 (2000) (Laidlaw). “[AJn actual controversy
must [also] be extant at all stages of review, not merely
at the time the complaint is filed.” Genesis HealthCare
Corp. v. Symezyk, 133 S. Ct. 1523, 1528 (2013) (citation
omitted). “A case becomes moot,” however, “only when
it is impossible for a court to grant any effectual relief
whatever to the prevailing party.” Decker v. Northwest
Envtl. Def. Ctr., 133 S. Ct. 1326, 1335 (2013) (quoting
Knox v. Service Emps. Int'l Union, 132 S. Ct. 2277, 2287
(2012)); accord Chafin v. Chafin, 133 S. Ct. 1017, 1023
(2013) (same). “As long as the parties have a concrete
interest, however small, in the outcome of the litigation,
the case is not moot.” Chafin, 133 S. Ct. at 1023 (citation
omitted).

A defendant’s unaccepted offer to settle a plaintiff's
claim does not render the claim moot because it does not
prevent the court from granting the plaintiff relief. This

11

Court has long recognized that, because “an offer * * *
imposes no obligation until it is accepted,” the offeree’s
rejection of a settlement proposal “leaves the matter as
if no offer had ever been made.” Minneapolis & St.
Louis Ry. v. Columbus Rolling Mill, 119 U.S. 149, 151
(1886); see Eliason v. Henshaw, 17 U.S. (4 Wheat.)
225, 228 (1819). Rule 68 incorporates that longstand-
ing principle. Rule 68(b) provides that “[ajJn unac-
cepted offer is considered withdrawn,” and that “[e}vi-
dence of an unaccepted offer is not admissible, except
in a proceeding to determine costs” under Rule 68(d).
The Court in Genesis HealthCare reserved the ques-
tion whether an unaccepted offer of judgment can moot
an individual plaintiff's claim. 133 S. Ct. at 1528-1529.
The government argued (id. at 1528), however, and Jus-
tice Kagan’s opinion for four dissenting Justices con-
cluded, that “an unaccepted offer of judgment cannot
moot a case.” /d. at 1533 (Kagan, J., dissenting). The
dissenting Justices explained that, if the plaintiff de-
clines such an offer, both “her interest in the lawsuit”
and “the court’s ability to grant her relief” remain as
they were before. Jbid.; see id. at 1535 (concluding that
an unaccepted settlement offer “is a legal nullity” having
no effect on a dispute’s justiciability). Since Genesis
HealthCare was decided, every court of appeals that has
resolved the issue—including the Seventh Circuit,
which overruled its earlier precedents on the ques-
tion—has held that an unaccepted offer of judgment
cannot moot a «laintiff’s claim. See Bais Yaakov v.
ACT, Inc., No. 14-1789, 2015 WL 4979406, at *5-*6
(ist Cir. Aug. 21, 2015); Hooks v. Landmark Indus.,
Inc., No. 14-20496, 2015 WL 4760253, at *3 (5th Cir.
Aug. 12, 2015); Chapman v. First Index, Inc., Nos. 14-
2773, 14-2775, 2015 WL 4652878, at *3 (7th Cir. Aug.

12

6, 2015) (overruling earlier Seventh Circuit decisions
by using the court’s mini-en-banc process, see 7th Cir.
R. 40(e)); Tanasi v. New Alliance Bank, 786 F.3d 195,
200 (2d Cir. 2015), petition for cert. pending, No. 15-84
(filed July 17, 2015); Stein v. Buccaneers Ltd. P’ship,
772 F.3d 698, 702-704 (11th Cir. 2014); Diaz v. First
Am. Home Buyers Prot. Corp., 732 F.3d 948, 954-955
(9th Cir. 2013).*

2. The certiorari petition frames the question pre-
sented as whether a case becomes moot “when the
plaintiff receives an offer of complete relief on his
claim.” Pet. i (emphasis added). That formulation, as
well as similar language in petitioner’s brief on the

* In Russell v. United States, 661 F.3d 1371, 1374-1375, 1377
(2011), the Federal Circuit accepted the government’s argument as
appellee that the damages claim of the named plaintiff was ren-
dered moot by the government’s tender of a check that—like its
payments to thousands of others in the putative class—covered the
full amount claimed by the plaintiff (who declined to cash the
check). The government relied on Federal Circuit precedent,
which the government has since concluded is incorrect. See U.S.
Amicus Br. at 13 n.1, Genesis HealthCare, supra (No. 11-1059).

When a plaintiff timely seeks retrospective relief for a past
wrong, the wrong has been completed by the time the claim is
filed. Any damages liability therefore is fixed and will continue
until the claim is resolved by a judgment or a settlement agree-
ment grounded, like any contract, on mutual assent.

Different considerations apply when a plaintiff seeks prospec-
tive relief for an ongoing or imminent injury caused by the defend-
ant’s challenged actions. If the defendant ceases those actions
after the suit is filed, it can terminate the underlying injury and
associated liability for prospective relief, regardless of the plain-
tiff’s consent. Yet even in that “voluntary cessation” context, the
claim for prospective relief becomes moot only if the defendant
shows that it is “absolutely clear” that the “allegedly wrongful
behavior could not reasonably be expected to recur.” Laidlaw, 528
USS. at 189-190.

13

merits (see; e.g., Br. 13, 16, 20, 21), suggests that this
case became moot as soon as petitioner communicated
its settlement offer. That cannot be right. If a settle-
ment offer alone could moot a claim, the district court
would lack authority to do the very thing that Rule 68(a)
requires if the plaintiff accepts the offer: enter judgment
for the plaintiff based on the parties’ agreement. See
Chapman, 2015 WL 4652878, at *3. “[N]o one thinks
(or should think) that a defendant’s offer to have the
court enter a consent decree [or judgment] renders
the litigation moot and thus prevents the injunction’ S
[or judgment’s] entry.” /bid.

In the district court, petitioner moved to dismiss
this suit on mootness grounds immediately after the
expiration of Rule 68(a)’s 14-day period for acceptance
of a defendant’s settlement offer. That timing sug-
gests that petitioner viewed respondent’s failure to
accept the settlement offer within the prescribed
period, rather than the initial communication of the
offer, as the event that rendered this case moot. But
if tendering the offer did not divest the court of juris-
diction, respondent’s subsequent failure to accept it
could not have that effect. “After the offer lapsed, just
as before, [respondent] possessed an unsatisfied claim,
which the court could redress by awarding h{im] damag-
es.” Genesis HealthCare, 133 S. Ct. at 1534 (Kagan, J
dissenting).

* Even when a plaintiff actually enters a settlement agreement
that the defendant fulfills, if the plaintiff continues to assert a
settled claim, that claim should be adjudicated against the plaintiff,
not dismissed as moot. Such a settlement gives rise to the defense
of “accord and satisfaction.” See 2 Restatement (Second) of Con-
tracts § 281 & cmt. a, at 381-382 (1981); 2 Restatement (First) of
Contracts § 417 & cmt. a, at 785-786 (1932). Entry of a consent

14

3. The argument that respondent’s action became
moot (either when petitioner made its settlement offer or
when respondent failed to accept it) logically implies that
the district court should have dismissed the suit, leaving
respondent -handed. “When [jurisdiction] ceases
to exist, the only function remaining to the court is that
of announcing the fact and dismissing the cause,” bé-
cause “{wlithout jurisdiction the court cannot proceed at
all.” Steel Co. v. Citizens for a Better Env't, 523 U.S. 83,
94 (1998) (quoting Ex parte McCardle, 74 U.S. (7 Wall.)
506, 614 (1869)). That disposition, which would produce
the same practical outcome as a judgment in petitioner’s
favor, obviously could not be said to “afford the plaintiff
complete relief.” Pet. Br. 20.

To avoid the strange result that would logically follow
from a finding of mootness, petitioner contends (Br. 10,
21) that a “case should be dismissed as moot” when a
defendant offers to provide complete relief, but that the
“court also has authority to dispose of the case by enter-
ing judgment according to the defendant’s offer.” That
combination of arguments is self-contradictory. Because
an event that moots a case thereby divests the district
court of jurisdiction, “entering judgment according to
the defendant’s offer of complete relief” (id. at 10)—i.e.,
entering judgment in favor of the plaintiff—is permis-
sible only if the defendant’s settlement offer does not
moot the controversy. Although entry of judgment in

judgment likewise supports a res-judicata defense. Those affirma-
tive defenses, see Fed. R. Civ. P. &c)(1), are not jurisdictional,
however, and may be forfeited if not timely asserted. See Wood v.
Milyard, 132 S. Ct. 1826, 1832 (2012); Knowles v. Iowa, 525 U.S.
113, 116 n.2 (1998); Plaut v. Spendthrift Farm, Inc., 514 U.S. 211,
231 (1995); [Ulinois Cent. R.R. v. Adams, 180 U.S. 28, 32 (1901)
(holding that “res judicata * * * [iJs not a question affecting the
jurisdiction of th{e] court”) (citation omitted).

15

the plaintiff's favor is sometimes the appropriate
course of action when a defendant offers to capitulate
(see pp. 17-18, infra), that is not the disposition that
petitioner requested in the courts below. Nor is peti-
tioner’s current advocacy of that disposition fairly
encompassed within the first question presented in
the certiorari petition, which asks “[wJhether a case
becomes moot, and thus beyond the judicial power of
Article III, when the plaintiff receives an offer of
complete relief on his claim.” Pet. i (emphasis add-,
ed).

4. Petitioner relies (Br. 16-18) on three nineteenth-
century decisions of this Court. None suggests that an
unaccepted settlement offer of complete relief moots the
underlying claim.

In California v. San Pablo & Tulare Railroad, 149
U.S. 308, 308-309 (1893), California brought suit to re-
cover state and county taxes from a railroad. The State
asserted that it had not “accepted” the railroad’s offer of
a sum that was “equal to the [unpaid] taxes, penalties,
interest, and attorney’s fees * * * and costs” that the
State sought. Jd. at 311-312. The railroad had already
paid that sum to the State, however, under a California

statute that effectively accepted the railroad’s payment

* Petitioner indicates that, even if respondent’s suit is dismissed
as moot, petitioner intends to pay respondent in accordance with
petitioner’s prior settlement offer. Pet. Br. 22 n.6. We do not
question the sincerity of that representation. If the suit is dis-
missed as moot, however, any such payment would be legally
gratuitous, since (a) the legal effect of a mootness dismissal is that
the plaintiff is entitled to nothing, and (b) petitioner’s settlement
offer was “withdrawn” by its own terms when respondent did not
accept it within 14 days, see Pet. App. 54a. Petitioner’s stated
intent to make a legally gratuitous payment if the suit is dismissed
cannot divest respondent of his practical stake in the litigation.

16

on the State’s behalf. See id. at 312. Pursuant to state
law, the railroad had deposited that payment into a Cali-
fornia bank in the State’s name and had provided notice
thereof to the State. /bid.

In dismissing the writ of error, the Court explained
that any obligation of the railroad to pay the State had
been “extinguished” by the railroad’s deposit, which
under state law “ha[d] the same effect as actual payment
and receipt of the money” by the State. San Pablo, 149
U.S. at 313-314. The Court concluded that the State’s
“cause of action ha[d] ceased to exist,” id. at 313, because
the State had “obtained everything that it could recover
in th{e] case,” id. at 314. That disposition reflects that a
State may be required by its own governing law to ac-
cept a proffered payment settling a claim. A similar
principle might apply more broadly if the normal con-
tract-law principle of mutual assent, 1 Restatement
(Second) of Contracts § 18, at 53 (1981), were dis-
placed by a statute requiring a private plaintiff to accept
a defendant’s full payment of a disputed sum. Such a
principle would be inapplicable here, however, because
Rule 68 specifies that “an unaccepted offer is considered
withdrawn.” Fed. R. Civ. P. 68(b).

San Mateo County v. Southern Pacific Railroad, 116
U.S. 138 (1885), is even further afield. In San Mateo, the
County accepted two payments from the defendant
railroad. /d. at 138-139, 141. Because the two payments
taken together exceeded the “entire sum estimated by
the [County] to be due,” id. at 141, this Court held that
“the debt for which the suit was brought ha[d] been
unconditionally paid and satisfied,” so that the plaintiff
county “no longer [had] an existing cause of action.” Jd.
at 141-142. Although San Mateo reflects that a plain-
tiffs actual acceptance of full payment can extinguish a

17

claim, the decision does not address the effect of a cde-
clined settlement offer.

Little v. Bowers, 134 U.S. 547 (1890), similarly in-
volved a railroad’s challenge to municipal property taxes
on a writ of error to this Court, which the city moved to
dismiss on the ground that the plaintiff railroad had
“paid and satisfied [its tax obligation] in full” and had
paid the city its “costs in the case.” /d. at 548-549. The
Court concluded that the railroad’s payment “was in the
nature of a compromise, by which the city agreed to
take, and the [railroad] agreed to pay, a less sum than
was originally assessed.” /d. at 556; see id. at 549-550.
Dismissal was warranted, the Court concluded, because
“(tJhe effect of (that compromise] was to extinguish the
controversy between the parties.” Jd. at 556. As in San
Mateo, the Court did not address the effect of a rejected
settlement proposal.

5. Although an unaccepted offer of complete relief
cannot moot a plaintiff's claim, courts should be reluc-
tant to expend judicial and litigation resources adjucicat-
ing the merits of a demand for relief that the defendant
informs the court it will fully satisfy. That legitimate
impulse, however, suggests that the court should enter
judgment for the plaintiff, not against him. That is the
proper course for a court to follow if the plaintiff identi-
fies no additional relief that he could realistically obtain,
cf. Fed. R. Civ. P. 54(c), and if further litigation would
serve no other legitimate purpose. In the present cir-
cumstances, however, it would have been inappropriate
for the district court to terminate this suit by entering
judgment in respondent’s favor on his individual! claim,
even if petitioner had requested that disposition below.
Because that disposition would have prevented respond-
ent from invoking the cost-sharing mechanisms of Rule

18

23, it would not have provided respondent complete
relief on the (individual and class) claims asserted in his
complaint.

“[T)he principle of party presentation [is] basic to
our adversary system,” Wood v. Milyard, 132 S. Ct.
1826, 1833 (2012), which rests on the “premise that the
parties know what is best for them” and “rel[ies] on
the parties to frame the issues for decision,” Greenlaw
v. United States, 554 U.S. 237, 243-244 (2008). A de-
fendant therefore may elect not to contest liability and
to litigate only the scope of relief. Or a defendant may
decide not even to contest relief. If a defendant know-
ingly accepts an adverse judgment for the full relief
sought rather than litigating the merits, a court may
rely on that choice by exercising its discretion to enter
judgment upon it. See Genesis HeathCare, 133 S. Ct.
at 1536 (Kagan, J., dissenting); see also, e.g., Tanasi,
786 F.3d at 200; O’Brien v. Ed Donnelly Enters., Inc.,
575 F.3d 567, 575 (6th Cir. 2009).°

* Although a court’s entry of judgment pursuant to the defend-
ant’s surrender is sometimes described as “moot({ing)” the claim,
e.g., Tanasi, 786 F.3d at 200, that characterization is imprecise.
While a defendant's capitulation may obviate the need fur the court
to make an insiependent assessment of the merits, the court never-
theless adjudicates the claim when it renders judgment pursuant
to the defendant’s consent. Unlike most judgments, however, a
judgment hased on the defemdant’s consent ordinarily will have no
future issue-prechusive effect, beeause the merits of the case are
not “actually litigated and determined” and because the judgment
does not rest on a resolution of the merits. Bobby v. Bies, 566 U.S.
825, 834 (2009) (citation omitted); see 1 Restatement (Second) of
Judgments § 27 cmt. e, at 257 (1982) (Absent an agreement that
does not apply “in the case of a judgment entered by confession,
consent, or default.”).

19

When a plaintiff has asserted a colorable class-wide
claim, however, a court would abuse its discretion by
entering judgment for the plaintiff on his individual
claim before resolving the question of class certification.
If the plaintiff has asserted a class claim, an offer of full
relief for his individual claim alone fails to “offer{} all
that has been requested in the complaint (i.¢., relief for
the class).” Deposit Guar. Nat'l Bank v. Roper, 445 U.S.
326, 341 (1980) (Rehnquist, J., concurring). As a result,
“{ajeceptance [of such a less-than-complete offer] need
not be mandated,” ibid., when the question of clase certi-
fication remains outstanding.

Rule 23 confers upon plaintiffs a “procedural right” to
“assert their own claims in the framework of a class
action.” Roper, 445 U.S. at 332. Allowing a plaintiff to
proceed on his individual claim within a class action
serves important policy interests. A plaintiff may utilize
the class-action mechanism to distribute the costs of
litigation across the class. /d. at 338 & n.9. A defendant
can reduce the litigation expenses that multiple lawsuits
might entail, since a judgment favorable to the defendant
will bind all class members. Consolidation of claims
likewise can conserve limited judicial resources. By
contrast, “(rjequiring multiple plaintiffs to bring sepa-
rate actions, which effectively could be ‘picked off’ by a
defendant’s tender of judgment before an affirmative
ruling on class certification could be obtained,” would
“frustrate the objectives of class actions,” would be “con-
trary to sound judicial administration,” and would “invite
waste of judicial resources by stimulating successive
suits brought by others.” Jd. at 339 (dictum).

20

B. Under Roper, Respondent Would Retain A Sufficient
Interest To Pursue Class Certification Even If His In-
dividual Claim Were Moot

Because petitioner’s unaccepted settlement offer did
not moot respondent’s individual claim, the Court need
not address the second question presented. But if the
Court concludes that the unaccepted offer did moot the
individual claim, respondent would retain a separate
financial interest in class certification that would allow
his action to remain live through the district court’s
class-certification decision. That proposition follows
from this Court’s decision in Roper, which petitioner has
not asked the Court to overrule. Pet. Br. 33. If the court
subsequently certifies a class, the class would “acquire[]
a legal status separate from the interest asserted by the
[named plaintiff],” Sosna v. Jowa, 419 U.S. 393, 399
(1975), that would itself be sufficient to allow a full adju-
dication of the merits.

In Roper, the plaintiffs brought a putative class action
for damages. After the district court denied class certifi-
cation, the court entered judgment for the plaintiffs
(over their objection) and dismissed their suit based on
the defendant’s offer to pay the plaintiffs’ individual
claims in full. 445 U.S. at 329-330. The defendant then
paid the judgment into the court registry. /d. at 330.

This Court held that the entry of judgment for the
named plaintiffs on their individual claims did not moot
their “individual and private case or controversy,”
because they retained an ongoing “economic interest
in class certification” that allowed them to appeal! the
adverse certification ruling. Roper, 445 U.S. at 332-
333. The Court held that the plaintiffs possessed an
economic interest in class certification because certifi-
cation would enable them to recover attorney’s fees

21

and costs by “allocating such costs among all members
of the class who benefit from any recovery.” Jd. at 334
n.6, 336, 338 n.9. Cf. Boeing Co. v. Van Gemert, 444
U.S. 472, 478-479 (1980) (holding that named plaintiff
may obtain common-fund fee award from a money judg-
ment obtained by a class). The Court explained that
the class-certification ruling was “collateral to the
merits” of the litigation, and that the court of appeals
could adjudicate the plaintiffs’ challenge to that ruling
without “passing on the merits of the substantive
controversy.” Roper, 445 U.S. at 336.

Respondent possesses precisely the same economic
interest as the Roper plaintiffs in shifting his litigation
expenses to the class. To be sure, Roper involved an
appeal from the denial of class certification, whereas the
district court made no certification ruling in this case.
But if a named plaintiff's “economic interest in class
certification” (445 U.S. at 333) is sufficient to allow him
to appeal an adverse certification ruling, notwithstanding
the defendant’s full payment of the plaintiff's individual
claim, the same interest is likewise sufficient to allow the
plaintiff to litigate that collateral issue in district court
either directly or on remand from an appeal.

Petitioner argues (Br. 33) that Roper is “inapplicable”
here because Genesis HealthCare “made clear that Rop-
er is limited to its facts.” That is incorrect. Genesis
HealthCare acknowledged Roper’s holding that “the
named plaintiffs possessed an ongoing, personal econom-
ic stake” in “shift{ing] a portion of attorney’s fees and
expenses to successful class litigants.” 133 S. Ct. at 1532.
The Court also noted that Roper contained dicta empha-
sizing the importance of class-certification decisions and
the undesirability of allowing defendants to “pick off”
named plaintiffs, ibid., and it expressly declined to con-

22

sider whether Roper’s “continuing validity” had been
eroded by subsequent decisions, id. at 1532 n.5. Peti-
tioner has not asked this Court to overrule Roper. Cf.,
e.g., Alabama v. North Carolina, 560 U.S. 330, 355 n.6
(2010) (declining to overrule precedent sua sponte with-
out the benefit of argument from the parties). Under
that decision, respondent would retain a sufficient inter-
est to pursue class certification in district court even if
petitioner’s settlement offer had rendered his individual
claim moot.’

’ Although “a plaintiff cannot achieve standing to litigate a sub-
stantive issue by bringing suit for the cost of bringing suit,” Steel
Co., 523 U.S. at 107, respondent clearly had Article III standing
when he filed his complaint. The determination whether the
district court was divested of the Article III jurisdiction it initially
possessed is governed by doctrinal rules different from, and
somewhat less rigid than, those governing the initial standing
inquiry. See Laidlaw, 528 U.S. at 189-192 (discussing exceptions
to mootness that would not support Article III standing). It is
particularly appropriate to distinguish between these two contexts
because respondent, in making his initial decision to commence
suit, could legitimately rely on the potential for cost-shifting
provided by the Rule 23 mechanism. See Resp. Br. 32, 35, 41-43.

In Lewis v. Continental Bank Corp., 494 U.S. 472 (1990), the
Court held that, where an intervening statutory amendment had
deprived the plaintiff of any continuing stake in the underlying
merits issue, the plaintiff's interest in recovering its attorney's
fees—which the plaintiff could have recovered only if it ultimately
“‘prevailfed]’ by winning the relief it seeks” at the end of the case
—<did not provide a constitutionally sufficient basis for continued
appellate litigation of that merits question. /d. at 478, 480. That
holding is not logically inconsistent with Roper’s conclusion that a
plaintiff's “economic interest in class certification” as a predicate
to a common-fund fee award based on the class’s own recovery can
enable him to pursue such certification as a discrete matter “col-
lateral to the merits.” 445 U.S. at 333, 336. Indeed, even after
lawsuits are resolved on the merits, parties frequently continue to

23

II. PETITIONER IS NOT ENTITLED TO “DERIVATIVE
SOVEREIGN IMMUNITY”

Petitioner argues (Br. 35-50) that it is entitled to “de-
rivative sovereign immunity” because its alleged viola-
tion of the TCPA occurred while petitioner was execut-
ing its contract with the Navy. That is incorrect.

The government utilizes contractors to perform
various functions on the government’s behalf. In
doing so, the government ordinarily can authorize
contractors to take actions that the government could
lawfully perform itself. That principle flows, not from
any derivative “immunity” from liability for unlawful
acts, but from the common-law rule that a principal
may delegate to its agents its own “privilege” to take
certain actions lawfully. That common-law agency
rule does not aid petitioner, however, because the
government never authorized petitioner to send text
messages to unconsenting recipients.

1. Federal agencies are not subject to the substan-
tive prohibitions imposed by the TCPA. The TCPA
prohibits “any person” from taking specified actions, 47
U.S.C 227(d)(1), without defining the term “person” to
include the United States or its agencies. The parties
appear to agree that the United States and its agencies
are not “person{s]” within the meaning of the TCPA.
See Resp. Br. 8; Pet. Br. 2, 8. Cf. Vermont Agency of
Nat. Res. v. United States ex rel. Stevens, 529 U.S. 755,
780-781 (2000) (explaining that the term “person” is
presumed “not [to] include the sovereign” when Con-
gress has imposed new obligations on such persons).”

litigate disputed collateral issues concerning their respective
entitlements to fees and costs.

* This Court has held that the wiretap provisions of the Commu-
nications Act, 47 U.S.C. 605, apply to government agents as “per-

24

Federal agencies may conclude that the performance
of particular governmental functions warrants making
calls that, if made by a private person, would violate the
TCPA. The Census Bureau, for instance, could conclude
that its duty to conduct the decennial census, see 13
U.S.C. 141(a), warrants use of automated telemarketing
and texting outreach to contact and identify members of
the population without their advance consent. The
TCPA does not prohibit such governmental calls, and it
need not be read to prohibit the government from direct-
ing private contractors to make such calls on its behalf.

In various contexts, particular entities are “privileged
to do an otherwise tortious act,” 2 Restatement (Second)
of Agency § 343 cmt. c, at 105 (1958), when a privilege
“result[s] from the consent of another” or is “created by
the law irrespective of consent,” 1 id. § 217 cmt. a, at 469.
Because the TCPA’s prohibitions do not apply to federal
agencies, those agencies possess a privilege to engage in
conduct that private parties are forbidden to undertake.
Ordinarily such “privileges are delegable,” i.¢., the privi-
lege holder can lawfully authorize another to perform the
privileged act on the holder’s behalf. /bid. Whether a
“privilege[] created by statute” is delegable or must be
“exercised personally” is ultimately a question of statu-
tory construction. 1 id. § 17 cmt. b, at 86; see 2 id. § 345
emt. a, at 108.

By contrast, “an immunity frees one who enjoys it
from a lawsuit whether or not he acted wrongly.” Rich-
ardson v. McKnight, 521 U.S. 399, 403 (1997) (citing
Wyatt v. Cole, 504 U.S. 158, 171-172 (1992) (Kennedy, J.,

sons” under those provisions. See Nardone v. United States, 302
U.S. 379, 382-383 (1937). In the government’s view, the term
“person” in the TCPA carries a different meaning. That issue,
however, is not before this Court.

25

concurring)). ‘Immunities thus can “protect an admitted
wrongdoer from civil liability” because “an overriding
public policy” justifies the grant of immunity. 2 Re-
statement (Second) of Agency § 347 cmt. a, at 111. Al-
though “sovereign immunity shields the Federal Govern-
ment and its agencies from suit” absent a statutory wai-
ver, FDIC v. Meyer, 510 U.S. 471, 475 (1994), a determi-
nation that the government is immune from a particular
suit does not mean that the challenged governmental
conduct was lawful. It simply means that courts are not
authorized to grant relief based on the asserted violation
of a legal duty. An immunity is thus quite different from
a privilege, which serves to legitimize the conduct of the
privilege-holder or his appropriate delegee.

Likewise, the qualified immunity held by individual
officials is an “entitlement not to stand trial or face the
other burdens of litigation.” Mitchell v. Forsyth, 472
U.S. 511, 526 (1985). Qualified immunity, like immunity
more generally, “is conceptually distinct from the merits
of the plaintiff's claim that his rights have been violated.”
Id. at 527-528. So long as the official’s actions did not
violate a “clearly established” right, qualified immunity
is warranted even when “the plaintiff's claim * * * in
fact has merit.” Camreta v. Greene, 131 S. Ct. 2020, 2031
(2011) (citation omitted).

2. At common law, “{i}mmunities, unlike privileges,
are not delegable and are available as a defense only to
persons who have them.” 1 Restatement (Second) of
Agency § 217 cmt. b, at 470; see 2 id. § 347 cmt. a, at 111
(“Immunities * * * are strictly personal to the individ-
ual and cannot be shared.”). That principle is reflected
in this Court’s decisions rejecting claims that a govern-
ment agent or contractor shares in the United States’
sovereign immunity.

26

In Sloan Shipyards Corp. v. United States Shipping
Board Emergency Fleet Corp., 258 U.S. 549 (1922)
(Holmes, J.), the Court rejected the government’s con-
tention that the Emergency Fleet Corporation—a corpo-
ration wholly owned by the government and vested by
the government with “enormous powers”—“share[d] the
immunity of the sovereign from suit.” Jd. at 566; see id.
at 565. The Court held that, because the United States’
“Immunity does not extend to those that acted in its
name,” an “agent [of the government], because he is
agent, does not cease to be answerable for his acts.” /d.
at 567-568.

The Court reached the same result in Brady v. Roo-
sevelt Steamship Co., 317 U.S. 575, 576 (1943), in which a
private contractor operated a government-owned vessel
on behalf of the United States Maritime Commission.
When a customs inspector died from an accident on that
vessel, the contractor argued that it was “non-suable for
[its] torts” because it could be sued only pursuant to the
statutory waiver of the government’s sovereign immuni-
ty in the Suits in Admiralty Act, 46 U.S.C. 741 et seq.
(1940). See 317 U.S. at 576-577. The Court rejected that
contention, holding that the contractor could not obtain
“(immunity from suit” “by reason of a contract between
[it] and the [federal government].” /d. at 583. Although
the Court assumed that Congress “would have the power
to grant immunity to private operators of government
vessels for their torts,” it found “not the slightest intima-
tion” that Congress intended to make “such a basic
change in one of the fundamental laws of agency” by
“abolish{ing] all remedies that might exist against a
private company for torts committed during its operation
of government vessels under [government] agency
agreements.” /d. at 579-581.

27

Petitioner relies heavily on decisions concerning the
qualified immunity enjoyed by individuals who perform
services for the government and are sued for alleged
wrongs they have committed while serving in that capac-
ity. See Pet. Br. 36-39 (repeatedly citing, e.g., Filarsky
v. Delia, 132 S. Ct. 1657 (2012)). Petitioner identifies no
decision of this Court holding that a corporation (as
distinct from an individual) is entitled to qualified im-
munity. And the existence of the qualified-immunity
doctrine as a separate limit on potential liability simply
underscores that persons who act on the government’s
behalf do not automatically share the government’s own
immunity from suit. The Court’s qualified-immunity
jurisprudence therefore provides no suppoft for peti-
tioner’s proposed general rule that government contrac-
tors are entitled to “derivative sovereign immunity.”

3. Petitioner principally relies (Br. 35, 37-41) on
Yearsley v. W.A. Ross Construction Co., 309 U.S. 18
(1940). Petitioner’s reliance on that decision is mis-
placed. The Court in Yearsley did not confer derivative
immunity on a government contractor, but rather recog-
nized that the government could lawfully authorize its
contractor to take actions that the government itself
could lawfully take.

In Yearsley, the government contracted with a con-
struction company to redirect the Missouri River as
specified in the contract, which resulted in the erosion of

* Even assuming arguendo that private corporate entities could
be entitled to qualified immunity in some circumstances, the ques-
tion of qualified immunity is not before this Court. The courts below
did not resolve any claim to such immunity, and petitioner did not
seek review on a qualified-immunity question, Pet. i, let alone
demonstrate that it meets the distinct requirements of a qualified-
immunity claim.

28

about 95 acres of the Yearsleys’ land. 309 U.S at 19-20.
The Yearsleys’ land “was intended to be washed away as
a necessary part of the federal project” because the
project required it to be “washed away to a point pre-
determined by the Government” under the contract’s
“detailed specifications.” U.S. Amicus Br. at 5-6, Years-
ley, supra (No. 39-156); see Pet. Br. at 6, 21, Yearsley,
supra. The contractor’s work washing away the Years-
leys’ land thus “was all authorized and directed by the
Government.” 309 U.S. at 20.

The Yearsleys sued the contractor, but this Court
held that the contractor could not be held liable for erod-
ing their land. Although the Court assumed that the
actions authorized by the government would constitute a
“taking” of property, it concluded that such actions were
“within {the government’s] constitutional power” be-
cause the government by statute had “impliedly prom-
ised to pay [just] compensation.” Yearsley, 309 US.
at 21-22; see, e.g., Williamson Cnty. Regl Planning
Comm'n v. Hamilton Bank, 473 U.S. 172, 194 (1985)
(“The Fifth Amendment does not proscribe the taking of
property; it proscribes taking without just compensa-
tion.”). The Court further held that, because the gov-
ernment could lawfully take the Yearsleys’ property, it
could “validly confer[{]” on its contractor the authority to
do so. 309 U.S. at 22. The court explained that “no
ground [existed] for holding [a government] agent liable
who is simply acting under the authority thus validly
conferred” because, in such circumstances, “[t]he action
of the agent is ‘the act of the government.” /bid. (cita-
tion omitted).

Although the Court in Yearsley did not discuss the
distinction between “privileges” and “immunities,” the
Court held that the government had “validly conferred”

29

on the contractor the government’s own lawful authority
to take the Yéarsleys’ land. At common law, “({aJn agent
is privileged to do what otherwise would constitute a tort
if his principal [1] is privileged [2] to have an agent do it
and [3] has authorized the agent to do it.” 2 Restatement
(Second) of Agency § 345, at 108; see 1 id. § 17 & cmts. a-
b, at 85-86 (delegable privileges); 2 id. § 347, at 110 (no
immunity).’° Thus, if the United States possesses a priv-
ilege to take an action that others could not lawfully take,
and if that privilege is not a “personal” (ie., non-
delegable) one, a contractor may perform the action on
the government’s behalf if the government so directs.
The contractor in such circumstances is insulated from
liability, not because it possesses an “immunity” from
suit, but because its conduct is lawful.”

That understanding of Yearsley is consistent with the
Court’s approach to the preemption of state-law tort
claims against a contractor in Boyle v. United Technolo-
gies Corp., 487 U.S. 500 (1988). The Court in Boyle held

’ If the principal does not authorize the agent’s action in advance
but later ratifies it, that ratification will also release the agent
from liability to a third party if the agent’s actions would have
been lawful if authorized. 2 Restatement (Second) of Agency § 360
& illus. 2, at 135-136.

"In Brady, the Court cited Yearsley as reflecting that “govern-
ment contractors obtain certain immunity” when performing work
under government contracts. 317 U.S. at 583. The Court in Brady
also observed, however, that in Yearsley the government had
“validly conferred” authority to take the actions at issue. /bid.
(citation omitted). Brady’s passing use of the term “immunity”
thus appears to reflect a more colloquial use of the term. Cf. 2
Restatement (Third) of Agency § 7.01, at 136 (2006) (noting that
courts sometimes “use ‘immunity’ language interchangeably with
‘privilege’ in the context of an agent’s individual liability for tor-
tious interference”).

30

that state-law design-defect claims involving military
equipment are preempted “when (1) the United States
approved reasonably precise specifications; (2) the
equipment conformed to those specifications; and (3) the
supplier warned the United States about the dangers in
the use of the equipment that were known to the supplier
but not to the United States.” Jd. at 512.

Boyle teaches that certain state-law claims against
contractors are preempted when allowing those claims
“would produce the same effect sought to be avoided” by
the FTCA’s exception for “discretionary functions.” 487
U.S. at 511. The Court in Boyle did not hold or suggest,
however, that the application of state tort law to federal
contractors is categorically preempted. Rather, the
prerequisites to Boyle preemption described above en-
sure that the United States has actually authorized its
contractor to take the allegedly tortious action with full
knowledge of its potentially harmful effects. Similarly
with respect to federal statutory prohibitions, requiring
governmental authorization to engage in conduct that
would be unlawful absent a delegation of the govern-
ment’s privilege facilitates the government’s ability to
balance the need for such action against the countervail-
ing policies that animate the generai prohibition.”

Petitioner relies in part (Br. 41, 47, 49-60) on the United States’
petition-stage brief in ABR, Inc v. Metzgar, 135 S. Ct. 1153 (2015)
(denying certiorari). That brief addressed the circumstances in
which a state-law tort claim will be preempted by principles drawn
from the FTCA’s “combatant activities” exception, which pre-
serves the sovereign immunity of the United States from claims
“arising out of the combatant activities of the military or naval
forces, or the Coast Guard, during time of war.” 28 U.S.C. 2680(/j).
The government argued that, in circumstances where “a similar
claim against the United States would be within the FTCA’s
combatant-activities exception,” a claim against the government's

31

4. In any particular case, the determinations whether
the government has a privilege to act, whether that
privilege is delegable, and whether the government has
authorized an agent to perform a particular act that
“otherwise would constitute a tort” will turn on an analy-
sis of the relevant statutory or constitutional context in
light of background agency principles. The FCC is cur-
rently considering requests to clarify that a federal
agency (e.g., the Census Bureau) may utilize private
contractors to make calls on behalf of the agency, even in
circumstances where similar calls would violate the
TCPA if they were made on behalf of a private entity.
See FCC, Public Notice, 29 FCC Red. 13,916, 13,916-
13,917 (2014); FCC, Public Notice, 29 FCC Red.
11,268, 11,268 (2014). But regardless of whether and
under what circumstances a federal agency may delegate
its privilege to make such calls lawfully under the TCPA,
petitioner could not invoke such a privilege here because
the Navy never authorized petitioner to send text mes-
sages to unconsenting individuals.

contractor should ordinarily be preempted “as long as the alleged
conduct at issue was within the general scope of the contractual
relationship between the contractor and the federal government.’
U.S. Cert. Amicus Br. at 15-16, KBR, supra (No. 13-1241). The
government's position in that case rested on the broad text of the
combatant-activities exception and on the ground that the “mili-
tary’s effectiveness would be degraded if its contractors were
subject to the tort law of multiple States for actions occurring in
the course of performing their contractua] duties arising out oi
combat operations.” Jd. at 14. That brief reflects the govern-
ment’s view that the protections afforded to federal contractors
depend in part on the nature of the services they perform and the
government interests involved; it does not support the categorical
rule of “derivative sovereign immunity” that petitioner aclvocates.

32

The summary-judgment evidence, which at this stage
of the case must be construed in the light most favorable
to respondent, indicates that petitioner agreed “to send
[the] messages only to cellular users that had con-
sented to solicitation,” and that petitioner “was not
authorized to send texts to individuals who had not
opted in.” Pet. App. 2a, 4a. As explained above, the
ability of an agent to invoke a privilege held by its
principal depends on, inter alia, the principal’s deci-
sion to delegate its own authority to act. Although the
Navy could lawfully have sent recruiting text messag-
es to respondent and other unconsenting recipients,
the record does not suggest that it delegated that
privilege to petitioner. Thus, even if petitioner had
argued that its own conduct was lawful, rather than
attempting to invoke the United States’ immunity
from suit, its argument would lack merit under the
circumstances of this case.

CONCLUSION

The judgment of the court of appeals should be af-
firmed.

Respectfully submitted.

DONALD B. VERRILLI, JR.
Solicitor General
BENJAMIN C. MIZER
Principal Assistant
Attorney
MALCOLM L. STEWART
Deputy Solicitor General
ANTHONY A. YANG
Assistant to the Solicitor
General
MARK B. STERN
WILLIAM E. HAVEMANN
Attorneys

AUGUST 2015

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0321%3A12. Public record. Not legal advice.
