# Amicus Curiae Brief — Merrill Lynch, Pierce, Fenner & Smith Inc. v. Dabit

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0089%3A17

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2006
- **Citation:** 547 U.S. 71

## Text

5

annual reports for years 1994, 1995, and 1996 all of which
contained the false and misleading financial information.
These annual reports, in turn, induced the shareholder to
continue to hold on to his or her stock. {n January 1997,
when the truth about the company is disclosed, the stock
precipitously drops in value, and the shareholder experi-
ences a corresponding loss as a result of his or her continu-
ing to hold the stock in reliance upon these false financial
representations. There can be no doubt that the share-
holder experienced a loss as result of his or her reliance
upon the fraudulent financial representations — the day
before the disclosure of the truth he or she had holdings
that were valued at $X and the day after the truth was
disclosed the holdings were diminished to $X-T (where T
equals the market adjusted value of the stock after taking
into account the impact of the truth).’

Such facts state a prima facie claim for common law
fraud. Misrepresentations, reliance, action taken in
reliance upon the misrepresentations, injury and damage
- a paradigm common law fraud claim. Moreover, by
definition it is an action that is not seeking damages
arising out of frauds made in connection with tie purchase
or sale of a security.

* The above fact pattern is similar to one that occurred with
Mercury Finance Company, a Wall Street darling stock that reported 48
quarters of ever increasing profits only to restate 3 years of financial
reporting to reflect that it had, in fact, been losing money throughout
those years. A holder action brought in that matter has been certified as
a class action and, in fact, is an example of how such an action can be
certified as a class and achieve procedural efficiencies for state courts
while providing justice for defrauded shareholders. See, Dloogatch v.
Brincat, 97CH8790, Circuit Court of Cook County, Illinois, Chancery
Division, July 31, 2003 Memorandum Opinion and Order, Appendix at
App. 1.

6

There is nothing novel or cutting edge about such a
claim. Simply stated, a “holder” claim is a straightforward
state law common law fraud or misrepresentation claim. It
is brought on behalf of a shareholder who has been de-
frauded into retaining (as opposed to purchasing or
selling) a security. It does not seek damages arising out of
frauds perpetrated in connection with the purchase or sale
of securities. Rather, the gravamen of the claim is that at
some point in time after the shareholder acquired the
securities in question, the shareholder was fraudulently
induced to continue to hold the subject securities until
such time as the truth became public. This is the para-
digm “holder” claim.

Moreover, contrary to what some counsel and courts
have assumed, a “holder” claim does not require proof of
whether a shareholder was induced to refrain from selling
his or her stock at some point in time. It is this phantom
element that has given some courts and commentators
pause. They posit that it will open up the possibility of
manufactured intentions to sell. As a threshold matter, the
possibility of manufactured testimony with respect to the
intent to sell is no basis to extinguish an entire cause of
action. Numerous civil disputes revolve around proof of a
person’s intent and in turn the proof is based upon oral
testimony regarding the witness’ intent. Countless defen-
dants accused of fraud have testified that they did not
intend to commit fraud only to be found liable for fraud.

Most important, however, is that proof of intention to
sell at some prior point in time, while certainly an option,
is not a required element of a “holder” claim. Rather, the

7

claim is a typical common law claim alleging that defen-
dant’s misrepresentations anc plaintiff’s reliance on same
induced plaintiff to take an affirmative act — that of
continuing to hold on to the subject securities, until the
truth was disclosed and as a result plaintiff was damaged
when the disclosure of the truth caused the stock to drop
in value.

Likewise, as this Court may have already seen in its
review of the most recent lower court decisions dealing
with “holder” claims, there is some confusion both within
the bar and the bench as to what is a “holder” claim.
Section 10(b) claimants purchased their securities and
then continued to hold them until the fraud was disclosed.
As a result, some cases, which are really purchaser fraud
actions, have been pled as “holder” claims on behalf of
shareholders who purchased their stock when the frauds
were occurring and thus could have brought timely federal
securities fraud actions.

NASCAT and AARP respectfully submit that such
class actions are preempted by SLUSA and we have no
problem with the proposition that SLUSA preempts state
law based class actions on behalf of persons who pur-
chased their securities within three years of the disclosure
of the fraud, whether the case is styled as a holder/
purchaser action or as a holder action. Such persons had
valid Section 10(b) claims and were precisely the sort of
state law class actions that Congress intended to prohibit

us preempt: State law class actions brought on
behalf of classes that include persons who had valid
purchaser or seller claims under Section 10(b) of the 1934
Act.

8

There is a “hybrid” action, when purchaser claimants
and holder claimants are lumped into one class of state
law fraud claimants, which should also be preempted
under SLUSA to the extent that plaintiffs insert or include
purchaser claims in the class. Where, however, a class
action is brought on behalf of investors who acquired their
securities before the commencement of the actionable
Section 10(b) fraud,’ and the action is strictly limited to
claims for damages arising from these investors being
fraudulently induced tc continue to hold on to their securi-
ties, such an action is not and should not be preempted
under SLUSA. See, e.g., Gordon v. Buntrock, 2000 WL
556763,*4 (N.D. Ill. April 28, 2000).

* The Second Circuit appears to hold that only “holder” claimants
who acquired their shares prior to the commencement of the scheme to
defraud can avoid the reach of SLUSA. In its view, if one bringing a
“holder” claim purchased the security in question at a time when the
frauds were alleged to have been occurring, even though it was over
three years prior to the discovery of the fraud, any such claims brought
as a class action should be preempted under SLUSA. NASCAT and
AARP respectfully submit that this is the only error in the Second
Circuit’s approach. As discussed in greater detail below, SLUSA was
intended to bar class action claims that could have been brought in
federal court from being brought in state courts. If a defrauded investor
has a potential Section 10(b) claim that is barred due to the three-year
statute of limitations, this should not preclude her from pursuing, on a
class basis, a separate and independent holder claim. The two claims
are entirely distinct; indeed, they have entirely different elements and
involve entirely different damages. In fact, it would work a severe
injustice if investors who were the victims of a fraud that spanned five
years were barred from seeking any recovery whatever merely because
the perpetrators of the fraud were able to cover their tracks for a period
beyond the three-year federal statute of limitations. Again, in the
absence of Congress’s clearly expressed intention that such claims
should be preempted, it is respectfully submitted that these claims are
not within the ambit of SLUSA.

9

II. History of Holder Claims
A. Pre 1933 and 1934 Acts

The states traditionally regulated securities fraud
through common law torts such as fraud and negligent
misrepresentation, stockholder derivative suits, and blue
sky legislation. See Joshua D. Ratner, Stockholders’
Holding Claim Class Actions Under State Law After the
Uniform Standards Act of 1998, 68 U. Chi. L. Rev. 1035,
1037 (2001) (hereinafter, “Ratner Stockholders’ Holding
Claims”). From early on, most states that considered the
issue recognized “holder claims” — i.e., claims based on
allegations that misrepresentations induced forbearance
from selling stock. See, e.g., David v. Belmont, 291 Mass.
450, 197 N.E. 83 (1935) (alleging fraud inducing retention
of stock shareholder would otherwise have sold); Fottler v.
Moseley, 179 Mass. 295, 60 N.E. 788 (1901) (holding
plaintiff stated claim for fraud against broker whose
misrepresentations induced him to refrain from selling
stock); Duffy v. Smith, 28 Vroom 679, 57 N.J.L. 679, 32 A.
371 (1895) (plaintiff fraudulently induced to buy stock
could recover for period of retaining stock in reliance on
same misrepresentation); Continental Insurance Co. v.
Mercadante, 222 A.D. 181, 183-84, 225 N.Y.S. 488, 490-91
(1927) (considering claim for “fraud in inducing, not
purchase of the bonds, but their retention after purchase,”
and holding that “plaintiffs cannot be denied redress
because their conduct was inaction, rather than action”).*
See also, Rothmiller v. Stein, 98 Sickels 581, 38 N.E. 718,

* It should also be noted that what might be perceived as inaction
(e.g., not selling the stock) is actually an affirmative act that has been
induced by the fraud — that act being the continued holding and
retention of the stock.

10

719 (N.Y. 1894) (rejecting argument that plaintiff failed to
state a claim based on allegations that he refrained from
selling his stock based on defendant’s misrepresentations);
Gutman v. Howard Savings Bank, 748 F. Supp. 254, 264
(D.N.J. 1990) (holding that inaction induced by defen-
dants’ representations can establish the element of reli-
ance in a common law securities fraud claim); see also
Small v. Fritz Companies, Inc., 30 Cal. 4th 167, 132 Cal.
Rptr. 2d 490, 65 P.3d 1255 (2003).

Congress enacted the first federal laws regulating
securities in the early 1930’s in response to the stock
market crash of 1929. See Ratner, Stockholders’ Holding
Claim, 68 Chi. L. Rev. at 1042. Congress passed the 1933
Act and the 1934 Act because the states had been ineffec-
tive in regulating nationally traded securities. Id. at 1042
(citing Richard W. Painter, Responding to a False Alarm:
Federal Preemption of State Securities Fraud Causes of
Action, 84 Cornell L. Rev. 1, 24-25 (1998) (hereinafter
Painter, Responding to a False Alarm) (noting that states
were ineffective as the sole regulators of nationally traded
securities because of state securities commissioners’
inability to extend their authority across state lines).
Despite Congress’ concerns, each Act explicitly allowed
concurrent securities regulation by the states. See Ratner,
Stockholders’ Ho‘ding Claim, (citing Painter, Responding
to a False Alarm, 84 Cornell L. Rev. at 24-25 (noting that
Section 18 of the 1933 Act did not affect the jurisdiction of
state securities commissions and bestowed concurrent
state and federal court jurisdiction and that while the
1934 Act gave federal courts exclusive jurisdiction over
claims under that statute, Section 28(a) specifically
protected blue sky laws from federal preemption). See also
15 U.S.C. § 77r (1933 Act’s provision granting concurrent

11

jurisdiction); 15 U.S.C. § 78bb(a) (1934 Act’s provision
granting concurrent jurisdiction).

Section 10(b) of the 1934 Act enabled the SEC to enact
rules and regulations regarding the use of manipulative
and deceptive devices in relation to the purchase or sale of
securities. 15 U.S.C. § 78j(b); see Basic Inc. v. Levinson,
485 U.S. 224, 230 (1988). Among other things, the 1934
Act included extensive disclosure requirements. Basic, 485
U.S. at 230. Under the authority granted by the 1934 Act,
in 1942 the SEC promulgated a regulation making it

unlawful for any person ... (a) [tlo employ any
device, scheme cr artifice to defraud, (b) [t]o
make any untrue statement of a material fact or
to omit to state a material fact necessary in order
to make the statements made, ... not mislead-
ing, or (c) [tlo engage in any act, practice or
course of business which operates or would oper-
ate as a fraud or deceit upon any person, in con-
nection with the purchase or sale of any security.

17 C.F-R. § 240.10b-5 (emphasis added).

Following the enactment of the 1933 and 1934 Acts, it
became apparent that private suits were important to
supplement gcsvernment enforcement actions. Ratner,
Stockholders’ ..olding Claims, 68 U. Chi. L. Rev. at 1043.
In response to this acknowledged need, the lower federal
courts found an implied (or inferred a) private right of
action to enforce Section 10(b) of the 1934 Act and SEC
Rule 10b-5, and this Court endorsed this view in 1988.
Ratner, Stockholders’ Holding Claim, 68 U. Chi. L. Rev. at
1043; Basic, 485 U.S. at 230-31. In Birnbaum v. Newport

12

Steel Corp., 193 F.2d 461, 463 (2d Cir. 1952), the Second
Circuit interpreted SEC Rule 10b-5 as aimed only at “a
fraud perpetrated upon the purchaser or seller’ of securi-
ties and as having no relation to breaches of fiduciary duty
by corporate insiders resulting in fraud upon those who
were not purchasers or sellers.” The Birnbaum court's
interpretation of Rule 10b-5 barred holder’s actions under
that rule.

In 1975, this Court agreed that Rule 10b-5 did not
permit holder actions. Blue Chip Stamps, 421 U.S. at 733,
749. This Court recognized, however, that completely
barring holders’ actions would result in injustice by deny-
ing relief to victims of fraud. The Court concluded that
because its decision was limited to actions under Rule 10b-
5, such injustice would not occur because defrauded
stockholders still have a remedy in state court. As this
Court stated:

A great majority of the many commentators on
the issue before us have taken the view that the
Birnbaum limitation on the plaintiff class in a
Rule 10b-5 action for damages is an arbitrary re-
striction which unreasonably prevents some de-
serving plaintiffs from recovering damages which
have in fact been caused by violations of Rule
10b-5. . .. We have no doubt that this is indeed a
disadvantage of the Birnbaum rule, and if it had
no countervailing advantages it would be unde-
sirable as a matter of policy. . . .

Blue Chip Stamps, 421 U.S. at 738-39. This Court further
observed:

Obviously this disadvantage is attenuated to the
extent that remedies are available to nonpur-
chasers and nonsellers under state law. Cf. § 28

13

of the 1934 Act, 15 U.S.C. § 78bb. See Iroquois
Industries, Inc. v. Syracuse China Corp., 417 F.2d
963, 969 (C.A.2 1969), cert. denied, 399 U.S. 909,
90 S.Ct. 2199, 26 L.Ed.2d 561 (1970). Thus, for
example, in Birnbaum itself, while the plaintiffs
found themselves without federal remedies, the
conduct alleged as the gravamen of the federal
complaint later provided the basis for recovery in
a cause of action based on state law. See 3 L.
Loss, Securities Regulation 1469 (2d ed. 1961).
And in the immediate case, respondent has filed
a state-court class action held in abeyance pend-
ing the outcome of this suit. Manor Drug Stores
v. Blue Chip Stamps, No. C-5652 (Superior
Court, County of Los Angeles, Cal.).

Id. at 739 n.9.

In short, as this Court recognized in Blue Chip
Stamps, while there may have been policy reasons for
limiting federal claims to purchasers and sellers, it would
be unjust to deprive wronged stockholders who are not
sellers or buyers a remedy; and that injustice is only
avoided if such stockholders can maintain a lawsuit or
retain a remedy in state court.

}

B. Post Blue Chip Stamps

Subsequent to Blue Chip Stamps “holder” claims slid
into what might be described as a dormant period due to
reasons unrelated to any federal law concerns. The leading
state Supreme Court issued a series of decisions that
created ambiguity as to whether a “holder” claim could be
brought as a “direct” claim or was, in fact, a “derivative”

14

claim. Cf Lipton v. News Intern., PLC, 514 A. 2d 1075,
1078 (Del. 1986) (adopting “special injury” test), with
Kramer v. Western Pacific Industries, Inc., 546 A. 2d 348
(Del. 1988) (applying “nature of the wrong” test). For the
most part, other state courts, following the Delaware
Supreme Court’s lead, incorporated this ambiguous line of
cases into their corporate laws. See, e.g., Loewen v. Galli-
gan, 130 Or. App. 222, 228-29, 882 P.2d 104, 111-12 (Or.
App. 1994).°

This ambiguity, however, was resolved by the Dela-
ware Supreme Court in a series of decisions starting with
_ Malone v. Brincat, 722 A. 2d 5 (Del. 1998). In that case, a
class action was brought on behalf of Mercury Finance
shareholders seeking to recover damages arising out of a
financial fraud that spanned more than three years. Id. at
7. The lower court had dismissed the action with prejudice
as being derivative. The Delaware Supreme Court re-
versed and remanded, holding that a valid claim for
damages arising out of fraudulent financial reporting
could be brought by shareholders as a “direct” claim in
their capacity as shareholders." Jd. at 14. Subsequently, in
Tooley v. Donaldson, Lufkin & Jenrette, Inc., 845 A. 2d
1031, 1037 (Del. 2004) the Delaware Supreme Court
rejected the “special injury” test and thus cleared the way
for direct claims to be brought on behalf of shareholders
for frauds whose disclosure thereafter caused a diminution
in the value of their securities. In a similar fashion, the

* The confusion arose from an initial formulation that held that
any conduct that caused a diminution in value of the stock as to all
shareholders as a whole was deemed to be a derivative claim. Jd.

* Malone was a related case to the previously cited Dloogatch v.
Brincat in which a class of holder claimants was certified.

15

Supreme Court of California also recognized that holder
actions were valid and could be brought under California
law. See Small, 39 Cal. 4th at 176, 132 Cal. Rptr. 2d at
496, 65 P.3d at 1260 (2003).

Ill. State Courts Should Be Allowed To Freely
Develop The Law Regarding Holder Claims
And Whether Such Claims Can Be Brought As
Class Actions

Because the lower federal courts have declined to
exercise subject matter jurisdiction over such “holder“
claims since Blue Chip Stamps, resolving whether such
“holder” claims are valid under the common law is, quite
obviously, a question that has been and must be left to the
respective state courts. In those states where “holder”
claims have already been recognized, individual actions
should be allowed to proceed and, by definition, cannot
and will not be preempted by SLUSA. As a result, large
individual investors who have substantial “holder” dam-
ages (and, thus, can economically afford to bear the substan-
tial costs involved in pursuing such fraud claims) will have
appropriate state court forums to vindicate their “holder”
claims. Smaller investors who have been similarly harmed,
however, will not be able to vindicate their claims unless
they have the opportunity to pursue them as class actions.

Under their broad police powers and in the absence of
a clear intention by Congress to preempt such claims, the
states’ legitimate interest in determining whether and how
to protect both large individual “holder” claimants and
smaller claimants who may need to join together in a class
action should remain intact. Moreover, there is no reason
why the individual states should be precluded from deter-
mining whether “holder” claims, under the appropriate

16

circumstances, should proceed as class actions. To allow
SLUSA to preempt “holder” class actions, on the other
hand, would produce a perverse result. Large “holder”
claimants would be allowed to pursue their claims in state
court. Small “holder” claimants, to the extent that it would
not be economical to bring their claims on an individual
basis, would for all practical purposes be denied the
opportunity for any relief whatsoever if such class actions
were preempted under SLUSA.

Removal of state law based “holder” class actions
would extinguish any right to pursue a class action for
such claims because, under Blue Chip Stamps, holder
claimants do not have standing under Section 10(b) of the
1934 Act. In contrast, small purchaser claimants whose
state law claims can be brought as class actions under
Section 10(b) do not have their right to pursue a class
extinguished under SLUSA upon removal. They retain the
right to pursue a class action under Section 10(b) if one
has not already been brought. If a federal class action has
already been brought, then at least their claims have the
opportunity to be vindicated via a class action.

Thus, if SLUSA preempts their state law based class
action, only small “holder” claimants are left with no
opportunity to seek relief through the class action proce-
dure. Yet, nothing in the language of SLUSA or in its
legislative history indicates that Congress intended to
completely extinguish the ability of any claimants to bring
class actions, let alone “holder” claimants. Rather, Con-
gress wanted to make sure that the practice of bringing
state law based purchasers class actions to avoid the
application of the PSLRA to claims that could have been
brought under Section 10(b) would be governed by the
PSLRA if the defendant chose to remove the action to

17

federal court. On this record, there is just no basis to
justify the usurpation of what clearly is a state interest
and state prerogative — the protection of smaller holder
claimants who are defrauded and who, by definition, have
no federal class action remedies.

Clearly, if such a result is to be achieved it can only be
done pursuant to a clearly worded statute directed at this
precise issue and not by an obtuse, convoluted misreading
of the current statute as reflected in the Seventh Circuit’s
opinion in Kircher.

For this reason numerous courts have held that state
law claims of misrepresentations or omissions that induce
the plaintiff to retain stock can proceed in state court
consistent with SLUSA. See, e.g., Hardy v. Merrill Lynch,
Pierce, Fenner & Smith, Inc., 189 F.Supp. 2d 14, 18
(S.D.N.Y. 2001); Dacey v. Morgan Stanley Dean Witter &
Co., 263 F. Supp. 2d 706, 712 (S.D.N.Y. 2003); Gutierrez v.
Deloitte & Touche, L.L.P, 147 F.Supp. 2d 584, 595
(W.D.Tex. 2001); Lalondriz v. U.S.A. Networks Inc., 68
F. Supp. 2d 285, 286 (S.D.N.Y. 1999); Gordon v. Buntrock,
2000 WL 556763, *4 (N.D. Ill. April 28, 2000); see also
Hines v. ESC Strategic Funds, Inc., 1999 WL 1705503, *6
(M.D.Tenn. Sept. 17, 1999) (“Because Plaintiff has alleged
that the defendants’ breach of their fiduciary duties
resulted from their actions after she purchased her shares,
Plaintiff’s post-sale allegations are sufficient to withstand
a motion to dismiss” based on SLUSA). As set forth below,
there is good reason for this consensus.

18

IV. SLUSA Does Not Preempt State “Holder”
Claims

It is through the prism of both the long history of
judicial decisions interpreting the phrase “in connection
with the purchase or sale of any security” as part of Rule
10b-5 jurisprudence and the purpose of SLUSA by which
the phrase “in connection with the purchase or sale of a
covered security” in SLUSA should be viewed. Although
the starting point of statutory construction is the language
of the statute itself, Blue Chip Stamps, 421 U.S. at 756
(Powell, J., concurring), the phrase in question was not
written on a blank slate, but after decades of use and
interpretation by this Court and lower federal courts.
“(W]here Congress uses terms that have accumulated
settled meaning under either equity or the common law, a
court must infer, unless the statute otherwise dictates,
that Congress means to incorporate the established
meaning of these terms.” Riley v. Merrill Lynch, Pierce,
Fenner & Smith, Inc., 292 F.3d at 1342 (11th Cir. 2002).

A. Purpose of PSLRA and SLUSA

In 1995, in response to perceived abuses of the federal
securities laws through the filing of class actions of dubi-
ous or no merit, Congress passed the PSLRA. See Private
Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995, H.R. Conf. Rep.
No. 104-369, *32 (Nov. 28, 1995), reprinted in 1995 U.S.
Code Cong. Admin. News 730 (“the abuse of the discovery
process [] impose[s] costs so burdensome that it is often
economical for the victimized party to settle”). See also
Greebel v. FTP Software, Inc., 194 F.3d 185, 191 (1st Cir.
1999) (PSLRA passed to curb abuse in private securities
lawsuits). In addition to enacting certain procedural

19

requirements concerning publication of the filing of an
action and appointment of lead plaintiff, the PSLRA
codified “loss causation” requirements, established a safe
harbor for forward-looking statements, and raised the
pleading requirement for the required state of mind. See
15 U.S.C. § 78u-4(b\(4) (codifying loss causation); 15
U.S.C. § 78u-5 (codifying safe harbor); 15 U.S.C. § 78u-
4(b)(2) (codifying scienter requirements). The response of
some defrauded investors was to file their purchaser cases
in state court, thereby avoiding some of the PSLRA’s more
onerous requirements. In 1998 Congress enacted SLUSA
in response to this perceived end run around the PSLRA.
“Driving enactment of SLUSA was Congress’ finding that
litigants eluded PSLRA’s reach with relative ease. Con-
fronted with more onerous procedural requirements and
dimmed prospects of success under the PSLRA, litigants
simply abandoned use of federal courts and filed suit in
state court under state securities laws.” Spielman uv.
Merrill Lynch, Pierce, Fenner & Smith, Inc., 332 F.3d 116,
123 (2d Cir. 2003). Thus SLUSA’s intended purpose was to
ensure that actions which were actionable under federal
securities laws would be brought in federal court and
subject to the PSLRA’s strict requirements.

B. Scope of Private Remedies Under Federal
Securities Laws

A private cause of action under Section 10(b) of the
1934 Act, prior to the PSLRA, was an implied cause of
action because private actions under Section 10(b) were
not specifically authorized in the 1934 Act. See Gustafson
v. Alloyd Co., 513 U.S. 561 (1995). As explained supra, this

20

‘changed in 1995 when the PSLRA codified certain ele-
ments of a cause of action under Section 10(b), including
loss causation and scienter.

Since the contours of a private action under Section
10(b) were shaped by judicial opinions without tbe benefit
of statutory guidance, the federal courts were left to decide
issues such as standing on their own. In the decades that
followed the 1930s and 1940s, the prevailing view on
standing under Section 10(b) became the Second Circuit’s
opinion in Birnbaum v. Newport Steel Corp., 193 F.2d 461
(2d Cir. 1952). Birnbaum held that a plaintiff had to
actually purchase or sell a security in order to satisfy the
“in connection with” requirement of SEC Rule 10b-5. Jd. at
463-64. In Blue Chip Stamps, this Court adopted the
Birnbaum rule, holding that the “in connection with”
requirement for a private action under Rule 10b-5 could
only be met by a plaintiff who had actually purchased or
sold the securities in question. Blue Chip Stamps, 421 U.S.
at 754-55.

Blue Chip Stamps was premised on a balancing of the
advantages and disadvantages of including non-
purchasers and non-sellers within the ambit of protection
under the implied cause of action under Section 10(b) of
the 1934 Act.’ The advantages of the restrictive Birnbaum
rule were that it would eliminate what the Court per-
ceived as speculative claims flooding the federal courts* —

” In Blue Chip Stamps this Court found this balancing proper since
private actions were a “judicial oak which ha[ve] grown from little more
than a legislative acorn,” and neither the 1934 Congress nor the SEC in
1942 anticipated the state of Rule 10b-5 in 1975. Jd. at 737.

* This was particularly true for “ - warted” purchaser claims where
the gravamen of the claim would ve that the frauds discouraged

(Continued on following page)

21

claims which would be harder to dispose of via pre-trial
procedures because the claim might ultimately hinge on
oral testimony concerning whether ti plaintiff would
have bought the stock. Jd. at 742. By adopting the Birn-
baum rule, this Court found that there would at least have
to be some objective evidence regarding the fact that a
purchase or sale took place. Id. at 747.° The disadvantage
of the Birnbaum rule were that potential meritorious
shareholder claims would be barred from the federal
courts. Id. at 738-39.

C. The Second Circuit’s Decision Is Correct

1. The Court Properly Considered Long-
standing Interpretations Of “In Connec-
tion With”

It was proper and correct for the court below to
consider the established meaning of “in connection with”
when construing the parameters of SLUSA.

In enacting SLUSA.. . Congress was not writing
on a blank slate; instead it was legislating in an

investors from purchasing a particular stock. This sort of claim could be
manufactured based upon oral testimony any time a stock precipitously
increased in value and would, quite obviously, present problems. In
contrast, a “holder” claim is subject to objective evidence — a holder
claimant actually owns the stock in question. The only issue that might
be subject to oral testimony is whether the investor relied on the
frauds. In cases not involving fraud on the market, investors must
establish their reliance and this normally is accomplished through oral
testimony.

* The same objective evidence exists for “holder” claimants - they
own the stock and whether they owned it during the fraud period can
also be objectively established.

22

area that had engendered tremendous amounts
of litigation and received substantial judicial at-
tention ... [Congress] was using language that,
at the time of SLUSA’s enactment, had acquired
settled, and widely-acknowledged, meaning in
the field of securities law, through years of judi-
cial construction in the context of § 10b-5 law-
suits.

Riley, 292 F.3d at 1342-43. It is valid to assume that
Congress, when it used the phrase “in connection with” in
SLUSA, was using its accepted meaning in the federal
securities laws. Dabit v. Merrill Lynch, Pierce, Fenner &
Smith, Inc., 395 F.3d 25, 36 (2d Cir. 2005); Riley, 292 F.3d
at 1343. The circuit courts that have adopted this ap-
proach simply followed this Court’s established precedent.
“When ... judicial interpretations have settled the mean-
ing of an existing statutory provision, repetition of the
same language in a new statute indicates, as a general
matter, the intent to incorporate its . . . judicial interpreta-
tions as well.” Bragdon v. Abbott, 524 U.S. 624, 645 (1998);
see also Lorillard v. Pons, 434 U.S. 575, 581 (1978) (Con-
gress can be presumed to have knowledge of interpreta-
tions of law incorporated into a new statute).

2. The Standing Rule of Blue Chip
Stamps Is Properly Applied to SLUSA’s
“In Connection With” Language

In this case, the Second Circuit aptly stated:

If the “in connection with” phrase is read to reach
the same conduct under SLUSA as it does under
§ 10(b) and Rule 10b-5, then SLUSA will preempt
precisely those state class actions which could
be brought as federal actions subject to the

23

heightened requirements of the PSLRA. If it
were otherwise, actions might be preempted for
meeting all of SLUSA’s requirements, including
the “in connection with” term, but not be capable
of being brought under federal law for failure to
meet the parallel requirement of Rule 10b-5, a
result that the legislative history does not sug-
gest Congress intended to produce in enacting
SLUSA.

Dabit, 395 F.3d at 36. The Dabit court was absolutely
correct in finding SLUSA was merely meant to preempt
federal actions masquerading as state actions, and not
meant to preempt state actions which never could be
brought as federal actions.

The Dabit court correctly applied the Blue Chip
Stamps standing rule. The Second Circuit reviewed the
claims of two distinct class action plaintiffs, Shadi Dabit, a
former Merrill Lynch broker; and IJG Investments Lim-
ited Partnership and Irlys Guy (collectively, “IJG”). Id. at
28-29. In the cases of both Dabit and IJG, the Second
Circuit carefully examined each of the plaintiffs’ claims for
any allegation that was “in connection with” or “coincided
with” a security transaction, and where it found that the
allegation included a transaction that fell within the Blue
Chip Stamps rule, that claim was dismissed as preempted
under SLUSA.

3. SLUSA Does Not Completely Preempt
All State Class Actions Which Might
Involve Publicly Traded Securities

This Court has held that “in deciding if federal law
preempts state law ... we start with the assumption that
the historic police powers of the States were not to be

24

superseded by the Federal Act unless that was the clear
and manifest purpose of Congress.” City of Milwaukee v.
States of Illinois and Michigan, 451 U.S. 304, 316 (1981).
The express language of SLUSA does not provide that all
state actions involving publicly traded securities are
preempted. In fact, it states just the opposite namely, that
it is intended to “prevent certain State private securities
class action lawsuits alleging fraud from being used to
frustrate the objectives” of the PSLRA, Securities Litiga-
tion Uniform Standards Act of 1998, Pub. L. No. 105-353,
112 Stat. 3227 (emphasis added). Because the objectives of
the PSLRA concerned only federal securities lawsuits
permitted under the Blue Chip Stamps rule, other state
private actions which historically were excluded from the
ambit of Section 10(b) could not possibly have been the
target. Further, there is nothing in the legislative history
of SLUSA to indicate that was Congress’ intent.

The conference report states the purpose of SLUSA is
“to prevent plaintiffs from seeking to evade the protections
that Federal law provides against abusive litigation by
filing suit in State, rather than in Federal, court.” Securi-
ties Litigation Uniform Standards Act of 1998, H.R. Conf.
Rep. No. 105-803, at 13, 1998 WL 703964 (Oct. 9, 1998).
The protection federal law provided against supposedly
abusive litigation were the procedural and pleading
requirements imposed by the PSLRA, which only applied
to lawsuits which could be filed in federal court in the first
instance. Thus there is no support either in the text of the
statute or the legislative history of SLUSA for a finding
that it preempts every possible state class action involving
publicly traded securities, including those which could
never have been filed in a federal court.

25

V. The Seventh Circuit’s Decision In Kircher Is
Premised On Faulty Assumptions

In Kircher, the Seventh Circuit misinterpreted Blue
Chip Stamps and SLUSA and it therefore reached the
incorrect decision when it held that “holders” claims
satisfied the “in connection with” requirement of SLUSA
and were preempted. Kircher contained a lengthy discus-
sion of Blue Chip Stamps and how the decision reflected a
policy decision to limit private causes of action to actual
purchasers or sellers. 405 F.3d at 482-83. However,
Kircher went awry when it stated:

It would be more than a little strange if the Su-
preme Court’s decision to block private litigation
by non-traders became the opening by which that
very litigation could be pursued under state law,
despite the judgment of Congress (reflected in
SLUSA) that securities class actions must pro-
ceed under federal securities law or not at all.

Id. at 484. This holding reflects a misunderstanding of
both SLUSA and Blue Chip Stamps. As explained supra,
SLUSA was passed to ensure that actions which are
subject to the federal securities laws are filed in federal
court, subject to the rigors of the PSLRA, and not under
parallel state provisions. It was not meant to ensure that,
as Kircher stated “securities class actions must proceed
under federal securities laws or not at all.” Moreover,
while the Blue Chip Stamps court did block private litiga-
tion by non-traders, it did so only in federal court under
the federal securities laws, and only because, inter alia,
those non-traders could pursue remedies under state law.
Blue Chip Stamps, 421 U.S. at 739 n.9. It would be “more

than a little strange” not to allow these purely state cases
to be pursued in state court, especially when it was the
judgment of Congress simply not to allow federal cases to
be filed in state court. There is no evidence Congress
meant to preempt claims which never could have been
filed in federal court in the first place.

+

CONCLUSION

Accordingly, NASCAT and AARP respectfully request
this Court affirm the decision of the Second Circuit in this

matter.

Respectfully submitted,

STEWART M. WELTMAN*

COHEN, MILSTEIN, HAUSFELD &
TOLL, P.L.L.C.

39 South LaSalle Street,
Suite 1100

Chicago, IL 60603

(312) 357-0370

KEVIN P. Roppy

WILENTZ, GOLDMAN & SPITZER, PA

90 Woodbridge Center Drive,
Suite 900

Woodbridge, NJ 07095-0958

(732) 636-8000

DEBORAH ZUCKERMAN
AARP FOUNDATION
601 E Street, NW

Washington, D.C. 20049
(202) 434-2060

27

BRIAN P. MURRAY

LAWRENCE D. McCABE
MURRAY, FRANK & SAILER LLP
275 Madison Avenue, Suite 801
New York, NY 10016

(212) 682-1818

CAROL V. GILDEN

MELINDA J. MORALES

MUCH, SHELIST, FREED, DENENBERG
AMENT & RUBENSTEIN, PC

191 North Wacker Drive,
Suite 1800

Chicago, IL 6060€

(312) 521-2000

e 1 for Amici Curi
National Association of
Shareholder and Consumer
Attorneys and AARP

*Counsel of Record
December 16, 2005

App. 1

IN THE CIRCUIT COURT OF COOK COUNTY,
ILLINOIS COUNTY DEPARTMENT

CROFT, MERCURY FINANCE
COMPANY, and KPMG PEAT
MARWICK,

Defendants.

- CHANCERY DIVISION
MICHAEL DLOOGATCH, on __—+)
behalf of himself and all others )
similarly situated, )
ws )
Plaintiff, ) No. 97 CH 8790
Vv. Judge
JOHN N. BRINCAT, JOHN N. ?) Patrick E. McGann
BRINCAT, JR., WILLIAMC. )
) Cal. 6
)
)
)
)

MEMORANDUM OPINION AND ORDER

Plaintiff Michael Dloogatch, on behalf of himself and
all others similarly situated, moves, pursuant to Section 2-
801 of the Dllinois Code of Civil Procedure, 735 ILLS 5/2-
801, to certify a class of “people who owned the common
stock of Mercury Finance Company on or before February
23, 1994 and held their stock through and including
January 29, 1997.” Defendant KPMG Peat Marwick
(“KPMG”) objects to class certification with respect to each
of Section 2-801's requirements.

I. FACTS

Plaintiff Michael Dloogatch (“Plaintiff” or “Dloogatch”)
has entered into a class-wide settlement agreement with
Mercury Finance Company (“Mercury”) and the individual
defendants. KPMG, who acted as Mercury's accounting

App. 2

firm and independent auditor of its financial statements,
is the only remaining defendant in this cause. In the
complaint, plaintiff seeks recovery against KPMG for
negligence, negligent misrepresentation and common law
fraud, claiming that during the period from February 23,
1994 through January 29, 1997, KPMG issued to the class
members, all of whom were shareholders in Mercury, false
and misleading auditor’s letters certifying the accuracy of
Mercury’s financial statements that falsely portrayed
Mercury's revenues, earnings and financial condition.

Plaintiff seeks to certify a class of holders of Mercury
stock that owned Mercury stock on the last day before the
fraud began, February 23, 1994, and who held their stock
during the three-year period when the fraud was revealed
on January 29, 1997. On January 29, 1997, Mercury
announced that previously reported net income for the
fiscal years 1993 through 1996 would be restated due to
the discovery of accounting irregularities. According to the
plaintiff, those false and misleading financial statements
and auditor’s letters misled the holders into believing that
Mercury was a going concern with a bright future, only to
experience substantial losses when the truth about Mer-
cury’s poor financial condition was disclosed on January
29, 1997. The plaintiff claims that he and the remaining
members of the proposed class would not have held onto
the stock, if not for the false reported earnings and audi-
tor’s letters.

Plaintiff has defined the class as:

All persons who purchased common stock of Mer-
cury Finance Company prior to February 23,
1994 and held such stock through and including
January 29, 1997. Excluded are KPMG and any
entity which KPMG has a controlling interest or

App. 3

which is a parent or subsidiary of or is controlled
by KPMG, and the officers, directors, employees,
affiliates, legal representatives, heirs, successors
and assigns of KPMG.

II. DISCUSSION

Section 2-801 of the Illinois Code of Civil Procedure,
735 ILCS 5/2-801, provides for the maintenance of a class
action in Illinois. Under this section, the court must find
that: (1) the class is so numerous that joinder of all mem-
bers is impracticable; (2) there are questions of fact or law
common to the class, which common questions predomi-
nate over any questions affecting only individual mem-
bers; (3) the representative parties will fairly and
adequately protect the interest of the class; and (4) the
class action is an appropriate method for the fair and
efficient adjudication of the controversy.

In deciding whether to certify a class, a court may
consider “any matters of fact or law properly presented by
the record, including the pleadings, depositions, affidavits,
answers to interrogatories and any evidence that may
have been adduced at the hearings.” Charles Hester
Enterprises, Inc. v. Illinois Founders Insurance Co., 137 Il.
App. 3d 84, 100 (5th Dist. 1985). This decision is left to the
sound discretion of the trial judge and will be disturbed
only upon a finding of a clear abuse of discretion or the
application of impermissible legal criteria. Slimack v.
County Life Insurance Co., 227 Ill. App 3d 287, 292. (5th
Dist. 1992).

App. 4

1. Numerosity

The numerosity portion of the Illinois statute is
identical to the language found in Rule 23 of the Federal
Rule of Civil Procedure. Thus, decisions of the federal
courts on this issue are instructive. Wood River Area
Development Corp. v. Germania Federal Savings and
Loan, 198 Ill. App. 3d 445, 450 (5th Dist. 1990).

Although the easiest factor to find, the issue as to
whether the proposed class is large enough to make
joinder of all members impracticable is not subject to
arithmetic certainty and depends on the facts and circum-
stances of each case. In Wood River, the Appellate Court
noted that courts, either federal or state, have not estab-
lished a “magic number” which guarantees certification.
The court did, however, point with authority to a quote
from Miller, An Overview of Federal Class Actions: Past,
Present and Future, Federal Judicial Center, at 22 (1977),
which stated:

If the class has more than forty people in it, nu-

merosity is satisfied; if the class has less than

twenty-five people in it, numerosity is probably

lacking; if the class has between twenty-five and

forty, there is no automatic rule and other factors
ated hed become relevant,

In Wood River, where there was twenty-one potential class
members, reduced to eighteen after three opted out, the
Court held that because the size was relatively small,
additional reasons for the use of the class action procedural
device was appropriate. These additional factors are: (1) the
class members geographical distribution; (2) the ability to
identify and locate the class members; (3) the degree of
knowledge and sophistication of the class members and

App. 5

their need for protection; (4) the amount of claims of the
individual class members; and (5) the nature of the cause
of action. Wood River, 198 Ill. App. 3d at 451.

Dloogatch asserts that he has met this numerosity
requirement, using as an example that over 1000 class
members have filed valid claims for their share of the
settlement of claims against the other defendants in this
matter. KPMG claims that Dloogatch cannot meet the
numerosity requirement because there is a strong reason
to believe that many of the class members who sought
compensation against other defendants have since re-
leased any claims they had against KPMG. Specifically,
KPMG argues that since two classes of purchasers of
Mercury securities have released their claims against
KPMG in a federal case, all putative members of the
holder class who also purchased Mercury securities during
the class period and have not opted out of the purchaser
class, have released their claims and cannot be members
of the holder class. KPMG points out that 53 of 61 institu-
tional investors had purchased stock during the class
period, and have thus, released their claims against
KPMG. KPMG also argues that at least 14 individual
plaintiffs have asserted individual claims against KPMG
and are in a position to assert their rights without relying
on the class action device. The Plaintiff denies the effect of
the releases.

Here, KPMG is correct that certain potential class
members may have released their claims against certain
holders but its argument ignores the fact that at least
some holders were not also purchasers during the class
period. The releases executed as part of the previous
settlement, Exhibit 5 to Defendant’s Memorandum, appvar

to affect only those persons who purchased Mercury stock

App. 6

on and after April 10, 1995 and up to and including Janu-
ary 29, 1997. The document also absolves KPMG of liabil-
ity for any and all services they performed for Mercury
during that time period. On its face, the settlement
agreement appears to exclude any putative member of the
“holder class” who purchased additional shares of Mercury
stock during the applicable period. It does not impact on
those investors, who purchased the stock prior to February
1994 and held the stock until January, 1996. The exact
number of individuals in either category is not left to
speculation. Mercury was an actively traded security.
More than thirty thousand notices were mailed in connec-
tion with a previous settlement. A number of institutional
investors did not settle their claims. In addition, the
defendant’s expert, Mr. Cox’ statistics suggest a significant
amount of ownership retention in his analysis of Mercury's
trading volume at the time of the financial reports.

In addition, the Plaintiff's suggestion that there are at
least one hundred thirty members of the proposed class is
persuasive. The defendant’s arguments and illustrations
are not sufficient to defeat the plaintiff’s assertion that
those holders meet the numerosity requirement, because
the numerosity requirement generally requires only about
forty class members. If the Plaintiff’s class is as small as
the defendant suggests, the issues relating to the pre-
dominance of common questions of reliance may not be as
cumbersome as suggested. Therefore, the plaintiff has met
the numerosity requirement.

App. 7

2. Common Questions of Law or Fact.

Prior to the enactment of Illinois’ class action statute,
common law required that a party seeking to be a repre-
sentative in a class suit have a community of interest in
the subject matter and the remedy. Harrison Sheet Steel
Co. v. Lyons, 15 Ill. 2d 532, 537 (1959). This standard
precluded a party opposed to the class from interposing an
objection by asserting hypothetical versions of a minor
character to prevent use of the class suit procedure. Lyons,
15 Ml. 2d at 538.

Shortly after Section 2-801 was enacted, then codified
as SHA Ch. 110 § 57.2, the Supreme Court issued its
decision in Steinberg v. Chicago Medical School, 69 Ill. 2d
320 (1977). The plaintiff, Robert Steinberg, had applied for
admission and paid the required fee to the defendant
medical school based upon its promise to make acceptance
decisions upon the criteria stated in its catalog. This
booklet emphasized academic achievement and potential
as the primary factors considered for admission. He
alleged that unbeknownst to him and others similarly
situated a candidate’s chance of acceptance increased in
direct proportion to the contribution or pledge of contribu-
tion to the school’s endowment fund. After finding the
former “community of interest” standard lacked structure,
the Court set forth the simple test of finding common
questions of law or fact. It also recognized that slight
deviations of claims by some portion of the class will not in
and of itself serve to defeat certification. Steinberg, 69 Il.
2d at 338.

As recognized by Steinberg, the standard now set out
by the legislature requires the court to perform a two-step
analysis. First, the court must ask whether there are

App. 8

common questions of law or fact. The language is in the
disjunctive; therefore, the commonality can be in fact or
law. If there are common questions of law or fact, the trial
court must determine whether the common questions
predominate over questions involving individual members.

In this case, Dloogatch asserts that the common
question of law or fact is whether KPMG is liable for its
conduct in auditing Mercury and disseminating the audit
opinion letters, and also claims that it is appropriate to
prove the class’ actual reliance through circumstantial
evidence sufficient to create an inference of reliance. This
is a reasonable position as corporate financial statements
are distributed to shareholders with an invitation they be
read and relied upon.

The Supreme Court of California has recently noted
the importance of the need for integrity in our financial
markets. The financial hardships reported in our daily
papers caused by shoddy or unethical business practices
shielded by inadequate or corrupt oversight by outside
auditors affect every resident of this country either di-
rectly by a loss of wealth or indirectly by increased costs
imposed because risk cannot be accurately gauged. see
Small v. Fritz Companies, 30 Cal. 4th 167 (2003). Thus,
the role of KPMG in preparing the audit letters and other
financial reports which the Plaintiff alleges caused his loss
is a critical issue in this litigation.

KPMG argues that the highly individualized question
of reliance is the predominant issue in this case. KPMG
additionally objects that plaintiff’s class-wide theory of
damages do not present predominant common issues
because case law rejects plaintiff’s benefit of the bargain

App. 9

theory of damages because holders cannot claim the
benefit of any bargain.

The Court accepts for the purpose of this motion that
the audit and financial reports prepared by KPMG and
distributed to shareholders by Mercury, served to a very
great extent, to set the market price of the stock. It also
must be assumed that the stock price was artificially
inflated by the fraudulent financial statements. The Court
acknowledges KPMG’s strong denial of any wrongdoing.
As noted, the statements were distributed to furnish
information to the shareholders and others either making
or advising on investment decisions. The gravamen of
fraud and negligent misrepresentation is reliance on the
falsehood. That means the injured party must do some-
thing as a result. That can be either action or, as alleged in
this case, inaction. Wright v. Chicago Title Insurance Co.,
196 Ill. App. 3d 920, 926 (1990). KPMG posits that if the
requirement of actual reliance were relaxed, individuals
who never read the reports or relied solely on the market
in making decisions to buy, sell or hold securities would
have a claim. This would unjustifiably expose KPMG to
potential liability for unsubstantiated claims and be
inconsistent with the rule set down in Oliveira v. Amoco
Oil, 201 Ill. 2d 134 (2002).

The danger of non-meritorious suits in securities cases
has been recognized by the United States Congress with
the enactment of the Private Litigation Securities Act of
1995 (109 Stat. 737). The United States Supreme Court
also noted sensitivity to the issue of fraudulent claims in
barring “Holders Actions” under federal securities laws
Blue Chip Stamps v. Manor Drug Stores, 421 U.S. 723,
739-740, 743-747 (1975). In a stated effort to reduce the
potential of such suits, one state court now requires that a

App. 10

Plaintiff making a state claim for fraud on a theory of
“Holding” stock must allege with particularity “how, when,
where to whom and by what means the representations
were tendered as well as details concerning the abandoned
decision to sell the security in question. Small v. Fritz
Companies, Inc., 30 Cal. 4th 167, 184 (2003). Claims for
negligent misrepresentation must allege that if the true
financial status were known, a sale would have occurred,
how much stock would have been sold, and when the sale
would have occurred. Id. The focus in each claim, the
Court noted, was on the decision making process of the

alleged injured party.

Plaintiff Dloogatch has asserted claims of common law
fraud, negligence and negligent misrepresentation against
KPMG. In order to state a claim for common law fraud or
negligent misrepresentation, the plaintiff and all of the
individual class members must prove justifiable reliance
upon the truth of the misrepresentations. Chicago v.
Michigan Beach Housing Coop., 297 Il. App. 3d 317, 323
(1st Dist. 1998); Good v. Zenith Electronics Co. 751 F.
Supp. 1320, 1323 (N.D. 1990) (applying Dlinois law); In re
First Merchants Acceptance Corporation Securities Litiga-
tion, 1998 WL 781118 at 12 (N.D. Ill.) (applying Illinois
law). Similar to’ Fritz Companies, the focus in these claims
must be on the decision making process of the Plaintiffs.

Other courts considering such claims have rejected
them as too speculative Chanoff v. United States Surgical
Corp., 857 F. Supp. 1011 (D. Conn. 1994) or required
personal contact between the defendant and plaintiff as
well as extrinsic proof. Guthman v. Howard Savings Bank,
748 F. Supp. 254 (D. N.J. 1990).

App. 11

The plaintiff seeks to assert an inference of reliance,
although he claims that he is not relying on the fraud on
the market theory. The fraud on the market theory, used
in securities fraud cases brought under Rule 10b-5 of the
Securities Exchange Act of 1934, allows for a rebuttable
presumption of reliance that a person purchasing stock
relied on the integrity of the price as set by the market
and that a misleading statement or omission by defen-
dants resulted in a lower stock price. Good, 751 F. Supp. at
1323, citing Basic Inc. v. Levinson, 485 U.S. 224 (1988).
This presumption has been used to satisfy the plaintiff’s
requirement to plead and prove transaction causation.
Plaintiffs most likely cannot rely on the fraud on the
market theory because several courts have held that while
the theory applies to securities fraud litigation, the theory
does not apply to state common law actions for fraud and
negligent misrepresentation. Good, 751 F. Supp. at 1323;
Katz v. Comdisco, 117 F.R.D. 403, 412 (ND. Ill. 1987).
Moreover, the Illinois Supreme Court has recently rejected
the theory’s application to a claim under the Illinois
Consumer Fraud Act. Oliveira v. Amoco Oil Co., 201 Tl. 2d
134 (2002). The Court required such plaintiffs to show the
injury was proximately caused by the acts of consumer
fraud. It is important to note that the Supreme Court’s
decision expressed a concern that the use of the fraud on
the market theory would allow individuals who did not
hear or believe the admittedly false advertising to recover
unjustly.

Dloogatch’s position is a variation of a theory found in
the earlier cases authorizing a “holder’s claim” in securi-
ties litigation. In Continental Insurance Company v.
Mercandante, 225 N.Y.S. 488 (S. Ct. App. Div. 1927), the
court was called upon to determine if a claim for fraud

App. 12

could be stated where the plaintiff insurance companies
did not allege that the defendant’s fraud did not cause the
plaintiffs to change their decision to sell the securities.
Rather, the wrong occurred when the misrepresentation
“transmuted their indecision whether to sell or keep into a
damaging decision to retain.” The court noted that the
plaintiffs had acted in a manner suggested by the mis-
statements, retain the security as a valuable investment.
This the court held showed, at the pleading stage, prima
facie legal causation. The court reasoned the question was
not whether the deceived party would have lost had the
fraud not been practiced, but whether there was a reason-
able probability that the fraud actually accomplished the
result it was intended to bring about. Here, the allegations
in the complaint set forth a series of deliberate acts done
by KPMG which were intended to influence investor
decisions related to purchase, sale, or retention of stock in
Mercury Finance Company.

Subsequent to the Mercandante decision, the Con-
gress enacted the depression era securities laws. The
rights of investors under these statutes were the focus of
fraud litigation over the ensuing four decades. While state
fraud claims were prosecuted, they were usually pendant
to the predominant action under section 10b of the Securi-
ties Exchange Act of 1934. The law that developed under
that scheme required a plaintiff to establish loss causation
as well as transaction causation in order to successfully
prosecute the action. AUSA Life Insurance Company v.
Ernst and Young, 206 F3d. 202, 209 (2nd Cir. 2000). Loss
causation is causation as defined in the traditional proxi-
mate cause sense. Id. Transaction causation on the other
hand has been analogized to reliance because it means the
violations in question caused the [injured party] to engage

App. 13

in the transaction in question. Id. However, in a securities
fraud case these two theories coalesce if the plaintiff can
establish that the transaction would not have occurred but
for the misrepresentation and that the misrepresentation
created the disparity between the price and the “invest-
ment quality” of the security at the time of the transac-
tion. Castellano v. Young & Rubicam, Inc., 257 F.3d. 171,
187 (2nd Cir. 2001).

It necessarily follows, that if the Mercantante rule
were accepted by this Court, a fact finder would be allowed
to conclude that KPMG’s alleged wrongdoing caused the
market to react in reliance on their reports. Such a deci-
sion would run afoul of the Supreme Court’s admonition
against use of the market theory to establish causation.

As the plaintiff argues, it is true that the Illinois
Supreme Court in Steinberg stated that having “one count
based on fraud does not prohibit a class action.” Steinberg,
69 Ill. 2d at 340. In understanding the import of that
statement and the Court’s reference to Korn v. Franchard
Corp., 456 F.2d 1206 (2nd Cir. 1972) (Claim for violation of
securities law in sale of a limited partnership interest), the
facts in Steinberg are instructive as is an analysis of
Illinois law evolving after Korn.

In Steinberg, it was clear that the Court had found
the defendant medical school had an equitable duty of
disclosure to the applicants. The Court also noted the
conflict in then existing Illinois case law as to this issue
and finally suggested the trial court had certain options,
such as subclasses or following the suggestions in Korn. It
is also important to remember that in Steinberg, there
were breach of contract and consumer fraud counts where
reliance on the falsehood is not an element.

App. 14

of reliance will not prevent certification. This is especially
true where a common core of facts exist or other claims are
joined and where reliance is neither presumed nor an
element of the claim. See Arenson v. Whitehall Convales-
cent and Nursing Home, Inc., (164 F.R.D. 659 ND Il. 1996)
(overcharging patients for medication alleged to be fraud,
consumer fraud, and RICO violation); Eisenberg v.
Gagnon, 766 F. 2d 770 (3rd Cir. 1985) (common offering of
sale of worthless tax shelters); Green v. Wolf v. Wolf Corpo-
ration, 406 F.2d 291 (2nd Cir. 1968) (sale of stock based on
three prospectuses containing similar false representa-
tions); In re Activision Securities Litigation, 621 F. Supp.
415 (ND Cal. 1985) (sale of stock based on false prospec-
tus, court allowed certification of state fraud claim joined
with 10b-5 action certified without objection by defen-
dant). The other cases cited by the Plaintiff also involve
claims of fraud in the sale of securities or insurance based
upon false sales material uniformly distributed.

The courts of Illinois have not adopted any of the
suggestions found in Korn. The Plaintiff has not cited to
one case where the traditiona)] elements of a fraud claim
has been relaxed by a court. Indeed, as noted, the Su-
preme Court recently reinforced the necessary require-
ment of pleading and proving proximate cause in these
cases. See Oliveira, 201 Ill. 2d at 155.

Hence, this Court concludes there are significant
individual questions related to the issue of reliance. This
Court, however, must examine whether the individual
questions of reliance in the instant case will predominate
over the common questions of law or facts in the instant case.
In undertaking this analysis, the Court is mindful of the
important role the class action has played in protecting

App. 15

individual investors from securities fraud. In order to
make his claim, the Plaintiff must prove that KPMG
knowingly made a false statement concerning the financial
status of Mercury Financial. That the statement was made
with the intent that investors rely upon it, that reliance
occurred because the injured party had a right to rely on
the falsehood. Finally, that damage was proximately
caused by the reliatce. Siegel v Levy Organization Devel-
opment Company, Inc., 153 Ill. 2d 534, 542-543 (1992). The
determination of KPMG’s role in auditing the financial
records of Mercury will determine whether it knowingly
made a false statement with the intent that investors rely
on it. This would create a core set of facts upon which, if
necessary, individual class members can present claims of
reliance. The resolution of these issues, in this Court’s
judgment, predominates over all others. The determina-
tion of this core issue would relieve this Court and those
small investors of the cost of multiple investigations and
trials over that portion of the case. KPMG would avoid the
multiple defense costs necessitated by multiple filings.
Moreover, if the class is as small as suggested by KPMG,
the later portion of the proceedings will be not burdensome
at all. Common sets of interrogatories and other discovery
tools can be devised. An administrative process designed
to separate valid claims from those without merit can be
employed. Thus necessitating trials in only the former
cases.

This Court acknowledges that several federal and
foreign state courts have denied class certification as to
the state law claims on the basis that individual issues of
reliance would predominate over any common question of
fraud and negligent misrepresentation. Katz, 117 F.R.D. at
412; Good, 751 F.Supp. at 1323; Gaffin v. Teledyne, 611

App. 16

A.2d 467, 474 (Del. 1992) (questions as to the element of
justifiable reliance will inevitably predominate over
common questions of law or fact). The notice provision of
the Code of Civil Procedure (735 ILCS 5/ 2-803), unlike
that of Rule 23 of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure
places no restriction on requiring certain information from
putative class members to make a claim or become a
member of the class. Information concerning decisions to
hold the security and the basis of those decisions can be
required and reviewed for sufficiency. If facially defective,
they can be summarily rejected. If the proper claim is
made, KPMG can pose the agreed upon interrogatories,
engage in limited document production and depose the
claimant, as well as, insist on an individual hearing to
contest the claim. That trial however will be limited solely
to the issues of reliance and damages. This procedure
would not be unlike those employed in other mass tort
cases. It is not unusual for courts to conduct a single trial
in crash-related or toxic mass torts on limited issues. Once
liability is established, individual trials are conducted on
issues related to causation and damages. Conte, Newberg,
Newberg on Class Actions Chapter 17 generally and
Section 17.28 (4th Edition, Thomson/West 2002).

On the other hand if the responding class is too large,
the court can decertify the class and allow the claimants to
proceed individually with a binding finding of KPMG’s
wrongdoing as the benefit of class membership.

In addition, while Dloogatch’s expert, Dr. Lewellen
has asserted a benefit of the bargain calculation of dam-
ages, calculating the damages owed to all of the holders as
the difference between the value of Mercury stock on the
day before the fraud was revealed and the price after the
fraud was revealed. KPMG argues that any theory of

—

App. 17

damages which applies equally to all shareholders is a
shareholder derivative claim, and must be pleaded as
such. Moreover, KPMG asserts that this is not a benefit of
the bargain case, because all class members purchased
their Mercury stock before any fraud occurred and the
need to subtract any gains from the alleged fraud presents
a predominant individual issue that undermines any effort
to calculate damages on a class-wide basis.

Plaintiff is correct that this Court need not determine
the proper measure of damages at this instant, however, in
Illinois the benefit of the bargain approach generally
assesses the difference between the actual value of the
property purchased and the value of the property had the
representations been true. Gerill Co. v. Jack L. Hargrove
Builders, 128 011. 2d 179, 196 (1989); Giammanco v. Giam-
manco, 253 Ill. App. 3d 750, 759 (2d Dist. 1993). In this
case, it is unclear how the benefit of the bargain approach
would be appropriate in determining the damages of
individuals who purchased the stock before any fraud
occurred and held this stock throughout the fraud. The
price paid for the security was the value set by the market
thus they received full value for their money. They held
the stock for the entire period of the fraud and suffered
damage once the truth was revealed. No claimant can
receive any benefit from the inflated price as they would
be profiting from a fraud. Thus it appears the benefit of
the bargain approach would have no application. Moreover
some class members may have sold the stock precipitously
and received an artificially depressed price. The defen-
dant’s suggestion that any loss incurred must be offset by
any gain received for stock sold during the fraud has
significant equitable appeal. Finally, the Court in Small v.
Fritz Company, supra. discussed many approaches to the

App. 18

determination of damages which this Court finds of
interest. Nevertheless, this Court need not determine the
proper measure of damages, but notes benefit of the

bargain damages appears to be an inappropriate measure.

The final point on this issue is whether the claims are
personal! or derivative. In order to make such a determina-
tion, the Court must determine the nature of the harm
and the relief available upon success of the suit. In order
to state a direct claim under Delaware law, the plaintiff
must establish that the injury was one that is different
than that suffered by the other shareholders or involves
the contractual rights of the shareholder that are inde-
pendent of the corporation’s rights. Kramer v. Western
Pacific Industries. Inc., 546 A. 2d 348, 351 (Del. 1988).
This determination is made from a review of the actual
claims in the complaint, not its captions or stated inten-
tions. Id. P. 352. Here, the Plaintiff’s [sic] allege an injury
that is separate from any injury to the corporation. The
injury is not related to corporate affairs or to their rights
as shareholders. Their injury is personal to each of them.
As the Defendant so eloquently argued each shareholder’s
loss or damage is unique to him or her. There is no com-
monality. Their rights do not derive from those of the
corporation. Their injury, if any, derives from their right to
purchase securities in a free, open and honest market.
This right was violated, they allege, by the intentional acts
of KPMG. The Defendant vigorously denies the allegations
and so the issue is joined.

3. Adequate Representation

This requirement has due process implications. In
order to determine adequacy of representation, the trial

App. 19

judge must examine two issues: (1) will representation by
the proposed class representative protect the members of
the class who must be afforded due process; and (2) does
the attorney have the skill, qualifications and experience
to conduct the proposed litigation? Steinberg, 69 Ill. 2d at
339.

A. Adequate Representation by Proposed Repre-
sentative }

Unlike the requirement in Rule 23 of the Federal
Rules of Civil Procedure that the claim of the proposed
sy representative be typical of those of the class, Illinois

has adopted a more liberal approach. Carrao v. Health
Care Service Corp., 118 Ill. App. 3d 417 (1st Dist. 1983). In
Illinois, the class representative must fairly, adequately
and efficiently represent absent class members. Gordon v.
Boden, 224 Ill. App. 3d 195, 203 (1st Dist. 1991).

This has been defined as showing the interest of the
proposed class representatives are not antagonistic to
those of the absent class members. Thus, issues such as
slight variations in the claim, Purcell Wardrope Chtd. v.
Hertz Corp., 175 Ill. App. 3d 1069, 1078 (1st Dist. 1975), or
individualized affirmative defenses, Wenhold v. AT & T,
142 Ill. App. 3d 612, 619 (1st Dist. 1986) will not defeat
certification. However, in cases where there is evidence of
antagonism or collusion, Hansberg v. Lee, 311 U.S. 32
(1940), between the proposed representative and absent
class members or a close connection with the lawyer
representing the proposed class, Barliant v. Follett Corpo-
ration, 74 Ill. 2d 266 (1978), class certification should be
scrutinized.

App. 20

In this case, KPMG argues that Dloogatch will not
adequately represent the interests of the class because he
is subject to a defense that he cannot prove that he relied
on any fraudulent statement because he did not sell the
stock even after the alleged fraud was revealed in January
1997 and if Dloogatch intends to rely on its alternative
theory of damages, opportunity cost, he is a poor represen-
tative. These individualized affirmative defenses, which
can be explained by deposition testimony, are not suffi-
cient to undermine Mr. Dloogatch’s ability to adequately
represent the class.

B. Adequacy of Representation by Counsel

KPMG does not assert that counsel will not ade-
quately represent the potential class. Moreover, this Court
has read pleadings submitted by counsel and has deter-
mined that counsel will adequately represent the class.

For these reasons, the adequate representation prong
is met.

3. Appropriate Method for Fair and Efficient
Adjudication
In its earliest explanation of this prong, the Supreme
Court noted that once a determination was made that a
question of law or fact common to the class predominates,
the statute is satisfied. Steinberg v. Chicago Medical
School, 69 Tl. 2d 320, 340-341 (1977). The court noted that
once the dominant issue was resolved, the trial judge could
employ various procedures to resolve issues that affect
some, but not all of the class members. This could include
breaking the class into identifiable subgroups or even
ordering individual trials.

App. 21

Later cases developed a two-pronged test to determine
whether this requirement was met. Satisfaction of either
test proves the statutory requirement. The test is whether:
(1) the class action procedure can best secure the econom-
ics of time, effort and promote uniformity; or (2) accom-
plish the other ends of equity and justice that class actions
seek to obtain. Furthermore, a controlling factor in many
cases is that the class action is the only practical means
for class members to receive redress, particularly where
claims are small. Gordon, 224 Ill. App. 3d at 204-205.

This case is an appropriate method for the fair and
efficient adjudication of the individual class issues. While
the class action vehicle is not the only practical method for
the class members to receive redress. As KPMG pointed
out, numerous individual holder actions have been filed
against it. There are, as noted, efficiencies to be gained
from proceeding as a class action. The investigation into
the relationship between KPMG and Mercury will be
costly and time consuming. It will require extensive
document production, multiple depositions and the use of
expert witnesses. Individual investors probably do not
have the ability or resources to undertake such a task. The
class action vehicle was designed for this type of case.

Hence, the Court concludes the Plaintiff has estab-
lished the requirements for Class Certification.

Ill. ORDER
A. This Court certifies as a class of Plaintiffs:

All persons who purchased common stock of
Mercury Finance Company prior to Febru-
ary 23, 1994 and held such stock through
and including January 29, 1997. Excluded

App. 22

are KPMG and any entity which KPMG has
a controlling interest or which is a parent or
subsidiary of or is controlled by KPMG, and
the officers, directors, employees, affiliates,
legal representatives, heirs, successors and
assigns of KPMG.

B. The matter is set for case management con-
ference to discuss, among other issues, the form
and content of the notice to the certified class on

8/18, 2003, at 11:30 A.M.

— JUDGE
DATED: ENTERED: PATRICK McGANN -— 1510
Judge 1510

aj

Li,
a)

No. 04-1371

IN THE

Supreme Court of the An

MERRILL LYNCH, PIERCE, FENNER & SMITH, INC.,

Petitioner, —
v.

SHADI DABIT, on behalf of himself and all
others similarly situated,

Respondent.

On Writ oF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

BrigF OF New York, CALIFORNIA, CONNECTICUT, HAWAn,
ILLInots, lowa, MIcHIGAN, MINNESOTA, MIssIssiPPt,
Montana, New Jersey, New Mexico, Oun10o, OKLAHOMA,
OREGON, SOUTH CAROLINA, VERMONT, WASHINGTON,
WISCONSIN AS AMICI CuRIAE IN SUPPORT OF RESPONDENT

CaITLIN J. HALLIGAN* Eviot SpItzer
Solicitor General Attorney General of the
Mariya S. TREISMAN State of New York
Assistant Solicitor General 120 Broadway
New York, NY 10271
* Counsel of Record (212) 416-8016

Attorneys for Amici Curiae
(Additional Attorneys Listed on Signature Page)

—_—_—X—X—X—X“—_—__*_*"" —_———

198511 g

COUNSEL PRESS
(800) 274-3321 + (800) 359-6859

i
QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether SLUSA preempts state-law claims brought by
holders of securities based upon misrepresentations,
omissions, or manipulation.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTION PRESENTED ..........0scccecees

BAR GP CAMNEMSED fi cessevsicccccvcvees

TABLE OF CITED AUTHORITIES ............

INTERESTS OF AMICI CURIAE ...... FET ck

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT .................

PP TOPS TTT TERE PEC TIPE r oT

1.

SLUSA incorporates the well-settled
purchaser/seller limitation on private actions
for securities fraud and therefore does not
preempt state-law holder claims. .........

A. Because States have had a longstanding
role in protecting against securities
fraud, there is a presumption against
finding that SLUSA preempts holder
S. .nddabeodedneeddensepansues

B. In enacting SLUSA’s preemption
provision, Congress used a phrase with
a settled meaning that is limited in scope
to actions brought by purchasers or
sellers of a covered security. .........

Page

iii

Contents
Page

Il. Construing SLUSA to allow state-law
remedies for holder claims strikes an
appropriate balance between protecting
investors from fraud and furthering
Congress’s purpose of promoting consistent
and efficient markets. ........ccccceeee: 15

CEE Knew eccg paededdbcenvadecebece 19

iv

TABLE OF CITED AUTHORITIES

Page

CASES
Abada v. Charles Schwab & Co.,

127 F. Supp. 2d 1101 (S.D. Cal. 2000) ........ 14
Amchem Products v. Windsor,

kt MP. Se rec rents ar 16
Blue Chip Stamps v. Manor Drug Stores,

GSE WA TEP ESPN bcc ccketvewdevesvennen passim
Bragdon v. Abbott,

re as RED. 6+ 5'p'b 4-60.60 060500 denen 10
Central Bank v. First Interstate Bank,

PER WR POGOe ob ekceee teed dar codeens 8, 12
Cipollone v. Liggett Group, Inc.,

Fa CA. DOP ENOEES oo cskbveveddebacctaetes 3
Continental Ins. Co. v. Mercadante, 222 A.D. 181,

Bee Psa GD EREETD 6 cariviivodess ceewees 4
Dabit v. Merrill Lynch, Pierce, Fenner & Smith, Inc.,

Fee We oe GG NOE ec dbsecdésectatucas 11,17
David v. Belmont,

291 Mass. 450, 197 N.E. 83 (1935) ........... 4

Duffy v. Smith,
Be A, S58 ed GED bc ovcasctecsseccounnens 1,4

Vv

Cited Authorities
Page
Ernst & Ernst v. Hochfelder,
ES Ee 8
Fottler v. Moseley,
179 Mass. 295, 60 N.E. 788 (1901) ........... 4
Franchise Tax Board v. Construction
Laborers Vacation Trust,
hie Ae hes oes we ates ct bs 6
Gordon v. Buntrock,
No. 00 CV 303 (JFH), 2000 U.S. Dist. LEXIS
5977, 2000 WL 556763 (N.D. Ill. Apr. 28, 2000)
ee A Be ee a a ls tabs 14
Green v. Ameritrade, Inc.,
279 F.3d 590 (8th Cir. 2002) ................ 14
Gutierrez v. Deloitte & Touche, L.L.P.,
147 F. Supp. 2d 584 (W.D. Tex. 2001) ......... 14
iutman v. Howard Savings Bank,
748 F. Supp. 254 (D.N.J. 1990) .............. 18
Hines v. ESC Strategic Funds, Inc.,
No. 3:99-0530 (AAT), 1999 U.S. Dist. LEXIS
15790, 1999 WL 1705503 (M.D. Tenn. Sept. 17,
iia tnd ee nennadnwdeeteee es et 15

Holmes v. Securities Investor Protection Corp.,
i + aden edntebhedeeetaceces 9, 11

vi

Cited Authorities
Page

In re WorldCom, Inc. Securities Litigation,

336 F. Supp. 2d 310 (S.D.N.Y. 2004) ...... ... 15
In re WorldCom, Inc. Securities Litigation,

382 F. Supp. 2d 549 (S.D.N.Y. 2005) .......... 15
Kircher v. Putnam Funds Trust,

403 F.3d 478 (7th Cir. 2005) ................ il
Lampf, Pleva, Lipkind, Prupis & Petigrow

v. Gilbertson,

ft € ee ee 8, 12
Medtronic, Inc. v. Lohr,

Dt a wcnueceesdeveseeaes o¢ 3, 6, 17
National Labor Relations Bd. v. Amax Coal Co..,

.: & | ee eer ree 10
New York State Conference of Blue Cross &

Blue Shield Plans v. Travelers Insurance Co.,

0 Bs Sh ere 3

Riley v. Merrill Lynch, Pierce, Fenner & Smith, Inc.,
292 F.3d 1334 (llth Cir. 2002) .............. 14

Rogers v. Cisco Systems,
268 F. Supp. 2d 1305 (N.D. Fla. 2003) ........ 18

Santa Fe Industries v. Green,
Ses SED Feb uete cocwecedbictcess 15

vil

Cited Authorities
Page

SEC v. Zandford,

SPIED, s ses ebdckceddteeciedens il
Seideman v. Sheboygan Loan & Trust Co.,

198 Wis. 97, 223 N.W. 430 (1929) ........... 4
Shaw v. Charles Schwab & Co.,

128 F. Supp. 2d 1270 (C.D. Cal. 2001) ........ 14
Silkwood v. Kerr-McGee Corp.,

PE ED Wovccccéddvedecescesées 6
Small v. Fritz Companies,

30 Cal. 4th 167, 65 P.3d 1255 (2003) ...... 4,15, 18
Sprietsma v. Mercury Marine,

Dh) PT dtieninndckncdaedenesenes 17
United States v. O'Hagan,

ED cndamancbbadcsevesebawen 11
Ward v. Atlantic Security Bank,

777 So. 2d 1144 (Fla. Dist. Ct. App. 2001) ..... 4
STATUTES
Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995,

Pub. L. No. 104-67, 109 Stat. 737 ............ 5
Securities Act of 1933, Pub. L. No. 73-22,

SL OE han cheddadéewsstn ds decéuntecten 5

vill

Cited Authorities
Page
Securities Exchange Act of 1934,

Pub. L. No. 73-291, 48 Stat. 881 ............. 5
Securities Litigation Uniform Standards Act of 1998,

Pub. L. No. 105-353, 112 Stat. 3227 .......... |
SP AE. caches dncececceasesesdeciobes 5
a CUED 6-cectnedsdacceuendscesseee 7
SO OPED ASetccsicceoccudeseanevs 5

"EP ae FED obs cceddvctectedeseteteaés 5
Ss OS EEE ccc ccentcdeccocsosacn 7
1S U.S.C. § FERRET IMB) «nn cc cwrccccccscccees 7
2, 5 Ferner rys Pre 7
fe CRT Tre er 8
SP GED Secsvccceviseewecssevcéé 5

REGULATIONS

BF CI GBS co cccccccccccccssecveces 8

ix

Cc ited Authorities

CONGRESSIONAL DOCUMENTS & RECORD
H.R. Conf. Rep. No. 104-369 (1997) ............
H.R. Conf. Rep. No. 105-803 (1998) ............

Implementation of the Private Securities Litigation
Reform Act of 1995: Hearing Before the Subcomm.
on Finance and Hazardous Materials of the
H. Comm. on Commerce, 105th Cong. (1997) ...

S. Rep. No. 105-182 (1998) ..............0000-

Securities Litigation Abuses: Hearing Before the
Subcomm. on Securities of the S. Comm. on
Banking, Housing, and Urban Affairs, 105th
SE EER Dh avhuccdvincndiontssabitcacse

Securities Litigation Uniform Standards Act of 1997
~ S. 1260: Hearing Before the Subcomm. on
Securities of the S. Comm. on Banking, Housing,
and Urban Affairs, 105th Cong. (1997) ........

Securities Litigation Uniform Standards Act:
Hearing Before the Subcomm. on Finance and
Hazardous Materials of the H. Comm. on
Commerce, 105th Cong. (1998) ..............

Page

x

Cited Authorities
Page
Securities Litigation Uniform Standards Act of 1997
- S. 1260: Hearing Before the Subcomm. on
Securities of the S. Comm. on Banking, Housing,
and Urban Affairs, 105th Cong. (1998) ........ 6, 10
143 Cong. Rec. $10,477 (1997) ..........00055. 12
144 Cong. Rec. H6,058 (1998) ................. 17
144 Cong. Rec. H10,775 (1998) ..........00005. 10
144 Cong. Rec. H11,020 (1998) ................ 17
MISCELLANEOUS AUTHORITIES
James D. Cox, et al., Securities Regulation (1997)
da bedWebdd'semenlanneddenseseedudesios 4,5

Richard W. Painter, Responding to a False Alarm:
Federal Preemption of State Securities Fraud
Causes of Action, 84 Cornell L. Rev. 1 (1998) .. 3-4

Louis Loss & Joel Seligman, Securities Regulation
SE EL Cb koéedeuabibdg ts tortbads obdbé 5

l

INTERESTS OF AMICI CURIAE

Amici States urge the Court to affirm the decision of the
United States Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit in Dabit
v. Merrill Lynch, Pierce, Fenner & Smith, Inc., holding that the
Securities Litigation Uniform Standards Act of 1998
(“SLUSA”), Pub. L. No. 105-353, 112 Stat. 3227, does aot
preempt state-law class-action claims brought solely on behalf
of persons who were fraudulently induced to hold or retain
securities.

Amici States have a legitimate and compelling interest in
preserving a business climate free from fraud and deceptive
practices, and have used their police powers to achieve this goal
for more than a century. In general, state-law private rights of
action have been an important means of compensating victims
of securities fraud and compelling compliance with securities
laws. More specifically, state law has long provided remedies
to investors fraudulently induced to hold or retain a security,
see, e.g., Duffy v. Smith, 32 A. 371 (N.J. 1895), and, since 1975,
state law has provided the only remedy for such investors,
see Blue Chip Stamps v. Manor Drug Stores, 421 U.S. 723
(1975).

SLUSA displaces this historic exercise of the States’ police
power, thereby disrupting the balance of state and federal power
that has long operated in the securities arena. For this reason,
this Court’s precedent dictates, and Amici States strongly agree,
that the scope of SLUSA’s preemption must be strictly limited
to those causes of action that Congress explicitly intended to
preempt: actions “in connection with the purchase or sale of a
... Security,” a phrase which has previously been defined by
this Court in Blue Chip Stamps to exclude private actions
brought by nonpurchasers or nonsellers. Thus, SLUSA cannot
be construed as displacing state-law causes of action for holder
claims. To hold otherwise would eliminate remedies long
available to injured investors, and strip States of essential
authority to protect their citizens from fraud in securities
transactions.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0089%3A17. Public record. Not legal advice.
