# Amicus Curiae Brief — Wisconsin Right to Life, Inc. v. Federal Election Comm'n

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0102%3A14

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2006
- **Citation:** 546 U.S. 410

## Text

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Hnited States

WISCONSIN RIGHT TO LIFE, INC.
Appellant,

Vv.

FEDERAL ELECTION COMMISSION,
Appellee.

On Appeal from the United States
District Court for the District of Columbia

BRIEF OF AMICUS CURIAE
CHAMBER OF COMMERCE OF THE UNITED
STATES OF AMERICA IN SUPPORT OF APPELLANT

Of counsel: JAN WITOLD BARAN

Counsel of Recotd
STEPHEN A. BOKAT THOMAS W. KIRBY
AMAR D. SARWAL CALEB P. BURNS
NATIONAL CHAMBER WILEY REIN & FIELDING LLP

LITIGATION CENTER, INC. 1776 K Street, N.W.

1615 H Street, N.W. Washington, DC 20006
Washington, DC 20062 (202) 719-7000

AR) ED-S097 Counsel for Amicus Curiae ©

nn
Wi_Son-Epes PRINTING COo., INC. — (202) 789-0006 -— WASHINGTON, D.C. 20001

QUESTIONS PRESENTED’

The Bipartisan Campaign Reform Act of 2002, Pub. L. No.
107-155, 116 Stat 81 (2002) (“BCRA”), bans “clectioneering
communications,” defined as television or radio (broadcast,
cable, or satellite) corporate speech that, 60 days before a
general election or 30 days before a primary election, refers
to a clearly identified federal candidate and can be received
by 50,000 or more persons in the relevant district or state.
2 U.S.C. § 434(f(3)(C). McConnell v. FEC, 540 U.S. 93
(2003), held that this provision (i) served the same compel-
ling interest in limiting corporate candidate advocacy ac-
cepted by the Court in prior cases, and (ii) would not reach
enough true issue advocacy to render the definition of elec-
tioneering communication invalid on its face. The questions
presented on this appeal are:

1. When compelling governmental necessity overrides
the First Amendment’s command that “Congress shall
make no law . . . abridging the freedom of speech,” and a
speech restriction is enacted that is precise and tailored
enough to escape facial invalidity, may that restriction be
applied to core speech that the government has no com-
pelling need to suppress?

2. Does McConnell’s holding that the government had a
compelling need to suppress so-called sham issue advocacy
that was clearly intended to influence elections and was
the functional equivalent of express electoral advocacy
authorize the government to suppress for up to 90 days
speech that addresses active legislative issues and petitions
for redress from incumbent elected officials who happen to
be seeking reelection?

* All parties have consented to the filing of this brief amicus curiae as
indicated by letters of consent filed with the Court. This brief was not
authored, in whole or in part, by any counsel for any party. No person or
entity, other than the amicus, its members, or its counsel, has made a
monetary contribution to the preparation or submission of this brief.

(i)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
QUESTIONS PRESENTED ...............ccscssccsseessesseesseseees
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES .............cc:sccssceseessseseeseesseen iv
INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE ...0.....:.0.ce0-s00+e0000-0000 I
STATEMENT OF THE CASE .......:.ccssssscssesssessessessveare
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT...........:ccccsscsssessesseesseenee 8
RR RTE PR RO OE eS aa eee 12

I. CORE FIRST AMENDMENT GUARAN-
TEES INCLUDE THE RIGHT OF CORPO-
RATIONS TO SPEAK ON PUBLIC ISSUES
AND THE RIGHT OF WILLING MEMBERS
OF THE PUBLIC TO RECEIVE SUCH
Der Ceinntedediscdusnostedsaqreneaienpacanatagpszensapecentptom 12

Il. McCONNELL’S RECOGNITION OF A
COMPELLING NEED TO LIMIT SHAM
ISSUE ADS THAT ARE THE FUNC-
TIONAL EQUIVALENT OF EXPRESS
CANDIDATE ADVOCACY BY CORPORA-
TIONS DOES NOT JUSTIFY SUPPRESS-

ING TRUE ISSUE ADDG........:0ccscescsscsersecsscesesess 14

Ili. THE “ELECTIONEERING COMMUNICA-
TION” PROVISIONS OF BCRA CANNOT
CONSTITUTIONALLY BE APPLIED TO
SUPPRESS FOR 90 DAYS CORPORATE
ADS THAT ADDRESS ACTIVE LEGISLA-
TIVE ISSUES AND SEEK REDRESS FROM

INCUMBENT REPRESENTATIVEG.............. 18
IT tavecstivhtesdainiinsenichijetnnannaiibigpieamsemeasetvensnes 21
NITE \eicascbesinitidcntdinendiniiichsndeneeneneiuinbitatoiaidasieiedne la

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
CASES Page
Austin v. Michigan Chamber of Commerce, 494
Sa Se CD wii sicinccocioveninnitciadiestitieiiatasibaiiaiadia 12
Brockett v. Spokane Arcades, Inc., 472 U.S. 491
GEPIN ED xescsunsciscienipneetitiniipeiiiciaindetiaaammnaialide 18
Buckley v. Valeo, 424 U.S. 1 (1976)... passim
Chamber of Commerce of the United States v.
FEC, 69 F.3d 600 (D.C. Cir. 1995) 00... 3
Chamber of Commerce of the United States v.
Moore, 288 F.3d 187 (Sth Cir. 2002) ................ 3

Colorado Right to Life Committee, Inc. v. David-
son, No. 03-CV-1454, 2005 WL 2450157 (D.

CHR. TRUE, DE, Fee saccceecssvncssnteniveivabipdomadnciua 17
Colorado Republican Federal Campaign Com-
mittee v. FEC, 518 U.S. 604 (1996) .......... ccc 18

Consolidated Edison Co. v. Public Service Com-
mission of New York, 447 U.S. 530 (1980) ....... 12,15
Edenfield v. Fane, 507 U.S. 761 (1993) ...........0004 18

Elections Board of Wisconsin v. Wisconsin
Manufacturers and Commerce, 597 N.W.2d

FeEe OPERA: SIT concnsccencedsitnciresadninciniiniaitebsiendaimaden 3
FEC v. Massachusetts Citizens for Life, Inc., 479

CREE, FIP GE cccecscccesorseccnsssinmsenstabnaieseaniindas 3,4, 11
First National Bank of Boston v. Bellotti, 435

FE. FE CP TED ceccctctcsnhecsnninigpighiiiieinieniadiaiatiin 12, 14,15
Greater New Orleans Broadcasting Association,

Inc. v. United States, 527 U.S. 173 (1999)........ 13
Kleindienst v. Mandel, 408 U.S. 753 (1972)......... 13
Martin v. City of Struthers, 319 U.S. 141 (1943).. 12
McConnell v. FEC, 540 U.S. 93 (2003) ................ passim
McConnell v. FEC, 251 F. Supp. 2d 176 (D.D.C.

Foe nccsevinecnsasicniniamianivitiitimuaiaiuimaniiaias 6

Vv
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page
Pacific Gas & Electric Co. v. Public Utilities
Commission of California, 475 U.S. 1 (1986)... 12
R.A.V. v. City of St. Paul, 505 U.S. 377 (1992)..... 10
Red Lion Broadcasting Co. v. FCC, 395 U.S. 367
a iinet ak heeeatncscnatints 13
Republican Party of Minnesota v. White, 536
ES ee oe ae 3
Thornhill v. Alabama, 310 U.S. 88 (1940)............ 12
United States v. Edge Broadcasting Co., 509
ERE ERE AERO Eee 18
United States v. National Treasury Employees
Union, 513 U.S. 454 (1995) .....cccccccccccceeeeeecenees 18, 19
Virginia State Board of Pharmacy v. Virginia
Citizens Consumer Council, Inc., 425 U.S. 748
EES Ee eS eae 12
West Virginia State Board of Education v.
Barnette, 319 U.S. 624 (1943) ....0....cccceeees 10
STATUTES, REGULATIONS
kN See i, 4

The Bipartisan Campaign Reform Act of 2002,
Pub. L. No. 107-155, 116 Stat. 81 (2002) ......... passim
SE cn ee 15

OTHER

Andrew Mollison, Votes on Guns, Marriage
Slated; GOP Leaders in House Push Symbolic

Bills, Atlanta Journal-Const., Sept. 28, 2004..... 6
FEC Issues Semi-Annual Federal PAC Count
EL I 2

United States House of Representatives’ and
United States Senate Roll Call Votes, 108th
Congress---2d Session (2004) ...............:ccc0c0000- 6

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Anited States

No. 04-1581

WISCONSIN RIGHT TO LIFE, INC.
Appellant,
Vv.

FEDERAL ELECTION COMMISSION,
Appellee.

On Appeal from the United States
District Court for the District of Columbia

— —

BRIEF OF AMICUS CURIAE
CHAMBER OF COMMERCE OF THE UNITED
STATES OF AMERICA IN SUPPORT OF APPELLANT

INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE

The Chamber of Commerce of the United States of
America (“Chamber”), founded in 1912, is the world’s largest
not-for-profit business federation with an underlying mem-
bership of over 3,000,000 businesses and business asso-
ciations. The Chamber’s members include businesses of all
sizes and sectors—from large Fortune 500 companies to
home-based, one-person operations. Ninety-six percent of
the Chamber’s underlying membership are businesses with
fewer than one hundred employees. Collectively, the Cham-
ber’s members are central to our nation’s economy and
well-being.

Business corporations are profoundly affected by federal
legislation, policy, and executive action on a wide range of

2

issues, from tort reform to taxes, intellectual property to
import controls, and employment standards to environmental
protection. As a result, corporations are critically interested
in the formulation and implementation of federal legislation
and policy and in assuring that their knowledge and concerns
are fully and effectively communicated to the public, federal
legislators, and other government officials. At the same time,
all Americans, including American voters and government
officials, have a vital interest in hearing what corporations
have to say on the key issues of the day.

Some of the Chamber’s members, particularly large cor-
porations, maintain separate segregated funds, commonly
called PACs, that permit some direct advocacy for or against
candidates. But the vast majority do not. PACs are complex
and burdensome to initiate and maintain. As of January 1,
2005, there were only 1,622 PACs sponsored by corporations
registered with the FEC. See FEC Issues Semi-Annual Federal
PAC Count (Jan. 25, 2005), http://www.fec.gov/press/
press2005/200501 1 Scount.html. Only some of those PACs are
sponsored by Chamber members. When an issue arises
requiring comment by a corporation that does not maintain a
PAC, it often is not practical for a corporation to organize a
PAC, solicit contributions, and then speak out in a timely
fashion. Moreover, even corporations that have PACs often
will already have spent or committed PAC funds to campaigns
or other purposes that must receive PAC funding before the
need for issue speech is discerned. Thus, corporations have a
strong interest in being able to engage in issue advocacy
without the burdens and limitations of the PAC structure. And,
for most corporations, requiring them to speak through a PAC
is the equivalent to banning their timely speech.

Public policy largely is decided by elected officials. When
an active legislative issue is before incumbent officials for
action, interested persons have a compelling need to address
those issues and to receive speech concerning those issues.
For such speech to petition effectively for redress, it must

3

identify the government officials who will make the crit-
ical decisions.

A key function of the Chamber is to represent the interests
of its members in important matters before the courts,
legislatures, and executive branches of state and federal
governments. In that role, the Chamber was a party to the
McConnell litigation challenging the facial constitutionality
of the BCRA’s restrictions on corporate political speech that
are the subject of the instant as applied challenge. The
Chamber regularly files briefs amicus curiae where the busi-
ness community’s right to political speech is at stake. See
Republican Party of Minn. v. White, 536 U.S. 765 (2002);
Elections Bd. of Wis. v. Wis. Mfrs. and Commerce, 597
N.W.2d 721 (Wis. 1999); FEC v. Mass. Citizens for Life, Inc.,
479 U.S. 238 (1986) (“MCFL”). And the Chamber, which is
incorporated, also has litigated to preserve its own First
Amendment nights of speech and association. See Chamber
of Commerce of the U.S. v. Moore, 288 F.3d 187 (Sth Cir.
2002); Chamber of Commerce of the U.S. v. FEC, 69 F.3d
600 (D.C. Cir. 1995).

This appeal affects the ability of the Chamber and its
members to exercise their core First Amendment right to
speak about active legislative issues when they are being
decided and to seek redress from incumbent elected officials
who will do the deciding. Thus, the Chamber's special
perspective and vital interests justify its submission of this
brief amicus curiae.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This appeal picks up where McConnell left off. This Court
previously has found that the government has demonstrated a
sufficiently compelling need to limit candidate advocacy
by corporations. McConnell, 540 U.S. at 205 (collecting
authority). Relying on its seminal campaign finance decision
in Buckley v. Valeo, 424 U.S. 1 (1976), the Court crafted a

4

standard that would serve that interest while avoiding over-
breadth by construing the law banning corporate political
speech to apply only to speech that contained explicit words
expressly advocating the election or defeat of clearly iden-
tified candidates. MCFL, 479 U.S. at 248-49.

Over time, Congress perceived that Buckley's “express
advocacy” standard was too easily circumvented by so-called
sham issue ads that avoided “magic words” such as “vote for”
or “elect,” but functioned as corporate candidate advocacy.
Eventually, in the BCRA, Congress enacted a new ban on
“electioneering communications” —corporate speech broad-
cast during months prior to an election that referred to a
federal candidate and could be received by a minimum
number of possible voters. 2 U.S.C. § 434(f)(3)(C).

In McConnell, the Chamber and others contended that
BCRA’s electioneering communication standard was facially
unconstitutional because it was not narrowly tailored to the
government’s claimed interest in limiting candidate advocacy
by corporations. By a bare majority, McConnell rejected that
facial challenge. The majority ruled that, because speech
within the electioneering communication definition “will
often convey [a] message of support or opposition” to a
candidate, the standard avoided facial invalidity because it
was not substantially overbroad. 540 U.S. at 205-07, 239.'

This appeal asks what should occur when the facially valid
electioneering communication standard is applied to suppress
core speech that does not support or oppose a candidate.
McConnell flagged this issue, noting that the justification for
limiting corporate candidate advocacy left open the status of
true issue speech. /d. at 206 n.88. Moreover, McConnell

' McConnell erroneously applied a test of “substantial overbreadth,”
rather than the more rigorous “narrow tailoring” test required by settled
precedent. 540 U.S. at 207. McConnell also found that the electioneering
communication standard provided a precise and objective bright line test.
540 US. at 194.

5

repeatedly noted that a facially valid restriction remains
open to “as applied” constitutional challenges. /d. at 159,
173, 244.

The as applied issue here arises from ads that appellant
Wisconsin Right to Life, Inc. (“WRTL”’) began broadcasting
in Wisconsin in July, 2004. Those ads criticized Senate
filibusters of judicial nominees and urged Wisconsin viewers
to petition their two Senators, Feingold and Kohl, to oppose
such filibusters. The ads said nothing about the record of the
two Senators, merely identifying them as the persons
representing Wisconsin interests in the filibuster controversy.

Because WRTL was a corporation, its broadcast speech
was potentially subject to restriction as _ electioneering
communications. Because Senator Feingold had decided to
seek reelection, as incumbent federal legislators frequently
do, the ads unavoidably mentioned a candidate, though they
did not identify him as such. The filibuster issue was not
resolved during July.

In August, 30 days before the Wisconsin primary elec-
tion, BCRA’s electioneering communication blackout period
began. At that point, the threat of serious civil and criminal
sanctions forced WRTL to suppress its ads, even though the
filibuster issue was coming to a head in the Serate where
Senator Feingold still held office. Indeed, because the
blackout period also included the 60 days before the general
election, WRTL faced a nearly three-month ban on core
speech directed not to the election but to an active legislative
issue then being decided by incumbent office holders.

WRTL’s situation is not unique. Nothing prevents vital
legislative issues from coming to the fore during the three
months prior to a general election and, indeed, that often has

? WRTL reasonably could believe that the filibuster of judicial nomi-
nees threatened the organization's broader policy goals. WRTL explained
why its theoretical right to speak through a PAC was not viable.

6

occurred. In the McConnell record, the ACLU listed 29
instances of action by the }06th Congress on bills of interest
to the organization during the 60 days prior to the November,
2000, elections. See McConnell J.A. at 622-626 (attached at
Appendix). In the McConnell district court litigation, Judge
Leon listed various “important, and controversial, pieces of
legislation” that were considered by Congress during the
blackout period, concluding that they illustrate “BCRA’s
potential impact on genuine issue advocacy.” McConnell v.
FEC, 251 F. Supp. 2d 176, 793 n.98 (D.D.C. 2003) (“a
resolution authorizing the use of armed force against Iraq . . .;
an election reform bill . . .; legislation to establish the
Department of Homeland Security . . .; and various appro-
priations bills”). In addition, the 108th Congress held 157
roll call votes in the 60 days leading up to the November,
2004, elections. See United States House of Representatives
and United States Senate Roll Call Votes, 108th Congress —
2d Session (2004), at http://www.senate.gov/legislative/LIS/
roll_call_lists/vote_menu_108_2.htm,http://clerk.house.gov/evs/
2004/ROLL 400.asp, and _http://clerk.house.gov/evs/2004/
ROLL _500.asp (last visited Oct. 28, 2005). Lastly, it is not
unusual for legislators to maneuver to set sensitive votes in
the election period. See, e.g., Andrew Mollison, Votes on
Guns, Marriage Slated; GOP Leaders in House Push
Symbolic Bills, Atlanta Journal-Const., Sept. 28, 2004, at 3A.

Corporations who need to address those issues and urge the
public to call for redress by their elected representatives often
will find themselves facially barred by the electioneering
communication standard. Such situations may not be so
common as to justify holding the electioneering communi-
cation standard facially invalid--though the Chamber
disagrees with this point and litigated it in McConnell-—they
are important to those involved and to our core constitutional
values.

7

WRTL brought an action seeking preliminary relief to
allow it to continue its ads. WRTL argued that simple
inspection of its ads showed that they did not advocate for or
against any candidate but, instead, addressed an active
legislative issue and mentioned the incumbent officials who
could provide redress. Thus, the need to restrict corporate
candidate advocacy that McConnell relied on to justify the
electioneering communication standard did not apply to the
WRTL ads or to similar speech. Because any suppression of
core speech is irreparable injury and the First Amendment
establishes a strong public interest in free speech, WRTL
argued that preliminary relief should be granted.

As required by section 403 of the BCRA, the action was
considered by a 3-judge panel of the U.S. District Court for
the District of Columbia. That court denied preliminary
relief, ruling inter alia that:

e Although McConnell only “was considering a facial
challenge,” it precluded all “‘as applied” challenges by
ruling that “we uphold all applications” of the
electioneering communication standard, thus barring
relief as a matter of law.

e Because WRTL’s ads were of a general type that
McConnell said “often” will communicate an elec-
tioneering message (e.g., broadcast by a corporation
near an election and referring to a candidate) and
WRTL’s PAC opposed Senator Feingold, WRTL
could not show that its ads did not implicate the
government interest in suppressing corporate can-
didate advocacy.

e WRITCL faced little injury because it retained the theo-
retical right to address the issue of filibusters in other
ways, including through its PAC.

8
e The “public interest [in suppressing the ads] is already
established by the Court’s holding {in McConnell] and
by Congress’ enactment.”

Shortly thereafter, the panel entered a final order of dismissal
“for the reasons set forth” in denying preliminary relief.

WRTL appealed to this Court, noting that, although the
occasion for its particular ads had passed, this was a situation
capable of repetition while avoiding review, that WRTL
intended to finance similar speech in the future, and that this
Court usefully could begin to mark the contours of as applied
challenges to the electioneering communication standard.
WRTL further observed that, because BCRA funnels all such
as applied challenges to the same district court, the precedents
set by that court were particularly important and could not be
shaped by the differing views of other courts.

The FEC moved to dismiss the appeal or summarily affirm
the judgment, asserting McConnell was dispositive. This
Court denied the motion and agreed to consider both whether
as applied challenges are viable in light of McConnell and
whether WRTL’s ads should have been protected.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The as applied relief sought here relieves a fundamental
tension between McConnell’s rationale and its holding.
McConnell reasoned that the substance of corporate speech, -
not its form, determined the government’s need to regulate.
So-called sham issue ads that were “the functional equivalent
of express advocacy” in substance clearly advocated for or
against candidates. McConnell, 540 U.S. at 206. The same
compelling interest the Court has found adequate to justify
suppressing corporate express advocacy also justified
suppression of functionally equivalent speech cast in the form
of issue ads.

However, having just held that substance trumped form,
McConnell then sustained a definition of forbidden speech—

9

the electioneering communication standard—based on form
rather than substance. The test looked to such formal matters
as where and when speech was broadcast and whether a
candidate was identified, giving no weight to whether the
speech functioned as candidate advocacy.

This tension between McConnell’s rationale and result had
a reason. To assure core speech is not deterred by un-
certainty, First Amendment facial analysis requires the gov-
ernment to provide a sufficiently tailored bright line defi-
nition of the speech that is regulated. Such a definition may
well employ formal elements that are objective, easily
identified, and reasonable markers for the speech the gov-
ernment may regulate. The resulting bright line plays a
valuable primary role in identifying speech that poses no risk
of regulation. Assuming it is sufficiently tailored, it defines a
substantial area in which speech is not needlessly chilled by
uncertainty and risk. But such a line inevitably will encom-
pass some speech that the government has no compelling
need to regulate.

At the same time, the First Amendment commands cate-
gorically “Congress shall make no law . . . abridging the
freedom of speech,” a command that applies with full force to
corporate as well as individual speech. Although compelling
necessity may override that command, that rationale sets its
own limits. If the government does not actually need to
suppress particular speech, the First Amendment commands
that the speech be freely allowed.”

* This consideration distinguishes ordinary economic and social leg-
islation. In that context, the due process and equal protection clauses
demand only minimal rationality. Thus, if formal markers have a rea-
sonable association with substance, the basic constitutional commands are
met and the legislation may be enforced categorically, unless it trenches
on some other constitutional guarantee. The unique aspect of legislation
regulating core speech is that it all transgresses a core constitutional
command, so that mere rationality of classification is not a sufficient

10

There is nothing novel about using as applied challenges to
assure that facially valid provisions do not suppress more
core First Amendment activity than is strictly necessary. To
the contrary, McConnell repeatedly observed that provisions
sustained against facial attack remained open to as applied —
challenge. Indeed, since most types of statutes typically are
presumed to be valid, the great majority of as applied chal-
lenges involve provisions that are presumed facially valid.“

Importantly, as applied challenges are no substitute for the
narrowly tailored and objective bright lines demanded by
First Amendment facial analysis. Such lines are critical. But
neither do as applied challenges conflict with a bright line
standard. Instead, they are an important backstop, making
sure that the unavoidable limits of legislative foresight and
precision do not convert into needless suppression of core
speech. Indeed, but for the as applied safety valve, the First
Amendment might demand a standard of legislative drafis-
manship that would be not just high but virtually impossible.”

The challenge for this Court is to establish standards for as
applied challenges that will permit them to serve a mean-
ingful speech-protecting role. This need not be done all at
once. A benefit of as applied analysis is the opportunity it
affords to assess specific circumstances in the light of ex-

justification. See W. Va State Bd of Educ. v. Barnette, 319 U.S. 624,
639 (1943).

* Statutes that substantially burden core First Amendment speech are
presumed invalid. See RAV. v. City of St. Paul, 505 U.S. 377, 382
(1992). But that does not mean that a finding of facial validity immunizes
them from as applied attack. To the contrary, because they operate in a
field where the First Amendment forbids Congress to legislate, they must
be scrutinized with particular care. :

* The real risk is that the availability of as applied challenges may lead
to acceptance of needlessly low drafting standards. The front line
protection of First Amendment values is rigorous facial scrutiny that
insists on precise and objective standards that are carefully tailored to the
necessity for regulation.

perience. But this Court should not rule so narrowly that
every proposed ad must be litigated. Instead, this Court
repeatedly has employed as applied litigation to identify
categories to which a facially valid standard cannot lawfully
apply. See infra Section III.

The facts presented by WRTL identify one common cir-
cumstance to which the electioneering communication stan-
dard does not properly apply. From time to time, elected
representatives will be dealing with an active legislative issue
in the 90 days prior to an election. For example, a list of such
active legislative issues that were pending during the blackout
period in 2000 is attached.

Affected corporations must be free to address such issues
freely and to urge citizens who agree to petition their in-
cumbent elected officials for redress, even if they happen to
be seeking reelection (as incumbents often do). Foreclosing
such speech for 90 days—an eternity in public debate—is
truly Draconian.° Yet permitting such true issue speech
would not threaten the interest in limiting corporate electoral
advocacy relied on by McConnell. Accordingly, this Court
should hold that:

e The electioneering communication standard is open to
as applied challenges; and

e The electioneering communication standard cannot
constitutionally be applied to speech that addresses an
active legislative issue and refers to a candidate only
in his or her role as an elected official.

® The Chamber expects that WRTL and other participants will discuss
why organizing and operating a PAC is a serious burden and often is
entirely impractical. For corporations that do not have a PAC in place or
whose PAC resources have been committed elsewhere, the electioneering
communication provision will operate as a ban. In any event, this Court
has held that subjecting core speech to substantial burden is a prohibited
abridgment that must be justified by compelling necessity. See MCFL,
479 US. at 263.

12
ARGUMENT

I. CORE FIRST AMENDMENT GUARANTEES
INCLUDE THE RIGHT OF CORPORATIONS
TO SPEAK ON PUBLIC ISSUES AND THE
RIGHT OF WILLING MEMBERS OF THE
PUBLIC TO RECEIVE SUCH SPEECH

This Court has been clear that corporate speech on public
issues is “indispensable to the effective and intelligent use of
the processes of popular government to shape the destiny of
modern industrial society,” Thornhill v. Alabama, 310 U.S.
88, 103 (1940), and is part of “the free flow of informa-
tion” the First Amendment protects, Virginia State Board of
Pharmacy v. Virginia Citizens Consumer Council, Inc., 425
U.S. 748, 765 (1976). Thus, in case after case this Court has
held that corporate speech merits the same high level of First
Amendment protection afforded to speech by individuals.
See First Nat'l Bank of Boston v. Bellotti, 435 U.S. 765, 786
(1978); Consol. Edison Co. v. Pub. Serv. Comm'n of N_Y.,
447 U.S. 530, 540 (1980); Pac. Gas & Elec. Co. v. Pub. Utils.
Comm'n of Cal., 475 U.S. 1, 19 (1986); Austin v. Mich.
Chamber of Commerce, 494 U.S. 652, 657, 699-701 (1990)
(unanimous as to “strict scrutiny” standard of review);
McConnell, 540 U.S. at 330 (Kennedy, J., dissenting) (“All
parties agree strict scrutiny applies. . . .”’).

The First Amendment protects “speech” rather than merely
speakers, and the process of meaningful speech also involves
listening. Thus, the right of free speech protected by the First
Amendment includes the right to receive information from
willing speakers, including corporations. See Bellotti, 435
U.S. at 783 (“the First Amendment goes beyond protection of
the press and the self-expression of individuals to prohibit
government from limiting the stock of information from
which members of the public may draw”); Martin v. City
of Struthers, 319 U.S. 141, 143 (1943) (“This freedom [of
speech and press] . . . necessarily protects the right to receive

13

it.”) (internal citation omitted). In particular, the First
Amendment protects the right to receive political, social, and
other information related to the functioning of government,
see Kleindienst v. Mandel, 408 U.S. 753, 763 (1972) (citing
Red Lion Broad. Co. v. FCC, 395 U.S. 367, 390 (1969)),
including information about “candidates, structures and forms
of government, the manner in which government is operated
or should be operated, and all such matters relating to
political processes.” Mills v. Alabama, 384 U.S. 214, 218-19
(1966). Without such a mght, the First Amendment’s
universally recognized purpose of assuring free discussion of
public affairs so that truth will ultimately prevail cannot be
achieved. See id.; Kleindienst, 408 U.S. at 763 (1972) (citing
Red Lion Broad. Co., 395 U.S. at 390).’

In short, corporate speech on public issues receives the
same high degree of First Amendment protection as speech
by individuals. Although McConnell sustained the corporate
prohibition on engaging in electioneering communications, it
did so because “the Government has a compelling interest in
regulating advertisements that expressly advocate the election
or defeat of a candidate for federal office” and electioneering
communications “are the functional equivalent of express
advocacy.” 540 U.S. at 205-06. But that rationale implies its
own limit—suppression of core speech must be no broader
than is strictly necessary. :

’ As this discussion demonstrates, corporate discussion of issues is en-
titled to the highest level of protection, not the lesser protection some-
times afforded to “commercial speech.” But even commercial speech is
highly protected. See Greater New Orleans Broad. Ass'n, Inc. v. United
States, 527 U.S. 173 (1999).

14

Il. McCONNELL’S RECOGNITION OF A COMPEL-
LING NEED TO LIMIT SHAM ISSUE ADS
THAT WERE THE FUNCTIONAL EQUIVA-
LENT OF EXPRESS CANDIDATE ADVOCACY
DOES NOT JUSTIFY SUPPRESSING TRUE
ISSUE ADVOCACY BY CORPORATIONS

Where the First Amendment’s core provision is set aside to
serve compelling necessity, that need must be precisely
defined to mark out the limits of permissible suppression of
speech. McConnell simply applied prior rulings accepting a
compelling governmental interest in protecting candidate
elections from corruption that threatens the link between the
popular will and those who govern. 540 U.S. at 206 n.88
(“unusually important interests [in] ‘[p]reserving the integrity
of the electoral process’”’) (citing and quoting Bellotti, 435
U.S. at 788-89). Moreover, this Court has held that corporate
advocacy for or against candidates poses such a threat and
justifies a-departure from the First Amendment’s categorical
command that Congress “make no law” abridging free
speech. /d. at 205 (collecting authority).*

But the Court has never found a compelling need to
regulate corporate issue speech that does not advocate for or
against candidates. To the contrary, it repeatedly has pro-
tected true corporate issue advocacy. For example, Bellotti
flatly rejected any notion that “speech that otherwise would
be within the protection of the First Amendment loses that
protection simply because its source is a corporation.” 435
U.S. at 784. Emphasizing that First Amendment rights have
“particular significance with respect to government,” id. at

* The empirical and theoretical grounds for this conclusion are weak,
and the Chamber hopes the Court eventually will revisit the issue. For
present purposes, however, the Chamber assumes that a compelling inter-
est justifies excluding most corporations (but not “MCFL” or media
corporations) from electoral advocacy.

15

777 n.11, Bellotti held that the state had no compelling need
to forbid corporate issue advocacy.

Similarly, Consolidated Edison Co. found no justification
for preventing even a regulated corporate monopoly from
addressing “controversial issues of public policy.” 447 U.S.
at 537. Stressing that the corporate nature of a speaker does
not undermine “the inherent worth of the speech in terms of
its capacity for informing the public,” it forbade the state to
interfere with the corporation’s use of space in its billing
envelopes for issue advocacy. /d. at 530 (quoting Bellotti,
435 U.S. at 777).”

Buckley clearly understood the government's legitimate
concem to be limited to restricting candidate advocacy rather
than true issue speech. Thus, in crafting a narrowing
construction intended to cure vagueness and overbreadth,
Buckley focused on speech using explicit words that expressly
advocated the election or defeat of clearly identified
candidates. 424 U.S. at 43-44.

When Congress concluded that the express advocacy
standard proved ineffective to restricting corporate candidate
advocacy, Congress created and McConnell approved the
electioneering communication standard. McConnell said that
corporate issue speech was not so rigidly protected that
merely adopting the form of issue speech precluded all regul-
ation. 540 U.S. at 193. Instead, the issue was one of sub-
stance: the government was equally entitled to reach
so-called sham issue ads that “do not urge the viewer to vote
for or against a candidate in so many words [but] are no less

* The corporate form of certain nonprofit organizations is disregarded
for purposes of the restrictions at issue in this case. See 11 C.F.R.
§ 114.10 (exempting MCFL corporations from electioneering commu-
nication ban). Like the vast majority of corporations, WRTL is not such
an Organization. This case, like Bellotti and Consolidated Edison Co.,
concerns restrictions on the speech of true corporations.

16

clearly intended to influence the election.” Id. (emphasis
added).

Thus, McConnell held that the new electioneering com-
munication standard served the same compelling interest in
restricting corporate candidate advocacy that had justified
applying Buckley's express advocacy standard to corporate
speech. In response to arguments that “the justifications that
adequately support the regulation of express advocacy do not
apply to significant quantities of speech encompassed by the
definition of electioneering communications,” McConnell
responded:
This argument fails to the extent that the issue ads
broadcast during the 30- and 60-day periods preceding
federal primary and general elections are the functional
equivalent of express advocacy. The justifications for
the regulation of express advocacy apply equally to ads
aired during those periods if the ads are intended to
influence the voter’s decisions and have that effect.

Id. at 206 (emphasis added). In short, the need to regulate

depended on whether the ads, in fact, functioned as express

advocacy, not on their form.

Ironically, having held that the government’s need to
suppress speech was determined by its substance—func-
tioning as candidate advocacy—McConnell sustained an
electioneering communication standard that, like the express
advocacy standard, turned on issues of form. /d. Although
McConnell concluded that the formal incidents specified by
the electioneering communication standard often are markers
for candidate advocacy, the Court recognized this need not
always be so. Jd. at 206-07.

McConnell acknowledged that “the interests that justify the

regulation of campaign speech might not apply to the
regulation of genuine issue ads.” Id. at 206 n.88 (emphasis

17

added).'° In fact, the record in McConnell included evidence
of such genuine issue speech by corporations. See, e.g.,
McConnell J.A. at 328 (the Chamber supported ads “that
urged Senator Daschle to schedule a Senate vote on Eugene
Scalia’s nomination as Solicitor of Labor’), 286 (the National
Association of Manufactures ran ads supporting the Presi-
dent’s tax proposal and “referred to the proposal as being that
of the President’). Nonetheless, the Court held the elec-
tioneering communication standard to be sufficiently tailored
because “the vast majority” of ads within its language were
the “functional equivalent” of express advocacy and “clearly
had [the same] purpose.” /d. at 206; see also Colo. Right to
Life Comm., Inc. v. Davidson, No. 03-CV-1454, 2005 WL
2450157, at *13 (D. Colo. Sept. 30, 2005) (“if the govern-
ment wishes to justify a regulation of corporate political
activity under [McConnell], it must demonstrate that the
regulated activity is ‘the functional equivalent of express
advocacy.””’)

In sum, the electioneering communication standard was
held facially valid because it met the government’s com-
pelling need to restrict corporate speech that was the func-
tional equivalent of express candidate advocacy. McConnell
did not find any compelling need to suppress genuine
corporate issue speech. It merely predicted that such genuine
issue ads would not be affected frequently enough to justify
holding the standard facially invalid. McConnell clearly left
the door open to restrict application of the electioneering
communication standard to speech that does not function as
express candidate advocacy.

'° Context makes clear that McConnell uses “genuine issue ads” to
distinguish speech that is the “functional equivalent” of express advocacy.
To illustrate the “so-called issue advocacy” targeted by the electioneering
communication standard, McConnell quoted an ad that accused a
candidate of beating his wife and failing to support his children. 540 US.
at 193 n.78.

18

Ill. THE “ELECTIONEERING COMMUNICATION”
PROVISIONS OF BCRA CANNOT CONSTITU-
TIONALLY BE APPLIED TO SUPPRESS
CORPORATE ADS THAT ADDRESS ACTIVE
LEGISLATIVE ISSUES AND SEEK REDRESS
FROM INCUMBENT REPRESENTATIVES

Although as applied challenges typically are supported by
one or more concrete examples, the Court often describes a
category of speech that is protected from the primary
standard. For example, Edenfield v. Fane, 507 U.S. 761
(1993), entertained a challenge to promotional activities by
Certified Public Accountants. The Court accepted that there
could be a need to protect individuals from such activities.
But because businesses tend to be more sophisticated and less
vulnerable, the Court held that “as applied to CPA solicitation
in the business context,” the statute violated the First
Amendment. 507 U.S. at 763; see also United States v. Edge
Broad. Co., 509 U.S. 418, 431 (1993) (Fane sustained an “as
applied challenge to a broad category of commercial
solicitation”); Brockett v. Spokane Arcades, Inc., 472 U.S.
491, 504 (1985) (holding an obscenity statute invalid as
applied to some definitions of “lust” but not others). Simi-
larly, Colorado Republican Federal Campaign Committee v.
FEC, 518 U.S. 604, 620-22 (1996), held that general
spending restrictions could not be applied to “independent
expenditures” by political committees. And United States v.
National Treasury Employees Union, 513 US. 454, 478
(1995), held that a restriction on honoraria violated the First
Amendment as applied to federal employees in lower pay
grades. There, although Justice O’Connor’s partial dissent
preferred to describe a different category of protected speech,
she accepted the basic approach, saying:

There is a commonsense appeal to the Government’s
argument that, having deemed a particular application of
a statute unconstitional, a court should not then throw up

19

its hands and despair of delineating the area of un-
constitutionality.

513 U.S. at 486.

Similarly here, the specific circumstances presented by
WRTL illustrate a category of corporate speech to which the
electioneering communication standard cannot constitution-
ally be applied.'' In addition to protecting that particular
speech, this Court can best advance First Amendment goals
by delineating that category. The Chamber suggests that
category of speech has two defining characteristics: (i) it
addresses an active legislative issue, and (ii) it refers to
candidates only in their capacity as incumbent elected
officials with responsibility for the issue being discussed.

A legislative issue is active when it is pending for action in
Congress during the electioneering communication blackout
period. For example, the judicial filibuster issue addressed by
the WRTL ads was active because filibustered nominations
were pending in the Senate, the Senate remained in session,
and Senators were actively considering potential solutions.
Such an active legislative issue urgently and logically justifies
discussion during the blackout period and is not mere “past
history” dredged up as a pretext for candidate advocacy.

Similarly, incumbent legislators who have responsibility
for acting on such an active issue are logical and necessary
persons to be named in such issue discussions. In the case of
the WRTL ads, whom else should viewers in Wisconsin
petition to end judicial filibusters than their own elected

'' Of course, there is no need for the Court to identify all categories to
which a standard may not be applied. The Court may proceed incre-
mentally as particular challenges illuminate particular categories that
should be protected from the general rule. However, given the First
Amendment imperative to suppress no speech unnecessarily, the Court
should not be unduly restrained in identifying the categories or principles
that justify as applied protection.

20

Senators? Referring to elected representatives only in that
role, and not as candidates or the subject of electoral ex-
hortation, allows effective petitioning without inviting can-
didate campaigning.

An exception to the definition of electioneering commu-
nication that these two elements mark as true issue advocacy
would be clear and objectively determinable.'? It would not
replace that essential bright line that this Court has required is
necessary before regulating core speech, Buckley 424 U.S. at
42-44, but will provide fallback protection for speech this
Court has never empowered Congress to regulate.

Such an exception would restore the core First Amendment
right of the Chamber and other business organizations to
speak out on active legislative issues of importance to the
business community whenever they arise. See supra at 17
regarding ads urging Senate votes on federal nominees and
ads supporting the President’s proposed tax plans. The
exception would also avoid incentivising incumbent federal
office holders to avoid public criticism for their official acts
by scheduling them during the electioneering communication
blackout period.

'2 WRTL offers a list of further criteria confirming that its proposed
speech would not justify suppression. The Chamber submits that most of
these factors simply are not necessary and would pointlessly circumscribe
this Court’s delineation of the protected category.

21
CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the judgment of the lower court
should be reversed.

Respectfully submitted,
Of counsel: JAN WITOLD BARAN
Counsel of Record

STEPHEN A. BOKAT THOMAS W. KIRBY
AMAR D. SARWAL CALEB P. BURNS
NATIONAL CHAMBER WILEY REIN & FIELDING LLP

LITIGATION CENTER, INC. 1776 K Street, N.W.
1615 H Street, N.W. Washington, DC 20006
Washington, DC 20062 (202) 719-7000

5S) <OP-S007 Counsel for Amicus Curiae

la
APPENDIX

106th Congress
Congressional Action During the 60 Days Prior to
November Election on Bills of interest to the ACLU

Capital Punishment:
e “Sense of Congress” regarding the obligation of
grantee states to ensure access to post-conviction
DNA testing and competent counsel in capital cases
(Amdt. 4345 to S. 3045): Introduced in the Senate on
10/26/2000.

Chruch-State:

e Bill to protect religious groups in land-use disputes
(S 2869) signed by the President on 9/22/2000; P.L.
106-274.

e Allows faith-based organizations to receive federal
support for programs to help low income fathers get
more involved in their families’ lives (HR 4678):
Passed House 9/7/2000.

Criminal Justice:

e Provide grants to states to process backlog of DNA
evidence (HR 4640): Passed House 10/2/2000.

e Pressure states into requiring HIV testing of rape

' suspects who have been formally charged, by threat-
ening to withhold federal crime-fighting block grant
money (HR 3088): Passed House 10/2/2000.

e Aimee’s Law: cuts federal crime fighting money to
states if convicted murderers & rapists did not serve
stiff sentences and went on to commit offense in
another state (part of HR 3244): Passed Senate
10A1 1/2000.

2a

Gay and Lesbian Issues:

e Repeal federal charter of Boy Scouts, in reaction to
Supreme Court: decision that allows Boy Scouts to
discriminate against homosexuals (HR 4892): De-
feated in House 9/13/2000.

e Prohibit using local or federal funds for needle
exchange (amendment to HR 4942): Passed House
9/27/2000.

e Prohibit the use of Federal funds for the conduct or
support of programs of HIV testing that fail to make
every reasonable effort to inform the individuals of
the results of the testing (HR 5615): Introduced in the
House on 10/11/2000.

Hate Crimes:

e Expansion of federal hate crimes law (amendment to
S 2549): House voted to instruct conferees to accept
amendment 9/13/2000; conferees dropped language
from bill 10/5/2000.

Immigration:

e Allow some immigrants who committed minor crimes
long ago to apply to stay in US and not be deported;
part of “Fix °96” (HR 5062); Passed House 9/19/2000.

Internet Filtering

e Force schools and libraries to use technology protec-
tion measures to block access by children to web
pornography (amendment to HR 4577): Conferees
added this provision to the bill 10/23/2000.

Media & Violence

e Require violent TV programming be limited to hours
when children are not likely to be a substantial part of
audience (S 876): Approved by Senate Commerce
committee 9/20/2000.

3a

Physician-Assisted Suicide:

Overturns Oregon’s law that permits physician-
assisted suicide (amendment to HR 2614): Passed
House 10/26/2000; Filibustered in Senate 10/27/2000.

Privacy:

Restrictions on law enforcement use of electronic
surveillance (HR 5018): Approved by House Judiciary
subcommittee 9/14/2000; Mark-up by House Judi-
ciary committee 9/20/2000.

Creation of commission to study issue of privacy on
the internet (HR 4049): Defeated in House 10/2/2000:
failed to get 2/3’s majority needed for passage under
suspension of rules.

Prohibit the appearance of Social Security account
numbers on or through unopened mailings of checks
(HR 3218): Passed House 10/18/2000; Passed Senate
10/25/2000.

Enhance privacy protections for individuals, and to
prevent fraudulent misuse of Social Security account
numbers (HR 4857): House full committee mark up
on 9/28/2000.

Reproductive Rights:

Funding prohibition in DC Approp. (HR 4942; HR
$633): Passed both House and Senate on | 1/14/2000.

“Conscience clause” to employee-sponsored health
plans coverage of contraceptives (amendment to HR
4942): Passed House 9/14/2000.

Abortion restrictions on international family plan-
ning aid (HR 4811): Conference Committee ap-
pointed 10/19/2000; House debates conference report
10/25/2000;

4a

e Define “human being;” seeks to protect humans born
alive at any stage of pregnancy (HR 4292): Passed
House 9/26/2000.

e Prevent abortion protestors convicted of violent
crimes from seeking bankruptcy protection to avoid
paying hefty legal penalties (amendment to S 3046):
Senate voted to proceed with debate on 10/19/2000.

e Prohibit use of funds to distribute postcoital emer-
gency contraception “morning after pill on elemen-
tary or secondary school premises (HR 4577, Labor/
HHS Approp.): Pre. Coburn announces intention to
offer motion to instruct House conferees on this
amendment on 9/18/2000.

Secret Evidence

e Makes it harder for INS to use secret evidence to
deport immigrants or to deny tem [sic] asylum (HR
2121): Approved by House Judiciary Committee
9/26/2000.

Terrorism

e Provide clearer coverage over threats against former
Presidents and members of their families (HR 3048):
House disagreed with certain Senate amendments on
10/25/2000.

Trafficking Victims:

e Combat trafficking of persons, especially into the sex
trade, slavery, and slavery-like conditions (HR 3244):
Passed Senate 10/11/2000.

Violence Against Women:

e - Reauthorization of VAWA (HR 1248): Passed House
9/26/2000; Passed Senate as par [sic] of HR 3244
0/11/2000 [sic].

Sa

Voting Reform

Proposing a constitutional amendment to abolish the
electoral college and to provide for the direct popular
election (SJRes 56): Introduced in the Senate on
11/01/2000. Proposing a constitutional amendment to
abolish the electoral college (HJRes 113): Introduced
in the House on 10/12/2000.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0102%3A14. Public record. Not legal advice.
