# Respondents Brief — Watson v. Philip Morris Companies, Inc.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0251%3A08

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Respondents Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2007
- **Citation:** 551 U.S. 142

## Text

a

No. 05-1284 Lae G Ur sit

IN THE
Supreme Court of the Llnited States

LISA WAESONL ET AL..

Petitioners,

Pri ie NORRIS COMPANIES. ING. ET AL.
Respondents.

On Writ Of Certiorari
To The United States Court Of Appeals
For The Fighth Circuit

BRIEF FOR RESPONDENTS

MiRRAY R.GARNICK THE OborRt Bo OPSON
Jvstes ME. ROSENTHAL Comsel of Record
ARNOLD & PORTER LEP VIARK AL PERRY
S35 12th Street. NW. AIRC. TAY RAN
Washington, D.C. 20005 GIBSON. DUNN & CRE TCHER ELP
(202) 942-8000 1OS0 Connecticut Avenue. NOW
Washington. D.C. 20036
KENNET TIES. GEETER (202) 9SS-8S00
NIAY ER. BkRown, Rows &
\lvw LEP

l909 K Street. NW
Washington. DC. 20006
~( 202) 263-3000

Counsel for Re sPondents

QUESTION PRESENTED

The Federal Trade Commission requires that the tar and
nicotine smoke yields of cigarettes be tested using a single
method. The FTC performed the testing itself for 20 years,
and then delegated the testing function to the major members
of the tobacco industry. Respondent and others perform
those tests under the supervision, direction, and control of the
FTC, which reports the results to Congress and the public,
requires respondent to disclose the test results in its advertis-
ing, and permits respondent to use terms such as “light” to
describe the test results. The question presented is whether
respondent is thereby “acting under” a federal officer or
agency within the meaning of 28 U.S.C. § 1442(a)(1), such
that state-law claims directly challenging the federally man-
dated testing and disclosure regime can be removed to fed-
eral court.

ll

RULE 29.6 STATEMENT

The corporate disclosure statement included in the brief
in Opposition to the petition for a writ of certiorari remains
accurate.

il

TABLE OF CONTENTS
Page
INTENT sicicsinieseisanidiesincscteiceiiatitanivetiapinesiicaininitaiideaidiainbiiabmeneiaunpie l
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT ........0ccscsccccoscscossscecsecsnsesessoves 16
I TIDTTTE sciichehiesniiteiaeseciipinehtal abies 20

THE UNDISPUTED FACTS ESTABLISH THAT
THE REMOVAL REQUIREMENTS OF 28 U.S.C.
§ 1442(A)(1) ARE SATISFIED ................cccccsssegesseoresesers 21

A. PMUSA WaAs “ACTING UNDER” A FEDERAL
OFFICER IN TESTING AND DISCLOSING TAR

Sa 23
1. PMUSA Assists The FTC In The
Performance Of Its Official Duties................. 26

a. A Person Acts Under A Federal
Officer When Assisting The Officer ....... 27

b. PMUSA Assists The FTC When
Conducting Tar And _ Nicotine

Se cecilia ciltsilpenssiiileininiianeitéilbaididlaaatannis 28
2. Alternatively, PMUSA Is Subject To
The FTC’s Direction And Control.................. 33

a. A Person Acts Under A Federal
Officer When Subject To The
Officer’s Direction And Control ............. 33

b.. PMUSA Is Subject To The FTC’s
Direction And Control In Testing
And Disclosing Tar And Nicotine
Soin iessseciehichisileisiiciesieatathbeiiciahnenanesidinaniciinniads 37

3. The Parade Of Horribles Imagined By
Petitioners And Their Amici Is Illusory.......... 42

B. PETITIONERS’ SUIT RELATES To “Act{s]

Se a: 44
C. PMUSA HAS A _ COLORABLE FEDERAL
SEEPS PR I ne res RRR es es ee 46

aI sccicnniciniutienechinmstiisniitiatiiaiibaiasdasemaneiainialesasinansitil 49

iV

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Page(s)
CASES
In re Am. Brands, Inc., 79 F.T.C. 255 (1971) wrens 1]
Arizona v. Manypenny, 451 U.S. 232 (1981)... eee 20, 43
Brown v. Brown & Williamson Tobacco Corp.,

___ F.3d___, 2007 WL 470406.

EE TT iiceincsidinicsld ieeieiiitiianestinisiasdeltiabisekociiias 19, 46, 47
Brown V. Philip Morris Inc.,

ee Fe er Be icintiesenniintenetncinenssnininiiiniiiiti 32
City of Greenwood v. Peacock, :

a MTT icsnisitheeicelieecieiciopiedeishaeghabiobionniatia 24
Colorado v. Symes, 286 U.S. 510 (1932).......2, 12, 20, 22, 38
Davis v. South Carolina, 107 U.S. 597 (1883)........ 16, 27, 28
Dixson v. United States, 465 U.S. 482 (1984) ........... eee 32
Exxon Mobil Corp. v. Allapattah Servs., Inc.,

SII nis icicirhscatsctnsastnseniinindpnanisimsesnaiinniusiiienedaiia 21
Ford Motor Co. v. FTC,

og 4]
Franchise Tax Bd. v. Constr. Laborers Vacation

IA EE I FI ccsscsinrseeesitaccnensninisineiiintiagninnnsliie 22
FTC v. Brown & Williamson Tobacco Corp.,

olf} | ke 2 ee 9, 39, 40
Gen. Motors Corp. v. Abrams,

og ff Enno 4]

Gold-Washing & Water Co. v. Keyes,
ee COU I cisenisciiiomsinieninvitnnsiedinadenscnntiatenanentsacuniiiin 22

v

Good v. Altria Group, Inc., 436 F. Supp. 2d 132
(D. Me. 2006), appeal docketed,

No. 06-1965 (1st Cir. June 23, 2006) 0.0... ccceeeeseeeeeees 46
Hines v. Davidowitz, 312 U.S. 52 (1941)... ceceeeeeeeee 47
Int'l Primate Prot. League v. Adm’rs of Tulane

| ene 25

Izumi Seimitsu Kogyo Kabushiki Kaisha v.
United States Philips Corp.,

Fee SA iF GS icninsisnnniioniniimiaiiaial 44
Jefferson County v. Acker, 527 U.S. 423 (1999)............ 22, 47
In re Lorillard, 92 F.T.C. 1035 (1978)...........ccccccssssserecesreees 9
Lorillard Tobacco Co. v. Reilly,

Se CAN I GE cicrcristnininnmnienniaiiolinia ane 3
Magnin v. Teledyne Cont’l Motors,

ee fs BNI TOT 31
Maryland v. Soper (No. 1), 270 U.S. 9 (1926) .........cccecceeseeeees

sniesinialanentianiinnaaieniasibiunaindiammnimeitd 21, 22, 28, 34, 35
Mesa v. California, 489 U.S. 121 (1989).........0..0.... 21, 25, 46
NLRB vy. Bell Aerospace Co.,

SD GA te ATER cinccevssscticttcnenietinimsiaenaaiaiamaanl 41
Peterson v. Blue Cross/Blue Shield of Tex.,

Fee Fe BP NG Pi Pe icnecconistntiemniomiaiieiinaania 32
R.R. Co. v. Mississippi, 102 U.S. 135 (1880)... ee 22
Ryan v. Dow Chem. Co.,

781 F. Supp. 934 (E.D.N.Y. 1992)............ccsccsscsssessreores 14
Screws v. United States, 325 U.S. 91 (1945) .......cccceceeeeeeeees 20
Swierkiewicz v. Sorema N.A.,

Fe as SP ED certcsevininiccnintseinnisiaintiiinieliaaaae 22

Taylor v. United States, 495 U.S. 575 (1990) ......cccccceeceeeeees 22

vi

Tennessee v. Davis, 100 U.S. 257 (1880) ....21, 33, 37, 46, 47

United Parcel Serv., Inc. v. Mitchell,
ESE SE 26

United States v. Philip Morris USA, Inc.,
449 F. Supp. 2d | (D.D.C. 2006),

appeal docketed, No. 06-5267

I Sis MTT cccennciecnecennegencensneenesenmnenontested 42
Virginia v. Paul, 148 U.S. 107 (1893).......... andeiiiniineniuets 2, 38
Vt. Agency of Naturai Res. v. United States

ex rel. Stevens, 529 U.S. 765 (2000) ..........ccccccececeeeeeeeees 26
Willingham v. Morgan, 395 U.S. 402 (1969) .000.0....ccccccceeeees

ianeelsslltlssbieleilceindatienalideiintiniinademmennenees 18, 20, 21, 22, 25, 35, 44
Winters v. Diamond Shamrock Chem. Co.,

PEAY Ut ncrcncanneinesssesssnssccssseasnecosees 38
STATUTES
Act of Feb. 4, 1815, ch. 31, 3 Stat. 198.0000 eee 23
Act of Mar. 2, 1833, ch. 57, 4 Stat. 633 0000... eeeeeeeeeeee 23
Act of Mar. 3, 1863, ch. 81, 12 Stat. 756.000... ccc eeeeeeee 23
Act of June 30, 1864, ch. 173, 13 Stat. 241 0. 23
Act of July 13, 1866, ch. 184, 14 Stat. 171 2000 24
Act of Mar. 3, 1911, ch. 231, 36 Stat. 1097 00 24
Class Action Fairness Act of 2005, Pub. L. No.

acai eticrencermtennmennnenesconanees 21
Federal Courts Improvement Act of 1996, Pub.

es Ee PEMEINEE, SUEY ccceicscsccessscesesonestnessesseeecs 24
Securities Litigation Uniform Standards Act of

1998, Pub. L. No. 105-353, 112 Stat. 3227.00.00... 21

at 26

vil
a es Oe I nicsinrccercnteeetnimsienesintacnbetinnititaiidiieiimumnasbaenninnaiil 3
SE an eeiies UiP S ae ciicincrainiteinineentiisecinitepinicadihseitianiinieiiigahmanidiiiibaaanidaane 3
Seas CITT ciccitcuienerssitnsiccnieiicittiiniieticipaiihinsiaanadibiiiiiiastipialsiaaeal 32
I ii passim
as Oe CE ciraicsintnnnncettenmnitsitanninisiemsiuuicatinniiiatetsiinbii 22
ee Uk SUE hiersviccititenntcipsatinsiiprinnseentinguiiitininitnciahintapamniiaiiamanaiiaes 35
REGULATIONS
SA Ue Balt excetinciteocutinsennnineseapendeniibideeaiaiaiadivenniaenainionitiel 9
i & ) S sacceneanecinmnenanmaanetinatinsabenaiieiedt 9
16 CPR. § 2.34 .......n..nscsscrsssesnnsevesncsossnsenssessensessseconcsnssesenees 12
ey Cy, as Ce ccreenanscernicteciiteincicstnntntiinnticiaiiiita 3
30 FOG. Tam, 14.276 COy. 4, 1GGG) ccccccccccccescscccccccescccsesccsceves 5
ae 5
Fee Te BO i iccttrcncssceiccninnsmninnictaninnincintiia 8
48 Fed. Reg. 15,953 (Ape. 13, 1963)..........cccccccroccecccsceseseeeees 10
ee es Pe OR By Be cereccccccccscenscercccsnesimatnions 7
FD Fed. Reg. $1,960 (Oct. 13, 1994) .......cccccccccccscccocesccesceees 12
62 Fed. Reg. 48,158 (Sept. 12, 1997)............ccscccesseceees 10, 45
RULE
es ies apnea Cat iacstesicccnseerscnciercemisniiaheitieneiiiaiieniinnsiiaseamidasabinii 22
OTHER AUTHORITIES
142 Cong. Rec. $6517 (June 19, 1996) 0000... 36, 47
H.R. Rep. No. 308, 80th Cong., Ist Sess. (1947)................. 24

H.R. Rep. No. 798, 104th Cong.,
SRT ere me ee 25, 36, 46

Vill

RANDOM HOUSE UNABRIDGED DICTIONARY
NARS SSA ae RES AEST ETA ALE ES one ED 17,

WEBSTER’S NEW INTERNATIONAL DICTIONARY
OF THE ENGLISH LANGUAGE (2d ed. 1958)

WEBSTER’S THIRD NEW INTERNATIONAL
DICTIONARY (2002)

OPP eee eee eee eee eee eee eee eee eee eee ee ee eee)

BRIEF FOR RESPONDENTS

—

Respondent Philip Morris USA Inc. (PMUSA) respect-
fully submits that the judgment of the court of appeals should
be affirmed.

STATEMENT

Petitioners filed this putative class action in Arkansas
state court, alleging that PMUSA’s marketing of Cambridge
Lights and Marlboro Lights cigarettes violated an Arkansas
consumer protection law. At the heart of petitioners’ com-
plaint is a challenge to the testing system mandated by the
Federal Trade Commission (FTC) for measuring and disclos-
ing tar and nicotine smoke yields for all cigarettes. Because
PMUSA engages in the challenged conduct on behalf of and
at the direction of the FTC, PMUSA removed the action to
federal court pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1442(a)(1), which au-
thorizes removal by private persons “acting under” federal
officers and agencies. The district court denied petitioners’
motion to remand and, on interlocutory appeal, the court of
appeals affirmed.

A. Factual Averments

1. Petitioners allege that PMUSA’s representations that
its Cambridge Lights and Marlboro Lights cigarettes “are
‘lighter’ (i.e., lower [in] tar and nicotine) than regular ciga-
rettes are deceptive and misleading” under Arkansas law.
Pet. App. 64a. Although styled as a challenge to PMUSA’s
marketing of “light” cigarettes, petitioners’ state-law claims
are ultimately premised on the theory that the “testing appa-
ratus” that the federal government requires tobacco compa-
nies to use in measuring tar and nicotine yields—and upon
which descriptors such as “light” are based —fails to reflect
actual tar and nicotine deliveries to smokers. /d. at 63a. Ac-
- cording to petitioners, consumers of Marlboro Lights and
Cambridge Lights “receive higher levels of tar and nicotine
than the testing apparatus registers” because individuals

2

smoke cigarettes with lower yields of tar and nicotine more
_ intensely to compensate for the lower yields. /d. at 64a. Pe-
titioners further allege that PMUSA “designed Cambridge
Lights and Marlboro Lights to register lower levels of tar and
nicotine on the testing apparatus . . . than would be delivered
to the consumers of the product.” /d. at 63a-64a. Petitioners
claim that PMUSA “controlled the tar and nicotine delivery
of Cambridge Lights and Marlboro Lights cigarettes under
machine testing conditions apparently to achieve support for
[its] representations that [its] ... cigarettes are ‘light’ and
contain decreased tar and nicotine.” /d. at 64a. On behalf of
a putative class, petitioners are seeking unspecified compen-
satory and punitive damages. /d. at 71a, 73a.

2. Federal law authorizes removal of state-court actions
against “any officer (or any person acting under that officer)
of the United States or of any agency thereof, . . . for any act
under color of such office.” 28 U.S.C. § 1442(a)(1).
PMUSA invoked this provision because petitioners’ claims
directly challenge the results of the FTC’s testing methodol-
ogy, and because, by carrying out the tar and nicotine testing
and disclosure of which petitioners complain, PMUSA was
both assisting the FTC in performing its regulatory functions
and acting at the direction of the FTC.

As this Court has explained, “in all cases of removal
from the state courts, the jurisdiction of the [federal courts]
rests and depends upon the statements made in the petition
for removal.” Virginia v. Paul, 148 U.S. 107, 122 (1893).
Petitioners did not dispute the factual averments in
PMUSA’s Notice of Removal (see Pet. App. 58a); those
averments are therefore to be taken as true in determining
whether the prerequisites to Section 1442(a)(1) removal exist
in this case. Colorado v. Symes, 286 U.S. 510, 515 (1932)
(“As the [party opposing removal] did not join issue with any
of the allegations of the petition for removal, the jurisdiction
of the federal court and the validity of its action [in denying
the motion to remand] are to be determined upon the allega-

3
tions of the petition”). The following statement summarizes
the Notice of Removal (Pet. App. 74a-97a) and its supporting
documentation.

a. Congress has placed significant restrictions on the to-
bacco industry’s marketing activities, including through the
enactment of the Federal Cigarette Labeling and Advertising
Act (FCLAA). “[T]o the extent that Congress contemplated
additional targeted regulation of cigarette advertising, it
vested that authority in the FTC” (Lorillard Tobacco Co. v.
Reilly, 533 U.S. 525, 548 (2001)), which possesses authority
under Section 5 of the Federal Trade Commission Act
(FTCA) to prevent unfair or deceptive trade practices. 15
U.S.C. § 45(a)(1); see also id. § 1336; Pet. App. 78a. For
more than fifty years, the FTC has repeatedly brought that
regulatory authority to bear on the tobacco industry, most
frequently with regard to tobacco companies’ advertising and
promotional statements about the tar and nicotine yields of
their cigarettes.

The FTC has long sought to ensure that consumers are
provided standardized information about the tar and nicotine
yields of cigarettes that they can consider in making their
brand choices. Pet. App. 78a. Because the various tobacco
companies initially used different testing methods to substan-
tiate their tar and nicotine advertising claims, it was impossi-
ble for consumers to draw meaningful interbrand compari-
sons, and in 1959, the FTC directed the tobacco industry to
cease making all tar and nicotine claims, upon pain of an en-
forcement action for engaging in deceptive trade practices.
Pet. App. 79a; J.A. 12.

In 1964, the Surgeon General issued a report that con-
cluded that smoking causes lung cancer. J.A. 76. The report
prompted the public-health community to begin an intensive
inquiry into possible means of reducing the risks associated
with smoking. The FTC strongly supported that effort. See
29 Fed. Reg. 530, 532 (Jan. 22, 1964) (“it is the Federal

4

Trade Commission’s policy to encourage the development of
less hazardous cigarettes”).

Two years later, the U.S. Public Health Service issued a
report concluding that the “preponderance of scientific evi-
dence strongly suggests that the lower the ‘tar’ and nicotine
content of cigarette smoke, the less harmful would be the ef-
fect.” J.A. 25; see also Pet. App. 79a. In transmitting the
report to Congress, the Secretary of Health, Education, and
Welfare suggested that “requiring the identification of ‘tar’
and nicotine levels on packages and in advertising . . . would
be an important step and would result in the progressive re-
duction of ‘tar’ and nicotine levels because of public de-
mand.” J.A. 23. Public-health organizations made similar
recommendations to the FTC. Pet. App. 79a. The American
Cancer Society, for example, wrote to “express the convic-
tion . . . that the Federal Trade Commission can render a ma-
jor service to the health of the public by rescinding its restric-
tion relative to the mention of tar and nicotine content of
cigarette smoke in cigarette advertising.” Resp. C.A. App.
14; see also ibid. (“The National Interagency Council on
Smoking and Health hopes that [the FTC] will take the steps
necessary to make it permissible for cigarette manufacturers
to list tar and nicotine content on the labels of cigarette pack-
ages”)

The FTC’s response was immediate. To “augment in-
formation available to the public on the tar and nicotine con-
tent of cigarettes” and “prompt cigarette manufacturers to
develop less hazardous cigarettes” (J.A. 15), the FTC in 1966
lifted its prohibition on the advertising of tar and nicotine
yields (id. at 20). In an effort to facilitate consumers’ inter-
brand comparisons of tar and nicotine yields, the FTC pro-
vided that only statements substantiated by testing under the
“Cambridge Filter Method” (id. at 21), a technique for meas-
uring a Cigarette’s tar and nicotine yields that later became
known as the “FTC Method” (id. at 76), would be permitted.
Pet. App. 79a. The FTC explained that it “favor[ed] giving

5

smokers as much information about the risks involved in
smoking as is possible and to that end favor[ed] mandatory
disclosure of tar and nicotine content, as measured by a stan-
dard test.” J.A. 59 (internal quotation marks omitted); see
also id. at 21; Pet. App. 79a-80a.

The FTC Method measures the tar and nicotine yields of
a cigarette’s smoke using a machine that takes a two-second
puff on a cigarette every minute down to a specified butt
length. Pet. App. 8la. The tar and nicotine emitted from the
cigarette are collected and measured by the machine, and an
average tar and nicotine rating is calculated based on a sam-
ple of 100 cigarettes. /bid.!

Shortly after designating the FTC Method as the exclu-
sive means for computing tar and nicotine yields disclosed in
advertising, the FTC held public hearings concerning possi-
ble modifications to the test’s procedures. 31 Fed. Reg.
14,278 (Nov. 4, 1966); J.A. 27. During the hearings, Dr.
Clyde Ogg, the Department of Agriculture employee who
was the principal developer of the FTC Method, emphasized
that “|s]ince smokers vary so greatly in their smoking habits,
the [FTC] Method will not tell a smoker how much tar and

| The FTC specified detailed requirements for conducting the test:

1. Smoke cigarettes to a 23 mm. butt length, or to the length of
the filter and overwrap plus 3 mm. if in excess of 23 mm.,

2. Base results on a test of 100 cigarettes per brand, or type,

3. Cigarettes to be tested will be selected on a random basis, as
opposed to “weight selection,”

4. Determine particulate matter on a “dry” basis ... to deter-
mine the moisture content,

5. Determine and report the “tar” content after subtracting mois-
ture and alkaloids (as nicotine) from particulate matter,

6. Report tar content to the nearest whole milligram and nico-
tine content to the nearest 1/10 milligrams.

32 Fed. Reg. 11,178, 11,178 (Aug. 1, 1967); J.A. 46.

_ -

6

nicotine he will get from any given cigarette.” Resp. C.A.
App. 98. Dr. Ogg explained that the FTC Method “will indi-
cate, however, whether [a smoker] will get more from one
than from another cigarette if there is a significant difference
between the two and if he smokes the two in the same man-
ner.” /bid. PMUSA and other tobacco companies submitted
written comments that similarly explained that the FTC
Method did not approximate human smoking behavior. J.A.
31-32 (“The [FTC] Method does not measure the volume of
smoke—or the [particulate matter] or nicotine in the volume
of smoke-—that any human being will draw from smoking
any particular cigarette”) (emphases in original).

The FTC decided to retain the FTC Method as the exclu-
sive means for measuring tar and nicotine yields, despite its
knowledge that the methodology did not approximate actual
smoking behavior. The FTC explained that “[nJo test can
precisely duplicate conditions of actual human smoking.”
J.A. 53. “[T]he purpose of testing,” the FTC continued, “is
not to determine the amount of tar and nicotine inhaled by
any human smoker, but rather to determine the amount of tar
and nicotine generated when a cigarette is smoked by ma-
chine in accordance with the prescribed method.” /d. at 54;
see also id. at 53 (“The [FTC] considers it most important
that the test results be based on a reasonable standardized
method and that they be capable of being presented to the
public in a manner that is readily understandable”).

b. In 1967, as part of its effort to provide standardized
tar and nicotine ratings to consumers, the FTC took the
“highly unusual” step of opening its own laboratory to per-
form testing on the tar and nicotine yields of cigarettes. J.A.
85; see also Pet. App. 8la. Never before had the FTC in-
volved itself so directly in an industry, and it has not done so
again since. See J.A. 260 (the “operation of the cigarette lab
was really something that was unique”) (statement of C. Lee
Peeler, Deputy Director, FTC Bureau of Consumer Protec-
tion); Pet. App. 82a.

7

Notwithstanding the known limitations inherent in the
FTC Method, the FTC adopted that methodology because,
the FTC later explained, “the [testing] numbers provide le-
gitimate comparative information to consumers attempting to
lower their overall tar and nicotine consumption.” Resp.
C.A. App. 392. The FTC periodically published the results
of its tar and nicotine tests in the Federal Register and also

included the results in annual reports to Congress. Pet. App.
82a.

In 1987, the FTC closed its testing laboratory due to cost
considerations, and delegated responsibility for testing to the
Tobacco Institute Testing Laboratory (TITL), which is
funded by the major participants in the tobacco industry and
continues to this day to conduct tar and nicotine testing using
the FTC Method. Pet. App. 82a-83a. “The methodology,
processes and procedures that the ... TITL employ(s] are
identical to those the Commission . . . followed in the past.”
55 Fed. Reg. 42,768, 42,768 (Oct. 23, 1990). The FTC ob-
tains the results of that testing from the individual tobacco
companies and publishes the results in the Federal Register
and in annual reports to Congress. Pet. App. 83a; J.A. 48.
The TITL performs its testing “under the supervision of a
representative of the FTC” (55 Fed. Reg. at 42,768), who has
unrestricted access to the laboratory to ensure that the testing
is being conducted in accordance with the detailed specifica-
tions of the FTC Method. Pet. App. 83a; J.A. 86.

c. In the years immediately following the FTC’s deci-
sion to lift the prohibition on the disclosure of tar and nico-
tine yields, relatively few tobacco companies veluntarily dis-
closed tar and nicotine yields in their advertising. As part of
its effort to encourage consumers to rely on the FTC Method
results in making their brand choices and to facilitate the de-
velopment of cigarettes with lower tar and nicotine yields,
the FTC in 1970 proposed a Trade Regulation Rule that
would have made it an unfair or deceptive practice under
Section 5 of the FTCA for tobacco companies not to disclose

8

tar and nicotine yields in their advertising. Pet. App. 85a.
This proposal had the strong support of the public-health
community. Resp. C.A. App. 16.

At the FTC’s invitation, the leading tobacco companies,
including PMUSA, submitted a proposed agreement to the
FTC that required disclosure of FTC-measured tar and nico-
tine yields in all advertisements. Pet. App. 85a. The FTC
sought an industry agreement from the major cigarette manu-
facturers because, in the words of then-Chai:. ian Miles W.
Kirkpatrick: “The Commission’s objective is to insure that
all cigarette advertising make[s] these tar and nicotine disclo-
sures as soon as possible. ... A trade regulation rule, if con-
tested in the courts, might take a long time to become effec-
tive; a workable, voluntary plan by the industry could be put
into effect immediately.” J.A. 145; see also id. at 147 (“The
Commission believes that if the [industry agreement] oper-
ates satisfactorily, the public will, at the earliest possible
time, be informed of the tar and nicotine content of ciga-
rettes”); Pet. App. 86a.

Despite the FTC’s desire to secure the mandatory disclo-
sure of tar and nicotine yields as quickly as possible, the FTC
rejected the tobacco industry’s initial proposal as inadequate.
J.A. 159. The major tobacco companies thereafter submitted
a revised version of the agreement that included modifica-
tions to meet the FTC’s specific requirements. /d. at 160.
After subjecting the revised agreement to public comment,
the FTC accepted the agreement and terminated its rulemak-
ing proceedings, while reserving the right to reinstitute those
proceedings in the event of industry noncompliance. 36 Fed.
Reg. 784 (Jan. 16, 1971); J.A. 146. ;

Since the disclosure agreement went into effect in 1970,
the FTC has strictly policed its terms and ensured that the
major tobacco companies’ cigarette advertisements disclose

9

tar and nicotine yields, as calculated using the FTC Method.
Indeed, the FTC has emphasized that the “public interest re-
quires that all test results presented to the public be based on
a uniform method” because “{u]se of more than one testing
method would . . . only serve to confuse or mislead the pub-
lic.” J.A. 53. To that end, the FTC issued an advisory opin-
ion that instructed a tobacco company that “it would be de-
ceptive to advertise a tar figure which is higher than the latest
applicable FTC tar figure.” Jn re Lorillard, 92 F.T.C. 1035,
1035 (1978) (emphasis added); see a/so J.A. 202. The FTC
cautioned that “[i]f the headlined tar level [in an advertise-
ment] differs from the tar figure disclosed in accordance with
the cigarette industry’s voluntary disclosure agreement, con-
sumer confusion might be generated.” Lorillard, 92 F.T.C.
at 1035; see also J.A. 202. “[T]ar values which are set forth
in cigarette advertisements,” the FTC emphasized, “must be
consistent with the latest applicable FTC tar number.” Loril-
lard, 92 F.T.C. at 1036; see also J.A. 202.3

Similarly, when another tobacco company began includ-
ing testing results from an independent laboratory in its ad-
vertisements for a uniquely designed cigarette, the Barclay
brand, that could not be accurately tested using the FTC
Method, the FTC initiated an enforcement action against the
company. See FTC v. Brown & Williamson Tobacco Corp.,
778 F.2d 35 (D.C. Cir. 1985). The suit alleged that the de-
fendant’s use of results generated by a means other than the
FTC Method was deceptive, and culminated in a holding that
the advertisements violated Section 5 of the FTCA. /d. at 43.

The FTC has also repeatedly reevaluated the propriety of
its tar and nicotine testing procedures and studied whether

2 The agreement required tobacco advertising to bear the legend
“mg. ‘tar’, _ mg. nicotine av. per cigarette, FTC Report (date).” J.A.
167.

3 The FTC is bound by its advisory opinions. See 16 C.F.R. §§ 1.1,
1.3.

10

the FTC Method should be replaced by an alternative testing
procedure. Pet. App. 83a. In so doing, it has considered at
length the same methodological limitation—the FTC
Method’s inability to replicate the variability of human
smoking behavior and account for the tendency of some con-
sumers to smoke “light” cigarettes more intensely to com-
pensate for lower nicotine yields—that forms the basis for
petitioners’ claims. For example, in the early 1980s, the FTC
undertook a multiyear review of its testing methodology and
solicited public comments about whether the test should be
modified in light of compensatory smoking behavior to re-
flect more accurately smokers’ actual tar and nicotine intake.
48 Fed. Reg. 15,953 (Apr. 13, 1983); J.A. 129. Similarly, in
1997, the FTC initiated a still-ongoing inquiry into whether
the FTC Method should be modified or abandoned alto-
- gether. 62 Fed. Reg. 48,158, 48,158 (Sept. 12, 1997). To
date, the FTC has elected to retain the FTC Method, despite
its known methodological limitations, because epidemiologi-
cal evidence has suggested that lower FTC-measured tar and
nicotine yields are associated with reduced health risks (J.A.
85), and because the FTC Method provides consumers with a
meaningful tool for making interbrand comparisons regard-
ing tar and nicotine yields. See 62 Fed. Reg. at 48,158 (“The
purpose of the [testing] program was to provide smokers
seeking to switch to lower tar cigarettes with a single, stan-
dardized measurement with which to choose among the exist-
ing brands”); see also Pet. App. 80a-8 La.

d. A number of tobacco companies, including PMUSA,
use descriptors—such as “low tar,” “lowered tar and nico-
tine,” and “light”—in their marketing. The descriptors re-
flect the results of testing under the FTC Method and signal
to consumers that certain brands have lower tar and nicotine
yields under the FTC Method than other brands. The FTC
has repeatedly endorsed the use of descriptors and has re-
peatedly defined the term “low tar” in its annual reports to
Congress as denoting 15.0 milligrams or less of tar. See J.A.

1]

210 n.8 (“The FTC has not defined ... any term related to
‘tar’ level except for ‘low tar,’ which the FTC defines as 15.0
mg. or less tar’’); id. at 213 n.11 (same); Pet. App. 86a-87a.

In 1967, just two months after beginning testing with the
FTC Method, the FTC issued a policy statement explaining
that it “would not challenge statements or representations of
or relating to tar and nicotine content of cigarettes where they
are shown to be accurately and fully substantiated by tests
conducted in accordance with the standardized testing meth-
ods and procedures used by the” FTC. J.A. 15-16 (internal
quotation marks omitted); see also id. at 59. The FTC re-
peated this policy statement in its 1968 annual report to Con-
gress. Id. at 15-16.

Subsequently, through a series of consent agreements
with individual tobacco companies, the FTC reaffirmed that
tar and nicotine descriptors may be used to encapsulate the
results of the FTC Method. Pet. App. 87a. In 1971, the FTC
entered into a consent order with American Brands that per-
mitted the company to state “in advertising that any cigarette
manufactured by it, or the smoke therefrom, is low or lower
in ‘tar’ by use of the words ‘low,’ ‘lower,’ or ‘reduced’ or
like qualifying terms,” so long as “the statement is accompa-
nied by a clear and conspicuous disclosure” of tar and nico-
tine yields, as measured by the FTC Method. Jn re Am.
Brands, Inc., 79 F.T.C. 255, 257 (1971); J.A. 203; see also
Pet. App. 87a. Similarly, in 1995, the FTC entered into a
consent order with the American Tobacco Company prohibit-
ing it from making comparative claims about smokers’ actual
intake of tar and nicotine, while expressly providing that the
company could use descriptive terms such as “low,” “lower,”
and “lowest,” in conjunction with tar and nicotine yields un-

12

der the FTC Method. 59 Fed. Reg. 51,980, 51,981 (Oct. 13,
1994); J.A. 219; Pet. App. 87a.4

Against this backdrop, PMUSA introduced Marlboro
Lights in 1971 and Cambridge Lights in 1986, and marketed
its Marlboro Lights as having “lowered tar and nicotine.”
Both brands have always had less than 15 milligrams of tar,
as measured by the FTC Method; their packaging has always
borne the FCLAA-mandated health warning labels; and their
advertising has always included the FTC-required legend
disclosing tar and nicotine yields under the FTC Method.

B. Rulings Below

Petitioners moved to remand the action to state court. In
their motion, petitioners acknowledged that PMUSA “asserts
that it committed the acts complained of in the Complaint on
behalf of and at the direction of the United States govern-
ment.” Pet. C.A. App. 64. In their supporting memorandum
(at 2), petitioners labeled PMUSA’s extensive factual aver-
ments “fascinating, but ultimately irrelevant.” Neither in the
motion nor in the memorandum did petitioners dispute any of
the factual averments in the Notice of Removal or introduce
any evidence to the contrary. Indeed, they acknowledged
that there was an “undisputed factual record.” Pet. for Inter-
locutory Appeal 4. Accordingly, the averments in the Notice
uf Removal are taken to be both true and controlling for pur-
poses of evaluating the propriety of removal. See Symes, 286
U.S. at 515.

1. The district court denied petitioners’ motion to re-
mand. Observing that the “facts surrounding the FTC’s in-
volvement with cigarette testing and advertising are not in
dispute” (Pet. App. 58a), the district court surveyed the regu-
latory history at length, explaining that “{iJn addition to

4 Consistent with the FTC’s policy for all consent decrees, these de-
crees were published for public notice and comment before being final-
ized. 16 C.F.R. § 2.34.

13

mandating the disclosure of tar and nicotine values under the
FTC Method in all cigarette advertising, the FTC permits a
manufacturer to advertise a cigarette as ‘low tar’ or ‘light’ if
a cigarette’s tar value under the FTC Method is 15.0 mg or
less.” Pet. App. 29a. Indeed, “the FTC has . . . expressed its
view that cigarette companies engage in deceptive advertis-
ing ... when they advertise cigarettes as ‘light’ or ‘low tar’
without publishing [FTC] Method test results” to substantiate
such statements. bid. (emphasis added). The FTC also “in-
spect([s] the TITL testing facility, compel[s] cigarette manu-
facturers to disclose tar and nicotine ratings for all cigarettes
both to the FTC and in all advertisements, and publish{es] tar
and nicotine figures in the Federal Register.” /d. at 34a.

The district court “conclude(d] that [PMUSA] acted un-
der the direction of a federal officer within the meaning of
§ 1442(a)(1) when it cited the tar and nicotine values derived
from the FTC Method in its Marlboro Light and Cambridge
Light advertisements.” Pet. App. 41a. “The FTC has repeat-
edly examined the very inaccuracies in the FTC Method that
form the basis for [petitioners’] claims of deceptive advertis-
ing,” the court continued, but “the FTC continues to this day
to mandate use of the FTC Method for testing and advertis-
ing.” /d. at 43a. Petitioners’ “claim{] that [PMUSA’s] ad-
vertisements are deceptive,” the district court concluded,
“necessarily calls into question the FTC’s regulation of those
advertisements.” /d. at 44a.

2. The Eighth Circuit accepted petitioners’ interlocutory
appeal and affirmed. The court noted that “Section 1442(a)
requires that a defendant: (1) act under the direction of a fed-
eral officer; (2) show a nexus or ‘causal connection’ between
the alleged conduct and the official authority; [and] (3) have
a colorable federal defense.” Pet. App. 4a. The court deter-

14

mined that each requirement was met on the undisputed facts
averred in the Notice of Removal.>

With respect to the first requirement, the court of appeals
explained that “[w]hether a defendant is ‘acting under’ the
direction of a federal officer depends on the detail and speci-
ficity of the federal direction of the defendant’s activities and
whether the government exercises control over the defen-
dant.” Pet. App. 6a. “Mere participation in a regulated in-
dustry,” the court emphasized, “is insufficient to support re-
moval.” Jbid. The court determined that much more was
involved than ordinary regulation:

Here, the FTC controls the delivery of tar and nico-

tine information to consumers. ... [T]he FTC itself

conducted the entire testing process for twenty years

and now requires the cigarette manufacturers to

conduct the testing to its specifications. The FTC

continues to inspect the industry labs, independently

verify the results, and publish the ratings.
Id. at 9a. The FTC also “compelled the tobacco companies
to adhere to a testing and advertising standard that was
prompted by the FTC.” /d. at 10a. Indeed, “(t]he FTC in-
volved itself in the tobacco industry to an unprecedented ex-
tent,” id. at 13a, leaving the court of appeals “convinced that
the record in this case shows a level of compulsion that es-
tablishes that [PMUSA] was indeed ‘acting under’ the direc-
tion of a federal officer.” /d. at 10a.

The court of appeals also concluded that there was a
“causal nexus” between the FTC’s direction and the acts
challenged by petitioners. Pet. App. I4a. As the court ex-

5 The court noted a fourth requirement—that the defendant be a “per-
son” that it found satisfied. Pet. App. 17a-18a; see also id. at 35a (peti-
tioners “do not dispute that both of the Defendant corporations are ‘per-
sons’ within the meaning of § 1442(a)(1)") (both citing Ryan v. Dow
Chem. Co., 781 F. Supp. 934 (E.D.N.Y. 1992)); note 8, infra.

15

plained, by challenging the use of “low tar descriptors such
as ‘lights’ or ‘lowered tar,”” petitioners “claim it is deceptive
for [PMUSA] to use a low tar descriptor in conjunction with
its cigarettes’ FTC ratings.” /d. at 14a-15a. The court recog-
nized, however, that the FTC had determined that this con-
duct was not deceptive: “[t]he very combination [petitioners]
challenge as deceptive is the same combination the FTC re-
quires to not be deceptive.” /d. at 1Sa (emphasis in original).
Accordingly, “[wJhether |PMUSA]’s labeling of cigarettes as
‘lights’ is deceptive directly implicates the enforcement and
wisdom of the FTC’s tobacco policies” (ibid.), and petition-
ers’ “claims are sufficiently related to the FTC’s direct and
comprehensive control to establish a causal connection.” /d.
at 16a.

Finally, although petitioners did not dispute the issue,
the court of appeals considered whether PMUSA’s federal
preemption defense was “colorable.” The court had “no hesi-
tation in concluding that [PMUSA], in its Notice of Removal,
has set forth a colorable federal defense.” Pet. App. 17a.

Judge Gruender, who “fully concur[red] in the court’s
opinion and judgment,” wrote separately “to emphasize that
{the Eighth Circuit’s decision} should not be construed as an
invitation to every participant in a heavily regulated industry
to claim that it, like [PMUSA\], acts at the direction of a fed-
eral officer merely because it tests or markets its products in
accord with federal regulations.” Pet. App. 18a. “In this
case, as the court’s opinion makes clear, the FTC’s direction
and control of the testing and marketing practices at issue ts
extraordinary.” /bid. “Because the FTC passed the function
of performing the testing to the cigarette companies while
allowing them no independent control of the process whatso-
ever,” Judge Gruender concluded, “this is a rare case in
which federal officer jurisdiction is appropriate.” /bid.

16

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The undisputed averments in PMUSA’s Notice of Re-
moval establish that petitioners’ state-court action was prop-
erly removed by PMUSA pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1442(a)(1)
under either the “assisting” standard endorsed by petitioners
and the Solicitor General or the “direction and control” stan-
dard applied by the court of appeals.

A. Since its earliest iteration in 1815, the federal officer
removal statute has authorized federal officers, and private
parties acting on behalf or at the direction of federal officers,
to remove cases to federal court. The statute provides a fed-
eral forum for federal officers and those acting under them in
order to prevent state courts from impeding the implementa-
tion of federal policies. The current version of the statute
authorizes removal by “[t}he United States or any agency
thereof or any officer (or any person acting under that offi-
cer) of the United States or of any agency thereof, sued in an
official or individual capacity for any act under color of such
office.” 28 U.S.C. § 1442(a)(1). ;

1. Petitioners and the Solicitor General contend that a
person is “acting under” a federal officer only when that per-
son assists or acts on behalf of a federal officer in the per-
formance of the officer’s official duties. Although that inter-
pretation of Section 1442(a)(1) is too narrow, PMUSA’s
conduct would fall within the scope of the removal statute
even if the standard advanced by petitioners and the Solicitor
General were correct.

a. It is well-established that the federal officer removal
statute is at least broad enough to encompass private persons
who assist federal officers in discharging their official re-
sponsibilities. The Court has explained that “the protection
which the [removal] law ... furnishes to the [officer], also
shields all who lawfully assist him in the performance of his
official duty.” Davis v. South Carolina, 107 U.S. 597, 600
(1883).

\7

b. Under the undisputed averments of the Notice of Re-
moval, PMUSA assists and acts on behalf of the FTC by
coriducting the official tar and nicotine testing program that
the FTC itself carried out for twenty years. The FTC took
the highly unusual step of opening its own cigarette testing
facility in 1967 to ensure that consumers were provided with
reliable, standardized data regarding the tar and nicotine
yields of cigarettes. When cost considerations caused the
FTC to close its facility, it delegated testing responsibility to
PMUSA and the other major tobacco companies. The FTC
specifies the testing procedure to be used at the industry labo-
ratory and retains the unrestricted right to inspect the facility
to ensure that its detailed testing requirements are being fol-
lowed. The FTC obtains the testing results from PMUSA
and publishes the results as official government data in the
Federal Register and in reports to Congress; it also requires
PMUSA to disclose the testing results in its advertising, and
authorizes PMUSA to use descriptors such as “light” when
those claims are substantiated by the testing results. PMUSA
thereby assists the FTC in carrying out its official functions
of testing the tar and nicotine yields of cigarettes and provid-
ing consumers with standardized tar and nicotine information
that can be used in making brand choices. By performing the
official testing program on the FTC’s behalf, PMUSA “act/s}
under” the FTC.

2. In any event; the standard endorsed by petitioners and
the Solicitor General is unduly narrow. This Court has never
limited the federal officer removal statute solely to private
persons who assist or act on behalf of a federal officer. As
the court of appeals recognized, removal is also available to
private persons who act under a federal officer’s direction
and control.

a. To “act[] under” means to act “‘subject to the author-
ity, direction, or supervision’” of another. Pet. Br. 12 (quot-
ing RANDOM HOUSE UNABRIDGED DICTIONARY 2059 (2d ed.
1993)). Petitioners point to Section 1442(a)(1)’s “color of

18

... office” requirement in an attempt to limit the definition of
“acting under” to private persons who are exercising “official
authority.” This Court, however, has already authoritatively
defined the “color of ... office” language as requiring a
“*causal connection’ between the charged conduct and as-
serted official authority.” Willingham vy. Morgan, 395 U.S.
402, 409 (1969). The provision therefore distinguishes be-
tween conduct a private person performs at the direction of a
federal officer (which is a basis for removal) and conduct the
private person undertakes independently of the federal officer
(which is not a basis for removal). The language does not
impose an official authority requirement.

b. PMUSA is subject to the FTC’s direction and control
in testing and disclosing the tar and nicotine yields of ciga-
rettes. As set forth in PMUSA’s Notice of Removal, the FTC
has exercised uniquely detailed regulatory control over the
tobacco industry: It initially banned all references to tar and
nicotine yields in advertising, then reversed course and au-
thorized such disclosures when substantiated by the FTC
Method, and finally—through its 1970 agreement with the
tobacco industry—-compelled PMUSA and the other major
tobacco companies to disclose FTC Method tar and nicotine
yields in all advertising. The FTC performed the tar and
nicotine testing itself for twenty years, before delegating the
responsibility to the tobacco mdustry, subject to pervasive
FTC supervision. The FTC has authorized PMUSA to use
descriptors such as “light” and “low tar” only if they are sub-
stantiated by the results of testing under the FTC Method.
The efforts of petitioners and the Solicitor General to rewrite
the history of tobacco regulation disregard the controlling
averments in PMUSA’s Notice of Removal and the consis-
tent factual findings of both lower courts. ;

3. Although petitioners and the Solicitor General sug-
gest that authorizing PMUSA to remove would result in a
flood of removals by regulated industries, that suggestion is
contradicted by the unique history of federal tobacco regula-

19

tion. Although many industries may be subject to federal
testing requirements, it is exceedingly rare for the federal
government to delegate to an industry the responsibility for
carrying out official testing that the federal government itself
previously performed. Authorizing removal in this unique
regulatory setting would not extend Section 1442(a)(1) to
participants in other regulated industries.

B. In this Court, petitioners do not dispute that their
claims relate to “act|s] under color of ... office.” As the
court below correctly recognized, the “causal nexus” re-
quirement is met because petitioners’ lawsuit is a direct at-
tack upon the federal government’s national tobacco policy
and the testing methodology that the FTC has prescribed for
determining and disclosing tar and nicotine yields.

Petitioners allege that PMUSA’s use of “light” descrip-
tors is deceptive because smokers do not receive lower levels
of tar and nicotine compared to other brands, as is indicated
by the FTC Method. The FTC, however, has mandated that
the major tobacco companies use that testing methodology as
the exclusive means of calculating tar and nicotine yields—-
despite the test’s known inability to measure actual smokers’
tar and nicotine intake—and has authorized the tobacco in-
dustry to use descriptors to reflect the results of the FTC
Method. Because petitioners’ suit attempts to second-guess
the FTC’s regulatory decision-making, it should be heard in a
federal forum to ensure that state courts do not sit in judg-
ment over the federal government’s tobacco policy.

C. Petitioners do not dispute that PMUSA has a color-
able federal preemption defense. See, e.g., Brown v. Brown
& Williamson Tobacco Corp., __ F.3d __, 2007 WL
470406 (Sth Cir. 2007). The validity of that defense, of
course, is a question for the district court to address in the
first instance.

20

ARGUMENT

“(T}his Court has held that the right of removal is abso-
lute for conduct performed under color of federal office, and
has insisted that the policy favoring removal ‘should not be
frustrated by a narrow, grudging interpretation” of
§ 1442(a)(1)..” Arizona v. Manypenny, 451 U.S. 232, 242
(1981) (quoting Willingham v. Morgan, 395 U.S. 402, 407
(1969)). As the Court has explained:

The various acts of Congress constituting the sec-
tion as it now stands were enacted to maintain the
supremacy of the laws of the United States by safe-
guarding officers and others acting under federal
authority against peril of punishment for violation of
state law or obstruction or embarrassment by reason
of opposing policy on the part of those exerting or
controlling state power.

Colorado v. Symes, 286 U.S. 510, 517 (1932) (emphasis
added). “It scarcely need be said,” the Court continued, “that
such measures are to be liberally construed to give full effect
to the purposes for which they were enacted.” /bid.; see also
Willingham, 395 U.S. at 406 (“The federal officer removal
statute is not ‘narrow’ or ‘limited’”).©

6 Notwithstanding this Court’s repeated holdings that Section
1442(a)(1) “is not ‘narrow,”” petitioners twice refer to it as “narrow” on
the very first page of their merits brief. Pet. Br. |. Petitioners also sug-
gest that Section 1442(a)(1) should be strictly construed. /d. at 30 (citing
Screws v. United States, 325 U.S. 91 (1945)). The plurality in Screws,
however, addressed the removal of state criminal prosecutions, an “‘ex-
ceptional’ procedure” (325 U.S. at 111) that represents a significantly
greater infringement on state sovereignty than an ordinary civil removal.
Whatever concerns this Court may have about broadly construing Section
1442(a)(1) in the criminal setting, those concerns are wholly inapposite in
this civil action. See Willingham, 395 U.S. at 409 & n.4 (distinguishing
between civil and criminal cases with respect to the jurisdictional show-
ing necessary to remove under Section 1442(a)(1)). Indeed, although
Congress has provided only very limited means of removing criminal

21

The broad construction historically afforded the removal
statute reflects the reality that “[t}he legislation of a State
may be unfriendly. It may affix penalties to acts done under
the immediate direction of the national government, and in
obedience to its laws.” Tennessee v. Davis, 100 U.S. 257,
263 (1880). “For this very basic reason, the right of removal
under § 1442(a)(1) is made absolute whenever a suit in a
state court is for any act ‘under color’ of federal office, re-
gardless of whether the suit could originally have been
brought in a federal court.” Willingham, 395 U.S. at 406; see
also Mesa v. California, 489 U.S. 121, 136 (1989) (Section
1442(a)(1) “serves to overcome the ‘well-pleaded complaint’
rule which would otherwise preclude removal even if a fed-
eral defense were alleged”).

THE UNDISPUTED FACTS ESTABLISH THAT THE
REMOVAL REQUIREMENTS OF 28 U.S.C.
§ 1442(A)(1) ARE SATISFIED

To remove a case under 28 U.S.C. § 1442(a)(1), a pri-
vate person must adequately allege in its notice of removal
that (A) it was “acting under” a federal officer, (B) the suit is
“for an{] act under color of such office,” and (C) the remov-
ing party has a colorable federal defense. U.S. Br. 2. A court
may exercise removal jurisdiction if the removing defendant
is able to meet the requirements of Section 1442(a)(1) as to
any of the plaintiffs’ claims. Cf Exxon Mobil Corp. v. Alla-
pattah Servs., Inc., 545 U.S. 546, 560 (2005).

Thus, the central question in this case is whether “the
facts disclosed by the . . . petition for removal bring the de-
fendants within” the federal officer removal statute. Mary-

[Footnote continued from previous page]

prosecutions to federal court, it has repeatedly enacted legislation in re-
cent years expanding defendants’ nght to remove state-law civil actions
to federal court. See, e.g., Class Action Fairness Act of 2005, Pub. L. No.
109-2, 119 Stat. 4; Securities Litigation Uniform Standards Act of 1998,
Pub. L. No. 105-353, 112 Stat. 3227.

22

land v. Soper (No. 1), 270 U.S. 9, 32 (1926). In answering
that question, the Court “credit[s] the [removing defendant's}
theory of the case.” Jefferson County v. Acker, 527 U.S. 423,
432 (1999); see also Willingham, 395 U.S. at 407 (“The offi-
cer need not win his case before he can have it removed”’).
Where, as here, the removing defendant’s factual averments
stand undisputed, “no determination of fact is required, but it
must fairly appear from the showing made [in the removal
petition] that [the] claim is not without foundation and is
made in good faith.” Symes, 286 U.S. at 519; see also Soper
(No. 1), 270 U.S. at 33-34.7

Here, the undisputed facts set forth in PMUSA’s Notice
of Removal establish the prerequisites to removal under Sec-
tion 1442(a)(1). Petitioners’ complaint is, at its core, a direct
attack upon the official tar and nicotine testing program that
the FTC delegated to PMUSA and upon PMUSA’s com-
pelled disclosure of (and reliance on) those testing results.
Petitioners allege that PMUSA’s use of descriptors based on
FTC Method results in its advertising is deceptive because
consumers of Marlboro Lights and Cambridge Lights “re-
ceive higher levels of tar and nicotine than the [FTC-

7 Where a case is removable on the basis of a federal defense, the
courts look to the removal papers to establish the bases of federal juris-
diction. Franchise Tax Bd. vy. Constr. Laborers Vacation Trust, 463 U.S.
1, 11 n.9 (1983) (citing R.R. Co. v. Mississippi, 102 U.S. 135, 140 (1880),
and Gold-Washing & Water Co. v. Keyes, 96 U.S. 199, 203-04 (1878)).
The modern removal! statute requires only “a notice of removal . . . con-
taining a short and plain statement of the grounds for removal.” 28
U.S.C. § 1446(a). The “short and plain statement” standard is identical to
the one applicable to complaints filed in federal court, see Fed. R. Civ. P.
8(a), and the standards should therefore be construed equivalently. Tay-
lor v. United States, 495 U.S. 575, 597 (1990). Thus, a case removed
under Section 1442(a)(1) can be remanded “only if it is clear” that juris-
diction is lacking “under any set of facts that could be proved consistent
with the allegations” in the notice of removal. Swierkiewicz v. Sorema
N.A., 534 U.S. 506, 514 (2002) (construing Rule 8) (internal quotation
marks omitted).

23

required] testing apparatus registers” and because PMUSA
purportedly “designed Cambridge Lights and Marlboro
Lights to register lower levels of tar and nicotine on the...
testing apparatus . . . than would be delivered to the consum-
ers of the product.” Pet. App. 63a-64a. As detailed in the
Notice of Removal, the tar and nicotine testing results on
which PMUSA bases its use of descriptors are generated
while PMUSA is acting under the FTC because the FTC has
delegated its official testing responsibility to PMUSA and
has designated the FTC Method as the exclusive basis for
any statement relating to tar and nicotine yields in advertis-
ing, including through the use of descriptors.

A. PMUSA Was “ACTING UNDER” A FEDERAL
OFFICER IN TESTING AND DISCLOSING TAR AND
NICOTINE YIELDS

Since its earliest incarnation, the so-called “federal offi-
cer” removal statute has authorized removal not only by fed-
eral officers, but also by private parties acting at their direc-
tion or behest. Thus, the Customs Act of 1815 authorized
removal by “any collector, naval officer, surveyor, inspector,
or any other officer, civil or military, or any other person
aiding or assisting, agreeable to the provisions of this act, or
under colour thereof.” Act of Feb. 4, 1815, ch. 31, § 8, 3
Stat. 198 (emphasis added); see a/so Act of Mar. 2, 1833, ch.
57, § 3, 4 Stat. 633 (authorizing removal by “any officer of
the United States, or other person, for or on account of any
act done under the revenue laws of the United States, or un-
der colour thereof”) (emphasis added); Act of Mar. 3, 1063,
ch. 81, § 5, 12 Stat. 756 (authorizing removal by “any officer,
civil or military, or... any other person” for acts “during the
present rebellion, by virtue or under color of any authority
derived from or exercised by or under the President of the
United States, or any act of Congress”); Act of June 30,
1864, ch. 173, § 50, 13 Stat. 241 (extending the 1833 Act).

24

In 1866, Congress adopted the “acting under” formula-
tion that appears in the current statute. The Revenue Act of
1866 authorized removal by “any officer of the United States,
appointed under or acting by authority of [the revenue
laws],” and “any person acting under or by authority of any
such officer on account of any act done under color of his
office.” Act of July 13, 1866, ch. 184, § 67, 14 Stat. 171; see
also City of Greenwood v. Peacock, 384 U.S. 808, 823 n.20
(1966) (“Although, in the revenue officer removal provision
of the Revenue Act of 1866, Congress expressly character-
ized the ‘other person’ as one ‘acting under or by authority of
any [revenue] officer,’ that statute obviously drew on the
comparable characterization of the ‘other person’ in the Cus-
toms Act of 1815”) (citations omitted). The Judicial Code of
1911 similarly authonzed removal by “any officer appointed
under or acting by authority of any revenue law of the United
States” and “any person acting under or by authority of any
such officer, on account of any act done under color of his
office or of any such law.” Act of Mar. 3, 1911, ch. 231,
§ 33, 36 Stat. 1097.

“Prior to 1948 the federal officer removal statute, as here
relevant, was limited to revenue officers engaged in the en-
forcement of the criminal or revenue laws. The provision
was expanded in 1948 to encompass a// federal officers.”
Peacock, 384 U.S. at 820 n.17 (emphasis added); see also
H.R. Rep. No. 308, 80th Cong., Ist Sess., A134 (1947). The
1948 enactment also “expressly expanded the right of re-
moval to encompass ... any person ‘acting under’ any such
officer.” U.S. Br. 14. The 1948 version of the statute author-
ized removal by “{a]ny officer of the United States or any
agency thereof, or person acting under him, for any act under
color of such office.” 28 U.S.C. § 1442(a)(1) (1948).

Congress expanded the reach of the statute again in 1996
to encompass federal agencies (Federal Courts Improvement
Act of 1996, Pub. L. No. 104-317, § 206, 110 Stat. 3847,
3850), in response to this Court’s conclusion that the prior

25

version did not apply to agencies. See Jnt’l Primate Prot.
League v. Adm’rs of Tulane Educ. Fund, 500 U.S. 72, 76
(1991). In so doing, Congress explained that Section
1442(a)(1) provides a federal forum for “important and com-
plex federal issues such as preemption.” H.R. Rep. No. 798,
104th Cong., 2d Sess., at 20 (1996).

As relevant here, the current version of the statute au-
thorizes removal by “[t]he United States or any agency
thereof or any officer (or any person acting under that offi-
cer) of the United States or of any agency thereof, sued in an
official or individual capacity for any act under color-of such
office.” 28 U.S.C. § 1442(a)(1); see also Mesa, 489 U.S. at
134 (“the specialized grants of jurisdiction in the last clause
of subsection (1) concerning the apprehension of criminals
and the collection of revenue and subsections (2)-(4) of
§ 1442(a) are largely the ‘residue’ of the pre-1948, more lim-
ited removal statutes now entirely encompassed by the gen-
eral removal provision of the first clause of subsection (1)”).

Although the predecessors to the modern statute were
enacted “during times of discord between States and the fed-
eral government” (Pet. Br. 1), since 1948 the statute has ap-
plied to ail federal officers, and a// persons acting under such
officers, without regard to any such “discord.” Mesa, 489
U.S. at 126. Congress has determined that the very possibil-
ity of state disregard of federal prerogatives is sufficient rea-
son to invest the federal courts with jurisdiction to hear cases
involving the implementation of a federal program by public
or private actors. Willingham, 395 U.S. at 406. The statute
thus allows federal officers and agencies, and private persons
acting under them, to litigate their federal defenses in federal
court.8

8 The Solicitor General acknowledges that “the text and genesis of the
statute” indicate that “private persons” may remove under it (U.S. Br.
15), and petitioners made a similar concession below (Pet. App. 35a).
One group of amici supporting petitioners, however, contends that corpo-

26

1. PMUSA Assists The FTC In The
Performance Of Its Official Duties

Petitioners and the Solicitor General contend that a per-
son is “acting under” a federal officer within the meaning of
Section 1442(a)(1) only when that person is assisting or act-
ing on behalf of a federal officer in the performance of the
officer’s official duties. Pet. Br. 14; see also U.S. Br. 10 (“A
private person acts under a federal officer within the meaning
of the federal officer removal statute only when that person
acts on behalf or otherwise assists the officer in carrying out
the officer’s official duties”). According to petitioners, re-
moval is appropriate where “federal control and oversight . . .
is substantial and the tasks being performed are those that the
government might otherwise perform itself.” Pet. Br. 32-33.

Removal is authorized here even under the unduly re-
strictive standard advocated by petitioners and the Solicitor
General. Under stringent FTC “control and oversight,” the
industry-operated Tobacco Institute Testing Laboratory per-

[Footnote continued from previous page]

rations are not “persons” within the meaning of Section 1442(a)(1). Br.
Do» Public Citizen, Inc. et al. 6. This argument was not raised by petition-
ers, and thus need not be considered by this Court. United Parcel Serv.,
Inc. v. Mitchell, 451 U.S. 56, 60 n.2 (1981). It is, in all events, meritless:
The Dictionary Act makes clear that the term “person,” unless the context
requires otherwise, includes corporations. See | U.S.C. § 1. Nothing in
the context of Section 1442(a)(1) requires otherwise. Contrary to amici’s
contention (Br. for Public Citizen, Inc. et al. 10), it is hardly incongruous
for the term “person” to include private corporations but not agencies.
This Court has frequently given the term precisely that construction in
other contexts. See, e.g., Vt, Agency of Natural Res. v. United States ex
rel. Stevens, 529 U.S. 765, 782 (2000). Moreover, amici’s reading would
preclude many removals—for example, by government contractors—that
petitioners and the government concede are appropriate. See, e.g., Pet.
Br. 33; U.S. Br. 25. Indeed, it would make little sense for Congress to
authorize the employee of a corporation acting under a federal officer to
remove, but not the corporation itself.

27

forms tar and nicotine testing that the FTC had “perform{[ed]
itself” for twenty years. When the FTC closed its own test-
ing laboratory, it delegated its official testing responsibilities
to PMUSA and the other major tobacco companies, wi.ch,
under the auspices of the TITL, conduct tar and nicotine iest-
mg on the FTC’s behalf. The FTC obtains the results of that
testing from the tobacco companies and disseminates them in
official government publications. In this manner, PMUSA
assists the FTC and its officials in the performance of their
statutory duties.

a. A Person Acts Under A Federal Officer
When Assisting The Officer

This Court has already determined that the “acting un-
der” requirement of Section 1442(a)(1) is at least broad
enough to encompass—although not necessarily restricted
to—persons who “assist” a federal officer in the discharge of
his official duties.

In Davis v. South Carolina, 107 U.S. 597 (1883), the
Court held that an individual who shot a suspect while assist-
ing a U.S. marshal in making an arrest was entitled to remove
a state criminal prosecution to federal court under the Reve-
nue Act of 1866, which authorized removal by any “officer
appointed under or acting by authority of any revenue law of
the United States, or any person acting under or by authority
of such officer.’” /d. at 600. The Court explained that “the
protection which the [removal] law thus furnishes to the [of-
ficer], also shields all who lawfully assist him in the per-
formance of his official duty.” /bid.

Similarly, in Soper (No. 1), the Court concluded that a
chauffeur who drove federal prohibition agents during a raid
on an illegal distillery possessed removal rights under the
then-extant version of the federal officer removal statute that
were identical to those of the agents themselves: As a
“helper to the four officers,” the Court explained, the chauf-
feur had the “same right to the benefit of [the removal stat-

28

ute] as [the officers].” 270 U.S. at 30. (The Court ultimately
denied removal to all of the defendants due to the absence of
the requisite causal nexus between the challenged conduct
and the defendants’ official activities. /d. at 34.)

The history of the federal officer removal statute, and
this Court’s interpretation of it, therefore establish that pn-
vate persons may remove an action to federal court if they
were “aiding or assisting” the federal officer (Customs Act of
1815); “lawfully assist{ing] him in the performance of his
official duty” (Davis v. South Carolina, 107 U.S. at 600); or
simply “help[ing]” a federal officer (Soper (No. 1), 270 U.S.
at 30). These decisions do not hold that the “acting under”
provision of Section 1442(a)(1) is limited to defendants who
are aiding or assisting a federal officer in the discharge of
official duties. They do establish, though, that the provision
of aid or assistance is sufficient to meet the “acting under”
requirement of Section 1442(a)(1). Here, it is undeniable
that PMUSA assists the FTC in its tar and nicotine testing
program.

b. PMUSA Assists The FTC When
Conducting Tar And Nicotine Testing

PMUSA is “acting under” a federal officer because it
operates the TITL facility, which—subject to extensive FTC
oversight—performs the delegated tar and nicotine testing
responsibilities that the FTC itself carried out for two dec-
ades. PMUSA thereby aids, assists, and helps the FTC and
its officers to carry out governmental functions.

The FTC opened its cigarette testing facility in 1967 in
order to provide consumers with standardized tar and nico-
tine ratings and to encourage the development of lower tar
and nicotine cigarettes. The FTC adopted the FTC Method
as the sole testing methodology for use at its laboratory be-
cause it is the FTC’s position that “the public interest re-
quires that all test results presented to the public be based on
a uniform method.” J.A.53. “[T]he purpose of testing,” the

29

FTC explained, was “to determine the amount of tar and
nicotine generated when a cigarette is smoked by machine in:
accordance with the prescribed method” (id. at 54) and thus
to generate test results “based on a reasonable standardized
method ... capable of being presented to the public in a
manner that is readily understandable” (id. at 53).

As the former deputy director of the FTC’s Bureau of
Consumer Protection has explained, “the Commission’s op-
eration of a testing system for the industry at taxpayer ex-
pense was highly unusual.” J.A. 85-86. The FTC took this
unprecedented step in order to “provide legitimate compara-
tive information to consumers attempting to lower their over-
all tar and nicotine consumption.” Resp. C.A. App. 392.

When cost considerations forced the FTC to close its
cigarette testing laboratory, it delegated testing responsibility
to the industry-operated TITL, which conducts testing in ac-
cordance with the requirements of the FTC Method. The
FTC has unrestricted access to the laboratory and closely
monitors its testing procedures to ensure that the FTC
Method is being accurately followed. See J.A. 86 (“TITL’s
work is regularly monitored by the Commission’s contractor,
... who has virtually unrestricted access to the laboratory
and makes unannounced visits to inspect it and check the
testing process”); see also Resp. C.A. App. 652. The FTC
obtains the TITL’s testing results from the individual tobacco
companies and continues to publish the results in the Federal
Register and to disclose them to Congress, as it did the re-
sults of its own laboratory testing. Pursuant to the 1970 in-
dustry agreement on tar and nicotine disclosures, these re-
sults are included in the major tobacco companies’ cigarette -
advertising.

Just as the soldier in Davis was “assist{ing]” the U.S.
marshal in discharging his responsibilities under the federal
revenue laws and the chauffeur in Soper was “help[ing]” the
prohibition agents perform their official duties under the pro-

30

hibition laws, PMUSA was delegated and is assisting the
FTC in discharging its official responsibility under the FTCA
to test and disclose the tar and nicotine yields of cigarettes.
As an historical matter, PMUSA’s delegated responsibility
for testing cigarettes’ tar and nicotine yields is no different
from a private individual’s delegated responsibility to exam-
ine imported goods to determine whether they had been
shipped from England in violation of the Customs Act of
1815. Just as that prix ate individual was “aiding or assisting”
the customs officials who had previously undertaken that ex-
amination as part of their official duties, PMUSA is “aiding
or assisting” the FTC, which previously performed tar and
nicotine testing itself pursuant to its responsibilities under the
FTCA.

PMUSA’s right to remove under Section 1442(a)(1) fol-
lows from the undisputed fact that the FTC itself conducted
tar and nicotine testing for twenty years, before delegating
that responsibility to PMUSA and the other tobacco compa-
nies, which now perform that official function on the FTC’s
behalf. See U.S. Br. 27 (arguing that federal contractors are
entitled to remove under Section 1442(a)(1) because “they
perform tasks that the government would otherwise have to
perform itself through its own employees”). As petitioners
themselves recognize, “[t]o ‘act under’ means to act as a
subordinate or agent of another, subject to the other’s control
or supervision in exercising the other’s authority.” Pet. Br.
12; see also U.S. Br. 11 (“‘under’ is commonly used to de-
scribe a person or entity in a subordinate position who acts
on behalf of or otherwise assists the person in the superior
position to carry out the superior’s duties”). That is precisely
what PMUSA does when, subject to extensive FTC supervi-
sion, it tests cigarettes on behalf of the FTC. There is no
suggestion that the FTC lacked authority to conduct the tests
itself for twenty years, or to disclose the results of those tests
to Congress and the public; when the FTC ordered the indus-
try to instead perform the testing (under the FTC’s control),

31

the identical conduct was no less authorized by federal law.
And just as an FTC official could have removed a suit chal-
lenging the testing methodology and FTC-authorized de-
scriptors, so too may PMUSA.

The Solicitor General nevertheless contends that
PMUSA is “not producing a product or service that the gov-
ernment would otherwise be forced to produce for itself
through its own employees.” U.S. Br. 28. That assertion is
flatly contradicted by the undisputed fact that PMUSA is pro-
viding both a service (tar and nicotine tests) and a product
(the results of those tests, which are conveyed by the FTC to
Congress and the public) that the government previously pro-
duced for itself through its wn employees. Pet. App. 82a-
83a. Thus, when it comes to testing cigarettes for tar and
nicotine, PMUSA can hardly be said to be an “officious in-
termeddler.” U.S. Br. 13. The testing method is prescribed
by the FTC, the industry’s laboratory is inspected by the
FTC, and the results are reported by the FTC to Congress and
the public. The FTC has, effectively, contracted out its test-
ing obligations—the obligations it had shouldered itself for
twenty years in the exercise of its official authority-—to
PMUSA and other industry participants.

The Solicitor General points to Magnin v. Teledyne Con-
tinental Motors, 91 F.3d 1424 (11th Cir. 1996), as an exam-
ple of a case where removal under Section 1442(a)(1) was
appropriate. U.S. Br. 26. There, a private individual was
delegated authority to inspect aircraft by the Federal Aviation
Administration. Here, PMUSA has been delegated authority
to test cigarettes by the FTC. Thus, just as surely as an em-
ployee of the FTC’s testing laboratory would have been able
to invoke Section 1442(a)(1) to remove a suit challenging the
FTC’s methodology for testing cigarettes, PMUSA is author-
ized to remove this suit challenging the FTC Method, the
TITL’s testing results, and the corresponding descriptors be-

32

cause PMUSA has been delegated the FTC’s testing respon-
sibilities and is assisting and acting on behalf of the FTC.?

Based on the undisputed averments of its Notice of Re-
moval, PMUSA has therefore established that, under the
standard advocated by petitioners and the Solicitor General,
it is “acting under” the FTC ‘for purposes of Section
1442(a)(1).

9 in Dixson v. United States, 465 U.S. 482 (1984), the Court held that
officers of a private, nonprofit corporation that administered a federal
community development block grant were “public officials” for purposes
of the federal bribery statute, 18 U.S.C. § 201(a), because they were “act-
ing for or on behalf of the United States” within the meaning of the stat-
ute. The defendants had been delegated the official role of administering
a social service program established by Congress, subject to federal
guidelines governing distribution of the funds, and the Court concluded
that they were “acting for or on behalf of the United States” in imple-
menting that program. Dixson, 465 U.S. at 497. Like the defendants in
Dixson, PMUSA-—through its operation of the TITL—is “acting . . . on
behalf of the United States” by performing official testing responsibilities
delegated to it by the federal government. See Peterson v. Blue
Cross/Blue Shield of Tex., 508 F.2d 55, 57 (Sth Cir. 1975) (holding that a
corporation delegated official responsibility for administering aspects of
the Medicare program was entitled to remove under Section 1442(a)(1)).
Contrary to petitioners’ intimation (Pet. Br. 14), there is no inconsistency
in PMUSA’s argument that, on the one hand, it is “acting under” a federal
officer in its acts of testing and disclosing the tar and nicotine yields of
cigarettes, but that, on the other hand, it is a private company whose op-
erations in general are its own and not the government’s. See Brown v.
Philip Morris Inc., 250 F.3d 789, 800 (3d Cir. 2001) (rejecting a Bivens
action against the tobacco companies because they could not be consid-
ered federal actors). That a private party may carry a federal mantle for
some purposes does not mean that such an entity is coextensive with the
government for all purposes, including the constitutional constraints on
government actors.

33

2. Alternatively, PMUSA Is Subject To The
FTC’s Direction And Control

This Court has never established a definitive standard for
determining whether a private party is “acting under” a fed-
eral officer for purposes of Section 1442(a)(1). Although the
Court’s precedents indicate that aiding or assisting a federal
officer is sufficient to satisfy the “acting under” standard,
they do not establish that the provision of aid or assistance is
necessary to meet that requirement. Indeed, this Court has
never decided a case in which it has held that a private party
failed to meet the “acting under” standard, and thus the outer
bounds of that requirement have not been defined.

This Court has recognized that the federal officer re-
moval statute has particular application where state law “af-
fix{es] penalties to acts done under the immediate direction
of the national government, and in obedience to its laws.”
Tennessee v. Davis, 100 U.S. at 263 (emphasis added). In
this case, petitioners seek state-law “penalties”’—
compensatory and punitive damayes—for “acts done” by
PMUSA “under the immediate direction of the national gov-
ernment”—the testing and disclosure of tar and nicotine
yields—“in obedience to its laws”—the FTCA and FCLAA.

Accordingly, in addition to being entitled to removal un-
der the “assisting” standard endorsed by petitioners and the
Solicitor General, PMUSA is authorized to remove this case
under the standard applied by the court of appeals because it
was acting under the FTC’s direction and control when carry-
ing out the tar and nicotine testing program and when using
FTC-approved descriptors that correspond to those testing
results.

a. A Person Acts Under A Federal Officer
When Subject To The Officer’s Direction
And Control

As Tennessee v. Davis indicates, the “acting under” re-
quirement can be met where a private party acts at the direc-

34

tion of a federal officer. Indeed, the plain meaning of the
phrase “acting under” is to act “‘subject to the authority, di-
rection, or supervision’” of another. Pet. Br. 12 (quoting
RANDOM HOUSE UNABRIDGED DICTIONARY 2059 (2d ed.
1993)). It was thus no accident that the Court in Soper (No.
1) noted that the chauffeur was employed “under [the offi-
cers’] order and by direction of [a superior officer].” 270
U.S. at 30 (emphasis added).

Petitioners, however, suggest that the private individual |
acting under a federal officer must not only be subject to the
officer’s direction and control but also must be subject to that
control “in exercising the [federal officer’s] authority.” Pet.
Br. 12. This gloss on the plain meaning of “acting under”
has no support in the statutory text. A private company is
just as much “acting under” a federal officer when that offi-
cer compels the company to take, or refrain from, certain ac-
tion—for example, by prescribing the circumstances under
which the company can include specific language in its ad-
vertising—as when the federal officer requires the private
individual to perform a portion of its own official responsi-
bilities. As petitioners’ own dictionaries state, to act under
someone means to act “‘subject to the bidding or authority
of” that person (Pet. Br. 12 (quoting WEBSTER’S THIRD NEW
INTERNATIONAL DICTIONARY 2487 (2002))), and there is
simply no basis for reading into those two words an addi-
tional requirement that the person acting under a federal offi-
cer discharge the officer’s official responsibilities. See a/so
U.S. Br. 11 (“In ordinary parlance, the term ‘under’ indicates,
inter alia, ‘subjection, guidance, or control’”) (quoting
WEBSTER’S NEW INTERNATIONAL DICTIONARY OF THE
ENGLISH LANGUAGE 2765 (2d ed. 1958)).

To support their strained attempt to insert an “official au-
thority” requirement into the “acting under” clause, petition-
ers point to the provision of Section 1442(a)(1) limiting re-
moval to “any act under color of . . . office,” which petition-
ers contend “evinces Congress’s expectation that a removing

35

party ... will have some claim to have been acting in an offi-
cial capacity in carrying out public functions.” Pet. Br. 13.
But this Court has already defined the “act[ing] under color
of .. . office” requirement in Section 1442(a){1) as requiring
“a showing of a ‘causal connection’ between the charged
conduct and asserted official authority.” Willingham, 395
U.S. at 409. The “color of .. . office” requirement therefore
separates the conduct that a federal officer performs as a re-
sult of his official position (which entitles him to removal)
from conduct unrelated to that position (which does not enti-
tle him to removal).

Where a private person is “acting under” a federal offi-
cer, the “color of ... office” requirement similarly distin-
guishes between conduct the person undertakes at the direc-
tion or behest of the federal officer (which is a basis for re-
moval) from independent activities that are unrelated to the
federal officer’s directions (which do not constitute a basis
for removal). Thus, although PMUSA is “acting under” the
FTC at least some of the time, it is only entitled to remove
those suits that challenge activities undertaken in the course
of “acting under” the FTC. The “color of ... office” re-
quirement establishes the subject-matter constraints on the
cases that federal officers and those acting under federal offi-
cers can remove to federal court. It does not, as petitioners
suggest, superimpose an “official authority” requirement on
the “acting under” clause.!®

10 In light of this Court’s explicit and unambiguous construction of the
“color of ... office” requirement in Willingham, petitioners’ attempt to
analogize that phrase to the “color of law” requirement of 42 U.S.C.
§ 1983 (Pet. Br. 13-14) is specious. Whatever the definition of that dis-
similar statutory language found in a dissimilar statutory provision, it
does not undermine this Court’s determination that, as used in Section
1442(a)(1), the “color of . . . office” requirement denotes a “causal nexus”
between the conduct in question and the federal officer’s direction or con-
trol of the person “acting under” his authority. Willingham, 395 U.S. at
409; Soper (No.1), 270 U.S. at 33.

36

Moreover, petitioners’ radical assertion that a “private
commercial actor ... cannot sensibly be said to act “under
color of [federal] office’” (Pet. Br. 9 (brackets in original))
would foreclose removal to federal contractors (“private
commercial actor[s]”) that assist federal officers in perform-
ing their duties or act at the express direction of federal offi-
cers. The lower courts have uniformly held that such con-
tractors are entitled to removal under Section 1442(a)(1). See
Br. of Defense Contractors et al. 7 n.6 (citing cases). The
Solicitor General largely agrees. See U.S. Br. 25. And if
those contractors may remove, then the “commercial” nature
of PMUSA’s business cannot, in itself, be any barrier to re-
moval. See also infra at 38.

Petitioners also make the blanket assertion that “a pri-
vate regulated party sued for conduct undertaken while acting
in compliance with federal regulation” is not entitled to re-
moval under Section 1442(a)(1). Pet. Br. 17. That is obvi-
ously incorrect. Such a party might, or might not, be “acting
under” a federal official—the mere fact that a party is regu-
lated cannot exc/ude it from the class of “persons” eligible to
remove under Section 1442(a)(1). Indeed, when amending
Section 1442(a)(1) in 1996, Congress expressly recognized
that the statute provides a federal forum for “important and
complex federal issues such as preemption.” H.R. Rep. No.
798, 104th Cong., 2d Sess., at 20 (1996); see also 142 Cong.
Rec. $6517, S6519 (June 19, 1996) (statement of Sen.
Grassley). Because preemption is not generally invoked as a
defense by the federal government or federal officials, this
statement is a clear indication that Section 1442(a)(1) extends
to private persons subject to federal regulation. Whether
such a person is acting under federal direction will necessar-
ily depend on the facts and circumstances of each case, as
averred in the notice of removal.

37

b. PMUSA Is Subject To The FTC’s
Direction And Control In Testing And
Disclosing Tar And Nicotine Yields

The court of appeals closely examined the allegations in
PMUSA’s Notice of Removal concerning the FTC’s lengthy
history of tobacco regulation. It also considered the exten-
sive documentary record supporting those allegations, and
concluded that the “record is filled with FTC announcements
of its policy as well as communications between the FTC and
the cigarette industry.” Pet. App. 13a. Surveying the “un-
precedented extent” to which the FTC involved itself with
the tobacco industry and low-tar cigarettes, the court of ap-
peals held that the FTC exercises “comprehensive, detailed
regulation” over the industry’s testing and marketing prac-
tices and that PMUSA was therefore “acting under” the FTC
in connection with the conduct alleged in petitioners’ com-
plaint. /d. at 8a. This conclusion is amply supported by the
undisputed factual allegations in PMUSA’s Notice of Re-
moval, which sets forth in detail the FTC’s stringent control
over PMUSA’s testing and disclosure of tar and nicotine
yields.

The FTC initially required PMUSA to stop disclosing tar
and nicotine yields in its advertising (Pet. App. 79a), then
authorized it to begin disclosing testing results substantiated
by the FTC Method (ibid.), and finally compelled it to in-
clude those results in all advertisements (id. at 85a). This is
exactly the type of “immediate direction [by] the national
government” (Tennessee v. Davis, 100 U.S. at 263) that can
support removal under Section !442(a)(1). PMUSA con-
ducts tar and nicotine testing of its cigarettes pursuant to a
delegation of FTC authority and using a methodology pre-
scribed by the FTC, and, under FTC compulsion, it discloses
those testing results in its advertisements and limits its use of
descriptors to statements substantiated by the FTC Method.
In conforming to those FTC directives, PMUSA is—under
the very definitions adopted by petitioners and the Solicitor

38

General—“acting under” a federal officer. See Pet. Br. 12
(defining “under” as “subject to the authority, direction, or
supervision of”) (internal quotation marks omitted); U.S. Br.
11 (“‘under’ indicates ... ‘[s]ubject to the guidance and in-
struction of””’) (brackets in original).

This conclusion is supported by cases, largely embraced
by petitioners (Pet. Br. 32-33), in which the lower courts
have upheld removal by government contractors subject to
stringent federal oversight. In Winters v. Diamond Shamrock
Chemical Co., 149 F.3d 387 (Sth Cir. 1998), for example, a
case relied upon by the court of appeals below, the court held
that manufacturers of the pesticide Agent Orange were au-
thorized to remove a state-law products liability suit under
Section 1442(a)(1) because the government provided “de-
tailed specifications concerning the make-up, packaging, and
delivery of Agent Orange, [and] the compulsion to provide
the product to the government’s specifications.” Jd. at 400.
The level of government control over the Agent Orange pro-
ducers is comparable to the government’s control over
PMUSA. Just as the government compels the manufacturers
of Agent Orange to produce their pesticide in a specific man-
ner and to utilize specific labeling, it requires PMUSA to test
its cigarettes subject to detailed technical specifications and
to disclose its cigarettes’ tar and nicotine yields in advertise-
ments.

The efforts of petitioners and the Solicitor General to
concoct a revisionist history of the FTC’s tobacco regulatory
regime are clearly flawed. As an initial matter, in attempting
to deny that the past fifty years of FTC tobacco regulation
ever took place, petitioners and the Solicitor General disre-
gard the averments in PMUSA’s Notice of Removal, which
were not disputed below by petitioners and are controlling
for purposes of this Court’s jurisdictional analysis. See Vir-
ginia v. Paul, 148 U.S. 107, 122 (1893); Symes, 286 US. at
515. Moreover, the arguments advanced by petitioners and
the Solicitor General fail on their own terms.

39

Petitioners contend, for example, that PMUSA’s disclo-
sure of tar and nicotine yields in its advertisements does not
occur under federal “direction or supervision” because the
1970 industry agreement requiring disclosure was entered
into on an ostensibly “voluntary” basis. Pet. Br. 39. But as
the court of appeals recognized, the “FTC effectively used its
coercive power to cause the tobacco companies to enter the
agreement” (Pet. App. 10a) and accepted that agreement only
after the tobacco industry had modified its initial proposal to
meet the FTC’s specific requirements. If the FTC had not
proposed a Trade Regulation Rule mandating the disclosure
of tar and nicotine yields, the major tobacco companies
would not have entered into the agreement, which was indis-
putably a byproduct of the FTC’s proposed rulemaking. In-
deed, just as a driver threatened by a police officer with the
issuance of a parking ticket cannot be said to have moved his
car voluntarily, PMUSA—threatened with the promulgation
of a rule mandating tar and nicotine disclosures—cannot be
said to have voluntarily assumed the burden of testing for and
disclosing tar and nicotine yields.

Furthermore, the FTC has closely monitored the indus-
try’s compliance with the obligations imposed by the 1970
agreement, and has brought suit against tobacco companies
that disclose testing results obtained through means other
than the FTC Method prescribed by the agreement. See, e.g.,
FTC v. Brown & Williamson Tobacco Corp., 778 F.2d 35, 43
(D.C. Cir. 1985) (holding that a tobacco company’s advertis-
ing that included tar and nicotine yields measured through a
test different than the FTC Method constituted a deceptive
trade practice under Section 5 of the FTCA).!! The ever-

Il Petitioners’ reliance (Br. at 40) upon Brown & Williamson to support
their assertion that the FTC has not compelled tobacco companies to dis-
close FTC Method results in their advertising is squarely refuted by the
procedural posture of the case—a suit brought by the FTC for the specific
purpose of preventing a tobacco company from disclosing tar and nico-

40

present threat of an enforcement action is a powerful means
of compelling PMUSA to comply with the FTC’s advertising
requirements. See Pet. App. lla (“The main difference be-
tween a formal rule and an agreement is that the FTC en-
forces the disclosure of the [FTC] Method’s results by bring-
ing an action against the company for deceptive advertising
rather than directly enforcing a regulation”).

Petitioners also make much of the fact that the FTC’s
regulation of the use of tar and nicotine descriptors suppos-
edly has been accomplished through consent orders with
other tobacco companies. In so arguing, however, petitioners
disregard the FTC’s 1967 policy statement, which unambi-
guously authorized the tobacco industry to make “statements
or representations of or relating to tar and nicotine content of
cigarettes where they are shown to be accurately and fully
substantiated” by testing under the FTC Method. J.A. 15 (in-
ternal quotation marks omitted).

Moreover, as former FTC Chairman Daniel Oliver ex-
plained in congressional testimony, the FTC utilized consent
orders, rather than rulemaking, in this area because they pro-
vided the most expeditious manner of regulating industry-

[Footnote continued from previous page]

tine yields generated by means other than the FTC Method. The court of
appeals determined that the FTC bore the burden of establishing that the
tobacco_company’s advertising practices were deceptive because it had
not promulgated its tar and nicotine disclosure requirements through a
Trade Regulation Rule. 778 F.2d at 45. But this burden allocation does
not alter the fact that the FTC possesses the authority—and in Brown &
Williamson it exercised that authority—to bring enforcement actions
against tobacco companies that fail to comply with the 1970 industry
agreement. Petitioners’ invocation (Br. at 41) of PMUSA’s 2002 petition
for FTC rulemaking is equally misplaced. In that petition, PMUSA ac-
knowledged that the FTC “require[s] the use of the [FTC] Method” for
measuring tar and nicotine yields (petition at 6), and merely asked the
FTC to consider whether modifications to its existing regulatory regime
were warranted in light of new scientific developments (id. at 5).

41

wide conduct. J.A. 115; cf NLRB v. Bell Aerospace Co., 416
U.S. 267, 294 (1974) (“[A]djudicated cases may and do...
serve as vehicles for the formulation of agency policies,
which are applied and announced therein”) (internal quota-
tion marks omitted). The FTC “discovered,” Chairman
Oliver testified, “that rulemaking takes a very long time,”
and that “it is more efficient to bring a single case against the
first offender in order to stop the practice before we go to
rulemaking.” J.A. 115. “In the case of the cigarette indus-
try,” the Chairman continued, “it is entirely reasonable to
suppose that one action against one cigarette company would
have an effect on all of them, and that you would not have to
make a rule.” /d. at 116-17.

Indeed, courts have repeatedly recognized that FTC con-
sent orders have regulatory effects that extend well beyond
the parties to the agreement. See, e.g., Gen. Motors Corp. v.
Abrams, 897 F.2d 34, 39 (2d Cir. 1990) (holding that FTC
consent orders can preempt state legislation); Ford Motor
Co. v. FTC, 547 F.2d 954, 959-61 (6th Cir. 1976) (holding
that the FTC must afford the same treatment to one competi-
tor that it has allowed to another competitor in an earlier con-
sent order). Petitioners’ lengthy discussion (Br. at 45) of
cases addressing the precedential value of FTC consent or-
ders is thus entirely beside the point. Whether or not the
consent orders into which the FTC entered with American
Brands and the American Tobacco Company are considered
binding precedent in third-party actions, they instruct the to-
bacco industry that the FTC considers the use of descriptors
to be nondeceptive—and will not initiate enforcement pro-
ceedings regarding such marketing practices—as long as the
descriptors are accompanied by tar and nicotine testing re-
sults under the FTC Method.

The Solicitor General further maintains that PMUSA is
not required to market “light” cigarettes and that “it does so
solely in furtherance of its own economic interest.” U.S. Br.
27. But the Solicitor General is answering the wrong ques-

42

tion. PMUSA has not argued, and the courts below did not
hold, that PMUSA was “acting under” the FTC in “market-
ing” its products. Rather, PMUSA has maintained, the courts
below held, and the undisputed evidence establishes, that
PMUSA was acting on the FTC’s behalf when it tested the
tar and nicotine yields of its cigarettes, and that PMUSA was
acting at the direction of the FTC when it disclosed the re-
sults of those tests (including when using FTC-approved de-
scriptors corresponding to the FTC Method results) to con-
sumers. That is all that is required to meet the “threshold”
requirement of Section 1442(a)(1) removal. !2

3. The Parade Of Horribles Imagined By
Petitioners And Their Amici Is Illusory

Whether this Court applies the “assisting” standard en-
dorsed by petitioners and the Solicitor General, or a “direc-
tion and control” test similar to that applied by the court of
appeals, the undisputed averments in the Notice of Removal
establish that PMUSA was “acting under” a federal officer in
its cigarette testing and in its dissemination of the testing re-
sults. Pursuant to the FTC’s policy of providing the public
with standardized information about cigarettes’ tar and nico-
tine yields, PMUSA conducts testing previously performed—
and delegated to it—by the FTC and, under legal compul-
sion, discloses the FTC Method results both to the FTC,
which reprints them as official government data, and to con-

12 This Court should scrutinize the Solicitor General’s contrary posi-
tron, and his attempted recharacterization of the FTC’s regulatory history,
with particular care because the Justice Department is currently engaged
in litigation with PMUSA and the other major cigarette manufacturers,
where one of the principal issues is the extent to which the FTC regulated
PMUSA’s use of tar and nicotine descriptors. See United States v. Philip
Morris USA, Inc., 449 F. Supp. 2d 1 (D.D.C. 2006) (enjoining the use of
“light” descriptors), appeal docketed, No. 06-5267 (D.C. Cir. Sept. 11,
2006) (stay granted pending appeal). Because of that ongoing litigation,
the Solicitor General can hardly be characterized as a disinterested party
in this case.

43

sumers. Because PMUSA is acting at the FTC’s behest, and
pursuant to its direction, a federal forum is warranted to
“permit[] a trial ... free from local ... prejudice” (Ma-
nypenny, 451 U.S. at 242) toward the FTC’s tobacco policies.

Both petitioners and the Solicitor General, however, de-
vote a significant portion of their briefs to suggesting that
authorizing PMUSA to remove this case would occasion a
flood of removals under Section 1442(a)(1), crippling the
federal courts and undermining state sovereignty. Pet. Br.
34-39; U.S. Br. 19-23. These assertions are decidedly over-
stated because the unique history of tobacco regulation sets
PMUSA apart from participants in other regulated industries
who, although perhaps closely regulated by the federal gov-
ernment, do not perform delegated federal responsibilities in
the same manner that PMUSA and other tobacco companies
do. See Pet. App. 18a (Gruender, J., concurring). Under the
auspices of the TITL, PMUSA is carrying out a testing pro-
gram that the FTC itself conducted for twenty years. Peti-
tioners identify no other industry where private companies
have been delegated a testing function that the government
itself previously performed and are compelled to disclose the
testing results to the government, which disseminates the
industry-generated data in official government publications.
See Br. of Public Citizen, Inc. et al. 20 (“it may have been
‘unprecedented’ for the FTC to involve itself in product test-
ing as it did with cigarettes”) (emphasis in original).

A narrow decision holding that this extraordinary testing
procedure—in combination with the stringent oversight the
FTC exercises over the tar and nicotine claims in tobacco ad-
vertising—affords PMUSA the ability to remove this case to
federal court would not extend the same removal right to
other regulated industries. No matter the degree of regula-
tory oversight, those industries would not be performing
delegated federal responsibilities unless the private industry
participants were conducting an official function on behalf of
the federal governmei.:. Petitioners’ discussion of the coal-

44

mining, motor vehicle, medical device, and pesticide indus-
tries is therefore completely beside the point (Pet. Br. 35) be-
cause petitioners do not suggest that private participants in
any of those industries perform delegated official responsi-
bilities previously conducted by the federal government (and,
to the extent that isolated examples do exist in other indus-
tries, the prevalence of this phenomenon would be far too
rare to foster the exponential growth in removal predicted by
petitioners and the Solicitor General).

B. PETITIONERS’ SUIT RELATES TO “ACT[S] UNDER
COLOR OF .. . OFFICE”

In order to establish that a suit pertains to “act/s] under
color of . . . office,” a private party seeking to remove under
Section 1442(a)(1) must demonstrate the existence of a
“causal nexus” between the conduct that the plaintiff chal-
lenges and the official authority under which the party was
acting. See Willingham, 395 U.S. at 409.

The causal nexus element of Section 1442(a)(1) is not at
issue here. Petitioners declined to seek review of the court of
appeals’ holding that PMUSA has established a causal nexus
between the conduct alleged in petitioners’ complaint and the
official authority under which PMUSA was acting—
choosing instead to frame the question presented solely in
terms of whether PMUSA was “acting under” a federal offi-
cer. See Pet. i. This Court, of course, does not ordinarily
review questions not presented in the petition. See /zumi
Seimitsu Kogyo Kabushiki Kaisha v. United States Philips
Corp., 510 U.S. 27, 31 (1993). Nor do petitioners address
the causal nexus element in their merits brief.

Were the Court nevertheless to reach the issue, it would
have little difficulty concluding that PMUSA has satisfied
the “causal nexus” requirement. Petitioners allege, for ex-
ample, that “consumers receive higher levels of tar and nico-
tine than the testing apparatus registers” and that PMUSA
was able to “control[{] the tar and nicotine delivery of Cam-

45

bridge Lights and Marlboro Lights cigarettes under machine
testing conditions apparently to achieve support for [its] rep-
resentations that [its] ... cigarettes are ‘light’ and contain
decreased tar and nicotine.” Pet. App. 64a. Petitioners thus
expressly challenge the FTC’s decision to require the tobacco
industry to use the FTC Method despite its inherent limita-
tions. Indeed, it is impossible for petitioners to do otherwise:
The FTC Method is the only authorized means for tobacco
companies to provide tar and nicotine yield information to
consumers (either numerically or as the basis for descriptors
such as “lights”). By challenging PMUSA’s descriptors, pe-
titioners are necessarily challenging the underlying testing
that PMUSA performs on behalf of and under the direction
and control of the FTC. See Pet. App. 16a (petitioners “chal-
lenge the FTC’s policy judgment that despite the failure of
the [FTC] Method to take into account ventilation holes or
channels, the test results should still be included in advertis-
ing”).!3

Petitioners’ assault on FTC-approved descriptors is a di-
rect attack upon the tobacco policy impiemented by the rele-
vant arm of the federal government for the past half century.
Because petitioners’ claims “directly implicate[] the en-
forcement and wisdom of the FTC’s tobacco policies” (Pet.
App. 15a), this suit creates the possibility that state-court
judges and juries who disagree with those policies will hold
PMUSA liable for conduct that the FTC has expressly au-
thorized or mandated. As petitioners acknowledge, Section
1442(a)(1) “safeguard|s] against state judicial action that . . .
could interfere with the enforcement and operation of na-
tional laws.” Pet. Br. 1; see also U.S. Br. 1 (“Permitting per-

13 The FTC is pursuing an ongoing inquiry into whether the FTC
Method should be modified or abandoned. 62 Fed. Reg. 48,158 (Sept.
12, 1997). As part of that process, the FTC is evaluating the same meth-
odological limitations in the testing procedure that petitioners raise in
their complaint. /d. at 48,159.

46

sons who are properly viewed as acting under a federal offi-
cer to remove state law actions to federal court ensures that
state courts will not interfere with the operations of the fed-
eral government”). That is precisely what could happen if
this case were remanded for a state court to sit in judgment
regarding the FTC’s direction and control of the tobacco in-

dustry.
C. PMUSA HAS A COLORABLE FEDERAL DEFENSE

The court of appeals held (Pet. App. 17a), and petition-
ers did not dispute below and do not contest here, that
PMUSA has a colorable preemption defense based either on
the express preemption provision of FCLAA or on the con-
flict between petitioners’ state-law consumer fraud claims
and the FTC’s policies regarding tar and nicotine testing and
advertising. Indeed, a number of courts have held that state-
law claims similar to petitioners’ are preempted. See, e.g.,
Brown v. Brown & Williamson Tobacco Corp., ___ F.3d
___, 2007 WL 470406 (Sth Cir. 2007) (holding that a virtu-
ally identical “lights” claim was preempted by FCLAA);
Good vy. Altria Group, Inc., 436 F. Supp. 2d 132 (D. Me.
2006), appeal docketed, No. 06-1965 (Ist Cir. June 23,
2006).

Petitioners note that PMUSA does not have a defense of
“official immunity” available to it. See Pet. Br. 19.° But as
this Court has explained, “removal under 28 U.S.C.
§ 1442(a) must be predicated upon averment cf a federal de-
fense,” Mesa, 489 U.S. at 139 (emphasis added), not any par-
ticular federal defense. It is sufficient that “a Federal ques-
tion or a claim to a Federal right is raised in the case, and
must be decided therein.” Tennessee v. Davis, 100 U.S. at
262; see also Mesa, 489 U.S. at 136. Indeed, when amend-
ing Section 1442(a)(1) in 1996, Congress identified the adju-
dication of preemption defenses in federal court as one of the
rationales for federal officer removal. See H.R. Rep. No.
798, 104th Cong., 2d Sess., at 20 (1996) (Section 1442(a)(1)

47

provides a federal forum for “important and complex federal
issues such as preemption”); 142 Cong. Rec. $6517, $6519
(June 19, 1996) (statement of Sen. Grassley) (same). This
Court has recognized that the same objectives that underpin
the preemption doctrine—the prevention of state interference
with federal policies (Hines v. Davidowitz, 312 U.S. 52, 67
(1941))—also animate federal officer removal, which “is re-
quired for the preservation of that supremacy which the Con-
Stitution gives to the general government by declaring that
the Constitution and laws of the United States made in pur-
suance thereof ... shall be the supreme laws of the land.”
Tennessee v. Davis, 100 U.S. at 266.

The merits of PMUSA’s defense of preemption, of
course, are for the district court to decide in the first instance.
See Acker, 527 U.S. at 432 (“requiring a ‘clearly sustainable
defense’ [at the removal stage] rather than a colorable de-
fense would defeat the purpose of the removal statute’’). This
case comes to the Court on extensive undisputed facts, as set
forth in the Notice of Removal That those facts would es-
tablish a “colorable” defense of federal preemption cannot
seriously be disputed, because other courts have held, on
summary judgment, that similar facts are sufficient to sustain
such a defense. See, e.g., Brown, «F.3d __, 2007 WL
470406. Indeed, PMUSA has moved for summary judgment
on that ground in the district court. That motion has not yet
been adjudicated, and thus the merits of the preemption de-
fense are not before the Court in this case. The on/y question
before the Court is whether the case was properly removed
under 28 U.S.C. § 1442(a)(1).

* * *

The question petitioners have asked this Court to answer
is “[w]hether a private actor doing no more than complying
with federal regulation is a ‘person acting under a federal of-
ficer’ for the purpose of 28 U.S.C. § 1442(a)(1).” Pet. i. The
answer to that question ts: “It depends.” In many cases, peti-
tioners’ question should be answered in the negative because

48

“mere” regulation does not satisfy the “acting under” re-
quirement. But it cannot be that petitioners’ question must
also be answered in the negative if the relationship between
the private actor and federal officials, as alleged in the notice
of removal, establishes that the defendant assisted, or acted at
the specific direction of, a federal officer. If that were the
case, then private parties would be effectively excluded from
the reach of the federal officer removal statute, contrary to
the text, history, and structure of the statute, as well as this
Court’s precedents.

In this case, PMUSA is doing much more than merely
“complying with federal regulation.” As the court of appeals
explained, “[t]hroughout the record, there [are] several indi-
cations that both developing a testing method and carrying
out the testing evidenced an unusually high level of govern-
mental participation and control.” Pet. App. 13a; see also
ibid. (“[t]he record establishes that [PMUSA|] acted under the
direction of a federal officer”). The sole question before the
Court is whether that same record—the undisputed aver-
ments of the Notice of Removal and the evidence submitted
in support thereof—shows that PMUSA was “acting under” a
federal officer in testing and disclosing the tar and nicotine
yields of its cigarettes, as the courts below held. That ques-
tion, which is the only one properly before the Court, should
be answered in the affirmative.

49

CONCLUSION

The judgment of the court of appeals should be affirmed. _
Respectfully submitted.

MURRAY R. GARNICK THEODORE B. OLSON
JAMES M. ROSENTHAL Counsel of Record
ARNOLD & PORTER LLP MARK A. PERRY
555 12th Street, N.W. AMIR C. TAYRANI
Washington, D.C. 20005 GIBSON, DUNN & CRUTCHER LLP
(202) 942-5000 1050 Connecticut Avenue, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20036
KENNETH S, GELLER (202) 955-8500
MAYER, BROWN, ROWE &
MAw LLP

1909 K Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20006
(202) 263-3000

Counsel fer Respondents
March 30, 2007

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0251%3A08. Public record. Not legal advice.
