# Amicus Curiae Brief — Tanco v. Haslam, 135 S. Ct. 1040 (2015) (No. 14-562)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0307%3A028

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2015

## Text

JAMES OBERGEFELL, ET AL., AND BRITTANI HENRY, ET AL,
PETITIONERS,
Vv.

RICHARD HODGES, DIRECTOR, OHIO DEPARTMENT OF
HEALTH, ET AL., RESPONDENTS.

VALERIA TANCO, ET AL., PETITIONERS,
Vv.

WILLIAM EDWARD “BILL” HASLAM, GOVERNOR OF
TENNESSEE, ET AL., RESPONDENTS.

APRIL DEBOER, ET AL., PETITIONERS,
Vv.

RICK SNYDER, GOVERNOR OF MICHIGAN, ET AL., RESPONDENTS.

GREGORY BOURKE, ET AL., AND TIMOTHY LOVE, ET AL.,
PETITIONERS,

Vv.

STEVE BESHEAR, GOVERNOR OF KENTUCKY, ET AL.,
RESPONDENTS.

On Writs of Certiorari to the

United States Court peals
for the Sixth "Sixth Cireut

BRIEF OF BAY AREA LAWYERS FOR INDIVIDUAL
FREEDOM, ET AL. AS AMICI CURIAE
SUPPORTING PETITIONERS

JEROME C. ROTH
Counsel of Record

AMELIA L.B. SARGENT

MUNGER, TOLLES & OLSON LLP
560 Mission Street 27th Floor
San Francisco, CA 94105
Jerome.Roth@mto.com
(415) 512-4000

VALSON-EPES PRINTING CO., INC. — (202) 789-0086 — WASHINGTON, D. C. 20002

TABLE OF CONTENTS

PAGE
i ccmelarnomincnas l
Ieee 2
EE 4

I. It Is The Province And Duty Of This Court To
Hold That The Marriage Bans Violate The
I a rceessas 4
A. Classifications That Are Intended Only To
Disadvantage A Group Of People Fail Even

B. It Is Uniquely The Province Of The Courts
To Decide The Equal Protection Challenge
I iciccecntnsmnansscsisanntcseseenesessess 5
Il. Excluding Same-Sex Couples From The
Institution Of Marriage Harms Gay And
Lesbian Individuals, Their Families, And Their

EEE SE cee 9
A. Marriage Is A Uniquely Revered
Institution In American Society .......................... 9
B. Exclusion From Marriage Causes Tar cible
EE 14
iy TID cincccccicactectsem eennetasonenss 14
2. Legal And Economic Harm ....... ................ 19
3. Emotional And Physica! Harm. .................... 22

C. The Marriage Bans Communicate
Governmental Animus Toward Same-Sex

Ee 23
1. The Marriage Bans Stigmatize Same-
ETT ee a 24

(1)

Ul

2. The Marriage Bans’ Stigma Perpetuates
Societal Discrimination Against Gay

I SII nnccncenerenntmnenineniennnmeaseses 27
aidan atleast teintataaineiiaeal 30
Appendix — List of Amici Curiae ..........................00.00000 la

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

FEDERAL CASES PAGE(S)
Baskin v. Bogan,

766 F.3d 648 (7th Cir. 2014)..................... passim
Bostic v. Schaefer,

760 F.3d 362 (4th Cir. 2014)............................... 3
Brown v. Board of Education,

ee 2
City of Cleburne v. Cleburne Living Center,

ae ee Se rrentensetscsssessentonnts 4, 5, 17, 26
Eisenstadt v. Baird,

eee ree 5
Griswold v. Connecticut,

Eve neee 10
Kitchen v. Herbert,

755 F.3d 1193 (10th Cir. 2014)........................... 2
Latta v. Otter,

771 F.3d 456 (9th Cir. 2014)...............0..000... 3,17
Lawrence v. Texas,

| ESSERE pene 22, 28

Loving v. Virginia,
oS Eee 4, 8,9, 10

Il

Marbury v. Madison,

§ U.S. (1 Cranch) 137 (1803) ....................sscccsseee 6
Mayers v. Ridley,

465 F.2d 630 (D.C. Cir. 1972) ..................cccccce eens 8
Perry v. Schwarzenegger,

704 F. Supp. 2d 921 (N.D. Cal. 2010)............... 27
Plessy v. Ferguson,

nrc ccrinsiniecetcnmeniittiniiadiie 2
Reynolds v. Sims,

EERE ae 7,8
Romer v. Evans,

gg ee passim
SmithKline Beecham Corp. v. Abbott

Laboratories,

oe | tf 1. | | 4
Strauder v. West Virginia,

TTT itso netrncnanniieienpamaneiiuaninn 23, 28
Taylor v. Louisiana,

eee 24
Turner v. Safley,

REPENS nee 10
United States v. Virginia,

i nese enleninicianneentintenes 30
United States v. Windsor,

A ee passim

United States Department of Agriculture v.

Moreno,

er 5, 27
West Virginia State Board of Education v.

Barnette,

I a 7

IV

Williams v. North Carolina,
Ea eR en ae ee 10

STATE CASES

Garden State Equality v. Dow,

ee es Bi cerrenncctcnsereccsncsnvesesnesees 21
Goodridge v. Department of Public Health,

798 N.E.2d 941 (Mass. 2003).......... 10, 11, 15, 25
In re Marriage Cases,

183 P.3d 384 (Cal. 2008)....................... 24, 25, 28
Kerrigan v. Commissioner of Public Health,

957 A.2d 407 (Conn. 2008)................ 9, 14, 15, 25
Perez v. Lippold,

EE er SERIES ETD ccrnicnesinccccemeunnnvencesonenennen 10
Varnum v. Brien,

763 N.W.2d 862 (lowa 2009)....................... 11, 12

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS

SII, Ti I in rrnen sceunncernnnemnseuennenmeenemmmnnaneti 26
I nena 26
ener 26
pS Crome psomen 26
fo eS oe 4
STATE STATUTES

Haw. Rev. Stat. § 572B (2014)................cccscccsscceees 12
Haw. Rev. Stat. § 572C-2 (2014)....................0...008. 12

Tenn. Code Ann. § 36-3-113 (2014)................0.00.... 26

V

ADMINISTRATIVE REGULATIONS

Rev. Rul. 2013-17, 2013-38 I.R.B. 201................... 20

OTHER AUTHORITIES

Jeffrey M. Adams & Warren H. Jones, The
Conceptualization of Marital Commitment:
An Integrative Analysis, 72 J. Personality
es Ey Ce Ce icceretenncidesnctecsscnscccssccss 11
M.V. Lee Badgett, The Economic Value of
Marriage for Same-Sex Couples, 58 Drake
Bes es EE OT cinsiencnccpenesnsnnnsennaimescess 19, 21
Robert A. Burt, Belonging in America: How to
Understand Same-Sex Marriage, 25 BYU J.
EN) een 10, 11
Kim Chandler, Alabama Set to Become 37"
State to Allow Gay Marriage, Associated
Press, Feb. 7, 2015, available at
http://news.yahoo.com/gay-marriage-
arrives-alabama-183946121. html. ................... 28
Lisa C. Connolly, Anti-Gay Bullying in
Schools—Are Anti-Bullying Statutes the

Solution?, 87 N.Y.U. L. Rev. 248 (2012)........... 23
Nancy F. Cott, Public Vows: A History of
Marriage and the Nation (2000)................. 29, 30

Ashley Fantz, An Ohio Transgender Teen’s
Suicide; A Mother’s Anguish, Jan. 4, 2015,
CNN,
http://www.cnn.com/2014/12/3 1/us/ohio-
transgender-teen-suicide/ .....................cc0eeeeeeees 23

VI

Adam W. Fingerhut et al., Identity, Minority

Stress and Psychological Well-Being Among

Gay Men and Lesbians, 1 Psychol. &

gg TI AT 22
Gary J. Gates, Williams Institute, UCLA

School of Law, LGBT Parenting in the

United States (2013),

http://williamsinstitute.law.ucla.edu/wp-

content/uploads/lgbt-parenting. pdf. ................. 16
Gilbert Herdt & Robert Kertzner, J Do, But I

Can’t: The Impact of Marriage Denial on

the Mental Health and Sexual Citizenship

of Lesbians and Gay Men in the United

States, 3 J. Sexuality Res. Soc. Pol’y 33

Gregory M. Herek et al., Correlates of

Internalized Homophobia in a Community

Sample of Lesbians and Gay Men, 2 J. Gay

& Lesbian Med. Ass’n 17 (1997)................. 22, 23
Robin A. Lenhardt, Understanding the Mark:

Race, Stigma, and Equality in Context, 79

8458S S| eee 29
Ilan H. Meyer, Prejudice, Social Stress, and

Mental Health in Lesbian, Gay and

Bisexual Populations: Conceptual Issues

and Research Evidence, 129 Psychol. Bull.

ee ieciiaciiieiiintiniinnaisestitintianiditatimisinianiagiuniataiapeisi 22

vil

New Jersey Civil Union Review Commission,
The Legal, Medical, Economic & Social
Consequences of New Jersey’s Civil Union
Law (Dec. 10, 2008),
http://Awww.nj.gov/lps/dcr/downloads/CURC
TT icniicccntinteidnbiniiingniiindenieiis 15, 16
Office of Personnel Management, Coverage of
Same—Sex Spouses, No. 13-203 (July 17,
2013), http://www.opm.gov/retirement-
services/publications-forms/benefits-
administration-letters/2013/13-203.pdf ........... 20
James G. Pawelski et al., The Effects of
Marriage, Civil Union, and Domestic
Partnership Laws on the Health and Well-
being of Children, 118 Pediatrics 349

Marc R. Poirier, Name Calling: Identifying
Stigma in the “Civil Union” / “Marriage”
Distinction, 41 Conn. L. Rev. 1425 (2009)........ 29
Elizabeth S. Scott, Social Norms and the Legal
Regulation of Marriage, 86 Va. L. Rev.
PITT ssi cciincictiiatiinuiiidneniaitnchindehdanisesannenaneess 10
Thomas B. Stoddard, Why Gay People Should
Seek the Right to Marry, Out/Look: Nat’

Gay & Lesbian Q., Fall 1989 ...............0.0.......... 12
USCIS, Same Sex Marriages,

http://www.uscis.gov/family/same-sex-

marriages (last updated Apr. 3, 2014)............. 21

Evan Wolfson, Why Marriage Matters:
America, Equality, and Gay People’s Right
i idininichiensepacinsddeniansngncinestinnsnese 13, 14

INTEREST OF AMICI CURIAE’

Bay Area Lawyers for Individual Freedom (BALIF)
is a bar association of more than 600 lesbian, gay, bi-
sexual, and transgender (LGBT) members of the San
Francisco Bay Area legal community. As the nation’s
oldest and largest LGBT bar association, BALIF pro-
motes the professional interests of its members and the
legal interests of the LGBT community at large. To
accomplish this mission, BALIF actively participates in
public policy debates concerning the rights of LGBT
individuals and families. BALIF frequently appears as
amicus curiae in cases, like this one, where it believes
it can provide valuable perspective and argument that
will inform court decisions on matters of broad public
importance.

Additional amici include a broad array of organiza-
tions, including state, metropolitan, local, and minority
bar associations and non-profit organizations. Each
organization supporting this amicus brief is dedicated
to ensuring that its constituents and all others in this
country, including gay men and lesbians, receive equal
treatment under the law. See App., infra, la-1l4a.

‘ No counsel for a party authored this brief in whole or in part,
and no such counsel or party made a monetary contribution
intended to fund the preparation or submission of this brief. All
parties have consented to amici’s submission of this brief either
in writing or by blanket consent letter. No person other than
the amici curiae, or their counsel, made such a monetary con-
tribution. A full list of amici curiae appears in the Appendix to
this brief.

(1)

2

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

Foundational to the Equal Protection Clause of the
Fourteenth Amendment is the principle that “the Con-
stitution ‘neither knows nor tolerates classes among
citizens.” Romer v. Evans, 517 U.S. 620, 623 (1996)
(quoting Plessy v. Ferguson, 163 U.S. 537, 559 (1896)
(Harlan, J., dissenting)). In line with this principle, it
has long been bedrock law that “separate but equal”
treatment does not satisfy the Federal Constitution.
The very notion is a contradiction in terms: as this
Court has emphasized since Brown vu. Board of Educa-
tion, the Constitution’s promise of true equality is
necessarily breached by government-sponsored separa-
tion of a disfavored class.

The statutory and constitutional bans in Kentucky,
Michigan, Ohio, and Tennessee that prohibit same-sex
couples from marrying and that prohibit recognition of
legally performed marriages in other states (collective-
ly, the “Marriage Bans”) betray these longstanding
values. They exclude a class of people—gay men and
lesbians—from the venerated institution of marriage.
They do so for no purpose other than to deny that class
of people access to marriage, creating a pernicious
distinction that is as obvious and emotion-laden as it is
difficult to fully articulate. And this unjustifiable dif-
ferentiation of gay and lesbian couples, as amici ex-
plain below, inflicts profound injury upon them. Be-
cause the Marriage Bans set them apart, gay men,
lesbians, and their families are deprived of critical
benefits enjoyed by their heterosexual neighbors, are
subjected to debilitating stigma, and are exposed to
increased discrimination on the basis of their sexual
orientation. These effects are repugnant to the Consti-
tution’s guarantee of equality and are in no way miti-

3

gated by access—where available—to separate and
inherently inferior systems of domestic partnership or
civil union.

The Marriage Bans cannot survive even rational
basis review. Amici agree with Petitioners’ argument
that these bans lack any legitimate justification; they
have been enacted “for the purpose of disadvantaging
the group burdened by the law.” Romer, 517 US. at
633. They “classif[y] homosexuals not to further a
proper legislative end but to make them unequal to
everyone else.” Id. at 635.

There is widespread consensus among the district
courts of the Sixth Circuit as well as other Courts of
Appeals that laws such as the Marriage Bans unconsti-
tutionally disadvantage gays and lesbians without any
legitimate justification. Amici respectfully urge this
Court to hold likewise. See Kitchen v. Herbert, 755 F.3d
1193 (10th Cir. 2014); Bostic v. Schaefer, 760 F.3d 352
(4th Cir. 2014); Baskin v. Bogan, 766 F.3d 648 (7th Cir.
2014); Latta v. Otter, 771 F.3d 456 (9th Cir. 2014); Pet.
App. 161a-218a?; 14-571 Pet. App. 103a-139a; 14-562
Pet. App. 108a-130a; Pet. App. 124a-157a. As explained
below, first, the Court should not abandon its judicial
responsibility, as the Sixth Circuit did, by refusing to
adjudicate the constitutionality of the Marriage Bans
and by leaving the constitutional legitimacy of the
Marriage Bans exclusively in the hands of state voters.
Doing so would amount to a stunning rejection of the
constitutional underpinnings of our judicial system
and over two hundred years of jurisprudence by this
Court. Second, in deciding the constitutional issue,

2? Unless otherwise noted, citations to “Pet. App.” are to the
Appendix in No. 14-556.

4

this Court should recognize that the institution of
marriage is special, that nothing short of granting
same-sex couples the same marriage rights enjoyed by
opposite-sex couples fulfills the Constitution’s mandate
of equal protection, and that the Marriage Bans inflict
real, tangible, and unjustifiable harm on gay men and
lesbians, as well as on their families and children.

ARGUMENT

L. It Is The Province And Duty Of This Court
To Hold That The Marriage Bans Violate
The Equal Protection Clause

A. Classifications That Are Intended Only To
Disadvantage A Group Of People Fail
Even Rational Basis Review

The Equal Protection Clause of the Fourteenth

Amendment is “a commitment to the law’s neutrality
where the rights of persons are at stake.” Romer, 517
U.S. at 623. In forbidding any state from “denyling] to
any person within its jurisdiction the equal protection
of the laws,” U.S. Const. amend. XIV, § 1, the Equal
Protection Clause “requires the consideration of
whether the classifications drawn by any statute con-
stitute an arbitrary and invidious discrimination.”
Loving v. Virginia, 388 U.S. 1, 10 (1967). Even under
the most deferential review—the rational basis test—a
state law must be “rationally related to a legitimate
state interest.” City of Cleburne v. Cleburne Living Ctr.,
473 US. 432, 440 (1985).° “The State may not rely on a

3 Amici believe that the Marriage Bans should be subject to
heightened scrutiny. See, eg., SmithKline Beecham Corp. v.
Abbott Labs., 740 F.3d 471, 480 (9th Cir. 2014) (distinctions
based on sexual orientation are subject to heightened scrutiny).
However, because the Marriage Bans fail to advance any legit-

3)

classification whose relationship to an asserted goal is
so attenuated as to render the distinction arbitrary or
irrational.” Id. at 446.

A “classification of persons undertaken for its own
sake” fails even rational basis review, because by defi-
nition it serves no legitimate governmental purpose.
Romer, 517 U.S. at 635. As this Court repeatedly has
explained, “[I]f the constitutional conception of ‘equal
protection of the laws’ means anything, it must at the
very least mean that a bare .. . desire to harm a politi-
cally unpopular group cannot constitute a legitimate
governmental interest.” Jd. at 634-35 (quoting US.
Dep’t of Agric. v. Moreno, 413 U.S. 528, 534 (1973)).
Accordingly, in Romer, this Court struck down a Colo-
rado constitutional amendment that prohibited gov-
ernmental protection of gay and lesbian ind#viduals.
Id. at 636. The amendment, the Court held, was a
“status-based enactment” that “impose[d] a special
disability upon [gays and lesbians] alone.” Jd. at 631,
635. It “inflict[ed] on [gays and lesbians] immediate,
continuing, and real injuries that outrun and belie any
legitimate justifications that may be claimed for it.” Id.
at 635; see also Eisenstadt v. Baird, 405 U.S. 438, 454-
55 (1972) (law prohibiting distribution of contracep-
tives to unmarried individuals lacked a rational basis
and violated the Equal Protection Clause).

B. It Is Uniquely The Province Of The Courts
To Decide The Equal Protection Challenge

To The Marriage Bans
The Sixth Circuit Court of Appeals entirely abdicat-
ed its judicial responsibility in holding that, in the face

imate governmental purpose, they fail to pass constitutional
muster under even the most deferential standard of review.

6

of a federal constitutional challenge to the Marriage
Bans under the Equal Protection Clause, state voters
should have the last word as to whether the Marriage
Bans were constitutional and when, if ever, they shou!d
be invalidated. This Court should not repeat that
error.

It is both disappointing and surprising that such a
fundamental precept of our nation’s revered constitu-
tional system, dating back to the founding, should have
to be pointed out in a brief filed before this Court in the
year 2015. Since Marbury v. Madison, 5 US. (1
Cranch) 137 (1803), this Court has been crystal clear
on the issue, never flinching from the urgent duty
imposed on the judicial branch:

It is emphatically the province and duty of the judi-

cial department to say what the law is. Those who

apply the rule to particular cases, must of necessity
expound and interpret that rule.... So if a law be
in opposition to the constitution; if both the law and
the constitution apply to a particular case, so that
the court must either decide that case conformably
to the law, disregarding the constitution; or con-
formably to the constitution, disregarding the law;
the court must determine which of these conflicting
rules govern the case. This is of the very essence of
judicial duty.

Id. at 177-78.

And yet, despite these foundational principles, the
Sixth Circuit held that it had no duty to “say what the
law is” here because, in the face of a constitutional
challenge to the Marriage Bans, the “definition of mar-
riage” should be left “in the hands of state voters” and
legislators. Pet. App. 29a; see also id. at 40a (“Do the
benefits of standing by the traditional definition of

7

marriage make up for these costs? The question de-
mands an answer—but from elected legislators, not
life-tenured judges.”). That destructive tautology, pur-
porting to reassign to voters and legislators the inher-
ently judicial task of evaluating the constitutionality of
state provisions originally decided upon by voters and
legislators, flies directly in the face of the rule of law
and the principles in which our country rightfully
takes such great pride. As this Court held in West
Virginia State Board of Education v. Barnette, 319 U.S.
624 (1943),

The very purpose of a Bill of Rights was to with-
draw certain subjects from the vicissitudes of politi-
cal controversy, to place them beyond the reach of
majorities and officials and to establish them as le-
gal principles to be applied by the courts. One’s
right to life, liberty, and property, to free speech, a
free press, freedom of worship and assembly, and
other fundamental rights may not be submitted to
vote; they depend on the outcome of no elections.

Id. at 638 (striking down regulation mandating flag-
salute as violating First Amendment).

When majority-enacted state laws are challenged as
contravening the Equal Protection Clause—especially
when they are challenged on the ground that they
separate, disadvantage, and harm a minority—this
Court has been adamant: the federal courts must act.
See Reynolds v. Sims, 377 U.S. 533, 566 (1964) (stating
in the context of apportioning state legislative repre-
sentation: “We are told that the matter .. . is a complex
and many-faceted one. We are advised that States can
rationally consider [various] factors .... We are ad-
monished not to restrict the power of the States to
impose differing views as to political philosophy on

8

their citizens. We are cautioned about the dangers of
entering into political thickets and [other] quagmires.
Our answer is this: a denial of constitutionally protect-
ed rights demands judicial protection; our oath and our
office require no less of us.” (emphasis added)). And the
federal courts have never shied away just because a
challenge presented social controversy or touched on
fundamental issues; quite the contrary, that is when
their responsibility to decide constitutional issues is
most critical. See Mayers v. Ridley, 465 F.2d 630, 642
(D.C. Cir. 1972) (“[A]ppellees suggest that appellants
should address their complaints of racial discrimina-

tion to the political branch of government and that
attempting to wrench social reform from the judiciary
disregards the principle of separation of powers. But
while we must, of course, maintain proper respect for
the jurisdiction of coordinate branches of government,
under our law the judiciary too has the obligation of
enforcing constitutional rights.” (emphasis added));
Baskin, 766 F.3d at 671 (“Minorities trampled on by
the democratic process have recourse to the courts; the
recourse is called constitutional law.”).

Finally, the obligation of the courts to decide consti-
tutionality is even more momentous when the subject
of the challenged law is so essential an institution as
marriage. “State laws defining and regulating mar-
riage, of course, must respect the constitutional rights
of persons[.}” United States v. Windsor, 133 S. Ct. 2675,
2691 (2013); see also Loving, 388 U.S. at 7 (“While the
state court is no doubt correct in asserting that mar-
riage is a social relation subject to the State’s police
power, . . . the State does not contend in its argument
before this Court that its powers to regulate marriage

9

are unlimited notwithstanding the commands of the

Fourteenth Amendment. Nor could it do so... .”).

The right to marry is not, as the DeBoer appellate
court found, a mere “policy problem” or “social ques-
tion[],” Pet. App. 37a, 62a, suitable for a “Burkean sense
of caution,” id. at 37a. Rather, “[m)arriage is one of the
‘basic civil rights of man[kind],” “one of the vital per-
sonal rights essential to the orderly pursuit of happi-
ness{.)” Loving, 388 U.S. at 12. Whether it can consti-
tutionally be denied to a class of people, and whether
there is any rational basis for doing so, are questions
for the judiciary.

Il. Excluding Same-Sex Couples From The
Institution Of Marriage Harms Gay And
Lesbian Individuals, Their Families, And
Their Children

In deciding the constitutionality of the Marriage
Bans, this Court should recognize that marriage enjoys
a privileged status among the institutions that this
country is founded upon, and that barring entry into
that institution to same-sex couples imposes serious
harm on them and on their families and children.

A. Marriage Is A Uniquely Revered Institu-
tion In American Society

1. Marriage holds a hallowed status in our society.
As courts repeatedly recognize, marriage can be an
essential aspect of the human experience. Far “more
than a routine classification for purposes of certain
statutory benefits,” Windsor, 133 S. Ct. at 2692, mar-
riage is “an institution of transcendent historical, cul-
tural and social significance,” Kerrigan v. Comm’r of
Pub. Health, 957 A.2d 407, 418 (Conn. 2008), “an insti-
tution more basic in our civilization than any other.”

10

Williams v. North Carolina, 317 U.S. 287, 303 (1942).
Its significance to the couple involved is unparalleled;
it is “intimate to the degree of being sacred.” Griswold
v. Connecticut, 381 U.S. 479, 486 (1965). Furthermore,
marriage is a time-honored demonstration to family,
friends, and the community of a loving commitment
and mutual responsibility between two people, and
implies a return promise by society to respect that
commitment. See Turner v. Safley, 482 U.S. 78, 95
(1987) (recognizing that marriage is an “expression[) of
emotional support and public commitment”). The
institution is “a highly public celebration of the ideals
of mutuality, companionship, intimacy, fidelity, and
family.” Goodridge v. Dep’t of Pub. Health, 798 N.E.2d
941, 954 (Mass. 2003).

The right to marry, accordingly, “has long been rec-
ognized as one of the vital personal rights essential to
the orderly pursuit of happiness by free men [and
women).” Loving, 388 U.S. at 12; see also Perez v. Lip-
pold, 198 P.2d 17, 18-19 (Cal. 1948) (“Marriage is ...
something more than a civil contract subject to regula-
tion by the state; it is a fundamental right of free
men.”). As a result of the special significance of mar-
riage in society, the institution has a critical “signaling”
role, apart from the specific legal obligations it entails.
Elizabeth S. Scott, Social Norms and the Legal Regula-
tion of Marriage, 86 Va. L. Rev. 1901, 1917 (2000). The
signal sent by the fact that two individuals are married
alters how they view themselves, how they behave
toward one another, and how society behaves toward
them.

First, married people understand they are to be
emotionally and financially supportive, honest, and
faithful to one another. See Robert A. Burt, Belonging

11

in America: How to Understand Same-Sex Marriage, 25
BYU J. Pub. L. 351, 357 (2011) (noting that “[t)his
faithfulness has always been at the core of the marital
status for mixed-sex couples”). Although married cou-
ples may modify their expectations and behavior over
time, they benefit by beginning with a common under-
standing of the marital relationship, gleaned from a
lifetime of participating in society, hearing about mar-
riage, and observing married couples. See generally
Jeffrey M. Adams & Warren H. Jones, The Conceptual-
ization of Marital Commitment: An Integrative Analy-
sis, 72 J. Personality Soc. Psychol. 1177 (1997). This
shared understanding assists married couples in meet-
ing individual and spousal expectations, and motivates
them to work through temporary difficulties. See id.
The institution of marriage likewise provides com-
mon ground for others in society to understand a cou-
ple’s relationship. Because marriage is universally
recognized, married couples are readily treated in a
manner that reflects their personal commitment and
concomitant legal and social status. See Goodridge,
798 N.E.2d at 955 (“Because [marriage] fulfills yearn-
ings for security, safe haven, and connection that ex-
press our common humanity, civil marriage is an es-
teemed institution, and the decision whether and
whom to marry is among life’s momentous acts of self-
definition.”). Spouses are understood as family mem-
bers. When a married couple opens a joint bank or
retirement account, or checks into a hotel, or applies
for a credit card, or attends a parent-teacher confer-
ence, or accompanies a child or grandchild on a plane
flight, or rents a car together, there is no need for ex-
planation or documentary proof of the relationship.
See generally Varnum v. Brien, 763 N.W.2d 862, 883-84

12

(lowa 2009) (“Iowa’s marriage laws” are “designed to
bring a sense of order to the legal relationships of
committed couples and their families in myriad
ways.”).

For these reasons and others, many people regard
getting married as the most important day in their
lives—indeed, marriage “is the centerpiece of our entire
social structure.” Thomas B. Stoddard, Why Gay People
Should Seek the Right to Marry, Out/Look: Nat'l Gay &
Lesbian Q., Fall 1989, at 9, 12.

2. Domestic partnership laws and civil unions,
which some states have attempted to use to remedy
the harm caused by the exclusion of same-sex couples
from the institution of marriage, lack the significance,
stability, and meaning of real marriage. These novel
and unstable categories were invented recently,‘ and
their meaning is ever-shifting.°

Not surprisingly, in light of their novel and uncer-
tain stature, domestic partnerships and civil unions
are not valued by society in a way that compares to
marriage. People do not associate these legalistic rela-
tionships with the stability and permanence that char-
acterize marriage. In turn, the registration of a domes-
tic partnership is less meaningful to same-sex couples
than getting married would be. The complex emotions
that people experience when they get married—as well
as the joy and human closeness they feel when they
attend a wedding—simply do not attach to the minis-

*The City of West Hollywood, California, enacted the first
domestic partnership ordinance in the mid-1980s.

° For example, in 1997, Hawaii's statutory scheme granted
same-sex couples only 60 rights associated with marriage, but
recently expanded the number of such rights. See Haw. Rev.
Stat. §§ 572B, 572C-2 (2014).

13

terial step of registering a domestic partnership or
entering a civil union. Even when domestic partners
celebrate their legal registration with a ceremony, the
terrain is unfamiliar: Is the event a wedding? A com-
mitment ceremony? Something else? The lack of a
common vocabulary underscores the institution’s lack
of societal stature.

These difficulties continue throughout the relation-
ship. Even the simple act of referring to one’s “partner”
can be wrought with embarrassment and misunder-
standing: members of same-sex couples can be left
searching for a manner to explain, no matter how un-
comfortable the setting, whether they are referring to
their domestic partner or to their professional, athletic,
or law partner. Consequently, same-sex couples must
often explain the intricacies of state family law to
friends and potentially hostile strangers alike. Such
ambiguities, and the likelihood of differential treat-
ment, would be reduced if same-sex couples could accu-
rately refer to themselves as “married” or could refer to
each other as “husband” or “wife,” a vocabulary that is
universally understood.

In sum, marriage has a unique status in American
society. There is no dispute that marriage means far
more than inheritance rights, tax advantages, or com-
munity property. It is, instead, the ultimate symbol of
“unequaled commitment.” Evan Wolfson, Why Mar-
riage Matters: America, Equality, and Gay People’s
Right to Marry 6 (2004). Simply put: “No matter what
language people speak—from Arabic to Yiddish, from
Chinook to Chinese—marriage is what we use to de-
scribe a specific relationship of love and dedication to
another person. It is how we explain the families that
are united because of that love. And it universally

14

signifies a level of self-sacrifice and responsibility and
a stage of life unlike any other.” Jd. at 3 (emphasis
added).

B. Exclusion From Marriage Causes Tangible
Harm

Denial of this fundamental right imposes serious
harm on gay and lesbian individuals, couples, and their
families. This harm is not limited to those same-sex
couples who wish to marry. Rather, it is felt by all gay
men and lesbians who see how people who share their
sexual orientation are treated, as well as by their fami-
lies and children.

1. Harm To Children

Harm to children lies at the heart of the issue.
“Formally, [the same-sex marriage] cases are about
discrimination against the small homosexual minority
in the United States. But at a deeper level, . . . they are
about the welfare of American children.” Baskin, 766
F.3d at 654. Notably, “the ban on same sex marriage is
likely to have an especially deleterious effect on the
children of same sex couples.” Kerrigan, 957 A.2d at
474. Children perceive and understand the unique
institution of marriage in American society and know
the difference when their parents—their families—are
excluded from it. As recognized by this Court in Wind-
sor, the perceived “differentiation” of same-sex couples
not only “demeans the couple, whose moral and sexual
choices the Constitution protects,” but also “humiliates
tens of thousands of children now being raised by
same-sex couples.” Windsor, 133 S. Ct. at 2694. While
Windsor addressed the differentiation felt regarding
federal recognition of a state-sanctioned marriage, this
“humiliation” is only exacerbated for children whose

15

parents are barred from marriage completely. More so
than in Windsor, the Marriage Bans “make[] it even
more difficult for the children to understand the integ-
rity and closeness of their own family and its concord
with other families in their community and in their
daily lives.” Id.

“A primary reason why many same sex couples wish
to marry is so that their children can feel secure in
knowing that their parents’ relationships are as valid
and as valued as the marital relationships of their
friends’ parents.” Kerrigan, 957 A.2d at 474; see also
Baskin, 766 F.3d at 664 (“If a child’s same-sex parents
are married .. . the child can feel secure in being the
child of a married couple.”). Whereas “[cjhildren who
are raised by civilly married parents benefit from the
legal status granted to their parents,” children whose
parents are not permitted to marry may suffer psycho-
logical harm. James G. Pawelski et al., The Effects of
Marriage, Civil Union, and Domestic Partnership Laws
on the Health and Well-being of Children, 118 Pediat-
rics 349, 358, 361 (2006). “Excluding same-sex couples
from civil marriage . . . does prevent children of same-
sex couples from enjoying the immeasurable ad-
vantages that flow from the assurance of a stable fami-
ly structure in which the children will be reared, edu-
cated, and socialized.” Goodridge, 798 N.E.2d at 964
(citation omitted).

As the President of the New Jersey Psychological
Association has attested:

Children of same-sex relationships must cope with
the stigma of being in a family without the social
recognition that exists through marriage .... Such
stigma may be indirect such as the strain due to
lack of social support and acceptance. Also, some

16

children may be targeted due to teasing in school or
from peers.

N.J. Civ. Union Rev. Comm’n, The Legal, Medical, Eco-
nomic & Social Consequences of New Jersey’s Civil
Union Law 16 (Dec. 10, 2008),
http://www.nj.gov/lps/dcr/downloads/CURC-Final-
Report-.pdf (quoting testimony of Dr. Judith
Glassgold).

In engaging in the rational basis analysis, the Court
must look to the proffered “legitimate justification”
provided by the state. As characterized by the dissent
in DeBoer, this is “what has come to be known as the
‘irresponsible procreation’ theory: that limiting mar-
riage and its benefits to opposite-sex couples is ration-
al, even necessary, to provide for ‘unintended offspring’
by channeling their biological procreators into the
bonds of matrimony.” Pet. App. 72a (Daughtrey, J.,
dissenting).* This rationale and other theories claim-
ing vague state-related interests in child rearing simp-
ly ignore the destabilizing and stigmatizing effect the
Marriage Bans and similar laws have on over 200,000
children throughout the United States.

There are approximately 125,000 same-sex couples
raising nearly 220,000 children in the United States.
Gary J. Gates, Williams Institute, UCLA School of Law,
LGBT Parenting in the United States 3 (2013),
http://williamsinstitute.law.ucla.edu/wp-

content/uploads/igbt-parenting.pdf Some of these

* The illogic of this theory was highlighted with some exasper-
ation by the Baskin court as follows: “Heterosexuals get drunk
and pregnant, producing unwanted children; their reward is to
be allowed to marry. Homosexual couples do not produce un-
wanted children; their reward is to be denied the right to marry.
Go figure.” Baskin, 766 F.3d at 662.

17

families live in states where joint or second-parent
adoption by same-sex couples is legal. In these states,
the rationale simply proves that there is truly no basis
for differentiating between same-sex and opposite-sex
couples in conferring the right to marry.

To the extent that children are better off in families

in which the parents are married, they are better off

whether they are raised by their biological parents
or by adoptive parents. The discrimination against
same-sex couples is irrational, and therefore uncon-
stitutional even if the discrimination is not subject-
ed to heightened scrutiny[.]
Baskin, 766 F.3d at 656. This regime exemplifies the
impermissible “classification whose relationship to an
asserted goal is so attenuated as to render the distinc-
tion arbitrary or irrational.” Cleburne, 473 U.S. at 446.
In truth, “[tlo allow same-sex couples to adopt children
and then to label their families as second-class because
the adoptive parents are of the same sex is cruel as
well as unconstitutional.” Latta v. Otter, 771 F.3d 456,
474 (9th Cir. 2014).

Other states—including all the states of the Sixth
Circuit—prohibit adoption by a second parent of the
same sex, creating a legal void in the family relation-
ship between the child and the non-adoptive parent.
These states too lack a rational basis for prohibiting
same-sex marriage simply because the evidence is
overwhelming that all marriage, “whether between
same-sex or opposite-sex partners, increases stability
within the family unit.” Pet. App. 84a-85a (Daughtrey,
J., dissenting). As the DeBoer district court found,
same-sex couples are just as able to provide for the
welfare and development of children as opposite-sex
couples. 14-571 Pet. App. 127a-13la. By contrast, the

18

ramifications of a ban on marriage (and by conse-
quence, on adoption) can be life-altering. What hap-
pens if the adoptive or biological parent is not available
in an emergency? Can the non-adoptive parent make
medical decisions for the child? Will the non-adoptive
parent be able to gain custody and care for the child if
the recognized parent dies or becomes incapacitated?
Because of the Marriage Bans, the answers to these
fundamental questions are left uncertain.’

Every district court decision overturned by the
Sixth Circuit found that the Marriage Bans had no
rational basis and instead actively harmed children.
Pet. App. 209a-210a (“Even if it were rational for legis-
lators to speculate that children raised by heterosexual
couples are better off than children raised by gay or
lesbian couples, which it is not, there is simply no ra-
tional connection between the Ohio marriage recogni-
tion bans and the asserted goal, as Ohio’s marriage
recognition bans do not prevent gay couples from hav-
ing children.”); 14-574 Pet. App. 147a (“The Court fails
to see how having a [same-sex parent] family could
conceivably harm children.”); 14-571 Pet. App. 129a
(finding “no differences” between outcomes in raising
children in same-sex versus opposite-sex households
and that the Michigan marriage law “actually fosters
the potential for childhood destabilization”); 14-562

* As noted by the dissent in DeBoer, for example, in Michigan
“(elven though one person can legally adopt a child, should
anything happen to that adoptive parent, there is no provision
in Michigan’s legal framework that would ‘ensure that the
children would necessarily remain with the surviving non-legal
parent,’ even if that parent went through the arduous, time-
consuming, expensive adoption-approval process.” Pet. App. 78a
(Daughtrey, J. dissenting).

19

Pet. App. 126a (issuing injunction due to “an imminent
risk of potential harm to [Plaintiffs’] children during
their developing years from the stigmatization and
denigration of their family relationship”).

The Sixth Circuit’s rationale does not withstand ra-
tional-basis scrutiny, and the Court should reject it out
of hand.

2. Legal And Economic Harm

Aside from the harm to children, of course, is the
harm to the couple themselves. This harm, too, “out-
run{s) and belie[s]” any purported state justification for
the Marriage Bans. Romer, 517 U.S. at 635. Exclusion
of same-sex couples from the institution of marriage
results in the denial of many real and concrete legal
and economic benefits that are premised upon married
status. See generally M.V. Lee Badgett, The Economic
Value of Marriage for Same-Sex Couples, 58 Drake L.
Rev. 1081 (2010).

The legal harms suffered by same-sex couples
barred from marriage are myriad: limits on medical
access, death and inheritance benefits, federal benefits,
and parental rights (as discussed above). In Tunco v.
Haslam, 14-562 Pet. App. 108a-130a, the district court
granted a preliminary injunction prohibiting Tennes-
see from enforcing its Marriage Ban against three
couples who married outside Tennessee. The “irrepa-
rable harm” was extensive, affecting joint home owner-
ship; availability of employer-sponsored health insur-
ance plans; and parental rights, among other rights
and privileges. The court called “particularly compel-
ling” the circumstances of one couple whose

baby is due any day, and any complications or medi-
cal emergencies associated with the baby’s birth—

20

particularly one incapacitating Dr. Tanco—might
require Dr. Jesty to make medical decisions for Dr.
Tanco or their child. Furthermore, if Dr. Jesty were
to die, it appears that her child would not be enti-
tled to Social Security benefits as a surviving child.
Finally, Dr. Tanco reasonably fears that Dr. Jesty
will not be permitted to see the baby in the hospital
if Dr. Tanco is otherwise unable to give consent.

14-562 Pet. App. 126a.

The availability of federal benefits to married cou-
ples post-Windsor further demonstrates that the Mar-
riage Bans inflict real economic and legal harm on
same-sex couples. As Windsor’s holding was limited to
“lawful marriages,” Windsor, 133 S. Ct. at 2696, certain
federal agencies have extended protections and re-
sponsibilities to married same-sex couples; but many
agencies have stated explicitly that they will not ex-
tend protections to registered domestic partners. ®
Thus, statutory schemes that allow same-sex couples to
enter domestic partnerships or civil unions, but that do
not allow them to marry, result in the deprivation of
federal benefits because many federal agencies offer

* For example, the Office of Personnel Management expressly
provided that “[{bJenefits coverage is now available to a legally
married same-sex spouse of a Federal employee or annuitant,”
but “same-sex couples who are in a civil union or other forms of
domestic partnership . . . will remain ineligible for most Federal
benefits programs.” Office of Personnel Management, Coverage
of Same—Sex Spouses, No. 13-203 (July 17, 2013),
http//www.opm.gov/retirement-services/publications-
forms/benefits-administration-letters/2013/13-203.pdf; see also
Rev. Rul. 2013-17, 2013-38 1.R.B. 201 (extending federal tax
benefits to same-sex marriages but not domestic partnerships
or civil unions).

21

such benefits only to lawfully married couples. Per-
haps the most striking example of the resulting dispar-
ity arises in the immigration context, where the ques-
tion of whether a same-sex couple is lawfully married
or merely in a domestic partnership or civil union could
mean the difference between deportation and a valid
basis for a family-based immigration visa. USCIS,
Same Sex Marriages, http:/Avww.uscis.gov/family/
same-sex-marriages (last updated Apr. 3, 2014). And
by denying same-sex couples the right to marry, Ken-
tucky, Michigan, Ohio, and Tennessee have placed
those federal protections and responsibilities entirely
off-limits to them. See generally Garden State Equality
v. Dow, 79 A.3d 1036 (N.J. 2013).

More generally, marriage confers numerous econom-
ic benefits that stem from the unique commitment it
represents. For example, marriage fosters greater
specialization of labor, which can increase a couple’s
income and the time available for family. Badgett,
supra, at 1101. Marriage also tends to reduce a cou-
ple’s transaction costs: Marriage “promotes economic
efficiency by reducing transaction costs for couples,
mainly by removing the need to renegotiate the terms
of the legal relationship as couples experience changed
circumstances.” Id. Furthermore, married individuals
enjoy greater employment-related economic gains,
whereas same-sex couples who cannot marry face
uncertainty and pressures that may adversely affect
their work performance and reduce their economic
rewards. Id. at 1102-03. Though difficult to quantify,
these economic benefits of marriage are well-known
and acknowledged in the field of economics. Id.

22

3. Emotional And Physical Harm

Aside from harming children, divesting couples of
state, federal, and constitutional legal rights, and de-
priving them of economic benefits, the Marriage Bans
can have devastating emotional and physical conse-
quences on individual gay and lesbian people. This is
because the Marriage Bans legitimize and magnify
societal prejudice and discrimination against gay and
lesbian individuals—whose “moral and sexual choices
the Constitution protects.” Windsor, 133 S. Ct. at 2694
(emphasis added) (citing Lawrence v. Texas, 539 US.
558 (2003)).

The tragic results of that discrimination are well
documented. It can cause gay men and lesbians to
suffer “minority stress,” which manifests itself through
“prejudice events”: expectations of rejection and dis-
crimination, concealment of identity, and internalized
homophobia. See Ilan H. Meyer, Prejudice, Social
Stress, and Mental Health in Lesbian, Gay and Bisexu-
al Populations: Conceptual Issues and Research Evi-
dence, 129 Psychol. Bull. 674 (2003). Such stresses
negatively affect the mental health and well-being of
gay and lesbian individuals. See, eg., Gilbert Herdt &
Robert Kertzner, J] Do, But I Can't: The Impact of Mar-
riage Denial on the Mental Health and Sexual Citizen-
ship of Lesbians and Gay Men in the United States, 3 J.
Sexuality Res. Soc. Pol’y 33 (2006). “Greater exposure
to discrimination and perceptions of stigma have been
linked with poorer mental health in sexual minority
individuals.” Adam W. Fingerhut et al., Identity, Mi-
nority Stress and Psychological Well-Being Among Gay
Men and Lesbians, 1 Psychol. & Sexuality 101, 105
(2010).

23

Internalized homophobia, for example, can lead to
lowered self-esteem, anxiety, substance abuse, and
depression. Gregory M. Herek et al., Correlates of
Internalized Homophobia in a Community Sample of
Lesbians and Gay Men, 2 J. Gay & Lesbian Med. Ass’n
17 (1997). And frequent suicides by gay teenagers
have “drawn national attention to the insidious peer
harassment that lesbian, gay, bisexual, and
transgender (LGBT) youth face on a daily basis.” Lisa
C. Connolly, Anti-Gay Bullying in Schools—Are Anti-
Bullying Statutes the Solution?, 87 N.Y.U. L. Rev. 248,
249 (2012); see, e.g., Ashley Fantz, An Ohio Transgender
Teen’s Suicide; A Mother’s Anguish, Jan. 4, 2015, CNN,
http://www.cnn.com/2014/12/3 1/us/ohio-transgender-
teen-suicide/ (discussing the Dec. 28, 2014 death of
transgender teen Leelah Alcorn, whose suicide note
pleaded, “The only way I will rest in peace is if one day
transgender people aren’t treated the way I was,
they're treated like humans, with valid feelings and
human rights. ... Fix society. Please.”).

C.The Marriage Bans Communicate Gov-
ernmental Animus Toward Same-Sex Re-
lationships

The harms outlined above are consequences of the
legal operation of state prohibitions on same-sex mar-
riage. This Court has long recognized that state-
condoned discrimination and separate-but-unequal
institutions inflict injuries even beyond the deprivation
of particular benefits and can themselves be markers
of official denigration which serve to perpetuate dis-
crimination. See, eg., Strauder v. West Virginia, 100
U.S. 303, 308 (1879) (noting that exclusion of non-white
citizens from juries was “practically a brand upon
them, affixed by the law, an assertion of their inferiori-

24

ty”) (abrogated on other grounds by Taylor v. Louisiana,
419 US. 522 (1975)). First, barring one group from a
valued institution demeans the group’s members by
officially designating them as somehow inferior. Sec-
ond, exclusion of an unpopular group leads to stigmati-
zation, which, in turn, leads to further discrimination.

1. The Marriage Bans Stigmatize Same-
Sex Relationships

As the Court noted in Windsor when it struck down
the Defense of Marriage Act, “The avowed purpose and
practical effect of the law here in question are to im-
pose a disadvantage, a separate status, and so a stig-
ma” on same-sex couples. Windsor, 133 S. Ct. at 2693.
“Responsibilities, as well as rights, enhance the dignity
and integrity of the person.” Id. at 2694. In depriving
same-sex couples of the opportunity to take part in
those rights and responsibilities, the Marriage Bans,
like DOMA, “tell[] those couples, and all the world, that
their” relationships are “unworthy of . . . recognition.”
Id. As was true for DOMA, the Marriage Bans’ “prin-
cipal effect is to identify a subset of [relationships] and
make them unequal. The principal purpose is to im-
pose inequality.” Id.

That the Marriage Bans and similar laws convey of-
ficial disapproval of same-sex relationships was noted
as far back as 2008, when the California Supreme
Court held that domestic partnership was not a consti-
tutionally adequate substitute for marriage:

[T]he statutory provisions that continue to limit ac-

cess to [marriage] exclusively to opposite-sex cou-

ples—while providing only a novel, alternative insti-
tution for same-sex couples—likely will be viewed
as an official statement that the family relationship

25

of same-sex couples is not of comparable stature or
equal dignity to the family relationship of opposite-

sex couples.

In re Marriage Cases, 183 P.3d 384, 452 (Cal. 2008). To
that end, the court reasoned:

[T}here is a very significant risk that retaining a
distinction in nomenclature with regard to this most

fundamental of relationships whereby the term
‘marriage’ is denied only to same-sex couples inevi-
tably will cause the new parallel institution that
has been made available to those couples to be
viewed as of a lesser stature than marriage and, in
effect, as a mark of second-class citizenship.

Id. at 445; see also Kerrigan, 957 A.2d at 474 (citing Jn
re Marriage Cases, 183 P.3d at 445) (“[Blecause of the
long and celebrated history of the term ‘marriage’ and
the widespread understanding that this word describes
a family relationship unreservedly sanctioned by the
community, the statutory provisions that continue to
limit access to this designation exclusively to opposite-
sex couples—while providing only a novel, alternative
institution for same-sex couples—likely will be viewed
as an Official statement that the family relationship of
same-sex couples is not of comparable stature or equal
dignity to the family relationship of opposite-sex cou-
ples.”); Goodridge, 798 N.E.2d at 962 (statutory bar on
marriage for same-sex couples “confers an official
stamp of approval on the destructive stereotype that
same-sex relationships are inherently unstable and
inferior to opposite-sex relationships and are not wor-
thy of respect”).

As the district court found in Obergefell, “no hypo-
thetical justification’"—such as fostering natural pro-

26

creation—“can overcome the clear [] purpose” of the
Marriage Bans, which is to “disparage and demean”
same-sex relationships. Pet. App. 212a. The court
noted that Ohio grants full faith and credit to out-of-
state marriages that Ohio itself does not perform (eg.,
marriages between first cousins, marriages of mi-
nors)}—Sut not to same-sex marriages. Jd. at 190a-
192a. Ohio singles out same-sex marriage for special,
unfavorable treatment by refusing to recognize such
marriages even when they were validly performed in
another state. “The constitutional issue is clear[]”
when a state treats one group differently from all the
others: the law must be based on “irrational prejudice.”
See Cleburne, 473 U.S. at 447, 450.

That purpose to disparage and demean same-sex re-
lationships is made even clearer by the fact that three
states’ Marriage Bans prohibit state legislatures or any
political subdivision within the state from creating or
recognizing even domestic partnerships (which, as this
brief demonstrates, are inferior to marriage and insuf-
ficient to remedy the constitutional harms). See Ohio
Const. art. XV, § 11 (“This state and its political subdi-
visions shall not create or recognize a legal status for
relationships of unmarried individuals that intends to
approximate the design, qualities, . . . or effect of mar-
riage.”); Ky. Const. § 233A (“A legal status . . . substan-
tially similar to that of marriage . . . shall not be valid
or recognized.”); Mich. Const. art. I, § 25 (ban on recog-
nizing a “similar union” to marriage, such as a civil
union).®

®* Tennessee is the only state in the Sixth Circuit which does
not prohibit the creation of domestic partnerships that approx-
imate the legal rights associated with marriage. See Tenn.
Const. art. XI, § 18 (prohibiting state and local governments

27

The effect of the Marriage Bans is therefore not just
exclusion from a set of “rights and responsibilities”
associated with the legal institution of marriage, but
official disapproval of same-sex couples that results in
stigma. They have been enacted “for the purpose of
disadvantaging the group burdened by the law.”
Romer, 517 U.S. at 633. “[(I]f the constitutional concep-
tion of ‘equal protection of the laws’ means anything, it
must at the very least mean that a bare . . . desire to
harm a politically unpopular group cannot constitute a
legitimate governmental interest.” Id. at 634-35 (quot-
ing Moreno, 413 U.S. at 534). In Romer, the Court
invalidated a voter-enacted constitutional amendment
that, it stated, “classifie[d] homosexuals not to further
a proper legislative end but to make them unequal to
everyone else.” Jd. at 635. The Court should do like-
wise here for the Marriage Bans, whose broad harms
betray the lack of any rational basis.

2. The Marriage Bans’ Stigma Perpetuates
Societal Discrimination Against Gay
Men And Lesbians

When disapproval of same-sex marriage is en-
shrined in the law, moral disapproval and discrimina-
tion in society can fester and spread. By making sexu-
al orientation a legally salient characteristic, the Mar-
riage Bans encourage and provide “cover” for those who
seek to treat gay men and lesbians differently based on
their sexual orientation. See, eg., Perry vu.
Schwarzenegger, 704 F. Supp. 2d 921, 973 (N.D. Cal.
2010) (describing how Proposition 8 sent “a message
that gay relationships are not to be respected; that

from allowing or recognizing same-sex marriages, but not do-
mestic partnerships); Tenn. Code Ann. § 36-3-113 (2013) (same).

28

they are of secondary value, if of any value at all; that
they are certainly not equal to those of heterosexuals”).
Because the state provides for separate and lesser
treatment of gay men and lesbians, certain individuals
may logically conclude that it is permissible to treat
them as inferior."° Cf Lawrence, 539 U.S. at 575 (crim-
inalizing sexual conduct between same-sex couples was
“an invitation to subject homosexual persons to dis-
crimination both in the public and in the private
spheres”); Strauder, 100 U.S. at 308 (exclusion of non-
white citizens from juries was “a stimulant to... race
prejudice”). As the California Supreme Court ex-
plained, “providing only a separate and distinct desig-
nation [of civil unions] for same-sex couples may well
have the effect of perpetuating a more general premise
... that gay individuals and same-sex couples . . . may,
under the law, be treated differently from, and less
favorably than, heterosexual individuals or opposite-
sex couples.” In re Marriage Cases, 183 P.3d at 402; cf
Baskin, 766 F.3d at 658 (“Not that allowing same-sex
marriage will change in the short run the negative
views many Americans hold of same-sex marriage. But
it will enhance the status of these marriages in the
eyes of other Americans, and in the long run it may

1 One need look no further than the headlines for anecdotal
evidence: when the Chief Justice of the Alabama Supreme
Court directed counties to refuse to follow a federal court deci-
sion invalidating a gay marriage ban, news reports highlighted
coverage of a South Carolina pastor's prayer vigil, literally in
the shadow of the Alabama State Capitol, at which he “urged
southerners to [ ] refuse to recognize marriages that he said
came ‘from the devil’s hell’[.)” Kim Chandler, Alabama Set to
Become 37" State to Allow Gay Marriage, Associated Press, Feb.
7, 2015, available at http://news.yahoo.com/gay-marriage-
arrives-alabama-183946121 html.

29

convert some of the opponents of such marriage by
demonstrating that homosexual married couples are in
essential respects, notably in the care of their adopted
children, like other married couples.”).

Moreover, by segregating gay men and lesbians, the
Marriage Bans cause society to focus on sexual orienta-
tion to the exclusion of other characteristics. As with
segregation on the basis of race, when gay men and
lesbians are singled out, and hence stigmatized, then
an individual’s sexual orientation

and all the negative connotations generally imputed

to it—eventually overshadows or ‘eclipses all other

aspects’ of his or her self, essentially becoming all

that anyone sees. [Sexual orientation] becomes a

sort of mask, a barrier that both makes it impossi-

ble for the stigmatized person’s true self to be seen

and fixes the range of responses that others will
have to that person.

Robin A. Lenhardt, Understanding the Mark: Race,
Stigma, and Equality in Context, 79 N.Y.U. L. Rev. 803,
818-19 (2004). Thus, when gay men or lesbians dis-
close that they are in a domestic partnership, others
often see them only as gay—and treat them according-
ly—rather than viewing them as full persons entitled
to the same respect and dignity given to other mem-
bers of society. See generally Marc R. Poirier, Name
Calling: Identifying Stigma in the “Civil Un-
ion” /“Marriage” Distinction, 41 Conn. L. Rev. 1425,
1429-30, 1479-89 (2009) (describing the way in which
the nomenclature distinction perpetuates bias and
facilitates discrimination). There is no doubt that the
effect of the Marriage Bans is “immediate, continuing,
and real injurly]” to gay and lesbian individuals.
Romer, 517 US. at 635.

30

CONCLUSION

A number of racial, religious, and ethnic minorities
have, at various times in history, faced restrictions on
their right to marry. See Nancy F. Cott, Public Vows: A
History of Marriage and the Nation 4 (2000) (discussing
for example Native Americans, African Americans, and
Asian Americans). But “[a) prime part of the history of
our Constitution ... is the story of the extension of consti-
tutional rights and protections to people once ignored or
excluded.” United States v. Virginia, 518 U.S. 515, 557
(1996). The Marriage Bans create a separate and une-
qual regime for a disfavored class. Continuing to exclude,
demean, and stigmatize gay and lesbian individuals and
families is inconsistent with that constitutional tradition.

The judgment of the Court of Appeals should be re-
versed.

Respectfully submitted.

JEROME C. ROTH
AMELIA L.B. SARGENT

MUNGER, TOLLES &
OLSON LLP

560 Mission Street

27th Floor

San Francisco, CA 94105
Jerome.Roth@mto.com
(415) 512-4000

MARCH 5, 2015

APPENDIX

APPENDIX

LIST OF AMICI CURIAE

AIDS Legal Referral Panel (ALRP)

The AIDS Legal Referral Panel (ALRP) provides le-
gal services to people living with HIV/AIDS in the San
Francisco Bay Area. ALRP is committed to ensuring
justice for our clients in facing discrimination. Since
roughly 80% of ALRP’s clients are LGBT, discrimina-
tion against LGBT people directly impacts our clients.

API Equality-LA

API Equality-LA is a coalition of organizations and
individuals who are committed to working in the
Asian/Pacific Islander (API) community in the greater
Los Angeles area for equal marriage rights and the
recognition and fair treatment of LGBT families
through community education and advocacy. API
Equality-LA recognizes that the long history of dis-
crimination against the API community, especially
California's history of anti-miscegenation laws and
exclusionary efforts targeted at Asian immigrants,
parallels the contemporary exclusion of gays and lesbi-
ans from marriage.

The Asian American Bar Association of the
Greater Bay Area (AABA)

The Asian American Bar Association of the Greater
Bay Area (AABA) is one of the largest Asian American
bar associations in the nation and one of the largest
minority bar associations in the State of California.
From its inception in 1976, AABA and its attorneys

(la)

2a

have been actively involved in civil rights issues and
community service. AABA members filed an amicus
brief in the Bakke affirmative action case, filed a suc-
cessful petition overturning the conviction of Fred
Korematsu in the landmark Korematsu v. United
States case, worked on the successful campaign to
release Chol Soo Lee from prison, and were involved in
efforts to release Wen Ho Lee and to unseal documents
in his case.

The Asian Pacific American Bar Association of
Los Angeles County (APABA-LA)

The Asian Pacific American Bar Association of Los
Angeles County (APABA-LA) is a membership organi-
zation comprised of over 700 attorneys, judges and law
students. Since its formation in 1998, APABA-LA has
advocated on issues that impact the APA community
and has demonstrated a commitment to civil rights,
racial justice, and equal opportunity. APABA-LA has,
and continues to, oppose initiatives designed to deprive
immigrants, people of color, and other minorities of
their civil rights, including initiatives that discriminate
based upon sexual orientation. APABA-LA strives to
address all issues relevant to the equal treatment of
those in the APA community.

Atlanta Bar Association

The Atlanta Bar Association has approximately
6,000 members and is interested in supporting this
effort as a matter of justice.

Atlanta Women for Equality
Atlanta Women for Equality is a nonprofit organiza-
tion dedicated to providing free legal advocacy to wom-

3a

en and girls facing sex discrimination in the workplace
or school and to helping our community build employ-
ment and educational environments according to true
standards of equal treatment. Our central goal is to
use the law to overcome the oppressive power differen-
tials socially predetermined gender roles impose and to
empower those who suffer adverse treatment because
they do not fit within the confines of sex-based stereo-
types. We believe that statutes banning same-sex
marriage enforce precisely the kind of gender categori-
zation that undermines the basic principles of equality,
freedom, and justice it is our mission to serve and our
Constitution’s purpose to protect.

California Employment Lawyers Association
(CELA)

The California Employment Lawyers Association
(CELA) is an organization of approximately 1,200
attorneys who represent primarily plaintiffs in termi-
nation, discrimination, wage and hour, civil rights and
other civil cases arising in the workplace. CELA helps
its members protect and expand the legal rights of
working women and men through litigation, education,
legislative activities and advocacy.

Dallas Gay and Lesbian Bar Association
(DGLBA)

The Dallas Gay and Lesbian Bar * <¢2tiov
(DGLBA) is composed of approximately 35 i. 4° | lav
students, para-professionals, and related professio _.’
allies who share an interest in the laws that affect and
protect the gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgendered
community. The DGLBA issues a monthly newsletter
to nearly 200 subscribers on current topics of interest

4a

in LGBT law and the community and has over 800
Facebook followers. The DGLBA holds monthly lunch-
eon meetings for its members where speakers provide
continuing legal education on a broad range of topics
affecting lawyers who represent LBGT clients. The
DGLBA also holds networking events, gives scholar-
ships to deserving law students, profiles its members
on its website, and educates and promotes legal issues
affecting the LGBT community.

Georgia Association for Women Lawyers

The Georgia Association for Women Lawyers’
(GAWL) mission is to enhance the welfare and devel-
opment of women lawyers and to support their inter-
ests. GAWLs Amicus Policy provides for filing or join-
ing amicus briefs in cases which will advance or clarify
the law regarding issues that fall within our mission or
that relate to the administration of justice. GAWL has
found this brief to fall within these categories and is
pleased to support this effort.

Georgia Trial Lawyers Association

Pursuant to our constitution, the Georgia Trial
Lawyers Association is founded for the purpose of
supporting and defending the civil justice system, the
right to trial by jury, and individual rights of our mem-
bership and our clients.

Japanese American Bar Association (JABA)
Japanese American Bar Association (JABA) is one of
the oldest Asian Pacific American bar associations in
the country and consists of a diverse membership of
over 300 attorneys, judicial officers, and law students of
Japanese and Asian Pacific Islander ancestry in the

5a

greater Los Angeles area and beyond, including gay
and lesbian individuals. With a deep appreciation of
the unique history of Japanese Americans in the Unit-
ed States and the failure of constitutional protections
that led to their internment during World War II,
JABA has a proud history of actively advocating and
devoting resources to issues of civil rights and social
justice, especially for those members of society who
continue to suffer from discrimination and unequal
treatment.

LGBT & Allied Lawyers of Utah Bar Association

LGBT & Allied Lawyers of Utah is a non-profit or-
ganization of associated legal professionals and mem-
bers of the Utah State Bar, whose mission is to pro-
mote education, advocacy, and equality with regard to
sexual orientation, gender identity, and gender expres-
sion.

LGBT Bar Association of Greater New York
(LeGaL)

The LGBT Bar Association of Greater New York
(LeGaL) was one of the nation’s first bar associations of
the lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender legal com-
munity and remains one of the largest and most active
organizations of its kind in the country. Serving the
New York metropolitan area, LeGaL is dedicated to
improving the administration of the law, ensuring full
equality for members of the LGBT community, and
promoting the expertise and advancement of LGBT
legal professionals.

6a

Lesbian and Gay Bar Association of Chicago
(LAGBAC)

The Lesbian and Gay Bar Association of Chicago
(LAGBAC), founded in 1987, is one of the country’s
oldest bar associations dedicated to serving the lesbian,
gay, bisexual and transgender (LGBT) community and
the only bar association in the Chicagoland area dedi-
cated to serving the LGBT community. LAGBAC pro-
vides judges, attorneys and law students with educa-
tional experiences and career opportunities that sup-
port them throughout their career. LAGBAC hosts
countless CLE seminars, networking programs and
social events throughout the year for its members and
nonmembers, alike.

With over 200 members, including practitioners,
agency heads, professors, and law students, and dozens
of judicial affiliates, LAGBAC has long been a leader in
shaping public policy in Illinois and across the country.
We, the board of directors, fully support the submission
of this amicus brief to further achieve the organiza-
tion's mission and to provide the Court with important
insight on matters affecting public policy.

Lesbian and Gay Lawyers Association of Los
Angeles (LGLA)

The Lesbian and Gay Lawyers Association of Los
Angeles (LGLA) was founded in 1979 and has grown
into a relevant, multi-cultural, open and active bar
association of gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender
lawyers, judges, law students and other legal Profes-
sionals. LGLA is dedicated to furthering justice and
equality and the advancement of gay, lesbian, bisexual
and transgender issues throughout California and
around the nation by making judicial endorsements,

7a

appearing amicus curiae in cases such as this one,
holding representation on the Conference of Delegates
for the State Bar of California, and providing educa-
tional and networking opportunities for its members.
LGLA has fought for equal justice for all persons with-
out regard for their sexual orientation for more than
thirty-five years.

Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, And Transgender (LGBT)
Bar Association Of Maryland

The Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender
(LGBT) Bar Association of Maryland is a state associa-
tion of lawyers, judges and other legal professionals,
law students, activists, and affiliate lesbians, gay, bi-
sexual, and transgender legal organizations.

Love Honor Cherish

Love Honor Cherish (LHC) is the largest grassroots
marriage equality organization in Southern California.
Founded in May 2008 to defend the California Su-
preme Court’s decision In re Marriage Cases, 43 Cal.
4th 757 (2008), LHC has strategically moved marriage
equality forward since its inception. In 2010 and 2012,
LHC launched efforts to gather signatures to put re-
peal of Proposition 8 on the ballot in California due to
its unwavering dedication to restore marriage equality
in California as soon as possible. While those efforts
were unsuccessful due to the prohibitive cost of fund-
ing a signature gathering campaign, LHC’s volunteers
had more than one million conversations about the
importance of marriage equality with California voters.
LHC continues to advance marriage equality through
public education, community empowerment and out-
reach in collaboration its coalition partners.

8a

Minnesota Lavender Bar Association (MLBA)

The Minnesota Lavender Bar Association (MLBA) is
a voluntary professional association of LGBT attorneys
and allies, promoting fairness and equality for the
LGBT community within the legal industry and for the
Minnesota community. The MLBA envisions a Minne-
sota where LGBT attorneys, clients, and community
members are treated equally and without discrimina-
tion. The MLBA’s mission is to promote equality and
justice in the legal profession and the LGBT communi-
ty in Minnesota.

New Mexico Lesbian And Gay Lawyers Associa-
tion (NMLGLA)

The New Mexico Lesbian and Gay Lawyers Associa-
tion (NMLGLA), formed in 1995, is a non-profit, volun-
tary bar organization committed to promoting and
protecting the interest of the lesbian, gay, bisexual and
transgender lawyers and to achieving their full partic-
ipation in all rights, privileges and benefits of the legal
profession. The NMLGLA also strives to promote the
efficient administration of justice and the constant
improvement of the law, especially as it relates to les-
bians, gay men, bisexual and transgender individuals.

New York State Bar Association

The New York State Bar Association (NYSBA) was
founded in 1876, and is the largest voluntary bar asso-
ciation in the United States, with over 74,000 mem-
bers. NYSBA serves the profession and the public by,
inter alia, promoting reform in the law and facilitating
the administration of justice. NYSBA has long sup-
ported marriage equality for same-sex couples. In
2009, NYSBA passed a resolution supporting same-sex

9a

marriage; and in 2010 the NYSBA was a lead sponsor
of the American Bar Association’s resolution in support
of same-sex marriage. The NYSBA supports allowing
same-sex couples to marry and recognizing marriages
if contracted elsewhere as the Association believes only
marriage can grant full equality to same-sex couples
and their families.

OGALLA: The LGBT Bar Association of Oregon
The LGBT Bar Association of Oregon is a voluntary
organization of legal practitioners — including attor-
neys, judges, paraprofessionals, and educators — dedi-
cated to the promotion of the fair and just treatment of
all people under the law regardless of sexual orienta-
tion, gender identity, or gender expression, to providing
visibility for LGBT persons in the law, to educating the
public, the legal profession and the courts about legal
issues of particular concern to the LGBT community, to
identifying and eliminating the causes and conditions
of prejudice in society, and to promoting a spirit of
unity, while valuing the diversity of our community.

Philippine American Bar Association of Los An-
geles (PABA)

The Philippine American Bar Association (PABA) is
an organization of attorneys, students, and community
leaders who have been dedicated to advancing the
interests of the Filipino-American community and the
Asian-American community-at-large for thirty years.
PABA is fervently committed to creating a more com-
passionate and just future, and proudly joins its col-
leagues on this amicus brief to ensure the preservation
of equality for persons from every walk of life.

10a

Public Counsel

Public Counsel is the largest pro bono law firm in
the nation. Founded in 1970, Public Counsel is the
public interest law office of the Los Angeles County
and Beverly Hills Bar Associations and the Southern
California affiliate of the Lawyers’ Committee for Civil
Rights Under Law. Public Counsel is dedicated to
advancing equal justice under law by delivering free
legal services to indigent and underrepresented chil-
dren, adults and families throughout Los Angeles
County, ensuring that other community-based organi-
zations serving this population have legal support, and
mobilizing the pro bono resources of attorneys, law
students and other professionals. Public Counsel’s
staff of 71 attorneys and 50 support staff, along with
over 5,000 volunteer lawyers, law students, and legal
professionals, assists over 30,000 children, youth, fami-
lies, and community organizations every year. Public
Counsel’s clients include lesbian, gay, bisexual, and
transgender youth and adults who are homeless or at
risk of homelessness or who seek asylum in the US.
because of persecution in their country of origin. As a
civil rights organization, Public Counsel has steadfast-
ly supported marriage equality.

QLaw: The GLBT Bar Association of Washington
QLaw, the GLBT Bar Association of Washington, is
an association of gay, lesbian, bisexual, and
transgender (GLBT) legal professionals and their
friends. QLaw serves as a voice for gay, lesbian, bisex-
ual, and transgender lawyers and other legal profes-
sionals in the state of Washington on issues relating to
diversity and equality in the legal profession, in the
courts, and under the law. The organization has five

lla

purposes: to provide opportunities for members of the
GLBT legal community to meet in a supportive, profes-
sional atmosphere to exchange ideas and information;
to further the professional development of GLBT legal
professionals and law students; to educate the public,
the legal profession, and the courts about legal issues
of particular concern to the GLBT community; to em-
power members of the GLBT community by improving
access to the legal and judicial system and sponsoring
education programs; and to promote and encourage the
advancement of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender
attorneys in the legal profession.

Queen’s Bench Bar Association

Queen’s Bench Bar Association is a non-profit vol-
untary membership organization made up of judges,
lawyers, and law students in the San Francisco Bay
Area. Established in 1921, Queen’s Bench is one of the
oldest women’s bar associations in the country.
Queen’s Bench seeks to advance the interests of wom-
en in law and society, and to serve the professional
needs of women lawyers, judges, and law students.
Queen’s Bench has a strong and demonstrated interest
in the preservation of the Constitutional right to equal
protection of the laws.

San Francisco La Raza Lawyers Association
(SFLRLA)

San Francisco La Raza Lawyers Association
(SFLRLA) is a professional membership organization
of San Francisco Bay Area Latino/a attorneys. Central
to its mission is SFLRLA’s interest in protecting fun-
damental constitutional rights and minority interests.
Accordingly, in March 2004, SFLRLA filed the first

12a

amicus brief to be filed by a bar association with the
San Francisco Superior Court in what eventually be-
came In re Marriage Cases, 43 Cal.4th 757 (2008).
SFLRLA’s core mission is to serve the public interest
by cultivating the science of jurisprudence, promoting
reform in the law, facilitating the administration of
justice, and cooperating with other professional and
community organizations in the furtherance of our

Stonewall Bar Association of Georgia, Inc.
Stonewall Bar Association of Georgia, Inc. was es-
tablished in 1995 as a coalition of attorneys, judges,
law students, paralegals, and other legal professionals
to utilize their expertise to support the rights of lesbi-
an, gay, bisexual, and transgender people and oppose
discrimination based on sexual orientation and gender
identity. A voluntary bar association, consisting of
almost 300 dues-paying members, SBA publishes an
on-line directory of attorneys who are eager to serve
gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender clients. The
organization also publishes a monthly newsletter that
is emailed to approximately 800 legal professionals,
provides scholarships to law students, conducts contin-
uing education for attorneys, and provides opportuni-
ties for networking with judges and other legal profes-
sionals. SBA has worked with other organizations to
file amicus briefs in cases that impact our community
in Georgia. Such briefs have been submitted in Hol-
lingsworth v. Perry and cases that overturned Georgia’s
sodomy law and secured the rights of local govern-
ments and private corporations to offer domestic part-
nership benefits to company employees and their life

partners.

13a

Stonewall Law Association of Greater Houston
(SLAGH)

Stonewall Law Association of Greater Houston is a
voluntary professional association of gay, lesbian, bi-
sexual and transgender attorneys, judges, paralegals,
law students and allies who provide a LGBT presence
within the greater Houston legal community. SLAGH
encourages the recognition of civil and human rights,
promotes sensitivity to legal issues faced by LGBT
community and those living with HIV, assures the fair
and just treatment of members of the LGBT communi-
ty, provides opportunities for LGBT attorneys, judges,
law students and their allies to interact in a profes-
sional setting, builds alliances with other minority bar
associations and legal organizations, and enhances the
practice and professional expertise of lawyers who
serve or are members of the LGBT community.

Tom Homann LGBT Law Association (THLA)

The Tom Homann LGBT Law Association (THLA) is
a non-profit voluntary membership bar association of
attorneys, law students, judges, and other legal profes-
sionals dedicated to the advancement of gay, lesbian,
bisexual and transgender issues throughout California
and the nation. We are the place for San Diego’s LGBT
lawyers to network, build friendships, and develop
their careers. THLA members are also committed to
establishing and maintaining personal connections
with local law student community. Through our suc-
cessful mentor program, we provide encouragement,
guidance, insight and friendship to the next generation
of LGBT lawyers entering the San Diego legal commu-
nity.

l4a

Women Lawyers Association of Los Angeles
(WLALA)

Women Lawyers Association of Los Angeles
(WLALA) is a nonprofit organization comprised pri-
marily of attorneys and judges in Los Angeles County.
Founded in 1919, WLALA is dedicated to promoting
the full participation of women lawyers and judges in
the legal profession, maintaining the integrity of our
legal system by advocating principles of fairness and
equality, and improving the status of women in our
society. WLALA believes that lawyer groups have a
special obligation to protect the core guarantees of our
Constitution from unlawful abrogation when a majori-
ty of voters has attempted to deprive a minority of its
constitutionally protected rights.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0307%3A028. Public record. Not legal advice.
