# Opposition Brief — Hawkins v. Cmty. Bank of Raymore, 135 S. Ct. 1492 (2015) (No. 14-520)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0304%3A03

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2015

## Text

| ne Coun US.

FLED

No. 14-520 DEC 30 2014
) OFFICE OF THE CLERK
In The
Supreme Court of the United States

°

VALERIE J. HAWKINS, and
JANICE A. PATTERSON,

Petitioners,
Vv.

COMMUNITY BANK OF RAYMORE,
Respondent.

+

On Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari
To The United States Court Of Appeals
For The Eighth Circuit

°

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION FOR RESPONDENT
COMMUNITY BANK OF RAYMORE

°

GREER S. LANG

Counsel of Record

LATHROP & Gace, LLP

2345 Grand Blvd., Suite 2800
Kansas City, Missouri 64108
(816) 292-2000

(816) 292-2001 (facsimile)

glang@lathropgage.com

Attorneys for Respondent
Community Bank of Raymore

COCKLE LEGAL BRIEFS | 800) 2725-4564
WWW COCKLELEGALBRIEFS COM

i

COUNTERSTATEMENT OF
QUESTION PRESENTED

Did the Federal Reserve Board exceed its author-
ity when it purported to re-define who is an “appli-
cant” for credit under 15 U.S.C. §169la(b) of the
Equal Credit Opportunity Act to include guarantors
in Regulation B, 12 C.F.R. §202.2(e), thereby purport-
ing to expand the conduct made unlawful and the
persons protected by the ECOA’s non-discrimination
provisions, despite the unambiguous definition of that
term provided by Congress?

‘i
CORPORATE DISCLOSURE

Respondent Community Bank of Raymore
(“CBR”) is a wholly-owned subsidiary of LoLynn
Financial Corporation, a Missouri corporation. There
is no publicly-held corporation that owns ten percent
or more of CBR’s stock.

ill

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

COUNTERSTATEMENT OF QUESTION PRE-
a sceptomiasiaiaiioiion i
CORPORATE DISCLOSURE .....................:.02000: ii
ee CIID critniciicsiniesnsticccincisssicscudetiansiins iii
_ |g TEER means vi
ESAT LS EEN A ae ae ee One 1
STATEMENT OF THE CASE.....................-.000000+ 3

REASONS FOR DENYING THE PETITION ..... 10

I. Review is not warranted because it will
have no effect on the outcome of this case
where Petitioners repeatedly represented
that they have an interest in PHC, and
actually do, and that their guaranties
were provided at PHC’s request, and
Petitioners waived any alleged ECOA-
SI siociiscthstndansinsinhiniiepiehiegciigihsenidicladendieeittadnaie 10

A. Petitioners are bound by their
admission that their guaranties were
provided at PHC’s request. Thus, Peti-
tioners cannot show that they were
required to provide their guaranties
in purported violation of the ECOA.... 14

II.

iv

TABLE OF CONTENTS—Continued

Page

B. Petitioners cannot contradict their rep-
resentation that they have “a direct
and substantial economic interest
in [PHC] and expect[ed] to derive
substantial benefits from any loans”
they guaranteed. Thus, CBR could
properly require their guaranties .......

C. Petitioners waived any ECOA-claims
in the valid, retrospective waivers in
EEE as ea

The Eighth Circuit’s recent disagreement
with the Sixth Circuit on the issue of
whether the statutory definition of the
term “applicant” in the ECOA is un-
ambiguous does not warrant review. The
Eighth Circuit correctly interpreted the
statutory definition according to its plain
meaning, whereas the Sixth Circuit
ignored basic rules of statutory construc-
tion and its prior holdings in order to
manufacture an ambiguity. Further, in
its most recent amendment of the ECOA
in 2010, Congress made clear that the
“applicant” is the borrower, not third
parties who participate in the larger loan
transaction, such as guarantors................

A. Recognizing its paramount obligation
to interpret the ECOA according to
its plain meaning, the Eighth Circuit
refused to manufacture an ambiguity
to validate an invalid regulation.........

16

19

21

v

TABLE OF CONTENTS—Continued
Page

B. The Sixth Circuit manufactured an
“ambiguity” in order to impose its
own view of what would best effectu-
ate the ECOA’s goal of preventing
marital-status discrimination............. 28

C. Congressional silence is not a license
for courts to ignore a statute's plain
meaning. But here, Congress has
not remained silent. In the 2010
amendments to the ECOA, Congress
re-confirmed that the “applicant” is
the person who applies for a loan to
BI TI icceleitiinindnindertennuncnsiawenteihieienitdne 32

III. The Eighth Circuit’s decision does not
“conflict” with any decisions by a state
court of last resort. The Alaska, Iowa,
Missouri and Virginia Supreme Courts
have never actually decided the issue.
Rather, those courts merely assumed,
without challenge and without conduct-
ing the required Chevron-analysis, that

the regulatory re-definition is valid.......... 36
ET aise scosicnsidinneioaadieadaiaaledeipinsindbini 38
APPENDIX

United States District Court for the Western
District of Missouri Order, Dated November
Be IEE siinsinincetonenemstncsinseniipinminpeniliemctetianssinniants App. 1

vl

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Page
CASES
Anderson v. United Fin. Co., 666 F.2d 1274 (9th
ERE IASI en ee nye ieee eS =r RTD 10
Apex Hosiery Co. v. Leader, 310 U.S. 469, 60
REEL Re a ae ae OO re 33
Arizonans for Official English v. Arizona, 520
ab WY Big | 1: ; RCE neNNneEr 37
Arvest Bank v. Uppalapati, No. 11-03175-S-
DGK, 2013 WL 85336 (W.D.Mo. Jan. 7, 2013)....... 32
Ballard v. Bank of America, 734 F.3d 308 (4th
NIRS CARESS SRE ODE PE Sm DI 16, 19, 20
Bank of the West v. Kline, 782 N.W.2d 453
EEE ee aL ere ee 36, 37
Barney v. Holzer Clinic, Ltd., 110 F.3d 1207
I a le cea ie 30
Baybank v. Bornhofft, 694 N.E.2d 854 (Mass.
SIT i6 istididabactnindinaasiideeaddanupnnpidadsaialimnnsmedmnieaais 17,19
Boone Nat. Sav. & Loan Ass’n v. Crouch, 47
S.W.3d 371 (Mo. banc 2004).............................. 36, 37
Carcieri v. Salazar, 555 U.S. 379, 129 S.Ct.
a. RN Be Ne 27

CB 2010 LLC v. Ithaca Coatings, No. 12-13930,
2013 WL 2250168 (E.D.Mich. May 22,
SRE eee eR eee ee nL Ne 19, 20, 21

Central Bank of Kansas City v. Perry, 427
S.W.3d 285 (Mo. Ct. App. 2014).................:ccceeeeeeee 24

Vil

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued
Page

Champion Bank v. Regional Development, LLC,
No. 4:08CV1807-CDP, 2009 WL 1351122

Sy SEU MN acti ciieiscaidtintennittcninngniinainncies 32
Chevron, U.S.A. Inc. v. Natural Res. Def. Coun-
cil, 467 U.S. 837, 104 S.Ct. 2778 (1984)......... passim

Citgo Petroleum Corp. v. Bulk Petroleum Corp.,
No. 08-CV654-TCK-PJC, 2010 WL 3931496
Ns Ty ig We ieciicdnidiosennotetnicinianiisennnnin 31

Cole v. Intern. Union, United Auto., Aerospace
& Ayr. Implement Workers of America, 533

F.3d 932 (Sth Cir. 2008) ................cc0.0.00......84, 25, 37
Coney v. Union Pacific R.R., 136 F.3d 1195 (8th

LE Pe Oe Re ere NCS Paeaieoe 15
Connecticut Nat. Bank v. Germain, 503 U.S.

Sy Re I, II CI cictsietscdscinsicesssocscnneenenercees 22
Empire Bank v. Dumond, No. 13-CV-388, 2013

WL 6238605 (N.D.Okla. Dec. 3, 2013) ............. 30, 31
Erlenbaugh v. U.S., 409 U.S. 239, 93 S.Ct. 477

IIIT sachet eecteitanacnistghuceigel aladiceadlathaeeatelanaelitalaiicmsncpacninn 33
Eure v. Jefferson National Bank, 448 S.E.2d

I IIIT 1s ntiessinsetniicinnmdiaiinipieiabebedianets 37
Hawkins v. Community Bank of Raymore, 761

ee Ie CG ID eiinicctcsresivncccniiinaccecnseei passim
Henderson v. Henderson’s Ex’r, 13 Mo. 151,

REET ASENADERe OE eNOS 18

Vili

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page
Johnson ex rel. Johnson v. JF Enterprises,

LLC, 400 S.W.3d 763 (Mo. 2013) .............c:cecceceeeeeee 17
Mayes v. Chrysler Credit Corp., 37 F.3d 9 (1st

I I dtaliatinicdeabasatuninitniiiadiccsemienietianendaies 10, 13, 32
Midlantic Nat'l Bank v. Hansen, 48 F.3d 693

STEIN: SUITE cis titsiinnceehilcieehtipniblgntsbaieetideispatanidiiemien 16
Moran Foods, Inc. v. Mid-Atlantic Market

Development Co., LLC, 476 F.3d 436 (7th Cir.

_—_, ARERR RE eee ere ee 10, 11, 18, 25, 32
Noriega v. Pastrana, 130 S.Ct. 1002 (2010)............... 13
Regions Hosp. v. Shalala, 522 U.S. 448, 118

Se Saar Tih cethareegenchieinnbaciealiceneiidieaitiie 23
Riggs Nat'l Bank v. Webster, 832 F.Supp. 147

SE TIT ssi hrccndasssieahtiiashiaibieneestesnnnasinnnieanmnbaainnicinaiags 17
RL BB Acquisition, LLC v. Bridgemill Com-

mons Development Group, LLC, 754 F.3d 380

cll passim
Schindler Elevator Corp. v. U.S. ex rel. Kirk,

tS Eearsee 22, 28, 29
Silverman v. Eastrich Multiple Investor Fund,

em Ee ff ee 32

Smithville 169 v. Citizen’s Bank & Trust,
No. 4:11-CV-0872-DFK, 2013 WL 434044
UR I Rs a cclesuniisioctia 32

Still v. Cunningham, 94 P.3d 1104 (Alaska
RRR AS RSE ne ean an, a a ee 36

ix

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page
Thompson v. Koenen, 396 S.W.3d 429 (Mo. Ct.
NaI cicticnseieesiesatlinahceibiesisecinneeaibasuelicninieiad dias 19
Truckenbrodt v. First Alliance Mortgage Co.,
No. 96-C-822, 1996 WL422150 (N.D.IIl. July
Ss TE iidiidecdcniiindasitinicuibsspinhbiimianantiondasianeidesianbedapniiads 19
U.S. v. Meadors, 753 F.2d 590 (7th Cir. 1985)........... 14
U.S. v. Rutherford, 442 U.S. 544, 99 S.Ct. 2470
5 ACESTEREVER TERE ar eevee En STR Henan NOD REO 33
U.S. v. Wilkens, 742 F.3d 354 (8th Cir. 2014)...... 24, 37
Utility Air Regulatory Group v. E.PA., 134
ca a eaomaananeliiie 27
Warnebold v. Union Pacific R.R., 963 F.2d 222
| ___ a IRRED eeee ani cearoe nen DEC N a ener 21
Warren v. Paragon Technologies Group, Inc.,
ee ee ee I GU, TD cree virecnsosnncesnnncsensowsasises 15
STATUTES
IN IE seiheli hdsiihiniiihcseneinisiaiassdesipiabenciubiniiioiineanieh passim
I I a Cia deicienitialadis passim
AE EEN ee erent 2, 33, 34, 35
I a a 35
a a 29
ee I Cs BI CIID oscernececesccniacusconcteniunossevens 17
Mo. Rev. Stat. Ann. §474.160 ...00..0......0cccccceceeceeeeeeees 17

es SA, ee RO ccc cccscccesenivinsenstnnnaveowsenns 17

xX

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page
REGULATIONS
RC nee SE EE Ie 12
ge 2 8 Se 10, 12, 19, 31
I 7, 12, 14, 16
OTHER AUTHORITIES
Dodd-Frank Wall Street Reform and Consumer
Protection Act, Pub.L. No. 111-203, 124 Stat.
I ial 22, 33, 34
Equal Credit Opportunity Act, Pub.L. No. 94-
fk | | ___ RERR ORS repenons mc Ennen mane 10
Official Staff Interpretations, 12 C.F.R. Pt. 202,
I cctlicisnsinctiintidomadatelniinnidhebsincenatinlient 16
Revision of Regulation B, 50 Fed.Reg. 48,018
EERSTE A Ea eerste een Be ORE eee eRe ener 12
S.Rep. No. 589, 94th Cong., 2nd Sess. 3 (1976),
reprinted in 1976 U.S. CoDE Conc. & ADMIN.
EAE SS Ey Aa kee eae cE 11, 12
Webster’s Third New International Dictionary
ERE REALE Ne ee een hie SEN es eee 24

Webster’s Third New International Dictionary
ESR ESI RIE Pn eC me 26

xl

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued
Page
TREATISES

STEPHEN M. SHAPIRO, et al., SUPREME COURT
PRACTICE, Ch. 4.4(f) (10th ed. 2013)...........0..0000000.. 13

2B NORMAN J. SINGER, et al., SUTHERLAND
STATUTES AND STATUTORY CONSTRUCTION,
re en sceciceemtineusnmuadenniinmaaaanse 33

1

INTRODUCTION

Petitioners request that the Court grant a writ of
certiorari to review the Eighth Circuit's decision in
Hawkins v. Community Bank of Raymore, 761 F.3d
937 (8th Cir. 2014). In Hawkins, the Eighth Circuit
held that a guarantor is not an “applicant” for credit
under the plain meaning of the statutory definition
provided by Congress in the Equal Credit Opportuni-
ty Act (“ECOA”), 15 U.S.C. §1691, et seg., and that the
Federal Reserve Board (“FRB”) exceeded its authority
when, more than 10 years after the ECOA’s enact-
ment, and though the original regulatory definition—
consistent with the plain meaning of the statutory
definition—expressly excluded guarantors, it at-
tempted to re-define the regulatory definition to
include guarantors.

Although the Eighth Circuit reached a different
result than the Sixth Circuit did two months earlier
in RL BB Acquisition, LLC v. Bridgemill Commons
Development Group, LLC, 754 F.3d 380 (6th Cir.
2014), the petition should be denied because Petition-
ers have failed to demonstrate that the Eighth Cir-
cuit, applying the two-step inquiry dictated by
Chevron, U.S.A. Inc. v. Natural Res. Def. Council, 467
U.S. 837, 104 S.Ct. 2778 (1984), and well-defined
rules of statutory construction, erred in finding that
the statutory definition is unambiguous and does not
include guarantors. Nor have Petitioners shown that
the disagreement between the Eighth and Sixth
Circuits creates an intolerable conflict.

2

Recognizing the inherent weakness in the Sixth
Circuit’s “ambiguity” finding, Petitioners argue that
the Court should examine the statute using the
definition they wish Congress had used: “The ques-
tion for this Court is whether...guarantors are ‘appli-
cants’ for ‘any aspect of a credit transaction’ under the
ECOA.” (Pet. at 4). But that is not the statutory
definition Congress provided. And neither Petitioners
nor the Court are at liberty to rewrite Congress’
unambiguous definition under the guise of statutory
construction. Moreover, Congress re-confirmed in the
2010 amendments to the ECOA that the “applicant”
is the first-party loan applicant who applies for credit
directly for its own benefit, and not third parties
“connected with” the applicant, such as the borrow-
er’s owners or guarantors. See 15 U.S.C. §1691c-2.

Further, contrary to Petitioners’ assertion, the
Eighth Circuit’s decision does not “conflict” with the
decision of any state court of last resort. Rather, in
the Alaska, Iowa, Missouri and Virginia Supreme
Court decisions to which Petitioners cite, the courts
merely assumed—without challenge by the litigants,
without performing the required Chevron-analysis,
and without actually deciding the issue—that the
FRB’s regulatory re-definition is valid. Thus, those
decisions do not conflict with the Eighth Circuit’s
decision in Hawkins, because the courts in those
cases did not address or decide the issue.

More importantly, however, the petition should
be denied because any decision this Court reaches
regarding the FRB’s authority to re-define who is an

3

“applicant” under the ECOA will have no impact on
the ultimate outcome of this case. That is because
Regulation B, even if it is valid, only prohibits a bank
from requiring a spousal-guaranty, and expressly
permits requiring a spousal-guaranty when the
guarantor-spouse has an interest in the borrowing
entity or otherwise benefits from the loan. Here, over
the course of five years, Petitioners repeatedly repre-
sented to CBR that their guaranties were being
provided “at the request of the Borrower” and that
they had “a direct and substantial economic interest
in the Borrower and expect{ed] to derive substantial
benefits from [the] loans....” Because Petitioners are
bound by their representations, they cannot show
that CBR required their guaranties. Further, Peti-
tioners waived any alleged ECOA-violations pursuant
to the valid, retrospective waivers in their guaranties.

Thus, even though the Eighth and Sixth Circuits
disagree over whether the FRB’s regulatory re-
definition of the term “applicant” to include guaran-
tors is valid, resolution of that issue is irrelevant to
the ultimate outcome of this case. Accordingly, this
case does not present the proper vehicle for the Court
to address that issue. The petition should therefore be
denied.

+

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

In 2004, Gary Hawkins, a successful certified
public accountant, and Chris Patterson, as co-trustee

4

of the Chris L. Patterson and Janice A. Patterson
Living Trust dated June 14, 2000 (the “Trust”), decid-
ed to embark on a speculative, side venture to develop
a residential subdivision in Peculiar, Missouri (the
“PHC-Property”), in the hope of capitalizing on the
booming real estate market. To avoid personal! liabil-
ity with regard to their development activities, they
chose to acquire and develop the PHC-Property
through PHC Development, LLC, a Missouri limited
liability company (“PHC”) they formed for that pur-
pose. Gary Hawkins and the Trust’ are two of PHC’s
members.

Petitioners Valerie Hawkins (“Hawkins”) and
Janice Patterson (“Patterson”) are Gary Hawkins’ and
Chris Patterson’s spouses. Hawkins is a Missouri-
licensed speech-language pathologist. She received
her undergraduate degree in 1986 and her Master’s
degree in 2011. Patterson received her bachelor’s
degree in business administration in 1977 and,
together with her husband, owns and operates sever-
al companies that own and operate a number of
convenience stores/gas stations in Missouri. The
Pattersons’ companies are owned by the Trust, and
the Pattersons are the Trust’s sole trustees and
lifetime beneficiaries.

' The Trust’s capital contributions to PHC came from the
Patterson's jointly-owned account, held in the name of their
d/b/a, “Patterson Enterprises.” All of the checks for the Trust’s
capital contributions were written and signed by Janice Patter-
son.

5

Between 2005 and 2008, PHC applied for and
obtained four commercial loans from CBR in the total
sum of $2,077,900 to acquire and develop the PHC-
Property. Collectively, the loans were modified, ex-
tended and renewed twelve times. At PHC’s request.
each of the loans and renewals was guaranteed by
Petitioners and Gary Hawkins and Chris Patterson.*
Petitioners each signed a total of sixteen guaranties.

In signing their first three guaranties, Petition-
ers affirmatively represented and warranted, in
writing, that they were being provided “at the request
of [PHC],” and that they each had “a direct and
substantial economic interest in [PHC] and expect/ed]
to derive substantial benefits from any loans and
financial accommodations resulting in the creation of
the indebtedness guarantied....”

In signing their remaining thirteen guaranties,
Petitioners represented and warranted, in writing,
that “no representations or agreements of any kind”
were made to them “which would limit or qualify in
any way the terms of [their guaranties)”; that their
guaranties were being “executed at [PHC’s] request
and not at the request of [CBR]”; that they read,
understood and agreed to the terms of their guaranties;

* The Joans and several of the Pattersons’ guaranties were
secured by deeds of trust on the PHC-Property and/or one of the
Pattersons’ convenience stores, known as the “Rush Hour.” The
Rush Hour was owned by one of the Pattersons’ limited liability
companies, Patterson Raymore. LLC (“Patterson Raymore”),
which is also owned by the Trust.

6

that the guaranties fully reflected their intentions;
and that they had an opportunity to consult with
their own counsel prior to signing them. Petitioners
also unambiguously waived any claims or defenses
against CBR, other than actual payment:

GUARANTOR’S WAIVERS ....

Guarantor also waives any and all rights or
defenses based on suretyship or impairment
of collateral including, but not limited to, any
rights or defenses arising by reason of...(C)
any disability or other defense of Borrower,
of any other guarantor, or of any other per-
son...other than payment in full..., of the In-
debtedness;...or (F) any defenses given to
guarantors at law or in equity other than ac-
tual payment and performance of the In-
debtedness.

Guarantor further waives and agrees not to
assert or claim at any time any deductions to
the amount guaranteed under this Guaranty
for any claim of setoff, counterclaim, counter
demand, recoupment or similar right....

GUARANTOR’S UNDERSTANDING WITH
RESPECT TO WAIVERS. Guarantor war-
rants and agrees that each of the waivers set
forth above is made with Guarantor’s full
knowledge of its significance and conse-
quences....

On April 16, 2012, after PHC refused to make
required loan payments, CBR declared the loans in
default and made demand for payment on PHC,

7

Petitioners and the other guarantors. CBR subse-
quently foreclosed on the PHC-Property and the Rush
Hour.

Attempting to retract their prior, repeated repre-
sentations made to induce CBR to make and renew
the loans, on May 31, 2012, Petitioners sued CBR in
the District Court, claiming for the first time that
they had no interest in PHC and that CBR “required”
their guaranties. Petitioners claimed that by doing so,
without first performing a creditworthiness-analysis
of their husbands,’ CBR discriminated against them
on the basis of their marital status in violation of the
ECOA, 15 U.S.C. §1691l(a), and Regulation B, 12
C.F.R. §202.7(d).‘ Petitioners made these assertions
notwithstanding that (1) Hawkins admitted in sworn
testimony that Gary Hawkins did not have the finan-
cial wherewithal to do the PHC-project on his own; (2)
Chris Patterson signed numerous loan documents
acknowledging that the PHC-membership interest is

* Patterson also asserted that as a trustee and beneficiary
of the Trust she had a direct interest in Patterson Raymore and
the Rush Hour, and that CBR violated the ECOA by “requiring”
her to sign the Patterson Raymore deeds of trust on its behalf.

* At the same time, PHC, Gary Hawkins. Chris Patterson,
Patterson Raymore and the Patterson’s operating company,
Patterson Oil Co., Inc., sued CBR in the Circuit Court of Cass
County, Missouri, seeking to escape liability on the loans, Garv
Hawkins’ and Chris Patterson's guaranties and the deeds of
trust. See PHC Development, et al. v. Community Bank of
Raymore, No. 12CA-CV001896 and Patterson Oil Co., et al. v.
Community Bank of Raymore, No. 12CA-CV001932. Those
actions remain pending.

8

held by the Trust, rather than by himself, individual-
ly; and (3) Patterson admitted in sworn testimony
that she, the Trust, and the Pattersons’ LLC’s are one

and the same: “I am me, I am the trust, I am every
LLC....We’re all one.”

After Petitioners sued CBR, it asserted a coun-
terclaim for breach of Petitioners’ guaranties, and
subsequently amended its counterclaim to include a
claim for fraud, based on Petitioners’ assertion that
the representations they made in their guaranties
were false. Petitioners asserted CBR’s alleged ECOA-
violation as an affirmative defense.

On summary judgment, the District Court held
that Petitioners, as guarantors, were not “applicants,”
and that CBR did not violate the ECOA by obtaining
their guaranties. (Petitioners’ Appendix (“Pet.App.”)
20-23).° The District Court entered judgment against
Petitioners on their ECOA-claim and struck their
ECOA-defense (the “ECOA Ruling”). Id. In an earlier
ruling, the District Court struck Petitioners’ jury
demand (the “Jury Waiver Ruling”), finding that
Petitioners were educated and sophisticated and that
they “knowingly and voluntarily” agreed to waive
their right to a jury trial when they signed their
guaranties. In doing so, the District Court found that
Petitioners repeatedly represented that they read,

* The District Court also held that Patterson could not state
an ECOA-claim based on the Patterson Raymore deeds of trust.
(Pet.App. 23). Petitioners did not appeal that ruling.

9

understood and agreed to the terms of their guaran-
ties, that their guaranties fully reflected their inten-
tions, and that they had the opportunity to discuss
the same with their attorneys, and held that it would
not “allow the Plaintiffs to evade the agreed-upon
waiver simply because they no longer wish to be
bound by it.” (Respondent’s Appendix (“Resp.App.”) 8-
9).

After declining to exercise supplemental jurisdic-
tion over CBR’s counterclaims,’ the District Court
entered its Amended Judgment on September 10,
2013. Petitioners appealed the ECOA and Jury Waiv-
er Rulings. However, on appeal, Petitioner’s did not
challenge the District Court’s conclusion that they
“knowingly and voluntarily” waived their right to a
jury trial or any of the factual findings supporting
that conclusion.

On August 5, 2014, the Eighth Circuit affirmed
the ECOA Ruling and declined to review the Jury
Waiver Ruling, finding it was moot. (Pet.App. 10-11).
Hawkins, 761 F.3d 937. In affirming the ECOA Rul-
ing, the Eighth Circuit, applying the two-step inquiry
required by Chevron, correctly determined that (1)
the statutory definition of the term “applicant” in 15
U.S.C. §1691la(b) is unambiguous and does not in-
clude a guarantor, and (2) the FRB exceeded its

* CBR subsequently re-filed its counterclaims in state court.
See Community Bank of Raymore v. Valerie Hawkins, et al., Case
No. 13CA-CV002998. That action is still pending.

10

authority when it purported to re-define that term to
include guarantors in 12 C.F_R. §202.2(e).

S

REASONS FOR DENYING THE PETITION

I. Review is not warranted because it will
have no effect on the outcome of this case
where Petitioners repeatedly represented
that they have an interest in PHC, and ac-
tually do, and that their guaranties were
provided at PHC’s request, and Petition-
ers waived any alleged ECOA-violations.

The ECOA was enacted in 1974’ “to eradicate
discrimination waged against women, especially
married women whom creditors traditionally refused
to consider for individual credit.” Anderson v. United
Fin. Co., 666 F.2d 1274, 1277 (9th Cir. 1982): see also
Mayes v. Chrysler Credit Corp., 37 F.3d 9, 11 (1st Cir.
1994). Prior to its enactment, creditors traditionally
refused to extend individual credit to married women
and required that husbands co-sign their wives’ loan
applications as a condition of approving such loans.
Anderson, 666 F.2d at 1277. Thus, as Judge Posner
recognized in Moran Foods, Inc. v. Mid-Atlantic
Market Development Co., LLC, 476 F.3d 436 (7th Cir.

" The ECOA was amended in 1976 to prohibit discrimina-
tion against an applicant on the basis of race, color, religion,
national origin and age, in addition to sex and marital status.
Equal Credit Opportunity Act, Pub.L. No. 94-239, §2, 90 Stat.
251 (1976).

ll

2007), “[s]o far as the prohibition against discrimina-
tion on the basis of marriage is concerned...it is
apparent that what the [ECOA) was intended to do
was to forbid a creditor to deny credit to a woman on
the basis of a belief that she would be not be a good
credit risk because she would be distracted by child
care or some other stereotypically female responsibil-
ity.” Id. at 441 (citations omitted).

The ECOA provides that “(ijt shall be unlawful
for any creditor to discriminate against any applicant,
with respect to any aspect of a credit transaction...on
the basis of...marital status...” 15 U.S.C.
§1691(a)emphasis added). For purposes of the pro-
scribed conduct, Congress unambiguously defined an
“applicant” as:

[A]ny person who applies to a creditor direct-

ly for an extension, renewal, or continuation

of credit, or applies to a creditor indirectly by

use of an existing credit plan for an amount

exceeding a previously established credit
limit.

15 U.S.C. §1691a(b).

Consistent with Congress’ express intent “that
the essential prohibition in [the] legislation is di-
rected at discrimination against applicants,” S.Rep.
No. 589, 94th Cong., 2nd Sess. 3 (1976), reprinted in
1976 U.S. Cope Conc. & ADMIN. News 403, 407

12

(“S.Rep. No. 94-589”\emphasis added),’ the original
regulations adopted by the FRB, acknowledging the
unambiguous, statutory definition, expressly excluded
guarantors from the regulatory definition:

Applicant means any person who requests or
who has received an extension of credit from
a creditor, and includes any person who is or
may be contractually liable regarding an ex-
tension of credit other than a guarantor, sure-
ty, endorser, or similar party.

12 C.F.R. §202.2(e) (1977)(emphasis added).

However, effective December 16, 1985, in direct
conflict with Congress’ clear intent, the FRB purport-
ed to substantively change the ECOA’s scope by re-

defining the term “applicant” to include guarantors.
12 C.F.R. §202.2(e) (1985).* Despite the FRB’s attempt

* Not surprisingly, the word “guarantor” does not appear
anywhere in the ECOA’s legislative history. /d.

* In re-defining who is an “applicant” for credit, the FRB
claimed that “the principal effect of the amendment [was] to give
guarantors...standing to seek legal remedies when a violation
occurs under §202.7(d).” Revision of Regulation B, 50 Fed.Reg.
48,018, 48,020 (1985). However, the Official Staff Interpreta-
tions confirmed that the effect of the amendment was much
broader than simply granting “standing” to a guarantor where
requiring a guaranty constituted discrimination against the
“applicant” for credit and that, under the FRB’s re-definition,
the ECOA and Regulation B would now “bar a creditor from
requiring the signature of a guarantor’s spouse just as they bar
the creditor from requiring the signature of an applicant's
spouse.” 50 Fed.Reg. 48.018, 48,052 (emphasis added). Thus, the
FRB’s re-definition purports to substantively change both the

(Continued on following page)

13

to re-define the term “applicant” to include guaran-
tors, Congress has never amended the statutory
definition to include anyone other than those persons
that come within the term’s plain meaning, i.e., a
borrower. And it has never expanded the conduct
prohibited by the ECOA to encompass anything other
than discrimination against an “applicant.”

Petitioners suggest that the disagreement be-
tween the Eighth Circuit in Hawkins, 761 F.3d 937
and the Sixth Circuit in RL BB Acquisition, 754 F.3d
380, regarding the validity of the FRB's re-definition
of the term “applicant” to include guarantors, war-
rants review of that issue in this case. But resolution
of that issue is irrelevant to the ultimate outcome of
this case, which, irrespective of the FRB’s re-
definition, can be sustained on a number of alterna-
tive grounds. See Noriega v. Pastrana, 130 S.Ct. 1002,
1009 (2010)(noting that review of a statute’s validity
is not warranted where decision can be sustained on
alternate grounds); STEPHEN M. SHAPIRO, et al., Su-
PREME COURT PRACTICE, Ch. 4.4(f) at 249 (10th ed.
2013\noting that where resolution of an issue “is
irrelevant to the ultimate outcome of the case before
the Court,” review is not warranted).

conduct prohibited and the persons afforded protection. See
Mayes, 37 F.3d at 11 (“the regulation’s change in ‘standing’ was

actually a surrogate for an enlarged view of what is unlaw-
hy |

14

A. Petitioners are bound by their admis-
sion that their guaranties were pro-
vided at PHC’s’ request. Thus,
Petitioners cannot show that they
were required to provide their guar-
anties in purported violation of the
ECOA.

The fundamental prohibition in the regulations
implemented by the FRB is that a creditor shall not
require the signature of the applicant’s spouse on a
credit instrument except in limited circumstances. 12
C.F.R. §202.7(d). But nothing in the ECOA or the
regulations prohibits a creditor from obtaining a
spousal-guaranty when it is offered or provided at the
borrower’s request. Jd.; see also U.S. v. Meadors, 753
F.2d 590, 593 (7th Cir. 1985)(holding that the ECOA
was not implicated where wife was not required to
sign guaranty, but voluntarily did so).

Here, over the course of five years, in order to
induce CBR to loan PHC over $2 million for a specu-
lative real estate venture, Petitioners represented on
sixteen separate occasions that their guaranties were
being provided “at the request of [PHC/.” On each
occasion, Petitioners also acknowledged that they
read, understood and agreed to the terms of their
guaranties, that their guaranties fully reflected their
intentions, and that they had the opportunity to
consult with counsel prior to signing them. And while
Petitioners had no qualms in making these represen-
tations to induce CBR to make the loans, now that
they no longer find them convenient, Petitioners seek

15

to cavalierly toss their solemn, written representa-
tions aside.

The District Court, finding that Petitioners were
sophisticated and educated and that they “knowingly
and voluntarily” waived their right to a jury trial
when they signed their multiple guaranties, refused
to allow Petitioners to evade their repeated, written
representations when they similarly sought to recant
that agreement “simply because they no longer
wish[ed] to be bound by it.” (Resp.App. 5-9). Petition-
ers did not appeal! that ruling and are bound by the
District Court’s findings and conclusions. Coney v.
Union Pacific R.R., 136 F.3d 1195, 1197 (8th Cir.
1998). And just like Petitioners are bound by their
knowing and voluntary waiver of their right to a jury
trial, they are equally bound by their repeated repre-
sentations that their guaranties were provided at
PHC’s request. Warren v. Paragon Technologies Group.
Inc., 950 S.W.2d 844, 846 (Mo. 1997)(“Parties are
presumed to read what they sign.”).

Because CBR did not require Petitioners’ guaran-
ties, whether the FRB’s re-definition of “applicant” to
include guarantors is valid or not is irrelevant to the
outcome of this case, as neither the ECOA nor Regu-
lation B prohibit a spouse from voluntarily providing
a guaranty, as Petitioners did here. Thus. the petition
should be denied.

16

B. Petitioners cannot contradict their
representation that they have “a di-
rect and substantial economic interest
in [PHC] and expectied] to derive sub-
stantial benefits from any loans” they
guaranteed. Thus, CBR could properly
require their guaranties.

Petitioners claim that they have no interest in
PHC or the loans. But that is not what they repre-
sented to CBR when they signed their first three
guaranties. Rather, to induce CBR to loan PHC over
$2 million, Petitioners confirmed, in writing, that:

13. RELIANCE. I acknowledge that you
are relying on this Guaranty in extending
credit to the Borrower, and I have signed this
Guaranty to induce you to extend such cred-
it. [represent and warrant to you that I have
a direct and substantial economic interest in
[PHC] and expect to derive substantial bene-
fii. from any loans and financial accommo-
dations...guarantied hereby.

The Official Staff Interpretations of Regulation B
permit a lender to require the owners of the borrower
to guarantee a loan. Official Staff Interpretations, 12
C.F.R. Pt. 202, Supp. I, §202.7(d)6). And the cases
hold that “a lender can require the signature of a
borrower’s spouse who co-owns the entity benefiting
from the loan.” Ballard v. Bank of America, 734
F.3d 308, 310-11 (4th Cir. 2013); see, e.g., Midlantic
Natl Bank v. Hansen, 48 F.3d 693, 700 (3d Cir.
1995\where loans financed company co-owned by

17

spouses, “at the very least,” wife was a de facto joint
applicant who could be required to guarantee lcans);
Riggs Nat'l Bank v. Webster, 832 F.Supp. 147, 151
(D.Md. 1993where loan was obtained to renovate
property owned by borrower’s wife, she was a “de
facto joint applicant” who could be required to sign
loan); Baybank v. Bornhofft, 694 N.E.2d 854, 859
(Mass. 1998)(where co-maker owned a 25% interest
in trust that received loan proceeds and trust’s
assets were collateral for the loan, co-maker/
beneficiary was a joint applicant and could be re-
quired to sign loan).

Despite their belated protestations that they
have no interest in PHC or the loans, Petitioners’
assertions contradict the express representations
they made to induce CBR to make the loans.” If those
representations were untrue, Petitioners could easily
have struck those statements from their guaranties
and given CBR a ‘air chance to protect itself against
after-the-fact charges of wrongdoing. Permitting
Petitioners to disavow those representations now,
only after the loans have been fully funded and are in
default, would violate Missouri’s parol evidence rule,
destroying the sanctity of written contracts. Johnson

" In Missouri, spouses have a marital interest in the other
spouse’s property which is subject to a forced, elective-share at
death. Mo. Rev. Stat. Ann. §§ 474.160, 474.170. This marital
interest is more than a “mere expectancy.” and permits a wife to
maintain an action during her husband's lifetime to recover
property transferred in fraud of her martial interest. Id. at
§474.150.

18

ex rel. Johnson v. JF Enterprises, LLC, 400 S.W.3d
763, 769 (Mo. 2013)(the parol evidence rule is a
substantive rule that precludes the use of extrinsic
evidence to contradict an integrated agreement, and
is intended to preserve the sanctity of contracts).
Missouri law prohibits Petitioners from using their
own fraud to escape the bar of the parol evidence
rule. Henderson v. Henderson’s Ex’r, 13 Mo. 151, 1850
WL 4163, 2 (1850)(a party cannot use its own fraud to
vary or contradict a contract). Thus, because Peti-
tioners cannot contradict their written representa-
tions, and because obtaining their guaranties was
permissible in light of Petitioners’ representations,
any decision by this Court regarding the FRB’s au-
thority to re-define “applicant” to include guarantors
will not change the outcome of this case."

Moreover, while Petitioners claim that Chris
Patterson, as a co-trustee, and not the Trust, is the
PHC-member, Patterson admitted that she and the

" As the Eighth Circuit noted, under Missouri law, “co-
ownership of property [and accounts] by a husband and wife
creates a presumption of tenancy by the entireties,” such that
“execution against one spouse alone cannot affect property
held...as tenants by the entirety.” Hawkins, 761 F.3d at 942, n. 6
(internal citations omitted). Considering that Missouri spouses
can move their property in and out of tenancy by the entirety
status at whim, depriving a creditor of access to assets and
accounts it took into consideration in deciding to extend credit
prior to default and before the lending relationship failed,
requiring Petitioners’ guaranties would have been a “sound
commercial practice unrelated to any stereotypical view of a
wife’s role.” Jd. (quoting Moran Foods, 476 F.3d at 442).

19

Trust are one and the same: “I am me, I am the trust,
I am every LLC....We’re all one.” Further, all capital
contributions made to PHC came from jointly-owned
funds in the Pattersons’ joint account, held in the
name of their d/b/a, “Patterson Enterprises,” giving
Patterson a direct interest in PHC. And Patterson, as
a co-trustee and lifetime beneficiary of the Trust,
holds a legal and beneficial interest in the PHC-
membership interest. Horn v. Muckerman, 307
S.W.2d 482, 485 (Mo. 1957); Thompson v. Koenen, 396
S.W.3d 429, 435 (Mo. Ct. App. 2013). Because Patter-
son has an interest in the PHC-membership interest
and hence, PHC, even under the FRB’s re-definition,
Patterson’s guaranties could have properly been
required. See Baybank, supra. Thus, the validity of 12
C.F.R. §202.2(e) is irrelevant to the ultimate outcome
of this case, and the petition should therefore be
denied.

C. Petitioners waived any ECOA-claims
in the valid, retrospective waivers in
their guaranties.

Rights under the ECOA, like other federal statu-
tory rights, can be waived. Ballard, 734 F.3d at 313-
314; CB 2010 LLC v. Ithaca Coatings, No. 12-13930,
2013 WL 2250168, 9 (E.D.Mich. May 22, 2013); see
also Truckenbrodt v. First Alliance Mortgage Co., No.
96-C-822, 1996 WL422150, 2 (N.D_Ill. July 24, 1996)
(“There is no indication that Congress intended to
preclude a waiver of judicial remedies under the

ECOA.”).

20

In CB 2010, the court held that although such
rights can only be waived retrospectively, where the
conduct complained of was the bank’s obtaining
guaranties without first making a creditworthiness
determination, as Petitioners claim here, the alleged
ECOA-violation had already occurred at the time the
defendants signed their guaranties. 2013 WL
2250168, 9. Thus, the waiver of claims and defenses
in the defendants’ guaranties operated retrospectively
and barred their ECOA-claim. /d.; Ballard, 734 F.3d
at 313-314 (declining to enforce waiver in original
guaranties, but holding that waivers in subsequent
loan-restructuring was valid).

Like the retrospective waivers in the CB 2010
guaranties, which are identical to the waivers in the
last thirteen guaranties Petitioners signed, Petition-
ers waived “any defenses given to guarantors at law
or in equity other than actual payment and perfor-
mance of the Indebtedness,” and waived and agreed
not to assert “any claim of setoff, counterclaim, coun-
ter demand, recoupment or similar right.” 2013 WL
2250168, 9. Petitioners similarly warranted that
“each of the waivers...[was] made with Guarantor’s
full knowledge of its significance and consequences,”
that they fully read, understood and agreed to the
guaranties’ terms, that the guaranties fully reflected
their intentions, and that they had an opportunity to
consult with counsel prior to signing them. /d.

Because any alleged ECOA-violations occurred
before Petitioners signed their guaranties, the waivers
in those guaranties are valid, retrospective waivers

21

and bar Petitioners’ ECOA-claims and defenses. CB
2010, supra at 3, 9; accord, Warnebold v. Union
Pacific R.R., 963 F.2d 222, 223 (8th Cir. 1992). Thus,
whether the FRB’s re-definition is valid is irrelevant
to the outcome of this case. The petition should
therefore be denied.

IT.

The Eighth Circuit’s recent disagreement
with the Sixth Circuit on the issue of
whether the statutory definition of the
term “applicant” in the ECOA is unam-
biguous does not warrant review. The
Eighth Circuit correctly interpreted the
statutory definition according to its plain
meaning, whereas the Sixth Circuit ig-
nored basic rules of statutory construc-
tion and its prior holdings in order to
manufacture an ambiguity. Further, in its
most recent amendment of the ECOA in
2010, Congress made clear that the “ap-
plicant” is the borrower, not third parties
who participate in the larger loan trans-
action, such as guarantors.

This case raises the unremarkable question of

a federal agency’s authority to adopt regulations
that directly contradict Congress’ clear intent, as
unambiguously expressed in a statute. Although the
Court has not previously addressed Regulation B’s

22

validity,” there is nothing exceptional about applying
the now-canonical, two-step analysis dictated by the
Court in Chevron to determine whether the FRB’s re-
definition of the term “applicant” to include guaran-
tors is valid.

Under Chevron’s framework, a court must first
determine “whether Congress has directly spoken to
the precise question at issue. If the intent of Congress
is clear, that is the end of the matter; for the court, as
well as the agency, must give effect to the unambigu-
ously expressed intent of Congress.” 467 U.S. at 842.
104 S.Ct. at 2781. Thus, “liJf a court, employing
traditional tools of statutory construction, ascertains
that Congress had an intention on the precise ques-
tion at issue, that intention is the law and must be
given effect.” Jd. at 843, n. 9, 104 S.Ct. 2782, n. 9.
“Statutory construction must begin with the language
employed by Congress and the assumption that the
ordinary meaning of that language accurately ex-
presses the legislative purpose.” Schindler Elevator
Corp. v. U.S. ex rel. Kirk, 131 S.Ct. 1885, 1891
(2011 citation omitted). Thus, “[w]hen the words of a
statute are unambiguous...[the] first canon [of statu-
tory construction] is also the last,” and the “judicial
inquiry is complete.” Connecticut Nat. Bank v.

* The ECOA was amended in 2010 to transfer rule-making
authority to the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau
(“CFPB”). See Dodd-Frank Wall Street Reform and Consumer
Protection Act, Pub.L. No. 111-203, §§ 1085(1), (3), 124 Stat.
2083 (2010) (“Dodd-Frank Act”).

23

Germain, 503 U.S. 249, 253-254, 112 S.Ct. 1146,
1149 (1992). It is only where “the statute is silent or
ambiguous with respect to the specific issue” present-
ed that a court proceeds to Chevron’s second step,
requiring that the court determine whether “the
agency's reading fills a gap or determines a term in a
reasonable way in light of the Legislature’s design.”
Regions Hosp. v. Shalala, 522 U.S. 448, 450, 118 S.Ct.
909, 911 (1998)(citing Chevron, 467 U.S. at 843, n. 11,
104 S.Ct. at 2782, n. 11).

A. Recognizing its paramount obligation
to interpret the ECOA according to its
plain meaning, the Eighth Circuit re-
fused to manufacture an ambiguity to
validate an invalid regulation.

In Hawkins, the Eighth Circuit, applying well-
defined rules of statutory construction, held that the
statutory definition of the term “applicant” is not
ambiguous and that under that definition, a guaran-
tor is not an “applicant” and chus, is not entitled to
protection from marital-status discrimination under
the ECOA. Hawkins, 761 F.3d at 941-943.

In reaching this conclusion, the Eighth Circuit
noted that Congress explicitly provided that “[t]o
qualify as an applicant under the ECOA, a person
must ‘applly] to a creditor directly for...credit....’” Id.
at 941 (quoting §1691a(b)). Looking to the definition
of the term “apply,” which means “to make an appeal
or request esp(ecially] formally and often in writing

24

and usulally] for something of benefit to oneself,” id.
(quoting Webster’s Third New International Diction-
ary 105 (2002)), the court concluded that “the plain
language of the ECOA unmistakably provides that a
person is an applicant only if she requests credit.” Jd.
Recognizing that “a guaranty is an undertaking...to
answer for payment of some debt, or performance of
some contract, of another person in the event of
default,” which is “collateral and secondary to the
underlying loan transaction between the lender and
borrower,”” the court reasoned that by signing a
guaranty, a person does not request credit. 761 F.2d

Seizing upon the Eighth Circuit’s use of the term “sec-
ondary,” Petitioners argue that the court ignored that their
guaranties render them “primarily and unconditionally” liable.
Petitioners, however, admitted in the Eighth Circuit that their
liability was contingent on PHC’s default. Moreover, their
argument ignores the very nature of a guaranty, which only
subjects them to liability in the event of default. Central Bank of
Kansas City v. Perry, 427 S.W.3d 285, 288 (Mo. Ct. App. 2014X“A
guaranty is a contract in which a guarantor agrees to become
secondarily liable for the obligation of a debtor in the event the
debtor does not perform the primary obligation....The heart of a
contract for guaranty is that the signor has agreed to be liable
principally for another’s debt,” upon default.). That contingent
liability distinguishes a guarantor from a co-maker, who is
responsible for making payments both before and after default.
Further, Petitioners failed to raise this argument in the District
Court, and only raised it for the first time in their reply in the
Eighth Circuit, thereby waiving it. Cole v. Intern. Union, United
Auto., Aerospace & Agr. Implement Workers of America, 533 F.3d
932, 936 (8th Cir. 2008)arguments not raised in the district
court in opposing summary judgment are waived on appeal):
U.S. v. Wilkens, 742 F.3d 354, 360 (8th Cir. 2014 arguments not
raised in an opening brief on appeal are waived).

25

at 941-942 (internal citation omitted). And because a
guarantor does not request credit, the court concluded
that a guarantor does not “qualify as an applicant
under the unambiguous text of the ECOA.” Jd. at 941.
In reaching this conclusion, the court agreed with
Judge Posner, who similarly found that “there is
nothing ambiguous about [the term] ‘applicant’ and
no way to confuse an applicant with a guarantor.” Jd.
at 942 (quoting Moran Foods, 476 F.3d at 441). The
court therefore held that it would not defer to the
FRB’s re-definition, and that “a guarantor is not
protected from marital-status discrimination by the
ECOA.” Id. at 942. Thus, because Petitioners only
argued that they qualified as “applicants” based on
their status as guarantors and did not assert that
they participated in the loan application process, * the
court held that Petitioners are not “applicants,” and
that CBR did not violate the ECOA by “requiring”
their guaranties. Jd. at 943.

Judge Colloton, in his concurring opinion, noted
that under the “usual meaning” of the term “to apply,”

‘* Petitioners suggest that even if they were not applicants
in connection with the original loans, they were on each renewal!
because they “certainly wanted ‘an extension, renewal or
continuation of credit.’” Petitioners waived this argument by
failing to raise it in the District Court. Cole, 533 F.3d at 936.
Further, Petitioners’ argument, bereft of any facts, fails to
explain how a guarantor’s mere hope that the maturity date of a
loan will be postponed constitutes a request or application “for
an extension, renewal or continuation of credit.” 15 U.S.C.
§1691a(b).

26

as understood at the time the ECOA was enacted, “an
‘applicant’ who ‘applies for credit’ is the one who
requests credit to benefit herself, not credit to benefit
a third party.” Jd. at 943 (citing Webster’s Third New
International Dictionary 105 (1971)). Examining the
text of the ECOA, as a whole, Judge Colloton found
that “[t]he context of the ECOA confirms that Con-
gress employed the ordinary meaning of the term
‘apply in the phrase ‘applies for credit,’” and that the
statute “contemplates a first-party applicant who
requests credit to benefit herself.” Jd. For example,
Judge Colloton noted that “the use of the definite
article” in §1691(d)(1), which requires that within 30
days “after receipt of a completed application for
credit, a creditor shall notify the applicant of its
action on the application,” id. (emphasis in original),
“shows that the applicant is the single person to
whom credit would be extended, not a third party
asking on behalf of the putative debtor.” 761 F.3d at
943.

Further confirming that the “applicant” is the
borrower to whom credit is extended, Judge Colloton
looked to the 1991 amendment adding §1691(e)1),
which “refers to a creditor taking action in connection
with ‘the applicant’s application for a loan,” and
pointed out that “it would be unnatural to conclude
that a third party who offers a promise in support of
an application thereby submits what the statute
describes as an ‘application for a loan’...and a ‘com-
pleted application for credit[.)’” 761 F.2d at 943-944
(citing §§ 1691(d)(1) and (eX1)). Likewise, Judge

27

Colloton noted that in §1691(d)(4), the statute “specif-
ically envisions the involvement of a third party who
requests an extension of credit to a first-party appli-
cant, but distinguishes between the third-party
requestor and the ‘applicant.’” Jd. at 944. Judge
Colloton concluded that this distinction between the
applicant and a third party in the statutory text,
again, confirms that “the ‘applicant’ is the party to
whom credit will be extended.” Jd.

Because “an agency has no power to ‘tailor’
legislation to bureaucratic policy goals by rewriting
unambiguous statutory terms,” and can only exercise
its discretion in the “interstices created by statutory
silence or ambiguity,” Utility Air Regulatory Group v.
E.PA., 134 S.Ct. 2427, 2445 (2014), as Judge Colloton
aptly acknowledged, “[wjhen the ordinary meaning
[of a term] aligns with a natural reading of [that]
term in the context of the statute, there is no ambigu-
ity that gives an agency license to adopt an alterna-
tive meaning. Id. (citing Carcieri v. Salazar, 555 U.S.
379, 388, 129 S.Ct. 1058, 1064 (2009)). If Congress
had wanted to include guarantors within the protec-
tion of the statute, it could have easily done so. By
only providing protection to the “applicant,” it did not.
Under Chevron, that should be the end of the inquiry.
Any dissatisfaction with that result lies with Con-
gress, not this Court.

28

B. The Sixth Circuit manufactured an
“ambiguity” in order to impose its own
view of what would best effectuate the
ECOA’s goal of preventing marital-
status discrimination.

In contrast to the plain meaning adopted by the
Eighth Circuit, two months earlier, in RL BB Acquisi-
tion, 754 F.3d 380, the Sixth Circuit, in order to
achieve what it perceived are the ECOA’s broad
remedial goals, focused its analysis on two words in
the statutory definition (“applies” and “credit”), in
isolation, to conclude that the statutory definition is
“ambiguous” and “could” be construed to “encompass
all those who offer promises in support of an applica-
tion—including guarantors,” who the court rational-
ized “make a formal request for aid in the form of
credit for a third party.” Jd. at 384-385. The Sixth
Circuit reached this result under the guise of statuto-
ry construction, notwithstanding its acknowledgment
that the statute does not “overtly include guarantors,”
and although it recognized that “[a] guarantor does
not traditionally approach a creditor herself asking
for credit,” but instead, “is a third party to the larger
application process.” Jd." Rather than assuming that
the ordinary meaning of the term “applies” “accurate-
ly expresses the legislative purpose,” see Schindler

* As the Eighth Circuit concluded, recognition that a
guarantor does not apply for credit in the “traditional” and usual
sense of the word should have ended the Sixth Circuit’s inquiry
because it “demonstrates that a guarantor unambiguously does
not request credit.” Hawkins, 761 F.3d at 941.

29

Elevator Corp., 131 S.Ct. at 1891, the Sixth Circuit,
stretching to find an ambiguity, rationalized that
because a guarantor offers her guaranty “in consider-
ation for the credit she hopes the borrower will re-
ceive,” a guarantor “does formally approach a creditor
in the sense that [she] offers up her own personal
liability to the creditor if the borrower defaults.” Jd.
But a guarantor does not “apply” for a loan by the
mere “hope” that credit will be extended to the
borrower, and the act of providing a guaranty has
never been thought of as applying for anything direct-
ly, within the traditional, plain meaning of that term.

Significantly, the Sixth Circuit’s conclusion
ignored the context in which the term “applies” is
used (including that, by the statute’s express terms, it
is limited to the person who “applies for credit direct-
ly”), 15 U.S.C. §169la(b)(emphasis added), and that
Congress explicitly distinguished between the appli-
cant and a third party who requests credit on the
applicant’s behalf. 15 U.S.C. §1691(d)(4). The court
also ignored that when Congress has intended to
include someone other than the person applying for
something for its own benefit within the term “appli-
cant,” it has expressly said so. See, e.g., 18 U.S.C.
§923(d)(1)(B)(providing that the “applicant” under the
Gun Control Act includes, “in the case of a corpora-
tion, partnership, or association, any individual
possessing, directly or indirectly, the power to direct
or cause the direction of the management and policies
of the corporation, partnership, or association....”).
Congress’ refusal to broadly define the “applicant” in

30

the ECOA makes clear that it intended that the term
be interpreted according to its plain meaning and
only encompass those persons requesting credit for
their own benefit.

Compounding its error, the court found that the
definition of the term “credit” in §1691la(d), which
uses the word “debtor” rather than “applicant,”
furthered the purported ambiguity by somehow
suggesting that the “applicant” and the “debtor” “are
not always the same person.” 754 F.3d at 385. From
that, the court jumped to the illogical conclusion that
“liJf an applicant is not necessarily the debtor, it
would be reasonable to conclude that the applicant
could be a third party, such as a guarantor.” /d. Its
conclusion, however, ignored its prior decision in
Barney v. Holzer Clinic, Ltd., 110 F.3d 1207 (6th Cir.
1997), where it acknowledged that the debtor and the
applicant are one and the same; the only distinction
being that prior to an extension of credit, that person
is an “applicant,” whereas after the extension of
credit, he becomes a “debtor.” Jd. at 1209. It also
ignored that Congress explicitly distinguished be-
tween the applicant and a third party requestor, and
chose to only prohibit discrimination against and
confer rights on the former. See 15 U.S.C. §1691(d\4).

The Sixth Circuit found comfort in its conclusion
based on its erroneous belief that it “accords with the
vast majority of courts that have examined the issue,”
754 F.3d at 386 (citing Empire Bank v. Dumond, No.
13-CV-388, 2013 WL 6238605, 6 (N.D.Okla. Dec. 3,
2013)), and that Congress has remained silent and

31

done nothing to “clarifly] that the term ‘applicant’
cannot include guarantors.” Jd.”

But the so-called “vast majority” to which the
Sixth Circuit referred never decided whether the
statutory definition is ambiguous, or whether the
regulatory definition is valid.’ Rather, other than the
Sixth Circuit, itself, the only courts that have actually
decided the issue after conducting the required Chev-
ron-analysis, have uniformly held that the statutory
definition is unambiguous and does not include

* Petitioners acknowledge the tenuous nature of the Sixth
Circuit’s “ambiguity” finding by arguing not that the statutory
definition is ambiguous, but that it contains a “gap” because it
does not expressly excluae guarantors. According to Petitioners,
in order to prevent the FRB from usurping its legislative role,
not only was Congress required to plainly state who the appli-
cant is, as it did, but it was apparently required to also state
everyone it isn’t. No rule of statutory construction requires such
useless redundancy.

“ The Dumond court, without discussion, found that
“[wJhether the term ‘applicant’ includes guarantors is not
unambiguous,” and held, ipso facto, that the FRB’s re-definition
in §202.2(e) is valid. 2013 WL 6238605, 6. It did so, however,
without examining the statutory language, without conducting a
Chevron-analysis, and without even attempting to explain what
it thought was “not unambiguous” with the statutory definition.
Like the Sixth Circuit, the court’s conclusion appears to have
been based on its own self-justification that “[a]ecepting that the
term includes guarantors would best effectuate the ECOA’s goal
of preventing discrimination on the basis of marital] status,” and
a reluctance to invalidate the FRB’s regulatory scheme unless it
was directed to do so by the Tenth Circuit. Jd. (citing Citgo
Petroleum Corp. v. Bulk Petroleum Corp., No. 08-CV654-TCK-
PJC, 2010 WL 3931496 (N.D.Okla. Oct. 5, 2010)).

32

guarantors. Hawkins, 761 F.3d 937; Moran Foods,
476 F.3d 436; Smithville 169 v. Citizen’s Bank &
Trust, No. 4:11-CV-0872-DFK, 2013 WL 434044
(W.D.Mo. Feb. 5, 2013); Arvest Bank v. Uppalapati,
No. 11-03175-S-DGK, 2013 WL 85336 (W.D.Mo. Jan.
7, 2013); Champion Bank v. Regional Development,
LLC, No. 4:08CV1807-CDP, 2009 WL 1351122 (E.D.Mo.
May 13, 2009).”

C. Congressional silence is not a license
for courts to ignore a statute’s plain
meaning. But here, Congress has not
remained silent. In the 2010 amend-
ments to the ECOA, Congress re-
confirmed that the “applicant” is the
person who applies for a loan to bene-
fit itself.

Moreover, while the Sixth Circuit justified its
ambiguity finding in perceived congressional] silence,
this Court has been clear that legislative silence is no
aid to interpretation where, as in this case, there is

* The other circuits that have touched on the issue of
whether guarantors are protected under the ECOA did so
without performing the required Chevron-analysis, and merely
assumed, without challenge, that the FRB’s re-definition is
valid. See, e.g., Silverman v. Eastrich Multiple Investor Fund,
L.P., 51 F.3d 28 (3d Cir. 1995); Mayes, 37 F.3d 9. Significantly,
these courts were never asked to decide whether the FRB’s re-
definition is valid, nor did they purport to decide that issue. The
fact that these and other courts, as well as the litigants, simply
assumed that the regulatory re-definition is valid is not an
excuse to flout the usual rules of statutory construction.

33

no evidence that the FRB’s re-definition was ever
brought to Congress’ attention. It is only where “an
agencys statutory construction has been ‘fully
brought to the attention of the public and the Con-
gress, and the latter has not sought to alter that
interpretation although it has amended the statute in
other respects,” that the Court will presume that “the
legislative intent has been correctly discerned.” U.S.
v. Rutherford, 442 U.S. 544, 554, n. 10, 99 S.Ct. 2470,
2476, n. 10 (1979 quoting Apex Hosiery Co. v. Leader,
310 U.S. 469, 489, 60 S.Ct. 982, 989 (1940)); see also
2B NORMAN J. SINGER, et al., SUTHERLAND STATUTES
AND STATUTORY CONSTRUCTION, §49:9 at 134-135 (7th
ed. 2008\(the congressional-acquiescence argument is
inapplicable “where nothing indicates that the legis-
lature had its attention directed to the administrative
interpretation upon reenactment”).

Moreover, although no evidence exists to suggest
that the FRB’s re-definition has ever been brought to
Congress’ attention, significantly, when Congress
amended the ECOA as part of the Dodd-Frank Act, it
enacted §1691c-2, relating to the collection of data for
small business loans. Pub.L. No. 111-203, §1071(a),
124 Stat. 2056 (2010). That statute, which must be
read in pari materia with the ECOA’s other provi-
sions, see Erlenbaugh v. U.S., 409 U.S. 239, 244, 93
S.Ct. 477, 480 (1972), makes clear that the “appli-
cant” is the first-party loan applicant who applies for
credit directly for its own benefit, and does not in-
clude the applicant’s owners or others who are “con-
nected with” it.

34

For example, in §1691c-2(e)(2), which requires
that financial institutions compile and maintain
certain information provided by any “loan applicant,”
including...“the amount of credit...applied for, and the
amount of credit...approved for such applicant,”
Congress re-confirmed that the “credit” applied for is
the credit extended to the first-party applicant, and
does not include a third party, such as a guarantor,
who merely agrees, as part of the larger loan transac-
tion, to be liable for repayment in the event of a
default, but does not apply for or receive any credit.
15 U.S.C. §1691c-2(eX2\C). Likewise, in §1691c-
2(e(3), which prohibits the inclusion of certain per-
sonally identifiable information “concerning any
individual who is, or is connected with, the women-
owned, minority-owned, or small business loan appli-
cant” in such a compilation, Congress clearly distin-
guished between the applicant and third parties who
are “connected with” the applicant, whether through
ownership or otherwise. /d.

Given this clear statement of who the applicant
is, and Congress’ distinction between the applicant
and those “connected with” the applicant, there is no
room to suggest that Congress acquiesced in the
FRB’s re-definition, thereby expanding the scope of
the ECOA’s protection and what it makes unlawful.
On the contrary, in the Dodd-Frank Act, Congress re-
confirmed that the “applicant” is the first-party
applicant who “applies for credit directly” for its own
benefit. Had Congress been aware of the FRB’s re-
definition (though no evidence suggests that is the

35

case), and intended to encompass third parties, such
as guarantors, within the ECOA’s scope, it would
have had no need to distinguish between the appli-
cant, its owners and others “connected with” the
applicant, as it did in §1691c-2. In so doing, Congress
implicitly re-confirmed the plain meaning of the
statutory definition, and rejected any attempt to
expand the ECOA’s protection to third parties, such
as guarantors.”

In Hawkins, the Eighth Circuit, applying the
time-tested framework of Chevron and well-known
rules of statutory construction, correctly concluded
that guarantors are not “applicants” under the
ECOA. Now that the issue has actually been brought
to the forefront through the Sixth and Eighth Cir-
cuits’ decisions, this Court should deny the petition so
that the circuit and lower courts can have an oppor-
tunity to fully examine and weigh in on the issue.
Petitioners have failed to demonstrate that the nar-
row conflict between the Sixth and Eighth Circuits
would be intolerable were it allowed to continue. And
this Court will undoubtedly benefit from a more
thorough and thoughtful consideration of the issue by
other courts before it steps into the fray.

” Petitioners’ hypothetical of a minority-owned, limited
liability company loan applicant that is denied credit based on
the racial make-up of its owners is irrelevant in construing the
plain meaning of the statute. Under that plain meaning, if the
LLC could demonstrate discrimination, the LLC-applicant, not
its owners, who chose to conduct business in a corporate form,
would be the “aggrieved applicant” under §1691e.

36

Ill. The Eighth Circuit’s decision does not
“conflict” with any decisions by a state
court of last resort. The Alaska, Iowa,
Missouri and Virginia Supreme Courts
have never actually decided the issue. Ra-
ther, those courts merely assumed, with-
out challenge and without conducting the
required Chevron-analysis, that the regu-
latory re-definition is valid.

Petitioners suggest that the Eighth Circuit’s
decision directly conflicts with decisions by the Su-
preme Courts of Alaska, Iowa, Missouri and Virginia,
and that certiorari is warranted to resolve this “split.”
But Petitioners fail to disclose that none of the liti-
gants in those cases challenged the validity of the
FRB’s re-definition, and that the courts, without
conducting the required Chevron-analysis, merely
assumed, without actually deciding, that the regula-
tory re-definition is valid and that a guarantor is
protected. See Still v. Cunningham, 94 P.3d 1104
(Alaska 2004);” Bank of the West v. Kline, 782 N.W.2d
453 (Iowa 2010);” Boone Nat. Sav. & Loan Ass’n v.

” Significantly, the Cunningham court, acknowledging the
plain meaning of the statute, noted that the corporate-borrower
was the loan applicant under the statute; but citing to §202.2(e),
found that the guarantor-husband was also an “applicant” and
that it was his creditworthiness, not the borrower’s, that had to
be examined to determine whether the wife’s guaranty was
properly required. Id. at 1115.

* The Kline court similarly acknowledged that under the
statutory definition without more, the LLC-borrower was the
only “applicant.” But based on the FRB’s re-definition, the court

(Continued on following page)

37

Crouch, 47 S.W.3d 371 (Mo. banc 2004);” Eure v.
Jefferson National Bank, 448 S.E.2d 417 (Virginia
1994).” Thus, these cases do not actually “conflict”
with the Eighth Circuit’s decision in Hawkins, be-
cause the courts never actually addressed or decided
the issue.

While state courts that are granted concurrent
jurisdiction are not bound to agree with or apply the
decisions of federal courts of appeals when interpret-
ing federal law, see Arizonans for Official English v.
Arizona, 520 U.S. 43, 58 n. 11, 117 S.Ct. 1055, 1064 n.
11 (1997), now that the issue has been squarely
raised, it can hardly be questioned that given the
opportunity to actually decide the issue, presumably
with arguments from the litigants (something that

found that the guarantor-spouses were also “applicants.’ /d. at
457-458.

” Contrary to Petitioners’ assertion, in Crouch. the Mis-
souri Supreme Court did not “find,” let alone examine, whether
the FRB’s re-definition was a valid exercise of its regulatory
authority. Id.

* In Kline, Couch and Eure, the courts held that a guaran-
tor-spouse could assert an alleged ECOA-violation as an affirm-
ative defense for recoupment or equitable estoppel based on
illegality to avoid liability under her guaranty. Aline, 782
N.W.2d at 458-463; Crouch, 47 S.W.3d at 375-376; Eure, 448
S.E.2d 418-421 Although Petitioners do not make any argument
regarding an illegality-defense directly in their petition, they
attempted to do so in their briefing in the Eighth Circuit.
Petitioners, however, waived that argument by failing to argue
it in the District Court, and the Eighth Circuit did not address
that waived argument on appeal. See Cole, 533 F.3d at 936;
Wilkens, 742 F.3d at 360.

38

was missing in each of the foregoing cases), these
courts may very well reconsider their earlier deci-
sions. Because they should be permitted to do so, and
because the Court will benefit from an earnest and
intelligent discourse on the issue by these and other
courts, Petitioners’ request for certiorari should be
denied.

¢

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the petition for a writ
of certiorari should be denied.

Respectfully submitted,

GREER S. LANG

Counsel of Record

THOMAS STAHL

JUSTIN NICHOLS

LATHROP & GAGE, LLP

2345 Grand Blvd., Suite 2800
Kansas City, Missouri 64108
(816) 292-2000

(816) 292-2001 (facsimile)
glang@lathropgage.com
tstah]@lathropgage.com
jnichols@lathropgage.com

Attorneys for Respondent
Community Bank of Raymore

App. 1

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE WESTERN DISTRICT OF MISSOURI

WESTERN DIVISION
VALERIE J. HAWKINS and )
JANICE A. PATTERSON, )
Plaintiffs, )
) No. 12-CV-00670-DW
v.
) (Filed Nov. 30, 2012)
COMMUNITY BANK
OF RAYMORE,
Defendant. )

ORDER

Pending before the Court is the Defendant Com-
munity Bank of Raymore’s (the “Defendant”) Motion
to Strike Plaintiffs’ Demand for a Jury Trial (the
“Motion”). See Doc. 18. The Defendant filed sugges-
tions in support of the Motion (Doc. 19), the Plaintiffs
Valerie J. Hawkins (“Valerie”) and Janice A. Patterson
(“Janice”) (collectively, the “Plaintiffs”) filed sugges-
tions in opposition (Doc. 20), and the Defendant filed
a reply brief (Doc. 24). As explained below, the Plain-
tiffs contractually waived their right to a jury trial.
Consequently, the Motion is GRANTED.

I.
A.

The following facts are primarily taken from the
parties’ briefs. Only those facts and issues necessary
to decide the pending Motion are discussed below, and

App. 2

they are simplified to the extent possible. The De-
fendant loaned PHC Development, LLC (“PHC”) the
principal sum of $2,077,900.00 so that PHC could
acquire and develop a residential facility known as
the Fox’s Den Subdivision in Peculiar, Missouri. The
principal amount is based on four separate loans,
which were issued, modified, extended, and/or re-
newed a total of sixteen times. Both Plaintiffs guar-
anteed repayment of the four loans, as did their
husbands, Gary A. Hawkins (“Gary”) and Chris L.
Patterson (“Chris”). Both Plaintiffs also executed new
Commercial Guaranties in conjunction with the modi-
fications, extensions, and/or renewals of the loans.

The Plaintiffs filed this suit on May 31, 2012.
They allege in part that the Defendant wrongly
required them to guaranty the loans simply because
they were married to Gary and Chris, and that the
Defendant “was required to evaluate the need for the
claimed Guaranties signed by [Plaintiffs] without
discriminating on the basis of marital status.” Doc. 1,
at 9 52. According to the Plaintiffs, this requirement
violated the Equal Credit Opportunity Act (“ECOA”).
The Defendant has declared a default on the loans,
and filed a counterclaim for breach of the guaranties.

B.

Three of the original guaranties provided that
arbitration was the preferred method of resolution,
and did not include a provision waiving the right to
a jury trial. Importantly, however, the modifications,

App. 3

extensions, and/or renewals of the guaranties all
contained an explicit jury trial waiver provision. See
Doc. 4-1, p. 39 (Loan No. 9035923, dated 11/1/10); 4-1,
p. 42 (same); Doc. 4-2, p. 96 (Loan 9037410, dated
11/1/10); 4-2, p. 99 (same); Doc. 4-1, p. 102 (Loan. No.
9036698, dated 6/15/09); 4-1, p. 105 (same); Doc. 4-2,
p. 50 (Loan No. 9036970, dated 6/15/09); 4-2, p. 53
(same). These agreements state: “This Guaranty, to-
gether with any Related Documents, constitutes the
entire understanding and agreement of the parties as
to the matters set forth in this Guaranty.”

The jury waiver provision provides that:

WAIVE JURY. Lender and Guarantor hereby
waive the right to any jury trial in any ac-
tion, proceeding, or counterclaim brought by
either Lender or Guarantor against the other.

Immediately below this waiver, the Commercial
Guaranties state that: “EACH UNDERSIGNED
GUARANTOR ACKNOWLEDGES HAVING READ
ALL THE PROVISIONS OF THIS GUARANTY AND
AGREES TO ITS TERMS.” The Commercial Guaran-
ties also expressly provided that the Plaintiffs had an
opportunity to be advised by their attorney.

C.

Despite these contractual provisions, the Plain-
tiffs’ Complaint includes a demand for a jury trial.
Doc. 1, p. 13. In the parties’ Joint Proposed Schedul-
ing Order/Discovery Plan, the Defendant stated that
it intended on filing a motion to strike that demand.

App. 4

Because the bench/jury trial issue would affect sched-
uling issues and deadlines, the Court directed the
Defendant to file its motion. The motion was filed,
has been fully briefed, and is ready for resolution.

Il.

A party may waive by contract its right to a jury
trial, and federal law governs the waiver analysis.
Westgate GV at the Woods, LLC uv. Dickson, 2010 WL
4721245, at * 2 (W.D. Mo. Nov. 15, 2010). “Jury trial
waivers are common in loan agreements and loan
guaranties and are regularly enforced.” Hilicrest
Bank, N.A. v. Cordsen, 2011 WL 2633273, at * 1 (W.D.
Mo. July 5, 2011). The waiver must be “knowing and
voluntary,” and four primary factors should be con-
sidered: “(1) the relative bargaining power of the
parties; (2) the sophistication of the parties; (3) the
negotiability of the contract terms; and (4) the con-
spicuousness of the waiver provision.” Hardee's Food
Sys., Inc. v. Hallbeck, 2010 WL 4363420, at * 3 (E.D.
Mo. Oct. 27, 2010). Each factor is addressed in turn.

A.

First, the Court must determine whether there
was a “gross disparity in bargaining power.” Popular
Leasing USA, Inc. v. Turner Constr. Co., 2005 WL
2874741, at * 1 (E.D. Mo. Oct. 31, 2005); Boyd v. U.S.
Bank Nat'l Ass’n., 2007 WL 2822518, at * 19 (D. Kan.
Sept. 26, 2007) (recognizing that “the relevant inquiry
is whether this disparity was ‘gross’”). For example,

App. 5

in Westgate, one of the non-moving parties claimed he
could not “read above a second-grade level and lacked
the sophistication to understand the jury waiver pro-
vision.” Westgate, 2010 WL 4721245, at * 3. In en-
forcing the waiver, Judge Kays ruled that “a gross
disparity in bargaining power did not exist between
the parties because the Dicksons had the opportunity
to consult with an attorney and negotiate the terms of
each contract.” Id. at * 4.

Here, the Plaintiffs expressly acknowledged in
the Commercial Guaranties that “Guarantor has had
the opportunity to be advised by Guarantor’s attorney
with respect to this Guaranty; [and] the Guaranty
fully reflects Guarantor’s intentions. ” This ac-
knowledgment undermines any notion of a gross
disparity in bargaining power. Westgate, 2010 WL
4721245, at * 4. Any alleged disparity is also under-
mined because the loans were not for a necessity of
life; they were issued to promote a commiercial real
estate development project. See Westside-Marrero
Jeep Eagle, Inc. v. Chrysler Corp., Inc., 56 F. Supp. 2d
694, 709 (E.D. La. 1999) (“The ability to take out a
loan to start up a profit making cable company is not
a necessity of life such that Defendant was compelled
to accept Plaintiff’s loan on whatever terms it was
offered.”) (citations and quotations omitted). For
these reasons, the first factor weighs in favor of a
knowing and voluntary waiver.

App. 6

B.

Second, the Court must examine the sophistica-
tion of the non-moving party. This is because “[llarge
disparities in education and familiarity with the
commercial processes can permit an overreaching
party to turn the other party’s lack of knowledge into
an unfair advantage.” Boyd, 2007 WL 2822518, at
* 19. Here, Plaintiff Valerie Hawkins is an educated
individual. She is a 1986 graduate of Northwest
Missouri State University, and also received a Master
of Science degree from the University of Central
Missouri in 2011. Doc. 19-2, p. 52.

Among other business endeavors, Plaintiff Janice
Patterson and her family members operate CLP Fox
Trotters (“CLP”). CLP is a business that owns, breeds,
and sells “one of the world’s most popular gaited
horses — the Fox Trotter.” Doc. 19-2, p. 33-43. Under
the circumstances, there are no large disparities in
education or a lack of familiarity with commercial
processes. And, even if there was such a disparity, the
waiver in this case is “unambiguous and specialized
knowledge or sophistication is not required to under-
stand the jury waiver provision.” Westgate, 2010 WL
4721245, at * 3 (citations and quotations omitted).
For these reasons, the second factor also weighs in
favor of a knowing and voluntary waiver.

C.

Third, the Court must consider whether the
Plaintiffs had an opportunity to negotiate the terms

App. 7

of the Guaranties. Here, the Plaintiffs do not argue
that they even attempted to negotiate or otherwise
alter any terms of the Guaranties. The Plaintiffs
summarily claim they had “little opportunity’ to con-
sult an attorney or “otherwise analyze the contents of
the personal guaranty prior to their execution.” Doc.
20, p. 7. The Plaintiffs also claim they were unaware
of the jury waiver provision. See Doc. 20-7, p. 2; Doc.
20-8, p. 2.

These conclusory statements made in litigation
are directly contrary to what the Plaintiffs expressly
agreed to in the guaranties. As discussed above, the
Plaintiffs expressly agreed that they had read all of
the terms (which would necessarily include the jury
waiver), had agreed to all of the terms (which would
necessarily include the jury waiver), and had an
opportunity to consult an attorney. Finally, the De-
fendant argues (and the Plaintiffs have not shown
otherwise) that the Plaintiffs’ husbands (and co-
guarantors) were able to negotiate some terms of the
Guaranties. For these reasons, the third factor also
weighs in favor of finding a knowing and voluntary
waiver.

D.

Fourth, the Court must consider whether the
waiver provision is conspicuous. A conspicuous waiver
provision will more likely be enforced than a provi-
sion that is “buried in a lengthy document.” See
Morris v. McFarland Clinic P-C., 2004 WL 306110, at

App. 8

* 3 (S.D. Iowa Jan. 29, 2004). Here, the waiver provi-
sion is conspicuous. The Commercial Guaranties are
only three pages in length, and the waiver provision
is conspicuously titled “WAIVE JURY.” The waiver
provision states, clearly and unambiguously:

WAIVE JURY. Lender and Guarantor hereby
waive the right to any jury trial in any ac-
tion, proceeding, or counterclaim brought by
either Lender or Guarantor against the other.

Immediately below that provision is an acknow!-
edgment that the guarantor has “read all the provi-
sions of this guaranty and agrees to its terms.” Under
these circumstances, the fourth factor weighs in favor
of finding a knowing and voluntary waiver. Westgate,
2010 WL 4721245, at * 4 (enforcing waiver in part
because “the waiver was distinctly set apart in its
own subparagraph, and the paragraph heading
plainly read ‘Waiver of Jury Trial.’”).

Iil.

The Plaintiffs argue that a ruling on the Motion
is premature because discovery could shed light on
whether the waiver was made knowingly and volun-
tarily. They also suggest that the Defendant “unilat-
erally slip[ped] a jury trial waiver into later
guaranties without discussing such an alteration
with Plaintiffs.” Doc. 20, p. 5. These arguments are
not persuasive.

In fact, this is not a close call. By signing the
Commercial Guaranties, the Plaintiffs expressly

App. 9

acknowledged that they read and understood all of
the provisions, that they had an opportunity to dis-
cuss those provisions with their attorney, and ex-
pressly agreed to the jury waiver. See, e.g., Popular
Leasing USA, Inc., 2005 WL 2874741, at * 2 (recog-
nizing that “a party who signs a contract is presumed
to have knowledge of its contents”). This Court will
not allow the Plaintiffs to evade the agreed-upon
waiver simply because they no longer wish to be
bound by it.

Nor have the Plaintiffs shown how any discovery
could alter the foregoing analysis. They have not
alleged that they were fraudulently induced into the
jury waiver, or explained how discovery could show
that the waiver was not knowing or voluntary. As a
result, the Motion is not premature and further
discovery is not necessary to resolve it. See Hillcrest
Bank, 2011 WL 2633273, at * 1 (enforcing jury waiver
even though non-moving party argued that issues of
fact were unresolved).

' The Plaintiffs argue that a jury trial is required in cases
brought under the ECOA. See 15 U.S.C. § 1691(a). The Plaintiffs
then claim that “[l]ittle to no case law discusses the intersection
between a right to a jury trial under ECOA and whether it can
be waived.” Doc. 20, p. 3. But the case the Plaintiffs cite for this
alleged lack of case law expressly held that “the ECOA claim
falls within the scope of the jury waiver provision and the court
finds that the jury waiver applies to the instant case.” Boyd,
2007 WL 2822518, at * 20.

App. 10

IV.

For the reasons set forth above, it is hereby
ORDERED that the Defendant’s Motion to Strike
Plaintiffs’ Demand for a Jury Trial (Doc. 18) is
GRANTED, and the Court STRIKES the Plaintiffs’
demand for a jury trial. The Plaintiffs’ request for an
oral argument is denied as unnecessary.

IT IS SO ORDERED.
Date: /s/ Dean Whipple
November 29, 2012 Dean Whipple

United States District Judge

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0304%3A03. Public record. Not legal advice.
