# Amicus Curiae Brief — Montanile v. Bd. of Trs. of the Nat'l Elevator Indus. Health Benefit Plan, 135 S. Ct. 1700 (2015) (No. 14-723)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0315%3A13

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2015

## Text

No. 14-723

IN THE
Supreme Court of the United States

ROBERT MONTANILE,
Petitioner,
V.
BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF THE NATIONAL ELEVATOR
INDUSTRY HEALTH BENEFIT PLAN,
Respondent.

On Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals
for the Eleventh Circuit

BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE OF THE NATIONAL
COORDINATING COMMITTEE FOR
MULTIEMPLOYER PLANS IN SUPPORT
OF RESPONDENT

JOHN M. McINTIRE *

JENNIFER R. SIMON

O'DONOGHUE & O'DONOGHUE LLP

4748 Wisconsin Avenue, N.W.
Washington, DC 20016
jmcintire@odonoghuelaw.com

(202) 362-0041

Counsel for the National Coordinating

Committee for Multiemployer Plans
* Counsel of Record

Peake DeLancey Printers. LLC - (301) 341-4600 - Cheverly MD

—S-

I.

i

TABLE OF CONTENTS

IT IS CRUCIAL THAT MULTIEMPLOYER
FUNDS RETAIN THE RIGHT OF REIM-
BURSEMENT FOR BENEFITS THAT
THEY HAVE ADVANCED TO PARTICI-
PANTS AND BENEFICIARIES ...................

A.

Subrogation and Reimbursement Pro-
visions in Multiemployer Plans Protect
all Plan Participants and Beneficiaries

The Decision Below Protects Benefi-
ciaries’ Ability to Obtain Immediate
Medical Benefits when Injuries are

Caused by Third Parties. .......................

Preserving a Meaningful Equitable
Remedy In the Face of Dissipation is
Necessary in Many Subrogation and
Reimbursement Cases and in Other

Types of Plan Recoveries as Well. .......

BENEFIT PLANS DO NOT HAVE ALTER-
NATIVE UNIFORM OR ADEQUATE
REMEDIES TO RECOVER MONEY IN
I ai ccibiasiensnnintniiciinensnievnsninhinavennsccintaanininins

17

21

i
TABLE OF CONTENTS—Continued

Il. THERE ARE NO “COMPETING GOALS”
UNDER ERISA THAT WOULD BE
SERVED BY REVERSING THE DECISION
OF THE LOWER COURT. ..........:ssssssssesesseees

CEE narsssnssnsssivnnsinanscossaiatitcuiinsiaiaiinamaaal

Page

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES

AC Houston Lumber Company Employee
Health Plan v. Berg, 407 F. App’x 208
ENE

Administrative Committee of Wal-Mart
Stores, Inc. Associates’ Health and
Welfare Plan v. Shank, 500 F.3d 834

(Sth Cir, 2007) .....cccccccccssccccsssesesecessecesenseseeeen

AirTran Airways, Inc. v. Elem,
767 F.3d 1192 (11th Cir. 2014) ....... ee.

Alessi v. Raybestos-Manhattan, Inc.,
ES

Barnes v. Alexander, 232 U.S. 117 (1914).......

Bilyeu v. Morgan Stanley Long Term
Disability Plan, 683 F.3d 1083
cca

Black & Decker Disability Plan v. Nord,
I init eneressnmneitiptesemenenes

Board of Trustees of the National Elevator
Industry Health Benefit Plan v. Montanile,
593 F. App’x 903 (11th Cir. 2014) ......0.......

Board of Trustees of the National Elevator
Industry Health Benefit Plan v. Moore,
— F.3d —, No. 14-4048, 2015 WL 5010985
NS ee

Cagle v. Bruner,
112 F.3d 1510 (11th Cir. 1997)...

22

17

1]

iv
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued
Page
Central States, Southeast and Southwest

Areas Health and Welfare Fund v. Lewis,
745 F.3d 283 (7th Cir. 2014) .00.......cccccccceeneesees 28

CIGNA Corp. v. Amara, 563 U.S. 421 (2011).. 16
Conkright v. Frommert, 559 U.S. 506 (2010).. 30, 31

Copeland Oaks v. Haupt,

209 F:3d 811 (6th Cir. 2000) 2.0.0.0... cccecceceseeeees 18
Curtiss-Wright Corp. v. Schoonejongen,

I i a 5, 16, 17
Cutting v. Jerome Foods, Inc.,

993 F.2d 1293 (7th Cir. 1993) ..............cccccesee. 31, 32
Ellis v. Metropolitan Life Insurance Co.,

126 F.3d 228 (4th Cir. 1997) ..........cccccseseeesseees 19
FMC Corp. v. Holliday, 498 U.S. 52 (1990)..... 26
Fort Halifax Packing Co. v. Coyne,

I 26
Great-West Life & Annuity Insurance Co.

v. Knudson, 534 U.S. 204 (2002) .................. 3
Hamilton v. Air Jamaica, Ltd.,

945 F.2d 74 (3d Cir. 1991)............c.c.csccocessereres 17
Harris v. Harvard Pilgrim Health Care, Inc.,

208 F.3d 274 (1st Cir. 2000)... ccceeseeeeeseees ll

Hotel Employees and Restaurant Employees
International Union Welfare Fund v.
Gentner, 50 F.3d 719 (9th Cir. 19995) ............. 28

v

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page

Ingersoll-Rand Co. v. McClendon,

ee TED ssitisnicnaialnnnnnaannonsieniiinns 26
Kennedy v. Plan Administrator for DuPont

Savings and Investment Plan,

Se I latina tererinmaiensimataieititea 5
Kress v. Food Employers Labor Relations

Association, 391 F.3d 563 (4th Cir. 2004).....18, 19, 31
Kroop v. Rivlin, Case 04 Civ. 1401, 2004

WL 2181110 (S.D.N.Y. Sept. 27, 2004)........... 23
Longaberger Co. v. Kolt,

586 F.3d 459 (6th Cir. 2009) .0.......ccccecceeceeseeees 29
Massachusetts Mutual Life Insurance Co.

v. Russell, 473 U.S. 134 (1985) 0000... 5, 24, 30
Mertens v. Hewitt Associates,

4 Ee 4, 30
Metropolitan Life Insurance Co. v.

Massachusetts, 471 U.S. 724 (1993).............. 17
New York State Conference of Blue Cross &

Blue Shield Plans v. Travelers Ins. Co..,

er cniiciciniiensistemsintnneinnniniimenn 26
Paris v. Iron Workers Trust Fund,

211 F.3d 1265 (4th Cir. 2000)... eee 11
Sereboff v. Mid Atlantic Medical Services,

| Eee passim
Shaw v. Delta Air Lines, Inc.,

ene 17

vi
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page
Shields v. Local 705, International
Brotherhood of Teamsters Pension
Plan, 188 F.3d 895 (7th Cir. 1999).......... 24
Treasurer, Trustees of Drury Indus., Inc.
Health Care Pian and Trust v. Goding,
692 F.3d 888 (8th Cir. 2012) «2.0.0.0... eesceeeeeeeee 22, 28, 29
US Airways, Inc. v. McCutchen,
ee ee Se Se ntiinieinstnsintterenicnienennden passim
Varity Corp. v. Howe, 516 U.S. 489 (1996) ..... 11, 30, 31
Zurich American Insurance Co. v. O'Hara,
604 F.3d 1232 (11th Cir. 2010) ...........c.cccccsesens ll
STATUTES

Consolidated Omnibus Budget Reconciliation
Act of 1985 (COBRA), Pub. L. No. 99-272,
Se ET ccnictinnetiintenicemeemimimennaiens 14

Child Support Performance and Incentive
Act of 1998, Pub. L. No. 105-200, 112 Stat.

Employee Retirement Income Security
Act of 1974 (ERISA), 29 U.S.C. § 1001 et seq.:

1
29 U.S.C. § LOO1(a)(1) oecccseecccsesssesssceresnsseenceees 2
29 U.S.C. § 1001(a)(B) «..ccccccveocccescssessenssseesee 2
29 U.S.C. § 1001(€)(2) erecccssccscessssessssensesecseeeee 2
29 U.S.C. § 1104(a)(1)(A) -ecccseccscsscsssesessnsnseee 12, 16
29 U.S.C. § 1132(a)(B) eoeeceessscoseeseesssensssssseseeen passim

vii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

ZO US.C. § LISBON Z) ...2.0ccerecsccrerccecerssrvesseceees
SP es © Bi paserensevesssesemanseensensescenecsecenscsezes

Family and Medical Leave Act of 1993 (FMLA),
Pub. L. No. 103-3, 107 Stat. 6 (1993)..............

Health Insurance Portability and
Accountability Act of 1996 (HIPAA),
Pub. L. No. 104-191, 110 Stat. 1936................

Mental Health Parity Act of 1996 (MHPA),
Pub. L. No. 104-204, tit. VII, 110 Stat. 2944

Mental Health Parity and Addiction Equity
Act of 2008 (MHPAEA), Pub. L. No. 110-343,
tit. V.B, 122 Stat. 3881 (2008) 2... cesses

Newborns’ and Mothers’ Health Protection
Act of 1996 (NMHPA), Pub. L. No. 104-204,
tit. VI, 110 Stat. 2935 (1996) 2.02... .cececeeeeesees

Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act
(PPACA) Pub L. 111-148, 124 Stat. 119

Women’s Health and Cancer Rights Act,
Pub. L. No. 105-277, tit. IX, 112 Stat.
TT di caiciaied ibiianienietaieasiraniasibnnitnite

REGULATIONS
Standards for Privacy of Individually
Identifiable Health Information, 65 Fed.

Reg. 82,462 (Dec. 28, 2000) (codified at
45 C.FR. pts 160 and 164) ........cccccccesseneeeneees

14

14

15

14

15

14

14

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

OTHER AUTHORITIES

Brief for the United States as Amicus Curiae
Supporting Respondent, Sereboff v. Mid
Atlantic Medical Services, Inc.,

547 U.S. 356 (2006) (No. 05-260), 2006

National Elevator Industry Health Benefit
Plan, 2013 Form 5500 Annual Return/
Report of Employee Benefit Plan (filed
with the Dep't of Labor on Oct. 9, 2014),

available at bain /ferere eteat 0. go

U.S. Department of Justice, Bureau of Justice
Statistics, NCJ 233094, Punitive Damage
Awards in State Courts, 2005 (Mar. 2011),

available Poe oe

Vaccines for Children Program: CDC
Vaccine Price List, Centers for Disease
Control & Prevention, available at

Page

10

12

26

In THE
Supreme Court of the United States

No. 14-723

ROBERT MONTANILE,
Petitioner,
V.

BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF THE NATIONAL ELEVATOR
INDUSTRY HEALTH BENEFIT PLAN,
Respondent.

On Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals
for the Eleventh Circuit

BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE OF THE NATIONAL
COORDINATING COMMITTEE FOR
MULTIEMPLOYER PLANS IN SUPPORT
OF RESPONDENT

The National Coordinating Committee for Multiem-
ployer Plans (“NCCMP”) is a nonprofit, tax exempt or-
ganization that has participated for over thirty years in
the development of employee benefits legislation and
regulations promulgated to implement the Employee
Retirement Income Security Act of 1974 (“ERISA”), 29
U.S.C. § 1001 et seg., and other laws affecting multiem-
ployer plans.' The NCCMP’s primary purposes are to

! Pursuant to Rule 37.6 of the Rules of this Court, the under-
signed hereby state that no counse! for Petitioner or Respondent

2
assure an environment in which multiemployer plans
can continue their vital role in providing medical, pen-
sion, and other benefits to working men and women,
and to participate in the development of sound em-
ployee benefits legislation, regulations, and policy.

The NCCMP is the only national organization devoted
exclusively to protecting the interests of multiemployer
plans by advocating on behalf of these plans in Con-
gress, in the courts, and in the regulatory process. Mul-
tiemployer plans provide benefits to tens of millions of
American workers. Hundreds of multiemployer plans
and related organizations, with a nationwide participant
base, are affiliated with the NCCMP. Affiliated plans are
active in every segment of the multiemployer plan uni-
verse, including the airline, building and construction,
entertainment, food production, distribution and retail
sales, health care, hospitality, mining, maritime, indus-
trial fabrication, service, textile, and trucking industries.
Congress has recognized that the continued well-being
and security of employees, retirees, and their depend-
ents are directly impacted by multiemployer plans and
that interference with the maintenance and growth of
such plans is contrary to the national public interest.
See 29 U.S.C. § 1001(a)(1), (3), (c)(2).

Because of the broad range of experience of the
NCCMP’s constituent organizations, the NCCMP be-
lieves it is uniquely qualified to state the position of the
trustees of multiemployer plans and to offer special in-
sight into the impact this case will have on the efficient
administration of these plans. Moreover, while the

authored any part of this brief. Moreover, no person or entity
other than the NCCMP made a monetary contribution to the
preparation or submission of this brief.

3

NCCMP participated as amicus in both Sereboff v. Mid
Atlantic Medical Services, Inc., 547 U.S. 356 (2006), and
US Airways, Inc. v. McCutchen, 133 §. Ct. 1537 (2013),
the instant case is of special importance to the NCCMP
because it involves a petitioner's effort to limit the
scope of relief available to a fiduciary under § 502(a)(3)
of ERISA, 29 U.S.C. § 1132(a)(3), where that fiduciary
happens to be the board of trustees of a multiemployer
plan.

The NCCMP and its constituent groups have a strong
interest in supporting the decision below to ensure that
multiemployer plans continue to have an effective, ef-
ficient, and uniform equitable remedy available to them
in the federal courts to recover amounts due to the
plans. More specifically, the NCCMP and its constituent
groups have a strong interest in preserving the en-
forceability and effectiveness of self-funded multiem-
ployer plans’ subrogation and right of reimbursement
provisions under § 502(a)(3) of ERISA, in accordance
with the Court’s decisions in Sereboff and McCutchen.
Both Petitioner and Respondent have filed blanket con-
sent to the filing of amicus curiae briefs in support of ei-
ther party or of neither party.

INTRODUCTION

The decision below concerns the scope of § 502(a)(3)
of ERISA, 29 U.S.C. § 1132(a)(3), which authorizes a
civil action by ERISA plan fiduciaries “to enjoin any act
or practice which violates. the terms of the plan, or

. to obtain other appropriate relief to enforce the
terms of the plan.” To proceed under § 502(a)(3), plans
must seek only “those categories of relief that were typ-
ically available in equity.” Great-West Life & Annuity
Ins. Co. v. Knudson, 534 U.S. 204, 210 (2002) (quoting

4

Mertens v. Hewitt Assocs., 508 U.S. 248, 256 (1993)).
Thus, an ERISA plan may seek recovery under
§ 502(a)(3) for its share of payments received from a
responsible tortfeasor only if the plan's claim for relief
is equitable.

In Sereboff this Court held that an ERISA plan could
enforce its equitable claim to a portion of payments
received from a third party when the terms of the
plan create an equitable lien by agreement. The Court
first determined that the nature of the relief sought was
equitable because it sought a specific portion (the cost
of the medical benefits it advanced) of specifically iden-
tified funds (the Sereboffs’ settlement with the third
party tortfeasor). 547 U.S. at 363-64. This Court
then determined that the plan’s reimbursement
provision created an equitable lien by agreement, which
forms a basis for appropriate “equitable relief”
enforceable under § 502(a)(3) and Supreme Court
precedent. /d. at 369. Relying on “the familiar rule
of equity that a contract to convey a specific object
even before it is acquired will make the contractor
a trustee as soon as he gets title to the thing,” Mid
Atlantic could “follow a portion of the recovery into the
Sereboffs’ hands as soon as the settlement fund was
identified.” Jd. at 364 (internal quotations omitted)
(quoting Barnes v. Alexander, 232 U.S. 117, 121, 123
(1914)).

In McCutchen, the Court reinforced Sereboffs treat-
ment of equitable liens by agreement. Rejecting the
ERISA plan participant's attempt to assert equitable de-
fenses to defeat the plan's reimbursement provision, the
Court explained that a lien by agreement “as its name
announces — both arises from and serves to carry out a

5

contract's provisions” and that “enforcing the lien
means holding the parties to their mutual promises.”
133 S. Ct. at 1546 (internal citations omitted). “Con-
versely, it means declining to apply rules—even if they
would be ‘equitable’ in a contract's absence—at odds
with the parties’ expressed commitments. _. In those
circumstances, hewing to the parties’ exchange yields
‘appropriate’ as well as ‘equitable’ relief.” /d. at 1546-
47.

Sereboff and McCutchen are based on principles fun-
damental to ERISA and long recognized by this Court:
attention to the terms of written plan documents and
enforcement of those terms. See, e.g., Kennedy v. Plan
Adm’r for DuPont Sav. & Inv. Plan, 555 U.S. 285, 300
(2009) (section 502 claims “stand|] or fall[] by the terms
of the plan”); Curtiss-Wright Corp. v. Schoonejongen,
514 U.S. 73, 83 (1995) (ERISA’s statutory scheme is
“built around reliance on the face of written plan docu-
ments”); Mass. Mut. Life Ins. Co. v. Russell, 473 U.S.
134, 148 (1985) (ERISA’s principal function is “to pro-
tect contractually defined benefits”).

Accordingly, the majority of courts to consider the
issue have held the parties to their bargain and enforced
equitable liens by agreement, rejecting various attempts
by participants and beneficiaries to evade their obliga-
tions. In McCutchen, for example, the Court held that
an ERISA plan may recover medical expenses paid on
behalf of a participant because of a third party's actions
if the participant later recovers money from the third
party, even if the participant's recovery did not make
him whole. See McCutchen, 133 S. Ct. at 1547-48. And
the majority of circuit courts to consider the dissipation
issue this case presents have held, consistent with the

6

decision below, that an ERISA plan may enforce its
claim to a portion of payments received by a third party
even when the participant has spent those funds. See
AirTran Airways, Inc. v. Elem, 767 F.3d 1192, 1198-99
(11th Cir. 2014) (collecting cases).

The case currently before the Court represents the
latest attempt by a plan participant or beneficiary to
avoid the agreement to which he or she is bound. Mon-
tanile contends that the Plan’s right to enforce its
valid equitable lien by agreement can be destroyed
by his subsequent dissipation of settlement proceeds
subject to the Plan's equitable lien. If adopted by this
Court, Montanile’s position would make an ERISA
plan’s reimbursement and subrogation provision
unenforceable—effectively nullifying the provision—
whenever a beneficiary dissipates the money he or
she recovers from a tortfeasor, or would other-
wise place significant administrative burdens on an
ERISA plan whenever it seeks to enforce an equitable
lien.

This disregard for plan terms would be devastating
to multiemployer plans. Trustees of such plans heavily
rely on ERISA’s guarantee that plan terms will be en-
forced as written. Multiemployer plans are not profit-
making entities. They are products of the collective
bargaining process, and they serve as vehicles for pro-
viding health and retirement benefits for working men
and women and their families. Often, the participants
in multiemployer plans work in industries character-
ized by physically demanding work, such as construc-
tion and related trades and crafts, which lead to more
medical claims than workers in other industries. The
plans’ survival is conditioned upon parties’ ability to ne-

-
{

gotiate agreements that meet the wage and benefit re-
quirements of workers while enabling their employers
to remain profitable. This allows the employers in-
volved to provide both jobs and the medical benefits
that are the focus of this case.

Multiemployer plans are run by joint boards of
trustees appointed by participating employers and
labor organizations. Trustees are, therefore, acutely
aware of the limited ways in which plans can keep up
with ever-increasing health care costs: employers
can contribute more money towards the plans, which
may make the cost of their products or services less
competitive in the market; employees can either
assume a larger percentage of their health care costs
through increased employee contribution rates or
take cuts in pay to offset higher employer contribution
rates; or plans may be forced to make cuts in benefits.
These plans contain subrogation and reimburse-
ment provisions to avoid double recovery by a
single beneficiary at the expense of all other partici
pants and beneficiaries. In a very real sense, when
a participant refuses to honor these terms of the plan
he deprives the remaining participants and bene-
ficiaries of the medical benefits to which they are
entitled.

Although Sereboff and McCutchen provide a narrow
equitable right to reimbursement, they at least pro-
vide fiduciaries with access to the relief necessary to
enforce plan terms by allowing plans to impose
equitable liens by agreement. Petitioner's position, if
upheld, will undermine that modest achievement by
allowing a beneficiary to spend the recovery to which
the plan is entitled, and then refuse to honor his

8

obligation to reimburse his benefit plan. The NCCMP
submits this brief to urge the Court to affirm the deci-
sion below and leave to multiemployer plans the nar-
row, but critically important, equitable remedy under
§ 502(a)(3) of ERISA that is the equitable lien by agree-
ment.

SUMMARY OF THE ARGUMENT

The Court of Appeals properly held that the National
Elevator Industry Health Benefit Plan’s claim under
§ 502(a)(3) of ERISA was permissible because it sought
to enforce the terms of its plan through an equitable
lien by agreement, which is enforceable even if the
specifically identified funds are dissipated. Therefore,
the lower court’s decision should be affirmed. A multi-
employer plan must be able to enforce its terms and
obtain payments that rightfully belong to the plan.
Otherwise, a single beneficiary’s double recovery
comes at the expense of all other plan participants
and beneficiaries. The lower court's decision also
has the effect of protecting valuable medical benefits
provided to beneficiaries, which will be lost if plans
do not retain an effective method to assert their
equitable reimbursement rights. The narrow equitable
remedy asserted by the National Elevator Industry
Health Benefit Plan is crucial for benefit plans to
recover overpayments in a wide range of contexts,
and plans lack other effective remedies at the state
and federal levels. Finally, the decision below is
consistent with Congress's objectives in enacting
ERISA to enforce plan terms, protect contractually de-
fined benefits for all participants and beneficiaries, and
preserve a uniform system for administering benefit
plans.

9
ARGUMENT

LIT IS CRUCIAL THAT MULTIEMPLOYER
FUNDS RETAIN THE RIGHT OF REIM-
BURSEMENT FOR BENEFITS THAT THEY
HAVE ADVANCED TO PARTICIPANTS AND
BENEFICIARIES.

The outcome of this case will turn on whether ERISA
plans’ equitable liens by agreement may be enforced
when the funds subject to such liens have been dissi-
pated. The NCCMP agrees with and finds persuasive
Respondent's analysis of the principles of equity and its
conclusion that an ERISA plan’s right to enforce a lien
by agreement cannot be defeated by dissipation. In ad-
dition, there are numerous reasons — both practical and
policy-oriented — that compel the NCCMP to advocate
for this conclusion, which is necessary for the sound
administration of the plans that the NCCMP represents
and their continued ability to provide benefits under all
circumstances.

A. Subrogation and Reimbursement Provisions

in Multiemployer Plans Protect all Plan
Participants and Beneficiaries.

Petitioner and its amici urge this Court to place the in-
terests of an individual participant above the written
plan document. This cannot be done without harming
all other plan participants.

Participants and beneficiaries in self-funded plans of
all types are directly impacted by the unenforceability
of their plans’ reimbursement and subrogation provi-
sions. The United States, as amicus in Sereboff, and Pe-
titioner's amicus American Association for Justice
acknowledge that “an employer who self-insures di-

10

rectly reduces its costs by recovering those costs from
a third-party.” Brief for the United States as Amicus Cu-
riae Supporting Respondent, Sereboff v. Mid Atl. Med.
Servs., Inc., 547 U.S. 356 (2006) (No. 05-260), 2006 WL
460876, at *26 n.10; see also Br. for Am. Ass’n for Justice
as Amicus Curiae at 17 (for self-insured plans, reim-
bursements “will [] go directly into plan assets to re-
duce the fund’s costs”). Without these recoveries and
reimbursements, plans’ increased costs must be borne
by all other participants and beneficiaries.

The Eighth Circuit clearly described the conse-
quences of failing to enforce subrogation and reim-
bursement plan provisions in Administrative Com-
mittee of Wal-Mart Stores, Inc. Associates’ Health &
Welfare Plan v. Shank, 500 F.3d 834 (8th Cir. 2007). In
that case, the plan paid $469,216 in medical bills on be-
half of a beneficiary, covering all of her medical ex-
penses following an automobile accident. /d. at 835.
When the beneficiary recovered $700,000 from the re-
sponsible tortfeasor, the plan asserted a lien by agree-
ment of $469,216. See id. at 835-36. The beneficiary, who
had placed the recovery in a special needs trust, argued
that the plan's lien was not equitable and thus could not
be enforced under § 502(a)(3). See id. at 836. In up-
holding the plan's right to enforce its reimbursement pro-
vision, the Eighth Circuit recognized that the interests of
one participant cannot override the written plan docu-
ment without harming all other plan participants.

We acknowledge the difficulty of Shank’s personal
situation, but we believe the purposes of ERISA are
best served by enforcing the Plan as written. Shank
would benefit if we denied the Comumittee its night
to full reimbursement, but all other plan members

1]

would bear the cost in the form of higher premi-
ums. Reimbursement and subrogation provisions
are crucial to the financial viability of self-funded
ERISA plans, and, as a fiduciary, the Committee
must “preserve assets to satisfy future, as well as
present claims,” and must “take impartial account
of the interests of all beneficiaries.” Varity Corp.
v. Howe, 516 U.S. 489, 514 (1996).

Shank, 500 F.3d at 838; see also Zurich Am. Ins. Co. v.
O'Hara, 604 F.3d 1232, 1237 (11th Cir. 2010); Paris v.
Iron Workers Trust Fund, 211 F.3d 1265 (table) *3 (4th
Cir. 2000); Harris v. Harvard Pilgrim Health Care,
Inc., 208 F.3d 274, 280-81 (1st Cir. 2000).

The facts presented in this case illustrate the effects
of a double recovery on a single beneficiary at the ex-
pense of all other participants and beneficiaries in a
plan. Petitioner recovered $500,000 from the responsi-
ble tortfeasor and the National Elevator Industry Health
Benefit Plan (“Plan”) claimed an equitable right to a
share of that recovery in the amount of $121,044.02—
the amount the Plan had already paid for Petitioner's
medical expenses caused by the accident. Neither Pe-
titioner nor its amici dispute that for the period of time
that Mr. Montanile held the settlement funds, the Plan
had an equitable lien on the portion of those funds it
had advanced to Mr. Montanile. Nor do Petitioner or
amici dispute that during this time, he held property
that belonged to the Plan. Under the Plan's Declaration
of Trust and under ERISA itself, plan assets are to be
used solely for providing covered services to the Plan's
participants and beneficiaries. See Appellant’s Appen-
dix Vol. I at 146, Board of Trustees of the Nat Elevator
Indus. Health Benefit Plan v. Montanile, 593 F. App’x

12

903 (11th Cir. 2014) (No. 14-11678) (Restated Agree-
ment and Declaration of Trust of the National Eleva-
tor Industry Welfare Plan Art. IJ, Par. 3); ERISA
§ 404(a)(1)(A). A-single Plan participant should not be
able to divert these funds for his exclusive use.

Petitioner notes that the fund subject to the Plan's lien
was used to support Mr. Montanile’s daughter and to
maintain their home. Pet’r. Br. at 5. Petitioner also notes
that the Plan has approximately $1 billion in assets
Sand more than 500 participating employers. Pet’r. Br. at
4n.1. While one may be sympathetic to Mr. Montanile’s
plight, it should also be noted that the Plan provides
health benefits to over 31,000 active participants and re-
tirees, plus tens of thousands of their dependents. The
Plan paid well over $470 million in total benefit payments
in 2013, the most recent year for which its tax filing is
available.”

If the Plan were able to enforce its equitable right to
reimbursement from the settlement proceeds, it could
use that recovery to provide significant benefits to other
participants and beneficiaries. For example, the Center

2 National Elevator Industry Health Benefit Plan, 2013 Form
5500 Annual ReturrYReport of Employee Benefit Plan at pt. 11(5),
Sched. H pt. I(2\(e)(4) (filed with the Dep't of Labor on Oct. 9,
2014), available at https:/Awww.efast.dol.gov/portal/app/login?ex-
ecution=els!. While the NCCMP represents the interests of large
health funds like the Plan, it also represents the interests of plans
that may have as little as $2 million in plan assets. If the judgment
below is not affirmed, a small, seemingly well-funded multiem-
ployer health benefit plan that has been providing benefits to a
few hundred employees and dependents for decades could be
rendered insolvent by one participant's successful effort to evade
that plan’s equitable lien by agreement by dissipating the fund sub-
ject to the lien.

13

for Disease Control estimates that $121,044.02 would
cover the cost of all required immunizations for 115
children from birth up to age eighteen. See Vaccines
for Children Program: CDC Vaccine Price List, Ctrs.
for Dueme Contaet & FUOvERIEER, queries at

vaccine sanagamentiorice Hel (last updated Aug. 3
2015). Other multiemployer plans that are constituent
members of NCCMP estimate that $121,044.02 would
allow them to cover any of the following: annual pre-
scription costs for thirteen cancer patients; seventy
hearing aids; one month's prescription costs for 388 re-
tirees and their eligible family members; over 1,700
speech therapy sessions; or pre-implantation treatment,
entire hospital admission, and surgeon's transplant
charges for one kidney transplant patient.

The disregard for plan terms urged by Petitioner
would be particularly devastating to multiemployer
plans’ ability to provide these benefits. The reason
that subrogation and reimbursement provisions
serve such an important role in multiemployer plan
design is in large part due to the manner in which
these plans are funded. Multiemployer plans are
established and funded through the collective bargain
ing process—once every three years or more the bar-
gaining parties sit down to determine how much money
will be directed to a self-funded multiemployer health
plan over the duration of a collective bargaining
agreement. With their sources of funding established
through the collective bargaining process, self-funded
multiemployer plans typically cannot raise employee
premiums to offset increased costs of plan administra-
tion.

14

While funding through the collective bargaining
process places limits on the assets available to self-
funded multiemployer health plans, federal regulation
of group health plans over the past thirty years has
placed an increasing number of mandates on the rights
and benefits these plans must provide. Beginning in
1986, when Congress first required plans to provide
continuation coverage to employees and beneficiaries
in the event of termination or other qualifying events,
Congress, the Department of Labor, the Internal Rev-
enue Service, and the Department of Health and Human
Services have steadily increased the number of man-
dated benefits required of self-funded health plans.
ERISA, as amended through 2009, now requires plans to
provide continuation coverage to employees on quali-
fied family or medical leave, to honor qualified medical
child support orders, to provide reconstructive surgery
following a covered mastectomy, to limit restrictions on
benefits for preexisting conditions, to eliminate limits
on hospital length of stays connected with childbirth,
and to establish parity between mental health and sub-
stance abuse benefits and medical benefits.’ And the

3 See Consolidated Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1985
(COBRA), Pub. L. No. 99-272, 100 Stat. 82 (1986); Family and Med-
ical Leave Act of 1993 (FMLA), Pub. L. No. 103-3, 107 Stat. 6
(1993); Child Support Performance and Incentive Act of 1998,
Pub. L. No. 105-200, 112 Stat. 645 (1998); Women's Health and Can-
cer Rights Act, Pub. L. No. 105-277, tit. IX, 112 Stat. 2681-436
(1998); Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act of
1996 (HIPAA), Pub. L. No. 104-191, 110 Stat. 1936; Standards for
Privacy of Individually Identifiable Health Information, 65 Fed.
Reg. 82,462 (Dec. 28, 2000) (codified at 45 C.F.R. pts 160 and 164);
Newborns’ and Mothers’ Health Protection Act of 1996 (NMHPA),
Pub. L. No. 104-204, tit. VI, 110 Stat. 2935 (1996); Mental Health
Parity Act of 1996 (MHPA), Pub. L. No. 104-204, tit. VII, 110 Stat.

15

impact of the foregoing requirements pales in compar-
ison to that of the Patient Protection and Affordable
Care Act (“ACA”). Pub. L. No. 111-148, 124 Stat. 119
(2010). Among other things, the ACA requires group
health plans (including self-funded health plans) to
eliminate lifetime and annual benefit limits for essen-
tial benefits, to provide dependent coverage for adult
children up to age 26, to eliminate cost-sharing for pre-
ventive services and immunizations, to limit rescissions
in eligibility to cases of fraud and intentional misrepre-
sentation, to eliminate any pre-existing condition ex-
clusions, and to eliminate waiting periods in excess of
90 days.

More than ever, trustees of multiemployer health
plans must wrestle with escalating health care costs, in-
cluding the costs of complying with new, expensive
ACA minimum coverage requirements, at a time when
many of those sectors of the economy where employ-
ees and their dependents are most likely to receive
healthcare benefits through multiemployer plans are ei-
ther in decline or are still recovering from the nation’s
worst recession since the Great Depression. With rising
costs and few options for increasing funding, multiem-
ployer plans must be able to rely on the enforceability
of the subrogation and reimbursement provisions writ-
ten into plan documents.‘

2944 (1996); Mental Health Parity and Addiction Equity Act of
2008 (MHPAEA), Pub. L. No. 110-343, tit. V.B, 122 Stat. 3881
(2008). This is not an exhaustive list, but it does include the more
burdensome changes in the law since ERISA's enactment.

‘ Petitioner's suggestions that the summary plan description
(“SPD”), which contains the reimbursement and subrogation pro-
vision in this case, does not constitute a “plan document” and

16

Preserving the link between effective enforcement of
reimbursement and subrogation provisions and preser-
vation of plan assets for present and future claims is
critical to the self-funded multiemployer plans that are
among the NCCMP’s constituents. Such plans must
ensure that contributions paid in accordance with
the terms of collective bargaining agreements are suffi-
cient to cover the costs of providing benefits. Although
the vigorous efforts of trustees of such plans to enforce
reimbursement and subrogation provisions may ap-
pear harsh when viewed from the perspective of a
severely injured participant or beneficiary, in fact, the
trustees are fulfilling their fiduciary duty to ensure that
the plan may continue to provide benefits to all partic-
ipants and beneficiaries. See ERISA § 404(a)(1)(A), (“a
fiduciary shall discharge his duties with respect to a
plan solely in the interest of participants and benefici-
aries. . and for the exclusive purpose of. providing
benefits to participants and their beneficiaries; and de-
fraying reasonable expenses of administering the
plan.”).

does not set forth the terms of the plan must be rejected. Pet'r Br.
at 7n.6, 811, 40 n.22. First, Petitioner expressly waived that ar-
gument before this Court. Jd. at 13 n.8. Second, this Court has
recognized that enforceable plan terms may be found in more
than one document, see Curtiss-Wright Corp., 514 U.S. at 83, and
that an SPD may be enforceable under Section 502 of ERISA if it
does not conflict with terms specified in other, governing plan doc-
uments, see CIGNA Corp. v. Amara, 563 U.S. 421 (2011). Finally,
at least three circuits have reviewed the same SPD at issue here
and have recognized that it functions as the controlling ERISA
plan in the absence of a separate plan document. See Bad. of Ts.
of the Nat! Elevator Indus. Health Ben. Plan v. Moore, — F.3d —,
No, 14-4048, 2015 WL 5010985, at *4-6 (6th Cir. Aug. 25, 2015)
(collecting cases).

17

B. The Decision Below Protects Beneficiaries’
Ability to Obtain Immediate Medical
Benefits when Injuries are Caused by Third
Parties.

Self-funded multiemployer benefit plans are not obli-
gated by any law to pay medical benefits when a par-
ticipant or beneficiary is injured by a third party. The
result of the position advanced by Petitioners, for the
Court to sharply constrict benefit plans’ ability to en-
force equitable claims over a portion of compensation
received by tort victims, is that beneficiaries will be left
with no medical coverage when they need it most, after
an unexpected accident caused by a tortfeasor.

Although ERISA establishes a comprehensive regu-
latory scheme for benefit plans in general, it does not
mandate any minimum substantive content for welfare
benefit plans in particular. See, e.g., Shaw v. Delta Air
Lines, Inc., 463 U.S. 85, 91 (1983); Hamilton v. Air
Jam., Ltd., 945 F.2d 74, 78 (3d Cir. 1991). As a result,
employers “have large leeway to design disability and
other welfare plans as they see fit.” Black & Decker
Disability Plan v. Nord, 538 U.S. 822, 833 (2003). In
Metropolitan Life Insurance Company v. Massachu-
setts, the Court held that ERISA “does not regulate the
substantive content of welfare-benefit plans.” 471 U.S.
724, 732 (1985). ERISA generally leaves it to plan spon-
sors “to adopt, modify, or terminate welfare plans.”
Curtiss-Wright Corp., 514 U.S. at 78; see Alessi v.
Raybestos-Manhattan, Inc., 451 U.S. 504, 511 (1981).

The vast majority of multiemployer plans affiliated
with the NCCMP have not agreed to pay medical bene-
fits for injuries caused by third parties. The written
plans commonly provide that benefits are not payable

18

if a sickness or injury is the responsibility of a third
party. However, recognizing that beneficiaries need to
pay for extraordinary medical expenses in the event of
unexpected illness or injury, plans allow for the ad-
vancement of benefits. That advance, however, is com-
monly conditioned on the beneficiary's promise to
honor the benefit plan’s equitable right to a portion of
compensation if and when the beneficiary obtains a re-
covery from the responsible third party. See, e.g., Kress
v. Food Emp’rs Labor Relations Ass'n, 391 F.3d 563,
565 (4th Cir. 2004) (involving plan’s refusal to pay ben-
efits for injuries from auto accident when beneficiary
refused to acknowledge equitable reimbursement
right); Copeland Oaks v. Haupt, 209 F.3d 811, 812 (6th
Cir. 2000) (same); Cagle v. Bruner, 112 F.3d 1510, 1513
(11th Cir. 1997) (same).

The terms of a typical plan of benefits are illustrated
by the plan considered by the Fourth Circuit in Kress:

Waiting for a third party to pay for these injuries
may be difficult. Recovery from a third party can
take a long time (you may have to go to court), and
your creditors will not wait patiently. Because of
this, as a service to you, the Fund will pay your (or
your eligible dependent’s) expenses based on the
understanding that you are required to reimburse
the Fund in full from any recovery you or your eli-
gible dependent may receive, no matter how it is
characterized. This process is called “subrogation.”
.... The Fund extends benefits to you and your de-
pendents only as a service to you. The Fund must
be reimbursed if you obtain any recovery from an-
other person or entity's insurance coverage.

391 F.3d at 566. Thus, far from having contracted to

19

bear the risk associated with the costs of injuries
caused by third parties, benefit plans typically expressly
disavow any obligation to pay benefits under those cir-
cumstances.

However, recognizing the difficult circumstances pre-
sented to beneficiaries, benefit plans typically agree to
advance medical costs to tide over a beneficiary in dif-
ficult times, but only if the beneficiary promises to re-
imburse the benefit plan later. As emphasized by the
Fourth Circuit, these plan provisions

broadened rather than narrowed the options of
Fund participants. Nothing required [the benefici-
ary] to accept the subrogation option; he was free
to reject it and commence litigation at once, with
no obligations whatever to the Fund. But if he did
accept the Fund's offer, and then recovered in tort,
it was not wrongful for the Fund to seek to recoup
this expenditure to provide for future participants
who may find themselves in similarly straitened cir-
cumstances. The Fund “must serve the best inter-
ests of all Plan beneficiaries, not just the best
interest of one potential beneficiary.”

Id. at 570-71 (footnote omitted) (citing Ellis v. Metro.
Life Ins. Co., 126 F.3d 228, 234 (4th Cir. 1997)). It is the
voluntary nature of these advanced payments that
clearly establishes the need for an equitable remedy of
reimbursement as opposed to the legal remedy of a
breach of contract.°

5 Petitioner's amicus, the American Association for Justice,
argues that subrogation and reimbursement provisions constitute
“illusive’ coverage unfair to beneficiaries, and that restricting
benefit plans’ ability to enforce such provisions is appropriate

20

If the Court restricts benefit plans’ ability to obtain
equitable liens by agreement under these circum
stances, as argued by Petitioner, the result will not be a
greater recovery by beneficiaries in personal injury law-
suits. Instead, benefit plans will respond by simply not
advancing these payments in the first place, leaving
beneficiaries to deal with medical bills, creditors, and
delays on their own through the uncertain and lengthy
process of personal injury lawsuits. This cannot be
good public policy.

Reducing benefit plans’ equitable remedies, as urged
by Petitioner, will create hardship for beneficiaries in
another form as well. Currently, as described above,
plans typically advance benefits to beneficiaries in their
times of need, based on a promise to reimburse in the
event that a future recovery is obtained. In some cases,
at a point in time far in the future, the beneficiary may
eventually recover a payment from the tortfeasor and
be required to reimburse the plan. However, far more
commonly, the beneficiary decides not to pursue an ac-
tion against the responsible tortfeasor, or, based on the
uncertainties and expense of litigation, agrees to a set-
tlement for less than full compensation. In these com-
mon scenarios, the beneficiary will retain the benefit of
having had medical expenses paid on his or her behalf

because beneficiaries are merely receiving the benefits to which
they are contractually entitled in the first place. Br. for Am. Ass'n
for Justice as Amicus Curiae at 28. Thus, according to Amicus, be-
cause participants “have paid for” coverage, there is no policy jus-
tification to require beneficiaries to reimburse medical plans out
of tort recoveries from third parties. Jd. As detailed by the plan
language quoted above, this argument ignores that many benefit
plans do not, in fact, contract to bear the risk to pay medical ben-
efits when injuries or sicknesses are caused by a third party.

21

without having to engage in legal action and without
any obligation to reimburse the plan (beyond any
amount recovered). This benefit will be lost to benefi-
ciaries if plans stop advancing benefits in exchange for
the right to an equitable claim of reimbursement.

C. Preserving a Meaningful Equitable Remedy
in the Face of Dissipation is Necessary in
Many Subrogation and Reimbursement
Cases and in Other Types of Plan Recover-
ies as Well.

Petitioner claims that dissipation’s destruction of a
plan's equitable lien by agreement will occur in only a
small fraction of cases where recoupment of benefits
is sought — those “truly exceptional cases” where “the
participant uses the settlement funds to purchase serv-
ices (e.g., childcare) or consumable goods (e.g., food)
from a bona fide purchaser for value.” Pet’r Br. at 44-45.
Petitioner contrasts such a situation with scenarios in
which it claims funds can be traced and recouped by
the plan, such as where a participant uses funds to ob-
tain an asset, gives the funds to another person, or uses
the funds to obtain goods or services from another per-
son with notice of the lien. Pet’r Br. at 44.

The NCCMP disagrees that dissipation cases like Mr.
Montanile’s are “truly exceptional.” If a participant
could claim that a plan’s equitable lien is destroyed to
the extent that the participant paid his or her bills or
purchased groceries after taking possession of settle-
ment funds or other funds subject to an equitable lien
by agreement, practically all participants who receive
such funds would be able to void those liens to the
detriment of their plans and their fellow participants.
In a situation like Montanile, where a participant is in-

22

jured, it is even more likely that he or she will be able
to claim dissipation of funds shortly after they are
received because the participant most likely would
have been unable to work while injured and may have
accrued significant financial obligations during that
time.°

Moreover, dissipation and destruction of plans’ equi-
table liens by agreement will affect not only health and
welfare plans but also all other types of plans, including
pension plans. Petitioner and its amici acknowledge
this fact. See Pet’r Br. at 21; Br. for AARP as Amicus
Curiae at 3; Br. for Am. Ass'n for Justice as Amicus Cu-
riae at 1. Indeed, AARP’s entire amicus brief is devoted
to the issue of overpayments in the pension plan con-
text.

Overpayments from pension plans may result from a
number of factual scenarios. For example, plans, which
rely on participants and beneficiaries to alert them to
life changes that affect benefits, may continue to make
erroneous automatic benefit payments even though a
participant has died if the plan is not alerted in a timely
manner of the death. Benefits may also be obtained
through fraud or as the result of miscalculations or ac-

§ Petitioner claims to have found “no evidence of a ‘dissipation
explosion” in the jurisdictions that have adopted his position.
Pet'r Br. at 42 n.23. This observation ignores the fact that such
evidence would not be readily apparent since plans would be un-
likely to bring claims against participants who have claimed dis-
sipation in light of the Eighth and Ninth Circuits’ decisions in
Treasurer, Trs. of Drury Indus., Inc. Health Care Plan & Tr. v.
Goding, 692 F.3d 888 (8th Cir. 2012), and Bilyeu v. Morgan Stan-
ley Long Term Disability Plan, 683 F.3d 1083 (9th Cir. 2012).

23
cidental payment of a benefit to the wrong person. In
all of these scenarios - some of which may not be dis-
covered for some time — the plan must be able to en-
force its terms to recover overpayments, whether or not

the recipient has spent the overpaid funds on goods or
services.

Kroop v. Rivlin, Case 04 Civ. 1401, 2004 WL 2181110
(S.D.N.Y. Sept. 27, 2004), illustrates the consequences
of adopting Petitioner's position. In Kroop, the court
found that a pension plan had no right to recoupment
where a pensioner’s son misrepresented that his father
was alive for eight years while cashing his father's pen-
sion checks. The court ruled that, because the
pensioner’s son had spent the proceeds of the checks
he had fraudulently cashed and no longer had posses-
sion of those funds, under Great-West, the plan's
recoupment efforts were legal and not equitable
and, therefore, relief was unavailable under ERISA.
Id. at *2. Since Sereboff, Courts of Appeals have
avoided the result of Kroop by holding that a plan's
equitable lien by agreement attaches when funds
are received and that subsequent dissipation is irrele
vant. See Elem, 767 F.3d at 1198-99 (collecting cases).
If these cases are overruled and Petitioner's posi-
tion prevails, plans will have no right to recover
funds paid to ineligible parties simply because the re-
cipient of the funds spent them on normal costs of daily
life.’

” Kroop also illustrates the limits of Petitioner's assertion that
a plan can recover amounts due to it from a beneficiary by simply
deducting those amounts from that beneficiary's future plan pay-
ments. See Pet’r Br. at 21-22. In Kroop, or any other case where

24

Plan terms, especially in the pension context, are of
paramount importance in promoting ERISA's principal
goal of “protect[ing] contractually defined benefits.”
Mass. Mut. Life Ins. Co., 473 U.S. at 148. In its amicus
brief, AARP advocates for the interests of the few over-
paid pension plan participants, but all plan participants
suffer when plans do not have a full complement of
tools to recoup overpayments.

In the context of a defined benefit pension plan—a
plan that consists of a general pool of assets and gives
each eligible participant the right to a certain level of
accrued benefits, usually a fixed periodic payment com-
mencing at normal retirement age-the plan must ensure
that benefits are fully funded according to complex ac-
tuarial calculations. If terms are effectively added to
the plan, as they would be if certain participants were
allowed to keep erroneously paid benefits over and
above their entitlement under the plan, the actuarial
soundness of the plan may be jeopardized to the detri-
ment of all participants. See Shields v. Local 705, Int'l
Bhd. of Teamsters Pension Pian, 188 F.3d 895, 905 (7th
Cir. 1999) (Posner, C.J., concurring) (“If terms are
added. that appear nowhere in the plan documents
upon which the actuarial calculations are based, that
the actuaries who designed the funding mechanism in
the plan did not know about. ‘the plan may turn out
to be seriously underfunded. _ [T]he actuarial impli-

benefits are paid by the plan under circumstances where no enti-
tlement to benefits existed, it would be impossible for the plan to
recover them by offsetting future benefits. Of course, in health
care cases, by definition, there is no possibility for a plan to off-
set future benefits because health benefits are paid only as needed
for specified medical purposes.

25

cations are graver the more workers are involved. And
it is particularly clear in a case .. . in which the defined-
benefit plan is a multiemployer plan.” (internal citations
omitted)).

Similarly, in a defined contribution plan, contribu-
tions are paid into the plan and, upon retirement, each
participant is entitled to the funds in his or her account.
Under this plan design, an overpayment to one partici
pant means that a participant who is paid more than the
amount he or she has earned under the terms of the
plan has been overpaid at the direct expense of another
participant. The very narrow remedy of an equitable
lien permitted by the court below is vital to benefit
plans in any context in which recovery of plan assets is
necessary.

Il. BENEFIT PLANS DO NOT HAVE ALTER-
NATIVE UNIFORM OR ADEQUATE REME-
DIES TO RECOVER MONEY IN EQUITY.

Petitioner and its amici suggest that benefit plans re-
ally do not need an equitable remedy under § 502(a)(3)
of ERISA when the disputed funds have been spent be-
cause they have other adequate options to obtain the
funds before they are dissipated. They argue that plans
can largely protect their rights to reimbursement by in-
tervening in state court lawsuits or by relying on par-
ticipants’ tort attorneys’ ethical obligations to hold the
funds until the ERISA plan has an opportunity to act.
See Pet’r Br. at 42-43; Br. for United States as Amicus
Curiae at 29-31; Br. for Am. Ass'n for Justice as Amicus
Curiae at 24-26. These arguments should be rejected.

As an initial matter, the Petitioner's suggestion that
benefit plans should intervene in state court lawsuits

26

ignores the fact that the vast majority of state court tort
actions end in settlement. See U.S. Dep't of Justice,
Bureau of Justice Statistics, NCJ 233094, Punitive
Damage Awards in State Courts, 2005 at 2 tbl.2 (Mar.
2011), available at http://bis.gov/content/pub/pdf/
pdasc05.pdf. Therefore, there will usually not be a
state court lawsuit in which to intervene in the first
place.

Petitioner's suggestion that benefit plans have ade-
quate remedies in various state court jurisdictions also
contravenes Congress's explicit purpose to obtain uni-
formity for benefit plans when it enacted ERISA. The
purpose of the Act was to provide plans a uniform set
of administrative procedures, rather than making them
comply with a different set of procedures for process-
ing claims and disbursing benefits in each state. See
Fort Halifax Packing Co. v. Coyne, 482 U.S. 1, 9 (1987);
N.Y. State Conference of Blue Cross & Blue Shield
Plans v. Travelers Ins. Co., 514 U.S. 645, 656-57 (1995)
(quoting Ingersoll-Rand Co. v. McClendon, 498 U.S.
133, 142 (1990)). When applying this Congressional pur-
pose to subrogation and reimbursement provisions in
particular, this Court held that the “[a}pplication of dif-
fering state subrogation laws to plans would therefore
frustrate plan administrators’ continuing obligation to
calculate uniform benefit levels nationwide.” FMC
Corp. v. Holliday, 498 U.S. 52, 60 (1990); see also ERISA
§ 514, 29 U.S.C. § 1144 (establishing the preemption of
state laws that relate to ERISA benefit plans).

Intervention in state court tort lawsuits does not pres-
ent a uniform set of procedures to address benefit
plans’ equitable rights of reimbursement and subroga-
tion. If a beneficiary's tort action is pending, and as-

27

suming that the benefit plan is even aware of the law-
suit, benefit plans will be required to become experts
in the intricacies of each state's tort recovery laws.
They also will be required to monitor each jurisdiction's
peculiar court rules and to hire local attorneys to pro-
tect the plans’ interests. In addition, these state court
actions will be located in any jurisdiction in which a
benefit plan's beneficiary might travel or reside. As
such, the need to defend the benefit plan's interests in
far-flung jurisdictions will increase the plan's adminis-
trative expenses. In creating a federal remedy exactly
for these situations, Congress was careful to craft a pro-
vision that allows benefit plans to sue in a convenient
forum to preserve plan assets. See ERISA § 502(e)(2),
29 U.S.C. § 1132(e)(2) (providing an action may be
brought in the district where the plan is administered).
The result of losing a uniform equitable remedy in the
federal courts will be increased administrative costs to
these benefit plans and a concomitant reduction in ben-
efits for the plans’ participants and beneficiaries.

Petitioner next suggests that ERISA plans may rely
on attorney rules of professional conduct, which cau-
tion personal injury attorneys not to disburse third
party recoveries when the funds are subject to dispute,
to protect benefit funds from dissipation. See Pet’r Br.
at 42. Attorney ethical obligations, however, cannot
substitute for enforcement of a plan's recovery rights.
First, ERISA plans may not be aware of a recovery and
thus will be unable to notify the beneficiary’s counsel
that a portion of the recovery belongs to the plan. Sec-
ond, like tort actions, professional rules of responsibil-
ity vary from state to state, and multiemployer ERISA
plans can ill-afford to divert scarce resources to be-
coming expert in the professional obligations of each

28

state’s personal injury plaintiffs’ bar. Moreover, even if
a plan took action against the attorney for ethical vio-
lations, it would not be made whole. Discipline of
lawyers for violations of their ethical obligations typi-
cally takes the form of admonition, censure, suspension
of practice, or disbarment, not recoupment of funds
owed to the plan.

Finally, even if a plan could show that a beneficiary’s
personal injury attorney improperly disbursed a plan’s
share of recovery from a tortfeasor, the plan has no
cause of action (aside from § 502(a)(3)) against the at-
torney unless the attorney is a party to the subrogation
agreement. See Goding, 692 F.3d at 894-95 (finding no
implied contract between attorney and plan to honor
plan’s subrogation agreement unless the attorney signs
the agreement); AC Hows. Lumber Co. Emp. Health
Plan v. Berg, 407 F. App’x 208, 209 (9th Cir. 2010)
(same); Hotel Emps. & Rest. Emps. Int'l Union Wel-
fare Fund v. Gentner, 50 F.3d 719, 720-21 (9th Cir. 1995)
(same).

The Circuit split on the issue presently before the
Court clearly illustrates that beneficiaries who have re-
ceived payments from the responsible tortfeasors and
their attorneys often do not act in good faith with re-
gard to their obligations. In no fewer than four cases re-
garding dissipation of settlement proceeds—not
including the decision below—the beneficiaries and
their attorneys worked together to defeat plans’ equi-
table rights by dissipating or disbursing assets. See
Elem, 767 F.3d at 1195 (beneficiary and her attorney
“conspired to hide and disburse settlement funds she
received” to avoid reimbursing welfare plan); Cent.
States, S.E. and S.W. Areas Health & Welfare Fund v.

29

Lewis, 745 F.3d 283, 284-85 (7th Cir. 2014) (beneficiary's
attorney refused to release any settlement proceeds to
welfare plan, even after court order to do so, resulting
in contempt finding); Goding, 692 F.3d at 892 (benefi-
ciary’s personal injury attorney twice acknowledged
plan's reimbursement provisions, but disbursed all pro-
ceeds within a month after settlement); Longaberger
Co. v. Kolt, 586 F.3d 459, 462 (6th Cir. 2009) (although
plan had advanced beneficiary over $113,000 in med-
ical fees and beneficiary's personal injury attorney
knew of plan’s reimbursement provision, attorney
disbursed all but $1,000 in settlement funds). See
also Moore, 2015 WL 5010985 at *2 (describing the
lengths to which a beneficiary's attorney sought to shut
out the plan from any and all rights to settlement pro-
ceeds). In these situations, which unfortunately occur
more frequently than the Petitioner believes, a uniform
equitable remedy is required to enforce the terms of the
plan.

Ill. THERE ARE NO “COMPETING GOALS”
UNDER ERISA THAT WOULD BE SERVED
BY REVERSING THE DECISION OF THE
LOWER COURT.

Petitioner and its amici assert that further reducing
plans’ equitable remedies under § 502(a)(3) would
properly provide “balance between the competing goals
of ERISA.” Pet’r Br. at 16, 18, 21-22; see also United Pol-
icyholders Br. as Amicus Curiae at 16-17. But there are
no poiicy goals in the statute that would reach the result
sought by Petitioner: allowing one participant to violate
the terms of the plan to create a windfall for himself at
the expense of all other participants and beneficiaries in

30

the plan.* To the contrary, ERISA fiduciaries, such as
the trustees of multiemployer plans, have a “duty to all
beneficiaries to preserve limited plan assets” and “pre-
vent... windfalls for particular employees.” Conkright
v. Frommert, 559 U.S. 506, 520 (2010). In fact, allowing
multiemployer plans to enforce equitable liens by agree-
ment set forth in plan terms honors the fundamental
goals of ERISA: to protect contractually defined bene-
fits for ad/ participants and beneficiaries, see Mass. Mut.
Life Ins. Co., 473 U.S. at 142, to enable plans to be ad-
ministered according to a uniform regime, see
Conkright, 559 U.S. at 517, and to preserve assets to sat-
isfy future, as well as present claims, see Varity, 516
US. at 614.

Far from advancing any of the interests identified by
the Court, the Petitioner's proposed nule cuts against all
of them. Petitioner's rule advances the interests of sin-
gle plan participants over all others and thereby threat-
ens plans’ ability to provide benefits for all participants
and beneficiaries. See Mass. Mut. Life Ins. Co., 473 US.

8 Petitioner cites Mertens for balancing ERISA’s “competing
goals” to benefit employees on the one hand, and contain pension
costs on the other. Pet’r. Br. at 18, 22 (citing Mertens, 508 U.S. at
263). However, the Court's discussion of containing pension costs
in Mertens had to do with the possibility that these costs would in
crease if pension plans’ non-fiduciary service providers were li
able for all direct and consequential damages suffered by the plan
See Mertens at 262-63. Here, as explained at Section II, supra, the
costs of plan administration will increase if plans are required to
make herculean efforts to recover funds that they are now able to
recover through equitable liens by agreement. Therefore, if any-
thing, the Court's observations about ERISA's competing goals
and its recognition of the nexus between the costs of plan ad-
ministration and plans’ ability to provide benefits in Mertens sup-
port the Respondent's position and not Petitioner's.

3]

at 142. Moreover, by allowing a broad loophole for par-
ticipants subject to equitable liens by agreement who
are able to claim dissipation, Petitioner's rule destroys
uniform enforcement of plans’ reimbursement provi-
sions. See Conkright, 559 U.S. at 517. Finally, Peti-
tioner’s position threatens the ability of plans to satisfy
future claims by creating an avenue for participants to
keep funds to which they lost entitlement or were never
entitled to have. See Varity, 516 U.S. at 514.

At its core, the Petitioner and its amicis’ objections
to benefit plans’ equitable reimbursement remedies are
based on a perception that such a remedy is harsh and
unfair. This overlooks the “commonplace economic
calculus” present in every personal injury lawsuit.
Kress, 391 F.3d at 570. According to the Fourth Circuit:

Attorneys considering taking a case on contin-
gency commonly factor the likelihood of success
and the magnitude of recovery into their decision.
“Many tort claims involve considerable risk and in-
sufficient reward. Attorneys, however, carefully
screen these claims and reject a large portion, in-
cluding most denominated as high risk.”.. Ifthe
participant and his attorney conclude that private
litigation will not produce a sufficient recovery to
make the litigation worthwhile, they need not bring
the case.

Id. (internal citation omitted.) Thus, harsh results are
not caused by benefit plans enforcing a right to reim-
bursement and subrogation. Instead the “unfairness”
is often an inherent part of the litigation process that
has been described, in this context, as being “like a lot-
tery ticket.” Cutting v. Jerome Foods, Inc., 993 F.2d
1293, 1298 (7th Cir. 1993). In fact, far from creating

32

hardships, the availability of subrogation and reim-
bursement serves to shift the risk of an uncertain re-
covery onto the benefit plan and away from the
beneficiary. See id. at 1297. This is because, by ad-
vancing medical benefits to a beneficiary in anticipa-
tion of a possible equitable claim to proceeds obtained
in the future, the “lottery ticket” of uncertain payment
for medical expenses is transferred from the benefici-
ary to the benefit plan. /d. at 1298. Where the tortfea-
sor subsequently gives the beneficiary money to cover
expenses the plan has already paid, preserving a lim-
ited equitable remedy under § 502(a)(3) is the only out-
come consistent with ERISA’s text and purpose.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the NCCMP respectfully
urges the Court to affirm the decision of the Court of

Appeals.
Respectfully submitted,

JOHN M. MCINTIRE *

JENNIFER R. SIMON

O’DONOGHUE & O’DONOGHUE LLP

4748 Wisconsin Avenue, N.W.
Washington, DC 20016
jmcintire@odonoghuelaw.com

(202) 362-0041

Counsel for the National Coordinating
Committee for Multiemployer Plans

* Counsel of Record

OCTOBER 2015

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0315%3A13. Public record. Not legal advice.
