# Amicus Curiae Brief — Hamdan v. Rumsfeld

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0208%3A28

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2006
- **Citation:** 548 U.S. 557

## Text

a

/

| JAN & 2006
IN THE _oMce oP Tar CLERK
Supreme Court of the United States
ope

SALIM AHMED HAMDAN,
Petitioner,

DONALD H. RUMSFELD, SECRETARY OF DEFENSE,

Respondent.

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES
COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA

BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE OF THE
AMERICAN CIVIL LIBERTIES UNION
IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONER

STEVEN R. SHAPIRO
Counsel of Record

BEN WIZNER

LEE GELERNT

OMAR C. JADWAT

AMERICAN CIVIL LIBERTIES
UNION FOUNDATION

125 Broad Street

New York, New York 10004

(212) 549-2500

Attorneys for Amicus

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
I Ce PINE stestcustesincsnsonicininnnnstncnuiniitiaseaniodsees ]
STA TERETE OF THE CARE ccccccccccccscvscecescscocesessesccocsecees |
DUREIGARY GF ARGUMENT cccccscscsescscssccsscsessoscosscsscseses 3
ITS sctciensenscinienceninsiitecillninintinsicbinpestineineninmiete 4

I. There Is No Basis For Assuming That
Congress Intended To Authorize Military
Commission Rules That Fail To Meet Even
The Minimum Standards Of Impartiality and
EI nsiscrinesctnsniicabensencsiiapsnaceaisidetbinbactneneiteiapedliiidinie 4

A. The Military Commission Process
Violates The Core Principle Of Impartial
FR cpncicsstetintonnsemnnmdedituninaeiinti 6

B. The Commission Process Violates The
Core Principle Of Adequate
I I eintnteicicinctnitivenncinciiimmiaias 13

C. The Commission Process Permits The
Use Of Evidence Obtained Through
Coercive Interrogation ..............secsccsssecesesees 17

Il. The Distinction Between Citizens And
Non-Citizens In The Military Commission
Rules ls Unsupported By History Or
NY HEIN sovcincsitacidenviicntasenssissiinecsente 21

A iiininethiiinatnivinaicianiiapiiniaibeitnctiiaiinginisinniatleiiiiiioitiia 26

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases ; Page
A and others v. Secretary of State for the

Home Department (No 2), {2005} W.L.R. 193
available at http://www.publications.parliament

Juk/pa/1d200506/ldjudgmt/jd05 1208/aand.pdf................. 19
Ashcraft v. Tennessee, 322 U.S. 143 (1944) ooo. 18
Blackburn v. Alabama, 361 U.S. 199 (1960) ...........c00000 18
Brown v. Mississippi, 297 U.S. 278 (1936) o.cccccccccsseeseeseees 17
Chan Gun v. United States, 9 App. D.C. 290, 1896 WL

Se is SEE: SITE siacisatnentiashbbirentiaieinatibociecionianduiientonnss 23
Ex parte Oe Te 6 UID sincvsiienicccssnencitivnensnnanetoneniti 22

Fey v. Austria, 24 February 1993,
BR RS ee mereeeer 1]

Filartiga v. Pena-lrala,
Ss PUI cencctscecncnceicninnssnsiniacheninniaeta 19

Gherebi v. Bush, 374 F.3d 727
ee 6

Gonzalez del Rio v. Peru, (263/1987), 28 October 1992,
Report of the Human Rights Committee, vol. II,

UE SUN cociccstsininstsinadidlabandtninbieditenniemnnieniicnnmeasinteh 11
Griffin v. Illinois, 351 U.S. 12 (1956) occ cceetteeteeteeees 23
Hamdi v. Rumsfeld, 542 U.S. 507 (2004) ..........0... 3, 5, 9, 25

In re Murchison, 349 U.S.133 (1955) .o.cccccccccscceeeeeeeeeeeees 6,9

Karttunen vy. Finland, (387/1989), 23 October 1992,
Report of the Human Rights Committee,

I Si, Ses IU aeticicetenccintnestineneceennmenenntinenen 11
Marshall v. Jerico, Inc., 446 U.S. 238 (1980) 0... 9
Rodriguez-Silva v. INS, 242 F.3d 243 (Sth Cir. 2001) ........ 23
Spano v. New York, 360 U.S. 315 (1959) oo.cccceeeeeeeeees 18
Takahashi v. Fish and Game Comm'n,

es GUID seeniesticiibiecneneiasibiesosiataneeisislnantshindetiinni 24
Tumey v. Ohio, 273 U.S. 510 (1927) .....cececceeseseeteeeee 15, 16
Weiss v. United States, 510 U.S. 163 (1994) oo... 6, 13
Wong Wing v. United States,

ee SPITE cecktcsicieenrcdivieuininiaticieiittdnniiteediainis 22, 23, 24
Zadvydas v. Davis, 533 U.S. 678 (2001)... cece 23,24

Statutes and Regulations

Sh ST er ee EN 13
ISIS OE aE LTE ROS 13
nA eceltieicoil 17
NINE nitt-cacicinokeavninihicnessda chplianecesibonts 16

10 U.S.C. § 866 vorcccooee osha 16

| ECT es 16, 17
PE BE, BOD vs cecsivissisnisiigce 24
1B UBL. BDO snssccscorsssittilitiiamsummisiiaieiaaenn 12
DUBE. 6 DG cccccccvinnseiiviieaticsinpansitiae 14
GE UGL. 0 TOON casicvinviiicinibsicclesinoninsaminamaenn 24
6 Ped Diniy, SUID acscsinsseiselcicitsesosoceitchiciannaesaee nen 2

International Materials

African [Banjul] Charter on Human and Peoples’ Rights,
June 27, 1981, OAU Doc. CAB/LEG/67/3 rev. 5, 21
RB, Sip COI cxcncicsicientvcsinispesnisimaiieaniionpennstislidaananaaaaa 1]

American Convention on Human Rights,
Sah. 0G, OS 7G, BOOS CDE T Ee. Co Bicccccssicsncscntecsssonsessens 10, 19

American Declaration of the Rights and
Duties of Man. O.A.S. Res. XXX,
reprinted in Basis Documents Pertaining
to Human Rights in the Inter-American System,
OEA/Ser.L.V/II.82doc.6rev.] at 17(1992) 1948.00.00... 10

Basic Principles on the Independence of
the Judiciary, Adopted by the Seventh
United Nations Congress on the Prevention
of Crime and the Treatment of Offenders
Aug. 26, 1985 to Sept. 6, 1985, U.N. Doc.
A/CONF.121/22/Rev.1 at 59 (1985) .......ccccccccceeseeseseeeeeeees 9
iv

Convention Against Torture and Other Cruel,
Inhuman or Degrading Treatment or Punishment,
G.A. res. 39/46, U.N. GAOR, 42™ Sess.,
June 26, 1987, [annex, 39 U.N. GAOR Supp.
(No. 51) at 197, U.N. Doc. A/39/51 (1984)}] ............. 18, 19

Convention on the Protection of Human Rights
and Fundamental Freedoms,
sy EL POU Gs Bs SEE ccnccncecessccccecosscrecceeses 10, 19

Declaration on the Protection of All Persons
from Being Subjected to Torture and Other
Cruel, Inhuman or Degrading Treatment or
Punishment, G.A. Res. 3452 (XXX)
U.N. GAOR, 30" Sess., Dec. 9, 1975,
inn ID ociscsesiecnegungnnasnnsnonnsescevanesessaceee 19

Geneva Convention Relative to the Protection
of Civilian Persons in Time of War (Geneva IV),
eae 12, 16

Geneva Convention Relative to the Treatment
of Prisoners »f War (Geneva III), Oct. 21, 1950,
a 11, 12, 16, 20

International Covenant on Civil and Political
Rights, G.A. Res. 2200 A (XX1), U.N. GAOR,
21" Sess., Supp. (No. 16) at 52,
I cccsoenceonunnnnancocen 9.10

Protocol Additional to the Geneva Conventions
of Aug. 2, 1949 and Relative to the Protection
of Victims of International Armed Conflicts,
EE, 2 ssusspensesabonoonces 12

U.N. Human Rights Committee, General Comment
No. 13: Equality before the courts on the right
to a fair trial and public hearing by an independent
court established by law (13 April, 1984) ............ccccee 11

Universal Declaration of Human Rights,
G.A. Res. 217 A (III), U.N. GAOR,
PP is cicestiditthcituniciaesanestnstnatéciiitebiaal 9, 18

Other Authorities

Vanessa Blum, Defense Lawyer Challenges
Impartiality of Guantanamo Commission
Members, Legal Times, Aug. 26, 2004 00000.......cccccccceeeeeees 8

Jess Bravin, Jackie Calmes, & Carla Ann Robbins,
Status of Guantanamo Bay Detainees is
Focus of Bush Security Team's Meeting,
Wall Street Journal, January 28, 2002 «0.00.00... 15, 16

Guy Dinmore and Cathy Newman,
Iraq Controversies Mar Ovations for Blair,
Pimamcind Temes, July 08, 2003 ........0..eccesesssecsssessecesssereses 15

Louis Fisher, Congressional Research Service, Military
Tribunals: Historical Patterns and Lessons ..................+. 22

Stephen J. Fortunato, Jr., A Court of Cronies,
In these Times (Jume 28, 2004) ............:ccccccccccccccscserceeeees 14

David Glazier, Kangaroo Court or Competent Tribunal?
Judging the 21" Century Military Commission,
rs Chic Ss AIRNUED tcertenpntnesinnsieaveiciideinnantintsiicandndaccinapidaaibasiida 22

John Hendren, Military Trial Opens with a Challenge,
Sk, WERNER, AGM TED, Bie Orcccncccrssccescsncssccnssesestetnccqsasnats 7,8

Neal K. Katyal and Laurence H. Tribe,
“Waging War, Deciding Guilt: Trying the Military

Tribunals,” 111 Yale L.J. 1259 (2002) .........:.ccceeee 21, 22
Neil A. Lewis, 2 Prosecutors Faulted Trials for Detainees,

New York Tismes, Aap. 1, 20085 .........0.0.:ecc-ssccccrcsscessscesesers 8
Toni Locy, U.S. Tribunal Could Lose Members,

Se NG, NI BT, SII centccrtticcsntsitncctitnnaistennimesenonnall 8
Military Commission Instruction No. 9 ..................ccccceseeeee 15
Military Commission Order No. 1 ..............cc0cccceeeeees passim
Military Commission Order No. 2 .............::cccesseseeeeeeeeeseeenees 7

Remarks by Secretary Rumsfeld to Greater
Miami Chamber of Commerce (Feb. 13, 2004),
available at www.defenselink.mil .....................ccec0eceeeeees 16

Wolfowitz Interview with Jim Lehrer,

News Hour available at http://www.dod.gov/transcripts/
2002/103222002_ 10321 Wol. ft «00... eeeecseeeeeeeeeeeeeees 7

vil

INTEREST OF AMICUS'

The American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU) its a
nationwide, nonprofit, nonpartisan organization with more
than 500,000 members dedicated to the principles of liberty
and equality embodied in the Constitution. The ACLU was
founded in 1920, largely in response to the curtailment of
liberties that accompanied America’s entry into World War
1, including the prosecution of political dissidents and the
denial of basic due process rights for non-citizens. In the
intervening eight decades, the ACLU has frequently
appeared before this Court during other periods of national
crisis when concerns about security have been used by the
government as a justification to abridge individual rights.
This case raises those issues once again. The military
commission rules developed by the executive branch call
into question both our nation’s commitment to fair process,
even for those accused of war crimes, and to the system of
checks and balances that was designed to safeguard against
the abuses of concentrated power. The ACLU therefore has
a significant interest in the proper resolution of this case.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

On November 13, 2001, President Bush issued an
order establishing a system of military commissions with
jurisdiction to try designated non-citizens for certain alleged
terrorist offenses. “Detention, Treatment, and Trial of

' Pursuant to Rule 37.3, letters of consent to the filing of this brief have
been lodged with the Clerk of the Court. Pursuant to Rule 37.6, counsel
for amicus curiae state that no counsel for a party authored this brief in
whole or in part and no person other than amicus curiae, its members or
its counsel made a monetary contribution to this brief

Certain Non-Citizens in the War Against Terrorism,” 66
Fed.Reg. 57,833. Although that initial order has been
supplemented by a series of additional orders and
instructions promulgated by the Depaitment of Defense over
the past four years, key elements of the commissions have
remained unchanged. Commission members are not
insulated from command influence. The same senior
officials who must approve any charges against a detainee
also hear any appeal from a conviction. There is no
provision in the rules for ultimate review by an Article III
court, and there is no bar to the introduction of coerced
testimony in commission proceedings.

Nearly two years after his initial capture in
Afghanistan, Hamdan was designated for trial before a
military commission after the President declared “that there
is reason to believe that [Hamdan] was a member of al
Qaeda or was otherwise involved in terrorism directed
against the United States.” Hamdan v. Rumsfeld, 344 F.
Supp. 2d 152, 155 (D.D.C. 2004) (internal citation omitted).
In essence, the government contends that Hamdan served as
Osama bin Laden’s driver and bodyguard, and that he
participated in a conspiracy to commit terrorism.

Hamdan filed a petition for habeas corpus, which was
granted by the district court on two principal grounds. /d.
First, the district court ruled that Hamdan must to be tried in
accordance with the Uniform Code of Military Justice
(UCMJ) unless and until a “competent tribunal” determines
that he is not entitled to prisoner of war status, as required by
the Geneva Conventions. /d at 165. Second, the district
court held that the military commission rules developed by
the President and the Defense Department were inconsistent
with the UCMJ because they did not adequately protect
Hamdan’s right to confront the evidence and witnesses
against him. /d. at 172.

2

The court of appeals disagreed. Hamdan v.
Rumsfeld, 415 F.3d 33 (D.C. Cir. 2005). It rejected
Hamdan’s claim that the President had exceeded his
authority by establishing military commissions that Congress
had never authorized. Jd. at 38. Contrary to the district
court, it concluded that the Geneva Conventions were not
judicially enforceable, id. at 40, and that any challenge to the
adequacy of the commission procedures under the Geneva
Conventions could not be brought in any event until the
proceedings were concluded. /d. at 42. Finally, the court of
appeals held that the confrontation rights in ine UCM]J cited
by the district court applied only to courts martial and not to
military commissions. /d. at 42-43.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

For reasons set forth at length in other briefs, the
President does- not have unilateral authority to establish
military commissions in the absence of congressional
authorization, and the Authorization for Use of Military
Force in Afghanistan cannot be read as a “blank check”
enabling the President to do whatever he chooses as long as
he describes it as a part of the war against terrorism. Hamdi
v. Rumsfeld, 542 U.S. 507, 536 (2004). Given the structura!
deficiencies highlighted in this brief, it is implausible tc
assume that Congress ever in fact authorized the military
commission system that Hamdan is challenging.

The military commission rules, as they now exist, do
not guarantee an independent trial court, do not provide for
impartial appellate review, and do not prohibit the use of
coerced testimony despite extensive evidence that coercive
interrogation techniques have been used at Guantanamo Bay
and elsewhere. In short, they do not provide a fair trial

3

before a fair tribunal under any recognized set of legal
standards, whether those standards are derived from the
Constitution, our international treaty commitments,
customary international law, or the Uniform Code of
Military Justice. At a minimum, this Court should require a
clear statement from Congress before it is deemed to have
departed so dramatically from established legal norms.
Here, there is none.

The fundamental unfairness of these military
commissions is further compounded by their discriminatory
reach. Congress has authorized military commissions in the
past, but it has never previously drawn a distinction between
citizens and non-citizens. That its not surprising. By their
very nature, military commissions impose punishment, and
both this Court and Congress have repeatedly insisted that
punishment be imposed under a uniform set of rules that
applies to citizens and non-citizens alike. There is no reason
in this case to test the limits of that constitutional rule. But
there is ample to reason to be skeptical of any claim that
Congress authorized the President to abandon that tradition
of evenhanded treatment without discussion and sub silentio.

ARGUMENT

I. THERE IS NO BASIS FOR ASSUMING
THAT CONGRESS INTENDED TO AUTHORIZE
MILITARY COMMISSION RULES THAT FAIL TO
MEET EVEN THE MINIMUM STANDARDS OF
IMPARTIALITY AND FAIRNESS

The military commission system devised by the
President and Secretary of Defense to prosecute detainees
whose guilt they have already publicly declared is so

4

fundamentally flawed that the “risk of erroneous deprivation
of a detainees’s liberty” - or even his life — “is unacceptably
high.” Hamdi, 542 U.S. at 532-33 (2004). The commission
system fails to afford defendants the most rudimentary and
irreducible requirements of a fair trial, including an impartial
arbiter of fact and law, an adequate and neutral review
process, and protection against the use of coerced and
unreliable evidence.? Moreover, the commission’s flawed
rules are subject to change, ad hoc and on the fly, by the very
officials who devised and administer them, such that
defendants have no guarantee that the rules will not be
altered during trial to suit the government’s political
objectives.

Far from a handful of procedural shortcomings that
could perhaps be corrected through post-conviction review,
the flaws inherent in the commission system are structural in
nature and demand an immediate remedy because they
preclude altogether an impartial and reliable evaluation of
guilt or innocence. Though the government has elsewhere
argued otherwise, it is beyond reasonable dispute that the
government cannot operate military tribunals without
affording some fundamental rights to terrorism suspects;
otherwise, nothing would prevent the government from

° The military commission system contains numerous additional serious
deficiencies that, at a minimum, are less likely to be remedied because of
the structural flaws discussed above. For example, the rules permit the
use of secret evidence to which defendants and their civilian lawyers will
have no access, even if that evidence is not classified (Military
Commission Order (“MCO") No. § § 6(D)(5)); there is no remedy for the
systemic violation of defendants’ speedy trial rights, defendants do not
have the power to require the commission to subpoena witnesses or
documents, even if such evidence is crucial to the defendant's case, and
proceedings may be held in secret and may exclude the defendant and his
civilian counsel, notwithstanding counsel's security clearance, and with
no requirement of findings on the record setting forth the reasons for
court closure (MCO No. | § 6(B)(3)).

5

simply executing the detainees without any trial at all. Cf
Gherebi v. Bush, 374 F.3d 727, 738 (9"" Cir. 2004) (noting
government's argument that no legal authority would prevent
it from “engaging in acts of torture” or “summarily
executing” Guantanamo detainees).

By any recognized legal standard, these commissions
are manifestly deficient. Were Congress expressly to
authorize such biased and arbitrary proceedings, this Court
would be squarely faced with substantial questions as to the
scope and applicability of protections guaranteed by the
Constitution, our treaty obligations, customary international
law, and the Uniform Code of Military Justice. In the
absence of such express authorization, this Court should not
construe a general force authorization enacted days after the
terrorist attacks, or any other general statutory provision, as
providing authority for military commissions that are so
fundamentally inconsistent with existing law and past
practice.

A. The Military Commission Process Violates
The Core’ Principle Of Impartial
Adjudication

This Court has held that “a fair trial in a fair tribunal
is a basic requirement of due process,” and that “a necessary
component of a fair trial is an impartial judge.” Weiss v.
United States, 510 U.S. 163, 178 (1994) (internal citation
omitted). Fairness requires not only “an absence of actual
bias in the trial of cases,” but also rules and safeguards “to
prevent even the probability of unfairness.” I/n re
Murchison, 349 U.S.133, 136 (1955). The military
commissions at issue do not merely lack important
protections against partiality: by their very structure and
composition, they promote the appearance of bias.

Under the commission system, an “Appointing
Authority” controls the make-up of the commission panel,
the procedure of the commission itself, and, through its
influence and predisposition on issu-s, also potentially
controls the verdict of the commission. The Appointing
Authority, who is himself appointed by the Secretary of
Defense, selects the commission members, including the
presiding officer, and may remove them for “good cause.”
MCO No. 1 § 4(A)(1) and (3). At the same time, the
Appointing Authority is responsible for approving and
referring criminal charges to the commission on behalt of the
executive branch. /d. at 6(A)(2). Thus, the very same entity
that chooses the judge and jury possesses, as the charging
prosecutor, a vested interest in the result.”

Meanwhile, there is no requirement that commission
members, with the exception of the presiding officer, have
any legal experience. Indeed, a member of the commission
in Petitioner Hamdan’s case, since removed, conceded under
questioning by defense counsel that he was unfamiliar with
the Geneva Conventions. See John Hendren, Military Trial
Opens with a Challenge, L.A. Times, Aug. 25, 2004.
Although recent amendments have shifted some legal
responsibilities away from commission members and
towards the presiding officer, commission members retain
the authority to rule on questions of evidence. MCO No. |
§§ 4(A)(6) and 6(D)(1). Other legal decisions, including any
dispositive questions, will be decided by the Appointing
Authority himself on an interlocutory basis. /d at
4(A)(5)(e).

* The original Appointing Authority was Deputy Secretary of Defense
Pauli Wolfowitz, see MCO No. 2, who had previously declared that “the
only people that would be subjected to these commissions are . . . guilty
of serious terrorist crimes against the United States.” Wolfowitz
Interview with Jim Lehrer, News Hour, available at
http://www .dod.gov/transcripts/2002/103222002 10321 wol.html.

7

The absence of independence and impartiality is
evident not only in the structure of the military commissions
but in their actual composition: the presiding officer is an
intimate and longtime friend of the Appointing Authority
and has stated that he does not believe Guantanamo
detainees possess any “speedy trial” rights;* some
commission members were involved in the capture and
interrogation of enemy forces in Afghanistan;? and one
member, since removed from the commission, has admitted
calling the Guantanamo detainees “terrorists.”° These are
not the individuals whom the executive branch would
appoint to a tribunal were fairness — or even the appearance
of fairness — its paramount concern. Rather, the composition
of the tribunal is consistent with the accusation by former
members of the prosecuting team that the commission’s
members were handpicked to ensure conviction.’

The structural and actual bias of the commission
system is fundamentally at odds with constitutional due
process requirements, and is inconsistent with international
human rights law and with the UCMJ. As this Court has
- recently held, due process requires, at a minimum, that
defendants be afforded “a fair opportunity to rebut the

* John Hendren, Military Trial Opens with a Challenge, L.A. Times,
Aug. 25, 2004.

> See Vanessa Blum, Defense Lawyer Challenges Impartiality of
Guantanamo Commission Members, Legal Times, Aug. 26, 2004.

* See Toni Locy, U.S Tribunal Could Lose Members, USA Today, Sept.
14, 2004, at SA.

” One former member of the military prosecution team has charged that
the commission members who will sit as both judge and jury over the
tribunals were “handpicked and will not acquit [the] detainees,” and has
characterized the entire process as “rigged.” Neil A. Lewis, 2
Prosecutors Faulted Trials for Detainees, New York Times, Aug. |,
2005. A second former commission prosecutor has described the
commission system as a “severe threat to the reputation of the military
justice system and even a fraud on the American people.” /d

8

Government’s factual assertions before a_ neutral
decisionmaker.” Hamdi, 542 US. at 533. The
impermissible fusing of prosecutorial and judicial functions
is particularly problematic. As this Court as explained, “[iJt
would be very strange if our system of law permitted a judge
to act as a grand jury and then try the very persons accused
as a result of his investigations.” Jn re Murchison, 349 U.S.
at 137. Having been involved in the “accusatory process,” a
judge “cannot be, in the very nature of things, wholly
disinterested in the conviction or acquittal of those accused.”
Id. This Court has “jealously guarded” the right to trial by a
judge who has no stake in the outcome, because the principle
of impartiality “ensuries] that no person will be deprived of
his interests in the absence of a proceeding in which he may
present his case with assurance that the arbiter is not
predisposed to find against him.” Marshall v. Jerico, Inc.,
446 U.S. 238, 242 (1980).

Similarly, international human rights law codified in
numerous instruments, has long mandated that every person
facing criminal punishment has the right to trial by a
competent, independent, and impartial tribunal established
by law.® The Universal Declaration of Human Rights
provides unambiguously that “[e]veryone is entitled in full
equality to a fair and public hearing by an independent and
impartial tribunal, in the determination of his rights and
obligations and of any criminal charge against him.” G.A.
Res. 217 A (III), U.N. GAOR, 3" Sess., Art. 10, 1948.
(Universal Declaration of Human Rights). The International
Covenant on Civil and Political Rights likewise mandates
that, “[ijn the determination of any criminal charge against

* See generally Basic Principles on the Independence of the Judiciary,
Adopted by the Seventh United Nations Congress on the Prevention of
Crime and the Treatment of Offenders Aug. 26, 1985 to Sept. 6, 1985,
U.N. Doc. A/CONF.121/22/Rev.1 at 59 (1985).

9

him, or of his rights and obligations in a suit at law, everyone
shall be entitled to a fair and public hearing by a competent,
independent and impartial tribunal established by law.” G.A.
Res. 2200 A (XXI), U.N. GAOR, 21* Sess., Art. 14, Supp.
(No. 16) at 52, U.N. Doc. A/6316 (1966). That principle,
and indeed that language, is echoed in numerous treaties and
conventions, including the Third and Fourth Geneva
Conventions,’ the American Convention on Human Rights, '°
the American Declaration of the Rights and Duties of Man,"
the European Convention,’* and the African Charter.”

” See fns 18-20, infra, and accempanying text.

'° “Every person has the right to a hearing, with due guarantees and
within a reasonable time, by a competent, independent, and impartial
tribunal, previously established by law, in the substantiation of any
accusation of a criminal nature made against him or for the determination
of his rights and obligations of a civil, labor, fiscal, or any other nature.”
American Convention on Human Rights, Jul. 18, 1978, 1144 U.N.T.S.
123, Art. 8(1) (American Convention). The Convention was signed by
the United States on June |, 1977, but never ratified.

'' “Every person accused of an offense has the right to be given an
impartial and public hearing, and to be tried by courts previously
established in accordance with pre-existing laws, and not to receive cruel,
infamous or unusual punishment.” American Declaration of the Rights
and Duties of Man, O.A.S. Res. XXX, reprinted in Basis Documents
Pertaining to Human Rights in the Inter-American System,
OEA/Ser.L.V /I1.82doc.6rev.1 at 17(1992), 1948, Ant. XXVI. (Adopted
May 2, 1948, by the Ninth International Conference of American States,
Bogota, Columbia. As a member state of the Organization of American
States (OAS), the United States is bound by the Charter of the OAS
(Bogota, 1948) as amended by the Protocol of Buenos Aires, ratified by the
United States on April 23, 1968. In accordance with the OAS Charter, the
United States is bound to respect the provisions of the American
Declaration of the Rights and Duties of Man.)

'? “In the determination of his civil rights and obligations or of any
crimina! charge against him, everyone is entitled to a fair and public
hearing within a reasonable time by an independent and impartial
tribunal established by law.” Convention on the Protection of Human
Rights and Fundamental Freedoms, Art. 6(1), Nov. 4, 1950, 213
U.N.T.S. 222 (European Convention).

10

The right to be tried before an impartial tribunal is so
basic that the United Nations Human Rights Committee has
declared it “an absolute right that may suffer no exception” '*
and has underscored the particular importance of impartiality
when military or special courts try civilians.’ Impartiality
“implies that judges must not harbour preconceptions about
the matter put before them, and that they must. not act in
ways that promote the interests of one of the parties.” The
European Court has emphasized that judges must not have a
“preconceived view on the merits of a case.”

The Geneva Conventions have codified this core
principle with respect to both prisoners of war and civilians
in wartime. The Geneva Convention Relative to the
Treatment of Prisoners of War (Geneva III) requires that
“[iJn no circumstances whatever shall a prisoner of war be
tried by a court of any kind which does not offer the essential
guarantees of independence and impartiality as generally

'’ “Every individual shall have the right to have his cause heard. This
comprises ... the right to be tried within a reasonable time by an
impartial court or tribunal.” ). African [Banjul] Charter on Human and
Peoples’ Rights, June 27, 1981, Art. 7(1), OAU Doc. CAB/LEG/67/3 rev.
5, 21 1.L.M. 58 (1982).

'* Gonzalez del Rio v. Peru, (263/1987), 28 October 1992, Report of the
Human Rights Committee, vol. II, (A/48/40), 1993, at 20.

' “The Committee notes the existence, in many countries, of military or
special courts which try civilians .... While the Covenant does not
prohibit such categories of courts, nevertheless the conditions which it
. lays down clearly indicate that the trying of civilians by such courts
should be very exceptional and take place under conditions which
genuinely afford the full guarantees stipulated in article 14.” U.N. Human
Rights Committee, General Comment No. 13: Equality before the courts
on the right to a fair trial and public hearing by an independent court
established by law (13 April, 1984)

"© Karttunen v_ Finland, (387/1989), 23 October 1992, Report of the
Human Rights Committee, vol. Il, (A/48/40), 1993, at 120, para. 7.2

' Fey v Austria, 24 February 1992, 255 Eur. Court. H.R. Ser. A 13,
para. 34

recognized.” Geneva Ill, Art. 84, Oct. 21, 1950, 75 U.N.T.S.
135. Willfully depriving a prisoner of war of the rights of a
fair and regular trial as prescribed in the Convention, or
ordering the same, is a grave breach of the Convention, and
is a crime under United States law.'*

The Geneva Convention Relative to the Protection of
Civilian Persons in Time of War (Geneva IV) mandates
equivalent fair trial protections for any nationals of a state
bound by the Convention who, in the case of a conflict or
occupation, find themselves in the hands of an adverse party.
Geneva IV, Art. 4, Oct. 21, 1950, 75 U.N.T.S. 287. Like
Geneva Ill, moreover Geneva IV proscribes as a grave
breach the willful deprivation of the rights of a protected
person to a fair and regular trial.'” Additional Protocol I to
the Geneva Conventions,” which supplements the rules for
protected persons under Geneva IV, mandates that sentences
may not be passed, nor penalties executed, except pursuant
to a conviction pronounced by an impartial and regularly
constituted court.” Finally, Common Article Three of the
Conventions, which is applicable irrespective of the status of
the conflict with Al Qaeda, requires that any trial occur
before a “regularly constituted court affording all the judicial
guarantees which are recognized as indispensable by
civilized peoples.” Geneva I-IV, Art. 3(1)(d).

* 18 USC. § 2441
'? Geneva IV, Art 147. See also An. $, which allows suspension for
some nights mandated by Geneva IV, but reiterates that persons shall not
be deprived of the right to fair and regular trial.
Protocol Additional to the Geneva Conventions of Aug. 2, 1949 and
Relative to the Protection of Victims of International Armed Conflicts,
Art. 147 Dec. 7, 1978, 1125 U.N.T.S. 3 (Additional Protocol 1). The
U.S. signed but did not ratify Protocol |.
*' Additional Protocol I, Art. 75(4)

1?

oe

This commitment to fairness and impartiality is also
reflected in the UCMJ, which contains numérous safeguards
to prevent against bias in the courts-martial system,
including an independent judiciary outside the chain of
command, 10 U.S.C. § 826(a); selection criteria for courts-
martial members that tum on age, education, training,
experience, length of service, and judicial temperament, 10
U.S.C. § 825(d)(2); and supervision of the system by Judge
Advocates General, “who have no interest in the outcome of
a particular court-martial.” Weiss v. United States, 510 U.S.
163, 180 (1994). All of these protections are notably absent
from the military commission rules.

In response to widespread criticism and embarrassing
media accounts, the government has recently announced
some modifications to the system, but those modifications do
not address the inherent flaws in the military commission
system. The ad hoc changes were made more than a year
into the process, without notice to or any input from defense
counsel, and were made by the very officials in charge of the
prosecutions. There is no guarantee — procedural or
substantive — that these same officials will not make further
changes at any stage of the commission proceedings. As a
result, the commission process remains wholly at the whim
of those who have a decidedly vested interest in securing
CONVICtIONS.

B. The Commission Process Violates The
Core Principle Of Adequate Appellate
Review

There is little chance that the deficiencies that mar
the military commission process will be meaningfully
addressed on appeal. That is because initial review of the
commission's decision is entrusted to the same Appointing
Authority who referred the charges, selected the

13

commission’s members, and previously ruled on dispositive
matters and defense motions. MCO No. | § 6(H)(3). It is
hard to conceive of a situation in which an Appointing
Authority, whose prestige has been so intertwined with a
prosecution, would reverse the very convictions that he had
sought. And the appeal process is no less skewed at its
higher levels.

The Secretary of Defense has appointed a review
panel comprised of four members. The panel cannot
plausibly be deemed an impartial arbiter. Two members of
the review panel served on the Department of Defense panel
that crafted the very trial procedures that are likely to form
an important basis for appeal. See Stephen J. Fortunato, Jr.,
A Court of Cronies, In these Times (June 28, 2004). Another
pane! member wrote, in a published op-ed piece, that “[iJt is
clear that the September |! terrorists and detainees, whether
apprehended in the United States or abroad, are protected
neither under our criminal-justice system nor under the
international Law of War.” Jd. The fourth member is a
close friend of Secretary Rumsfeld, has a vacation home near
the Secretary of Defense’s, and once bought property from
him. /d. Under any legal standard, each of the members of
the review member should properly be subject to recusal.””

The review panel is fundamentally flawed in its
procedures as well as its composition. It is not required to
read any defense submission or to hear oral argument. MCO
No. | § 6(H)(4). Because the panel must issue its written

= See e g. 28 USC. § 455(a) (“Any justice, judge, or magistrate of the
United States shall disqualify himself in any proceeding in which his
impartiality might reasonably be question”), id at (b) (same, where judge
“has a personal bias or prejudice concerning a party, or personal
knowledge of disputed evidentiary facts concerning the proceeding”).

14

ruling within 75 days of receipt of the case,” defense
counsel will have little time to prepare its appellate papers
for possible inclusion in the panel’s deliberations. /d. As
with the commission below, the review pancl’s members
may be removed for “good cause,” and replaced by the
Secretary of Defense — who, along with the President, is the
final reviewer of the commission’s decision. Military
Commission Instruction No. 9 § 4(B)2; MCO No. | §
6(H)(5) and (6). The rules do not provide for direct appeal
of the executive’s determination to any civilian court,
including this Court.

That such a system of review falls well below
minimal constitutional requirements is beyond dispute. As
this Court has stated, a “situation in which an official
perforce occupies two practically and seriously inconsistent
positions, one partisan and the other judicial, necessarily
involves a lack of due process of law in the trial of
defendants charged with crimes before him.” Tumey v.
Ohio, 273 U.S. 510, 534 (1927). It is the “general rule” that
“officials acting in a judicial or quasi-judicial capacity are
disqualified by their interest in the controversy to be
decided.” Jd at 522. The President and the Secretary of
Defense, who created these commissions and whose political
reputations are bound up in them, and who by design serve
as the appellate forum of last resort, have made no effort to
hide their views of the tribunal defendants. The President
has stated, for example: “I know for certain these are bad
people.” Guy Dinmore and Cathy Newman, /rag
Controversies Mar Ovations for Blair. Financial Times, July
18, 2003. And Secretary Rumsfeld has characterized
Guantanamo detainees as “among the most dangerous, best-
trained, vicious killers on the face of the Earth.” Jess Bravin,

* Prior to the August 31, 2005 amendments, the review was to have been
completed within 30 days.

15

Jackie Calmes, & Carla Ann Robbins, Status of Guantanamo
Bay Detainees is Focus of Bush Security Team's Meeting,
Wall Street Journal, January 28, 2002, at Al6.”*

This utterly deficient appellate review process
directly contravenes universal human rights principles as
well. For example, the Third Geneva Convention requires
that “[e]very prisoner of war shall have, in the same manner
as the members of the armed forces of the Detaining Power,
the right of appeal or petition from any sentence pronounced
upon him, with a view to the quashing or revising of the
sentence or the reopening of the trial.” Geneva III, Art. 106.
Similarly, the Fourth Geneva Convention, which governs the
treatment of civilians, provides that “[a] convicted person
shall have the right to appeal provided for by the laws
applied by the court. He shall be fully informed of his right
to appeal or petition and of the time limit within which he
may do so.” Geneva IV, Art.73.

In crafting appellate rules for courts-martial,
Congress enacted a series of requirements that in no way
resemble the political rubber-stamp afforded by the
commission system. Under the UCMJ, review of a guilty
finding in a court-martial is conducted by a judge advocate
who has not “acted in the same case as an accuser,
investigating officer, member of the court, military judge, or
counsel... .” 10 U.S.C. § 864. An appeal of a conviction
then proceeds to a Court of Criminal Appeals comprised of a
three-judge panel conforming to uniform rules of procedure,
10 U.S.C. § 866, and, subsequently, to the Court of Appeals
for the Armed Forces, 10 U.S.C. § 867. The Court of

** See also remarks by Secretary Rumsfeld to Greater Miami Chamber
of Commerce (Feb. 13, 2004), available at www.defenselink mil (“[T}he
people in U.S. custody are .. . enemy combatants and terrorists who are
being detained for acts of war against our country.”).

16

Criminal Appeals is composed of civilian judges who serve
fixed terms of 15 years and are not subject to removal by the
prosecuting entity. Finally, direct review its available in this
Court. 10 U.S.C. § 867a.

By appointing themselves final arbiters of the
commission’s verdicts, the President and Secretary of
Defense have insulated themselves from the political
embarrassment that a reversed conviction might cause. By
creating a system utterly devoid of checks and balances, they
have deprived defendants of fundamental legal protection
against executive errors and misdeeds.

C. The Commission Process Permits The Use
Of Evidence Obtained Through Coercive
Interrogation

This Court has long held that confessions obtained
through torture or other “methods . . . revolting to the sense
of justice” may not be used in judicial proceedings. Brown
v. Mississippi, 297 U.S. 278, 286 (1936). Likewise,
Congress has prohibited the extraction of incriminating
statements through compulsion in court-martial proceedings,
and provided that “[njo statement obtained from any person .

. through the use of coercion, unlawful influence, -or
unlawful inducement may be received in evidence against
him in a trial by court-martial.” 10 U.S.C. § 831(d). Under
the commission system however, evidence “shall be
admitted if, in the opinion of the Presiding Officer [or a
majority of the commission] . . . the evidence would have
probative value to a reasonable person.” MCO No. | §
6(D\(1). This rule is an invitation to torture. In effect, the
commissions have been set up to allow the same people who
extract information from detainees through torture to use this
evidence to adjudicate the guilt or innocence of the
defendant.

17

The fundamental prohibition against the use of
evidence secured through torture serves dual functions,
protecting both the reliability and the integrity of judicial
proceedings. As this Court has explained, “[t]he abhorrence
of society to the use of involuntary confessions does not turn
alone on their inherent untrustworthiness. It also turns on the
deep-rooted feeling that the police must obey the law while
enforcing the law; that in the end life and liberty can be as
much endangered from illegal methods used to convict those
thought to be criminals as from the actual criminals
themselves.” Spano v. New York, 360 U.S. 315, 320-321
(1959). Thus, this Court has committed itself to “enforc[ing}
the strongly felt attitude of our society that important human
values are sacrificed where an agency of the government, in
the course of securing a conviction, wrings a confession out
of an accused against his will.” Blackburn v. Alabama, 361
U.S. 199, 206-07 (1960). Our Constitution’s commitment to
human rights is to be contrasted with the attitudes of
“governments which convict individuals with testimony
obtained by police organizations possessed of an
unrestrained power to seize persons suspected of crimes
against the state, hold them in secret custody, and wring
from them confessions by physical or mental torture”; as this
Court has pledged, “[s]o long as the Constitution remains the
basic law of our Republic, America will not have that kind of
government.” Ashcraft v. Tennessee, 322 U.S. 143, 155
(1944).

The prohibition against torture under international
law is universal and obligatory, and proscribes in all
instances the use at trial of evidence secured through
torture.’ In a recent unanimous ruling, the British law lords

* See eg. Universal Declaration of Human Rights, Article 5 (“No one
shall be subjected to torture or to cruel, inhuman or degrading treatment
or punishment’); The Convention Against Torture and Other Cruel,

18

resoundingly reaffirmed that principle, holding that evidence
obtained through torture was inadmissible, regardless of its
source. As Lord Carswell explained: “The objections to the
admission of evidence obtained by the use of torture are
twofold, based, first, on its inherent unreliability and,
secondly, on the morality of giving any countenance to the
practice .... [T]Jorture is torture, whoever does it, judicial
proceedings are judicial proceedings, whatever their purpose
— the former can never be admissible in the latter. ” A and
others v. Secretary of State for the Home Department (No 2),
[2005] W.L.R. 193, para. 147, 150 H.L.(D) (internal citation
omitted).° This principle is reflected in Common Article

Inhuman or Degrading Treatment or Punishment, G.A. res. 39/46, U.N.
GAOR, 42nd Sess., June 26, 1987, [annex, 39 U.N. GAOR Supp. (No.
51) at 197, U.N. Doc. A/39/51 (1984)], Art. 2(1) and (2) ("Each State
Party shall take effective legislative, administrative, judicial or other
measures to prevent acts of torture in any territory under its jurisdiction,”
and "No exceptional circumstances whatsoever, whether a state of war or
a threat or war, internal political instability or any other public
emergency, may be invoked as a justification of torture."); Declaration on
the Protection of All Persons from Being Subjected to Torture and Other
Cruel, Inhuman or Degrading Treatment or Punishment, G.A. Res. 3452
(XXX) U.N. GAOR, 30" Sess., Dec. 9, 1975, U.N. Doc. GA/3452 (1975)
(“Any statement which is established to have been made as a result of
torture or other cruel, inhuman or degrading treatment or punishment
may not be invoked as evidence against the person concemed or against
any other person in any proceedings.”),; American Convention, Art. 5(2)
(“No one shall be subjected to torture or to cruel, inhuman, or degrading
punishment or treatment. All persons deprived of their liberty shall be
treated with respect for the inherent dignity of the human person.”),
European Convention, Art. 3 (“No one shall be subjected to torture or to
inhuman or degrading treatment or punishment. “);see also Filartiga v
Pena-lrala, 630 F.2d 876, 884 (2d Cir. 1980) (“Having examined the
sources from which customary international law is derived — the usage of
nations, judicial opinions and the work of jurists — we conclude that
official torture is now prohibited by the law of nations. The prohibition
is clear and unambiguous, and admits of no distinction between the
treatment of aliens and citizens.”’).

**4vailable at http://www publications parliament.uk/pa

19

Three of the Geneva Conventions, which unequivocally
prohibits torture, see Geneva I-]V, art. 3(1)(a), and in the
Third Geneva Convention, which specifies that “[n]o moral
or physical coercion may be exerted on a prisoner of war in
order to induce him to admit himself guilty of the act of
which he is accused.” Geneva III, art. 99.

Unfortunately, concern about the use of toriure to
secure evidence is far from speculative. Pursuant to
litigation under the Freedom of Information Act, the ACLU
has obtained concrete evidence that detainees at Guantanamo
Bay have been abused during interrogations and during the
regular course of their detention. Detainees have been
subjected to beatings, sometimes resulting in loss of
consciousness; stress positions; extreme temperatures for
extended periods of time; sexual humiliation; sexual assault;
religious humiliation and manipulation of religious symbols;
loud music and strobe lights; sleep deprivation; denial of
food and access to bathrooms; and other techniques
described by government officials as “highly aggressive.”
One document recounts the observations of an FBI agent
posted to Guantanamo:

On a couple of occasions, | entered
interview rooms to tind a detainee chained
hand and foot in a fetal position to the floor.
with no chair, food, or water. Most times
they had urinated or defecated on
themselves and had been left there for 18. 24
hours or more. On one occasion. the air
conditioning had been turned down so far
and the temperature was so cold in the room.

1d200506/Idjudgmujd05 1208/aand.pdf
*’ Voluminous documentation of the above is available at
http://www aclu.org/torturefoia.

20

that the barefooted detainee was shaking
with cold .... On another occasion, the
A/C had been turned off, making the
temperature in the unventilated room
probably well over 100 degrees. The
detainee was almost unconscious on the
floor with a pile of hair next to him. He had
apparently been literally pulling his own hair
out throughout the night. . . bs

The possibility that evidence secured through the
methods described above might form the basis for a
conviction — or even a sentence of death — infects the
legitimacy of the entire commission process. Indeed, the
absence of an express prohibition against the use of such
tainted evidence creates an irresistible incentive for the
prosecutors of the detainees to become their torturers.

II. THE DISTINCTION BETWEEN
CITIZENS AND NON-CITIZENS IN THE MILITARY
COMMISSION RULES IS UNSUPPORTED BY
HISTORY OR CONGRESSIONAL ACTION

The petitioner in this case is facing trial before a
military commission that only has jurisdiction over “non-
citizens.” A United States citizen charged with identical acts
could only be prosecuted in federal court. There is no reason
to believe that Congress authorized this differential
treatment, and powerful reasons to believe that it did not.

First, it is apparently unprecedented. See Neal K.
Katyal and Laurence H. Tribe, “Waging War, Deciding
Guilt: Trying the Military Tribunals,” 111 Yale LJ. 1259,

*§ See http://www.aclu.org/torturefoia/released/FBI.121504.5053.pdf.
21

1298 (2002). By most accounts, the United States began
using military commissions in 1847 during the Mexican-
American War. David Glazier, Kangaroo Court or
Competent Tribunal? Judging the 2]" Century Military
Commission, 89 Va. L. Rev. 2005, 2027 (“It is generally
agreed that the real origin of the military commission dates
from the Mexican War of 1846-1848”). Unlike the Order in
this case, however, the Order used in the Mexican-American
War subjected both citizens and non-citizens to military
tribunals. Louis Fisher, Congressional Research Service,
Military Tribunals: Historical Patterns and Lessons 12
(quoting memoir stating that “all offenders, Americans and
Mexicans, were alike punished” under Order); Glazier,
supra, at 2030 (noting that “a majority of the persons tried
by military commissions in Mexico were American
citizens”). That tradition of evenhanded treatment has been
maintained ever since, including during the Second World
War, the last time military commission trials were used by
the United States. See Ex parte Quirin, 317 U.S. 1, 37
(1942) (finding that both citizens and non-citizens were
Subject to World War II military commissions).

Second, this Court has held for more than a century
that the government cannot impose a separate regime of
punishment on non-citizens. In Wong Wing v. United States,
163 U.S. 228 (1896), the government sentenced four Chinese
citizens to sixty days at hard labor for violating the
immigration laws and ordered them deported at the
conclusion of their sentence. /d. at 234; see also id. at 239
(Field, J., concurring and dissenting). The Court left the
deportation order undisturbed, but invalidated the 60-day
sentence because it had been imposed without the
constitutional protections afforded to citizens charged with a
criminal offense. /d. at 237-38. The Court acknowledged
that the federal government has wide latitude to regulate
immigration, and may, in that capacity, differentiate between

22

citizens and non-citizens. Jd. at 237. But the Court left no
doubt that where the government “sees fit to . . . subject[] the
persons of such aliens to infamous punishment,” id., the
ability to discriminate came to an end, and “aliens shall not
be held to answer for a capital or other infamous crime”
without the protections afforded citizens under. the Fifth
Amendment. Jd. at 238.”

Since Wong Wing, this Court has_ repeatedly
reaffirmed that the federal government’s authority to
distinguish between citizens and non-citizens under the
immigration laws does not confer any authority on the
government to discriminate against non-citizens when
imposing punishment. See, e.g., Zadvydas v. Davis, 533
U.S. 678, 694 (2001) (citing Wong Wing for the rule that, in
the context of “punitive measures . . . all persons within the
territory of the United States are entitled to the protection of
the Constitution”) (internal quotation and citation omitted).
See also Chan Gun v. United States, 9 App. D.C. 290, 1896
WL 14831 at *5 (D.C. Cir. 1896) (citing Wong Wing for the
proposition that “[w]hen . . . the enactment goes beyond
arrest and necessary detention for the purpose of deportation
and undertakes also to punish the alien for his violation of
the law, the judicial power will intervene and see that due
provision shal! have been made, to that extent, for a regular
judicial trial as in all cases of crime”); Rodriguez-Silva v.
INS, 242 F.3d 243, 247-48 (Sth Cir. 2001) (noting that
although the federal government has wide latitude to set
“criteria for the naturalization of aliens or for their admission
to or exclusion or removal from the United States,” it is
settled that “an alien may not be punished criminally without

*? Cf. Griffin v. Illinois, 351 U.S. 12, 17 (1956) (stressing that “the
central aim of our entire judicial system . . . is [that] all people charged
with crime must, so far as the law is concerned, stand on an equality
before the bar of justice in every American court”) (internal quotations
omitted).

23

the same process of law that would be due a citizen of the
United States,” citing Wong Wing).

Third, the Wong Wing principle is also reflected in a
series of important congressional statutes. For example, 42
U.S.C. § 1981 provides:

All persons within the jurisdiction of
the United States shall have the same right in
every State and Territory to .. . give evidence,
and to the full and equal benefit of all laws
and proceedings for the security of persons
and property as is enjoyed by white citizens,
and shall be subject to like punishment, pains,
penalties, taxes, licenses, and exactions of
every kind, and to no other.

Although 42 U.S.C. § 1981 does not expressly mention
alienage, it has long been understood to protect non-citizens
against unequal treatment. Takahashi v. Fish and Game
Comm'n, 334 U.S. 410, 419 (1948) (reiterating that the
protections of 42 U.S.C. § 1981 “extend to aliens as well as
to citizens”) (citing additional cases).

The same point is explicitly made in 18 U.S.C. § 242,
which provides:

Whoever, under color of any law,
Statute, ordinance, regulation, or custom,
willfully subjects any person in any State,
Territory, Commonwealth, Possession, or
District to the deprivation of any rights,
privileges, or immunities secured or protected
by the Constitution or laws of the United
States, or to different punishments, pains, or
penalties, on account of such person being an

24

alien, or by reason of his color, or race, than
are prescribed for the punishment of citizens,
shall be fined under this title or imprisoned...

The point here is not that either statute necessarily
applies to this case, but merely that both statutes are part of
the backdrop against which any congressional action or
inaction regarding military commissions must be understood.
Put another way, it is reasonable to expect that Congress
would have been explicit if it meant to authorize a system of
differential punishment for non-citizens that is inconsistent
with historic practice, general constitutional principles, and
longstanding legal rules that mandate equality in the
administration of justice, when it considered its response to
the terrorist attacks of September 11, 2001.

Finally, it is worth noting that the government,
moreover, vigorously fought against the notion that Congress
had authorized different treatment for citizens and non-
citizens when it was defending its designation of two
American citizens, Yaser Hamdi and Jose Padilla, as “enemy
comvatants.” This Court agreed in Hamdi, holding that the
Authorization for Use of Military Force in Afghanistan
allowed the government to detain anyone captured on the
battlefield in Afghanistan as an “enemy combatant,”
regardless of citizenship. Hamdi, 542 U.S. at 518-19. It is
therefore disingenuous for the government now to read the
AUMF as endorsing a distinction between citizens and non-
citizens that it previously and strenuously disavowed.

CONCLUSION

For the reasons stated herein, the judgment below
should be reversed.

Respectfully Submitted,

Steven R. Shapiro
Counsel of Record
Ben Wizner
Lee Gelernt
Omar C. Jadwat
American Civi! Liberties
Union Foundation
125 Broad Street, 18" Floor
New York, NY 10004
(212) 549-2500

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0208%3A28. Public record. Not legal advice.
