# Amicus Curiae Brief — DaimlerChrysler Corp. v. Cuno

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0106%3A22

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2006
- **Citation:** 546 U.S. 1163

## Text

6

activity. Because the states have at their disposal a broad
array of public policies, including tax policies, that they may
pursue to promote economic development in ways that do not
run afoul of the Commerce Clause, they would not suffer any
hardship if the use of the limited set of discriminatory tax
incentives at issue in this case were no longer available to
them.

ARGUMENT

I. There Is a Strong Public Policy Rationale For
Recognizing Respondents’ Standing to Bring Suit.
The Primary Victims of the Proliferation of Tar-
geted State and Local Business Tax Incentives are
Taxpayers Ineligible for Preferential Tax Treat-
ment Who Face Increased Tax Burdens and/or a
Reduced Level of Governmeit Services.

The central purpose of the Commerce Clause” was to
establish a naticnal economy and protect it from harm
resulting from discriminatory state economic policies de-
signed to favor in-state business interests and prejudice
interstate and foreign commerce.”

The current economic competition among the states is
reminiscent of their behavior under the Articles of Con-
federation. Moreover, in spite of the presence of the
Commerce Clause, most states have enacted, as a key weapon
in this war among the states, discriminatory tax legislation

? U.S. Const. art I, § 8.

> See e.g. Boris I. Bittker, On The Regulation of Interstate and Foreign
Commerce, 1-4 (1999); Hunt v. Washington State Apple Adver. Comm'n,
432 U.S. 333, 350 (1977); Boston Stock Exch. v. State Tax Comm'n, 429
U.S. 318, 328 (1977).

7

designed ‘to favor in-state business activities. Yet such leg-
islation has rarely been challenged.

One reason out-of-state businesses denied a state tax
incentive rarely bring suit is that a successful suit is unlikely
to result in the out-of-state business receiving the tax benefit
provided to in-state businesses. Instead, the taxing state is
likely to repeal the benefit provided to in-state businesses.
For example, if Ohio’s investment tax credit is found
unconstitutional, it is unlikely the State would extend the
credit to quali*ying out-of-state investments. Instead, since a
revised credit available to all manufacturers would result in
the loss of significant additional revenue and would no longer
give in-state businesses a competitive advantage, Ohio would
almost certainly remedy the discrimination by doing away
with the credit provision. Thus, while out-of-state com-
petitors might be able to “level the playing field” by bringing
suit, they would not be able to reduce their tax liability in the
taxing state. This outcome may not be of sufficient benefit to
merit the time and expense of litigation.°

* Not all of these discriminatory tax provisions are corporate income
tax incentives similar in kind to Ohio’s investment tax credit. For exam-
ple, New York State exempts from its petroleum business tax airlines that
service four or more cities in the State with direct non-stop flights
between these cities (N.Y. Tax Law § 301-e (McKinney’s 2006)). In
addition, New York exempts from the excise tax on beer the first 200,000
barrels brewed and sold in the State each year (when first enacted in 1989,
the provision exempted 100,000 barrels annually) by a distributor whose
principal executive office is located within the State (N.Y. Tax Law
§ 424(b) (McKinney’s 2006); New York Chapter Laws, L.1989 c.61).

* The New York State tax legislation in favor of certain in-state beer
businesses noted in footnote 4, supra, specifically provides that: “if the
exemption from tax . . . as added by section seventy-two of this act, shall
be declared unconstitutional such judgment of invalidity shall not result in
the extension of the exemption to out of state distributors who are brew-
ers, but shall result only in the denial of such exemption to all distributors
who are brewers.” (New York Chapter Laws, L. 1989 c. 61 § 364).

More importantly, discriminatory corporate income tax
incentives go largely unchallenged because the cumulative
~* tax benefits derived by multi-state corporations from the
proliferation of corporate income tax incentives far outweigh
the costs of any discrimination such corporations may suffer
in particular instances. A challenge to the constitutionality of
an incentive denied to a corporation in one state may put at
risk the tax incentives from which it benefits in other states.
The existing state of affairs works to the great advantage of
large multi-state corporations,° and they have little desire to
“rock the boat.” The ferocity of the corporate response to the
Sixth Circuit decision in this matter is testimony to the huge
stake large multi-state corporations have in maintaining the
status quo.

The primary victims of the states’ widespread use of
targeted business tax incentives are not out-of-state corporate
competitors but other taxpayers, who must pay more than
their fair share to support state and local government or face
reduced public services because powerful and influential
corporations have sought and obtained preferential treatment.
This shift in tax burden is well-documented.’

° A study of the corporate income taxes of 20 states over the period
1990-1998 by University of lowa economist Peter Fisher concludes that
as a result of the increasing availability of tax incentives, the effective
/->——-cerporate tax rate on manufacturing companies in these states fell by 30%
during the period. Peter Fisher, Tax Incentives and the Disappearing

State Corporate Income Tax, 42 State Tax Notes 767 (2002).

’ During the most recent 25-year period for which data are available
(1979-2004), the corporate income tax fell from 10.2% to 5.6% of total
state tax revenue in the states imposing corporate income taxes. U.S.
Census Bureau, State Tax Collections (1979-2004).

The average effective state-local corporate income tax rate has been
gradually declining since the mid-1980s. Congressional Research Service
Report for Congress, Average Effective Corporate Tax Rates: 1959 to
2002, p. 6 (September 5, 2003). ~

9

In Kelo v City of New London,® this Court addressed the
constitutionality of the use of the power of eminent domain
by the states in the name of economic development. Both the
majority and dissenting opinions in Kelo express concern for
the potential misuse by government of its power of eminent
domain, purportedly to promote economic development, to
further powerful private interests at the expense of the general
welfare.” Justice O’Connor’s dissenting opinion explicitly
warns that the inevitable fallout from the broad exercise of
the taking power in the name of economic development will
be that those with power and influence in the political process
will benefit, while those with fewer resources and less
influence will be victimized. '°

The same misuse and abuse of the public trust is not just
inevitable in the states’ use of targeted business tax in-
centives—it is business as usual in many state capitols.''
While the victims of states’ misuse of the taxing power may
not stand out as starkly as the victims of the government’s
misuse of the taking power, they are victims nonetheless.

Finally, a ruling in this matter that failed to address the
important constitutional question before the Court would
result in a continuing cloud of uncertainty for both state
governments and multi-state businesses regarding the validity
of tax statutes on the books providing targeted business tax
incentives in almost every state in the union. This uncer-
tainty, in turn, because it makes business decisions more
difficult to make, could damper economic activity, an out-
come that serves no one’s interests.

® Kelo v City of New London, 125 S. Ct. 2655 (2005).
* Id., at 2661-62, 2665-68, 2674-77. |
' Id, at 2677.

__"' See infra, Part IV, which addresses, inter alia, the political power
and influence of large corporations as a factor in the proliferation of
targeted business tax incentives.

10

Consequently, respondents should not be denied standing,
particularly at this late stage, to challenge Ohio’s investment
tax credit to protect their own, directly impacted economic
interests, and in doing so, the interests of the national
economy as a whole.

iI. Ohio’s Investment Tax Credit is Discriminatory on
its Face and Burdens Interstate Commerce in
Violation of the Commerce Clause.

A. Ohio’s Investment Tax Credit Discriminates on
its Face Against Out-of-State Manufacturers
Subject to Ohio’s Corporate Income Tax.

Despite the ardent assertions of petitioners to the contrary,
the investment tax credit provision of Ohio’s corporate
income tax is clearly discriminatory on its face, imposing
differential tax treatment on in-state and out-of-state
economic interests that benefits the former and burdens the
latter, providing a direct commercial advantage to local
businesses. This Court has consistently held that such
discrimination violates the Commerce Clause.'* It does so
even under the most favorable set of facts for its proponents,
which presumes the credit successfully attracts new in-
vestment from outside the state. The following example
illustrates:

Assume XYZ Corp. (“XYZ”) and PQR Corp. (“PQR”)
are identical in every respect. Both are manufacturers
with facilities in State B. Both sell their products in
State A. Neither has manufacturing facilities there.
Both are subject to State A’s corporate income tax, and
both face the same annual tax liability of $1 million.
State A, seeking to attract manufacturing activity, adopts
an investment tax credit under its corporate income tax

'2 Oregon Waste Sys. v. Dept. of Envil. Quality, 511 U.S. 93, 99
(1994); Boston Stock Exch., supra, 429 U.S. at 329; Bacchus Imports, Ltd.
v. Dias, 468 U.S. 263, 265 (1984).

11

equa! to 7.5% of the cost of production machinery and
equipment placed in service within the state. No more
than one-seventh of the total credit amount earned may
be claimed in a given year. XYZ, motivated by the
incentive, abandons its manufacturing facility in State B
and invests $100 million in a new facility in State A.
PQR chooses to continue manufacturing its products in
State B. All other variables remain constant.

As a result of its investment, XYZ earns $7.5 million in
tax credits, and claims one-seventh of that credit in each
of the next seven years, eliminating its tax liability in
each of those years.’ * PQR continues to pay $1 million
each year in corporate income tax to State A, a total of
$7 million. XYZ’s lower tax burden provides a direct
commercial advantage to XYZ over PQR in selling its
products in State A. XYZ’s lower tax burden is due
solely to the in-state location of its manufacturing facility.

The petitioners focus their attention on refuting the alle-
gation that Ohio’s investment tax credit discriminates against

'? Ohio’s corporate income tax business income allocation formula
includes payroll and property factors. Assuming State A’s formula were
identical to Ohio’s, XYZ’s new facility in State A would increase XYZ’s
property and payroll factors in State A, which would in turn increase the
share of XYZ’s total income apportioned to State A and consequently
increase XYZ’s tax liability in State A (without regard to any credit). The
operation of State A’s apportionment formula would thus serve to offset,
in some amount, the benefit of the investment tax credit claimed by XYZ.
While it is correct that Ohio’s corporate income tax business income
allocation formula operates in this fashion, this fact has no constitutional
significance. This Court has made abundantly clear in prior cases that
Ohio cannot, under the facts presented, assert that its investment tax credit
is a valid compensatory tax (See Fulton v. Faulkner, 516 U.S. 325 (1996),
setting out the stringent test a facially discriminatory tax must meet to
qualify as a constitutionally valid compensatory tax). Further, Ohio’s use
of a three-factor formula including payroll and property is a choice of its
own making. Ohio is free to adopt a single-factor sales apportionment
formula, under which new investment in Ohio would not, in and of itself,
increase the investing corporation’s Ohio income allocation percentage.

12

capital investment made outside Ohio. While such discrim-
ination is indeed present; the fundamental discrimination
inherent in Ohio’s investment tax credit, as demonstrated above,
is far more straightforward. As the example illustrates, the
discrimination puts out-of-state manufacturers doing business in
and subject to corporate tax in Ohio at a competitive dis-
advantage vis-a-vis in-state manufacturers doing business in
Ohio. This Court has, as a matter of course, struck down state
tax provisions that discriminate in this fashion.'*

Petitioners argue that both XYZ and PQR had an equal
opportunity to invest in State A and benefit from the
investment tax credit, and therefore there is no discrimination.
This argument is specious. It is irrelevant for constitutional
purposes that both corporations had the opportunity to locate
their facilities in State A. Businesses located in one state are
always free to relocate to another. A state may not, however,
discriminate against a business because it chooses to conduct
its operations elsewhere.'*

Nothing in this argument is meant to suggest that states
may not entice businesses to relocate by offering tax breaks;
they certainly may.'® What states may not do to encourage
in-state economic activity is to bestow a direct commercial —
advantage to in-state businesses by taxing them more fav-
orably than their out-of-state counterparts based solely on the

' See e.g. Westinghouse Elec. Corp. v Tully, 466 U.S. 388, 404 (1984);
Boston Stock Exch., supra, 429 U.S. at 329; Oregon Waste Sys., supra,
511 U.S. at 99.

'S See e.g. Boston Stock Exch., supra, 429 U.S. at 334-335; New
Energy Co. of Ind. v. Limbach, 486 U.S. 269 (1988) (striking down an
Ohio statute that provided a tax credit for sales of ethanol produced in
Ohio but not in certain other states).

'© Boston Stock Exch., supra, 429 U.S. at 337; en Imports, supra,
468 U.S. at 271;

13

situs of their activities... Ohio’s investment tax credit does
precisely this, and is therefore virtually per se invalid.'*

17

B. Because the Calculation of ‘tte Corporate
Income Taxes Takes Into Account the Business
Activities of Taxpayers Carried on Both Within
and Without the State, Any Provision Within
These Taxes That Treats Out-of-State Business
Activity Less Favorably Than In-State Business
Activity Based Solely on the Location of
that Activity Unconstitutionally Discriminates
Against Interstate Commerce.

A Commerce Clause tax discrimination issue faced by
tribunals in New York and Wisconsin highlights the discrim-
ination inherent in Ohio’s investment tax credit statute.

Under the structural framework of a state corporate income
tax, including Ohio’s, tax is imposed on an apportioned share
of the income earned by a corporation from its business
activities conducted both within and outside the state. The
calculation of state income generally uses some version of
federally reported income as its starting point. This federal
figure reflects, among other items, deductions for allowable
depreciation of property located both within and outside the
taxing state.'? Federal depreciation rules make no distinction
based on the state in which property is located. As a result,
state corporate income taxes generally do not impose differ-
ent depreciation rules for in-state and out-of-state property.

'? Boston Stock Exch., supra, 429 U.S. at 329; Bacchus Imports, supra,
468 U.S. at 273; Westinghouse Elec. Corp., supra, 466 U.S. at 404.

'* Oregon Waste Sys., supra, 511 U.S. at 99; Fulton, supra, 516 U.S.
at 331.

'? Ohio Rev. Code § 5733.04

14

In 1981, the federal Economic Recovery Tax Act
(ERTA)” was enacted. Among other provisions, ERTA
adopted new depreciation rules. The new depreciation
provisions, contained in I.R.C. §168, which allowed tax-
payers to accelerate deductions under rules known as ACRS
(Accelerated Cost Recovery System), were more generous
than the former rules set out in I.R.C. §167. Subsequently,
New York State, New York City and the State of Wisconsin,
concerned with the potential loss of revenues, enacted
provisions in their corporate income taxes that provided
accelerated depreciation under I.R.C. § 168 for property
placed in service within the taxing state while imposing the
less favorable depreciation rules of 1.R.C. §167 for out-of-
state property.’ New York City’s statute and Wisconsin’s
statute were both challenged, and both were found un-
constitutional.”

Citing Oregon Waste Systems v. Department of Environ-
mental Quality and Fulton v. Faulkner, the New York ap-
pellate court struck down New York City’s depreciation
provisions as unconstitutional, concluding that these provi-
sions were discriminatory on their face; that they had the
practical effect of discriminating against taxpayers doing
business in New York City who had commercial property
located outside of the State of New York; and that this un-
equal treatment resulted solely from the situs of their ac-
tivities.2*> The Wisconsin Tax Appeals Commission reached
the same result, concluding that the effect of the depreciation

2° Pub. L. 97-34, 95 Stat. 172 (1981)

7" Former NYC Admin. Code §§ 11-602(8)(b)\(11), 11-602(8)j),
11-602(8)(a)(10); Former Wis. Stat §§ 71.04(15)a), 71.04(15)b),
71.26(2)(a), 71.26(3\y).

22 Beatrice Cheese v. Wisconsin, 1993 Wis. Tax LEXIS 5 (Wis. Tax
App. Comm’n, 1993); RJ. Reynolds v. City of N.Y., 237 A.D.2d 6 (1997)
appeal dismissed 91 N.Y.2d 956 (1998).

23 RJ. Reynolds, supra, 237 A.D.2d at 13.

15

provisions was “to impose a higher franchise tax burden on a
business solely because some or all of its depreciable
property is located outside rather than inside [the State,
which] is clearly facial discrimination against interstate
commerce.””*

There is very little to distinguish the tax consequences of
the depreciation provisions struck down in New York and
Wisconsin from those of Ohio’s investment tax credit. Those
depreciation provisions granted more favorable income tax
treatment to property placed in service in the taxing state than
property placed in service outside the state. Ohio’s
investment tax credit, in the form of a credit against tax due
rather than a deduction from income, achieves precisely the
same result. It grants more favorable tax treatment to
manufacturing property placed in service in Ohio than it does
to manufacturing property placed in service outside Ohio,
resulting in a lower effective tax rate for in-state manu-
facturers solely because of the situs of their manufacturing
facilities.”°

The discrimination inherent in the depreciation provisions
adopted by New York City and Wisconsin is self-evident.
The statutes explicitly provided one set of depreciation rules
for in-state property and another set for out-of-state property,
and treated the former more favorably than the latter. The
statutes provided a double standard in favor of in-state
activities for all to see. The forbidden discrimination all but
jumped off the page.”° |

Ohio’s investment tax credit statute, in contrast, makes no
mention of out-of-state property.2’ This makes the discrim-
ination less obvious. But, as described above, state corporate

* Beatrice Cheese, supra, 1993 Wis. Tax LEXIS at 7.
* See e.g. Westinghouse Elec. Corp., supra, 466 U.S. at 388.

° Oregon Waste Sys., supra, 511 U.S. at 99; Fulton, supra, 5\6 U.S.
at 331.

7 Ohio Rev. Code § 5733.33.

16

income taxes are imposed on an apportioned share of the
income derived from a taxpayer’s activities both within and
without the taxing state. Consequently, state corporate
income tax provisions must address, either explicitly or im-
plicitly, both the in-state and out-of-state activities of tax-
payers. Ohio’s calculation of corporate income tax includes,
among other items of income and expense, deductions for
wage expenses incurred both within and outside Ohio, as well
as depreciation rules that apply to both in-state and out-of-

state property.”*

The credit provisions of a state corporate income tax are no
different from other provisions within such tax - they must
address both the in-state and out-of-state business activities of
taxpayers. When they fail to do so expiicitly, they do so
implicitly, by their silence. In other words, appropriately
restated, Ohio’s investment tax credit provides as follows:
qualifying in-state investment receives a 742% (or 13%)
credit; otherwise qualifying out-of-state investment, based
solely on the fact it is located out-of-state, receives a 0%
credit. This blatant discrimination, providing in-state busi-
nesses a commercial advantage, is patently unconstitutional.””

Viewed differently, if Ohio’s investment tax credit scheme
were constitutional, then a statute that provided a 7% credit
for qualifying in-state investment and a 3% credit for
qualifying out-of-state investment, certainly more favorable
to out-of-state corporations than no credit at all, would be
constitutional as well. Yet the impermissible discrimination
inherent in this hypothetical statute is self-evident. In short,

8 Ohio Rev. Code § 5733.04. Petitioner DaimlerChrysler Corporation
asserts in its brief (p. 24) that “Ohio does pot place a financial burden on
out-of-state capital investment. Rather, because Ohio’s corporate fran-
chise tax levies only against business value in Ohio, a corporation’s out-
of-state investment is essentially Ohio-tax-free.” As the discussion above
demonstrates, this assertion is untrue.

? Boston Stock Exchange, supra, 429 U.S. at 329.

—_—

17

Ohio’s investment tax credit statute can only be read to grant,
on its face, preferential treatment to in-state investment that
provides a direct commercial advantage under the state’s
corporate income tax to in-state businesses. The credit is
therefore per se invalid.*°

If the Court were to rule that Ohio’s investment tax credit
is constitutional, would this ruling validate the use by states
of more favorable depreciation rules for in-state property than
out-of-state property? If it would not, what constitutional
principle would distinguish the use of an income tax credit
from the use of an income tax deduction? If states may in
fact provide more favorable depreciation rules for in-state
property, may states also provide one-year expensing of in-
state property, while out-of-state property remains subject to
depreciation?’ May states allow a corporate income tax
deduction equal to twice the wages paid to in-state em-
ployees, but not out-of-state employees? A ruling upholding
Ohio’s investment tax credit would undoubtedly encourage
the states to test these waters.

The correct and better result, fully consistent with existing
precedent, is that Ohio’s investment tax credit is un-
constitutional.

Ill. The Central Purpose of the Commerce Clause Is to
Preclude Precisely the Kind of Parochial, Dis-
criminatory State Economic Policies Exemplified
By Ohio’s Investment Tax Credit.

The immediate impetus for replacing the Articles of
Confederation with the Constitution was the need for eco-

*° Oregon Waste Sys., supra, 511 U.S. at 99; Fulton, supra, 516 U.S. at
331. ,

*' New York Governor George E. Pataki has recently proposed leg-
islation that would do just this. See New York State 2006-2007 Executive
Budget, Article VII Revenue Bill, Part 1, available at http://publications.
budget. state.nt.us/fy0607artV IIbills/REVENUE.HTM.

18 f

nomic unity, unhampered by discriminatory and retaliatory
state reprisals against commerce from other states and
countries.” The Articles of Confederation had reserved to
the states, not Congress, the power to regulate foreign and
interstate commerce, a framework that proved unworkable as
states continued their economic warfare, carried on through
tariffs and duties.’> With each state “free to adopt measures
fostering its own local interests without regard to possible
prejudice to nonresidents . . . a conflict of commercial regu-
lations, destructive to the harmony of the states ensued.””*

The states remain free under the Commerce Clause to
engage in economic competition with one another by seeking
to make their tax regimes more favorable for business activity
than their neighboring states.’> A state, for example, may
choose to impose its corporate franchise tax at a low rate, or
impose no corporate income tax at all. Alternatively, a state
may provide a broad exemption from its sales and use tax for
business inputs. States are also free to compete through the
use of their spending powers—on public infrastructure, —
education, public health and safety, and so on.

What a state may not do—what the Commerce Clause was
specifically intended to preclude—is to engage in discrim-
inatory economic policies, including tax policies, that grant a
direct commercial advantage to in-state business activity and
undermine the goal of a national common market.*® Such
policies include taxes that impose differential tax treatment

*? Wiley Rutledge, A Declaration of Legal Faith, 25 (1947).

3 John E. Nowak and Ronald D. Rotunda, Constitutional Law, 158-60
(6th ed. 2000)

= Camps New Found./Owatonna, Inc. v. Town of Harrison, 502 US.
564, 571 (1997).

°° Boston Stock Exch., supra, 429 U.S. at 336-337; Bacchus Imports,
supra, 468 U.S. at 271.

*© Boston Stock Exch., supra, 429 U.S. at 329, citing Northwestern
States Portland Cement Co. v. Minnesota, 358 U.S. 450, 457 (1959).

19

on in-state and out-of-state economic interests that benefit
the former and burden the latter.’ The Ohio investment tax
credit does exactly this, undermining a central purpose of
the Commerce Clause and the Court’s negative Commerce
Clause jurisprudence.”*

While the precise reach of the Commerce Clause is a
subject of some debate, the authority and responsibility of the
Court to strike down facially discriminatory state tax
legislation is beyond question.”®

IV. The Public Welfare Would be Better Served by the
Prohibition of the Use of Discriminatory Tax
Incentives Than By Their Continued Proliferation.
Targeted Business Tax Incentives Are Ineffective
as a Policy Tool. Their Widespread Use Instead
Reflects Such Factors as Political Expediency, the
Political Power and Influence of Large Corpo-
rations, and Purposeful State Discrimination in
Favor of In-State Business Activities. A Pro-
hibition Against the Use of a Limited Set of
Discriminatory Tax Incentives Would Not Impose
Any Hardship on the States. States Have at Their
Disposal a Broad Array of Public Policies They
May Pursue to Promote Economic Growth and to
Compete for Favorable Business Activities Such as
Manufacturing, Including Tax Policies.

The public welfare of the states individually and of the
nation as a whole would be better served by the prohibition of
the use of discriminatory tax incentives such as Ohio’s
investment tax credit than by their continued proliferation.

*” Oregon Waste Sys., supra, 511 U.S. at 99.
= Camps New Found. Owatonna, Inc., supra, 520 U.S. at 571.

*° Boston Stock Exchange, supra, 429 U.S. at 329.

20

The states have at their disposal a broad array of public
policies, including tax policies, they may pursue to promote
economic growth generally, and, if they choose, to compete
directly with other states for certain favored business activ-
ities such as manufacturing. With respect to tax policies,
states may, under the Commerce Clause, tax corporate in-
come at low rates, or not at all, exempt most business inputs
from sales tax, or unconditionally exempt certain industry
sectors from real property tax. States may also choose to
compete through the use of their spending powers—on public
infrastructure and public education, for example. All of these
policies might serve to improve a state’s business climate.
None raises constitutional concerns.

Most states have chosen, however, to make targeted busi-
ness tax incentives the central component of their economic
development strategies, and their use has proliferated over the
past decades.*” This widespread and growing use of targeted
business tax incentives is not, however, an indicator of their
success as a public policy tool. To the contrary, several
decades of research and analysis point to the conclusion that
these incentives are largely ineffective.*' The persistent

* See e.g. Peter D. Enrich, Saving the States From Themselves: Com-
merce Clause Constraints on State Tax Incentives for Business, \10 Harv.
L. Rev 377, 382-389 (1996). New York currently offers over two dozen
different credits under its corporate franchise tax (N.Y. Tax Law § 210
(McKinney’s 2006)).

*! See e.g. Robert G. Lynch, Rethinking Growth Strategies: How State
and Local Taxes and Services Affect Economic Development, Economic
Policy Institute (2004), which reviews the findings of hundreds of studies
examining the effects of state and local tax incentives and concludes that
these incentives are largely unsuccessful in stimulating economic activity
and creating jobs in a cost-effective manner.

Robert Ady, a prominent site location consultant, concluded:

“[1]n the facility location process, taxes are not relatively important
when compared with other cost factors such as labor, transportation
and utility and occupancy costs. . . . In summary, site selection data

21

growth in their use is attributable instead to a variety of other
factors, some relatively benign, others more insidious.

First, businesses championing targeted business tax incen-
tives offer public officials a very attractive proposition—that
the targeted business tax incentives that they are advocating
will create_new jobs and improve the state’s economy.
Elected officials are thus presented with a win-win-win
opportunity under which the citizens win increased job
opportunities, the targeted businesses win higher profits, and
the elected officials win both business and popular support.
Sometimes, the incentives are even advertised as being able
to “pay for themselves,” allowing the positive outcomes listed
above to be accomplished without any reduction in the state
revenues needed for public education and other state
responsibilities-yet another “win.”

If it all sounds almost too good to be true, that’s because it
is. It’s just wishful thinking. As previously noted, a wealth
of studies show that targeted business tax incentives have not
worked effectively.” Nonetheless, many governors and state
legislators are frequently seduced by this pitch for targeted
business tax incentives because it offers easy answers to
difficult public policy issues. In turn, they frequently make
this pitch themselves.

Second, even if elected officials suspect that targeted business
tax incentives may not work as promised, these officials may
often be as interested in the symbolic content of their actions as
in their concrete effects. By creating the appearance of being

do not suggest any correlation between low taxes and positive
economic growth, or between high taxes and slow growth. The
location requirements are too many, the process too complicated,
and other factors too important to justify a strong relationship.”
Robert Ady, Discussion, New England Economic Review, March/
April 1997, at 77.

* See e.g. Lynch, supra, note 41.

~

f

22

proactive in pursuit of economic growth, they can take credit for
subsequent economic successes, whatever their actual causes,
and avoid most of the blame they might otherwise receive for
any bad economic news that befalls the state.*? Stated more
cynically, elected officials genuinely wish to implement policies
that will have a positive impact on their state’s economy. But,
as a close second choice, they desperately wish to take action
that gives that appearance.

Third, targeted tax incentives offer state officials a par-
ticularly convenient mechanism for the delivery of benefits to

private businesses in their state. Because these tax breaks

involve a reduction of public revenues rather than an ap-
propriated expenditure of public funds, they do not directly
compete with other programs for scarce budget resources. In
addition, the likely loss in state revenues from tax incentive
legislation is generally difficult to predict, and may well be
understated by its proponents, purposefully or otherwise. In-
deed, many proponents of tax incentives make the argument
that adopting a particular incentive will not result in any loss"
of state revenues—the incentive will “pay for itself’ as a
result of the increased economic activity it generates.

Further, even in those instances where a reasonable esti-
mate of the cost of a targeted tax incentive is available; the
distribution of the tax benefits within the targeted industry is
almost always hidden. This lack of information facilitates
the enactment of tax incentives that may deliver the lion’s
share of their benefits—sometimes tens of millions of

dollars—to a handful of large corporations.** Such largesse

*} As one sociologist summarized the phenomenon after studying the
mentality of economic development officials, “shoot anything that flies;
claim anything that falls.” Herbert Rubin, quoted in Conversations With
Economic Development Practitioners, Economic Development Quarterly,
at 237 (1988).

“ New York State provides an investment tax credit (ITC) for in-
vestments in manufacturing property located in New York, accompanied

23

might not be politically feasible if this information were
public.*°

Additionally, once on the books, tax incentives generally
remain there. They almost never require annual reauthori-
zation, and are rarely subject to-any kind of programmatic
evaluation of their costs and benefits.*° All of these
attributes make targeted tax incentives a far more attractive
policy tool than direct subsidies for both businesses seek-
ing favored treatment and elected officials granting such
treatment.

by an add-on employment incentive credit (EIC) for corporations claiming
an ITC whose employment has increased by at least 1%. A study
published in 1985 by a legislative tax study commission constitutes the
only serious evaluation of these credits undertaken since the ITC was first
enacted in 1969. Some of the results are striking. For example, in 1982,
five corporations claimed 35% ($47.9 million) of the total ITC claimed.
Similarly, just five corporations claimed 45% ($24.2 million) of the total
amount of EJCs claimed. New York State Legislative Commission on the
Modernization and Simplification of Tax Administration and the Tax
Law, The New York Investment and Employment Tax Credits (Staff
Report March 11, 1985), as cited in Richard D. Pomp, Reforming a State
Corporate Income Tax, 51 Alb. L. Rev. 375, 632 (1987).

*° The corporate business community has vehemently opposed meas-
ures proposed in a handful of states to make public certain information —
contained in the state corporate income tax returns of publicly traded
corporations, such as the tax benefits received from targeted tax
incentives. See e.g. Robert Tannenwald, Corporate Tax Disclosure at the
State Level: The Massachusetts Experience, Federal Reserve Bank of
Boston (2003). Robert P. Strauss, State Disclosure of Tax Return
Information: Taxpayer Privacy vs. The Public's Right to Know, 5 State
Tax Notes 24 (1993); Richard D. Pomp, Corporate Tax Policy and the
Right to Know: Enhancing Legislative and Public Access, 6 State Tax
Notes 603 (1994); Robert P. Strauss, The Political Economy of Business
Tax Return Policy, 8 State Tax Notes 873 (1995); Richard D. Pomp, The
Political Economy of Tax Return Privacy - Revisited, 8 State Tax Notes
2389 (1995); Robert Tannenwald, et al, Corporate Tax Disclosure: Good
or Bad for the Commonwealth, 5 State Tax Notes 32 (1993).

“© Sara Hinkley and Fiona Hsu, Minding the Candy Store: State Audits
of Economic Development, Good Jobs First, September 2000.

~~

24

Fourth, the states, unless checked by federal restraints, will
pursue their parochial economic interests without regard to
the consequences for the national economy. From a single
state’s perspective, the use of targeted corporate tax incen-
tives may be perceived as an efficient strategy for pursuing its
own narrow economic interests. First, they provide a
(discriminatory) competitive advantage to in-state corpora-
tions over their out-of-state counterparts. In addition, because
these incentives are granted for in-state activity only, they are
perceived as providing a state with more economic devel-
opment “bang for the buck” than other tax measures, such as
a corporate tax rate reduction, which benefits both in-state
and out-of-state corporations.

From a national perspective, of course, this “efficiency” is
purposeful discrimination that burdens interstate commerce
and hurts the national economy. Nonetheless, the states will
continue to use discriminatory corporate income tax incen-
tives to pursue their parochial economic interests unless and
until they are prohibited from doing so.

Fifth, the abundance of targeted business tax incentives is
to a significant degree simply a reflection of the enormous
political power and influence wielded in state capitols by
large corporations. The misuse of the taxing power on behalf
of powerful private interests, cloaked in the mantle of
economic development, is all too common. Unlike broad-
based, low-rate taxes, higher-rate taxes replete with special
provisions are easily engineered to favor those with power
and influence. Targeted business tax incentives are thus the
vehicle of choice at the state level for directing financial
benefits to the most powerful and influential elements of the
business community.*’ A tax incentive provision that does

*” In his 2001 State of the State message, New York Governor George
Pataki exhorted the legislature: “. . . the [corporate] alternative minimum
tax sends a very clear message to manufacturers. It says: If you invest in
New York, you will be penalized. That is why we've cut that tax in half

25

not generate a single dollar in additional investment nor
create a single new job may nonetheless result in tens of
millions in tax savings for large in-state corporations. The
following example is illustrative:
Assume State A imposes a typical corporate franchise
tax based on apportioned net income at a rate of 10%.
XYZ Corporation (“XYZ”) has its main manufacturing
facility in State A. The facility is valued at $300 million
and employees 500 workers. Routine capital investment

since 1995. This year, let’s finish our work and put the alternative
minimum tax in the trash can where it belongs.” New York’s corporate
alternative minimum tax (AMT), imposed at the modest rate of 2.5% in
2001, was enacted in 1987 to ensure that profitable corporations pay at
least a modest amount of corporate income tax. (N.Y. Tax Law §
210(1)(c) (McKinney’s 2006)). The State’s primary tax on corporations is
imposed at a rate of 7.5%. (N.Y. Tax Law § 210(1) (McKinney’s 2006)).
Under this tax, however, corporations, particularly manufacturers, are able
to reduce the tax they pay by taking advantage of tax credits that reward
certain activities, including investment in plant and production equipment.
(N.Y. Tax Law § 210(12)(a) (McKinney’s 2006)). These credits may not
be used against the AMT. Indeed, that was the intent of the AMT, which
was adopted after a legislative study reported that as a result of the State’s
generous tax credits, some of its largest manufacturers were paying just
$250 in corporate tax each year, the statutory minimum. (New York State
Legislative Commission on the Modernization and Simplification of
Tax Administration and the Tax Law, The New York Investment and
Employment Tax Credits, Staff Report, March 11, 1985). If the AMT
were eliminated, as the Governor proposed, many corporations would be
able to use their carryforward credits (over $1 billion in total) under the
State’s generous fifteen-year carryforward provisions to reduce their tax
to the fixed dollar minimum tax every year into the foreseeable future.
(New York State Department of Taxation and Finance, Office of Tax
Policy Analysis, Analysis of Article 9-A General Business Corporation
Tax Credits For 1999 (2003); N.Y. Tax Law § 210(12)(e)(McKinney’s
2006)). The AMT was not repealed in 2001 because of the State’s
deteriorating finances. However, Governor Pataki has called for its repeal
again in 2006. (New York State Executive Budget, Article VII Rev-
enue Bill, Section H, available at http://publications.budget.state.ny.us/
fy0607artV IIbills/REVENUE.HTM).

26

averaging approximately $20 million a year is required
to keep the facility up and running. XYZ, without tax
incentives, pays $1 million annually in _ corporate
franchise tax to State A.

XYZ and other in-state manufacturers approach State A
seeking a reduction in their tax payments to State A,
asserting that the state’s tax structure is undermining
their competitiveness and endangering the long-term
economic viability of their operations in the State. State
A would like to maintain XYZ and the other in-state
manufacturers as large employers in the State, and
would therefore like to respond positively to their
request for lower taxes rather than risk the consequences
of failing to do so. Not surprisingly, it would like to do
so while minimizing the loss of state tax revenues.

XYZ and other manufacturers with significant plant and
equipment in State A (“in-state manufacturers”) propose
an invec.ment tax credit equal to 10% of the cost of
depreciable property used in manufacturing placed in
service in State A (but not in other states). State A
adopts an investment tax credit that provides: (1) a 10%
credit for qualifying manufacturing investment to the
extent the amount of such investment exceeds the
average investment made in the three prior tax years;
and (2) a three-year carryforward provision for unused
credits. The State touts the measure by asserting it will
increase manufacturing investment and create jobs in
the State.

In response to this legislation, XYZ alters its investment
pattern, but not its overall investment level. While it
continues to average $20 m:"\ion per year, it adopts a
four-year cycle of investment of $10 million in years
one, two and three; and $50 milliew in year four. As a
result, it earns a tax credit of $4 million (($50 million -
$10 million) x 10%) in year four, eliminating its tax
liability for year four and providing a $3 million credit
carryforward. These carryforward credits are ‘sufficient

27

to eliminate XYZ’s tax liability for years five, six and
seven, during which years X YZ invests $10 million each
year. In year eight, XYZ again invests $50 million,
beginning the cycle of credits and carryforward credits
once again. Under these facts, XYZ would eliminate its
corporate tax liability in year four and every year there-
after, even though its investment in State A has not
increased. Nonetheless, both XYZ and state officials
cite the incentive as a key piece of the state’s economic
development strategy, and the State never undertakes a
true programmatic evaluation of its costs and benefits
that might prove otherwise.**

In short, while targeted tax incentives may be unsuccessful
as public policy, they result in significant financial gains for
the incentive-eligible businesses and in obvious political
benefits for the elected officials who, in the name of eco-
nomic development, promote them. In light of this powerful
dynamic, whether targeted tax incentives “work” or not as
public policy is often beside the point.*?

o

** In New York State, of the corporations claiming the ten largest
amounts of investment tax credits for 1982 ($57.5 million among the ten),
six had enough credits to reduce their tax to the minimum $250. Yet
seven of these ten corporations could not claim the employee incentive
credit, which required an increase of a mere 1% or more in New York
employment. Overall, 83% of the corporations claiming an investment
tax credit in 1982 did not increase their New York employment by even
1%. Pomp, supra, note 44, at 636.

*’ New York State has in place an Empire Zone program offering
generous tax incentives that was originally designed to promote economic
development in economically depressed areas. Over time, the program
evolved into a more general economic development program, with tax
benefits often available to businesses that are not located in depressed
areas. The program is run by the Empire State Development Corporation
(ESDC), headed by Charles A. Gargano. Governor Pataki has touted the
Empire Zone program as “the best program in America.” Yet, according
to data provided by the ESDC itself, New York granted $300 million in
tax benefits in 2002 to businesses that had reported the creation of 4,000

28

The public welfare would certainly be better served if the
states abandoned targeted business tax incentives as the key
component of their economic development efforts.°° Tar-
geted business tax incentives are largely ineffective as a
policy tool; their widespread use instead reflects such factors
as political expediency, the political power and influence of
large corporations, and purposeful discrimination in favor of
in-state activity. Because the states have at their disposal a
broad array of public policies, including tax policies, that they
may pursue to promote economic development in ways that
do not run afoul of the Commerce Clause, they would not
suffer any hardship if the use of the limited set of
discriminatory tax incentives at issue in this case were no
longer available to them.

This is the public policy and political context in which the
constitutional challenge to Ohio’s investment tax credit has
been brought. This Court cannot, of course, substitute its
judgment for those made by state legislatures, no matter how
misinformed or self-serving. When state tax legislation
violates the Commerce Clause, however, the Court should not
hesitate to exercise its authority to enforce the Constitution
and invalidate such legislation.

jobs—$75,000 per job—a figure that raised concerns in the legislature
regarding the effectiveness of the program. Rather than substantively
addressing these concerns, however, Chairman Gargano, in testimony
before a legislative committee, simply revised the calculation of tax
benefit per job by dividing the $300 million revenue impact for a single
tax year by the total number of employees within Empire Zones of
businesses receiving tax benefits, and asserting based on this recalculation
that the actual cost per job of the program was $1,170. (Marc Santora,
Zones for Business Tax Breaks Are Debated Along Party Lines, N.Y.
Times, at BS (April 27, 2004). The State has since authorized twelve
additional Empire Zones. (New York Chapter Laws, L. 2005, cc. 61, 63.)

* See e.g. Lynch, supra, note 41.

29
CONCLUSION

For the stated reasons above, it is respectfully urged that
this Court affirm the Sixth Circuit’s decision that Ohio’s
investment tax credit violates the Commerce Clause.

Respectfully submitted,
ROBERT D. PLATTNER RICHARD D. POMP
JEREMY H. SPEICH Counsel of Record ~
MCNAMEE, LOCHNER, TITUS CONNECTICUT LAW SCHOOL
& WILLIAMS, P.C. 65 Elizabeth Street
677 Broadway Hartford, Connecticut 06105
Albany, New York 12207 (860) 570-5251

(518) 447-3200 Attorneys for Amici Curiae

Fiscal Policy Institute,

Connecticut Voices for

Children and Good Jobs First
January 23, 2006

[Supreme Coun, US.
FILED

wD) DEC - 5 2005
No. 04-1724 OFFICE OF THE CLERK
In The

Supreme Court of the Anited States
| @ctober Term, 2005

WILLIAM W. WILKINS, TAX COMMISSIONER
FOR THE STATE OF OHIO, et al.,
Petitioners,

v.

CHARLOTTE CUNO, et al.,
Respondents.

On Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit

BRIEF OF FLORIDA, ALABAMA, ARIZONA, ARKANSAS,
CALIFORNIA, COLORADO, CONNECTICUT, DELAWARE,
GEORGIA, GUAM, HAWAII, IDAHO, ILLINOIS, INDIANA,
IOWA, KENTUCKY, MAINE, MARYLAND, MASSACHUSETTS,
MICHIGAN, MISSOURI, NEBRASKA, NEVADA, NEW YORK,
NORTH DAKOTA, NORTHERN MARIANA ISLANDS,
OKLAHOMA, OREGON, PENNSYLVANIA, PUERTO RICO,
SOUTH CAROLINA, SOUTH DAKOTA, TENNESSEE, TEXAS,
UTAH, VERMONT, WASHINGTON, AND WISCONSIN,
AS AMICI CURIAE IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONERS

CHARLES J. CRIST, JR.
Attorney General of Florida
CHRISTOPHER M. KISE
Solicitor General
Counsel of Record
ERIK M. FIGLIO
Deputy Solicitor General
Office of the Attorney General
PL-01, The Capitol
Tallahassee, FL 32399
(850) 414-3681
Counsel for Amici Curiae

[Additional counsel listed on inside cover]
i eieiedeaneletieiineeeitediinenainbaieteteainmeientinn tnemnaaiaemnieiamendate ieanaiamenmmnmaieiadatal

Troy King

Attorney General of Alabama
State House

11 South Union Street
Montgomery, AL 36130

Terry Goddard

Attorney General of Arizona
1275 West Washington Street
Phoenix, AZ 85007

Mike Beebe

Attorney Géneral of Arkansas
323 Center Street

Little Rock, AR 72201-2610

Bill Lockyer

Attomey General of California
1300 I Street, Suite 1740
Sacramento, CA 95814

John Suthers

Attorney General of Colorado
1525 Sherman Street

Denver, CO 80203

Richard Blumenthal

Attorney General of Connecticut
55 Elm Street

Hartford, CT 06141-0120

M. Jane Brady

Attorney General of Delaware
820 North French Street
Wilmington, DE 19801

Thurbert E. Baker

Attorney General of Georgia
40 Capitol Square, S.W.
Atlanta, GA 30334-1300

Douglas B. Moylan
Attorney Generai of Guam
120 West O’Brien Drive
Hagatna, Guam 96910

Mark J. Bennett

Attorney General of Hawaii
425 Queen Street
Honolulu, HI. 96813

Lawrence Wasden
Attorney General of Idaho
P. O. Box 83720

Boise, ID 83720-1000

Lisa Madigan

Attorney General of Illinois
100 West Randolph Street
Chicago, IL 60601

Steve Carter

Attormmey.General of Indiana

302 W. Washington St., 5" Floor
Indianapolis, IN 46204

Tom Miller

Attorney General of Iowa
Hoover State Office Building
1305 East Walnut

Des Moines, IA 50319

Gregory D. Stumbo
Attorney Genera! of Kentucky
State Capitol, Room 116
Frankfort, KY 40601

Steve Rowe

Attorney General of Maine
State House Station Six
Augusta, ME 04333

J. Joseph Curran Jr. ~
Attorney General of Maryland
200 Saint Paul Place
Baltimore, MD 21202-2202

Thomas Reilly

Attorney General of
Massachusetts

One Ashburton Place
Boston, MA 02108-1698

Michael A. Cox

Attorney General of Michigan
Post Office Box 30212
Lansing, MI 48909-0212

Jeremiah W. (Jay) Nixon
Attorney General of Missouri
Supreme Court Building

207 West High Street
Jefferson City, MO 65101

Jon Bruning

Attorney General of Nebraska
Post Office Box 98920
Lincoln, NE 68509-8920

George J. Chanos

Attorney General of Nevada
100 North Carson Street
Carson City, NV 89701

Eliot Spitzer

Attorney General of New York
The Capitol, Second Floor
Albany, NY 12224

Wayne Stenehjem

Attorney General of North
Dakota

600 East Boulevard Avenue .
Bismarck, ND 58505-0040

Pamela Brown

Attomey General of the Northern
Maniana Islands

Caller Box 10007

Saipan, MP 96950

W.A. Drew Edmondson
Attorney General of Oklahoma
2300 North Lincoln Boulevard
Oklahoma City, OK 73105

Hardy Myers .
Attorney General of Oregon
Office of the Attorney General
1162 Court Street NE

Salem, OR 97301

Tom Corbett

Attorney General of |
Pennsylvania
Strawberry Square
Harrisburg, PA 17120

Roberto J. Sanchez-Ramos
Attorney General of Puerto Rico
Post Office Box 192

San Juan, PR 00902-0192

Henry McMaster

Attorney General of South
Carolina

Post Office Box 11549
Columbia, SC 29211-1549

Lawrence E. Long
Attommey General

State of South Dakota
500 East Capitol Avenue
Pierre, SD 57501-5070

Paul Summers

Attorney General of Tennessee
500 Charlotte Avenue
Nashville, TN 37243

Greg Abbott

Attorney General of Texas
Post Office Box 12548
Austin, TX 78711-2548

Mark L. Shurtleff

Utah Attorney General

Utah State Capitol Complex
East Office Bldg., Suite 320
Salt Lake City, UT 84114-2320

William H. Sorrell

Attorney Genera! of Vermont
109 State Street

Montpelier, VT 05609-1001

Rob McKenna
Attorney General of Washington -
P.O. Box 40100

1125 Washington Street, SE
Olympia, WA 98504-0100

Peggy A. Lautenschlager
Attorney General of Wisconsin
Post Office Box 7857
Madison, WI 53707-7857

l.

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

Do Respondents have standing to challenge Ohio’s
investment tax credit?

Does the dormant Commerce Clause allow a State to
attempt to attract new business investment in the State
by offering credits against the State’s general corporate
franchise or income tax, where the amount of the credit
is based on the amount of a business’s new investment
in the State?

TABLE OF CONTENTS

aT id cioernesipdirencccnonssienntuiamensensensenees iii
INTEREST OF AMICI CURIAE.............ccsc.cceccossecsssseesescesserens l
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT ...........c.:csecscsessssscsssesescessecnseerers 2
SCS EE NESEY HE SSC ee 4

[. Respondents lack standing .................cc.cccccccsrssscssecenes 4

a. The Ohio Taxpayers failed to allege a
sufficiently particularized injury ....................s0000 4

b. The Michigan Plaintiffs failed to allege a
sufficiently concrete or redressable injury.............. 8

c. Kim’s Auto failed to allege an injury within
the zone of interests protected by the dormant
RS TE 10

It. Ohio’s investment tax credit did not violate the
dormant Commerce Clause .....................:cccc:cccceceeseees 12

a. Tax credits do not violate the dormant
Commerce Clause unless they burden the free
EEO 12

b. Tax credits do not violate the dormant
Commerce Clause if they are equivalent to
pure subsidies in purpose and effect..................... 16

c. Tax incentives are crucial to the States’
ability to compete with foreign nations for
TE SIE NE a RA 18

EE oO 25

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

FEDERAL CASES

Alabama Power Co. v. Ickes, 302 U.S. 464 (1938)..........0 5.
Allen v. Wright, 468 U.S. 737 (1984) ........c.ccccccsecceseeseeeeeeeeerees 4
American Trucking Ass ‘ns, Inc. v. Scheiner, 483 U.S.

TD scdirttetcentiiieiliaindeciilatpeanitinidanintniiiananatetnnscctiin 13
Arakaki v. Lingle, 423 F.3d 954 (9th Cir. 2005) ...........0cecc00es 6
Armco, Inc. v. Hardesty, 467 U.S. 638 (1984)..............-+. 12, 14
ASARCO, Inc. v. Kadish, 490 U.S. 605 (1989) .....cecc0ssce-s0e-0e-0 6
Association of Data Processing Serv. Orgs., Inc. v.

& g EEe 10
Board of Educ. v. New York State Teachers Retirement

Sys., 60 F.3d 106 (2d Cir. 1995)... cece cceeceeecceteeeeee 7
Boston Stock Exch. v. State Tax Comm'n, 429 U.S.

ee ee bittaceinenicciininiatiatilantnainisistninbane 12, 13, 14, 15
Camps Newfound/Owatonna v. Town of Harrison, 520

a ee cinandinaiiccil ctiaciccscaiticttnariaaiatiariaclaciii 12
C & A Carbone v. Town of Clarkstown, 511 U.S. 383

, CII ccrsccnsstsnmsenesenrempnsennsttanmemnannstinseemmnennanatite 10, 13, 15

Clarke v. Securities Indus. Ass'n, 479 U.S. 388 (1987)......... 10

lil

Colorado Taxpayers Union, Inc. v. Romer, 963 F.2d

Ses pee cniitiritnibiiassininncietinnpitdaiiaapiimisnngiaiabies 7
Coyne ex rel. Ohio v. American Tobacco Co., 183 F.3d '

a eee abinivsstiesinitysinnsieeecnenteianaaiputinganninaiaiiitiiees 7
Cuno v. DaimlerChrysler, Inc., 386 F.3d 738 (6th Cir.

NEE ee Re Ee CAC Oe one 16
Dennis v. Higgins, 498 U.S. 439 (1991) .........cccccceeseeseeeeeeees 10
Doremus. v. Board of Educ., 342 U.S. 429 (1952) ........ccc0ce000 5
Elk Grove Unified Sch. Dist. v. Newdow, 124 S. Ct.

Se TD <sisieiiabciehhecicitiasdtccticbianisicasiiibinsiltiilbitniinniniipil lacus
Fireside Nissan v. Fanning, 30 F.3d 206 (ist Cir.

See eihiichshincintscaeihcldahabasndemtsimiaeiginenintiiliaitlinintipidsitivcapainn 15

_ Flast v. Cohen, 392 U.S. 83 (1968)..........c:cccecssessereeesessenenees 5,8

Frothingham v. Mellon, 262 U.S. 447 (1923) ........cccccceseneeereees 5
Gibbons v. Ogden, 22 U.S. (9 Wheat.) 1 (1824) ...............04 12
Granholm v. Heald, 125 S. Ct. 1885 (2005) ............:ccccceeeeeee 13
H.P. Hood & Sons, Inc. v. Du Mond, 336 U.S. 525

Sit cnukshicinthipbniinabiadsinsbubsiescidiiislacibpaaiasiienimsinpeimniaiaisiia 10
Hoohuli v. Ariyoshi, 741 F.2d 1169 (9th Cir. 1984) ................ 7

(1976) ...ceceeeseee. pT oT SORA RS PT Oe 15

iv

Lujan v. Defenders of Wildlife, 504 U.S. 555 (1992).......4, 8, 9
McLeod v. JE. Dilworth Co., 322 U.S. 327 (1944).........000. 13

Nat'l Solid Waste Mgmt. Ass'n. v. Pine Belt Reg’!
Solid Waste Mgmt. Auth., 389 F.3d 491 (Sth

Cir. 2004), cert. denied, 126 S. Ct. 332 (2005).......... 11
New Energy Co. v. Limbach, 486 U.S. 269 (1988).......... 10, 14
Nike, Inc. v. Kasky, 539 U.S. 654 (2003) .......c.cccscsssssssessssssseee 6
Oxford Assocs. v. Waste Sys. eek. 271 F.3d 140 (3d

es ND ierniciitinkdtsihcitinaniccsitasuitecatintaltiniiisisiiltiiatehanidgied 11
Quill Corp. v. North Dakota, 504 U.S. 298 (1992)... 12
Tarsney v. O'Keefe, 225 F.3d 929 (8th Cir. 2000)...............00 7
Taub v. Kentucky, 842 F.2d 912 (6th Cir. 1988) ......c.c...ccc000000 7
Trinova Corp. v. Michigan Dep't of Treasury, 498

Ss Se ainsiiasinipniciinittpunjiiabiinrhihaatiiaalsoasapipan 3, 14, 15
United States v. Richardson, 418 U.S. 166 (1974)...............004. 5

Valley Forge Christian College v. Americans United

for Separation of Church & State, Inc., 454

er a icidbainsissceteiesseiniiictinnioriiniascsingestitiasiciaiipnnieniits 5
Warth v. Seldin, 422 U.S. 490 (1975) .0.......ccccceccseseeeeseneteceneees 5

West Lynn Creamery v. Healy, 512 U.S. 186 (1994) .13, 15, 17

Westinghouse Elec. Corp. v. Tully, 466 U.S. 388

a a a a a 14
Whitmore v. Arkansas, 495 U.S. 149 (1990) .....:s.scsssssssses000 8
Women’s Emergency Network v. Bush, 323 F.3d 937

OT i 7

| LEGISLATIVE MATERIALS
Soe BU, Sara ag SO crcttereriinttenvessocastisnsemmscntennsentins 18

Economic Development and the Dormant Commerce Clause:
the Lessons of Cuno v. Daimler Chrysler and Its Effect
on State Taxation Affecting Interstate Commerce:
Hearings Before the Subcomm. on the Constitution of
the House Comm. on the Judiciary, 109th Cong. (May

a a 18
Manhattan, S.B. 5930, 228th Ann. Leg. Sess. (N.Y.
ER Sl case, CREE Rail Nee 21
OTHER AUTHORITIES

Mark Anderson, Twin Cities Face Stiff Competition in
Luring Biotechs, Finance & Commerce, July 2,

Roger Armbrust, Ontario Pushes for Film Credits,
Es RR, SIU. BF Be Pictcstnicccnteceicsinsimanienimennncties 19

China's High Technology Development, Hearing
Before the U.S. China Econ. & Sec. Review
Comet We CAG. Bl, SRGOD cccecesnscseesecsettvttnnttnentnoese 20, 21

. Peter D. Enrich, Saving.the States from Themselves:
Commerce Clause Constraints on State Tax

Incentives for Business, 110 Harv. L. Rev. 377

ei cdicisdaibchsietateiiintatibimeladiich ‘ipulcanthintnacsociaics 17

Robert_L. Firestone, State Investment Tax Credits Do
Not Violate the Dormant Commerce Clause, 36
St. Tax Notes 189 (2005) .0.......eeccececeeeseeeeeeee 13, 14, 16

Barney Gimbel, Skip Canada, Shoot Here, Fortune, Apr. 4,

Jennifer Grzeskowiak, Waving some cash in
Hollywood's direction, American City &
I, TR, TI soicnsciascesdenepihedstisiiciiasiniisicenbahsnesiocagiin 19

Walter Hellerstein and Dan T. Coenen, Commerce
Clause Restraints on State Business
Development Incentives, 81 Cornell L. Rev.
EE icininsscitlidicibiseaahandinncaniietaidesuattniisiicehidibcinhanlidhibie 16

David Irvin, Selma says hallelujah Hanil E-Hwa,
Montgomery Advertiser, Aug. 13, 2005..................... 23

Charisse Jones, Lower Manhattan Still on the Rebound
After 9/11, U.S.A. Today, Oct. 14, 2005.00.00... 21

Jack Lyne, Portland Raising Subsidies in Global
Skirmish for Siltronic’s 300-mm. Plant, The
Site Selection Online Insider, Nov. 2004................... 20

JoAnne Napier-Chaisson, /nventive Incentives,
http://www.canadafocus.com/2003/sec04.htm.....18, 23

Vii

News Release, Portland Development Comm’n, Portlant
Emerges as One of Five Sites Considered for New
Siltronic Plant, May 5, 2004 .........cccccccceseseseseseseseseeees 20

Report from the Econ. Dev. & Tourism Servs. Dep’t re:
Automotive Manufacturing Initiatives,
SE, Seis SUNN nciicctinsctnhectnssinideinnidectelpemnisisnenseiepeuscosinssnaia 24

Robert J. Rolfe & Richard A. White, Jnvestors'
Assessment of the Importance of Tax Incentives
in Locating Foreign Export-Oriented
Investment: An Exploratory Study, 14 J. Am.
pg Ee vo EEE 18

Robert Westervelt, Inducements Bear Fruit in Eastern Gulf
Region, Chemical Week, Apr. 15, 1997................008. 21

Vill

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0106%3A22. Public record. Not legal advice.
