# Respondents Brief — Osborn v. Haley

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0230%3A09

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Respondents Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2007
- **Citation:** 549 U.S. 225

## Text

| Supreme Court, U.3.
FILED

SEP 1 - 2095

OFFICE OF TiiE CLERK

No. 05-593

In the Supreme Court of the Gunited States

PAT OSBORN, PETITIONER
v.

BARRY HALEY, ET AL.

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR RESPONDENT BARRY HALEY

PAUL D. CLEMENT
Solicitor General
Counsel of Record
PETER D. KEISLER
Assistant Attorney General
EDWIN 8S. KNEEDLER
Deputy Solicitor General
DOUGLAS HALLWARD-DRIEMEIER
Assistant to the Solicitor
General
BARBARA L. HERWIG
MARK W. PENNAK
Attorneys
Department of Justice
Washington, D.C. 20530-0001
(202) 514-2217

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether the Attorney General’s decision under the
Federal Employees Liability Reform and Tort Compensation
Act of 1988 (Westfall Act), 28 U.S.C. 2679(d)(2), to certify that
“the defendant employee was acting within the scope of his
office or employment at the time of the incident out of which
the claim arose” (thus permitting the substitution of the
United States for the employee as the defendant and the
removal of the case to federal court) must accept the truth of
the plaintiff’s allegations.

2. Whether the Westfall Act’s provision that the “certi-
fication of the Attorney General shall conclusively establish
scope of office or employment for purposes of removal” of the
suit from state court, 28 U.S.C. 2679(d)(2), establishes that a
district court is to retain jurisdiction over the removed suit,
even if the court ultimately overturns the Attorney General’s
scope-of-employment certification for purposes of substituting
the United States as the defendant.

3. Whether the court of appeals had jurisdiction to
review the district court’s remand order, notwithstanding 28
U.S.C. 1447(d).

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
EN i tci och dekh seek biden thebadcdcesavaneud 1
ta nukih oie o6Sa ckwekd Conk b hewes eu Kandeeconr 1
eed dived edeeenenadeeeewaseusaneebe< 1
re ins Secaa hee bneetas th cheburanens 8

Argument:

I. The court of appeals had jurisdiction to review the
EE SSE Oe ey SP 12

A. The district court’s substitution ruling and its
remand order are reviewable under the
collateral order doctrine or by way of
SE na dau vudbeneéeundddcedetdewns avees 13

B. 28 U.S.C. 1447(d) did not bar the court of
appeals from reviewing the district court’s
EE Gictin coaeraibheeuke hes teuedouerdouns 16

1. Section 1447(d) is not implicated because
the district court’s remand order was not
among those authorized by Section 1447(c) ... 16

2. The district court’s ruling overturning the
Attorney General’s certification and
ordering Haley resubstituted as the
defendant is appealable in its own right ...... 25

II. Under the Westfall Act, the Attorney General
need not accept the truth of the plaintiff's
allegations in making a scope-of-employment
II, Wha Wei tee Ce lee 28

A. A federal employee is entitled to a federal
forum to determine his claim of official
immunity, including to resolve any disputed
DE dav aeuskuhereech secede evened manehenkees 29

IV

TABLE OF CONTENTS—Continued: Page

B. The Attorney General is no more constrained
to accept the plaintiff's version of the facts in
making a scope-of-employment certification
under the Westfall Act than the federal officer
and the federal district court are under
astion D608... aos 0skeedsdueeneeeeeeee 32

C. Petitioner’s construction of Section 2679(d)(1)

would allow plaintiffs to deny federal

employees the benefits of the Westfall Act

through artful pleading ....................... 39

Ill. Because Congress specified that the Attorney

General’s certification is conclusive for purposes of
removal, the district court was without authority to
remand the case to state court ...............0005: 41

A. The language of the Westfall Act gives the
Attorney General’s certification “conclusive”
effect for purposes of removal jurisdiction ....... 41

B. Giving conclusive effect to the Attorney
General’s certification is not contrary to

AGUS TEE ook ccceveiuecveeeenseneeeee 45
CORGRMEIOR .... 0 ac cccccceseneeetepeuenennsnel 50
tatubery AGQUMEEE ons sc iceccencaussesnsbeee la

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases:

Aliota v. Graham, 984 F.2d 1350 (3d Cir.), cert.

denied, 510 U.S. 817 (1998) .............. 13, 15, 21, 42
Amoco Petroleum Additives Co., In re, 964 F.2d 706
1, Lo Oe Pr rl ee 18

Anderson v. Creighton, 483 U.S. 635 (1987) ........... 35

Cases—Continued: Page
Barr v. Matteo, 360 U.S. 564 (1959) ............-..0 eee 2
Borneman v. United States, 213 F.3d 819 (4th Cir.

2000), cert. denied, 531 U.S. 1070 (2001) ......... 13, 15
Carnegie-Mellon Univ. v. Cohill, 484 U.S. 343
A tne lide tecansedecuadanests ec 17, 18, 21

Coleman v. United States, 91 F.3d 820 (6th Cir. 1996) ..13
Cohen v. Beneficial Indus. Loan Corp., 337 U.S. 541

Use csbendebanubedecedetesececsceboys 13
Cuoco v. Moritsugu, 222 F.3d 99 (2d Cir. 2000) ........ 13
Digital Equip. Corp. v. Desktop Direct, Inc., 511 U.S.

eee aida pedeeedeenansetesdubes 14
Field v. Mans, 516 U.S. 59 (1995) ...........2---0005- 44
Freeport-McMoRan, Inc. v. KN Energy, Inc., 498

£0. deci sdceweeeraehewattoseeeeve 18
Flohr v. Mackovjak, 84 F 3d 386 (11th Cir. 1996) ...... 13
Grupo Dataflux v. Atlas Global Group, L.P., 541 U.S.

tied nec pcedenesedénerdocuedsces 18
Gutierrez de Martinez v. Lamagno, 515 U.S. 417

DT Mi stisuehdbenivedesededeeeseeeeseees passim

- Heuton v. Anderson, 75 F.3d 357 (8th Cir. 1996) .... 33,38
Jefferson County v. Acker, 527 U.S. 423

OSE ne 30, 31, 34, 46
Johnson v. Fankell, 520 U.S. 911 (1997) .............. 15
Johnson v. Jones, 515 U.S. 304 (1995) ..............2.. 15
Kimbro v. Veltren, 30 F.3d 1501 (D.C. Cir. 1994),

cert. denied, 515 U.S. 1145 (1995) ......... 7, 13, 33, 40
Kircher v. Putnam Funds Trust, 126 S. Ct. 2145

tt (iitehvnnehé¢edbeaddvedeesstiececece passim

i Ustsseacbbhnbewsebieelesedecedsewe 18

VI

Cases—Continued: Page

Liberty Mut. Ins. Co. v. Wenzel, 424 U.S. 737 (1976) .... 21
Linton v. Airbus Industrie., 30 F.3d 592 (5th Cir.),

cert. denied, 513 U.S. 1044 (1994) ................. 18
Lyons v. Brown, 158 F.3d 605 (1st Cir. 1998) .......... 13
Mathis v. Henderson, 243 F.3d 446 (8th Cir. 2001) ..... 13
Mayor v. Cooper, 73 U.S. (6 Wall.) 247 (1868) .... 31, 46, 48
Melo v. Hafer, 13 F.3d 736 (3d Cir. 1994) ........ 7, 33, 40
Merrell Dow Pharms. Inc. v. Thompson, 478 U.S. 804

" 4 A dbdaieeecbats Ceinbad ieabieaa dial bamipembae 45
Mesa v. California, 489 U.S. 121 (1989) . . . 30, 31, 46, 47, 48
Mitchell v. Forsyth, 472 U.S. 511 (1985) ........... 13, 23
Morgan v. Willingham, 383 F.2d 139 (10th Cir. 1967),

vacated, 395 U.S. 402 (1969) ................... 29, 32
Moses H. Cone Mem Hosp. v. Mercury Constr.

ED a. a eadibeeneate 14
Nasuti v. Scannell, 906 F.2d 802 (1st Cir. 1990) .. 15, 36, 37
Nixon v. Fitzgerald, 457 U.S. 731 (1982) .............. 13
Osborn v. Bank of the United States, 22 U.S.

Si et eedaaee 45
Patterson v. Blair, 172 S.W.3d 361 (Ky. 2005) ......... 38
Pelletier v. Federal Home Loan Bank, 968 F.2d 865

No 13
Poore v. American-Amicable Life Ins. Co., 218 F.3d

er re ee 18, 19
Quackenbush v. Allstate Ins. Co., 517 U.S. 706

DT ol do vddeeseweedudsedte bhenuendnal weer
Republic of Austria v. Altmann, 541 U.S. 677 (2004) ... 47
Rodriguez v. Sarabyn, 129 F.3d 760 (5th Cir. 1997) ..... 13
Rosado v. Wyman, 397 U.S. 397 (1970) ............... 49

Russello v. United States, 464 U.S. 16 (1984) .......... 44

Cases—Continued: Page

Shell Oil Co., In re, 966 F.2d 1130 (7th Cir. 1992) ...... 19
St. Paul Mercury Indem. Co. v. Red Cab Co., 303 U.S.
DE Pat taGkacdiekdaktcacukbakdddusaaneteust 18
Taboas v. Mlynczak, 149 F.3d 576 (7th Cir. 1998) ...... 13
Thermtron Prods., Inc. v. Hermansdorfer, 423 U.S.
ED duakcndédcccaseoudacensceisouss 15, 17, 19, 21
Things Remembered, Inc. v. Petrarca, 516 U.S. 124
SE. usidbbbuddducaddcanduschabdeddkannceeat 17, 21
Trans Penn Wax Corp. v. McCandless, 50 F.3d 217
PLE is bddiuedushnndscdddiasanodesebeens 18

Transit Cas. Co. v. Certain Underwriters at Lloyd’s,
119 F.3d 619 (8th Cir. 1997), cert. denied, 522 U.S.

Ds aang ila bird ere oe dalle Se Oe ed aks 18
United Mine Workers v. Gibbs, 383 U.S. 715 (1996) . 43, 49
United States v. Gilman, 347 U.S. 507 (1954) ........... 2
United States v. Jorn, 400 U.S. 470 (1971) ............ 21
United States v. Naftalin, 441 U.S. 768 (1979) ......... 44
United States v. Ron Pair Enters., Inc., 489 U.S. 235

I ol aaa ei ie oe tr 42
United States v. Sisson, 399 U.S. 267 (1970) ........... 21
United States v. Smith, 499 U.S. 160 (1991) ........ 13, 23
Van Meter v. State Farm Fire & Cas. Co., 1 F.3d 445

DED c:tcccndcubendcckakakakeudanul Guess 19
Verlinden B.V. v. Central Bank of Nigeria, 461 U.S.

RE atc dcavetenedunkusouseamede 42, 45, 46, 47, 48
Waco v. United States Fid. & Guar. Co., 293 U.S. 140

DT scdecanuddoaksecusendncunaecadteubuder 25, 26
Westfall v. Erwin, 484 U.S. 292 (1988) ........... 2, 13, 28
Will v. Hallock, 126 S. Ct. 952 (2006) ................. 13

Williams v. United States, 350 U.S. 857 (1955) ......... 5

Cases—Continued: Page

Willingham v. Morgan, 395 U.S. 402 (1969) ...... passim
Wood v. United States, 995 F.2d 1122 (1st Cir.
SD ebtnbedes hi nsdackecbietniecesonnes 7, 33, 39, 40

Woodruff v. Covington, 389 F.3d 1117 (10th Cir. 2004) .. 13

Constitution and statutes:

I i a passim
Act of Mar. 3, 1887, ch. 373, 24 Stat.553 .............. 19

Federal Employees Liability Reform and Tort
Compensation Act of 1988, Pub. L. No. 100-694,

SD edt oe Sak ack os 2
28 U.S.C. 2671 note:
no as eee vee aes 13
RID, BER bet. GERD nw wc cccccccncccces 23, 24
I ne rag See Oa eas 24
SS i a gk ae 31, 2a
DPE. cacteectcausesesanees 3, 24, 2a
ED i eis oc juss weenaungeeweaeneie 33
28 U.S.C. 2679 d)(1) ......... 3, 33, 34, 35, 39, 41, 3a
PMA oc bscaccvewsdnencentn passim
28 U.S.C. 2679(d)(3) ........... 33, 34, 43, 44, 47, 4a
Federal Tort Claims Act:
ED cn odd aud dn dedaddeuueeudedsaee l
ee le cae 1, 24
EL éccoviekisnebenskeaveaurweeke l
EN Kivdvddwkovednveduubuddsnenvecsens 24

Foreign Sovereign Immunities Act of 1976, 28 U.S.C.
BY uebbedeGubdendcentnseddecakeebadsseeuns 46, 47

IX
Statutes—Continued: Page
Judicial Improvements and Access to Justice Act,

Pub. L. 100-702, § 1016(c)(1), 102 Stat. 4670 ........ 19
Securities Litigation Uniform Standards Act of 1998,

Pub. L. No. 105-353, 112 Stat. 3227 ................ 21
4 E.R RS rene per Meee 20
i WED ce secuduy duwapedareinssesedicens 21, 22
i riven ccawrieseseacieebdbsudeiouneues 21
ER SE Raton, Ree aS Fem a 12, 15, 27
MED “Acliddatddddinteidwkodkonssaaanan passim
PE bb KécGdddenecese 23, 28, 32, 33, 35, 37, la
ED : xnicucancdesccesaece 2, 29, 30, 32, 34
EE iniend dn cbesidavitivadniwnetacceunas 18, 2a
Sh, SIE a ois 0 cg coceatesdceneabeanoete 19
REE Sonics cduatedudskencatmeacnss passim
EEE kesdkanwes Ovepisneaddetdccans passim
DET aricccuadeudietdes ohecleucuvdesetashe 46
DPRIEEE coudicecsnddnedannssaedeenietanecuan 15

Miscellaneous:
H.R. Rep. No. 352, 81st Cong., Ist Sess. (1949) ........ 27
H.R. Rep. No. 700, 100th Cong., 2d Sess. (1988) ..... 2, 28

H.R. Rep. No. 889, 100th Cong., 2d Sess. Pt. 1 (1988) ... 19

Jn the Supreme Court of the Gnited States

No. 05-593
PAT OSBORN, PETITIONER
Vv.

BARRY HALEY, ET AL.

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR RESPONDENT BARRY HALEY

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals (Pet. App. la-11a) is
reported at 422 F.3d 359. The opinions of the district court
(Pet. App. 19a-25a, 12a-16a) are unreported.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals was entered on Sep-
tember 8, 2005. The petition for a writ of certiorari was filed
on November 7, 2005. The petition for a writ of certiorari was
granted on May 15, 2006. The jurisdiction of this Court rests
on 28 U.S.C. 1254(1).

STATEMENT

1. In 1946, Congress enacted the Federal Tort Claims Act
(FTCA), 28 U.S.C. 1346(b), 2671 et seg., which waives the
United States’ sovereign immunity and subjects it to liability
in federal district court for injuries “caused by the negligent
or wrongful] act or omission of any employee of the Govern-
ment while acting within the scope of his office or employ-
ment,” if a private person in like circumstances would be lia-

(1)

2

ble under state law. 28 U.S.C. 1346(b)(1). Before the FTCA’s
enactment, parties injured by a government employee’s ac-
tions could seek judicial relief only by suing the employee in
his individual capacity, which constituted “a very real attack
upon the morale” of government employees. United States v.
Gilman, 347 U.S. 507, 512 n.2 (1954) (quoting testimony of
Assistant Attorney General Francis M. Shea).

Although the FTCA permits plaintiffs to sue the United
States for the torts of its employees, it did not, as originally
enacted, foreclose a plaintiff from suing the employee individ-
ually. If the employee was sued, he could, however, assert a
defense of common law official immunity. See Barr v. Matteo,
360 U.S. 564 (1959). In addition, in 1948, Congress extended
to all federal employees who were sued in state court for “any
act under color of [their] office” the right to remove the suit to
federal district court. 28 U.S.C. 1442(a)(1). See Willingham
v. Morgan, 395 U.S. 402, 405 (1969) (tracing history of federal
officer removal statutes from 1815).

In 1988, Congress enacted the Federal Employees Liabil-
ity Reform and Tort Compensation Act of 1988, Pub. L. No.
100-694, 102 Stat. 4563, commonly known as the Westfall Act,
which confers a statutory immunity on federal employees for
acts within the scope of their employment. The Westfall Act
was enacted to override the decision in Westfall v. Erwin, 484
U.S. 292 (1988). In Westfall, the Court held that, in order to
obtain personal immunity from suit on a tort claim, a federal
employee must show both that he was acting within the scope
of his employment and that he was performing a discretionary
function. /d. at 299. The Westfall Act confers absolute immu-
nity on federal employees from all common-law tort claims
arising out of acts taken within the scope of their employ-
ment, thereby eliminating the discretionary function require-
ment for immunity under Westfall. See Gutierrez de Marti-
nez v. Lamagno, 515 U.S. 417, 425-426 (1995); H.R. Rep. No.
700, 100th Cong., 2d Sess. 4 (1988) (H.R. Rep. 700).

3

The Westfall Act provides that, for injuries due to “the
negligent or wrongful act or omission of any employee of the
Government while acting within the scope of his office or em-
ployment,” the remedy available against the United States
under the FTCA is “exclusive” and bars any damages action
against the employee “arising out of or relating to the same
subject matter.” 28 U.S.C. 2679(b)(1). When a lawsuit is filed
against a federal employee, the Westfall Act authorizes the
Attorney General to issue a certification that “the defendant
employee was acting within the scope of his office or employ-
ment at the time of the incident out of which the claim arose.”
28 U.S.C. 2679(d)(1). If the Attorney General issues such a
certification, the suit “shall be deemed an action against the
United States” under the FTCA, and “the United States shall
be substituted as the party defendant.” /bid.

If the suit against the employee was initiated in state
court, the Westfall Act further provides that, upon the Attor-
ney General’s certification, the action “shall be removed” by
the Attorney General to federal district court, where it “shall
be deemed” to be an action against the United States, and the
United States “shall be substituted” as the party defendant.
28 U.S.C. 2679(d)(2). The Act also expressly provides that the
Attorney’s General certification “shall conclusively establish
scope of office or employment for purposes of removal.” /bid.
In Lamagno, the Court held that the Attorney General’s
“scope-of-employment certification is reviewable in court” if
the plaintiff challenges it. 515 U.S. at 420.

2. Petitioner was an employee of Land Between the Lakes
Association (LBLA), a private organization that had a con-
tract with the United States Forest Service to provide ser-
vices at the Land Between the Lakes National Recreation
Area in Kentucky. Luber Br. in Opp. App. 2 (Luber App.)
(complaint). Petitioner applied for a job with the Forest Ser-
vice, but was not hired. /d. at 2-3. During a meeting of em-
ployees of the Forest Service, LBLA, and another contractor,
respondent Barry Haley—a Forest Service manager—an-

4

nounced that another person had been hired for the position.
Id. at 3. At that meeting, in front of the whole gathering,
petitioner questioned Haley regarding his failure to inform
her before the meeting that she had not been hired and “made
a joke at [Haley’s] expense.” /bid.; Pet. App. 20a. Shortly
thereafter, petitioner’s supervisor told her that she should
apologize to Haley. Pet. App. 20a. Petitioner refused. /bid.

Petitioner later filed a complaint with the Department of
Labor (DOL), questioning whether the Forest Service’s hiring
decision had given appropriate consideration to veterans’
preference points to which she was entitled. Pet. App. 20a.
The DOL investigator, Robert Kuenzli, contacted Haley and
found that the decision was handled properly. /bid. On the
same day, the executive director of LBLA summoned peti-
tioner and demanded again that she apologize to Haley for
“not being a good Forest Service partner.” /d. at 21a; Luber
App. 4. Petitioner again refused, and she was fired by LBLA
two days later. = App. 21a.

5. a. Petitiofer filed suit in state court asserting claims
(1) against LBLA and its executive director, Gaye Luber,
alleging that petitioner had been terminated in violation of
public policy in retaliation for inquiring with DOL about the
handling of her veterans’ preference points, (2) against Haley,
alleging interference with petitioner’s employment relation-
ship with LBLA, and (3) against all the defendants, alleging
conspiracy wrongfully to discharge petitioner and conspiracy
to interfere with her employment relationship with LBLA.
Pet. App. 21a. The complaint alleged that both Haley and
Luber had acted “in a malicious, oppressive, and intentional
manner in order to injure and damage plaintiff,” Luber App.
9, but asserted that such conduct by Luber “was within the
scope of her employment duties with defendant LBLA,” ibid,
whereas Haley was “{a]cting outside the scope of his employ-
ment,” 7d. at 7.

b. The United States Attorney certified, under 28 U.S.C.
2679(d)(2), that Haley “was acting within the scope of his em-

5

ployment * * * at the time of the conduct alleged in the
Complaint.” Luber App. 23. The United States then removed
the case to the United States District Court for the Western
District of Kentucky pursuant to both the general federal
officer removal statute, 28 U.S.C. 1442, and the Westfall Act
removal provision, 28 U.S.C. 2679(d)(2). See 03-ev-192, Rec.
#1, Notice of Removal 3. In federal court, the government
filed a notice of proposed substitution and moved to dismiss
the claims against the United States for failure to comply with
the FTCA’s administrative exhaustion requirement. Pet.
App. 19a; Luber App. 23-29.

In her response to the government's motion to dismiss
(see J.A. 17-20), petitioner urged the district court to “re-
verse[]” the Attorney General’s certification, to resubstitute
Haley as defendant, and to lift a stay of discovery. J.A. 20.
Petitioner did not seek a remand. She argued that, as a mat-
ter of law, Haley’s alleged conduct was outside the scope of
his employment because the Forest Service and LBLA had a
Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) pursuant to which
Forest Service employees were not to participate in hiring or
firing decisions by LBLA and because Haley’s alleged con-
duct did not further the interests of the Forest Service, his
employer. See J.A. 19, 30. In its reply (see J.A. 35-39), the
United States argued that petitioner could not overcome the
presumption in favor of the Attorney General’s certification
simply by relying on an unsupported inference that there was
a nexus between the complaint she filed with the DOL and her
termination. J.A. 38.

The district court held that there was no need for an evi-
dentiary hearing on the scope-of-employment issue because
it did not understand the government to “deny any of the fac-
tual allegations contained in [petitioner’s] complaint.” Pet.
App. 22a. Applying state law, which governs scope of employ-
ment under the FTCA, Williams v. United States, 350 U.S.
857 (1955), the court concluded that, in light of the MOU, “any
interaction Mr. Haley might have had regarding [petitioner's]

6

employment was out of the scope of his duties with the Forest
Service.” Pet. App. 23a. Believing that “it must accept [peti-
tioner’s] allegations as true,” the court concluded that
“Haley’s alleged actions occurred outside the scope of his em-
ployment,” and that therefore the Attorney General’s certifi-
cation had to be overturned. /d. at 24a.

In the second part of its order, the district court held that,
because of the court’s rejection of the United States’ substitu-
tion, and the absence of diversity jurisdiction, the court lacked
jurisdiction over the suit and that the case must be remanded
to state court. Pet. App. 24a-25a.

c. The government sought reconsideration. See J.A. 40-
50. The motion pointed out that the court had been under the
mistaken impression that the United States did not contest
the plaintiff's allegations and that therefore no evidentiary
hearing was necessary. J.A. 41. The government noted that
its Answer had, in fact, contested all of the plaintiff’s factual
allegations. J.A. 42-43. In addition, the government submit-
ted declarations from both Haley and Luber, the LBLA direc-
tor. Haley averred that he had not spoken with Luber be-
tween the time of the DOL investigation and petitioner’s fir-
ing and that he did not “attempt to influence [Luber’s] inde-
pendent decision to fire [petitioner].” J.A. 51-52. Luber simi-
larly averred that petitioner’s DOL complaint “was not and
could not have been a factor in my decision to terminate [peti-
tioner], because I did not know it had occurred.” J.A. 53.'
The government urged that those affidavits were sufficient,
in the absence of contradictory evidence from petitioner, to
support the Attorney General’s scope-of-employment deter-
mination. J.A. 45-46. Alternatively, the government argued
that, “[a]ssuming, for the sake of argument only, that Haley
and Luber interacted regarding plaintiff’s employment,” dis-

' Neither Haley’s or Luber’s affidavit said whether they had spoken about
petitioner’s conduct at the staff meeting or her ability to serve as a Forest
Service partner.

7

covery might reveal that any interaction was within the scope
of Haley’s employment under Kentucky law. J.A. 47.

The district court denied the motion to reconsider. Pet.
App. 12a-16a. The court noted a circuit conflict on the ques-
tion of how courts should deal with a Westfall Act certification
that was “based on an argument that no harm-causing inci-
dent ever took place.” Jd. at 14a (citing Wood v. United
States, 995 F.2d 1122, 1124 (1st Cir. 1993) (en banc) (Breyer,
C.J.) (holding that the certification “cannot deny the occur-
rence of the basic incident charged”), and Kimbro v. Velten,
30 F.3d 1501, 1508-1510 (D.C. Cir. 1994) (holding that the
district court must resolve the merits of the underlying dis-
pute in such a circumstance), cert. denied, 515 U.S. 1145
(1995)). Purporting to follow the First Circuit’s decision in
Wood, the district court denied the United States’ request for
an evidentiary hearing on whether Haley sought petitioner’s
firing in retaliation for her DOL complaint, id. at 15a, and also
rejected the United States’ request for discovery as to
whether, in the alternative, there had been some other inter-
action between Haley and Luber within the scope of Haley’s
employment that might have influenced Luber’s decision to
terminate petitioner, id. at 14a. The court would not allow
the United States to make an argument concerning possible
interaction between Haley and Luber that the court viewed as
being inconsistent with Haley’s sworn declaration. /bid.

4. The court of appeals reversed. Pet. App. la-lla. It
analyzed the appeal as presenting the question “whether dis-
trict courts evaluating a scope certification can resolve mate-
rial disputes about the facts ‘upon which the plaintiff would
predicate liability,’ or whether instead courts must accept the
plaintiff’s allegations of such ‘merits facts.’” Jd. at 4a (quot-
ing Melo v. Hafer, 13 F.3d 736, 742-743 (3d Cir. 1994)). The
court “join{ed] the majority of the circuits” on that issue and
held that “where the Attorney General’s certification ‘is based
on a different understanding of the facts than is reflected in
the complaint,’ * * * including a denial of the harm-causing

8

incident, the district court must resolve the factual dispute.”
Id. at 8a (quoting Melo, 13 F.3d at 747). The court cited,
among other reasons, the need for the employee’s immunity
to be decided at the outset of the litigation and the difficulty
of administering the First Circuit’s distinction in Wood be-
tween denial by the Attorney General of the alleged harm-
causing incident (which the First Circuit held is not permitted
in a certification) and disputing the plaintiff's characterization
of the incident (which the First Circuit allowed). Jd. at 5a-7a.
The court of appeals therefore remanded to the district court
for a hearing to “resolve the factual disputes underlying the
scope question, including whether the alleged incident oc-
curred.” Jd. at lla.

The court of appeals also addressed the question whether,
if substitution is ultimately not upheld by the district court,
the district court must remand the case to state court. The
court held that, in light of the Westfall Act’s language stating
that the “certification of the Attorney General shall conclu-
sively establish scope of office or employment for purposes of
removal,” 28 U.S.C. 2679(d)(2), the “clear language of the Act
forecloses remand.” Pet. App. 10a.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

1. The court of appeals had jurisdiction to review the or-
der of the district court overturning the substitution of the
United States for the defendant employee and remanding the
case to state court. As the courts of appeals have uniformly
recognized, a district court order rejecting the Attorney Gen-
eral’s scope-of-employment certification under the Westfall
Act const:tutes the denial of the employee’s absolute statutory
immunity from suit and is immediately appealable under the
collateral order doctrine. Even if it were not appealable as of
right, the district court’s order remanding the case to state
court, in the face of Congress’s mandate that the Attorney
General’s scope-of-employment certification is conclusive for
purposes of removal, could be reviewed by mandamus.

9

Section 1447(d) does not bar the court of appeals from
exercising its jurisdiction to review either the substitution
ruling or the remand order. That section, this Court has
made clear, precludes review only of orders entered pursuant
to one of the grounds specified in the subsection that precedes
it, 28 U.S.C. 1447(c). Section 1447(c) authorizes remand if the
district court “lacks subject matter jurisdiction” over a re-
moved case or if there is some other “defect” in removal. This
case does not involve any defect in removal, and Section
1447(c)’s reference to remands for lack of subject matter ju-
risdiction is best read as limited to remand orders entered on
the ground that the court lacked jurisdiction at the outset.
That reading is consistent with the historical evolution of Sec-
tion 1447(c) and the general rule that the court’s subject mat-
ter jurisdiction is fixed at the time a suit is filed and subse-
quent events do not deprive the court of that jurisdiction.
Here, it is clear that the district court had subject matter
jurisdiction upon removal and at the time of its substitution
ruling.

The remand order here does not fall within the scope of
Section 1447(c) for the independent reason that the Westfall
Act itself precludes such a remand order. Under the Westfall
Act, once a case is removed to federal court on the basis of the
Attorney General’s scope-of-employment certification, that
certification is “conclusive[] * * * for purposes of removal.”
28 U.S.C. 2679(d)(2). By categorically precluding remand in
such circumstances, Congress removed any such remand or-
ders from the scope of Section 1447(c) and (d). Although Con-
gress did not cross-reference Section 1447(c) expressly in
Section 2679(d)(2), it specifically mandated that review of the
Attorney General’s scope-of-employment certification is to
take place in federal court and left no doubt that the district
court is without authority under Section 1447(c) to remand a
case removed under Section 2679(d)(2) if the court overturns
the Attorney General's certification. The Congress that cate-
gorically precluded such remand orders could not have in-

10

tended that an erroneous remand escape correction by a fed-
eral appellate court.

Even if Section 1447(d) did bar review of the order re-
manding the case to state court, it would not preclude review
of the separate order of the district court rejecting the Attor-
ney General’s scope-of-employment certification. That order
is separate from and logically anterior to the district court’s
erroneous remand order. Indeed, because Section 2679(d)(2)
precludes such remand orders, Congress clearly intended the
substitution order to be appealable without regard to any bar
imposed by Section 1447(d). Section 1447(d) clearly applies
only to “remand[]}” orders, and does not encompass an order
entered while the district court had jurisdiction and that the
court of appeals would have authority to review.

2. On the merits, the court of appeals was correct in hold-
ing that the Westfall Act does not require the Attorney Gen-
eral, in making his scope-of-employment certification, to ac-
cept the truth of the plaintiff's allegations. The Westfall Act
was enacted to confer absolute immunity, enforceable in fed-
eral court, to protect employees from common law tort suits
arising out of matters within the scope of that employment.
Under petitioner’s construction, that purpose of the Westfall
Act would be frustrated, and the Act would afford less protec-
tion than the general federal officer removal statute.

It is well established that, under 28 U.S.C. 1442, a federal
officer can remove a tort suit brought against him in state
court by showing that he has a colorable claim to official im-
munity and that there is a causal nexus between the suit and
his federal employment. In making out those jurisdictional
elements, the defendant employee is free to assert facts that
are inconsistent with those alleged by the plaintiff and, if
there is a dispute, he is entitled to present evidence and have
the validity of his position determined in federal court. Like-
wise, if the Attorney General declines to certify that an em-
ployee was acting within the scope of his employment, the
employee may petition the court to resolve the merits of his

11

claim and to find that he was, in fact, acting within the scope
of his employment.

Petitioner argues that the Attorney General, in contrast,
must accept the truth of the plaintiff's allegations, and cannot
certify that the employee was acting within the scope of his
employment based on a determination of fact that is inconsis-
tent with the plaintiff's claim. There is no basis in the statu-
tory text or policy to conclude that the Attorney General is
more constrained in his ability to assert immunity on behalf
of the employee than the employee is himself.

Petitioner’s position would permit a plaintiff to deny uni-
laterally a defendant his Westfall Act immunity simply by
pleading her case in a way that is inconsistent with the defen-
dant’s having acted within the scope of his employment, for
example, by alleging that the defendant acted maliciously or
intentionally. Petitioner attempts to avoid that problem by
distinguishing between denying that an alleged incident oc-
curred (which petitioner would forbid) and recharacterizing
the incident in a way that falls within the scope of employ-
ment (which petitioner would permit). The majority of the
courts of appeals that have considered that approach have
correctly rejected it as both conceptually and practically
flawed.

3. As noted above, Congress was clear in Section
2679(d)(2) that the Attorney General's certification that a
defendant employee acted within the scope of his employment
is “conclusive{] * * * for purposes of removal.” 28 U.S.C.
2679(d)(2). All nine Members of this Court in Gutierrez de
Martinez v. Lamagno, 515 U.S. 417 (1995), viewed that lan-
guage as reflecting Congress's intent that, once a case is re-
moved to federal court on the basis of the Attorney General’s
certification, it is to remain in federal court, even if the certifi-
cation is later overturned.

It does not violate Article III for the district court to re-
tain jurisdiction over a case like this, even if the Attorney Gen-
eral’s certification is overturned on judicial review. Article

12

III is satisfied here because, as in the case of general federal
officer removal under Section 1442, the Attorney General’s
certification that the defendant was acting within the scope of
his authority establishes a colorable federal defense of immu-
nity under the Westfall Act. The presence of that defense, the
fact that the Westfall Act calls for judicial review of that Ex-
ecutive Officer’s certification, and the fact that, as a conse-
quence of the Attorney General’s certification, the United
States is made the defendant and federal substantive and
procedural law governs amply satisfy Article III’s require-
ment of a federal element to the case. It does not matter that,
after exercising its jurisdiction to decide that federal ques-
tion, the district court holds the federal immunity defense
invalid. The court retains the jurisdiction that was present at
the outset of the case, and may proceed, as Congress has di-
rected, to adjudicate the remainder of the case.

ARGUMENT

I. THE COURT OF APPEALS HAD JURISDICTION TO RE-
VIEW THE DISTRICT COURT’S ORDER

In its order granting a writ of certiorari, the Court di-
rected the parties to brief the question “[wJhether the court
of appeals had jurisdiction to review the district court’s re-
mand order, notwithstanding 28 U.S.C. 1447(d).” 126 S. Ct.
2017 (2006). Petitioner did not challenge the court of appeals’
jurisdiction, and that court did not address it. As explained
below, both the district court’s substitution ruling and its re-
mand order were appealable pursuant to 28 U.S.C. 1291 under
the collateral order doctrine, and the latter was reviewable as
well by way of mandamus. Section 1447(d) did not bar the
court of appeals from exercising that jurisdiction.

13

A. The District Court’s Substitution Ruling And Its Re-
mand Order Are Reviewable Under The Collateral Order
Doctrine Or By Way Of Mandamus

The courts of appeals have unanimously and correctly held
that a district court order overturning the Attorney General’s
Westfall Act certification and resubstituting the individual
employee as the defendant constitutes a denial of absolute
immunity and is subject to immediate appeal pursuant to the
collateral order doctrine of Cohen v. Beneficial Indus. Loan
Corp., 337 U.S. 541 (1949).”

It is well established that “the denial of a substantial claim
of absolute immunity is an order appealable before final judg-
ment, for the essence of absolute immunity is its possessor’s
entitlement not to have to answer for his conduct in a civil
damages iction.” Mitchell v. Forsyth, 472 U.S. 511, 525
(1985). Sce Will v. Hallock, 126 S. Ct. 952, 958 (2006); Nixon
v. Fitzgerald, 457 U.S. 731, 742 (1982). As the Court has ex-
plained, and petitioner concedes (Pet. Br. 28-29), the Westfall
Act “establishes the absolute immunity for Government em-
ployees that the Court declined to recognize under the com-
mon law in Westfall [v. Erwin, 484 U.S. 292 (1988)].” United
States v. Smith, 499 U.S. 160, 163 (1991). See Westfall Act §
2(a), 28 U.S.C. 2671 note (102 Stat. 4563) (statutory findings
concerning importance of “immunity” of federal employees
from common law torts). “When a policy is embodied in a con-
stitutional or statutory provision entitling a party to immunity

* See Woodruff v. Covington, 389 F 3d 1117, 1124 (10th Cir. 2004); Mathis
v. Henderson, 243 F.3d 446, 448 (8th Cir. 2001); Cuoco v. Moritsugu, 222 F.3d
99, 105-106 (2d Cir. 2000); Borneman v. United States, 213 F.3d 819, 826 (4th
Cir. 2000), cert. denied, 531 U.S. 1070 (2001); Lyons v. Brown, 158 F.3d 605, 607
(Ist Cir. 1998); Taboas v. Mlynezak, 149 F.3d 576, 579 (7th Cir. 1998);
Rodriguez v. Sarabyn, 129 F.3d 760, 764 (5th Cir. 1997); Coleman v. United
States, 91 F.3d 820, 823 (6th Cir. 1996); Flohr v. Mackovjak, 84 F.3d 386, 390
(11th Cir. 1996); Kimbro, 30 F.3d at 1503; Aliota v. Graham, 984 F.2d 1350,
1354 (3d Cir.) (Alito, J.), cert. denied, 510 U.S. 817 (1993); Pelletier v. Federal
Home Loan Bank, 968 F .2d 865, 873 (9th Cir. 1992).

14

from suit * * *, there is little room for the judiciary to gain-
say its ‘importance’” for purposes of the collateral order doc-
trine. Digital Equip. Corp. v. Desktop Direct, Inc., 511 U.S.
863, 879 (1994).

The district court’s order resubstituting Haley as the de-
fendant is no less “final” for purposes of the right to an imme-
diate appeal simply because the district court thereafter pro-
ceeded to remand the case to state court. This Court rejected
such an argument in Quackenbush v. Allstate Insurance Co.,
517 U.S. 706 (1996). In that case, the Court upheld the
appealability of an order remanding the case to state court on
abstention grounds. /d. at 712-714. The Court rejected an
argument that remand orders are categorically nonfinal, even
when they would otherwise satisfy the requirements of the
collateral order doctrine. Jd. at 714-715. The court noted that
it had previously held, in Moses H. Cone Memorial Hospital
v. Mercury Construction Corp., 460 U.S. 1, 11 n.11 (1983),
that an abstention order is immediately appealable because it
“puts the litigants in this case ‘effectively out of court,’ and its
effect is ‘precisely to surrender jurisdiction of a federal suit
to a state court.’” Quackenbush, 517 U.S. at 714 (quoting
Moses H. Cone, 460 U.S. at 11 n.11, certain internal quotation
marks omitted). A remand order based on abstention
grounds, the Court further observed, “is clearly more ‘final’
than a stay order in this sense.” /bid.

The same reasoning applies here. The district court’s
order rejecting, as a matter of law, the Attorney General’s
certification and denying Haley absolute immunity under the
Westfall Act was made even more obviously “final” by the fact
that the district court proceeded to rely on that denial of im-
munity as the basis to deny Haley the neutral federal forum
that Congress mandated. See 28 U.S.C. 2679(d)(2) (upon the
Attorney General’s certification, a state suit “shall be re-
moved” and the certification treated as “conclusive[] * * * for
purposes of removal”). Moreover, in state court, Haley could
be denied an important aspect of his claim of absolute immu-

15

nity—the right to take an immediate appeal if immunity is
denied by the trial court. See Johnson v. Fankell, 520 U.S.
911, 922-923 (1997) (holding that state courts are not obligated
to permit an interlocutory appeal of the denial of qualified
immunity in a suit under 42 U.S.C. 1983). If no appeal were
available in federal court, the district court’s remand order
would effectively deny Haley that important federal right.”
Even if the district court’s remand order were not final for
purposes of Section 1291, it would be subject to review on a
petition for a writ of mandamus. In Thermtron Products, Inc.
v. Hermansdorfer, 423 U.S. 336 (1976), the Court held that
“({bJecause the District Judge remanded a properly removed
case on grounds that he had no authority to consider, he ex-
ceeded his statutorily defined power; and issuance of the writ
of mandamus was not barred by § 1447(d).” /d. at 351. So too
here. Section 2679(d)(2) makes the Attorney General’s certifi-
cation “conclusive[]” with respect to the district court’s re-
moval jurisdiction. The district court had no authority to dis-
regard that statutory command. Thus, as in Thermtron, the
district court “exceeded his statutorily defined power” in re-
manding the case, and that error is subject to correction by
mandamus. See Aliota v. Graham, 984 F.2d 1350, 1357 (3d
Cir.) (Alito, J.), cert. denied, 510 U.S. 817 (1993); Borneman
v. United States, 213 F.3d 819, 825 (4th Cir. 2000), cert. de-
nied, 531 U.S. 1070 (2001); Nasuti v. Scannell, 906 F.2d 802,
811 (ist Cir. 1990) (“{T]he district court’s remand order was

* Petitioner argues (Pet. Br. 29-31 (citing Johnson v. Jones, 515 U.S. 304,
314 (1995)) that a district court’s order overturning an “incident-denying
certification” cannot qualify as an appealable ruling on a question of immunity
because it requires a resolution of disputed facts, and only purely legal
determinations can satisfy the collateral order doctrine. Even assuming,
arguendo, that some category of rulings with respect to a claim of Westfall Act
immunity would not satisfy the collateral order doctrine, there can be no
serious question that the order under review here, which categorically holds
that the Attorney General must accept the plaintiff's allegations in making his
scope-of-employment determination, resolves a pure question of law respecting
the scope of Westfall Act immunity.

16

a departure so lacking in statutory basis, and so clearly con-
trary to Congressional policy as expressed in the Westfall
Act, as to require our review by mandamus.”).

B. 28 U.S.C. 1447(d) Did Not Bar The Court Of Appeals
From Reviewing The District Court’s Decree

1. Section 1447(d) is not implicated because the district
court’s remand order was not among those authorized
by Section 1447(c)

It is clear from the text of Section 2679(d)(2) that this case
was properly removed to district court as soon as the Attor-
ney General issued the Westfall Act certification, and that the
district court was properly vested with subject matter juris-
diction from the outset. See 28 U.S.C. 2679(d)(2) (upon certif-
ication, “any civil action or proceeding commenced upon such
claim in a State court shall be removed”). Indeed, the district
court did not question that it had subject matter jurisdiction
at the time of removal. After removal, the court overturned
the Attorney General’s certification and resubstituted respon-
dent Haley as the defendant. Pet. App. 24a. That ruling by
the district court, on a substantive question of federal law,
was immediately appealable in its own right because it denied
Haley absolute immunity. See pp. 13-15, swpra. Because that
ruling was logically separate from and anterior to the errone-
ous determination to remand that followed, Section 1447(d)
posed no obstacle to appellate review of the substitution or-
der. See pp. 25-27, infra. Indeed, because the Westfall Act
precludes the possibility of a valid removal order after a sub-
stitution ruling, Congress clearly contemplated that such rul-
ings would be reviewable without regard to Section 1447(d).

Only after making its substitution ruling did the district
court go on to remand the case to state court, believing that
it was without jurisdiction to adjudicate the remaining issues
“Iblecause the United States is not before the court,” Pet.
App. at 25a. That remand did not come within either 28
U.S.C. 1447(e) or (d). It did not alter the fact that the court

17

had subject matter jurisdiction at the time of removal, and it
conflicted with 28 U.S.C. 2679(d)(2), which renders the Attor-
ney General’s certification “conclusive[] * * * for purposes
of removal.” Under this Court’s decisions, Section 1447(d)
poses no bar to appellate review of such a remand order.

a. Section 1447(d) provides that “[a]n order remanding a
case to the State court from which it was removed is not
reviewable on appeal or otherwise.” 28 U.S.C. 1447(d). This
Court has made clear, however, that Section 1447(d) must be
read in pari materia with 28 U.S.C. 1447(c). See Thermtron,
423 U.S. at 343. “[OJnly remands based on grounds specified
in § 1447(c) are immune from review under § 1447(d).”
Things Remembered, Inc. v. Petrarca, 516 U.S. 124, 127
(1995). See Kircher v. Putnam Funds Trust, 126 S. Ct. 2145,
2153 (2006) (same). Thus, this Court has reviewed a remand
order based on a district court’s crowded docket, Thermtron,
423 U.S. at 340-341, a remand based on abstention,
Quackenbush, 517 U.S. at 710-712, and the discretionary re-
mand of state law claims after the federal law claims that had
supported removal were eliminated from the case, Carnegie-
Mellon Univ. v. Cohill, 484 U.S. 343, 348 (1988). In each of
those cases, the case was properly removed to federal district
court, the district court was properly vested with jurisdiction
from the outset, and the purported ground for the remand
was not one authorized or specified in Section 1447(c).*

b. One ground for remand provided in Section 1447(c) is
lack of subject matter jurisdiction. But that reference has to

* Cohill held that “Section|) * * * 1447(c) * * * dofes] not apply to cases
over which a federal court has pendent jurisdiction,” and that therefore “the
remand authority conferred by the removal statute |Section 1447(c)| and the
remand authority conferred by the doctrine of pendent jurisdiction overlap not
at all.” 484 U.S. at 355 n.11. It follows from Cohili’s holding that a discretion-
ary remand of pendent ciaims is not a remand under Section 1447(c) that such
a remand is not within Section 1447(d)’s bar to appellate review. See Kircher,
126 S. Ct. at 2153. But see Things Remembered, 516 U.S. at 130 (Kennedy, J.,
concurring) (stating that Cohill did not decide “whether subsection (d) would
bar review” of orders remanding pendent claims as a matter of discretion).

18

be understood, and has been understood by the courts of ap-
peals, as limited to remand orders for a lack of subject matter
jurisdiction at the time of removal.’ That reading is consis-
tent with the general rule that a court’s subject matter juris-
diction is fixed at the time the suit is brought and is not de-
feated by subsequent acts. See, e.g., Grupo Dataflux v. Atlas
Global Group, L.P., 541 U.S. 567, 574 (2004); Freeport-
McMoRan, Inc. v. KN Energy, Inc., 498 U.S. 426 (1991); St.
Paul Mercury Indem. Co. v. Red Cab Co., 303 U.S. 283, 203
(1938). In St. Paul Mercury Indemnity, for example, the
Court held that a case that had been properly removed to
federal court under diversity jurisdiction could not thereafter
be remanded to state court when the plaintiff later reduced
the damages claimed to an amount below the jurisdictional
minimum. The Court explained that “events occurring subse-
quent to removal which reduce the amount recoverable * * *
do not oust the district court’s jurisdiction once it has at-
tached.” 303 U.S. at 293, 296. See Cohill, 484 U.S. at 356 n.12
(discussing St. Paul Mercury Indemnity). More particularly,
in the context of suits removed under the federal officer re-
moval statute, 28 U.S.C. 1442, the Court has made clear that
the district court’s jurisdiction is established by the presence
at the threshold of a colorable defense of federal immunity,
and the ultimate resolution of that defense is immaterial to
the district court’s jurisdiction. See pp. 45-48, infra.

That reading is also consistent with the historical evolu-
tion of the removal statutes. Section 1447 traces its roots to

* See, e.g., Lethererv. Alger Group, L.L.C., 328 F.3d 262, 265 (6th Cir. 2003)
(“appellate review of remand orders is prohibited only where the district court
remands because it lacks subject matter jurisdiction at the time of removal”);
Poore v. American-Amicable Life Ins. Co., 218 F.3d 1287, 1290-1291 (11th Cir.
2000); T'ransit Cas. Co. v. Certain Underwriters at Lloyd’s, 119 F.3d 619, 623
(8th Cir. 1997), cert. denied, 522 U.S. 1075 (1998); Trans Penn Wax Corp. v.
McCandless, 50 F.3d 217, 223 (3d Cir. 1995); 1n re Amoco Petroleum Additives
Co., 964 F.2d 706, 708-709 (7th Cir. 1992). But see Linton v. Airbus Industrie,
30 F.3d 592, 599-600 (5th Cir.) (“jurisdictional remands premised on post-
removal events are not reviewable”), cert. denied, 513 U.S. 1044 (1994).

19

the Act of March 3, 1887, ch. 373, 24 Stat. 553. See Thermtron
Prods., 423 U.S. at 346-348. When Congress recodified those
provisions in 1948 and 1949, it made explicit that a remand
was available based only on defects at the time of removal.
Section 1447(c) authorized remand “{i]f at any time before
final judgment it appears that the case was removed improvi-
dently and without jurisdiction.” 28 U.S.C. 1447(c) (1982). In
1988, the day after the Westfall Act was passed, Congress
amended Section 1447(c) to specify that a remand motion
based on defects in removal procedure must be made within
30 days of removal, while continuing to allow for a motion to
remand if “before final judgment it appears that the district
court lacks subject matter jurisdiction.” Pub. L. No. 100-702,
§ 1016(c)(1), 102 Stat. 4670. That language remains in the
current version of Section 1447(c). As a number of courts of
appeals have concluded, after reviewing the change in statu-
tory text and the legislative history, “the proper inquiry is
still whether the court had jurisdiction at the time of re-
moval.” Poore v. American-Amicable Life Ins. Co., 218 F.3d
1287, 1290 (11th Cir. 2000). See Van Meter v. State Farm
Fire & Cas. Co., 1 F.3d 445, 450 n.2 (6th Cir. 1993); Jn re Shell
Oil Co., 966 F.2d 1130, 1133 (7th Cir. 1992). It is evident that
Congress did not intend to depart from the well established
rule “that jurisdiction present at the time a suit is filed or
removed is unaffected by subsequent acts.” Shell Oil, 966
F.2d at 1133. Rather, Congress’s focus in adopting the textual
change was on ensuring that plaintiffs raise promptly any
objection to removal on purely procedural grounds. See H.R.
Rep. No. 889, 100th Cong., 2d Sess. Pt. 1, at 72 (1988).
Applying that principle here, it is clear that the district
court’s remand order was not based on a lack of subject mat-
ter jurisdiction at the time of removal, and so does not come
within Section 1447(c) or trigger the bar to appellate review
in Section 1447(d). Under the express terms of Section
2679(d){2), the Attorney General's certification conferred
subject matter jurisdiction on the district court at the time of

20

removal. That is sufficient to render Section 1447(d) inappli-
cable.

c. Furthermore, the Westfall Act provides a specific basis
for treating the district court’s remand order here as falling
outside Section 1447(c) and (d). Congress has specifically
precluded remand orders of the type here. That determina-
tion—whether understood as a special rule for the Westfall
Act or a manifestation of the principle that the time of re-
moval is the relevant time for testing subject matter juris-
diction—likewise renders Section 1447(d) inapplicable.

It is axiomatic that the Court will interpret statutory pro-
visions in light of related ones, in an effort to harmonize them.
For example, as the Court noted in Kircher, Section 1447(d)’s
prohibition on appellate review does not apply to remand or-
ders as to which Congress has specified a right to appeal. See
126 S. Ct. at 2153 n.8 (citing, as a situation to which Section
1447(d) does not apply, 12 U.S.C. 1441a(1)(3)(C), which pro-
vides that the Resolution Trust Corporation “may appeal any
order of remand,” without cross-referencing Section 1447(d)).
Here, rather than specifying that a district court’s remand of
a suit removed by the Attorney General under the Westfall
Act is subject to appeal notwithstanding Section 1447(d), Con-
gress made clear that cases removed by the Attorney General
under that mandatory provision of the Westfall Act are not
subject to remand at all. That determination clearly places an
erroneous remand order entered in contravention of 28 U.S.C.
2679(d)(2) outside the scope of Section 1447(c) and (d). The
Congress that attempted to preclude the possibility of such a
remand order altogether could hardly have intended to render
such an order, if nonetheless entered, unreviewable by virtue
of Section 1447(d).

Then-Judge Alito made this very point in Aliota, explain-
ing that the “subsequently enacted [Section 2679(d)(2)] ex-
presses Congress’s intent that subject matter jurisdiction is
conclusively established upon the Attorney General's certifi-
cation. Since subject matter jurisdiction has been conclu-

21

sively established, there is no jurisdictional question to be
resolved by the district court.” 984 F.2d at 1357. “Because
the District Court remanded a properly removed case on
grounds that he had no authority to consider, he exceeded his
statutorily defined powers,” including the remand authority
of Section 1447(c) and appellate review “was not barred by
§ 1447(d).” Jbid. (quoting Thermtron, 423 U.S. at 351) (em-
phasis in Aliota). See also Cohill, 484 U.S. at 356 (Thermtron
“was a response to a clearly impermissible remand”).°

d. This Court’s recent decision in Kircher is not to the
contrary and indeed reinforces that conclusion. Kircher con-
cerned the Securities Litigation Uniform Standards Act of
1998 (SQLUSA), Pub. L. No. 105-353, 112 Stat. 3227, which
authorizes removal from state court, under 15 U.S.C. 77p(c),
of a “covered class action * * * involving a covered security,
as set forth in” 15 U.S.C. 77p(b). Because Section 77p(b) in
turn flatly bars a class action suit described by that provision,
the district court must dismiss such a case upon removal. The
district court in Kircher ruled that the class action litigation

° In Kircher, Justice Scalia expressed the view that the Court cannot “look| |
behind the face of an order to determine its true basis,” 126 S. Ct. at 2158
(Scalia, J., concurring), an issue that the majority determined was unnecessary
to resolve in that case, id. at 2153 n.9. That issue is likewise not presented
here. It is clear on the face of the district court’s opinion that the court based
its finding that it lacked jurisdiction on the court’s determination, earlier in that.
order, that the Attorney General's certification should be overturned and Haley
resubstituted as the defendant. As we explain above, that is not a jurisdictional
holding covered by Section 1447(c). In any event, a reviewing court is not
bound to accept the district court's characterization of legal issues on which a
question of jurisdiction turns. See l/nited States v. Jorn, 400 U.S. 470, 478 n.7
(1971) (plurality opinion of Harlan, J.) (“the trial judge's characterization of his
own action cannot control the classification of the action for purposes of our
appellate jurisdiction”); United States v. Sisson, 399 U.S. 267, 279 n.7 (1970).
The reviewing court must determine its own jurisdiction independently. See
Liberty Mut. Ins. Co. v. Wetzel, 424 U.S. 737, 742 (1976) (court of appeals erred
in accepting the district court's “recital” that final judgment had been entered
when the record showed the contrary); Things Remembered, 516 U.S. at 134
(Ginsburg, J., concurring).

22

involved in that case was not precluded by Section 77p(b), and
remanded the case. 126 8. Ct. at 2151. This Court held that
Section 1447(d) barred appeal of the remand order because it
was “necessarily based on the trial court’s conclusion that
jurisdiction under § 77p(c) was wanting.” Jd. at 2153-2154.
The Court explained that “[o]nce removal jurisdiction under
subsection (c) is understood to be restricted to precluded ac-
tions defined by subjection (b), a motion to remand claiming
the action is not precluded must be seen as posing a jurisdic-
tional issue.” Jd. at 2155.

Kircher presented the kind of circumstance that falls
within Section 1447(c) and (d). The district court made a
purely jurisdictional determination concerning jurisdiction at
the time of removal, and the litigation would continue in state
court, where the parties were free to raise any merits argu-
ments, including those the district court had rejected. See
126 S. Ct. at 2156-2157.

Removal under the Westfall Act is fundamentally different
in two critical respects. First, unlike SLUSA, which allows a
covered case to remain in state court from the outset, see
Kircher, 126 S. Ct. at 2156, the Westfall Act provides that a
case “shall be removed” from state court upon the Attorney
General’s certification. 28 U.S.C. 2679(d)(2) (emphasis
added). The Westfall Act thus mandates a federal forum for
determination of the critical scope-of-employment question on
the merits of the case.

Second, under SLUSA, the district court’s removal juris-
diction depends entirely on the defendants having a successful
defense. Kircher, 126 S. Ct. at 2155 (“removal jurisdiction [is]
*** restricted to precluded actions”). By contrast, as peti-
tioner concedes as a general matter (Pet. Br. 37-38), under the
Westfall Act the Attorney General’s scope-of-employment
certification “conclusively” establishes the district court’s
removal jurisdiction at the outset, even if the district court
later overturns the scope-of-employment determination and
resubstitutes the employee as defendant. See pp. 41-49, in-

23

fra. Indeed, the Court in Kircher specifically contrasted
SLUSA to the federal officer removal statute in this respect,
noting that a federal officer’s federal defense need only be
“colorable” in order to sustain removal jurisdiction under
Section 1442(a), because that section “reflects a congressional
policy that ‘federal officers, indeed the Federal Government
itself, require the protection of a federal forum.’” 126 S. Ct.
at 2155 n.12 (quoting Willingham, 395 U.S. at 407). The
Westfall Act reflects that same policy.

Given the express statutory mandate for both initial and
continuing jurisdiction in federal district court, it follows from
the statutory framework that review lies in a federal court of
appeals if the district court disregards that mandate.

e. That conclusion is further reinforced by the conse-
quences of the certification question that Congress has re-
quired to be decided by the federal courts under 28 U.S.C.
2679(d)(2). Congress made clear in statutory findings set
forth in the Westfall Act itself the purpose to establish an
“immunity of Federal employees from common law tort liabil-
ity.” Westfall Act § 2(a)(5), 28 U.S.C. 2671 note (102 Stat.
4563) (emphasis added). See Smith, 499 U.S. at 163. By the
time the Westfall Act was passed, this Court had already es-
tablished that the denial of claims of absolute or qualified
official immunity are subject to immediate appeal. Mitchell,
472 U.S. at 525. The same is not true, as a matter of federal
law, in state court. By mandating a federal forum to litigate
the question of the employee’s statutory immunity, Congress
can reasonably be understood to have preserved the right to
immediate appeal to a federal court of appeals that is trig-
gered in a federal forum if a claim of immunity is rejected. If
a district court order overturning a certification and remand-
ing to state court were unreviewable, federal employees would
be denied that right.

The district court’s resubstitution order also has other
ramifications for the litigation far beyond merely deciding
whether a state court will hear the merits of the plaintiff's

24

claims—which was the only consequence in Kircher. If the
Attorney General’s scope certification is correct, the FTCA
mandates exclusive jurisdiction over the plaintiff’s claims in
federal court, see 28 U.S.C. 1346(b)(1), and those claims lie
against a different defendant—the United States. See 28
U.S.C. 2679(b)(1) (FTCA remedy against the United States is
exclusive). As a result, distinct substantive and procedural
rules apply, such as an administrative exhaustion require-
ment, 28 U.S.C. 2675(a), limitations on liability, 28 U.S.C.
2674, and unique federal defenses, 28 U.S.C. 2680.

In light of the numerous jurisdictional and substantive
consequences that flow from resolution of the certification
issue under the Westfall Act, petitioner’s position that the
district court’s remand order is unreviewable is especially
problematic. The United States would be forced to subject
itself and its employees to the jurisdiction of the state courts
and seek to vindicate the Attorney General's certification
there (assuming that the state courts would have authority to
reconsider the district court’s ruling), with ultimate review in
this Court from an adverse state-court decision. If the posi-
tion of the United States and its employee on the scope-of-
employment issue ultimately prevailed, any proceedings in
state court against the employee personally would be a nul-
lity, and the entire litigation would have to begin anew against
the United States in federal court pursuant to the FTCA.
And, in the meantime, the employee would have been improp-
erly subjected to suit when Congress had mandated immu-
nity. Such exposure to suit and waste of resources would be
directly contrary to the Westfall Act’s goal of shielding fed-
eral employees from the “prospect of personal liability and
the threat of protracted personal tort litigation” related to
their employment, Westfall Act § 2(a)(5), 28 U.S.C. 2671 note
(102 Stat. 4563), and to the very policies of affording a federal
forum while promoting judicial efficiency that underlie the
Westfall Act and removal statutes generally.

25

2. The district court’s ruling overturning the Attorney
General’s certification and ordering Haley resubsti-
tuted as the defendant is appealable in its own right

Even if the remand aspect of the district court’s decree
were not appealable, the resubstitution order still would be.
As explained above, the substitution ruling is clearly
appealable under the collateral order doctrine. That ruling
does not become unreviewable by operation of Section 1447(d)
simply because it is accompanied by an erroneous remand
order, and the substitution order is logically separate from
and anterior to the remand order. The remand order is not
the necessary consequence of the substitution order. Indeed,
28 U.S.C. 2679(d)(2) makes clear that the remand order
should not have followed the substitution order at all. Con-
gress’s scheme clearly provided for a substitution ruling that
would be immediately appealable (because it denies absolute
immunity), and that immediate appeal could not be defeated
by Section 1447(d) because 28 U.S.C. 2679(d)(2) precluded a
remand order. In the event of an erroneous remand order in
contravention of 28 U.S.C. 2679(d)(2), whatever can be said
about the appealability of the remand order itself, it should
not operate to render the substitution order unappealable.

This Court confronted a similar situation in Waco v.
United States Fidelity & Guaranty Co., 293 U.S. 140 (1934).
There, the Court held that Section 1447(d) does not bar ap-
peal from an otherwise appealable order that is encompassed
within a decree that also contains an order remanding the
case to state court. In Waco, the district court had “entered
a single decree embodying three separate orders.” /d. at 142.
One dismissed the cross-complaint against the only diverse
party, and another ordered the case remanded to state court
because, “upon that dismissal, there was no diversity of citi-
zenship” and the district court thus “lacked jurisdiction.”
Ibid. This Court held that the order dismissing the cross-
complaint could be appealed, even though no appeal had been

26

taken from the remand order and (the Court stated) “no ap-
peal lies” from that order. /d. at 143. The Court explained
that “if not reversed or set aside, [the dismissal would be]
conclusive upon the petitioner” because “the cross-action will
be no part of the case which is remanded to the state court.”
Ibid. If the dismissal order was erroneous, reversal would
“remit the entire controversy, with the [respondent] still a
party, to the state court for such further proceedings as may
be in accordance with law.” /d. at 143-144.

As in Waco, the district court’s order of March 10, 2002,
had three parts. First, the district court “DENIED” the
United States’ motion to dismiss the complaint. Pet. App.
17a. Next, the court “OVERRULED” the United States’ sub-
stitution and reinstated Haley as the defendant in his individ-
ual capacity. Jbid. Finally, the court “REMANDED” the
case to state court. /bid. Thus, here, as in Waco, the district
court’s resubstitution order “preceded that of remand.” 293
U.S. at 143. That is true not only in a literal sense that the
resubstitution order is listed before the remand order in the
district court’s decree, see Pet. App. 17a, but also as a matter
of substance. The district court’s March 10 Memorandum and
Order resolved the two issues separately. First, it took up the
question of the Attorney General’s certification and the
United States’ substitution. /d. at 2la-24a. Only after con-
cluding that the certification should be overturned did the
court take up the separate question of whether, in light of the
resubstitution, the case should be remanded. /d. at 24a-25a.

Petitioner errs in contending that Waco is distinguishable
because “as in Kircher, the ‘remand order here cannot be
disaggregated as the Waco orders could.’” Pet. Br. 17 (quot-
ing Kircher, 126 S. Ct. at 2156 n.13).’ As noted above, in

* In Kircher, the court raised a question as to “the continued vitality of
{Waco} in light of § 1447(d).” 126 S. Ct. at 2156 n.13. It is unclear in what way
the Court thought the enactment of Section 1447(d) might have undermined
Waco. When Congress enacted 28 U.S.C. 1447(d) in 1949, to cure an oversight
in the codification of Title 28 the year before, the House Report that accompa-

27

Kircher, the question of removal jurisdiction and the question
whether the claims were precluded were one and the same.
126 S. Ct. at 2155 (“removal jurisdiction under subsection (c)
is * * * restricted to precluded actions defined by subsec-
tion (b)”). The district court could not resolve the issue of
preclusion without also deciding the issue of its removal juris-
diction. /bid. That is not so here. As this Court made clear
in Lamagno, when the Attorney General certifies that a fed-
eral employee was acting within the scope of employment, the
case is properly removed to the federal district court, which
then has jurisdiction to decide the federal question whether
the Attorney General’s scope certification was correct. 515
U.S. at 431-432. There was no suggestion in Lamagno that a
decision to overturn the certification would render the re-
moval itself improper. There can be little doubt, for example,
that, unlike in Kircher, the district court in this case could
have decided the scope certification question and then asked
for briefing on the question of remand. (In fact, petitioner
had not requested, and neither party had briefed, the issue of
remand.) Had it done so, the government could have immedi-
ately appealed the order denying substitution (and thereby
denying Haley his statutory immunity) under the collateral
order doctrine, as discussed above. The fact that the district
court inserted its order remanding the case in the same de-
cree that contained its order on substitution did not shield the
substitution order from appellate review.*

nied the amendment explained that it was made “to remove any douht that the

former law as to the finality of an order of remand to a State court is
continued.” H.R. Rep. No. 352, 81st Cong., Ist Sess. 15 (1949) (emphasis
added). Thus, whatever the effect of the enactment of Section 1447(d) in its
current form, it did not overturn Waco by rendering unappealable an order
that otherwise satisfies the requirements of finality under Section 1291 and is
itself separable from the remand order, especially when the issue is one that
must be decided by the federal district court.

* Petitioner appears to concede (Pet. Br. 17-18) that district court orders
overturning scope certifications would be separate orders under Waco in most
cases, but asks the Court to adopt a different rule for this case because,

28

Il. UNDER THE WESTFALL ACT, THE ATTORNEY GEN-
ERAL NEED NOT ACCEPT THE TRUTH OF THE PLAIN-
TIFF’S ALLEGATIONS IN MAKING A SCOPE-OF-EM-
PLOY MENT CERTIFICATION

As previously discussed, see p. 2, supra, the Westfall Act
built upon and expanded the common law official immunity
afforded federal employees for acts taken in connection with
their employment. Whereas this Court held in Westfall that
a government employee enjoys official immunity from tort
liability if he was acting within the scope of his employment
and performing a discretionary function, 484 U.S. at 299, the
Westfall Act eliminates the discretionary function require-
ment, thereby making the scope-of-employment issue disposi-
tive. See Lamagno, 515 U.S. at 425-426; H.R. Rep. 700, at 4.
Even before the Westfall Act, it was well established that
federal officers are entitled, under 28 U.S.C. 1442(a), to re-
move state tort suits in order to have their federal immunity
defense, including the scope-of-employment issue, determined
by a federal court, even though its resolution may turn on
disputed facts. It follows a fortiori that the Attorney Gen-
eral’s scope-of-employment certification under the Westfall
Act may likewise rest upon the resolution of disputed facts,
subject to review by the federal court following removal.

petitioner maintains, “the district court in the end did not reject the Attorney
General's certification because the court thought it ‘erroneous’ (in the sense
that respondent Haley had acted outside rather than within the scope of his
employment),” but because the court concluded “that the Attorney General
lacked authority to issue an incident-denying certification.” That assertion
does not withstand scrutiny. The district court overruled the Attorney
General's scope certification because the court found that, accepting all of
petitioner's allegations as true, her tort claims against Haley “fall outside the
scope of his employment.” Pet. App. 24a. The district court’s subsequent order
denying the government's motion to reconsider did not undo the court’s earlier
order. It merely added a further legal ruling that the government was not
entitled either to test the truthfulness of the petitioner’s allegations or to
discover what facts relevant to Haley’s scope of employment petitioner might
rely on in proving her tort claims. /d. at 14a-15a.

29

A. A Federal Employee Is Entitled To A Federal Forum To
Determine His Claim Of Official Immunity, Including
To Resolve Any Disputed Facts

Section 1442(a)(1) allows any officer of the United States
to remove any civil action where the officer is “sued in an offi-
cial or individual! capacity for any act under color of such of-
fice,” 28 U.S.C. 1442(a)(1), whether or not the suit could origi-
nally have been brought in federal court. See Willingham,
395 U.S. at 406. The Court made clear in Willingham that a
removing federal officer is free to deny the allegations against
him and, if there are factual disputes relating to whether the
defendant was acting within the scope of his employment, the
officer is entitled to a hearing in federal court to resolve those
disputed facts. Jd. at 406-409.

Willingham involved a civil suit filed by a federal inmate
in state court against two federal prison officials who were
alleged to have tortured the inmate “out of malice.” Morgan
v. Willingham, 383 F.2d 139, 140 (10th Cir. 1967). Upon re-
moval pursuant to Section 1442(a)(1), the district court held
that the federal officers were entitled to immunity, zbid., but
the Tenth Circuit reversed. The court of appeals held that a
district court’s removal jurisdiction under Section 1442(a)(1)
was narrower than the scope of common law immunity, id. at
142, and that, in order to remove, a defendant “must exclude
the possibility that the suit is based on acts or conduct not
justified by his federal duty,” id. at 141.

This Court rejected that view. It held that Section 1442,
at the very least, “is broad enough to cover all cases where
federal officers can raise a colorable defense arising out of
their duty to enforce federal law.” Willingham, 395 U.S. at
406-407. The Court explained that one of the purposes of
Section 1442 was “to have such defenses litigated in the fed-
eral courts,” and that the position of the court of appeals
would create the “anomalous result of allowing removal only
when the officers had a clearly sustainable defense. The suit

30

would be removed only to be dismissed.” Jd. at 407. Such a
rule, the Court explained, would be contrary to the statutory
purpose of having “the validity of the defense of official immu-
nity tried in a federal court.” /bid. “In cases like this one,
the Court stressed, “Congress has decided that federal offi-
cers, and indeed the Federal Government itself, require the
protection of a federal forum.” Jbid.

Noting that the defendants in Willingham had denied the
plaintiff’s allegations, the Court explained that a federal offi-
cer “need not admit that he actually committed the charged
offenses,” 7.e., that the petitioners “actually injured respon-
dent.” 395 U.S. at 408. Rather, it was “sufficient” for the
federal officers “to have shown that their relationship to re-
spondent derived solely from their official duties.” Jd. at 409.
The Court also observed that the plaintiff had alleged that the
officials were engaged “on a frolic of their own which had no
relevancy to their official duties.” /d. at 407. With respect to
that allegation, the Court held that the officers “should have
the opportunity to present their version of the facts to a fed-
eral, not a state, court.” /d. at 409 (emphasis added).

The Court has reaffirmed Willingham in Jefferson County
v. Acker, 527 U.S. 423 (1999), and Mesa v. California, 489 U.S.
121 (1989). In Jefferson County, the Court held that removal
under Section 1442(a)(1) requires a federal officer to “both
raise a colorable federal defense,” such as official immunity,
and show a “‘causal connection’ between the charged conduct
and asserted official authority.” 527 U.S. at 431 (quoting
Willingham, 395 U.S. at 409). In so holding, the Court once
again stressed that the claim of immunity need only be
“eolorable” and that Section 1442(a)(1) “dojes} not require the
officer virtually to ‘win his case before he can have it re-
moved.” /bid. (quoting Willingham, 395 U.S. at 407). Like-
wise, the law does not “demand | an airtight case on the mer-
its in order to show the required causal connection.” /d. at
432. Recognizing that the parties disagreed as to the nature
of the plaintiff’s claims, the Court “credit{ed] the [defen-

3l

dants’| theory of the case for purposes of both elements of our
jurisdictional inquiry.” /bid. Mesa similarly emphasized that
the “validity” of the immunity defense “has no connection
whatever with the question of jurisdiction.” 489 U.S. at 129
(quoting Mayor v. Cooper, 73 U.S. (6 Wall.) 247, 254 (1868)).
It is, rather, the assertion of such a defense that “is decisive
upon the subject of jurisdiction.” Ibid. (quoting Cooper, 73
U.S. (6 Wall.) at 252).

Under Willingham, Mesa, and Jefferson County, it is evi-
dent that Haley raised a colorable federal defense of official
immunity and is entitled, under Section 1442 (wholly apart
from Section 2679(d)(2)), to a resolution by the district court
of any disputed facts relating to his immunity defense.’ The
complaint makes clear that Haley’s “relationship to [peti-
tioner] derived solely from [his] official duties.” Willingham,
395 U.S. at 409. It alleges that “[a]t all times relevant to this
complaint, defendant Barry Haley was employed as Business
Manager by USDA Forest Service.” Luber App. 2. The only
direct contact between Haley and petitioner that is alleged is
the staff meeting at which Haley announced that someone
other than petitioner had been hired to fill the Forest Service
position for which she had applied. The only other actions
alleged of Haley, stripped of petitioner’s self-serving charac-
terizations, were to respond to an inquiry from the Depart-
ment of Labor as to the process by which the Forest Service
position had been filled, and to raise an objection regarding
petitioner with her employer, an independent contractor with
the Forest Service. As in Willingham, “it was sufficient” to

* The Notice of Removal invoked 28 U.S.C. 1442 in addition to Section 2679.
See 03-cv-192 (W.D. Ky.), Rec. #1, Notice of Removal 3. Although, as
discussed in the text, petitioner’s claims were subject to removal on the basis
of Section 1442 alone, the government and Haley did not urge Section 1442 in
the court of appeals as a separate ground for reversing the district court. As
we explain below, see pp. 32-39 m/ra, the Attorney General's removal authority
under Section 2679(d)(2) is certainly no more limited than removal jurisdiction
under Section 1442.

32

satisfy the causal nexus test “for [Haley] to have shown that
[his] relationship to [petitioner] derived solely from [his] offi-
cial duties.” 395 U.S. at 409.

With respect to the merits of Haley’s immunity defense,
he was no more required to accept the truth of petitioner’s
allegation that he “maliciously induced” her dismissal from
LBLA “in retaliation for plaintiff filing a veterans’ preference
inquiry,” Luber App. 7, than the defendants in Willingham
were required to accept the plaintiffs allegation that they
were on a “frolic of their own” and had tortured plaintiff “out
of malice.” 395 U.S. at 407; 383 F.2d at 140. As in
Willingham, Haley was entitled “to present [his] version of
the facts to a federal, not a state, court” to determine “the
validity of (his] defense[]” of immunity. 395 U.S. at 409.

B. The Attorney General Is No More Constrained To Accept
The Plaintiff’s Version Of The Facts In Making A
Scope-Of-Employment Certification Under The Westfall
Act Than The Federal Officer And The Federal District
Court Are Under Section 1442

The districi court held in this case that, “{a]t [the removal]
stage, this Court must accept [petitioner’s] allegations as
true,” and that it was therefore sufficient to defeat removal
under the Westfall Act that petitioner had “adequately al-
leged conduct on Mr. Haley’s part that, if proven, would give
rise to tort claims under Kentucky state law and that fall out-
side the scope of his employment with the United States For-
est Service.” Pet. App. 24a. That reasoning is the same as
the rejected analysis of the Tenth Circuit in Willingham:
that in order to remove under Section 1442(a)(1), a defendant
“must exclude the possibility that the suit is based on acts or
conduct not justified by his federal duty,” 383 F.2d at 141.

There is no basis for construing the Attorney General’s
authority to remove an action under 28 U.S.C. 2679(d)(2) as
any narrower than a federal officer’s ability to remove a case
under Section 1442(a). Indeed, petitioner recognizes that the

33

two statutes are “fairly analogized.” Pet. Br. 40. Nonethe-
less, without discussing Willingham (see id. at 27-28 (discuss-
ing pre-Westfall Act immunity cases, without reference to
Willingham)), petitioner contends that the Attorney General
cannot certify that a federal employee was acting within the
scope of employment if “the resulting adjudication by the
district court would necessarily consist of ‘deciding whether
the employee committed the wrong the plaintiff alleges.’” Jd.
at 19 (quoting Pet. App. 5a). As discussed above, that conten-
tion cannot be squared with this Court’s construction of Sec-
tion 1442(a) in Willingham, and nothing in Section 2679(d)
suggests a different result here. Neither the Attorney Gen-
eral, nor the District Court post-certification, needs to credit
the plaintiff's version of events.

1. Petitioner notes that Section 2679(d) allows the Attor-
ney General to certify that the defendant was “acting within
the scope of his office or employment at the time of the inci-
dent out of which the claim arose.” Pet. Br. 22 (quoting Wood,
995 F.2d at 1124 (Breyer, C.J.) (quoting 28 U.S.C. 2679(d)(1)).
Contary to the reasoning in Wood, nothing in that language
requires the Attorney General to accept the truth of the plain-
tiff’s allegations regarding the “incident” that gave rise to her
claim or the federal official’s connection with it.

As the several courts of appeals that have rejected the
rule of Wood have noted, placing critical weight on the “time
of the incident” language, as the Wood court’s analysis does,
would create an anomaly when the language of Section
2679(d)(1) and (2) is compared with that of Section 2679(d)(3),
which the Wood majority did not discuss. See Melo, 13 F.3d
at 746-747; Kimbro, 30 F.3d at 1508; Heuton v. Anderson, 75
F.3d 357, 360 (8th Cir. 1996); Pet. App. 6a-7a. Section
2679(d)(3), which authorizes a district court to make a scope-
of-employment determination at the request of the defendant
employee (when the Attorney General has refused to certify
that the defendant was acting within the scope of employ-
ment), does not have the “time of the incident” language re-

34

lied upon by Wood with respect to Section 2679(d)(1). Section
2679(d)(3) states, without limitation, that the employee may
“petition the court to find and certify that the employee was
acting within the scope of his office or employment.” 28
U.S.C. 2679(d)(3) (emphasis added). Section 2679(d)(3) pro-
vides no basis for having the district court evaluate the scope-
of-employment question based only on the allegations of the
plaintiff. There is no basis for concluding that Congress in-
tended the Attorney General to be more circumscribed by the
plaintiff’s allegations in making a certification under Section
2679(d)(1) and (2) that the employee was acting within the
scope of employment than the district court is when reviewing
the Attorney General’s denial of such a certification.

The “time of the incident” language in Section 2679(d)(1)
and (2) necessarily refers to the “incident” described in the
plaintiff's claim. Nothing in that reference lays down a re-
quirement that the plaintiff's allegation be accepted as true,
especially against the contrary background rule of
Willingham and similar cases. The reference most naturally
is read to make clear that the scope of employment is to be
considered in conjunction with the claims at issue, not in the
abstract. At most, the “time of the incident” language serves
a function similar to that of the nexus test under Section 1442,
which permits removal only of a claim “for any act under color
of such office.” 28 U.S.C. 1442(a)(1). The Court has con-
strued that language to require simply a “causal connection”
between the claim and the officer’s employment, Jefferson
County, 527 U.S. at 431 (quoting Willingham, 395 U.S. at
409).

The Court need not decide in this case what the minimal
requirements would be under the “at the time of the incident”
language in Section 2679(d)(1) and (2) for the relationship
between the claim and the defendant’s employment. It is
enough for present purposes for the Court to conclude that
Section 2679(d)(1) and (2) would impose no greater a nexus
requirement than Section 1442. Because “it was sufficient” to

35

satisfy the causal nexus test of Section 1442(a)(1) “for [Haley]
to have shown that [his] relationship to [petitioner] derived
solely from [his] official duties,” Willingham, 395 U.S. at 409,
see pp. 29-32, supra, it was equally sufficient to satisfy any
nexus requirement under Section 2679(d)(2).

2. Petitioner also urges (Pet. Br. 23-27) that allowing the
Attorney General to certify under the Westfall Act based on
a determination that the employee did not act as the plaintiff
alleges would be inconsistent with the broader framework of
the Westfall Act and the FTCA because it impermissibly
“conflate[s}” the “fundamentally different” inquiries regard-
ing scope of employment and the underlying merits. Pet. Br.
24. But the overlap between those inquiries is, in some cases,
unavoidable, and it is no more problematic in the Westfall Act
context than in the context of other forms of official immunity,
which can serve as the basis for removal under Section
1442(a). In Anderson v. Creighton, 483 U.S. 635 (1987), for
example, the Court explained that the court should first try to
resolve the defendant’s claim of immunity on the purely legal
question whether the law was clearly established. Jd. at 646
n.6. If it could not be resolved on that basis, then, “if the ac-
tions Anderson claims he took are different from those the
Creightons allege (and are actions that a reasonable officer
could have believed lawful), * * * discovery may be neces-
sary before Anderson’s motion for summary judgment on
qualified immunity grounds can be resolved.” Id. at 646-647
n.6 (emphasis added).

Similarly, under the Westfall Act, the question whether
the employee was acting within the scope of his employment
can usually be made as a matter of law, but will occasionally
require limited discovery and the determination of facts. Un-
der Kentucky law, as understood by the district court, the
scope-of-employment determination turns on four factors:
whether the “conduct [was] similar to [the employee’s] ordi-
nary course of duties,” whether the employee’s actions
“occur|red}] within the ‘spacial and temporal limits’ of his

36

work,” whether the actions were “taken to further the [em-
ployer’s] goals,” and whether the conduct was foreseeable.
Pet. App. 23a. Any one of those factors, in a particular case,
could turn on disputed facts that also relate to the merits of
the plaintiff's claim. Evidence regarding the third—whether
the acts were taken to further the employer’s goals—is espe-
cially likely to overlap with the merits when, as here, the plain-
tiffs claim depends on showing a particular intent. There is
nothing problematic about the court’s resolving those overlap-
ping issues as part of its review of the Attorney General’s
scope-of-employment certification. Indeed, in Lamagno, the
plurality opinion recognized that, in the course of its review,
“the court inevitably will confront facts relevant to the alleged
misconduct.” 515 U.S. at 435 (opinion of Ginsburg, J.). See
also id. at 443 (Souter, J., dissenting) (noting the “overlap of
jurisdictional evidence and liability evidence”). A plaintiff
cannot, simply by asserting a fact or mental state that would
be inconsistent with the defendant’s scope of employment,
preclude the Attorney General from concluding that the de-
fendant was acting within the scope of employment.

The First Circuit’s decision in Nasuti, is instructive. In
that case, the plaintiff alleged that a National Park Service
employee had committed an intentional battery by driving his
government car in a fashion that hurt the plaintiff. The mag-
istrate judge recognized that “if the plaintiff’s version of the
events * * * were believed, there was sufficient evidence for
a jury to find that the {defendant} had acted intentionally
* * * in a manner which amounted to the commission of an
assault and battery,” and that “these intentional acts would
necessarily fall outside the scope of [the defendant’s] employ-
ment.” 906 F.2d at 805. The magistrate believed, along the
lines advocated by petitioner, that because he could not decide
the scope-of-employment question “without also deciding the
merits of {the plaintiff's] case, i.e., whether [the defendant]
had committed an assault and battery,” the case was not prop-
erly removed to federal court. /bid. The First Circuit re-

37

jected that analysis, holding that the district court “should
have decided the scope question,” id. at 814, including
whether, contrary to the plaintiff’s allegations, the defendant
“was blameless or merely negligent, and was acting within the
scope of his authority,” id. at 812.

As in Nasuti, there are (at least) three possible scenarios
regarding what took place in connection with petitioner's ter-
mination from LBLA: (1) Haley was “blameless,” 2.e., his
interactions with petitioner and LBLA in the context of his
employment at the Forest Service had nothing to do with peti-
tioner being fired; (2) Haley did have some connection to peti-
tioner’s dismissal, but his actions were intended to further the
interests of the Forest Service, such as objecting to peti-
tioner’s conduct at the joir* staff meeting and raising ques-
tions about whether she was a good person for the LBLA-
Forest Service team, and were therefore within the scope of
his employment; or (3) Haley did, as alleged by plaintiff, bring
about petitioner’s firing through actions that were outside the
scope of his employment. Like the magistrate judge in
Nasuti, the district court here believed that, at the removal
stage, the Attorney General “must accept [petitioner’s] allega-
tions as true.” Pet. App. 24a. The court would not allow the
Attorney General to assert, in the alternative, that Haley had
not brought about petitioner's dismissal, but that, if he had
some role, that role was within the scope of his employment.
Id. at 13a-14a. But Willingham allows a removing official to
do just that under Section 1442(a). 395 U.S. at 408-409. That
kind of pleading in the alternative is no more unworkable in
the Westfall Act context than it is in the context of Section
1442.

3. Petitioner relies heavily (Pet. Br. 3, 18, 23, 25 n.7) on
the supposed “concession” in the court of appeals that, “if
Haley induced [petitioner's] firing, he acted outside the scope
of his employment.” Pet. App. 3a. As we noted in our brief at
the petition stage (at 14 n.5), the statement in Haley’s appel-
late brief on which petitioner relies—that “the Memorandum

38

of Understanding only showed that, if Haley did cause the
Contractor to fire [petitioner], he acted outside the scope of
his employment,” Haley C.A. Br. 21—was intended, in con-
text, only to acknowledge that it would have been outside the
scope of Haley’s employment for him to orchestrate peti-
tioner’s firing with the sole intent of retaliating against her
for having filed a DOL inquiry, as the complaint alleges. To
the extent petitioner reads that statement as conceding that
it would necessarily have been outside the scope of Haley’s
employment for him to influence petitioner’s termination in
any way, petitioner is also mistaken as a legal matter." In
any event, it is clear that the statement in an appellate brief
could have had no influence on the district court’s assessment
of the Attorney General’s certification. In the district court,
the government specifically disputed that it would necessarily
have been outside the scope of Haley’s employment for him to
influence petitioner’s firing by, for example, raising concerns
about her ability to be a good partner to the Forest Service.
J.A. 47."

Even assuming (which the United States and Haley dispute) that Haley
would have violated the Memorandum of Understanding by raising a concern
about petitioner’s fitness for the LBLA-Forest Service team, it is beyond
question that an employee can violate the law (or, in this case, a contract) while
still acting within the scope of his employment. See, e.g., Patterson v. Blair,
172 S.W.3d 361, 372 (Ky. 2005) (upholding jury verdict of vicarious liability of
employer because, “although the act [of shooting out a truck's tires} was
criminal, it was not so outrageous to indicate that the motive was a personal
one”); Heuton, 75 F.3d at 361 (“It is true that * * * posting the picture was
unquestionably prohibited by the USDA, but that does not mean that the act
was necessarily outside of the scope of Anderson's employment.”).

" This alternative set of facts would not, contrary to the distriet court's
understandirg, necessarly contradict the assertions in Haley's affidavit. Haley
stated that he “had no communication with Ms. Luber regarding the Depart-
ment of Labor inquiry to my office,” that he “had no advance knowledge of the
termination of [petitioner’s] employment with LBLA,” and that he “did not
atlvise Gaye Luber regarding the matter, nor * * * attempt to influence her
independent decision to fire [petitioner|.” J.A. 51-52 (emphasis added). It
would be consistent with those statements for Haley to have complained to

39

Even if petitioner’s characterization of the supposed con-
cession were accurate and the Court were inclined to rely on
it, Haley would still be entitled under Willingham to “present
[his] version of the facts to a federal, not a state, court.” 395
U.S. at 409. The Court in Willingham did not determine that
(indeed, it did not even ask whether) it would have been
within the scope of employment if, as alleged, the defendant
prison officials had tortured the prisoner plaintiff out of mal-
ice. Rather, the Court allowed the removing defendants to
deny “that they actually injured respondent,” id. at 408, while
maintaining at the same time that any interaction they in fact
had with the plaintiff, was “in the performance of [the defen-
dant’s] official duties,” ibid., and insisting that any factual
dispute with respect to the plaintiff’s allegation that “they
were engaged in some kind of ‘frolic of their own’” be resolved
by “a federal, not a state, court,” id. at 409. Haley was simi-
larly entitled to a federal forum to determine the facts relat-
ing to his defense of federal officer immunity.

C. Petitioner’s Construction Of Section 2679(d)(1) Would
Allow Plaintiffs To Deny Federal Employees The Bene-
fits Of The Westfall Act Through Artful Pleading

The First Circuit decision in Wood, upon which petitioner
relies heavily, acknowledged that its approach carried a risk
that “through artful pleading,” a plaintiff could “transform a
job-related tort into a non-job-related tort” by alleging in her
complaint that the defendant employee “acted with a state of
mind that, under traditional respondeat superior doctrine,
would place the action outside the ‘scope of employment,’ say,
an ‘intentional’ or ‘deliberate’ state of mind,” or by alleging
facts “indicating that, at the time, the employee was on a
‘frolic of his own.’” 995 F.2d at 1129. To address that criti-
cism, the court emphasized that “the Attorney General's cer-
tificate may contest a plaintiff’s incident-describing and inci-

Luber about petitioner's unacceptable behavior at the all-staff meeting, but
without discussing whether petitioner should be fired.

a

40

dent-characterizing facts,” such as whether the defendant had
acted “intentionally,” and that the district court “may resolve
any such factual conflicts, relevant to immunity, prior to
trial.” Jbid. The court recognized the potential difficulties
in drawing the line “between denying facts that amount to a
‘characterization’ or ‘description’ and denying that any
harm-causing incident occurred at all,” but left it to later
cases to resolve that “administrative problem.” /bid.
Decisions by other courts of appeals have emphasized the
practical, as well as theoretical, difficulty in drawing the kind
of distinctions “between characterization of an incident and
denial of an incident” that the Wood majority envisioned.
Pet. App. 6a; Kimbro, 30 F.3d at 1507; Melo, 13 F.3d at 743,
746. That difficulty is fully evident on the facts of this case.
The Attorney General’s certification did not depend on
denying many of the allegations of petitioner’s complaint:
that she applied for a position with the Forest Service, but
was not hired; that Haley was the official responsible for that
hiring determination; that petitioner and Haley had an ex-
change in front of other LBLA and Forest Service employees
at the all staff meeting; or that petitioner was fired from her
position with LBLA after she refused to apologize to Haley
for her conduct at the meeting. Indeed, as explained above,
see, note 11, supra, the Attorney General’s certification was
not even necessarily inconsistent with Haley having played
some role in events leading to petitioner’s termination.
What the Attorney General’s scope certification did deny
was that Haley caused petitioner’s termination out of personal
“enmity” in “retaliation for plaintiff filing a preference in-
quiry.” Luber App. 7. As we understand the Wood decision,
the First Circuit would classify that certification as one that
“denfies] facts that amount to a ‘characterization’ or ‘descrip-
tion,’” rather than one that “denies the existence of any harm-
causing incident at all.” 995 F.2d at 1129. However, the fine
parsing of allegations and evidence necessary in an attempt
to apply the Wood distinctions to this case illustrates the er-

41

ror in adding further limitations and complications on the
Attorney General’s certification authority that have no basis
in the statutory text.

The Attorney General made a determination that Haley
was acting within the scope of his employment “at the time of
the incident out of which [petitioner’s] claim arose.” 28 U.S.C.
2679(d)(1). Under this Court’s decision in Lamagno, peti-
tioner was free to request judicial review of that determina-
tion. 515 U.S. at 420. But it should be equally clear that, like
the defendants in Willingham, Haley had the right to “pres-
ent [his] version of the facts,” and to have “the validity of [his
federal] defense[]” of Westfall Act immunity “determined in
the federal courts.” 395 U.S. at 409 (emphasis added).

Ill. BECAUSE CONGRESS SPECIFIED THAT THE AT-
TORNEY GENERAL’S CERTIFICATION IS CONCLU-
SIVE FOR PURPOSES OF REMOVAL, THE DIS-
TRICT COURT WAS WITHOUT AUTHORITY TO RE-
MAND THE CASE TO STATE COURT

Section 2679(d)(2) provides that the “certification of
the Attorney General shall conclusively establish scope of
office or employment for purposes of removal.” 28 U.S.C.
2679(d)(2). Despite that language, the district court re-
manded the case to state court once it had determined that
petitioner had “adequately alleged conduct on Mr. Haley’s
part that, if proven, would give rise to tort claims * * * and
fall outside the scope of his employment.” Pet. App. 24a. The
plain language of Section 2679(d)(2) precludes such a remand.
Moreover, contrary to petitioner’s contentions (Pet. Br. 32-34,
39-40), giving effect to the clear statutory text does not violate
Article III of the Constitution.

A. The Language of the Westfall Act Gives The Attorney
General’s Certification “Conclusive” Effect For Pur-
poses Of Removal Jurisdiction

A district court lacks authority to remand to state court an
action that the Attorney General has removed after certifying

42

that the employee was acting within the scope of his employ-
ment, even if the court later determines that the employee
was not acting within the scope of his employment. That con-
clusion is compelled by the plain language of Section
2679(d)(2) itself. See United States v. Ron Pair Enters., Inc.,
489 U.S. 235, 241 (1989) (in matters of statutory interpretation
the “inquiries must begin[] with the language of the statute
itself”). By emphasizing that the Attorney General’s certifica-
tion “shall conclusively establish scope of office or employ-
ment for purposes of removal,” 28 U.S.C. 2679(d)(2) (emphasis
added), Congress made clear that the certification establishes
the district court’s removal jurisdiction once and for all. Peti-
tioner’s construction would deprive the Attorney General’s
certification of its “conclusive[]” character.

In Lamagno, all nine Justices agreed that Congress in-
tended the Attorney General’s certification to establish “con-
clusively” the district court’s removal jurisdiction. See also
Aliota, 984 F.2d at 1356 (Alito, J.) (holding that the conclusion
that “the district court has no authority to remand the case on
the ground that the Attorney General’s certification was erro-
neous” is “dictated by the plain language of 28 U.S.C.
§ 2679(d)(2)”).

A plurality of four Justices in Lamagno—Justice Gins-
burg, joined by Justices Stevens, Kennedy, and Breyer—
rejected an objection that “[t}reating the Attorney General’s
certification as conclusive for purposes of removal but not for
purposes of substitution” raised a potential Article III prob-
lem because, if the certification were overturned, the federal
court might “be left with a case without a federal question to
support the court’s subject-matter jurisdiction.” 515 U.S. at
434-435. The plurality found that argument unpersuasive,
concluding that the scope-of-employment issue under the
Westfall Act “is a significant federal question” and that re-
moval by the Attorney General on his certification therefore
“raises [a] questio(n] of substantive federal law at the very
outset” of the litigation. /d. at 435 (quoting Verlinden B.V. v.

43

Central Bank of Nigeria, 461 U.S. 480, 493 (1983)). The plu-
rality reasoned that “‘[cjonsiderations of judicial economy,
convenience and fairness to litigants’ * * * make it reason-
able and proper for the federal forum to proceed beyond the
federal question to final judgment once it has invested time
and resources on the initial scope-of-employment contest.”
Id. at 436 (quoting United Mine Workers v. Gibbs, 383 U.S.
715, 726 (1966)). Footnote 10 of the majority opinion, which
Justice O’Connor joined, also recognized that the
“conclusiv[e] .. . for purposes of removal!” language of Section
2679(d)(2) reflected Congress’s decision “to foreclose needless
shuttling of a case from one court to another.” /d. at 433 n.10.
In her separate concurring opinion, however, Justice
O’Connor specifically declined to decide the Article III ques-
tion because it was “not presented in this case.” /d. at 437.

In Justice Souter’s dissenting opinion—in which Chief
Justice Rehnquist and Justices Scalia and Thomas joined—he
agreed that “there is nothing equivocal about the Act’s provi-
sion that once a state tort action has been removed to a fed-
eral court after a certification by the Attorney General, it may
never be remanded to the state system.” Lamagno, 515 U.S.
at 440 (citing 28 U.S.C. 2679(d)(2)). The dissent expressed the
view, however, that, for this reason, judicial review of the
Attorney General’s scope-of-cemployment certification would
raise a serious question whether the retention of jurisdiction
if the district court rejected the United States’ substitution
would “cross the line” of the courts’ Article III jurisdiction.
Id. at 441.

That Congress intended the text to be given the plain
meaning attributed it by the Court is further supported by
the notable contrast between Section 2679(d)(2) and Section
2679(d)(3), which governs judicial review of the Attorney Gen-
eral’s refusal to certify scope of office or employment. If the
employee petitions for review of the Attorney General’s re-
fusal to certify in a case that is pending in state court, the
Attorney General may remove the case to federal district

44

court, which must then resolve the scope-of-employment dis-
pute. 28 U.S.C. 2673(d)(3). In contrast to removal after the
Attorney General has certified that the employee was acting
within the scope of his employment—in which case, that cer-
tification is “eonclusive[] * * * for purposes of removal,” 28
U.S.C. 2679(d)(2)—Section 2679(d)(3) provides that when the
Attorney General removes a case to defend against an em-
ployee’s petition for judicial certification over the Attorney
General’s objection, and the district court rejects the em-
ployee’s petition, “the action or proceeding shall be remanded
to the State court.” 28 U.S.C. 2679(d)(3) (emphasis added).

This pointed contrast confirms that Congress did not envi-
sion remand in cases removed pursuant to the Attorney Gen-
eral’s certification, but intended, consistent with the plain
language of 28 U.S.C. 2679(d)(2), that such cases remain in
federal court. See Russello v. United States, 464 U.S. 16, 23
(2984) (“[W Jhere Congress includes particular language in one
section of a statute but omits it in another section of the same
Act, it is generally presumed that Congress acts intentionally
and purposely in the disparate inclusion or exclusion.”); Field
v. Mans, 516 U.S. 59, 67 (1995) (quoting Russello, 464 U.S. at
23); United States v. Naftalin, 441 U.S. 768, 773-774 (1979)).
Indeed, if, as the district court believed, the Attorney Gen-
eral’s certification is conclusive neither of the scope-of-em-
ployment issue itself (as the Court held in Lamagno), nor of
the court’s removal jurisdiction, the term “conclusive” would
be deprived of all meaning. The certification has to be “con-
clusive” as to something, and the text makes clear it is conclu-
sive “for purposes of removal.”

Petitioner in fact concedes that, in other Westfall Act
cases, the term “conclusively” has the import described above,
and thus “foreclose[s] needless shuttling of a case from one
court to another.” Pet. Br. 38 (quoting Lamagno, 515 U.S.
at 433 n.10). Petitioner contends, however, that the Attorney
General's certification in this case was not entitled to be
treated as “conclusive” for purposes of removal jurisdiction

45

because, in petitioner’s view, it was not the type of “certifica-
tion” authorized by Section 2679(d)(2) and was therefore a
legal nullity. See ibid. (“an incident-denying certification
cannot establish anything for purposes of removal, much less
establish it conclusively”). We have already explained that
the Attorney General need not accept the truth of the plain-
tiffs allegations in rendering his scope-of-employment deter-
mination and has a right to have any disputes relating to
‘ scope of employment resolved in a federal forum. See, pp. 28-
41, supra. It follows, for the same reasons, that the Attorney
General’s certification was not a nullity and should have been
treated as conclusive for purposes of the district court’s re-
moval jurisdiction.

B. Giving Conclusive Effect To The Attorney General’s
Certification Is Not Contrary To Article ITI

Because the meaning of the statutory language is clear,
the only basis for not giving conclusive effect to the Attorney
General’s certification for purposes of removal would be a
determination that the statute violates Article III’s “arising
under” requirement. As explained below, Congress did not
violate Article 111 by directing the district court to retain
jurisdiction of a case removed from state court on the Attor-
ney General’s certification of statutory immunity after the
court has resolved that threshhold federal question.

1. Although the “well-pleaded complaint” rule generally
holds that a “defense that raises a federal question is inade-
quate to confer federal jurisdiction,” Merrell Dow Pharms.
Inc. v. Thompson, 478 U.S. 804, 808 (1986), that rule is not
compelled by Article II]. The “Article III ‘arising under’
jurisdiction is broader than federal question jurisdiction un-
der § 1331.” Verlinden, 461 U.S. at 495. It is a “broad concep-
tion” under which “Congress may confer on the federal courts
jurisdiction over any case or controversy that might call for
the application of federal law.” /d. at 492 (discussing Osborn
v. Bank of the United States, 22 U.S. (9 Wheat.) 738 (1824)).

46

In Mesa, the Court observed that Congress is free to spec-
ify that “the raising of a federal question” in a federal officer’s
removal petition under Section 1442(a) “constitutes the fed-
eral law under which the action * * * arises for Art. III pur-
poses.” 489 U.S. at 136. Moreover, the Court stressed that
Article III is satisfied if the defendant “allege[s} a colorable
defense under federal law.” /d. at 129 (emphasis added).”
The ultimate “validity of the defense” is not essential to “the
question of jurisdiction.” /bid. (quoting Cooper, 73 U.S. (6
Wall.) at 254). See Jefferson County, 527 U.S. at 431 (“We *

** do not require the officer virtually to ‘win his case before -

he can have it removed.’”) (quoting Willingham, 395 U.S. at
407). -

In Verlinden, the Court similarly rejected an Article III
challenge to the Foreign Sovereign Immunities Act of 1976
(FSIA), 28 U.S.C. 1330, which confers federal jurisdiction
over any suit against a foreign state, ibid., even though the
substantive claim is usually one that arises under state law,
see 28 U.S.C. 1606. The Court found it unnecessary to “de-
cide the precise boundaries of Art. III jurisdiction * * * ,
since the present case does not involve a mere speculative
possibility that a federal question may arise at some point in
the proceeding,” but, rather, “necessarily raises questions of
substantive federal law”-—the immunity of a foreign state
from suit—“at the very outset, and hence clearly ‘arises un-
der’ federal law, as that term is used in Art. III.” Verlinden,
461 U.S. at 493.

2. Under the Westfall Act, the Attorney General’s certifi-
cation that the employee acted within the scope of his employ-
ment and is therefore entitled to immunity satisfies any re-
quirement that the case present a “colorable” claim of immu-

" The Court did not decide whether Article ITI would permit Congress to
vest federal courts with a protective removal jurisdiction over all claims against
a federal officer, or whether Article [11 requires at least the assertion of a
colorable defense where the suit does not otherwise fall within diversity or
federal-question jurisdiction. See Mesa, 489 U.S. at 136-138.

47

nity. Under the statutory scheme, once the Attorney General
makes that certification, substitution of the United States and
removal to federal court are automatic. See 28 U.S.C.
2679(d)(2). In Lamagno, this Court held that the Attorney
General’s determination regarding the scope of employment
is “subject to judicial review.” 515 U.S. at 434. That is not
the same, however, as stating that the Attorney General’s
certification is meaningless. To the contrary, it stands as “a
Government official’s determination of a fact or circumstance”
that is subject to the presumption of “judicial review of execu-
tive action.” /d. at 424. It can hardly be doubted that “judi-
cial review of executive action” presents a federal question
sufficient to sustain Article III jurisdiction.

Moreover, the Westfall Act is far more than a “pure juris-
dictional” statute, such as Section 1442, that purports simply
to accord jurisdiction over a defined class of claims or per-
sons. See Mesa, 489 U.S. at 136. Rather, the Westfall Act,
like the FSIA, is a “comprehensive scheme” comprising both
pure jurisdictional provisions (removal) and further provi-
sions of federal law (immunity and other procedural and sub-
stantive limitations on liability) capable of supporting Article
III “arising under” jurisdiction. See Verlinden, 461 U.S. at
496-497. See also Republic of Austria v. Altmann, 541 U.S.
677 (2004).

Specifically, like the FSIA, the Westfall Act does not
merely govern access to federal court, but governs as well the
type of cases that may be removed (tort cases certified by the
Attorney General under Section 2679(d)(2) or denied certifica-
tion but challenged by the employee under Section
2679(d)(3)), the standard for assessing the propriety of the
substitution of the United States for the employee (scope of
employment), and the consequences of such substitution of
the United States (immunity from suit for the employee and
applicability of all the defenses available to the United States
under the FTCA). Thus, just as the FSIA “comprehensively
regulat|es] the amenability” of foreign sovereigns “to suit in

48

the United States,” the Westfall Act “comprehensively
regulat([es] the amenability” of federal employees to suit in
both federal and state courts, Verlinden, 461 U.S. at 493, and
the amenability of the United States to suit in substitution for
its employees. As Verlinden holds, the presence of such a
comprehensive regulatory scheme is alone sufficient for Arti-
cle III purposes.

The parallel to Verlinden is especially close in that under
both the Westfall Act and FSIA “the rule of decision may be
provided by state law.” 461 U.S. at 491. Nonetheless, just as
there was a strong federal interest in Verlinden in the ques-
tion of what types of suits may be brought against foreign
sovereigns, id. at 493 there is a similar undeniable federal
interest in allowing federal courts to adjudicate tort actions
involving federal employees who have been certified by the
Attorney General as having acted within the scope of their
employment. See Lamagno, 515 U.S. at 426.

Even in a case in which the employee is ultimately held to
have acted outside the scope of his employment, the district
court’s substantive review of the Attorney General’s scope
certification and resolution of the availability of federal immu-
nity is sufficient to confer jurisdiction over the whole of the
case, including the state claims that remain against the em-
ployee individually. As the Court has held in the Section 1442
context, as long as the claim of immunity is colorable, “the
validity of the defense” “has no connection whatever to the
question of jurisdiction.” Mesa, 489 U.S. at 129 (quoting Coo-
per, 73 U.S. (6 Wall.) at 254). Rather, “if there be a single
[federal] ingredient in the mass, it is sufficient. That element
is decisive upon the subject of jurisdiction.” Ibid. (quoting
Cooper, 73 U.S. (6 Wall.) at 252). That conclusion is consistent
with the long-settled rule, discussed above, that once the stat-

49

utory jurisdiction of an Article III case attaches at the outset
of a case, subsequent events do not destroy it.”

In Gibbs, the Court held that, as long as the federal ques-
tion that supports the district court’s jurisdiction and any
related state claims “derive from a common nucleus of opera-
tive fact,” then “there is power in federal courts to hear the
whole,” 383 U.S. at 725. The power to adjudicate the state
claims continues, even after the federal claim has been dis-
missed. See Rosado v. Wyman, 397 U.S. 397, 403-405 (1970).
And the Court has recognized that “the argument for exercise
of pendent jurisdiction is particularly strong” when “the state
claim is * * * closely tied to questions of federal policy,” in-
cluding when there is an issue of federal preemption, though
not one that supports statutory federal question jurisdiction.
Gibbs, 383 U.S. at 727. Plainly, if the courts have discretion
to exercise such pendent jurisdiction, Congress has the power
to direct them to do so. The text of the Westfall Act demon-
strates that Congress believes that “‘[c)onsiderations of judi-
cial economy, convenience and fairness to litigants’ * * *
make it reasonable and proper for the federal forum to pro-
ceed beyond the federal question to final judgment once it has
invested time and resources on the initial scope-of-employ-
ment contest.” Lamagno, 515 U.S.. at 436 (plurality opinion
of Ginsburg, J.) (quoting Gibbs, 383 U.S. at 726). By making
the Attorney General’s scope certification “conclusivie| * * *
for purposes of removal,” 28 U.S.C. 2679(d)(2), Congress “de-

We note that, if the Court were to adopt the district court’s approach to the
question discussed in Point I1, supra, remand to the state court would be
particularly inappropriate. If a scope-of-employment certification is over-
turned for the sole reason that it is unsupported by the particular facts alleged
up to that point by the plaintiff in support of her claims, it is entirely possible
that discovery would reveal evidence that purportedly tortious acts were within
the scope of the defendant’s employment. Thus, under the district court’s
approach, the federal question of Haley’s statutory immunity would be present
throughout the litigation, and the factual! question would subsist.

50

cided to foreclose needless shuttling of a case from one court
to another.” Lamagno, 515 U.S. at 433 n.10.

CONCLUSION
The judgment below should be affirmed.

Respectfully submitted.

PAUL D. CLEMENT
Solicitor General

PETER D. KEISLER
Assistant Attorney General

EDWIN S. KNEEDLER
Deputy Solicitor General
DOUGLAS HALLWARD-DRIEMEIER

Assistant to the Solicitor
General

BARBARA L. HERWIG
MARK W. PENNAK
Attorneys

SEPTEMBER 2006

STATUTORY APPENDIX

Title 28 of the United States Code provides in part:

§ 1346. United States as defendant

se ee

(b)(1) Subject to the provisions of chapter 171 of this title,
the district courts, together with the United States District
Court for the District of the Canal Zone and the District
Court of the Virgin Islands, shall have exclusive jurisdiction
of civil actions on claims against the United States, for money
damages, accruing on and after January 1, 1945, for injury or
loss of property, or personal injury or death caused by the
negligent or wrongful act or emission of any employee of the
Government while acting within the scope of his office or
employment, under circumstances where the United States,
if a private person, would be liable to the claimant in
accordance with the law of the place where the act or omission
occurred.

“eee &
$1442. Federal officers or agencies sued or prosecuted

(a) A eivil action or criminal prosecution commenced in a
State court against any of the following may be removed by
them to the district court of the United States for the district
and division embracing the place wherein it is pending:

(1) The United States or any agency thereof or any
officer (or any person acting under that officer) of the
United States or of any agency thereof, sued in an official
or individual capacity for any act under color of such office
or on account of any right, title or authority claimed under

(la)

2a.

any Act of Congress for the apprehension or punishment
of criminals or the collection of the revenue.

*e ee *

§ 1447. Procedure after removal generally

J ee

(ce) A motion to remand the case on the basis of any defect
other than lack of subject matter jurisdiction must be made
within 30 days after the filing of the notice of removal under
section 1446(a). If at any time before final judgment it appears
that the district court lacks subject matter jurisdiction, the
case shall be remanded. An order remanding the case may
require payment of just costs and any actual expenses, in-
cluding attorney fees, incurred as a result of the removal. A
certified copy of the order of remand shall be mailed by the
clerk to the clerk of the State court. The State court may
thereupon proceed with such case.

(d) An order remanding a case to the State court from
which it was removed is not reviewable on appeal or otherwise,
except that an order remanding a case to the State court from
which it was removed pursuant to section 1443 of this title
shall be reviewable by appeal or otherwise.

*es e&

§ 2679. Exclusiveness of remedy

se he &

(b)\(1) The remedy against the United States provided by
sections 1346(b) and 2672 of this title for injury or loss of
property, or personal injury or death arising or resulting from
the negligent or wrongful act or omission of any employee of
the Government while acting within the scope of his office or
employment is exclusive of any other civil action or proceeding
for money damages by reason of the same subject matter
against the employee whose act or omission gave rise to the

3a

claim or against the estate of such employee. Any other civil
action or proceeding for money damages arising out of or
relating to the same subject matter against the employee or
the employee’s estate is precluded without regard to when the
act or omission occurred.

(2) Paragraph (1) does not extend o

[Text truncated at 120,000 characters. The full text is on the page linked above.]

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0230%3A09. Public record. Not legal advice.
