# Amicus Curiae Brief — Stoneridge Inv. Partners v. Scientific-Atl.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0280%3A36

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2008
- **Citation:** 552 U.S. 148

## Text

SUPP No. 06-43

OFFICE OF THE CLERK
IN THE | SUPREME COURT, U.S.

tiie

ur 0A &. (2) EE
\
4

Supreme Court of the United States

STONERIDGE INVESTMENT PARTNERS, LLC,
Petitioner,
V.

SCIENTIFIC-ATLANTA, INC. and MOTOROLA, INC.,
Respondents.

On Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals
for the Eighth Circuit

BRIEF OF THE NORTH AMERICAN SECURITIES
ADMINISTRATORS ASSOCIATION, INC.,
AS AMICUS CURIAE IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONER

ALFRED E. T. RUSCH *
Senior Counsel
District of Columbia Securities Bureau
810 First Street, N.E.
Suite 701
Washington, D.C. 20002
(202) 442-7850
REX A. STAPLES
General Counsel of NASAA
STEPHEN W. HALL
Deputy General Counsel of NASAA
JOSEPH V. BRADY
Associate General Counsel of NASAA
LESLEY M. WALKER
Associate Counsel of NASAA
NORTH AMERICAN SECURITIES
* Counse! of Record ADMINISTRATORS ASSOCIATION, INC.

June 11, 2007

en
WiLSON-EPES PRINTING CO..INC. — (202) 789-0096 -— WASHINGTON, D.C. 20002

TABLE OF CONTENTS

TABLE OF ALT EBOIRE TE TESS .-.ccccccccoscosescczscssccscsscssonscese
INTEREST OF THE AMICUS CURIAE..........00000s00000s
SUMMARY OF THE ARGUMENT .............cccscsseeseeees

I.

THE RESPONDENTS CAN BE HELD
LIABLE UNDER SECTION 10(B) BECAUSE
THE SHAM BUSINESS TRANSACTIONS
THEY ENTERED INTO WERE “DECEP-
TIVE DEVICES” WITHIN THE MEANING
OF THE STATUTE; SECTION 10(B) WAS
WRITTEN TO ADDRESS DECEPTIVE
CONDUCT AS WELL AS MISREPRE-
SENTATIONS AND OMISSIONS ............020005

A.

The Plain Words of Section 10(b)
Encompass Deceptive Acts, Not Only
Misrepresentations and Omissions..............

The Legislative History of the Exchange
Act Makes Clear that Congress Intended
Section 10(b) as a Flexible, Catchall
Provision, to Be Applied to a Wide Variety
of Fraudulent Schemes ..................:sesssceeeees

SEC Rule 10b-5, Which Implements
Section 10(b), Covers a Wide Range of
Acts, Practices, and Schemes in Addition
to Untrue Statements and Omissions...........

The Decisions of this Court Support the
Application of Section 10(b) to Deceptive
Conduct Other than Misrepresentations
I ccacitnsnncsnctersiineninticintatiianieiineten

wf = EE:

10

ii
TABLE OF CONTENTS—Continued

Il. THE NEED TO PROTECT INVESTORS,
BOTH IN THIS CASE AND MORE
GENERALLY, SUPPORTS REVERSAL OF
THE LOWER COURT’S NARROW
INTERPRETATION OF SECTION 10(B).......

A. Section 10(b) Is to Be Applied Broadly
and Flexibly to Achieve its Objectives........

B. Congress and the Courts Regard Private
Actions Under Section 10(b) as an
Especially Important Mechanism for
Advancing the Goal of Investor Protection .

C. Allowing the Petitioner's Claims to
Proceed Will Further the Deterrent and
Remedial Goals of the Exchange Act..........

D. Giving Investors Fair Access to the Courts
Is Vital in Light of the Rise in Fraud, the
Statutory Limitations that Congress Has
Already Placed on Private Actions, and the
Lack of Alternative Remedies Under State

CCE EIOS crerescssnsasncsesenscciremvennescsmenentneninenenmnenenee

Page

18

18

19

21

22
27

ill

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
CASES Page
| Affiliated Ute Citizens of Utah v. United States,
eee SED ecertteneiverinmenninnpsioteennvien 7

Basic Inc. v. Levinson, 485 U.S. 224 (1988) ...4, 8, 10, 19
Bateman Eichler, Hill Richards, Inc. v. Berner,

I cicinicininintcinieninscitinictetantinisanene 20
Blue Chip Stamps v. Manor Drug Stores, 421

Se ED seit ncininitsinnhustinideinteeciiiatadisiiiaiioen 6, 25
Central Bank of Denver, N.A. v. First Interstate

Bank of Denver, N.A., 511 U.S. 164 (1994)...... passim
Chevron, U.S.A., Inc. v. NRDC, Inc., 467 U.S.

i Aiiiesiiicintiaiicdehiicienstainsiemiiiuddiadiiiaaneeiete 11
Dura Pharmaceuticals, Inc. v. Broudo, 544 U.S.

eis ssdiineeniictiinlntcainiiepaceesiiieiniemnniieeninies 20
Ernst & Ernst v. Hochfelder, 425 U.S. 185

ik iiencashinl lal eiaeta ching ucaaianiaaaednil 6, 7,9, 11
Herman & MacLean v. Huddleston, 459 U.S.

a cetininticnnsinisintiinnidiinnnnncnaneninnsineen 8, 13, 14

In re Charter Communications, Inc., Sec. Litig.,

443 F. 3d 987 (8th Cir. 2006), cert. granted,

127 S. Ct. 1873 (Mar. 26, 2007).............0c0s000 5, 13, 18
In re Charter Communications, Inc., Sec. Litig.,

No. MDL 1506, 4:02-SV-1186 CAS, 2004

WL 3826761 (E.D. Mo. Oct. 12, 2004)............. 17
In re Lernout & Hauspie Sec. Litig., 236 F. Supp.

Ee 15
JI. Case v. Borak, 377 U.S. 426 (1964).........:0006 25
Kaufman y. i-Stat Corp., 754 A.2d 1188 (N.J.

Ua ahcaeccnasssiuibinienniiesenisitebiapetenedsiabidiainemmmiepienies 26
Mirkin v. Wasserman, 858 P.2d 568 (Cal. 1993) .. 26
Peil v. Speiser, 806 F. 2d 1154 (3rd Cir. 1986)..... 25

Pinter v. Dahl, 486 U.S. 622 (1988)...............:0000. 19

iv
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page
Regents of the Univ. of Calif. v. Credit Suisse
First Boston (USA), Inc., 482 F. 3d 372 (Sth
Re aT dis tisnid dinitiinerniesianinacsinitesteintiamneaniaineneeen 16
Santa Fe Industries, Inc. v. Green, 430 U.S. 462
Ie aiistaiiadiinhinhisiectictinietnniietadnenibiesangnennensents 16, 17, 25
SEC v. Capital Gains Research Bureau, Inc., 375
Se TE iicsitiniianiiidbbihiecisiadsneesisintiinesecewontes 8
SEC v. Zandford, 535 U.S. 813 (2002).............0+0+ 11,19
SEC v. W.J. Howey Co., 328 U.S. 293 (1946)....... 10, 19
Simpson v. AOL Time Warner, Inc., 452 F. 3d
EEN SENET icniatnsisesinncsenansinicnnscindinntecseen 14, 15
Small v. Fritz Cos., Inc., 65 P. 3d 1255 (Cal.
ait itisishsonipsitiinsistadinaduendidonabenimniicnmateeiieenenieanes 26
Superintendent of Insurance v. New York, 404
Tt tbitididnaanntncensncatidesiniendigunens 12
STATUTES AND RULES
i icinrnictssinccssnnneenssnenenaniisinite 13
BT ius iciicrcicisneucimmenetecinnandsnenesseton 7
i cninricnnsatecnsnintescennsdeniesinnnnnnnns 25
cin dininccenisinnartnedicisinnneneninttes 7
Be i ciicnncsiscaneptnnienasesisnnsesinneninns 13
BE isrnsiessenseecusssncencccensesssesorentestecios passim
TT tori niicscgnncssatenseenscsssquamenenemanenta 21
Be ee I PUI vncscncencsccsedsccsscenssccesnnscennsies 23
ee I ccsircnseenncscecmnisemsectineneenncnsscenen 23
init aniniuetnecnieteenttibinincininn 23
I riclisiricricepcnminsctemenidaiusennbesenions 25
ee INO ccncescncsscssesnensscnsenstansemenncetedin passim
STITT ITI iecttiscutisininsnieiimenisnnpnietantinianiiciinneendie 2

8 ERT ae ne a Te 1

Vv
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

LEGISLATIVE HISTORY

Hearing on H.R. 5491, Before the House
Committee on Financial Services, Subcom-
mittee on Capital Markets, Insurance, and
Government Sponsored Enterprises, 109th
Cong. (2006) (Statement of James D. Cox),
available at www.law.duke.edu/features/pdf/

H.R. REP. No. 73-1383 (1934), 1934 WL 1290...
H.R. Rep. No. 107-414 (2002), 2002 WL

OTHER AUTHORITIES

Brief of the North American Securities Admin-
istrators Association, Inc., as Amicus Curiae,
in Support of Respondents, filed in Tellabs,
Inc. v. Makor Issues & Rights, Ltd., Case No.
06-484 (U.S. Mar. 9, 2007), available at http://
www.nasaa.org/content/Files/Tellabs.pdf .........

Brief of the North American Securities Admin-
istrators Association, Inc., as Amicus Curiae,
in Support of the People of the State
California, in People v. Edward D. Jones &
Co., Case No. CO53407 (Cal. Ct. App. Feb.
23, 2007), available at http://www.nasaa.org/
content/Files/ED_JONES_FINAL.pdf..............

Joel Seligman, Rethinking Private Securities
Litigation, 73 U. Cin. L. Rev. 95 (2004)...........

vi
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Kevin S. Schmelzer, The Door Slammed Shut
Needs to be Reopened: Examining the Plead-
ing Requirements Under the Private Securities
Litigation Reform Act, 78 Temp. L. Rev. 405

Press Release, No. 2002-179, SEC, NY Attorney
General, NASD, NASAA, NYSE and State
Regulators Announce Historic Agreement to
Reform Investment Practices (SEC, Dec. 20,
2002), available at http://www.sec.gov/news/
III teecccicnscnssnentsocsensccsssnrenseeseses

Press Release, State Investigation Reveals
Mutual Fund Fraud (Office of the New York
Attorney General, Sept. 3, 2003), available at
http://www.oag.state.ny.us/press/2003/sep/sep
I ih ciertatesederetcsiesseenenstenncontnmnesennnsnssenees

Robert A. Prentice, Locating that “Indistinct”
and “Virtually Nonexistent” Line Between
Primary and Secondary Liability Under
Section 10(b), 75 N.C. L. Rev. 691 (1997)........

Ronald I. Miller, Todd Foster, and Elaine
Buckberg, Recent Trends in Shareholder Class
Action Litigation: Beyond the Mega-Settle-
ments, is Stabilization Ahead? Apr. 2006,
available at http://www.nera.com/image/BRO

_RecentTrends2006 SEC979_PPB-FINAL.pdf
(National Economic Associates, Inc.) ...............
WEBSTER’S NEW WORLD DICTIONARY (3rd ed.

Page

24

23

8, 10

24

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

No. 06-43

STONERIDGE INVESTMENT PARTNERS, LLC,
Petitioner,
Vv.

SCIENTIFIC-ATLANTA, INC. and MOTOROLA, INC.,
Respondents.

On Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals
for the Eighth Circuit

BRIEF OF THE NORTH AMERICAN SECURITIES
ADMINISTRATORS ASSOCIATION, INC.,
AS AMICUS CURIAE IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONER

INTEREST OF THE AMICUS CURIAE

The North American Securities Administrators Associa-
tion, Inc. (““NASAA”), is the nonprofit association of state,
provincial, and territorial securities regulators in the United
States, Canada, and Mexico. It has 67 members, including
the securities regulators in <.i 50 states, the District of
Columbia, Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands. Formed
in 1919, it is the oldest international organization devoted to
protecting investors from fraud and abuse in connection with
the offer and sale of securities. '

' Pursuant to Sup. CT. R. 37.6, NASAA represents that no counsel for
any party authored this brief in whole or in part, and no person or entity,
other than NASAA, its members, or its counsel, made any monetary con-

2

The U.S. members of NASAA are responsible for admin-
istering state securities laws and regulations. Their activities
include licensing broker-dealers, registering local securities
offerings, and conducting compliance examinations. Espe-
cially important is their enforcement role: protecting the
nation’s investors by bringing literally thousands of enforce-
ment actions every year against the firms and individuals who
have committed fraud and abuse in connection with the
sale of securities. In those cases, state securities regulators
often seek restitution to help make injured investors whole,
although the best hope of recovery for the vast majority of
defrauded investors is through the courts in private actions for
damages, not through governmental enforcement actions at
either the state or federal level.

NASAA supports the work of its members through training
programs, enforcement assistance, and legislative analysis.
Another important role of the association is representing the
membership’s position as amicus curiae in significant cases
brought by private plaintiffs as well as government regulators
involving the interpretation of the securities laws and the
rights of investors. See, e.g., Brief of the North American
Securities Administrators Association, Inc., as Amicus Curiae,
in Support of Respondents, filed in Tellabs, Inc. v. Makor
Issues & Rights, Lid., Case No. 06-484 (U.S. Mar. 9, 2007)
(supporting investors’ position on the “strong inference of
scienter” standard under the Private Securities Litigation
Reform Act), available at http://www.nasaa.org/content/
Files/Tellabs.pdf; Brief of Amicus Curiae North American
Securities Administrators Association, Inc., in Support of the
People of the State of California, filed in People v. Edward D.

tribution to the preparation or submission of the brief. Pursuant to Sup.
Cr. R. 37.3, NASAA further represents that all parties to this appeal
have consented to the filing of this amicus brief. The Petitioner’s written
consent is on file with the Court, and the Respondents’ written consent
accompanies this brief.

3

Jones & Co., Case No. CO53407 (Cal. Ct. App. Feb. 23,
2007), available at http://www.nasaa.org/content/Files/ED _
JONES _FINAL.pdf.

NASAA and its members have an interest in the outcome
of this appeal because it will profoundly affect the ability
of investors to seek redress in cases where unscrupulous
companies and individuals have actively participated with
issuers in schemes to defraud the securities markets. The
Eighth Circuit incorrectly held that any defendant who does
not make a fraudulent misstatement or omission, or who does
not engage in manipulative trading of securities, cannot be
held liable as a primary violator of Section 10(b) of the
Securities Exchange Act of 1934 (“Exchange Act”), 15 U.S.C.
§ 78j(b), and Rule 10b-5 promulgated thereunder, 17 C.F.R.
§ 240.10b-5. The lower court adopted the narrow view that
absent those specific forms of misconduct, a defendant is at
most an aider and abettor immune from suit under Central
Bank of Denver, N.A. v. First Interstate Bank of Denver, N.A.,
511 U.S. 164 (1994). If this Court affirms the lower court
and thus insulates a broad range of deceptive practices from
the reach of Section 10(b), many victims of securities fraud
with meritorious claims will lose the opportunity to recover
damages resulting from undeniably culpable behavior. As
advocates for the rights of investors to seek redress, NASAA
and its members have an interest in supporting reversal and
restoring an interpretation of the law that is more in keeping
with its language, intent, and underlying purposes.

This Court’s decision will also have a pivotal effect on the
role of private actions as a deterrent against securities fraud.
Private actions by defrauded investors are an enormously
important complement to regulatory enforcement actions as
a means of policing the securities marketplace. State and
federal securities regulators work tirelessly to detect, enjoin,
and punish financial fraud. However, private actions not only
provide the principal means of compensation for victims of

4

securities fraud, they also play a vitally important role in
protecting the integrity of the marketplace through deterrence,
a fact often noted by this Court. See, e.g., Basic Inc. v.
Levinson, 485 U.S. 224, 230-31 (1988) (the private cause of
action for violations of Section 10(b) and Rule 10b-5 con-
stitutes an “essential tool for enforcement of the 1934 Act’s
requirements”). The burgeoning growth in large-scale secu-
rities fraud over the past decade shows that a broad inter-
pretation of Section 10(b), in keeping with its remedial
purposes, is just as important today as it was in 1934, perhaps
more so. To the extent that the Court erects unwarranted
barriers to recovery in private actions—such as immunity for
those who participate in fraudulent schemes through decep-
tive acts, not words—the Court will undermine an important
deterrent that benefits the marketplace as a whole. For this
additional reason, NASAA and its members support reversal
of the circuit court’s decision.

SUMMARY OF THE ARGUMENT

The lower court erred when it dismissed the Petitioner’s
claims and held that Section 10(b) of the Exchange Act and
Rule 10b-5 encompass only misstatements and omissions of
material fact and not deceptive acts performed as part of a
scheme to defraud the securities markets. The lower court’s
narrow construction conflicts with the plain language of the
statute, Congress’s intent that the antifraud provisions of the
Exchange Act be construed broadly, and this Court’s deci-
sions recognizing that Section 10(b) applies to deceptive
actions as well as misstatements and omissions.

The lower court also erred by ignoring the public policy
implications of its interpretation of the law. The boundless
ingenuity of those who commit fraud and the need to protect
investors from fraud and abuse together make it imperative
that Section 10(b) be applied to all types of deceptive devices.
A decision that holds all parties accountable for their role in a

5

fraudulent scheme—tregardless of whether their deception
was perpetrated through words or deeds—will help repair the
damage done to investors and deter future violations, without
unduly burdening the legitimate industry. At a time when
large scale financial fraud shows little sign of abating, this
Court should ensure that injured investors have the oppor-
tunity to seek relief in federal court. For these reasons, the
Court should reverse the lower court’s decision and reinstate
the Petitioner’s claims.

ARGUMENT

I. THE RESPONDENTS CAN BE HELD PRI-
MARILY LIABLE UNDER SECTION 10(B)
BECAUSE THE SHAM BUSINESS TRANS-
ACTIONS THEY ENTERED INTO WERE
“DECEPTIVE DEVICES” WITHIN THE
MEANING OF THE STATUTE; SECTION 10(B)
WAS WRITTEN TO ADDRESS DECEPTIVE
CONDUCT AS WELL AS MISREPRESEN-
TATIONS AND OMISSIONS OF MATERIAL
FACT

Section 10(b) of the Exchange Act applies to the deceptive
business transactions that the Respondents entered into with
Charter Communications, Inc. (“Charter”) to perpetrate a
fraud on the securities market. The lower court held to
the contrary and dismissed the Petitioner’s claims, ruling that
“[{a] device or contrivance is not ‘deceptive,’ within the
meaning of § 10(b), absent some misstatement or a failure to
disclose by one who has a duty to disclose.” Jn re Charter
Communications, Inc., Sec. Litig., 443 F. 3d 987, 992 (8th
Cir. 2006), cert. granted, 127 S. Ct. 1873 (Mar. 26, 2007).

The lower court erred. The plain language of the statute,
its legislative history, and the decisions of this Court all show
that Section 10(b) encompasses deceptive conduct as well
as misstatements and omissions. Moreover, Section 10(b)

6

applies to any person that has used a deceptive device to
perpetrate a fraud, regardless of whether that person is a
corporate insider, an accountant, or simply an outside
business partner. In this case, the Respondents participated in
sham business transactions that had no economic purpose
other than artificially inflating Charter’s revenues and its
stock price. Even if the Respondents did not publicly dis-
seminate false statements reflecting those transactions, their
deceptive conduct led to the same result—a fraud on the
market. By virtue of these acts, the Respondents used
“deceptive devices” within the meaning of Section 10(b).
Accordingly, they should be held accountable as primary
violators in a trial on the merits.

A. The Plain Words of Section 10(b) Encompass
Deceptive Acts, Not Only Misrepresentations
and Omissions

The lower court’s narrow interpretation of Section 10(b) is
not consistent with the plain language of the Exchange Act.
The primary guide to the meaning of any statute is the lan-
guage of the statute itself. See Blue Chip Stamps v. Manor
Drug Stores, 421 U.S. 723, 756 (1975) (Powell, J., concur-
ring). This Court evaluates both the literal meaning of
the words used in a statute, as well as their connotation, to
ascertain Congress’s intent. See Ernst & Ernst v. Hochfelder,
425 U.S. 185, 199 & n.20 (1976) (relying upon definitions
and connotations of the words “device,” “contrivance,” and
“manipulate” as the basis for its holding that Section 10(b)
requires some degree of scienter). In this case, the wording
of Section 10(b) plainly covers a broad spectrum of conduct
in addition to misrepresentations and omissions. Congress
made it unlawful for “any person, directly or indirectly, . . . to
use or employ, . . . any manipulative or deceptive device or
contrivance” in contravention of the SEC’s rules and regu-
lations. 15 U.S.C. § 78j(b) (en.phasis added). The words
“use,” “employ,” “device,” and “contrivance” all have inher-

7

ently nonverbal definitions and connotations. Cf Ernst &
Ernst, 425 U.S. at 199 n.20. Further, the word “deceive”
“implies deliberate misrepresentation of facts” by “actions” as
well as “words.” See WEBSTER’S NEW WORLD DICTIONARY
(3rd ed. 1986). Congress’s repeated use of the word “any” is
another clear indication that the provision was intended to be
broad and “inclusive.” Affiliated Ute Citizens of Utah v.
United States, 406 U.S. 128, 151 (1972). Congress had no
intention of limiting its comprehensive ban on fraud in
Section 10(b) to strictly verbal utterances.

Congress’s choice of more limited wording in other anti-
fraud provisions of the securities laws underscores the
intended breadth of Section 10(b). Cf Ernst & Ernst v.
Hochfelder, 425 U.S. at 206 (observing that the 1933 and
1934 Acts are interrelated components of a federal regulatory
scheme, and comparing various provisions to ascertain Con-
gressional intent with respect to scienter). For example, in
Section 12(a)(2) of the Securities Act of 1933, Congress
established civil liability for very a carefully defined type of
fraud. The provision targets the offer or sale of a security “by
means of a prospectus or oral communication, which includes
an untrue statement of a material fact or omits to state a
material fact necessary in order to make the statements, in
light of the circumstances in which they were made, not
misleading ...” 15 U.S.C. § 77Ka)(2). Obviously, Congress
knew how to target misrepresentations and omissions alone
when it wanted to do so, and it is appropriate to infer that
Congress intended something distinctive and broader in
Section 10(b).

The legal context in which Congress drafted Section 10(b)
also supports imposition of liability upon all those who
participate in a fraudulent scheme through actions or words.
The Exchange Act was intended not only to preserve all
rights and remedies under the common law, but to strengthen
those standards of conduct. See 15 U.S.C. § 78bb(a) (rights

and remedies provided under statute are in addition to “any
and all other rights and remedies that may exist at law or in
equity”); Basic Inc. v. Levinson, 485 U.S. 224, 244 n.22
(1988) (Rule 10b-5 actions were intended “to add to pro-
tections provided investors under the common law”); Herman
& MacLean v. Huddleston, 459 U.S. 375, 388 (1983) (“im-
portant purpose of the federal securities acts was to rectify
perceived deficiencies in the available common law remedies
by establishing higher standards of conduct in the securities
industry”). One of the attributes of the common law in 1934
was liability for those who participated in a fraud. See Robert
A. Prentice, Locating that “Indistinct” and “Virtually Non-
existent” Line Between Primary and Secondary Liability
Under Section 10(6), 75 N.C. L. Rev. 691, 753 (1997), and
cases cited therein at nn.266 & 267 (the common law was
very clear in holding that all participants in a fraudulent
scheme—not just those who had direct contact with the
victim—were liable to the scheme’s victims). Given the
Congressional desire to improve upon available remedies,
Section 10(b) deserves an interpretation at least as broad
as the common law doctrines prevailing at the time of
enactment. By this measure, all participants in a fraudulent
scheme who engage in deception can be held primarily liable.

Although the Court in Central Bank rejected a similar
analysis as to aiding and abetting liability under Section
10(b), it did so because largely because it questioned whether
aiding and abetting was really part of the common law. See
Central Bank, 511 U.S. at 181-82. The Court did not, how-
ever, reject the general principle that, absent direct conflict
with statutory language, the jurisprudence of Section 10(b)
should be informed by the common law. Cf SEC v. Capital
Gains Research Bureau, Inc., 375 U.S. 180, 195 (1963)
(broad interpretation of the antifraud provisions in the
Investment Advisers Act is supported by an evolution in the
common law of fraud to encompass breach of fiduciary duty
in securities transactions). In this case, there is no uncertainty

9

that the common law of fraud historically attached primary
liability to all of the participants in a fraudulent scheme.

B. The Legislative History of the Exchange Act
Makes Clear that Congress Intended Section
10(b) as a Flexible, Catchall Provision, to Be
Applied to a Wide Variety of Fraudulent
Schemes

The legislative history of the Exchange Act, although not
extensive with respect to Section 10(b), supports a broad
reading of the provision, one that covers a wide range of
manipulative and deceptive conduct. The legislative reports
describe the purpose of the law in terms of prohibiting
“inequitable and unfair practices.” See, e.g., S. REP. No. 73-
792 (1934), 1934 WL 1289, at *1, *6 (also explaining that
statute was aimed at “manipulative and deceptive practices”).
Nowhere in the legislative history is there any language stat-
ing or suggesting that Section 10(b) was intended to cover
only misstatements and omissions. Under this Court’s deci-
sions interpreting Section 10(b), the absence of such legisla-
tive history is a significant reflection of Congress’s intent.
See Ernst & Ernst, 425 U.S. at 202 (noting the absence of any
legislative history supporting a negligence standard).

The legislative history also reveals that Congress intended
Section 10(b) to be a “catchall” provision that would give the
SEC authority to deal with “new manipulative devices.” See
Ernst & Ernst, 425 U.S. at 202 (quoting testimony); see also
H. REP. No. 73-1383 (1934), 1934 WL 1290, at *6-7 (“In a
field where practices constantly vary and where practices
legitimate for some purposes may be turned to illegitimate
and fraudulent means, broad administrative powers in the
administrative agency have been found practically essential
.... ). This Court’s decisions reflect the same point: inter-
pretations of the securities laws must be “capable of adapta-
tion to meet the countless and variable schemes devised by

10

those who seek the use of the money of others on the promise
of profits.” See SEC v. W.J. Howey Co., 328 U.S. 293, 299
(1946).

The constantly evolving nature of the securities markets
and the need for a corresponding flexibility in the law has
also influenced the Court’s application of Section 10(b) in
private civil actions. In Basic Inc. v. Levinson, the Court
adopted a flexible approach to the element of reliance, allow-
ing it to be presumed where a fraud has affected the market
price upon which buyers and sellers rely. 485 U.S. 224, 247.
The Court stated: “The modern securities markets, literally
involving millions of shares changing hands daily, differ from
the face-to-face transactions contemplated by early fraud cases,
and our understanding of Rule 10b-5’s reliance requirement
must encompass these differences.” Jd. at 243-44. In the
words of the House Report:

As a complex society so diffuses and differentiates the
financial interests of the ordinary citizen that he has to
trust others and cannot personally watch the managers of
all his interests . . . it becomes a condition of the very
stability of that society that its rules of law and of
business practice recognize and protect that ordinary
citizen’s dependent position.

See Prentice, 75 N.C. L. Rev. at 715-16 (quoting H. Rep. No.
73-1383, at 5 (1934)). The complex securities fraud alleged
in this case illustrates the need to apply the law flexibly, as
Congress intended.

C. SEC Rule 10b-5, Which Implements Section
10(b), Covers a Wide Range of Acts, Practices,
and Schemes in Addition to Untrue Statements
and Omissions

The interpretation of the regulatory agency charged with
implementing Section 10(b) supports a broad reading of the
statutory language. The SEC adopted Rule 10b-5 in accor-

1]

dance with the Congressional directive set forth in Section
10(b). While subsection (b) of the Rule focuses exclusively
on “untrue statements” and “omissions” of material fact, the
other two subsections address much broader conduct, making
it unlawful “to employ any device, scheme, or artifice to
defraud,” 17 C.F.R. § 240.10b-5(a), or “to engage in any act,
practice, or course of business which operates or would
operate as a fraud or deceit,” 17 C.F.R. § 240.10b-S(c).
Subsections (a) and (c}—also promulgated in accordance
with Section 10(b)}—address fundamentally broader types of
fraud than the more narrowly written provisions of subsection
(b) dealing with misrepresentations and omissions. It is true
that the Rule cannot be read to cover more than what Con-
gress intended to reach in Section 10(b) of the Exchange Act,
because the SEC’s rule making authority was circumscribed
by the ambit of the statutory provision it was interpreting.
See Ernst & Ernst, 425 U.S. at 213. However, the very broad
language that Congress used to frame Section 10(b) left
ample room for all of the unlawful activities enumerated in
subsections (a) through (c) of Rule 10b-5. The SEC’s Rule
was therefore a reasonable and appropriate explication of the
intended scope of the statute and as such, it deserves
deference. See Chevron, U.S.A., Inc. v. NRDC, Inc., 467 U.S.
837, 843-44 (1984).

D. The Decisions of this Court Support the
Application of Section 10(b) to Deceptive
Conduct Other than Misrepresentations and
Omissions

The decisions of this Court support a finding that the ©
phrase “deceptive devices” as it appears in Section 10(b)
includes fraudulent acts, as well as misrepresentations and
omissions. For example, in SEC v. Zandford, 535 U.S. 813
(2002), a client opened an investment account with a broker,
for himself and his mentally retarded daughter. /d at 815.
Over a two year period, the broker engaged in a pattern of

12

selling the securities in the account and converting the
proceeds for his own use. /d. at 815, 820. The focus of the
Court’s opinion was that the fraud occurred “in connection
with the purchase or sale of [a] security,” but the Court also
held that the combined actions of selling the securities and
converting the proceeds constituted a deceptive device under
Section 10(b) and Rule 10b-5. The Court noted that the
scheme was not authorized or disclosed to the client, but the
Court viewed the conduct itself as sufficient to trigger
application of Section 10(b) and the Rule: “Indeed, each time
respondent ‘exercised his power of disposition for his own
benefit,’ that conduct, ‘without more,’ was a fraud.” Jd at
821 (citation omitted).

The Court in Zandford also dismissed the argument that the
sale of securities and the conversion of fumds were indepen-
dent events. The Court found that the two elements of the
scheme were sufficiently linked to support application of
Section 10(b) because the sales were effected for the ultimate
purpose of converting the proceeds. /d. at 820. Similarly in
this case, the Respondents engaged in deceptive business
transactions for the ultimate purpose of creating fictitious
revenues on Charter’s books and shoring up Charter’s stock
price. Under the reasoning in Zandford, such deceptive
devices fall within the scope of Section 10(b).

In Superintendent of Insurance v. State of New York, 404
U.S. 6 (1971), the Court held that Section 10(b) and Rule
10b-5 were applicable to an elaborate scheme in which the
defendants sold $5,000,000 worth of securities held by an
insurance company, misappropriated the proceeds, and con-
cealed the fraud in the company’s books and records. The
Court stated that the company “was injured as an investor
through a deceptive device which deprived it of any com-
pensation for the sale of its valuable block of securities.” /d.
at 10. Further emphasizing that the scheme was implemented
largely through a series of fraudulent acts, not just misrep-

13

resentations, the Court observed: “The crux of the present
case is that Manhattan suffered an injury as a result of
deceptive practices touching its sale of securities as an
investor.” Jd. at 12-13. The Court was unconcerned that
the “fraud was perpetrated by an officer of the corporation
and his outside collaborators,” id. at 10 (emphasis added),
because Section 10(b) “bans the use of any deceptive device
in the ‘sale’ of any security by ‘any person,” id.”

This Court’s decision in Herman & MacLean v. Huddleston,
459 U.S. 375 (1983), also supports an interpretation of
Section 10(b) that extends it to deceptive acts other than
misrepresentations and omissions. In Herman, the Court held
that a private action lies under Section 10(b) notwithstanding
the availability of a remedy under Section 11 of the Securities
Act of 1933, 15 U.S.C. § 77k, which prohibits false or
misleading information in registration statements. /d. at 387.
The Court observed that although Section 10(b) and Section
11 may overlap to some degree, they largely address different
types of wrongdoing. Jd. at 382. The Court emphasized that
Section 11 could be invoked only against certain parties and
only for fraud in registration statements. Jd The Court

? The Superintendent case, coupled with the broad wording of Section
10(b), disposes of the lower court’s suggestion that outside business part-
ners engaged in “arms-length” transactions with issuers cannot be held
primarily liable under the statute. See In re Charter Communications,
Inc., 443 F. 3d at 991, 992. Section 10(b) covers “any person” using de-
ceptive devices, and the Exchange Act defines the term “person” expan-
sively. See 15 U.S.C. 78c(a)(9). It does not limit liability to corporate
insiders or professional consultants that have special duties to the com-
pany. Even this Court’s decision in Central Bank recognized the potential
liability of outside entities under Section 10(b). It cautioned that the
elimination of aiding and abetting liability did not insulate all secondary
actors from primary liability under Section 10(b), and noted that “any
person or entity” may be liable, provided all the requirements of the stat-
ute and the Rule are met. Central Bank of Denver, N.A., 511 U.S. at 191.
The Court cited lawyers, accountants, and banks as examples, but not as
an exhaustive enumeration of potentially liable secondary actors. /d

14

explained that Section 10(b) was, “[i]n contrast,” a “catchall”
antifraud provision, under which “action can be brought by a
purchaser or seller of ‘any security’ against ‘any person’ who
has used ‘any manipulative or deceptive device or contriv-
ance” in connection with the purchase or sale of a security.”
Id. at 382 (emphasis in original) (citations omitted).

The Court further explained that limiting the scope of Sec-
tion 10(b) would immunize any parties—such as corporate
officers, lawyers, and accountants—who did not prepare or
certify the registration statements but who nevertheless may
have engaged in “fraudulent conduct while participating in
the registration statement.” Jd. at 387 n.22 (emphasis added).
In the Court’s view, such a result would conflict with the
plainly broad language of Section 10(b), and with the rule
that securities laws combating fraud should be construed
broadly to achieve their remedial purposes. Jd. at 387-88. In
keeping with the decision in Herman and Congress’s legisla-
tive intent, this Court should not immunize parties such as the
Respondents, who may not have issued Charter’s false finan-
cial reports, but who nevertheless participated in the devel-
opment of those reports through fraudulent conduct.

Some lower federal courts have endorsed the application of
Section 10(b) to deceptive conduct as well as misrepresen-
tations and omissions. In Simpson v. AOL Time Warner, Inc.,
452 F. 3d 1040 (9th Cir. 2006), the investors alleged that an
internet-based real estate company engaged in complex
“barter” or “round-trip” transactions with its business clients
for the purpose of inflating its revenues. /d at 1043. The
Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals articulated the following test
for determining whether a defendant may be held liable as a
primary violator of Section 10(b): “If a defendant’s conduct
or role in an illegitimate transaction has the principal purpose
and effect of creating a false appearance of fact in the fur-
therance of a scheme to defraud, then the defendant is using

or employing a deceptive device within the meaning of

15

§ 10(b).” Jd. at 1050. The court explained that in contrast,
“participation in a legitimate transaction, which does not have
a deceptive purpose or effect, would not allow for a pri-
mary violation, even if the defendant knew or intended that
another party would manipulate the transaction to effectuate a
fraud.” Jd.

_The court emphasized the importance of examiris.g “the
deceptive nature of the defendant’s own conduct” as a means
of differentiating primary violators from mere aiders and
abetters, who cannot be found liable under Section 10(b). Jd.
at 1049. The court ultimately dismissed the complaint, with
leave to seek amendment, because the allegations failed ade-
quately to aver that the business client’s transactions were
illegitimate or had created false appearance of fact. Jd at
1052-53. However, the court’s analysis nevertheless demon-
strated that applying Section 10(b) to deceptive conduct is at
least one principled way of attaching primary liability to
those who participate in a fraudulent scheme, while at the
same time respecting this Court’s prohibition against aiding
and abetting liability under Central Bank. See also In re
Lernout & Hauspie Sec. Litig., 236 F. Supp. 2d 161, 173 (D.
Mass. 2003) (denying a motion to dismiss for outside busi-
ness partners who devised sham corporate entities to hide
expenses and overstate profits).°

In this case, of course, the Respondents’ transactions with
Charter were not legitimate and they undoubtedly created a
false appearance: that the surcharge for each cable box was a

> The court in Simpson also correctly held that the required element of
reliance is present in deceptive conduct cases “if the introduction of
misleading statements into the securities market was the intended end
result of a scheme to misrepresent revenue.” 452 F. 3d at 1051. In this
case, the introduction of false revenue reports into the marketplace was
the intended result of the Respondents’ scheme, so the element of reliance

is present.

16

capital expense, and that the return of the surcharge to Char-
ter in the guise of advertising fees was genuine revenue.
Accordingly, the Respondents used deceptive devices within
the meaning of Section 10(b). But see Regents of the Univ. of
Calif. v. Credit Suisse First Boston (USA), Inc., 482 F. 3d
372, 388 (Sth Cir. 2007) (disagreeing with the Ninth Circuit’s
approach in Simpson and holding that deception within the
meaning of Section 10(b) is limited to a misstatement or a
failure to disclose by one who has a duty to disclose).

The lower court in this case relied upon Central Bank and
Santa Fe Industries, Inc. v. Green, 430 U.S. 462 (1977), as
the basis for its narrow reading of Section 10(b), but in
neither of those cases did this Court restrict the application of
Section 10(b) to misstatements and omissions. In Central
Bank, the Court held that the text of Section 10(b) “does
not itself reach those who aid and abet a § 10(b) violation.”
See 511 U.S. at 177. In dicta, the Court paraphrased the
broad language of Section 10(b) as a prohibition against
“the making of a material misstatement (or omission) or the
commission of a manipulative act.” /d at 177. This isolated
observation was not an element of the Court’s holding, and it
was contradicted by other language in the opinion more
accurately characterizing Section 10(b) in terms of “manipu-
lative or deceptive acts.” Jd. at 177-178.

Nor does Santa Fe stand for the proposition that Section
10(b) is confined to misstatements and omissiors. In Santa
Fe, minority shareholders alleged they had received under-
valued stock from majority shareholders during a merger.
The majority shareholders had fully complied with the appli-
cable state merger law, and had fully disclosed the terms of
the merger, including the share price and the method used for
its computation. 430 U.S. at 466, 469. The Court affirmed
dismissal of the complaint, holding that a breach of fiduciary
duty by itself, without any deception of any kind, did not
comprise a violation of 10(b). Jd. at 475-76. In the words of

17

the Court, “We thus adhere to the proposition that ‘Congress
by § 10(b) did not seek to regulate transactions which con-
stitute no more than internal corporate mismanagement.” Jd.
at 479 (citation omitted). Although the Court ruled that some
form of deception is an essential element of a claim under
Section 10(b), the Court also quite clearly understood the
concept of deception in a broad sense, one that allowed for
deceptive conduct as distinct from misstatements and omis-
sions. For example, in rejecting the plaintiffs’ contention, the
Court observed that “The cases do not support the proposition
. . . that a breach of fiduciary duty by majority shareholders,
without any deception, misrepresentation, or nondisclosure,
violates the statute and the Rule.” Jd at 476 (emphasis
added); see also id. at 473 (“The language of § 10(b) gives no
indication that Congress meant to prohibit any conduct not
involving manipulation or deception.”) (emphasis added).

All of the foregoing authorities confirm that the plain
language and the intended scope of Section 10(b) is broad
enough to encompass the Respondents’ conduct in this case.
The sham transactions they entered into with Charter were
“deceptive devices” because they created the false impression
that Charter was making bona fide capital expenditures and
receiving bona fide revenues in its transactions with the
Respondents. In fact, the arrangement had no financial sig-
nificance whatsoever. Moreover, the Respondents engaged in
the deceptive scheme for the ultimate purpose of artificially
inflating the market price of Charter’s stock, to the detriment of
public shareholders. The allegations against the Respondents in
this case therefore describe the use of “deceptive devices” to
commit securities fraud, in violation of Section 10(b). *

“In this case, although the Respondents did not engage in wash sales
on an exchange, they did enter into what can certainly be described as
“wash” business transactions that had the specific purpose and effect of
generating fictitious revenue reports that in tum artificially supported the
market price of Charter’s shares. See In re Charter Communications, Inc.,

18

II. THE NEED TO PROTECT INVESTORS, BOTH
IN THIS CASE AND MORE GENERALLY,
SUPPORTS REVERSAL OF THE LOWER
COURT’S NARROW INTERPRETATION OF
SECTION 10(B)

The lower court based its decision in part on considerations
of public policy. The court asserted that imposing liability on
the Respondents for deceptive conduct would “introduce
potentially far-reaching duties and uncertainties for those
engaged in day-to-day business dealings,” a policy decision
that the court viewed as a matter best left to Congress. In re
Charter Communications, Inc., 443 F. 3d at 992-93. The
lower court’s concerns were unfounded. Applying Section
10(b) to the type of deceptive business deals that the Respon-
dents entered with Charter will impose no duties or uncertain-
ties, other than those that arise from the universal and entirely
fitting obligation to refrain from using deceptive devices in
schemes to commit securities fraud. Even more important
is the lower court’s failure to consider any of the investor
protection policies underlying the securities acts. Those
interests justify a broad reading of Section 10(b), not a
restrictive interpretation that immunizes participants in a
securities fraud.

A. Section 10(b) Is to Be Applied Broadly and
Flexibly to Achieve its Objectives

Congress passed the Exchange Act in 1934 as part of an
aggressive legislative response to extensive fraud and abuse

in the securities markets. The overriding purpose of the

Sec. Litig, No. MDL 1506, 4:02-SV-1186 CAS, WL 3826761, at *3 (E.D.
Mo. Oct. 12, 2004) (“the price increases paid by Charter and ‘advertising
payments’ made by the vendors constituted ‘wash’ transactions with no
economic significance”). The Respondents were full and witting partners
in these deceptive transactions and were therefore primary actors in the
fraudulent scheme.

19

statute is to protect investors, and since 1934, this Court
has declared again and again that the federal securities laws
should be interpreted broadly and flexibly to achieve that
remedial purpose. See generally SEC v. Zandford, 535 U.S.
813, 819 (2002). Applying this rule of statutory construction
in the securities field, the Court has expansively interpreted
many facets of Section 10(b): the misconduct that it prohibits,
the securities that trigger its application, and the elements of a
violation. See SEC v. Zandford, 535 U.S. 813 (applying
Section 10(b) to sale of client’s securities and conversion of
proceeds); Basic Inc. v. Levinson, 485 U.S. 224 (1988) (reject-
ing narrow interpretation of materiality with respect to merger
negotiations and recognizing a presumption of reliance in
cases involving fraud on the market); SEC v. W.J. Howey Co.,
328 U.S. 293 (1946) (broadly defining investment contracts
as securities).

B. Congress and the Courts Regard Private
Actions Under Section 10(b) as an Especially
Important Mechanism for Advancing the Goal
of Investor Protection

In these and other decisions, the Court has recognized a
strong Congressional policy favoring private actions as a
means of achieving the investor protection goals underlying
the securities laws. Private actions afford victims of fraud the
best and often only hope of recovering their losses—
something government enforcement actions are ill-equipped
to do on a large scale. Private actions are also an essential
deterrent because governmental enforcement program simply
cannot, by themselves, inspire compliance with the law. See
generally Pinter v. Dahl, 486 U.S. 622, 633 (1988) (recogniz-
ing the “congressional policy favoring private suits as an
important mode of enforcing federal securities statutes”);
Basic Inc. v. Levinson, 485 U.S. 224, 245 (1988) (noting that
presumption of reliance facilitates Rule 10b-5 litigation and
therefore supports the congressional policy embodied in the

20

1934. Act); Bateman Eichler, Hill Richards, Inc. v. Berner,
472 U.S. 299, 310 (1985) (denying application of in pari
delicto defense and observing that “private actions provide ‘a
mos: effective weapon in the enforcement’ of the securities
laws”) (citations omitted).

In some cases, the Court has recognized limits on the
application of these policies and has declined to adopt a broad
interpretation of the securities laws. Where for example, the
text of a statute simply does not permit a broad interpretation,
the Court has subordinated the policy of investor protection to
the text of the law as written. This was the principal rationale
for the Court’s unwillingness to recognize aiding and abetting
liability in Central Bank. See 511 U.S. at 173, 177 (holding
that “the text of the statute controls our decision” and adding
that the issue “is not whether imposing private civil liability
on aiders and abettors is good policy but whether aiding and
abetting is covered by the statute”). Similarly, where Con-
gress has deliberately tempered private rights of action
through amendments to the securities laws, as it did in the
Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995 (“PSLRA”),
the Court has respected those limits as well. See Dura
Pharmaceuticals, Inc. v. Broudo, 544 U.S. 336, 346 (2005)
(PSLRA makes clear Congress’s intent to permit recovery
in private action only where plaintiffs adequately allege
causation and loss).

> In Central Bank, the Court actually did consider policy implications.
It speculated that uncertainty surrounding the scope of aiding and abetting
liability might cause legitimate service providers in the securities industry
to fall victim to strike suits and to respond by either withholding their
services or passing increased costs on to clients and shareholders. See
511 U.S. at 189. These concerns are not relevant here because little un-
certainty surrounds the use of deception as the test for primary liability.
Moreover, shortly after Central Bank, Congress addressed the problem of
strike suits in the Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995.

21

No such statutory limitations apply in this case, however.
The wording of Section 10(b) poses no obstacle to the theory
of liability advanced by the Petitioner in this case. To the
contrary, the broad phrasing of Section 10(b) easily ac-
commodates the Respondents’ deceptive acts. In PSLRA,
Congress instituted heightened pleading requirements, limits
on discovery, and other measures aimed at inhibiting abusive
strike suits, but it chose nof to restrict the nature of the
“manipulative or deceptive” devices constituting fraud under
Section 10(b), nor did it limit the category of “persons”
subject to its antifraud provision.® See 15 U.S.C. § 78u-4. In
short, neither the securities laws nor the decisions of this
Court can justify a narrow interpretation of Section 10(b) in
this case. The Court therefore should give full sway to the
dual goals of deterring securities fraud and allowing investors
to recover their losses.

C. Allowing the Petitioner’s Claims to Proceed
Will Further the Deterrent and Remedial Goals
of the Exchange Act

Applying Section 10(b) to the type of deceptive conduct at
issue in this case will serve these important policies. A hold-
ing that views the Respondents’ conduct as falling within the
scope of Section 10(b) will help deter similar violations by
others who are tempted to participate in fraudulent schemes.
We are in an era when companies feverishly strive to bolster

* In PSLRA, Congress felt compelled to address the problem of abu-
sive lawsuits, but it also recognized, and sought to preserve, the beneficial
role of private actions in combating securities fraud: “Private securities
litigation is an indispensable tool with which defrauded investors can
recover their losses without having to rely upon government action.” See
H.R. CONF. REP. NO. 104-369 (1995), 1995 WL 709276, at *31. More-
over, Congress recognized that “[sJuch private lawsuits promote public
and global confidence in our capital markets and help to deter wrongdoing
and to guarantee that corporate officers, auditors, directors, lawyers and
others proper!-: perform their jobs.” Jd. (emphasis added).

22

publicly announced revenues to sustain their share prices,
often by issuing fraudulent financial statements. Companies
have partnered not just with their accountants, but also with
their investment banks (as in Enron) and their outside vendors
(as in this case) in deceptive schemes designed to add credi-
bility and camouflage to those misleading reports. The Court
in Central Bank acknowledged that in complex securities
fraud cases, “there are likely to be multiple violators.” See
511 U.S. at 191. Allowing investors to seek recourse in such
cases will discourage the participation of such consultants and
outside business partners in fraudulent schemes.

Reversal of the lower court’s narrow interpretation of
Section 10(b) will also help investors recover their losses
arising from securities fraud. Often the companies directly
responsible for the dissemination of false financial statements
have collapsed under the weight of the fraud, leaving the
other participants in the scheme to answer for the losses that
investors have suffered. By exposing all parties responsible
for the fraud to civil liability, the law will afford at least some
chance of recovery to those who have lost their invest-
ments—often their life savings—as a result of the defendants’
culpable behavior.

D. Giving Investors Fair Access to the Courts Is
Vital Given the Rise in Fraud, the Statutory
Limitations that Congress Has Already Placed
on Private Actions, and the Lack of Alternative
Remedies Under State Law

The need to ensure that investors have meaningful private
remedies in federal court has become especially acute as a
result of the enactment of PSLRA in 1995. Since then, there
has been a marked rise in the incidence of corporate ac-
counting fraud and securities law violations affecting large
classes of investors. Congress recognized the seriousness of
the problem, and the need for at least a partial legislative

23

response, when it enacted the Sarbanes-Oxley Act of 2002,
15 U.S.C. §§ 7201-7266. The House Report accompanying
the House bill aptly describes the problem of deceptive
corporate practices that harm investors:

The collapse of the Enron Corporation provided irrefu-
table evidence of serious, systemic problems in our
financial reporting system and our capital markets. Far
from being an isolated instence, Enron was only the
most spectacular example of what has become a com-
mon phenomenon—earnings manipulation and deceptive
accounting by our largest companies. Before Enron,
company after company—-Waste Management, Sun-
beam, Cendant, W.R. Grace, and many others—were
found to have manipulated their accounting to present a
picture to investors that did not match reality. Az evi-
denced by the record number of investigations opened
by the SEC thus far this year [2002], the problem has
only become more acute.

See H.R. REP. No. 107-414 (2002), 2002 WL 661614, at *47
(Minority Views);’ see also, e.g., Press Release, No. 2002-
179, SEC, NY Attorney General, NASD, NASAA, NYSE
and State Regulators Announce Historic Agreement to
Reform Investment Practices (SEC, Dec. 20, 2002), available
at http://www.sec.gov/news/press/2002-179.htm; Press Re-
lease, State Investigation Reveals Mutual Fund Fraud (Office
of New York Attorney General, Sept. 3, 2003), available at
http://www.oag.state.ny.us/press/2003/sep/sep03a_03.html.

For the most part, the laudable provisions of Sarbanes-Oxley are
focused on enhancing the regulatory oversight of corporate accounting
practices and toughening the penalties for violations of the securities laws.
See, e.g., Title I, 15 U.S.C. §§ 7211-19 (establishing an accounting over-
sight board for public companies); Title VIII, Section 807, 18 U.S.C.
§ 1348 (increasing criminal penalties for defrauding shareholders of pub-
licly traded companies). It remains for the courts to interpret the securi-
ties laws in a manner that affords investors an adequate means of redress
for corporate malfeasance.

24

Those violations have harmed millions of investors nation-
wide, inflicting huge personal losses. Yet the number
of securities fraud class action lawsuits filed in the federal
courts has declined, and dismissal rates have increased since
PSLRA was enacted. See generally Hearing on H.R. 5491,
Before the House Committee on Financial Services, Sub-
committee on Capital Markets, Insurance, and Government
Sponsored Enterprises, 109th Cong. (2006) (Statement of
James D. Cox), available at http://www.law.duke.edu/
features/pdf/coxtestimony.pdf; Ronald I. Miller, Todd Foster,
and Elaine Buckberg, Recent Trends in Shareholder Class
Action Litigation: Beyond the Mega-Settlements, is Stabiliza-
tion Ahead? Apr. 2006, available at http://www.nera.com/
image/BRO_RecentTrends2006_ SEC979_ PPB-FINAL.pdf
(National Economic Research Associates, Inc.).

These conflicting trends have prompted experts in the secu-
rities field to surmise that because of PSLRA, “the balance
has been tipped too far in favor of preventing claims (some
of which would, after discovery, turn out to have merit)
rather than protecting investors who have suffered losses.
That is, Congress swung the pendulum too far in protecting
defendants.” Kevin S. Schmelzer, The Door Slammed Shut
Needs to be Reopened: Examining the Pleading Requirements
Under the Private Securities Litigation Reform Act, 78 Temp.
L. Rev. 405, 426 (2005); see also Joel Seligman, Rethinking
Private Securities Litigation, 73 U. Cin. L. Rev. 95, 113
(2004) (“the diminution in the effectiveness of private federal
securities litigation was one of the several facts that
contributed to a reduction in fraud deterrence.”). In short,
Congress has adopted legislative measures that are more than
adequate to protect industry from abusive lawsuits. Where
claims of fraud lie well within the statutory boundaries that
Congress has set, as they do here, there is no justification for
a narrow interpretation of the law that further limits the
ability of investors to seek relief.

25

Federal relief is all the more important when state law does
not provide an alternative remedy. This Court has observed
that the disadvantages posed by a restrictive interpretation of
federal securities law can be “attenuated” where adequate
remedies are available under state law. See Blue Chip Stamps
v. Manor Drug Stores, 421 U.S. 723, 738 n.9 (1975) (weigh-
ing fact that class action in state court was an alternative
remedy); see also Santa Fe Industries, Inc. v. Green, 430 U.S.
462, 478 (1977) (state cause of action under corporate law
was a factor in determining whether to recognize federal
cause of action); J.J. Case Co. v. Borak, 377 U.S. 426, 434-35
(1964) (noting that if federal jurisdiction is limited and state
affords no relief, then the “whole purpose” of the statutory
provision might be frustrated). Conversely, where state law
does not offer a significant alternative forum for plaintiffs’
claims, there is a correspondingly greater justification—and
need—for the federal courts to afford relief.

In this case, state law offers limited recourse for investors
in the Petitioner’s position. Congress has expressly limited
the use of class action suits seeking recovery for securi-
ties fraud under state law. In 1998, Congress enacted the
Securities Litigation Uniform Standards Act (“SLUSA”) to
address the concern that “securities class action lawsuits [had]
shifted from Federal to state courts” as a means of circum-
venting PSLRA. See Notes, 15 U.S.C.A. § 78a (excerpt from
Congressional findings in Pub. L. 105-353, § 2, Nov. 3,
1998). With certain exceptions, SLUSA provides that no
class action based upon state law may be maintained in any
State court on behalf of more than 50 class members. See 15
U.S.C. § 77p(b). Moreover, state courts generally have not
recognized the doctrine of fraud-on-the-market in cases
seeking relief under state common law, further limiting the
state courts as an alternative forum for investors aggrieved by
large-scale market manipulation of the sort alleged in this
case. See, e.g., Peil v. Speiser, 806 F.2d 1154, 1163 (3rd Cir.
1986) (no states have adopted fraud on the market theory);

26

Kaufman vy. i-Stat Corp., 754 A.2d 1188, 1193-94 (N.J.
2000); Mirkin v. Wasserman, 858 P.2d 568, 584 (Cal. 1993).

Precisely because of the massive corporate frauds that have
surfaced in recent years, some courts have recognized the
need to re-evaluate barriers to civil actions alleging securities
fraud. The California Supreme Court, for example, has cited
the troubling increase in corporate fraud as a reason to
recalibrate the balance between the interests of investors and
the interests of corporations, in favor of providing greater
judicial recourse to victims of fraud:

When Congress enacted the Private Securities Litigation
Reform Act of 1995 and the Uniform Standards Act of
1998, it was almost entirely concerned with preventing
nonmeritorious suits. (Stout, supra, 38 Ariz. L. Rev.
711). But events since 1998 have changed the per-
spective. The last few years have seen repeated reports
of false financial statements and accounting fraud, dem-
onstrating that many charges of corporate fraud were
neither speculative nor attempts to extort settlement
money, but were based on actual misconduct. “To open
the newspaper today is to receive a daily dose of
scandal, from Adelphia to Enron and beyond. Sadly,
each of us knows that these newly publicized instances
of accounting-related securities fraud are no longer
out of the ordinary, save perhaps in scale alone.”
(Schulman, et al., The Sarbanes-Oxley Act: The Impact
on Civil Litigation under the Federal Securities Laws
from the Plaintiff's Perspective (2002 ALI-ABA Cont.
Legal Ed.) p.1.) The victims of the reported frauds,
moreover, are often persons who were induced to hold
corporate stock by rosy but false financial reports, while
others who knew the true state of affairs exercised stock
options and sold at inflated prices. (See Purcell, The
Enron Bankruptcy and Employer Stock in Retirement
Plans, Congressional Research Service (Mar. 11, 2002).)
Eliminating barriers that deny redress to actual victims

27
of fraud now assumes an importance equal to that of
deterring nonmeritorious suits.
See Small v. Fritz Companies, Inc., 65 P. 3d 1255, 1263-64
(Cal. 2003).

As financial crimes abound and as alternative forums for
aggrieved investors remain limited, it is especially important
that the federal courts interpret federal law in a way that, to
the extent possible, affords meaningful remedies to victims of
securities fraud. Reversing the lower court’s decision will
help accomplish this objective.

CONCLUSION

For the reasons set forth above, the decision of the
United States Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit should
be reversed.

Respectfully submitted,

ALFRED E. T. RUSCH *
Senior Counsel
District of Columbia Securities Bureau
810 First Street, N.E.
Suite 701
Washington, D.C. 20002
(202) 442-7850
REX A. STAPLES
General Counsel of NASAA
STEPHEN W. HALL
Deputy General Counsel of NASAA
JOSEPH V. BRADY
Associate General Counsel of NASAA
LESLEY M. WALKER
Associate Counsel of NASAA
NORTH AMERICAN SECURITIES
* Counsel of Record ADMINISTRATORS ASSOCIATION, INC.

June 11, 2007

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0280%3A36. Public record. Not legal advice.
