# Amicus Curiae Brief — Rowe v. New Hampshire Motor Transport Ass'n

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0299%3A15

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2008
- **Citation:** 552 U.S. 364

## Text

3n The
Supreme Court of the Anited

G. STEVEN ROWE, IN HIS OFFICIAL CAPACITY AS
ATTORNEY GENERAL OF THE STATE OF MAINE,

Petitioner,

Vv.

NEW HAMPSHIRE MOTOR TRANSPORT
ASSOCIATION, MASSACHUSETTS MOTOR
TRANSPORTATION ASSOCIATION, INC. and
VERMONT TRUCK & BUS ASSOCIATION, INC.,

Respondents.
e

On Writ Of Certiorari To The United States
Court Of Appeals For The First Circuit

.

BRIEF OF CALIFORNIA, ALABAMA, ALASKA, ARIZONA,
ARKANSAS, CONNECTICUT, DELAWARE, DISTRICT
OF COLUMBIA, FLORIDA, HAWAII, IDAHO, ILLINOIS,
INDIANA, IOWA, KENTUCKY, MARYLAND,
MASSACHUSETTS, MICHIGAN, MINNESOTA, MISSISSIPPI,
MONTANA, MISSOURI, NEVADA, NEW MEXICO, NEW
YORK, NORTH DAKOTA, OHIO, OKLAHOMA, OREGON,
PENNSYLVANIA, PUERTO RICO, RHODE ISLAND,
SOUTH CAROLINA, SOUTH DAKOTA, TENNESSEE, UTAH,
VERMONT, WEST VIRGINIA, WISCONSIN, AND WYOMING
AS AMICUS CURIAE SUPPORTING PETITIONER

¢

EDMUND G. BROWN JR.
Attorney General of the State of California
THOMAS J. GREENE
Chief Assistant Attorney General
MANUEL MEDERIOS
Solicitor General
DENNIS ECKHART
Senior Assistant Attorney General
LAURA KAPLAN
Deputy Attorney General
Counsel of Record
1300 I Street
P.O. Box 944255
Sacramento, CA 94244-2550
Telephone: (916) 323-3822
Fax: (916) 323-0813
Counsel for Amicus Curiae

[Additional Counsel Listed On Inside Cover}

= SSSESESES>SESESESESSEEEESSSS"—="—
COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO. (800) 225-6964
OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342 2831

TROY KING LINDA SINGER

Attorney General Attorney General
State of Alabama District of Columbia
11 South Union Street One Judiciary Square
Montgomery, AL 36130 441 4th Street, N.W.
Suite 600 South
TALIS J. COLBERG
Attorney General Washington, DC 20001
State of Alaska BILL MCCOLLUM
P.O. Box 110300 Attorney General
Juneau, AK 99811 State of Florida
TeRRY GODDARD bi Capitol, PL-01
05 E. Walnut Street
Attorney General Tallah FL 32399-1050
State of Arizona en, ’
1275 West Washington MARK J. BENNETT
Phoenix, AZ 85007 Attorney General
State of Hawaii
DUSTIN MCDANIEL
Attorney General ag od 3
State of Arkansas ey
323 Center Street, Suite 200 LAWRENCE WASDEN
Little Rock, AR 72201 Attorney General
RICHARD BLUMENTHAL ye Idaho
.O. Box 83720
Attorney General Boise. ID 83720-0010
State of Connecticut nee
55 Elm Street LISA MADIGAN
Hartford, CT 06106 Attorney General
State of Illinois
CARL C. DANBERG
Attorney General a Street,
State of Delaware Chi IL 60601
820 N. French Street mee ate
6th Floor STEVE CARTER
Wilmington, DE 19801 Attorney General

State of Indiana

Indiana Government Center
South — Fifth Floor

302 W. Washington Street

Indianapolis, IN 46204

THOMAS J. MILLER

Attorney General of
State of Iowa

Hoover State Office Bldg.

Des Moines, LA 50319

MICHAEL PLUMLEY
Assistant Attorney General
State of Kentucky

700 Capitol Avenue, Suite 118
Frankfort, KY 40601

MARTHA COAKLEY
Attorney General
State of Massachusetts
McCormack Building
One Ashburton Place
Boston, MA 02108

DOUGLAS F. GANSLER
Attorney General
State of Maryland
200 St. Paul Place
Baltimore, MD 21202

MICHAEL A. Cox
Attorney General
State of Michigan
P.O. Box 30212
Lansing, MI 48909

Lori SWANSON

Attorney General

State of Minnesota

102 State Capitol

75 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther
King, Jr. Blvd.

St. Paul, MN 55155-1609

Jim Hoop

Attorney General

State of Mississippi

P.O. Box 220

Jackson, MS 37205-0220

JEREMIAH W. (JAY) NIXON
Attorney General

State of Missoun
Supreme Court Building
207 W. High Street
Jefferson City, MO 65102

MIKE MCGRATH
Attorney General

State of Montana

P.O. Box 201401
Helena, MT 59620-1401

CATHERINE CORTEZ MASTO
Attorney General

State of Nevada

100 North Carson Street
Carson City, NV 89701

GARY K. KING
Attorney General
State of New Mexico
P.O. Drawer 1508
Santa Fe, NM 87504

ANDREW M. CUOMO
Attorney General

State of New York

120 Broadway, 25th Floor
New York, NY 10271

WAYNE STENEHJEM
Attorney General

State of North Dakota
600 E. Boulevard Avenue
Bismarck, ND 58505-0040

Marc DANN

Attorney General

State of Ohio

30 East Broad Street,
17th Floor

Columbus, OH 43215

W.A. DREW EDMONDSON

Attorney General

State of Oklahoma

313 N.E. 21st Street

Oklahoma City, OK
73105-4894

HARRY MYERS
Attorney General
State of Oregon

1162 Court Street NE
Salem, OR 97301

THOMAS W. CORBETT, JR.

Attorney General

State of Pennsylvania

16th Floor, Strawberry
Square

Harrisburg, PA 17120

ROBERTO J. SANCHEZ-RAMOS
Secretary of Justice
Commonwealth of

Puerto Rico
GPO Box 902192
San Juan, PR 00902-0192

PATRICK C. LYNCH
Attorney General
State of Rhode Island
150 South Main Street
Providence, RI 02903

HreNRY MCMASTER
Attorney General

State of South Carolina
P.O. Box 11549
Columbia, SC 29211

LAWRENCE E. LONG
Attorney General

State of South Dakota

1302 E Highway 14, Suite 1
Pierre, SD 57501-8501

ROBERT E. COOPER, JR.

Attorney General and
Reporter of Tennessee

P.O. Box 20207

Nashville, TN 37202-0207

MARK L. SHURTLEFF

Attorney General

State of Utah

Utah State Capitol Complex

East Office Bldg., Suite 320

Salt Lake City, UT
84114-2320

WILLIAM H. SORRELL
Attorney General

State of Vermont

109 State Street
Montpelier, VT 05609-1001

DARRELL V. MCGRAW, JR.

Attorney General

State of West Virginia

State Capitol Building 1,
Room 26-E

Charleston, WV 25305

J.B. VAN HOLLEN

Attorney General

State of Wisconsin

Wisconsin Department of
Justice

P.O. Box 7857

Madison, W! 53707-7857

KRISTIE LANGLEY

Assistant Attorney General

Wyoming Attorney
General's Office

123 Capitol Avenue

Cheyenne, WY 82002

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether the Federal Aviation Administration
Authorization Act of 1994 (FAAAA), 49 U.S.C. §§ 14501/c)1)
and 41713(b\(4)\A) (2000), preempts states from exercising
their historic public health police powers to regulate
carriers that deliver contraband such as tobacco and other
dangerous substances to children; and

2. Whether the FAAAA preempts states from exercis-
ing their historic public health police powers to require
shippers of contraband such as tobacco and other danger-
ous substances to utilize a carrier that provides age
verification and signature services to ensure that such
substances are not delivered to children.

il

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
QUESTIONS PRESENTED ..........::cssscsseseseeereneneenenenes i
INTEREST OF THE AMICL .........cccccccorrrsrrorrcccrsesceevenees 1
SUMMARY OF THE ARGUMENT. ...........:::ccceeeeeeeeeeeens 4
ABOUMENT oc ccccccvcesesevescccccsccscsecescccenesessovsssencsssnsssocsnenes 6

1. FAAAA’S PREEMPTION PROVISION MUST
BE INTERPRETED IN LIGHT OF THE PRE-
SUMPTION AGAINST PREEMPTION OF
STATE POLICE POWERS AND THE STRUC-

A. Because Maine’s Tobacco Delivery Law Is
Crucial to Curb Rampant Illegal Tobacco
Sales to Minors, the Presumption Applies
with Fall Pores ....ccsccsscsvesssoscvcsccsesssssssovcsssess 8

B. Congress Intended the FAAAA to Preempt
States’ Economic Authority Over Motor
Carriers, Not State Police Powers............... 13

C. If Respondent's View of FAAAA Preemp-
tion Were to Become the Law of the Land,
State Health and Safety Laws Touching on
the Transportation or Delivery of Myriad
Dangerous Products Across the Country
Would Be at Risk of Preemption ..............05 17

Il. THE DECISION BELOW CREATES A
SUBSTANTIAL UNCERTAINTY REGARD-
ING STATES’ ABILITY TO PROSECUTE
VIOLATORS OF LAWS REGULATING THE
TRANSPORT AND DELIVERY OF TOBACCO
PRODUCTS ........0cccrcrossossseorsvvorccressvecescesesscsoserecs 19

ill

TABLE OF CONTENTS - Continued
Page

lll. RATHER THAN THE BROAD PREEMPTION
STANDARD APPLIED BY THE FIRST CIR-
CUIT IN RELIANCE ON MORALES, THE AP-
PROPRIATE STANDARD IS THAT ADOPTED
BY THIS COURT IN THE ERISA CASES .......... 22

CONCLUSION...........cc::csesssessescserereeeerenseeeeessnsetenssaesaeees 29

1V

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Page
CASES
Austin v. Tennessee, 179 U.S. 343 (1900)................ccceeeeeee es q
California Div. of Labor Standards Enforcement v.
Dillingham Construction, Inc., 519 U.S. 316
(FIG Poccccssenenconsctsesecassectsenasssesssacatumubesansuesntnenananeanans passim
City of Columbus v. Ours Garage & Wrecker Ser-
vice, Inc., 536 U.S. 424 (2002)..........ccccscccccrrereseesseeesenees 17
FDA v. Brown & Williamson Tobacco Corp., 529
CE Fe re cersenintnsnctupenangtiiatemnpenintinnnnignmanmmnineisiness 9
Federal Express Corp. v. California Public Utilities
Commission, 936 F.2d 1075 (9th Cir. 1991)...........cc000 14
Medtronic, Inc. v. Lohr, 518 U.S. 4706 (1996) .........cccceees 6

Morales v. Trans’ World Airline, 504 U.S. 374 (1992) .... passim

New Hampshire Motor Transport Ass'n v. Rowe, 448
Pe Oe Ce ecereccnecvnscennsnennasesscesnenscossiensnesciinenniniotan 20, 21

New York State Conference of Blue Cross & Blue
Shield Plans v. Travelers Ins. Co., 514 U.S. 645

t BGP ccoceccccccecccsccocccscscccescusosensosoccsoocesesmnssuncnssesonsens passim
STATUTES
ZO U.S.C. § 1344 a) (QOOO)...................ecccrrcorsscssereecccssesesees 22
4D U.S.C. § LABOREN)...ccrcrsccccccccrsccccccccrssecsescccesoorossees 14,17
49 U.S.C. § 41 TIDOM4EMA) ....ccccccerccccscrscccccscsccssssecceeeees 13,14
72 Pa. StaT. ANN. § 231-A (West Supp. 2007).............. 12, 26

720 ILL. Comp. Stat. ANN. 678/5 (West Supp.
SIE Piscncsinnenacisssnimniniicninenitienaiiaitinanicuninibainindadaniets 12, 27, 28

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page
ALA. CODE § 13A-12-3.5 (Lexis Nexis Supp. 2006)......12, 27
ALA. CODE § 9-12-50 (Lexis Nexis 2001)...........::ccecceeeeeenes 18
AK. STAT. § 43.50. 105 (2006) .........ccccccsccsrseeeereeserees 12, 27, 28
Aniz. Rev. STAT. ANN. § 13-3502 (2001) ..............cceeeeeeeeeees 18
Ariz. Rev. STAT. ANN. § 17-372 (2006) .......2..cccccceneeseeeeeeees 16
Aniz. Rev. Star. ANN. §§ 42-3222 (2006 & Supp.
TTI... cnisnnamameesnsiipelinandatinnindiiinnninticiiiniandtiinnsanettislaiututiaiait 12
Ariz. Rev. Stat. ANN. §§ 42-3222 (2006 & Supp.
2006), 42-3225 (2O0G)..................0ccscsecesereeseeerenes 12, 26, 27
ArK. CODE ANN. §§ 26-57-203 (1997 & Supp. 2005),
26-57-215 (1997), 26-57-230 (1997).........cccececeeeeneeeneneees 13
CAL. Bus. & Pror. CODE § 22963 (West Supp. 2007) ....... 12
CAL. Foop & AGRIC. CODE § 6461 (West 2001)..............0 18
Ca. Rev. & Tax. CODE § 30101.7 (West 2004)............ 12, 27
CoL. Rev. STAT. ANN. §§ 9-6-102 (West 2003).............0068 18

Conn. GEN. Star. ANN. § 12-285c¢ (West Supp. 2007) ...13, 27
Conn. Gen. Stat. ANN. § 22-319 (West 2001 &

Supp. 2007 )........ccccceesecerseeceteesersaceeeecenresssersenenenenenaecsasens 18
DEL. CODE. ANN. tit. 30, §§ 5362, 5365 (Supp.

TE __. . ssctnsntineimemmeieedicaneeiamenunimananiatte 12, 26, 27
Fia. STAT. ANN. § 372.16 (West 2006)............::ceececeeeeenneee 16
Haw. Rev. STAT. ANN. § 245-16 (2006) ......... ccc ceeeeeeeeees 12, 27
Ip. CODE $§ 39-5714, 39-5715, 39-5717 (Supp. 2007)..12, 27
IND. CODE ANN. § 24-3-5-5 (West 2006) ................. 12, 26, 27
1A. COVE ANN. § 4534.45 (West 2006)...........:ceceeeeeeeeeeees 12

KAN. Stat. ANN. § 79-3333 ‘Supp. 2006) .........-....0. 12. 27

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page
La. Rev. Stat. ANN. § 47:874 (2006) .............:20.2e0e 12, 26, 27
Mass. GEN. Laws ANN. ch. 64C, § 6 (West 2001 &
Supp. 2007)..........cccsccssssrsssersonessnssenssnssnessranssssssnsensssnes 12
Mp. CoDE ANN., Bus. REG. §§ 16-222 (2004), 16-223
an ase 13, 27
Me. REV. Stat. ANN. tit. 12, § 7534 (repealed 2004)......... 16
ME. REV. Stat. ANN. tit. 22, § 1555 C-D (2004)......... 8,9, 12
MicH. Comp. Laws ANN. § 205.431 (West Supp.
| a ae 12, 27

MINN. Stat. ANN. § 325F.781 (West Supp. 2007) ....12, 26, 27
MINN. STAT. ANN. §§ 297F.11 (West 1999), § 325F.781

(West Supp. 2007) ..........ccccceccseseteeeetsenenseeesecereserennenes 12
Miss. CODE ANN. § 97-32-5 (West 1999) ............:ccsssereeeeees 12
Mo. ANN. Star. §§ 149.045 (West 2006), § 407.926

(West Supp. 2007) ...........:ccccsssesesseeeeereseeeteresereesanensennnes 12
Mont. Cope ANN. §§ 16-11-104, 16-11-128, 16-11-

131 (2005 & Supp. 2006) ...........cccecccerneesteeseeeneeeennnnees 12
N.C. GEN. STAT. § 105-113.31 (2003)..........-cccceeeeeeeeneeeeeeees 12
N.J. STAT. ANN. § 4:6-15 (West 1998) ..........::ccecseeeeeeeeeeeres 16
NJ. STAT. ANN. § 54:40A-32 (West 2002) ...........:::ceeeeeeeees 12
N.Y. Acric. & Mkts. Law § 96-z-11 (McKinney

III ..... ccuesvccccessrscscenssnnniedssensssesenenesieenessstsiicenseesereeetsenes 18
N.Y. Pus. HEALTH LAw § 1399-1] (McKinney 2002) .......... 27
NEV. REV. STAT. § 202.24935 (2005).........ccceceeceeeneeereereeens 27

Nev. Rev. Stat. ANN. §§ 370.325, 370.329 ‘Lexis
OS aa 12, 26, 27

vu

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES -— Continued
Page
Ou. REV. CODE ANN. § 2927.023 (Lexis Nexis 2006).....13, 27
OKLA. Stat. ANN. tit. 68 § 317.4 (West Supp. 2007) ....12, 27
OKLA. STAT. ANN. tit. 68 §§ 304 (West 2001 & Supp.

2007), 309 (West 2001), 317.4 (West Supp. 2007)......... 26
Or. REV. STAT. § 323.718 (2005).........cceceeeeeeeeeeeeees 12, 26, 27
R.1. GEN. LAWS § 44-20.1-5 (2005)...........:0ceeeeeeeeeees 12, 26, 27
S.D. Copiriep Laws §§ 10-50-93, 10-50-96 (Supp.

IIE) ...ncocceneccececsensessoessonenencncsebensenensusssocnsssesocoenses 12, 26, 27
TENN. CODE ANN. § 67-4-1029 (2006)...........:02eeeeee 12, 26, 27
Tex. HEALTH & SAFETY CODE ANN. § 161.455

(Vernon Supp. 2006)..........:::cceccseseereeesererenseessenes 12, 26, 27
TEx. TAX CODE ANN. § 154.207 (Vernon 2002).............:26 12
Ur. CoDE ANN. § 76-10-105.1 (Supp. 2007)...........:.000 12, 26
Va. CODE ANN. § 4.1-209.1 (Supp. 2007).........cceceeeeeeeerrees 19
Va. CODE ANN. § 18.2-246.10 (2004) .........0eeceeeeeeees 12, 26. 27
Vr. STAT. ANN. tit. 10, § 5102 (2006)............ceecceeeseeeeeeeen ees 16

W. Va. CODE ANN. § 16-9E-4 (Lexis Nexis 2006)...12, 26, 27
WASH. REV. CODE ANN. § 70.155.105 (West Supp.

DIA ) .......nccecccccccecseveseesconsuscnssscosoossonnenesessevensesosegenscsoess 26, 27
Wis. STAT. ANN. § 125.68 (West 2001 & Supp. 2006)........ 16
Wis. Star. ANN. § 139.345 (West Supp. 2006) ................+. 12

Wyo. STAT. ANN. § 39-18-106 (2007) .......ccccceeeeseeeeeee nee eneees 12

vill

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

OTHER AUTHORITIES

Kurt M. Ribisl, Annice E. Kim, Rebecca S. Wil-
liams, Sales and Marketing of Cigarettes on the
Internet: Emerging Threats to Tobacco Control
and Promising Policy Solutions in Reducing To-
bacco Use: Strategies, Barriers, and Conse-
quences. Washington, D.C.: National Academy

Pi nictenteisviuniasindnactndiniianiucnnniniudiaiiinenitiionminiiinnnianines
State Motor Carrier Laws: Hearing on S. 1491

Before the Subcomm. on Surface Transp. of the H.
Comm. on Pub. Works & Transp., 103rd Cong.
(1994) (statement of James A. Rogers, Vice Presi-
dent, Gov't Affairs United Parcel Service), 1994

Ne BNI CTT ieiicisccncteniedeenebalitisieteiiaiinbinesdumeusenagen
Rebecca S. Williams, Youth Access to Cigarettes

Online: Advertised and Actual Sales Practices of
Internet Cigarette Vendors |Dissertation]. Chapel
Hill: Health Behavior and Health Education,
University of North Carolina School of Public

By GE ieeconcnvcnssenscnseisénetnntidnonepivedensetanmanednnene
Jennifer A. Jensen, Norval J. Hickman III, Hope

Landrine, & Elizabeth A. Klonoff, Availability of
Tobacco to Youth Via the Internet, JAMA, 291(15),

BEG Ca vcccsscccceccesesnsstnosansesscosnonmveevesesensesanesoenennee

Page

INTEREST OF THE AMICI

It is beyond dispute that the states have «strong
interest in ensuring that tobacco products purchased over
the Internet are not delivered to children. For that reason,
at least 40 states prohibit or severely restrict the direct
delivery of tobacco products to consumers purchased from
Internet vendors. The First Circuit struck down a Maine
statute that is designed to curb tobacco sales to children
by requiring carriers to comply with modest delivery and
labeling restrictions. Unless the Court rejects respondent's
limitless view of preemption, the most effective and
practical tool that states employ to restrict illegal sales of
tobacco to children over the Internet will be undermined,
and will allow carriers to be utilized as conduits for illegal
tobacco sales.

Internet tobacco sites have increased more than eight-
fold in recent years. Unfortunately, a majority of online
tobacco retailers have no safeguards or controls to prevent
illegal sales to children. Virtually all online sellers simply
do not enforce age restrictions. States have been working
together on aggressive law enforcement strategies to quell
this insidious problem. Several! have sued Internet tobacco
retailers who flout state laws prohibiting or severely
restricting the transport and delivery of tobacco products
directly to consumers.

The most effective method to prevent illegal sales to
children via the Internet and other non-face-to-face
means, however, is to regulate the carriers that transport
and deliver the products. Statutes such as Maine’s Tobacco
Delivery Law thwart minors attempting to purchase
cigarettes and other tobacco products over the Internet
by requiring carriers to comply with simple delivery and

age-verification requirements when a package is labeled
as “tobacco.” Most states that restrict online tobacco sales
are similar to Maine’s law. They typically require that
tobacco retailers be licensed by the state and that contain.
ers be labeled as containing cigarettes or tobacco products.
They usually also impose an obligation to ensure compli-
ance with states’ age-verification requirements on the
retailer or directly on the carrier.

The carriers’ claim that they are significantly bur-
dened by the requirements imposed by Maine’s statute
does not ring true. They are already implementing a
number of the requirements pursuant to an agreement
with the State of New York to stop shipping cigarettes to
individual consumers in all 50 states. For example, UPS
has entered into an Assurance of Discontinuance with
New York in which UPS agreed to adopt a formal policy
expressly prohibiting the shipment of cigarettes to indi-
vidual consumers in the United States and accepting
shipments of cigarettes only to recipients who are licensed
to receive such shipments.’ (Other carriers have entered
into similar agreements. )’

Pursuant to its agreement, UPS has amended its
Terms and Conditions of Service and its General Tariff
Containing the Classifications, Rules and Practices for the
Transportation of Property (“the UPS tariff”) to include its

' Assurance of Discontinuance between United Parcel Service, Inc.
and the Attorney General of the State of New York, October 25, 2005.
Assurance found at ‘visited August 19, 2007).

* FedEx and DHL agreements can be found at: visited August 19,
2007), and (visited
August 19. 2007)

cigarette policy. UPS does not offer a contractual service
for the delivery of cigarettes to consumers. Additionally,
UPS (1) accepts packages containing tobacco or tobacco
products, as those terms are variously defined under
applicable state law, only from shippers who are licensed
and authorized to ship tobacco and tobacco products
pursuant to applicable laws, (2) maintains a database that
includes information regarding cigarette retailers, and (3)
instructs its drivers, sorters and pre-loaders to actively
look for indications that a package contains cigarettes
being shipped to an individual consumer, alerting UPS
management of such packages and attempting to intercept
such packages.*

If respondents’ expansive view of preemption were to
become the law of the land, tobacco laws in Maine and 39
other states would be undercut, and state restrictions on
the delivery of myriad other dangerous products that have
been traditionally regulated under states’ police powers,
including explosives, liquor, drugs, poisonous reptiles, and
wild animals would be threatened. It makes no sense to
say that states can enact laws to ensure that tobacco
products are not delivered to children, while taking away
the most effective means of enforcing those laws. Reversal
of the First Circuit’s decision will ensure that states are not
precluded from using the most effective tool they have to
restrict illegal tobacco sales to children over the Internet.

S

’ Report Regarding UPS's Compliance with the Assurance of
Discontinuance, Dec. 20, 2005. Report reproduced in the addendum to
the Attorney Genera!’s Reply Brief before the First Cireuit. at A-21 - A-
26

“Id ata

4

SUMMARY OF THE ARGUMENT

The question presented here is not whether the
FAAAA’s preemption provisions are broadly worded. They
are. The question, rather, is whether Congress intended to
preempt state laws restricting the delivery of dangerous or
age-restricted products - such as tobacco — where a com-
mon carrier, such as United Parcel Service (UPS), is used
as a conduit for the illegal transactions. It did not.

The FAAAA was enacted in 1994 for the purpose of
limiting the economic authority of states over motor
carriers and creating a level playing field with air carriers
who were not subject to such regulation after enactment of
the Airline Deregulation Act of 1978, Pub. L. No. 95-504,
92 Stat. 1705 (ADA). Before the FAAAA, states subjected
motor carriers to a great deal of economic regulation such
as price controls, tariff filings and the like. Notwithstand-
ing respondent’s claim to the contrary, neither the plain
language of the statute nor the legislative history indi-
cates in any way that Congress intended to preempt states
from enacting legislation, such as Maine’s Tobacco Deliv-
ery Law, to protect the public health of their citizens,
especially children, from the pernicious effects of tobacco
use.

Two provisions of Maine's law are at issue here. One
requires tobacco retailers to use carriers who will comply
with Maine’s age-verification laws when delivering tobacco
products to consumers. The other imputes knowledge to
the carrier — that the package contains tobacco products —
if the package is marked as containing tobacco or the
shipper appears on the Attorney General's unlicenced
retailer list - The First Circuit relied on the broad inter-
pretation of ADA preemption in Morales v. Trans’ World

5

Airlines, 504 U.S. 374 (1992) in preempting those provi-
sions of Maine's Tobacco Delivery Law. That expansive
view was rejected by this Court in favor of a narrower
preemption standard in cases decided since Morales,
including California Div. of Labor Standards Enforcement
v. Dillingham Construction, Inc., 519 U.S. 316 (1997) and
New York State Conference of Blue Cross & Blue Shield
Plans v. Travelers Ins. Co., 514 U.S. 645 (1995).

Unless the Court reaffirms the narrower Dillingham
and Travelers’ standard in this case, the laws of 40 states
that prohibit or severely restrict the transport and deliv-
ery of tobacco products to their citizens will be at risk of
preemption. Moreover, if this Court were to accept Re-
spondent’s view of preemption, which is even more exten-
sive than Morales, the result would be disastrous for the
states. In that instance, myriad other state laws that
“expressly reference” or merely mention the transportation
or delivery of any number of dangerous or contraband
products would be at risk, as well.

Respondent claims the provision of the Maine statute
imposing on the retailer the obligation to ensure that
tobacco products are not delivered to children, “expressly
references” carrier services even though it does not do se
directly. But according to the Dillingham standard, the
law must act iramediately and exclusively on carrier
services. Maine’s Jaw does neither. Respondent also con-
tends that both provisions of Maine’s Tobacco Delivery
Law have a “forbidden significant effect” on carrier ser-
vices by interfering with the uniform delivery practices of
the carriers. This claim is also baseless. Respondent never
provided evidence that any of Maine's requirements
‘including age-verification, reading labels on tobacco pack-
ages or reviewing a list of unlicenced tobacco retailers!

Pa

6

imposes a significant economic burden on the carriers, as
required for preemption under the FAAAA. Under the
Dillingham and Travelers’ test for a forbidden connection,
any “burdens” imposed by Maine’s law are indirect, pe-
ripheral and tenuous, and, consequently, are not subject to
FAAAA preemption.

In Dillingham and Travelers, this Court declined to
preempt state police power statutes that serve an impor-
tant state interest and whose impact is too indirect,
remote and tenuous to the purpose of ERISA. This Court
should confirm that the narrowed preemption test set
forth in Dillingham and Travelers is the appropriate
standard under the FAAAA, as well. Maine’s Tobacco
Delivery Law and similar tobacco laws in other states that
serve a critical public health purpose in ensuring that
tobacco products are not delivered to children, at most,
affect carrier services indirectly and should not be pre-
empted.

e

ARGUMENT

I. FAAAA’S PREEMPTION PROVISION MUST BE
INTERPRETED IN LIGHT OF THE PRESUMP-
TION AGAINST PREEMPTION OF STATE PO-
LICE POWERS AND THE STRUCTURE AND
PURPOSE OF THE FAAAA AS A WHOLE

Where, as here, a federal statute, contains an express
preemption provision, the task of the reviewing court is “to
identify the domain expressly preempted by that lan-
guage.” Medtronic, Inc. v. Lohr, 518 U.S. 470, 484 (1996)
‘(internal quotation marks omitted). As the Court has
explained, “lallthough ... analysis of the scope of the

preemption statute must begin with its text, ... interpre-
tation of that language does not occur in a contextual
vacuum. Rather, that interpretation is informed by two
presumptions about the nature of pre-emption.” Jd. at 484-
85. Both presumptions highlight the importance of con-
gressional purpose in determining whether a federal
statute preempts state law. First, “[iJn all preemption
cases, and particularly in those in which Congress has
legislated ... in a field which the states have traditionally
occupied we start [this analysis) with the assumption that
the historic police powers of the States were not to be
superseded by the Federal Act unless that was the clear
and manifest purpose of Congress.” Jd. at 485-86 (internal
citation and quotation marks omitted). Second, “analysis
of the scope of the statute’s preemption is guided by the
oft-repeated comment ... that the purpose of Congress is
the ultimate touchstone in every preemption case. As a
result, any understanding of the scope of a preemption
statute must rest primarily on a fair understanding of
congressional purpose.” Id. at 485-86 (internal citations
and quotation marks omitted). Congress’s purpose regard-
ing a statute’s preemptive scope is discerned “primarily . . .
from the language of the preemption statute and the
statutory framework surrounding it. Also relevant, how-
ever, is the structure and purpose of the statute as a
whole, as revealed not only in the text, but through the
reviewing court’s reasoned understanding of the way in
which Congress intended the statute and its surrounding
regulatory scheme to affect business, consumers, and the
law.” Id. at 486 (internal citation and quotation marks
omitted).

A. Because Maine’s Tobacco Delivery Law Is
Crucial to Curb Rampant Illegal Tobacco
Sales to Minors, the Presumption Against
Preemption Applies with Full Force

The provisions of Maine’s Tobacco Delivery Law at
issue here require that a person who engages in delivery
sales of tobacco products take a number of steps to ensure
that those products are not delivered to children. Before
shipping, the licensed tobacco retailer must provide the
delivery service with the age of the purchaser; it must
clearly mark the outside of the package with the retailer’s
name and state-retailer license number; and it must
indicate that the contents are tobacco products. Jd. § 1555-
C(3)(A)-(B). ME.. REV. STAT. ANN. tit. 22 (2004). The retailer
must also utilize a delivery service that requires the pur-
chaser to be the addressee; to be of legal age to purchase
tobacco products and sign for the package; and, if under 27
years of age, to produce a valid government-issued photo
identification that shows the addressee to be of legal age to
purchase tobacco products. Jd. § 1555-C(3)(C).

“

Under Maine's statute, a carrier is defined as “a
person, including the United States Postal Service, who is
engaged in the commercial delivery of letters, packages
or other containers,” Jd. § 1551(1-C). The requirements
imposed on the carrier by Maine's statute are: “(a) person
may not knowingly transport or cause to be delivered to a
person in |Maine] a tobacco product purchased from a
person who is not licensed as a tobacco retailer in
{Maine],” unless the delivery is to a licensed tobacco
distributor or retailer. ME. Rev. STaT. ANN. tit. 22, § 1555-
D (2004). Additionally, “(a} person is deemed to know that
a package contains a tobacco product if the package is
marked in accordance with the requirements of [section

ti.

9

1555-C(3)(B)] or if the person receives the package from a
person listed as an unlicenced tobacco retailer by the
Attorney General.” /d.

The presumption against preemption of Maine's
Tobacco Delivery Law and similar laws in other states is
particularly important in this case. Since at least the
beginning of the last century, when this Court decided
Austin v. Tennessee, 179 U.S. 343 (1900), it has been
recognized that States are empowered to ameliorate
cigarettes’ “deleterious effects, particularly upon young
people.” Jd. at 348. The Court has recognized that “tobacco
use, particularly among children and adolescents, poses
perhaps the single most significant threat to public health
in the United States.” FDA v. Brown & Williamson To-
bacco Corp., 529 U.S. 120, 161 (2000). This problem has
become substantially more difficult to solve due to the
recent boom in sales of tobacco products over the Internet.

Illegal Internet tobacco sales have reached epidemic
proportions. The number of Internet cigarette vendors has
risen from 88 in January 2000, to 772 in January 2006."
Unlike purchasing tobacco products in a brick-and-mortar
store, where the seller can look the person in the eye and
carefully examine the customer's government identification,
there is no evidence that online tobacco sellers utilize any
effective method of age-verification. The vast majority of
Internet cigarette vendors simply do not prevent youths from
purchasing cigarettes online. While 79.7% of vendors include

* Kurt M. Ribisl. Annice E. Kim, Rebecca S. Williams, Sales and
Marketing of Cigarettes on the Internet: Emerging Threats to Tobacco
Control and Promising Poliey Solutions in Reducing Tobacco Use
Strategres. Barriers, and Consequences. Washington, DC: National
Academy Press

10

minimum-age warnifigs on their home pages, only 26.7%
feature them at the top of the page where they can be
viewed without scrolling, the prevailing standard for Web
design.” Such warnings are no substitute for valid age-
verification procedures, and many of these warnings are
likely to be missed by users. Internet *.garette vendors
commonly use self-verification methods, asking users to
type in a birth date (used by 18.8% of vendors) or stating a
disclaimer that, by submitting an order, the customer is
certifying that he/she is of legal age to purchase cigarettes
(used by 31.5% of vendors). Only a handful of vendors use
minimally adequate age-verification methods, such as
requiring the submission of a photo ID (used by 7.7% of
vendors) or age-verification at delivery (used by 10.1% of
vendors). California conducted an investigation that
exposed the significant problem with Internet tobacco sales.
Children visited 234 web sites and were able to purchase a
carton of cigarettes from 129 sites. Only a few Internet
retailers did anything more than ask the prospective
purchaser to state that he or she was at least 18 years old.*

Respondent suggests that Maine could fulfill its public
health goal by simply enforcing those portions of its Tobacco
Delivery Law that apply only to tobacco retailers. Those
provi ‘ons include requiring retailers to be licensed and
verify age through a database of records or by obtaining a

* Rebecca S. Williams, Youth Access to Cigarettes Online: Adver-
issed and Actual Sales Practices of Internet Cigarette Vendors [Disserta-
tuuon|. Chapel Hill: Health Behavior and Health Education, University
of North Carolina School of Public Health (2005).

Id

* Jennifer A. Jensen, Norval J. Hickman III, Hope Landrine, &
Ehzabeth A. Klonoff, Availability of Tobacco to Youth Via the Internet,
JAMA, 291:15,). 1837 (2004).

1]

copy of a government ID from the purchaser. Respondent
also suggests that Maine, like California, could engage in
sting operations to determine if tobacco retailers are
complying with those regulations. Br. of Resp’t in Opp’n to
Pet for Writ of Cert. 16.

These suggestions would be helpful if the target of the
stings were brick-and-mortar sellers. In face-to-face sales
a tobacco retailer selling to a minor can be quickly identi-
fied and the statute can be effectively enforced. However,
when the target of the sting is an online tobacco seller, it is
extremely difficult to identify the seller, and hence, effec-
tively enforce the statute. Moreover, an Internet sting is,
for the most part, only helpful in identifying the web site
from which the minor purchased the tobacco products and
the carrier who delivered them. But simply identifying the
online tobacco web sites selling tobacco products to chil-
dren is insufficient to stop these illegal sales for a number
of reasons, including: (1) online tobacco sellers purposely
try to hide their identities by, for example, using third
party processors to front these transactions; (2) once the
online sellers are identified by law enforcement they move
to another web site; and (3) many of these sales come from
foreign countries or from Indian tribes making it difficult
to obtain jurisdiction over these individuals.” The only way
to effectively ensure that tobacco products are not deliv-
ered to children is by verifying in person that the ad-
dressee is the purchaser and is not a munor. Age

* In 2006, the States of California and Maryland attempted to
identify online tobacco retailers illegally peddling tobacco products over
the Internet. The states obtained address information from the web
sites, and sent hundreds of letters to these retailers. Most were
returned as undeliverable.

12

verification procedures such as those contained in Maine's
law are necessary to ensure that carriers will not be used
as a conduit for illegal activity.

At least 35 states, including Maine, severely restrict
Internet sales to consumers.” Although states differ in
the restrictions they impose, typically they provide that:
(1) Retailers at the time of the sale, and/or carriers upon
delivery, must verify that the purchaser is an adult; (2)
Retailers must be licensed by the state; and (3) Containers

”" Ata. CODE § 13A-12-3.5 (Lexis Nexis Supp. 2006); AK. STAT.
§ 43.50.105 (2006), Ariz. Rev. Stat. ANN. §§ 42-3222 (2006 & Supp.
2006), 42-3225 (2006), CaL. Bus. & Pror. Cope § 22963 (West Supp.
2007). CaL. Rev. & Tax. Cope § 30101.7 (West 2004), DEL. CODE. ANN.
tit. 30, §$ 5362, 5365 (Supp. 2006); Haw. Rev. Stat. ANN. § 245-16
:2006); Ip. CopE §§ 39-5714. 39-5715, 39-5717 (Supp. 2007); 720 ILL.
Comp. Stat. ANN. 678/5 (West Supp. 2007), IND. CODE ANN. § 24-3-5-5
(West 2006), IA. Cope ANN. § 4534.45 (West 2006), Kan. STAT. ANN.
§ 79-3333 (Supp. 2006), La. Rev. Stat. ANN. § 47:874 (2006); Me. REV.
Stat. ANN. tit. 22. § 1555 C-D (2004), Mass. Gen. Laws ANN. ch. 64C,
§ 6 (West 2001 & Supp. 2007). Mich. Comp. Laws ANN. § 205.431 (West
Supp. 2007), Minn. Stat. ANN. §§ 297F 11 (West 1999), § 325F.781 (West
Supp. 2007, Mo. ANN. Stat. §§ 149.045 (West 2006), § 407.926 (West
Supp 2007): Miss. CoDE ANN. § 97-32-5 (West 1999), Mont. CODE ANN.
§§ 16-11-104, 16-11-128, 16-11-131 (2005 & Supp. 2006), Nev. REv.
STAT. ANN. §§$ 370.325, 370.329 ‘Lexis Nexis 2007), N.J. STAT. ANN.
§ 54-40A-32 West 2002), N.C. Gen. Stat. § 105-113.31 (2003), OKLA.
Stat. ANN. tit. 68 §§ 304 ‘West 2001 & Supp. 2007), 309 ‘West 2001).
317.4 (West Supp. 2007); OR Rev Stat § 323.718 (2005). 72 Pa. STAT.
ANN. § 231-A ‘West Supp. 2007), R.I. Gen. Laws § 44-20.1-5 (2005), S.D
CopiFIED Laws §§ 10-30-93, 10-50-96 ‘Supp. 2007), TENN. CODE ANN.
§ 67-4-1029 2006). TEx. HeaLTH & SareTy Cove ANN. § 161.455
‘Vernon Supp 2006), TEX. TAX CODE ANN. § 154.207 (Vernon 2002), UT.
Cope ANN. § 76-10-105.1 (Supp. 2007; Va. Cope ANN. §§ 18.2-246.10
2004), WasH Rev. CoDE ANN. § 70.155.105 ‘West Supp. 2007), W. VA.
Cope ANN. § 16-9E-4 (Lexis Nexis 2006), Wis. STAT. ANN § 139.345
(West Supp. 2006", Wyo. STAT. ANN. § 39-15-106 (2007)

13

must be labeled as containing cigarettes or tobacco
products.

Five states, Connecticut, New York, Maryland, Ohio
and Arkansas, have banned outright the shipment and
delivery of cigarettes to individual consumers.

If this Court accepts respondent’s expansive interpre-
tation of FAAAA preemption, states’ tobacco laws will be
undercut. Consequently, states may lose their most effec-
tive means of preventing children from purchasing tobacco
products over the Internet.

B. Congress Intended the FAAAA to Preempt
States’ Economic Authority Over Motor Car-
riers, Not State Police Powers

The FAAAA has two preemption provisions. One of
these provisions sets forth the following “general rule”:

Except as provided in subparagraph ‘B), a State
... May not enact or enforce a law ... related to
a price, route, or services of an air carrier or car-
rier affiliated with a direct air carrier ... when
such carrier is transporting property by aircraft
or by movor veliicile.

49 U.S.C. § 41713(b 4A).

* Conn. Gen. Stat. ANN. § 12-285c ‘West Supp. 2007), N.Y. PUB.
HEALTH Law § 1399-1] (McKinney 2002. Mp. Cope ANN., Bus. REG.
$$ 16-222 2004), 16-223 (2006), OH. Rev Cope ANN. § 2927 023 (Lens
Nexis 2006, ARK CODE ANN. §$§ 26-57-203 11997 & Supp. 2005), 26-57-
215 1997 . 26-57-230 11997)

14

The other provision states:

Except as provided in paragraphs (2) and (3), a
State ... may not enact or enforce a law ... re-
lated to a price, route, or service of any motor
carrier (other than a carrier affiliated with a di-
rect air carrier covered by section 41713(b)(4))
... With respect to the transportation of property.

49 U.S.C. § 14501(c1). The language was patterned after
the preemption provision of the Airline Deregulation Act of
1978 (ADA). See H.R. Conf. Rep. 103-677 at 85, reprinted
in 1994 U.S.C.C.A.N. 1715, 1759. Nothing in this language
indicates a congressional intent to preempt state police
power enactments. To the contrary, the legislative history
shows that the FAAAA was intended to preempt states
from asserting economic control over carriers in order (1)
to eliminate non-uniform “|s]tate economic regulation of
motor carrier operations |that] causes significant ineffi-
ciencies, increased costs, reduction of competition, inhibi-
tion of innovation and technology and curtails the
expansion of markets”; and (2) to “level the playing field”
between air carriers and motor carriers. H.R. Conf.
Rep. No. 103-677, at 85-88 (1994), reprinted in 1994
U.S.C.C.A.N. 1715, 1758-60.

That the objectives of FAAAA are consistent with the
carners goals can be discerned from the testimony of
James A. Rogers, Vice President, Government Affairs,
United Parcel Service. State Motor Carrier Laws: Hearing
on S. 1491 Before the Subcomm. on Surface Transp. of the
H. Comm. on Pub. Works & Transp., 103rd Cong. (1994)
‘statement of James A. Rogers, Vice President, Gov't
Affairs United Parcel Service). He testified that he was
supporting this legislation because of the decision of the
Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals in Federal Express Corp. v.

15

California Public Utilities Commission, 936 F.2d 1075 (9th
Cir. 1991). That case held that the Federal Aviation Act,
Pub. L. No. 95-504, 92 Stat. 1705, completely preempted
the California Public Utilities Commission from any
jurisdiction over the activities of Federal Express. As a
result, UPS would have to cunform to the economic regula-
tions of the state commissions while its direct competitor
would not. Mr. Rogers also listed regulations that created
substantial economic burdens for UPS including: (1) by
requiring carriers to file rate changes with all 38 state
commissions; and (2) by making UPS suffer lengthy and
costly delays in order to obtain state approval to change a
service offering. State Motor Carrier Laws: Hearing on S.
1491 Before the Subcomm. on Surface Transp. of the H.
Comm. on Pub. Works & Transp., 103rd Cong. (1994)
(statement of James A. Rogers, Vice President, Gov't
Affairs United Parcel Service); 1994 WL 377959. It was
these substantial economic burdens that caused the
carriers to clamor for enactment of the FAAAA. Never did
the carriers suggest at the hearings on the FAAAA that
they needed protection from state laws restricting the
transportation and delivery of dangerous or contraband
products like tobacco.

Moreover, the legislative history shows that the
conferees, in their 1994 Report to Congress on the FAAAA,
determined that nine states did not have the problematic
statutes that the FAAAA was intended to preempt because
they did not regulate intrastate prices, routes and services
of motor carriers. H.R. Conf. Rep. No. 103-677 at 86,
reprinted in 1994 U.S.C.C.A.N. at 1758. Notably, a number
of those pre-1994 statutes had provisions restricting the
transportation and delivery of a variety of different prod-’
ucts in ways that are very similar to Maine’s Tobacco

16

Delivery Law. Examples of some of those states and their
statutes include Arizona (restricting when a common
carrier may ship wildlife),” Florida (prohibiting a common
carrier from knowingly transporting any domestic game
unless it is accompanied with the appropriate permit and
markings on the package), Maine (requiring common
carriers transporting any wild animal or bird to check the
hunter’s license, affix tags and identification, and make
returns to the commissioner), New Jersey (prohibiting
common carriers from accepting various beekeeping
colonies and supplies without proof of inspection),” Ver-
mont (prohibiting common carriers from transporting fish
or game protected by law unless accompanied by the
required tags), and Wisconsin (prohibiting common
carriers from shipping alcohol into the state unless recipi-
ent has a proper permit).’’ Under respondent's expansive
view of preemption, even these statutes in states that
Congress deemed to be in compliance with the FAAAA
would be preempted. The conferees implicitly made it
clear, using these states as examples, that just because
state statutes touch on the transportation and delivery by
carriers, or cause carriers to change their uniform prac-
tices, does not mean that the statutes are automatically
preempted. These statutes pass constitutiona: muster for
the same reason that Maine’s tobacco law does — they do
not impose the type of significant economic burdens on

' Ariz. REV. Stat. ANN. § 17-372 (2006).

' Pia. Stat. ANN. § 372.16 (West 2006).

* Me. REV. STAT. ANN. tit. 12, § 7534 ‘repealed 2004).
* NJ. Stat. ANN. § 4°6-15 (West 1998).

Vr Stat. ANN. tt. 10, § 5102 (2006).

' Wis. STaT ANN. § 125 68+ West 2001 & Supp. 2006).

17

carrier services that congress intended to prevent when it
enacted the FAAAA.

This Court also confirmed Congress’s intent not to
preempt traditional police-power enactments in a case
holding that the FAAAA does not bar a state from delegat-
ing to municipalities the state’s authority to establish
safety regulations governing motor carriers of property.
“Congress’ clear purpose in § 14501(c)(2A) is to ensure
that its preemption of States’ economic authority over
motor carriers of property, § 14501(c)(1), ‘not restrict’ the
preexisting and traditional state police power over
safety... .” City of Columbus v. Ours Garage & Wrecker
Service, Inc., 536 U.S. 424, 439 (2002).

C. If Respondent’s View of FAAAA Preemption
Were to Become the Law of the Land, State
Health and Safety Laws Touching on the
Transportation or Delivery of Myriad Dan-
gerous Products Across the Country Would
Be at Risk of Preemption

Under respondent's expansive view of FAAAA preemp-
tion, every law that mentions the transport and delivery of
products by carriers would be preempted. For example,
respondent contends that the challenged provisions of
Maine’s Tobacco Delivery Law are “replete with express
references to transportation and delivery services,” and
are therefore preempted by the FAAAA. According to
respondent, these “express references” include the provi-
sion in section 1555-D which defines and proscribes the
“Illegal Delivery of Tobacco Products” and makes it unlaw-
ful for a person to “knowingly transport or cause to
be delivered” certain shipments of tobacco products.
Resp’t’s Br. in Opp'n to Writ of Cert. at p. 10. Respondent

18

erroneously relies on California Div. of Labor Standards
Enforcement v. Dillingham Constr. N.A., Inc., 519 U.S.
316, 325 (1997) (a case interpreting a similarly broadly
worded provision in the Employee Retirement Income
Security Act of 1974 (ERISA), 88 Stat. 829, as amended 29
U.S.C. § 1001 et seq.) to support its mistaken proposition
that the provisions of Maine’s law “expressly reference”
meaning “mention” carrier services and are preempted.
Opp’n to Pet. 10. As discussed infra, respondent has
misconstrued the Court’s decision in that case. Dillingham
rejected a similarly expansive view of preemption in
holding that California’s prevailing wage law was not
preempted by ERISA. Dillingham, 519 U.S. at 334.

Respondent’s broad view of FAAAA preemption is
especially troubling because its reasoning is not limited to
tobacco. Under this theory, any state statute — and there
are many — that merely mentions carrier transportation
and delivery services would be preempted by the FAAAA.
Examples of state statutes mentioning such services range
from statutes prohibiting the transportation and delivery
of dangerous or contraband products outright such as
inedible meat,” obscene material,” plants infested with
listed pests,“ and explosives,” to statutes that regulate or
restrict the transportation and delivery of raw oysters or

° 22 . . . 23
shrimp,” swine unless certified as free of disease,” and

* N.Y Acric. & Mkts. Law § 96-z-11 (McKinney 2004).

* ARIZ. REV. STaT. ANN. § 13-3502 (2001).

= Cat. Foop & AGRIC. CODE § 6461 (West 2u01)

* Co. Rev. Stat. ANN. § 9-6-102 (West 2003).

* ALA. Cope § 9-12-50 (Lexis Nexis 2001).

* Conn. GEN. Stat. ANN. § 22-319 (West 2001 & Supp. 2007).

19

beer and wine.” As is clear from the legislative history,
Congress would not have intended the FAAAA to preempt
every state statute that mentions the transportation and
delivery of contraband or dangerous products. Such an
expansive interpretation of FAAAA preemption would
have an enormously adverse effect on the states’ health
and safety enforcement efforts. In fact, it has the potential
to change the entire landscape of regulation of the trans-
portation and delivery of such products by the states. The
same mistaken premises the court applied to preempt
Maine’s tobacco laws might also be applied to invalidate a
whole range of state laws essential to health and safety
merely because they touch upon transportation or delivery
by motor carriers.

Il. THE DECISION BELOW CREATES A SUBSTAN-
TIAL UNCERTAINTY REGARDING STATES’
ABILITY TO PROSECUTE VIOLATORS OF
LAWS REGULATING THE TRANSPORT AND
DELIVERY OF TOBACCO PRODUCTS

This Court should reject the flawed analysis proposed
by respondent concerning the provision of Maine's law
imputing knowledge to carriers that they were delivering
contraband tobz~co products from the markings or labels
on the package. The First Circuit held that Maine's ban on
the knowing delivery of contraband tobacco is not pre-
empted by the FAAAA, even though it pertains to carrier
services, because the provision only requires that the
carriers do not act as knowing accomplices in the illegal
sale of tobacco products; it does not require carriers to

“ Va Cope ANN § 4.1-209.1 (Supp. 2007).

20

modify their delivery methods other than by declining to
transport products that Maine legitimately bans. New
Hampshire Motor Transport Ass'n v. Rowe, 448 F.3d 66, 80
(2006). However, respondent contends that the First
Circuit’s determination that the provision imputing
knowledge of illegal activity to the carrier is preempted
because that provision would impact the operations of the
carrier by requiring reading and comprehending the labels
and markings is correct.

If this Court were to decide this case as respondent
suggests, such a decision would create uncertainty about
the states’ Internet tobacco-sales laws, and leaves states in
a quandary about which laws will pass constitutional
muster and which will not. Such uncertainty puts at risk
the states’ ability to successfully prosecute sellers of
contraband tobacco over the Internet. For example, Calli-
fornia has two laws regulating non-face-to-face tobacco
sales — California Business & Professions Code § 22963
and California Revenue & Taxation Code § 30101.7.
Although section 22963 primarily regulates the conduct of
retailers, the statute does provide for an enforcement
mechanism against carriers, if they deliver tobacco prod-
ucts with reason to know the package’s contents.” Section

* Section 229631d) states:

For the purposes of enforcement of this section pursuant to
Section 22958, the acts of the United States Postal Service
or other common carrier when engaged in the business of
transporting and delivering packages for others ... who
transports or delivers a package for another person utthout
any reason tu know of the package's contents, are not unlaw-
ful and are not subject to civil penalties. Section 22963,
subd 'd), italics added)

21

30101.7 requires the retailer to, among other things, label
the package as containing cigarettes.

To enforce a ban on the knowing delivery of cigarettes,
the state must put into evidence the package delivered by
the carrier labeled “cigarettes,” so that the fact finder can
determine if the carrier had reason to know the package
contained cigarettes. According to respondent, however,
even if the state could impute such knowledge to the
carrier this fact could not be introduced into evidence. As a
result, the carrier would be immunized from the conse-
quences of its illegal act. It is unthinkable that states can
enact laws to protect the public health of their citizens but
are deprived of the most effective tools to enforce those
statutes.

Respondent's analysis is also flawed as to laws that
ban the transport or delivery of contraband products
outright. The court held that the knowing delivery of
contraband tobacco products is not preempted by the
FAAAA, because carriers need not modify their delivery
methods other than by declining to transport a product the
state has legitimately banned. (Rowe, 448 F.3d 66, 80.) As
a practical matter, as with the California statute and five
statutes hanning the direct delivery of cigarettes or to
bacco products to consumers, the way to prove a knowing
delivery of contraband tobacco products by the carrier is
also to impute knowledge if the package was labeled
“cigarettes” or “tobacco” and by the fact that the cigarettes
were delivered to a consumer as opposed to one of the
excepted persons — e.g. a state-licensed tobacco distributor
or retailer set forth in the statute.

This Court should reject respondent's contention that
violation of Maine's statute cannot be imputed to a carmier.

22

To hold otherwise would effectively leave states that ban
outright the delivery of tobacco products no way to enforce
their statutes in practical terms. Simply put, under
respondent's analysis even statutes banning the knowing
delivery of contraband tobacco may be unenforceable in
application, unless the basis of the knowing violation is
that the carrier was specifically told the package contained
tobacco products and despite that knowledge, delivered
them anyway - an unlikely scenario.

III. RATHER THAN THE BROAD PREEMPTION
STANDARD APPLIED BY THE FIRST CIRCUIT
IN RELIANCE ON MORALES, THE APPRO-
PRIATE STANDARD IS THAT ADOPTED BY
THIS COURT IN THE ERISA CASES

This Court should apply a narrow view of preemption
in this case as it has done in cases decided since Morales v.
Trans’ World Airlines Inc., including New York State
Conference of Blue Cross & Blue Shield Plans v. Travelers
Ins. Co., 514 U.S. 645 (1995) and California Div. of Labor
Standards Enforcement v. Dillingham Construction, Inc.,
519 U.S. 316 (1997). In those cases this Court was grap-
pling with the problem of where to draw the line in a
similar seemingly limitless preemption provision in the
Employee Retirement Income Security Act of 1974 (ER-
ISA) which preempts state laws “insofar as they... relate
to any employee benefit plan....” 29 U.S.C. § 1144/a)
(2000).

In Travelers, this Court rejected the opportunity to
extend a broad preemption analysis to ERISA. There
commercial insurers challenged a New York statute requir-
ing hospitals to collect surcharges from patients covered by

a

23

a commercial insurance carrier but not from patients
insured by a Blue Cross/Blue Shield Plan, and imposing
certain surcharges that vary with the number of Medicaid
recipients they enroll. The issue was whether ERISA
preempted the state surcharge provisions on bills of
patients whose commercial insurance is purchased by
employee health care plans governed by ERISA and
Health Maintenance Organizations whose membership
fees are paid by an ERISA plan. Petitioners claimed that
the statute “related to” employee benefit plans within the
meaning of ERISA and was preempted. Finding the broad
language of ERISA unhelpful in determining whether the
state statute was preempted, the Court said:

. one might be excused for wondering at first
blush, whether the words of limitation (“insofar
as they . .. relate”) do much limiting. If “relate to”
were taken to extend to the furthest stretch of its
indeterminacy, then for all practical purposes pre-
emption would never run its course...

Travelers at 655.

A unanimous Court in Travelers read the Morales
ruling narrowly, and rejected the claim because the sur-
charges are not imposed exclusively on ERISA plans, but
are imposed regardless of whether commercial coverage, or
membership is secured by an ERISA plan, private pur-
chase or otherwise. Jd. at 655. Traditional state regulation
having no more than an indirect effect on ERISA plans is
not “related to” such plans within the meaning of ERISA’s
preemption clause. See id. at 661-62.

In determining whether the surcharge laws have a
“connection with” ERISA plans this Court said it was
necessary to go beyond the unhelpful text and look instead

24

to “the objectives of the ERISA statute as a guide to the
scope of the state law that Congress understood would
survive” Jd. at 656. Unlike the First Circuit below, this
Court “fhas] never assumed lightly that Congress has
derogated state regulation, but instead have addressed
claims of pre-emption starting with the presumption that
Congress does not intend to supplant state law” Jd. at 654

Although the ERISA preemption provision is broad,
“nothing in the language of the Act or the context of its
passage indicates that Congress chose to displace general
health care regulation, which historically has been a
matter of local concern.” Jd. at 661. This Court found that
neither the purpose of the statute nor the effect on ERISA
plans justify preemption.

Similarly, in Dillingham, this Court held that Califor-
nia’s prevailing wage law (CPWL) did not “relate to”
employee benefit plans and was not preempted by ERISA.
California’s law required contractors on public works
projects to pay workers the prevailing wage in the
worker’s locale, except that a lower wage could be paid for
workers in apprenticeship programs. Dillingham says that
since ERISA’s enactment, the Court has endeavored with
some regularity to interpret and apply the “unhelpful text”
of ERISA’s pre-emption provision. It has also long ac-
knowledged that ERISA’s preemption provision is “clearly
expansive,” has a “broad scope,” and is “conspicuous for its
breadth.” Dillingham, 519 U.S. at 324. The Court's efforts
in Dillingham at applying the provision has yielded a two-
part inquiry: a “law ‘relate|s) to’ a covered employee
benefit plan for purposes of [ERISA] ‘if it |1] has a connec-
tion with or [2] reference to such a plan.’” (cites omitted)
Id. “Where a State’s law acts immediately and exclusively
upon ERISA plans, ... or where the existence of ERISA

25

plans is essential to the law’s operation, .. . that ‘reference’
will result in pre-emption.” Jd. at 325.

The Court in Dillingham found that the prevailing
wage statute, like the New York surcharge law has a
tenuous economic effect on ERISA plans. The Court went
on to say that while these laws alter the incentives, they
do not dictate the choices facing ERISA plans and “(ijn this
regard, it is no different from myriad state laws in areas
traditionally subject to local regulation, which Congress
could not possibly have intended to eliminate.” Dilling-
ham, 519 US. at 334.

Similarly, in this case, neither Maine, nor the 34
states restricting Internet tobacco sales to consumers, are
forcing carriers to deliver tobacco products. The states are
merely granting the power (or creating the incentive) to
the carriers to expand their delivery business to include
tobacco products, as long as they comply with Maine's
statutory requirements. Five states currently ban the
direct shipment of tobacco by retailers to consumers, and
Maine and the rest of the 34 states that restrict Internet
tobacco sales could do so as well. Given that states like
Maine that restrict Internet tobacco sales have the greater
power to ban the shipments altogether. it makes no sense
to say they do not have the lesser power to condition such
a shipment on a mode of delivery. Maine’s Tobacco Deliv-
ery Law is no different from myriad state laws regulating
the transportation and delivery of dangerous products
which Congress could not possibly have intended to
eliminate.

Moreover, neither Maine’s Tobacco Delivery Law nor
similar laws in other states have a connection with, or
reference to carrier services as interpreted by this Court in

26

Dillingham and Travelers. Under the Dillingham test,
neither section 1555-C(3C) nor other similar state
statutes imposing age-verification obligations on retailers,
“reference” carrier services fur two reasons: (1) by their
terms these laws apply to delivery services that are not
covered by the FAAAA, including the United States Postal
Service, so they do not act exclusively on carrier services,
and (2) the provisions obligate retailers, not carriers, so
they do not act immediately on carrier services. Seventeen
states” in addition to Maine do not impose age-verification
requirements directly on the carrier. Either they impose
obligations on the retailer or the statutes apply generally
“merely mentioning” carrier services. Under respondent's
limitless view, all these statutes “expressly reference”
carrier services and should be preempted. But Congress
could not have intended such a massive across-the-board
preemption of all those state statutes.

Likewise, neither Maine’s law nor other states’ laws
restricting delivery of tobacco and other dangerous prod-
ucts have a forbidden significant effect on carrier services.

* ariz. Rev. StaT. ANN. §§ 42-3222 (2006 & Supp. 2006), 42-3225
2006". DEL. CODE. ANN. tit. 30, §§ 5362, 5365 ‘Supp. 2006); IND. CODE
ANN. § 24-3-5-5 (West 2006). La. Rev. Stat. ANN. § 47:874 (2006). MINN.
Star. ANN. § 325F.781 (West Supp. 2007), Nev. Rev. Stat. ANN.
$$ 370.325, 370.329 (Lexis Nexis 2007); OKLA. STAT. ANN. tit. 68 § 317.4
‘West Supp. 2007), Or. REV. Stav. § 323.718 (2005), 72 Pa. StaT. ANN.
§ 231-A (West Supp. 2007); RJ. Gen. Laws § 44-20.1-5 (2005), S.D.
CopIFIED LAWS §§ 10-50-93, 10-50-96 Supp. 2007), TENN. CODE ANN.
§ 67-4-1029 :2006), TEX. HEALTH & SaFETY CODE ANN. § 161.455
‘Vernon Supp. 2006), Ut Cope ANN. § 76-10-105.1 (Supp. 2007); VA.
Cope ANN. § 18.2-246.10 (2004), WasH. Rev. Cope ANN. § 70.155.105
‘West Supp. 2007), W. VA. Cove ANN. § 16-9E-4 (Lexis Nexis 2006).

27

Twenty-six states, in addition to Maine, require tobacco
products to be labeled as such.” At least six states, in
addition to Maine, require delivery to a licensed entity.”

* Ava. Cove § 13A-12-3.5 (Lexis Nexis Supp. 2006).
CONN. GEN. STAT. ANN. § 12-285c (West Supp. 2007).
N.Y. Pus. HEALTH Law § 1399-1] (McKinney 2002).

AK. STAT. § 43.50.105 (2006).

Ariz. Rev. Stat. ANN. §§ 42-3222 (2006 & Supp. 2006), 42-3225 (2006).

Cau. Rev. & TAX. Cope § 30101.7 (West 2004).

DEL. CODE. ANN. tit. 30, §§ 5362, 5365 (Supp. 2006).

Haw. Rev. Stat. ANN. § 245-16 (2006).

Ip Cope §§ 39-5714, 39-5715, 39-5717 (Supp. 2007).

720 ILL. Comp. Stat. ANN. 678/5 (West Supp. 2007).

Inv. CODE ANN. § 24-3-5-5 (West 2006).

KAN. StaT. ANN. § 79-3333 (Supp. 2006).

La. REV. Stat. ANN. § 47:874 (2006).

Mick. Comp. Laws ANN. § 205.431 (West Supp. 2007).

MINN. Stat. ANN. § 325F.781 (West Supp. 2007).

NEV. Rev. StaT. § 202.24935 (2005).

Nev. Rev. Stat. ANN. §§ 370 325, 370 329 (Lexis Nexis 2007).

OKLA. StTaT. ANN. tit. 68 § 317.4 (West Supp. 2007).

Or. REV. Star. § 323.718 (2005).

K.1. GEN. Laws § 44-20.1-5 (2003).

SV. CODIFIED Laws §$ 10-50-93, 10-50-96 (Supp. 2007).

TENN. CODE ANN. § 67-4-1029 (2006).

Tex. HEALTH & Sarety CODE ANN. § 161.455 (Vernon Supp. 2006).

Va. CODE ANN. § 18 2-246.10 (2004).

Wask. Rev. Copt ANN. § 70.155.105 (West Supp. 2007).

W Va. COvE ANN. § 16-9E-4 (Lexis Nexis 2006).

* Mo. Cope ANN.. Bus. REG. § 16-222 (2004).

N Y. Pup. HEALTH Law § 1399-1] ‘(McKinney 2002).

Haw. Rev. Stat. ANN. § 245-16 (2006).

On. Rev Cove ANN. § 2927 023 1 Lexis Nens 2006).
‘Continued on following page)

28

Reading labels, reviewing a list of unlicenced tobacco
retailers and complying with age-verification require-
ments has a tenuous effect on carrier services. Clearly
such minor inconveniences are not the type of significant
economic effect Congress intended when it enacted the
FAAAA, and respondent has not introduced any evidence
to the contrary. If respondent’s limitless view of preemp-
tion is accepted by this Court, all of the state statutes are
at risk of preemption.

As noted above, UPS and other major carriers are
already doing what is basically required by Maine’s law
and the laws of a number of other states, at least with
regard to cigarettes, and since UPS already has a database
of tobacco retailers, finding out information about retailers
selling other tobacco products should not be too difficult.
The objective of Maine’s Tobacco Delivery Law, and laws
regulating tobacco and other dangerous products in other
states, is to ensure that (1) products such as tobacco are
not delivered to children and/or (2) the carrier is not the
illegal conduit for such activities. Congress’s in enacting
the FAAAA did not intend to preempt public health laws
having an indirect or remote impact on carrier services;
nor did Congress intend to create a loophole that would
immunize carriers from illegal activity.

In rejecting the narrow approach to preemption taken
by this Court in Dillingham and Travelers in favor of the
limitless view of preemption set forth in Morales, the First
Circuit said that “|I)f developments in pension law have
under-cut holdings in air transportation law, it is for the

Ak. Stat. § 43.50. 105 ' 2006).
720 ILL Comp. Stat. ANN. 678/5 (West Supp 2007).

29

Supreme Court itself to make the adjustments.” 448 F.3d
at 76. The amici states ask this court to do just that —
clarify that the narrow standard of preemption set forth in
Dillingham and Travelers is the appropriate test for
interpreting the FAAAA preemption provision and that
Maine’s Tobacco Delivery Law is not preempted by the
FAAAA.

CONCLUSION
The judgment of the court of appeals should be re-

versed.
Dated: August 23, 2007
Respectfully submitted,

EDMUND G. BROWN JR.
Attorney General of the State
of California

TOM GREENE
Chief Assistant Attorney General

MANUEL MEDERIOS

Solicitor General

DENNIS ECKHART

Senior Assistant Attorney General
LAURA KAPLAN

Deputy Attorney General
Counsel of Record

Counsel for Amicus Curiae

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0299%3A15. Public record. Not legal advice.
