# Petitioners Brief — Clark v. Arizona

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0265%3A12

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petitioners Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2006
- **Citation:** 548 U.S. 735

## Text

Qo ==

No. 05-5966 | FEB? 2006 |
SR LAER LEO 7
In The

Supreme Court of the Anited States

ERIC MICHAEL CLARK,

Petitioner,
VS.
STATE OF ARIZONA,
Respondent.
+

On Writ Of Certiorari To The
Arizona Court Of Appeals

PETITIONER’S OPENING BRIEF

DAVID GOLDBERG
Attorney at Law

P.O. Box 746
Flagstaff, AZ 86001
Phone (928) 606-1618
Fax (928) 525-9352
Counsel for Petitioner

—-

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO (400) 225-5964
OR CALL COLLECT (402) 442 2831

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

(1) Whether Arizona’s blanket exclusion of evidence and
refusal to consider mental disease or defect to rebut the
state’s evidence on the element of mens rea violated
Petitioner’s right to due process under the United States
Constitution, Fourteenth Amendment?

(2) Whether Arizona’s insanity law, as set forth in A.R.S.
§ 13-502 (1996) and applied in this case, violated Peti-
tioner’s right to due process under the United States
Constitution, Fourteenth Amendment?

il
PARTIES. TO THE PROCEEDINGS BELOW

All parties to the proceedings below are named in the
caption of this matter.

ili

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW................. j
PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS BELOW.............. il
EE CE CI hii ici ss ccccddckovandebunbadiodeconsncece iil
Rs GI Se RE I voiditccdecuctiivaccdcopiovccandadeciecdiess vi
a re 1
a 1

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVISIONS
a 1
EUS GPE BUM Gt issccssccdvcsscdccdvecevsccedscdsececes 2
In Fa 3
B. UD FOI BU isis cccicccciscnivccsenctsoszessecess 7
SUMMARY OF THE ARGUMENT .............................. 11
FES RE RIE Ae aes 5 ROR ED IES Art ON Pe AE 13

I. ERIC WAS DENIED DUE PROCESS WHEN

THE TRIAL COURT REFUSED TO CON-

SIDER EVIDENCE OF HIS SEVERE MENTAL

ILLNESS IN DETERMINING FACTUALLY

WHETHER THE PROSECUTION PROVED

THE MENTAL ELEMENTS OF THE CRIME
6 SIERRA ar Dae ee Mn aie AE 13

A. Foreclosing Eric from Refuting the Infer-

ences on Which the Prosecution Relied to

Prove the Mental States at Issue Violated

His Due Process Right to Contest Guilt at
FR Te Ge CD BIO oe idinnvecccnceccaceesskesscee: 13

II.

lV

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

B. The Mott Rule Prohibiting Consideration
of Evidence of Mental Illness on the Issue
of Mens Rea Unconstitutionally Excludes
Probative Exculpatory Evidence. Foreclos-
ing Eric from Demonstrating Factually
that He Did Not — Because He Could Not —
Possess the Mental States Which Were
Elements of the Crime Charged Denied
Him the Right to Present a Defense Basic
to Procedural] Due Process..........................

C. If Arizona’s Evidentiary Prohibition is Con-
sidered Substantive, Foreclosing Eric From
Proving that Mental IlJness Made Him In-
capable of Forming the Subjective Mens
Rea Elements of First-Degree Murder De-
nied Him Substantive Due Process............

ARIZONA'S LAW OF CRIMINAL RESPON-
SIBILITY DEPARTS DRASTICALLY FROM
THE DEEPLY ROOTED, FUNDAMENTALLY
IMPORTANT, AND STILL PREVALENT STAN-
DARD, REFLECTED BY M’NAGHTEN AND
VIOLATES DUE PROCESG..................c.c0ssss00

A. The Arizona Statute Is Contrary to the

Most Deeply Rooted Historical Standard
BOP TI cisiascstcialncnatiatuacacesadsalaedpiatbiont a

B. The Vast Majority of States Continue to
Employ a Standard at Least as Broad as
CaO FE FOIE TIN nscndcsisasestvcsicccactiaaiccnsicie

C. Ample Precedent Supports the Conclusion
that States May Not Adopt an Insanity
Test Narrower than M’Naghten’s Without
Peas TG FIG ic csiccinciossscesssenneaisinssin

21

26

32

33

TABLE OF CONTENTS
Page

D. The Suggestion of the Court of Appeals
that Arizona’s Halving of the M’Naghten
Standard Made No Difference in Eric’s
Case Disregards the Record ...................... 46

Ill. ASSUMING DUE PROCESS PERMITS A
STATE EITHER TO HALVE THE INSANITY
DEFENSE OR TO ABROGATE AN INSANE
DEFENDANT'S MENS REA DEFENSE, ARI-
ZONA VIOLATED THE CONSTITUTION
EI TEENIE sccniisnndnstnordnscoverserncovsereseses 47

ich cti dni neste cntesadignindsnrtnsncacssudeniénsccsecotccete 50

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page
SUPREME Court CASES
Ake v. Oklahoma, 470 U.S. 68 (1985).........00... b iealtataliatiaias 20
Baldwin v. Hale, 1 Wall. (68 U.S.) 223 (1863) ..........00.0.... 14
Chambers v. Mississippi, 410 U.S. 284 (1973)............ 22, 25
Cole v. Arkansas, 333 U.S. 196 (1948)... ccc ceeeeeees 14
Cooper v. Oklahoma, 517 U.S. 348 (1996) 0.0.0.0... 33, 39
Crane v. Kentucky, 476 U.S. 683 (1986).......... 20, 22, 23, 49
Davis v. Alaska, 415 U.S. 308 (1974)... ceeeeeeceeeeeeeeeees 22
Davis v. United States, 186 U.S. 373 (1897)........0..000000... 40
Durham v. United States, 214 F.2d 862 (D.C. Cir.

TIE dinntnscibelesciepediethenisteannccentsesnintadinadinintininiaeiladsitiaiiinsabiatiaudaaed 39
Fisher v. United States, 328 U.S. 463 (1946)..............000.. 25
Gardner v. Florida, 430 U.S. 349 (1977)..............0ccccc cence: 20
Goss v. Lopez, 419 U.S. 565 (1975)............ccceessessessesseerees 14
Hotema v. United States, 186 U.S. 413 (1902).................. 40
In re Oliver, 333 U.S. 257 (1948)..............ccccccccccceteeeeeeeeeees 14
Kelly v. South Carolina, 534 U.S. 246 (2002)................... 20
Lambert v. California, 355 U.S. 255 (1957).................00.. 27
Leland v. Oregon, 343 U.S. 790 (1952) ........... 33, 42, 43, 44
Martin v. Ohio, 480 U.S. 228 (1987) 20.0.0... ceeeceeeeeeee 42
Medina v. California, 505 U.S. 437 (1992)........... 33, 44, 45

Michael H. v. Gerald D., 391 U.S. 110 (1989)... 42

Vii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES ~ Continued

Page
Miller-El v. Cockrell, 537 U.S. 322 (2003) ..............eeeee 26
Miller-El v. Dretke, 125 S.Ct. 2317 (2005)...................... 26
Montana v. Egelhoff, 518 U.S. 37 (1996) ........ 22, 23, 27, 33

Morissette v. United States, 342 U.S. 246 (1952)........ 26, 31
Mullane v. Central Hanover Bank & Trust Co., 339

Ay: SIE EEE Uictsicshinssaccansiiciedbaiusbabnstedigsdiseatbeecieetiatinies 14
Olden v. Kentucky, 488 U.S. 227 (1988).............000.ccceceeeees 22
Patterson v. New York, 432 U.S. 197 (1977).......... 26, 33, 45
Payton v. New York, 445 U.S. 573 (1980).............. sadiaall 30
Powell v. Texas, 329 U.S. 514 (1982).....0000000... 26, 43, 44, 45
Rivera v. Delaware, 429 U.S. 877 (1976) ...............ccccceeees. 42
Robinson v. California, 370 U.S. 661 (1962)............... 27, 43
Rock v. Arkansas, 483 U.S. 44 (1987) ......0.000000..... 20, 22, 25
Schad v. Arizona, 501 U.S. 624 (1991)... eee 23
Shafer v. South Carolina, 532 U.S. 36 (2001)................... 20
Simmons v. South Carolina, 512 U.S. 154 (1994) ........... 20
Skinner v. Oklahoma ex rel. Williamson, 316 U.S.

a UI Uiitionietuhtniniphsiidilibintcinhaisdladdiinpeteitiitieabilatntaipsiid ncdlec casi 32
Skipper v. South Carolina, 476 U.S. 1 (1986)....... cantbataiind 20
Snyder v. Massachusetts, 291 U.S. 97 (1934) ............. 27, 33
Specht v. Patterson, 386 U.S. 605 (1967).............. PEE eA 20
Speiser v. Randall, 357 U.S. 513 (1958) ..........0000..... cece. 33
Trombetta v. California, 467 U.S. 479 (1984) .0..0.. 0.0... 22
United States v. Scheffer, 523 U.S. 303 (1998) .......0......... 23

Wardius v. Oregon, 412 U.S. 470 (1973) .000000..00c cece. 20

Vili

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES -— Continued

Page
Washington v. Texas, 338 U.S. 14 (1967) .................... 14, 22
Wedd v. Texas, 409 U.S. GS (1G7B) .........c00ccceceecesccccecsesceeses 14
FEDERAL CIRCUIT COURT CASES
Neely v. Newton, 149 F.3d 1074 (10th Cir. 1998).............. 34
United States v. Garcia, 94 F.3d 57 (2d Cir. 1996)............ 36
United States v. Greene, 489 F.2d 1145 (D.C. Cir.

ail sinissistsenhchcidbagiaibiclnesibiiadaccippsthabastisiaabaiataibetiiibieainiuiibbiaicuainaad 41
United States v. McBroom, 124 F.3d 533 (3d Cir.

STU acicihicccniiianbsidicelescstiusionisainandtsdbespeabidadiehinsielbasieiadiaitiiiiabdasinjanliainde 36
STATE CASES
Bates v. State, 386 A.2d 1139 (Del. 1978).......................... 48
Bennett v. Commonwealth, 511 S.E.2d 439 (Va. Ct.

FE, Fa nici certtiiecnsrintssinesungveniiinisiaiicnmmatibncnnntes 38
Bethea v. United States, 365 A.2d 64 (D.C. 1976)............. 38
Commonwealth v. McHoul, 226 N.E.2d 556 (Mass

EIN RED ROD Fe wes ae acy SM MSE NSO OEE wo 38
Finger v. State, 27 P.3d 66 (Nev. 2001) ...........0....00002. 38, 41
Ingles v. People, 92 Colo. 518, 22 P.2d 1109 (Colo.

es ecicinibsnindehinenigialathnbiessiiaintipaaindisebaghisninniilid ttatendiitieesdasicninie 41
Roundtree v. State, 568 So.2d 1173 (Miss. 1990).............. 38
Sanders v. State, 585 A.2d 117 (Del.Super. 1990)............... 3
Sinclair v. State, 132 So. 581 (Miss. 1931) .............0......... 41
State v. Ball, 310 S.E.2d 516 (Ga. 1984)....0...00.000.00 eee. 48

State v. Grimm, 195 S.E.2d 637 (W.V. 1973)............00...0.. 38

ix

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page
State v. Herrera, 895 P.2d 359 (Ut. 1995) ............. 35, 45, 49
State v. Hurst, 594 N.W.2d 303 (Neb. Ct. App. 1999)....... 38
State v. Johnson, 399 A.2d 469 (R.1. 1979) .....0.. eee 38
State v. Jones, 359 So.2d 95 (La. 1978)... cece ceee seen 48
State v. Korell, 690 P.2d 992 (Mont. 1984)... 45

State v. Mott, 187 Ariz. 536, 931 P.2d 1046 (1997) ....passim
State v. Ovind, 186 Ariz. 475, 924 P.2d 479 (App.

Ie ircdesensthlinchctiancessablicssinitbadadaiaitsilaitapinclscdmaidaniaeasatadiaiiciniiesipsiaiad 24
State v. Pike, 49 N.H. 399 (1869) ...............ccccssessersereecceees 39
State v. Schantz, 98 Ariz. 200, 403 P.2d 521 (1965).... 24, 36
State v. Searcy, 798 P.2d 914 (Idaho 1990)................. 45, 49
State v. Staten, 616 S.E.2d 650 (N.C. Ct. App. 2005)....... 38
State v. Strasburg, 110 P. 1020 (Wa. 1910)........0...000000..... 40
State v. Tamplin, 195 Ariz. 246, 986 P.2d 914 (App.

TEND iecciesteindiciapsteleichdlilnisictidibisaaidiataicaitiiaittinttilinctiasiciaitiigaid aia 32, 33
State v. White, 270 P.2d 727 (N.M. 1954).......00.000.......c00. 38
State v. Wilcox, 70 Ohio St.2d 182, 436 N.E.2d 523

LESSEE LEAD ea bo Dette TIE reer ae 8) DONO Tree 48

MISCELLANEOUS CASE AUTHORITY

Beverley’s Case, 76 Eng. Rep. 1118 (1603) ........................ 35
M’Naghten’s Case, The House of Lords, 10 Clark &

Fin. 200, 8 Eng. Rep. 718 (1843).................. eee passim
Rex v. Arnold, 16 Howell St. Tr. 695 (1724)... 35

Reniger v. Feogossa, 1 Plow. 1, 75 Eng. Rep. 1
RR EI PERE AE Ra oe VE 27

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page
CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS
LITA ARAL AAI A AOFM ONT 1, 34
STATUTES
ae MEPs UAE cidiicvniniensctiivntiidantndsdpiunipendoennbeiaaeniaianiinndapiesds 38
Sees OF Se tanisnnseditianiseneibuindedebcdbapiebniminttinabitiinastiibin 1
I i is saiediiiablobaadencmisiabiiels 37
Be cis eainhinatnsaauccsnteniiicnsnnsssditidaieneiiatin 37
Ariz. Rev. Stat. § 13-204(A) (1978)..........ccsesseerereeeeesenes 25
Ariz. Rev. Stat. § 13-502(A) (1996).............cceeeeee. 2, 10, 32
Ariz. Rev. Stat. § 13-502(D) (1996)................cssssessereeeseees 24
SE: Se, CE, Se CIEE hecoiintinbodeceoibindeidénibienendnnidéeensininnain 24
is ne SI Ot isan ona isla seicreedunbenbil 24
es cnt sb cen ctenibctvtnnetanepugncessinitaniosiions 24
Ariz. Rev. Stat. § 13-1105(A)(3) (1996)... 1, 2,14
Fe Fe is NE nnintncicsesctnacisssenpininecsndnacesiainemsctocsnn 7
I FI crtnsicenitisinciipsecutsnbiiitinaoabbademanianl 38
So Se I ipteittdilintidancatinrecictinesitinnsesceabnctianinens 37
Rs TN, TS, ie I setncccccnnrnscrccsvaiiecasusteetesesnns 38
Sees, GO, Tl em I in cal sisdecsnedoesianee 48
OR FRSA aeRO Nr HEME OT 48
Ss Ss ANIA AN AI Witsbeheccischandiicendsibatinevtanntisehnisiisasiadinn 37
i aI Oh ict iidecths sis uccclimcbacuppisogs iehaiaddlicein 48

RS EK 8 RE Rie een ee Pen eA ene RD 48

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page
Ge. COGS Ram. § TFT ABAD sceeses scosccossosesessenssesssossocsses 48
Ga. Code Ann. § 17-7-131(CX2)............csccccccccccssessessessseerees 48
Haw. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 704-400.......................0cc000secceeeeees 38
720 Ill. Comp. Stat. Ann. 5/6-2(a) ............seescecscerseesseeeeerees 38
TN EEE TOOT TARR ATE TREE 38
IIR, SE WI is icin casi cieesededasnenineensiidoeetecinniiels 37
Ky. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 504.020(1)............ccccecceccseeeseceseneeeeees 38
he TE RIEL: OE IENINED sadeteisinnsiidapndeomienstealecetcinboisécatsapiaes 48
Md. Code Ann., Crim. Proc. § 3-109.................cc0ccceeeecceeees 38
Sh, Dene Me. MUNIN, GOR, TARE Oe iivccccncctvcsorscssecceccccscciccnecss 38
Mich. Comp. Laws Ann. § 768.21a(1)...................:ccceeeceeees 38
I a 38
EE EE a ee 38
I 38
eee SE CHE Sr IID dcicuciscisisnicncnisduiehbdetilenipendosaninaheseounsiinns 38
ee is SE Oe Fei AN I sancccecsnepcnecsececorsenccsnspnnconerse 38
Ohio Rev. Code Ann. § 2901.01(A\(14) 0... 48
ee Hes is: iin Oe cn disncdcctinciesonsiasondisesencviibatedsibnton 38
I sla innapinonaieniviotediinds 38
ee I I isi iis css cnstasmplentiseisaninhions 38
Te I, i i deduaesin’ 38
Wash. Rev. Code Ann. § 9A.12.010.................:cccececeeeeeeeeees 38

A ie eR Gills, ts GI ech ctcnpnesdncsinidéancdccentedenssccnoiendontati 38

xi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES -— Continued

Page

Ae a A a ad 38
eS 5 | | ___—SLEnEET e e NOT ICEe 38
RULES OF COURT
Rule 11, Arizona Rules of Criminal Procedure ................... 7
TREATISES AND ARTICLES
John Biggs, Jr., THE GUILTY MIND: PSYCHIATRY AND

THE LAW OF FROMICIDG (1GGB)............cccccccccccccccccccccesccseses 30
Homer D. Crotty, The History of Insanity as a

Defence to Crime in English Criminal Law, 12

I tin, re TN i 30
J. Coleman, J. Butcher & R. Carson, ABNORMAL

PSYCHOLOGY AND MODERN LIFE (6th ed. 1980) ............... 3
Day & Semard, SCHIZOPHRENIC REACTIONS, THE

HARVARD GUIDE TO MODERN PSYCHIATRY 199 (A.

I 3
Rudolph Joseph Gerber, THE INSANITY DEFENSE

ERASER eas Pe NE OPIN MER ite ES NOS She Oe 34
Sheldon Glueck, MENTAL DISORDER AND THE CRIMI-

NAL LAW: A STuDY IN MEDICO-SOCIOLOGICAL JU-

ERE Ra a vn TORS 29, 30
1 SIR MATTHEW HALE, PLEAS OF THE CROWN 32

fF 8 RINT Ren Ge OC) POR Fy OE OREN MEN een DDE MD 27

1 SERGEANT WILLIAM HAWKINS, A TREATISE OF THE
PLEAS OF THE CROWN: OR, A SYSTEM OF THE PRIN-
CIPAL MATTERS RELATING TO THAT SUBJECT, DI-
GESTED UNDER THEIR PROPER HEADS 1 (5th ed.

xill

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page
A.E. Dick Howard, THE ROAD FROM RUNNYMEDE:
MAGNA CARTA AND CONSTITUTIONALISM IN AMER-
ERT SEN ETN EY SN Cn OER 30
Edwin R. Keedy, Insanity and Criminal Responst-
bility, 30 HARV. L. REV. 535 (1917) ...........00000 ees 30

Edwin R. Keedy, A Problem of First Degree Murder:
Fisher v. United States, 99 U. Pa. L. REV. 267
RT disci niexbconnieiinisshheciscniaweieencleagiinaniisiialilatiiamiasindndisousadnrsiaenbiatans 30

Travis D. Lewin, Psychiatric Evidence in Criminal
Cases for Purposes Other Than the Defense of

Insanity, 26 SYRACUSE L. REV. 1051 (1975).................. 30
Norval Morris, The Criminal Responsibility of the
Mentally Ill, 33 SYRACUSE L. REV. 477 (1982)............... 28

Platt & Diamond, The Origins and Development of
the “Wild Beast” Concept of Mental Illness and Its
Relation to Theories of Criminal Responsibility, 1
BD; TEMP. BR. GCE. BOB (IDI ..ccniesnercvescsesssecsscovssssccnes 34

Rita J. Simon & David E. Aaronson, THE INSANITY
DEFENSE: A CRITICAL ASSESSMENT OF LAW AND
POL’ °Y IN THE POST-HINCKLEY ERA 39 (1988)............... 39

Jonas hobitscher & Andrew Ky Haynes, Jn Defense
of the Inccnity Defense, 31 Emory L.J. 9 (1982) ..... 34, 44

2 Sir JAMES FITZJAMES STEPHEN, A HISTORY OF THE

CRIMINAL LAW OF ENGLAND 165 (1883 ed.).................... 27
A.E. Taylor, INTRODUCTION, IN THE LAWS OF PLATO

GN EERE SAR cere ee CN eee 28
1 NIGEL WALKER, CRIME AND INSANITY IN ENGLAND

[THE HISTORICAL PERSPECTIVE] 26 (1968)...................:. 29

Henry Weihofen, MENTAL DISORDER AS A CRIMINAL
SN SII III dusicseccteicesteaeseunsencteussecionanes 30, 37

XIV

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page
Henry Weihofen & Winfred Overholser, Mental
Disorder Affecting the Degree of a Crime, 56 YALE
a a ee 30
MISCELLANEOUS AUTHORITIES
AMERICAN BAR ASSOCIATION, CRIMINAL JUSTICE MEN-
TAL HEALTH STANDARDS 324 (1989)...............ccccccseeeeeeeees 34
ALI Model Penal Code, § 4.01 (1962)............ cece 38

ALI Model Penal Code, § 4.02(1) (1962) ........0... cece 24

OPINIONS BELOW

The Arizona Court of Appeals’ decision affirming
Petitioner Eric Clark’s conviction and sentence is unpub-
lished. State v. Clark, No. 1 CA-CR 03-0851 and 1 CA 03-
0985 (consolidated) (Ariz. App., Div. 1, January 25, 2005.)
(JA 336-54.) The Arizona Supreme Court’s order denying
discretionary review (JA 355) is also unpublished. State v.
Clark, No. CR 05-0047 PR (Ariz., May 25, 2005).

+

JURISDICTION

The petition for certiorari was filed on August 17,
2005 and granted on December 5, 2005. This Court has
jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C. § 1257(a).

¢

CONSTITUTIONAL AND
STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

U.S. Constitution, Amendment XIV provides in
pertinent part:

... [NJor ... shall any state deprive any person
of life, liberty, or property, without due process of
law...

Section 13-1105(A)(3) of the Arizona Revised Statutes
(1996) provides in pertinent part that a person commits
first-degree murder if;

Intending or knewing that the person’s conduct
will cause death to a law enforcement officer, the
person causes the death of a law enforcement of-
ficer who is in the line of duty.

Section 13-502(A) of the Arizona Revised Statutes
(1996) provides in pertinent part:

A. A person may be found guilty except insane
if at the time of the commission of the criminal
act the person was afflicted with a mental dis-
ease or defect of such severity that the person did
not know the criminal act was wrong. A mental
disease or defect constituting legal insanity is an
affirmative defense. .. .

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

On June 21, 2000, 17-year-old Eric Clark shot and
killed Flagstaff Police Officer Jeffrey Moritz. Eric was
charged with first-degree murder under A.R.S. § 13-
1105(A). The Indictment alleged that he “intentionally or
knowingly” caused the death of a police officer while in the
line of duty. (ROA-Doc 3.) After a bench trial, the Superior
Court convicted him of this offense and found that he had
not carried his burden of proving that he was “guilty
except insane” under ARS § 13-502. (JA 331-35.) (The
trial was conducted in two phases, the first to determine
guilt or innocence, the second to determine sanity. The
court’s findings on both issues were made at the conclusion
of the entire trial.) The Arizona Court of Appeals affirmed
Eric’s conviction and resulting sentence of life imprison-
ment, finding the prosecution’s evidence sufficient to
“support the conclusion that ... fhe] knowingly and
intentionally shot Moritz and knew that he was a police
officer when he did so” (JA 342) and that Eric “did not
prove by clear and convincing evidence that he was insane
pursuant to ARS § 13-502(A) at the time of the crime”

3

(JA 347). After the Arizona Supreme Court denied discre-
tionary review (JA 355), this Court granted certiorari.

A. The Facts

The tragic shooting death of Officer Moritz occurred at
4:51 a.m. He had responded in uniform in his marked
patrol car as a result of 911 calls from a residential
neighborhood complaining that a vehicle was continuously
driving around the block blaring loud music. The officer
located the vehicle (a pickup truck) and stopped it after
activating his emergency lights. About a minute after the
officer left the patrol vehicle there was an exchange of
gunfire. Officer Moritz was struck by a bullet that im-
paired two of the four major blood vessels serving his
brain and killed him. (JA 338-39.)

There was no dispute at trial that ric Clark was the
driver of the pickup truck and the person who shot Officer
Moritz. There was also no dispute that at the time of the
episode Eric was suffering from chronic paranoid schizo-
phrenia’ and was actively psychotic’. The prosecution

* “Schizophrenia is an extremely serious psychosis that is charac-
terized by grossly distorted perceptions of reality, a withdrawal from
social interaction, and a fragmentation of perceptions, thought, and
reality.” Sanders v. State, 585 A.2d 117, n. 2 (Del.Super. 1990) citing J.
Coleman, J. Butcher & R. Carson, ABNORMAL PSYCHOLOGY AND MODERN
Lire 395 (6th ed. 1980). “Hallucinations, delusions, nonsensical speech,
violent or self-destructive behavior, and a loss of motor control are all
common symptoms.” /d. citing Day & Semard, SCHIZOPHRENIC REAC-
TIONS, THE HARVARD GUIDE TO MODERN PSYCHIATRY 199, 210-13 (A.
Nicholi ed. 1978).

* “IP|sychosis is a general term that describes an individual who
has gross disturbance in their reality testing and usually, that’s
manifested by a combination of delusions and hallucinations.” (RT
8/22/03 at 17-18; JA 15.)

conceded these facts (RT 8/27/03 at 33-34, 39, 48, 58/JA
302-03, 306, 313, 330-31); and the prosecution’s expert
forensic psychologist diagnosed it independently of, but in
conformity with, the defense expert psychiatrist (RT
8/26/03 at 39, 35, 38, 89-91, 94, 133, 163-64, 172-74/JA
132-33, 135-36, 179-81, 184, 219-20, 246-47, 254-57). The
trial judge found that:

“Both experts, all lay witnesses, and the attor-
neys agree that the Defendant suffers from a
qualifying mental disease: paranoid schizophre-
nia. The Defendant clearly began suffering from
this illness well before June 21, 2000 and suf-
fered from the illness at the time of shooting Of-
ficer Moritz.” (JA 332)

The Arizona Court of Appeals concurred (JA 345).

Until about a year and a half before the shooting, Eric
had been a healthy, well-adjusted teenager who got good
grades, excelled in sports, was popular and had no signifi-
cant problems at school or at home.’ After his illness
struck he began to have inexplicable mood swings and
episodes where with a strange look in his eyes he
screamed, or whispered audible gibberish.“ His alarmed
parents eventually had him arrested, taken to a juvenile
facility and transferred to a psychiatric hospital. He was
later released against medical advice.’ He developed the
velief that he was being poisoned, and that “They” were

* See, e.g., RT 8/20/03 at 9-11, 53-56, 61, 87-89, 133-34, 165-66, 180,
195, 214-15.

* See, e.g., RT 8/20/03 at 15, 17, 91-97, 113, 115, 182-86, 197; Day 8,
pp. 16-17.

* See, e.g., RT 8/20/03 at 97-100, 143-45, 202-08.

5

“after him.” He would not sleep in his bedroom but re-
treated into the small computer room in his home, where
he tied up a fishing line with beads and wind chimes to
alert him to intrusion by invaders.’ He later returned to
his room but equipped it with the same alarm apparatus.
He began to leave the TV on all the time, “loud,” and he
turned up the car radio “real loud.”

Teachers and friends began to talk about his numer-
ous episodes of bizarre behavior; he became a friendless
loner; his vocabulary and even his physical appearance
noticeably changed.” He began to reveal his belief that the
Earth had been invaded by aliens, that Flagstaff was
populated by aliens, that the aliens were trying to capture

* See, e.g., RT 8/20/03 at 29, 101, 116, 135, 209, 210; RT 8/22/03 at
33, 38-39/JA 27-28, 31-32; RT 8/26/03 at 166, 170/JA 24-50, 253.

” See, e.g., RT 8/20/03 at 100-01, 211.

* See, eg, RT 8/21/03 at 6: “[W)hen he moved back into his
bedroom, he had taken eye hooks and screwed them in the walls,
crisscrossed all around his room, and had taken fishing line and had
strung fishing line crisscrossing all around his room through the eye
hooks, and then had taken craft beads and strung the craft beads
strategically on various points along this fishing line. He had taken
beverage glasses from the kitchen, and when he closed the door to his
room, would stack the beverage glasses ... in front of the door if you
were inside the room, and along the window sill so that if vou opened
the door, he had — he also had wind chimes on this string, the wind
chimes would ring, the beads would move, the glasses would fall... .”
See also RT 8/22/03 at 40/JA 33; RT 8/26/03 at 18, 166-67/JA 118-19,
249-50.

* See, e.g., RT 8/20/03 at 65, 92, 124; RT 8/22/03 at 39/JA 32-33.

* See, e.g, RT 8/20/03 at 23, 27-28, 177, 219-20.

" See, e.g., RT 8/20/03 at 61-62, 166-67, 182-83, 214-15; RT 8/21/03
at 68-69.

* See, e.g., RT 8/20/03 at 62-64, 166-67; RT 8/21/03 at 68-69.

6

and kill him, and that even his parents were aliens.” His
fear that the aliens would poison him was such that he
would not eat anything at home except food from sealed
packages. He started going to the Sizzler to eat because he
thought he would be safe from poisoning where the gen-
eral public ate."

For months prior to the shooting of Officer Moritz,
Eric’s parents tried to have him recommitted. His mother
repeatedly consulted a lawyer in efforts to have the county
attorney press charges so that he would be forced into
mental health counseling.” During the two days before the
shooting Eric’s parents called at least five facilities and
twice contacted the lawyer’s office, “frantic, basically, and
said I had to see you that day and Eric was deteriorating
so fast that I had to figure out a way to get him some
help.” The prosecution’s expert witness testified at trial
that, had it not been for the shooting and its aftermath,

“I think his family probably would have been
able to keep him at a higher level of functioning.
They probably would have gotten the courts in-
volved. The courts probably would have had him
institutionalized against his wishes because he
was a danger to himself. And, hopefully, some

* See, e.g., RT 8/20/03 at 110-12, 131-32, 136, 226-27; RT 8/22/03 at
25, 29, 32, 38-39, 47-48, 55, 72-73/JA 21, 24, 26-27, 31-32,
38-40, 45, 60-61; RT 8/26/03 at 19-21, 103-09, 136-37, 142, 166-70,
172-73, 179-80/JA 119-21, 192-97, 222-23, 227-28, 249-53, 255-56, 261-
62.

* See, e.g., RT 8/20/03 at 101, 107-08, 130; RT 8/26/03 at 136-37,
158/JA 222-23, 242.

* See, e.g., RT 8/20/03 at 221-25, 232-34.

* RT 8/20/03 at 225-26. Regarding the calls to the medical facili-
ties, see the discussion of the phone records (id. at 232-34).

7

higher level of functioning could have been pre-
served.” (RT 8/26/03 at 201/JA 280.)

Instead, Eric shot and killed Officer Moritz in the early
morning of June 21, 2000.

B. The Proceedings Below

Eric was initially found incompetent to stand trial,
civilly committed, and was hospitalized for nearly three
years before his competency was restored.” When the
prosecution resumed, Eric’s attorneys sought to present
evidence of his mental illness for two purposes: (1) to cast
doubt on the prosecution's proof that Eric intentionally or
knowingly killed a police officer (ROA-Doc 362: RT 8/5/03
at 16-18); and (2) to establish the affirmative defense of
insanity (“Guilty Except Insane” (hereafter, “GEI”]) under
ARS § 13-502. (ROA-Doc 257; RT 8/5/03 at 16-18). The

" Immediately after Eric’s arrest he was determined in separate
mental-health proceedings (before a different trial judge) to be suffering
from psychosis and paranoid schizophrenia and therefore gravely
disabled and a danger to himself and others. As a result of that
proceeding (pursuant to Title 36 of the Arizona Revised Statutes), he
was committed to the Arizona State Hospital for treatment. (Cause MH
2000-0080, RT 9/19/00 at 124-27.) He was also determined by the trial
judge, in separate proceedings pursuant to Rule 11 of the Arizona Rules
of Criminal Procedure, to be incompetent to stand trial] and was further
committed to the Arizona State Hospital for treatment and restoration
to competency — a course of treatment that took almost three years.
(ROA-Does 16, 18, 156-57, 253; RT 3/28/01 at 2-6, RT 8/8/01 at 2-3, RT
6/26/02, 7/10/02, 7/11/02.) Ultimately, he was determined to be compe-
tent and was tried to the court without a jury. (ROA-Docs 304-05, RT
5/8/03 at 2-3; RT 7/28/03 at 2-11.) The parties stipulated that the court
could consider all previous mental-health testimony including that
before the court in the competency and Title 36 proceedings, al] of
which were part of the record on direct appeal. (See, ROA-Doc 358;
Anzona Court of Appeals Order dated 1/28/04.)

8

trial court requested briefing by the parties of the legal
issues raised by the potential use of Eric’s mental-illness
evidence. (ROA-Doc 373.)

The prosecution informed the court that in State v.
Mott, 187 Ariz. 536, 931 P2d 1046 (1997), the Arizona
Supreme Court had “held that the insanity test is the sole
standard for criminal responsibility in Arizona” and
“specifically rejected the argument that evidence of dimin-
ished capacity could be presented to negate intent or
knowledge.” (ROA-Doc 376 at 2.) The government asserted
that “[iJn the instant case, defendant is attempting to
present evidence of his purported delusions to negate the
mental state of intending or knowing required under
ARS § 13-1105(A\(3) .. . [and sJuch evidence would be that
of diminished capacity which is not permissible under
Arizona law.” (Id. at 3.) It added that “Mott further held
that the Federal Constitution was not violated by the
exclusion of diminished capacity evidence.” (Id.)" Defense

* Mott involved a defendant’s contention that in a prosecution for
child abuse and felony first-degree murder, that she was entitled to
present “expert psychological testimony that as a battered woman, she
was unable to form the requisite mental state necessary for the
commission of the charged offenses” (187 Ariz. at 538, 931 P2d at
1048.) An intermediate state appellate court had sustained this
contention, “finding that the trial court's preclusion of defendant’s
proffered testimony regarding battered-woman syndrome violated due
process.” (187 Ariz. at 539, 931 P.2d at 1049.) The Arizona Supreme
Court recognized that Mott’s evidence of her “history of being battered
and of her limited intellectual ability was not offered as a defense to
excuse her crimes but rather as evidence to negate the mens rea
element of the crime.” (187 Ariz. at 540, 931 P.2d at 1050.) It held that
Arizona criminal defendants are not permitted to present “ ‘diminished
capacity’” evidence of this kind because the Arizona legislature's
enactment of an insanity defense with a particular definition of
exculpatory insanity — together with the legislature's failure to enact a
provision of the Model Penal Code which explicitly authorized a

(Continued on following page)

9

counsel’s response was that, notwithstanding the Mott
decision, the GEI statute and Mott prohibition violated.
Eric’s rights to present a complete defense and he was
preserving for appeal the contention that these limitations
violated his state and federal constitutional Due Process
rights. (ROA-Doc 374 at 2-3.) After considering these
submissions, the trial judge announced that:

(1) the court was bound by Mott to consider
Eric’s mental-illness evidence only insofar as it
bore upon the issue of whether Eric was GEI un-
der ARS § 13-502 and not for any other purpose;

(2) the court would receive any mental-health
evidence that Eric’s lawyers wished to present,
since (a) most or all of the same evidence forbid-
den by Mott was also relevant to the GEI de-
fense, and (b) since the judge was the fact finder
he could separate proper from improper uses of
the evidence avoiding prejudice to the prosecu-
tion;

(3) the court would allow the defense to make
additional evidentiary offers of proof at the end
of the trial; and

(4) all evidence proffered during trial would be
preserved for any challenge to Mott or the trial
judge’s reading of Mott on appeal.”

defendant's proof of mental disorder to prove that s/he did not have a
mental state that is an element of an offense (see note 29 infra) - mani-
fested an intent to preclude such evidence (187 Ariz. at 540-41, 931 P2d at
1050-51), and that the preclusion does not violate defendants’ federa] Due
Process nights (187 Ariz. at 541-42, 931 P.2d at 1051-52).

* See RT 8/18/03 at 5-6/JA 6-7:

“THE COURT: What I have intended or what I'm going to
do after reading al] the Mott case is - and recognizing that
(Continued on following page)

10

Under Arizona law the standard for determining
whether a defendant is insane is whether s/he is afflicted
by a qualifying illness and as a result “did not know the
criminal act was wrong.” ARS § 13-502(A). Applying this
standard to the evidence,” the trial judge found that Eric
was guilty of first-degree murder as charged since he had
not proven his affirmative defense of GE]. (ROA-Doc 392/
JA 331-35.) By a post-trial motion to vacate, Eric renewed
his federal Due Process challenges to the narrowness of
the GEI standard (ROA-Doc 406 at 5-7), and to the refusal

much of the evidence that you're going to be submitting, in
fact all of it, as far as | know, .. . that has to do with the in-
sanity could also arguably be made along the lines of the
Mott issues as to form and {sic} intent and his capacity for
the intent. I'm going to let you go ahead and get all that
stuff in because it goes to the insanity issue and because
we're not in front of a jury. At the end, I'll let you make an
offer of proof as to the intent, the Mott issues, but I still
think the supreme court decision is the law of the land in
this state.... I will certainly allow you to preserve the is-
sue; you can argue or not argue, but you can make an offer
of proof at the conclusion of the case, but I don’t think it’s
the law of the land at this point. And then at least that pre-
serves it on appeal if something happens later on down the
road. But right now I’m bound by the supreme court deci-
sion in Mott and we will be focusing, as far as I’m con-
cerned, strictly on the insanity defense.”

* Portions of the evidence are quoted or summarized later in this
brief in connection with the specific issues to which they are relevant.
Because the evidence presented at the trial and the other materials in
the record (see note 17 supra) were sufficient to frame the issues for
appellate review court on the limited factual issues the tria] court held
it could consider under ARS § 13-502 and Mott, defense counsel made
no additional “offer of proof” (see note 19 supra) at the conclusion of
the case but preserved Eric's legal contentions by asking the court to
consider all of the evidence presented in determining whether the state
had proved its case and also by filing a motion to vacate judgment and
sentence that cited the federal constitutional authorities and prece-
dents (RT 8/27/03 at 4-6; ROA-Doc 406 at 5-10.)

11

of the trial judge to consider his evidence of mental illness
in deciding whether the prosecution had proved the mens
rea elements of first-degree murder (Id. at 7-10). He raised
the same federal contentions on appeal, and the Arizona
Court of Appeals rejected them on the merits. (JA 347-50,
351-53.)

¢

SUMMARY OF THE ARGUMENT

I.A. Putting broader issues aside, the manner in
which Arizona’s rules governing the consideration of a
criminal defendant’s evidence of mental illness were
applied at Eric Clark’s trial to deny him any semblance of
a fair proceeding. The prosecution was permitted to prove
mental elements of the offense by urging that they could
be inferred from Eric’s behavior, while Eric was not per-
mitted to contest those factual inferences by urging that
his mental illness provided alternative explanations for
the same behavior. This was a violation of his Due Process
right to dispute the prosecution’s case in an adversarial
trial of the facts.

I.B. Even if the prosecution had not proved inferen-
tially the mental elements of the crime charged. Eric could
not fairly be precluded from relying upon evidence of his
severe mental illness to cast doubt upon the prosecution's
proof of mens rea. If a State makes certain conduct crimi-
nal only when it is performed with a specific state of mind,
it cannot deny defendants the right to argue to a trier of
fact that their mental impairments prevented them from
actually, subjectively having the culpable state of mind.
Categorical exclusion of reliable mental-health evidence
pertinent to statutorily defined mens rea issues cannot

12

plausibly be justified as a redefinition of the crimes ren-
dering those issues irrelevant. It is instead an arbitrary
exclusionary rule of evidence that interferes with defen-
dants’ rights to present a complete defense, and offends
procedural Due Process.

1.C. If viewed alternatively as a substantive redefini-
tion of all the mens rea elements in a State’s criminal code,
this type of categorical exclusionary rule would be so
irrational as to violate substantive Due Process. A state
cannot consistent with Due Process define crimes as a
physical act committed by a normal person if (but only if)
s/he has a culpable state of mind and simultaneously
punish acts committed by a psychotic person lacking any
coherent state of mind. Such a criminal regulation that
punishes the mentally ill without the requisite mens rea is
abhorrent to traditional, fundamental Anglo-American
principles of ordered liberty.

Il. Historical and contemporary notions of the
necessary conditions for just criminal punishment also
restrict a State’s power to abrogate the core features of the
immemorial insanity defense recognized in the Anglo-
American tradition and reflective of the principle that our
culture does not impose serious criminal liability in the
absence of some degree of fault. To punish people who are
too sick to know what they are doing represents an unac-
ceptable break with that tradition. Arizona’s abolishment
of a significant aspect of the deeply rooted M’Naghten test
violates Due Process.

Ill. Arizona has both cut the core out of the histori-
cal Anglo-American insanity defense and simultaneously
denied defendants the ability to counter the prosecution's
proof of mens rea with evidence of mental illness. This

13

combination of exclusionary rules goes beyond all reason-
able Due Process bounds.

+

ARGUMENT

I. ERIC WAS DENIED DUE PROCESS WHEN THE
TRIAL COURT REFUSED TO CONSIDER EVI-
DENCE OF HIS SEVERE MENTAL ILLNESS IN
DETERMINING FACTUALLY WHETHER THE
PROSECUTION PROVED THE MENTAL ELE-
MENTS OF THE CRIME CHARGED

A. Foreclosing Eric from Refuting the Infer-
ences on Which the Prosecution Relied to
Prove the Mental States at Issue Violated
His Due Process Right to Contest Guilt at a
Fair Trial of the Facts.

The following two subsections of this brief explain
why Arizona's prohibition of “diminished capacity” evi-
dence by criminal defendants violates both procedural and
substantive Due Process. However, the Court need not
reach those issues to decide the present case. Here, the
prosecution was permitted to argue to the trier of fact that
mental states which were necessary elements of the crime
charged against Eric Clark could be inferred factually
from FEric’s behavior; and then Arizona law was applied to
preclude Eric from contending that those factual inferences
should not be drawn because the behavior was explain-
able, instead, as a manifestation of his chronic paranoid
schizophrenia. Such an extension of the-Arizona ban
plainly denied Eric “the mght to present a defense, {-] the
right to present the defendant's version of the facts as well as
the prosecution’s to the . . . [trier] so it may decide where the
truth lies ... [— which] is a fundamental element of due

14

process of law.’” Webb v. Texas, 409 U.S. 95, 98 (1972),
quoting Washington v. Texas, 388 U.S. 14, 19 (1967); see,
e.g., In re Oliver, 333 U.S. 257, 273 (1948); Cole v. Arkan-
sas, 333 U.S. 196, 201 (1948); Goss v. Lopez, 419 U.S. 565,
579 (1975), quoting Mullane v. Central Hanover Bank &
Trust Co., 339 U.S. 306, 314 (1950); Baldwin v. Hale, 1
Wall. (68 U.S.) 223, 233 (1863).

The first-degree murder charge against Eric was
“based exclusively on ARS § 13-1105(A)(3), which defines
the crime as the act of causing the death of a law enforce-
ment officer in the line of duty, “[iJntending or knowing
that ... [one’s] conduct will cause death to a law enforce-
ment officer.” The prosecution undertook to prove that Eric
knew that Officer Moritz was a police officer through
several lines of factual inference. One stressed by the
prosecutor in his opening and closing arguments was an
“ambush” theory — that by driving 22 times around a block
in a residential neighborhood before dawn with the truck
radio blari.ig, Eric was “luring” police to the scene so that
he could kill an officer who responded to the inevitable
-ealls of disturbed residents.” A second line of inference,

** Opening Statement by Prosecuting At‘orney Powell:

“At approximately 4:30 a.m. police dispatch began receiving
9-1-1 calls from the University He ghts area. The calls were
complaining of a vehicle which was continuously driving
around University Heights area with extremely loud music
playing. Some people complained that it had been going on
for approximately an hour. Some people complained that it
had been doing laps. One person who will testify even testi-
fied that he counted the vehicle going around in a lap 22
times.” (RT 8/5/03 at 15.)

“ .. [H]e lured Officer Moritz to him, by driving around in
circles for a minimum of 22 times, and got out of his car, and
the ambush was on and Jeff Moritz was killed.” (Id.)

(Continued on following page)

15

asserted by the prosecutor to both strengthen and com-
plement the first line, was that Eric had made statements
on occasions prior to the crime indicating that he was
angry with police officers and wanted to kill one.” Both of
these lines of factual inference were cited by the trial
judge in support of his finding that Eric was guilty of the
crime charged.” Both inferences were cited by the Arizona

Closing Statement by Prosecuting Attorney Powell:

“We know all of the facts of him driving around from sometime
\sic] probably before 4:00 a.m. ... until at least 4:50 when Offi-
cer Moritz is killed. We know he’s blasting the music. He does
the route in that one area of University Heights 22 times....
Officer Montz comes up.... We know he exited the vehicle. . . .
We know he's ambushed.” (RT 8/27/03 at 50/JA 314-15.)

* Opening Statement by Prosecuting Attorney Powell:

“And I'd like to leave the Court with one final thought. One -
approximately one week before this incident, this murder, the
defendant walked up to some individuals at a place called
Thorpe Park.... The defendant walked up and made some
unusual comments to them. You'll hear from two of these indi-
viduals this week. His comment was, | think it would be -
something to the affect [sic] of, ] think it would be cool if I went
up on the hill and fired my .22 handgun - and please remem-
ber, Officer Moritz was killed with a .22 handgun - fired it into
the air until the police came and | would taunt them until they
came for me and then as they came for me, I would shoot them
in the head with a .22 rifle. That’s what he said one week be-
fore he lured Officer Moritz to him... .” (RT 8/5/03 at 15.)
Closing Statement by Prosecuting Attorney Powell:
“limmediately following the passage quoted in the preceding
footnote, about Eric’s doing the route “22 times” while
“blasting the music”) And it makes me think back to Thorpe
Park, Judge, just what he said he was going to do, he was
going to taunt the police officer and he was going to kill him
with his .22.” (RT 8/27/03 at 50/JA 314-15.)
~ “The Court considered the following evidence:

“e Defendant's statements at Thorpe Park to Jason
Tackett and Mark Fields;

(Continued on following page)

16

Court of Appeals in its decision upholding the sufficiency
of the evidence to support the conviction.”

In the case of a mentally unimpaired person, the
inferences urged by the prosecution and drawn by the
courts below would be very strong, perhaps compelling.
But Eric presented mental-illness evidence that might
well have rendered those inferences unpersuasive — and
certainly unpersuasive beyond a reasonable doubt — if the
trial judge had not viewed himself as bound by Mott to
decline to consider the evidence for this purpose.

° Defendant's actions in driving through a residential
area early in the morning with loud music to attract
law enforcement. ...

eeeceo e808 68686 @

From all of this the Court must conclude that, while the Defendant was
affected by his mental illness, it did not, pursuant to the requirements
of the statute, distort his perception of reality so severely that he did
not know his actions were wrong. Accordingly, the Court finds the
Defendant guilty of the First Degree Murder of Officer Jeff Mortiz [sic].”

(Special Verdict at 4-5/JA 333-34.)

“ “Clark maintains that there was insufficient evidence to support
his conviction for first degree murder of a police officer. He rests this
argument on his claim that the state presented only circumstantial
evidence to show that he (1) intentionally or knowingly caused a death
and/or (2) that he intended or knew that he was killing a police
officer... .

“The evidence at trial established that Clark was angry with police
officers and fantasized about ways to retaliate or ‘show them,’ suggest-
ing a motive for his actions. It also showed that, in driving the pickup
truck with its radio blaring, Clark had engaged in behavior that would
attract law enforcement to the neighborhood. Clark was playing a ‘rap
CD’ at the time that contained ‘many antisocial attitudes’ and included
lyrics expressing violent attitudes toward police officers. .. .

“... All of this is sufficient evidence to support the inference that
Clark intentionally or knowingly shot Moritz.” (JA 341-44.)

17

The defense psychiatric expert testified that Eric was
suffering from paranoid schizophrenia at the time of the
crime (RT 8/22/03 at 36-38/JA 29-32); that paranoid
schizophrenics experience auditory hallucinations; and
that they are known to turn up the volume on radios and
TV’s in “an attempt to drown out the voices that they are
experiencing” (id. at 39/JA 32.) The prosecution expert
also “diagnosed ... [Eric] to have schizophrenia, paranoid
type.” (RT 8/26/03 ai 38/JA 136; see also, e.g., Id. at 35, 89-
91, 94, 133, 163-64, 172-74/JA 132-33, 179-82, 184, 219-20,
246-47, 254-57.) He stressed on redirect that no one knows
“what was going through the defendant’s head at the time
of the murder” (Id. at 175/JA 257); and gave the following
testimony on cross:

“Q@. We know that he was delusional as he drove
around and listened to this loud, pounding
music?

A. His delusions were present then, yes.

1p

Yeah. Do you think that was for the purpose

of drowning out voices in his head?

A. That’s one theory. Well, actually, that was
the theory that was — I think his mother ex-
pressed about why he kept the television so
loud.

@. And your experience with schizophrenics
are, they often turn up TV’s loud, radios
loud to drown out the voices?

18

A. I have encountered that.” (Id. at 170/JA
253.)"

Accordingly, defense counsel argued in closing that “Dr. .
Morenz, Dr. Moran testified, many schizophrenics use
volume to turn [sic] out the voices.... Judge, its pretty
apparent Eric was doing just that, especially when you
look at this overall.” (RT 8/27/03 at 23/J.A. 295.) But under
the trial judge’s view of Mott, he could not consider this
evidence and argument as a basis for rejecting the prose-
cution’s contention that the intent to ambush Officer
Moritz could be inferred from Eric’s blaring CD player.

The defense expert also addressed the plausibility of
inferring that Eric had the requisite mens rea for convic-
tion via the prosecution's proposed “ambush” motive based

* On redirect examination by the prosecutor, the prosecution
expert gave this testimony:
“Q. ... I think at one point you had said you didn’t think
the circling behavior in the neighborhood of Univer-
sity Heights was prefatory conduct. Do you agree with
that today?

A. Yes. ] think that 1 wouldn’t agree with that. I think that
the theory that has the most support in my mind is that
he enticed the cop and so he was provoking a police ac-
tion. As I have said before, the alternative theory is that
he was in a paranoid state and so forth. We dont know
which of these two ts true, but my position is, it’s more
likely and more probable that he intended to shoot the
cop.” (Id. at 191/JA 272) (emphasis added).

Of course, had this testimony been considered by the trial judge on the
issue of Eric’s intent, it would have had to be evaluated under a burden-
of-proof rule requiring the prosecution to eliminate any reasonable
doubt regarding this choice of “theory,” not under the burden-of-proof
rule applicable to the issue of insanity under Arizona law — the only
issue for which the trial judge considered the mental-illness evidence —
a rule requiring that the defendant prove insanity by clear and
convincing evidence.

19

on evidence of Eric’s prior statements about taunting and
shooting a police officer.

“Q. ... Do you think based on, again, your train-
ing and experience as a psychiatrist, that
Eric was in any way trying to — preparing or
trying to create an ambush to kill this police
officer?

A. I can’t imagine that.

Why not?

» ©

Eric’s behaviors were just — there wasn't
much purpose or, you know, didn’t seem
there was much rhyme or reason to his be-
haviors. You know, he was continually a
surprise to his parents. They didn’t know
what he was going to do next, which is what
they were so concerned about and why they
wanted him in the hospital, you know, he
wasn't functioning in school, you know, he
really wasn’t functioning at all.

To hypothesize that he was sort of plan-
ning, you know, kind of a scheme to lure po-
lice I think is a bit of a stretch. I have
trouble imagining that... .” (RT 8/22/03 at
46-47/JA 37-39.)

“Q. ... Based on your experience and your re-
view of the evidence, was Eric even at that
time [referring to the time of Eric's weeks-
old statements which the prosecution urged
and the trial judge found supported an “am-
bush” theory] capable in your mind of plan-
ning several weeks in advance what was
going to happen?

4. Oh, no.” (1d. at 112/JA 95.)

20

But again the trial judge’s view of Mott, while allowing
him to infer an “ambush” motive (and therefore intent and
knowledge) from Eric’s prior statements, precluded him
from considering whether Eric’s mental illness cast a
reasonable doubt upon that inference.

A trial of factual issues crucial to the determination of
guilt or innocence under a State’s criminal law cannot be
conducted in such a fashion without violating the first
principles of due process. This Court has held time and
again that when the prosecution at a criminal] trial asks
the trier to infer facts on which its case depends, the
defendant cannot constitutionally be foreclosed from
responding with evidence and argument that factually
throws the inference into doubt. Kelly v. South Carolina,
534 U.S. 246, 248, 252 (2002); Shafer v. South Carolina,
532 U.S. 36 (2001); Rock v. Arkansas, 483 U.S. 44, 51-55
(1987); Crane v. Kentucky, 476 U.S. 683, 689-91 (1986);
Skipper v. South Carolina, 476 U.S. 1, 5 n. 1 (1986); and
see, e.g., Ake v. Oklahoma, 470 U.S. 68, 76, 80, 83-84
(1985); Gardner v. Florida, 430 U.S. 349, 362 (1977)
(plurality opinion); Wardius v. Oregon, 412 U.S. 470, 474-
76 (1973); Specht yv. Patterson, 386 U.S. 605, 610 (1967).

The several prevailing opinions in Simmons v. South
Carolina, 512 U.S. 154 (1994), sufficiently exemplify the
principle — although in the context of a capital sentencing
trial rather than a guilt trial. There, Justice Blackmun’s
lead opinion found it elementary that:

“if the State rests its case for imposing the death
penalty at least in part on the premise that the
defendant will be dangerous in the future, the fact
that the alternative sentence to death is life with-
out parole will necessarily undercut the State's ar-
gument regarding the threat the defendant poses

21

to society. Because truthful information of parole
ineligibility allows the defendant to ‘deny or ex-
plain’ the showing of future dangerousness, due
process plainly requires that he be allowed to
bring it to the jury’s attention by way of argu-
ment by defense counsel or an instruction from
the court.” (/d. at 168-169.)

Justice Ginsburg explained that when the prosecution makes
a factual argument central to its case, “the defendant’s right
to be heard means that he must be afforded an opportunity
to rebut the argument.” (/d. at 174.) And Justice O’Connor,
concurring for herself and Justice Kennedy and Chief Justice
Rehnquist, added that “one of the hallmarks of due process
in our adversary system is the defendant’s ability to meet the
State's case against him.” (/d. at 175.)

Any of these axiomatic statements of Due Process law
provides a sufficient basis for deciding Eric Clark’s case on
the present record. To do other than reverse his conviction
would set them all at naught.

B. The Mott Rule Prohibiting Consideration of
Evidence of Mental Illness on the Issue of
Mens Rea _ Unconstitutionally Excludes
Probative Exculpatory Evidence. Foreclos-
ing Eric from Demonstrating Factually that
He Did Not - Because He Could Not - Pos-
sess the Mental States Which Were Ele-
ments of the Crime Charged Denied Him
the Right to Present a Defense Basic to
Procedural Due Process.

Even had the prosecution not affirmatively sought
and obtained Eric’s conviction on the basis of factual infer-
ences regarding his state of mind, that he was denied the
opportunity to refute, the trial court’s refusal to consider his

22

mental-illness evidence as bearing on the statutorily defined
mental elements of the crime for which he was on trial
violated procedural Due Process. The trial court’s refusal to
consider Eric's mental-illness evidence as bearing on the
statutorily defined mental elements of the crime for which he
was on trial violated procedural Due Process because
“{w|hether rooted directly in the Due Process Clause of the
Fourteenth Amendment, Chambers v. Mississippi, ... [420
U.S. 284 (1973)], or in the Compulsory Process or Confronta-
tion clauses of the Sixth Amendment, Washington v. Texas,
388 U.S. 14, 23, ... (1967); Davis v. Alaska, 415 U.S. 308
(1974), the Constitution guarantees criminal defendants ‘a
meaningful opportunity to present a complete defense.”
Crane v. Kentucky, 476 U.S. 683, 690 (1986), quoting Trom-
betta v. California, 467 U.S. 479, 485 (1984). This night
includes the opportunity to contest the existence of any fact
that must be found by the trier in order to convict. See, e.g.,
Rock v. Arkansas, 483 U.S. 44 (1987); Olden v. Kentucky, 488
U.S. 227 (1988).

Here, the trial court held that under the Mott rule it
was obliged to find as a fact that Eric knew he was shoot-
ing a police officer to death — a necessary factual element
of the only form of first degree murder charged against
Eric — while simultaneously refusing to consider Eric's
evidence that an acute episode of his chronic paranoid
schizophrenic illness prevented him from actually having
that knowledge. In this situation, the “question of charac-
terization” that Justice Ginsburg described as dividing the
Court in Montana v. Egelhoff, 518 U.S. 37, 56-57 (1996),
vanishes. The Mott rule can only be characterized as “a
rule designed to keep out ‘relevant exculpatory evidence’”™”

“ Petitioner concedes that the right to present exculpatory
evidence is not absolute. Montana v. Egelhoff, 518 U.S. 37, 53 (1996).
(Continued on foilowing page)

23

(id. at 57 [Justice Ginsburg quoting Justice O’Connor’s
dissenting opinion for four Justices id. at 67]) and there-
fore one that “offends due process.” (id. at 57)

The Mott Rule cannot be saved on the theory that it
constitutes “a redefinition of the mental-state element of
the offense’ (‘d.). A majority of this Court could plausibly
conclude that the Montana legislature in Egelhoff had
essentially enacted alternative substantive criminal
provisions punishing anyone who either (1) purposely or
knowingly kills another person when sober or (2) voluntar-
ily gets so drunk that s/he is capable of killing another
person without knowing it. (See, 518 U.S. at 57-58.)
However, no one could plausibly attribute to the Arizona
legislature an intention to create alternative substantive
offenses punishing equally (1) a mentally sound individual
who kills an on-duty police officer if (but only if) s/he does
so intentionally or knowingly, and (2) a mentally ill person
who is involuntarily bereft of the cognitive ability to
understand that the death of an on-duty police officer will
be the consequence of his or her actions.” Plainly, the Mott
ban on mental-illness evidence is not based on such a

However, exclusion of exculpatory evidence is unconstitutional where it
has “infringed on the weighty interest of the accused.” United States v.
Scheffer, 523 U.S. 303, 308 (1998). “In the absence of any valid state
justification, exclusion of this kind of exculpatory evidence deprives a
defendant of the basic right to have the prosecutor's case encounter and
survive the crucible of meaningful adversarial testing.” Crane v.
Kentucky, 476 U.S. 683, 690-91 (1986). As discussed herein (see Note
t8,-supra_and Note 29 infra with accompanying text) Arizona has
advanced no valid reason for precluding consideration of this type of
probative exculpatory evidence.

* We will demonstrate in the following subsection that a substan-
tive criminal statute treating these two situations as involving equiva-
lent culpability would be sv irrational and historically aberrant as to
violate substantive due process.

24

bizarre substantive equation.” If it reflects anything other
than the Mott majority’s mechanistic application of the
expressio-unius/exclusio-alterius maxim to Arizona's
criminal code,” it must be grounded on the notion that
mental-illness evidence, as a class, is too beguiling or too
controversial to permit it to be used in the way that any
other sort of evidence of ignorance or mistake could be

* As Justice Souter wrote for four members of the Court in Schad
v. Arizona, 501 U.S. 624, 643 (1991), “lil/f ... two mental states are
supposed to be equivalent means to satisfy the mens rea element of a
single offense, they must reasonably reflect notions of equivalent
blameworthiness or culpability. . . .”

* The Mott court's explicit rationale for holding that “expert
testimony regarding a defendant’s mental capacity is [not] admissible to
challenge the requisite mental state of a challenged crime” (187 Ariz. at
544, 931 P.2d at 1054) was (1) that “Arizona’s criminal code was based
on the Model Penal Code” (187 Ariz. at 540, 931 P.2d at 1050) but did
not include § 4.02(1) the provision that “allowed the admission of
‘{elvidence that the defendant suffered from a mental disease or defect
... whenever it [wa]s relevant to prove that the defendant did or did not
have a state of mind that is an element of the offense” (rd.); (2) that “(t]he
legislature’s decision not to adopt this section of the Model Penal Code
evidences its rejection of the use of psychological testimony to challenge
the mens rea element of a crime” (id.); and (3) that “[bjecause the
legislature has not provided for a diminished capacity defense, we have
since consistently refuse to allow psychiatric evidence to negate specific
intent” (187 Ariz. at 541, 931 P.2d at 1051). See also, State v. Schantz, 98
Ariz. 200, 210-13, 403 P.2d 521 (1965) where the Arizona supreme court
indicated that admitting evidence of mental illness to establish a
defendant “did not have a state of mind which is an element of the
offense” would force the jury into “releasing upon society many dangerous
criminals who obviously should be placed under confinement.” Under
Arizona law, however, a defendant found GEI is committed to a secured
mental health facility for the presumptive term (25 years in this case).
See, ARS § 13-502(D); State v. Ovind, 186 Ariz. 475, 924 P.2d 479 (App.
1996). Moreover, consideration of such evidence might equally lead to a
verdict of guilty of a less serious form of homicide with its attendant
mandatory prison term. See, ARS §§ 13-1102 to 1104. Although the
Anzona supreme court agreed that Model~Penal Code § 4.02(1) was
“desirable” it refused to adopt it “piecemeal.” 98 Ariz. at 213.

25

used, to “negate|] the culpable mental state required for
commission of ... [an] offense.”’ That supposed justifica-
tion for the rule brings it squarely into conflict with this
Court’s procedural Due Process holdings in Chambers and
Rock.

Fisher v. United States, 328 U.S. 463 (1946), does not
suggest otherwise. The sole issue considered by the Fisher
majority was whether Fisher's trial judge was obliged to
charge the jury affirmatively on Fisher’s theory of the
case, which was that his mental impairments negated the
premeditation requisite for a first-degree murder convic-
tion. The majority held that such affirmative instructions
could be refused without offending the Constitution or
exceeding the discretion allowed to the courts of the
District of Columbia because Fisher’s jury was instructed
on premeditation in terms that permitted it to consider his
evidence of intellectual and emotional deficiencies as ~
bearing on that issue.” It was not forbidden to take those
deficiencies into account in determining whether the
prosecution had proved premeditation beyond a reason-
able doubt. As the Fisher majority viewed the record,
Julius Fisher in 1944 got exactly the consideration of his
mental-illness evidence which Eric Clark is seeking in the

* See ARS § 13-204(A): “Ignorance or a mistaken belief as to a
matter of fact does not relieve a person of criminal liability unless: [} 1.
It negates the culpable mental state required for commission of the
offense... .”

" The jury in Fisher was instructed:

“It is further contended that even if sane and responsible,
there was no deliberate intent to kill, nor in fact any actual
intent to kill. Therefore if not guilty by reasons of :nsanity.
the defendant at most is guilty only of second degree mur-
der or manslaughter, accord as you may find he acted with
or without malice.” 328 U.S. at 467, n. 3

26

present case and which was denied below by the judge's
application of the Mott exclusionary rule.

C. If Arizona’s Evidentiary Prohibition is Con-
sidered Substantive, Foreclosing Eric From
Proving that Mental Illness Made Him In-
capable of Forming the Subjective Mens
Rea Elements of First-Degree Murder De-
nied Him Substantive Due Process.

Straining to characterize the trial judge’s application
of Mott in Eric’s case as a substantive “redefinition of the
mental-state element of the offense” would change the
constitutional analysis but would not produce a different
result. The Court justifiably gives great deference to state
legislative judgment in defining crimes and their elements
when challenged as violations of substantive Due Process.
E.g., Patterson v. New York, 432 U.S. 197, 201-02 (1977);
Powell v. Texas, 392 U.S. 514 (1968). But as it has recently
observed in another context, deference does not by defini-
tion preclude relief.”

The Due Process Clause imposes vital although
tolerant limits upon a State’s power to inflict severe
criminal sanctions in disregard of the fundamental Anglo-
American principle that crime is “generally constituted
only from concurrence of an evil-meaning mind with an
evil-doing hand.” Morissette v. United States, 342 U.S. 246,
251 (1952). When that principle is so blatantly affronted
as to offend “some principle of justice so rooted in the
traditions and conscience of our people as to be ranked as

" Miller-El v. Dretke, 125 S. Ct. 2317, 2325 (2005), quoting Miller
El v. Cockrell, 537 U.S. 322, 340 (2003).

27

fundamental” (Snyder v. Massachusetts, 297 U.S. 91, 105
(1934)), the limits have been exceeded. E.g., Lambert v.
California, 355 U.S. 255 (1957); Robinson v. California,
370 U.S. 661 (1962).

It goes beyond these limits to make Moft into a rule
punishing with equal and extreme severity two individuals
— one, but only if when killing a police officer s/he knew
the officer’s identity and intended the officer’s death; the
other, because, in killing a police officer, s/he was suffering
a mental deran;tement which occluded that knowledge and
excluded that intent. It is one thing for a State to equate
voluntary intoxication with the usual mens rea elements of
a crime when an intoxicated person commits the actus as
in Montana v. Egelhoff. That is consistent with a view
deeply rooted in Anglo-American history that a person who
kills or harms another through ignorance brought on
“when he was drunk ... [and] had no understanding and
memory” shall “not be privileged thereby” because the
“ignorance was occasioned by his own act and folly, and he
might have avoided it.” But no such fault is involved in
Eric Clark’s affliction with chronic paranoid schizophrenia,
nor “might [he] have avoided” the ignorance of Officer
Moritz’s identity that resulted from his involuntary
medical condition.

It does not comport with the historical traditions that
defined the fundamental principles of justice known to the

* Reniger v. Feogossa, 1 Plow. 1, 19, 75 Eng. Rep. 1, 31 (Exch. Ch. -
1551); and see, e.g., 1 SIR MATTHEW HALE, PLEAS OF THE CROWN 32
(1800 ed.); 2 SIR JAMES FITZJAMES STEPHEN, A HISTORY OF THE CRIMINAL
LAW OF ENGLAND 165 (1883 ed.) (“The reason why ordinary drunken-
ness is no excuse for crime is that the offender did wrong in getting
drunk... .”).

28

Framers of the Due Process Clause to equate insanity with
the culpable mental states demanded of a sane person
charged with first-degree murder. To the contrary, evi-
dence of insanity had long been received to negate the
mens rea elements of crimes. “Until the nineteenth cen-
tury, criminal law doctrines of mens rea handled the entire
problem of the insanity defense. Evidence of mental] illness
was admitted on the question of intent, and, as the infant
discipline of psychiatry claimed an increased understand-
ing of mental processes, such evidence grew in impor-
tance.” Norval Morris, The Criminal Responsibility of the
Mentally Ill, 33 Syracuse L. Rev. 477, 500 (1982)." The
notion arose early in English criminal jurisprudence that
culpability depended upon intention conjoined with ac-
tion’; and this principle was linked from the outset with
the recognition that insane persons should not be crimi-
nally punished because they lacked culpable intent.
Bracton’s thirteenth-century treatise On the Laws and
Customs of England reflects the basis for this principle:

“

... [Flor a crime is not committed unless the
will to harm be present. Misdeeds are distin-
guished by both will and by intention [and theft

* See aiso id. at 501: “The pre-nineteenth century position was
correct and clear: the psychiatrist could contribute useful evidentiary
insights to the issues correctly defined by the common law of crime;
that is, did the accused intend the prohibited harm?”

“ The mens rea concept dates at least as far back as Plato's
attempts to construct an ideal criminal code. Plato rejected the then
prevailing view that differentiated crimes based upon whether they
were voluntary or involuntary and proposed a gradation of crimes based
upon levels of intent. Plato set forth a criminal code much like that of
modern jurisprudence that permitted defenses based upon insanity and
other forms of incapacity because they negated intent. A.E. Taylor,
INTRODUCTION, IN THE LAWS OF PLATO XLIX-1, 253-73 (trans. 1934).

29

is not committed without the thought of thiev-
ing]. And then there is what can be said about
the child and the madman, for the one is pro-
tected by his innocence of design, the other by
the misfortune of his deed. In misdeeds we look
to the will and not the outcome... ”

(Translated and quoted in 1 NIGEL WALKER, CRIME AND
INSANITY IN ENGLAND |THE HISTORICAL PERSPECTIVE] 26
(1968).

Coke gave the concept classic expression in his dictum
that “in criminal causes, as felonies, etc., the act and
wrong of a madman shall not be imputed to him, for that
in those causes, actus non facit reum, nisi mens sit rea.” 2
Coke on Littleton, 247b, quoted in Sheldon Glueck, MEN-
TAL DISORDER AND THE CRIMINAL LAW: A STUDY IN MEDICO-
SOCIOLOGICAL JURISPRUDENCE 130 (1927). Although later
commentators were to become preoccupied with develop-
ing and refining “arbitrary tests of irresponsibility, which
are only concerned with one element or one example of the
required total guilty intent” (id. at 131) — an enterprise
that led to the distinct legal doctrine of insanity and thence
to the M’Naghten formulation of that doctrine” — Coke

* The bracketed phrase may be a later interpolation into Bracton’s
text. Walker makes the observation that Bracton, unlike his Roman-law
sources, does not seem to be justifying leniency for the insane on the
ground that madness is punishment enough, but rather is expounding
the principle that “intention is all-important when it is a quest.on of
crime” (rd. at 26) and “it is clear that for Bracton madmen as well az
children were examples of offenders who lacked the intention necessary
for guilt” (id. at 27).

*” See 1 WALKER, supra, at 52-103. After the insanity doctrine took
shape as a distinct defense with its own defining rules, defense lawyers
appear to have less frequently proffered mental-health evidence as the
basis for a reasonable doubt that their clients had enterta:ned the mens

(Continued on following page)

30

himself reasoned from the basic premises of “the require-
ment of a ‘guilty intent’ as the basis of every crime and the
fact that disease or defect of mind negatives such intent.”
(id.) He “recognized the necessity of a guilty mind as the
basis of every crime, and agreed with Bracton that an
insane person can have no criminal intent.” (id.).” This
aspect of Coke’s thinking “greatly influenced the law of his
own day and later days.””

Justice Jackson described the transmission of this
tradition from seventeenth and eighteenth century English

rea elements of specific offenses. Two knowledgeable authorities on the

- subject have surmised that “(tJhe most probable reason would seem to
be that they have been distracted by the ‘tests’ of insanity, which
purport to be comprehensive and to cover the subject.” Henry Weihofen
& Winfred Overholser, Mental Disorder Affecting the Degree of a Crime,
56 YALE L. J. 959, 964 (1947). In the late nineteenth century and the
twentieth, increasing recourse to such evidence by defense attorneys
produced a mixed reaction from the courts, some of which now reasoned
that legislative codification of the special plea of “not guilty by reason of
insanity” had preempted the field. See id. at 965-68; Edwin R. Keedy, A
Problem of First Degree Murder: Fisher v. United States, 99 U. PA. L.
REV. 267, 272-77 (1950); Travis D. Lewin, Psychiatric Evidence in
Criminal Cases for Purposes Other Than the Defense of Insanity, 26
SYRACUSE L. REV. 1051 (19785).

* See also John Biggs, Jr., THE GUILTY MIND: PSYCHIATRY AND THE
LAW OF HOMICIDE 82-87 (1955); Henry Weihofen, MENTAL DISORDER AS
A CRIMINAL DEFENSE 53-54 (1954); Homer D. Crotty, The History of
Insanity as a Defence to Crime in English Criminal Law, 12 CALIF. L.
Rev. 105, 110 (1923); Edwin R. Keedy, Jnsanity and Criminal Responsi-
bility, 30 Harv. L. Rev. 535, 538-40 (1917).

* Biggs, supra note 38, at 86. As the Court has noted, Coke was
“widely recognized by the American colonists ‘as the greatest authority
of his time on the laws of England.’” Payton v. New York, 445 U.S. 573,
594 & n. 36 (1980), quoting A.E. Dick Howard, THE ROAD FROM
RUNNYMEDE: MAGNA CARTA AND CONSTITUTIONALISM IN AMERICA 118-19
(1968).

31

jurisprudence to the colonies and then the States in
Morissette v. United States, 342 U.S. 246, 252 (1952):

“As the state codified the common law of crimes,
even if their enactments were silent on the sub-
ject, their courts assumed that ... intent was so
inherent in the idea of the offense that it re-
quired no statutory affirmation. Courts, with lit-
tle hesitation or division, found an implication of
the requirement as to offenses that were taken
over from the common law. The unanimity with
which they have adhered to the central thought
that wrongdoing must be conscious to be criminal
is emphasized by the variety, disparity and con-
fusion of their definitions of the requisite but
elusive mental element. However, courts of vari-
ous jurisdictions, and for the purposes of differ-
ent offenses, have devised working formulae, if
not scientific ones, for the instruction of juries
around such terms as ‘felonious intent,’ ‘criminal
intent,’ ‘malice aforethought,’ ‘guilty knowledge,’
‘fraudulent intent,’ ‘wilfulness,’ ‘scienter,’ to de-
note guilty knowledge, or ‘mens rea,’ to signify an
evil purpose or mental culpability. By use or
combination of these various tokens, they have |
sought to protect those who were not blamewor-
thy in mind from conviction of infamous common-
law crimes.”

Arizona acted in this tradition when, in making some
killings of police officers first-degree murders, it insisted
that those murders be distinguished from murders of the
second degree by a finding that the killer actually knew
s/he was taking a police officer's life and intended that
result. But the Arizona courts in Eric’s case broke radically
with the tradition when they held that he could be pun-
ished as though he had this knowledge and intent although

32

he may not in fact have had either. It amounts to punish-
ing a paranoid schizophrenic for his actions committed
under circumstances where a mentally unimpaired person
would not be punished with the same severity. Such a
redefinition of the mental-state element of first degree
murder in the case of mentally ill individuals arbitrarily
“lays an unequal hand on those who have committed
intrinsically the same quality of offense” and outrages
even “that large deference” which the Fourteenth Amend-
ment owes to state substantive criminal-law experimenta-
tion. Skinner v. Oklahoma ex rel. Williamson, 316 U.S.
535, 541 (1942).

II. ARIZONA’S LAW OF CRIMINAL RESPONSI-
BILITY DEPARTS DRASTICALLY FROM THE
DEEPLY ROOTED, FUNDAMENTALLY IMPOR-
TANT, AND STILL PREVALENT STANDARD,
REFLECTED BY M’NAGHTEN AND VIOLATES
DUE PROCESS

Prior to 1993, Arizona’s substantive test of exemption
from criminal liability was whether “at the time of the
criminal act, ... [the accused] had ‘1) [s]uch a defect of
reason as not to know the nature and quality of the act, or
(2) [i]f he did know [the nature and quality of the act}, that
he did not know he was doing what was wrong.” State v.
Tamplin, 195 Ariz. 246, 248, 986 P.2d 914, 916 (Ariz. Ct.
App. 1999.) This two-part definition of insanity is deeply
rooted in Anglo-American law. It is generally associated
with the pronouncement of the English House of Lords in
M’Naghten’s Case, 10 Clark & Fin. 200, 210, 8 Eng. Rep.
718, 722 (1843), though its origins long predate M’Naghten.

In 1993, the Arizona Legislature cut back this M’Naghten
Rule by half. It enacted the current ARS § 13-502(A), under

33

which a person may be found “guilty except insane” only
“if at the time of the commission of the criminal act the
person was afflicted with a mental disease or defect of
such severity that the person did not know the criminal
act was wrong.” As the Arizona Court of Appeals has
recognized, “|t)]he new statute essentially abandoned the
first prong of the M’Naghten test.” Tamplin, 195 Ariz. at
248, 986 P.2d at 916. That is, in Arizona a defendant who
establishes that the mental disease or defect from which
s/he suffers is so severe that it prevented her/him from
knowing the nature and quality of his or her actions is
now ineligible for the insanity defense.

A. The Arizona Statute Is Contrary to the
Most Deeply Rooted Historical Standard

for Insanity.

It is axiomatic that the Due Process Clause of the
Fourteenth Amendment prohibits States from altering
their criminal laws in ways that “offend . . . |a! principle of
justice so rooted in the traditions and conscience of our
people as to be ranked as fundamental.” Patterson v. New
York, 432 U.S. 197, 201-02 (1977), quoting Speiser v.
Randal!, 357 U.S. 513, 523 (1958), and citing Leland v.
Oregon, 343 U.S. 790, 798 (1952); Snyder v. Massachusetts,
291 U.S. 97, 105 (1934). The “primary guide"in determin-
ing whether the principle in question is fundamental is, of
course, historical practice.” Montana v. Egelhojf, 518 U.S.
at 43; accord: Medina v. California, 505 U.S. 437, 446
(1992). The statutory change at issue here —- Arizona's
halving the M’Naghten standard for insanity — breaks
radically with historical practices that have “deep roots
in our common-law heritage” (id., quoted in Cooper v.
Oklahoma, 517 U.S. 348, 355 (1996)) and was virtually

34

unanimously followed at the time the Fifth and Four-
teenth Amendment Due Process Clauses were adopted.

The insanity defense “has its roots in ancient Judaic,
Christian and Roman Law.” Neely v. Newton, 149 F.3d
1074, 1079 (10th Cir. 1998). Scholars of the subject have
noted that recognition of the need to treat mentally ill
persons differently in the context of criminal punishment
is over 2,500 years old:

“As early as the sixth century B.C., commentary
on the Hebrew scriptures distinguished between
the harmful acts traceable to fault and those that
occur without fault. To those ancient scholars,
the paradigm of the latter type of act was one
committed by a child, who was seen as incapable
of weighing the moral implications of personal
behavior, even when willful; retarded and insane
persons were likened to children.”

AMERICAN BAR ASSOCIATION, CRIMINAL JUSTICE MENTAL
HEALTH STANDARDS 324 (1989). See also, Anthony Platt &
Bernard L. Diamond, The Origins and Development of the
“Wild Beast” Concept of Mental Iliness and Its Relation to
Theories of Criminal Responsibility, 1 J. Hist. BEHAV. SCI.
335, 366 (1965). Beyond that, the more specific conviction
that “the insane should not be punished for otherwise
criminal acts has been firmly entrenched in the law for at
least one thousand years.” Jonas Robitscher & Andrew Ky
Haynes, In Defense of the Insanity Defense, 31 EMory L.J.
9, 10 (1982). Without doubt, the exculpatory force of
insanity was “firmly established by the time the United
States Constitution was adopted, and ... has remained a
fundamental part of American criminal law since Revolu-
tionary days.” Rudolph Joseph Gerber, THE INSANITY
DEFENSE 83 (1984).

35

In England, the earliest articulations of insanity
embraced the failure to know or understand one’s actions.
In 1603, for example, Lord Coke approved a definition,
dating from Bracton in the thirteenth century that focused
on whether the person knew the nature of his or her
actions: “A madman is one who does not know what he is
doing, who lacks in mind and reason and is not far re-
moved from brutes.” Beverley’s Case, 76 Eng. Rep. 1118,
1121 (1603) (emphasis added). By the eighteenth century,
English authorities took it to be a first principle that:
“Itlhe Guilt of offending against any Law whatsoever,
necessarily supposing a willful disobedience, can never
justly be imputed to those, who are either uncapable of
understanding it, or of conforming themselves to it.” 1
SERGEANT WILLIAM HAWKINS, A TREATISE OF THE PLEAS OF
THE CROWN: OR, A SYSTEM OF THE PRINCIPAL MATTERS
RELATING TO THAT SUBJECT, DIGESTED UNDER THEIR PROPER
HEADS 1 (5th ed. 1771); see also, Rex v. Arnold, 16 How. St.
Tr. 695, 764 (1724) (the jury was instructed that in order
to find the defendant insane, it must conclude that he is
“totally depriveld] of his understanding and memory, and
doth not know what he is doing, no more than an infant,
than a brute, or a wild beast”) (emphasis added).

In short, from the very earliest periods, the prevailing
English conception of insanity has included precisely what
Arizona would now rule out: a failure to know the nature
of one’s actions. Although some features of the insanity
defense have changed over time, “the essence of the
defense, however formulated has been that a defendant
must have the mental capacity to know the nature of his act
and that it was wrong.” State v. Herrera, 895 P.3d 359, 372
(Utah 1995) (Stewart, J., dissenting) (emphasis added).
Knowledge of the nature of one’s actions continued to be a

36

core ingredient of the concept of insanity when that
already ancient concept found expression in its most
famous and influential English formulation: the 1843 rule
announced by the House of Lords in M’Naghten’s Case.
Under the M’Naghten Rule,

“to establish a defence on the ground of insanity,
it must be clearly proved that, at the time of
committing of the act, the party accused was la-
bouring under such a defect of reason, from dis-
ease of the mind, as not to know the nature and
quality of the act he was doing; or, if he did know
it, that he did not know he was doing what was
wrong.”

10 Clark & Fin. 200, 210, 8 Eng. Rep. 718, 722 (1843). As
courts in this country have long recognized, the M’Naghten
Rule “was in substance the test of legal insanity as it was
known to the common law of England.” State v. Schantz,
403 P.2d 521, 531-34 (Ariz. 1965); see United States v.
McBroom, 124 F.3d 533, 544 (3d Cir. 1997) (tracing the
M’Naghten Rule to “the modern dawn of common law
recognition of insanity as a defense to criminal charges”);
United States v. Garcia, 94 F.3d 57, 61 n. 3 (2d Cir. 1996)
(“The earliest formulation of the insanity defense had its
origins in M’Naghten’s case.”).””

The M’Naghten Rule crossed the Atlantic with the
common law of England. It rapidly became the basis for

“ Courts occasionally refer colloquially to the M’Naghten Rule as
the “nght-wrong test.” In context, however, it is clear that this short-
hand refers to the entire M’Naghten Rule as originally articulated, not
just the second part regarding knowledge of the wrongness of the act.
See Garcia, 94 F.3d at 61 n. 3 (quoting the M'Naghten Rule in its
entirety and then referring to it as “the right-wrong test”).

37

the test of insanity in every U.S. jurisdiction except New
Hampshire. See Weihofen, supra note 38, at 68-69. During
the succeeding decades some jurisdictions supplemented
M'Naghten with more lenient standards such as the
“irresistible impulse” test, but M’Naghten continued to
describe the essential minimum standard for the vast
majority of jurisdictions. Thus, by drastically narrowing
its definition of insanity to exclude defendants who did not
know the nature and quality of their actions at the time of
the offense charged, Arizona has departed from the ca-
nonical standard of insanity — a standard that was well
established and accepted at the time the Due Process
Clauses were conceived, written, and ratified.

B. The Vast Majority of States Continue to
Employ a Standard at Least as Broad as the
M’Naghten Rule.

Not only is the M’Naghten Rule deeply rooted in our
history and experience, it remains the most common
standard for insanity among the States today. Many other
States employ standards that are even more broadly
exculpatory than M’Naghten. Through one or the other of
these practices, the overwhelming majority of American
jurisdictions continue to accommodate the deeply rooted
conception of insanity reflected in the M’Naghten test.

Twenty States, as well as the federal government,
retain the M’Naghten Rule in its original form or with
slight modifications that preserve the key provision at
issue here.” An additional seventeen States plus the

“ See Ala. Code § 13A-3-1; Alaska Stat. § 12.47.010; Cal. Penal
Code § 25; Fla. Stat. Ann. § 775.027; lowa Code Ann. § 701.4; Minn.
(Continued on following page)

38

District of Columbia have adopted some version of the
standard proposed by the American Law Institute (“ALI”),
which is broader than and subsumes the M’Naghten
Rule.” The ALI standard provides that “[a] person is not
responsible for criminal conduct if at the time of such
conduct as a result of mental disease or defect he lacks
substantial capacity either to appreciate the criminality
[wrongfulness] of his conduct or to conform his conduct to
the requirements of the law.” Model Penal Code § 4.01
(P.O.D. 1962). Some ALI jurisdictions have not retained
the volitional component of the test (i.e., the language
regarding “conform|[ing] his conduct to the requirements of
the law”), but most have kept it. All ALI jurisdictions
retain the cognitive component referring to a person's lack
of “substantial capacity to appreciate the criminality of his
conduct.” That part of the ALI test alone expands on the
M’Naghten Rule (by requiring appreciation rather than
mere knowledge) while retaining a central concern not just
for whether the defendant could tell right from wrong, but

Stat. Ann. § 611.026; Roundtree v. State, 568 So.2d 1173 (Miss. 1990);
Mo. Ann. Stat. § 552.030; State v. Hurst, 594 N.W.2d 303 (Neb. Ct. App.
1999); Finger v. State, 27 P.3d 66 (Nev. 2001); N.J. Stat. Ann. § 2C:4-1;
State v. White, 270 P.2d 727 (N.M. 1954); N.Y. Penal Law § 40.15; State
v. Staten, 616 S.E.2d 650 (N.C. Ct. App. 2005); N.D. Cent. Code § 12.1-
04.1-01; Okla Stat. tit. 21, § 152(4); 18 Pa. Cons. Stat. § 315(b); Tenn.
Code Ann. § 39-11-501; Bennett v. Commonwealth, 511 S.E.2d 439 (Va.
Ct. App. 1999); Wash. Rev. Code Ann. § 9A.12.010,18 U.S.C. § 17.

“ See Ark. Code Ann. § 5-2-312; Conn. Gen. Stat. Ann. § 53a-13;
Bethea v. United States, 365 A.2d 64 (D.C. 1976); Haw. Rev. Stat. Ann.
§ 704-400; 720 Ill. Comp. Stat. Ann. 5/6-2(a); Ind. Code Ann. § 35-41-3-
6(a); Ky. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 504.020(1); Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 17-A, § 39;
Md. Code Ann., Crim. Proc. § 3-109; Commonwealth v. McHoul, 226
N.E.2d 556 (Mass. 1967); Mich. Comp. Laws Ann. § 768.21a(1); Or. Rev.
Stat. § 161.295; State v. Johnson, 399 A.2d 469 (R.I. 1979); Vt. Stat.
Ann. tit. 13, 4801; State v. Grimm, 195 S.E.2d 637 (W.V. 1973); Wis.
Stat. Ann. § 971.15; Wyo. Stat. Ann. § 7-11-305(b).

39

whether s/he understood the import of his or her actions.
See, Rita J. Simon & David E. Aaronson, THE INSANITY
DEFENSE: A CRITICAL ASSESSMENT OF LAW AND POLICY IN
THE POST-HINCKLEY ERA 39 (1988) (noting that “the ALI
test further expanded the M’Naghten rule by requiring a_
failure to apprehend the significance of one’s actions in
some deeper sense involving ‘affect’ or ‘emotional! apprecia-
tion,’ rather than some surface understanding or verbali-
zation of knowledge”) (emphasis added). One final State,
New Hampshire, employs the product test, under which
the defendant is not guilty by reason of insanity if his or
her crime “was the offspring or product of mental disease.”
State v. Pike, 49 N.H. 399, 408 (1869). This test, too,
subsumes M’Naghten within it. See Durham v. United
States, 214 F.2d 862, 874 (D.C. Cir. 1954) (calling the
product test a “broader test” than M'’Naghten).

All together, at least thirty-eight States, the District of
Columbia, and the federal government employ insanity
standards under which those satisfying either part of the
M’Naghten Rule qualify as legally insane. This pervasive
practice confirms the fundamental place that the
M’Naghten Rule continues to occupy in American criminal
law, and further compels the conclusion that States may
not go below the M’Naghten standard without violating
Due Process. See Cooper, 517 U.S. at 359-62.

40

C. Ample Precedent Supports the Conclusion
that States May Not Adopt an Insanity Test
Narrower than M’Naghten’s Without Violat-
ing Due Process.

Although this Court has never squarely addressed the
issue,” a number of lower courts have held that Due
Process prohibits States from cutting back on the
M'Naghten Rule. In State v. Strasburg, 60 Wash. 106, 110
P. 1020 (1910), the Washington Supreme Court held that a
state statute abolishing the M’Naghten Rule violated the
Washington Constitution.“ In so concluding, the court
surveyed the law of insanity more broadly, noting the
historic “‘rule of law in every civilized country that no
insane man can be guilty of a crime, and hence cannot be
punished for what would otherwise be a crime.’” 60 Wash.
at 114, 110 P. at 1022. Relying, in part on legal authorities
interpreting the United States Constitution, and using the
precise sort of historically sensitive analysis that this
Court has employed when resolving Due Process issues,
the Strasburg Court held that abolishing the M’Naghten
Rule violated Due Process. See id.

“ The Court has, however, embraced M'Naghten as the appropriate
“test to be applied to the general defense of insanity.” Hotema v. United
States, 186 U.S. 413, 420 (1902) (describing the test as whether the
“defendant knew the nature and quality of his act when he committed
it, and that it was wrong and a violation of the law of the land, for
which he would be punished”). See also, Davis v. United States, 186
U.S. 373, 378 (1897) (defining an insane person as being “incapable of
distinguishing between right and wrong, or unconscious at the time of
the nature of the act he is committing.”)

“ The statute provided that “i]t shall be no defense to a person
charged with the commission of a crime that at the time of its commis-
sion he was unable, by reason of his insanity, idiocy or imbecility, to
comprehend the motive and quality of the act committed, or to under-
stand that it was wrong.” 110 P. at 1021.

4]

The Mississippi Supreme Court reached a similar
conclusion in Sinclair v. State, 161 Miss. 142, 182 So. 581,
582 (1931) when it struck down on state due process
grounds a statute that provided-that “the insanity of the
defendant at the time of the commission of the crime shall
not be a defense against indictments for murder.” In a
concurring opinion, Justice Ethridge stressed that “it is
certainly shocking and inhuman to punish a person for an
act when he does not have the capacity to know the act or to
judge of its consequences.” Jd. at 584 (emphasis added).

More recently, in Finger v. State, 117 Nev. 548, 27 P.3d
66 (2001), the Nevada Supreme Court, after exhaustively
tracing the history of the insanity defense in American
law, held that “legal insanity is a well-established and
fundamental principle of the law of the United States,”
and “is therefore protected by the Due Process Clauses of
both the United States and Nevada Constitutions.” 117
Nev. at 575, 27 P.3d at 84. The insanity standard to which
the court referred was the M’Naghten Rule. 117 Nev. at
576-578, 27 P.3d at 84-86.

Put simply, the M’Naghten Rule is a fundamental
principle of law, and the Constitution secures for eligible
defendants the right to put on an insanity defense under a
standard at least as broad as M'Naghten. Other courts
agree. United States v. Greene, 489 F.2d 1145, 1172 n. 69
(D.C. Cir. 1974) (noting that “the insanity defense ...
appears to be constitutionally required”); Jngles v. People,
92 Colo. 518, 522, 22 P.2d 1109, 1111 (Colo. 1933) (“[A]
statute providing that insanity shall be no defense to a
criminal charge would be unconstitutional.”).

This Court’s precedents are not to the contrary. There
are two key points to note about its cases in this area.

42

First, the issue in most of the cases was the constitutional-
ity of the burden of proof used to adjudicate the insanity
defense, rather than anything to do with the substantive
contours of the defense.“ Second, in cases that do refer to
the appropriate substantive standard for insanity, the
question is invariably whether the Constitution should be
construed to require a broader definition of insanity than
the one established by M’Naghten. That is, the cases
involved arguments that the M’Naghten Rule is constitu-
tionally insufficient, not, as here, the more modest claim
that M’Naghten ought to be preserved as a constitutional
minimum.“

In Leland v. Oregon, 343 U.S. 790 (1952), for example,
the Court devoted the bulk of its attention to a claim that
Oregon had violated Due Process by placing upon the
defendant the burden of proving insanity beyond a rea-
sonable doubt. Jd. at 799. It then disposed of the defen-
dant’s contention that the Constitution compelled adoption
of the more permissive “irresistible impulse” test for
insanity, rather than Oregon’s M’Naghten Rule.

“ E.g., Rivera v. Delaware, 429 U.S. 877 (1976). Analogously, in
Patterson v. New York, 432 U.S. 197 (1977), the Court held that Due
Process was not offended by a New York law that placed the burden of
proving the affirmative defense of extreme emotional disturbance upon
the defendant. In that context the Court stated that “it is normally
within the power of the State to regulate procedures under which its
laws are carried out, including the burden of producing evidence and
the burden of persuasion.” /d. at 201 (emphasis added). Accord, Martin
v. Ohio, 480 U.S. 228, 231-32 (1987).

“ To reject the former sort of claim is a far ery from rejecting the
latter. As Justice Scalia has written, the purpose of the Due Process
Clause “is to prevent future generations from lightly casting aside
important traditional values - not to enable this Court to invent new
ones.” Michael H. v. Gerald D., 391 U.S. 110, 122 n. 2 (1989).

43

“The science of psychiatry has made tremendous
strides since ... [the] test was laid down in
M'Naghten’s Case, but the progress of science has
not reached a point where its learning would
compel us to require the states to eliminate the
right and wrong test from their criminal law.
Moreover, choice of a test of legal sanity involves
not only scientific knowledge but questions of ba-
sic policy as to the extent to which that knowl-
edge should determine criminal responsibility.
This whole problem has evoked wide disagree-
ment among those who have studied it. In these
circumstances it is clear that adoption of the ir-
resistible impulse test is not ‘implicit in the con-
cept of ordered liberty.’” (emphasis added. }

Id. at 800-01 (footnotes omitted). The Court thus con-
cluded that, in light of the scientific and policy disagree-
ments over the relative merits of the M’Naghten and
irresistible impulse tests, it would be inappropriate to
require the States to adopt a volitional add-on to the time-
honored M’Naghten Rule as a matter of constitutional law.
But that conclusion did not imply that there are no consti-
tutional limits to the States’ power to erode the traditional
boundaries between the spheres of culpability and mad-
ness, or that M’Naghten does not stand as a bastion of
those boundaries. If anything, the Court's respect for
M’Naghten implicitly suggested its fundamental character.

Similarly in Powell v. Texas, 392 U.S. 514 | 1968), the
Court considered the constitutionality of a statute making
it a crime to be intoxicated in a public place. Powell
attacked the statute under Robinson v. California, 370
U.S. 660 (1962), which had struck down a California law
making it criminal to have a drug addiction. He argued
that the Texas statute effectively created a similar status

44

crime because “chronic alcoholics in general, and Leroy
Powell in particular, suffer from such an irresistible
compulsion to drink and to get drunk in public that they
are utterly unable to control their performance of either or
both of these acts.” Powell, 392 U.S. at 535. At bottom, this
amounted to an argument that, as a matter of irrefutable
fact, “chronic alcoholics suffer from an irresistible impulse
to drink and [that they] are therefore insane” as a matter
of federal constitutional law. Robitscher & Haynes, supra,
at 58. See Powell, 392 U.S. at 544 (Justice Black, concur-
ring) noting that, were the Court to accept Powell’s argu-
ment, it “would be ... require[d] [to] recogni[ze] ...
‘irresistible impulse’ as a complete defense to any crime,”
even though that was “probably contrary to present law in
most American jurisdictions”). It was in that context that
the Court declined the invitation to “defin[e] . . . some sort
of insanity test in constitutional terms” (id. at 536) as an
exercise that would have offended “|t]raditional common-
law concepts of personal accountability” (id. at 536) —
“casting aside the centuries-long evolution of the collection
of interlocking and overlapping concepts which the com-
mon law has utilized to assess the moral accountability of
an individual for his antisocial deeds” (id. at 535-36) — as
well as overriding “essential considerations of federalism”
(id. at 535). So Powell, like Leland is far from categorically
rejecting the idea of a minimum constitutional standard
for insanity, particularly one that is firmly grounded in
those very common-law traditions.”

* Similarly, Medina v. California, 505 U.S. 437 (1992), cannot be
understood as speaking to the issue. In Medina the Court found that
Due Process was not offended by a State’s imposing on criminal
defendants the burden of proving (by a preponderance of the evidence)
their incompetence to stand trial. The ruling was explicitly predicated

(Continued on following page)

45

In sum, although this Court has not yet addressed the
question whether the States can constitutionally abrogate
the insanity defense or confine it to a compass narrower
than the traditional M’Naghten Rule,” the historicity and
continuing pervasiveness of the core elements of M’Naghten
bear all of the conventional indicia of a “principle of justice
so rooted in the traditions and conscience of our people as to
be ranked as fundamental” Patterson, 432 U.S. at 201-02.
And one of those core elements is the immemorial princi-
ple that an individual cannot be held culpable for acts
when s/he does not even know what s/he is doing. In
flouting that principle, Arizona violates Due Process.

on a finding that “there is no settled [historical! tradition on the proper
allocation of the burden of proof in a proceeding to determine compe-

————tence-"/d. at 446. In declining to create a constitutional burden-of-proof
rule with no foundation in tradition, the Court noted in passing that
“we have not said that the Constitution requires the States to recognize
the insanity defense.” Jd. at 449 (citing Powell, 329 U.S. at 536-37).
That entirely accurate statement carefully avoids deciding the issue
which it describes as undecided.

“ The Supreme Courts of Idaho, Montana and Utah have con-
cluded that the Constitution permits States to abolish the insanity
defense. See, e.g., State v. Herrera, 895 P.2d 359 (Utah 1995); State v.
Searcy, 118 Idaho 632, 798 P.2d 914 (1990); State v. Kore!l, 213 Mont.
316, 690 P.2d 992 (Mont. 1984). Each of those decisions incorrectly
seeks support for that conclusion in this Court’s precedents which we
have discussed above and shown to leave the issue open. And the lower-
court decisions themselves sustain the abolition of the traditional
insanity defense — the distinct legal doctrine exempting a defendant
from criminal liability on the ground of a qualifying mental illness -
only when the defendant’s right to show his or her mental illness as a
factual basis for contesting the prosecution's proof of the mens rea
clements of the charged offenses is preserved. That is, of course, not the
case in Arizona. See Point | supra and Point III infra.

46

D. The Suggestion of the Court of Appeals that
Arizona’s Halving of the M’Naghten Stan-
dard Made No Difference in Eric’s Case Dis-
regards the Record.

After explaining as a matter of legal analysis why
Arizona’s “eliminating the first prong of the M’Naghten test
... [does not constitute] a violation of due process,” the
Court of Appeals below added that the cutback was of no
consequence to Eric because “(i]t is difficult to imagine that
a defendant who did not appreciate the ‘nature and quality’
of the act he committed would reasonably be able to per-
ceive that the act was ‘wrong’.” (JA 350) This reasoning
starts from the fallacious premise that the line of thinking
of a schizophrenic can be predicted by normal logic.

The record flatly refutes that premise. The defense
psychiatric expert testified that schizophrenia is “charac-
terized by a variety of forms of distorted thinking ... , a
disturbance in logic; their thinking really does not make a
lot of sense. It’s not connected.” (RT 8/22/03 at 21/JA 18.)
“It’s not based on logic, it’s not based on the shared under-
standing we have of the world. It’s their own idiosyncratic
logic.” (Id. at 27/JA 22-23; see also id. at 22, 28 JA 18-19,
23-24.) The prosecution expert did not contest this but
agreed that paranoid schizophrenia is characterized by
distorted thinking and contradictory logic. (RT 8/26/03 at
91, 96-97/JA 181-82, 185-86.) This record contains both
expert testimony that Eric “really had a tremendous
amount of difficuliy perceiving reality as you and I see it”
(RT 8/22/03 at 48/JA 39), and descriptions of episodes in
which, after engaging in bizarre or violent behavior, Eric
appeared immediately afterwards to not know what he
had just done or at times know whether it was wrong. (RT
8/19/03 at 99; RT 8/20/03 at 135; RT 8/12/03 at 49-53; RT
8/21/03 at 72-73).

47

That unawareness of the nature of his acts could
coexist in Eric’s psychotic mind with knowledge of the
wrongness of killing is no less plausible than other insane
contradictions he unquestionably harbored. For example
as the prosecutor elicited on cross examination of the
defense expert psychiatrist:

“Q. He also told you that his family . . . were his
best friends?

Yes.
He also told you his parents may be aliens?

Yes.

en a

But, in spite of that, they were still his best
friends?

That kind of conflictual sort of logic is ...
very common with schizophrenics, you know,
where two seemingly opposing ... opposite
sorts of things can ... be present in the per-
son’s mind but it’s part of their whole irra-
tionality.”

(RT 8/22/93 at 73/JA 60-61.)

>

Ill. ASSUMING DUE PROCESS PERMITS A STATE
EITHER TO HALVE THE INSANITY DEFENSE
OR TO ABROGATE AN INSANE DEFENDANT’S
MENS REA DEFENSE, ARIZONA VIOLATED
THE CONSTITUTION WHEN IT DID BOTH

In prosecuting Eric Clark, Arizona simultaneously
denied him the benefit of half of the traditional Anglo-
American standard for insanity (Part II, supra) and
precluded the trier’s consideration of Eric’s severe mental
illness as a basis for factual doubt that the prosecution

48

had proved the mental elements of the charge of first
degree murder. (Part I, supra.) This kind of hamstringing
of both legs of a mentally impaired defendant’s trad ::onal
means for obtaining consideration of his/her involuntary
mental impairments is exceedingly rare among American
jurisdictions. Only four States other than Arizona -
Delaware, Georgia, Louisiana, and Ohio — both rule out
the first prong of the M’Naghten insanity defense and
prohibit the use of mental-illness evidence to challenge the
prosecution's proof of mens rea.” Every other State in the
Union, as well as the District of Columbia and the federal
government, allows a mentally ill criminal defendant at
least one, if not both, of these procedures for defending
against the imputation of guilt for actions committed
without knowing what s/he was doing.

Even those courts that would grant the States the
greatest leeway to alter the traditional insanity defense
acknowledge that abridging both insanity and the right to
present psychiatric evidence to rebut the prosecution's
proof of mens rea elements would raise serious constitu-
tional difficulties. In upholding the total abolition of the

“ Del. Code Ann. tit. 11, § 401(a) and Bates v. State, 386 A.2d 1139,
1144 (Del. 1978) (Delaware also, however, permits a finding of GEI for
defendants who as a result of a psychiatric disorder have “insufficient
willpower to choose whether [to] do the act or refrain from doing it.”
($ 401(b)); Ga. Code Ann. § 16-3-2 and State v. Ball, 310 S.E.2d 516 (Ga. _
1984) (Georgia also, however, provides for the defense of delusional
compulsion and permits a finding of GEI if a defendant, as a result of
mental illness has “significantly impairled] judgment, behavior,
capacity to recognize reality, or ability to cope with the ordinary
demands of life.” Ga. Code Ann. § 16-3-3; § 17-7-131(aX2), (c2)); La.
Rev. Stat. Ann. § 14:14 and State v. Jones, 359 So.2d 95, 98 ‘La. 1978);
Ohio Rev. Code Ann. § 2901.01(A\14) and State v. Wilcox, 70 Ohio St.
2d 182, 436 N.E.2d 523 (Ohio 1982).

49

insanity defense in Idaho,” the Idaho Supreme Court
noted that “[t]hree states, Idaho, Montana, and Utah, have
legislatively chosen to reject mental condition as a sepa-
rate specific defense to a criminal charge. The statutes in
these three states, however, expressly permit evidence of
mental illness or disability to be presented at trial, not in
support of an independent insanity defense, but rather in
order to permit the accused to rebut the state’s evidence
offered to prove that the defendant had the requisite
criminal intent or mens rea required ... to commit the
crime charged.” State v. Searcy, 118 Idaho 632, 635, 798
P.2d 914, 917 (1990). The Utah high court took care to note
the same point and to explain the role that mental-illness
evidence can still play in trials of criminal guilt or inno-
cence. See State v. Herrera, 895 P.2d 359, 364 (Utah 1995).

In Arizona, that role has been foreclosed for defen-
dants whose mental! illness prevented them from knowing
what they were doing. Beyond the grave constitutional
flaws in Arizona’s preclusion of defense evidence offered to
contest mens rea on the one hand and severe curtailment
of the M’Naghten Rule on the other, the application of both
these impediments together deny a criminal accused “a
meaningful opportunity to present a complete defense”
(Crane, 476 U.S. at 690) and make an aimless mockery of
the Due Process model of a fair trial

¢

“ erroneously, in our view.

50

CONCLUSION

Eric Clark’s conviction was obtained in violation of
Due Process and should be reversed.

RESPECTFULLY SUBMITTED this 30th day of
January, 2006.

DAVID GOLDBERG
Attorney at Law

P.O. Box 746
Flagstaff, AZ 86001
Phone (928) 606-1618
Fax (928) 525-9352
Counsel for Petitioner

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0265%3A12. Public record. Not legal advice.
