# Amicus Curiae Brief — Deboer v. Snyder, 135 S. Ct. 1040 (2015) (No. 14-571)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0308%3A003

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2015

## Text

Supreme Court, U.S.
FILED

No. 14-571 DEC 18 2014
cn ane en Uan RRR emeeeennomenememnetet Tumeamemateetnete taba

In the Supreme Court
of the Gnited States

APRIL DEBOER, ET AL., PETITIONERS

v.

RICK SNYDER, GOVERNOR OF MICHIGAN,
ET AL., RESPONDENTS

ON PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF OF AMICUS CURIAE DAVID BOYLE
IN SUPPORT OF NEITHER PARTY

David Boyle

Counsel of Record
P.O. Box 15143
Long Beach, CA 90815

dbo@boyleslaw.org
(734) 904-6132

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

TABLE OF CONTENTS

AMICUS CURIAE STAT2MENT OF INTEREST... 1

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

poninceaininedseetemsasnonnsnnsesnnie 2
ID cen necccccsosnnceecasecncscetnnessesesnadsoneoossesecs 2
I. DEBOER WAS CORRECTLY DECIDED BUT
OFFERS TOO LITTLE GUIDANCE ON
RELEVANT ISSUES. ............:.ccceeeceeeeeeeeceee 2
Il. WHY RELISTING DEBOER WOULD BE
BETTER THAN REJECTING IT................. 3
Ill. ONE KEY INSIGHT IN THE DEBOER
OPINION: COMPARING GAY MARRIAGE
TO SMALL-GROUP POLYGAMY............... 5
IV. WINDSOR'S LOGICAL PROBLEMS HAVE
LEFT A TRAIL OF SERIOUS
SR Cin cc cccceccsccsccenencccescocesecocns ccceses 8
V. WEAK POINTS IN THE DEBOER

OPINION, NEEDING FURTHER
PERCOLATION ELSEWHERE................ 11

A. Gay-Marriage Bans Channel Bisexual
Or “Sexually Fluid” Persons to Choose

Opposite-Sex Spouses Instead of Same-
Be icnncscnensediacasenseddeosanadains 12

B. Grutter and Children’s Benefit from
Diverse-Gender Parentage............... 14
C. Taking Sodomy Seriously: or, Not Being
Willfully Blind to the Effects of
BET Uti cccnesecesecocescccssos coos 17
D. A Sexual-Orientation-Discrimination
Claim Is Not Viable.....................+- 19
E. A Sex-Discrimination Claim Is Not
alii hinicdacascuniecstbenenteisuseesenseenseens 21
F. Even Some Who Support Gay Marriage
Oppose Mandatory Gay Marriage...... 22
G. The Various Considerations Above,
Reinforce One Another.................... 23
VI. HOW LONG SHOULD THE COURT WAIT
UNTIL GRANTING CERTIORARI?.......... 24
ee eee Ee. 25

Se Srccccncseccscncesccssosccscvecceescocsoccesese 26

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
CASES
Ballard v. United States, 329 U.S. 187
Be bacdccatvacesenssovsncéscabenstecoinseseseenss 16-17, 26
Bowers v. Hardwick, 478 U.S. 186 (1986)......... 25, 26
Brown v. Bd. of Educ., 347 U.S. 483 (1954)........... 21
Cabell v. Chavez-Salido, 454 U.S. 432 (1982)......... 20

Citizens for Equal Prot. v. Bruning, 455 F.3d 859
I i piles diene adadnoedsenie 24

April DeBoer, et al., v. Rick Snyder, Governor of
Michigan, et al., -- F.3d --, 2014 U.S. App. LEXIS
22191 (6th Cir. Nov. 6, 2014, No. 14-1341), pet.
for cert. pending (U.S. Nov. 18, 2014) (No. 14-
SPF Eiinindec nds cendddwcsvenstececcocepneescsesccusecnnsess passim

DeLeon v. Perry, No. 14-50196 (5th Cir.), oral
arg. pending Jan. 9, 2015 (975 F. Supp. 2d 632

Sy Ss Sax niin tiamedadundieiadaehibaeduueedeiin 9
Grutter v. Bollinger, 288 F.%d 732 (2002)......... 14, 16
Grutter v. Bollinger, 539 U.S. 306

bes ave scccteccoescsaseccesoccantce 2, 6, 14, 15, 16, 23
Lawrence v. Texas, 539 U.S. 558 (2003)........... 11, 26

Nat Fed’n of Indep. Bus. v. Sebelius, 132 S. Ct. 2566

iv

Pe iveciistdtuindenidebosinnisetbiiibuianinienuenedins 24-25
Parents Involved in Cmty. Schs. v. Seattle, 127 U.S.

ee idccadicimvetisaiibinbadssdavecevasemeniancens 14
Pierce v. Soc’y of Sisters, 268 U.S. 510 (1925)......... 15
Schuette v. BAMN, 134 S. Ct. 1623 (2014)......... 6, 26
United States v. Windsor, 133 S. Ct. 2675

SE dodsidninbiiinatlenmpinsmeascnnsewernell 2, 8-9, 10, 11
CONSTITUTION
ee: Ns SITE, Dindnsicicadanncsinnidissccsinnibiinnnnddonia 17

STATUTES OR BALLOT MEASURES

Cal. Proposition 6 (“Briggs Initiative”) (1978)......... 20
Mich. Proposal 04-2 (2004)...........cccccsesccececccesesses 22
Mich. Proposal 06-2 (2006)..........scccsccssscesecccececess 22
RULE

Ss Ss Ss Saad ddebueaiadinineinietenadiidannnenidinnnediniiaiiia 1n.l1

OTHER AUTHORITIES

(All internet links below were last visited December
17, 2014.)

Michael Boucai, Sexual Liberty and Same-Sex
Marriage: An Argument from Bisexuality, 49 San
Diego L. Rev. 415 (2012)................. 13-14, 17-18

Br. of Amicus Curiae David Boyle in Supp. of
Neither Party, in Herbert v. Kitchen,

Briefs in DeLeon v. Perry, No. 14-50196 (5th Cir.),
oral arg. pending Jan. 9, 2015 (975 F. Supp. 2d
632 (W.D. Tex. 2014)):

Br. of Amicus Curiae Katy Faust Supporting
Defs.-Appellants and Supporting Reversal
(Aug. 4, 2014, revised Sept. 21, 2014)......9, 12

Br. of Amicus Curiae B.N. Klein Supporting
Defs.-Appellants and Supporting Reversal
(Aug. 4, 2014, revised Sept. 21, 2014)...... 9,12

Br. of Amicus Curiae Robert Oscar Lopez
Supporting Defs.-Appellants and Supporting
Reversal (Aug. 4, 2014, revised Sept. 21,

Br. of Amicus Curiae Dawn Stefanowicz
Supporting Defs.-Appellants and Supporting
Reversal (Aug. 4, 2014, revised Sept. 21,

Dan Chmielewski, Ronald Reagan on Gay Rights,

Liberal OC, June 9, 2008, http://www.
theliberaloc.com/2008/06/09/ronald-reagan-on-
TREE = = = — fk

James G. Dwyer, Same-Sex Cynicism and the Self-
Defeating Pursuit of Social Acceptance through
Litigation, 68 SMU L. Rev. 1 (forthcoming 2015)
(pre-edit draft, subject to revision), available at
http://papers.ssrn.com/sol3/papers.cfm?abstract
Ep eeere 22-23 & n.11, 25

EI REE OM ER EN Ree ae 7

HealthDay News, FDA Advisors Not Sold on Lifting
Ban on Gay Men Giving Blood, MSN, Dec. 3,
2014, http://www.msn.com/en-us/health/medical
/fda-advisors-not-sold-on-lifting-ban-on-gay-
men-giving-blood/ar-BBgizDf............18-19 & n.9

HHS, Promoting Responsible Fatherhood—
Promoting Responsible Fatherhood Home Page
(last revised July 21, 2011), http://www.
fatherhood. hhs. gov/.................-..cc00-seeeeee0 15 &n.8

Lauren McGaughy, Jimmy Carter: States should
decide on gay marriage, Houston Chron., Oct.
27, 2014, http://blog.chron.com/texaspolitics/
2014/10/immy-carter-states-should-decide-on-
TT i ctctentevinbainnenionaenmienientl 1&n.3

Wikipedia, Bisexuality, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/
Bisexuality (as of Nov. 3, 2014, at 15:36
III, jccubidiisaduudtsnddsinaamiodmndadinianand 12-13 & n.6

vil

Wikipedia, Anne Heche, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/
Anne _ Heche (as of Nov. 16, 2014, at 03:37
TTI cscxesicsciale iiss neheieltdesdaperienieitbiisthlinbabinteegertceeinl 13 & n.7

AMICUS CURIAE STATEMENT OF INTEREST

The present amicus curiae, David Boyle (herein-
after, “Amicus”),! is respectfully filing this Brief in
Support of Neither Party in Case 14-571 (“DeBoer”).”
He and a client were amici in the Sixth Circuit
iteration of DeBoer, and Amicus writes now to
recommend caution before prematurely granting
certiorari.

New developments keep arriving re the same-sex
(“gay”) marriage debate: for example, a former
President who supports gay marriage and can hardly
be called a “homophobe”, nevertheless supports a
democratic decision on the issue: “Jimmy Carter... .
told the local ABC affiliate[,] ‘[I]f Texas doesn’t want
to have gay marriages then I think it’s a right for
Texas people to decide[{.] People who happen to be
gay...I1 think they ought to have equal rights to
marry.”* Carter’s wise and moderate balance, see id.,
of having his own views but not being willing to
inflict them on the People if they disagree, is a
valuable guiding star. Other guiding stars may
arrive from various Circuits’ decisions, too, if this
Court is willing to wait prudently.

1 No party or its counsel wrote or helped write this brief, or
gave money to its writing or submission, see S. Ct. R. 37.
Blanket permission to write briefs is filed with the Court.
Parties were contacted 10 days before this briefs due date.

2 April DeBoer, et al., v. Rick Snyder, Governor of Michigan, et
al., -- F.3d --, 2014 U.S. App. LEXIS 22191 (6th Cir. Nov. 6,
2014, No. 14-1341), pet. for cert. pending (U.S. Nov. 18, 2014).
3 Lauren McGaughy, Jimmy Carter: States should decide on
gay marriage, Houston Chron., Oct. 27, 2014, http://blog.chron.
com/texaspolitics/20 14/10/jimmy-carter-states-should-decide-
on-gay-marriage/.

2

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The Court should consider granting certiorari in
DeBoer, supra, but not until after multiple relistings.
Various important arguments still have not been
addressed thoroughly by courts.

DeBoer has many strong points, although United
States v. Windsor, 133 S. Ct. 2675 (2013), has far
fewer. Windsor’s possible mistakes should be avoided
when the Court decides about each State’s People’s
right to decide on gay marriage.

However, DeBoer’s weak points echo some of
Windsor’s, including the illusion that homosexual
parents are essentially indistinguishable from
heterosexual ones. Also, DeBoer fails to deal, either
fully or at all, with crucial issues such as: bisexuals’
channelability towards traditional marriage; the
compelling interest of gender diversity, ad la Grutter
v. Bollinger (539 U.S. 306 (2003)), that supports
diverse-gender marriage; sodomy’s infertility and
disease-vector problems, and sodomy-norming by
State-endorsed gay marriage; children’s suffering
from being denied a mother or a father, in a State-
blessed monogender marriage; the invalidity of
sexual-orientation or sex-discrimination claims; and
gay-marriage supporters who oppose mandatory gay
marriage.

Thus, more percolation is crucial.

ARGUMENT

I. DEBOER WAS CORRECTLY DECIDED BUT
OFFERS TOO LITTLE GUIDANCE ON
RELEVANT ISSUES

Amicus was pleased to see DeBoer decided in the
Sixth Circuit so as to uphold the People’s will.
Michigan may not have made better arguments than
other States in other Circuits made, but was
fortunate enough to have a jurist, Judge Jeffrey
Sutton, who (with Judge Deborah Cook) understood
that even in those limited arguments, there was
enough good to sustain the same-sex-marriage bans.

What Sutton did not do, unfortunately, was to go
beyond a bare-bones “rational basis” defense of the
bans, with incentivizing of two people who can
naturally make children to stay together, especially
re unplanned pregnancy (a specialty of
heterosexuals), and a prudent wait-and-see attitude
about gay marriage, as reasons for letting things be,
see 2014 U.S. App. LEXIS 22191 at *38-42. He did
not really address the possibility that a court may
cede a rational basis for the bans, but find that
intermediate or strict scrutiny applies, so that the
bans thereby fall.

This is one reason why this Court should wait for
further percolation of the issues. Even if various
courts have read arguments for why gay-marriage
bans meet strong scrutiny, courts have not always
responded to them in a detailed or accurate fashion.

Il. WHY RELISTING DEBOER WOULD BE
BETTER THAN REJECTING IT

But DeBoer should be relisted, not denied
certiorari entirely. —Amicus is grateful that the
Court, back on October 6, did not immediately grant
certiorari to various gay-marriage cases. He had
recommended caution, see Br. of Amicus Curiae
David Boyle in Supp. of Neither Party, in Herbert v.

Kitchen, 14-124, passim. However, one thing Amicus
did not recommend was to simply reject the cases,
instead of relisting them. Relisting would have
added to the Court’s options about eventual
certiorari. The bigger the jurisprudential
smorgasbord, the better, so to speak.

However, the Court rejected all the cases, which
led to much crowing in the mass media to the effect
that the Court thus essentially legalized gay
marriage throughout America. Indeed, many same-
sex couples (either gay or seeking social or financial
benefits from same-sex marriage) have since married
in the Circuits affected, which could cause chaos if
this Court, as it should, upholds the same-sex-
marriage bans in those Circuits, bans which could
invalidate the marriages.

(Incidentally, Amicus does not know why the
various States seeking certiorari before October 6,
did not show the tactical savoir-faire to petition for
rehearing. Had they Jone so, by Halloween—of all
dates—, then their petitions would have been
reconsidered after the DeBoer decision created a
circuit split. We may never know, this side of glory,
what would have happened.)

The chaos mentioned supra might be lessened,
arguably, if those same-sex couples who marry
before the Court’s final decision are allowed to
remain married, but no more same-sex marriages
are allowed to take place afterwards. Amicus is not
supporting same-sex marriage here; but if allowing
already-contracted marriages to remain valid is the
equitable price to pay for disallowing any future
marriages, so be it. Those few same-sex couples who
were allowed to marry, could serve as a sort of

“experimental body”, whose marriages, and children
(if any), can be observed for whatever good or bad
effect occurs over time, by the People, who will
eventually vote about the future of same-sex
marriage.

The chaos might also be lessened by relisting
more cases, instead of denying grants entirely. This
would avoid further confusion, and also keep DeBoer,
a worthy case, “on board” for possible certiorari, by
itself or along with other cases.

Ill. ONE KEY INSIGHT IN THE DEBOER
OPINION: COMPARING GAY MARRIAGE TO
SMALL-GROUP POLYGAMY

One of the strongest points in DeBoer is that
Sutton rightly notes, see id. at *44-45, *59-60, that
small-group polygamy is a rough equivalent of gay
marriage. (Indeed, if any supposed “biological
predisposition to homosexuality” legitimates gay
marriage, then why does not what many believe is
most males’ “biological predisposition to promiscuity”
legitimate polygamy?)

One reason that two-person diverse-gender
marriage is so wonderful, is that it is a compromise
between the extremes of “genderless” marriage, i.e.,
two-person same-sex marriage, and more-than-two-
person diverse-sex marriage, i.e., polygamy.* Gay
marriage is hobbled by being sterile, employing
sodomy (statistically, a strong vector of disease and

4 Re gay polygamy, gay-marriage advocates only talk about
“marriage equality’, instead of really supporting it, since they
are not fighting for the rights of those who want same-sex
polygamous relationships.

6

injury), and depriving children, if any, of a father or
mother. Polygamy offers a mother and father, and
plenty of fertility; but it is hobbled by being “too
much of a good thing”, since having fifty mommies or
daddies might be worse than having just one.

However, that does not ipso facto mean that all
polygamy is bad, since there may be fewer than fifty-
one partners in a relationship. Similarly, a State
might claim to find gay marriage meritorious, since
a State might choose not to value gender diversity in
marriages. (Just as a State need not find diversity a
compelling state interest in education, see Grutter,
supra at 2, and cf. Schuette v. BAMN, 1345S. Ct.
1623 (2014).)

While Amicus personally finds plural marriage
(polygamy) to be disgusting and vile, that is his
personal preference, which should not affect any
right of polygamists to receive marriage licenses.
And once traditional marriage is thrown to the
wolves by saying that the “fundamental right to
marry’ covers basically any consenting adult, and by
claiming that “denial of benefits to the kids” or
“government stigmatization of the marriage” is
enough reason to prevent bans on non-traditional
marriage, there is, as Sutton implied, not a lot of
reason to make gays the special favorites of the law,
and to give them special marriage privileges that
small-group polygamists do not have.

After all, polygamy, including small-group
polygamy, has vastly more supporting tradition in
world history than gay marriage. (Judge Martha
Craig Daughtrey’s DeBoer dissent, saying “Even
today, polygynous marriages outnumber
monogamous ones’, id. at *114, hurts her cause

more than helps it. If polygamy has a deeper
tradition than gay marriage, then perhaps it should
be legalized first in this country, long before gay
marriage.)

Even the Twelve Tribes of Israel are the fruit of
polygamy. See, e.g., Genesis 46:8-25, noting Jacob
(“Israel”) sired Reuben, Simeon, Levi, Judah,
Issachar, and Zebulon through Leah; and Asher and
Gad through Zilpah, Leah’s handmaid; and Joseph
and Benjamin through Rachel; and Dan and
Naphtali through Bilhah, Rachel’s handmaid. Jd.

World Jewry turned out just fine despite that
multi-mothered background, id.—it would risk
sounding anti-Semitic to say otherwise.

Since not only could a man espouse multiple
wives, but a woman could espouse multiple
husbands, too, polygamy need not lead to a “wife
shortage”. Or the State could require that all plural
marriages be sex-equal, e.g., two men and two
women. Just as the State chooses a sensible number
of years before youngsters can marry (sixteen may
be old enough; six is not), without any obvious
dividing line (why sixteen instead of seventeen or
eighteen”), it can plausibly choose a maximum size
for marriages, e.g., four people, which is smaller
than the ménage G cing of Jacob and his intimate
partners, supra. Or if the maximum number in a
marriage can be two, then maybe the minimum
number of genders in a marriage can be two also.
Voila traditional marriage.

There will be more later on the animus that gay-
marriage advocates have arguably shown towards

8

polygamists; but first, we shall address Windsor, as
an introduction to some flaws in Sutton’s analysis.

IV. WINDSOR’S LOGICAL PROBLEMS HAVE
LEFT A TRAIL OF SERIOUS CONFUSION

Some State attorneys might be tempted to flatter
the Court majority, by saying Windsor was rightly
decided but still allows State gay-marriage bans.
However, other viewpoints may exist.

For one, Windsor’s consequences, if we take the
opinion seriously, may be absurd. E.g., if federal law
must recognize any marriage allowed by a State,
then what if a “progressive” State allows consensual
adult incest, say, to people over 21 years old who
possess signed statements from two separate
counselors or psychiatrists, that there are no issues
of coercion, mental illness, etc., preventing fully
informed consent? The federal government would
have to recognize and subsidize that. The Court may
find incest repulsive—who doesn’t?—, but the issue
is not repulsiveness, it is constitutionality.

Naturally, this also applies to polygamy. If the
imaginary State of Tuah legalizes small-group
polygamy, then Windsor shackles the federal
government into giving benefits and recognition.
...and the same if Tuah legalized large-group
polygamy. It opens Pandora’s box to subordinate the
federal government to state governments in these
marriage matters. This alone makes Windsor’s logic
questionable.

Among Windsor’s other problems, there is the
statement that, besides “humiliat{ing] tens of
thousands of children now being raised by same-sex

9

couples”, “[t]he law in question makes it even more
difficult for the children to understand the integrity
and closeness of their own family and its concord
with other families in their community and in their
daily lives.” Id. at 2694 (Kennedy, J.). But in real
life, that imagined “closeness”, id., does not always
exist. There are plenty of children who are not happy
to be deprived of either a mother or a father, or to
have two parents in a sterile (infertile) sexual
relationship which may also incidentally violate any
ethical beliefs of the children, given that many
children may have traditional ethical beliefs.

Amicus does not just theorize this, but has four
clients, Katy Faust, B.N. Klein, Robert Oscar Lopez,
and Dawn Stefanowicz, in DeLeon v. Perry, the Fifth
Circuit (Texas) gay-marriage case,5 clients whose
four separate amicus briefs testify that each amicus
was raiser’ by same-sex parents and was hurt and
damaged by this experience.

By contrast, Amicus knows of no one who claims
that children can be damaged by having a mother
and a father. (Just as therapy exists to change from
homosexual to heterosexual, but not the other way
around.) Thus, there is a basis, whether “rational” or
“compelling”, for States to ban monosex marriages.

However, it is not enough for Amicus merely to
mention this issue to the Court, the issue of children
damaged by same-sex parenting; it would be better
to wait and see the Fifth Circuit deliver its opinion,
which may well comment on the claims raised by
Amicus’ four amici clients. (Amicus is asking no

5 No. 14-50196, oral arg, pending Jan. 9, 2015 (975 F. Supp. 2d
632 (W.D. Tex. 2014)).

10

personal favor for himself or his clients; but he
coincidentally happens to be representing some
people who have important stories to tell.)

As for “DOMA’s unusual deviation from the usual
tradition of recognizing and accepting state
definitions of marriage”, Windsor at 2693,
homosexual marriage itself is extremely “unusual”,
in terms of non-traditionalism, total sterility, total
reliance on sodomy, and total exclusion of either a
mother or a father for a child. Given that
“unusualness”, it was not out of place for federal law
to treat same-sex marriage in an atypical manner.

Also, why could the Executive Branch not have
been allowed to issue a disclaimer whenever federal
law was implemented to interpret marriage as solely
opposite-sex, “This designation is neither an
acknowledgment nor a declaration by the Congress
or President of the United States that same-sex
marriages are inferior to other ones”? A similar
solution was recently broached re putting “Israel”
instead of “Jerusalem” on the passport of people born
in Jerusalem; so if that sort of solution were really
viable for the passport (which is unlikely, since it
sends a rather schizophrenic message), it should
have worked in Windsor as well.

Amicus appreciates the compassion shown by the
Windsor majority towards the putative plight of
children with gay parents. However, since the Court
majority did not show equal compassion to the plight
of children with polygamous parents, there is
“cognitive dissonance” here.

11

Speaking of “cognitive dissonance: like many
observers, Amicus cannot fully tell what is going on
in Windsor. Is it about federalism? Or individual
rights? And were the mid-1990’s Congress and
President really so totally bigoted? Windsor lacks the
intellectual crispness of a Lawrence (v. Texas, 539
U.S. 558 (2003)), which nicely demarcated things, see
id., by protecting the negative liberty of freedom-
from-arrest for homosexuals, while not promising
any state entitlements (“positive liberties”) for them.
Windsor is almost more like a Rorschach blot.

No one is calling the Windsor majority “sons of
anarchy” (or “daughters of anarchy”); but attempted
rationales, like Windsor’s, which openly mystify and
confuse many people, are best avoided.

We return to Sutton’s opinion, and some gaps or
errors there:

V. WEAK POINTS IN THE DEBOER OPINION,
NEEDING FURTHER PERCOLATION
ELSEWHERE

Sutton echoes Windsor’s lionization of gay
parenting: “And gay couples, no less than straight
couples, are capable of raising children and
providing stable families for them. The quality of
such relationships, and the capacity to raise children
within them, turns not on sexual orientation but on
individual choices and individual commitment.”
DeBoer at *39. His words are well-meant but
conclusory. With relatively few years of gay-
marriage experience in America, how can Sutton
categorically conclude as he does?

12

The testimony of Amicus’ four clients alone, supra
at 9, refutes Sutton’s imaginings that gay parenting
is undistinguishable from dual-gender parenting.
And Sutton also avoids or misconstrues other issues:

A. Gay-Marriage Bans Channel Bisexual or
“Sexually Fluid” Persons to Choose Opposite-
Sex Spouses Instead of Same-Sex Spouses

While Sutton mentions, accurately, that marriage
benefits only for heterosexual couples are fitting
because such couples may have unplanned
pregnancies and should receive incentives to stay
together for their children, Sutton does not really
answer the assertion, “But since gay couples are not
going to enter heterosexual marriages anyway, and
‘vice versa’: a gay-marriage ban just hurts
homosexual couples, instead of helping heterosexual
couples.”

However, being either gay or straight is a false
dichotomy. See, e.g., the Wikipedia article
Bisexuality,® listing figures ranging from 0.7 to 5
percent of Americans being bisexuals, see id. There
may be even more bisexuals than homosexuals: “The
Janus Report on Sexual Behavior, published in 1993,
showed that 5 percent of men and 3 percent of
women considered themselves bisexual and 4
percent of men and 2 percent of women considered
themselves homosexual.” Id. (footnote omitted);
“Alfred Kinsey’s 1948 work Sexual Behavior in the
Human Male found that ‘46% of the male population
had engaged in both heterosexual and homosexual

6 http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bisexuality (as of Nov. 3, 2014, at
15:36 GMT).

13

activities ....in the course of their adult lives’.” Id.
(footnote omitted)

(Even those already in gay relationships may
change course towards non-gay ones. For example,
Ellen DeGeneres’ lesbian lover Anne Heche later
married a man, Coleman Laffoon, and then moved
on to James Tupper, having a son by each, see, e.zg.,
Wikipedia, Anne Heche.’)

So, if there are c. 315 million Americans right
now, each 1% of the population that is bisexual
equals c. 3 million bisexual Americans. Normally,
given average odds, half of those bisexuals might
choose a same-sex long-term relationship, and half
an opposite-sex long-term relationship. But if same-
sex marriage were unavailable, then of those
bisexuals who might otherwise have chosen a same-
sex relationship, any who want to marry would need
to choose opposite-sex partners, the only marriage
partners available. Potentially millions of sexually-
fluid people moved into diverse-gender marriage
provides more than a mere “rational basis” for laws
permitting only heterosexual marriage, but rather,
quite a compelling state interest.

Even some proponents of gay marriage admit,
and lament, that gay-marriage bans “channel”
bisexuals into heterosexual marriages. See Michael
Boucai, Sexual Liberty and Same-Sex Marriage: An
Argument from Bisexuality, 49 San Diego L. Rev. 415
(2012) (“Boucai’), “This Article proposes that same-
sex marriage bans channel individuals, particularly

7 http://en. wikipedia.org/wiki/Anne_Heche (as of Nov. 16, 2014,
at 03:37 GMT).

14

bisexuals, into heterosexual relations and
relationships[.]” Jd. at 416; and: “With regard to
procreation, this Article’s argument implicitly
concedes one way in which same-sex marriage bans
advance the state’s interest: by increasing the
number of bisexuals who pursue same-sex
relationships, legalization presumably will decrease
these individuals’ chances of reproducing.” Id. at
482.

Why does neither Sutton, nor any other judge
Amicus can think of, bring up the bisexuality issue?
Indeed, as Boucai notes: “Bisexuality is ‘virtually
invisible’ in same-sex marriage litigation.” Id. at 452.
Whatever the reason for omission, the absence of a
discussion of bisexuality’s effects is a gross material
omission 1n any gay-marriage case. Thus, the Court
should wait until one or more of the Circuits
discusses the issue thoroughly.

B. Grutter and Children’s Benefit from Diverse-
Gender Parentage

There is another socially positive aspect to gay-
marriage bans besides increased fertility: i.e.,
promoting diverse-gender parentage for children.
This chimes with Grutter, which upholds diversity,
including gender diversity, as a compelling state
interest, see 539 U.S. at 325. (The Sixth Circuit
iteration of Grutter, 288 F.3d 732 (2002), cites with
favor the use of gender as an allowable consideration
in giving preferred treatment, see id. at 745.)
Although Parents Involved in Community Schools v.
Seattle, 127 U.S. 2738 (2007), declined to apply a
Grutter-esque diversity rationale outside of higher
education, see id. at 2754, that does not mean one

15

cannot sensibly argue for that interest in a family
setting. (Ironically, Michigan’s Republican-leaning
state attorneys, who tend to dislike affirmative
action, may thus be loath to employ Grutter, even if
it is one of the best weapons they have. Perhaps they
should lose their loath-ness.)

In fact, parents, whether home-schoolers or not,
have long been considered iiber-educators of a sort.
See, e.g., Pierce v. Soc’y of Sisters, 268 U.S. 510
(1925), noting “the liberty of parents and guardians
to direct the upbringing and education of children
under their control”, id. at 534-35 (McReynolds, J.).
Thus, it is not a great leap to apply the Grutter
“educational” diversity rationale to parentage and
marriage as well.

Indeed, since it would be ludicrous to say
diversity is compelling over a few years of university
education but cannot even be rationally relevant in
18 years of child-nurture, then a gender-diverse
parentage is worthy of special favor by the State.
(See, e.g., HHS, Promoting Responsible Fatherhood—
Promoting Responsible Fatherhood Home Page (last
revised July 21, 2011),® “Involved fathers provide
practical support in raising children and serve as
models for their development.” Id. (emphasis added))

Some may make questionable counterarguments,
e.g., “Then why couldn’t a State make forced
interracial marriage a compelling state interest?”
But that would be unadministrable; there are so
many racial or interracial categories, that it would
be impossible to assign people. By contrast, there are
only two sexes; and the arrangement is quite

§ http://www.fatherhood.hhs.gov/.

16

workable, having been the standard arrangement
worldwide for thousands of years.

Some critics have said that gay-marriage bans
presume same-sex couples can never be good
parents. However, the “presumption” may only be
that diverse-sex couples have something special to
offer in parenting. On that note: the two Grutter
cases supra show how gender diversity matters; and
part of the rationale States may adopt per Grutter,
539 U.S. 306, is, see id. passim,

1) a bonus for diversity
2) that allows exclusion of others.

Thus, a diversity bonus in university admissions
to members of some groups, may exclude certain
others (e.g., some white males). But this, of course,
does not mean white males cannot be good students;
similarly, even though the gay-marriage ban
excludes gays from marriage, it does not at all mean
that same-sex couples can’t be good parents. (Just as
polygamists may not be bad parents.)

Also, no “sex stereotyping” is going on here: in
fact, if a child has “nontraditional-occupation” male
and female parents, e.g., a homemaker father and a
Marine Corps sniper mother, that may help break
down gender stereotypes.

Without citing from the copious literature
showing the benefits of having a mother and father:
more diversity exists, per se, when a child can learn
from a female parent and a male parent. And
diversity counts. With two fathers, which one can
breast-feed the child? And with two mothers, a child
may have no close male role model. “[T]he two sexes

17

are not fungible; a community made up exclusively
of one is different from a community composed of
both[.]” Ballard v. United States, 329 U.S. 187, 193
(1946) (Douglas, J.).

C. Taking Sodomy Seriously: or, Not Being
Willfully Blind to the &ffects of Homosexual
Sex

To paraphrase the late Ronald Dworkin (RIP),
taking sodomy seriously is important for courts to
do. Some misplaced Victorianism or inappropriate
gentility, perhaps, has led States’ attorneys to avoid
discussing the sodomy-norming quality of mandatory
legalized gay marriage. When society lauds a status
and pays someone to perform certain behavior, it
should not surprise anyone if more of that behavior
occurs, including among impressionable children.

Legalizing gay marriage may benefit those who
are in the marriage, true. However, that does not
account for the secondary effects of the marriage,
somewhat as various commercial sexual or sexually-
related entertainment options are regulable for their
secondary effects. People who consume sexually-
explicit entertainment may be allowed to do so under
the First Amendment, but not in a neighborhood
zoned for other purposes, like churches or children’s
schools. Similarly, even if (hypothetically) there were
no reason for the State to regulate gay marriage if it
occurred in a vacuum, the sodomy-norming and
other secondary effects of gay marriage may give
compelling state interest in regulating gay marriage.

Amicus is not just imagining sodomy-norming
from gay parenting; Boucai, supra at 14, says:

18

“(What if the] impressionable psychosexual
development of children is a basis for widening, not
limiting, the range of ‘lifestyle choices’ to which they
are exposed[?]}”, with a citation “urging advocates to
affirm that nonheterosexual parents ‘create an
environment in which it is safer for children to
openly express their own sexual orientations”. Jd. at
484 & n.456. I.e., Boucai posits nonheterosexual
parenting as better than heterosexual parenting, see
id., because a larger amount of children’s
homosexual behavior (which would tend to include
sodomy at some point) will occur, see id. If Boucai
admits it, who is anyone else to deny it?

Admittedly, gays may feel uncomfortable about
not being allowed marriage. But so might
polygamists. And sometimes, it is better that some
gays feel uncomfortable than that society be
endangered; see, e.g., HealthDay News, FDA
Advisors Not Sold on Lifting Ban on Gay Men Giving
Blood, MSN, Dec. 3, 2014,°

Members of a U.S. Food and Drug
Administration advisory panel asked
the agency on Tuesday to think
carefully before repealing a 3l-year ban
on blood donations from gay and
bisexual men.

[A]n HHS advisory panel has
recommended that a 12-month deferral
period replace the ban. That would

8 http://www.msn.com/en-us/health/medical/fda-advisors-not-
sold-on-lifting-ban-on-gay-men-giving-blood/ar-BBgizDf.

19

mean men who have had sex with
another man in the previous year could
not give blood.

However, the panel convened
Tuesday was not convinced by the HHS
recommendation, according to the AP.

“If I look at the science I would be
very wary of a one-year deferral,” said
Dr. Susan Leitman. “It sounds to me
like we’re talking about policy and civil
rights rather than our primary duty,
which is transfusion safety.”

Id. As Dr. Leitman said, see id., putative “civil
rights” may run into ugly realities, and “the science”,
id., such as mass death from AIDS. Maybe more
important than unlimited “gay rights”, there is a
more important liberty, the right not to die. And this
is science, not “Bible-thumping animus and
superstition”.

AIDS is not the sole issue relevant re same-sex
marriage, but if a Court does not consider disease
and injury issues re sodomy-norming and gay
marriage, that Court may be “aiding” many
Americans to have an early and undeserved death.

D. A Sexual-Orientation-Discrimination Claim
Is Not Viable

Sutton believes sexual-orientation claims are a
“rational basis” issue, see DeBoer at *61. But what if
that were not always true? E.g., upholding gay-
marriage bans would not estop this Court from
finding that gays suffer illegal discrimination, maybe
subject to heightened scrutiny, in employment or

20

other fields unrelated to marriage. For example,
since a gay person can presumably flip a hamburger
as well as a heterosexual can, it might be considered
irrational for a restaurateur to fire vhe burger-flipper
for being gay—but even if there were some “rational
basis”, maybe intermediate scrutiny could be applied
instead. But gay marriage is distinguishable from
business-related laws or private decisions.

After all, gay athletes Michael Sam and Jason
Collins of the NFL and NBA might be superb at
their sports, but that does not mean they can breast-
feed children, or serve as female role models to little
girls.

The Court could someday, if desired, adopt
heightened scrutiny re homosexuality vis-a-vis
employment or other issues besides marriage.
(Amicus is not recommending the Court adopt higher
scrutiny, only saying that rational-basis scrutiny re
gay marriage does not rule out higher scrutiny
elsewhere.) This kind of bifurcated scrutiny has been
done before, see, e.g., Cabell v. Chavez-Salido, 454
U.S. 432, 439 (1982) (applying strict scrutiny to
alienage, but a lower level of scrutiny re political
classifications).

See also, e.g., Dan Chmielewski, Ronald Reagan
on Gay Rights, Liberal OC, June 9, 2008,!° on the
Briggs Initiative, a 1978 California ballot measure
banning gay teachers from public schools,

Reagan met with initiative
opponents[,} and, ultimately, at the risk
of offending his anti-gay supporters in

10 http://www .theliberaloc.com/2008/06/09/ronald-reagan-on-
gay-rights/.

21

the coming presidential election, wrote
in his newspaper column: “I don’t
approve of teaching a so-called gay life
style in our schools, but there is already
adequate legal machinery to deal with
such problems if and when they arise.”

Id. (citation omitted) Like Reagan, see id., we can
meaningfully distinguish between employment/
business issues and family/lifestyle issues.

E. A Sex-Discrimination Claim Is Not Viable

Also, Sutton does not really address sex-
discrimination claims: which may be appropriate,
since they are invalid. —If Amicus said there are
public facilities that utterly exclude women: this
would sound horrible, except when Amicus explains
that the “facilities” are men’s bathrooms. Context is
key here, as with gay marriage.

Inter alia, how does it constitute gender
discrimination for gay-marriage bans to prohibit a
sex-segregated environment, i.e., monogender
parentage, for children? To claim otherwise turns
the idea of “sex discrimination” on its head. One is
tempted to say that instead, any unhappy children of
a same-sex couple might have a sex-discrimination
or sex-segregation claim. See, e.g., Brown v. Bd. of
Educ. (347 U.S. 483 (1954)) (condemning segregated
learning environments for children).

One way that DeBoer could be a useful case to
consider, even though the State of Michigan did not
use the following rationale, is the evidence that
Michiganders disfavor gender discrimination at the
same time they oppose gay marriage.

22

Le., within two years, and thus with substantially
the same electorate, Michiganders voted for and
passed Proposal 06-2, in 2006 (preventing race,
gender, or other controversial preferences in public
education—e.g., affirmative action—, employment,
or contracting) and also voted for and passed
Proposal 04-2, in 2004 (banning same-sex marriage).
Michiganders apparently believed that a gender
preference in an area where it might plausibly make
no difference (should one’s gender really be a plus in
getting a contract?) was discriminatory and illegal.
So, it is hard to say that they were trying to promote
sex discrimination by voting for Proposal 04-2, since
they shortly banned it in Proposal 06-2.

Perhaps the People, with their common sense
that is often far wiser than the ideas of some
academics or activists, realized that in a marriage
setting, gender-diversity is not discriminatory: it
may even be mandatory for helping children have
the optimal upbringing.

F. Even Some Who Support Gay Marriage
Oppose Mandatory Gay Marriage

Courts have not paid enough attention to those
who endorse gay marriage, but acknowledge the
damage from forcing it on the People. Jimmy Carter,
supra at 1, falls into that category, as does law
professor James G. Dwyer, Same-Sex Cynicism and
the Self-Defeating Pursuit of Social Acceptance
through Litigation,

1168 SMU L. Rev. 1 (forthcoming 2015) (pre-edit draft, subject
to revision), available at http://papers.ssrn.com/sol3/papers.
cfm? abstract_id=25057 54.

23

As a member of the American
political community, I strongly support
extending legal marriage to same-sex
couples... . I have contributed to The
Gay and Lesbian Victory Fund.

As a legal scholar, however, I
recognize the distinction between
something being the right thing to do
and its being a matter of constitutional
right, and I recognize that at this point
in time the case for the latter with
respect to same-sex marriage is too
implausible to endorse.

Id. at 1. The argument that “Only animus motivates
opponents of nationwide mandatory gay marriage”,
dies pretty quickly when we notice gay-marriage-
endorsers like Carter and Dwyer, who do not
endorse mandatory gay marriage.

G. The Various Considerations Above,
Reinforce One Another

Does, for example, the “channeling of bisexuals”
argument have anything to do with the “gender-
diversity per Grutter” argument? Yes, because there
is not a fixed number of “gay marrieds” and “straight
marrieds”. Bisexuals and other “flexible” types
receive motivation from laws like Michigan’s,
motivation to enter traditional marriages, increasing
the number of children with a mother and a father.
Without official endorsement of same-sex marriages,
fewer are likely to occur, and resources that might
have been spent on children (e.g., from artificial
insemination) in those marriages, can be spent on

24

children in diverse-sex marriages, or other worthy
causes. (Just as polygamists, or their children, may
receive fewer state benefits than others.) The People
can make their own “cost-benefit judgment” about
what kinds of marriage to support. And further
percolation on the intertwined issues supra, will
likely benefit the judgment of the Court.

VI. HOW LONG SHOULD THE COURT WAIT
UNTIL GRANTING CERTIORARI?

Despite the need for more percolation, though,
Amicus does not want the Court to wait forever.
Some partisans might be hoping for years to elapse
so that maybe an ultraconservative President can
appoint several ultraconservative Justices to the
Court and determine the opinion in any gay-
marriage case. However, waiting for a few more
Circuits to weigh in should take less than a year, so
that the Court could issue an opinion by June 2016,
well before the next general election.

The Fifth, Eleventh, First, and Eighth Circuits
may all have issued same-sex-marriage opinions
long before June 2016, opinions likely of great use to
this Court. And there is poetic justice in waiting to
see what the Eighth Circuit has to say, since its
long-held opinion, Citizens for Equal Protection v.
Bruning, 455 F.3d 859 (8th Cir. 2006), opposes
mandatory gay marriage, see id. Will the Eighth
Circuit change its mind or not?

After all, in NFIB v. Sebelius, 132 S. Ct. 2566
(2012), the dissent criticized the Court majority for
not taking more time and effort before making a
huge decision: “One would expect this Court to

25

demand more than fly-by-night briefing and
argument before deciding a difficult constitutional
question of first impression.” Jd. at 2655. In the huge
matter of forcing gay marriage on the entire Nation,
even on unwilling local supermajorities, the Court
should take ample time to decide, lest it produce a
Bowers v. Hardwick (478 U.S. 186 (1986)) of sorts,
an indefensible decision which is later overruled.
And the tradition of releasing blockbuster
decisions at the end of June need not always be
followed, either. It is more important to decide the
case rightly, and possibly release the opinion in the
middle of a Term, than to rush the process and
choose a case now just to be able to churn the
opinion out by late June 2015, as if the Court were
some jurisprudential fast-food restaurant. The NFIB
v. Sebelius decision may have been unduly rushed,
and the Court should not risk such a problem again.

x* * *

In this holiday season, it seems some would put
the label of “Scrooge” on anybody who opposes
legalized nationwide gay marriage. However, one
must be careful with the label of “Scrooge”. What if
some who support mandatory gay marriage,
themselves show possible “animus” or “bigotry”
towards more traditional forms of marriage? “See,
e.g., Boies and Olson[,] lumping ‘plural marriage’
together with incest and ‘unions of people and
animals’ and characterizing it as an ‘absurd
concept’)[, and] implying that practiced polygamy is
so rife with abuse it is categorically different from
same-sex relationships[.]” Dwyer, supra at 22, at 67
n.208 (citations omitted).

26

But the Ghost of Cases Past, such as Ballard,
Schuette, and Lawrence, warns us: that it can be
Scrooge-y to pretend gender is meaningless, e.g.,
that it is good to deprive a child of a mother or
father; that the People’s vote is meaningful; and that
a negative liberty does not imply a positive one. And
we all should all fear the Ghost of Cases Yet to
Come, if this Court produces some elitist, Jacobin,
hyper-centralizing yoke on regional voters’
legitimate marriage decisions, i.e., a tyrannical
forced-gay-marriage opinion which eventually gets
overruled like Bowers. On that note, Amicus wishes
well to all for the holidays—especially to the People,
whose common sense often exceeds that of courts.

CONCLUSION

Amicus respectfully asks the Court to consider
granting certiorari, in this case or another same-sex-
marriage case or cases, in the future, when sufficient
percolation has occurred; and humbly thanks the
Court for its time and consideration.

December 18, 2014 Respectfully submitted,

David Boyle

Counsel of Record
P.O. Box 15143
Long Beach, CA 90815
dbo@boyleslaw.org
(734) 904-6132

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0308%3A003. Public record. Not legal advice.
