# Amicus Curiae Brief — Sanchez-Llamas v. Oregon

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0119%3A08

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2006
- **Citation:** 548 U.S. 331

## Text

JAN 3 1 2006

OFFICE OF THE CLERK

Nos. 04-10566 & 05-51

In the
Supreme Court of the United States

MOISES SANCHEZ-LLAMAS,
Petitioner,

v.
STATE OF OREGON,
Respondent.

MARIO A. BUSTILLO,
- Petitioner,

v.
GENE M. JOHNSON, DIRECTOR OF THE
VIRGINIA DEPARTMENT OF CORRECTIONS,

Respondent.

On Writ of Certiorari
to the Supreme Courts of Oregon and Virginia

BRIEF OF ALABAMA, ARIZONA, ARKANSAS, CALIFORNIA,
COLORADO, DELAWARE, FLORIDA, GEORGIA, IDAHO, INDIANA,
IOWA, MASSACHUSETTS, MICHIGAN, MISSOURI, MONTANA,
NEVADA, NEW HAMPSHIRE, NEW MEXICO, NORTH DAKOTA, OHIO,
OKLAHOMA, PENNSYLVANIA, SOUTH DAKOTA, TENNESSEE, TEXAS,
UTAH, WASHINGTON, AND WYOMING
AS AMICI CURIAE IN SUPPORT OF RESPONDENTS

GREG ABBOTT R. TED CRUZ
Attorney General of Texas Solicitor General
Counsel of Record

BARRY R. MCBEE
First Assistant Attorney KRISTOFER S. MONSON
General Assistant Solicitor General
DON CLEMMER P.O. Box 12548
Deputy Attorney General for Austin, Texas 78711-2548
Criminal Justice (512) 936-1700

COUNSEL FOR AMICI CURIAE

{Additional counsel listed on inside cover]

TROY KING
Attorney General of Alabama

TERRY GODDARD
Attorney General of Arizona

MIKE BEEBE
Attorney General of Arkansas

BILL LOCK YER
Attorney General of California

JOHN W. SUTHERS
Attorney General of Colorado

CARL C. DANBERG
Attorney General of Delaware

CHARLES J. CRIST, JR.
Attorney General of Florida

THURBERT E. BAKER
Attorney General of Georgia

LAWRENCE G. WASDEN
Attorney General of Idaho

STEVE CARTER
Attorney General of Indiana

TOM MILLER
Attorney General of lowa

TOM REILLY
Attorney General of Massachusetts

MICHAEL A. COX
Attorney General of Michigan

JEREMIAH W. (JAY) NIXON
Attorney General of Missouri

MIKE McGRATH
Attorney General of Montana

GEORGE J. CHANOS
Attorney General of Nevada

KELLY A. AYOTTE
Attorney General of New Hampshire

PATRICIA A. MADRID
Attorney General of New Mexico

WAYNE STENEHJEM
Attorney General of North Dakota

~ JIM PETRO

Attorney General of Ohio

W.A. DREW EDMONSON
Attorney General of Oklahoma

THOMAS W. CORBETT, JR.
Attorney General of Pennsylvania

LAWRENCE E. LONG
Attorney General of South Dakota

PAUL G. SUMMERS
Attorney General of Tennessee

MARK L. SHURTLEFF
Attorney General of Utah

ROB MCKENNA
Attorney General of Washington

PATRICK J. CRANK |
Attorney General of Wyoming

i
QUESTIONS PRESENTED

(1) Does the Vienna Convention convey individual rights of
consular notification and access to a foreign detainee
enforceable in the Courts of the United States?

(2) Whether, contrary to the International Court of Justice’s
interpretation of the Vienna Convention on Consular Relations,
April 24 1963, 21 U.S.T. 77, 100-101, state courts may refuse
to consider violations of Article 36 of that treaty because of a
procedural bar or because the treaty does not create individual
rights?

il

TABLE OF CONTENTS

ee a bee beeeee beens

RSE Re a on Oe

I.

Rights

A.

Pane enetee C2eeeeeeee eee eoaseoeeeeaoengdveseee2eeeeo ed eee 6

The Text of the Vienna Convention Does Not
Create Individual Rights ..................

l. The text of the Convention does not
require that violations of consular
notification be remedied in criminal
EEE ove devendbesdeeweeneses

2. Article 36 does not overcome the
presumption that treaties do not
create individual rights..............

The State Department Has Consistently
Construed the Convention Not to Create
ED nck s cdbddscoccneneeses

The History of the Convention Does Not
Demonstrate an Intent to Create Individual
PP URMUEED Doc cccccesscceccsececs

D.

Fulfilling Treaty Obligations Under Article 36
is the Task of the Political Branches ........ 17

Il. The Court Should Not Adopt the ICJ’s Interpretation of
Article 36, Which is Contrary to the Actual Practice of
Parties to the Vienna Convention ................ 18

A.

The ICJ’s Interpretation of Article 36 is
Contrary to Actual International Practice... .. 19

The ICJ’s decisions do not provide a “rule of
PE cncdcbeccunn saa backkapaenaens 22

l. The only potential legal basis for
deferring to the ICJ’s decisions was
the Optional Protocol, from which
the United States has withdrawn ..... 22

2. The iCJ’s jurisdiction is limited to
disputes between consenting
nations, and its decisions are
enforceable only through the
I GE 6 oc ki ckncsscnncewns 23

The Court Should Not Defer to the ICJ Out of
SE bode dceCainsdade~dandeskenedess 26

III. The Vienna Convention Does Not Preclude the
Application of Virginia’s Statutory Procedural-Default
ED hu 6s od bxsddueKenedaseduacutess 27

A.

Procedural Default Is an Adequate and
Independent State Ground ................ 28

B.

Conclusion

iV

The Court Should Not Consider the Policy
Arguments Advanced by Petitioners and their
PE eee rye ry rer ey Tre TT

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases:

Alfred Dunhill of London, Inc. v. Republic of Cuba,

Se TEED 0 kb dodo becKbeseéuaeksnwndacues 6
Argentine Republic v. Amerada Hess Shipping Corp.,

EEO PFT PTET OTT TTT eTTT Te 8
Asakura v. City of Seattle, 265 U.S. 332 (1924) ........... 12
Bacardi Corp. v. Domenech,

EP eer rT ee ‘sapere 1]
Breard v. Greene, :

523 U.S. 371 (1998) (per curiam) ................. 4,28
Charlton v. Kelly, 229 U.S. 447 (1913) ...........00 eee 17
Cheung Sum Shee v. Nagle, 268 U.S. 336 ................ 12
Chew Heong v. United States, 112 U.S. 536 (1884) ........ 12

Chicago & Southern Airlines v. Waterman SS Corp.,
NE a ce 8 bn dbnscdeatunabeeeivess ces 17

Chirac v. Chirac’s Lessee,
ok eh Sy Re ee 12

See Rh A, Be Gas DOU CUSED ec cc cccccavecscessves 12

vi

Comm. of United States Citizens Living in
Nicaragua v. Reagan,

SOF Fae OEP Geter CUED s vec cvsvesesevacessouers 25
Commodity Futures Trading Comm'n v. Schor,

PS is cavintusanbuphtsbiccekdccnees 9
Cook v. United States, 288 U.S. 102 (1933) .............. 12
Craig v. Radford, 16 U.S. (3 Wheat.) 594 (1818) .......... 13
de Geofroy v. Riggs, 133 U.S. 258 (1890) .............4.5. 12
DE, FOe F As COTED cc dcbccersccsvcescosrces 25
El Al Israeli Airlines v. Tsui Yuan Tseng,

Ps CEs when oph bv EVecnNeeens ene 5, 13, 26
F. Hoffman-La Roche v. Empagram S.A.,

PR AED. Sh dncddevicesccdsdeveacsuane 26
Fairfax’s Devisee v. Hunter’s Lessee,

11 U.S..(7 Cranch) 603-(1812)..........0.0000 0. 12
Pay 0. Hale, Fie UB. FPt CIPO) oc ccccccccccsccccscens 29
Garza v. Lappin, 253 F.3d 918 (CA7 2001) .........-.00055 9
Goldstar v. United States, 967 F.2d 965 (CA4 1992) ........ 8
Hagen v. Utah, 510 U.S. 399 (1994) 2.0... cece eee eee 27

Hauenstein v. Lynham, 100 U.S. 483 (1879) ...........55. 13

Vii

Higgonson v. Mein, 8 U.S. (4 Cranch) 415 (1808) ......... 12
Hilton v. Guyot, 159 U.S. 113 (1895) .......ceeee eee e ees 26
Hopkirk v. Bell, 7 U.S. (3 Cranch) 103 (1801) ............ 12

Hughes v. Edwards,
22 U.S. (9 Wheat.) 489 (1824)... 0... cee ee ee ees 13

In re Investigation of World Arrangements with
Relation to the Production, Transportation,
Refining and Distribution of Petroleum,

13 F.R.D. 280 (D.D.C. 1952).........cccecccesccees 25
Int'l Ass'n of Machinists v. Street, ‘

ee SR PO a Gobnnndnacceresiasnasanssededi 9
Johnson v. Browne, 205 U.S. 309 (1907) ............005. 12
Jordan v. Tashiro, 278 U.S. 123 (1928) .............045. 12
Kolovrat v. Oregon, 366 U.S. 187 (1961) ............44.. 11
Marbury v. Madison, 5 U.S. (1 Cranch) 137 (1803) ........ 23
Medellin v. Dretke, 125 S.Ct. 2088 (per curiam) ........... 26
Murray v. the Schooner Charming Betsy,

Se Ge I oo bee bcdccectdnctcvecesds 9
Nielsen v. Johnson, 279 U.S. 47 (1929) ....... 2.00 cece 12

Olympic Airways v. Husain, 540 U.S. 644 (2004) ........... 5

™

Vili
Republic of Austria v. Altmann, 541 U.S. 677 (2004) ....... 27

Schooner Exchange v. McFaddon,

11 U.S. (7 Cranch) 116 (1812)................0 0008. 27
Smith v. Philips, 455 U.S. 209 (1982) ...... 0... cece ee eee 29
Soc 'y for Propagation of Gospel v. New-Haven,

21 U.S. (8 Wheat.) 464 (1823) ...... cc cece ec ee cece 13
Somportex Lid. v. Philadephia Chewing Gum Corp.,

ee ee 26
Sosa v. Alvarez-Machain, 124 S.Ct. 2739 (2004) .......... 27
Sumitomo Shoji Am., Inc. v. Avagliano,

SP PE as Pa wei d54 O6 00 e600 sees eeee ss 13
Tel-Oren v. Libyan Arab Republic,

Fee ee PPR POs co es ecccccccescvccsvcces 8
The Cherokee Tobacco,

78 U.S. (11 Wall.) 616 (1870) ............ 0. ee eee eee 23
The Head Money Cases, 112 U.S. 580 (1884) ........... 8, 11
The Moses Taylor, 7\ U.S. (4 Wall.) 411 (1866) .......... 26
United States v. Alvarado-Torres,

45 F.Supp.2d 986 (S.D. Cal. 1999) 20.0... cece eee eee 4

United States v. Alvarez-Machain,
a Re rr eererT Tere Trier 4,5, 12

iX

United States v. Davis,
Fe Ce PE ED. 6 68406 o hncécaesdascecoen 9

United States v. Gengler, 510 F.2d 62 (CA2 1975) ......... 10

United States v. Jimenez-Nava,
DP ED vi cckddieeskedek taadeaaues 8

United States v. Li, 206 F.3d 56 (CA1 2000).... 7,9, 13, 14, 16

United States v. Rauscher, 119 U.S. 407 (1886) ........... 12
United States v. Rosenthal,

Foe Fae MER EES OUD bc cd neksctoecewdcacdaes 10
United States v. Schooner Peggy,

Doe Co CRD UEP RUOED obi vic ns cincdevecscacecs 13
United States v. Stuart, 489 U.S. 353 (1989) .... 22.6... 68. 15
Wainwright v. Sykes, 433 U.S. 72 (1977) .......... 28, 29, 30
Ware v. Hylton, 3 U.S. (3 Dall.) 199 (1796) .............. 12
Whitney v. Robertson, 124 U.S. 190 (1888) ............... 17
Wildenuhus's Case, 120 U.S. 1 (1887) .............0005- 1]
Yist v. Nunnemaker, 501 U.S. 797 (1991) ............055- 29

Foreign and International Decisions:

Administration des Habous v. Deal,
19 I.L.R. 342 (Morocco, Ct. App. Rabat. 1952) ........ 24

X

BGH 5 StR 116/0 decided on 7 Nov. 2001,
available at http://www.bundesgerichtshofide ....... 18, 20

Canada v. VanBergen, 261 A.R. 387 (2000) .............. 19

Khadr v. Canada, 123 C.R.R. (2d),
FE FPS err ree ee Pee eT 20

LaGrand (F.R. G. v. U S.),
Bee Gis NED 6 ov boss cecendceeis obs 7, 18, 19

Mackay Radio & Tel. Co. v. Lal-la Fatma Bent si
Moahamed el Khadar et al., 21 1.L.R. 136

(Tangier, Ct. App. Int’l Trib. 1954) ...............06- 24
R. v. Abbrederis, [1981] 36 A.L.R. 109... 2.0... cc ee eee eee 19
R. v. Bassil and Mouffareg (1990) 28 July,

Acton Crown Court HHJ Sich

(reported in Legal Action 23, December 1990) ......... 20
R. v. Partak, [2-1] 160 C.C.C. (3d) 553... 2... ee eee eee 20

R. Van Axel and Wezer (1991) 31 May
Snaresbrook Crown Court, HHJ Sich
(reported in Legal Action 12, September 1991)......... 21

Re Yater, “Judicial Decisions,” 1976 Ital. Y.B. Int’1 Law, Vol. Il
(decided by Italy’s Court of Cassation Feb. 19, 1973) .... 19

Socobel v. the Greek State,
vy | & 13h & Grrr rs oes 24, 25

xi

Constitutional Provisions:

Treaties:

EE ee Te er eT Ee rs Te eee re ere

OPTIONAL PROTOCOL TO THE VIENNA CONVENTION
ON CONSULAR RELATIONS CONCERNING THE
COMPULSORY SETTLEMENT OF DISPUTES,

Apr. 24, 1963, 21 U.S.T. 77 (138a) .............

U.N. CHARTER

EE neces ccdtneKeusdands vases senciece

VIENNA CONVENTION,

I lk hg i ee bce

Other Authorities:

1 U.N. Conference on Consular Relations:
Official Records, 21; U.N. Doc.Al Conf.25/16

Shee, SE POU WA RUUD ou ce cbecscicccses

xii
Avena, Counter-Memorial of the United States ............ 19

http://travel.state.gov/news/news_2155.html
(last visited January 24, 2006) ............. 02. e ee eee 22

J. STORY, COMMENTARIES ON THE
CONFLICT OF LAWS §38 (1834) ............... PERS 26

Letter from Alfonso Garcia Robles, Foreign Minister of Mexico,
to Henry A. Kissinger, Secretary of State of the

United States of America (Mar. 25, 1976)............. 21
LEYES Y CODIGOS DE MEXICO,
et ai EE, ons ded upes dateendaesawen 21

Medellin v. Dretke, No. 04-5928,
Brief for the United States as Amicus Curiae
Supporting Respondent .............escecees 14, 26, 27

Paige M. Harrison & Allen. J. Beck,
Prison and Jail Inmates at Midyear 2004 (T able 6),
http://www.ojp.usdoj.gov/bjs/abstract/pjim04.htm
(last revised April 24, 2005) ................-0058- 1

RESTATEMENT (THIRD) OF THE FOREIGN RELATIONS LAW OF THE
UNITED STATES §111(4) (1987) .. 0.0.2... cee ee ee eee 7,8

S. Bee: Das. BG, Foed CHOP 0 ic ec vccvcnscuccene 15, 16

INTEREST OF AMICI CURIAE

The State amici curiae, through their Attorneys General,
respectfully submit this brief in support of Respondents. Under the
Supremacy Clause, the States are bound to observe the terms of
Article 36 of the Vienna Convention on Consular Relations, done
Apr. 24, 1963, 21 U.S.T. 77, 100-01, 596 U.N.T.S. 261, 292-94. All
50 States have foreign nationals (and alleged foreign nationals)
incarcerated in their state prison systems. According to a recent
government report, more than 57,000 foreign nationals were
incarcerated in State prisons as of mid-2004. Paige M. Harrison &
Allen. J. Beck, Prison and Jail Inmates at Midvear 2004 (Table 6),
http://www.ojp.usdoj.gov/bjs/abstract/pjim04.htm (last revised
April 24, 2005).

This case will determine whether the Vienna Convention creates
individual rights enforceable in American Courts and, if so, whether
those rights displace well-established crimina!-procedure doctrines
applied across the country. Because the resolution of the issues
presented in this case may profoundly affect every State criminal-
justice system, the States have a substantial interest in opposing
Petitioners’ attempt to create judicially-enforceable rights and
implied procedural requirements in the Vienna Convention.

SUMMARY OF THE ARGUMENT

The Vienna Convention does not create individual rights:
The Vienna Convention, by its own terms, defines the reciprocal
rights and obligations of nations in the exchange of consuls. It
expressly disavows the creation of individual rights. Although
some incidental language in Article 36 of the Convention might be
read, in isolation, as discussing individual rights, it is insufficient
to overcome the presumption that a treaty does not create individual
rights absent a clear and unambiguous statement to that effect. This
presumption prevents the courts from inadvertently expanding
treaties beyond the President’s and the Senate’s intent in entering
into and ratifying them. In this case, the Senate ratified the
Convention under the belief that it would not change the existing

2

laws of the United States. This confirms that the Convention
should not be read to change United States domestic law.

The Vienna Convention Does Not Impose Judicial
Requirements on the United States: The Petitioners and their
amici argue that the Vienna Convention enacted two procedural
requirements as federal law: abrogation of the procedural-default
doctrine and adoption of an exclusionary rule regarding consular-
notification failures. The text of the Convention does not establish
those requirements.

Like the state courts, the judiciaries of other nations have
universally refused to apply Article 36 of the Vienna Convention in
the way the Petitioners seek. The Court should not interpret the
holdings of the International Court of Justice or the amicus briefs
filed in this case by foreign sovereigns as an indication that the
treaty is so applied abroad. “Litigation” before the ICJ is part of a
political and diplomatic—not a _legal—dispute-resolution
mechanism that ultimately results in political negotiation at the
level of the U.N. Security Council. The foreign nations that accord
additional procedural rights based on consular notification do so
based on their own domestic statutes or common-law authority, not
based on the Vienna Convention as such.

The Court Should Maintain its Reluctance to Interfere in
the States’ Criminal-Procedure Systems Absent a Violation of
the U.S. Constitution: Petitioners ask the Court to change U.S. law
despite the Senate’s understanding that the Vienna Convention
would not change United States domestic law. Petitioners and
amici argue that changing the States’ criminal-procedure laws will
serve as a more effective way to implement the Convention and will
benefit the United States diplomatically. | These policy
justifications, even if true, are political, rather than legal. Such
policy balancing is best left to the political branches and to the
States, which retain authority to administer their own criminal-
justice systems.

3

State-law procedural default is an adequate and independent
state-law ground for refusing to reconsider criminal convictions,
and the Court has consistently declined to interfere with the
doctrine, even allowing it as a bar to claims brought under the
federal Constitution: Petitioners ask the Court to interfere with
state criminal procedure without providing basis in the federal
Constitution for doing so. The Court should not acountenance such
interference, especially given the Court’s longstanding recognition
of the importance of the procedural-default doctrine to the efficient
and fair functioning of the criminal-justice system.

ARGUMENT

Petitioners frame this case as a dispute between the States of
Oregon and Virginia and the federal government regarding the
implementation of Article 36 of the Vienna Convention. There is
no such dispute—the States fully recognize their obligation to
comply with the United States’ treaty obligations.

Indeed, on this issue, the States and the United States are of one
accord.

The impediment to implementing the Vienna Convention as
Petitioners request is not resistance from the States. Instead, the
Court’s treaty-interpretation precedent, limited as it is by the
strictures of the constitutional framework of government, forecloses
that result. And rightly so, given that other nations do not consider
the Vienna Convention, by itself, to form a basis for invalidating
criminal convictions.

Il. THE VIENNA CONVENTION DOES NOT CONFER INDIVIDUAL
RIGHTS.

The Vienna Convention on Consular Relations is a 79-article,
multilateral treaty negotiated in 1963 and ratified by the United
States in 1969. The treaty governs “the establishment of consular
relations, [and] defin{es] a consulate’s functions in a receiving

’

4

state.” United States v. Alvarado-Torres, 45 F.Supp.2d 986, 988
(S.D. Cal. 1999). Article 36(1)(b) of the Convention states that the
authorities of a “receiving state” shall, without delay, inform any
detained foreign national of his right to have the consular post of
the “sending state” notified of his detention. Article 36(1)(a)
provides that consular officers shall be free to communicate with
nationals of the sending state, and Article 36(1)(c) gives consular
officers the right to visit and correspond with the detained foreign
national and to arrange for his legal representation. /@

Both Petitioners argue that Article 36 creates individual rights
and that it constitutes binding federal law by virtue of the fact that
the Vienna Convention is a self-executing treaty. Sanchez-Llamas
Merits Br. at 11-14; Bustillo Merits Br. at 16-20. This reasoning is
inconsistent with the text of the Convention itself—the preamble to
the Vienna Convention expressly disavows the creation of
individual rights, and the Convention’s ratification history
demonstrates that the Senate did not believe that the Convention
would change existing United States law.

A. The Text of the Vienna Convention Does Not Create
Individual Rights.

Treaty provisions are construed according to the traditional
rules of statutory construction, and the Court looks first to the plain
language. United States v. Alvarez-Machain, 504 U.S. 655, 663
(1992) (“In construing a treaty, as in construing a statute, we first
look to its terms to determine its meaning.”). As the Court did when
construing Article 36 in Breard v. Greene, 523 U.S. 371, 376
(1998) (per curiam), it should begin with the Convention’s text.
The text of the Convention is clear. Neither Article 36 nor the other
provisions of Chapter II of the Convention were intended to create
individual rights.

5

1. The text of the Convention does not require that
violations of consular notification be remedied in
criminal proceedings.

The Vienna Convention is based on the premise that “an
international convention on consular relations, privileges and
immunities would ... contribute to the development of friendly
relations among nations, irrespective of their differing
constitutional and social systems.” VIENNA CONVENTION,
preamble. The Convention expressly provides,

“the purpose of [the] privileges and immunities [discussed
in the Convention}.s not to benefit individuals but to ensure
the efficient performance of functions by consular posts on
behalf of their respective States.” /d. (emphasis added).'

Chapter II of the Convention, in which Article 36 appears, is
entitled “Facilities, Privileges and Immunities Relating to Consular
Posts, Career Consular Officers and Other Members of a Consular
Post.” Its focus is the prerogatives of the “sending State,” not
individual foreign nationals. Article 36, in turn, is in Section I of
Chapter Il—a Section itself titled “Facilities, Privileges and
Immunities Relating to a Consular Post.” Notably, Article 36 is not
found in Section II, which deals with facilities, privileges, and

3. The preamble to a treaty is negotiated language that generally
sets forth the purpose of the contracting parties in choosing particular
words to implement specific obligations. See Olympic Airways v. Husain,
540 U.S. 644, 660-61 (2004) (looking to the Warsaw Convention’s
preamble to determine the purpose of the contracting parties); E/~A/
Israeli Airlines v. Tsui Yuan Tseng, 525 U.S. 155, 156-57 (1999) (same);
Alvarez-Machain, 504 U.S., at 672-73 (relying on preamble to extradition
treaty with Mexico to determine intent of contracting states).

6

immunities of individuals, ie, consular officers and other
“members of the consular post.”

In keeping with the overall purpose of the Convention, Article
36 begins with the express statement that the provisions of
paragraph (1), including the requirements of consular notification
at issue in this case, are established “with a view to facilitating the
exercise of consular functions relating to nationals of the sending
State.” Paragraph 2 of Article 36 provides that “rights referred to in
paragraph 1” of the Article “shall be exercised in conformity with
the laws and regulations of the receiving State,” so long as those
laws “enable full effect to be given” to the purpose of the rights
accorded by Article 36—those purposes being specified as
“facilitating the exercise of consular functions” as described in
paragraph 1. When Article 36 is violated, the aggrieved party is the
sending State, because it is the sending State whose consular
operations have been hindered by the violation.

Although Article 36 may provide some collateral benefits to
individual foreign nationals, its overriding purpose is to facilitate
the performance of consular functions by consular officials. Given
that the Convention’s preamble expressly states that the purpose of
the treaty is not to create individual rights, the Court should reject

2. Bustillo erroneously argues that the preamble cannot control
interpretation of Article 36 because, as a result, the preamble would
prevent Section II from conferring rights on consular personnel. Bustillo
Merits Br. at. 33 & n.9. Bustillo ignores the fact that Section II does not
create rights for foreign citizens generally, but only to consular
personnel, as an element of their official duties on behalf of the sending
State. E.g., Alfred Dunhill of London, Inc. v. Republic of Cuba, 425 US.
682, 693-94 (1976) (recognizing that the scope of consular privileges and
rights is determined by the capacity in which an individual represents a
foreign government, and is not held by the individual as such).

7

Petitioners’ invitation to discover such rights in Article 36 — which
would directly contravene the negotiated meaning of the treaty.”

2. Article 36 does not overcome the presumption that
treaties do not create individual rights.

The term “self executing” usually is applied to any treaty that
according to its terms takes effect upon ratification and requires no
separate implementing statute. See RESTATEMENT (THIRD) OF THE
FOREIGN RELATIONS LAW OF THE UNITED STATES §111(4) (1987).
It is beyond cavil that the Vienna Convention is self-executing in
the sense that no implementing legislation was required.

However, whether the terms of a treaty provide for private
rights that are enforceable im domestic courts is a wholly separate
question. See id., at §111, cmt. h; see also United States v. Li, 206
F.3d 56, 68 (CA1 2000) (Selya & Boudin, JJ., concurring) (“That
courts sometimes discuss [self-execution in the sense of need for
implementing legislation and self-execution as creating individual
rights} together ... does not detract from their distinctiveness. At

3. Notably, the ICJ’s judgment in which it declared that Article 36
creates an individual right analyzes the Article in isolation, without
mentioning the preamble. See LaGrand(F.R.G. v. U S.), 2001 C.J. 466
(June 27), 967. Vice President Shi’s concurrence sheds some light on the
ICJ’s strategic drafting of paragraph 67, which Vice President Shi
criticized for ignoring the preamble’s plain text. See LaGrand, Separate
Opinion of Vice-President Shi, 95. Yet, although he believed that “the
view that Article 36, paragraph 1, specifically subparagraph (b), creates
individual rights is at the very least a questionable one,” id. 416, Vice
President Shi nonetheless voted for the portion of the judgment requiring
“review and reconsideration of the conviction and sentence,” see
LaGrand, §127(7), on the explicit ground that because the case involved
the death penalty “every possible measure should be taken to prevent
injustice or an error in conviction or sentencing,” Separate Opinion of
Vice-President Shi, $17.

8

bottom, the questions remain separate.”). Petitioners’ contention
that the Vienna Convention is “self-executing” in the sense that it
creates individual rights enforceable in American judicial
proceedings, either directly or by virtue of the ICJ’s opinions on the
issue, is simply incorrect. In light of the principles governing the
interpretation of treaties, neither the text nor the history of the
Vienna Convention supports Petitioners’ claims.

The general rule is that “[i]nternational agreements, even those
directly benefitting private persons, generally do not create private
rights or provide for a private cause of action in domestic courts.”
RESTATEMENT (THIRD) §907, cmt. a. This rule derives from the
longstanding principle that “[a] treaty is primarily a compact
between independent nations,” and that it “depends for the
enforcement of its provisions on the interest and the honor of the
governments which are parties to it.” The Head Money Cases, 112
U.S. 580, 598 (1884).

Because treaty violations have traditionally been resolved by
“international negotiations and reclamations,” the Court has.
concluded that “[i]t is obvious that with all this the judicial courts
have nothing to do and can give no redress.” Jd. This principle has
consistently been applied by U.S. courts. See, e.g., Argentine
Republic v. Amerada Hess Shipping Corp., 488 U.S. 428, 442
(1989) (holding that the Geneva Convention on the High Seas and
the Pan-American Maritime Neutrality Convention, “only set forth
substantive rules of conduct and state that compensation shall be
paid for certain wrongs. They do not create private rights of
action.”).* .

4. See also Goldstar v. United States, 967 F.2d 965, 968 (CA4 1992)
(“International treaties are not presumed to create rights that are privately
enforceable.”); United States v. Jimenez-Nava, 243 F.3d 192, 195 (CAS
2001) (“[Treaties] do not generally create rights that are enforceable in
the courts.”); Tel-Oren v. Libyan Arab Republic, 726 F.2d 774, 808

9

Moreover, settled principles of treaty construction-obligate the
Court to avoid the constitutional conflict that would be occasioned
by Petitioners’ proposed interpretation. Statutes are “to be so
construed so as to avoid serious doubt of their constitutionality.”
Int'l Ass'n of Machinists v. Street, 367 U.S. 740, 749 (1961). The
same canon of constitutional avoidance has always applied to
treaties as well. See Murray v. the Schooner Charming Betsy, 6
U.S. (2 Cranch) 64 (1804). Thus, if it is “fairly possible” to construe
a statute or treaty without contravening the Constitution, the Court
should do so. Commodity Futures Trading Comm’n v. Schor, 478
U.S. 833, 841 (1986). The presumption against individual rights is
a means of avoiding constitutional conflict—although both treaties
and laws are “the law of the land” under the Supremacy Clause,
U.S. COnsT. art. VI, cl.2, treaties and laws are not automatically the
same thing. Treaties fall within the Executive branch’s foreign-
affairs power, subject to Senate approval, id., art. Il, §2, while laws
fall within Congress’s legislative authority, subject to the
Executive’s veto, id., art. I, §7. The grants of power are not
coextensive. A low standard for determining that a treaty creates
individual rights would necessarily lead to potential constitutional

(CADC 1984) (Bork, J., concurring) (“Treaties of the United States,
though the law of the land, do not generally create rights that are
privately enforceable in the courts.”); Li, 206 F.3d, at 66 (Selya &
Boudin, JJ., concurring) (“The background presumption that treaties do
not create privately enforceable rights . . . [is an] extremely important
principle. . . . It is surprisingly difficult to accept the idea that, in most
instances, either the Executive Branch or the ratifying Senate imagined
that it was empowering federal courts to involve themselves in
enforcement on behalf of private parties who might be advantaged or
disadvantaged by particular readings of particular treaty provisions.”);
accord Garza v. Lappin, 253 F.3d 918, 924 (CA7 2001) (judgment of
Inter-American Court did not bar imposition of death penalty because the
treaty relied upon could not be construed to create individual
rights); United States v. Davis, 767 F.2d 1025, 1030 (CA2 1985).

10

infirmities, because it would muddy the source of the federal
government’s authority.

A presumption against the creation of individual rights in
treaties avoids potential constitutional infirmities by eliminating
most instances in which a treaty could be construed to conflict with
existing laws. The Court’s cases draw a bright-line distinction. Ifa
treaty either establishes a legal standard for particular type of claim
or expressly states that it confers rights on foreign nationals, the
Court applies the treaty in domestic courts. Otherwise, it does not.
This test preserves the distinction between legislation and treaties;
the Senate has the opportunity to evaluate the treaty in terms of any
potential resulting change in the law.

For this reason, even treaties that directly benefit private parties
are not necessarily construed to create private rights or provide for
a private cause of action in domestic courts. For example, in
United States v. Gengler, 510 F.2d 62, 67 (CA2 1975), the court
held that “even where a treaty provides certain benefits for nationals
of a particular state—such as fishing rights—it is traditionally held
that any rights arising out of such provisions are, under
international law, those of the state and ... individual rights are only
derivative through states.” Likewise, in United States v. Rosenthal,
793 F.2d 1214, 1232 (CA11 1986), the court found no merit in the
defendants’ argument that the actions of the United States violated
its extradition treaty with Colombia because “[u]}nder international
law it is the contracting foreign government that has the right to
complain about a violation.”

A treaty can create individual rights, but only when the text of
the treaty does so unambiguously. As recognized in The Head
Money Cases, a treaty establishing particular “rights of property by

descent or inheritance,” gives those obligations the force of law.
112 US., at 598.°

Both Petitioners provide lists of cases that, they argue,
demonstrate that the Court always, without exception, applies
treaties to protect private litigants. Sanchez-Llamas Merits Br. at
28-29; Bustillo Merits Br. at 18 & n.3. The referenced cases do not
support Petitioners’ arguments. Instead, they illustrate the specific
and narrow circumstances in which the Court has held that treaties
provide judicially-enforceable individual rights. Each treaty either
(1) contains an express statement to that effect or (2) expressly
adopts a specific legal standard governing cases involving foreign
nationals. ‘

Thus, for example, in Kolovrat v. Oregon, the treaty stated that
“Serbian subjects in the United States{] shall enjoy the rights”
granted to most-favored nations. 366 U.S. 187, 192 n.6 (1961)
(emphasis added). The sole case cited by the Petitioners involving
a multilateral convention specifically governed the reciprocal rights
of citizens regarding trademarks. Bacardi Corp. v. Domenech, 311
U.S. 150, 169 (1940) (discussing section titled “Equality of Citizens
and Aliens as to Trade Mark and Commercial Protection”). These

5. The sole case cited by Petitioners involving the privileges of a
foreign consulate in fact rejected Petitioners’ position. In Wildenuhus's
Case, 120 U.S. | (1887), the Belgian Consul sought to bring a habeas
corpus claim regarding a suspect in a murder committed aboard a Belgian
vessel anchored in a United States port. In holding that the consul held
a right under the bilateral consular-relations treaty between the United
States and Belgium, the Court recognized that the treaty “settle[d] and
define[d]} the rights and duties of the contracting parties”, id. at 12, and
not those of the individual criminal suspect.

12

treaties create individual rights because they contain express
language to that effect.®

Other treaties expressly establish legal standards. Thus, the two
extradition cases Petitioners cite, United States v. Rauscher, 119
U.S. 407 (1886), and Johnson v. Browne , 205 U.S. 309, 320-22
(1907), recognized that the rule of “specialty” governs extradition
treaties as a matter of international custom and therefore informs
the courts’ application of extradition law. That custom has now
been adopted by statute. See United States v. Alvarez-Machain, 504
U.S. 655, 667 (1992). Likewise, treaties governing seizure of
foreign ships expressly create legal standards that apply in
admiralty.’ Cook v. United States, 288 U.S. 102, 111-12 (1933);

6. The most important early cases involve the United States’ treaty
obligations to protect the property rights of British citizens following
independence. The United States had undertaken to guarantee those
rights as a condition of peace with Great Britain; accordingly state laws
predating adoption of the Constitution could not trump the bargain
regarding property rights. See Fairfax's Devisee v. Hunter's Lessee, \|
U.S. (7 Cranch) 603, 627 (1812) (“British subjects ... shall continue to
hold [their lands]”); Higgonson v. Mein, 8 U.S. (4 Cranch) 415, 419
(1808) (“all persons who have any interest in confiscated lands ... shall
meet with no lawful impediment in the prosecution of their just rights”);
Hopkirk v. Bell, 7 U.S. (3 Cranch) 103, 110 (1801) (same); Ware v.
Hylton, 3 U.S. (3 Dall.) 199, 258-59 (1796).

7. The remaining treaty provisions on which the Court has
recognized a treaty right were bilateral treaties of amity and commerce
specifically designed to create individual rights for the citizens of foreign
countries, including Germany, Clark v. Allen, 331 U.S. 503, 514-15
(1947); Denmark, Nielsen v. Johnson, 279 U.S. 47, 51 (1929); Japan,
Jordan v. Tashiro, 278 U.S. 123, 127 (1928), Asakura v. City of Seattle,
265 U.S. 332, 340 (1924); China, Cheung Sum Shee v. Nagle, 268 U.S.
336, 345; Chew Heong v. United States, 112 U.S. 536, 542 (1884),
France, de Geofroy v. Riggs, 133 U.S. 258, 266 (1890); Chirac v.

13

United States v. Schooner Peggy, 5 U.S. (1 Cranch) 103, 110
(1801).

“Article 36 neither contains language expressly creating an
individual right of consular notification, nor does it establish a legal
standard for evaluating such lawsuits. It does not, therefore, create
a judicially-enforceable individual right under the Court’s
precedent.

B. The State Department Has Consistently Construed the
Convention Not to Create Individual Rights.

The State Department has consistently maintained that the
Vienna Convention does not create individual rights. The United
States’ historic interpretation of the Vienna Convention should be
accorded substantial deference. See, e.g., El Al Israeli Airlines v.
Tseng, 525 U.S. 155, 168 (1999) (“Respect is ordinarily due the
reasonable views of the Executive Branch concerning the meaning
of an international treaty.”); Sumitomo Shoji Am., Inc. v. Avagliano,
457 U.S. 176, 184-85 (1982) (“Although not conclusive, the
meaning attributed to treaty provisions by the Government agencies
charged with their negotiation and enforcement is entitled to great
weight.”).

In United States v. Li, the First Circuit specifically posed the
question whether the Vienna Convention creates individual rights,
and the State Department advised the court that the Convention is
a treaty that establishes state-to-state rights and obligations, not
individual rights. See 206 F.3d, at 63 (citing “Department of State
Answers to the Questions Posed By the First Circuit in United

Chirac's Lessee, 15 U.S. (2 Wheat.) 259, 270 (1817); Switzerland,
Hauenstein v. Lynham, 100 U.S. 483, 584-86 (1879); and the United
Kingdom, Hughes v. Edwards, 22 U.S.(9 Wheat.) 489, 496 (1824); Soc 'y
for Propagation of Gospel v. New-Haven, 21 U.S. (8 Wheat.) 464 (1823)
(same); Craig v. Radford, 16 U.S. (3 Wheat.) 594 (1818) (same).

14

States v. Nai Fook Li,” hereinafter “State Department Li Answers,”
at A-1, A-3). The State Department specifically addressed the
remedies for violations of the consular notification procedures:
“The [only] remedies for failures of consular notification under the
[Vienna Convention] are diplomatic, political, or exist between
states under international law.” /d. The United States reiterated this
history in its amicus curiae brief supporting the State of Texas in
Medellin v. Dretke, No. 04-5928, Brief for the United States as
Amicus Curiae Supporting Respondent, at 22-23. _

As Li noted, the State Department’s position on the Convention
may be traced to the treaty’s inception. The court first pointed to a
1970 letter sent by a State Department legal adviser to the
governors of the fifty States shortly after the Convention’s
ratification, advising that the Department did “not believe that the
Vienna Convention will require significant departures from the
existing practice within the United States.” /d., at 64. In 1989, a
letter from a Department legal adviser informed a foreign national
being held in an American prison that “[w]hile the U.S. authorities
are required to comply with the obligations [of Article 36], failure

to do so would have no effect on [his] conviction or incarceration.”
Id.

Li also pointed to the State Department’s written submission to
the Inter-American Court of Human Rights in 1998, when Mexico
sought an advisory opinion on the availability of criminal remedies
for failures of consular notification—the precise issue raised in this
case. The Department’s submission unequivocally stated that the
Vienna Convention “does not require the domestic courts of State
parties to take any actions in criminal proceedings, either to give
effect to its provisions or to remedy their alleged violation.” /d.
(emphasis added). The Li court thus correctly concluded that “the
Department has denied the availability of criminal remedies for
failures of consular notification.” /d.

15

C. The History of the Convention Does Not Demonstrate an
Intent to Create Individual Rights in Article 36.

The plain text of the treaty disclaims individual rights. Even if
there were any ambiguity, it should be resolved against finding such
rights. When a treaty’s terms are considered ambiguous, the Court
typically relies upon nontextual sources “such as a treaty’s
ratification history and its subsequent operation.” United States v.
Stuart, 489 U.S. 353, 366 (1989). Petitioners turn to the ratification
history and travaux préparatoires of the Convention to suggest that
Article 36 was intended to create individual rights. See Sanchez-
Llamas Merits Br. at 23-26; Bustillo Merits Br. at 24-29. But the
passing references to the negotiation and ratification of the Vienna’
Convention contained in Petitioners’ account do not tell the whole
story—the United States ratified the treaty under the express
condition that it would effect no change in domestic law.

Senate Committee on Foreign Relations Chairman William J.
Fulbright’s report to the Senate highlighted the treaty’s preamble
and then listed five factors that helped secure the Committee’s
approval. The very first such factor was the Committee’s belief that
the “Vienna Convention does not change or affect present U.S.
laws or practice.” S. Exec. Dec. E app., 91-1, at 46 (1969)
(emphasis added). That statement of Senate intent would be
incomprehensible if the treaty were in fact understood to create
individual rights that could abrogate U.S. statutes and the
procedural-default rule in all 50 States, across the criminal-justice
system.

Moreover, despite casual statements suggesting the contrary, the
State Department’s only formal answer to the question whether the
Convention created individual rights was altogether negative. A
State Department legal adviser submitted written testimony on the
Convention to the Senate Committee on Foreign Relations on
October 7, 1969. The statement indicated that the “Vienna ...
Convention does not have the effect of overcoming Federal or State

16

laws beyond the scope long authorized in existing consular
conventions.” /d. (emphasis added). The Department’s testimony
also emphasized the Vienna Convention’s preamble, which states
explicitly that the treaty’s purpose is “not to benefit individuals.” S.
Exec. Doc. E app., 91-1, at 46 (1969).

Nor do the travaux préparatoires include more than a passing
reference to consular notification being a right held by a citizen.
Certainly, the travaux include no express indication of an intent to
expressly create rights. The passing references to the notification
right as belonging to the individual are, therefore, the most
convenient mechanism for referring to the reciprocal obligation
between nations. See Li, 206 F.3d, at 66 (Selya & Boudin, JJ.,
concurring).* Moreover, the Statements from the travaux on which
the Petitioners rely must be read in context. Article 36 was framed
in terms of an individual’s choice to contact his national consulate
in order to ensure that defectors and captured military officers
would not be required to contact their own governments against
their wills. See 1 U.N. Conference on Consular Relations: Official
Records, at 38 § 21; 83-84 94 73 & 74, U.N. Doc.Al Conf.25/16
U.N. Sales No. 63.X.2 (1963). The language was thus drafted as it

8. See Li, 206 F.3d, at 66 (Selya & Boudin, JJ., concurring):

“It is common ground that the [Convention is an]
agreement| ] among sovereign States. Nothing in [its} text
explicitly provides for judicial enforcement of [ }] consular
access provisions at the behest of private litigants. Of
course, there are references in the treaties to a ‘right’ of
access, but these references are easily explainable. The
contracting States are granting each other rights, and telling
future detainees that they have a ‘right’ to communicate
with their consul is a means of implementing the treaty
obligations as between States. Any other way of phrasing
the promise . . . would be both artificial and awkward.”
(emphasis in original).

17

is in order to limit the scope of the consular nations’ rights over its
citizens. Nothing in the travaux indicates an intent on the part of
the parties to the treaty to adopt consular notification as an element
of their domestic criminal law.

D. Fulfiliing Treaty Obligations Under Article 36 is the
Task of the Political Branches.

As the Court has long recognized:

“the very nature of executive decisions as to foreign policy
is political, not judicial. Such decisions are wholly confided
by our Constitution to the political departments of the
government, Executive and Legislative. They are delicate,
complex, and involve large elements of prophecy. They are
and should be undertaken only by those directly responsible
to the people whose welfare they advance or imperil. They
are decisions of a kind for which the Judiciary has neither
aptitude, facilities, nor responsibility and long have been
held to belong in the domain of political power not subject
to judicial intrusion or inquiry.” Chicago & Southern
Airlines v. Waterman SS Corp., 333 U.S. 103, 111-12
(1948).

A nation considering itself harmed by congressional enactment
following a treaty may “present its complaint to the executive head
of the government.... The courts can afford no redress. Whether the
complaining nation has just cause of complaint, or our country was
justified in its legislation, are not matters for judicial cognizance.”
Whitney v. Robertson, 124 U.S. 190, 194 (1888).

Nor is the judiciary well suited to determine how the United
States should act under a treaty, because the United States has
discretion to disregard treaty obligations: the President has the
power to waive treaties, Charlton v. Kelly, 229 U.S. 447, 475-76
(1913), and Congress may enact inconsistent legislation, Whitney,
124U.S., at 194. The Executive Branch is best-suited to foresee the

18

implications of its actions regarding treaties because the State
Department maintains diplomatic contacts throughout the world.
The choice of the best manner in which to fulfill a treaty—or, in the
alternative, whether to negotiate for a lesser obligation or even to
withdraw from an obligation entirely—is by necessity “delicate”
and “complex.” As a prudential matter, the courts should not
interfere in the process.

Il. THe Court SHOULD Not ApoprTr THE ICJ’s
INTERPRETATION OF ARTICLE 36, WHICH IS CONTRARY TO
THE ACTUAL PRACTICE OF PARTIES TO THE VIENNA
CONVENTION.

Petitioners do not rely on the decisions of the International
Court of Justice in Avena and Other Mexican Nationals (Mexico v.
U.S.), 2004 LC.J. 12 (Mar. 31) and La Grand (F.R.G. v. U.S.),
2001 1.C.J. 466 (June 27), as direct authority, although Sanchez-
Llamas argues that those decisions deserve deference in the interest
of “uniform treaty interpretation.” Sanchez-Llamas Merits Br. at
26-28; Bustillo Merits Br. at 30-31. Many of Petitioners’ amici
argue that the Court should defer to the ICJ’s interpretation of
Article 36. E.g., E.U. Amicus Br., at 3-7.

9. Bustillo’s statement that 63 nations have filed briefs in support of
his position is somewhat misleading to the extent it includes all of the
members of the European Union. Bustillo Merits Br. at 29. The E.U. is
not a party to the Vienna Convention and only three of its member
nations, Liechtenstein, Norway, and Switzerland, were willing to join the
E.U.’s amicus brief in their capacity as signatories to the Convention.
E.U. Amicus Br. at 2. The only reported judicial opinion from an E.U.
member country that is also a party to the Convention, Germany, has in
fact refused to provide “review and reconsideration” of a criminal
conviction based on Article 36. See BGH 5 StR 1 16/0 decided on 7 Nov.
2001, available at http://www. bundesgerichtshof.de (Germany).

19

These arguments are all based on an untenable premise—that
the ICJ’s interpretation of Article 36 represents the uniform
application of the treaty. It does not, and neither Petitioners nor
their amici mention a single instance in which another country’s
courts have revisited a criminal conviction based on a defendant’s
consular-notification rights absent a domestic statute requiring that
result. Nor do other nations apply the ICJ’s decisions in their
domestic courts as a general matter.

A. The ICJ’s Interpretation of Article 36 is Contrary to
Actual International Practice.

In LaGrand, the ICJ determined that Article 36 creates
individual rights. 2001 I.C.J, at 493, 9973 & 74. And in Avena, the
ICJ determined that Article 36 mandates “review and
reconsideration” of criminal convictions. 2004 1.C.J., at 35-36, 440.
At the time LaGrand was decided in 2001, according to the State
Department, no country in the world had interpreted the Vienna
Convention to create individual rights or ordered reconsideration of
a criminal conviction based on violation of Article 36.'° Thus,
LaGrand itself rejected the prevailing, uniform interpretation of the
Convention.

10. After a comprehensive investigation into international practice,
the State Department “found no indication that other states party have
remedied such failures by granting remedies in the context of their
criminal justice proceedings.” State Department Li Answers at A-8, A-9
(commenting that no party had produced a single example of a nation
providing a judicial remedy for Article 36 violations); see also Avena,
Counter-Memorial of the United States, at 288-90 (Mexico failed to
provide a single example of a state practice of reconsidering convictions
based on consular-notification); Canada v. VanBergen, 261 A.R. 387,
390 (2000) (rejecting legal challenge to extradition from Canada based
on Article 36); R. v. Abbrederis, [1981] 36 A.L.R. 109 (Australia),
122-23; Re Yater, “Judicial Decisions,” 1976 Ital. Y.B. Int’! Law, at
336-39, Vol. Il (decided by Italy’s Court of Cassation Feb. 19, 1973).

20

Although some courts have stated in passing that Article 36
creates an “individual right,” international practice has not changed
since the Avena decision. At least two courts have refused to apply
the ICJ’s judgment as a basis for revisiting a conviction—including
a court in Germany, the party that brought LaGrand in the first
place. See BGH 5 StR 116/0 decided on 7 Nov. 2001, available at
http://www.bundesgerichtshof.de (Germany); see also R. v. Partak,
[2-1] 160 C.C.C. (3d) 553, 570 (Canada). There is thus a
divergence between the diplomatic positions of foreign countries
and the effect given to the Vienna Convention in actual judicial
decisions.

Sanchez-Llamas suggests that the Canadian courts have
recognized an individual right that applies in criminal proceedings
by citing Khadr v. Canada, 123 C.R.R. (2d) 7, 23 (Fed. Ct. 2004)
(Canada). Sanchez-Llamas Merits Br. at 27-28. Khadr was a suit
by the parents of a Canadian national attempting to force the
Canadian government to provide consular services to a Canadian
citizen, who had been detained outside of Canada, under a statute
prescribing the obligations of Canadian consuls. /d. at 19. The
Khadr court used the Vienna Convention to inform its analysis of
a Canadian statute, not as a basis for its decision. /d at 26."

11. The countries that have applied the Vienna Convention to criminal
convictions have done so based on internal statutes mandating that result.
See NACDL/LCA Br. at 16-20 (discussing Part 1(C), Section 23P, of the
Crimes Act 1914). As the NACDL’s brief recognizes, the countries that
apply an exclusionary rule based on the Vienna Convention all do so by
statute, not based on the treaty itself. /d. at 17 n.11. None has applied
Avena’s holding to revisit a criminal conviction. Nor have the United
Kingdom’s courts—which govern criminal procedure uuder their
separate common-law authority rather than by application of a written
constitution—applied an exclusionary rule based on Article 36. See id.,
at 20. Rather, two U.K. trial courts have excluded evidence under their
general common-law power to do so. R. v. Bassil and Mouffareg (1990)

21

In short, the Court should not interpret the amicus briefs filed
by various foreign countries as a statement of those countries actual
practice. Neither Petitioners nor Petitioners’ amici cite even a
single instance in which a foreign court has directly applied the
Vienna Convention to collaterally attack or void a criminal
conviction. E.g., Mexico Amicus Br., at 7-30 (discussing in theory
the application of Article 36 in U.S. courts, but not discussing
Mexico’s actual domestic practice). Indeed, Mexico’s position in
this case marks a reversal of its longstanding position that Article
36 violations should not be the basis for reversing criminal
convictions.”

28 July, Acton Crown Court HHJ Sich (reported in Legal Action 23,
December 1990); R. Van Axel and Wezer (1991) 31 May Snaresbrook
Crown Court, HHJ Sich (reported in Legal Action 12, September 1991).
To the extent that courts in the United States retain such common-law
power given the tendency to adopt statutory regimes governing criminal
procedure, plenary authority to adopt such exceptions rests with the
States and not with the Court, save for rights conferred by the federal!
constitution. See infra, part IIl.A.

12. Mexico’s litigation posture in Avena was a reversal of its
traditional position on the subject. The 1976 Treaty on the Execution of
Penal Sentences, Nov. 25, 1976, Mex.- U.S., 28 U.S.T. 739, at Mexico’s
explicit insistence, provides for enforcement of Mexican convictions with
no mention of Mexico’s Article 36 violations. Mexico, in recognizing its
own poor record in complying with Article 36, stated that “we cannot....
expect that irregularities will not occasionally be committed.” Letter from
Alfonso Garcia Robles, Foreign Minister of Mexico, to Henry A.
Kissinger, Secretary of State of the United States of America (Mar. 25,
1976). Mexico’s federal law governing consular-notification provides no
judicial remedy for individuals, only a consular-notification requirement.
LEYES Y CODIGOS DE MEXICO, C.F.P.P., art. 128.1V (1995) (“Si se
tratare de un extranjero, la detencion se comunicara de inmediato a la
representacion diplomatica o consular que corresponda.” (“In the case of
an alien, the fact that he has been placed in custody shall be reported

22

B. The ICJ’s decisions do not provide a “rule of decision.”

Amici ICJ Experts go one step further than the litigants and
argue that Avena and LaGrand create a “rule of decision” that this
Court has no power to disregard. IC) Experts Amicus Br. at 20.
They argue that the Optional Protocol to the Vienna Convention
transforms the ICJ’s judgments into part of the treaty, and that as a
result the ICJ’s decision is incorporated into United States law by
the Supremacy Clause. However, the decisions of international
_ tribunals are-not themselves “treaties”, nor do they fall within the
other two categories of federal law—the “Constitution” and “Laws
of the United States.” U.S. CONsT. art. VI, cl.2. The ICJ’s
decisions, by themselves, cannot create an individually enforceable
right that requires reconsideration of a criminal conviction.

1. The only potential legal basis for deferring to the
ICJ’s decisions was the Optional Protocol, from
which the United States has withdrawn.

The only potential basis for the Experts’ position is the Optional
Protocol to the Vienna Convention, a provision that refers disputes
over the treaty to the ICJ. See OPTIONAL PROTOCOL TO THE
VIENNA CONVENTION ON CONSULAR RELATIONS CONCERNING THE
COMPULSORY SETTLEMENT OF DISPUTES, Apr. 24, 1963, 21 U.S.T.
77 (138a). By a letter deposited with the U.N. Secretary General on
March 7, 2005, the United States has withdrawn from the Optional
Protocol, and is no longer subject to its provisions. See
http://travel.state.gov/news/news_2155.html (last visited January
24, 2006). The Experts merely assert their opinion that the United
States’ withdrawal from the Protocol was incorrect, without citing
any authority. ICJ Experts Amicus Br. at 19-20.

And even if the United States remained a party to the Optional
Protocol, it would be inappropriate under the Constitution for the

immediately to the appropriate diplomatic or consular mission.”)).

23

Court to recognize as binding the decision of a judicial body not
recognized in the Constitution. The “judicial Power” discussed by
the Constitution encompasses the duty to exercise the final say in
the interpretation of federal law. See Marbury v. Madison, 5 U.S.
(1 Cranch) 137, 777 (1803) (“It is emphatically the province and
duty of the judicial department to say what the law is.”). Under the
Experts’ interpretation, as a result of signing the Vienna
Convention, the “judicial Power” has been placed not in “one
supreme Court,” but instead divided between this Court and the
ICJ. To recognize the ICJ’s judgments as binding would, pursuant
to the actions of only the President and the Senate, effect a
fundamental change in the constitutional structure.

Nothing in the President’s foreign-affairs and treaty power
allows a reordering of the judicial functions of the Article III courts
that would otherwise be barred by the Constitution. The Cherokee
Tobacco, 78 U.S. (11 Wall.) 616, 620-21 (1870) (“[A] treaty cannot
change the Constitution.”). The Optional Protocol, even when it
remained in effect, could not have transformed the ICJ’s decisions
into federal law. That result would encroach on the judicial system
of the United States, and would elevate the power of the ICJ far
beyond that provided by its statute and the U.N. Charter.

2. ThelCJ’s jurisdiction is limited to disputes between
consenting nations, and its decisions are enforceable
only through the Security Council.

The ICJ’s decisions in Avena and LaGrand should not be
applied by this Court in construing the Vienna Convention. The
U.N. Charter and the ICJ’s statute together delineate the scope of
the ICJ’s authority. The ICJ can hear only disputes between nations,
and then only when those nations have consented to the ICJ’s
jurisdiction. STATUTE OF THE INTERNATIONAL COURT OF JUSTICE
art. 34, 111,59 Stat. 1055 (1945). ICJ decisions have binding force
only between the parties, which must be sovereign nations, and only
with respect to the particular dispute, id. art. 59. Indeed, the ICJ

24

Statute specifies that, in all other instances, decisions of the court
have “no binding force.”"’ Jd

As a result, the [CJ cannot declare individual rights. Its
decisions have no res judicata effect on disputes between individual
persons. See, e.g., Socobel v. the Greek State, 30 Avril 1950, 18
I.L.R. 3. IC) judgments are “final and without appeal,” but there is
no rule regarding the application of those decisions before other
tribunals. [CJ STATUTE art. 60.

Nor does the ICJ have direct enforcement powers. Instead, the
Security Council enforces ICJ judgments in its discretion. Article
94 of the U.N. Charter explicitly provides that all disputes regarding
ICJ decisions are to be referred to the U.N. Security Council. U.N.
CHARTER art. 94. Thus, while there exists in principle an obligation
to respect the ICJ’s judgments, ultimate enforcement power is given
not to the 1CJ—which in effect has authority merely to make
declarations that include the scope of damages resulting from a
breach of international law—but to the Security Council which
exercises the political and institutional authority to enforce the
ICJ’s decisions.

Significantly, no nation has ever inferred from Article 94(1) an
obligation to enforce ICJ decisions as domestic law.'* Indeed, this

13. Amici IC) Experts sole argument on this point is that the
limitation does not apply to ICJ decisions because the ICJ itself has
chosen to ignore it. ICJ Experts’ Amicus Br. at 25-26.

14. Although many foreign cases are unreported, the only case the
amici States’ research has uncovered where a domestic court arguably
applied an ICJ decision was in French-controlled Morocco (a legal entity
no longer extant). See Administration des Habous v. Deal, 19 1.L.R. 342
(Morocco, Ct. App. Rabat. 1952)—a decision later rejected by a tribunal
in French-controlled Tunisia, see Mackay Radio & Tel. Co. v. Lal-la
Fatma Bent si Moahamed el Khadar et al., 2) 1.L.R. 136 (Tangier, Ct.

25

interpretation of the enforceability of the ICJ’s decisions in U.S.

courts was expressly rejected byt he D.C. Circuit in Comm. of
United States Citizens Living in Nicaragua v. Reagan, 859 F.2d
929, 938 (CADC 1988) (Mikva, J.) (quoting Diggs, 555 F.2d, at
851 (CADC 1976)): “[T]he words of Article 94 ‘do not by their
terms confer rights upon individual citizens; they ‘call upon
governments to take certain action.’”” The ICJ Experts implicitly
recognize this in their brief—rather than offer a legal basis for their
argument, they rely upon their assessment of the United States’

“economic and political interests.” [CJ Experts Amicus Br. at 17-19
& n.30. ~

The ICJ’s statute confirms that its decisions have not created
rights judicially enforceable by individuals. The ICJ’s decisions
have binding force only between the parties and with respect to
their particular case. See IC) STATUTE art. 59. Only Nations may be
parties in cases before the ICJ, id, at art. 34, 41. The ICJ’s
decisions cannot, by its statute, apply in litigation regarding
individuals. See Comm. of United States Citizens Living in
Nicaragua, 859 F.2d, at 938 (U.N. Charter’s provisions “make clear
that the purpose of establishing the ICJ was to resolve disputes
between national governments. We find in these clauses no intent
to vest citizens who reside in a U.N. member nation with authority
to enforce an ICJ decision against their own government.”); see
also Socobel, 18 1.L.R. 3 (ICJ judgments cannot have res judicata
effect in domestic courts because there is no identity of parties); Jn
re Investigation of World Arrangements with Relation to the
Production, Transportation, Refining and Distribution of
Petroleum, 13 F.P..D. 280, 290-91 (D.D.C. 1952) (refusing te give
controlling effect to ICJ ruling).

App. Int’! Trib. 1954).

26

C. The Court Should Not Defer to the ICJ Out of Comity.

The dissent in Medellin v. Dretke suggested that an issue facing
the Court was whether to accord judicial comity to the ICJ’s
decisions. 125 S.Ct. 2088, 2092-93 (2005) (per curiam). There is
no basis for extending judicial comity’to the ICJ: comity is not
automatically extended to foreign tribunals qua tribunals; instead,
it is a voluntary observance of the right of foreign nations to
regulate their own affairs. See Hilton v. Guyot, 159 U.S. 113, 166
(1895). Applying comity is “a recognition which one nation extends
within its own territory to the legislative, executive, or judicial acts
of another.” Somportex Lid. v. Philadephia Chewing Gum Corp.,
453 F.2d 435, 440 (CA3 1971). More specifically, “judicial
comity” is a doctrine whereby judges decline to exercise
jurisdiction over matters more appropriately adjudged elsewhere,
e.g., The Moses Taylor, 71 U.S. (4 Wall.) 411, 423 (1866), as
distinguished from “prescriptive comity,” the respect sovereign
nations afford each other by limiting the reach of their laws, e.g, F.
Hoffman-La Roche v. Empagram S.A., 124 S.Ct. 2359, 2366-67
(2004); see atso J. STORY, COMMENTARIES ON THE CONFLICT OF
LAWS §38 (1834) (distinguishing between the “comity of the
courts” and the “comity of nations,” and defining the latter as “the
true foundation and extent of the obligation of the laws of one
nation within the territories of another”).

Neither form of comity should apply to the ICJ, which does not
represent the political choices of a sovereign, but instead constitutes
a dispute-resolution mechanism which ultimately culminates in a
political—rather than a legal—resolution of diplomatic disputes.
Judicial comity is simply inapposite to this case, because the
interpretation of treaties is in the Court’s own jurisdiction. A treaty
is federal law. This Court has full competence to construe it
according to its terms—and need not look to a foreign tribunal for
guidance. See, e.g., El Al Israeli Airlines, 525 U.S., at 167-68
(construing rule of decision provided in Warsaw Convention); cf.

27

Hagen v. Utah, 510 U.S. 399, 422-23 & n.1 (1994). The situation
is completely different from extending comity to a foreign
sovereign’s application of its own law in its own territory. When
“judicial comity” is applied to another nation’s laws, the decision
is made on the basis of equality between sovereign nations.
Republic of Austria v. Altmann, 541 U.S. 677, 688-89 (2004)
(discussing Schooner Exchange v. McFaddon, 11 U.S. (7 Cranch)
116, 145-46 (1812)).

Additionally, although the ICJ’s work often concerns treaties,
it is tied to no political decision-making process—and to none of
the accompanying political responsibilities—that would ensure that
these “experts” had been given legitimate authority to impose their
conclusions. See Sosa v. Alvarez-Machain, 124 S.Ct. 2739, 2761
(2004) (the Court’s authority to recognize legal standards arising in
international law is limited to objectively established standards
because the Court otherwise has no authority to adopt policy); cf
id., at 2771-72 (Scalia, J. dissenting) (arguing that this standard is
too lenient because it still gives courts authority to create law).

Ill. THE VIENNA CONVENTION DOES NOT PRECLUDE THE
APPLICATION OF VIRGINIA’S STATUTORY PROCEDURAL-
DEFAULT REQUIREMENTS.

If the Court were to adopt a rule that Article 36 of the Vienna
Convention both applies to criminal proceedings and is not subject
to procedural default, it would be adopting a new rule of law. Cf
Medellin, 125 S.Ct., at 2091 (whether Article 36 bars procedural-
default argument may constitute a “new rule”).

Recognizing an exception to the procedural-default doctrine
would be inconsistent with this Court’s traditional recognition that
it does not sit in review of the States’ regulation of their own
criminal-justice systems. The Court should not consider the policy
arguments made by Petitioners and their amici—to do so would be
to turn on its head the relationship between the federal and state

28

courts regarding criminal procedure, and the only basis for doing so
would be a treaty that the Executive Branch believes should not be
so applied. ;

A. Procedural Default Is an Adequate and Independent
State Ground.

Procedural default is an adequate and independent ground
support for the Virginia Supreme Court’s judgment, Wainwright v.
Sykes, 433 U.S. 72 (1977). The Court has already resolved that
issue with regard to the Vienna Convention in Breard, holding that
the procedural rules of the forum State, including rules on
procedural default, govern implementation of the Vienna
Convention. 523 U.S., at 375. The Court reasoned that this result
was consistent with the background presumption of international
law stating that the procedural rules of the forum State govern
implementation of a treaty absent “a clear and express statement to
the contrary.” /d. Thus, Article 36 rights, if they exist, “shall be
exercised in conformity with the laws and regulations of the
receiving State,” and Article 36(2) reinforced, rather than replaced,
the procedural-default rule.

Bustillo relies on Article 36(2)’s requirement that laws of the
forum state “must enable full effect to be given to the purposes for
which the rights accorded under this Article are intended.” Bustillo
Merits Br. at 36-38. But this reading presumes that the more
general “full effect clause” overrides Article 36’s more specific
provision that the Convention will be applied “in conformity with”
existing United States law. It cannot be that the more general
provision creates a “clear and express statement” that the United
States intended to change its own domestic laws by signing a treaty
stating that the requirements of the Convention were to be enforced
in compliance with existing law.

29

B. The Court Should Not Consider the Policy
Arguments Advanced by Petitioners and their Amici.

The Court holds “no supervisory power over state judicial
proceedings and may intervene only to correct wrongs of
constitutional dimension.” Smith v. Philips, 455 U.S. 209, 221
(1982). Nonetheless, Bustillo argues that the Court should preclude
the application of procedural default on policy grounds; in short,
suggesting that the Court change U.S. law because it will make the
treaty function more efficiently and because the Court should
follow the ICJ’s “guidance” regarding the interpretation of Article
36. Bustillo Merits Br. at 37-50. The Court should not consider
these policy arguments, because they are within the Executive
Branch’s discretion.

Appending additional procedural requirements onto Article 36
would violate the Court’s own precedent regarding procedural
default. Procedural default prevents the subsequent enforcement of
even constitutional rights, which can likewise be defaulted. See
Ylst v. Nunnemaker, 501 U.S. 797, 801 (1991) (procedural default
applies to Miranda claims); Sykes, 434 U.S. at 87 (procedural
default applies to voluntariness claims). The application of that rule
to constitutiona! claims does not mean that the constitution is not
given full effect under United States law; the possibility that
procedural default will be applied to Vienna Convention claims,
likewise, cannot be sufficient to demonstrate Cat Article 36 is not
being given full effect.

To rule for Petitioners, the Court would have to disregard its
own opinions regarding the procedural-default doctrine in the
context of federal habeas claims. The procedural-default rule is
designed in part to eliminate the tactical benefit that might be
derived from the stratagem of “sandbagging” by a criminal
defendant. Sykes, 433 U.S., at 89. Rejecting the prior test of Fay v.
Noia, 372 U.S. 391 (1963), which allowed federal habeas-review
for any claim absent a knowing and deliberate waiver of the claim,

30

the Court emphasized the importance of applying the “cause” and
“prejudice” standard in cases involving the application of the
contemporaneous-objection rule. Sykes, 433 U.S., at 89.

A broad rule preventing procedural default of Vienna
Convention claims would be even broader than the now-repudiated
standard in Fay v. Noia. Even in the case of “deliberate bypass,”
Bustillo argues that Vienna Conventions claims should remain
available. See Bustillo Merits Br. at 36-38. Indeed, in Bustillo’s
State habeas proceedings, Virginia cited the testimony of Bustillo’s
defense counsel, who stated that he affirmatively chose not to
involve the consulate in Bustillo’s case. J.A., at 235. The choice
not to invoke the Vienna Convention is the source of the current
dispute. As a general matter, Vienna Convention claims would
present particularly likely candidates for sandbagging, to the
significant detriment of the judicial process. For defendants from
nations whose consulates provide little assistance to nationals
facing criminal prosecution, the upside to raising the claim is
nominal. But, if the claim cannot be waived, defendants could go
to verdict, hope for acquittal, and, if convicted, assert the claim and
get yet another bite at the apple. Moreover, if Petitioners prevail,
the result would call into question the convictions and sentences of
potentially tens of thousands of defendants, capital and non-capital,
throughout all 50 States.

CONCLUSION

The Court should affirm the judgments of the Oregon and
Virginia Supreme Courts. —

Respectfully submitted,

~

January 31, 2006

31

GREG ABBOTT
Attorney General of Texas

BARRY R. MCBEE
First Assistant Attorney General

DON CLEMMER
Deputy Attorney General for
Criminal Justice

R. TED CRUZ

Solicitor General
Counsel of Record

KRISTOFER S. MONSON
Assistant Solicitor General

Office of the Attorney General
P.O. Box 12548 (MC-059)
Austin, Texas 78711-2548
(512) 936-1700

COUNSEL FOR AMICI CURIAE

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0119%3A08. Public record. Not legal advice.
