# Amicus Curiae Brief — United States v. Grubbs

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0092%3A10

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2006
- **Citation:** 547 U.S. 90

## Text

5

No. 04-1414

In the
Supreme Court of the United States

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Petitioner,
Vv.

JEFFREY GRUBBS,

Respondent.

On Writ of Certiorari
to the Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit

BRIEF AMICI CURIAE OF THE NATIONAL
ASSOCIATION OF CRIMINAL DEFENSE LAWYERS
AND PROFESSOR GEORGE C. THOMAS III IN

SUPPORT OF RESPONDENT
JEFFREY L. FISHER DANIEL L. KAPLAN
Co-Chair, NACDL Counsel of Record
Amicus Committee JASON ROMERO
2600 Century Square OSBORN MALEDON P.A.
1501 Fourth Avenue 2929 N. Central Ave.
Seattle, WA 98101 Phoenix, AZ 85012-2794

(206) 628-7615 (602) 640-9000

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES ............000000000:. i
INTERESTS OF AMICI CURIAE ..........2.000000: 1
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT ...........020000000 2
pS ee Se res Sener an ne 3

I. The Historical Background of the Fourth
Amendment as an Expression of Abhorrence of

Discretionary Searches ...........ccceeeee- 3

A. General Warrants and Writs of Assistance
REINS co spceccncucscenccocsuwss 3

B. The Colonial and Revolutionary American
Experience with General Warrants and
WED OS AOTINEED 2. nc ccsiccsvecenes 8

i, James Otis’ Argument in the 1761
Writ of Assistance Case (Paxton’s
SN i hdd bendee cen dneeuetes 11

2. Chief Justice Pratt’s Opinions in The
Ss cacndccacvehess 17

3. Efforts to Enforce the Townshend
Acts with Writs of Assistance .. 21

II. “Anticipatory” Warrants’ Essential Resemblance
to General Warrants and Writs of Assistance . 24

REE 6% Vucnwccedecteucscanssaunewnnes 28

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page
Cases
State v. Nusbaum, 107 P.3d 768 (Wash. Ct. App. 2005) ..... 27
United States v. Hale, 784 F.2d 1465 (9th Cir. 1986) ......... 2

United States v. Rowland, 145 F.3d 1194 (10th Cir. 1998) .... 27

United States v. Weber, 923 F.2d 1338 (9th Cir. 1990) ......... 2
Vernonia School District v. Acton, 515 U.S. 646 (1995) ..... 4,9
Yee v. Escondido, 503 U.S. 519 (1991) .......... 2c eee eees 2
ions, Statut Rul
Cen CORR, BURGE BU cccccontnsnctcaqsencssenseptetnimnennniosunitnndinhconinin 25
Supreme Court Rules, Rule 14.1 ......::sssccsessessseeeesenseeeseeersesees 2
Supreme Court Rules, Rule 37.3 .......:..cscesssessecerseceeeeeesenennnenes 1
Supreme Court Rules, Rule 37.6 ........ssssssssecsereeeseesenseseneneees 1
iscell

Akhil Reed Amar, The Fourth Amendment, Boston, and the Writs
of Assistance, 30 Suffolk U. L. Rev. 53, 67 (1996) ........cseseeeeees 12

Morgan Cloud, Searching Through History; Searching For History,
GB U. CAL. L, Raw. TFGF ODE ccecccsccvecsevesscccsessscccveessccsnsssossnee 4

4 Sir Edward Coke, The Institutes of the Laws of England (1642) 6

William J. Cuddihy, The Fourth Amendment: Origins and Original
Meaning (1990) (unpublished Ph.D. dissertation, Claremont
SIND cccacireescctansvereceniprecsosenemmaumsinsennmnsmnnigente passim

Thomas Y. Davies, Recovering the Original Fourth Amendment, 98
EREDL, Be Baw. BEF (III OD acccrnsensersvonscevecesenrsenncancopene 12, 16, 20, 24

O.M. Dickerson, Writs of Assistance as a Cause of the Revolution,
in Richard B. Morris, ed., The Era of the American Revolution
(Columbia University Press 1939) .......s.ssscessessesseersneeneers 22, 23

Nelson B. Lasson, The History and Development of the Fourth

Amendment to the United States Constitution (The Johns Hopkins
UII :Weiiciicininssbdastianaiivsstiiinnddcennsiniatiadinisdetibnasies 17-19, 21, 23

Tracy Maclin, The Complexity of the Fourth Amendment: A
Historical Review, 77 B.U. L. Rev. 925 (1997) .......seseeseeseeeeeeees 24

Tracy Maclin, When the Cure for the Fourth Amendment is Worse
Than the Disease, 68 S. Cal. L. Rev. 1 (1994) .......cccsceseceeeeseeeeees 24

Norma Rotunno, Annotation, Validity of Anticipatory Search
Warrants—State Cases, 67 A.L.R.5th 361 (1993) .....csseececeseeeeees 26

2 L. Kinvin Wroth and Hiller B. Zobel, eds., Legal Papers of John
Adams (Harvard University Press 1965) ........::.:ssesssesseeees 11-13

iil

BRIEF AMICI CURIAE OF THE NATIONAL
ASSOCIATION OF CRIMINAL DEFENSE
LAWYERS AND PROFESSOR GEORGE C.

THOMAS III IN SUPPORT OF RESPONDENT

INTERESTS OF AMICI CURIAE

The National Association of Criminal Defense
Lawyers (“NACDL”),a nonprofit corporation, is the only
national bar association working in the interest of public
and private criminal defense attorneys and their clients.
NACDL was founded in 1958 to ensure justice and due
process for persons accused of crimes, foster the integrity,
independence and expertise of the criminal defense
profession, and promote the proper and fair
administration of justice.’ NACDL has 10,000 members
nationwide-joined by 80 state and local affiliate
organizations with 28,000 members-including private
criminal defense lawyers, public defenders and law
professors committed to preserving fairness within
America’s criminal justice system. The American Bar
Association recognizes NACDL as an affiliate
organization and awards it full representation in its
House of Delegates. Professor Thomas is the Judge
Alexander P. Waugh, Sr. Distinguished Scholar at Rutgers
University School of Law. Professor Thomas has
published numerous books and articles dealing with
constitutional and criminal law and legal history. The
NACDL and Professor Thomas are concerned because the
issues presented in this case relate to a widely-used type

1. No counsel for any party has authored this brief in
whole or in part, and no person or entity, other than NACDL,
made any monetary contribution to its preparation or
submission. See Rule 37.6, Sup. Ct. Rules. Letters of consent
from the parties have been lodged with the Clerk of the Court.
Rule 37.3(a).

2

of search warrant, the constitutionality of which’ may be
properly assessed only pursuant to an adequate
examination of the historical background of the Fourth
Amendment.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The Anglo-American revulsion toward the sort of
broad governmental search-and-seizure authorizations
that were still commonplace in the first half of the
eighteenth century had many objects, and went through
many phases. English search-and-seizure practices in the
preceding centuries were commonly quite violent, and
were used as weapons for stifling dissent, forestalling
rebellion, and intimidating political opponents. But as
the Revolution neared in America, and the colonists
rapidly underwent a sea change in their attitude toward
broad general warrants and writs of assistance, one theme
became increasingly central: the conviction that non-
particularized search-and-seizure authorizations were
abhorrent because they conferred excessive discretion, and

2. The question of the constitutionality of “anticipatory”
search warrants is a “subsidiary” of, and is “fairly included”
within (Sup. Ct. R. 14.1(a)), the question presented in the Petition,
which asked whether the Fourth Amendment requires the
suppression of evidence when officers conduct a search under an
“anticipatory” warrant and certain conditions are present. See
Pet. at (I); see also Yee v. Escondido, 503 U.S. 519, 534 (1992) (“Once
a federal claim is properly presented, a party can make any
argument in support of that claim; parties are not limited to the
precise arguments they made below.”). It would have been futile
for Respondent to press this argument below, in light of Ninth
Circuit precedent. See United States v. Hale, 784 F.2d 1465, 1468-69
(9th Cir. 1986), abrogated on other grounds as noted in United States
v. Weber, 923 F.2d 1338, 1343 n.6 (9th Cir. 1990).

3

hence excessive power, on the government agents holding
them.

The “anticipatory” warrants that are the subject of
this case would have incurred the condemnation of the
generation of Americans who drafted, approved, and
ratified the Fourth Amendment, because these warrants
confer on government officials the power and discretion
to reach their own conclusion as to when the “triggering
events” giving rise to their search power have occurred.
Worse yet, in many cases-including this one-‘hese
warrants effectively go a step further, empowering
government agents to create the conditions that they may
then treat as giving them the power to search and seize.
In view of the sharp conflict between this form of warrant
and the original spirit and purpose of the Fourth
Amendment, the Court should hold that “anticipatory”
warrants are unconstitutional.

ARGUMENT

I.
The Historical Background of the Fourth Amendment

as an Expression of Abhorrence of Discretionary
Searches

A.
General Warrants and Writs of Assistance in England

The historical record supplies no shortage of
reasons for English and colonial American subjects to
oppose broad-based governmental search-and-seizure
authorizations. The preceding centuries had seen search-
and-seizure practices evolve from a relatively
uncontroversial set of methods for apprehending fleeing

4

felons and recovering contraband to an instrument of
political, religious, and class-oriented governmental
persecution.

In thirteenth century England, searches for fleeing
criminals were effected by the ancient practice of the “hue
and cry,” which provided that subjects who witnessed a
crime were to chase the perpetrator, blowing horns and
shouting for others to join them.’ Searches for, and
seizure of, fleeing felons were conducted by the public,
with minimal or no involvement of government officials,
and no authorization to break into private dwellings.*
Over the next two centuries, however, searches became
both more extensive, with pursuers increasingly being
permitted to enter private dwellings, and more a locus of
government authority, as legislation empowered
government officials to arrest persons suspected of past
crimes.’ By the fifteenth century, the Crown had begun
issuing general authorizations empowering royal agents

3. William J.Cuddihy, The Fourth Amendment: Origins and
Original Meaning 52 (1990) (unpublished Ph.D. dissertation,
Claremont Graduate School). Cuddihy’s dissertation, which we
rely on extensively as a compendium of primary materials and
a source of useful insights, was identified by Justice O’Connor as
“one of the most exhaustive analyses of the original meaning of
the Fourth Amendment ever undertaken.” Vernonia School
District v. Acton, 515 U.S. 646, 669 (1995) (O’Connor, J.,
dissenting). Professor Morgan Cloud described it as “a model of
the effort and objectivity that are hallmarks of legal history.”
Morgan Cloud, Searching Through History; Searching For History,
63 U. Chi. L. Rev. 1707, 1746 (1996).

4. Cuddihy, supra note 3, at 53-54.

5. Id. at 54-55.

5

to search for specified contraband or types of criminals.°
While the legal framework for aggressive house-to-house
searches had been articulated by the latter part of the
fifteenth century, however, in practice this power was not
widely exercised, and thus excited little opposition.’

Search-and-seizure practices underwent dramatic
changes in the Tudor and early Stuart eras (1485-1642).
Wide-ranging and highly-intrusive governmental
searches came to be used as tools for “cleans[ing] the
cities of vagabonds,”* regulating the entertainments and
dress of the working classes,’ and stifling political and
religious nonconformity."° The latter two purposes were
often overseen by two institutions that Revolutionary-era
Americans came to view as emblematic of tyrannical and
unjust government: the Privy Council and the Star
Chamber. Both of these entities made it their practice to
issue broad authorizations for aggressive search-and-
seizure campaigns directed at entire categories of
persons, places, or objects."’ And because these search-
and-seizure campaigns were used for their in terrorem

6. Id. at 56.
7. Id. at 75-76, 79.

8. Procl. no. 16, n. p., 23 Dec. 1487 (cited in 1 Tudor Royal
Proclamations, Paul L. Hughes and James F. Larkin eds., (1964-69)
17 (cited in Cuddihy, supra note 3, at 82)).

9. Cuddihy, supra note 3, at 84-85 (citing search
authorizations directed at the playing of dice, bowls, and tennis,
and the wearing of ostentatious headgear).

10. Id. at 115-99.

11. Id. at 115-16.

6

effect at least as much as for locating and seizing
criminals or contraband, they became increasingly
violent. Aggressive governmental house-to-house
searches thus became a reality with which English
subjects of all classes were intimately familiar, and
opposition to these practices began to mount.

One of the earliest and most influential critiques
came from Sir Edward Coke, who proclaimed in his 1642
treatise Institutes of the Laws of England that “ for justices of
peace to make warrants upon surmises, for breaking the
houses of any subjects to search for felons, or stoln [sic}
goods, is against Magna Carta.””* Royal search practices
were also attacked as unlawful and oppressive by
Parliament, which resented the Crown’s use of them as a
tool for subduing and intimidating its members.”

_ By 1700, English scholars had begun to articulate
a powerful critique of broad-based search authorizations,
focusing specifically on the issuance of general
warrants-~i.e., warrants that created broad authority to
search and did not specify particular places that could be
searched or things that could be seized. Nevertheless,
such general warrants continued to be the norm in
England, and continued to be used as tools of censorship
and political control.”

Meanwhile, in 1662, the institution of “writs of
assistance” was codified in English law, reinforcing yet

12. 4Sir Edward Coke, The Institutes of the Laws of England
176 (1642).

13. Cuddihy, supra note 3, at 242.

14. Id. at 292.

7

another legal basis for broad and indiscriminate
governmental search-and-seizure authority. Similar writs
had been in use for centuries, in the form of directions to
peace officers to assist individuals in recovering money or
property.” But the “Fraud Act” of 1662 regularized and
broadened the writ, authorizing the issuance of writs
empowering customs officials to “enter any house, shop,
cellar, warehouse, or room or other place” and if
necessary to “break open doors, chests, trunks and Ye
packages” to locate and seize uncustomed goods.”®

amended in 1701, the Act extended the duration of se
such writ to six months after the death of the monarch in
whose reign it was issued.” Technically, the customs
officer’s “writ of assistance” added little to the officer’s ex
oficio search authority."* In practice, however, the
issuance of the writ reinforced and clarified the officer’s
authority, making it difficult or impossible for the subject
of a search to claim in good faith that he had no
obligation to permit the officer to conduct a search.”

15. Id. at 299-300.

16. 13 and 14 Charles II, c. 11, sec. 5 (1662) (quoted in
Cuddihy, supra note 3, at 306).

17. 1 Anne, stat. 1, c. 8, sec. 5 (1701) (cited in Cuddihy,
supra note 3, at 306).

18. Cuddihy, supra note 3, at 650.

19. Thus, for example, Massachusetts Governor William
Shirley directed the customs service to obtain writs of assistance
from the colony’s highest court, the Superior Court of Judicature,
when the officers’ ex oficio searches were repeatedly met with
resistance and lawsuits. See 3 Thomas Hutchinson, The History of
Massachusetts 92 (1764-1828) (cited in Cuddihy, supra note 3, at
731).

8

B.
The Colonial and Revolutionary American Experience
with General Warrants and Writs of Assistance

Although America was destined to leap far ahead
of Britain in rejecting broad governmental search-and-
seizure authority, colonial Americans remained relatively
sanguine with respect to these practices until the 1760s.
Americans were familiar with the ancient principle that
“a man’s home was his castle,” and on occasion would
invoke it in support of the proposition that government
officials could not invade the privacy of their homes
under any circumstances.” But, notwithstanding their
awareness of British scholars’ attacks on the legality of
general warrants,” colonial Americans did not broadly
condemn them, and in fact treated them as the default
mechanism for authorizing searches.” Indeed, Americans
owned and used British legal treatises, which included
proposed forms of search warrants, virtually all of them
general in nature.

Notably, a form of general warrant known as a
“Dormant Warrant,” which resembled the present-day
“anticipatory” warrant insofar as it was issued in view of
possible future, rather than actual past, crimes, appeared
in a number of these treatises. Richard Kilburne’s Choice
Precedents Relating to the Office of a Justice of Peace included
a form of “Warrant Dormant” that authorized the holder
to search suspicious places as often as he wished for up to

20. See Cuddihy, supra note 3, at 363-69.
21. See id. at 370.

22. See id. at 376.

9

a year after an unsolved theft, in the anticipation that
further thefts might occur during that time.” Kilburne’s
treatise was on bookshelves from Francis Dana’s in
Massachusetts to William Byrd’s in Virginia.” Virtually
the same sort of warrant, designed to be issued in
anticipation of an outbreak of larcenies, appeared as a
“Lodging Warrant” in other contemporary legal manuals.
The “Lodging Warrant” authorized officials to “make
diligent search in the most suspicious Places. . . for goods
stoln [sic]” whenever and as frequently as the officer saw
fit.° These “Dormant” and “Lodging” warrants were
among the forms of general warrant familiar to Colonial
Americans, and, by the same token, were among the
forms of warrant that Americans later resolved to banish
forever from the American legal landscape. See Atwater
v. City of Lago Vista, 532 U.S. 318, 339-40 (2001) (citing
United States v. Watson, 423 US. 411, 429 (1976) (Powell,
J., concurring)); Vernonia School District v. Acton, 515 US.
646, 669 (1995) (O'Connor, J., dissenting).

Notwithstanding the colonial governments’

23. Richard Kilburne, Choice Precedents Pelating to the
Office of a Justice of Peace 406-07 (6th ed. 1700) (cited in Cuddihy,
supra note 3, at 288-89). Similar “dormant” form warrants
appeared in at least two other contemporary treatises. See John
Bond, Collection of Precedents 507 (2d ed. 1696); Henry Care and
William Nelson, English Liberties 177-78 (1700) (cited in Cuddihy,
supra note 3, at 289 n.11).

24. See Herbert Johnson, comp., Imported Eighteenth
Century Law Treatises in American Libraries 35 (Knoxville 1978)
(cited in Cuddihy, supra note 3, at 466-67 n.15).

25. Giles Jacob, Lex Mercatoria 169 (3d ed. 1720); see also
Joseph Higgs, A Guide to Justices 101-02 (3d ed. 1750) (cited in
Cuddihy, supra note 3, at 625-26 & n.79).

10

practice of issuing general warrants, these warrants had
not sparked widespread condemnation in America prior
to 1760. The reason is simple: Although colonial
governments turned to general warrants fairly routinely,
they did not do so very frequently.” Nor did colonial
governments have the means to effectuate broad and
oppressive searches. Even major cities such as Boston
and New York had at most a handful of constables, and
those they had were unpaid members of the community
who served for only a year before the job rotated to
another, all the while keeping their regular jobs.” In
contrast to the violent searches by professional proto-
armies that had characterized Tudor and early Stuart
England, the colonial American experience of general
searches had been more akin to “letting one’s brother-in-
law and the merchant next door look under the kitchen
table for Farmer Brown’s stolen pewterware.””

A few factors led to the rapid turnabout in
American attitudes after 1760. For one thing, the British
government's practices with respect to customs searches
stood in stark contrast to the general law-enforcement
searches carried out by local constables. Perhaps because
of the generally non-violent, surreptitious, and ostensibly
victimless nature of smuggling, customs laws had always
been accompanied by general search-and-seizure
authority.” Moreover, enforcement of these laws was
overseen, not by colonial governments and unpaid part-

26. See Cuddihy, supra note 3, at 375.
27. See id. at 497-503.
28. Id. at 504.

29. See id. at 58.

11

time constables, but by the British government and its
professional agents. English customs officers
aggressively exercised their general search powers in the
colonies, and by 1760 Americans’ resentment of these
harsh practices had become pronounced.”

Still more crucial to the sea change in Americans’
opinions, however, was a trilogy of celebrated legal
standoffs over search-and-seizure authority that occurred
on both sides of the Atlantic between 1761 and 1776.

1.
James Otis’ Argument in the 1761 Writ of Assistance
Case (Paxton’s Case)

The first occurred in Massachusetts in 1761, after
the death of George I] in October of 1760 caused the writs
of assistance issued during his reign to expire
automatically, pursuant to the Fraud Act of 1662." After
customs official Charles Paxton applied to the Superior
Court for the issuance of new writs, a group of Boston
merchants petitioned the Superior Court to hear
argument against the issuance of the writs. Surveyor
General of the Customs Thomas Lechmere petitioned to
be heard in support of the writs. The court agreed to hear
arguments, and the merchants retained James Otis, Jr., the
Crown’s chief attorney in Massachusetts and son of one
of the colony’s most powerful politicians, to help argue

30. See id. at 518.

31. See supra at 7 & n.16; 2 L. Kinvin Wroth and Hiller B.
Zobel, eds., Legal Papers of John Adams 112 (Harvard University
Press 1965) (“Adams Legal Papers”).

12

their side of the case.*

As the two sides squared off in the Council
Chamber of what is now the Old State House in Boston,
a young Boston lawyer and patriot, and future author of
the State search-and-seizure provision generally viewed
as the Fourth Amendment's nearest ancestor,” sat “lost in
Admiration.”“* John Adams, then 25 years old, would
later proclaim Otis’ argument against the Writs of
Assistance “the first scene of the first Act of Opposition to

32. See Cuddihy, supra note 3, at 763-65.

33. John Adams authored the 1780 Massachusetts
Constitution and Declaration of Rights, which included the
following provision:

Art. XIV. Every subject has a right to be secure from all
unreasonable searches and seizures of his person, his house,
his papers, and all his possessions. All warrants, therefore,
are contrary to this right, if the cause or foundation of them
be not previously supported by oath or affirmation; and if
the order in the warrant to a civil officer, to make search in
suspected places, or to arrest one or more suspected
persons, or to seize their property, be not accompanied
witha special designation of the person or objects of search,
arrest, or seizure: And no warrant ought to be issued, but
in cases, and with the formalities, prescribed by the laws.

Thomas Y. Davies, Recovering the Original Fourth Amendment, 98
Mich. L. Rev. 547, 684-85 (1999). Professor Amar has noted that
“[t]he language, logic and structure of the Massachusetts
Constitution’s Article XIV rather clearly foreshadow the federal
Fourth Amendment.” Akhil Reed Amar, The Fourth Amendment,
Boston, and the Writs of Assistance, 30 Suffolk U. L. Rev. 53, 67
(1996).

34. Adams Legal Papers, supra note 31, at 106.

13

the arbitrary Claims of Great Britain,” adding: “[t]hen
and there the child Independence was born.”

Adams’ “Abstract” of Otis’ argument, a version of
which was published in the Massachusetts Spy in 1773,
indicates that among Otis’ indictments of the writ was the
fact that it empowered those holding it to search
Americans’ homes at their individual-and likely arbitrary
and malicious~discretion. Otis complained that “every
one with this writ may be a tyrant,” and that “Custom
house officers may enter our houses when they please . .
. their menial servants may enter . . . and whether they
break through malice or revenge, no man, no court can
inquire.”” :

But Otis went beyond merely indicting general
warrants and writs of assistance, adding that there was
one form of search authorization that “may be legal”:

special writs, directed to special officers, and to search
certain houses, &c. especially set forth in the writ,
may be granted by the Court of Exchequer, at home,
upon oath made before the Lord Treasurer by the
person, who asks, that he suspects such goods to be
concealed in THOSE VERY PLACES HE DESIRES TO
SEARCH.”

35. March 29, 1817 Letter from John Adams to William
Tudor (quoted in Adams Legal Papers, supra note 31, at 107).

36. See id. at 134-35 n.103.
37. Id. at 142.

38. Id. at 141. -

14

Although Otis’ broader theme, that the British
Government's arbitrary claims could be declared contrary
to fundamental legal principles, was more the focus of
Adams’ loftiest encomiums, the latter assertion-that
specific warrants could be an acceptable substitute for
general warrants and writs—was more essential to the
development of the principles that would later be
enshrined in the Fourth Amendment. Otis here picked
up on a discussion that had originated a few decades
earlier among British critics of the general warrant.”

In the preceding decades, many of the general
warrant’s British opponents had gone beyond simply
attacking the warrant, and had begun grappling with the
question of what might serve as a suitable replacement.
What sort of replacement could be considered suitable, of
course, turned on what aspect of the institution of the
general warrant was seen as most abhorrent. If the chief
objection was that the searches conducted pursuant to the
warrants were too intrusive, it might be declared that the
degree of penetration involved in searches must be
constrained across-the-board. If it were that the searches
were too violent, the proper remedy might be measures
regulating the methods that the searchers could employ.
If it were that the searches tended to be used as
instruments of oppression against nonconformists and
political opponents, a measure such as approval of the
warrant by a diverse panel of reviewers might be
suggested.

For these critics, however, the chief evil of the
general warrant was none of these things, but rather their
vesting of discretion in the searching official. Thus, one of

39. See Cuddihy, supra note 3, at 535-60.

15

these scholars declared it “extremely hard to leave it to
the discretion of a Common officer to arrest what
Persons, and search what Houses he thinks fit.”
Another asserted that allowing gamekeepers “to search
what places they shall think proper” for poached animals
would constitute an excessive grant of power.” As the
House of Commons considered a general Navy
impressment warrant, Sir John Barnard warned that such
warrants placed an “unlimited power” in the hands of
petty officers to “insist upon searching the house of any
gentleman or any nobleman of the neighborhood.”” In
the upper house, Lord Gage similarly warned that the bill
would subject every Englishman's home to forcible entry
and search at “the caprice and insolence of every dirty
little officer.””

These English critics recommended that the
problem of excessive search-and-seizure discretion be
solved by favoring the use of specific warrants, which
narrowly cabin the officer’s power to search for
particularly-identified things in particularly-identified
places, rather than authorizing them to break open and

40. 2’ Villiam Hawkins, Treatise of the Pleas of the Crown 82
(1721) (quoved in Cuddihy, supra note 3, at 539).

41. 1 Richard Burn, The Justice of Peace 439 (1755) (quoted
in Cuddihy, supra note 3, at 547).

42. March 6, 1740 Comments of Sir John Barnard, 20 A
Collection of the Parliamentary Debates in England from the year M,
DC, LXVIII 258-59 (1741) (quoted in Cuddihy, supra note 3, at
551-52).

43. March 6, 1740 Comments of Lord Gage, 3 The Scots
Magazine 324 (quoted in Cuddihy, supra note 3, at 552).

16

search dwellings essentially at their whim. Recognizing
that open-ended grants of search-and-seizure authority
amounted to invitations to arbitrary, harassing, and
malicious behavior, likely driven by class resentment,
avarice, malice, or some combination of these
motivations, these critics settled on an approach to grants
of search-and-seizure authority that would cabin that
power as narrowly as possible, while still allowing the
officers to perform their proper functions.“

Despite his eloquence in advocating for the specific
warrant, Otis lost Paxton’s Case. The court suspended the
proceedings in order to inquire into English policy on the
writ question, and, after receiving assurances that the
English Court of Exchequer granted the writs as a matter
of course, rejected the merchants’ challenge.” But Otis’
widely-publicized arguments against the general warrant
and in favor of the specific form gained tremendous
currency among colonial Americans.“ Commentators
castigated the customs officials, and enthusiastically
echoed Otis’ condemnations of the writs’ discretionary
nature, decrying the issuance of writs that allowed a
customs official to “ENTER FORCEABLY into a
DWELLING HOUSE, and rifle every part of it, where he
shall PLEASE to suspect uncustom’d goods are lodg’d.””
Soon after, Otis won a seat in the Massachusetts House of

44. Cuddihy, supra note 3, at 553-58.
45. Id. at 796-98.
46. See Davies, supra note 33, at 561 n.20.

47. Boston Gazette and Country Journal, Nov. 23, 1761 at
3 (quoted in Cuddihy, supra note 3, ai 801).

17

Representatives by a nearly unanimous vote,“ while in
the 1765 Stamp Act Riot, Chief Justice Thomas
Hutchinson, who had ruled against Otis and in favor of
the writs, saw his house destroyed by rioters “with a
savageness unknown in a civilized country.””
Massachusetts Governor Sir Francis Bernard ascribed the
violence to the rioters’ memory of Hutchinson’s role in
Paxton’s Case, informing the Lords of Trade that “[t]he
Chief Justice took the lead in the Judgment for granting
Writs, and now he has paid for it.”” By giving forceful
voice to colonial Americans’ fierce resentment of
discretionary searches, Otis had hammered the first nail
in the coffin of the general warrant in America.

2.
Chief Justice Pratt's Opinions in The Wilkesite Cases

The controversy over Paxton’s Case had barely
subsided when a new high-profile conflict over search-
and-seizure authority arose, this time in England. In
1762, Member of Parliament John Wilkes began
anonymously publishing a series of pamphlets entitled
the North Briton, which derided and criticized the
governing party.” When Issue 45, with its especially
harsh attack upon a speech given by the King, appeared,

48. Cuddihy, supra note 3, at 817.

49. Nelson B. Lasson, The History and Development of the
Fourth Amendment to the United States Constitution 68 (The Johns
Hopkins Press 1937).

50. Letter from Sir Francis Bernard to the Lords of Trade
(quoted in Lasson, supra note 49, at 68).

51. Lasson, supra note 49, at 43.

18

the Secretary of State issued a warrant directing several
messengers “to make strict and diligent search for the
authors, printers, and publishers” of the pamphlet, and
“to apprehend and seize [them], together with their

papers.

Having thus been granted an open-ended power
to arrest, search and seize at their discretion, the
messengers proceeded to arrest forty-nine people in three
days.” Eventually they learned from one of them that
Wilkes was the author of Issue 45, and confronted him at
his home. Wilkes pronounced the messengers’ warrant
invalid and refused to submit to an arrest or search,
whereupon the messengers carried him in a chair to the

of State’s office. They then returned to ransack
Wilkes’ house and seize all of his papers and effects.™

Eager to turn the arrest and search into yet another
embarrassment for the government, Wilkes filed a dozen
separate trespass suits within a month, and many of his
cohorts followed suit.* These suits culminated in a
number of widely-noted decisions, among them Chief
Justice Pratt’s eloquent condemnation of general warrants
in Wilkes v. Wood. The Chief Justice declared:

The defendants claimed a right under precedents to
force persons’ houses, break open escritoires, seize
their papers, upon a general warrant, where no

52. Id.
53. Id. at 43-44.
54. Id. at 44.

55. Cuddihy, supra note 3, at 894.

19

inventory is made of the things taken away, and
where no offenders’ names are specified in the
warrant, and therefore a discretionary power given
to messengers to search wherever their suspicions
may chance to fall. If such a power is truly invested
in a secretary of state, and he can delegate this
power, it certainly may affect the person and
property of every man in this kingdom, and is
totally subversive of the liberty of the subject.”

Further critiques of arrests and seizures pursuant
to open-ended warrants were issued by Chief Justice Pratt
and his colleagues in companion cases relating to Issue 45
of the North Briton.” On appeal of the decision in Leach v.
Money to the King’s Bench, Chief Justice Pratt’s views
were seconded by Chief Justice Mansfield, who opined:
“It is not fit that the judging of the information should be
left to the officer. The magistrate should judge, and give
certain directions to the officer.””

The Wilkesite decisions attracted wide attention,
and British papers printed enthusiastic affirmations of
Wilkes v. Wood’s condemnation of discretionary
searches.” The cases also received “[mJassive coverage”

56. Wilkes v. Wood, Lofft 1; 98 Eng. Rep. 489 (quoted in
Lasson, supra note 49 at 45).

57. See Cuddihy, supra note 3, at 896-907.

58. Money v. Leach, 3 Burr. 1692, 1742, 97 Eng. Rep. 1050,
1075 (quoted in Lasson, supra note 49, at 47).

59. The Monitor described the secretarial warrant as a
device employed “to empower mean, Low-lif’d ignorant men to
enter, and to act at discretion, and to overhaul things of the

20

in the American colonial press, which was
“overwhelmingly sympathetic to Wilkes.”“® Moreover,
people on both sides of the Atlantic were aware of Sir
William Blackstone’s condemnation of general
warrants—which was based on the Court of King’s Bench
proceedings in Leach-in his 1769 Commentaries on the Laws
of England.” Blackstone declared that “[a] general
warrant to apprehend all persons suspected, without
naming or particularly describing any person in special,
is illegal and void for its uncertainty; for it is the duty of
the magistrate, and ought not to be left to the officer, to
judge of the grounds of suspicion.”

The aggregate effect of these events on the minds
of colonial Americans was dramatic. Hostility to general
search-and-seizure authorizations “came not only from
colonial judges but from town meetings, the Continental
Congress, quasi-governmental agencies, pamphleteers,
essayists, and the man-on-the-street.”” A 1772 Boston
town meeting resolved that customs officers’ general

m{o]st private nature ....” Monitor, or British Freeholder, Feb. 11,
1764, at 2595 (quoted in Cuddihy, supra note 3, at 934). The
London Magazine declared that giving customs officers “a
discretionary power to search for and seize whatsoever they
should please to suspect” contravened England’s laws and
constitution. 34 London Magazine 283 (1765) (quoted in Cuddihy,
supra note 3, at 935).

60. Cuddihy, supra note 3, at 1105.
61. See Davies, supra note 33, at 566 n.27.

62. 4 William Blackstone, Commentaries on the Laws of
England 288 (1769) (quoted in Davies, supra note 33, at 580 n.78).

63. Cuddihy, supra note 3, at 1110.

21

search authority furnished every petty officer “with
power more absolute and arbitrary than ought to be
lodged in the hands of any man or body whatsoever.”
; 3.
Efforts to Enforce The Townshend Acts with Writs of
Assistance

Meanwhile, notwithstanding their victory in
Paxton's Case, English customs officials continued to face
obstacles in employing writs of assistance to search for
and seize uncustomed goods in America. When customs
officials attempted to search the cabinets of merchant
Daniel Malcolm’s house, he threatened to kill them if they
broke the lock on a particular cabinet. After the officials
had reported the incident to English officials, the English
Attorney General and Solicitor General recommended
that no prosecution be instituted, on the ground that the
officials’ writ was invalid.® One result was the enactment
of writ-related provisions of a series of laws that came to
be known as the Townshend Acts, after Chancellor of the
Exchequer Charles Townshend, who oversaw their
drafting and implementation.” By closing loopholes and
clarifying matters that had been left to interpretation,
such as which colonial courts were authorized to grant
the writs, these provisions of the Townshend Acts were
intended to remove all doubts regarding the writs’
legality.

64. “A List of Infringements and Violations of Rights,”
November 20, 1774, Votes and Proceedings of the Freeholders of
Boston 16-17 (quoted in Cuddihy, supra note 3, at 1112).

65. Lasson, supra note 49, at 68-69.

66. Id. at 70.

22

But the Act could not purport to eliminate the
higher-level critique of the writs that James Otis had
pronounced in Paxton’s Case, or that Chief Justices Pratt
and Mansfield had articulated in the Wilkesite Cases. As
customs officials, armed with the Townshend Acts,
sought the colonial courts’ cooperation in procuring writs
of assistance in the latter 1760s, they soon discovered that
these views had become firmly entrenched in America.
Although a few colonial courts obliged, several not only
refused, but in doing so cited rationales that closely
tracked Otis’ attack from the beginning of the decade.
The judges in Pennsylvania, for example, opined that
“arming officers of the Customs with so extensive a
power, to be exercised totally at their own discretion
would be of dangerous consequences and was not
warranted by Law.”” Chief Justice William Drayton, of
the Florida provinces, explained that he “d[id] not think
[him]self justified by Law to issue general writs for that
purpose to be lodged in the hands and to be used
discretionally (perhaps without proper foundation) at the
will of subordinate officers.”

The Virginia courts agreed to grant writs, but
insisted on drafting suitable versions, rather than
following the forms provided by the customs officials.
This course was sufficiently troubling to the English
authorities to generate an indignant letter from the

67. July 3, 1773 Letter of the Customs Officers at
Philadelphia to the Customs Commissioners (quoted in O.M.
Dickerson, Writs of Assistance as a Cause of the Revolution, in
Richard B. Morris, ed., The Era of the American Revolution 60-61
(Columbia University Press 1939)).

68. November 17, 1772 Letter from William Drayton to
William Cummings (quoted in Dickerson, supra note 67, at 64).

23
|
Treasury Board to the Attorney General lamenting:

most of the [American] judges refused to grant [the]
writs alledging [sic] that no information had been
made to them of any special occasion for such writ,
and unless such Information was made to them on
oath they could not legally grant them, it being
unconstitutional to lodge such a Writ in the hands of
the officer which gave him unlimited power to act
under it according to his own arbitrary Discretion.”

From the Virginia confrontation over the writs, a
direct line of succession may be traced through the
various State declarations of rights to the federal Bill of
Rights’ Fourth Amendment. Virginia in 1776 became the
first State to formally condemn general warrants in such
a declaration of rights,” and the six additional States that
enacted declarations or bills of rights between 1776 and
1784 all included such a provision.” As noted above,
John Adams, who had looked on with reverence nineteen
years earlier as James Otis eloquently proclaimed
discretionary search-and-seizure authority intolerable,
authored Massachusetts’ 1780 version, which came very
near to the Fourth Amendment in its structure and

69. August 31, 1772 Correspondence with Attorney
General Edward Thurston (quoted in Dickerson, supra note 67, at
69). Thurston in response declared it “strange indeed, that any
judge in the colonies should think the laws of the mother too
harsh for the temper of American Liberty.” Id. at 71.

70. See Lasson, supra note 49, at 79 & n.3.

71. See id. at 80-82 & nn.9-17.

24
wording.”

IL
“Anticipatory” Warrants’ Essential Resemblance to
General Warrants and Writs of Assistance

The moral of this history is plain: The spirit
animating the Fourch Amendment is an abhorrence for
governmental search-and-seizure authorizations that
place excessive discretion, and thus excessive power, in the
hands of government agents.” Warrants that fail to
particularize in all possible respects the outer boundaries
of the search-and-seizure power that they create therefore
fly directly in the face of the core principle of the Fourth
Amendment.

Equally importantly, it has never been sufficient
for this cabining of the official’s discretion to be effected
in terms that leave room for interpretation on the part of

72. See supra note 33.

73. See Davies, supra note 33, at 580-82 (noting the
Revolutionary generation’s “deep-rooted distrust and even
disdain for the judgment of ordinary officers”); Tracy Maclin, The
Complexity of the Fourth Amendment: A Historical Review, 77 B.U. L.
Rev. 925, 970-71 (1997) (moting that the purpose of the
Massachusetts Declaration of Rights’ search-and-seizure
provision was “to restrain the discretion of officers and executive
officials”); Tracy Maclin, When the Cure for the Fourth Amendment
is Worse Than the Disease, 68 S. Cal. L. Rev. 1, 19-20 (1994) (“the
search and seizure practices of the British authorities were
opposed because of the arbitra’ power exercised by customs
officers and Crown officials. The Fourth Amendment was
adopted to deter federal officials from exercising similar
unrestrained power.”).

25

the official-a flaw that inevitably allows the low-level
official discretion reviled by the Framing generation to
seep back in. Indeed, if this piece of the puzzle is
overlooked, even the hated genera’ warrants of the 1760s
would have to be considered acceptable, because even
they on their face normally delimited the permissible
Objects of the search and seizure-for example, by
specifying that the officer must be seeking evidence of a
particular crime, or particular contraband. In most cases,
their flaw was not that they failed to particularize at all,
but that they particularized in a maruex that left room for
the officer to make on-the-scene judgments as to whether
particular searches and seizures were appropriate.

It is therefore unsurprising that the Fourth
Amendment's particularity requirement reflects a
remarkably emphatic effort to delineate boundaries to the
officer’s search-and-seizure authority that leave no room
for on-the-scene judgment calls: The warrant must
“particularly describ[e] the place to be searched, and the
persons or things to be seized.””* Officers not only are not
trusted to decide for themselves whether a person or
home is “suspicious,” likely to be involved in a particular
crime, or the object of a reliable tip-they are literally
trusted to decide nothing beyond whether the “person”
“place” or “thing” before them is the same as specified in
the warrant. It is only a little exaggeration to suggest that
if the Framers could have required that searches and
seizures be conducted by programmable automatons,
they would have done so.

74. US. Const. amend. IV (emphases added).

26

The recent” innovation of allowing searches and
seizures pursuant to “anticipatory” warrants is
profoundly contrary to this core anti-discretion principle
of the Fourth Amendment. Pursuant to these forms of
warrant, low-level law enforcement officials are handed
a partially-blank check, authorized to decide on their own
whether the “triggering event” specified in the warrant
really has occurred. Indeed, it is self-evident that the
“anticipatory” warrant undermines the Fourth
Amendment’s oath requirement: The required oath is
meant to compel the officer to swear to the existence of
facts that establish probable cause—but since an officer
executing an “anticipatory” warrant does not swear an
oath that the “triggering event” actually has occurred
before conducting the search, any oath provided with
respect to such a warrant is necessarily incomplete.

It gets worse: In many cases, including this one,
“anticipatory” warrants not only vest low-level officers
with the power to determine whether a “triggering”
event has occurred, but also empower them to bring about
the very conditions that they may then treat as having
“triggered” their authority. The search at issue here
illustrates the point. At 7:19 a.m. on April 19, 2002, as
Jeffrey Grubbs and his wife prepared their children for
school, the postal inspectors huddled outside of his home
had a piece of paper that accorded them no power to
enter or search his home. At 7:20, however, one of them
went to Grubbs’ door and handed his wife a package. A
few minutes later - with no new intervention by any

75. See Norma Rotunno, Annotation, Validity of
Anticipatory Search Warrants—State Cases, 67 A.L.R.5th 361, 361
(1993) (noting that “anticipatory” search warrants are a
“relatively recent law enforcement tool”).

27

magistrate and no new binding oath by any officer-the
inspectors determined that their actions had activated the
latent power of their “anticipatory” warrant. They
immediately descended on Grubbs’ home, compelled his
wife to let them enter, and searched the entire house as
well as his children’s backpacks. Pet. App. at 4a-6a.
Armed with their “anticipatory” warrant, these low-level
officials literally created, and then ratified, their own
power to search Grubbs’ home and seize his property.”

This description of the facts of this case is sufficient
in itself to establish that, in light of its profoundly
discretionary character, the “anticipatory” warrant would
have inspired the same revulsion on the part of the
Framing generation that greeted such instruments of
discretionary search authority as the general warrant and
the writ of assistance. In order to be faithful to the
essential purpose and design of the Fourth Amendment,
the Court should hold that the “anticipatory” warrant is
unconstitutional.

76. Caselaw provides still more dramatic examples of
officers’ on-the-scene exercises of discretion pursuant to
“anticipatory” warrants. See, e.g., United States v. Rowland, 145
F.3d 1194 (10th Cir. 1998) (warrant was to be served when
package was brought into target’s residence; after electronic
beeper in package stopped functioning while package was at
target's office, officers surmised that target took the package from
his office into his home, served the warrant, and searched his
home); State v. Nusbaum, 107 P.3d 768 (Wash. Ct. App. 2005)
(warrant was to be served when delivery of package was
accepted by person at target’s residence; after target’s fingers
touched the package and delivery person yanked it back, agents
arrested target in his front yard, served the warrant, and
searched his home).

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, amici urge the Court to

affirm the judgment below.

Respectfully submitted,
JEFFREY L. FISHER DANIEL L. KAPLAN
Co-Chair, NACDL Counsel of Record
Amicus Committee == JASON ROMERO

2600 Century Square OSBORN MALEDON P.A.
1501 Fourth Avenue 2929 N. Central Ave.
Seattle, WA 98101 Phoenix, AZ 85012-2794
(206) 628-7615 (602) 640-9000

December 19, 2005

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0092%3A10. Public record. Not legal advice.
