# Amicus Curiae Brief — Philip Morris USA v. Williams

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0249%3A13

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2007
- **Citation:** 549 U.S. 346

## Text

#e | FILED

‘) SEP 15 2006

es 05- 1256

= CLERK
_ U.S.
IN THE
Supreme Court of the Gnited States
PHILIP MORRIS USA,
Petitioner,
v.
MAYOLA WILLIAMS,
Respondent.

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE SUPREME COURT OF OREGON

BRIEF OF AKHIL REED AMAR
AND ARTHUR MCEVOY AS AMICI
CURIAE IN SUPPORT OF RESPONDENT

ARTHUR MCEvoy KENNETH CHESEBRO*

975 Bascom Mall 1770 Massachusetts Ave., #201
Madison, WI 53706 Cambridge, MA 02138

(608) 265-4771 (617) 661-4423

MICHAEL J. PIUZE

LAW OFFICES OF MICHAEL J. PIUZE
11755 Wilshire Blvd., Suite 1170
Los Angeles, CA 90025

(310) 312-1102

Counsel for Amici Curiae

*Counsel of Record

September 15, 2006
STEER Pa NS RNID

BATEMAN & SLADE, INC. BOSTON, MASSACHUSETTS

~ shin oS

aaa ek sal : . aoty uh a vette: ' are Ba ro oe Pe » Pi
/ wae > ies ass —T tk Lane oe “iyi
the . Tas ins ‘- =
> a) oy 7 =
f a, Fines Da

Peer iat =,

)

tha

~y

ers

Os tye im eee st Dihtragg « 19 5 Sautae #16" Poet eee on ae

2 ‘gee mchaennt ; ‘ ee aig 1 atthe eta Oe ‘ so Ay, ani, whi pty pampmashece Eat’ tna ERs

ARG! ost ~ ic : ; ek Alte Lint a aa ee ae or 2 lies ae < tihonde

"Cas OS j = ’ » a » ‘ aly ey ; L be ri rae taal 4 4 FW _ ry oe at ay T24 74 eT

€ af : ; Pin = by _ ae gal Pir penane, Ca A

Cay mee = eee er Tip Rieter! «3

) v< caer Pik! Sirek abe

eee yee

44 +

(Gal 3 lind

eo bs

=) > ae

- Pd

ae hie,
oP Rats a

Table of Contents

EE RE Ge ee eee een eee

Re eee eae

II.

History Supports the States’ Use of Exemplary
Damages to Deter Wrongdoing Generally, Not
Just to Vindicate Harms to Particular Plaintiffs . .

BR I ac en nctn eecnwxcudans
ee
History Supports the States’ Deference to

Juries in Determining the Amount of |
Deterrence-Based Exemplary Damages ........

Table of Authorities

CASES: PAGE:
Asa-Brandt, Inc. v. ADM Investor Services, Inc.,

344 F.3d 738 (8th Cir. 2003) ......... ccc ccceee 29
Barry v. Edmunds, 116 U.S. 550 (1886) .......... 18-19

Beardmore v. Carrington, 95 Eng. Rep. 790 (K.B. 1764) 9
Benson v. Frederick, 97 Eng. Rep. 1130 (K.B. 1766) ... 10
BMW of North America, Inc. v. Gore,

ee ee EE 6. fd ck dw sine e ede see ewes 26-28
Boyer v. Barr, 8 Neb. 68 (1878) ...............005: 22
Bruce v. Rawlins, 95 Eng. Rep. 934 (C.P. 1770) ....... 9
Burks v. United States, 437 U.S. 1 (1978) ........... 29
Burt v. Advertiser Newspaper Co.,

eS es ao ON « wide 4 Gwe eae kw ed 22
Cooper Industries, Inc. v. Leatherman

Tool Group, Inc., 532 U.S. 424 (2001) .......... 30
Coryell v. Colbaugh, 1 N.J.L. (1 Coxe) 77 (N.J. 1791) .. 138
Day v. Woodworth, 54 U.S. 363 (1851) ........... 10, 18
Detroit Daily Post Co. v. McArthur,

A a ink done 6 606 a beeen kek 22
Fay v. Parker, 53 N.H. 342 (1873) ................. 22
Feltner v. Columbia Pictures Television, Inc.,

Ee ed es oon eh 6ehe bes ue ewe 30
Genay v. Norris, 1 S.C.L. (1 Bay) 6

(S.C. Com. Pl. Gen. Sess. 1784) ............... 13
Glazer v. Glazer, 374 F.2d 390 (5th Cir.),

cert. denied, 389 U.S. 831 (1967) .............. 29
Goddard v. Grand Trunk Railway of Canada,

te ee Ree ne bs ahd ph 6450's 6s 15
Grable v. Margrave, 4 Ill. (3 Scam.) 372 (1842) ....... 16
Grey v. Grant, 95 Eng. Rep. 794 (C.P. 1764) ......... e
Hazard v. Israel, 1 Binn. 240 (Pa. 1808) ............ 13
Herrera v. Collins, 506 U.S. 390 (1993) ............. 29

Hogg v. Wilson, 1 Nott & McC. 216
rr rn CE: owns sree se enened eee ae 14

iii
CASES: PAGE:

Honda Motor Co. v. Oberg, 512 U.S. 415 (1994) .. 7, 24-28
Huckle v. Money,

95 Eng. Rep. 768 (C.P. 1763) ........ 7-9, 13, 24, 30
Huntley v. Bacon, 15 Conn. 267 (1842) ............. 16
Jackson v. Virginia, 443 U.S. 307(1979) .......... 27-29
Joan v. Joshua Shield’s Lessee,

3 H. & McH. 7 (Md. Gen. Oct. Term 1790) ...... 13
Johnson v. Ford Motor Co., 113 P.3d 82 (Cal. 2005) ..... 9
Kasper v. St. Mary of Nazareth Hosp.,

135 F.3d 1170 (7th Cir. 1998)................. 29
Lake Shore & Mich. S. Ry. Co. v. Prentice,

og SB G0 rt ee ee ee eee ee ee 19
Linsley v. Bushnell, 15 Conn. 225 (1842) ............ 16
Matsushita Elec. Indus. Co. v. Zenith Radio Corp.,

EEE RA ree Pe ee 29
McBride v. McLaughlin, 5 Watts 375 (Pa. 1836) ..... 14
McWilliams v. Bragg, 3 Wis. 377 (1854) ............ 15
Milwaukee and St. Paul Ry. Co. v. Arms,

eS ed eee en Om 18
Minneapolis and St. Louis Railway Co.

v. Beckwith, 129 U.S. 26 (1888) ............... 19
Missouri Pacific Ry. Co. v. Humes,

I oi or niga eb wnt eeee ewe 17-18
Murphy v. Hobbs, 7 Colo. 541 (1884) ............... 22
Naeem v. McKesson Drug Co., 444 F.3d 593

DD ...dtdedgetucebetutenwseaeés -, 29
Outboard Marine Corp. v. Babcock Indus., Inc.,

106 F.3d 1823 (7th Cir. 1907)... 0... ccc ccccccces 29
Pacific Mutual Life Ins. Co. v. Haslip,

Ge 10, 20, 22, 24
Parklane Hoisiery Co. v. Shore,

oi ws eee obs 12
Penny v. Little, 3 Scam. (4 Ill.) 301 (1841) ........... 10

Philadelphia, Wilmington, and Baltimore
R.R. Co. v. Quigley, 62 U.S. 202 (1858) ......... 18

-

iv

CASES: PAGE:
Powell v. McCormack, 395 U.S. 486 (1969) ........ 7. ae
Reeves v. Sanderson Plumbing Products, Inc.,

Sey Ua GE IE wh o'h.n5'0:'8 000.0 Sc deesebenne 29
Sailor Inc. F/V v. City of Rockland,

428 F.3d 348 (1st Cir. 2005) ...........cccceee 29
Seminole Tribe of Florida v. Florida,

kg Ff © 0 Ser yt ee 11
Sharpe v. Brice, 96 Eng. Rep. 557 (C.P. 1774) ......... fe)
Spokane Truck & Dray Co. v. Hoefer,

fo EE er er 22
State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. v.

Campbell, 538 U.S. 408 (2003) ................ 27
Taylor v. Grand Trunk Railway Co.,

Ges EE | ii'es'nca M0008 ov btn deobaen 15
The Amiable Nancy, 16 U.S. 546 (1818) ............ 14
The Amistad Case, 40 U.S. 518 (1841) .............. 16
Tibbs v. Florida, 457 U.S. 31 (1982) ............... 28
Tillotson v. Cheetham, 3 Johns. 56 (N.Y. 1808).... 13, 15
Tullidge v. Wade, 95 Eng. Rep. 909 (C.P. 1769) ....... 4
TXO Prod. Corp. v. Alliance Resources Corp.,

ee es Mr ED \0-0.0 n:oswes dice ntnece sudan 26
Whipple v. Walpole, 10 N.H.130 .................. 15
Wilkes v. Wood, 98 Eng. Rep. 489 (C.P. 1763) ........ 8-9
BOOoKs:
AKHIL REED AMAR, AMERICA’S CONSTITUTION:

A BIOGRAPHY (2005) ........ cheodacvatedvetioa 12
AKHIL REED AMAR, THE BILL OF RIGHTS:

CREATION AND RECONSTRUCTION (1998) .... 6, 11-12
AKHIL REED AMAR, THE CONSTITUTION AND CRIMINAL

PROCEDURE: FIRST PRINCIPLES (1997) ........ 6, 12

ARTHUR R. CASH, JOHN WILKES: THE SCANDALOUS
FATHER OF CIVIL LIBERTY (2006) ........... 6-7, 11

BOOKs: PAGE:

LAWRENCE M. FRIEDMAN, A HISTORY OF

AMERICAN LAW (3d ed. 2005) ................. 10
2 SIMON GREENLEAF, A TREATISE ON THE
LAW OF EVIDENCE (5th ed. 1854) ............ 20-22

2 SIMON GREENLEAF, A TREATISE ON
THE LAW OF EVIDENCE (William

Draper Lewis ed., 16th ed. 1899) ....... 9-10, 19-21
MORTON J. HORWITZ, THE TRANSFORMATION
OF AMERICAN LAW, 1780-1860 (1977) ........ 10, 17

MORTON J. HORWITZ, THE TRANSFORMATION

OF AMERICAN LAW, 1870-1960: THE CRISIS

OF LEGAL ORTHODOXY (1992) .............055. 21
HOWARD JONES, MUTINY ON THE AMISTAD: THE SAGA

OF A SLAVE REVOLT AND ITS IMPACT ON AMERICAN

ABOLITION, LAW, AND DIPLOMACY (1987) ....... 16
LOUIS KRONENBERGER, THE EXTRAORDINARY

MR. WILKES: HIS LIFE AND TIMES (1974) ........ 6-7
RAYMOND WILLIAM POSTGATE,

THAT DEVIL WILKES (1929) ................ 6-7, 11
GEORGE F. E. RUDE, WILKES AND LIBERTY:

CE 6-7
JOHN SAINSBURY, JOHN WILKES: THE LIVES

GA ED ng wc ccc cece cc ceccceccens 6-7
ARTHUR M. SCHLESINGER, JR.,

THE AGE OF JACKSON (1945) ............0000ce 16
THEODORE SEDGWICK, A TREATISEON THE _

MEASURE OF DAMAGES (lst ed. 1847) ...... 16-17, 21
THEODORE SEDGWICK, A TREATISE ON THE

MEASURE OF DAMAGES (2d ed. 1852) ........... 21
THEODORE SEDGWICK, A TREATISE ON THE MEASURE

OF DAMAGES (3rd ed. 1858) ..............00005 25
WILLIAM PURDIE TRELOAR, WILKES AND

EEE le cot 6-7

CHARLES CHENEVIX TRENCH, PORTRAIT OF A PATRIOT:
A BIOGRAPHY OF JOHN WILKES (1962) .......... 6-7

ARTICLES: PAGE:

Akhil Reed Amar, Foreword: Lord Camden Meets
Federalism — Using State Constitutions to Counter
Federal Abuses, 27 RUTGERS L.J. 845 (1996) ..... 11

Joseph Fred Benson, Reception of the Common Law in
Missouri: Section 1.010 as Interpreted »y ‘he Supreme
Court of Missouri, 67 Mo. L. REV. 595 (2002) .... 10

Kevin M. Clermont, Procedure’s Magical Number
Three: Psychological Bases for Standards of
Decision, 72 CORNELL L. REV. 1115 (1987) ..<«... 28

Thomas B. Colby, Beyond the Multiple Punishment
Problem: Punitive Damages as Punishment
for Individual, Private Wrongs,

87 MINN. L. REV. 583 (2003) ................ 9,14

Essay of a Democratic Federalist, reprinted in

3 THE COMPLETE ANTI-FEDERALIST 58 (Herbert J.
i Me 6 od tad etek Gaeaee ee pts 12

Essays by a Farmer (I), reprinted in

5 THE COMPLETE ANTI-FEDERALIST 5

(Herbert J. Storing ed., 1961) .......5......... 12
Alexander Hamilton, Federalist No. 83 '

GOR EUGENE GE. BOGGS ccc cccccccscccccces 12
Morton J. Horwitz, The History of the Public/Private

Distinction, 130 U. PA. L. REV. 1423 (1982) ...... 22
Louis Kaplow & Steven Shavell, Fairness Versus

Welfare, 114 HARV. L. REV. 961 (2001) ........ 25-26
Theron Metcalf, A Reading on Damages in Actions Ex

Delicto, 3 AM. JURIST & LAW MAG. 287 (1830) .... 15
Clarence Morris, Punitive Damages in Tort Cases,

ORs Ee DACP EEED cece eeeseetescens 8
Francesco Parisi, The Genesis of Liability in Ancient

Law , 3 AM. L. & ECON. REV. 82 (2001) ......... 25

Richard A. Posner, Retribution and Related Concepts
of Punishment, 9 J. LEGAL STUD. 71 (1980) ...... 25

ARTICLES: PAGE:

Alan Howard Scheiner, Judicial Assessment
of Punitive Damages, The Seventh

Amendment, and the Politics of

Jury Power, 91 COLUM. L. REV. 142 (1991) ...... 12
John Wilkes, North Briton, No. 45 ........... 5-8, 19, 24
Charles W. Wolfram, The Constitutional History

of the Seventh Amendment,

67 Mma. L. ReV. G30 (1973)... ww ccc cee 12
CONSTITUTION AND STATUTE:
U.S. Constitution, Seventh Amendment .. 4, 12, 17, 29-30
Northwest Ordinance of 1787 ..............00ee06: 10
LITIGATION MATERIALS:

Transcript of Oral Argument in Honda

Motor Co. v. Oberg, No. 93-644

(Apr. 20, 1994), 1994 WL 665077 .............. 27
Brief Amici Curiae for the American Council of Life

Insurance, et al., in Honda Motor Co. v.

Oberg, No. 93-644 (filed Feb. 28, 1994) ....... 27-28
Brief for Legal Historians Daniel R. Coquillette,

Mark M. Hager, Bruce H. Mann, and

Arthur F. McEvoy as Amici Curiae in

Support of Respondent in Honda Motor Co.

v. Oberg, No. 93-644 (filed Mar. 31, 1994) .... 24, 26
Brief of Federal Jurisdiction and Legal History

Scholars Akhil Reed Amar, et al., as

Amici Curiae in Support of Petitioner

in Gasperini v. The Center for Humanities,

No. 95-710 (filed Mar. 1, 1996) ................ 30

a =

sy ape a Se hae aie ieee Wossuapseden Behind.

nc aia eg tected Ms BN OARS go Kon gs Ore Nae
enats baeeen oe filers ty ere ‘ bd, ile t= eee alias “ro - ,* Oh ee OAT 471g F
ie) SPA te iis Seuss To na s'9 ah Sin ba Foals ahinnibe SE ae + Pare vee Pe tinny =e ors Chee pa
a ae oe as 0° are oi wan ola ret ee ee Ht nyhln a a~ ; a ‘2 : Aedes
ee eee ee ae y, a APRS? He Be et 7 Tee he ae Teo tae

1M ~ congo a geet :

eo bs

¢
at gs

*
+
a
.

Aa 3

7

8? aie
+S

72
a

4! >

ae ar a |

peop ~ of

* 7 haf i een) pF R™ A ites us ¢ » cod ' ee ied a a. ae ; ~ ° ety
Pes ; ‘ i or: a’ Vs ae eDt:* Poa es Fk ho ae a 20 eta (Mert eek oP ne, ple peor ee ae
ners te ee er on ee aie ce a bahia, 5 Sar a ere vient SE ale ae Es OMe edly J cpr, Soap a . oe: ae :
Mast bt ue ot UB ty A ivtbeay suf 5A AOL em ee | ak ee ; eee Se See i¥g SAPO (eta ek) sf or ea a 3

a

Interest of Amici Curiae

This brief is submitted by two law professors who in
their past work have analyzed various aspects of legal
history pertinent to the remedy of punitive damages, also
known as “exemplary damages.”’ Amici respectfully suggest
that this brief may be of use to the Court as a counterpoint
to the analysis of legal history contained in the Brief for the
Petitioner (“Pet. Br.”) and in the Brief of the American Tort
Reform Association as Amicus Curiae in Support of
Petitioner (““ATRA Br.”) (ATRA’s analysis is adopted by
Philip Morris in Pet. Br. at 19 n.7).?

Akhil Reed Amar, the Southmayd Professor of Law
and Political Science at Yale University, teaches constitu-
tional law, federal jurisdiction, and legal history, among
other subjects. He has published extensively on the history
surrounding the drafting and ratification of the Constitution
and of the Bill of Rights, devoting significant attention to
historical matters relating to the role of the jury. He is a co-
editor of a leading constitutional law casebook, Processes of

? Given its historical focus, this brief uses the term “exemplary
damages” to refer to what today are typically termed “punitive damages.”
“Exemplary damages” is a term English common-law courts began using
in the 1760s to refer to extra-compensatory damages designed to punish
intentional wrongs and thereby deter their future commission by “making
an example” of the offender for others to heed. The term “punitive
damages,” which did not come into regular use until a century later, tends
to obscure the deterrence-based origin and function of such damages by
suggesting their principal function is “punishment,” in the sense of
retribution, that is, for its own sake. Thus we use the older term, which
more accurately reflects a principal original function of such extra-
compensatory damages, deterrence (both specific and general deterrence).

* All parties have consented to the filing of this brief (the parties’
blanket consents having been lodged with the Clerk). No counsel for a
party has written this brief in whole or in part. Indeed, this brief has
been independently researched and written; no counsel for any party or
any other amicus has seen drafts. No person or entity other than amici
curiae and their counsel has made 4 monetary contribution to the
preparation or submission of this brief.

2

Constitutional Decisionmaking, and -he author of numerous
law review articles. His several books include, most
recently, America’s Constitution: A Biography (Random
House, 2005); and The Bill of Rights: Creation and
Reconstruction (Yale University Press, 1998).

Arthur McEvoy, the J. Willard Hurst Professor at the
University of Wisconsin Law School, teaches American legal
history and torts and has published extensively in the fields
of American history and American legal history. He was a
professor of history at Northwestern University from 1980
to 1993, and a research fellow at the American Bar
Foundation from 1989 to 1994. He has a particular interest
in the history of judicial review of jury verdicts in the United
States, and was counsel of record on an amicus brief filed by
legal historians on that issue which this Court cited in
Honda Motor Co. v. Oberg, 512 U.S. 415, 422 n.2 (1994).

Introduction and Summary of Argument

Philip Morris and ATRA make three basic arguments
concerning the history of exemplary damages:

1. Through the second half of the 1800s, American
courts were sharply divided over the very existence of an
exemplary damages remedy — over the threshold question
of “whether damages could ever properly be imposed for
purposes of punishment,” even where the only harm
considered was harm done specifically to the plaintiff. Pet.
Br. at 18 (emphasis added). See also ATRA Br. at 8 & n.5.

2. Once “[c]ourts gradually began to accept that
damages could be used to punish as well as compensate,”
they focused on “the distinct harm to the party before the
court.” Pet. Br. at 18. This approach reflected the “general
consensus that punitive damages may be imposed only to
punish for the harm to the party before the court... .” Pet.
Br. at 19 (emphasis added). See also ATRA Br. at 5-12. “For
almost the entirety of their existence, punitive damages
were awarded only as punishment for harm to the specific
person bringing the claim.” Pet. Br. at 17. See also ATRA

3

Br. at 12 (“punitive damages were never understood as a
mechanism for vindicating affronts to society generally (or
for that matter to anyone other than the plaintiff)”).

3. Through “several centuries of Anglo-American legal
history, . . . low-single-digit ratios of punitive to compen-
satory damages have always been the norm,” Pet. Br. at 35
— anorm which “persisted throughout the 19th century and
much of the 20th.” Pet. Br. at 38. “Astronomical punitive
damages awards yielding multi-digit ratios are a phenome-
non that has emerged only recently. Such awards have no
basis in common-law history.” Pet. Br. at 38 (footnote
omitted). See also ATRA Br. at 21-30.

Part I of this brief demonstrates that each of the three
basic points urged by Philip Morris and ATRA is flawed.
There was no “sharp” division over the existence of an
exemplary damages remedy through 1899. The existence
and validity of this remedy was well established by the early
1800s under the common law of both England and America,
as Chancellor Kent contemporaneously observed.
Exemplary damages have never been limited only to the
consideration of harms done to the plaintiff. Nor were
exemplary damages historically confined to a low, single-
digit multiple of actual damages. From the beginning,
courts justified exemplary damages in significant part as a
mechanism to deter intentional wrongdoing and, at least in
cases founded on deterrence (we do not consider cases
founded on retribution), the ratio between exemplary and
compensatory damages was of little significance.
Exemplary damages set at “astronomica!” multiples of
the particular plaintiffs actual damages are no modern
phenomenon. At least with regard to deterrence-based
exemplary damages, such awards have been a hallmark of
this common-law remedy from its inception. The whole
point of the 1763 litigation pursued by John Wilkes and his
allies against government agents which led to the earliest
decisions was to use the threat of enormous exemplary
damages awards to deter sweeping invasions of privacy
effected pursuant to general warrants. Lord Chief Justice
Charles Pratt (later made Lord Camden) upheld enormous

4

exemplary damages in the cases involving Wilkes as an
appropriate means of deterring harm to others, and to
society generally. Lord Camden specifically rejected the
government’s argument that exemplary damages should not
be used for purposes of deterrence.

The exemplary damages cases involving Wilkes were
well known to the Founding generation. Wilkes and Lord
Camden were lionized in part for their role in these cases.
It is therefore no surprise that Lord Camden’s approach to
exemplary damages, including his focus on deterrence, was
retained by the state courts after independence as part of
their “reception” of the English common law. A handful of
state courts, many decades later, altered their common law
to bar exemplary damages. But in the states which did
continue to permit exemplary damages (the vast majority),
courts accepted Lord Camden’s fundamental insight that
exemplary damages should be based not simply on the harm
that had been done to the plaintiff but should also take
account of harm to others, and to society in general, and be
set at levels adequate to deter such harm in the future.

Part II of this brief addresses a separate but related
matter raised by Philip Morris and ATRA: the proper
division of authority between judge and jury. ATRA argues
that historical practice does not shield jury-awarded
exemplary damages “from exacting constitutional scrutiny,”
ATRA Br. at 30, and Philip Morris goes so far as to argue
that “long-established practice” requires that “when the
compensatory damages are substantial, the constitutional
maximum punishment is between zero and four times the
amount of compensatory damages.” Pet. Br. at 9. However,
the historical practice of the English courts dating back to
1763, and of the American courts during the 19th century,
was to defer heavily to jury determinations of exemplary
damages. Both as a matter of tradition as it existed when
the Fourteenth Amendment was enacted in 1868 and, even
more fundamentally, in light of the Seventh Amendment
enacted in 1791, the type of de novo or weight-of-the-
evidence review of exemplary damages which Philip Morris
and ATRA appear to champion is untenable.

5
Argument

I. History Supports the States’ Use of Exemplary
Damages to Deter Wrongdoing Generally, Not
Just to Vindicate Harms to Particular Plaintiffs

Philip Morris’s historical account is as follows. Through
1899 there was sharp division among American courts and
commentators over the very existence of an exemplary
damages remedy. Pet. Br. at 18. Once American courts
gradually did begin to permit exemplary damages, there
developed a general consensus that only the harm to the
plaintiff in the particular case could be considered, and that
exemplary damages should be strictly confined to punishing
for harm to that plaintiff. Pet. Br. at 17-19. Exemplary
damages awarded at multi-digit ratios above actual
damages were unknown until recently. Pet. Br. at 35, 38.

Philip Morris’s arguments are contrary to the historical
record. As Chancellor Kent contemporaneously observed,
exemplary damages were a well-established part of both
English and American common law by the early 1800s.
From their beginnings in the mid-1700s, they have been
awarded in large part not merely to punish for, or vindicate,
harm to the plaintiff, but to deter harms against others, and
against society generally — and at multi-digit ratios far
above the actual damages if found necessary for deterrence.

A. Early English Cases

Exemplary damages were first formally recognized as
a separate category of common-law damages in 1763, in the
landmark English cases involving the government’s target-
ing of John Wilkes for the alleged publication of North
Briton, No. 45. Wilkes was a Member of Parliament and
part of one of the Whig factions (led by William Pitt the
Elder) which fell into opposition to the government following
the accession of King George III in 1760, and which was
fighting the efforts of other factions desiring to enhance the
King’s powers and to negotiate a peace treaty with France.

6

The most notorious of the North Briton issues (which, while
published anonymously, were widely assumed to be written
chiefly by Wilkes) was North Briton, No. 45. It depicted the
King as the unwitting puppet of corrupt ministers who were
being covertly led by a Scottish lord who owed his influence
to an amorous connection with the King’s mother.®

Beyond his extraordinary abilitie; as a propagandist
and satirist, Wilkes was trained as a lawyer,‘ and was a
capable administrator (later serving with distinction as
sheriff, lord mayor, and chamberlain of London).* When the
King and government ministers attacked North Briton, No.
45, as seditious and treasonous, and launched searches and
seizures targeting dozens of individuals pursuant to general
warrants in an effort to obtain evidence that Wilkes was its
author, Wilkes drew on those skills to manage and finance
a series of lawsuits against government ministers and
agents seeking tort damages. Through their lawsuits,
Wilkes and his allies “recovered a King’s ransom from civil
juries to teach arrogant officialdom a lesson and to deter
future abuse,” and Wilkes became a hero of liberty and
democracy® — a reputation enhanced by Wilkes’s later use

® See generally ARTHUR R. CASH, JOHN WILKES: THE SCANDALOUS
FATHER OF CIVIL LIBERTY 38-43, 49-50, 56-57, 60-62, 65-100 (2006); JOHN
SAINSBURY, JOHN WILKES: THE LIVES OF A LIBERTINE xiv-xv, 45-70 (2006);
LOUIS KRONENBERGER, THE EXTRAORDINARY MR. WILKES: HIS LIFE AND
TIMES 16-35 (1974); GEORGE F. E. RUDE, WILKES AND LIBERTY: A SOCIAL
STUDY 18-23 (1962); CHARLES CHENEVIX TRENCH, PORTRAIT OF A PATRIOT:
A BIOGRAPHY OF JOHN WILKES 56-99 (1962); RAYMOND WILLIAM POSTGATE,
THAT DEVIL WILKES 4-5, 10-17, 30-36, 46-51 (1929).

* CASH, supra note 3, at 12, 16, 21; SAINSBURY, supra note 3, at x, 8.

* CASH, supra note 3, at 292-94, 308-14, 351-52, 378; KRONENBERGER,
supra note 3, at 138-44, 157-60, 187-88; TRENCH, supra note 3, at 290-94,
315-22; POSTGATE, supra note 3, at 180-82, 187-95, 212-16, 229-31;
WILLIAM PURDIE TRELOAR, WILKES AND THE CITY 107, 124-49, 193-208
(1917).

* AKHIL REED AMAR, THE CONSTITUTION AND CRIMINAL PROCEDURE:
FIRST PRINCIPLES 29, 194 n.146 (1997). See also AKHIL REED AMAR, THE
BILL OF RIGHTS: CREATION AND RECONSTRUCTION 70-71 & n.* (1998);

7

of similarly aggressive tactics to win landmark victories for
the freedom of the press’ and the freedom of the ballot.®
One of the cases sparked by North Briton, No. 45,
Huckle v. Money, 95 Eng. Rep. 768 (C.P. 1763), involved a
claim for exemplary damages made by a journeyman printer
suspected of involvement with its printing. Huckle was
detained for only six hours. Money and the other govern-
ment agents treated him “rather well, feeding him ‘beef
steakes and beer, so that he suffered very little or no
damages’.... [T]he jury awarded him £ 300, an enormous
sum almost 300 times the plaintiffs weekly wage.” Honda
Motor Co. v. Oberg, 512 U.S. 415, 421 (1994) (quoting
Huckle, 95 Eng. Rep. at 768). Lord Chief Justice Charles
Pratt (later made Lord Camden) upheld the award in full on
the basis that the case involved not simply “the mere
personal injury” of the plaintiff, but also the liberty of “all
the King’s subjects” against the exercise of “arbitrary
power,” so that the jury had “done right in giving exemplary

CASH, supra note 3, at 100-16, 131-33, 161-62, 371-72; SAINSBURY, supra
note 3, at xv; KRONENBERGER, supra note 3, at 36-44, 250; RUDE, supra
note 3, at 23-30, 34, 193-98; TRENCH, supra note 3, at 88-128, 163, 370-72;
POSTGATE, supra note 3, at 51-61.

? Wilkes’s exploitation of certain prerogatives of the London courts
brought about, for the first time in English history, the ability of
newspapers to provide coverage of the proceedings of Parliament.
KRONENBERGER, supra note 3, at 130-35; RUDE, supra note 3, at 155-65,
194; TRENCH, supra note 3, at 279-85, 371; POSTGATE, supra note 3, at
173-77; TRELOAR, supra note 5, at 113-23.

® After years of effort, Wilkes established the right of voters to send as
their representative to the legislature whomever they wished (even
Wilkes, voted into Parliament once while under a sentence of outlawry,
and thrice while imprisoned), a principle upon which this Court drew in
Powell v. McCormack, 395 U.S. 486, 527-31 (1969). See also CASH, supra
note 3, at 179, 208-13, 221-22, 224-27, 237-38, 242, 246-58, 305, 310, 316-
18, 369-71; SAINSBURY, supra note 3, at xvi-xvii; KRONENBERGER, supra
note 3, at 88-93, 99-101, 120-26, 128-29; RUDE, supra note 3, at 41-75,
105-07, 111, 194; TRENCH, supra note 3, at 214-24, 231-34, 237-51, 312-13,
370-71; POSTGATE, supra note 3, at 121-27, 132-47, 198-200, 224.

8

—

damages.” 95 Eng. Rep. at 768-69.

A case brought by Wilkes sought to hold the govern-
ment accountable for searching his home under a general
warrant, in its effort to uncover evidence that Wilkes had
authored North Briton, No. 45. Wilkes v. Wood, 98 Eng. Rep.
489 (C.P. 1763). Wilkes specifically focused the case on
deterrence, which was the whole point of the coordinated
litigation effort. Arguing “that the case extended far beyond
Mr. Wilkes personally” to “touch[] the liberty of every
subject,” Wilkes’s counsel urged an award of “large and
exemplary damages” because “trifling damages would put no
stop to such proceedings ....” Id. at 490. Lord Camden
charged the jurors that they had “it in their power to give
damages for more than the injury received” so as “to deter
from any such proceeding for the future... .” Jd. at 498-99.

In so charging the jury, Lord Camden specifically
rejected the Solicitor General’s argument “[t]hat damages
shovld always be reckoned according to the injury received,”
id. at 494, and his argument that the public interest could
only be protected through criminal proceedings, not through
jury-awarded damages. Id. at 493 (“This was the first time
he ever knew a private action represented as the cause of all
the good people of England. If the constitution has, in any
instance, been violated, the Crown must be the prosecutor,
as it is in all criminal cases.”). So charged, the jury awarded
Wilkes £ 1000, more than three times the enormous sum
awarded the journeyman printer. Id. at 499."°

* The “enormous” (to use this Court’s description) exemplary damages
award upheld on little or no damages in Huckle v. Money refutes the
argument that “[a]stronomical punitive damages awards yielding multi-
digit ratios are a phenomenon that has emerged only recently,” and they
“have no basis in common-law history.” Pet. Br. at 38. Compare Clarence
Morris, Punitive Damages in Tort Cases, 44 HARV. L. REV. 1173, 1180 &
n.10 (1931) (noting 75 years ago that “punitive damages many times as
great as the actual damages have been affirmed”).

#? As Lord Camden’s analysis makes clear, both Huckle v. Money and
Wilkes v. Wood refute the argument made to this Court that the focus of
exemplary damages has always been on “the distinct harm to the party

9

Between 1764 and American independence, building on
Huckle v. Money and Wilkes v. Wood, the English courts
sustained other exemplary damages awards in a variety of.
contexts, typically involving powerful elites who abused
their power against ordinary people, justifying exemplary
damages as a means of deterring future such abuses. E.g.,
Beardmore v. Carrington, 95 Eng. Rep. 790 (K.B. 1764); Grey
v. Grant, 95 Eng. Rep. 794 (C.P. 1764); Benson v. Frederick,
97 Eng. Rep. 1130 (K.B. 1766); Tullidge v. Wade, 95 Eng.
Rep. 909 (C.P. 1769); Bruce v. Rawlins, 95 Eng. Rep. 934
(C.P. 1770); Sharpe v. Brice, 96 Eng. Rep. 557 (C.P. 1774).

B. Early American Cases
Citing an 1899 treatise, Philip Morris argues that

“[t]hroughout the second half of the 19th century, courts and
commentators were sharply divided over whether damages

before the court.” Pet. Br. at 18; see also Pet. Br. at 17 (“For almost the
entirety of their existence, punitive damages were awarded only as
punishment for harm to the specific person bringing the claim.”); ATRA
Br. at 12 (“punitive damages were never understood as a mechanism for
vindicating affronts to society generally (or for that matter anyone other
than the plaintiff)”). As our discussion below demonstrates in detail, this
argument by Philip Morris and ATRA ignores the well-settled deterrence
function of exemplary damages, one specifically relied upon in the original
1763 decisions and in many later decisions.

Similarly flawed is the analysis set forth in a law review article
heavily relied upon by Philip Morris and ATRA for their historical
argument, Thomas B. Colby, Beyond the Multiple Punishment Problem:
Punitive Damages as Punishment for Individual, Private Wrongs, 87
MINN. L. REV. 583 (2003) (cited in Pet. Br. at 12, 18, 38 n.25; ATRA Br. at
5, 9-12, 23). Despite the explicit deterrence rationale of Huckle v. Money,
Wilkes v. Wood, and many later cases, Colby argues that courts have
always conceived of exemplary damages “as punishment for the private
legal wrong — the insult — done to the individual plaintiff.” Id. at 619.
Last year the California Supreme Court rejected Colby’s “restrictive
historical view of the purposes of punitive damages,” explaining that
accepting “such a narrow view” would “blind state juries and courts to the
state’s public interest in deterring a wrongful course of conduct.” Johnson
v. Ford Motor Co., 113 P.3d 82, 91-92 (Cal. 2005).

10

could ever properly be imposed for purposes of punishment.”
Pet. Br. at 18 (emphasis added) (citing 2 SIMON GREENLEAF,
A TREATISE ON THE LAW OF EVIDENCE § 253, at 240-50
(William Draper Lewis ed., 16th ed. 1899)). But as this
Court has previously observed, “the common-law method for
assessing punitive damages was well established before the
Fourteenth Amendment was enacted,” Pacific Mutual Life
Ins. Co. v. Haslip, 499 U.S. 1, 17 (1991), a point which was
“made clear” in 1851 by Day v. Woodworth, 54 U.S. 363
(1851). Jd. That observation was a correct one.

Because the exemplary damages remedy was well
established under the common law of England prior to
American independence, it automatically became part of the
common law of nearly all states (both the thirteen original
states and those later admitted) due to their “reception” of
the English common law.”' Of course, the English common
law was not imported wholesale in America. There was no
slavish adherence to English common law as a technical

“Resisting the claim that the American plantations were ‘conquered’
territory and as such not entitled to the benefits of English law, the
colonists largely succeeded after 1720 in establishing the proposition that
they carried the English common law with them.” MORTON J. HORWITz,
THE TRANSFORMATION OF AMERICAN LAW, 1780-1860, at 6 (1977) (citations
omitted). “[T}he first Continental Congress in 1774 .. . maintain[ed] that
Americans were ‘entitled to the common law’... .” Id. at 4, 270 n.16
(quoting 1 Journals of the Continental Congress 69 (1904)). “Between
1776 and 1784, eleven of the thirteen original states adopted, directly or
indirectly, some provision for the reception of the common law as well as
of limited classes of British statutes,” with the final two states following
in 1798 and 1818. Id. at 4, 270 n.18 (citing E. BROWN, BRITISH STATUTES
IN AMERICAN LAW, 1776-1836, at 24 (1964)). See also LAWRENCE M.
FRIEDMAN, A HISTORY OF AMERICAN LAW 66-70, 112 (3d ed. 2005).

Nor was reception of the English common law limited to the thirteen
original states. The Northwest Ordinance of 1787 mandated “judicial
proceedings according to the course of the common law” — that is, the
common law of England. E.g., Penny v. Little, 4 Ill. (8 Scam.) 301, 302-05
(1841). Virtually all the states admitted to the union after the Revolution
adopted the common law of England, with the date of reception typically
either left unspecified or set at 1776. See Joseph Fred Benson, Reception
of the Common Law in Missouri: Section 1.010 as Interpreted by the
Supreme Court of Missouri, 67 MO. L. REV. 595, 607-11 (2002) (catalog of
provisions compiled by Missouri's judicial archivist).

11

system, and there was enough distrust of some English
common-law principles that American judges felt latitude to
reject them as seemed warranted. See Seminole Tribe of
Florida v. Florida, 517 U.S. 44, 132-37 (1996) (Souter, J.,
joined by Ginsburg and Breyer, JJ., dissenting) (citing
numerous sources). But the particular principle animating
the exemplary damages doctrine — the need to provide a
remedy for common people to deter intentional wrongs by
powerful elites, in a proceeding administered by jurors who
would be difficult for elites to covertly influence — was
hardly the subject of distrust in America.

After all, the exemplary damages remedy had first been
formally recognized in the famous cases involving John
Wilkes and Lord Camden, which added greatly to their
status as “folk heroes in the colonies.”"* The various cases
involving Wilkes can be thought of “as the Brown v. Board
of Education of their day; and Lord Chief Justice Camden as
the Earl Warren of his era.” Akhil Reed Amar, Foreword:
Lord Camden Meets Federalism — Using State Constitutions
to Counter Federal Abuses, 27 RUTGERS L.J. 845, 846 (1996).
Indeed, the exemplary damages remedy played a part in the
dispute over ratification of the Constitution, particularly
over whether ratification should be conditioned on a Bill of
Rights guaranteeing the right to trial by jury in civil cases,
on the view that “[t]he prospect of jury oversight and jury-

* AKHIL REED AMAR, THE BILL OF RIGHTS: CREATION AND
RECONSTRUCTION 66-67 (1998). As this Court has noted: “Wilkes’ struggle
and his ultimate victory had a significant impact in the American
colonies. His advocacy of libertarian causes and his pursuit of the right
to be seated in Parliament became a cause célébre for the colonies. ‘[T]he
cry of “Wilkes and Liberty” echoed loudly across the Atlantic Ocean as
wide publicity was given to every step of Wilkes’s public career in the
colonial press. ... [Colonials] saw him as a popular hero and a martyr
to the struggle for liberty. ... They named towns, counties, and even
children in his honour.” Powell v. McCormack, 395 U.S. 486, 530-31
(1969) (quoting 11 L. GIPSON, THE BRITISH EMPIRE BEFORE THE AMERICAN
REVOLUTION 222 (1956)). See also CASH, supra note 3, at 231-34, 259-60,
263-64 (noting the prominent revolutionaries who wrote Wilkes in
admiration, including John Adams, Samuel Adams, John Hancock, and
James Otis); POSTGATE, supra note 3, at 162-69, 206-07 (same).

12

awarded punitive damages would powerfully deter
government officials contemplating unreasonable conduct.”
Given the historical pedigree of the English common
law exemplary damages precedents and the reception of the
English common law by the new American states, it is
unsurprising that in the decades following independence,
state after state confirmed the existence of an exemplary
damages remedy under the common law, in accord with the
English cases establishing this remedy. Some examples:
In 1784, a South Carolina court upheld the exemplary
damages received by the victim of a practical joke. The
defendant, a physician, first staged a fake duel with the
intoxicated victim, and then slipped a diuretic into the wine

AMAR, supra note 12, at 70; see also AKHIL REED AMAR, AMERICA’S
CONSTITUTION: A BIOGRAPHY 233-34, 329-30 (2005); AKHIL REED AMAR,
THE CONSTITUTION AND CRIMINAL PROCEDURE: FIRST PRINCIPLES 14-15,
29 (1997). For example, explaining the need for civil jury trials, one
Pennsylvania Anti-Federalist noted that if a federal officer searching “for
stolen goods, pulled down the clothes of a bed in which there was a
woman and searched under her shift . . . a trial by jury would be our
safest resource, heavy damage would at once punish the offender and
deter others from committing the same: but what satisfaction can we
expect from a lordly [judge] always ready to protect the officers of
government against the weak and helpless citizens.” Essay of a
Democratic Federalist, reprinted in 3 THE COMPLETE ANTI-FEDERALIST 58,
61 (Herbert J. Storing ed., 1981). Similarly, the prominent Anti-
Federalist essayist “Maryland Farmer” noted: “[N]o remedy has yet been
found equal to the task of deterring and curbing the insolence of office,
but a jury — [i]t has become an invariable maxim of English juries, to
give ruinous damages whenever an officer had deviated from the rigid
letter of the law, or been guilty of any unnecessary act of insolence or
oppression.” Essays by a Farmer (1), reprinted in 5 THE COMPLETE ANTI-
FEDERALIST 5, 14 (Herbert J. Storing ed., 1981). On the importance and
meaning of the Seventh Amendment, see generally Alexander Hamilton,
Federalist No. 83, at 499 (Clinton Rossiter ed., 1961) (“The friends and
adversaries of the plan of the convention, if they agree in nothing else,
concur at least in the value they set upon the trial by jury”); Parklane
Hoisiery Co. v. Shore, 439 U.S. 322, 339-46 (1979) (Rehnquist, J.,
dissenting); Alan Howard Scheiner, Judicial Assessment of Punitive
Damages, The Seventh Amendment, and the Politics of Jury Power, 91
CoLuM. L. REv. 142, 148-60 (1991); Charles W. Wolfram, The
Constitutional History of the Seventh Amendment, 57 MINN. L. REV. 639,
653-710 (1973).

13

he offered the victim for a “reconciliation” toast. The
defendant insisted it was all “a drunken frolic, and no injury
was seriously intended,” but the court upheld the plaintiff's
“very exemplary damages,” especially because the physician
“could not plead ignorance of the operation, and powerful
effects of this medicine.” Genay v. Norris, 1 S.C.L. (1 Bay)
6, 6 (S.C. Com. Pl. Gen. Sess. 1784).

In 1790, a Maryland court upheld a sizable damages
award in an ejectment action in a case in which the
plaintiffs counsel admitted the actual damages “were
insignificant,” but argued “the entry and ouster was so
violent as to deserve exemplary damages,” which the jury
“gave such as should deter others from such proceedings
.... Joan v. Joshua Shield’s Lessee, 3 H. & McH. 7, 8 (Md.
Gen. Oct. Term 1790).

In 1791, ina New Jersey lawsuit alleging seduction and
breach of promise of marriage, a jury was charged “not to
estimate the damages by any particular proof of suffering or
actual loss; but to give damages for example’s sake, to
prevent such offences in [the] future... .” Coryell v.
Colbaugh, 1 N.J.L. (1 Coxe) 77 (N.J. 1791). s

In 1808, the Pennsylvania Supreme Court upheld a
“severe” damages award against a sheriff for his deputy’s
invalid levy of property from the administrator of an estate.
Even though “the actual injury was nothing,” the court held
the jury could properly “have thought it a necessary check to
rude and improper behaviour of the sheriff and his officers.

... [T]he happiness of society requires that these officers
should be influenced by powerful motives to avoid all acts of
rudeness and wanton injury.” Hazard v. Israel, 1 Binn. 240,
246 (Pa. 1808). Compare note 13, supra. 1

The 1808 New York decision in Tillotson v. Cheetham,
3 Johns. 56 (N.Y. 1808), upheld an exemplary damages
award for libel. Written by Chief Justice (later Chancellor)
James Kent, it termed the exemplary damages doctrine
“well settled” in America. Kent saw no need for lengthy
exposition. He summarized several exemplary damages
decisions (including Huckle v. Money) and then concluded:

14

But it cannot be requisite to multiply instances in
which the doctrine, contained in this part of the
charge, has received the sanction of the
English and of the American courts of justice. It is
too well settled in practice, and is too valuable in
principle, to be called into question.

Id. at 64-65.

A 1818 maritime decision by this Court reflected the
sharp distinction which had developed between compen-
satory and exemplary damages, in specifying the damages
owed by the owners of a privateer who were constructively
liable for an illegal seizure. The owners were liable “for all
the injuries and losses actually sustained” on account of the
illegal seizure, “but they are not bound to the extent of
vindictive damages” — although in a suit against the crew
of the privateer, “it might be proper to go yet further, and
visit upon them in the shape of exemplary damages, the
proper punishment which belongs to such lawless conduct.”
The Amiable Nancy, 16 U.S. 546, 558-59 (1818) (Story, J.).

In 1818, emphasizing the deterrent function of
exemplary damages, a South Carolina court rejected an
attack on a jury verdict for slander: “Exemplary damages
are the only means of bridling licentious tongues.” Hogg v.
Wilson, 1 Nott & McC. 216, 216 (S.C. Const. 1818).

In 1836, reiterating its stance on exemplary damages
and citing English decisions, the Pennsylvania Supreme
Court stated: “Whatever be the speculative notions of
fanciful writers, the authorities teach that damages may be
given, in peculiar cases, not only to compensate, but to
punish. * ** That corrective damages may be given for the
sake of example, is as old as the law itself.” McBride v.
McLaughlin, 5 Watts 375, 376-77 (Pa. 1836)."*

* The “fanciful” writer the court had in mind apparently was Theron
Metcalf, a Boston lawyer who six years earlier had published an article
arguing a radical new theory concerning the exemplary damages doctrine.
Metcalf's article is relied on by ATRA’s amicus brief filed in support of
Philip Morris (ATRA Br. at 17-18), and in the chief law review article
relied on by Philip Morris and ATRA (Colby, supra note 10, at 617 n.119),

15

In 1839, the highest court of New Hampshire, in a case
involving harm caused by an unsafe bridge, upheld a jury
charge that “if the defendants had been guilty of. gross
negligence, .. . [the jurors] might, in their discretion, give
the plaintiff exemplary damages.” Whipple v. Walpole, 10
N.H. 130, 133 (1839). It cited both English authority and
Chancellor Kent’s 1808 analysis of the well-settled nature of
the doctrine, concluding a jury may award “damages beyond
the actual injury sustained, for the sake of the example... .”
Id. at 132.

with no acknowledgment of its radical, indeed, fanciful, nature.

Despite the preceding half century of both English and American
decisions authorizing the use of exemplary damages to punish and deter
intentional wrongdoing, Metcalf argued that “neither on principle, nor by
the preponderance of authority, can damages be estimated by any other
standard than the actual injury received ....” Theron Metcalf, A
Reading on Damages in Actions Ex Delicto, 3 AM. JURIST & LAW MAG. 287,
288 (1830). As to principle, he argued: “There would seem to be no reason
why a plaintiff should receive greater damages from a defendant who has
intentionally injured him, than from one who has injured him
accidentally, his loss being the same in both cases.” Jd. at 292. As to
precedent, he asserted that only “a few decisions and dicta,” advancing a
“preposterous and unjust” doctrine, cut against his thesis. Jd. at 304, 306.
These admittedly included Chancellor Kent’s decision in Tillotson stating
that the exemplary damages doctrine was “well settled” by 1808, which
Metcalf conceded was “highly respectable” authority. Yet, he insisted,
Chancéllor Kent had misread the relevant English cases. Jd. at 306-08.

Not surprisingly given its radical thesis and tendentious reading of
precedent, Metcalf’s analysis had little if any impact in the 19th century.
It was cited in only three court decisions (according to a Westlaw search),
each of which rejected the position argued by Metcalf. McWilliams v.
Bragg, 3 Wis. 377, 379 (1854); Taylor v. Grand Trunk Ry. Co., 48 N.H.
304, 319 (1869); Goddard v. Grant Trunk Ry. of Canada, 57 Me. 202, 220
(1869). Metcalf is, however, enjoying a remarkable renaissance in the
21st century. ATRA, for example, now refers to Metcalf’s article (written
for a legal journal that went out of business 163 years ago) as a “treatise.”
ATRA Br. at 17. To ATRA, anyone who cites Metcalf for his (accurate)
description of “the precise doctrine advanced” by mainstream thinkers, 3
AM. JURIST & LAW MAG. at 287 (language replaced with ellipses in ATRA
Br. at 17) — rather than citing his fanciful view that exemplary damages
“did not exist,” ATRA Br. at 18 — is making a “flatly misleading reference
to an 1830 treatise.” ATRA Br. at 17.

16

In two 1842 decisions, the highest court of Connecticut
emphasized the well-settled nature of the doctrine. Linsley
v. Bushnell, 15 Conn. 225, 236 (1842) (“There is no principle
better established, and no practice more universal, than that
vindictive damages, or smart money, may be, and is,
awarded, by the verdicts of juries, in cases of wanton or
malicious injuries”); Huntley v. Bacon, 15 Conn. 267, 273
(1842) (upholding exemplary damages charge; its propriety
“has been too frequently and too recently sanctioned, by this
court, to be again drawn into discussion or doubt”).

In 1842, Abraham Lincoln successfully defended on
appeal an exemplary damages award for seduction: “In
vindictive actions, and this is now regarded as one, the jury
are always permitted to give damages for the double purpose
of setting an example, and of punishing the wrong-doer.”
Grable v. Margrave, 4 Ill. (3 Scam.) 372, 373 (1842).

In 1847, the status of exemplary damages under
American law was reviewed in the first treatise on damages
published in the United States, by Theodore Sedgwick, a
leading member of the New York bar.” The treatise, which
Sedgwick wrote at Justice Story’s urging,”® was “the most
brilliant and boldly innovative American antebellum legal

%® Although his career was cut short by his untimely death in his late
40s, Sedgwick cosponsored David Dudley Field’s codification efforts;
worked with Field and Samuel J. Tilden in Democratic party politics;
served as co-counsel with John Quincy Adams in The Amistad Case, 40
U.S. 518 (1841); served as U.S. Attorney for New York; and produced
three editions of the seminal American treatise on damages. See
generally ARTHUR M. SCHLESINGER, JR., THE AGE OF JACKSON 187-88, 233-
34, 315, 463, 468, 482 (1945); HOWARD JONES, MUTINY ON THE AMISTAD:
THE SAGA OF A SLAVE REVOLT AND ITS IMPACT ON AMERICAN ABOLITION,
LAW, AND DIPLOMACY 40, 68, 80, 219 (1987).

#® Justice Story wrote Sedgwick that “a thorough analysis of the whole
subject, with all the lights of the modern authorities” would have “great
utility to the profession,” as there existed “no book that treats of the
subject at once fully, accurately, and with suitable distinctions and
expositions of principle.” Letter from Justice Joseph Story to Theodore
Sedgwick, November 7, 1844 (reprinted in THEODORE SEDGWICK, A
TREATISE ON THE MEASURE OF DAMAGES 1-2 (1st ed. 1847)).

17

treatise.” HORWITZ, supra note 11, at 83. This Court
adopted its analysis of the exemplary damages doctrine,
calling it an “excellent treatise.” Missouri Pacific Ry. Co. v.
Humes, 115 U.S. 512, 521 (1885).

Sedgwick’s analysis of the exemplary damages doctrine
is straightforward and familiar. Generally, damages provide
compensation “for the actual loss sustained.” THEODORE
SEDGWICK, A TREATISE ON THE MEASURE OF DAMAGES 28 (1st
ed. 1847). However, for torts “accompanied by oppression,
fraud, malice, or negligence so gross as to raise a
presumption of malice, . . . the jury have a discretion to
award exemplary or vindictive damages... .” Id. at 27-28;
see also id. at 34 (referencing the “large class of cases where
the common law in giving relief loses sight of the principle
of compensation, and gives damages by way of punishment
for acts of malice, vexation, fraud or oppression”).

Sedgwick emphasized that a case involving exemplary
damages is conceptually distinct from a case involving
merely compensatory damages, as it involves the imposition
of punishment to protect society. Where there is a “question
of fraud, malice, gross negligence, or oppression” involved,

the law, instead of adhering to the system or even
the language of compensation, adopts a wholly
different rule. It permits the jury to give what it
terms punitory, vindictive, or exemplary damages;
in other words, blends together the interest of
society and of the aggrieved individual, and gives
damages not only to recompense the sufferer, but
to punish the offender.

Id. at 38-39. Sedgwick provided an analysis of thirteen
representative decisions, dating back to 1763, including
those of Chancellor Kent and Justice Story. Jd. at 39-44.
Four years after Sedgwick published his treatise, this
Court reached the same conclusion as Sedgwick concerning
the status of the exemplary damages doctrine, stating that
it was “a well-established principle of the common law” that
in tort cases “a jury may inflict what are called exemplary,
punitive, or vindictive damages upon a defendant, having in

18

mind the enormity of his offence rather than the measure of
compensation to the plaintiff.” Day v. Woodworth, 54 U.S.
363, 371 (1851). On the basis that “repeated judicial
decisions for more than a century are to be received as the
best exposition of what the law is,” this Court concluded that
“the question will not admit of argument.” Jd. ATRA
asserts that in Day, “this Court all but apologized for the
availability of exemplary damages in civil cases... .” ATRA
Br. at 3 (citing id.}. We see no basis for that assertion.

Seven years later, this Court reiterated that “punitive
or exemplary damages” may be recovered in tort cases
“fw]henever the injury complained of has been inflicted
maliciously or wantonly, and with circumstances of
contumely or indignity,” and that in such cases “the jury are
not limited to the ascertainment of a simple compensation
for the wrong committed against the aggrieved person.”
Philadelphia, Wilmington, and Baltimore R.R. Co. v.
Quigley, 62 U.S. 202, 213-14 (1858).

Seventeen years later, this Court reiterated that the
exemplary damages doctrine “is too well settled now to be
shaken”; that the doctrine is based “on the ground, not that
the sufferer is to be recompensed, but that the offender is to
be punished”; that juries are thereby “authorized, for the
sake of public example, to give such additional damages as
the circumstances require”; and that the doctrine “has been
accepted as the general rule in England and in most of the
States of this country.” Milwaukee and St. Paul Ry. Co. v.
Arms, 91 U.S. 489, 492-93 (1875).

Ten years later this Court, in an opinion 1 by Justice
Field, reaffirmed the above decisions; explicitly approved
Sedgwick’s analysis of how the exemplary damages remedy
protects the interests of society; and stated that “the wisdom
of allowing such additional damages to be given is attested
by the long continuance of the practice.” Missouri Pacific
Ry. Co. v. Humes, 115 U.S. 512, 521 (1885).

The next year, in Barry v. Edmunds, 116 U.S. 550
(1886), this Court stated that under “settled law,” a tort
plaintiff may seek “exemplary damages calculated to
vindicate his right and protect it against future similar

-_

19

invasions.” Jd. at 562. After discussing its earlier decisions
and selected lower court decisions, id. at 562-65, this Court
noted that it was unnecessary “further to multiply
authorities on this point,” for the precedents validating the
remedy of exemplary damages “are indefinite in number,
and the application of the rule as uniform as the
circumstances of the cases are various.” Id. at 565.

Three years later, in another opinion by Justice Field,
this Court noted that the “propriety and legality” of
exemplary damages had been recognized “by repeated
judicial decisions for more than a century,” so that their
imposition “cannot be opposed as in conflict with the
prohibition against the deprivation of property without due
process of law.” Minneapolis and St. Louis Railway Co. v.
Beckwith, 129 U.S. 26, 36 (1889).

Four years later, this Court again noted the “well
settled” nature of the exemplary damages remedy. Lake
Shore & Mich. S. Ry. Co. v. Prentice, 147 U.S. 101, 107
(1893). In a historical analysis, Justice Gray cited Lord
Camden’s 1763 decisions in the lawsuits involving Wilkes
and North Briton, No. 45, stating: “The recovery of damages,
beyond compensation for the injury received, by way of
punishing the guilty, and as an example to deter others from
offending in like manner, is here clearly recognized.” Jd.

Mentioning in its brief none of these seven decisions of
this Court decided between 1851 and 1893 — all confirming
the consensus status of the exemplary damages doctrine —
Philip Morris asserts: “Throughout the second half of the
19th century, courts and commentators were sharply divided
over whether damages could ever properly be imposed for
purposes of punishment.” Pet. Br. at 18. This assertion
rests on a citation to the 16th and final edition of Professor
Simon Greenleaf’s evidence treatise, published in 1899."’

*” 2 SIMON GREENLEAF, A TREATISE ON THE LAW OF EVIDENCE § 253, at
240-50 (William Draper Lewis ed., 16th ed. 899). Philip Morris’s other
two citations provide no support for its assertion. One is a citation to
Sedgwick’s treatise, supplied only to illustrate the contrary view. The
second is a citation to a concurring opinion by Justice Scalia. That

20

The 1899 edition of Professor Greenleaf’s treatise
actually contradicts Philip Morris’s assertion that a “sharp”
division over the exemplary damages doctrine existed in
1899. Philip Morris relies on an 11-page footnote containing
Greenleafs radical assertion that awards of extra-
compensatory damages simply had no precedential support.
The footnote is appended to Greenleaf’s statement that
damages are solely “given as a compensation .. . for an
injury actually received by [plaintiff] from the defendant,”
and thus damages “should be precisely commensurate with
the injury, neither more nor less; and this whether it be to
his person or estate.” Greenleaf, supra note 17, at 240.

The only portion of this footnote actually arguing in
support of the statement in text is not any material
describing the law as it stood in the late 1800s, but material
which was written by Greenleaf more than 45 years before
the 16th edition was published in 1899. The first 581 of the
645 lines relied on by Philip Morris (90%) are identical to
the fifth edition published in 1854 shortly after Greenleaf's
death."® The remaining 10% of the material in the 1899
edition, added by editors after 1854 in several installments,
contains no argument in support of Greenleaf’s position circa

opinion actually undermines Philip Morris's assertion. Justice Scalia did
not suggest there was a relevant division among commentators over the
existence of exemplary or punitive damages throughout the 19th century,
that is, through 1899. Instead, he merely noted that “[a]s recently as the
mid-19th century, treatise writers sparred over whether they even
existed.” Pacific Mutual Life Tas. Co. v. Haslip, 499 U.S. 1, 25 (1991)
(Scalia, J., concurring in the judgment). Further, rebutting the notion
that the position argued in Greenleaf's treatise had solid support, and
thus was part of a “sharp” division, Justice Scalia stated that Greenleaf
view “was not widely shared.” Jd. Finally, Justice Scalia’s ultimate
conclusion based on the historical record (which Philip Morris ignores) is
one we share: by 1868, “punitive damages were undoubtedly an
established part of the American common law of torts.” Id. at 26.

® Compare 2 SIMON GREENLEAF, A TREATISE ON THE LAW OF EVIDENCE
§ 253, at 250-66 n.2 (5th ed. 1854), with 2 GREENLEAF, supra note 17, at
240-49 n.2. (Copies of these and other Greenleaf treatise sections, and of
various other materials referenced in this brief, are being posted online

in PDF format at http://blogs.law.harvard.edu/onfile/williams.)

21

1899; instead, these additions undermine that position. Of
the 27 post-1854 cases which are cited, virtually all are
contrary to Greenleaf's position. Further, two comments
added by the editors first undercut (in 1883) and then
abandon (in 1899) Greenleaf entire argument. They
describe the “large class of cases” which had been decided
contrary to “the elaborate argument of Mr. Greenleaf,” and
the “settled” nature of the exemplary damages doctrine.”
Even during his lifetime Greenleaf did not defend his
argument after Sedgwick attacked it in his second edition.”

1® A passage added in 1883 by the editor of the 14th edition (pages 263-
64) highlights the deterrence function of the exemplary damages doctrine
as it was being applied to railroads. It cites nine cases in support of this
statement: “There is a large class of cases, i.e. actions against railroad
companies for injuries inflicted by them, in which the language of courts
at least seems to uphold the view of Mr. Sedgwick. The underlying
principle is, perhaps, that the only way to secure safety for passengers is
to mulct the companies so heavily when accidents occur, that it will be for
their interest to use all possible precautions to avoid such accidents, and
in this roundabout way to produce a public benefit.” 2 GREENLEAF, supra
note 17, at 249 n.2.

The 15th edition, published in 1892, included no additions or edits
to this footnote. Both the 14th and 15th editions were edited by
Greenleaf’s grandson. Not until the 16th edition published in 1899 (the
edition relied on by Philip Morris) — a project carried out by Professor
(ater Dean) Wigmore and another law professor — was a statement
finally added recognizing that “the elaborate argument of Mr. Greenleaf”
made in his 1854 edition had been soundly rejected by the courts in the
subsequent 45 years. 2 GREENLEAF, supra note 17, at 250 n.2.

*° The first edition of Sedgwick’s damages treatise was published in
1847. It “demonstrated overwhelmingly the long-standing authority
behind punitive damages.” MORTON J. HORWITZ, THE TRANSFOAMATION OF
AMERICAN LAW, 1870-1960: THE CRISIS OF LEGAL ORTHODOXY, at 113
(1992). It was at this juncture that Greenleaf attacked Sedgwick’s
position; the lengthy footnote first appeared in the second edition of
Greenleaf's evidence treatise (pages 242-57) which was published in 1848.

In 1852, Sedgwick responded in his second edition, including a
detailed refutation of Greenleafs argument in which he described
Greenleaf's views as “untenable” and contrary to “the uniform language
of the courts.” THEODORE SEDGWICK, A TREATISE ON THE MEASURE OF
DAMAGES 466-67 n.4 (2d ed. 1852). Greenleafs fourth edition was
published in 1852 before Sedgwick’s second edition, so Greenleaf's chance

22

Thus, contrary to Philip Morris’s brief, this Court was
plainly correct, when it surveyed the historical record 15
years ago, in concluding that the exemplary damages
doctrine was “well established before the Fourteenth
Amendment was enacted” in 1868. Pacific Mutual Life Ins.
Co. v. Haslip, 499 U.S. 1, 17-(1991); see also id. at 25-26
(Scalia, J., concurring in the judgment). Indeed, our review
of the historical record has not uncovered any state which
prior to 1868 repudiated the common-law doctrine and
imposed a total bar on the recovery of exemplary damages;
instead, there was a common-law consensus in 1868. Only
after 1868, influenced by the beginnings of late-19th-century
legal formalism, did some courts begin to believe that-the
imposition of exemplary damages was “a usurpation of the
public law functions of the criminal law,” leading several
courts to impose a total bar on exemplary damages.”

to respond to Sedgwick was in his fifth edition, the last one he edited,
which was published in 1854, and in which Greenleaf updated his lengthy
footnote, adding 35 new lines summarizing two recent decisions (at pages
262 and 265). But Greenleaf neither defended himself against Sedgwick’s
attack on his analysis, nor edited the analysis in his footnote to remedy
the flaws identified by Sedgwick. He simply ignored Sedgwick’s attack.

2! Morton J. Horwitz, The History of the Public/Private Distinction,
130 U. PA. L. REV. 1423, 1425 (1982). It was “[d]uring the late 1870s and
1880s” that opposition to exemplary damages became powerful enough
that “the theoretical issue of the true nature of public versus private law
overshadowed the question of precedent,” and several courts “overthrew

.the doctrine of punitive damages... through a process of deduction from
the supposedly different inherent functions of public and private law.”
HORWITZ, supra note 20, at 113-14. As examples, Horwitz cites Fay v.
Parker, 53 N.H. 342, 382 (1873), and Murphy v. Hobbs, 7 Colo. 541, 551
(1884). Id. at 114, 296. Other examples of an absolute bar on exemplary
damages influenced by the public/private construct would appear to
include Boyer v. Barr, 8 Neb. 68, 72 (1878) (adopting Fay); Spokane Truck
& Dray Co. v. Hoefer, 2 Wash. 45 (1891) (adopting Fay and Murphy); Burt
vu. Advertiser Newspaper Co., 154 Mass. 238, 245 (1891) (Holmes, J.).

ATRA Br. at 8-9 n.5, asserts an 1868 Michigan decision banned all
exemplary damages, but in fact the decision merely shielded publishers
sued for libel if they had acted in good faith. Detroit Daily Post Co. v.
McArthur, 16 Mich. 447, 453-54 (1868). Philip Morris notes that
Michigan was allowing exemplary damages in 1874. Pet. Br. at 19.

23

History does not support the efforts of Philip Morris and
ATRA to obscure the deterrence-based origins of the
exemplary damages doctrine by asserting that historically
“punitive damages were awarded only as punishment for
harm to the specific person bringing the claim,” Pet. Br. at
17, and that “punitive damages were never understood as a
mechanism for vindicating affronts to society generally,”
ATRA Br. at 12. To the contrary, from their very beginnings
in the 1763 cases involving John Wilkes and presided over
by Lord Camden, both in England and in America
exemplary damages have been awarded in large part as a
means of advancing society’s interest in deterring
intentional wrongs.

II. History Supports the States’ Deference to
Juries in Determining the Amount of
Deterrence-Based Exemplary Damages

Philip Morris and ATRA make a related argument
concerning the history of exemplary damages which appears
equally without merit. The issue is what degree of deference
courts, particularly appellate courts, historically have
accorded juries in their determination of what amount of
exemplary damages is needed in a given case.

Both Philip Morris and ATRA appear to suggest that
there is no tradition of judges giving any particular
deference to the exemplary damages awarded by a jury ina
given case, so that de novo review, or at least some sort of
weight-of-the-evidence review, is permissible for this Court
to undertake. We do not know what else to make of their
statements, for example, that historical practice supposedly
does not shield jury-awarded exemplary damages “from
exacting constitutional scrutiny,” ATRA Br. at 30, and that
“long-established practice” supposedly requires that “when
compensatory damages are substantial, the constitutional
maximum punishment is between zero and four times the
amount of compensatory damages.” Pet. Br. at 9. Certainly
there is no mention in either brief of any sort of deference
owed juries in exemplary damages cases.

24

“As this Court has stated from its first due process
cases, traditional practice provides a touchstone for
constitutional analysis.” Hondd Motor Co. v. Oberg, 512
U.S. 415, 430 (1994). See also Pacific Mutual Life Ins. Co. v.
Haslip, 499 U.S. 1, 40 (1991) (Kennedy, J., concurring in the
judgment) (“Historical acceptance of legal institutions serves
to validate them not because history provides the most
convenient rule of decision but because we have confidence
that a long-accepted legal institution would not have
survived if it rested upon procedures found to be either
irrational or unfair.”). The traditional practice regarding
judicial review of exemplary damages verdicts, particularly
verdicts based on the deterrence rationale found in the
earliest cases, is one of deference to the jury’s weighing of
the facts of the case and the jury’s judgment regarding what
size award is appropriate. The view that judges (particularly
appellate judges) can or should engage in de novo or weight-
of-the-evidence review of damages awards, including
exemplary damages awards, is inconsistent with the
historical record.

For example, in rejecting a challenge to the exemplary
damages awarded in one of the cases involving John Wil'ses
and North Briton, No. 45 (see pp. 5-8, supra), Lord Camden
stated that “it is very dangerous for the Judges to
intermeddle in damages for tort; it must be a glaring case
indeed of outrageous damages in a tort, and which all
‘mankind at first blush must think so, to induce a Court to
grant a new trial for excessive damages.” Huckle v. Money,
95 Eng. Rep. 768, 769 (C.P. 1763). Later English cases
generally deferred to “the jury’s determination of damages”
(though they reserved the power “to order new trials solely
on the basis that the damages were too high,” and
sometimes did order them).”* Such deference to jury verdicts

2 Oberg, 512 U.S. at 422-23. See also Brief for Legal Historians Daniel
R. Coquillette, Mark M. Hager, Bruce H. Mann, and Arthur F. McEvoy as
Amici Curiae in Support of Respondent in Honda Motor Co. v. Oberg, No.
93-644 (filed Mar. 31, 1994), at 4-8 (“Oberg Historians’ Amicus Br.”) (cited
in this Court’s Oberg decision, id. at 422 n.2).

25

on damages was, Theodore Sedgwick noted, a corollary of
the welcome movement in the law away from the earlier
blunderbuss approach of having damages arbitrarily fixed
under preset schedules, or according to arbitrary ratios.”

33 Sedgwick observed that it was “the laws of remote and barbarous
periods” which took “the most minute care” in fixing damages recoveries
(for example, sixth-century England used a damages schedule under
which six shillings were due for a front tooth knocked out; 10 shillings for
a great toe cut off; 12 shillings for an ear cut off, etc.).. THEODORE
SEDGWICK, A TREATISE ON THE MEASURE OF DAMAGES 13 (3rd ed. 1858).
Schedules of specific damages “arbitrarily assessed in each class of cases,
without reference to the actual injury sustained in the particular case”
are found in “still more ancient” codes, for example double damages for
certain offenses under Jewish law. Jd. at 21. With the advance of
civilization, the law outgrew such arbitrary damages rules, as tribunals
were formed which could “be trusted with the assessment of the amount”
of damages, id. at 16 — in England, the jury. Jd. at 19. Sedgwick
believed that such arbitrary rules were “always a misfortune and a defect
in jurisprudence; they should never be tolerated, unless on account of
some peculiar and extraordinary difficulty in arriving at the truth of the
individual case.” Jd. at 16. ,

Modern scholarship confirms Sedgwick’s insights and further
illustrates that arbitrary “ratio” rules such as Philip Morris’s proposed
“multiple-of-0-to-4 rule,” Pet. Br. at 9, draw on the historical record of
remote periods. Primitive and early societies typically had “no officials to
take action against murder, theft, and other coercive acts,” so deterrence
of intentional wrongs was accomplished though “the possibility of
retaliation by victim against aggressor,” usually with help from the
victim’s family or broader group. Richard A. Posner, Retribution and
Related Concepts of Punishment, 9 J. LEGAL STUD. 71, 76-77 (1980). In
such societies, the principle of “the lex talionis of early Roman law,” and
“the ‘eye for an eye’ precept in the Old Testament... and in many other
early codes” developed “as a substitute for or limitation on vengeance.”
Without such a limitation, “people might react to a wrong by retaliating
against the wrongdoer disproportionally and, especially when this was so,
the original wrongdoer or his family might in turn retaliate against the
original retaliator or his family,” in “an endless cycle of injury, retaliation,
and counter-retaliation ....” Jd. at 71, 82. The principle of lex
talionis preserved social order by supplanting “the ancient practices of
indiscriminate personal revenge” in which “partisan bias” risked
triggering “spirals of escalating violence.” Francesco Parisi, The Genesis
of Liability in Ancient Law , 3 AM. L. & ECON. REV. 82, 86-87 (2001). See
also Louis Kaplow & Steven Shavell, Fairness Versus Welfare, 114 HARV.
L. REV. 961, 1282-84 (2001). Of course, with the rise of the modern
administrative state, which couples a monopoly on legitimate violence

26

Historically, American courts followed the English
practice of providing some judicial review of jurors’ damages
verdicts while generally according heavy deference to the
discretion of the jury. Typically judges only disturbed
verdicts so extravagant and inexplicable on the record of the
case as to make clear that the jurors’ verdict must have been
the product of “passion and prejudice,” and not the product
of a fair trial involving reasoned decisionmaking based on
the evidence. Oberg, 512 U.S. at 424-26; see also Oberg
Historians’ Amicus Br., supra note 22, at 12-19.

Consistent with this history, various justices of this
Court have stated that in an exemplary damages case where
there are no indications that the trial was unfair or that the
jury engaged in improper reasoning, there attaches to a jury
verdict a presumption (possibly irrebuttable, or virtually so)
that the product of that fair process comports with due
process. E.g., TXO Prod. Corp. v. Alliance Resources Corp.,
509 U.S. 443, 457 (1993) (plurality opinion) (citing earlier
opinions by Justices Scalia and Kennedy); BMW of North
America, Inc. v. Gore, 517 U.S. 559, 586-88 (1996) (Breyer,
J., joined by O’Connor and Souter, JJ., concurring). So far,
this Court has not disturbed any jury verdict to which that
presumption attached. In both cases in which this Court
has found problematic the size of an exemplary damages
award, the presumption did not attach because of serious

with elaborate procedural protections, id. at 1284, the predicate for
insisting on a principle of proportional retaliation long ago vanished.
Still, given the period during which the observance of proportional limits
on retaliation was important to social order, “it would not be surprising
that everyone, . . . would be inclined to find the retributive conception of
fair punishment intuitively appealing.” Jd. at 1287. But today “it would
make no sense” to apply this conception developed in primitive times to
limit the penalties otherwise found appropriate to increase the well-being
of all members of modern society. Jd. at 1288. An understanding of
economic principles coupled with an understanding of “the origins and
functions of retribution as a social norm makes clear that there is no good
reason for treating our intuitions about retribution as if they constituted
an independent basis for” limiting the punishment found to be
appropriate to improve the welfare of members of society. Jd. at 1290.

27

defects this Court saw in the underlying trials.”

Confirmation that appellate judges historically have not
engaged in de novo or weight-of-the-evidence review of
exemplary damages awards is found in the arguments made
by prominent members of this Court’s bar in Oberg, in
addressing what level of judicial review is required by due
process. They did not suggest the existence of any tradition
of de novo or weight-of-the-evidence review which should
inform the content of due process.

Most notably, the lead counsel for the petitioner in
Oberg, who is also lead counsel for Philip Morris in this case,
was pressed by Justice O’Connor at the Oberg oral argument
about the nature of the judicial review being sought as a
matter of due process. Justice O’Connor asked “why should
the constitutionally mandated review be any more than is
required in a criminal case” under the standard of Jackson
uv. Virginia, 443 U.S. 307, 317-20, 324 (1979)? He conceded
that judicial feview under Jackson’s “rational factfinder”
test would be constitutionally adequate judicial review,
stating: “I have no problem with that standard. That's
what we would like to see the Court supply.” Transcript of
Oral Argument in Honda Motor Co. v. Oberg, No. 93-644
(Apr. 20, 1994), 1994 WL 665077, at *15-*17.

A similar position was advanced by the late Dean
Griswold in an amicus brief filed on behalf of the petitioner

* In State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. v. Campbell, 538 U.S. 408 (2003),
there was no hint of any presumption in operation; indeed, this Court
affirmatively indicated that its concerns were “heightened” because the
jury had awarded $145 million in exemplary damages after being
presented “with evidence that has little bearing as to the amount of
punitive damages that should be awarded,” evidence that was “tangential
or only inflammatory.” Jd. at 418; see also id. at 420-24 (summarizing
concerns about fairness of trial). In BMW of North America, Inc. v. Gore,
517 U.S. 559 (1996), no presumption could attach because it was conceded
that “the jury improperly computed the amount of punitive damages by
multiplying Dr. Gore’s compensatory damages’ of $4,000 (the loss of value
due to the repainting of his vehicle) “by the number of similar sales in
other jurisdictions” (approximately 1,000), id. at 564, 567, even though
“neither the jury nor the trial court was presented with evidence that any
of BMW’s out-of-state conduct was unlawful.” Jd. at 573.

28

in Oberg. He suggested that “courts should be required to
consider whether a particular award is rationally related to
the goals of deterrence and punishment... .” Brief Amici
Curiae for the American Council of Life Insurance, et al., in
No. 93-644 (filed Feb. 28, 1994), at 13-14. Further, Dean
Griswold urged that “to ensure that courts consult
something other than their own preconceptions in
evaluating the rationality of such awards, courts should be
‘required to consider certain objectively measurable indicia
of what amounts are reasonably necessary to serve the goals
of deterrence and punishment,” in the form of “a non-
exclusive list of factors” for courts to consider in analyzing
the rationality of an award. Id. at 14. This Court took that
course two years laterin BMWv. Gore. _

In its Oberg decision, this Court held only “that
Oregon’s denial of judicial review” of exemplary damages
awards violated due process, and did not decide “what
standard of review is constitutionally required.” Oberg, 512
U.S. at 432 & n.10. However, this Court suggested that the
traditional approach of review for “passion and prejudice”
might be a rough equivalent of the Jackson standard, which
asks whether a “rational trier of fact could have” reached the
jury’s verdict. Id. at 432 n.10. “This familiar standard gives
full play to the responsibility of the trier of fact fairly to
resolve conflicts in the testimony, to weigh the evidence, and
to draw reasonable inferences from basic facts to ultimate
facts,” thus “imping[ing] upon ‘jury’ discretion only to the
extent necessary to guarantee the fundamental protection of
due process of law.” Jackson, 443 U.S. at 319.”

** By definition, review under the Jackson “rational factfinder” test is
conceptually distinct from both de novo review and weight-of-the-evidence
review. See Kevin M. Clermont, Procedure’s Magical Number Three:
Psychological Bases for Standards of Decision, 72 CORNELL L. REV. 1115,
1126-27 (1987). The function of the Jackson test in a criminal case is to
set, as a matter of due process, “a lower limit on an appellate court’s
definition of evidentiary sufficiency,” which means no weight-of-the-
evidence analysis is permitted; rather, “the reviewing cou * must view
‘the evidence in the light most favorable to the pros ution.” Tibbs v.
Florida, 457 U.S. 31, 45 & n.21 (1982) (quoting Jackson, 443 U.S. at 319).

29

Jackson involved the review of evidentiary sufficiency
to sustain a criminal conviction, but a close variant of the
Jackson standard has traditionally applied to judicial review
of jury determinations in civil litigation as well.” Judicial
review of a jury’s verdict under Jackson’s “rational
factfinder” standard is obviously the most that any civil
litigant could claim a right to as a matter of due process.
Thus, if a defendant attacking an exemplary damages award
following a procedurally fair trial fails to show that no
rational jury could reach that result, due process should
provide no basis for displacing the jury’s verdict.

Even if de novo or weight-of-the-evidence were somehow
permitted or even required by due process, there would
remain the Seventh Amendment problem with this Court or
any other federal appellate court conducting such review.
As amici have discussed at length in an earlier amicus brief,
a key function of the Re-Examination Clause of the Seventh

See also Herrera v. Collins, 506 U.S. 390, 402 (1993) (Jackson “does not
focus on whether the trier of fact made the correct” decision, “but rather
whether it made a rational decision”); Burks v. United States, 437 U.S. 1,
16 (1978) (“Even the trial court, which has heard the testimony of
witnesses firsthand, is not to weigh the evidence or assess the credibility
of witnesses when it judges the merits of a motion for acquittal”).

** As to liability determinations, this Court has required use of the
Jackson “rational factfinder” standard both in the summary judgment
context, Matsushita Elec. Indus. Co. v. Zenith Radio Corp., 475 U.S. 574,
585-88 (1986), and on motions for judgment as a matter of law. Reeves v.
Sanderson Plumbing Products, Inc., 530 U.S. 133, 149-51 (2000). The
standard has long been used by the lower federal appellate courts in
reviewing attacks on the size of a jury's compensatory damage award.
E.g., Glazer v. Glazer, 374 F.2d 390, 413 (5th Cir.) (Wisdom, J.), cert.
denied, 389 U.S. 831 (1967) (striking down $1.9 million compensatory
award for breach of contract because “[t]he verdict was excessive as a
matter of law in that it exceeds any rational appraisal or estimate of the
damages that could be based upon the evidence before the jury”). See also
Naeem v. McKesson Drug Co., 444 F.3d 593, 611 (7th Cir. 2006); Sailor
Inc. F/V v. City of Rockland, 428 F.3d 348, 353-55 (1st Cir. 2005) (Boudin,
J.); Asa-Brandt, Inc. v. ADM Investor Services, Inc., 344 F.3d 738, 745
(8th Cir. 2003); Kasper v. St. Mary of Nazareth Hosp., 135 F.3d 1170,
1176-77 (7th Cir. 1998) (Posner, C.J.); Outboard Marine Corp. v. Babcock

~ Indus., Inc., 106 F.3d 182, 186-87 (7th Cir. 1997) (Posner, C.J.).

30

Amendment is to bar federal appellate courts, including this
Court, from engaging in any sort of de novo or weight-of-the-
evidence review of jury verdicts, including damages awards.
Brief of Federal Jurisdiction and Legal History Scholars
Akhil Reed Amar, et al., as Amici Curiae in Support of
Petitioner in Gasperini v. The Center for Humanities, No. 95-
710 (filed Mar. 1, 1996), at 4-21.

In exemplary damages cases based on deterrence, a jury
must “look to the future conduct of the defendant and
others; the question is: how large a judgment is needed to
discourage this sort of conduct in the future?” Morris, supra
note 9, 44 HARV. L. REV. at 1179. As far back as 1763, in
Huckle v. Money, 95 Eng. Rep. 768, 768 (C.P. 1763), Lord
Camden emphasized that juries awarding exemplary dam-
ages in tort cases must consider “a vast variety of causes,
facts, and circumstances... .” Huckle was one of the cases
this Court cited in upholding a Seventh Amendment right to
a jury trial on statutory damages in a copyright case.
Feltner v. Columbia Pictures Television, Inc., 523 U.S. 340,
353 (1998). It would be extraordinary if Huckle were good
precedent for the right to a jury trial in a copyright case but
not good precedent for the right to a jury trial in a case like
Huckle seeking deterrence-based exemplary damages.

It was in large part to ensure that cases involving
exemplary damages and other important matters would be
decided by juries, not by judges who might be beholden to
elites, that the Seventh Amendment was made part of our
Constitution. See note 13, supra. Even if it is possible to
characterize some exemplary damages awards as involving
the expression of abstract moral condemnation and not the
decision of questions of historical or predictive fact,
see Cooper Industries, Inc. v. Leatherman Tool Group, Inc.,
532 U.S. 424, 437-39 (2001), such a theory could not support
wholesale nullification of the Seventh Amendment in the
field of exemplary damages, particularly as to awards
specifically focused on a deterrence rationale. Because the
Seventh Amendment is one of the few structural constraints
imposed by the Constitution on this Court’s own power, it
deserves close attention wherever potentially relevant.

Respectfully submitted.

ARTHUR MCEVOY KENNETH CHESEBRO"

975 Bascom Mall 1770 Massachusetts Ave., # 201
Madison, WI 53706 Cambridge, MA 02138

(608) 265-4771 (617) 661-4423

MICHAEL J. PIUZE

LAW OFFICES OF MICHAEL J. PIUZE
11755 Wilshire Blvd., Suite 1170
Los Angeles, CA 90025

(310) 312-1102

Counsel for Amici Curiae
* Counsel of Record

September 15, 2006

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0249%3A13. Public record. Not legal advice.
