# Amicus Curiae Brief — Medellin v. Dretke

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0112%3A25

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2005
- **Citation:** 544 U.S. 660

## Text

| Supreme Cour, US.)

FILED
i) JAN 24 2005
/2 Pin
No. 04-5928
IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

JOSE ERNESTO MEDELLIN,
Petitioner.
\ 2
DOUG DRETKE, DIRECTOR,

TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF CRIMINAL JUSTICE,
CORRECTIONAL INSTITUTIONS DIVISION,

Respondent.

On Writ of Certiorari to the United States
Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit

BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE OF THE GOVERNMENT OF
THE UNITED MEXICAN STATES IN SUPPORT OF
PETITIONER JOSE ERNESTO MEDELLIN

SANDRA L. BABCOCK
2520 Park Avenue South
Minneapolis, MN 55404
(612) 871-5080

Counsel of Record for
Amicus Curiae

ae a SP SEED
'

TABLE OF CONTENTS

TABLE OF AUT IRORIT IES. .....cccocesceccsecccsssessereossecssecevecsesss il
INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE ..00.........cccccccccceeseeseeeeeees l
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT .....0..........cccssecssesseeesseeeeenees 2
IT eectcicosLiciiphineacaceaiatcetiesunishininiiliebieaadaiaiunitadeiaaiinreincaiteed 4

I. The United States and Mexico Have Consistently
Recognized That When a Dispute Is Submitted by
Mutual Consent to an International Tribunal, the
Resulting Judgment Is Binding. ..................::ccccceeeeeeees 4

Il. The Protection of Nationals Abroad Has Long Been a
Priority of Both Mexico and the United States........... 1]

A. Mexico Has an Active and Longstanding Tradition of
Providing Extensive Consular Services to Its
FOIE cent covituiadniinccissenaiidnatiguiincibinbabedasibapiibcnnnbiods 12

B. The United States Has Been a Forceful Advocate for

the Consular Rights of American Citizens Detained in
UNE seiccenttsiasicehcsitainiesepmicedatiicaeibibonnpiiiambssiiibdaunainiaietts 17

Ill. The International Court of Justice Issued a Binding

Judgment that Adjudicated the Rights of Individual
SONU SHRINE, cn ceniscciisecpnstntnvoscnveinctpiviasbtinaianitennpiints 20

IV. The United States Is Obligated to Fully Implement the

I Bs sect iccieiiiigcivtiieinenniitatihiitnanaietntiniaee 28

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Federal Cases
Breard v. Greene, 523 U.S. 371 (1998)........cccccccccceceeeeeeeees 29
Frelinghuysen v. United States ex rel. Key, 110 U.S. 63
(BBB). ...v..0coesecvesesseseoseeenennisisnniinseassennsnainnnnnnnnnnnEE 6, 7
Hines v. Davidowitz, 312 U.S. 52 (1941) ....ccccccccceeeeeeeeeeeees 20
La Abra Silver Mining Company v. United States, 175 U.S.
423 (1GDD).....00caceccsveseccesaccesssusnecnseubeenusininnnnnnnnnnnnn 7
United Mexican States v. Woods, 126 F.3d 1220 (9th Cir.
$997) ...cccccecovceeeeesseeuemeseneieilseneienieainnsiinnnnnnninnnnnnnEnE 22
Williams v. Taylor, 529 U.S. 362 (2000) ..........cccccceceeeeeeeees 22
State Cases

Respondent's Proposed Findings of Fact, Conclusions of
Law, and Order, No. 675430-A (339th Dist. Ct., Tex. Jan.

Sb, BUT ) ......-c0vereecveeseresncneonpunenstensanieninninninnnnnnnnnn 22
Torres v. State, No. PCD-04-442 (Okla. Crim. App. May 13,
BUG) .........ccccescsecosseosenesseneesosecetensenaneenseininnnnnnnnnnnnnnnEE 14
Valdez v. State, 46 P.3d 703 (Okla. Crim. App. 2001)....... 15

International Cases
Avena and Other Mexican Nationals (Mex. v. U.S.), 2004
EEE Se passim
B.E. Chattin (United States v. Mexico), Opinions of the
Commissioners 422 (1926).............:::cccccccececeeeeeeeeeeeceeeees 18
Francisco Quintanilla (Mexico v. United States), Opinions
of the Commissioners 136 (1926) ...............:ccccceececeeeeeeeees 5
Harry Roberts (United States v. Mexico), Opinions of the
Commissioners 100 (1926)............ccccccccccceeeeeeeeeeeseceeeeeees 18
Metalclad Corp. v. United Mexican States, \CSID Case No.
ARB(AF)/97/1 (ICSID AF) (Aug. 30, 2000).............. 5,10
OC-16/99, Inter-Am. Ct. H.R. (Oct. 1, 1999).......000.00. 22
Walter H. Faulkner (United States v. Mexico), Opinions of
the Commissioners 86 (1926)..............:cccccccceeeeeeeeeeeeeeeees 18
Treaties

Air Transport Agreement Between the Government of the
United States of America and the Government of the
United Mexican States, Aug. 15, 1960, U.S.-Mex., 12

Consular Convention Between the United Mexican States
and the United States of America, Aug. 12, 1942, U.S.-
a csnsentsadvonqnneoosee 11

Convention Between the United States of America and the
Republic of Mexico for the Adjustment of Claims, July 4,
oe i SR ee 6

Convention for the Arbitration of the Chamizal Case, June
24, 1910, U.S.-Mex., 36 Stat. 2481 ...........................eeeeeee s

Convention for the Avoidance of Double Taxation and the
Prevention of Fiscal Evasion with Respect to Taxes on
Income, Sept. 18, 1992, U.S.-Mex., 1992 U.S.T. LEXIS
SUP cicenccnersseenatiiatindagisenntaichisiniabannieaidandiainiiapdlilumiaaa cael 3

Convention for the Solution of the Problem of the Chamizal,
U.S.-Mex., Aug. 29, 1963, 15 U.S.T. 21 .0.........ceeeeeeeees 10

Convention on the Prohibition of the Development,
Production, Stockpiling and Use of Chemical Weapons
and on their Destruction, opened for signature Jan. 13,
Ses OG Ce ale Qicccnesiinhnstamercescisidiiigdiiammiaia ids 3

General Claims Convention, Sept. 8, 1923, U.S.-Mex., 43
BNO, FFs ccsuntosctniacciipmppeiiicesitninapeinadinitinlddialiiciien ee eatle 18

International Convention for the Prevention of Pollution of
the Sea by Oil, opened for signature May 12, 1954, 12
DO Be a te ate ae 3

North American Free Trade Agreement, Dec. 17, 1992, U.S.-
oe Gt Ren ee 10

Optional Protocol Concerning the Compulsory Settlement of
Disputes, art. 1, opened for signature Apr. 24, 1963, 21
Lan Bs Me veccrsstentuiitiniatihianenssiniidsitiaeniisanicanmaiaainaiel passim

iV

Protocol for the Adjustment of Certain Contentions Arising
Under What is Known as the "Pious Fund of the
Californias,” May 22, 1902, U.S.-Mex., 9 Bevans 12, 1902
CE Faas UI OI? dennecsmensijecctaniannineniicaianticindendpiiabuéatinstiotn 8

Statute of the International Court of Justice, 59 Stat. 1055,

U.N. Charter, opened for signature Jun. 26, 1945, 59 Stat.
DER, tls BA Divi icicscicccinatinaninapiniccateatiiinasipesebcaimmuniiicaea 28

United Nations Convention Against Dlicit Traffic in Narcotic
Drugs and Psychotropic Substances, opened for signature

Dec. 20, 1988, 1988 U.S.T. LEXIS 194 0000.0... ce eeecseeeees 3
Universal Copyright Convention, opened for signature Sept.

HE & de: | Re eer ae 3
Vienna Convention on Consular Relations, opened for

signature Apr. 24, 1963, 21 U.S.T. 77 ......ccccccceeeees passim
Other Authorities

A.H. FELLER, THE MEXICAN CLAIMS COMMISSIONS (1935).5,
6

A.M. STUYT, SURVEY OF INTERNATIONAL ARBITRATIONS 653

ALAN C. LAMBORN & STEPHEN P. MUMME, STATECRAFT,
DOMESTIC POLITICS, AND FOREIGN POLICY MAKING: THE
EL CHAMIZAL DISPUTE (1988) ...........cccccccsscssseseeserceceees 8,9

AMERICAN BAR ASSOCIATION, STANDARDS FOR THE
APPOINTMENT AND PERFORMANCE OF DEFENSE COUNSEL IN
DEATH PENALTY CASES (2003 )............0:cccccccceseseceeeeeeeeees 22

ANTONIO GOMEZ ROBLEDO, MEXICO Y EL ARBITRAJE
I Fe iaiteiccehanicnittaiitntaiiiiindiiatlitiantteaiia aliietis Y

Convention With Mexico for Solution of the Problem of the

Chamizal: Hearings Before the Committee on Foreign
Relations, United States Senate, 88" Cong. (1963)....9, 10

Counter-Memorial of the United States of America (Mex. v.
U.S.), 2003 LC.J. Pleadings (Avena and Other Mexican
XR RR oe 17, 24

Eve on Investors, Mexico Pays U.S. Company, N. Y. TIMES,
Se ioe re een Fae SU 8 10

FRANCIS J. WEBER, THE UNITED STATES VERSUS MEXICO:
THE FINAL SETTLEMENT OF THE PIOUS FUND (1969) ....8, 9

FREDERICK DUNN, THE DIPLOMATIC PROTECTION OF
AMERICANS IN MEXICO (1933)............cccccceeeeeeeees 4, 5,6, 18

HOWARD N. MEYER, THE WORLD COURT IN ACTION:
JUDGING AMONG THE NATIONS (2002)..............cccccccceeeeees 8

J. Palerm, B.R. Vincent, and K. Vincent, Mexican
Immigrants in Courts, in IMMIGRANTS IN COURTS (Joanne
IT Oe, I i ia ele 14

JOHN BASSETT MOORE, 4 INTERNATIONAL ARBITRATIONS TO
WHICH THE UNITED STATES HAS BEEN A PARTY (1898)5, 6

vi

Memorial of Mexico (Mex. v. U.S.), 2003 L.C.J. Pleadings
(Avena and Other Mexican Nationals) ( June 20, 2003) 13,
21, 22, 23

Mexico’s Application Instituting Proceedings, (Mex. v.
U.S.), 2003 L.C.J. Pleadings (Avena and Other Mexican
ey Ga, Wis ee inccticibinsendicicsinetebianlnntichatiasdiihaniciiiaiins 23

President’s Message to the Senate Transmitting the
Convention for the Solution of the Problem of the
Chamizal, 88 Cong. (1963).......c.cccssssessssseesesseseeseeseesees 10

Raymond Bonner, U.S. Bid to Execute Mexican Draws Fire,
Fe ec BU, COUR, Bh, Bie icccnsnsvsctepstusintiniiiakdsiassnisabtadieibinien 15

REPORT OF JACKSON H. RALSTON, IN THE MATTER OF THE
CASE OF THE PIOUS FUND OF THE CALIFORNIAS (1902) 7, 8

Reports of International Arbitral Awards, v. IX at 5, U.N.
ORS BE Se oe CD ceciecencteintdttcesptnieneitininibctnintabntar 7

SHELDON B. Liss, A CENTURY OF DISAGREEMENT: THE
CHAMIZAL DISPUTE (1965).........cccccccccccccccccccceceseresseneeerees y

Summary Records of Plenary Meetings and of the Meetings
of the First and Second Committees, U.N. Conference on
Consular Relations, U.N. Doc. AS,CONF.25/16 (1963).. 12

Transcript of the President's News Conference on Foreign

and Domestic Matters, N.Y. TIMES, Jul: 6, 1962 .......... 10
Two Mexicans Die in Electric Chair, N.Y. TIMES, Jan. 28,
Ni Sees Cid oR EEN at Repl ye 8) Po 14
Vil

U.S. Boundary Relations, 3 Whiteman DIGEST §30 (1964)..4

U.S. Citizens Imprisoned in Mexico: Hearings before the
Subcommittee on International, Political and Military
Affairs, 94 Cong. (1975) ....c.ccscssesssssssessessesesseseneeees 19, 20

U.S. DEPARTMENT OF STATE, CONSULAR NOTIFICATION AND
ACCESS, FOREIGN EMBASSIES AND CONSULATES IN THE
tRNA SE SS PIES eee eae a RRR a et 13

William Aceves, The Vienna Convention on Consular
Relations: A Study of Rights, Wrongs and Remedies, 31
VAND. J. TRANSNAT’L L. 257 (1998)..00....c.cccccccceceeeeeeeees 15

Vill

INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE’

By signing and ratifying the Vienna Convention on
Consular Relations, opened for signature Apr. 24, 1963, 21
U.S.T. 77, the Government of Mexico and the Government of
the United States made commitments to each other, to their
other treaty partners, and to the rule of law. Specifically, the
United States promised that detained Mexican nationals would
be promptly notified of their right to seek consular assistance,
and that Mexico would be permitted to provide consular
protection to those nationals. In tum, Mexico promised to
extend those same rights to the United States and its nationals
detained in Mexico. And by signing and ratifying the Optional
Protocol to the Vienna Convention, the Government of Mexico
and the Government of the United States agreed that
irreconcilable disputes over the interpretation and application of
the treaty’s provisions would be resolved by the International
Court of Justice (“ICJ”). Optional Protocol Concerning the
Compulsory Settlement of Disputes, art. 1, opened for signature
Apr. 24, 1963, 21 U.S.T. 325.

On March 31, 2004, the International Court of Justice
rendered its judgment in Avena and Other Mexican Nationals.
The ICJ held that the United States had violated the rights of
Mexico and of Mr. Medellin under Article 36 of the Vienna
Convention. As a remedy for those violations, the ICJ held that

' No person or entity other than the Government of Mexico or its counsel
made a monetary contribution to the preparation or submission of this brief.
Counsel for Petitioner has not authored this brief in whole or in part.
Petitioner and Respondent have each consented in writing to the filing of this
amicus brief.

the United States must provide Mr. Medellin with meaningful
review and reconsideration of his conviction and sentence that
gives full effect to the purposes of Article 36. Despite the ICJ’s
judgment, the Court of Appeals below refused even to grant a
certificate of appealability to review Mr. Medellin’s claims
under the Vienna Convention and the Avena judgment,
brushing aside the legal obligation of the United States to abide
by the remedial decree entered against it in an international
adjudicative proceeding that it had agreed by treaty to accept as
binding.

Mexico has a direct interest in compliance by the United
States with the Avena judgment. The very purpose of Article
36 is to permit the nations that signed the Vienna Convention —
including Mexico, the United States, and 164 other countries —
to protect the interests of their citizens when they are arrested or
otherwise detained while living, working, or traveling abroad.
That interest is most acute when a citizen is facing trial in
another country for a crime that may lead to his execution.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

When Mexico and the United States agreed to submit to
the jurisdiction of the International Court of Justice, both parties
recognized that thy would be bound by the Court’s final
judgment. The two countries are both party to over 50
instruments that provide international dispute resolution

~

mechanisms. Indeed, over the last two centuries, Mexico and

“ The subject matter of these treaties encompasses topics as diverse as
taxation, see Convention for the Avoidance of Double Taxation and the
Prevention of Fiscal Evasion with Respect to Taxes on Income, Sept. 18,

the United States have settled hundreds of disputes in this
manner.’ While the facts of the cases, the composition of the
tribunals, and the rules of procedure have differed, each country
has consistently recognized that when it commits itself to
resolve a dispute by submitting to the jurisdiction of an
international tribunal, it agrees to be bound by the result.

In recent years, Mexico and the United States have
disagreed on the scope of the rights established by Article 36.
After the two nations failed to resolve their differences through
diplomatic channels, Mexico exercised its right to submit the
dispute to the International Court of Justice for binding
resolution. In doing so, Mexico expressly invoked the rights of
its nationals and sought specific remedies on their behalf in its
exercise of diplomatic protection. The ICJ weighed the
arguments of the parties and the facts of each Mexican
national’s case, and issued a carefully reasoned judgment

1992, U.S.-Mex., art. 26, 1992 U.S.T. LEXIS 193; copyrights, see Universal
Copyright Convention, opened for signature Sept. 6, 1952, art. XV, 6 U.S.T.
2731; narcotics, see United Nations Convention Against Illicit Traffic in
Narcotic Drugs and Psychotropic Substances, opened for signature Dec. 20,
1988, art. 32, 1988 U.S.T. LEXIS 194, *80-81; pollution, see International
Convention for the Prevention of Pollution of the Sea by Oil, opened for
signature May 12, 1954, art. XIII, 12 U.S.T. 2989; aviation, see Air
Transport Agreement Between the Government of the United States of
America and the Government of the United Mexican States, Aug. 15, 1960,
art. 13, U.S.-Mex., 12 U.S.T. 60; and chemical weapons, see Convention on
the Prohibition of the Development, Production, Stockpiling and Use of
Chemical Weapons and on their Destruction, opened for signature Jan. 13,
1993, art. XIV, 14 U.N.T.S. 45.

* For a partial list of arbitrations to which each country has submitted, see
A.M. STUYT, SURVEY OF INTERNATIONAL ARBITRATIONS 653, 636-37
(1990).

adjudicating the rights of Mr. Medellin and 51 other Mexican
nationals, thereby settling the dispute that had, at times, strained
relations between the two nations.

Under both international and United States law, the
Avena judgment constitutes a binding adjudication of Mr.
Medellin’s rights that the United States must fully implement.
Mexico respectfully requests that this Court correct the
judgment of the Court of Appeals and instruct the lower courts
of the United States to comply with the judgment of the
International Court of Justice.

ARGUMENT

1. The United States and Mexico Have Consistently
Recognized That When a Dispute Is Submitted by
Mutual Consent to an International Tribunal, the
Resulting Judgment Is Binding.

As neighbors and trading partners, the United States and
Mexico have an extraordinarily close relationship. Inevitably,
the two nations have differed on matters ranging from boundary
lines and trade practices to the treatment of each country’s
nationals. When such disagreements have arisen, Mexico and
the United States have attempted to resolve them amicably,
often through arbitration. Arbitration has staved off armed
conflict,* resolved boundary disputes,” and indemnified private

* See, e. g., FREDERICK DUNN, THE DIPLOMATIC PROTECTION OF AMERICANS
IN MEXICO 10-27 (1933).

> See U.S. Boundary Relations, 3 Whiteman DIGEST §30, at 680-84 (1964)

investors® as well as individuals who claimed personal injury’
or denial of due process.* Both countries have benefited from
international arbitration of their disputes. This may explain
why “the history of the relations between the United States and
Mexico shows a constant endeavor to resort to this means of
settlement.” A.H. FELLER, THE MEXICAN CLAIMS
COMMISSIONS | (1935).

Conflicts over the treatment of United States citizens in
Mexico were a recurring theme in early diplomatic relations
between the two countries. DUNN, supra, at 1-2. In the mid-
nineteenth century, United States citizens flocked to Mexico in
great numbers. FELLER, supra, at 1. Many complained they
were subjected to unequal treatment, illegally detained,
deprived of due process, or otherwise wronged by Mexican
authorities.” They sought protection from the United States
government, which in turn pressed their claims upon the
Government of Mexico. See, e.g., DUNN, supra, at 18-19. The
frequency with which such claims were brought by the United
States against Mexico led one commentator to observe that

(describing the agreement of the United States to abide by the terms of
arbitral judgment regarding disputed tract of land known as “E] Chamizal” in
El] Paso, Texas).

® See Metalclad Corp. v. United Mexican States, ICSID Case No.
ARB(AF)/97/1 (ICSID AF) (Aug. 30, 2000) [hereinafter Metalclad”}.

” See Francisco Quintanilla (Mexico v. United States), Opinions of the
Commissioners 136 (1926).

® See JOHN BASSETT MOORE, 4 INTERNATIONAL ARBITRATIONS TO WHICH
THE UNITED STATES HAS BEEN A PARTY 3251 (1898).

* See generally id. at 3235-3252.

“[t]he subject of the claims of foreign nationals plays a more
important role in the history of the foreign relations of Mexico
than in that of any other country.” FELLER, supra, at 1.

Diplomacy proved unable to resolve these disputes, and
the unsettled claims of United States citizens in Mexico were
cited as justification for war with Mexico in 1846. See DUNN,
supra, at 45-49. After the war, United States citizens continued
to allege mistreatment by Mexican authuities. This time, the
two nations signed the Claims Convention of 1868, which
established a Commission to hear the claims of both Mexican
and United States citizens for property damage, personal injury,
and wrongful detention.'” Convention Between the United
States of America and the Republic of Mexico for the
Adjustment of Claims, July 4, 1868, U.S.-Mex., art. II, 115 Stat.
679, 681. After reviewing more than 2,000 claims, the
Commission entered judgments against Mexico totaling over
$4,000,000.00, a sum far greater than that assessed against the
United States. FELLER, supra, at 6. Mexico promptly complied
with the Commission’s judgment. See Frelinghuysen v. United
States ex rel. Key, 110 U.S. 63, 67 (1884) (“the government of
Mexico has promptly and in good faith met its annual
payments’); DUNN, supra, at 112.

Mexico never disputed its legal obligation to comply
with the judgments of the 1868 Claims Commission, even in

10 See, e.g., MOORE, supra, at 3243-44 (describing the wrongful

imprisonment claim of A.H. Halstead, which resulted in an arbitral :udgment
of $1,600.00); id. at 3247 (describing the arbitrary detention claim of
William P. Barnes, resulting in arbitral judgment of $5,100.00); id. at 3251
(describing the wrongful detention claim of Augustus Jonan, resulting in
arbitral judgment of $35,000.00 in Mexican gold).

the face of compelling evidence that some claims were
fraudulent.'' See La Abra Silver Mining Company v. United
States, 175 U.S. 423, 458 (1899); Frelinghuysen, 110 U.S. at 67
(1884). In Frelinghuysen, the Court accepted that the
judgments of arbitral tribunals “are final and conclusive until
set aside by agreement between the two governments.” 110
U.S. at 67. The Court further observed that “Mexico cannot,
under the terms of the treaty, refuse to make the payments at the
times agreed on if required by the United States. This she does
not seek to do.” Jd. at 467-68.

Mexico and the United States have also resorted to
international arbitration to resolve economic disputes. In the
case of the Pious Fund of California, the Claims Commission
awarded the Catholic church of California the sum of
$904,070.79, which Mexico paid in full. REPORT OF JACKSON
H. RALSTON, IN THE MATTER OF THE CASE OF THE PIOUS FUND
OF THE CALIFORNIAS 5 (1902). But the matter did not end there.
The United States contended that Mexico owed additional
-interest on the fund,’ and in an attempt to resolve the dispute,
both nations agreed to submit to the jurisdiction of the

'! Article 2 of the Claims Convention provided that “(t}he president of the
United States. . . and the president of the Mexican republic hereby solemnly
and sincerely engage to consider the decision of the commissioners
conjointly, or of the umpire, as the case may be, as absolutely final and
conclusive upon each claim decided upon by them or him respectively, and
to give full effect to such decision without any objection, evasion, or delay
whatsoever.” 15 Stat. 679.

'? Reports of International Arbitral Awards, v. IX at 5, U.N. Sales No.
59.V.5 (1948).

Permanent Court of Arbitration at The Hague.'? The Pious
Fund case was the first judgment issued by the newly-
established tribunal. HOWARD N. MEYER, THE WORLD COURT
IN ACTION: JUDGING AMONG THE NATIONS 24 (2002). The
Permanent Court of Arbitration issued a unanimous judgment
against Mexico on October 14, 1902. Mexico was ordered to
pay a lump sum of $1,460,682.67, and to make annual
payments of $43,050.99 in perpetuity. RALSTON, supra, at 15-
16. Mexico complied with the judgment, which has now been
paid in full. See FRANCIS J. WEBER, THE UNITED STATES
VERSUS MEXICO: THE FINAL SETTLEMENT OF THE PIOUS FUND
53 (1969).

The commitment of both nations to peaceful dispute
resolution through arbitration wavered only once, and the
results were disastrous. In 1910, the United States and Mexico
agreed to arbitration to resolve a long-running border dispute in
E] Paso, Texas. Convention for the Arbitration of the Chamizal
Case, June 24, 1910, U.S.-Mex., 36 Stat. 2481. The
Convention established that the decision of the arbitral
commission would be “final and conclusive upon both
Governments, and without appeal.” 36 Stat. 2483.
Nevertheless, when the Commission awarded a large portion of
the disputed tract to Mexico, the United States refused to
comply with the judgment. ALAN C. LAMBORN & STEPHEN P.
MUMME, STATECRAFT, DOMESTIC POLITICS, AND FOREIGN
POLICY MAKING: THE EL CHAMIZAL DISPUTE 54-55 (1988).

'* See Protocol for the Adjustment of Certain Contentions Arising Under
What is Known as the "Pious Fund of the Californias,” May 22, 1902, U.S.-
Mex., 9 Bevans 12, 1902 U.S.T. LEXIS 50. Article XIV of the Protocol
provided that “the award ultimately given hereunder shall be final and
conclusive as to the matters presented for consideration.”

The effects of this decision upon bilateral relations were
“significant and lasting,” and the United States’ refusal to
comply became “an integral part of almost every diplomatic
issue arising between the two nations” for the following 52
years." SHELDON B. Liss, A CENTURY OF DISAGREEMENT:
THE CHAMIZAL DISPUTE 30 (1965). In addition to souring
relations between the two countries, see id. at 77, the United
States’ reaction to the judgment led Mexico to reject arbitration
as a method of resolving disagreements with United States and
British oil companies after President Lazaro Cardenas
nationalized the Mexican oil industry in 1938. /d. at 75, 100.
In addition, it led Mexico to temporarily suspend its compliance
with the Pious Fund judgment entered by the Permanent Court
of Arbitration.'" See LAMBORN AND MUMME, supra, at 171;
ANTONIO GOMEZ ROBLEDO, MEXICO Y EL ARBITRAJE
INTERNACIONAL 101 (1965).

In 1963, the United States finally recognized the
Chamizal arbitral award. See Liss, supra, at 89. In announcing
the decision to comply with the Commission’s judgment,
President Kennedy acknowledged the United States had been

'* In 1925, the United States rejected Mexico’s suggestion that the dispute
be submitted to the Permanent Court of International Justice (the precursor
to the International Court of Justice) for arbitration. Since the United States
did not accept the jurisdiction of the international tribunal, the Court had no
power to resolve the dispute. See Convention With Mexico for Solution of
the Problem of the Chamizal: Hearings Before the Committee on Foreign
Relations, United States Senate, 88" Cong. 21 (1963) (statement of
Ambassador Thomas C. Mann) [hereinafter “Chamizal Hearings’ }.

'S See Weber, supra, at 42. Mexico suspended payments on the Pious Fund
in 1915. In 1966, it resumed payments, id. at 51, and fully satisfied its
obligations in 1967. /d. at 53.

wrong in rejecting the award. See President’s Message to the
Senate Transmitting the Convention for the Solution of the
Problem of the Chamizal, 88" Cong. 1-3 (1963); Transcript of
the President's News Conference on Foreign and Domestic
Matters, N.Y. TIMES, July 6, 1962, at A8. And notwithstanding
the request of Texas Senator John Tower that the matter be
submitted to the Texas legislature for approval,’® the United
States ratified a new treaty giving effect to the judgment.
Convention for the Solution of the Problem of the Chamizal,
U.S.-Mex., Aug. 29, 1963, 15 U.S.T. 21.

Since then, the United States and Mexico have
submitted numerous economic disputes to international
tribunals for resolution. And in the early 1990s, both nations
signed and ratified the North American Free Trade Agreement,
which provides unprecedented opportunities for arbitration of
disputes between states and private investors. Dec. 17, 1992,
U.S.-Can.-Mex., 32 LL.M. 289-397, 605-779. In Metalclad v.
Mexico, an arbitral tribunal awarded a United States-based
corporation $16.685 million in damages. Metalclad, supra n. 6.
Although Mexico had vigorously contested Metalclad’s claims,
it complied with the judgment. Explaining its decision to pay
Metalclad in accordance with the tribunal's decision, Mexico
reaffirmed its commitment to honor its international
obligations, “even when it does not agree with the findings of
the international tribunal nor with the way the tribunal works.”
Eye on Investors, Mexico Pays U.S. Company, N. Y. TIMES,
Oct. 29, 2001, at A4.

As the examples above make clear, both the United
States and Mexico have long understood that when a dispute is

‘© See Chamizal Hearings at 26 (statement of Senator John G. Tower).

10

submitted by mutual consent to an international tribunal for
resolution — as under the Optional Protocol to the Vienna
Convention — the resulting judgment is final and binding.

il. The Protection of Nationals Abroad Has Long
Been a Priority of Both Mexico and the United
States.

Ever since Mexico and the United States established
diplomatic relations, the two countries have been actively
involved in the protection of their nationals within the other’s
territory. In 1943, the two countries signed a bilateral consular
convention that codified the customary rights of consular
officers to assist their nationals. Consular Convention Between
the United Mexican States and the United States of America,
Aug. 12, 1942, U.S.-Mex., art. 6, 57 Stat. 800. Among other
things, the bilateral consular convention grants consular officers
the right to visit detained nationals, to assist them “in
proceedings before or relations with authorities of the State,”
and to “address the authorities, National, State, Provincial or
Municipal, for the purpose of protecting the nationals of the
State by which they were appointed in the enjoyment of rights
accruing by treaty or otherwise.” Jd. The bilateral convention
did not contain any provision for arbitration of disputes;
instead, article 6 provides that grievances may be addressed
through diplomatic channels. /d.

The 1963 Vienna Convention on Consular Relations
reaffirmed the rights set forth in the Bilateral Convention and
elaborated on the types of services consular officers could
provide. Vienna Convention, arts. 5, 36. For example, article
5(i) of the Vienna Convention states that “Consular functions
consist in: ... representing or arranging appropriate

11

representation for nationals of the sending State before the
tribunals and other authorities of the receiving State.” Article
36(1)(c) reinforces this provision, expressly stating that
consular officers may “arrange for [the] legal representation” of
detained nationals. Significantly, the Optional Protocol to the
Vienna Convention gave states parties an additional avenue for
dispute resolution that was unavailable under the bilateral
consular convention. The United States was the leading
proponent of this instrument,'’ which provides:

Disputes arising out of the interpretation or application
of the Convention shall lie within the compulsory
jurisdiction of the International Court of Justice and
may accordingly be brought before the Court by an
application made by any party to the dispute being a
Party to the present Protocol.

Optional Protocol, art. 1.

Within the framework of these two conventions, both
nations have developed comprehensive programs of consular
assistance to their nationals abroad.

A. Mexico Has an Active and Longstanding
Tradition of Providing Extensive Consular
Services to Its Nationals.

Mexican consular officers have provided services to
detained Mexican nationals in the United States for nearly two

'” See Summary Records of Plenary Meetings and of the Meetings of the
First and Second Committees, U.N. Conference on Consular Relations, at
249, U.N. Doc. A/CONF.25/16 (1963).

12

hundred years. And as the population of Mexican nationals in
the United States has expanded, Mexico’s consular assistance
program has become increasingly sophisticated. With 45
consulates, Mexico now has the most extensive consular
network of any foreign nation in the United States.'*

Mexico’s commitment to the protection of its nationals
stems in part from its conviction, born of experience, that most
Mexican nationals are poorly equipped to navigate the legal
system of a foreign country. See Memorial of Mexico (Mex. v.
U.S.), 2003 LC.J. Pleadings (Avena and Other Mexican
Nationals) A39, App. 7 ( June 20, 2003) (Declaration of
Roberto Rodriguez Hernandez).'? Many Mexican nationals
have little formal education and are desperately impoverished.
2A, para. 6. They have trouble grasping abstract legal concepts,
and often fail to understand their rights — even after their
lawyers have attempted to explain them. See id. at para. 5.
Significant cultural and linguistic barriers impede their ability
to communicate effectively with their attorneys and to
participate fully in their defense. Id.

Mexican consular officers have observed that even

'S Japan has the second largest consular network, with 19 consulates.
Canada has only 15 consulates in the United States. U.S. DEPARTMENT OF
STATE, CONSULAR NOTIFICATION AND ACCESS, FOREIGN EMBASSIES AND
CONSULATES IN THE UNITED STATES (available at
http://www.travel.state.gov/law/consular/consular_745.html) (last visited
Jan. 17, 2005).

'® The declaration of Ambassador Rodriguez Hernandez was provided to the
International Court of Justice in Avena, and is appended to this brief. For
ease of reference, citations will refer to the appropriate paragraph and page
number of the appendix.

13

nationals who have resided in the United States for many years
retain a strong connection with Mexican culture. Some never
learn to speak English fluently. See id. They face problems
assimilating to a foreign culture in which they are not fully

accepted. As one commentator has observed,”
a

Mexican immigrants come to the United States
to face grossly incorrect perceptions, negative
Stereotypes, both malignant and _ benign
prejudices, hostility, and antipathy.

J. Palerm, B.R. Vincent, and K. Vincent, Mexican Immigrants
in Courts, in IMMIGRANTS IN COURTS 96 (Joanne Moore, ed.,
1999). Consular assistance can often help overcome these
unique disadvantages.

Cultural misunderstandings and linguistic barriers
pervade many cases involving Mexican nationals, but these
factors take on added significance when the national is facing
capital punishment. Given the gravity of the penalty at stake,
the Government of Mexico has instructed consular officers to
monitor capital cases with particular care. 2A, para. 4.
Consular staff receive specialized training so that they can
evaluate the quality of the legal representation in each case. 6A
at para. 16. The archives of the Foreign Ministry contain files
reflecting the involvement of consular officers in death penalty
cases in the United States dating back to at least 1920.”°

» See also Torres v. State, No. PCD-04-442 (Okla. Crim. App. May 13,
2004), Petition for Writ of Certiorari at 1SSA (Chapel, J., concurring)
(noung that Mexico has had a tradition of active consular assistance in
capital cases since the 1920s); Two Mexicans Die in Electric Chair, N.Y.
TIMES, Jan. 28, 1921, at A3 (discussing unsuccessful battle of Mexican
consular officers to prevent executions in New York); William Aceves, The

14

Consular officers provide crucial services to Mexican
nationals who are facing the death penalty. In accordance with
their training, their principal concern is to ensure the defendant
receives qualified and effective legal counsel. 4A, para. 10.
Over time, Mexico has concluded that the attorneys assigned to
represent Mexican nationals often lack the experience and the
resources necessary to provide a vigorous defense. In addition,
most of the assigned lawyers do not speak Spanish and rarely
enjoy access to Spanish-speaking investigators and- experts.
Even when the national speaks English fluently, his family
usually does not. Thus, counsel’s inability to speak Spanish
presents a substantial impediment to obtaining mitigating
evidence from relatives. And invariably, birth records and other
critical documents can only be obtained in Mexico.

Consular officers are therefore instructed to support the
defense by providing funds for investigators and experts; acting
as a “cultural bridge” between the defendant and his lawyer;
communicating with the defendant’s family members, friends
and others who may be able to offer assistance or information
vital to the defense; tracking down records and other

Vienna Convention 2n Consular Relations: A Study of Rights, Wrongs and
Remedies, 31 VAND. J. TRANSNAT’L L. 257, 272 n.2 (1998) (citing a 1934
case in which Mexican consular officials sought access to a national held in a
California jail); Raymond Bonner, U.S. Bid to Execute Mexican Draws Fire,
N.Y. TIMES, Oct. 26, 2000, at A20 (describing consular involvement in a
Florida capital prosecution, and noting Mexico's reported involvement in
261 death penalty cases since 1994); Valdez v. State, 46 P.3d 703, 710
(Okla. Crim. App. 2001) (concluding that Mexico would have intervened in
a 1989 capital murder prosecution to assist with a Mexican national’s
defense and to provide resources to ensure that the defendant received a fair
trial and sentencing hearing).

15

documents; and identifying and transporting family members
and other witnesses to the United States. 4A-5A, paras. 11-13.
If consular officers conclude that the defense attorney is not
able to provide high quality representation, they attempt to
secure more effective legal counsel, a function that is entirely
consistent with the rights of consular officers under article 36(c)
of the Vienna Convention:

Sometimes this is accomplished by providing funds so
that experienced counsel may be retained. On other
occasions, Mexican consular officers assist in locating
experienced defense counsel who are able to represent
nationals on a pro bono basis. Sometimes, consular
officers can persuade judges to remove an unqualified
lawyer and appoint more qualified counsel to replace
him.

6A, para. 15.

Experience has taught the Government of Mexico that
consular intervention is most effective prior to trial. Early
consular intervention often persuades prosecutors to refrain
from seeking the death penalty. 5A at para. 14. Consular
officers commonly search all archives and databases in Mexico
to determine whether a defendant has a criminal record, and
provide documentation of such searches to the prosecution.
Consular officers can also obtain birth, school and medical
records that provide proof of a defendant’s physical or mental
condition. /d. at para. 12. This sort of evidence has influenced
the outcome of dozens of cases. Statistics maintained by the
Mexican Foreign Ministry demonstrate that in at least 59 cases
since September 2000 where consular officers were informed of
the Mexican national’s detention prior to trial, prosecutors

16

waived the death penalty.

Finally, early intervention enables consular officers to
advise Mexican nationals and their counsel of the importance of
challenging at the trial level violations of the Vienna
Convention. Criminal attorneys in the United States are often
unaware of the obligations imposed by Article 36 As a result,
they often fail to assert Vienna Convention claims or preserve
them for appeal. Consular officers seek to educate defense
attorneys about the significance of the treaty and the vital role
of consular assistance. Through these efforts, they can increase
the likelihood that Mexican nationals will not be prejudiced by
any violation of their Article 36 rights, and that Vienna
Convention claims will not be waived. 4A, para. 10.

In light of the services described above, it is not
surprising that the United States government has acknowledged
that the consular assistance Mexico provides its nationals in
capital cases is “extraordinary.” 1 Counter-Memorial of the
United States of America (Mex. v. U.S.), 2063 LC.J. Pleadings
(Avena and Other Mexican Nationals) 186 (Nov. 3, 2003).

B. The United States Has Been a Forceful
Advocate for the Consular Rights of
American Citizens Detained in Mexico.

United States consular officers have been no less
assiduous in seeking to protect the rights of detained United
States nationals in Mexico. As a close neighbor and treaty
partner of the United States, Mexico fully appreciates that the
United States has long been one of the most vigorous advocates
of strict compliance with the Vienna Convention. As described
above, the United States’ inability to resolve complaints by its

17

nationals in Mexico was one of the factors that led to war in
1846. Even after Mexico settled the claims of United States
nationals under the Claims Commission of 1868, the United
States continued to advocate at the turn of the century for its
citizens who claimed that they had been subjected to wrongful
detention and denial of due process. See DUNN, supra, at 308-
11, 401.

To resolve these claims, the United States and Mexico
ratified a General Claims Convention in 1923. General Claims
Convention, Sept. 8, 1923, U.S.-Mex., 43 Stat. 1730. Several
of the cases addressed by the Commissioners made reference to
the efforts of United States consular officers to protect the
rights of their detained nationals. See, e.g., Harry Roberts
(United States v. Mexico), Opinions of the Commissioners 100,
101, 104 (1926); B.E. Chattin (United States v. Mexico),
Opinions of the Commissioners 422, 446-47 (1926) (Nielsen,
Commissioner, concurring). Among the claims adjudicated by
the Commission was that of Walter H. Faulkner, who claimed
that Mexican authorities had prevented him from
communicating with the United States consul for a period of
several days. Although the Commission ultimately concluded
that the claimant had failed to prove he was deprived of
consular access, it held that “a foreigner, not familiar with the
laws of the country where he temporarily resides, should be
given this opportunity.” Walter H. Faulkner (United States v.
Mexico), Opinions of the Commissioners 86, 90 (1926).

In 1975, complaints by United States citizens
incarcerated in Mexico led to congressional hearings. At those
hearings, State Department representatives testified at length
regarding the nghts of United States citizens to seek consular

18

assistance:

All of us regard consular protection as an
inherent right of every citizen. That right is not
affected by evidence or findings of guilt... .
Providing consular protection to American
citizens abroad is a basic historic responsibility
of this Department and its consular officers.

U.S. Citizens Imprisoned in Mexico: Hearings before the
Subcommittee on International, Political and Military Affairs,
Part I, 94" Cong. 16 (1975) (Statement of Leonard F.
Walentynowicz). Mr. Walentynowicz observed that in order to
fully protect the rights of prisoners and prevent abuses,
immediate consular access was critical:

A particular issue of prime importance is that of
denied or delayed consular access. We believe
that immediate consular access is the linchpin
on which hangs in large measure the solution to
many of our problems. With early access to
each prisoner we are convinced we can go a
long way toward guaranteeing the prisoner
against mistreatment and forced statements at
the time of arrest, along with making available
to him information about responsible legal
counsel and judicial procedures.

Id., Part I, at 6. Finally, in keeping with the United States’
long tradition of protecting the rights of its citizens in Mexico,
the State Department emphasized the need to actively intervene
in individual cases to ensure that justice 1s done:

19

[W]e are persuaded that to make progress in
protecting the rights of U.S. citizens in Mexico,
we must repeatedly present Mexican authorities
with the facts, demonstrate how they constitute
a violation of Mexican and/or international law
and norms, and insist that such violations be
corrected and prevented in the future.

Id. at 63.

Ill. The International Court of Justice Issued a
Binding Judgment that Adjudicated the Rights of
Individual Mexican Nationals.

As the preceding overview makes clear, disputes over
the treatment of Mexican and United States nationals have
permeated bilateral relations for the last two centuries. This is
hardly surprising, in light of this Court’s observation that

[o]ne of the most important and delicate of all
international relationships, recognized immemorially .
as a responsibility of a government, has to do with the
protection of the rights of a country’s own nationals
when those nationals are in another country.

Hines v. Davidowitz, 312 U.S. 52, 64 (1941). In recent years,
Mexico's efforts to protect its nationals have repeatedly been
compromised by non-compliance with Article 36 of the Vienna
Convention on Consular Relations. 17A-18A, paras. 43-45.
Violations of consular rights have been especially troublesome
in Capital cases. As described above, Mexican consular officers
have provided critical resources to aid in the defense of their

nationals facing the death penalty since long before the trial of
Mr. Medellin. Yet because of widespread noncompliance with
Article 36, Mexico has been unable to come to its nationals’ aid
prior to trial, at the time when consular assistance would be
most useful.

Mr. Medellin’s case is illustrative. Mexico learned of
his detention only after the Texas Court of Criminal Appeals
had already denied his direct appeal. Memorial of Mexico,
Annex 7, App. A, para. 235. Texas authorities had made no
attempt to comply with their Article 36 obligations, even
though Mr. Medellin informed them that he was born in Mexico
and had not obtained U.S. citizenship. Joint App. at 15;
Petition for Writ of Certiorari, App. 165A. Had Mexico learned
of Mr. Medellin’s detention in a timely manner, it would have
been able to provide the range of consular services it routinely
makes available to Mexican nationals facing capital charges.
These services would have been of particular use to Mr.
Medellin, given the several and substantial ways in which his
trial attorney’s performance, particularly at the sentencing phase
of his trial, fell below the high standards of representation that
consular officers routinely insist upon. Indeed, trial counsel
was suspended from the practice of law for ethics violations
during the pre-trial proceedings in Mr. Medellin’s case, when
he should have been preparing for trial. Memorial of Mexico,
Annex 7, App. A, para. 232. The core of counsel’s meager,
two-hour penalty phase defense was the testimony of a
psychologist, Dr. Wendell Dickerson, whom counsel had not
asked or enabled to interview Mr. Medellin. S. F. vol. 35 at
294-348. The assigned defense lawyer made no inquiry into
Mr. Medellin’s life history in order to provide a mitigating
explanation for his role in the crime — the most elemental

21

component of effective capital case advocacy. See Williams v.
Taylor, 529 U.S. 362, 395-97 (2000) (finding counsel
ineffective for failing to investigate defendant’s background);
AMERICAN BAR ASSOCIATION, STANDARDS FOR THE
APPOINTMENT AND PERFORMANCE OF DEFENSE COUNSEL IN
DEATH PENALTY CASES, Guideline 10.7 (2003).

At the first possible opportunity, Mexican consular
officers assisted Mr. Medellin’s post-conviction lawyers in
raising the violation of the Vienna Convention in state court.
Even though Mr. Medellin had not been informed of his article
36 rights at the trial level, and had no reason to know that he
should invoke those rights, the state court found that the Vienna
Convention claim was procedurally defaulted. Respondent’s
Proposed Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law, and Order, No.
675430-A, at 19 (339th Dist. Ct., Tex. Jan. 22, 2001) (Petition
for Writ of Certiorari, App. 34A).

The state court’s treatment of Mr. Medellin’s claim has
been replicated in numerous other cases. See Memorial of
Mexico at 94-95, paras. 227-253. Mexico has repeatedly
sought to obtain redress for these nationals in the United States.
It has filed amicus curiae briefs in state and federal courts, both
at the trial and appellate levels. It has filed suit against local
authorities. United Mexican States v. Woods, 126 F.3d 1220
(9th Cir. 1997). It has obtained an advisory opinion from the
Inter-American Court on Human Rights. OC-16/99, Inter-Am.
Ct. H.R. (Oct. 1, 1999). And it has repeatedly lodged
diplomatic protests with the United States. 12A-15A, paras.
34-39. None of these efforts have succeeded in vindicating the
rights of Mexico or its nationals.

By the end of 2002, Mexico concluded that it had

to
to

reached an impasse. At that point, Mexico decided to assert its
rights under the Optional Protocol to seek resolution of the
dispute in the International Court of Justice. On January 9,
2003, Mexico invoked the Optional Protocol and brought suit in
the ICJ on behalf of Mr. Medellin and other Mexican nationals.
See Mexico’s Application Instituting Proceedings (Mex. v.
U.S.), 2003 LC.J. Pleadings (Avena and Other Mexican
Nationals) (Jan. 9, 2003).

In reviewing the claims of Mr. Medellin and the other
Mexican nationals, the International Court of Justice was called
upon to ascertain the underlying facts of each case and to
undertake a legal analysis of the treaty’s provisions. Mexico
accordingly presented the facts surrounding the violation of the
Vienna Convention in each case. Mexico provided, inter alia,
copies of state and federal court decisions, affidavits, and
transcripts relating to violations of Article 36 where available.
See Memorial of Mexico, Annexes 35-65. In the case of Mr.
Medellin, Mexico supplied the International Court of Justice
with the Texas trial court’s findings of fact and conclusions of
law from state post-conviction proceedings,”’ and provided a
separate summary of the Texas court’s reasons for rejecting Mr.
Medellin’s Vienna Convention claim. Memorial of Mexico at
A-103, Annex 7, para. 238. For its part, the United States
presented its own rendition of the facts of each case, made
extensive legal arguments, and submitted over 2,500 pages of
diplomatic correspondence, judicial opinions, law review
articles, affidavits, and transcripts. Regarding Mr. Medellin, the
United States submitted an account of state and federal post-
conviction proceedings, including a description of how each

*! Memorial of Mexico, Annex 55.

23

court had resolved Mr. Medellin’s Vienna Convention claim.”
Counter-Memorial at A-223, Annex 2, App. 38, para. 7.

The ICJ’s final judgment reflects its careful
consideration of these materials. The Court analyzed the
procedural posture*® and the facts of each case in determining
whether the United States had violated its obligations under
Article 36. In particular, where the facts were contested, the
Court made detailed findings based on the extensive
documentary evidence submitted by the parties. See, e.g.,
Avena Judgment at para. 57 (addressing United States’ claim
that certain Mexican nationals could have dual citizenship); id.
at paras. 66-74 (evaluating United States’ assertions that certain
Mexican nationals had claimed to be U.S. citizens upon arrest);
id. at para. 89 (reviewing facts of one case in response to United
States’ contention that the authorities had complied with their
Article 36 obligations). The Court also distinguished between
those cases in which the United States had violated ail of its
obligations under Article 36 — such as the case of Mr. Medellin
— and those in which the United States violated only some of its
provisions.” This is most apparent in the Court’s discussion of

*° This account included a graphic description of the crime for which Mr.
Medellin had been convicted, facts regarding Mr. Medellin’s schooling in
the United States and prior arrest record, an account of his confession, and
an explanation of how state and federal courts had concluded (in the
alternative) that he had not been harmed by the Vienna Convention violation.
Counter-Memorial at A-222-23.

* See, e.g., Avena and Other Mexican Nationals (Mex. v. U.S.), 2004 LCJ.
128, para. 20 (Mar. 31) [hereinafter “Avena Judgment’) (referring to the
different stages of direct appeal and post-conviction review).

For example, in the case of Ramiro Hernandez Llianas, the Court
concluded that the United States had violated its obligation to inform the

24

Article 36(1)(c), which provides that consular officers may
“arrange for [the] legal representation” of their nationals.

The Court observed that in 16 cases, Mexican consular
officers had learned of their nationals’ detention before trial,
either through notification by United States authorities or by
other means, with sufficient time to arrange for their legal
representation. Avena Judgment, para. 104. In these cases, the
Court concluded that the United States had not violated Article
36(1)(c). It recognized that even though the United States had
failed to comply with its obligations to notify the 16 nationals
of their consular rights “without delay,” consular officers had
nonetheless been able to provide meaningful assistance to their
nationals prior to trial. In the remaining 34 cases, however,
including the case of Mr. Medellin, the Court found that the
authorities’ noncompliance with Article 36, coupled with
Mexico’s lack of knowledge of the detentions, had effectively
prevented consular officers from arranging for legal
representation or providing other resources to improve the
quality of the defense. /d. at para. 106(4).

° With regard to Mr. Medellin, the International Court of
Justice held that the United States had violated its obligation
under Article 36(1) to inform him of his night to consular
notification and assistance, as well as the rights of Mexico to
communicate with him, render consular assistance, and arrange
for his legal representation. Avena Judgment at para. 153(4)-
(7). To remedy these violations, the ICJ held that the United

defendant, without delay, of his consular nights. Avena Judgment, para. 76.
Nevertheless, the Court held that the United States had advised the consular
post of Mr. Hernandez Llanas’ detention without delay, in accordance with
its obligations under Article 36(1)(b). /d. at para. 97.

25

States had to provide “review and reconsideration” of Mr.
Medellin’s conviction and sentence by fully assessing the
prejudice caused by the Vienna Convention violations. /d. at
para. 153(9). The ICJ rejected the United States’ argument that
review and reconsideration could be achieved through the
clemency process, holding instead that the review must occur
“within the overall judicial proceedings relating to the
individual defendant concerned.” /d. at 141; see also id. at 140.

The Avena Court set forth specific requirements for
effective review and reconsideration. First, the Avena Court
held that procedural default doctrines may not be invoked
where it was “the failure of the United States itself to inform”
the national of his Article 36 rights that impeded his ability to
raise the violation at trial. /d. at paras. 112-13. This holding
reflects the Court’s recognition that when detained nationals are
unaware of their treaty rights, and consular officers are
effectively precluded from advising them of these nights prior to
trial, the defendants may not be blamed for inadvertently
waiving Vienna Convention claims.

Second, the ICJ emphasized that review and
reconsideration had to be “effective” and “guarantee that the
violation and the possible prejudice caused by that violation . . .
be fully examined and taken into account:””

[In a situation of the violation of rights under Article
36, paragraph 1, of the Vienna Convention, the
defendant raises his claim in this respect not as a case
of “harm to a particular right essential to a fair trial” —
a concept relevant to the enjoyment of due process

* Avena Judgment at para. 138; see also id. at para. 131.

26

rights under the United States Constitution — but as a
case involving the infringement of his rights under
Article 36, paragraph 1. The rights guaranteed under
the Vienna Convention are treaty rights which the
United States has undertaken to comply with in
relation to the individual concerned, irrespective of the
due process rights under United States constitutional
law. In this regatd, the Court would point out that
what is crucial in the review and reconsideration
process is the existence of a procedure which
guarantees that full weight is given to the violation of
the rights set forth in the Vienna Convention,
whatever may be the actual outcome of such review
and reconsideration.

Avena Judgment, para. 139 (emphasis added).

Third, the Avena Court explained that review and
reconsideration must be conducted by a court that is empowered
“to examine the facts, and in particular the prejudice and its
causes, taking account of the violation of the rights set forth in
the Convention.” Jd. at para. 122. The ICJ clearly
contemplated that the United States courts would scrutinize the
nature of Mexico’s consular assistance and the difference that
such assistance could have made in the context of each
individual case. See id. at para. 104. Although it would be
appropriate for the lower courts to consider the issue of
prejudice in Mr. Medellin’s case in the first instance, Mexico
believes that there will not be far to look before prejudice is
found.

In short, the Court’s final judgment was both cautious

27

and balanced. Although the Court vindicated Mexico’s claims
that the United States had violated its international legal
obligations in the case of Mr. Medellin and 50 other Mexican
nationals, the Court rejected several arguments advanced by
Mexico. In doing so, it took pains te respect ongoing capital
proceedings in the United States. The Court rejected Mexico’s
request for a remedy that would have obligated the United
States to vacate each national’s conviction and sentence without
inquiring whether the Article 36 violation affected the fairness
of the underlying proceedings. Instead, the Court called upon
the United States judiciary to provide a fair process by which
the Vienna Convention violations could be fully considered and
remedied, on a case-by-case basis.

IV. The United States Is Obligated to Fully Implement
the Avena Judgment.

When the United States and Mexico ratified the Vienna
Convention on Consular Relations and its Optional Protocol,
they exchanged solemn promises to abide by the terms of those
instruments. The binding character of the commitment the
United States made in the Optional Protocol is reinforced by the
United Nations Charter, also ratified by both the United States
and Mexico. U.N. Charter, opened for signature Jun. 26, 1945,
59 Stat. 1031, T.S. No. 993. By ratifying Article 94(1) of the
Charter, the United States expressly agreed to “comply with the
decision of the International Court of Justice in any case to
which it is a party.” U.N. Charter, art. 94, para. 1. And by
ratifying Article 59 of the Statute of the International Court of
Justice, which forms part of the Charter, the United States
expressly agreed that judgments of the Court have “binding
force” upon it in cases to which it is a party. Statute of the

28

International Court of Justice, art. 59, 59 Stat. 1055, T.S. 993.

In keeping with those promises, the United States must
now fulfill its obligations to Mr. Medellin, the Government of
Mexico, and the International Court of Justice. Without the
United States’ express consent, the International Court of
Justice could not have heard the Avena case or rendered its
judgment. Having given its consent, and having fully
participated in the proceedings, the United States must now
abide by the result.

The modest scope of the judgment reflects the Court’s
respect for the United States judicial system. The ICJ did not
mandate the reversal of convictions and death sentences.”°
Indeed, it did not order substantive remedies in any of the 51
cases. Rather, the International Court of Justice called upon the
United States to implement the judgment within its existing
judicial framework. To satisfy the United States’ obligations to
comply with the judgment, the courts need only provide full and
fair review of the violations in each national’s case, in
accordance with the criteria set forth by the ICJ.

With respect to the ICJ’s judgment regarding the
operation of procedural default rules, Mexico fully appreciates
this Court’s need to consider its earlier decision in Breard v.
Greene, 523 U.S. 371 (1998). But the petitioner in Breard,
unlike Mr. Medellin, did not have the benefit of a binding
adjudication of his rights by the International] Court of Justice at
the time he sought review of his Vienna Convention claim.

© While the ICJ did not mandate a particular outcome in any case, it left
open the possibility that United States courts covld order new trials or
sentencing hearings after reviewing the violations.

29

Mexico tnitiated proceedings before the ICJ at a time when no
Mexican national was facing imminent execution to avoid the
situation created by Paraguay’s tardy filing before that Court.
See Breard, 523 U.S. at 378. The binding nature of the Avena
Judgment is undisputed, unlike the provisional measures order
whose legal status was uncertain at the time this Court decided
Breard. See Brief of International Law Experts and Former
Diplomats in Support of Petitioner at 6. This difference is
crucial, and compels reconsideration of the Breard dictum
regarding procedural default.

The United States leads by example. Just as it has
invoked the rule of law to protect its own nationals abroad, it
should abide by the rule of law when the interests of foreign
nationals in the United States are at stake. Mexico respectfully
requests that this Court uphold the promises the United States
made to Mexico and the world community by ordering the
review and reconsideration mandated by the International Court
of Justice in Avena.

CONCLUSION

Amicus curiae the Government of Mexico respectfully
urges this Court to reverse the decision of the Court of Appeals.

Respectfully submitted,

30

Sandra L. Babcock

Counsel of Record

2520 Park Avenue South
Minneapolis, Minnesota 55404
(612) 871-5080

International Court of Justice

Avena and Other Mexican Nationals (Mexico v. United
States of America)

DECLARATION OF RO D
HERNANDEZ

I, Roberto Rodriguez Hernandez, solemnly declare upon my
honour and conscience that the following declaration is the
truth, and that this declaration is in accordance with my sincere
belief:

1.

I am the Director General for Protection and Consular
Affairs in the Mexican Ministry of Foreign Relations, a
position I have heid since 2001 under the administration of
President Vicente Fox. I currently hold the rank of
Ambassador of Mexico.

I was educated as a lawyer at Morelos State University in
Morelos, Mexico. I am a career foreign service officer,
having been in the service since 1977, and have held several
positions as Consul of Mexico within the United States,
specifically in Arizona, Puerto Rico, California and Texas.

In my current post, I am responsible for the oversight of
Mexico’s far-reaching consular protection program. Over
the course of my career, I have, of necessity, become
knowledgeable about Mexico’s practice of providing
extensive consular assistance in capital cases.

1A

The Nature of Mexico’s Consular Assistance

4. The Government of Mexico is committed to providing its

citizens incarcerated in the United States with the highest
level of consular assistance, particularly when they are
facing capital charges. In Mexico's experience, early
intervention by consular officers can often prevent the
imposition of a death sentence.

. To that end, Mexican consular officers have spent
considerable time, energy, and resources on capital cases.
In these cases, their overriding concern is to ensure that
each national understands the nature of the United States’
criminal justice system and otherwise makes informed
choices with regard to his rights. Mexican nationals often
misapprehend their legal rights, even after living in the
United States for years. Most nationals speak Spanish as a
first language, and they communicate most effectively with
someone who understands Mexican idiomatic expressions
and even Mexican slang. There are. several Mexican
nationals on death row who have lived in the United States
for years, yet still do not speak English well enough to
converse in that language.

. Most Mexican nationals facing the death penalty come from
extremely poor families, and have limited education. The
average educational level of the Mexican nationals listed in
Mexico’s Application is less than seven years — roughly the
equivalent of a primary school education. At least seven of
the Mexican nationals on death row have gone to school for
less than three years. Many suffer from brain damage and
other cognitive impairments stemming from exposure to

2A

pesticides, substance abuse, and traumatic head injuries.
Others are mentally retarded or mentally ill.

. Mexican consular officers are specifically trained to

recognize mental impairments, and take special care in
those cases to explain the national’s legal rights so that he
does not make poor decisions. In several cases, consular
officers have detected signs of mental illnesses or other
impairments when the national’s attorney had failed to
recognize them. At least five Mexican nationals facing the
death penalty have been found to be mentally retarded in the
last three years alone, after Mexico alerted defense counsel
to the need for psychological testing and/or referred defense
counsel to competent, bilingual experts: Virgilio
Maldonado, Ramiro Ibarra Rubi, José Calderon Palomino,
Francisco Gonzalez Reyes, and Daniel Angel Plata. In
three of those cases, Mexico provided the necessary funds
for testing and/or investigation, since defense counsel had
no resources to retain a mental health expert.

. In my experience, Mexican nationals often trust consular

officers more than their own lawyers, due to their shared
culture and language, and due to the time consular officers
spend with detainees who are facing the death penalty.
Frequently, consular officers spend more time with
detainees than their lawyers, many of whom do not speak
Spanish. For example, in the cases of Ramiro Ibarra Rubi
and Daniel Angel Plata, both of whom are on death row in
Texas, the lawyers who represented them in state post-
conviction proceedings never even met them.

. Mexican consular officers also ensure that Mexican

nationals are generally treated fairly and in a non-

3A

10.

discriminatory manner in the proceedings. Whenever
consular officers detect an atmosphere of bias against a
Mexican defendant because of his nationality, they are
instructed to raise their concerns with the appropriate
authorities.

In addition, Mexican consular officers make certain that the
national receives an adequate legal defense from competent
and vigorous defense counsel. Mexico has found that the
quality of attorneys representing indigent defendants in the
United States is uneven, at best. For this reason, consular
officers are instructed to monitor and support defense
counsel’s efforts, confer regularly with the defendant
national and his family, and attend court proceedings. In
many cases, Mexican consular officers assist in gathering
evidence in preparation for the guilt and penalty phases of
capital trials. Also in many of the cases, Mexican consular
officers educate defense counsel about the requirements of
article 36 of the Vienna Convention and assist counsel in
raising violations of article 36 at the appropriate time in the
criminal proceedings.

. Mexico also provides funds for expert and investigative

assistance. For instance, Mexican consular officers are
often instrumental in locating and funding experts relating
to the presentation of “mitigation evidence” on behalf of the
national during the penalty phase. Such evidence is
invariably crucial in assisting the national to avoid the death
penalty. Mexico regularly obtains documents from schools,
hospitals, and other institutions in Mexico, conducts
searches for criminal records (and provides proof of the
defendant’s lack of criminal record, where appropriate),

4A

13.

14.

provides logistical support to attorneys traveling in Mexico,
and supports their efforts to identify and interview
witnesses in our country.

. In Mexico’s experience, it is essential that consular officials

begin the process of gathering documents and locating
witnesses as quickly as possible, because it may influence
plea negotiations and affect trial counsel’s decisions to
retain mental health experts. Locating witnesses and
records in Mexico is often very time-consuming, given the
necessity of locating witnesses in remote areas without
telephone service, and the diificulty in obtaining visas and
providing transportation to indigent witnesses with no
independent means of transportation.

When given adequate notice, Mexican consular officers
routinely obtain visas for defense witnesses living in
Mexico, so that they may enter the United States. The
consulate often provides funding for the transportation of
these witnesses. In some cases, witnesses live in rural areas
of Mexico, and have never traveled outside of their own
communities. In those cases, employees of the Foreign
Ministry have personally escorted the witnesses from their
homes to the courthouse in the United States where they
will testify.

Mexican consular officers closely monitor the cases of
Mexican nationals facing the death penalty, and often
appear before judges and prosecutors to advocate for the
imposition of a lesser punishment. They have played an
active role in plea negotiations in several cases, with very
positive results. They have, on many occasions, provided
interpretation services for defendants and have monitored

SA

the performance of official court interpreters.

15. Finally, consular officers support defendants’ attempts to
obtain more qualified counsel. Sometimes this is
accomplished by providing funds so that experienced
counsel may be retained. On other occasions, Mexican
consular officers assist in locating experienced defense
counsel who are able to represent national defendants on a
pro bono basis. Sometimes, consular officers can persuade
judges to remove an unqualified lawyer and appoint more
qualified counsel to replace him.

16. The Mexican Foreign Ministry provides training to all
consular officers, on a regular basis, so that they are
prepared to provide all of the services outlined above.

17. Mexico's goal is not to interfere with the judicial process in
the United States, but rather to ensure its nationals receive
the protection to which they are entitled under domestic and
international law. Pursuant to this mandate, Mexican
consular officers have assisted attorneys in innumerable
capital cases. The modes of assistance described above
represent Mexico's consistent consular practice in capital
cases and that practice has not changed during the period of
my service.

Mexico’s Historical Consular Assistance

18. My government's involvement in these cases stems from its
long-term commitment to the protection of Mexican
migrants to the United States. The nearly two century-long
history of Mexico's consular presence in the United States

6A

attests to that commitment.

19. The very first reference to the duty of the Mexican consuls
to provide protection to Mexican nationals abroad is found
in the 1829 governing law of the Mexican foreign service.
Subsequently, several laws and regulations governing the
Mexican Foreign Service during the nineteenth century
included the obligation for Mexican consular agents to
provide protection and assistance to fellow nationals
abroad. '

20. In the first decades of the twentieth century, legislation
regulating the Mexican Foreign Service enacted in 1910,
1923 and 1934 expressly established the obligation to
protect the rights and interests of Mexican nationals, as one
of the main responsibilities of Mexican consular officers.”

' Relevant legislation included the 1831 Law on the Establishment of
Legations in Europe and America (Ley sobre el Establecimiento de
Legaciones de Europa y America), 1834 Law on the Establishment of
Consulates (Ley sobre el Establecimiento de Consulados), 1853 Decree
Governing Law of the Mexican Diplomatic Service (Decreto Ley Organica
de! Cuerpo Diplomatico Mexicano), 1865 Governing Law of the Diplomatic
Service and Governing Law of the Consular Service (Ley Organica del
Cuerpo Diplomatico y Ley Organica del Cuerpo Consular), 1871
Regulations to the 1834 Law (Reglamento a la Ley de 1834), 1888
Regulating Law of the Diplomatic Service (Ley Reglamentaria del Cuerpo
Diplomatico) and 1896 Governing Law of the Mexican Consular Service
and its Regulations (Ley Organica del Cuerpo Consular Mexicano y su
Reglamentio).

> 1910 Governing Law of the Mexican Consular Service (Ley Organica del

Cuerpo Consular Mexicano), and its regulations, 1923 Governing Law of
the Mexican Consular Service and its Regulations (Ley Organica del Cuerpo

TA

os,

_——-.

. During this period, the consular policy of Mexico was

characterized by the promotion of bilateral commerce and
the establishment of Mexican consulates, especially in
border cities. In addition, during this time, consular
protection activities were carried out by consuls in response
to the increased migration of Mexican nationals to the
United States.

Over these three decades, Mexico established the
foundation for an extensive and sophisticated program of
consular assistance to Mexican nationals residing in the
United States. At that time, no treaty existed between the
two countnes that formalized consular relations.
Nevertheless, consular access to nationals in foreign prisons
had long been accepted as a rule of customary international
law.

23. In 1942, Mexico and the United States signed a Consular

Convention memorializing the right of each country’s
consular officers to “address the authorities, National, State,
Provincial, or Municipal, for the purpose of protecting the
nationals of the State by which they were appointed in the
enjoyment of mghts accruing by treaty or otherwise.”
Consular Convention Between the United Mexican States
and The United States of America (1942). This
Convention, signed twenty-one years before the Vienna

Consular Mexicano y su Reglamento) and 1934 Law of the Foreign Service
Governing the Diplomatic and Consular Services and its Regulations (Ley
del Servicio Exterior Organica de los Cuerpos Diplomatico y Consular
Mexicanos y su Reglamento).

8A

24.

25.

26.

Convention on Consular Relations, codified existing
customary law and formalized consular relations between
Mexico and the United States.

In 1963, Mexico and the United States both attended the
Conference on Consular Relations convened by the United
Nations General Assembly. The conference culminated
with Mexico’s signing and ratification of the Vienna
Convention on Consular Relations, the most important
instrument governing consular relations around the world.

Three years later, in 1966, Mexico’s Congress approved a
new Governing Law of the Mexican Foreign Service (Ley
Organica del Servicio Exterior Mexicano), which made
reference to consular protection activities. The law was
expanded and updated in 1982, and again in 1994, 1999,
and 2002. Currently, under Article 2(II) of the Law of the
Mexican Foreign Service, diplomatic and consular officers
are obligated to protect the dignity and fundamental rights
of all Mexicans abroad, in accordance with principles of
international law. Article 44(I) requires heads of consular
missions to protect the interests of Mexico and the rights of
Mexican nationals, and imposes a duty to notify the
Mexican Foreign Ministry of the condition of Mexican
nationals. All of these principles have been part of the law
governing the foreign service since 1982.

The obligations of Mexican consular officers to protect the
rights of nationals are reiterated in the regulations
corresponding to the Law of the Mexican Foreign Service
(Reglamento de la Ley del Servicio Exterior Mexicano).
Article 53 of the Reglamento establishes the “primary
obligation” of protecting the rights of Mexicans abroad, and

9A

29.

requires Mexican consular officers to assist Mexican
nationals in their relations with local authorities, advise
nationals of their rights and obligations im the foreign state,
visit Mexicans who are detained in prisons, and represent
those Mexicans who cannot personally defend their
interests.

. By 1981, there were 40 Mexican consulates located in

major metropolitan areas throughout the United States.
That year, the Mexican Foreign Ministry created a special
category of consular officers, whose sole purpose was to
protect the rights of Mexican nationals abroad. At the same
time, Mexican consulates were given increased budgets for
consular assistance. By 1983, every consulate in the United
States had at least one consular protection officer.

.In 1986, the Mexican Foreign Ministry established a

Program of Legal Consultation and Defense for Mexicans
abroad. The Program sent selected career foreign service
officials to American law schools to study the American
judicial system. In this way, Mexico began to establish a
cadre of consular officers specializing in American law, for
the express purpose of assisting American attorneys
representing Mexican nationals in complicated legal
proceedings. During this time, consular officers also
provided assistance to the small but growing number of
Mexican nationals facing capital charges.

Mexico has continued to make enforcement of the Vienna
Convention a priority in its relations with the United States.
Indeed, on 7 May 1996, Mexico and the United States
signed a Memorandum of Understanding on Consular
Protection of Mexican and United States Nationals. In this

10A

30.

31.

32.

33.

document, both nations promised to comply with article
36(1) of the Vienna Convention.

In September 2000, Mexico established the Mexican
Capital Legal Assistance Program in order to enhance the
quality of legal representation provided to Mexican
nationals in capital cases, train Mexican consular officers to
more effectively assist defense counsel, and to increase
compliance with international law. To date, the Program
constitutes the sole capital legal assistance program
established by a foreign government in the United States.
The Program is staffed by ten experienced capital defense
lawyers and a paralegal.

Since September 2000, Mexican consular officers and
Program attorneys together have played a decisive role in
preventing the imposition of the death penalty in forty-five
cases. In thirty-eight of those cases, prosecutors have
agreed to waive the death penalty prior to trial. In four
cases, defendants were sentenced to life imprisonment after
jury trials. And in three cases, the defendants’ sentences
were commuted to life in prison.

Program attorneys have filed, in the name of Mexico,
sixteen amicus curiae briefs, and have offered important
legal assistance to defense counsel in sixty-seven other
cases. Through the Program, Mexico has provided funds
for experts, mitigation specialists, or investigators in
twenty-two cases.

I am familiar with Mexico’s efforts in the cases of Felipe
Petrona Cabafias, Carlos Jahuey Carillo, Francisco
Gonzalez Reyes, Ernesto Baylon Mendoza, Liliana Pifia,

11A

Nicolas Solorio Vasquez, and Ernesto Esteban Rarnirez
Anguiano, and can attest that the description of those cases
in Mexico’s Memorial is accurate.

Mexico’s Diplomatic Demarches In Recent Capital Cases

34. Over the past six years, Mexico has filed diplomatic notes

36.

in at least twenty capital cases on behalf of Mexican
nationals facing execution in the United States. In my
various Capacities as Consul of Mexico in Arizona, Deputy
Director General of Consular Affairs, and my current
position as Director General, I have become familiar with
the diplomatic efforts made by the Mexican government on
behalf of Irineo Tristan Montoya, Mario Benjamin Murphy,
Miguel Angel Flores, Gerardo Valdez and Javier Suarez
Medina, as well as the responses of the United States to
Mexico's overtures in these cases. The following
information augments the facts established by the numerous
diplomatic notes filed in these cases by Mexico, as cited in
the Memorial.

.In the case of Mr. Montoya, the United States failed to

respond to any of the notes filed by Mexico, even refusing
to allow a temporary stay of the execution to consider the
acknowledged Vienna Convention violation. Instead, Mr.
Montoya was executed by the state of Texas on 18 June
1997 and the United States apologized for the execution on
9 July 1997.

In the case of Mr. Murphy, the United States Assistant
Secretary for Inter-American Affairs, Jeffrey Davidow, told

12A

38.

the Mexican Ambassador to the United States at the time,
Mr. Jesus Silva-Herzog, that the United States was of the
opinion that the Vienna Convention violation had not
affected the outcome of Mr. Murphy's case. In response to
this statement, Ambassador Silva-Herzog sent a letter dated
10 September 1997 to the United States, urging the United
States to join Mexico in requesting a commutation based on
the violation. There was no response by the United States,
and Mr. Murphy was executed on 18 September 1997 by
the State of Virginia. After Mr. Murphy's execution, the
United States apologized to Mexico.

.In the case of Mr. Flores, Mexico sent diplomatic

representatives to meet with the Chairman of the Texas
Board of Pardons and Paroles to advocate on behalf of Mr.
Flores and press for the review of the acknowledged
violation of the Vienna Convention. The governments of
Argentina, Chile, Honduras, Panama, Poland, Spain,
Switzerland and Uruguay, as well as the European Union,
joined Mexico to intervene diplomatically on Mr. Flores’
behalf. As before, however, there was no response by the
United States. Mr. Flores was executed on 9 November
2000 by the State of Texas, after which the United States
issued a formal apology.

In the case of Mr. Valdez, Mexico first learned of Mr.
Valdez’s arrest when one of his relatives contacted the
consulate in April 2001, only two months before his
scheduled execution date. Upon learning of his impending
execution, Mexico retained experienced counsel, an
investigator and a bilingual neuropsychologist. Mexico's
investigative efforts uncovered new evidence that was

13A

subsequently presented to the Oklahoma Board of Pardons
and Paroles. Mexican consular representatives attended the
Board's public hearing, at which the Board recommended
that Mr. Valdez’s death sentence be commuted to life
imprisonment. Oklahoma's Governor Frank Keating
granted a 30-day reprieve to consider the Board's
recommendation at the request of President Vincente Fox.
Mexico sent a diplomatic envoy to meet with Governor
Keating to discuss the Vienna Convention violation and
other aspects of the case. Despite Mexico's efforts and the
issuance of the LaGrand ruling during the 30-day reprieve,
Governor Keating rejected the Board's recommendation
and demied clemency. Ultimately, an Oklahoma court
vacated Mr. Valdez’s death sentence based upon a finding
that Mr. Valdez’s trial counsel provided deficient legal
representation.

39. Finally, in the case of Mr. Suarez Medina, Mexico again

sent a diplomatic delegation to communicate its concerns to
the Texas Board of Pardons and Paroles as well as the
Texas Secretary of State. Again, President Fox
communicated directly with the Texas Governor to request
areprieve. The attention received by Mr. Suarez Medina’s
case was international in scope. In addition to the petition
filed in the Inter-American Commission on Human Rights.
which issued precautionary measures, diplomatic efforts
were made on behalf of Mr. Suarez Medina by Argentina,
Brazil, Chile, Columbia, Costa Rica, Ecuador, E] Salvador,
Guatemala, Honduras, Panama, Paraguay, Poland, Slovenia,
Spain, Switzerland, Uruguay, Venezuela, the Holy See, and
the European Union. Despite all of these efforts, Mr.
Suarez Medina was executed on 14 August 2002 by the

14A

State of Texas. In protest, President Fox cancelled his
official visit to Texas. The United States has not yet issued
a formal! apology in Mr. Suarez Medina’s case.

Cases Of Mexican Nationals Currently Facing Death
Sentences in the United States

40. In my capacity as Director General for Protection and

Consular Affairs in the Mexican Ministry of Foreign
Relations, I have supervised a review of consular files, court
documents, and other records pertaining to each national on
death row whose Article 36 rights were violated. Attached
to this affidavit as Exhibit A are summaries of the relevant
facts revealed in the investigation of each of the 54 capital
murder cases named in Mexico’s Memorial, including the
additiona! case of Enrique Zambrano Garibi, who has only
recently come to my attention as a Mexican national tried,
convicted, and sentenced to death in proceedings that did
not comport with the Vienna Convention. These summaries
are based largely upon Mexico's internal files and selected
court documents.

Consulate Survey

41. The Mexican Foreign Ministry is in constant contact with

its forty-five consular offices located in the United States
regarding the protection of Mexican nationals detained in
U.S. jails and prisons.

2 ISA

42. As part of its ongoing efforts to ascertain whether U.S.
authorities are complying with Article 36, Mexico has
requested information from each of its consulates located in
the United States to evaluate the authorities’ recent practice
on consular notification and access. In response, each of
the forty-five consulates’ provided a qualitative assessment
of the authorities’ level of compliance with Article 36 in
their respective jurisdictions. In addition, the consulates
provided concrete examples of Mexican nationals arrested
after 27 June 2001,’ and charged with serious crimes,” who
wets not apprised of their rights under Article 36. The
consulates’ reports were based upon numerous sources,
including arrest reports and other case documentation,
interviews with defense attorneys, interviews with the

* The consulates participating in the survey were: Consulmex Houston*,
Consulmex Indianapolis, Consulmex Eaglepass, Consulmex Orlando*,
Consulmex Nueva York*, Consulmex Kansas, Consulmex Seattle,
Consulmex Douglas, Consulmex Omaha*, Consulmex Lazedo, Consulmex
San Antonio*, Consulmex Raleigh*, Consulmex Las Vegas*, Consulmex
Yuma, Consulmex Sacramento*, Consulmex Oxnard*, Consulmex Auanta’*,
Consulmex Calexico, Consulmex San Franciso*, Consulmex Del Rio,
Consulmex Detroit*, Consulmex Los Angeles*, Consulmex Dallas*
Consulmex San Bernardino, Consulmex Fresno*, Consulmex Albuquerque’,
Consulmex Presidio*, Consulmex San Diego*, Consulmex Chicago’,
Consulmex Philadelphia*, Consulmex Dallas*, Consulmex Denver,
Consulmex Austin*, Consulmex E] Paso*, Consulmex Portland*, arid [ }.
CHECK THIS.

* This was the date of the Court's decision in LaGrand.
* Serious crime cases were defined as violent felonies in which the national
faced either a significant term of imprisonment such as life in prison or the

death penalty. The vast majority of the cases involve a charge of first-degree
murder.

16A

43.

45.

nationals themselves, and interviews with local, state,
and/or federal authorities operating in the consulates’
respective jurisdictions.

Together, the consulates identified no fewer than 102 cases
of Mexican nationals arrested on serious criminal charges
after 27 June 2001, all of which involved violations of the
Vienna Convention. In 89 of the cases, nationals have been
charged with homicides. In thirty-six of these cases,
Mexican nationals could potentially be sentenced to death.
The remaining cases involve charges such as attempted
murder, assault, and kidnapping. In each of these cases,
there is no record of any notification to the national or the
consulate. Instead, the relevant consulates became aware of
the cases either through media reports, contact by the
detained national’s family or friends, and/or by taking the
initiative to review weekly arrest lists supplied by law
enforcement authorities in order guess at Mexican
nationality. Each case is detailed in Exhibit B.

. The cases cited in Exhibit B by no means represent the

entire universe of cases in which the authorities have
violated Article 36; indeed, Mexico has purposely excluded
cases of documented violations unless they arose in a case
involving the most serious crimes, where, if convicted, the
national would face a lengthy term of incarceration or the -
penalty of death.

As a general matter, the consulates concluded that
compliance with article 36 of the Vienna Convention by the
competent authorities of the United States is haphazard, at

17A

46.

best. On the whole, eleven consulates” report that article 36
compliance is practically nonexistent, twenty-five
consulates report mixed compliance, while only eight
consulates® report that consular notification by competent
authorities is routine.” A summary detailing the
information gathered, categorized by state and consulate, is
appended as Exhibit B.

The survey also shows that compliance by the relevant
authorities depends upon specific factors, including (1)
whether local, state, or federal authorities are involved, and
(2) the severity of the charge against the detained national.
For instance, in the majority of consular districts, federal
authorities — particularly immigration authorities — have a
better record of notification than their local or state
counterparts. This is true even though federal authorities
are involved in far fewer serious criminal prosecutions
involving Mexican nationals, which arise primarily in local
and state jurisdictions. Examples abound of this trend. As
detailed in Exhibit B, the Presidio and Detroit consulates

* These consulates are located in Los Angeles, San Jose, Presidio, Las
Vegas, Oxnard, Omaha, Detroit, Chicago, Raleigh, Orlando, and Fresno.

” The consulates are located in San Bernardino, Santa Ana, Austin, Houston,
San Antonio, McAllen, Brownsville, Miami, Portland, Philadelphia, Boston,
E] Paso, Del Rio, Sacramento, San Francisco, San Diego, Calexico,
Albuquerque, New York, Phoenix, Atlanta, Dallas, Kansas, Washington
D.C., and Salt Lake City.

* These consulates are located in Yuma, Tucson, Nogales, Albuquerque,
Seattle, Eagle Pass, Laredo, and Douglas.

* One consulate, in Indianapolis, opened in November 2002, and could
not provide sufficient data regarding compliance.

18A

47.

indicate that only federal immigration authorities appear to
be complying with Article 36. The Las Vegas consulate
reports that only the United States Department of Homeland
Security and one of the local juvenile detention centers
appear to be complying with their obligations.

Further, the survey showed that compliance with Article 36
is better in cases involving minor criminal charges.
Consulates in Los Angeles, San Antonio, and Sacramento
all report that competent authorities are far more likely to
provide notification in cases involving miner charges, such
as Driving While Intoxicated, than in cases involving
serious crimes such as murder.

FURTHER AFFIANT SAYETH NOT.

13/06/2003 —S/_
Date Roberto Rodriguez Hernandez
19A

= - ° = - 2 -_ — - - -- O_O TTT te 2 - —_—< —_—

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0112%3A25. Public record. Not legal advice.
