# Amicus Curiae Brief — Obergefell v. Hodges

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0306%3A146

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2015
- **Citation:** 576 U.S. 644

## Text

Serer iT7
air? or *. 45, Up. —

i kJ

APR 2 20%

iw oa

Logics OF qc si cnx |

Nos. 14-556, 14-562, 14-571, and 14-574

In the Supreme Court of the Anited States

JAMES OBERGEFELL, ET AL., PETITIONERS
Vv.

RICHARD HODGES, DIRECTOR, OHIO DEPARTMENT
OF HEALTH, ET AL.

[ADDITIONAL CAPTIONS LISTED ON INSIDE COVER]

ON WRITS OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF OF TEXAS VALUES AS AMICUS
CURIAE IN SUPPORT OF RESPONDENTS

JONATHAN M. SAENZ DAVID S. LILL

900 Congress Ave., Suite 220 Counsel of Record

Austin, Texas 78701 Lill Firm, P.C.

(512) 478-2220 4407 Bee Caves Road

jsaenz@txvalues.org Suite 111, Building 1
Austin, TX 78746

JARED R. WOODFILL (512) 330-0252

Woodfill Law Firm P.C. david @lillfirm.com

River Oaks Green

3131 Eastside St., Suite 450
Houston, Texas 77098 Counsel for Amicus Curiae
ee ee eee

VALERIA TANCO, ET AL., PETITIONERS
Vv.
BILL HASLAM, GOVERNOR OF TENNESSEE, ET AL.

APRIL DEBOER, ET AL., PETITIONERS
Vv.

RICK SNYDER, GOVERNOR OF MICHIGAN, ET AL.

GREGORY BOURKE, ET AL., PETITIONERS
Vv.

STEVE BESHEAR, GOVERNOR OF KENTUCRY, ET AL.

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Does the Fourteenth Amendment require a state
to license a marriage between two people of the same
sex?

2. Does the Fourteenth Amendment require a state
to recognize a marriage between two people of the same
sex when their marriage was lawfully licensed and per-
formed out of state?

(i)

TABLE OF CONTENTS
BINNIE i sreinisinicinnetdaenientansemieniiiimeiamstiiiaiiniiies
ERENCE neat e een a Rae

Il. The petitioners’ arguments for heightened
gE

Ili. Legalization of same-sex marriage through
democratic processes is far preferable to

legalization through judicial decree......................

ETRE TE A SSSI SONNE ace ce de TE PO

(ii)

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases
A.L.A. Schechter Poultry Corp. v. United States,

8 24
Bd. of Tr. of Univ. of Ala. v. Garrett,

ee Ss Se ee enencencnnssensemnesennenasnenecenneneenssemneenemdiies 24
Bob Jones University v. United States,

Bt Ee 22
Bostic v. Schaefer,

Se eee 17
Boy Scouts v. Dale,

EEE SRR RE resect enna atnmre 14
Buck v. Bell,

gk Ear eee mean 25
Burwell v. Hobby Lobby Stores, Inc.,

ee Ma TTT iti ntttieeteaenienintneeninctisitineniinmtaintiig 14, 22
Dandridge v. Williams,

gL) Reena enn vere 7
Emp't Div., Dep't of Human Res. of Or. v. Smith,

8 cee 12
FCC v. Beach Commce’ns, Inc.,

4 ne 7, 10, 12-13
Geiger v. Kitzhaber,

994 F. Supp. 2d 1128 (D. Or. 2014)... eceeeeeeeee 13
Heller v. Doe,

TI iia aati 7

Hernandez-Montiel v. INS,

225 F.3d 1084 (Oth Cir. 2000) ..........cccccccccccccccccccccscecccceee 16
Kitchen v. Herbert,

ee ee ee Oe Gy I cecccccccnectnccncescxcnsescnscncneeses 17
Lindsley v. Natural Carbonic Gas Co.,

iat ealacianiain 7
Lochner v. New York,

ee 4, 19, 24, 25
McCullen v. Coakley,

EE eee ee ea 12
McNosky v. Perry,

No. 1:13-cv-00631-SS (W.D. Tex.) ..........cccccesssscesssceneeees 12
Morehead v. New York ex rel. Tipaldo,

i 24
New State Ice Co. v. Liebmann,

EEE EN 18
Pollock v. Farmers’ Loan & Trust Co.,

A RT 25
Reynolds v. United States,

I i 12
Robicheauz v. Caldwell,

2 F. Supp. 3d 910 (E.D. La. 2014) 2.0.0.0... ccceseceseseseeess 13
Roe v. Wade,

EEE EE enna renee ee meee .20
Scott v. Sandford,

EE LE a Semen Neen aeRO 25

Seminole Tribe of Fla. v. Florida,
—T Te Ree Vator

United States v. Lopez,
BG TG, BE Cae ccceccccccecsesccccsceccessscecsezsvecesesesscense

Washington v. Davis,
|, § 2

Washington v. Glucksberg,
4 i oe

Rules

Bm: Cb. BR. BE Bie) accccercesecsecseccccsesesesecccocccsesescnncescaceseses
Burm, Gt. BR. BIB .ccrvecccesscevecesccsscvssesscecesccsnssssssonssovosssecese
Other Authorities

J. Michael Bailey, Michael P. Dunne, and Nicholas
G. Martin, Genetic and Environmental
Influences on Sexual Orientation and Its
Correlates in an Australian Twin Sample, 78
Journal of Personality and Social Psychology

ee 2

BOBS CIB) cccccccccocecccccecsecescesccccccscscccescccccnsecsessscesosceososs 15

Roy F. Baumeister, Gender Differences in Erotic
Plasticity: The Female Sex Drive as Socially
Flexible and Responsive, 126 Psychological

Bulletin 347-74 (ZOOO)........-..ccsccsssseeceersreneeeetererseeeeetneees 14

Peter S. Bearman and Hannah Bruckner,
Opposite-sex Twins and Adolescent Same-sex
Attraction, 107 Am. J. of Sociology 1179-1205

George W. Dent, Jr., Traditional Marriage: Still
Worth Defending, 18 BYU J. Pub. L. 419 (2004)

(v)

Lisa M. Diamond, Development of Sexual
Orientation Among Adolescent and Young
Adult Women, 34 Developmental Psychology
Re eR iretcrecncntenninmnacnnsnssenssnnenensneenentemensen 14-15

See Lisa M. Diamond, / was wrong! Men are pretty
darn sexually fluid, too, Society for Personality
and Social Psychology Preconference on

Sexuality, Austin, TX (February 13, 2014)........... 15-16
Lisa M. Diamond, Sexual Fluidity: Understanding
Women’s Love and Desire (2008) ........:-.cssseseseesees 14,15

Lisa M. Diamond, Was /t a Phase? Young
Women’s Relinquishment of Lesbian/Bisexual
Identities over a 5-Year Period, 84 Journal of
Personality and Social Psychology 352-64 (2003).......14

Frank H. Easterbrook,
Abstraction and Authority, 59 U. Chi. L. Rev.
ESE REPRESSES BATRA ie wenn eee ee eR 17

Ruth Bader Ginsburg, Some Thoughts on
Autonomy and Equality in Relation to Roe v.

Wade, 63 N.C. L. Rev. 37 (1985)..........-ccccsccsesssessceeess 4, 20
Sherif Girgis, Robert P. George, and Ryan T.

Anderson, What Is Marriage?,

34 Harv. J.L. & Pub. Pol’y 245 (2014)... ce cceeeeeeeeees 4

Jesse Graham, Jonathan Haidt, and Brian Nosek,
Liberals and Conservatives Rely on Different
Sets of Moral Foundations, 96 Journal of
Personality and Social Psychology 1029 (2009)........... 10

Jonathan Haidt & Jesse Graham,
When Morality Opposes Justice: Conservatives

(vi)

Have Moral Intuitions That Liberals May Not
Recognize, 20 Socia] Justice Research 98 (2007) ... 9-10

Learned Hand, The Spirit of Liberty, in Irving
Dillard, ed., The Spirit of Liberty: Papers and
Addresses of Learned Hand 189 (1953) ...................--+. 25

Interview by J.J. Helland with Cass R. Sunstein,
Courting Disaster, salon.com (September 12,

G.M. Herek, et al., Demographic, Psychological,
and Social Characteristics of Self-Identified
Lesbian, Gay, and Bisexual Adults in a U.S.
Probability Sample, 7 Sexuality Res. & Soc.

I ITI isiteilichseitinsiddiialaniaiinibainpanentiniingnananiaimenie 16
Institute for American Values, Marriage and the
Law: A Statement of Principles (2006) ...............cc--:000+- 9

Niklas Langstrém, Oazi Rahman, Eva Carlstrém
and Paul Lichtenstein, Genetic and
Environmental Effects on Same-sex Sexual
Behavior: A Population Study of Twins in
Sweden 39 Archives of Sexual Behavior 75-80

Sra iciieiieeeiihinedenmcanciedeetabiseietiiatiatained cients 15
Lawrence Lessig, The Regulation of Social
Meaning, 62 U. Chi. L. Rev. 943 (1995) ..............0000..0.- s

Michael W. McConnell, Federalism: Evaluating
the Founders’ Design, 54 U. Chi. L. Rev. 1483

EC SEE ee See nee ae wee one ee ae eee 19
Michael W. McConnell, The Constitution and
Same-Sex Marriage, Wall St. J. (March 21, 2013) .....20

(vii)

Michael W. McConnell, The Importance of
Humility in Judicial Review: A Comment on
Ronald Dworkin’s “Moral Reading” of the

Constitution, 65 Fordham L. Rev. 1269 (1997)..........

Michael W. McConnell, The Right to Die and the
Jurisprudence of Tradition, 1997 Utah L. Rev.

Letitia Anne Peplau & Linda D. Garnets, A New
Paradigm for Understanding Women’s
Sexuality and Sexual Orientation, 56 Journal of

Social Issues 329-50 (Z000).........s0sceccsssecesesreseneeernereres

A. Raymond Randolph, Before Roe v. Wade: Judge
Friendly’s Draft Abortion Opinion, 29 Harv. J.

L. Pub. Pol’y 1035 (2006) ........cccccsssccssssessscccssssesseeeesssssees

David A. Strauss, Why Was Lochner Wrong?, 70

U. Cah, Li. Rev. SIS GBUD) .2c.ccccceccccscceccecccscccsvescccceceees

Cass R. Sunstein, On the Expressive Function of

Law, 144 U. Pa. L. Rev. 2021 (1996)..........................

Cass R. Sunstein, The Right To Marry, 26 Cardozo

La. Bev. BBL, SEBS GESTS) nccccccsccosssscsscessssnscescssssocsssccnes

Anna Waugh, Tarrant County Marriage Plaintiffs
Come Out as Straight, Dallas Voice (May 16,
2014, 7:05 A.M.),
http:/Awww.dallasvoice.com/tarrant-county-

marriage-plaintiffs-straight-10172981.html. ............

James Q. Wilson, Against Homosexual Marriage,

Commentary (March 1, 1996) ................cccccssssssesseeeees

James Q. Wilson, The Marriage Problem: How

Our Culture Has Weakened Families (2002) ..........

(viii)

Robin Fretwell Wilson, Marriage of Necessity:
Same-Sex Marriage and Religious Liberty
Protections, 64 Case Western L. Rev. 1161

_—_—__ EEE cee seen oe e or Oe 21
Witherspoon Institute, Marriage and the Public
GOO: TO FVRCTIESS GIBG ED ccecccccccesessescsssccsscssscccscseccsesses 9

(ix)

In the Supreme Court of the United States

Nos. 14-556, 14-562, 14-562, and 14-574

JAMES OBERGEFELL, ET AL., PETITIONERS
v.

RICHARD HODGES, DIRECTOR, OHIO DEPARTMENT OF
HEALTH, ET AL.

VALERIA TANCO, ET AL., PETITIONERS
Vv.

BILL HASLAM, GOVERNOR OF TENNESSEE, ET AL.

APRIL DEBOER, ET AL., PETITIONERS
Vv.

RICK SNYDER, GOVERNOR OF MICHIGAN, ET AL.

GREGORY BOURKE, ET AL., PETITIONERS
v.

STEVE BESHEAR, GOVERNOR OF KENTUCKY, ET AL.

ON WRITS OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF OF TEXAS VALUES AS AMICUS
CUR’ A~ IN SUPPORT OF RESPONDENTS

(1)

2
INTEREST OF AMICUS

Amicus Curiae Texas Values seeks to preserve and
advance a culture where families prosper and every hu-
man life is valued. Texas Values promotes its core values
of faith, family, and freedom through policy research,
public education, and grassroots mobilization. Amicus
believes that strong families are founded on the ideal of a
lifelong marriage of one man and one woman, and is
committed to preserving marriage as an institution in-
herently linked to procreation and childrearing, one that
connects children to their mothers and fathers, for the
good of children and society as a whole. Because this
case questions the constitutionality of a state’s sovereign
decision to preserve marriage as the union between one
man and one woman, Amicus has an interest in respond-
ing to the constitutional claims that the petitioners as-
sert.’

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

This case is not about whether the States should rec-
ognize same-sex marriage. It is about the question of
who decides. The decision of whether (and when) to
make this revolutionary social change belongs to the
people and their elected representatives. The States did

' Neither the parties nor their counsel authored any part of this
brief. Nor did they contribute any money toward its preparation or
submission. See Sup. Ct. R. 37.6. The petitioners were notified of
and have consented to the filing of this brief. See Sup. Ct. R. 37.2(a).
The respondents have filed a blanket consent.

3

not surrender this authority to the federal judiciary
when they ratified the Fourteenth Amendment.

The court of appeals and the respondents’ briefs have
capably explained why this Court lacks the authority to
impose same-sex marriage on the States. The amici offer
three additional points.

First, the constitutional case for same-sex marriage
rests on an ideological judgment that the institution of
marriage exists primarily to celebrate the love and com-
mitment of two people. The opponents of same-sex mar-
riage, by contrast, believe that marriage and human sex-
uality should be used primarily to generate positive ex-
ternalities for society, by encouraging procreation and
by deterring irresponsible behaviors (such as out-of-
wedlock births) that impose costs on others. On this
view, the love-and-personal-fulfillment component of
marriage is important but secondary to society’s needs
for promoting the creation of new offspring while dis-
couraging out-of-wedlock births. That view of marriage
may not be fashionable among the illuminati, but that
does not make it irrational or unconstitutional. The peti-
tioners are asking this Court to commit the sin of Loch-
ner. Nullify a state law based on philosophical beliefs
widely held by elites, while refusing to acknowledge
competing values that rationally inform the legislature’s
decision. Cf David A. Strauss, Why Was Lochner
Wrong?, 70 U. Chi. L. Rev. 373 (2003). The Fourteenth
Amendment does not enact the ideology of the sexual
revolution.

Second, the arguments for “heightened scrutiny” of-
fered by the petitioners and the Solicitor General are

4

meritless. The States’ marriage laws do not classify
based on sexual orientation, and even if they did homo-
sexuals cannot qualify as a “suspect class” because they
wield substantial political clout and because sexual orien-
tation is not an immutable trait.

Finally, if same-sex marriage is to legalized, it is far
preferable that it occur through state-by-state democrat-
ic change rather than nationwide judicial imposition.
Same-sex marriage is an exceedingly recent phenome-
non. Leaving matters to the States will generate reliable
data on the empirical effects of same-sex marriage, ena-
bling future policymakers to determine whether this
novel social innovation is enlightened or misguided. A
federalist solution will also facilitate peace by avoiding a
nationalized, one-size-fits-all solution and enabling the
supporters and opponents of same-sex marriage to mi-
grate to jurisdictions with more agreeable laws. See
Lochner v. New York, 198 U.S. 45, 76 (1905) (Holmes, J.,
dissenting) (“Our Constitution is made for people of fun-
damentally differing views.”). In addition, the federalist
solution is consistent with popular sovereignty and will
allow the legalization of same-sex marriage to enjoy a
democratic pedigree and legitimacy that the legalization
of abortion lacks because it was imposed by an over-
reaching court decree. See, e.g., Ruth Bader Ginsburg,
Some Thoughts on Autonomy and Equality in Relation
to Roe v. Wade, 63 N.C. L. Rev. 37 (1985); Cass R. Sun-
stein, The Right To Marry, 26 Cardozo L. Rev. 2081,
2085 (2005) (“The issue of same-sex marriage is best
handled through democratic areas and at the state lev-
el.”). For these reasons, even supporters of same-sex

5

marriage should reject its imposition by the federal
courts.

Most of all, the relief sought by the petitioners—
nationwide judicial imposition of same-sex marriage in
the name of “interpreting” the Constitution—will rein-
force perceptions of the federal judiciary as a naked po-
litical institution that can be used to short-circuit the
federalist and democratic processes of state-by-state
change. Court-imposed same-sex marriage will galvanize
other interest groups awed by the success of the same-
sex marriage movement, who will increase pressure on
the President and Senate to appoint judges who will im-
pose their policy goals from the bench. More and more,
judicial selection will be determined not by legal ability
but by ideological conformity with the views of powerful
interest groups. The Court should counter these trends
by rejecting the petitioners’ claims and making clear that
it will not entertain attempts to enlist the federal judici-
ary in political crusades.

ARGUMENT

I. THE STATE’S MARRIAGE LAWS EASILY
SURVIVE RATIONAL-BASIS REVIEW

The disagreements over whether same-sex marriage
should be legal arise from differences in value judgments
and differing views over the answers to disputed empiri-
cal questions. The petitioners’ arguments are based on
the ideology of the sexual revolution, which views mar-
riage and human sexuality as existing primarily for love
and personal fulfillment. Same-sex marriage follows nat-
urally from that worldview—as does no-fault divorce,
legalized abortion, subsidies for contraception, tolerance

6

of non-marital sexual relations, and subsidizing out-of-
wedlock births through the welfare state. This philoso-
phy is popular among liberals, progressives, and academ-
ics. And for some it has attained an almost natural-law
status in their way of thinking.

Others, however, believe that marriage and human
sexuality should be used primarily to generate positive
externalities for society. The love-and-personal-
fulfillment component is a collateral benefit but takes a
back seat to society’s needs for encouraging procreation,
ensuring that childrearing occurs in stable, intact fami-
lies with both a mother and father, and deterring behav-
iors that impose negative externalities (such as abor-
tions, out-of-wedlock births, and the spread of disease).
There is nothing “religious” about this perspective on
marriage and sexuality; it is held by many secular indi-
viduals and defended in secular terms. See, e.g., James Q.
Wilson, The Marriage Problem: How Our Culture Has
Weakened Families (2002). But it is correlated with reli-
gious belief, and this is unsurprising given that most
faith traditions teach their adherents to exalt the needs
of others and society over individualized pursuits of hap-
piness or personal gratification.

This way of thinking about marriage and sexuality is
foreign to many in today’s society. But that does not
make it unconstitutional—and it does not make the
States’ marriage laws irrational when they are easily ex-
plained from a perspective on marriage that emphasizes
its role in producing societal benefits. Committed, life-
long, opposite-sex marriages generate two types of posi-
tive externalities for society that same-sex unions do not.

7

First, opposite-sex marriages produce offspring, which
are needed to ensure economic growth and the survival
of the human race. Same-sex unions are biologically in-
capable of producing children, and every child adopted
by a homosexual parent is the product of some type of
opposite-sex union. It is therefore rational for the State
to subsidize opposite-sex marriages, which are likely to
benefit society by producing new offspring, while with-
holding that subsidy from same-sex marriages, which are
far less likely to produce this particular societal benefit.

Of course not all opposite-sex marriages produce
children. Some couples are sterile; some are deliberately
childless. But rational-basis review does not require a
perfect fit between means and ends. See Heller v. Doe,
509 U.S. 312, 321 (1993); Dandridge v. Williams, 397
U.S. 471, 485 (1970); Lindsley v. Natural Carbonic Gas
Co., 220 U.S. 61, 78 (1911). It is enough if the States can
show that opposite-sex marriages are more likely than
same-sex marriages to produce children—indeed, it is
enough if one could rationally speculate that opposite-sex
marriages might be more likely than same-sex marriag-
es to produce children. See FCC v. Beach Commce’ns,
Inc., 508 U.S. 307, 315 (1993) (“[Llegislative choice is not
subject to courtroom fact-finding and may be based on
rational speculation unsupported by evidence or empiri-
cal data.”). The petitioners do not deny that one could
rationally hold this belief; they do not even deny the em-
pirical claim that opposite-sex married couples are more
likely than same-sex couples to create new offspring.
That concedes that the States’ marriage laws survive ra-
tional-basis review.

8

Second, opposite-sex marriage reduces out-of-
wedlock births by channeling procreative heterosexual
intercourse into marriage. The sexual practices of homo-
sexuals do not result in pregnancy, so same-sex marriage
does not further this goal. The petitioners contend that
recognizing same-sex marriage will do nothing to un-
dermine the State’s interests in promoting reproduction
and reducing out-of-wedlock births, but that is irrelevant
when conducting rational-basis review. A State can ra-
tionally conclude that recognizing same-sex marriages
will not further those interests—or that it will not fur-
ther these interests to the same extent as opposite-sex
marriage. Marriage is a government subsidy, and a State
may reserve its subsidies for behaviors that are most
likely to generate the positive externalities that the State
seeks to promote.

The States’ marriage laws are rationally related to
yet a third government interest, and that goes to the ex-
pressive function of a State’s marriage laws. See general-
ly Lawrence Lessig, The Regulation of Social Meaning,
62 U. Chi. L. Rev. 943 (1995); Cass R. Sunstein, On the
Expressive Function of Law, 144 U. Pa. L. Rev. 2021
(1996). Supporters of traditional marriage oppose laws
that express an endorsement of sexual-revolution ideolo-
gy or genderless marriage, while supporters of same-sex
marriage oppose laws that express a view that opposite-
sex marriages are preferable to other living arrange-
ments. A State may choose to have its marriage laws re-
flect either of these competing views. The respondents
have chosen to have their States’ marriage laws reflect

the view that the primary purpose of marriage and hu-

9

man sexuality is to generate positive externalities for so-
ciety—rather than to confer legal recognition and subsi-
dies on any two people who happen to love each other.
That perspective on marriage may not be as fashionable
as it once was, but it is assuredly rational, and it is held
by many thoughtful and distinguished scholars as well as
millions of ordinary Americans. See, e.g., Witherspoon
Institute, Marriage and the Public Good: Ten Principles
(2008), http://bit.ly/1zkm0al (signed by over 70 scholars);
Institute for American Values, Marriage and the Law: A
Statement of Principles (2006), http://bit.ly/lqEhf7u
(signed by more than 100 scholars).

The petitioners’ failure to understand why so many of
their fellow Americans oppose same-sex marriage should
not have led them to dismiss their views as irrational.
Instead, it should have led them to read some of the
many scholarly defenses of traditional marriage—none
of which the petitioners so much as acknowledge (let
alone refute) in their briefs. See, e.g., Sherif Girgis, Rob-
ert P. George, and Ryan T. Anderson, What Js Mar-
riage’, 34 Harv. J.L. & Pub. Pol’y 245 (2014); James Q.
Wilson, Against Homosexual Marriage, Commentary
(March 1, 1996), http://bit.ly/Im5SK1b; George W. Dent,
Jr., Traditional Marriage: Still Worth Defending, 18
BYU J. Pub. L. 419 (2004). The petitioners also ignore
Jonathan Haidt’s work explaining how conservatives and
liberals differ in their conceptions of morality—which
largely explains their divergent views on the same-sex
marriage issue. See, e.g., Jonathan Haidt and Jesse Gra-
ham, When Morality Opposes Justice: Conservatives
Have Moral Intuitions That Liberals May Not Recog-

10

nize, 20 Social Justice Research 98, 111-12 (2007) (“[OJn
the issue of gay marriage it is crucial that liberals under-
stand the conservative view of social institutions. Con-
servatives generally believe ... that human beings need
structure and constraint to flourish, and that social insti-
tutions provide these benefits.... These are not crazy
ideas.”); Jesse Graham, Jonathan Haidt, and Brian
Nosek, Liberals and Conservatives Rely on Different
Sets of Moral Foundations, 96 Journal of Personality
and Social Psychology 1029 (2009). On rational-basis re-
view, the petitioners’ burden is to negate every concciva-
ble rationale that might be offered for a law—and that
requires them to refute every scholarly defense that has
been offered for traditional marriage, as well as scholars
(such as Haidt) who defend the rationality of those who
support traditional marriage. See Beach Commce’ns, 508
U.S. at 315 (“[TJhose attacking the rationality of the leg-
islative classification have the burden to negative every
conceivable basis which might support it.”) (internal quo-
tations omitted). One does not refute arguments by ig-
noring them.

More importantly, it is not possible to “refute” the
belief that the institution of marriage exists primarily to
generate positive externalities such as the production of
children and the raising of children in stable, committed
family structures with both a mother and a father. Many
liberals and progressives disagree with that understand-
ing of the purpose of marriage, but that is nothing more
than a normative value judgment and it does not supply
a basis for a constitutional holding. Disagreements over
the purpose of marriage are no different from normative

ll

disagreements in other areas of law. Some believe that
the primary purpose of tort law is deterring negligent
behavior by tortfeasors; others emphasize the corrective-
justice concerns of ensuring compensation for accident
victims. Some believe that antitrust law should pursue
economic efficiency and consumer welfare; others think
it should protect “small dealers and worthy men” from
competitive market forces. Some believe that food law
should pursue libertarian aims; others think it should
promote nutrition or ensure the ethical treatment of an-
imals. People who disagree over these issues do not call
their opponents’ views “irrational” or “unconstitutional.”
Instead, they recognize that their opponents are pro-
ceeding from a different normative framework that em-
phasizes certain values over others—and they further
recognize that rational people can disagree over which
values should take priority. Those who support tradi-
tional marriage deserve similar courtesy from the peti-
tioners and from this Court.

II. THE PETITIONERS’ ARGUMENTS FOR
HEIGHTENED SCRUTINY ARE UNTENABLE

The petitioners and the Solicitor General contend
that the States’ marriage laws should be subjected to
“heightened scrutiny,” but their arguments are untena-
ble for numerous reasons.

First, even if one were to accept the petitioners’ claim
that homosexuals should qualify as a “suspect class,” the
States’ rnarriage laws do not classify based on sexual ori-
entation. Everyone is subjected to the same definition of
marriage, without regard to one’s sexual orientation. The
States’ marriage laws equally prevent heterosexual

12

same-sex friends from marrying each other and claiming
the tax benefits (and other benefits) associated with that
status.? And homosexuals are as free to marry an oppo-
site-sex spouse as anyone else in the State. A law that
applies equally to everyone does not “classify” simply
because some identifiable group wants to violate it. Laws
that restrict smoking in public places do not implicate
the equal-protection rights of smokers—because these
laws (like the States’ marriage laws) impose a uniform
standard of conduct applicable to all people. See McCul-
len v. Coakley, 134 S. Ct. 2518, 2534 (2014) (facially neu-
tral buffer zone is “neither content nor viewpoint based,”
even though the only speech affected would come fiom
one particular viewpoint); see also Reynolds v. United
States, 98 U.S. 145 (1878); Empt Div., Dep't of Human
Res. of Or. v. Smith, 494 U.S. 872, 878 (1990).

To be sure, the States’ marriage laws may have a
disparate impact on homosexuals. But disparate-impact
claims are not cognizable in equal-protection law. See
Washington v. Davis, 426 U.S. 229, 242 (1976). Only laws
that expressly classify according to suspect criteria trig-
ger heightened scrutiny. See Beach Commce’ns, 508 U.S.

? Not all persons who wish to marry a same-sex partner will have a
homosexual orientation. The plaintiffs in McNosky v. Perry, No.
1:13-cv-00631-SS (W.D. Tex.), have publicly admitted that they have
a heterosexual orientation and plan to marry each other as a state-
ment of solidarity with same-sex couples. See Anna Waugh, Tarrant
County Marriage Plaintiffs Come Out as Straight, Dallas Voice
(May 16, 2014, 7:05 a.m.), http:/Awww.dallasvoice.com/tarrant-
county-marriage-plaintiffs-straight-10172981.html] (last visited on
March 30, 2015).

13

at 313 (“In areas of social and economic policy, a statuto-
ry classification that neither proceeds along suspect
lines nor infringes fundamental constitutional rights
must be upheld against equal protection challenge if
there is any reasonably conceivable state of facts that
could provide a rational] basis for the classification.” (em-
phasis added)). When a law does not classify based on
one’s members! ip in a suspect class, but merely has a
disparate impact on that suspect class, it is reviewed un-
der the rational-basis standard. See Davis, 426 U.S. at
239.

The only classifications that appear in the States’
marriage laws are based on sex, age, and consanguini-
ty—not sexual orientation.* The petitioners and the So-
licitor General appear to believe that heightened scruti-
ny should apply simply because persons with a homosex-
ual orientation are disadvantaged by a law—even when
the law does not expressly classify based on sexual orien-
tation. That would give homosexuals a status under the
Equal Protection Clause even more protective than that
conferred upon racial minorities. See Davis, 426 U.S. at
239.

Second, this Court has never held that homosexuals
are a “suspect class,” and the arguments for suspect-
class status are far weaker now than they were 20 years

* The petitioners’ claim that the States’ marriage laws embody un-
constitutional sex discrimination is meritless for the reasons pre-
sented in the respondents’ briefs. See also Robicheauz v. Caldwell, 2
F. Supp. 3d 910 (E.D. La. 2014); Geiger v. Kitzhaber, 994 F. Supp.
2d 1128, 1139-40 (D. Or. 2014).

14

ago. Homosexuals have enormous political clout, espe-
cially in the Democratic Party, and their political power
is growing. Congress recently repealed the military's
“Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell” policy, and the President signed
an executive order prohibiting sexual-orientation dis-
crimination by federal contractors without exempting
religiously oriented businesses. But see Burwell v. Hob-
by Lobby Stores, Inc., 134 S. Ct. 2751 (2014); Boy Scouts
v. Dale, 530 U.S. 640 (2000). And Attorney General Eric
Holder and several state attorneys general took the ex-
traordinary step of refusing to defend traditional mar-
riage laws in court. In light of these successes, the Solici-
tor General’s suggestion that homosexuals lack sufficient
political power borders on preposterous. See U.S. Br. 17,
19-20. The Solicitor General complains that some States
have been less solicitous of the homosexual agenda, but
no constituency wins 100% of its political battles. If the
inability to get a law changed through democratic pro-
cesses were sufficient evidence of political powerless-
ness, then every claimant who had to resort to a lawsuit
would pass the test.

Third, sexual orientation is not an “immutable” char-
acteristic akin to race. Some say that sexual orientation
tends to be stable—more so for men than for women.‘

* See Roy F. Baumeister, Gender Differences in Erotic Plasticity:
The Female Sex Drive as Socially Flerible and Responsive, 126
Psychological Bulletin 347-74 (2000); Lisa M. Diamond, Serual Flu-
idity: Understanding Women’s Love and Desire (2008); Lisa M.
Diamond, Was /t a Phase? Young Women’s Relinquishment of Les-
bian/Bisexrual Identities over a 5-Year Period, 84 Journal of Per-
sonality and Social Psychology 352-64 (2003); Lisa M. Diamond, De-
(continued...)

15

And although some have cited evidence of a genetic as-
pect to homosexuality,’ that does not make it an “immu-
table” characteristic akin to race. Professor Lisa Dia-
mond’s book, Sexual Fluidity: Understanding Women’s
Love and Desire (Harvard University Press 2009), ar-
gues that women exhibit a large degree of sexual plastic-
ity or fluidity, characterized by non-exclusivity, incon-
sistency, and change in reported sexual identity and in
sexual behaviors. Professor Diamond also provides evi-
dence of longitudinal change and self-reports that are
inconsistent with an “immutable” orientation. Across six
longitudinal studies, she notes that 75 percent of women
who identified as lesbian, bisexual, or unlabeled changed
their self-reported identity (at least once) within six
years of having first coming out. See Lisa M. Diamond, J
was wrong! Men are pretty darn sexually fluid, too, So-

velopment of Sexual Orientation Among Adolescent and Young
Adult Women, 34 Developmental Psychology 1085-95 (1998); Letitia
Anne Peplau & Linda D. Garnets, A New Paradigm for Under-
standing Women’s Sexuality and Sexual Orientation, 56 Journal of
Social Issues 329-50 (2000).

® See J. Michael Bailey, Michael P. Dunne, and Nicholas G. Martin,
Genetic and Environmental Influences on Sexual Orientation and
Its Correlates in an Australian Twin Sample, 78 Journal of Per-
sonality and Social Psychology 524-36 (2000); Peter S. Bearman and
Hannah Bruckner, Opposite-sex Twins and Adolescent Same-sex
Attraction, 107 Am. J. of Sociology 1179-1205 (2002); Niklas Lang-
strém, Oazi Rahman, Eva Carlstrém and Paul Lichtenstein, Genetic
and Environmental Effects on Same-sex Sexual Behavior: A Popu-
lation Study of Twins in Sweden 39 Archives of Sexual Behavior
75-80 (2010).

16

ciety for Personality and Social Psychology Preconfer-
ence on Sexuality, Austin, TX (February 13, 2014). Even
the study most commonly touted by supporters of same-
sex marriage reports that only 84% of lesbians (and 95%
of male homosexuals) agreed that they “had little or no
choice about their sexual orientation.” See G.M. Herek,
et al., Demographic, Psychological, and Social Charac-
teristics of Self-Identified Lesbian, Gay, and Bisexual
Adults in a U.S. Probability Sample, 7 Sexuality Res. &
Soc. Pol’y 176, 186, 188 (2010). That means that there is
some malleability in sexual orientation, especially among
women. Calling sexual orientation “immutable” is hyper-
bole—and the Solicitor General’s brief is carefully
phrased to avoid claiming that sexual orientation is im-
mutable.*®

Finally, there is no “fundamental right” to same-sex
marriage because same-sex marriage is not “deeply
rooted in this Nation’s history and tradition.” See Wash-
ington v. Glucksberg, 521 U.S. 702, 703 (1997). The peti-

® See U.S. Br. 11-12 (“{D]scrimination against lesbian or gay people
is based on an immutable or distinguishing characteristic.”) (em-
phasis added); id at 19 (“The broad consensus in the scientific and
medical community is that sexual orientation is not a choice for les-
bian and gay people any more than it is for their straight neigh-
bors.”) (emphasis added). This is not a claim that sexual orientation
is “immutable,” and the Solicitor General does not dispute (or even
acknowledge) Professor Diamond’s findings that sexual orientation
is fluid, particularly among lesbians. The judges who have played
amateur scientist by declaring sexual orientation “immutable” are
out of their depth on this question. See, e.g., Hernandez-Montiel v.
INS, 225 F.3d 1084, 1093 (9th Cir. 2000).

17

tioners and some courts try to get around this problem
declaring a generalized “right to marry” to be “deeply
rooted” in history and tradition—and then announcing
that this “deeply rooted” right includes the right to mar-
ry any person of one’s choice, including a same-sex part-
ner. See, e.g., Kitchen v. Herbert, 755 F.3d 1193, 1209-10
(10th Cir. 2014); Bostic v. Schaefer, 760 F.3d 352, 375-77
(4th Cir. 2014). There are many problems with this ap-
proach. To begin, Glucksberg requires court to apply a
“careful description” of the alleged right when undertak-
ing the historical inquiry. See Glucksberg, 521 U.S. at
703. This means that judges cannot declare a right that
is not “deeply rooted in this Nation’s history and tradi-
tion” (such as a right to same-sex marriage) to be “deeply
rooted in this Nation’s history and tradition” by boosting
the level of generality at which the right is defined. See
id.; U.S. Const. art. V; Michael W. McConnell, The Right
to Die and the Jurisprudence of Tradition, 1997 Utah L.
Rev. 665; Frank H. Easterbrook, Abstraction and Au-
thority, 59 U. Chi. L. Rev. 349 (1992). And in all events,
even if the petitioners’ abstraction maneuver were per-
missible, it is demonstrably false to assert that a general-
ized “right to marry” a partner of one’s choosing is
“deeply rooted in this Nation’s history and tradition.”
The States have always restricted one’s choice of mar-
riage partner, forbidding not only same-sex marriages
but also non-consensual marriages, marriages between

close relatives, and marriages involving persons below
the age of consent.

18

IIIl.LEGALIZATION OF SAME-SEX MARRIAGE
THROUGH DEMOCRATIC PROCESSES IS
FAR PREFERABLE TO LEGALIZATION
THROUGH JUDICIAL DECREE

It is possible that some members of this Court will
not be persuaded that the judiciary lacks the power to
impose same-sex marriage on the States. But even ju-
rists who are convinced that wey have the power to force
same-sex marriage on the States should nevertheless re-
frain from doing so and allow the attempts to redefine
marriage to occur through democratic processes.

First, same-sex marriage has not existed long enough
to generate reliable data regarding its effects on oppo-
site-sex marriage, parenting, procreation, and public
health. Allowing the States to decide whether (and for
how long) to proceed with this novel social experiment
will help policymakers determine whether same-sex
marriage is a good idea. Court-imposed same-sex mar-
riage will forever entrench a constitutional rule, making
it harder to study the effects of same-sex marriage (be-
cause it will no longer be possible to compare outcomes
in the States that permit the practice with outcomes in
the other States), and disabling legislatures from chang-
ing course if it turns out that same-sex marriage has
some negative or unintended side effects. This is one of
the principal reasons that constitutional federalism ex-
ists—and it will be obliterated by the nationwide imposi-
tion of same-sex marriage via judicial edict. See New
State Ice Co. v. Liebmann, 285 U.S. 262, 311 (1932)
(Brandeis, J., dissenting) (“It is one of the happy inci-
dents of the federal system that a single courageous
State may, if its citizens choose, serve as a laboratory;

19

and try novel social and economic experiments without
risk to the rest of the country.”); United States v. Lopez,
514 U.S. 549, 581 (1995) (Kennedy, J., concurring)
(“{Tyhe theory and utility of our federalism are revealed,
for the States may perform their role as laboratories for
experimentation to devise various solutions where the
best solution is far from clear.”).

Second, a federalist solution to the same-sex mar-
riage debate will facilitate national peace and maximize
political-preference satisfaction, by allowing both the
supporters and opponents of same-sex marriage to vote
with their feet and migrate to jurisdictions with more
agreeable laws. See, e.g., Michael W. McConnell, Feder-
alism: Evaluating the Founders’ Design, 54 U. Chi. L.
Rev. 1483, 1493-94 (1987). The petitioners find this solu-
tion abhorrent, because they are unwilling to tolerate the
prospect that any State would adopt a policy on same-sex
marriage that departs from what they believe to be right
and just. But that is the price one must pay for living in a
federal republic; some States may adopt policies that
others find deeply offensive or immoral. Those who sup-
port traditional marriage are no doubt equally dismayed
at the acceptance of same-sex marriage in New England
and on the west coast. But in the words of Justice
Holmes, our Constitution “is made for people of funda-
mentally differing views,” and federalism gives each side
of the same-sex marriage debate a second-best solution.
See Lochner, 198 U.S. at 76 (Holmes, J., dissenting). The
petitioners believe that our Constitution is made only for
those who support same-sex marriage.

20

Third, same-sex marriage will receive less public ac-
ceptance if it is legalized by judicial ukase rather than by
democratically elected legislatures. Many supporters of
legalized abortion have made similar arguments in criti-
cizing Roe v. Wade, 410 U.S. 113 (1973), for (paradoxical-
ly) undermining the cause of abortion rights. Abortion
law was already moving in the direction of liberalization
before Roe, and Roe’s decision to constitutionalize the
issue galvanized the anti-abortion movement and trig-
gered a backlash against the Court’s needlessly over-
broad opinion. See, e.g., Ruth Bader Ginsburg, Some
Thoughts on Autonomy and Equality in Relation to Roe
v. Wade, 63 N.C. L. Rev. 37 (1985). If Roe had adopted a
“minimalist” holding, by invalidating only the most re-
strictive anti-abortion laws, while allowing the democrat-
ic process to resolve the remaining issues surrounding
the legality of abortion, then many believe the right to
abortion would be more widely accepted today. See In-
terview by J.J. Helland with Cass R. Sunstein, Courting
Disaster, salon.com (September 12, 2005),
http-//bit.ly/1ICEmZ7X (last visited March 30, 2015).
These criticisms of Roe are equally applicable to the
plaintiffs’ efforts to constitutionalize a right to same-sex
marriage. See Michael W. McConnell, The Constitution
and Same-Sex Marriage, Wall St. J. (March 21, 2013),
on.wsj.com/ImknYDB (“Change that comes through the
political process has greater democratic legitimacy.”).

Fourth, court-imposed same-sex marriage will
threaten the First Amendment freedoms of persons and
institutions that oppose homosexuality and same-sex
marriage. When same-sex marriage is legalized by legis-

21

latures, the people and their legislators have an oppor-
tunity to seek explicit protections for religious institu-
tions and other dissidents, as such exemptions could be
needed to secure passage of the legislation. See Robin
Fretwell Wilson, Marriage of Necessity: Same-Sex Mar-
riage and Religious Liberty Protections, 64 Case West-
ern L. Rev. 1161, 1162 (2014) (“In jurisdictions that vol-
untarily enacted same-sex marriage, religious liberty
protections for religious objectors who adhere to a het-
erosexual view of marriage—exempting them from re-
quirements to facilitate marriages inconsistent with their
religious beliefs, by providing a reception hall, for exam-
ple—proved vital to the legislation’s success.”); id. at
1162-63 (describing the judicial imposition of same-sex
marriage as “fraught with risk for religious dissenters
while legislative or popular enactments offer important,
if flawed, protections to religious organizations and indi-
viduals.”).

Judicial imposition of same-sex marriage will not con-
tain these protections, and it will remove any need for
the supporters of same-sex marriage to agree to these
protections in exchange for the passage of a same-sex
marriage bill. The need for these protections is real.
Elected officials in Boston, Chicago, and San Francisco
threatened to deny business licenses to Chick-fil-A after
its President spoke out against same-sex marriage. A
judicial pronouncement that opposition to same-sex mar-
riage is “unconstitutional” (and therefore un-American)
will further embolden public officials to engage in these
bullying tactics against those who speak in support of
traditional marriage. And one should not assume that the

22

First Amendment will come to their rescue. The same
elected officials who want to punish Chick-fil-A for sup-
porting traditional marriage will lobby for the appoint-
ment of judges who will find a “compelling” government
interest in eradicating alleged or perceived discrimina-
tion and stigma against same-sex couples. Cf Bob Jones
University v. United States, 461 U.S. 574, 604 (1983);
Burwell v. Hobby Lobby Stores, Inc., 134 S. Ct. 2751,
2787 (2014) (Ginsburg, J., dissenting) (contending that
the government can satisfy RFRA’s strict-scrutiny
standard by relying on “compelling governmental inter-
ests in uniform compliance with the law”). At the end of
the day, the First Amendment is mere words on a piece
of paper, and words offer no protection without institu-
tions to enforce them.

Finally, the judicial imposition of same-sex marriage
will cement perceptions of the federal judiciary as a na-
ked political institution that creates and enforces consti-
tutional rights according to whatever happens to be
trendy or fashionable. Legal realists and attitudinalist
political scientists have been peddling this view of the
courts for decades, but it has not penetrated the con-
sciousness of the public, which still regards “law” as
something objective rather than the personal agenda of
judges. But no one will believe a claim that same-sex
marriage became a constitutional right when the States
ratified the Fourteenth Amendment in 1868. A court that
imposes same-sex marriage on the States can do so only
by asserting that judges can change the meaning of the
Constitution without using Article V, or by asserting that
the Constitution delegates to the federal judiciary the

23

authority to impose never-before-recognized constitu-
tional rights at moments of its choosing. Under either of
these rationales, the only reason that the courts would
be forcing same-sex marriage on the States is because
federal judges want it to be legal in all 50 States and are
not willing to wait for States to change their laws
through democratic processes.

This is a dangerous precedent to establish—even for
those who believe that same-sex marriage is good policy.
If a right to same-sex marriage can be constitutionalized
by judicial decree, then any policy can become constitu-
tionalized through the courts. That will cause interest
groups to increase their demands for judges who will
impose their preferred policies from the bench, and the
already dysfunctional judicial-confirmation process will
become further poisoned as ideological conformity will
override considerations of legal ability. Indeed, jurists
who envision a modest or restrained role for the judici-
ary in resolving our nation’s disputes—such as Oliver
Wendell Holmes, Learned Hand, or Henry Friendly—
will likely become un-appointable. When constitutional
law becomes regarded as the plaything of judges, the fo-
cus of judicial appointments shifts away from finding ju-
rists of ability and distinction, and toward finding judges
who will impose policies that the President and Senate
are unable to attain through democratic processes.

This is already beginning to happen. Jurists of im-
mense talent and ability have been rejected, filibustered,
or denied up-or-down votes by the Senate. Henry
Friendly would not even be considered for a judicial ap-
pointment in the current administration, because he did

24

not think that federal courts should impose their views of
abortion policy on the States. See A. Raymond Randolph,
Before Roe v. Wade: Judge Friendly’s Draft Abortion
Opinion, 29 Harv. J. L. Pub. Pol’y 1035 (2006). One can
only imagine what new ideological “litmus tests” will be
imposed as the federal judiciary moves to constitutional-
ize more areas of American public policy.

Liberals and progressives should be especially trou-
bled by this prospect. Rule by judges is two-way street,
and the judge-empowering interpretative methodologies
propounded by the petitioners have historically been
used by this Court to invalidate laws favored by liberals
and progressives—much more so than they have been
used to nullify laws favored by conservatives. See Loch-
ner, 198 U.S. at 64; ALLA Schechter Poultry Corp. v.
United States, 295 U.S. 495 (1935) (striking down federal
minimum-wage and maximum-hours regulations for
poultry workers); Morehead v. New York ex rel. Tipaldo,
298 U.S. 587 (1936) (invalidating minimum-wage law for
women); Seminole Tribe of Fla. v. Florida, 517 U.S. 44
(1996); Bd. of Tr. of Univ. of Ala. v. Garrett, 531 U.S. 356
(2001). Many liberals and progressives seem to believe
that an invisible-hand mechanism will ensure that doc-
trines like “equal protection” and “substantive due pro-
cess” will be used only to invalidate laws that liberals dis-
like, while conservative jurists play by the rules of judi-
cial restraint. But there is no mechanism to ensure these
happy endings. Once constitutional doctrines are severed
from history and tradition—as the petitioners propose—
then its use by future courts will depend entirely on the

25

outcomes of future Presidential and Senatorial elections,
which no one can predict.

We close with an observation from one of the great
appellate judges of the 20th century, Learned Hand, who
wrote that the “spirit of liberty is that spirit which is not
too sure that it is right.” Learned Hand, The Spirit of
Liberty, in Irving Dillard, ed., The Spirit of Liberty: Pa-
pers and Addresses of Learned Hand 189, 190 (1953). A
judge’s personal belief in the rightness of a cause has
never been a reliable measure for determining whether a
ruling will withstand the test of history. See Dred Scott v.
Sandford, 60 U.S. 393 (1856); Lochner, 198 U.S. 45; Pol-
lock v. Farmers’ Loan & Trust Co., 157 U.S. 429 (1895);
Buck v. Bell, 247 U.S. 200 (1927) (Holmes, J.). Issues are
often more complex than judges think, and their legal
training gives them no comparative advantage in resolv-
ing the complex empirical questions and value judgments
that go into deciding whether same-sex marriage should
be legal.’

This Court would do well to follow Judge Hand’s ad-
monition.

’ See Michael W. McConnell, The Importance of Humility in Judi-
cial Review: A Comment on Ronald Dworkin’s “Moral Reading” of
the Constitution, 65 Fordham L. Rev. 1269, 1292 (1997) (“[AJn es-
sential element of responsible judging is a respect for the opinions
and judgments of others, and a willingness to suspend belief, at least
provisionally, in the correctness of one’s own opinions.”).

26

CONCLUSION
The judgment of the court of appeals should be af-

firmed.

Respectfully submitted.

JONATHAN M. SAENZ
900 Congress Avenue
Suite 220

Austin, Texas 78701
(512) 478-2220
jsaenz@txvalues.org

JARED R. WOODFILL
Woodfill Law Firm P.C.
River Oaks Green

3131 Eastside Street
Suite 450

Houston, Texas 77098
(713) 751-3080
jwoodfill@woodfilllaw.com

April 2015

DAVID S. LILL
Counsel of Record

Lill Firm, P.C.

4407 Bee Caves Road

Suite 111, Building 1

Austin, TX 78746

(512) 330-0252

david @lillfirm.com

Counsel for Amicus Curiae

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0306%3A146. Public record. Not legal advice.
