# Amicus Curiae Brief — National Ass'n v. Defenders of Wildlife

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0293%3A30

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2007
- **Citation:** 551 U.S. 644

## Text

Y1Ge

Nos. 06-549; 06-340

In The
Supreme Court of the Anited States

¢

UNITED STATES ENVIRONMENTAL
PROTECTION AGENCY,
Petitioner.
V.
DEFENDERS OF WILDLIFE ef a/..

Respond nes,
—

NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF HOMEBUILDERS ef a/.,

PETIONCTS,
V.
DEFENDERS OF WILDLIFE e7 a7...
Respondents.
.
On Writs Of Certiorari To The United States
Court Of Appeals For The Ninth Circuit
—- +
BRIEF OF JARED M. DIAMOND, THOMAS EISNER,
GORDON H. ORIANS, STUART L. PIMM,
PETER H. RAVEN, DAVID S. WILCOVE,

AND EDWARD O. WILSON AS AMICI CURIAE
IN SUPPORT OF RESPONDENTS

*

DANIEL J. ROLE

PACIFIC ENVIRONMENTAE ADVOCACY CENTER
10015 S.W. Terwilliger Bivd.

Portland. OR 97219

(503) 768-6707

March 27, 2007 Counsel for Amici Curiae

Cen WEE LAW BREE UMUN TENG. O08) Set ee et
enire Ml cen bbe Pte us ™

i

a

TABLE OF CONTENTS ~~

Page

SUMMARY OF THE ARGUMENT ................cccceeeeeeeeees 3

TET iiciicsisvicnibicicinitntinaninsiacanineiaiancaisidieiinnaiiipinincenicainian 5
I. CONSERVATION OF ENDANGERED AND

Il.

THREATENED SPECIES PROVIDES SOCIETY
WITH MYRIAD IMPORTANT BENEFITS........

A. Ecological and economic importance of
conserving listed species and the eco-
systems upon which they depend................

B. Scientific value to the Nation and value to
the health of its people ...................:ceeeeeee0ee

C. Esthetic, historical, and cultural im-

REGULATION OF ALL FEDERAL AGENCY
ACTIONS UNDER SECTION 7 IS AN IMPOR-
TANT ASPECT OF THE ENDANGERED
SPECIES ACTS PROTECTIONS FOR
SPE Oe Ge ennceneccessemsossensnnnssnnesenetesninnennee

A. The Endangered Species Act has proven
effective in halting and reversing species
decline in the United States........................

B. The procedural and substantive provisions
of section 7(a)(2)’s consultation process
provide crucial legal protections for a
substantial number of listed species and
Ge Ne ircescrecnsusnstinctinenadvinsntensiininetonnsennes

10

16

16

TABLE OF CONTENTS -— Continued

| Page
C. Section 7’s emphasis of science favors
interpreting its prohibitions to apply to all
federal actions that are not granted an
exemption by the Endangered Species
ND ccnscxctvisernncnsiainccsitintininninnsnioniannsees 26

> I cecnetrccnnsmerenintipniemassemanememennnees 30

; iii
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Page
| CASES
Bennett v. Spear, 520 U.S. 154 (1997) ............cccceeeeeseeeeeees 22
Gibbs v. Babbitt, 214 F.3d 483 (4th Cir. 2000), cert.
denied, Gibbs v. Norton, 531 U.S. 1145 (2001)............. 10
National Association of Home Builders of the
United States v. Babbit, 130 F.3d 1041 (D.C. Cir.
1997), cert. denier’, 524 U.S. 937 (1998) ..........ccceceee 9,10
National Wildlife Federation v. Burlington Northern
Railroad Inc., 23 F.3d 1508 (9th Cir. 1994)... 25
Sweet Home Chapter, Communities for a Great ~
Oregon v. Babbitt, 515 U.S. 687 (1995)... ceececeeeeee 25

Tennessee Valley Auth. v. Hill, 437 U.S. 153 (1978)....passim

STATUTES AND REGULATIONS

BD i RE ttctccrcrnernteusomnciinscsnienniemnetinnn 19
ae Ss GR esentecinestscnewinnsssavesucemennpinennvinennictenanitieties 3
a ers SEO ccreseisenccnsmanseveinnnnnnsensacnstiisepmientaeniqntuts 6
es SI tcenscencnsccenccnisncsennesseaniniccnniensamnedmniniiien 6
Be te Gee GD crtcnerescennsennessemeniesnerensernannmmeenane 5
BE a> SINNED seseconscsecsinssscennusnesenninmeecunnennianveneinonins 22
Be ears SE sc ceccrnnencntsenniscenecnsnsssininncomemnnnpnatnte 26, 27
BP ES, Ge icccsntnesrensevnsasencscenseeseunsienenionse 24
BD TE. Ge cer encccccnsescsenssscnsesescnnsensecsccesees 24
a ers IE Pictcntenscnesencsntnnnninccninesctaveocnscommtmnenenets 28
ee IED ccctcenniniiisinrnntapsiciatatinistininmmndeneinnieaiadiat 28

16 U.S.C. §1536(e) through §1536(p)............ ee eeeeeeeeeeee 29

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page
Be Ee 29
ae tes SUE sicccicnictrinivcensinnnennmmameninnsenies 29
ne ee Si nicer ssesistasieri crane ieapriiiaianeaenenaniaintiniinetnes 29
Se STE sinressiecemneonesiiseiinceiininicitigasadensainnicnmmndia 25
MIE scsciconsesncetpatesninscndiliabeitensiiadnddiinnnnenadannateciiaieil 25
ee es SI echepiinitininnsiprnnncdmneninddeensteamniamnmeninemnninis 23
EE ID ciisntnsensintennencitiseneneinicinnmmaiianniniiains 25
SnD; STITUTE iscsiieneebrihitsinineainscesininpeneapenetieeieiindenimrcateninannaians 25
Se IE eenisirnisinsetsounaencennsnnenanunedtensenniiiunieneieiiiiie 25
SNS IIIT ITT cictniacsitpsinitpgetiiininnidpeninaitioieaiichingsnniaineeeiiiotiii 23
Se CITI i sictincisenssipssinsnainiintignainiiatecigtsicdiduiiantinntion’ 28
Sy SE TIINIED iiiccscctinsiceinstinstisieensinimsesiniieaiientalisiiniontaiiingi 24
es ED icrsinicstisiniatpainnticninsccinmiincmmanienii 23, 24

OTHER AUTHORITIES

Michael C. Blumm, Flies, Spiders, Toads, Wolves,
and the Constitutionality of the Endangered
Species Act’s Take Provision, 34 Envtl. L. 309

M. Breyer et al., More than the Sum of the Parts,
in Precious Heritage at 206, B. Stein et al., eds.

STUN tadichchiaiaphicetibaesieeasceniceipdeiealeddhanipiadansidithiiaiiabialdainiaiibeaeses 16
B. Burgess, Fate of the Wild: the Endangered
Species Act and the Future of Biodiversity (2001).......... 5

R. Costanza et al., The Value of the World’s
Ecosystem Services and Natural Capital, 387
ETE Ea ae ee 8

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page
G. Daily and P. Ehrlich, Population Extinction
and the Biodiversity Crisis, in Biodiversity
Conservation: Problems and Policies, C.A.
PRED GE Gin GE CRED cercenctictcnmanenmnnnninin 14
G. Daily, Benefits Supplied to Human Societies by
Natural Ecosystems, 2 Issues in Ecology 1 (1997).......... 7

Endangered Species Act Reauthorization Hearings
Before the House Subcomm. on Fisheries and
Wildlife Conservation and the Environment of the
House Comm. on Merchant Marine and Fisheries,

Se CE. BE TID, Cee eeveveccccscncssnnionessenatscntesantinnnss 7

FWS, Consultations With Federal Agencies, www.fws.
gov/endangered/consultations/consultations.pdf

SOE SED Site, CIID cncevnsccunncticnisnisceveniionnninniateieeel 24
OR FU, Bay, De Ceres csensmiresesessenssenenessenvinnninsesinians 15
Scott Freeman & John C. Herron, Evolutionary

ER Cee iccrericeiessenininiininiaiicieninnmiinniiaidia 7, 11,14

C. Groves et al., Owning Up To Our Responsibilities:
Who owns Lands Important to Biodiversity?, in
Precious Heritage, B. Stein et al., eds. (2000)............... 19

H.R. Conf. Rep. No. 697, 96th Cong., Ist Sess. 12,
reprinted in 1979 U.S. Code Cong. & Admin.

eR TUTE TIPE conncnneccscunnsdenseupciecubieestiiuasdndatantmidiempaiamemaiadidiidieds 27
ee SN See, EE CD cnerececinninctcnsenniiatnensianisnnsicias 11, 26
H.R. Rep. No. 259, 102nd Cong., Ist Sess. (1991)............ 12

Hearings on H.R. 4335 before the Subcomm. on
Natural Resources, Agricultural Research and
Environment of the House Comm. on Science,
Space, and Technology, 100th Cong., 2d Sess.

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES -— Continued

Page
L. Helfrich et al., Sustaining America’s Aquatic
Biodiversity: Why is Aquatic Biodiversity Declining?,
Virginia Tech Pub. No. 420-521 (2003) ...........:cccceseeseees 18
A. Leopold, A Sand County Almanac (1949) .............000008 26

T. Male and M. Bean, Measuring Progress in US
Endangered Species Conservation, 8 Ecology
tare nt aris pr ncinreaienntenmanninstnenenntnaeen 20

L. Master et al., Vanishing Assets: Conservation
Status of U.S. Species, in Precious Heritage, B.

aa I oii ierrccaantarierdinenamertnennennnmenees 17
Richard C. Primack, Essentials of Conservation
ETA ee Onna Ee 7,14

William J. Ripple and Robert L. Beschta, Wolves
and The Ecology of Fear: Can Predation Risk
Structure Ecosystems, 54 BioScience 755 (August

Scientific Societies’ Statement on the Endangered
Species Act, February 27, 2006 (available at
http//www.conbio.org/Sections/NAmerica/NAPolicy.

I te 21
J. Scott et al., Conservation of Hawaii’s Vanishing

Avifauna, 38 BioScience 232 (1988)...............cccceeeeeeeeees 14
Douglass Smith et al., Yellowstone after Wolves, 53

en 9

B. Stein, A Remarkable Array: Species Diversity in
the United States, in Precious Heritage, B. Stein
i aiaiainaiaina rete emarrrenennins 17

M. Taylor et al., The Effectiveness of the En-
dangered Species Act: A Quantitative Analysis,
i naa caren eneeenaemetanenens 20

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page
David Todd, Wolves - Predator Control and
Endangered Species Protection: Thoughts On
Politics and Law, 33 S. Tex. L. Rev. 459 (1992).............. 8
Mark Twain, The Celebrated Jumping Frog of
Calaveras County and Other Sketches (1867) .............. 16
U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, http://ecos.fws.gov/
a I cccarscncinsenatnitiicnssninisnsiamameain 19
D. Wilcove et al., How Many Endangered Species
Are There in the United States?, 3 Frontiers in
Ecology and the Environment 414 (20085) .................... 19
E.O. Wilson, The Diversity of Life (1992) .............+.. 3, 11, 12
E.O. Wilson, The Future of Life (2002).................... 8, 12,13

Yellowstone Thermophiles Conservation Project, http://
www.wfed.org/projects/yellowstone/project.htm............... 13

1

INTEREST OF THE AMICI CURIAE

Amici are prominent scientists in the fields of biology,
botany, zoology, and ecology.’ Their expertise enables them
to understand and explain the ecological and economic
importance of protecting imperiled species, as well as to
explain the role science plays in the Endangered Species
Act’s species conservation scheme. Understanding the
importance of biodiversity is necessary to appreciate fully
why Congress enacted broad protections for species facing
extinction. Additionally, appreciating lawmakers’ emphasis
on science as the foundation for the Endangered Species
Act’s key provisions illuminates the inherent inconsistency
of reading into the statute a legally-based limitation on
the scope of federal agencies’ duties under section 7.

Amici include, in alphabetical order:

Jared M. Diamond is Professor and Vice Chair, Department
of Physiology, UCLA Medical School. Dr. Diamond is an
explorer of New Guinea bird fauna, and inventor of the
concept of assembly rules in community organization. Since
1977, he has devoted much of his time to popular science
writing including the bestselling books Guns, Germs and
Steel: The Fates of Human Societies, for which he was
awarded the Pulitzer Prize, and Collapse: How Societies
Choose to Fail or Survive.

Thomas Eisner is the Jacob Gould Schurman Professor of
Chemicai Ecology at Cornell University, and Director of the

’ This brief was not authored in whole or in part by counsel for a
party, and no person or entity other than the amici and their counsel
made a monetary contribution to the preparation or submission of this
brief. The parties have consented to the filing of amicus briefs and have
filed letters of consent with the Clerk of the Court.

2

Cornell Institute for Research in Chemical Ecology
(CIRCE). He is a world authority on animal behavior,
ecology, and evolution, and is one of the pioneers of chemi-
cal ecology, the discipline dealing with the chemical
interactions of organisms. He is a member of the National
Academy of Sciences, and received the National Medal of
Science in 1994. ~

Gordon H. Orians is Professor Emeritus of Biology, Uni-
versity of Washington. Dr. Orians is a member of the
National Academy of Sciences, the American Academy of
Arts and Sciences, and a past president of the Ecological
Society of America. His publications are focused on behav-
ioral ecology, plant-herbivore interactions, community
ecology, the ecology of rare plants, and human ecology.

Stuart L. Pimm is the Doris Duke Professor of Conserva-
tion Ecology, Duke University. Dr. Pimm is a conservation
biologist and ecologist, 1993 Pew Scholar in Conservation
and the Environment, and author of The Balance of
Nature? Ecological Issues in the Conservation of Species
and Communities and The World According to Pimm: A
Scientist Audits the Earth. Dr. Pimm’s expertise lies in
species extinctions and what can be done to prevent them.
He also studies the loss of tropical forests and its conse-
quences to biodiversity.

Peter H. Raven is Director of the Missouri Botanical
Garden and the George Engelmann Professor of Botany at
Washington University in St. Louis. Dr. Raven is past
Chair of the Division of Earth and Life Studies, U.S.
National Research Council. A MacArthur Fellow and
member of the National Academy of Sciences and Ameri-
can Academy of Arts and Sciences, he is a world leader in
the fields of plant evolution and systematics.

3

David S. Wilcove is Professor of Public Affairs and Ecology
and Evolutionary Biology at the Woodrow Wilson School,
Princeton University. Dr. Wilcove previously served -as
Senior Ecologist at Environmental Defense, Senior Ecolo-
gist for The Wilderness Society, and Research Scientist in
Zoology for The Nature Conservancy. A recipient of the
Distinguished Service Award of the Society for Conserva-
tion Biology, he has authored numerous publications,
including The Condor’s Shadow: The Loss and Recovery of
Wildlife in America (1999).

Edward O. Wilson is Curator of Entomology at the Mu-
seum of Comparative Zoology, and Pellegrino University
Professor Emeritus, Harvard University. Dr. Wilson's
research interests include evolutionary sociobiology,
biogeography, and ethical philosophy. A recipient of the
National Medal of Science, he has written over a dozen
books, including On Human Nature and The Ants for
which he was awarded Pulitzer Prizes in 1979 and 1991,
respectively. His book, The Diversity of Eife, has been
described as the sequel to Darwin’s Origin of Species.

¢

SUMMARY OF THE ARGUMENT

Amici are scientists who have dedicated their profes-
sional lives to studying species and ecosystems and the
ways in which human actions can destroy — or save — these
precious resources. Congress too recognized the impor-
tance of biodiversity and so enacted the Endangered
Species Act (ESA), 16 U.S.C. §1531 et seq., a comprehen-
sive, science-based approach to protecting the United
States’ most vulnerable species and the ecosystems upon
which these species depend. Based on their extensive

4

studies and experience, amici provide in this submission a
summary of some of the many benefits of biodiversity. Any
actions, regardless of their classification or type, that
adversely impact other native species will as a scientific
matter lead to continued erosion of the enormous ecologi-
cal, economic, scientific, aesthetic, cultural, and health
benefits that biological resources provide, and that law-
makers have repeatedly and explicitly recognized.

Reversing course from earlier legislation that gave
significant leeway to human actions that imperil other
species, Congress enacted stringent, encompassing protec-
tions in the ESA designed to halt and reverse the acceler-
ating trend toward species extinctions. Acknowledging
that federal actions can threaten other species, the ESA
mandates that federal agencies proceed with caution in
order that their actions do not contribute to species’
decline. Petitioners’ effort to read a broad exception into
application of this conservative approach threatens to
significantly weaken federal protections for threatened
and endangered species and the myriad benefits they
represent — something that Congress itself has consis-
tently refused to do.

Section 7 of the ESA also directs that science guide
implementation of its provisions, with the pointed excep-
tion of possible exemptions from section 7’s prohibitions
granted by a high-level policy committee after a deliberate
and exacting process. Amici firmly believe that interpret-
ing section 7 as inapplicable to a host of “nondiscretionary”
federal actions is directly at odds with the Endangered
Species Act’s emphasis on science and precaution as

5

touchstones of prudent management of this Nation’s
precious biological heritage.

¢

ARGUMENT

I. CONSERVATION OF ENDANGERED AND
THREATENED SPECIES PROVIDES SOCIETY
WITH MYRIAD IMPORTANT BENEFITS. —

President Nixon signed the Endangered Species Act
(ESA) into law on December 28, 1973, declaring that
“(njothing is more priceless and more worthy of preserva-
tion than the rich array of animal life with which our
country has been blessed. It is a many-faceted treasure, or
value to scholars, scientists, and nature lovers alike and it
forms a vital part of the heritage we all share as Ameri-
cans.” B. Burgess, Fate of the Wild: the Endangered Spe-
cies Act and the Future of Biodiversity at 3 (2001). This
Court termed the ESA the “most comprehensive legislation
for the preservation of endangered species ever enacted by
any nation.” Tennessee Valley Auth. v. Hill, 437 U.S. 153,
180 (1978). It provides a means whereby “the ecosystems
upon which endangered species and threatened species
depend may be conserved, [and] ... a program for the
conservation of such endangered species and threatened
species....” The Endangered Species Act, 16 U.S.C
§1531(b) (2000). As such, the statute takes a comprehen-
sive scientific approach to conserving biodiversity, seeking
to protect habitat and ecosystems crucial to protected
species as well as promoting conservation of species
themselves.

In its findings that explain the basis for enacting
legislation to conserve species facing extinction, lawmak-
ers declared that “these species of fish, wildlife, and plants

6

are of aesthetic, educational, historical, recreational, and
scientific value to the Nation and its people.” Jd. at
§1531(a)(3). In this section of their brief, amici provide
information to demonstrate more precisely why Congress
was absolutely correct in pointing out the myriad ways in
which biodiversity provides benefits to society — and thus
why lawmakers were justified in enacting a statute that
contains comprehensive and broadly inclusive mandates to
protect these benefits. Somewhat ironically, Congress also
noted in the ESA’s findings that economic growth and
development untempered by adequate concern and con-
servation has led to many species’ decline and even extinc-
tion. Id. at §1531(a)(1). While this is certainly true,
advancements over the past three decades in both our
knowledge and technology have demonstrated that species
and ecosystems are in fact also crucial to the Nation’s
economic well-being, and are often the raw materials of
socially beneficial economic growth and development. The
following sections therefore also explain why broad protec-
tions for other species also make a great deal of sense from
a purely economic standpoint.

It is telling that Congress, despite frequent urgings
from some quarters to the contrary, has for many years
refused to significantly weaken the ESA’s broad protec-
tions for imperiled species. Amici submit that Representa-
tive Schneider provided perhaps the best explanation for
this steadfast support for the ESA when she noted during
1985 reauthorization hearings that “[e]very time we
reauthorize this legislation another set of ‘user’ groups
comes before us to complain about the problems they are
having because of the Endangered Species Act. I am sure
these concerns are very real, but we must not lose sight of
what is at stake here. The very survival of this planet

i

depends in large part on maintaining species diversity.”
Endangered Species Act Reauthorization Hearings Before
the House Subcomm. on Fisheries and Wildlife Conserva-
tion and the Environment of the House Comm. on Mer-
chant Marine and Fisheries, 99th Cong., Ist Sess. 3 (1985).

A. Ecological and economic importance of
conserving listed species and the ecosys-
tems upon which they depend.

At the most basic level, biodiversity is crucial to
humankind’s long term survival because we depend on a
vast array of organisms to provide us with food, oxygen,
nutrient recycling and other important life-sustaining
functions. Scientists refer to these functions as ecosystem
services. Scott Freeman & John C. Herron, Evolutionary
Analysis 739 (1998); G. Daily et al., Benefits Supplied to
Human Societies by Natural Ecosystems, 2 Issues in Ecol-
ogy 1-18 (1997); see also Richard C. Primack, Essentials of
Conservation Biology at 79-100 (1998). Such biological
functions and services essential to human survival and
welfare include soil formation, breakdown of wastes, and
recycling of nutrients back into the soil which eventually
provides humankind with food and other benefits. At a
local scale, forests protect watersheds and thus the water
supplies of many towns and cities, wild insect popula-
tions pollinate crops, and coastal ecosystems are the
nurseries of commercially important fish stocks. Globally,
vast ecosystems such as tropical rainforests, grasslands,
wetlands, and forests also regulate composition of the
atmosphere, perpetuate the water cycle, and have an
important effect on climate. Freeman & Herron, supra, at
739. In 1997, scientists estimated the total economic

8

value of the renewable ecosystem services important to
human health and welfare as between $16 and $54 trillion
per year. R. Costanza et al., The Value of the World’s
Ecosystem Services and Natural Capital, 387 Nature 253-
260 (1997).

Individual species also play an important role in
providing these ecosystem services. Some organisms,
termed keystone species, play disproportionately impor-
tant roles (relative to their numerical abundance) in the
ecosystems in which they occur. Gray wolves, now pro-
tected under the ESA, provide an excellent example of a
keystone species and its importance to the health of an
entire ecosystem. David Todd, Wolves — Predator Control
and Endangered Species Protection: Thoughts On Politics
and Law, 33 S. Tex. L. Rev. 459, 478 (1992). The historic
range of wolves once covered most of the United States.
However, since they were thought of as pests, wolves were
eradicated from most of the United States by the early
20th century. Hunters shot the last wolf in Yellowstone in
1926. See William J. Ripple and Robert L. Beschta, Wolves
and The Ecology of Fear: Can Predation Risk Structure
Ecosystems, 54 BioScience 755, 759 (2004). Seventy years
later, FWS reintroduced wolves back into Yellowstone
pursuant to the Endangered Species Act. Over the past

* The study’s authors calculated that the estimated annual value of
ecosystem services at the time, $33 trillion, was 1.8 times the global
gross national product. Primack, supra, at 103. In the U.S., there is a
growing awareness of the economic and practical importance of
ecosystem services. In 1997 for example, New York City decided to
spend over a billion dollars to purchase forested lands in the Catskills
watershed to provide the city with drinking water — thereby avoiding $6
to $8 billion in costs for a mechanical water filtration system. See E.O.
Wilson, The Future of Life 107-08 (2002).

. 9

decade, scientists have observed wolves changing ecosys-
tem function in the greater Yellowstone area for the better.
Wolf predation and hunting activities have reduced ungu- -
late populations and changed herd movements; with less
browsing pressure, riparian vegetation and aspen forest
have increased significantly, improving riparian shade,
stabilizing stream banks, and in turn increasing beaver
and native fish populations. Jd. Wolves are thus helping to
restore lost ecosystem function and increase other wildlife
populations in America’s flagship national park, thus also
providing benefits for humans ranging from improved
water flows and reduced erosion to enhancing visitors’
enjoyment of the park. Jd.; see also Douglass Smith et al.,
Yellowstone after Wolves, 53 BioScience 330 (2003).

Other examples of such relationships are more subtle
but no less important. Though many people view insects
as trivial or even unpleasant species, they often perform
invaluable ecosystem services. For example, an estimated
100,000 different species, including bees and flies, provide
no-cost pollination services, including those that sustain a
significant percentage of the globe’s croplands. In the
United States, the agricultural value of wild native polli-
nators is estimated in the billions of dollars per year. See
Daily, supra, at 12. The continued availability of these
natural pollination services depends on conserving the
ecosystems upon which these species depend — a key goal
of the Endangered Species Act.

Courts have both recognized and relied upon the
economic and ecological value of wild species, including
those protected by the ESA. For instance, in National
Association of Home Builders of the United States uv.
Babbit, 130 F.3d 1041 (D.C. Cir. 1997), cert. denied, 524
U.S. 937 (1998), the District of Columbia Court of Appeals

10

emphasized the importance to its ecosystem of the descrip-
tively named Delhi Sands flower loving fly (Raphiomidas
terminatus abdominalis). The court in that case noted that
“t]he Committee Reports on the ESA reveal that one of
the primary reasons that Congress sought to protect
endangered species from ‘takings’ was the importance of
the continuing availability of a wide variety of species to
interstate commerce.” Jd. at 1053-54. Quoting from the
House report upon the enactment of the ESA, the Court of
Appeals emphasized lawmakers’ discussion of the poten-
tial future commercial uses of genetic and biological
resources, concluding that “the extinction of species and
the attendant decline in biodiversity will have a real and
predictable effect on interstate commerce.” Id.; see also
Michael C. Blumm, Flies, Spiders, Toads, Wolves, and the
Constitutionality of the Endangered Species Act’s Take
Provision, 34 Envtl. L. 309 (2004) (discussing the impor-
tance of biodiversity in the case). In also upholding the
federal government’s constitutional] authority over endan-
gered species found within a single state, the Fourth
Circuit in Gibbs v. Babbitt, 214 F.3d 483, 494 (4th Cir.
2000), cert. denied, Gibbs v. Norton, 531 U.S. 1145 (2001),
noted that recovery of red wolves could lead to tourism-

related economic improvements running into the hundreds
of millions of dollars.

B. Scientific value to the Nation and value to
the health of its people.

To the surprise of many in this technological age,
humans garner a considerable amount of both health
benefits and wealth directly from other species. For
example, scientists initially derived a key ingredient of
aspirin, perhaps the most widely used pharmaceutical in

11

the world, from a wild plant, meadowsweet. E.O. Wilson,
The Diversity of Life 283 (1992). Cancer-fighting medicines
made from compounds first isolated from rosy periwinkles
(Catharanthus roseus) in Madagascar and from Pacific
yew trees (Taxus occidentalis) — which are found in old
growth forests in the northwestern U.S. — help thousands
of patients each year. The Diversity of Life, supra, at 284;
Freeman & Herron, supra, at 742. Currently, approxi-
mately 25% of all prescription drugs dispensed by phar-
macies in the United States are based on substances first
derived from plants, 13% come from microorganisms, and
3% from animals. The Diversity of Life, supra, at 283-84.
Though science can now synthesize many of these com-
pounds artificially, the chemical structure and properties of
medicinal substances discovered in nature are often so
novel that chemists operating in labs would almost cer-
tainly never have thought to create them; hence it is crucial
to preserve wild species and the biochemical innovations
they represent.’ In addition to their incalculable health

* Lawmakers in fact anticipated such benefits when they passed
the Endangered Species Act to protect wild species for future genera-
tions. The House report accompanying the final bill noted that “[w]ho
knows or can say what potential cures for cancer or other scourges
present or future, may lie locked up in the structure of plants which
may yet be discovered, much less analyzed. Sheer self interests implore
us to be cautious.” TVA, 423 U.S. at 178 (quoting H.R. Rep. No. 93-412
at 4-5 (1973)). See also The- National Biological Diversity Conservation
and Environmental Act: Hearings on H.R. 4335 before the Subcomm. on
Natural Resources, Agricultural Research and Environment of the
House Comm. on Science, Spece, and Technology, 100th Cong., 2d Sess.
342 (4988) (testimony of the American Pharmaceutical Association that
“li]t is alarming to consider that years ago, there might have existed a
plant or microorganism that could have cured AIDS or other diseases,
but that through inaction, that species became extinct.”).

12

benefits, the commercial value of over-the-counter drugs
directly extracted from plants alone was estimated in 1998
to be $20 billion in the United States and $84 billion
worldwide. E.O. Wilson, The Future of Life 119 (2002).

In addition to the medical value that biological re-
sources offer to humankind, wild organisms also offer
improvements to agricultural practices and pest control.
Agricultural practices focused on a limited number of
single species monocultures, as Congress recognized, are
extremely susceptible to failure as a result of disease,
pests and other catastrophic natural disasters. See H.R.
Rep. No. 259, 102nd Cong., Ist Sess. 14 (1991). This risk is
particularly acute in an age of major industrial-scale
agriculture, where thousands of acres may be cultivated
with genetically identical individuals. Therefore, diverse
gene pools and an abundance of wild organisms are
essential to the ability to protect existing crops and pro-
duce new strains of food crops, as well as to development
and maintenance of an efficient pest control system and
disease resistance in our food supply.

In his book The Diversity of Life, amicus E.O. Wilson
observed that “[mJerely the attempt to solve the biodiver-
sity crisis offers great benefits never before enjoyed, for to
save species is to study them closely, and to learn them
well is to exploit their characteristic in novel ways.” The
Diversity of Life, supra, at 306 (1992). This illuminates the
myriad possibilities that conserving the great variety of
species have to offer to science. For example, some of the
most important scientific discoveries in recent years were
achieved with the help of extremophile bacteria living in
thermal springs within Yellowstone National Park. In
1983, scientists succeeded in using one of the organisms
found in this extreme environment, Thermus aquaticus, to

13

produce a heat resistant enzyme needed for synthesis of
DNA.. Ploymerase Cahin reaction, the manufacturing
process developed as a result, is the foundation for genetic
mapping. Such mapping of the human genome has become
extremely important for medical purposes, as well as for
uses such as crime detection and forensic medicine. The
Future of Life, supra, at 127; See also Yellowstone Thermo-
philes Conservation Project, http://www.wfed.org/projects/
yellowstone/project.htm (last visited March 21, 2007).
Through protecting biodiversity and species within Yellow-
stone National Park, scientists were able to discover and
use this unique organism, as a result opening the door to
tremendous scientific, medical, and other benefits even yet
untold.

Apart from utilitarian benefits, species are invaluable
from a scientific perspective because of their great intrin-
sic value as repositories of the history and accumulated
experiences of millions of previous life forms through
species’ continuous, evolutionary adaptation to a changing
environment. Primack, supra, at 129. By conserving
species, we can protect a storehouse of knowledge for
future generations. Hawaiian honeycreepers, a family of
birds known as the Drepanididae, serve as a prime exam-
ple of the evolutionary and scientific significance of spe-
cies. Honeycreepers are one of the best known examples of
adaptive radiation. Found only in the Hawaiian Islands,
this family consisted of over 45 species at the time the
Polynesians settled Hawaii 2,000 years ago. All of these
birds are believed to have evolved from a single species
that arrived on the island chain by chance. Each species
within the family has a specialized bill related to the type
of food eaten by that particular species. For example, long
billed honeycreepers feed on nectar, and short billed

14

honeycreepers specialize in cracking seeds. Primack,
supra, at 30; see also J. Scott et al., Conservation of Ha-
waii’s Vanishing Avifauna, 38 BioScience 232-253 (1988).
The diversity of honeycreepers thus offers invaluable
insight into the adaptation and evolution that species
undergo, and thus advances scientific knowledge. How-
ever, most Hawaiian honeycreepers are either extinct or
highly imperiled due to human activities, and to this day
the surviving species face many ongoing threats to their
existence. The Endangered Species Act protects over a

dozen threatened and endangered honeycreeper species,
as well as the knowledge they represent.

C. Esthetic, historical, and cultural impor-
tance.

Congress also recognized aesthetic and cultural values
of ecosystems and species. Aesthetic arguments for pre-
serving species revolve around values humans place on
quality of life, and range from considerations such as
enhanced property values, amenity benefits, and recrea-
tional opportunities in areas of greater species diversity to
perceptions of beauty and tranquility. See Freeman &
Herron, supra, at 742; The Future of Life, supra, at 187.
The aesthetic value of species is also reflected in our art
and photography, in our longing to keep pets and to
cultivate gardens, and even in the growing ecotourism
trade. Gretchen C. Daily and Paul R. Ehrlich, Population
Extinction and the Biodiversity Crisis, in Biodiversity
Conservation: Problems and Policies 47, C.A. Perrings
et al., eds. (1995).

Culturally, species play a prominent role in the
identity of indigenous peoples and contemporary nations,
as well as an important role in the religious lives of many.

15

See Freeman and Herron et al., supra, at 743. The Jewish
and Christian traditions hold that people have a steward-
ship duty to preserve biodiversity; Hinduism locates divin-
ity in certain animals, and Buddhism and Jainism avoid
unnecessary harm to life. Primack, supra, at 133. In addi-
tion, many native religions and cultural] traditions focus on
the energies of various species. The government of Papua
New Guinea, for example, protects various species of birds-
of-paradise (family Paradisaeidae) as a critical cultural
resource. Freeman and Herron et al., supra, at 743.

In the United States, many species have important
cultural value. Bald eagles are a prominent example. The
national symbol of our country and an important species to
many Indian tribes, bald eagles are still protected under
the Endangered Species Act. At the time Congress enacted
the ESA, the birds were virtually extirpated from the
contiguous United States. Fortunately, bald eagles today
serve as a success story of the ESA; without broad applica-
tion of the statute, this country might today enjoy its
national symbol only on posters and placards rather than
soaring overhead.

A final literary example also serves to illustrate
lawmakers’ wisdom in enacting strong legal protections for
biodiversity. Known to science as the California red-legged
frog (Rana aurora draytonii), this species has been extir-
pated from 70 percent of its former range. Found today
primarily in isolated wetlands and streams in coastal
drainages of central California, California red-legged frogs
were listed as threatened under the Endangered Species
Act in 1996. 61 Fed. Reg. 96583 (1996). Most people know
little of the biology or legal status of this species; it is
instead immediately recognizable to most Americans as a
cultural icon - the Celebrated Jumping Frogs of Calaveras

16

County. Mark Twain wrote of this venerated frog: “You
never see a frog so modest and straightforward as he was,
for all he was so gifted. And when it come to fair and
square jumping on a dead level, he could get over more
ground at one straddle than any animal of his breed you
ever see ... Smiley would ante up money on him as long
as he had a red. Smiley was monstrous proud of his frog,
and well he might be, for fellers that. had traveled and
been everywheres, all said he laid over any frog that ever
they see.” Mark Twain, The Celebrated Jumping Frog of
Calaveras County and Other Sketches (1867). Thanks to
the ESA, red-legged frogs are still in existence to jump
long distances, preserving not only their genetic resources
and their ecological and scientific value, but also main-
taining a unique and important part of the cultural history
of this country.

II. REGULATION OF ALL FEDERAL AGENCY
ACTIONS UNDER SECTION 7 IS AN IMPOR-
TANT ASPECT OF THE ENDANGERED SPECIES
ACT’S PROTECTIONS FOR LISTED SPECIES.

A. The Endangered Species Act has proven
effective in halting and reversing species
decline in the United States.

The United States harbors an extraordinarily rich
array of biological diversity. Though representing only 6%
of the Earth’s land area, this county contains portions of
12 of the world’s 14 major ecosystem groups, known as
biomes; by this measure the United States is the most
ecologically diverse nation on the planet. M. Breyer et al.,
More than the Sum of the Parts, in Precious Heritage at
206, B. Stein et al., eds. (2000). Science has formally

17

described slightly more than 200,000 different species that
live within the U.S., though the actual total most likely
lies between 300,000 and 600,000 unique life forms pre-
sent within this country. B. Stein, A Remarkable Array:
Species Diversity in the United States, in Precious Heri-
tage, supra, at 61. Many of these species exist nowhere
else in the world; for example, more than a quarter of the
country’s vascular plants — including over 1,000 in Hawaii
alone — are endemic to the United States. Jd. at 69. Given
that the dispute in the instant case arises under the Clean
Water Act, it is particularly significant to note the global
importance of this country’s aquatic species. The approxi-
mately 800 species of freshwater fishes-found in the U.S.
comprise about 10% of the known freshwater fish species
worldwide. The United States is also the most species-rich
nation on Earth for other freshwater organisms, including
freshwater mussels, snails, turtles, crayfish, and sala-
manders. Jd. at 67.

Unfortunately, the United States’ vast array of life
presently faces severe threats, mostly as a result of human
activities. More than 500 native species present at the
time European settlers first came to this country are
either extinct or no longer present in the United States. L.
Master et al., Vanishing Assets: Conservation Status of
U.S. Species, in Precivus Heritage, supra, at 114. Some of
these losses are well known, such as passenger pigeons,
whose population plummeted from hundreds of millions to
extinction over barely a century as a result of overexploi-
tation by hunters coupled with loss of habitat. Other
extinctions, including those of many bird species in Ha-
waii, took place out of the public eye with little fanfare.
Presently, a growing percentage of the nation’s plants and
animals face an uncertain future; at least one-third of the

18

nation’s known species are considered by scientists to be
of conservation concern. Jd. at 101. On a percentage
basis, aquatic species top the list of the countrys most
imperiled organisms, disappearing at a rate of between
two and five times that of terrestrial species. L. Helfrich
et al., Sustaining America’s Aquatic Biodiversity: Why is
Aquatic Biodiversity Declining?, Virginia Tech Pub. No.
420-521 (2003). Nearly three quarters of freshwater
mussel species in the United States face substantial risks
to their continued existence, followed by crayfishes (over
half of all U.S. species at risk), freshwater fishes (over
one-third of all U.S. species at risk), and amphibians
(also over one-third of all U.S. species at risk). L. Master
et al., supra, at 102.*

The United States currently lacks any comprehensive
national strategy to manage and safeguard its biological
resources. A wide variety of federal laws, programs, and
tax policies require or encourage conservation of species
and habitats, supplementing a similar array of such
mechanisms at the state and local level. However, these
initiatives vary greatly in their coverage and effectiveness.
For example, a decade ago Congress enacted organic
legislation for the nation’s collection of federal wildlife
refuges, calling on the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service
(FWS) to plan and direct the growth of the refuge system

* Indeed, in its opinion in TVA v. Hill, 437 U.S. 153, 178 (1978), this
Court singled out a statement by the Assistant Secretary of Interior
who, in explaining to Congress the need for legislation to protect
imperiled species, pointed in particular to vanishing mollusks in the
Southeastern United States. Though admitting to uncertainty about
the importance of such species, the Assistant Secretary noted that he
had “great trouble being party to their destruction without ever having
gained such knowledge.” Id.

19

to “contribute to the conservation of the ecosystems of the
United States.” 16 U.S.C. §668dd(a)(4C). However, the
federal Wildlife Refuge System, as a result of historical
acquisition and designation priorities that often favored
waterfowl and game species, currently harbors less than
10% of total number of species formally listed as threat-
ened or endangered in the United States. C. Groves et al.,
Owning Up To Our Responsibilities: Who owns Lands
Important to Biodiversity?, in Precious Heritage, supra, at
283.

In the absence of an overall federal approach to
managing biodiversity, the federal Endangered Species Act
(ESA) has assumed an increasingly prominent role in
efforts to conserve species and their habitat in the United
States. The statute’s ever-increasing importance to the
nation’s biodiversity conservation efforts also stems from
the growing number of species facing the possibility of
extinction; the statute currently protects over 1,000
species found within the United States as endangered, as
well as more than 300 species listed as threatened. U.S.
Fish and Wildlife Service, http://ecos.fws.gov/tess_public/
Boxscore.do (visited March 14, 2007).° Reflecting biological
trends, aquatic species make up nearly one-fifth of those
listed on the threatened and endangered rolls. See id.

* Significantly, however, the ESA's lists of threatened and endan-
gered species likely significantly understate the number of life forms in
the United States facing extinction. The actual number of species
deserving of legal protections may be ten times the number species
currently listed. See D. Wilcove et al., How Many Endangered Species
Are There in the United States?, 3 Frontiers in Ecology and the Envi-
ronment 414 (2005).

20

Recent studies indicate that when species are desig-
nated for protection under the ESA, the statute has been
effective at halting and reversing their slide toward
extinction. Using data on species status reported over a
14-year period by the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, an
interdisciplinary research team found a strong correla-
tion between listing under the ESA and the likelihood
that a species’ conservation status was improving. M.
Taylor et al., The Effectiveness of the Endangered Species
Act: A Quantitative Analysis, 55 BioScience 360 (2005).
Based on findings that species listed for a longer period of
time were more likely to be classified by FWS as improv-
ing in status and less likely to be declining, these re-
searchers also concluded that protection under the ESA
provides listed species with conservation benefits that
accumulate over time, particularly in the initial years
after a species was placed on the endangered and threat-
ened lists.

The significant positive link between the time a
species is protected by the ESA and the likelihood that its
conservation status is stable or improving was confirmed
by a second investigation, which also used data reported
by FWS. Among species whose conservation status was
known by FWS, researchers found only 23% of species
listed for less than two years were classified as improving,
whereas 68% of species that had been protected by the
ESA for 13 years or more were improving. T. Male and M.
Bean, Measuring Progress in US Endangered Species
Conservation, 8 Ecology Letters 986 (2005). Perhaps not
surprisingly, this study also noted a strong positive link
between government expenditures on recovery measures
and the likelihood that a species’ status was improving.
Sounding an alarming note for some aquatic species in
particular, the research team noted that freshwater

21

mussels had the worst status trend among species they
examined, though many of these species were extremely
imperiled when they were added to the protected lists and
more than half of these spots had been listed for less
than 12 years.

Recognizing the Endangered Species Act’s important
role in providing “emergency room” protections for species
whose declines have put them at risk of extinction, as well
as the law’s increasing prominence in influencing biodiver-
sity conservation efforts generally, scientists and scientific
organizations have consistently voiced strong support for
maintaining and effectively implementing the statute. For
example, in February 2006 joint statement opposing
efforts to modify the Endangered Species Act’s scientific
standards, the American Fisheries Society, Ecological
Society of America, Entomological Society of America,
Society for Conservation Biology-North America, Society
for Range Management, and The Wildlife Society — profes-
sional organizations which collectively represent thou-
sands of scientists — declared that “(t]he ESA is a vital and
fundamentally sound tool in this Nation’s efforts to main-
tain biological diversity.” Scientific Societies’ Statement on
the Endangered Species Act, February 27, 2006 (available
at http//www.conbio.org/Sections/NAmerica/NAPolicy.CFM#
NA20060227).

B. The procedural and substantive provisions
of section 7(a)(2)’s consultation process
provide crucial legal protections for a sub-
stantial number of listed species and their
habitat.

As this Court has consistently recognized, the sub-
stantive and procedural requirements set forth in section

22

7(aX2) of the Endangered Species Act, 16 U.S.C.
§1532(a)\(2), are among the most important and influential
of the statute’s protections for listed species. See, e.g., TVA
v. Hill, 4837 U.S. 153, 173 (1978); Bennett v. Spear, 520
U.S. 154, 169 (1997).

Because the requirements of section 7(a)(2) apply to
the actions of federal agencies, these legal provisions play
an especially crucial role in conserving listed species that
occur on federal land. The federal government owns
approximately 400 million acres of land in the United
States outside Alaska. While most of these land holdings
are concentrated in the western states, federal lands
within other states also contain areas with substantial
biological value. Federal lands in Florida’s Everglades and
on barrier islands along the Gulf of Mexico coast provide
examples of public land holdings that, while not large in
absolute terms, play an outsized role in terms of biodiver-
sity conservation. Together, federal lands support popula-
tions of nearly three-fifths (59%) of the species protected
under the ESA. Groves, supra, at 278-79. This means that
section 7’s prohibitions against actions that jeopardize
listed species or destroy or adversely modify critical
habitat - which apply to all decisions by federal land
managers — directly and substantially influence what
happens to populations of, and habitat for, the majority of
threatened and endangered species in the United States.

Though the requirements of section 7 of the ESA
apply exclusively to the actions of federal agencies, this
section of the statute nonetheless also provides significant
protections for threatened and endangered species and
their habitat on non-federal land. Regulations implement-
ing section 7 define agency “action” to include “all activi-
ties or programs of any kind authorized, funded, or carried

23

out, in whole or part, by Federal agencies in the United
States or upon the high seas.” 50 C.F.R. §402.02. Many
activities that affect listed species on non-federal land
require a federal permit or depend to some degree on
federal funding. Wetlands, for example, provide habitat for
many threatened and endangered species. Before signifi-
cantly altering most wetland areas, a landowner must first
obtain a permit from the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers
pursuant to section 404 of the Clean Water Act, 26 U.S.C.
§1344(a); if the action may affect listed species or destroy
or adversely modify designated critical habitat, the Corps
must comply with the requirements of section 7. Other
actions by federal agencies that affect threatened and
endangered species on non-federal land, such as funding
for road and highway construction, registration of pesti-
cides, granting hydropower licenses, and even providing
federal flood insurance, must comply with the procedural
and substantive mandates of section 7 before the relevant
federal agency may finalize its action.

The number of section 7 consultations between the
ESA’s designated “expert” agencies — FWS and the Na-
tional Marine Fisheries Service (NMFS) - and other
federal agencies whose actions may affect listed species
or critical habitat provide a good gauge of the importance
of section 7’s protections for threatened and endangered
species. FWS alone conducted over 300,000 formal and
informal section 7 consultations’ with other federal

* Regulations implementing section 7 provide for an exception to
the ESA’s statutory or “formal” process for consultation if a federal
agency proposing an action determines, with written concurrence from
FWS or NMFS, that its proposed action is not likely to adversely affect
any listed species or critical habitat. See 50 C.F.R. §402.14(b).

24

agencies during the years from 1998-2002. FWS, Consul-
tations With Federal Agencies, www.fws.gov/endangered/
consultations/consultations.pdf (visited March 14, 2007).
Since the consultation requirement is not triggered unless
a proposed federal action “may affect” listed species or
designated critical habitat, see 50 C.F.R. §402.14(a), the
large number of section 7 consultations that take place
each year indicate the correspondingly vast number of
federal actions that may affect conservation of threatened
and endangered species and their habitat. Moreover, all of
these consultations involve careful analysis of the impact a
proposed action is likely to have on listed species, and
many result in modifications to original proposals by
federal agencies in order to avoid or minimize adverse
impacts on these species and their habitat.’ Cumulatively,
therefore, the requirements of section 7 result in a huge
amount of analytical work on the impacts of a wide array
of activities on listed species, and they lead to many
actions that help prevert or at least slow erosion of the
nation’s biological resources.

Finally, from a scientific perspective, section 7 is
particularly crucial to species conservation efforts because
unlike the ESA’s prohibition against actions that “take”
protected species, the section 7 process embodies a more

" Federal agencies often modify their actions in order to reach a
finding that an action is not likely to adversely affect listed species or
critical habitat, thus allowing them to avoid section 7’s formal consulta-
tion process. See 50 C.F.R. §402.14(b). Moreover, biological opinions
that result from the “formal” consultation often contain “incidental take
statements” that must set forth “reasonable and prudent measures”
(and associated “terms and conditions”) designed to minimize the

_ impact of incidental take, i.e., unintended death or injury, to listed
species. 16 U.S.C. §1536(b)(4)(C iii) and §1536(bX4)(C)Gv).

25

precautionary approach to protecting biodiversity. Section
9 of the ESA, 16 U.S.C. §1538(a)(1)(B), forbids the “take”
of endangered species of fish and wildlife (and, under
applicable regulations, most threatened species), defined
to include such actions as killing or capturing individual
members of a species; it also bans activities that “harm”
protected species, including actions that actually kill or
injure listed species by significantly modifying or degrad-
ing habitat. Jd.; 50 C.F.R. §17.21; §17.31; and §222.102.
See generally, Sweet Home Chapter, Communities for a
Great Oregon v. Babbitt, 515 U.S. 687 (1995).* While these
prohibitions allow prosecutors to seek civil and criminal
penalties against those who have unlawfully taken pro-
tected species, they focus on after-the-fact penalties rather
than preventative conservation measures. It is possible for
federal agencies or interested third parties employing the
ESA's citizen suit provision to enjoin actions likely to
result in unlawful take of species in the future, but they
face a potentially steep burden of proof. For example, in
National Wildlife Federation v. Burlington Northern
Railroad Inc., 23 F.3d 1508 (9th Cir. 1994), the court
rejected arguments that a grain spill near railroad tracks
would continue to result in deaths to grizzly bears despite
the fact that accidents had previously occurred at the site.
The court asserted that showing a violation of section 9
requires “a definitive threat of future harm to protected
species, not mere speculation.” Jd. at 1512, n. 8.

The prohibitions Congress set forth in section 7 to
protect listed species, on the other hand, emphasize
preventing adverse impacts to biodiversity. Lawmakers in

* Endangered and threatened plants receive somewhat lesser
protections under section 9; see 16 U.S.C. §1538(b).

26

1973 characterized the ESA as the “institutionalization of
... caution.” TVA v. Hill, 437 U.S. at 178 (1978) (quoting
H.R. Rep. No. 93-412, pp. 4-5 (1973)). Section 7 takes a
precautionary approach to management of listed species
and their habitat by directing that federal agencies “in-
sure” that their actions are not likely to jeopardize these
species or destroy or adversely affect critical habitat. 16
U.S.C. §1536(a)(2). Uncertainty is a constant in science,
and there is a great deal we do not know about the biologi-
cal world around us, particularly involving imperiled
species. Section 7’s requirement that agencies analyze
their actions in advance, as well as its mandate that
federal actors insure against significant harm to protected
species and their critica] habitat, thus stands as one of the
most important provisions of federal law dealing with
biodiversity conservation.

C. Section 7’s emphasis on science favors in-
terpreting its prohibitions to apply to all
federal actions that are not granted an ex-
emption by the Endangered Species Com-
mittee.

Upon reading the entirety of section 7 of the Endan-
gered Species Act, one is left with the unmistakable
impression that Congress based its plainly-worded provi-
sions on a foundation of science. Decades ago, the great
naturalist Aldo Leopold observed that “[t]o keep every cog
and wheel is the first precaution of intelligent tinkering.”
A. Leopold, A Sand County Almanac at 177 (1949). Law-
makers heeded this sound advice in enacting the Endan-
gered Species Act, specifically noting that a cautious
approach to management of the nation’s biological resources
was “at the heart” of the law. H.R. Rep. No. 93-412, pp. 4-5

27

(1973). Section 7 in particular reflects this precautionary,
science-based approach to preventing extinctions. Several
factors demonstrate lawmakers’ unmistakable intent to
apply the substantive prohibitions of section 7(a2) to all
federal agency actions, save those expressly gry ated an
exemption: the plain language of this section of the stat-
ute, coupled with its emphasis on science; the exacting
scientific procedures set forth throughout the complimen-
tary provisions of section 7; and the inclusion of a detailed
exemption process that expressly allows only a high-level
policy body, after exacting consideration of both biological
and non-biological factors, to elevate non-scientific consid-
erations over the biological needs of a listed species in
specific instances.

Section 7(a)(2) employs the terminology and clear
language that science often uses to denote a high degree of
certainty. It directs federal agencies to employ the “best
scientific and commercial data available” in carrying out
their responsibilities ‘to avoid taking actions likely to
jeopardize listed species or destroy their critica] habitat.
16 U.S.C. §1536(a)(2). It also frames this mandate expan-
sively, providing that these prohibitions apply to “any
action authorized, funded, or carried out” by a federal
agency. Jd. (emphasis added). Moreover, as noted above,
Congress directed agencies to “insure” that their actions
are “not likely to” lead to the prohibited results. Jd. Law-
makers added the phrase “not likely to” to section 7 in
1979, but nonetheless explained that they still meant for
agencies to give listed species “the benefit of the doubt.”
H.R. Conf. Rep. No. 697, 96th Cong., Ist Sess. 12, re-
printed in 1979 U.S. Code Cong. & Admin. News 2572,
2576. Together, these elements of the law’s plain wording
indicate that Congress sought to enact into federal law

28

Aldo Leopold’s wise, science-based counsel: Guided by the
best science, do not allow any actions that threaten the
existence of imperiled species or the habitat that sustains
them.

Other provisions of section 7 that support its basic
substantive mandates to avoid federal actions that jeop-
ardize listed species or destroy critical habitat also reflect
a comprehensive, science-based approach to protecting
biodiversity. Prior to undertaking an action where listed
species may be present, a federal agency must perform a
biological assessment to identify species likely to be
affected by its action and determine the extent 2f those
effects. See 16 U.S.C. §1536(c)(1); 50 C.F.R. §402.12(a).
Agencies may not take steps toward completing a proposed
action that would foreclose options which would avoid
conflicts with conservation of listed species. See id. at
§1536(d). Moreover, the dominant procedural mechanism
of section 7 — consultation between agencies with expertise
in biodiversity conservation and those whose actions may
affect listed species and their habitat — reflects standard
practices in science, namely sharing of expertise and peer
review. Together, these procedural elements of section 7
also demonstrate Congress’ deliberate construction of an
analytical, cautious approach to proceeding with federal
actions that may affect threatened and endangered species
and their habitat. A reading of section 7 that exempts
whole categories of federal actions from the requirements
of section 7 would be inconsistent with this systematic and
scientific process.

Finally, prompted by this Court’s decision in TVA uv.
Hill, supra, Congress added to section 7 a distinct and
detailed process that allows a high-level policymaking
body to grant exemptions from the section’s otherwise

29

science-based mandates. See generally 16 U.S.C. §1536(e)
through §1536(p). This separate exemption process em-
phasizes the distinction between the comprehensive,
science-based requirements discussed above and the
specific circumstances under which designated officials
may consider non-scientific factors in deciding whether a
federal action may proceed notwithstanding its impacts on
protected species. Perhaps more significantly, it also
emphasizes lawmakers’ view of the gravity of a decision to
allow a federal action to proceed in the face of information
indicating that it would jeopardize a listed species or
destroy critical habitat. Only a Cabinet-level committee —
or the President within declared disaster areas - may
grant exemptions to the substantive mandates of section 7.
See id. at §1536(e); §1536(p). Moreover, the Endangered
Species Committee may grant exemptions only after a
series of exacting procedures, including public notice and a
formal adjudicatory hearing. See id. at §1536(g)(2)(B)(ii);
§1536(g)(4). Additionally, no exemption may be granted in
the absence of a biological assessment of the proposed
action’s effects on listed species. See id. at §1536(g)(3)(A)(ii).
This indicates that lawmakers were unwilling to allow
even individual federal actions to be exempted from
section 7 without first requiring scientific scrutiny of their
impacts on listed species.

Section 7’s exacting exemption process stands in stark
contrast to an interpretation of section 7 that would make
the substantive protections of this section inapplicable to
an indeterminate and potentially broad array of federal
agency actions. Rather than being carefully weighed by
high-ranking public officials, adoption of the position
advanced by Petitioners could permit decisions exempting
various federal agency actions from section 7 to be made
routinely by agency administrators and government

30

counsel. Moreover, these exemptions from the require-
ments of section 7 would necessitate no public notice and,
perhaps of more concern, would not require federal agen-
cies to consider or even identify projects’ impacts on
threatened and endangered species. These outcomes are
not consistent with the painstaking and narrow exemption
process that Congress added to section 7 in 1978 in order
to allow for careful consideration of exceptions to this
section’s key prohibitions. The exacting exemption process
in the statute accounts for the importance and potential
finality of a decision that can place the future of an imper-
iled species in doubt or even consign it to extinction. It is,
therefore, virtually inconceivable that lawmakers simul-
taneously intended to allow a host of so-called “nondiscre-
tionary” federal agency actions — which could lead to
similarly disastrous biological results — to proceed unregu-
lated by the ESA.

Ill. CONCLUSION.

For the foregoing reasons, Amici respectfully request
that this Court affirm the decision of the Ninth Circuit

Court of Appeals.
Respectfully submitted,

DANIEL J. ROHLF

PACIFIC ENVIRONMENTAL ADVOCACY
CENTER

10015 S.W. Terwilliger Blvd.

Portland, OR 97219

(503) 768-6707

March 27, 2007 Counsel for Amicus Curiae

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0293%3A30. Public record. Not legal advice.
