# Amicus Curiae Brief — Davis v. Washington

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0263%3A06

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2006
- **Citation:** 547 U.S. 813

## Text

i 4 Supreme Court, U.S.
@a FILED
his v

AUG 11 2005
No. 05-5224
CLERK |

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Anited States

ADRIAN MARTELL DAVIS,
Petitioner,

V.

STATE OF WASHINGTON,
Respondent.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the
Washington Supreme Court

BRIEF OF AMICI CURIAE
THE PUBLIC DEFENDER SERVICE FOR THE
DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA AND THE NATIONAL
ASSOCIATION OF CRIMINAL DEFENSE LAWYERS
IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONER

PAMELA HARRIS TIMOTHY P. O'TOOLE

Co-Chair Amicus Committee Counsel of Record

NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF CATHARINE F. EASTERLY
CRIMINAL DEFENSE LAWYERS ANDREA ROTH

1625 Eye Street, NW CORINNE BECKWITH

Washington, D.C. 20006 PUBLIC DEFENDER SERVICE FOR

(202) 383-5386 THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA

633 Indiana Avenue, NW
Washington, D.C. 20004
(202) 628-1200

SS
WiLSON-EPES PRINTING CO., INC. — (202) 789-0096 - WasHinGTon, D.C. 20001

A

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES ........ccssscsssesssesseeessesseesseeeans ii

INTEREST OF AMICI CURIAE.......... PERE eco I

STATEMENT OF THE CASE .......cccccecessesssesseesssecsveen 2

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT. ......cccscccscscsssessseessessseen 4

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION........... 5
1. THE COURT SHOULD CLARIFY THE
GOAL OF CRAWFORD’S “TESTIMONIAL”

eae a 5

A. The Common Law As Baseline................... Sina

B. Roberts Redux: Conditioning the Right to
Confrontation On Speculation About the
Absentee Witness’s Subjective Motivation .. 8

C. Roberts Redux: Limiting Confrontation
to Only Those Statements That Mirror
Tangential Aspects of the Common-Law
ERE iinvsiicdiceneniniitilviagieniaibinaimisdinniievgineai 13

Il. THIS COURT SHOULD CLARIFY THAT
ACCUSATORY STATEMENTS ABOUT
COMPLETED CRIMES TO KNOWN GOV-
ERNMENT OFFICIALS ARE “TESTI-
SURUTEN Te sctwisiincinsiicientesmneptionioonnnteninaietinidcenempn 17

CONCLUSION ..........ccccc0000-- Soa I a 20

(i)

ii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
SUPREME COURT CASES Page
Bruton v. United States, 391 U.S. 123 (1968)....... 18
Burlington Indus., Inc. v. Ellerth, 524 U.S. 742
SOMIPUTTccseceicidiielciindNsiecthcinsnseiinndllbaabigiaabulighibaiiuiiiniaios 2
Crawford v. Washington, 541 U.S. 36 (2004)....... passim
Devenpeck v. Alford, 125 S. Ct. 588 (2004)........... 12
Ewing v. California, 535 U.S. 969 (2002)............. 2
Faragher v. City of Boca Raton, 524 U.S. 775
Ieee cteniiiesisdiciadbicieniicanipniattnasiinibaiipaliansisteadaiieinitinin 2
Lockyer v. Andrade, 535 U.S. 969 (2002)............. 2
McCreary County, Ky. v. ACLU, 125 S. Ct. 310
Era assansesipsiiesinaetisiipesapceeriidniibadecasensivdidiandbaticesadiamnodinieie 2
Murphy v. United Parcel Service, Inc., 527 U.S.
ee wiiitieisiiianistsclabisiagalipnebhliicbdiepessitiaidaainis 2
Ohio v. Roberts, 448 U.S. 56 (1980) ............::cccee 4
Sutton v. United Air Lines, 527 U.S. 471 (1999)... 2
United States v. Booker, 125 S. Ct. 738 (2005)..... 8
Van Orden v. Perry, 125 S. Ct. 346 (2004)........... 2
White v. Illinois, 502 U.S. 346 (1992)............cc0e8 3
FEDERAL CASES
Massey v. Lamarque, 2005 WL 1140025 (9th
ae. BUN iy SUI etsicccemiaesnritesipicndnintadinheingtestandecnce 9
United States v. Arnold, 410 F.3d 895 (6th Cir.
SITU x:ssdicsadiktcsiitensidsundlepipanadsondblaminiiianvalaiantainiaties 6
United States v. Bordeaux, 400 F.3d 548 (8th Cir.
Se eesistadecciercienilisindtnsiaciiiiblnnheiiiainasabaianiteitiiania 6
United States v. Brun, 2005 WL 1797451 (8th
Ce SS FEE, F, Ta Pincsindtcieinnntstpercnvecininntiiinn 9, 16
United States v. Cromer, 389 F.3d 662 (6th Cir.
Spi eck ceshtuiissincisiteslpiitieccidieiadéanaadandababnibabatniaddoldeate 6
United States v. Solomon, 399 F.3d 1231 (10th
i ae ieshicicdlbdisneinicechisibasiiidtaihainaieinibndinicniiebons 6

United States v. Summers, 2005 WL 1694031
(10th Cir. (N.M.) Jul. 21, 2005)... eee 6

iil
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page
United States v. Wilmore, 381 F.3d 868 (9th Cir.
Se ecalsasehiceanitidsccinibideaddtabietagisinibieiitenitebediiidaions 12
STATE CASES
Anderson v. State, 111 P.3d 350 (Alaska App.

inte citiitibsineishdiambineiuehiabinthabbdiidisisihenifidaipesadabvediinns 9,13
Commonwealth v. Gray, 867 A.2d 560 (Pa. App

SE iiniiiaticobiiiigiidetadhieLicnaiaiehlgdaalidediabenieligliintss )
Davis v. State, 2005 WL 183141 (Tex. App. Jan.

Stee Ane cosiniestiedaebiledibbciiedahedileonetinapiiebidiinnbastindsisiiipess 16
Hammon v. Indiana, 829 N.E.2d 444 (Ind.

2005)......... esesosiosstasenttinvenianeosensniseesnnstonessoes 1,4, 9, 16,17
Heard v. Kentucky, 2004 WL 1367163 (Ky.

App.), review granted, (Ky. 2005) ........::ccc0 16
In re E.H., 823 N.E.2d 1029 (Ill. App. 2005)........ 6
Key v. State, 2005 WL 467167 (Tex. App. Feb.

Sn Se iicsihiterechitlbicicinritesililaiitindeibialabiabiiidiibdpoorsiee 9
Lee v. State, 143 S.W.3d 565 (Tex. App. 2004)... 15
Lopez v. State, 888 So. 2d 693 (Fla. App. 2004)... 6
Mason v. State, 2005 WL 1531286 (Tex. App.

SE ee A icctcincdancecectanninstedieiitisdsaniatniinentes 6
Miller v. State, 2005 WL 1423393 (Ga. App.

June ZO, ZOOS) (SaINC)......0cccssecccccssccccscsscsesecceeees 6
People v. Adams, 16 Cal Rptr. 3d 237 (Cal.

App.), review granted, (Cal. 2004).............000. 6
People v. Aubrey, 2004 WL 2378400 (Cal. App.),

review denied, (Cal. Jan 12, 2005)............. 9, 13, 15, 16
People v. Bradley, 2005 WL 1774080 (N.Y.

App. Div. July 28, 2005) .........cccccsscseeseseereeeseees 16
People v. Cage, 15 Cal. Rptr. 3d 846 (Cal. App.

SEAS IEF Sea a seatane eatery Aen BET 8 AC Oe 13
People v. Caudillo, 19 Cal. Rptr. 3d 574 (2004)... 9
People v. Coleman, 791 N.Y.S.2d 112 (N.Y.

Ts GID viventevsnciciatninstiniinsssetsebuiitiainetness 9

. iV
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page
People v. Corella, 18 Cal. Rptr. 3d 770 (2004)..... 3, 16
People v. Cortes, 781 N.Y.S.2d 401 (N.Y. Sup.

CA, FOR scinisnsicedobnannpitinspprilictinnisensbiantstsiiinaseinale 6
People v. Kilday, 20 Cal. Rptr. 3d 161 (Cal. App.

2004), review granted, 23 Cal Rptr. 3d 693

SAG; BD i cccnsncinepsadinptnincinstovcanseitcinnusinapabeniahs 15
People v. King, 2005 WL 170727 (Colo. App.

FON Fig eee a sicatiitarntidgncicituiiulnssintpleincaailaansvonthe 15, 16
People v. Moscat, 777 N.Y.S.2d 875 (N.Y. Crim.

OR, ZAI iiohsncncninncbeniectiitrincinaanitiendaiasiiaiiulabiiedseiein 9
People v. R.F., 825 N.E.2d 287 (Ill. App. 2005)... 16
People v. Walker, 697 N.W.2d 159 (Mich. App.

BD vcncsniscecnisacaaitacisenppiiviinnniasimmmapihelaidnin 9
Stancil v. United States, 866 A.2d 799, reh'g en

banc granted, 2005 WL 1653880 (D.C. June

A SED bekcsosenssseccnentavescnpenentnienhiebesiiieiaamaiiianiats 16
State v. Anderson, 2005 WL 171441 (Tenn. App. _

SEI ET, SD ccversestisiiartiepsineddapenitcieniaadiiionibbiianite 9
State v. Barnes, 854 A.2d 208 (Me. 2004)............ 9,16
State v. Branch, 865 A.2d 673 (N.J. 2005)............ 6
State v. Campbell, 30 S.C.L. 124, 1844 WL 2558

GAD. ©... TIUD cccccscrsscnsntncesenitnticsiiiniianiiaimpeiniaiss 15
State v. Cannaday, 2005 WL 736583 (Ohio App.

ROR: DE; HD cxvstcecianesisiiniicicsitidinsiapstiniimiiindiinisan 9
State v. Clark, 598 S.E.2d 213 (N.C. App.),

review denied, 601 S.E.2d 866 (N.C. 2004)...... 6
State v. Grace, 111 P.3d 28 (Haw. App. 2005).... 6

State v. Hembertt, 696 N.W.2d 473 (Neb. 2005).. 14, 16

State v. Hill, 827 N.E.2d 351 (Ohio App. 2005)... 6

State v. Lewis, 603 S.E.2d 559 (N.C. App.),
review allowed and appeal dismissed, 608

So GD GK... BOOP cerstnctssccciivintniaitisipheiniivnaiigjte 6

Vv
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page

State v. Maclin, 2005 WL 313977 (Tenn. App.
I ict el thn cttieetiaceaciaen 15
State v. Snowden, 867 A.2d 314 (Md. 2005)......... 6

State v. Wright, 686 N.W.2d 295 (Minn. App.),
review granted (Minn. 2004)...............cccccee 9, 15, 16

Talley v. Commonwealth, 2005 WL 387443 (Ky.
Re eee 16

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS

I hn tncernenmensinnemtdenen 18

ACADEMIC JOURNALS

Richard Friedman & Bridget McCormack, Dial-

in Testimony, 150 U. Pa. L. Rev. 1171 (2002).. 20
Robert P. Mosteller, Crawford v. Washington:

Encouraging and Ensuring the Confrontation

of Witnesses, 39 U. Rich. L. Rev. 511 (2005)... 20
Robert P. Mosteller, Remaking Confrontation

Clause and Hearsay Doctrine Under the Chal-

lenge of Child Sex Abuse Prosecutions, 1993

ee ee is NG SUED chinsehiensecheitaiicstninstnsenicneneniissoniiones 18

INTEREST OF AMICI CURIAE

Amicus curiae Public Defender Service for the District of
Columbia represents indigent ciiminal defendants. Amicus
curiae National Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers
is a non-profit corporation with a membership of more
than 10,000 attorneys nationwide, along with 78 state and
local affiliate organizations numbering 28,000 members in 50
states.' As criminal defense lawyers, amici advise ¢\i ats of
their confrontation rights at trial, conduct cross-examinations
of prosecution witnesses, and bring appellate challenges to
restrictions on their clients’ ability to confront prosecution
witnesses—tasks they cannot perform effectively without a
clear understanding of when the Sixth Amendment requires
the government to present the testimony of witnesses against
the accused in court and subject to cross-examination.

In amici’s view, this Court’s decision in Crawford v. Wash-
ington, 541 U.S. 36 (2004), formulated a standard that, if
properly applied, has the potential to substantially clarify this
calculus. But as Petitioner has demonstrated, significant in-
terim uncertainty remains about what constitutes a “testi-
monial” witness statement necessitating confrontation under ~
Crawford—particularly where, in order to prove its case, the
prosecution relies on “excited” criminal accusations made by
an absentee witness in response to questioning by a 911 op-
erator or a responding police officer.

Amici believe that the Court has two excellent vehicles to
address the use of unconfronted criminal accusations that are
the product of both these scenarios—Mr. Davis’s case
(accusatory statements to a 911 operator) and Hammon v.
Indiana, 829 N.E.2d 444 (Ind. 2005), Docket No. 05-5705
(petition filed August 5, 2005) (accusatory statements to
responding police officers). Amici encourage this Court to

' Accompanying this brief are letters of consent to its filing. No coun-
sel for any party authored any part of this brief, and no person or entity,
other than amici, has made a monetary contnbution to the preparation or
submission of this bnef.

2

grant certiorari in both cases, as it has done in other related
cases addressing a complex issue with widespread impact,” in
order to put an end to the substantial uncertainty that
currently plagues this important area of the law. To delay
comprehensive guidance will perpetuate confusion 1m literally
hundreds of criminal cases throughout the nation.
STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Amici adopt Petitioner’s statement of the case, see Petition
for Writ of Certioran’ (“Pet.”) at 1-6, with the additional
observation that Mr. Davis’s case shares three important
similarities with those cases amici litigate daily in courts
throughout the country.

1. Mr. Davis’ case is representative of a group of post-
Crawford cases that treat as unremarkable the absence at
trial of the percipient witness to the alleged crime. Here, for
example, the Washington Supreme Court determined that
statements by an absentee accuser to a 911 operator were not
“testimonial” despite the fact that it contained the “only
evidence” linking Mr. Davis to the crime, Petitioner’s Appen-
dix (“Pet. App.”) at 3, and despite the fact that the prosecutor
could not even describe Ms. McCottry’s statements to a lay
jury without using the word “testimony.” /d. at 6.

2. The-Washington Supreme Court’s focus on whether the
absentee witness was subjectively motivated solely by a de-
sire to “bear witness” at the time she made her statements is
also typical of a subset of courts interpreting Crawford. Pet.

? See, e.g., Van Orden v. Perry, 125 S. Ct. 346 (2004), and McCreary
County, Ky. v. ACLU, 125 S. Ct. 310 (2004) (whether ten commandments
displays violate the Establishment Clause); Ewing v. California, 535 U.S.
969 (2002), and Lockyer v. Andrade, 535 U.S. 969 (2002) (whether appli-
cations of California's Three Strikes Law violated the Cruel and Unusual
Punishment Clause); Sutton v. United Air Lines, 527 U.S. 471 (1999), and
Murphy v. United Parcel Service, Inc., 527 U.S. 516 (1999) (whether
“correctable” disabilities are covered by Americans with Disabilities Act);
Burlington Indus., Inc. v. Ellerth, 524 U.S. 742 (1998), and Faragher v.
City of Boca Raton, 524 U.S. 775 (1998) (whether employers are vicari-
ously liable for sexual harassment under Title VII).

3

App. 5-6. In determining that Ms. McCottry was not so moti-
vated, the Washington Supreme Court surmised that her state-
ments were merely “a call for help,” and the court appeared to
look to Petitioner for contrary “evidence” concerning the
absentee witness’s subjective motivation for speaking. /d.
The court also suggested that the “excited” accusations of an
absentee witness to investigating police officers cannot serve
as “testimonial” statements within the meaning of Crawford
because they are never motivated solely by a desire to provide
incriminating evidence. Pet. App. 5-6 (quoting People v.
Corella, 18 Cal. Rptr. 3d 770 (2004)). The Washington court
ignored this Court’s observation in Crawford that an after-
the-fact narrative of an event to government officials in
response to questioning is testimonial, 541 U.S. at 58 n.8
(discussing White v. Illinois, 502 U.S. 346 (1992)), and that
the admission of such a statement in White as a spontaneous
declaration was “arguably in tension” with the Court’s his-
torical interpretation of the Confrontation Clause because
such out-of-court statements would not have been admitted in
criminal trials at common law. /d.

3. Instead of attempting to reconcile its analysis with ei-
ther the common-law right to confrontation or the Framers’
clear preference for in-court adversary testing described
by this Court in Crawford, the Washington Supreme Court,
like many courts nationwide, stressed that Ms. McCottry’s
statements to the 911 operator were not, in its view, the
“functional equivalent” of the civil-law abuses that motivated
the Framers to include the Clause in the Bill of Rights. Pet.
App. 5-6. But, as is also typical of courts interpreting Craw-
ford in this way, the Washington Supreme Court did not
explain why, in resolving whether a statement necessitates
confrontation under the Crawford analysis, tangential aspects
of the historic abuses (such as the formality of ex parte affi-
davits) should play a decisive role in the “testimonial” analy-
sis, while other seemingly more significant aspects of those
abuses (namely, the fact that ex parte affidavits generally

4

‘involved criminal accusations made to known government
agents by absentee witnesses) should be disregarded.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

This Court should grant Mr. Davis’s Petition, as well as the
pending petition in Hammon v. Indiana, Docket No. 05-5705,
in order to secure the uniform, analytically cohesive enforce-
ment of the Sixth Amendment’s confrontation guarantee. As
demonstrated by Petitioner, the striking division among ap-
pellate courts regarding the “testimonial” nature of “excited
utterances” made to 911 operators and responding police offi-
cers has matured and solidified. The lower courts cannot
resolve this division because their dispute is not simply a
matter of choosing among “formulations.” See Crawford, 541
U.S. at 51-52. It stems from a basic disagreement about the
purpose and scope of the Confrontation Clause now that the
Court has reconnected it with its common-law origins.

On one side of this dispute are the courts that read Craw-
ford as requiring a construction of the Sixth Amendment
confrontation guarantee at least as broad as the common-law
confrontation right. These courts are guided by this Court’s
repeated references to the functional common-law right and
the Framers’ belief that adversarial testing was an indispensa-
ble protection for a person accused of a crime. On the other
side of this split are courts, like the Washington Supreme
Court, that treat the confrontation guarantee as one that can
be routinely denied based on the presence or absence of a
variety of inconsistently applied arbitrary and subjective
factors—much as was done under Ohio v. Roberts, 448 US.
56 (1980). To the extent these courts refer to the common-
law origins of the night to confrontation at all, they limit their
focus to tangential aspects of the ex parte affidavit practice
that prompted the Framers to include the Confrontation Clause
in the Bill of Rights, without explaining why the Framers
would have accepted a definition of “testimonial” statements
that leaves the government free to evade the common-law
right to confrontation in new and different ways.

5

Mr. Davis’s and Mr. Hammon’s cases provide excellent
vehicles for resolving this dispute. Both were witnessless
criminal prosecutions that would have been forbidden at
common law because they rose or fell on unconfronted
criminal accusations made by an absentee witness to known
government agents. Accordingly, in amici’s view (and the
view of many appellate courts), such a prosecution should
have been forbidden under Crawford. Because the
Washington Supreme Court and the Indiana Supreme Court
(among others) have held otherwise—applying an analysis
representative of those courts that construe the confrontation
right as far more narrow and pliable than it was at common
law—granting review in Mr. Davis’s case and Mr. Hammon’s
case will give this Court the means to resolve this funda-
mental dispute about the nature and purpose of the Sixth
Amendment confrontation guarantee.’

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

I. THE COURT SHOULD CLARIFY THE GOAL
OF CRAWFORD’S “TESTIMONIAL” INQUIRY.

The confusion about how to identify a “testimonial” state-
ment, documented by Petitioner, see Pet. 8-18, is the product
of a fundamental dispute about the purpose and scope of the
Sixth Amendment right to confrontation now that the Court
has reconnected it to its common-law origins.

A. The Common Law As Baseline.

Some courts read Crawford as reinforcing a “categorical
constitutional guarantee[],” 541 U.S. at 68, founded on the
common-law requirement that people functioning as wit-
nesses against the accused provide “live testimony in court
subject to adversarial testing,” id. at 43, and born of the desire
of the Framers to confer on defendants adequate means at a

* Amici fear that granting certiorari in either a 911 case or a responding
officer case will be insufficient because courts will continue to narrowly
limit their definition of “testimonial” statements only to those expressly
declared “testimonial” by this Court.

6

criminal trial to probe the government’s evidence against
them—especially where that evidence consists of accusatory
statements to known government agents.’ This understanding
of the Sixth Amendment right, where confrontation of per-
cipient witnesses is the norm, is grounded in the detailed
discourse in Crawford of the common-law origins of the
Confrontation Clause and the value accorded to the practice
of adversarial testing.

Throughout its opinion in Crawford, the Court repeatedly
reaffirmed the common-law roots of the confrontation guar-
antee, noting that the Clause is “most naturally read as a ref-
erence to the right of confrontation at common law, admitting
only those exceptions established at the time of the found-

* See, e.g., United States v. Summers, 2005 WL 1694031 (10th Cir.
(N.M.) Jul. 21, 2005) (statement by defendant’s companion made to po-
lice testimonial); United States v. Arnold, 410 F.3d 895 (6th Cir. 2005)
(accusations to police testimonial); United States v. Bordeaux, 400 F.3d
548 (8th Cir. 2005) (accusations to “forensic interviewer” testimonial);
United States v. Solomon, 399 F.3d 1231 (10th Cir. 2005) (statement
by defendant’s companion made to police testimonial); United States v.
Cromer, 389 F.3d 662 (6th Cir. 2004) (accusations to police testimonial);
People v. Adams, 16 Cal Rptr. 3d 237, 244 (Cal. App.) (accusations to
responding police officers testimonial), review granted, (Cal. 2004); Lopez
v. State, 888 So. 2d 693 (Fla. App. 2004) (same); Miller v. State, 2005
WL 1423393 (Ga. App. June 20, 2005) (same); State v. Grace, 111 P.3d
28 (Haw. App. 2005) (same); /n re E.H., 823 N.E.2d 1029, 1036 (Ill. App.
2005) (absentee complainant “bore accusatory testimony” because out-of-
court accusations were repeated in court); State v. Snowden, 867 A.2d 314
(Md. 2005) (accusations to sexual abuse investigator testimonial); State v.
Clark, 598 S.E.2d 213 (N.C. App.) (statements to police testimonial), re-
view denied, 601 S.E.2d 866 (N.C. 2004); State v. Lewis, 603 S.E.2d 559
(N.C. App.) (same), review allowed and appeal dismissed, 608 S.E.2d 60
(N.C. 2004); People v. Cortes, 781 N.Y.S.2d 401 (N.Y. Sup. Ct. 2004) (911
call testimonial); State v. Hill, 827 N.E.2d 351 (Ohio App. 2005) (accusa-
tion to responding police officer testimonial); Mason v. State, 2005S WL
1531286 (Tex. App. June 30, 2005) (same); cf State v. Branch, 865 A.2d
673, 692 (N.J. 2005) (in order to “pay proper respect to the principles
animating our Confrontation Clause jurisprudence,” excited utterances to
police inadmissible).

7

ing.” 541 U.S. at 54; see also id. at 54n.5 (“the Sixth Amend-
ment incorporated the common-law right of confrontation’’);
id. at 68 (“the Sixth Amendment demands what the common
law required”). In 1791, these exceptions were limited. See
id. at 54 n.5 (“Marian examinations were admissible . . . only
because the statutes derogated from the common law” but
that by 1791 “even the statutory-derogation view had been
rejected”); id. at 56 n.6 & 58 n.8 (delineating established
exceptions to common-law confrontation right as of 1791;
spontaneous declarations not part of the res gestae were not
then established).

Although the Court in Crawford noted that “the principal
evil at which the Confrontation Clause was directed was the
civil-law mode of criminal procedure,” 541 U.S. at 50, it gave
no indication that the constitutional right to confrontation
was meant solely to prevent the replication of these historic
abuses of the common-law right, while leaving functionally
equivalent encroachments unregulated. Rather, the Court en-
dorsed as a whole the common-law understanding that defen-
dants should be permitted to confront their accusers—the
“witnesses against” them—before the trier of fact in order to
elicit additional information, probe inconsistencies or un-
truths, and thereby demonstrate reason to doubt the govern-
ment’s charges. Jd. at 43-56, 61-62, 66-68. The Court also
indicated that, where there was no “direct evidence” of the
Framers’ reaction to modern-day limitations on confrontation,
courts should employ a “reasonable inference” analysis to
preserve confrontation rights. /d. at 52 n.3.

The reliance on the common-law confrontation right as
the baseline organizing principle for identifying “testimonial”
statements comports with the Court’s discussion of adver-
sarial testing as the fundamental procedural guarantor of reli-
ability:

{The Confrontation Clause] commands . . . that reliabil-

ity be assessed . . . by testing in the crucible of cross-
examination . . . . [and] thus reflects a judgment, not

8

only about the desirability of reliable evidence . . . , but
about how reliability can best be determined. Cf 3
Blackstone, Commentaries, at 373 (“This open examina-
tion of witnesses . . . is much more conducive to the
clearing up of truth”); M. Hale, History and Analysis of
the Common Law of England 258 (1713) (adversarial
testing “beats and bolts out the Truth much better”).

541 U.S. at 61-62; see also id. at 62 (condemning Roberts be-
cause “it allows a jury to hear evidence untested by the adver-
sary process, based on a mere judicial determination of
reliability”).

Despite these many indications in Crawford that the object
of the testimonial inquiry is to promote the practice of bring-
ing live witnesses into court and to ensure today at least as
broad an opportunity for cross-examination as existed in
1791, some appellate courts have taken a quite different
approach. These courts accord little or no import to whether
a person is, within a common-law or common-sense under-
standing, functioning as a “witness against” the defendant at
trial, and they minimize, if not entirely disregard, the utility
of adversarial testing. Much as they did under Ohio v.
Roberts, these courts continue to act as gatekeepers and make
subjective determinations about the need for confrontation
based on ahistorical, arbitrary, and manipulable tests that re-
duce the confrontation right to a technicality. In order to find
support for their varying pliable tests, these courts read iso-
lated passages of Crawford out of context and ignore this
Court’s reliance on the common law and “the principles [it]
sought to vindicate.” United States v. Booker, 125 S. Ct. 738,
753 (2005).

B. Roberts Redux: Conditioning the Right to Con-
frontation On Speculation About the Absentee
Witness’s Subjective Motivation.

Instead of asking whether confrontation would have been
required at common law as it existed in 1791, the Washington

9

Supreme Court, like many others,® held that assessing whether
a statement made in a 911 call is testimonial involves “scruti-
niz[ing] {the call] . . . to determine whether it is a call for help
to be rescued or whether it is generated by a desire to bear
witness.” Pet. App. at 5. The court noted that Ms. McCottry
had made her accusations to the 911 operator “as part of an
ongoing emergency situation” while she was “crying and hys-
terical,” id. at 6, and found that she was subjectively moti-
vated to “call{] 911 because she was in immediate danger.”
Id. at 7. Based on its supposition that the absent Ms. Mc-
Cottry’s single subjective motive to speak to the 911 operator
was to “call for help,” the court held that her accusatory state-
ments were nontestimonial and were admissible without con-
- frontation. /d. at 6-7.

* See, e.g., United States v. Brun, 2005 WL 1797451 at *3 (8th Cir.
(Minn.) Aug. 1, 2005) (“emotional and spontaneous” 911 call nontestimo-
nial); Massey v. Lamarque, 2005 WL 1140025 (9th Cir. May 9, 2005)
(“spontaneous” accusation by “upset” witness on 911 tape nontestimo-
nial); Anderson v. State, 111 P.3d 350, 354 (Alaska App. 2005) (accusa-
tory “excited response” to responding police officer nontestimonial);
People v. Aubrey, 2004 WL 2378400, at *7 (Cal. App.) (911 call nontes-
timonial because it was “a cry for help”), review denied, (Cal. Jan 12,
2005); People v. Caudillo, 19 Cal. Rptr. 3d 574, 590 (2004) (911 call non-
testimonial where caller-witness reported crime to “protect the commu-
nity”); Hammon, 829 N.E.2d at 458 (accusatory excited utterances to
responding police officer nontestimonial where witness’s motivation was
simply “to convey basic facts”); State v. Barnes, 854 A.2d 208 (Me. 2004)
(accusations made by “stressed” complainant who drove to police station
on her own initiative nontestimonial); People v. Walker, 697 N.W.2d 159
(Mich. App. 2005) (“excited” accusations to neighbor and police nontes-
timonial); State v. Wright, 686 N.W.2d 295 (Minn. App.) (accusations in
911 call nontestimonial because complainant was seeking aid), review
granted, (Minn. 2004); People v. Coleman, 791 N.Y.S.2d 112 (N.Y. App.
Div. 2005) (same); People v. Moscat, 777 N.Y.S.2d 875 (N.Y. Crim. Ct.
2004) (same); State v. Cannaday, 2005 WL 736583 (Ohio App. Mar. 31,
2005) (accusations by “upset” complainant to police nontestimonial);
Commonwealth v. Gray, 867 A.2d 560 (Pa. App. 2005) (excited utter-
ances to responding police officers nontestimonial); State v. Anderson,
2005 WL 171441 (Tenn. App. Jan 27, 2005) (same); Key v. State, 2005
WL 467167 (Tex. App. Feb. 28, 2005) (same).

10

In amici’s view, this focus on the subjective motivations of
the speaker as the pivotal factor in the “testimonial” analysis
cannot be reconciled with Crawford’s insistence on the com-
mon law as the touchstone for determining which statements
require an opportunity for confrontation. Nothing in the com-
mon-law history suggests that the subjective motivations of
the speaker should play any role in the analysis of which
statements are “testimonial” and therefore necessitate con-
frontation. Thus, as the Court explained in Crawford, 541
U.S. at 62, the Framers’ objection to Sir Walter Raleigh’s
trial, a quintessential common-law confrontation abuse, had
nothing to do with Lord Cobham’s subjective motivations for
writing his accusatory letter or testifying before the Privy
Council. Indeed, the whole point of confrontation would have
been to allow Raleigh to explore Cobham’s subjective moti-
vations in making the accusations, by “confront[ing] Cobham
in court, where he could cross-examine him and try to expose
his accusation as a lie.” /d.

A focus on the subjective motivations of the absentee wit-
ness not only has no foundation in the common law, but also
runs afoul of this Court’s efforts in Crawford to disentangle
the confrontation guarantee from hearsay rules. Like a sub-
jective test for “testimonial” statements, what constitutes ad-
missible hearsay as an excited utterance or a spontaneous
declaration also turns on the subjective motivation of the
speaker. These statements are deemed to be motivated by the
exciting event—not by any conscious design, much less the
desire to bear witness. See, e.g., Pet. App. at 15. In fact, the
Washington Supreme Court favorably cited a California ap-
pellate court decision that observed that “it is difficult to per-
ceive circumstances under which a statement qualifying as an
excited utterance would be testimonial.” Pet. App. at 5; but

° Numerous courts have held that statements admissible under Roberts as
“excited utterances” or “spontaneous declarations” by their very nature
cannot be “testimonial” under Crawford. See Pet. at 10-11.

1]

see Crawford, 541 U.S. at 58 n.8 (spontaneous declaration in
White was “testimonial”). By focusing on precisely the same
factors that a court would look to in determining whether to
apply the “excited utterance” exception to the hearsay rule,
the Washington Supreme Court’s analysis improperly “leav[es]
the Sixth Amendment’s protection to the vagaries of the rules
of evidence,” Crawford, 541 U.S. at 61, and its analysis of the
confrontation question is virtually indistinguishable from
what it would have been under Roberts.

Moreover, a test that turns on speculative assumptions
about an absent witness’s subjective motivations is inconsis-
tent both with this Court’s admonition in Crawford that “only
cross-examination could reveal” a witness’s “perception of
her situation,” 54] U.S at 66, and with this Court’s suggestion
that testimonial statements may be identified by examining
whether the circumstances surrounding the statement “would
lead an objective witness reasonably to believe that the
statement would be available for use at a later trial.” Jd. at 52
(emphasis added). An objective analysis under Crawford of
what a witness anticipates (as opposed to what her motives
are), would, as it did under the common law, focus on
whether the statement is an accusation of a completed crime,
whether it was made to a known government agent, and
whether, given these factors, a reasonable person would know
the statement is one that might be used in a criminal
proceeding. In addition to their historical accuracy, reliance
on these objective factors makes it easy to determine when
confrontation will be required.

By contrast, reliance on the subjective motivation test es-
poused by the Washington Supreme Court and others makes it
nearly impossible to predict whether a court will require
confrontation for a particular statement. In Mr. Davis’s case, the
Washington Supreme Court focused on the emergency situation
and Ms. McCottry’s emotional upset as a basis for its sup-
position that her subjective motivation was to “call for help.”
But, as the dissent noted, there was contrary record evidence that

12

Ms. McCottry “never ask[ed] for help,” Pet. App. 10, and, when
asked if she needed an “aid car,” told the 911 operator, “no I’m
alright.” Jd. at 25. This, in conjunction with the accusatory
nature of her statements and the fact that they were made to a
government agent, could have supported a conclusion—under
the same subjective test—that her subjective motivation was to
bear witness because she must have known that her statements
would be available for use in a later criminal proceeding.
Moreover, it is entirely possible and reasonable to conclude on
this record, as in many of these cases, that Ms. McCottry had
multiple motivations for speaking to the 911 operator,’ rendering
the subjective motivation test all the more unpredictable and
difficult to employ.

Finally, of particular concern to amici, adopting a subjec-
tive motivation test for “testimonial” statements where the
right to confrontation under a given set of facts will “vary
from place to place and from time to time” presents a host of
problems for practitioners. In addition to encountering grave
difficulties in advising a client pre-trial about her Sixth
Amendment rights, defense counsel would face obstacles in
seeking to assert the client’s confrontation rights at trial. In
the regular course, defense counsel will not have had access
to the absent percipient witnesses, thus making it difficult for
counsel to challenge the prosecution’s assertions about the
percipient witnesses’ subjective motivations. More troubling
is the Washington Supreme Court’s apparent suggestion that

” Even if one of those motives were to seek aid, that should not obviate
confrontation, because the desire to seek help does not preclude a witness
from telling untruths. See, e.g., United States v. Wilmore, 38\ F.3d 868
(9th Cir. 2004) (911 caller made false accusations in order to get the police
to respond quickly to her home).

* See Devenpeck v. Alford, 125 S. Ct. 588, 594 (2004) (condemning stan-
dard of probable cause that turned on officer’s subjective reason for mak-
ing arrest, explaining that it is intolerable for the constitutional validity
of the exact same arrest to turn on the officer's stated reasons for making
the arrest).

13

a defendant has some unspecified burden to affirmatively
present “evidence” about the witness’s subjective motivations
in speaking with police or he risks losing the nght to confront
the witness. Pet. App. at 6 (denial of confrontation affirmed
in part because “no evidence that McCottry” subjectively
possessed or was influenced by “common knowledge” that
taped 911 calls could be used as evidence). Nothing in the
common-law history of the Confrontation Clause or this
Court’s Crawford decision even hints that a defendant’s
confrontation rights turn on his ability to affirmatively prove
the absent witness’s subjective desire to bear witness. In
addition to all the other problems with a subjective motiva-
tion test, the contrary suggestion by the Washington Supreme
Court and other courts illustrates the urgent need for this
Court to intervene and provide lower courts with further
guidance on this issue.

C. Roberts Redux: Limiting Confrontation to
Only Those Statements That Mirror Tangential
Aspects of the Common-Law Abuses.

The Washington Supreme Court, like many others around
the country, concluded without meaningful analysis that the
Sixth Amendment right to confrontation also turns on
whether an out-of-court witness statement sufficiently dupli-
cates the formality or some other tangential aspect of the ex
parte examination practice that was of immediate concern to
the Framers.” Thus, the Court also affirmed the denial of con-

* See, e.g., Anderson, 111 P.3d at 357-58 (concurrence) (testimonial
statements are the product of “the kind of formal, systematic questioning
that was characteristic of the English inquisitonal practices that prompted
the enactment of the Confrontation Clause”); Aubrey, 2004 WL 2378400,
at *6 (accusations made to investigating police officer and 911 operator
nontestimonial where court “could not believe that the framers would
have seen a striking resemblance” between them and a justice of the peace’s
pre-tnal examination”); People v. Cage, 15 Cal. Rptr. 3d 846, 854 (Cal.
App. 2004) (accusations made to doctor nontestimonial because he “was
not performing any function remotely resembling that of a Tudor, Stuart

14

frontation in Mr. Davis’s case because “[Ms.] McCottry’s 911
call cannot accurately be described as an ex parte examina-
tion or its functional equivalent.” Pet. App. at 6.

Telephones, 911 operators, and professional police forces did
not exist in 1791. Thus it is hardly surprising that the Framers
had no express views on the use of 911 calls at criminal trials.
But this omission merely proves why limiting “testimonial”
statements to those that mirror the specific abusive mechanisms
of Tudor, Stuart, or Hanoverian England is a woefully insuf-
ficient means of safeguarding the constitutional confrontation
guarantee. Any meaningful analysis must focus on the “func-
tional” problem of gravest concern to the Framers—the exis-
tence of patently unfair trials like Sir Walter Raleigh’s, in which
people were deprived of. liberty and life based on criminal
accusations to government agents that were never subjected to
adversarial testing. In that dispositive respect, Ms. McCottry’s
unconfronted accusations to a 911 operator can “accurately be -
described” as the “functional equivalent” of the abusive prac-
tices most familiar to the Framers, who were not so shortsighted
as to fail to predict that, if one particular means of evading the
common-law right to confrontation were closed off, the govern-
ment would inevitably find others.

It turns history on its head to ignore the salient aspects of
Ms. McCottry’s statements for confrontation purposes—that
they were accusatory and made to a known government
official—and to limit testimonial statements to those that
sufficiently duplicate the civil-law abuses of which the Fram-
ers disapproved. After all, the “abuses” described in Craw-
ford were only abuses at all because they sought to encroach,
through a veneer of formality, on the established, broad
common-law right that entitled an accused to confront his

or Hanoverian justice of the peace”), State v. Hembertt, 696 N.W.2d 473,
481 (Neb. 2005) (“Police interrogations bear a striking resemblance to ex-
aminations by justices of the peace in England” but police interview of
complainant eliciting accusations was not an interrogation).

15

accuser in open court. The sixteenth and seventeenth century
mechanisms used to evade the common-law night cannot now
be used to define the whole of that right as it is preserved in
the Confrontation Clause. Moreover, there is every reason to
believe that at common law the informality of 911 calls
would have heightened, not lessened, concerns about the use
of such statements in criminal prosecutions. Indeed, State v.
Campbell, 30 S.C.L. 124, 1844 WL 2558 at * 3 (App. L.
1844)}—a nineteenth century decision relied on by this Court
in Craw-ford, 541 U.S. at 49—made clear that the “emer-
gency” and “excited” nature of common-law coroner’s in-
quests made them even /ess amenable “to dispens[ing] with
any of the common law guards.”

The abuses-only construct of the nght to confrontation not
only misconstrues the parameters of the common-law right,
but also, as with the subjective motivation test for “testi-
monial” statements, permits courts to make entirely sub-
jective and unpredictable determinations as to when confron-
tation is warranted. In their efforts to determine when a
modern-day police practice sufficiently resembles the civil-
law abuses, some appellate courts have articulated a mish-
mash of possible characteristics of a testimonial statement (its
formality,'° its timing in relation to the alleged incident, '' its
timing in relation to the filing of criminal charges,'” the pres-

'° See, e.g., State v. Maclin, 2005 WL 313977 (Tenn. App. Feb. 9,
2005) (nontestimonial: “informa!” accusation to police responding to 911
call); Lee v. State, 143 S.W.3d 565, 570 (Tex. App. 2004) (testimonial:
recording statement made after roadside traffic stop rendered it suffi-
ciently formal); but see People v. Kilday, 20 Cal. Rptr. 3d 161, 173 (Cal.
App. 2004) (“presence or absence of indicia of formality” not “determina-
tive”), review granted, 23 Cal Rptr. 3d 693 (Cal. 2005).

'' See, e.g., Wright, 686 N.W.2d at 302 (nontestimonial: statement made
to police minutes after alleged incident); but see People v. King, 2005 WL
170727 (Colo. App. Jan. 27, 2005) (nontestimonial: time between injury
and elicitation of statements by police unknown).

? See, e.g, Aubrey, 2004 WL 2378400, *8 (nontestimonial: “no sus-
pect was under arrest, no trial was contemplated”); Lee, 143 S.W.3d at

16

ence or absence of structured police questioning,’ the loca-
tion in which it was made,'* the identity of the witness,'* the
identity of the auditor,’® the state of mind of the auditor,'’ the
state of mind of the witness'*). But these factors (none of
which captures the most important features of the civil-law

570 (testimonial: statement made after defendant’s arrest); but see Stancil
v. United States, 866 A.2d 799 (testimonial: made to police after scene
was secured but before arrest), reh'g en banc granted, 2005 WL 1653880
(D.C. June 29, 2005).

'? See e.g., Aubrey, 2004 WL 2378400, at *8 (nontestimonial: no
“structured [police} questioning, just an open-ended invitation for . . . [the
witnesses] to tell their story”); Barnes, 854 A.2d 208 (nontestimonial:
voluntary accusation); Davis v. State, 2005 WL 183141, *4 (Tex. App.
Jan. 27, 2005) (same); but see Talley v. Commonwealth, 2005 WL 387443,
at *3 (Ky. Feb. 17, 2005) (nontestimonial: government officers involve-
ment in statement’s production irrelevant).

* See, e.g., King, 2005 WL 170727, at *5 (nontestimonial: statement
made to police officer in noncustodial setting and without indicia of for-
mality); but see Barnes, 854 A.2d at 211 (nontestimonial: statement made
at police station).

'S See, e.g., Davis, 2005 WL 183141, at *4 (nontestimonial: police did
not consider who made accusatory statement to be “a suspect, an accom-
plice, or a co-conspirator”); but see Wright, 686 N.W.2d at 302 (nontesti-
monial: 911 caller expects to maintain “cloak of anonymity”).

'® See, e.g, People v. R.F., 825 N.E.2d 287, 295 (Ill. App. 2005)
(Crawford “applies only to statements to government officials”); Heard v.
Kentucky, 2004 WL 1367163, at *5 (Ky. App.) (accusatory statement to
grandmother and doctor nontestimonial, but accusatory statement to po-
lice testimonial), review granted, (Ky. 2005); but see Barnes, 854 A.2d at
211 (nontestimonial: statement made to police at police station).

"” See, e.g.. People v. Bradley, 2005 WL 1774080 at *7 (N.Y. App.
Div. July 28, 2005) (what is testimonial turns on “the objective of the
person posing the question”); Corella, 18 Cal. Rptr. 3d at 776 (nontesti-
monial: 911 call; 911 operator was “not conducting a police interrogation
in contemplation of a future prosecution”); Stancil, 866 A.2d at 812-13
(nontestimonial: made~to police officers who were “securing scene”);
Hembertt, 696 N.W.2d at 483 (same); but see Hammon, 829 N.E.2d at 456
(what is testimonial turns on motive of questioner and responder).

'® See Pet. at 10-11 (cases holding excited utterances are nontestimo-
nial); see also Brun, 2005 WL 1797451 (same); Key, 2005 WL 467167
(same); but see Stancil, 866 A.2d at 809°(some excited utterances are
testimonial); Hembertt, 696 N.W.2d at 482 (same); Hammon, 829 N.E.2d
at 456 (motives of questioner and responder are dispositive).

17

abuses, see Point II infra) vary, and it is unclear which factors
(or combination thereof) are dispositive. See 541 U.S. at 63
(unpredictability of multi-faceted Roberts test “fail[ed] to
provide meaningful protection from even core confrontation
violations”). This test is a return to the Ohio v. Roberts
regime so pointedly rejected in Crawford.

; *> ¢+ * &

Like Crawford before it, Mr. Davis’s case is a “self-con-
tained demonstration” of the “unpredictable and inconsistent
application” of the nght to confrontation, 541 U.S. 66, which
this Court should use to clarify which of the lower court
analyses more accurately reflects its vision of the confronta-
tion right. But Davis alone cannot capture the depth and
breadth of the post-Crawford confusion, and there is every
reason to believe that, even if this Court clarifies the applica-
tion of Crawford to 911 calls, further clarification will none-
theless be required in the responding officer context. See nn. _
9-18 supra (documenting the varied and conflicting factors
upon which courts are relying to deny the right to confron-
tation). Accordingly, this Court should also consider granting
review in Hammon v. Indiana, Docket No. 05-5705. This
Court has frequently used the practice of granting review in
two cases involving different permutations of the same issue
in order to provide more comprehensive guidance to lower
courts, see note 2 supra, and such a procedure would be
especially appropriate here, where the legal confusion stem-
ming from this Court’s Crawford decision is widespread.

Il. THIS COURT SHOULD CLARIFY THAT AC-
CUSATORY STATEMENTS ABOUT COM-
PLETED CRIMES TO KNOWN GOVERNMENT
OFFICIALS ARE “TESTIMONIAL.”

Like the tnal of Sir Walter Raleigh, Mr. Davis’s trial was a
“paradigmatic confrontation violation,” Crawford, 541 U.S.
at 52, when viewed through the lens of the common law.
Raleigh’s complaint and his contemporaries’ shame was that

18

he had been prevented from confronting his accuser, Lord
Cobham, in court and that Cobham’s unconfronted statements
to the Privy Council were used to convict him. /d. at 44, 62.
Like Raleigh, Mr. Davis was never permitted to confront Ms.
McCottry, upon whose out-of-court accusations made to
a known government agent—described by the prosecutor
in closing as “testimony”—the government’s entire case re-
lied. But although the Washington court acknowledged that
McCottry’s identification of Davis as her assailant was “es-
sential to the prosecution of this case,” it deemed her state-
ments “nontestimonial and properly admitted.” Pet. App. 7.
In so doing, it ignored their accusatory nature and deemed
significant that they were the product of a 911 call, not “an in
custody interrogation by police.” /d. at 5.

The text and history of the Sixth Amendment preclude a
definition of “testimonial” statements that authorizes the in-
troduction at trial of facially accusatory out-of-court state-
ments to known government agents without any opportunity
for cross-examination. First, a person accusing someone of
a past crime—an accuser—is the quintessential “witness
against” the “accused” in a “criminal prosecution” contem-
plated by the Sixth Amendment. U.S. Const. amend. VI; see
also Crawford, 541 U.S. at 43 (the Confrontation Clause has
its roots in the “right to confront one’s accusers . . . [in]
Roman times”); Bruton v. United States, 391 U.S. 123, 138
- (1968) (Stewart, J., concurring) (“[A]n out-of-court accusa-
tion is universally conceded to be constitutionally inadmissi-
ble against the accused”). Indeed, as in Mr. Davis’s case, an
accuser’s statements typically serve as the foundation, if not
the whole, of the prosecution’s case. “[T]}he legal community
at the time of the framing understood that at least a witness
who made an accusation against the defendant was the equiva-
lent of a witness against him.” Robert P. Mosteller, Remak-
ing Confrontation Clause and Hearsay Doctrine Under the
Challenge of Child Sex Abuse Prosecutions, 1993 VU. Ill. L.
Rev. 691, 750 (discussing King v. Brasier, 168 Eng. Rep. 202

19

(1779) (complainant impermissibly acted as a witness against
the defendant by virtue of the introduction of her unsworm
accusations at trial)).

Second, government involvement in procuring a witness
—statement about a completed crime—regardless of its precise
form—also should render a statement “testimonial.” As the
Framers were well aware, government involvement in secur-
ing witness statements always carries the potential for abuse
because it places the government in the position of ensuring
that the government’s side of the story is the one the witness
tells. Crawford, 541 U.S. at 53, 56 n.7. “Neutral” govern-
ment officers, 541 U.S. at 66, are trained to elicit the precise
information the government needs to sustain a prosecution.
See, e.g., Pet. App. 21-23.' There is only added danger when
the statements are elicited in haste, shortly after an alleged in-
cident, by government agents making an initial assessment of
the situation based on incomplete information because the
government may unwittingly pursue charges that only adver-
sarial questioning could expose as exaggerated or unfounded.

For these reasons, the involvement of known government
officials in securing witness statements also triggered (but was
not the sole prerequisite for) the common-law confrontation
right. A well-documented abuse of that right arose from the
introduction of sworn statements to justices of the peace (the
closest analog to our modern-day police) in lieu of live wit-
ness testimony. 541 U.S. at 43. Similarly, much of the evi-
dence introduced against Sir Walter Raleigh “in derogation of
the common law” was elicited from Lord Cobham by the

'? In the instant case, the 911 operator tracked the questions scripted in
the “Police Incident Interview Techniques” set forth in the city’s standard
operating procedures—questions that were drafted knowing that arrests
could be made based on information gathered from 911 callers. Pet. App.
9n.5 & 21-28; Pet. at 2 (quoting Standard Operating Procedures, Section
4, at 29).

20

Privy Council. Jd. at 44, 46.7 Thus, just as “(t]he Framers
would be astounded to learn that ex parte testimony could be
admitted . . . because it was elicited by ‘neutral’ government
officers,” id. at 66, the Framers would be appalled at the
widespread practice of convicting defendants based in large
part on “dial-in” 911 testimony or officers’ hearsay accounts
of complainants’ on-the-scene accusations. Richard Friedman
& Bridget McCormack, Dial-in Testimony, 150 U. Pa. L.
Rev. 1171 (2002).

There is no textual, historical, or common sense justifica-
tion for a definition of “testimonial” that compels confronta-
tion for statements derived from “in custody interrogation”
and that shelters from adversarial testing accusations that
have been made “informally” and in haste to government
agents. 541 U.S. at 61 (“the Clause’s ultimate goal is to
ensure reliability of evidence” through cross-examination).
That the Washington Supreme Court and many like it have
determined that the latter statements are not “testimonial”
under Crawford illustrates the critical need for this Court to
provide further guidance on this issue.

CONCLUSION

For the reasons set forth above, the Petition should be
granted.

° The historical record does not reflect that the Framers were con-
cemed exclusively, or even primarily, with ensuring confrontation only
for those statements made in response to coercive or overly suggestive
questioning by government officials. Indeed, many common-law abuses
involved witnesses (apparently labeled “bringers”) who made statements
to the Justices of the Peace and who “were extremely willing witnesses”—
thus rendering leading questions “unnecessary.” Robert P. Mosteller,
Crawford v. Washington: Encouraging and Ensuring the Confrontation of
Witnesses, 39 U. Rich. L. Rev. 511, 568 (2005).

PAMELA HARRIS

Co-Chair Amicus Committee

NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF
CRIMINAL DEFENSE LAWYERS

1625 Eye Street, NW

Washington, D.C. 20006

(202) 383-5386

Respectfully submitted,

TIMOTHY P. O’ TOOLE
Counsel of Record
CATHARINE F. EASTERLY
ANDREA ROTH
CORINNE BECKWITH
PUBLIC DEFENDER SERVICE FOR
THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA
633 Indiana Avenue, NW
Washington, D.C. 20004
(202) 628-1200

I
A a,

- o* *,, vais
vs i:

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0263%3A06. Public record. Not legal advice.
