# Amicus Curiae Brief — Merrill Lynch, Pierce, Fenner & Smith Inc. v. Dabit

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0089%3A11

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2006
- **Citation:** 547 U.S. 71

## Text

d

upon the statutory or common law of any State or subdi-
vision thereof may be maintained in any State or Fed-
eral court by any private party alleging,” among other
things, “a misrepresentation or omission of a material
fact in connection with the purchase or sale of a covered
security.” SLUSA § 101(b), 112 Stat. 3230, 15 U.S.C.
7T8bb(f)(1)(A).

2. Respondent, a former broker of petitioner’s, filed
suit in the United States District Court for the Western
District of Oklahoma alleging state-law claims for
breaches of fiduciary duty and the covenant of good faith
and fair dealing. Pet. App. 4a-5a. Respondent alleged
that petitioner “issued falsely favorable reports” about
certain stocks “in an effort to encourage widespread
purchasing of these stocks and to artificially support the
stocks[’] prices.” J.A.3la. After the alleged manipula-
tion ceased, the stock prices dropped, leaving those
“who purchased these stocks at manipulation-inflated
prices with substantial losses.” J.A. 29a. Respondent
sought to represent a class of petitioner’s brokers who
“ourchased” the relevant stocks and were damaged
thereby. J.A. 4la.

The district court dismissed the complaint as pre-
empted by SLUSA because it alleged misrepresenta-
tions in connection with the purchase of securities. J.A.
49a. The court granted leave to re-plead, however, be-
cause it was “conceivable that claims based on
wrongfully-induced holding could be pleaded.” J/bid.

Respondent filed an amended complaint that gener-
ally refrains from using the words “purchase” and
“sale,” but alleges the same scheme to “manipulate the
price of [certain] stocks, causing these stocks to trade at
artificially inflated prices.” J.A. 53a. The class defini-

5

tion is limited to brokers who “held” the stocks and were
damaged thereby. J.A. 64a.

After the Judicial Panel for Multi-District Litigation
transferred this case to the Southern District of New
York, that court dismissed the amended complaint. Pet.
App. 53a-55a. The court explained that respondent’s
claims are “based on the very same series of transac-
tions and occurrences asserted in the federal securities
actions currently being coordinated before this Court”
and “fall squarely within SLUSA’s ambit.” /d. at 55a.

3. The court of appeals vacated in part and re-
manded. Pet. App. la-52a. Noting that SLUSA pre-
empts claims based on misrepresentations “in connec-
tion with the purchase or sale” of securities, the court
began its analysis with the recognition that “the mean-
ing of ‘in connection with’ under SLUSA is coterminous
with the meaning of the nearly identical language of
§ 10(b) of the [1934 Act] and its corresponding Rule 10b-
5.” Pet. App. 3a. In construing the meaning of that
phrase, however, the court relied on this Court’s holding
in Blue Chip, supra, that persons who neither purchased
nor sold securities lack standing to pursue a private
right of action under Section 10(b) or Rule 10b-5. Pet.
App. 27a-30a. The court recognized that “[(tJhe limita-
tion on standing to bring private suit for damages” un-
der Blue Chip “is unquestionably a distinct concept from
the general statutory or regulatory prohibition on fraud
in connection with the purchase or sale of securities.”
Id. at 27a. Nonetheless, “{bJecause only purchasers and
sellers have a federal private damages remedy,” the
court concluded that “Congress meant to import the
settled standing rule along with the ‘in connection with’
phrase as a substantive standard,” and thereby ex-

6

empted claims of non-purchasers and non-sellers from
preemption. /d. at 28a.

The court of appeals also relied on an “assumption
that the historic police powers of the States were not to
be superseded by the Federal Act unless that was the
clear and manifest purpose of Congress.” Pet. App. 30a-
31a (quoting City of Milwaukee v. Illinois, 451 U.S. 304,
316 (1981)). It determined that Congress had not mani-
fested such a purpose because, although “[t]he legisla-
tive history * * * generally indicates a broad preemp-
tive intent,” it “contains no specific mention of holding
claims or other non-purchaser/non-seller claims.” /d. at
dla.

Finally, the court of appeals held that respondent’s
class action claims are preempted in part. “[C]laims of
brokers who purchased the stock during the class period
in reliance on the misrepresentations” were held to be
preempted, while claims based on holding (but not pur-
chasing or selling) stocks were held not to be pre-
empted. Pet. App. 41a. Because the amended complaint
does not distinguish between the two sets of claims, the
court of appeals remanded with instructions to dismiss
all such claims without prejudice to repleading the non-
preempted claims. /d. at 42a-43a.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

SLUSA preempts state-law class action claims alleg-
ing “a misrepresentation or omission of a material fact
in connection with the purchase or sale of a covered se-
curity.” 15 U.S.C. 78bb(f)(1)(A). The court of appeals
correctly held that “the meaning of ‘in connection with’
under SLUSA is coterminous with the meaning of the
nearly identical language of § 10(b) of the [1934 Act] and
its corresponding Rule 10b-5.” Pet. App. 3a. Because

7

respondent alleges that petitioner made misrepresenta-
tions that inflated the prices at which securities were
bought and sold, his claims fall well within the scope of
Rule 10b-5 and are therefore preempted by SLUSA.

The court of appeals nonetheless held that respon-
dent could avoid preemption by “exclud[ing] from the
class claimants who purchased in connection with the
fraud.” Pet. App. 43a. That holding is incorrect because
it conflates the question of standing to sue with the
question of the conduct alleged. Preemption under
SLUSA turns on whether the defendant allegedly com-
mitted fraud in connection with the purchase or sale of
securities, not whether the plaintiff or class members
themselves purchased or sold securities. Under Blue
Chip Stamps v. Manor Drug Stores, 421 U.S. 723 (1975),
the latter inquiry determines whether a particular plain-
tiff has standing to sue, but not whether the defendant
committed fraud in connection with the purchase or sale
of securities.

The court of appeals further erred by relying on an
“assumption” of non-preemption and a perceived ab-
sence of relevant legislative history. Because securities
markets and transactions have long been regulated by
the federal government, no such “assumption” applies to
SLUSA’s express preemption provision. In any event,
SLUSA’s text overcomes any applicable assumption by
clearly and manifestly tying its preemptive effect to the
scope of Rule 10b-5’s substantive prohibition against
securities fraud. The legislative history confirms that
Congress intended to apply uniform federal standards
to all securities fraud class actions except those it ex-
pressly exempted. The uniformity that Congress in-
tended to achieve would be illusory if the uniform fed-
eral standards were not binding on plaintiffs who held,

8

rather than purchased or sold, an affected security dur-
ing the period of alleged fraud. Under the court of ap-
peals’ theory, state-law class actions could proceed in
virtually every case of alleged fraud, because it is gener-
ally possible in class actions to allege that the same
fraudulent conduct injured purchasers and holders alike.

Indeed, the decision below would have the perverse
effect of reading a law designed to eliminate abusive and
meritless lawsuits to preserve the suits most likely to be
abusive and meritless. If any set of plaintiffs were to be
exempted from preemption, it would not be those who
neither purchased nor sold securities. Blwe Chip denies
standing to such plaintiffs precisely because their suits
present an especially high risk of abuse in light of the
relative ease of alleging, and difficulty of disproving,
that a plaintiff relied on public representations in not
purchasing or selling a security. Construing Blwe Chip
to immunize “holder” class actions from SLUSA pre-
emption would contravene the intent of Congress and
the policies recognized by this Court in Blue Chip by
permitting a particularly abusive category of state-law
class actions to escape SLUSA’s reach.

ARGUMENT

THERE IS NO PURCHASER/SELLER LIMITATION ON THE
SCOPE OF SLUSA PREEMPTION

In pertinent part, SLUSA provides that “({nJo cov- _
ered class action based upon the statutory or common
law of any State or subdivision thereof may be main-
tained in any State or Federal court by any private
party alleging * * * a misrepresentation or omission
of a material fact in connection with the purchase or sale
of a covered security.” 15 U.S.C. 78bb(f)(1)(A). As the
court of appeals recognized, there is no dispute that this

9

case is a “covered class action” (see 15 U.S.C.
78bb(f)(5)(B)(i)) based on state common law claims (for
breach of fiduciary duty and the duty of good faith and
fair dealing, see Pet. App. 6a), involving securities cov-
ered by SLUSA (because they are traded on national
exchanges, see 15 U.S.C. 78bb(f)(5)(E), 77r(b)(1)). See
Pet. App. 16a-17a.

Nor is there any dispute that the amended complaint
alleges misrepresentations. See Pet. App. 17a. Instead,
the question is “whether these purported misrepresen-
tations were alleged to be ‘in connection with the pur-
chase or sale’ of the covered securities.” /bid. Because
the amended complaint alleges as a key premise of re-
spondent’s claims that the misrepresentations caused
stocks to trade at inflated prices, the misrepresentations
were plainly made “in connection with the purchase or
_ sale” of securities—regardless of whether this particular
plaintiff class bought or sold securities in connection
with the misrepresentations.

A. The Key Statutory Phrase “In Connection With The Pur-
chase Or Sale” Of A Security Has The Same Meaning In
SLUSA That It Has In Section 10(b) And Rule 10b-5

As the court of appeals correctly concluded, “the
meaning of ‘in connection with’ under SLUSA is coter-
minous with the meaning of the nearly identical lan-
guage in § 10(b) of the [1934 Act] and its corresponding
Rule 10b-5.” Pet. App. 3a. “In using the phrase ‘in con-
nection with the purchase or sale of a covered security,’
Congress * * * was using language that, at the time of
SLUSA’s enactment, had acquired settled, and widely-
acknowledged, meaning in the field of securities law,
through years of judicial construction in the context of
§ 10b-5 lawsuits.” Riley v. Merrill Lynch, Pierce,

10

Fenner & Smith, Inc., 292 F.3d 1334, 1342-1343 (11th
Cir.), cert. denied, 537 U.S. 950 (2002); accord Pet. App.
20a-21a; Disher v. Citigroup Global Mkts. Inc., 419 F.3d
649, 654 (7th Cir. 2005); Rowinski v. Salmon Smith Bar-
ney Inc., 398 F.3d 294, 299 (8d Cir. 2005). When, as
here, “administrative and judicial interpretations have
settled the meaning of an existing statutory provision,
repetition of the same language in a new statute indi-
cates, as a general matter, the intent to incorporate its
administrative and judicial interpretations as well.”
Bragdon v. Abbott, 524 U.S. 624, 645 (1998); see NLRB
v. Amax Coal Co., 453 U.S. 322, 329 (1981); Lorillard v.
Pons, 434 U.S. 575, 580-581 (1978).

Accordingly, “[e]very court of appeals to encounter
SLUSA has held that its language has the same scope as
its antecedent in Rule 10b-5.” Kircher v. Putnam
Funds Trust, 403 F.3d 478, 482 (7th Cir. 2005), petition
for cert. pending, No. 05-409 (filed Sept. 29, 2005); see
Pet. App. 19a-20a; Disher, 419 F.3d at 654; Rowinski,
398 F.3d at 299; Riley, 292 F.3d at 1342-1343; Green v.
Ameritrade, Inc., 279 F.3d 590, 597 (8th Cir. 2002). As
the court of appeals noted, both parties to this case have
agreed with those holdings. Pet. App. 17a, 26a; see Pet.
13; Br. in Opp. 12-13; Resp. C.A. Br. 19. The conclusion
is inescapable that the “in connection with” requirement
in SLUSA has the same meaning as the corresponding
phrase in Section 10(b) and Rule 10b-5.

B. The Amended Complaint Alleges Fraud “In Connection
With” The Purchase And Sale Of Securities

Under the standards governing Rule 10b-5 actions,
the amended complaint alleges numerous misrepresen-
tations and omissions “in connection with the purchase
or sale of a covered security.” 15 U.S.C. 78bb(f)(1).

11

1. Rule 10b-5 is construed “not technically and re-
strictively, but flexibly to effectuate its remedial pur-
poses.” SEC v. Zandford, 535 U.S. 813, 819 (2002) (quot-
ing Affiliated Ute Citizens v. United States, 406 U.S.
128, 151 (1972)); accord Superintendent of Ins. v. Bank-
ers Life & Cas. Co., 404 U.S. 6, 10-12 & n.7 (1971); Pet.
App. 22a. It prohibits not only “garden variety” fraud,
but “all fraudulent schemes in connection with the pur-
chase or sale of securities.” Superintendent of Ins., 404
U.S. at 11 n.7 (quoting A.T. Brod & Co. v. Perlow, 375
F.2d 393, 397 (2d Cir. 1967)).

Under Rule 10b-5, all misrepresentations “touching”
(Superintendent of Ins., 404 U.S. at 12-13) or “coincid-
[ing]” (Zandford, 535 U.S. at 825) with securities trans-
actions are “in connection with” them, such as when a
misrepresentation and a sale are “part of the same
fraudulent scheme,” Alley v. Miramon, 614 F.2d 1372,
1378 n.11 (5th Cir. 1980) (Wisdom, J.), or otherwise
“{ajre not independent events,” Zandford, 535 U.S. at
820. See United States v. O’Hagan, 521 U.S. 642, 655-
656 (1997); Pet. App. 23a. Thus, Rule 10b-5 is violated
“whenever [false] assertions are made * * * in aman-
ner reasonably calculated to influence the investing pub-
lic” in their decisions regarding the purchase or sale of
securities. SEC v. Texas Gulf Sulfur Co., 401 F.2d 833,
862 (2d Cir. 1968) (en banc), cert. denied, 394 U.S. 976
(1969); accord, e.g., McGann v. Ernst & Young, 102 F.3d
390, 393-394 (9th Cir. 1996) (citing cases), cert. denied,
520 U.S. 1181 (1997).

2. The amended complaint alleges that petitioner
employed “the hallmarks of stock manipulation” in order
to “caus[e] [certain] stocks to trade at artificially in-
flated prices.” J.A. 53a (emphasis added). According to
the amended complaint, petitioner’s “ratings, reports,

12

and recommendations regarding [certain] stocks were
false and contained misleading statements.” J.A. 59a.
Those allegedly false representations included “buy rec-
ommendations” and “strong buy recommendations.”
J.A. 62a, 64a; see J.A. 63a. In order to mislead “not only
investors who were brokerage customers * * * but
also individual investors,” petitioner “continually pro-
moted the * * * [s]tocks in the press, on television and
the internet.” J.A. 63a. “[T]hese deceptive reports were
disseminated * * * in an effort to artificially support
the stocks[’] prices.” J.A. 54a.

The amended complaint further alleges that peti-
tioner and its agents “traded against [petitioner’s] pub-
lished research recommendations”—.e., sold the stocks
while encouraging others to buy them. J.A. 54a; see J.A.
64a. At the same time, petitioner allegedly “refus[ed] to
execute * * * [its customers’) orders to sell these
stocks.” J.A. 54a. “As a result of [petitioner’s] efforts,
* * * laffected] companies were better able to use their
stock as currency in transactions.” J.A. 55a.

Those allegations not only assert fraud coinciding
with securities transactions, which is sufficient under
Zandford, they assert that petitioner succeeded in
“causing * * * stocks to trade”—+.e., to be purchased
and sold—“at artificially inflated prices.” J.A. 53a; see
O'Hagan, 521 U.S. at 664. Petitioner’s alleged selling of
the securities at fraudulently inflated prices likewise
constitutes fraud in connection with the purchase or sale
of securities. See Wharf (Holdings) Ltd. v. United Intl
Holdings, Inc., 532 U.S. 588, 596 (2001).

3. Even if the amended complaint had not included
express references to trading and selling, it would still
have alleged fraud in connection with the purchase or
sale of securities. As the court of appeals held, preemp-

13

tion turns on the “substance” of the allegations, not
whether the complaint uses any particular terminology.
Pet. App. 16a; see, e.g., Miller v. Nationwide Life Ins.
Co., 391 F.3d 698, 702 (5th Cir. 2004); Dudek v. Pruden-
tial Sec., Inc., 295 F.3d 875, 879-880 (8th Cir. 2002). A
contrary approach “would allow artful pleading to un-
dermine SLUSA’s goal of uniformity—a result mani-
festly contrary to congressional intent.” Rowinski, 398
F.3d at 300.

As the Third Circuit explained in a materially identi-
cal case, the scheme alleged by respondent “necessarily
‘coincides’ with the purchase or sale of securities” be-
cause “(flor [it] to work, investors must purchase the
misrepresented securities.” Rowinski, 398 F.3d at 302
(quoting Zandford, 535 U.S. at 825); see Disher, 419
F.3d at 655 (holding materially identical claims pre-
empted by SLUSA). If the alleged fraudulent misrepre-
sentations or omissions did not lead investors to pur-
chase the affected securities at inflated prices, the price
inflation that is an essential component of the alleged
fraudulent scheme and respondent’s alleged injury sim-
ply could not occur.’ Thus, claims like those at issue
here are preempted even when they are artfully drafted
to disguise their necessary relationship to the purchase
or sale of securities.”

' Although the alleged fraud in this case involved a manipulation,
publicly disseminated fraudulent representations concerning a publicly
traded security would affect market purchases and sales irrespective
of whether there were a manipulation.

. This case therefore does not require the Court to explore the outer
limits of the “in connection with” requirement. The Court need not
determine, for example, whether that requirement could be satisfied by
fraud that did not induce any investors to purchase or sell securities,
but instead induced them only to hold securities they already owned.

14

C. The “In Connection With” Requirement Is Satisfied Re-
gardiess Of Whether Respondent Or The Class Members
Purchased Or Sold Securities

Although respondent’s amended complaint plainly
alleges fraud “in connection with the purchase or sale”
of covered securities, the court of appeals held that re-
spondent could avoid preemption by “exclud[ing] from
the class claimants who purchased in connection with
the fraud and who therefore could meet the standing
requirement for maintenance of a 10b-5 action.” Pet.
App. 43a. In other words, the court concluded that
SLUSA does not preempt claims that allege fraudulent
misrepresentations in connection with the purchase or
sale of securities if the claims are brought by people who
lack standing to bring Rule 10b-5 actions because they
did not purchase or sell securities.

That conclusion is incorrect. By its plain text,
SLUSA preempts class actions alleging misrepresenta-
tions or omissions “in connection with the purchase or
sale” of securities, regardless of whether the plaintiff
class would have standing to pursue that violation under
federal law. The court of appeals’ contrary holding
would open a gaping and illogical loophole by permitting
potentially the most abusive securities class actions to
escape SLUSA and the PSLRA, contrary to Congress’s
expressed intent to require such class actions to proceed
only under uniform federal standards.

See SEC Br. at 6, 16-17, Blue Chip, supra. Nor need the Court deter-
mine whether or under what circumstances the requirement could be
satisfied by brokers’ misrepresentations to their customers relating to
the customers’ brokerage accounts. See Zandford, 535 U.S. at 819, 825
n.4; Rowinski, 398 F 3d at 301-302.

15

1. The Blue Chip purchaser/seller rule does not apply to the
determination whether a fraud is “in connection with”
the purchase or sale of a security

Neither Section 10(b) nor Rule 10b-5 affords an ex-
press private right of action. See Blue Chip Stamps v.
Manor Drug Stores, 421 U.S. 723, 748-749 (1975). Al-
though this Court has long recognized an implied right
of action for private parties, see, e.g., Superintendent of
Ins., 404 U.S. at 13 n.9, it has held that the implied right
of action does not extend to individuals who “neither
purchased nor sold any of the offered shares,” including
those who “allege that they decided not to sell their
shares because of an unduly rosy representation or a
failure to disclose unfavorable material.” Blue Chip, 421
U.S. at 725, 737-738.

But whether a particular plaintiff has standing to
pursue a private right of action is an altogether different
question from whether a defendant violated the law.
See, e.g., Cannon v. University of Chicago, 441 U.S. 677,
688 (1979). The Blue Chip Court repeatedly emphasized
that its holding applies only to standing and is not a limi-
tation on the scope of Rule 10b-5’s prohibition against
fraud in connection with the purchase or sale of a secu-
rity. Accordingly, the Blue Chip purchaser/seller rule
is irrelevant in determining the coverage of the “in con-
nection with” requirement.

Indeed, the Blue Chip Court analyzed the language
of Section 10(b) and Rule 10b-5, including the “in con-
nection with” requirement, and chose not to rest its deci-
sion on a textual foundation because “[nJo language in
either of those provisions speaks at all to the contours of
a private right of action.” 421 U.S. at 749; see id. at 733-
737. Instead, the Court decided—“as a matter of pol-
icy”—that extending the implied right of action to plain-

16

tiffs who neither purchased nor sold securities in reli-
ance on an alleged violation would present an unwar-
ranted “danger of vexatious litigation” in light of the
ease of alleging, but difficulty of disproving, that a plain-
tiff had relied on public statements in not taking action.
Id. at 739, 740; see id. at 739-749. Thus, “Blue Chip
Stamps came out as it did not because § 10(b) and Rule
10b-5 are limited to situations in which the plaintiff itself
traded securities, but because a private right of action to
enforce these provisions is a judicial creation and the
Court wanted to confine these actions to situations
where litigation is apt to do more good than harm.”
Kircher, 403 F.3d at 483; see SEC v. Rana Research,
Inc., 8 F.3d 1358, 1364 (9th Cir. 1993); United States v.
Newman, 664 F.2d 12, 17 (2d Cir. 1981); Pet. App. 24a-
25a.

Indeed, the Blue Chip Court implicitly recognized
that the substantive coverage of Rule 10b-5 extends far-
ther than the universe of suits brought by private plain-
tiffs with standing. The Court acknowledged that “a
disadvantage” of its policy-based standing rule is that it
“prevents some deserving plaintiffs from recovering
damages which have in fact been caused by violations of
Rule 10b-5.” 421 U.S. at 738 (emphasis added). The
Court later reiterated that its rule “undoubtedly ex-
cludes plaintiffs who have in fact been damaged by viola-
tions of Rule 10b-5.” Jd. at 743. The Court thus made
clear that “(t]he purchaser/seller standing limitation
* * * does not stem from a construction of the phrase
‘in connection with the purchase or sale of any secu-
rity,’” but instead relates solely to the standing of pri-
vate plaintiffs, and that the scope of private lawsuits is
narrower then the substantive scope of the “in connec-
tion with” prohibition. Holmes v. Securities Investor

17

Prot. Corp., 503 U.S. 258, 284 (1992) (O’Connor, J., con-
curring in part and in the judgment); see id. at 289-290
(Scalia, J., concurring in the judgment); O’Hagan, 521
U.S. at 664-665; SEC v. National Sec., Inc., 393 U.S.
453, 467 n.9 (1969) (distinguishing between the “cover-
age” of Rule 10b-5 and the “standing” of private plain-
tiffs).

The Blue Chip Court underscored those points by
explaining that its “purchaser-seller rule imposes no
limitation on the standing of the SEC.” 421 U.S. at 751
n.14; accord O’Hagan, 521 U.S. 642, 664-665 (1997);
United States v. Naftalin, 441 U.S. 768, 774 n.6 (1979);
National Sec., 393 U.S. at 467 n.9; In re Engelman, 52
S.E.C. 271, 283 n.43 (1995) (“The purchaser-seller stand-
ing requirement does not apply to Commission-insti-
tuted cases.”). In a suit for civil penalties or a criminal
prosecution, the government must establish that the
defendant “violated” Rule 10b-5, including its “in con-
nection with” requirement. 15.U.S.C. 78u(d)(3)(A); see
_ 15 U.S.C. 78ff(a) (Supp. II 2002). The government’s
ability to pursue such actions even when a private plain-
tiff would be barred by the Blue Chip standing rule nec-
essarily means that the “in connection with” and stand-
ing inquiries are distinct. As Judge Easterbrook ex-
plained for the Seventh Circuit, the government’s
“{iJnvocation of [Rule 10b-5] does not depend on proof
that the agency or the United States purchased or sold
securities; instead the ‘in connection with’ language en-
sures that the fraud occurs in securities transactions
rather than some other activity.” Kircher, 403 F.3d at
483; cf. O'Hagan, 521 U.S. at 660 (“§ 10(b) refers to ‘the
purchase or sale of any security,’ not to identifiable pur-
chasers or sellers of securities”).

18

2. SLUSA’s text expressly ties preemption to the scope of
Rule 106-5’s “in connection with” requirement, not to
whether a particular plaintiff would have standing to
sue for a violation of Rule 10b-5

Because the Blue Chip purchaser/seller rule is a ju-
dicially crafted, prudential standing requirement that is
premised on policy grounds rather than an interpreta-
tion of the statutory “in connection with” requirement,
it does not limit the scope of that statutory phrase. The
court of appeals appeared to recognize as much when it
stated that Blue Chip’s “limitation on standing to bring
private suit(s] for damages * * * is unquestionably a
distinct concept from the general statutory and regula-
tory prohibition on fraud in connection with the pur-
chase or sale of securities,” and “should not be conflated
with the question of whether the ‘in connection with’
requirement ha[s] been met.” Pet. App. 27a (quoting
Ontario Pub. Serv. Employees Union Pension Trust
Fund v. Nortel Networks Corp., 369 F.3d 27, 34 (2d Cir.
2004) (internal quotation marks omitted), cert. denied,
125 S. Ct. 919 (2005)). But the court of appeals then
veered off course by concluding that “[bJecause only
purchasers and sellers have a federal private damages
remedy, itis * * * natural to suppose that Congress
meant to import the settled standing rule along with the
‘in connection with’ phras* as a substantive standard” in
delimiting SLUSA’s preemptive scope. Jd. at 28a (em-
phasis added). Nothing in the text or history of SLUSA
justifies creation of such a limitation on the scope of
SLUSA preemption.’

> The two other courts of appeals that held claims by non-purchasers
and non-sellers not to be preempted under SLUSA erroneously rea-
soned that Blue Chip interpreted Rule 10b-5’s “in connection with”

19

a. The court of appeals did not (and could not) iden-
tify anything in SLUSA’s text that “import[s]” the
standing rule “along with” the separate “in connection
with” requirement. Pet. App. 28a. Congress easily
could have limited preemption to cases involving allega-
tions of fraud “in connection with the purchase or sale of
covered securities by the plaintiff.” It did not do so.
Likewise, Congress could have limited its focus to the
claims of purchasers or sellers, rather than “any private
party,” 15 U.S.C. 78bb(f)(1)(A). Again, it did not do so.
Instead, Congress intentionally employed broad statu-
tory language that ties the preemptive force of SLUSA
directly to the full scope of the prohibitions contained in
Section 10(b) and Rule 10b-5 themselves. As already
explained, no standing requirement limits the scope of
those prohibitions. See supra pp. 15-17.

Congress also tailored the scope of SLUSA preemp-
tion by crafting several express exceptions to preemp-
tion, none of which applies here. See 15 U.S.C.
78bb(f)(3) and (5)(C). Those exceptions relate te deriva-
tive actions; actions based on some contractual rights;
actions brought by States, political subdivisions of
States, and state pension plans; and certain actions aris-
ing under the law of the issuer’s state of incorporation.
Ibid. Congress’s express inclusion of those exceptions
further confirms that it did not intend any others. See,
e.g., TRW Inc. v. Andrews, 534 U.S. 19, 28 (2001)
(“Where Congress explicitly enumerates certain excep-
tions to a general prohibition, additional exceptions are

requirement. See Riley, 292 F.3d at 1343-1345; Green, 279 F.3d at 597-
598. The Second Circuit is the only court of appeals to reach the incon-
gruous conclusion that Blue Chip does not interpret that language but
nonetheless does limit the seope of SLUSA preemption.

20

not to be implied, in the absence of evidence of a con-

___trary legislative intent.”).

The court of appeals was not “moved by the observa-
tion that the standing rule is merely a judge-made gloss
on the statute and the Rule, because private Rule 10b-5
damages actions are themselves a creature of judicial
implication.” Pet. App. 28a. But the relevant factor of
the Blue Chip rule is not that it was judge-made, but
that it is a rule-about the scope of standing as opposed to
an interpretation of the substantive scope of the prohibi-
tions in Rule 10b-5. Moreover, there is no need to infer
anything about SLUSA’s explicit text. Congress focused
on the preemption issue and could have linked the scope
of preemption to the scope of standing, but instead chose
to key the scope of preemption to the conduct alleged.

The court of appeals sought support from a footnote
in Blue Chip stating that the “disadvantage” of the pur-
chaser/seller rule—.e., its tendency to prevent some
victims of Rule 10b-5 violations from recovering dam-
ages—is “attenuated to the extent that remedies are
available to nonpurchasers and nonsellers under state
law.” 421 U.S. at 738 n.9; see Pet. App. 29a. According
to the court of appeals, “SLUSA’s wholesale importation
of the language that gave rise to this balancing judg-
ment must * * * be presumed to represent a ratifica-
tion of that judgment.” /d. at 30a.

This Court’s passing observation in the cited foot-
note, which merely reflects the pre-SLUSA reality that
state-law claims were not preempted, cannot sustain the
weight placed on it by the court of appeals. The Blue
Chip Court made no “balancing judgment” that standing
should be denied under federal law only because and
only to the extent that it was available under state
law—much less that standing should be denied because

21

it was available in state-law class actions, which are the
only actions preempted by SLUSA. To the contrary,
this Court emphasized at length the danger of permit-
ting suits by non-purchasers and non-sellers to proceed
at all. See 421 U.S. at 742-748. Far from conditioning
application of the purchaser/seller rule on the availabil-
ity of state remedies, the Blwe Chip Court adopted that
standing limitation as a uniform requirement applicable
to all private plaintiffs under Section 10(b) and Rule
10b-5, without regard to the'r state-law remedies. 421
U.S. at 749, 755.

Even if this Court had based the Blue Chip standing
rule on the assumption that non-purchasers and non-
sellers could assert securities fraud claims in some
States, moreover, Congress could not have “ratified”
that judgment by preempting all class actions based on
Section 10(b)’s “in connection with” requirement. The
ratification doctrine applies only to congressional re-
enactment of statutory texts with settled interpreta-
tions. See generally Department of Transp. v. Public
Citizen, 541 U.S. 752, 770 n.4 (2004). Blue Chip does not
interpret the “in connection with” requirement, how-
ever, and SLUSA does not address standing. Thus, the
purported “balancing judgment” would not have been an
interpretation of the statutory text at issue here, and the
ratification doctrine provides no support for the court of
appeals’ reasoning. /bid.*

* The extent to which suits by “holder” classes would be actionable
under state law but for the preemptive effect of SLUSA is unclear.
States vary in their receptiveness to holder claims. See Jn re World-
com, Inc. Sec. Litig., 336 F. Supp. 2d 310, 319-323 (S.D.N.Y. 2004) (sur-
veying state laws); Pet. App. 38a n.14. In those States that permit
holder actions, moreover, SLUSA permits individual and derivative
actions to proceed, and persons injured by holding stock may also bene-

22

b. Lacking a textual basis for its conclusion, the
court of appeals turned to an “assumption that the his-
toric police powers of the States were not to be super-
seded by the Federal Act unless that was the clear and
manifest purpose of Congress.” Pet. App. 30a-3la (quot-
ing City of Milwaukee v. Illinois, 451 U.S. 304, 316
(1981)). But that “‘assumption’ of nonpre-emption is not
triggered when the State regulates in an area where
there has been a history of significant federal presence.”
United States v. Locke, 529 U.S. 89, 108 (2000). The
federal government has extensively regulated the na-
tional securities markets and securities transactions for
many decades, and Congress determined that the inter-
state (and increasingly international) character of those
markets confirms the propriety of and need for uniform
national regulation of securities fraud class actions. See
S. Rep. No. 182, 105th Cong., 2d Sess. 3-5 (1998). The
“assumption” of non-preemption is therefore inapplica-
ble here. Indeed, Congress enacted SLUSA for the very
purpose of preempting state-law class action claims.

Even if such an “assumption” were applicable in this
case, “[t]he purpose of Congress [remains] the ultimate
touchstone” and “primarily is discerned from the lan-
guage of the pre-emption statute and the statutory
framework surrounding it.” Medtronic, Inc. v. Lohr,
518 U.S. 470, 485-486 (1996) (internal quotation marks
omitted). Thus, the “assumption” is overcome when, as
here, the statutory text is clear. See ibid.; Cipollone v.
Liggett Group, Inc., 505 U.S. 504, 522-523 (1992) (plural-
ity opinion); 7d. at 548-549 (Scalia, J., concurring in part
and dissenting in part); Shaw v. Delta Air Lines, Inc.,
463 U.S. 85, 97 (1983).

fit from state and federal enforcement actions. See pp. 3-4, 19, supra.

23

The court of appeals thought that “[tJhere is no clear
support in the legislative history for the conclusion that
Congress intended SLUSA to preempt claims that do
not satisfy the Blwe Chip rule” because the legislative
history “contains no specific mention of holding claims
or other non-purchaser/non-seller claims.” Pet. App.
31a. Even if the court of appeals’ analysis of the legisla-
tive history were correct (but see pp. 23-26, znfra), the
absence of relevant legislative history would reveal noth-
ing about Congress’s intent and could not overcome the
plain statutory text, which is keyed to the conduct al-
leged, not the plaintiff's status. Morales v. Trans World
Airlines, Inc., 504 U.S. 374, 385 n.2 (1992); Shaw, 463
U.S. at 97. “[I]t would be a strange canon of statutory
construction that would require Congress to state in
committee reports or elsewhere in its deliberations that
which is obvious on the face of a statute.” Harrison v.
PPG Indus., Inc., 446 U.S. 578, 592 (1980); see
Patenaude v. Equitable Life Assurance Soc’y, 290 F.3d
1020, 1025 (9th Cir. 2002) (holding that SLUSA’s defini-
tion of “covered security” encompasses variable annu-
ities even though they are not mentioned in the legisla-
tive history).

3. The legislative history and the policies underlying
SLUSA confirm that Congress did not exempt from pre-
emption the claims of plaintiffs who would lack standing
to pursue a Rule 106-5 claim

The court of appeals also erred in concluding that “to
the extent the legislative history casts any light on the
question, it suggests that Congress intended to preempt
only those state claims that had migrated from federal
court in response to the PSLRA.” Pet. App. 32a. Be-
cause people who neither purchased nor sold securities

24

lacked standing to pursue Rule 10b-5 actions before
Congress enacted the PSLRA, the court concluded that
Congress did not intend to affect their state-law class
action claims. See ibid. That result, however, would
turn congressional intent on its head by exempting an
especially abusive category of securities fraud class ac-
tions from the uniform national standards that Congress
adopted to prevent abuse.

a. The court of appeals was correct insofar as it rec-
ognized that Congress was concerned that plaintiffs
were evading the PSLRA by bringing securities fraud
class actions in state instead of federal courts. See
SLUSA § 2(2) and (3), 112 Stat. 3227; H.R. Conf. Rep.
No. 803, 105th Cong., 2d Sess. 1 (1998); S. Rep. No. 182,
supra, at 3-4. But Congress responded to that develop-
ment not only by permitting the removal of affected
cases from state to federal courts, see 15 U.S.C.
78bb(f)(2), but “[a]dditionally” by “establish{ing] uni-
form national rules for securities class action litigation
involving our national capital markets.” H.R. Conf. Rep.
No. 803, supra, at 138. Concerned about the “dangers of
maintaining differing federal and state standards of lia-
bility for nationally-traded securities,” Congress chose
to give “due consideration to the benefits flowing to in-
vestors from a uniform national approach.” S. Rep. No.
182, supra, at 3. Congress recognized that “[sJome crit-
ics of establishing a uniform standard of liability have
attacked such legislation as being an affront on Federal-
ism,” but it “found the interest in promoting efficient
national markets to be the more convincing and compel-
ling consideration in this context.” /d. at 4.

Thus, there is no support for the improbable conclu-
sion that Congress intended to preempt only those state-
law claims that can be pursued successfully under fed-

25

eral law, while leaving intact all state-law claims that are
legally meritless under federal law. Rather, Congress
intended to apply uniform federal standards to securi-
ties class actions, which it perceived to be the source of
most abusive securities litigation, “while preserving the
appropriate enforcement powers of State securities reg-
ulators and not changing the current treatment of indi-
vidual lawsuits.” SLUSA § 2(5), 112 Stat. 3227. Con-
gress thus drew the line between class actions and other
types of securities litigation, a line that has nothing to
do with whether a class action plaintiff would have
standing to pursue a claim under federal law.

The court of appeals relied on a floor statement by
Senator Dodd to the effeet that SLUSA would work “in
a very targeted and narrow way, essentially preempting
only those class actions that have recently migrated to
State court, while leaving traditional State court actions
and procedures solidly in place.” Pet. App. 32a-33a
(quoting 143 Cong. Rec. 21,357 (1997)) (emphasis
added). That floor statement of a single legislator pro-
vides no support for the court’s conclusion because Sen-
ator Dodd expressly identified the “traditional State
court actions and procedures” he had in mind, and ac-
tions by “holders” were not among them. /bid. See also
Consumer Prod. Safety Comm’n v. GTE Sylvania, Inc.,
447 U.S. 102, 118 (1980) (“{O}rdinarily even the contem-
poraneous remarks of a single legislator who sponsors
a bill are not controlling in analyzing legislative his-
tory.”). Moreover, it is not clear that Senator Dodd used
the term “migrate” narrowly to exclude claims like re-
spondent’s that presumably would have been brought in
federal court on behalf of purchasers before the PSLRA,
migrated to state court to avoid the PSLRA, and were

26

later partially transmogrified into a “holder” suit to cir-
cumvent both the PSLRA and SLUSA.

More illuminating is the Senate Committee report,
which explains that SLUSA is to be “interpreted
broadly” to effectuate Congress’s intent to “effectively
reach[{] those actions that could be used to circumvent”
the PSLRA. S. Rep. No. 182, supra, at 8. Because
state-law “holder” actions would circumvent the uniform
federal standards of Rule 10b-5 and the PSLRA, ex-
empting such suits from preemption would be contrary
to that intent. See generally Rowinski, 398 F.3d at 299
(“Congress envisioned a broad interpretation of SLUSA
to ensure the uniform application of federal fraud stan-
dards.”); Newby v. Enron Corp., 338 F.3d 467, 472 (5th
Cir. 2003) (“{I)n enacting SLUSA Congress sought to
curb all efforts to circumvent the reforms put into place
by PLSRA.”); Miller, 391 F.3d at 702 (same).°

. The court of appeals also pointed to Senator Dodd’s statement that
SLUSA affects only “those types of class actions that are appropriately
heard on the Federal level.” 143 Cong. Rec. at 21,357; see Pet. App.
33a. As the committee reports explain, Congress concluded that class
action claims regarding nationally traded securities are appropriately
heard on the federal level because of the need for uniform national stan-
dards. See p. 24, supra. That such claims may be dismissed for lack of
standing when they pose a particularly high risk of abuse does not mean
that they should be heard on the state level; it means that they
uniformly should be dismissed by federal courts.

Standing is far from the only reason that a claim might fail under
federal but not state law. Federal securities fraud plaintiffs must
satisfy heightened pleading requirements, 15 U.S.C. 78u-4(b), establish
scienter in some cases, Ernst & Ernst v. Hochfelder, 425 U.S. 185, 199
(1976), and prove in some cases that the alleged misrepresentations fall
outside of the PSLRA’s safe harbor for forward-looking statements, 15
U.S.C. 78u-5(c)(1). A plaintiff class's failure to satisfy such require-
ments does not mean that the class should be able to take advantage of
less stringent state-law standards. Instead, it means that the suit is

27

b. Recognition of an implicit exception to SLUSA’s
preemptive scope would be particularly inappropriate in
the context of this case, because an exception for claims
brought by those who neither purchased nor sold securi-
ties would directly frustrate Congress’s goals in enact-
ing the statute.

i. The need for uniform national standards, like the
text of SLUSA’s preemption provision, does not turn on
the identity of the plaintiff in a particular case. In order
to “encourage the voluntary disclosure of information by
corporate issuers,” the PSLRA created a “safe harbor”
for forward-looking statements. S. Rep. No. 98, 104th
Cong., 2d Sess. 4-5 (1995); see 15 U.S.C. 78u-5. That
safe harbor could not accomplish its purpose of encour-
aging disclosure if some plaintiffs could evade it by filing
under state law. Similarly, “to encourage plaintiffs’ law-
yers to pursue valid claims for securities fraud and to
encourage defendants to fight abusive claims,” the
PSLRA adopted a modified proportionate liability stan-
dard, heightened pleading requirements, and a stay of
discovery pending the resolution of motions to dismiss.
S. Rep. No. 98, supra, at 6-7 (emphasis omitted); see 15
U.S.C. 78u-4(b), (c) and (f). Those and other require-
ments would likewise fail to discourage the filing of
meritless suits if such suits could be brought under state
law on behalf of people who did not purchase or sell se-
curities.

The artificiality of any distinction based on an indi-
vidual plaintiff's trading activity (or lack thereof) is fur-

precisely the type of class action that Congress targeted. As Judge
Easterbrook explained, SLUSA’s “pre-emptive effect is not confined to
knocking out state-law claims by investors who have winning federa!
claims * * * It covers both good and bad securities claims—especially
bad ones.” Kircher, 403 F.3d at 484.

28

ther underscored by the fact that a single securities
fraud scheme will frequently victimize purchasers, sell-
ers, and holders—and there will often be substantial
overlap among those classes, because purchasers gener-
ally become holders, and sellers tend to be former hold-
ers. Thus, in related proceedings before the district
court that dismissed this case, purchasers and sellers
are pursuing actions against petitioner based on the
same underlying transactions. Pet. App. 55a. The origi-
nal and amended complaints in this case likewise allege
a class of purchasers and sellers, as well as holders.
Id. at 4a-5a, 40a-41a; cf. id. at 42a-43a (recognizing the
“close relationship” between claims based on purchases
and those based on holdings as well as the difficulty in
disentangling the two).

To apply uniform national! standards in cases brought
by purchasers and sellers, but differing state-law stan-
. dards in cases brought by holders based on the same
underlying conduct, would deprive the uniform national
standards of any semblance of uniformity. In cases in
which some of the misrepresentations occurred before
a plaintiff's purchase of a security, it would also elevate
artful pleading over substance, because such plaintiffs
might attempt to avoid preemption by focusing on mis-
representations made between their purchases and sales
and limiting the scope of requested damages. Respon-
dent has done just that: after the district court dis-
missed respondent’s original complaint because it al-
leged that he purchased securities in reliance on a fraud-
ulent scheme, respondent recast himself as a “holder” in
his amended complaint in hopes of avoiding preemption.
See pp. 4-5, supra. As explained above, SLUSA was
intended in part to combat artful pleading, not to en-
courage it. See pp. 12-13, supra. That is another reason

29

why a plaintiff should not be able to “avoid preemption
by asserting it is only claiming damages suffered as a
result of holding its stock.” Professional Mgmt. Assocs.,
Inc. Employees’ Profit Sharing Plan v. KPMG, 335
F.3d 800, 803 (8th Cir. 2003), cert. denied, 540 U.S. 1162
(2004).

ii. If any set of plaintiffs were to be exempted from
preemption, it would not be those who neither purchased
nor sold securities. As the court of appeals appeared to
recognize, such an exemption would “allow the very cat-
egory of claims that the Supreme Court identified in
Blue Chip as posing a particularly high risk of vexatious
litigation.” Pet. App. 29a. Although private securities
class actions are an important supplement to govern-
ment enforcement actions, this Court recognized in Blue
Chip that “[t]he risk of strike suits is particularly high”
in eases not brought by purchasers or sellers because
such plaintiffs could reach trial merely by asserting that
they relied on a public misrepresentation or material
omission in not buying or selling stock. 421 U.S. at 742.

The potential for abuse is further underscored by
respondent’s theory of injury and damages. Although
some persons who are fraudulently induced not to pur-
chase or sell securities may be injured thereby, see Blue
Chip, 421 U.S. at 738, 743, the amended complaint al-
leges that respondent was injured by petitioner’s failure
to disclose that it had fraudulently inflated the stock
prices because respondent would have sold his shares
before the prices declined had he known the truth, see
J.A. 58a-54a. That is not even a cognizable injury. Ab-
sent the alleged fraud, the prices never would have be-
come fraudulently inflated. And if petitioner had dis-
closed the alleged fraud, the stock prices likely would
have fallen immediately to reflect that information, pre-

30

venting respondent from selling at the inflated levels.
See Crocker v. FDIC, 826 F.2d 347, 351 (5th Cir. 1987),
cert. denied, 485 U.S. 905 (1988); Arent v. Distribution
Scis., Inc., 975 F.2d 1370, 1374 (8th Cir. 1992); Levine v.
Seilon, Inc., 489 F.2d 328, 333-334 (2d Cir. 1971)
(Friendly, J.); ef. Basic, Inc. v. Levinson, 485 U.S. 224,
246-247 (1988). In any event, respondent “could hardly
be heard to claim compensation for the premium he
might have extracted from some innocent victim if he
had known of the fraud and the buyer did not.” Levine,
439 F.2d at 333. Respondent had no legally-protected
right to benefit from the alleged fraud.

Because Blue Chip and SLUSA constrain potentially
abusive suits in compatible ways, and suits by plaintiffs
who neither purchased nor sold securities in connection
with alleged fraud epitomize the potential for abusive
suits that this Court and Congress sought to combat,
“(i]t would be more than a little strange if [this] Court’s
decision to block private litigation by non-traders be-
came the opening by which that very litigation could be
pursued under state law.” Kircher, 403 F.3d at 484.
Permitting SLUSA and Blue Chip to complement one
another would be far more consistent with congressional
intent than treating the judicial restriction as annulling
the congressional one.

CONCLUSION

The judgment of the court of appeals should be re-
versed.
Respectfully submitted.

31

PAUL D. CLEMENT

GIOVANNI P. PREZI080 Solicitor General
General Counsel THOMAS G. HUNGAR

Jacos H. STILLMAN Deputy Solicitor General
Solicitor DARYL JOSEFFER

ERIC SUMMERGRAD Assistant to the Solicitor
Deputy Solicitor General

SUSAN S. MCDONALD
Senior Litigation Counsel
JEFFREY T. TAO

Senior Counsel
Securities and Exchange
Commission

NOVEMBER 2005

FILED

(7) NOV 14 2005

No. 04-1371 OFFICE OF THE CLERK

In the Supreme Court of the Gnited States

MERRILL LYNCH, PIERCE, FENNER & SMITH, INC.,

Petitioner,
v.

SHADI DABIT, on behalf of himself and all
others similarly situated
Respondents.

On Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit

BRIEF OF THE CHAMBER OF COMMERCE OF THE
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA AS AMICUS CURIAE

IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONER

ROBIN S. CONRAD CHARLES A. ROTHFELD
AMAR D. SARWAL Counsel of Record
National Chamber Litiga- ANDREW J. PINCUS

tion Center, Inc. Mayer, Brown, Rowe &
1615 H Street, NW Maw LLP
Washington, DC 20062 1909 K Street, NW
(202) 463-5337 Washington, DC 20006

(202) 263-3000

STEPHEN M. SHAPIRO
Timothy S. BISHOP
Mayer, Brown, Rowe &
Maw LLP
71 South Wacker Drive
Chicago, IL 60606
(312) 782-0600

QUESTION PRESENTED

- Whether the Securities Litigation Uniform Standards Act
of 1998 preempts state law class action claims brought by
persons who assert that they were induced by fraudulent ma-
terial statements or omissions to “hold,” rather than purchase
or sell, securities.

(i)

QUESTION PRESENTED
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

ETT, sccdcupniscerssmestistcinintinnnanindineeniagitins
FE Siicictiptesiseiscbiaiintineaiinaiasaviniinitinptiniaiabtibainansiesiibiaii
1. THE PLAIN LANGUAGE OF THE SLUSA

PREEMPTS “HOLDER” CLASS ACTIONS

BASED UPON STATE LAW .......00....cceseeeeeee
Il. THE POLICY AND UNAMBIGUOUS

TABLE OF CONTENTS

CONGRESSIONAL INTENT UNDERLY-
ING THE SLUSA PREEMPTS “HOLDER”
CLASS ACTIONS BASED UPON STATE

A. The Pressure To Settle Even Meritless
Securities Class Actions Imposes An
Enormous Toll On The National

B. The PSLRA Adjusted Litigation In-
centives And Reoriented Securities
Class Action Litigation To Deter
Fraud And Compensate Investors Who

Trby Were Enjuated.........00ccscccssseseserseeees

os The SLUSA Was Enacted To Prevent

Frustration Of The PSLRA’s Reforms....

D. Excepting State-Court “Holder” Suits
From SLUSA Preemption Would

Frustrate The Congressional Purpose.....
CONCLUSION

SEER EERE EEE EERE EE EEE EEE EEE EEE HEHEHE HEHE EE EHD

ill

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Page(s)
Cases:
Arent v. Distribution Scis., Inc., 975 F.2d 1370
PIs UTC cccisctaparisinstapititdnesccimeibesticsbibinnbennhinicinesiteloctaen, 24
Basic, Inc. v. Levinson, 485 U.S. 224 (1988)............:c:cc0 25
Birnbaum v. Newport Steel Corp., 193 F.2d 461
(2d Cir.), cert. denied, 343 U.S. 956 (1952)... 26
Blue Chip Stamps v. Manor Drug Stores, 421
SRA FER TIED arehsssicnctibiiatisupessctinbitnmniestnemniashapoanaaes passim
Central Bank of Denver, N.A. v. First Interstate Bank
of Denver, N.A., 511 U.S. 164 (1994) ooo. cece cecceeeeees ll
Crocker v. FDIC, 826 F.2d 347 (Sth Cir. 1987) ........... 24, 25
Dirks v. SEC, 463 U.S. 646 (1983) ........cccceeeceeseeeeeeeeeeeeenes 12
Dura Pharms., Inc. v. Broudo, 125 S. Ct. 1627
IIIT chsiicouniiidisdsnihteccidinidiahianpaincdaiiatbaniiliinioeseaeds 15, 16, 24
Holmes v. Sec. Investor Prot. Corp., 503 U.S. 258
Eee nisncctceddobccnatnabshanalidstiabalieddpelinipdiatiuiigabachesdyidédbiies 6, 24

Huddleston v. Herman & MacLean, 640 F.2d 534
(Sth Cir. 1981), aff'd in part and rev’d in part on
other grounds, 459 U.S. 375 (1983) .0.....ccceeeceeeeeeeees 15

In re Philip Morris Sec. Litig., 8372 F. Supp. 97
(S.D.N.Y. 1995), aff'd in part and rev’d in part,

75 F.3d 801 (2d Cir. 1996) ...c.cccccssscsscessssecessesssnseee 13, 14

SEC v. Texas Gulf Sulphur Co., 401 F.2d 833 (2d
I i re no 5, 24
~ SEC v. Zandford, 535 U.S. 813 (2002) ..csccc..ccscsvecsesseseevee 5,6

Santa Fe Indus., Inc. v. Green, 430 U.S. 462 (1977)............ 5

iv
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — (Cont’d)

Superintendent of Ins. v. Bankers Life & Cas. Co.,

Bee CEE ye cececenisbcincsaictnstiabbonniptniiiiindesincniintnidadin 5
TSC Indus. v. Northway, Inc., 426 U.S. 438 (1976) ........... 12
United States v. Naftalin, 441 U.S. 768 (1979)........ccccccceeees 6
United States v. O'Hagan, 521 U.S. 642 (1998)..............06. 6

STATUTES, RULES, AND REGULATIONS
Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995,

Pub. L. No. 104-67, 109 Stat. 737 0.......eeccceceseeeeeeeeeesee 3
Securities Litigation» Uniform Standards Act of 1998,

Pub. L. No. 105-353, 112 Stat. 3227 oo... eee eee 2, 21
SS EEL. Be sntotnccinlsesssshosinsiahctlieaipieaiaipedaaaae 26
BS SIL. 6 FGD <asorcinrshictiedarcssccenstintnnncegiiaiabihiilignamigaaal 26
FIA. Ben cccnitbenssicssccvevicidenpesitebuhgheetiainissidudmamie 27
BD A. BIO ccctcininsintinisissivinctshatintesichcinisibietimimadananlia 3
FF Giice TIED ctcesintsotnctiensectmmisagnenncenaiimaaae 15
Lat Tole |, EMSS Seen ENEEE IE em 4,21
BS CRBS. Be aicicscinitensssonscicinsitiiatintendindilaiiaititaaadiaiiiamaia 21
SL. 6: Fail sisevtssnssccscomstanithlitieseistelinnicmaiamanan 4
SERB Fae isictererescitevainienecessiapiasbetiineidigiiiiiiaicniiis demas 27
SS SETAC. BF incoshsenissiniesseeceeniciitdipaiiaiaiamaincdmaaaae 27
5S SRL... BF iccicchsccnceciciittitninsisiddaliiendieaiain 13, 14
SS CEA... FU iictintestcevesscsersstininionimiiesiaiciadiiaaee 15
OS SE. Br iaciccadvesniciscnenibtasiesssiistipiiiiaiiaiens inndisiigia 15
GS 8 Va i scenicictsiensncnsntnsiittiabiinnsseniaias 14, 16

Lk REIN ais OPENS Foy 21

V
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — (Cont'd)

Nt A I aa 4,5, 21
EE Sa a eee 27
SSRIS SA eA 5
a 16
SRSA Ce 1
SIERRAS Ry ene 16
EET Rate ee a 27
GEER a 27
a 13,14
EE ETE 15
STE 15
aa 16
ST a 16
SEY ae ee 14
cl aS i a Gea 26
ETS a 16
LE 15
EGE te a a 4
SLE LEE passim
MISCELLANEOUS

Alexander, Do the Merits Matter? A Study of Settle-
ments in Securities Class Actions, 43 STAN. L.
a ih icici ininretintsenieemnnnete 8, 11
Alexander, Rethinking Damages in Securities Class
Actions, 48 STAN. L. REV. 1487 (1996)...........cccccccceees 10

vi
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — (Cont’d)

Bajaj et al., Securities Class Action Settlements, 43
SANTA CLARA L. REV. 1001 (2003) 000.00... .cccccccccceececees 17

Black, et al., Outside Director Liability (Univ. of

Mich. John M. Olin Center for Law & Econom-

ics, Working Paper No. 250, 2003) ..0...........:ccccccececeeeees 19
Bohn & Choi, Fraud in the New-Issues Market: Em-

pirical Evidence on Securities Class Actions, 144
aU aioe Ss Di Oe ccticntietiscnsintnintcsnctinstiincencetencosen 8

Buckberg et al., NERA, Recent Trends in Securities
Class Action Litigation: Are WorldCom and En-

ron the New Standard? (July 2005) ...................0000+ 1,17
Chao, Securities Class Actions and Due Process,

es Sa i Be Bt ccetetenaciectnccccntcininstiontisnées 20
Choi, The Evidence on Securities Class Actions, 57

VAND. L. REV. 1465 (2004)... ccccccceeseeceeeeeereneeenees 18

Coffee, Causation by Presumption? Why the Su-
preme Court Should Reject Phantom Losses and
Reverse Broudo, 60 Bus. LAW. 533 (2005) .................. 10

Coffee, Understanding the Plaintiff's Attorney: The
Implications of Economic Theory for Private En-
forcement of Law Through Class and Derivative
Actions, 86 COLUM. L. REV. 669 (1986) ...............0.c.00 7

Common Sense Legal Reform Act: Hearings on H.R.
10 Before the Subcomm. on Telecommunications
and Finance of the H. Comm. on Commerce,

a 12
144 Cong. Rec. (daily ed. Oct. 13, 1998)... 21, 22
Easterbrook & Fischel, THE ECONOMIC STRUCTURE

OF CORPORATE LAW (1991 )..0........cccccccceecceeeeeees 10, 11, 12

Easterbrook & Fischel, Optimal Damages in Securi-
ties Cases, 52 U. CHI. L. REV. 611 (1985).....c.ccc0c.sse0eve 10

vii
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — (Cont'd)

Garry et al., The Irrationality of Shareholder Class
Action Lawsuits: A Proposal for Reform,

49 S.D. L. REV. 275 (2005) -.cceescssesececcecescsssseseeseees 8, 9, 20
Grundfest, Why Disimply?, 108 HARV. L. REV. 727

ee 8, 10
Gulati, et al., Fraud by Hindsight, 98 Nw. U. L. Rev.

| ARS ha CS ae aE 14
H.R. Conf. Rep. No. 104-369 (1995) .......cccscsssssseeesven 8, 13
H.R. Conf. Rep. No. 105-803 (1998) ......cccccccssseesseeee 22, 25
H.R. Rep. No. 104-50 (1995) .....-.ccccccceccscssesessesesesenseees 11, 13
HLR. Rep. No. 105-640 (1998) ....cc..ccccccssssssessssseeeseen . 19,20

Kassis, The Private Securities Litigation Reform Act
of 1995: A Review of Its Key Provisions and an
Assessment of Its Effects at the Close of 2001, 26
SETON HALL LEGIS. J. 119 (2001) ........-ceccecccccseseceeeeeeeeees 7

Martin et al., Recent Trends IV: What Explains Fil-
ings and Settlements in Shareholder Class Ac-
tions, 5 STAN. J. L. Bus. & FIN. 121 (1999) ...00000..0 9

NASD, Five Year Statistical Review 2001-2005, at
http://www.nasd.com/web/idcplg?IdcService=SS
_GET_PAGE&nodeld=749&ssSourceNodeld=6......... 28

New York Stock Exchange, Enforcement, at http://
www .nyse.com/regulation/howregworks/1022221
ei iiccpictnhctsitasibiiueceastiiiaiétiteptabintinttietninmmceetini 28

Office of New York State Attorney General Settle-
ments and Press Releases

Alliance Capital Management Assurance of
Discontinuance, at http://www.oag.state
ny.us/investors/alliance cap _mgmt_aod.
ibe scasinudcenteniastichthdiddintnaiiamsihemipadibvbmanatennntie 28

Vili
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — (Cont'd)

Banc of America Assurance of Discontinu-
ance, at http://www.oag.state.ny.us/press/

CIBC Settles Market Timing Investigation, at
http://www.oag.state.ny.us/press/2005/jul/
SUE Se iniititeiscncctitnstncsntniantcmevatgnaiclinnitia 28

Columbia Management Advisors Assurance
of Discontinuance, at http://www.oag.
state.ny.us/press/2005/feb/Banc.pdf.................. 28

Janus Capital Management Assurance of Dis-
continuance, at http://www.oag.state.ny.
us/investors/jom/aod. pdf.................ccceeeeseeeeeees 28

Spitzer, Merrill Lynch Reach Unprecedented
Agreement to Reform Investment Prac-
tices, at http://www.oag.state.ny.us/
press/2002/may/may21la_02.html...................... 28
Painter ef al., Private Securities Litigation Reform
Act: A Post-Enron Analysis (2002), available at
http://www.fed-soc.org/pdf/PSLRAFINALIL PDF. 18, 19
Perino, Did the Private Securities Litigation Reform
Act Work?, 2003 U. ILL. L. REV. 913 200.0... cceeceeceeee: 10
Perino, Fraud and Federalism: Preempting Private
State Securities Fraud Causes of Action, 50

RR eee 20
Posner, ECONOMIC ANALYSIS OF THE LAW (Sth ed.
eve ae aE Te TR OEE eT ee 10

PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP, 2004 Securities Liti-
gation Study 2 (Mar. 2005), available at
http://www.10bS.com/ 2004 _study.pdf.....................0.. 12
Pritchard, Markets as Monitors: A Proposal to Re-
place Class Actions with Exchanges as Securities
Fraud Enforcers, 85 VA. L. REV. 925 (1999) .............000 7

ix
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — (Cont'd)

Pritchard, Should Congress Repeal Securities Class
Action Reform? (Univ. of Mich. John M. Olin
Center Working Paper No. 03-003, 2003).............. 18, 19

Pritchard & Sale, What Counts as Fraud? An Empiri-
cal Study of Motions to Dismiss Under the Pri-
vate Securities Litigation Reform Act (Univ. of
Mich. John M. Olin Center for Law & Econom-
ics, Working Paper 03-011, 2003) ..0........cccccseeeeereenees 19

Private Litigation Under the Federal Securities
Laws: Hearings Before the Subcomm. on Sec. of
the S. Comm. on Banking, Hous., & Urban Af-
fairs, 103d Cong., Ist Sess. (1993) ..........cccceeceeeeee 9,14

Radom, Balkanization of Securities Regulation: The
Case for Federal Preemption, 39-F ALL TEx. J.
i ie SEE isitnnrentescinincietinnniminnnititebiesnéeimeniios 20

Rosen, The Statutory Safe Harbor for Forward- _
Looking Statements After Two and a Half Years:
Has It Changed the Law? Has It Achieved What
Congress Intended?, 76 WASH. U. L.Q. 645

Siu indncitentintinpafiihamenininsiiapesthnistdtainsiabddiaimaieritimtiasiiitndndiaatnievens 19
S. Rep. No. 104~98 (1995), reprinted in 1995

irate Se a carteanieenventinneticoninascenictnsinnmeendes 7, 8, 11
S. Rep. No. 105-182 (1998).............cccsccserossorsesereeseees 4, 5,21
SEC 2004 Annual Report, available at http://www.

sec.gov/about/secpar/sec parO04stats.pdf. .................00+ 27

SEC, Office of General Counsel, Report to the Presi-
dent and the Congress on the First Year of Prac-
tice Under the Private Securities Litigation Re-
form Act of 1995, Apr. 1997 .........ccccccccceeeseeeeeseceneees 20, 21

SEC, Release No. 33-7881, 65 Fed. Reg. 51716
” * * ESTOS RIA EO GATS EL ee 12

x
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — (Cont’d)

SEC, Release No. 33-8400, 69 Fed. Reg. 15594
LEG TEI 1S RM 26

Second Year Report to the President: Corporate
Fraud Task Force 2.3 (2004), at http://www.udoj.

gov/dag/cftf/2ndyr_fraud_report.pdf..............cccceeeeeeees 28
Securities Class Action Clearinghouse, at
http://securities.stanford.eduy ...............ccseeeeereereees 17, 27

Securities Litigation Reform Proposals: Hearings on
S. 240, S. 667, and H.R. 1058 Before the Sub-
comm. on Securities of the S. Comm. on Banking,
Housing, and Urban Affairs, \04th Cong., |st

By ee nthiitinicrcieesateibttoensssscheitnepvencapeseen 9, 10, 11, 14
Shad, Introduction to Securities Class Actions:
Abuses and Remedies (1996)............:cccceccceeeeseesceereeeeees 10

Simons & Ryan, Post-Reform Act Securities Settle-
ments: Updated Through December 2004, avail-
able at http://securities. stanford.edu/Settlements/
REVIEW_1995-2004/Settlements_Through 12_
ee crvisncntsinitscsnsstocttsieaincntinciinintniinmmengiolatin 17, 18, 19

Staff Report on Private Securities Litigation: Hearing
Before the Subcomm. on Sec. of. the S. Comm. on
Banking, Hous., and Urban Affairs, 103d Cong.,
Fe AR seidincscstiditialipitinnetiontrinceccieensiecmciinitesaies 9

Thakor, et al., U.S. Chamber Institute for Legal Re-
form, The Economic Reality of Securities Class
Action Litigation (2005), available at http://www.
instituteforlegalreform.com/pdfs/EconomicReal-
i caccopsascecsnnviasecnsocarconseecssnseensnatubannatanenaess 10

Thompson & Sale, Securities Fraud as Corporate
Governance: Reflections Upon Federalism, 56
VAND. L. REV. 859 (2003)............ccccccesesseecesseesseneneenees 8,9

xi
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — (Cont’d)

Walker, Evaluating the Preemption Evidence: Have
the Proponents Met Their Burden?, 60 L. & CON-

TEMP. PROBS. 237 (1997) .cscceccscsssssssvecessssssssnssueceseeseee

Weil, Win Lawsuit—and Pay $300 Million, Wall St.

Weiss & Beckerman, Let the Money Do the Monitor-

ing, 104 YALE L.J. 2053 (1995) .....cccccccccssecssosssssssseee

Winter, Paying Lawyers, Empowering Prosecutors,
and Protecting Managers: Raising the Cost of
Capital in America, 42 DUKE L.J. 945 (1993) ..........

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0089%3A11. Public record. Not legal advice.
