# Amicus Curiae Brief — Medellin v. Dretke

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0112%3A32

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2005
- **Citation:** 544 U.S. 660

## Text

Supaeme Court, U.S

Fi LED
— | MAR 2 82005
No. 04-5928 FEB
din

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

JOSE ERNESTO MEDELLIN.
Petitioner.
Vv.

DOUG DRETKE, Director,
Texas Department of Criminal Justice Institutional Division
Respondents.

On Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals
for the Fifth Circuit

BRIEF FOR PROFESSORS OF INTERNATIONAL
LAW, FEDERAL JURISDICTION AND THE
FOREIGN RELATIONS LAW OF THE
UNITED STATES AS AMICI CURIAE
IN SUPPORT OF RESPONDENT

PAUL B. STEPHAN *

580 Massie Rd.
Charlottesville, Va. 22903
(434) 293-6939

* Counsel of Record Counsel for Amici Curiae
February 28, 2005

a Se SS SPS A SSE fo a PCTS?
Wii SON-EPES PRINTING CO.. IN« (202) 789-0096 WASHINGTON, D.C. 20001

TABLE OF CONTENTS

ARGUMENT ccccevsesscesecscensecoovecsesnosionsosonaneseniuteonentasctontng

The requirements of 28 U.S.C. § 2253, which
governs federal appellate jurisdiction to hear
this case, have not been met because applicant
has not made a substantial showing of the
denial of a constitutional right ..........:ccececeeseeees

The Optional Protocol to the Vienna Conven-
tion on Consular Relations, the United Nations
Charter and the Statute of the International
Court of Justice do not obligate the courts of
the United States to implement the Avena
decision of the International Court of Justice,
and any interpretation of these treaties to the
contrary would raise substantial constitutional
COTRGUTTE 2 .ccxscicccersenesesebiesincitinntiecinnbiammniaaiianas

(i)

il
TABLE OF CONTENTS—Continued

Neither comity nor the need for uniformity in
treaty interpretation justifies a federal judicial
order requiring Texas to provide a hearing on
petitioner's Vienna Convention claim. No
other country has understood the Vienna Con-
vention as obligating its courts to implement
the ICJ’s interpretation of the Vienna Con-
vention. It is not generally the practice of other
countries to interpret their treaty commitments
as delegating to international bodies the
authority to render judgments in particular
disputes that will have direct effect in
domestic law, especially as to persons who do
not have standing to participate in such bodies’
INIT ciccikauiltinnsnusentenctnipestensecctnaniberpeeneesenees

SLA II scrleninthcteeeistinnendsirernntptedtocedinqnesenesenenstooes

Page

ili
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES

Alling v. United States, 114 U.S. 562 (1885) ........
Argentine Republic v. Amerada Hess Shipping

Corp., 488 U.S. 428 (1989) .....cccccccceeeeseeeeeeees
Ashwander v. TVA, 297 U.S. 298 (1936)..........00++
Breard v. Greene, 523 U.S. 371 (1998)..........:cc00e-
Chapman v. Houston Welfare Rights Organi-

zation, 441 U.S. 600 (1979)... ccceccceseeeeeeeeeees
Cherokee Tobacco Case, 78 U.S. 616 (1871).......
Chevron USA Inc. v. NRDC, Inc., 467 U.S. 837

Coleman v. Thompson, 501 U.S. 722 (1991)........
Committee of United States Citizens Living in
Nicaragua v. Reagan, 859 F.2d 929 (D.C. Cir.

Dames & Moore v. Regan, 453 U.S. 654 (1981)...
Dretke v. Haley, 541 U.S. 386 (2004) oo... ccccceeeee
Electronic Datas Systems Corp. Iran v. Social

Security Org., 651 F.2d 1007 (Sth Cir. 1981)...
Fay v. Noia, 372 U.S. 391 (1963).....cccscceseeeeseeeeee
Foster v. Neilson, 27 U.S. (2 Pet.) 253 (1829)......
Frelinghuysen v. Key, 110 U.S. 63 (1884)...........
Great Western Insurance Co. v. United States,

Ee Ae OEE CIEE enenenrictantenecicensesencitbenesnecasins
Head Money Cases, 112 U.S. 580 (1884) .............
Hilton v. Guyot, 159 U.S. 113, 164 (1895)............
Islamic Republic of Iran v. Boeing Co., 771 F.2d

SEL CID ccnttihiinscmpiverinmatincsmadepsicies
La Abra Silver Mining Co. v. United States, 175

ey EE chctentccssnccsopepsssvigiesetamsenenbiiptnicen
Maine v. Thiboutot, 448 U.S. 1 (1980) ..........c00000

12-14
18
21

18
9
4, 10
17

17
10
21

iV
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Marbury v. Madison, 5 U.S. (1 Cranch) 137

CRT Poe Cra LT ee
McCleskey v. Zant, 499 U.S. 467 (1991)...
Miller-El v. Cockrell, 537 U.S. 322 (2003)...........
Murray v. Schooner Charming Betsy, 6 U.S.

Cam GE CHO sccicnntsininniatnaacbiitintitiaatiiiiniadas
Murphy v. Netherland, 116 F.3d 97 (4th

as aan he NN Ne ee
Oliphant v. Suquamish Indian Tribe, 435

SREB e COUPE decccisivcasnninsitnaitaauniniitemnintlaiend.
Plaut v. Spendthrift Farm, Inc., 514 U.S. 211

CF eccnacnsisniceniciipalitinsitsiaaiiiniittinaitie tienes
Reid v. Covert, 354 U.S. 1 (1957) ..........ccsceeeseeeeees
Slack v. McDaniel, 529 U.S. 473 (2000)...............
Sosa v. Alvarez-Machain, 542 U.S. __ (2004)......
Swift & Co. v. Wickham, 382 U.S. 111 (1965)......
Torres v. Oklahoma, No. PCD-04-442 (Okla.

CUER, RE, Baie ep cccssncensseesetnvsesnisintacionnincannitiinies
United States v. Blaine, 139 U. S. 306 (1891).......
United States v. de la Maza Arredondo, 31 U.S.

DR ky ae aa
United States v. Dion, 476 U.S. 734 (1986) ..........
United States v. Lopez, 514 U.S. 549 (1995).........
United States v. Louisiana, 470 U.S. 93 (1985)....
United States v. Maine, 475 U.S. 89 (1986)..........
United States v. Morrison, 529 U.S. 598 (2000)...
United States v. Percheman, 32 U.S. (7 Pet.) 51

United States v. Schooner Peggy, 5 U.S. (1

| ee ee ae ae
United States v. Weld, 127 U.S. 51 (1888).............
Whitney v. Robertson, 124 U.S. 190 (1888)..........
Zschernig v. Miller, 389 U.S. 429 (1968)..............

Page

es hae ita il

v
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

CONSTITUTION, STATUTES, TREATIES TO
WHICH THE UNITED STATES IS A PARTY,

AND EXECUTIVE AGREEMENTS Page
Ch CIID cccscsresrescnensnihisnnpinscstiienstnstnaiiaeneasen 4,19
ls Be EY cncecscnsectnsneastatiliennnitinniahapanls 18
9D CREE, & Bei cccccesastennsensienemngsniiistisiecinanstions 15
Se ie He Py CR ccceresccsccociscccetscctninnnnst 15
y Lit BE: . | + . Sanaa ennmeney 7 ona 6
BD Bohs & TAG cecevicensncecseerenecisiiiviniiiantniaivictasen 6
BD Ui ilics BBD. cscsncmcsccsescenercsnmnnmstpeinstoinsiesi 6
Se UB, BD Fe a ecenccinccsccsseimisvinsncenipieiintin 6
BD Bilis © SOIIR cccniccisnncescctnatitwijutanientneiabeecini 17
BB CE, FEED cqtcrteincrnnineniintinnnnmniigniae 2-3, 6-7
BO UB, Ge cxcccscesenctnecassssipssvitinunintntitgiiaiy 6
Be UBL, Be ccceensttsscascensipintsegitapnienisindaias 5
Convention on the Settlement of Investment
Disputes Between States and Nationals of
Other States, Mar. 18, 1965, 17 U.S.T. 1270,
T.LA.S. No. 6090, 575 U.N.T.S. 159 .......ccccee0es 15
Uruguay Round Trade Agreements, April 15,
1994, 1868 U.N.T.S. 3, H.R. Doc. 103-316
(BBG, ccececenrscsrnnsnssvinsinnninasiactianinivesiidaiiniatianings 16
North American Free Trade Agreement, Dec. 17,
1992, H.R. Doc. 103-159 (1993), 32 LL.M.
GD (Bei evcrececcecncessccsntpnictinesinnatamneneiipianvidenante 15-17
North American Free Trade Agreement Imple-
mentation Act of 1993, § 102(b)(2) (codified
at 19 U.S.C. § S312(ONZ)) ..cccrccccecesoacssecsccessesoree 16
Optional Protocol to the Vienna Convention on
Consular Relations Concerning the Compul-
sory Settlement of Disputes, April 24, 1963,
21 U.S.T. 325, 596 U.N.T.S. 487 ...ccccccccessseeeees passim
Statute of the International Court of Justice, June
Bb, 1D4D, FO Batt, COGS ecccesinmnsesiemntinmasccnin 9, 12-14

vi
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued
Page
United Nations Charter, June 26, 1945, 59 Stat.
GEIS cicegsesniesnnintentibinapenttipennapensaeiisiniatiomoualin 9, 13-14
United Nations Convention on the Recognition

and Enforcement of Foreign Arbitral Awards,
June 10, 1958, 21 U.S.T. 2517, T.LA.S. No.

Uruguay Round Agreements Act of 1994,
§ 102(b)(2) (codified at 19 USC.

FE Fea R cnrcestescnieninenattninscuaienpininninivetaniaiaiion 16
Vienna Convention on Consular Relations, April
24, 1963, 21 U.S.T. 77, 596 U.N.T.S. 261 ........ passim
LEGISLATIVE MATERIALS

Vienna Convention on Consular Relations, Sen.
Exec. Rpt. 91-9 (1969) (Statement of J.
Edward Lyerly, Deputy Legal Adviser for
I wesincsstinicantitcaninitiiniiiniasicititmantiinieitins 12

OTHER TREATIES

European Convention for the Protection of
Human Rights and Fundamental Freedoms,
Nov. 4, 1950, 213 U.N.T.S. 221 ..........ccsssceesees 24
Consolidated Version of the Treaty Establishing
the European Community, Dec. 24, 2002, O.J.

ee Fe ae Ge vistcctierentiecematinntiianthitninnniis 26
MISCELLANEOUS
A v. Secretary of State, 2004 UKHL 4 42 (HLL.
Ae ccencavtinaninticasipteesinniciaiiaciiijeiattnitibdaepiiabinnae 25
A.Racke GmbH & Co. v. Hauptzollamt Mainz
(Case C-162/96), 1998 E.C.R.1-3655S ........c00000+ 26

Accession by the Communities to the Convention
for the Protection of Human Rights and
Fundamental Freedoms (Opinion 2/94), 1996
alias "EU nnscmcicniininnsdebieipbiansibienanlentabinibiniabens 27

fa ee ee

Bias bs oY

Vil
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page
Anklagemyndigheden v. Poulsen (Case C-
286/90), 1992 E.C.R. 1-6019 cc cccccccecscseeeeeeees 26
Avena and Other Mexican Nationals (Mexico v.
United States), 2004 L,I. ......ccccccccseseseseeeeees 7, 9, 22-23

Brunner v. The European Union Treaty, [1994] 1
C.M.L.R. 57 (German Federal Constitutional
CREED ..cocsneaishetnsocniclineqnateasnbapunseniaitsimianuictongusniinnte 25

Curtis A. Bradley, /nternational Delegations,
the Structural Constitution, and Non-Self-

Execution, 55 STAN. L. REV. 1557 (2003) ......... 20
Curtis A. Bradley, Chevron Deference and For-
eign Affairs, 86 Va. L. Rev. 649 (2000) ............ 22

Case Concerning Military and Paramilitary
Activities in and against Nicaragua (Nica-
ragua v. United States of America), 1986
Sih celln DP iecveunislinwectisictesanitasisthanipdautiiendhblidinensuniibenties 12, 13
Jim C. Chen, Appointments with Disaster: The
Unconstitutionality of Binational Arbitral Re-
view under the United States-Canada Free
Trade Agreement, 49 WASH. & LEE L. REV.

DET CoD icentrcccscenisttnsstiinistpisitiinttibiinaategiininiis 20
Chiquita Brands International v. Commission
(Case T-19/0]), 2005 E.C.R. Te co.cc cece ee eeeee eens 27

Rosalyn Higgins, The ICJ, the ECJ, and the
Integrity of International Law, 52 INTL &
CORP. CKD. © Ge ccctncntatiasincittnnbcniietinaieavinn 27

Human Rights Act 1998, ch. 42 (Eng.) ........:00s000 25

Julian G. Ku, The State of New York Does Exist:

How the States Control Compliance with In-
ternational Law, 82 N.C. L. REV. 457 (2004) ... 20

Regina v. Secretary of State for Transport ex
parte Factortame Ltd., [1991] 1 All E.R. 70
CRE od scinscianisesehiccensntstnhineaiimmamipelenainiintisianin 25

Vill
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Constanze Schulte, COMPLIANCE WITH DECI-
SIONS OF THE INTERNATIONAL COURT OF
ITE Ce citisdeniiacetdentininiicensisiitetnbiiiiaiiiiaiianaias

THE EXECUTION OF STRASBOURG AND GERMAN
HUMAN RIGHTS DECISIONS IN THE NATIONAL
LEGAL ORDER (Tom Barkhuysen et al. eds.

War Crimes Case Against Former Foreign
Minister “Inadmissible,” AFRICA NEWS, Apr.

Mark Weisburd, J/nternational Courts and
American Courts, 21 Mich. J. INTL L. 877

Page

24

INTEREST OF THE AMICI CURIAE

Amici are professors and scholars of law with
expertise in international law, federal jurisdiction, and
the foreign relations law of the United States. This case
raises important questions concerning the authority of an
international tribunal to make direct changes in a core area of
U.S. domestic law, namely the procedural prerequisites for an
individual’s assertion of a legal right in the course of
a criminal prosecution. Acceptance of the arguments put
forward by petitioners would disregard the authority of
Congress to determine the conditions under which federal
courts can exercise habeas jurisdiction and bring about
an unprecedented, profound, and, in our view, undesirable
change in the relationship between international organizations
and domestic lawmaking in the United States.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

Pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 2253(c)(2), a habeas
petitioner must make a “substantial showing of the denial of a
constitutional right” in order to appeal a federal district
court’s refusal to issue a writ. The petitioner here alleges only
the violation of a right based on a treaty, which presents no
independent constitutional claim. Even if there were no
statutory bar to the consideration of petitioner’s claim at this
stage of habeas review, decisions of the International Court of
Justice are not directly enforceable in U.S. courts.
Compelling the lower federal courts to implement a decision
of the International Court of Justice, which can hear only
disputes between sovereigns, would bring about an
unprecedented upheaval in the relationship of international
bodies to our domestic law. In particular, the use of an
international body’s determination to invalidate a State’s
appropriate and neutral procedural default rule may very well
violate fundamental principles of federalism, the separation

9

—

of powers, and Article Ill. Considerations of comity and
uniform treaty interpretation do not support this outcome. To
the contrary, other countries’ legal systems, as well as the
European Court of Justice, generally do not recognize such a
delegation of lawmaking power to an international body.

ARGUMENT

I. The requirements of 28 U.S.C. § 2253, which
governs federal appellate jurisdiction to hear this
case, have not been met because applicant has not
made a substantial showing of the denial of a
constitutional right.

Both lower courts in this case denied petitioner a
certificate of appealability pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 2253, as
amended by the Antiterrorism and Effective Death Penalty
Act of 1996. Through this provision, Congress limited
appeals of a federal district judge’s habeas review of state
criminal convictions to those instances where “the applicant
has made a substantial showing of the denial of a
constitutional right.” On several occasions this Court has
recognized that satisfaction of this standard is a jurisdictional
prerequisite to appellate consideration of a habeas application
and that § 2253 limits judicial review to consideration of
claims based on constitutional rights. Miller-El v. Cockrell,
537 U.S. 322, 336 (2003); Slack v. McDaniel, 529 U.S. 473,
484 (2000).

Before this Court, petitioner alleges no violation of
any constitutional right. Rather, his claims rest only on
the Vienna Convention on Consular Relations, April 24,
1963, 21 U.S.T. 77, 596 U.N.T.S. 261 (Vienna Convention),
and the Optional Protocol to the Vienna Convention on

Consular Relations Concerning the Compulsory Settlement of
Disputes, April 24, 1963, 21 U.S.T. 325, 596 U.N.T.S. 487

3

(Optional Protocol). Neither of these international treaties
establishes a constitutional right, and a violation of their
provisions does not constitute a “denial of a constitutional
right” within the meaning of § 2253.

In Murphy v. Netherland, 116 F.3d 97 (4th Cir.),
cert. denied, 521 U.S. 1144 (1997), the Fourth Circuit held
that a Mexican national’s allegation that Virginia had
violated his rights under the Vienna Convention did not
satisfy the requirements for issuance of a certificate of
appealability under § 2253. In particular, the court rejected
the argument that the term “constitutional right” in that
statute encompassed claims derived from the Supremacy
Clause:

Although states may have an obligation under
the Supremacy Clause to comply with the
provisions of the Vienna Convention, the
Supremacy Clause does not convert violations
of treaty provisions (regardless whether those
provisions can be said to create individual
rights) into violations of constitutional rights.

Murphy v. Netherland, supra, at 99-100.

The Murphy court’s argument clearly is correct.
The Supremacy Clause expresses a fundamental principle
about the relationship of federal and state law, but does
not vest any rights or interests in people as such. This Court
and Congress both appreciate the important distinction
between constitutional rights, which exist independent of any
legislative decisions, and other rights under federal law,
which depend on the existence of duly authorized enactments.
This Court and Congress also have recognized that treaty

4

rights, to the extent they exist, stand on the same footing as
those based on a federal statute. '

For over two hundred years this Court has stated that
treaties, to the extent they create any rights over which a court
can take cognizance, have exactly the same status as
legislation enacted by Congress. United States v. Schooner
Pegey, 5 U.S. (1 Cranch) 103, 110 (1801); Foster v. Neilson,
27 USS. (2 Pet.) 253, 314 (1829); Whitney v. Robertson, 124
U.S. 190, 194 (1888); Reid v. Covert, 354 U.S. 1, 18 (1957)
(plurality opinion); Breard v. Greene, 523 U.S. 371, 376
(1998). This concept of the interchangeability of treaties and
other federal legislation for the purposes of judicial
decisionmaking extends to the construction of federal
statutes. Oliphant v. Suquamish Indian Tribe, 435 U.S. 191,
208 n.17 (1978) (same canons apply to Indian treaty and
statutory construction). Cf. Chickasaw Nation v. United
States, 534 U.S. 84, 99 (2001) (O’Connor, J., dissenting)
(same canons of construction apply to treaties and statutes;
form of enactment is irrelevant).

Especially instructive is Justice Harlan’s discussion of
the relationship of constitutional questions, the Supremacy
Clause, and treaty interpretation. In Zschernig v. Miller, 389
U.S. 429, 443-45 (1968) (concurring opinion), he argued that
the majority disregarded the prudential teaching of
Ashwander v. TVA, 297 U.S. 298, 341 (1936) (Brandeis, J.,
concurring), which calls for the avoidance of deciding

' As we argue in Part II of this brief below, an interpretation of the
Optional Protocol or other international instruments as binding the courts
of the United States to fulfill the orders of the International Court
of Justice would raise significant constitutional questions concerning
federalism, the separation of powers, and Article III. These structural
constitutional issues, however, do not entail the denial of any
constitutional right belonging to petitioner. Moreover, the constitutional
question would arise only if petitioner's treaty-based claim were accepted.

5

unnecessary constitutional questions, when it held that an
Oregon statute unconstitutionally encroached on the federal
power over foreign relations. In Harlan’s view, a treaty with
Germany provided a sufficient basis for invalidating the
statute. In a footnote, he recognized that either approach
entailed the invocation of a constitutional provision to nullify
a State statute, but he explained that using the Supremacy
Clause does not involve constitutional adjudication within the
meaning of the Ashwander doctrine:

It is true, of course, that the treaty would
displace the Oregon statute only by virtue of
the Supremacy Clause of the Constitution. Yet
I think it plain that this fact does not render
inapplicable the teachings of Ashwander.
Disposition of the case pursuant to the treaty
would involve no interpretation of the
Constitution, and this is what the Ashwander
rules seek to bring about.

389 U.S. at 445 n. 4.

This Court consistently has understood a statutory
reference to constitutional issues as not extending to statutory
or treaty questions in spite of the background role of the
Supremacy Clause. For example, in Swift & Co. v. Wickham,
582 U.S. 111 (1965), the Court interpreted 28 U.S.C. § 2281,
a statute requiring the use of a three-judge court to hear
challenges to state statutes based “upon the ground of the
unconstitutionality of such statute.” The Court had no
difficulty deciding that a claim that a State statute conflicted
with federal legislation did not fall within this jurisdictional
p:vvision, notwithstanding the necessity of the Supremacy
Clause to the plaintiffs’ claim. /d. at 120-23. The Court noted
that a consistent line of earlier decisions had taken for granted
that arguments grounded on the Supremacy Clause did not

6

impugn the constitutionality of a statute within the meaning
of § 2281. Similarly, in Chapman vy. Houston Welfare Rights
Organization, 441 U.S. 600, 612-15 (1979), the Court
interpreted 28 U.S.C. § 1343(3)’s reference to “any right,
privilege or immunity secured . . . by the Constitution” as not
extending to Supremacy Clause claims. Cf. Maine v.
Thiboutot, 448 U.S. 1 (1980) (interpreting 42 U.S.C. § 1983
as extending to cases of conflicts between federal and state
law because of statute’s use of term “and laws,” not because
Supremacy Clause claims rest on Constitution).

Acts of Congress dealing with the jurisdiction of the
federal courts consistently reflect an understanding that
claims based on the constitution, within the meaning of these
Statutes, are distinct from those based on other sources of
federal law, even when asserted against the States under the
Supremacy Clause. Of direct relevance here is 28 U.S.C.
§ 2254(a), which authorizes federal courts to hear challenges
to a State criminal conviction on the ground that
the applicant’s custody is “in violation of the Constitution
or laws or treaties of the United States.” See also, e.g., 28
U.S. § 1254(2) (appellate jurisdiction of Supreme Court);
§ 1257(a) (certiorari jurisdiction of Supreme Court); § 1258
(Supreme Court jurisdiction as to judgments of Puerto Rican
courts); § 1331 (federal question jurisdiction of federal
courts). In each of these instances, the reference to the
laws and treaties of the United States would be superfluous
if Congress believed that a reference to constitutional
claims incorporated treaty violations. Swift & Co. v.
Wickham, supra, at 126; Chapman ». Houston Welfare Rights
Organization, supra, at 614-15. The contrast between
the language of §2254(a) and the standards for appeal
under § 2253(c)(2), in light of this longstanding and well
established jurisprudence, leads to an irresistible inference
that Congress did not authorize the federal courts to entertain
claims based on violation of a treaty when hearing appeals
from denials of habeas petitions.

7

The argument that § 2253 does not apply in this case
because of conflicting and superior authority is not plausible.
To the extent one can perceive any inconsistency between the
Vienna Convention and the requirements of § 2253, the latter
enacted statute, adopted in 1996, clearly would prevail over
the Convention, which went into effect as to the United States
in 1969. Breard v. Greene, supra, at 376. The decision of the
International Court of Justice in Avena and Other Mexican
Nationals (Mexico v. United States), 2004 1.C.J. 1, is not an
independent subsequent enactment, but rather one body’s
interpretation of the meaning of the earlier Convention. Thus
neither the Optional Protocol nor the Avena decision can
override the clear and later-in-time limitation on appellate
court jurisdiction found in § 2253.

Finally, while U.S. courts historically have sought to
interpret congressional enactments so as not to violate the
nation’s international obligations, see Murray v. Schooner
Charming Betsy, 6 U.S. (2 Cranch) 64 (1804), that doctrine
cannot apply here. First, this Court consistently has said that
it will not apply the Charming Betsy doctrine to frustrate the
clearly expressed intent of Congress. United States v. Dion,
476 U.S. 734 (1986); Whitney v. Robertson, 124 U.S. 190
(1888); Cherokee Tobacco Case, 78 U.S. 616 (1871). In light
of the language of § 2253(c)(2), the intent of Congress to
preclude nonconstitutional claims in federal habeas appeals is
unmistakable. Second, even if one were to conclude that the
Avena interpretation of the Vienna Convention constitutes an
accurate statement of the international law obligations of the
United States, nothing in the Avena decision compels federal
judicial review of petitioner’s claim. Cf. Torres v. Oklahoma,
No. PCD-04-442 (Okla. Crim. App. 2004). Thus, no conflict
exists between the statute and international law.

8

II. The Optional Protocol to the Vienna Convention
on Consular Relations, the United Nations Charter
and the Statute of the International Court of
Justice do not obligate the courts of the United
States to implement the Avena decision of the
International Court of Justice, and any
interpretation of these treaties to the contrary
would raise substantial constitutional concerns.

By not distinguishing the legal interests at stake in
this case, petitioner attempts to bootstrap a remarkable,
unprecedented and disturbing new rule of law onto several
well established and uncontroversial principles. The issue
here is not whether petitioner enjoys rights established by the
Vienna Convention that he may assert in a court in the United
States. Nor does it involve the willingness of this Court to
regard decisions of the International Court of Justice (ICJ) as
evidence of the content of international law in cases that
depend on international law for their resolution. See, ¢.g.,
United States v. Maine, 475 U.S. 89 (1986) (looking to 1951
ICJ decision as evidence of rule of decision to be applied in
dispute over seabed ownership); United States v. Louisiana,
470 U.S. 93 (1985) (same).” Rather, petitioner maintains that,
as a result of an order of the ICJ, the courts of the United
States have lost the authority to apply neutral procedural rules
in a criminal proceeding to ensure that a competently
represented criminal accused will assert claims based on
treaties in a timely manner. In particular, petitioner maintains
that exactly the procedural rules that this Court regards
as consistent with Texas’s obligation to safeguard rights

> On occasion this Court also has indicated a willingness to disregard
or narrow the scope of arguments based on ICJ judgments when
ascertaining the content of international law. See, e.g., Sosa v. Alvarez-
Machain, 542 U.S. __, 124 S. Ct. 2739, 2768 (2004) (ICJ decision in
Iranian embassy case did not establish a rule of law cognizable under 28
U.S.C. § 1350 prohibiting arbitrary detentions).

9

guaranteed by the Constitution of the United States are
insufficient to protect his interests under the Vienna
Convention. To reach this result, petitioner imputes to several
instruments of international law — the United Nations Charter,
June 26, 1945, 59 Stat. 1031(UN Charter), the Statute of the
International Court of Justice, June 26, 1945, 59 Stat. 1055
(Statute of the ICJ), and the Optional Protocol — a meaning
that is unprecedented in U.S. practice and which, if accepted,
would raise substantial constitutional issues.

We note some of the practical implications of
accepting petitioner’s argument:

e First, the Avena decision of the ICJ seems to require
that an accused receive a post-conviction hearing to
consider claims based on the Vienna Convention,
even if a well counseled accused were deliberately to
bypass an opportunity to raise the claim during the
course of trial. Avena, supra, at 45-46, 51-52. Such an
outcome would endow criminal defendants eligible to
invoke the Vienna Convention with a strategic
weapon, unavailable to all others accused of a crime,
that this Court long has recognized as inconsistent
with general standards of equity and administrability.
E.g., Fay v. Noia, 372 U.S. 391, 433, 438 (1963).

e Second, the Avena decision applies to all persons with
a Vienna Convention claim, not just to thdse
sentenced to death, and thus opens the way for
perhaps many thousands of demands for post-
conviction review,

e Third, a holding that the decision of the United States
to submit to international adjudication, without more,
creates rights that individuals can assert in domestic
courts likely would inhibit the United States from

10

submitting to international adjudication in the future,
and may induce the United States to denounce the
Optional Protocol and other existing commitments to
international adjudication.

None of these unwanted outcomes is inevitable,
because under U.S. law as traditionally understood none of
the international treaties at issue in this case provides a basis
for application of the Avena order by our domestic courts.
U.S. law on the role of international obligations in the
domestic legal order is clear, at least at the structural level.
On the one hand, the United States intends that some of its
treaties be self-executing, in the sense that they will supply a
rule of decision that courts must apply in a lawsuit. On the
other hand, this Court often has recognized that the United
States may intend for a treaty to create obligations only on
the plane of international law and in the anticipation of
later implementation by the political branches. To ascertain
whether a treaty is self-executing or instead requires further
implementing enactments, a court must consider the treaty’s
text, the background assumptions of the parties as illustrated
by past practice, the general context, and other means
generally used for determining the intention of a legal
instrument’s authors. Compare Foster v. Neilson, supra, and
United States v. de la Muza“ Arredondo, 3\ U.S. (6 Pet.) 691
(1832), with Murray v. Schooner Peggy, supra, and United
States v. Percheman, 32 U.S. (7 Pet.) 51 (1833). See also
Argentine Republic v. Amerada Hess Shipping Corp., 488
U.S. 428, 442-43 (1989); Head Money Cases, 112 U.S. 580,
598-99 (1884).

When one applies these general principles to the
treaties on which petitioner relies, the conclusion is
irresistible that the United States in each instance intended
not to create self-executing obligations with direct effect in
the U.S. domestic legal order. We discuss each in turn,

First, one must recognize that the Vienna Convention
and the Optional Protocol are distinct international
instruments with independent legal significance. We assume
for purposes of this dispute that the United States intended for
the Convention to be self-executing and to have direct effect
in U.S. law. There is no evidence, however, that the United
States or any other state party regards the Optional Protocol -
as also self-executing or having direct effect. It would have
been remarkable if any party had so believed this, given
the normal understanding of the relationship between the
decisions of international bodies and domestic law.

Article I of the Optional Protocol provides:

Disputes arising out of the interpretation
or application of the Convention shall lie
within the compulsory jurisdiction of the
International Court of Justice and may
accordingly be brought before the Court by
an application made by any party to the
dispute being a Party to the present Protocol.
(emphasis added)

Petitioner argues in effect that the term “compulsory
jurisdiction” establishes not only the capacity of the ICJ to
render an authoritative determination of the questions in
dispute, but also the authority to enforce its decisions through
the automatic enlistment of other judiciaries to carry out its
orders. Yet Article I contains limitations that are clearly
inconsistent with such enforcement powers. By its terms,
Article I permits only a Party to appear before the ICJ. The
Optional Protocol thus reflects the general structure of ICJ
dispute resolution, which extends only to controversies
between and among sovereign states. Individuals have no

12

—

standing to appear on their own behalf before the ICJ, and can
derive no rights or interests directly from ICJ decisions. The
same, for that matter, is true of Texas, which is a subordinate
jurisdiction of the United States and not capable of being a
party to an ICJ proceeding. Neither can the ICJ hold anyone
other than a sovereign state responsible for violation of any
rights determined through its proceedings.”

Significantly, no court of the United States ever has
understood as self-executing a treaty pursuant to which the
United States has acceded to the compulsory jurisdiction of
the International Court of Justice. This Court never has
addressed the issue. The leading lower court decision is
Committee of United States Citizens Living in Nicaragua vy.
Reagan, 859 F.2d 929 (D.C. Cir. 1988). The plaintiffs there
argued that the United States’ ongoing disregard of an order
of the ICJ, arising out of a matter within the ICJ’s compulsory
jurisdiction, had caused them direct injuries for which a
federal court could grant relief. The ICJ had based its
jurisdiction on Article 36(2) of the Statute of the International
Court of Justice, pursuant to which the United States has
accepted the compulsory jurisdiction of the ICJ with respect
tO most international law disputes concerning other states."

3

To the extent the legislative history of the Optional Protocol is
relevant, one should note that a representative of the State Department
explained in testimony before the Senate, regarding the legal effect of the
Optional! Protocol, “[{i]f problems should arise regarding the interpretation
or application of the convention, such problems would probably be
resolved through diplomatic channels.” Vienna Convention on Consular
Relations, Sen. Exec. Rpt. 91-9, 19 (1969) (Statement of J. Edward
Lyerly, Deputy Legal Adviser for Administration). Additionally, “parties
to the optional protocol may agree to resort to . . . an arbitral tribunal” or
conciliation. /d (emphasis added). Nothing in this testimony suggests that
the United States anticipated that accession to the Optional Protocol
would open up literally thousands of future criminal convictions to federal
habeas review.

* Midway through the proceedings in the Nicaragua case, the United
States withdrew its consent to ICJ jurisdiction. The ICJ ruled that, as to

~~ he

4

13

Article 36(2) entailed an even greater and more
comprehensive derogation of sovereignty in favor of the ICJ
than does the Optional Protocol, yet the District of Columbia
Circuit court had no difficulty in finding that the ICJ order
had no effect on the domestic law of the United States.

A review of the other international treaties on which
petitioner relies buttresses the conclusion that he cannot
invoke the order of the ICJ in a U.S. court. Article 94(1)
of the UN Charter, a treaty to which the United States is a
party, imposes on states an obligation “to comply with the
decision of the International Court of Justice in any case to
which it is a party.” Article 94(2), however, specifies that
enforcement of that obligation rests with the UN Security
Council. No nation ever has inferred from Article 94(1) an
obligation on the part of a state’s judiciary independently to
compel compliance, and the Committee of United States
Citizens Living in Nicaragua court squarely rejected that
interpretation. It ruled that Article 94 “simply does not confer
rights on private individuals.” Committee of United States
Citizens Living in Nicaragua v. Reagan, supra, at 937.

The Statute of the International Court of Justice, also a
Treaty to which the United States is a party, reinforces this
conclusion. Article 59 of the Statute states expressly that:
“The decision of the Court has no binding force except
between the parties and in respect of that particular case.”
The court in Committee of United States Citizens Living in
Nicaragua, after quoting this language, observed:

Taken together, these Charter clauses make
clear that the purpose of establishing the

that dispute, this withdrawal was ineffective. Case Concerning Military
and Paramilitary Activities in and against Nicaragua (Nicaragua v.
United States of America), 1986 1.C.J. 14, 23-25. It proceeded to reach the
merits of the case and issued an order requiring the United States to end
its intervention in Nicaraguan affairs.

14

ICJ was to resolve disputes between national
governments. We find in these clauses no
intent to vest citizens who reside in a U.N.
member nation with authority to enforce an
ICJ decision against their own government.

/d. at 938 (citations omitted).

It is immaterial that here petitioner seeks to assert
rights under the Vienna Convention against a state of which
he is not a subject, rather than rights under general and
customary international law against his own government, or
that the ICJ order in Avena referred to petitioner, while the
order in the Nicaragua dispute did not expressly incorporate
the plaintiffs. Neither of these aspects of the case affects the
holding of the District of Columbia Circuit court: Pursuant to
UN Charter and the ICJ’s Statute, the ICJ can bind only
parties to a dispute. The Optional Protocol does not alter, but
rather confirms, this result. Under that treaty, Texas and
petitioner were not, and could not be, parties to an ICJ
proceeding.

The fundamental character of ICJ dispute resolution
as an exclusively interstate proceeding does not mean that
individuals may derive nothing of significance from the
outcome of an ICJ decision, or that compliance with a state’s
obligations, as determined by the ICJ, has nothing to do with
how that state treats particular individuals. Rather, Article I of
the Optional Protocol, like Article 94 of the UN Charter and
Article 59 of the Statute of the International Court of Justice,
reflects the traditional and widely recognized distinction
between the rights and obligations of states in relation to each
other, the traditional subject of international law, and the
legal mechanisms through which a state acts in response to its

15

international obligations, which is ultimately a question of
domestic law. The ICJ has jurisdiction to determine that
the United States is responsible under international law for
the treatment of petitioner. It is up to U.S. law, however,
to determine which level and branch of government has
the authority to take steps to bring the United States into
compliance with its obligations to Mexico. And nothing in
U.S. law assigns that authority to the judiciary.

The limited scope of ICJ orders in the domestic legal
order of the United States is far from atypical. We are
unaware of *1y international instrument establishing a
tribunal’s compulsory jurisdiction that ever has sufficed in
and of itself to make that tribunal’s orders binding on U.S.
courts. Rather, some additional act of the political branches,
typically a separate statutory enactment, always has been a
prerequisite to giving an international tribunal the authority to
determine rights and duties in a manner that can bind the
courts of the United States.

Consider the case of investment disputes covered by
Chapter 11 of the North American Free Trade Agreement,
Dec. 17, 1992, H.R. Doc. 103-159 (1993), 32 LL.M. 605
(1992) (NAFTA). That agreement expressly incorporates the
Convention on the Settlement of Investment Disputes
Between States and Nationals of Other States, Mar. 18, 1965,
17 U.S.T. 1270, T.LA.S. No. 6090, 575 U.N.T.S. 159 (ICSID
Convention), a treaty to which the United States is a party.
See NAFTA Articles 1120, 1136, 1139. With respect to the
ICSID Convention, Congress enacted 22 U.S.C. §§ 1650,
1650a to enable U.S. courts to enforce arbitral awards against
states, including the United States. It is these statutory
provisions that enable a U.S. court to order enforcement of an
arbitral award based on NAFTA’s investor protection
obligations, and not any provision in NAFTA or the ICSID
Convention itself. Also noteworthy is 19 U.S.C. § 1516a,

16

which recognizes the authority of the international tribunals
stipulated by NAFTA to hear appeals from certain customs
determinations by U.S. administrative authorities. Each of
these instances illustrates the well entrenched pattern of U.S.
law: Additional legislation is a prerequisite to judicial
enforcement of the orders of an international tribunal, even
after the United States has consented to that tribunal’s
jurisdiction.

This pattern is, if anything, even clearer with respect
to dispute resolution under the auspices the World Trade
Organization (WTO). In approving the Uruguay Round
Trade Agreements, April 15, 1994, 1868 U.N.T.S. 3, H.R.
Doc. 103-316 (1994), Congress provided for the exclusive
authority of the Executive Branch to enforce WTO rules,
including the decisions of that organization’s dispute
resolution body. This legislation used identical language
to that approving NAFTA. In both instances, Congress
explicitly forbade the judiciary from invalidating any federal
or State law on the basis of the international agreement in
question, except in a lawsuit brought by the United States.
North American Free Trade Agreement Implementation Act
of 1993, § 102(b)(2) (codified at 19 U.S.C. § 3312(b)(2));
Uruguay Round Agreements Act of 1994, § 102(b)(2)
(codified at 19 U.S.C. § 3512(b)(2)).

Nor is dispute resolution under these trade agreements
sui generis.- The United State consistently has adopted
separate legislative authorization for any domestic judicial
enforcement power resulting from acceptance of international
adjudication. For example, on numerous occasions throughout
our history, the United States entered into international
agreements to settle disputes over iujuries suffered by
individuals. Often the agreement authorized a tribunal of
some sort to determine liability and damages, after which
one state would make a payment to the other. Since

OR EIRENE rvs

—

17

1863, federal statutory law has made _ the practice
of separate legislative authority for domestic judicial
enforcement explicit by forbidding the U.S. courts from
issuing money judgments against the United States based
solely on an international tribunal’s decision:

Except as otherwise provided by Act of
Congress, the United States Court of Federal
Claims shall not have jurisdiction of any claim
against the United States growing out of or
dependent upon any treaty entered into with
foreign nations.

28 U.S.C. § 1502.

This Court consistently has adhered to § 1502 while
reaffirming the general principle that, as to the federal
judiciary, the decisions of international tribunals affect only
sovereign rights and not the legally enforceable interests of
individuals. See, e.g., La Abra Silver Mining Co. v. United
States, 175 U.S. 423 (1899) (claim derived from Convention
Between Mexico aid the United States of 1868 subject
to judicial cousideration only pursuant to 1892 statute);
United States v. Blaine, 139 U. S. 306, 323 (1891) (same
Convention: “The government assumed the responsibility of
presenting his claim, and made it its own in seeking redress in
respect to it.”); United States v. Weld, 127 U.S. 51 (1888)
(1871 Treaty of Washington); Alling v. United States, 114
U.S. 562 (1885) (1868 Mexico-United States Convention);
Great Western Insurance Co. v. United States, 112 U.S.
193 (1884) (1871 Treaty of Washington); Frelinghuysen v.
Key, 110 U. S. 63, 74 (1884) (1868 Mexico-United States
Convention: “No nation treats with a citizen of another nation
except through his government.”).°

* The Brief Amicus Curiae of the Government of the United
Mexican States in Support of Petitioner, at 4-11, refers to NAFTA and the

18

Contemporary cases confirm this understanding of
the relationship between international claims settlement
and domestic law. In particular, Dames & Moore v. Regan,
453 U.S. 654 (1981), recognized that the legal basis for
establishing the Iranian claims settlement process, which
entailed extinguishing the right to bring lawsuits in the United
States and instead relegating claimants to an international
tribunal, comprised Treasury Regulations issued pursuant to
Statutory authority and the President’s Article II powers to
conduct foreign relations, and not the agreement between the
two states itself. Cf. Dames & Moore v. Regan at 689-90
(indicating that any subsequent takings claims for losses
caused by extinction of lawsuits would not be derived
from the international agreement). Subsequent cases have
confirmed that the Treasury Regulations, and not the terms of
the international agreement, determine the legal basis of
claims related to the Iranian dispute. /slamic Republic of Iran
v. Boeing Co., 771 F.2d 1279 (9th Cir. 1985); Electronic
Datas Systems Corp. Iran v. Social Security Org., 651 F.2d
1007 (Sth Cir. 1981).°

Convention that was the subject of the Court’s decisions in the above
cases as examples of binding dispute resolution. It fails to note, however,

that none of the cited instances involved an international agreement that of —

its own force produced direct effects in the domestic legal order of the
United States.

" Similarly, U.S. judicial enforcement of international arbitral awards
produced in accordance with the United Nations Convention on the
Recognition and Enforcement of Foreign Arbitral Awards, June 10, 1958,
21 U.S.T. 2517, T.LA.S. No. 6997, a treaty to which the United States is a
party, rests on separate legislation, specifically 9 U.S.C. §§ 201-07. This
legisiation limits the scope of the U.S. obligations to arbitrations of a
commercial nature and provides expressly that only parties to an
arbitration to which the Convention applies can invoke this enforcement
power. /d. §§ 202, 207.

19

Were this Court, by interpreting the Optional Protocol as self-
executing, to depart from two centuries of consistent practice
and widely held assumptions about the relationship of
domestic law to international tribunals, it then would
face substantial constitutional questions. In the context of
this case, involving a state’s administration of its criminal
justice process, the interposition of an international tribunal’s
authority would raise novel issues about the limits of
our federalism, the requirements of Article III, and the
constitutional separation of powers. This Court consistently
has recognized and safeguarded the primacy of the States’
role in the administration of criminal justice, e.g., United
States v. Morrison, 529 U.S. 598, 618 (2000); United
States v. Lopez, 514 U.S. 549, 561 (1995). The Court also
has understood Article III] as_ protecting the judicial
department from interference by the other departments. Plaut
v. Spendthrift Farm, Inc., 514 U.S. 211 (1995). It would be
remarkable, to say the least, to hold simultaneously that a
particular legal instrument constituted federal law subject to
adjudication, but that this Court lacked the ultimate authority
to determine what it means. Cf. Marbury v. Madison, 5 U.S.
(1 Cranch) 137, 177 (1803) (“It is emphatically the province
and duty of the judicial department to say what the law is.”).
Transgression of these constitutional principles would be
problematic, even if brought about by a treaty rather than a
statute adopted by both Houses of Congress. Reid v. Covert,
354 U.S. 1, 16 (1957) (plurality opinion) (“The obvious and
decisive answer to this, of course, is that no agreement with a
foreign nation can confer power on the Congress, or on any
other branch of Government, which is free from the restraints
of the Constitution.”).

Due to the unprecedented nature of petitioner’s
argument, no court has had to confront these constitutional
questions. The scholarly literature, although necessarily
speculative, suggests that the issues are grave and significant.

20

See, e.g., Curtis A. Bradley, /nternational Delegations, the
Structural Constitution, and Non-Self-Execution, 55 STAN. L.
REV. 1557, 1567-80 (2003) (discussing separation of powers
and Article III problems raised by self-executing ICJ
judgments); Jim C. Chen, Appointments with Disaster: The
Unconstitutionality of Binational Arbitral Review under the
United States-Canada Free Trade Agreement, 49 WASH. &
Lee L. Rev. 1455 (1992); Julian G. Ku, The State of
New York Does Exist: How the States Control Compliance
with International Law, 82 N.C. L. REV. 457, 510-521 (2004)
(discussing federalism problems of self-executing ICJ
judgments); A. Mark Weisburd, /nternational Ceuris and
American Courts, 21 MICH. J. INT’L L. 877, 891-900 (2000)
(discussing Article III problems with self-executing ICJ
judgments). The general policy of avoidance of difficult and
significant constitutional questions should provide this Court
with a further reason for not giving the Optional Protocol a
gloss that neither the plain language of the treaties nor the
longstanding understanding of their meaning supports.

III. Neither comity nor the need for uniformity in
treaty interpretation justifies a federal judicial
order requiring Texas to provide a hearing on
petitioner’s Vienna Convention claim. No other
country has understood the Vienna Convention as
obligating its courts to implement the ICJ’s
interpretation of the Vienna Conveution. It is not
generally the practice of other countries to
interpret their treaty commitments as delegating to
international bodies the authority to render
judgments in particular disputes that will have
direct effect in domestic taw, especially as to
persons who do not have standing to participate in
such bodies’ proceedings.

Petitioner argues that even if the orders of the ICJ
do not have direct effect in U.S. law so that a U.S. court

21

must enforce them, the judiciary nonetheless should offer
enforcement in a spirit of “comity” with the ICJ and support
for uniform treaty interpretation. Brief for Petitioner at 45-50.
These arguments are misconceived at several levels.

First, the doctrine of comity, which has its origins in
the Treaty of Westphalia and the concepts of sovereign
power that the settlement of the Thirty Years War established,
applies to sovereigns, not to international bodies that
themselves are the product of international agreements.
Hilton v. Guyot, 159 U.S. 113, 164 (1895), clearly states that
comity constitutes “the recognition which one nation allows
within its territory to the legislative, executive, or judicial acts
of another nation.” (emphasis added). This distinction is not a
mere formality: International law rests on the choices and
behavior of states. An international organization is the
creature of international law, and has only so much authority
as the instrument that establishes it specifies. Extending
the authority of an international body through common law
doctrines such as comity circumvents, rather than reinforces,
the choices made in the body’s foundational instrument.

Second, even if the comity doctrine were applicable
here, the policy judgments on which it rests must give way in
the face of well established and widely accepted domestic
policy. This Court has reaffirmed the necessity of neutral
procedural rules to ensure the timely consideration of all legal
rights of a criminal accused. It has observed on many
occasions that its upholding of State procedural-default rules
reflects a respect for “finality, comity, and the orderly
administration of justice.” Dretke v. Haley, 541 U.S. 386, __,
124 S. Ct. 1847, 1849 (2004). See Coleman v. Thompson, 501
U.S. 722, 726 (1991); McCleskey v. Zant, 499 U.S. 467, 493
(1991). There has been no claim here that the rules applied by
Texas to determine whether petitioner forfeited his claim

22

under the Vienna Convention represent any kind of hostility
to, or subversion of, any federally protected interest, whether
derived from the Constitution or other federal law. Allowing
the desire to show proper respect to the ICJ to outweigh the
authority of Texas to develop and apply neutral procedural
rules would constitute an unprecedented sacrifice of crucial
local interests to an inchoate and ultimately unfounded
international concern. As we noted above, the implications
of such a decision would include requiring the federal courts
to review many thousands of criminal convictions based
on claims of Vienna Convention violations and providing
persons from Vienna Convention countries accused of a
crime with a remarkable weapon for strategic use of these
claims.

Neither does this case present any issue about uniform
treaty interpretation. A conclusion that the political branches
of the United States, and not the judiciary, have the

” The Brief of Former United States Diplomats as Amici Curiae

in Support of Petitioner, at 26 n. 55, suggests the relevance of an
analogy between the deference federal courts typically give to agency
interpretations of their authorizing statutes, see Chevron USA Inc. vy.
NRDC, Inc., 467 U.S. 837 (1984), and the interpretation that the
International Court of Justice has given to a treaty. One should note first
that the source cited in the footnote refers to deference given to the views
of other signatories, not to the views of international tribunals established
by such treaties. Second, Amici’s argument confuses the questions of, on
the one hand, interpreting the meaning of a treaty and the international
obligations it imposes, and, on the other hand, determining how, under its
domestic law, a state should implement its international law obligation.
This case involves only the latter question, and on this issue neither the
views of the ICJ or those of signatories to the Vienna Convention deserve
any deference. If any governmental actor merits Chevron deference on the
question of how the United States should implement its international
obligations, it is the President, who under Article II has responsibility for
conducting the foreign relations of the United States. Curtis A. Bradley,
Chevron Deference and Foreign Affairs, 86 VA. L. REV. 649 (2000).

23

responsibility of determining how the United States will meet
its obligations under the Vienna Convention in no way
conflicts with the ICJ’s interpretation of that Convention. To
the contrary, the Avena decision determined only the content
of the obligations imposed by the Convention, and not the
process by which the United States can choose to bring itself
into compliance with those obligations. The affirmance by
this Court of the decision of the court below will not interfere
in any way with the power of the President and Congress to
pursue measures to satisfy Mexico’s interests, as determined
by the Avena decision.

Were this Court to regard the Avena decision as
obligating the judiciary of the United States, and not the
political branches, to implement the Vienna Convention, it
would depart from, rather than reinforce, generally accepted
international understandings about the relationship between
international obligations and domestic law. Other countries
do not normally interpret a treaty acceding to the jurisdiction
of an international tribunal as imposing on domestic courts
the responsibility for enforcing the orders of such tribunals.
The only significant exception to this principle is the case of
the judicial bodies of the European Community. But the
European Community constitutes a sui generis attempt to
create an extensive legal regime embracing the member
states, not a template for general international law. And even
the European Court of Justice, the principal judicial body of
the European Community, has rejected the possibility that it
could act as an enforcing agent for any other international
tribunal.

Considering first the International Court of Justice,
our research has turned up no instance where a nation has
clearly embraced the principle of direct enforcement of ICJ
orders. The universal practice is to regard ICJ decisions as
important evidence of the content of international law in
cases where such law is relevant to a matter otherwise before

24

a national court, but not as independent grounds for a national
court's authority. Nations understand that their legislatures
and governments, not their judiciaries, have the primary
responsibility for bringing themselves into compliance with
ICJ orders. We are unaware of any instance, and petitioner
and the various amici in support of petitioner cite to no
instance, where another state through a court decision has
mandated the direct enforcement of an ICJ order.” For a
comprehensive review of foreign judicial decisions rejecting
direct enforcement of ICJ decisions, see A. Mark Weisburd,
International Courts and American Courts, supra, at 886-87.

European practice regarding the European Court of
Human Rights also is instructive. This international tribunal
oversees compliance with the European Convention for the
Protection of Human Rights and Fundamental Freedoms,
Nov. 4, 1950, 213 U.N.T.S. 221, a treaty with 45 parties that

The Brief of International Law Experts as Amicus Curiae in Support
of Petitioner, at 25, cites the dismissal of an arrest warrant by a Belgian
court as an instance of a national court enforcing an order of the ICJ. A
review of the press account cited as the source of this claim, however,
reveals that the Belgian judges did nor base their decision on the order of
the ICJ. According to the press account:

They based their judgment on an article of the Code of
Criminal Procedure of 1878, which stipulates that cases
against foreigners relating to offences committed abroad
can only be tried if the foreign national in question is on
Belgian soil at the time the case is brought.

War Crimes Case Against Former Foreign Minister “Inadmissible,”
AFRICA NEws, Apr. 17, 2002, available in LEXIS, News Library, Allnws
File. For independent confirmation of the accuracy of the press report, and
of the inaccuracy of the Brief of International Law Experts, see Constanze
Schulte, COMPLIANCE WITH DECISIONS OF THE INTERNATIONAL COURT OF
JUSTICE 270 (2004).

25

protects basic human rights in the covered countries. Since
1998, individuals have had the right to bring a case directly to
the European Court of Human Rights. But enforcement of
its judgments, including orders for compensation, depends
entirely on national law, not the Convention itself. In the
United Kingdom, for example, it is the Human Rights Act
1998, ch. 42 (Eng.), that provides the legal basis for domestic
enforcement of the Convention. For a recent discussion of the
relationship between the Convention and British law, see A v.
Secretary of State, 2004 UKHL 4 42 (H.L. 2004). Even
European nations whose constitutions subordinate domestic
legislation to international law, such as Germany, Italy, and
the Netherlands, do not give direct effect to the judgments of
the European Court of Human Rights. For a thorough
discussion of practice in these countries, see THE EXECUTION
OF STRASBOURG AND GERMAN HUMAN RIGHTS DECISIONS IN
THE NATIONAL LEGAL ORDER (Tom Barkhuysen et al. eds.
1999).

The European Union (EU) and the European
Community (EC), the EU’s principal institutional structure,
rest on treaties which, in the case of the European
Community, create judicial bodies. The parties to these
treaties do regard the decisions of the judicial bodies of the
European Community, namely the European Court of Justice
(ECJ) and the ECJ’s Court of First Instance, as generally
having direct effect in their domestic legal order. See, e.g.,
Regina vy. Secretary of State for Transport ex parte
Factortame Ltd., {1991} 1 All E.R. 70 (H.L.). But cf. Brunner
v. The European Union Treaty, [1994] 1 C.M.L.R. 57
(German Federal Constitutional Court) (reserving right to
review decisions of ECJ for compliance with German
constitutional order). This outcome, however, results not
from an abstract sense of obligation to comply with the orders
of international tribunals, but rather because of explicit
provisions in the treaty constituting the EC. Consolidated

26

‘Version of the Treaty Establishing the European Community,
Dec. 24, 2002, O.J. (C 325) 33, Articles 228, 244, 256. These
articles expressly impose on domestic courts the obligation to
carry out the orders of the ECJ.

The direct enforcement of ECJ decisions by the
member states does not represent a new approach generally
to the domestic incorporation of the international law.
The EC involves a distinctive, if not unique, level of
extensive and intensive cooperation among the members.
Direct enforcement of the ECJ’s decisions facilitates that
cooperation, much like the decisions of this Court promote
the smooth workings of our federal union. Rather than
serving as a new model of international adjudication, the
ECJ’s operates in relation to the legal system of the member
states much as this Court does with respect to the legal
systems of the several States.

In particular, the ECJ’s approach to international
law (the foundational treaties of the EU and the EC aside)
closely resembles the traditional posture of this Court.
Like this Court, the ECJ recognizes that the decisions of
international tribunals are informative, but that treaty
provisions obligating the EC to submit disputes to a tribunal
do not mean that the decisions of those tribunals become part
of EC law. In particular, the ECJ considers the decisions of
the ICJ as evidence of the content of international law in
cases where it must look to international law for a rule of
decision, but it reserves solely for itself the authority to make
a conclusive determination. See, e.g., A.Racke GmbH & Co.
v. Hauptzollamt Mainz (Case C-162/96), 1998 E.C.R.1-3655;
Anklagemyndigheden v. Poulsen (Case C-286/90), 1992
E.C.R. 1-6019. One member of the ICJ has captured exactly
the relationship between the two tribunals:

The European Court, as we have seen, regards
the provisions of customary international law

Tree re ee SOT

~ ~~ ne
Ne tt ts

27

as part of the legal order of the European
Communities, and the International Court of
Justice's findings as a useful short-route to
identifying what customary international law
on a given topic may be.

Rosalyn Higgins, The ICJ, the ECJ, and the Integrity of
International Law, 52 INT’L & Comp. L.Q. 1, 10 (2003).

That the decisions of other international tribunals,
when interpreting treaty obligations that bind the EC, cannot
directly become part of EC law is illustrated by several
decisions. In Chiquita Brands International v. Commission
(Case T-19/01), 2005 E.C.R. Il-__, available at
http://curia.eu.int (last visited February 21, 2005) (Court of
First Instance), the court ruled that a U.S. firm injured by the
EC’s barriers to the importation of bananas, a legal regime
that the WTO dispute settlement body deemed in violation of
the Uruguay Round Agreements, had no rights under EC law.
In another case, the ECJ ruled that the Treaty Establishing the
European Community barred the EC from becoming a party
to the European Convention on Human Rights, because such
a step would transform both the Convention itself and the
rulings of the European Court of Human Rights into EC law.
Accession by the Communities to the Convention for the
Protection of Human Rights and Fundamental Freedoms
(Opinion 2/94), 1996 E.C.R. I-1759. The clear implication of
this somewhat terse opinion is that the Treaty as presently
constituted would not permit another international tribunal,
namely the European Court of Human Rights, to assume eny
portion of the ECJ’s function of having the final say about all
aspects of EC law.

28
CONCLUSION

The court below lacked jurisdiction to decide the
questions presented by petitioner. Moreover, no treaty to
which the United States is a party itself requires the courts of
the United States to enforce the orders of the International
Court of Justice, and any treaty that did so require would
present serious constitutional questions. The course urged on
this Court by petitioner, far from bringing U.S. practice
into conformity with that of other nations, would give
international law and the decisions of international tribunals a
role in the U.S. legal system that other nations do noi permit
in their own legal systems. Accordingly, the judgment of the
court of appeals should be affirmed.

Respectfully submitted,

Paul B. Stephan

Counsel of Record
580 Massie Rd.
Charlottesville, Va. 22903
(434) 924-7098

Counsel for Amici

APPENDIX

. v
g a “. — wr a .
ah, Ore a ¢ ~ % 4 >
eal \ Eee Foe ; wis Pe ite x ,
7 Dee) Yass Pe ee 7 + Me ¢
ae ore ee RP ee : oe,* é
ewes Na 4a OS Fae” tt AN A
Nia Sea te waaay at
a. oe es cm Nm phy” | hy Re oat Nee
Sp as ‘a Pe. we mee LT ~

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0112%3A32. Public record. Not legal advice.
