# Amicus Curiae Brief — Merrill Lynch, Pierce, Fenner & Smith Inc. v. Dabit

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0089%3A06

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2006
- **Citation:** 547 U.S. 71

## Text

No. 04-1371

IN THE

Suprdme Court of the United States

MERRILL LYNCH, PIERCE, FENNER & SMITH, INC..
Petitioner,
Vv.

SHAD! DaBIT, on behalf of himself and
~ all others similarly situated,
Respondents.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit

MOTION FOR LEAVE TO FILE A BRIEF AS
AMICI CURIAE AND
BRIEF FOR THE SECURITIES INDUSTRY
ASSOCIATION AND THE BOND MARKET
ASSOCIATION AS AMICI CURIAE
IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONERS

GEORGE R. KRAMER CARTER G. PHILLIPS

SECURITIES INDUSTRY RICHARD D. BERNSTEIN*
ASSOCIATION APRIL E. FEARNLEY

1425 K Street, N.W. SIDLEY AUSTIN BROWN &

Seventh Floor WoOoD LLP

Washington D.C. 20005 1501 K Street, N.W.

(202) 216-2000 Washington, D.C. 20005

(202) 736-8000

MARIJORIE E. GROSS

THE BOND MARKET

SARAH M. STARKWEATHER |) = >
ASSOCIATION Aare ho |
360 Madison Avenue Pr man i
New York, New York 10017

(646) 637-9200 J

Counsel for Amici Curiae

May 16, 2005 * Counsel of Record
ee i ne es TEED

WILSON-EPES PRINTING CO., INC. — (202) 789-0096 -— WASHINGTON, D.C. 20001

,

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

No. 04-1371

MERRILL LYNCH, PIERCE, FENNER & SMITH, INC..,
Petitioner,
Vv.

SHAL1 DABIT, on behalf of himself and
all others similarly situated,
Respondents.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit

MOTION OF THE SECURITIES INDUSTRY
ASSOCIATION AND THE BOND MARKET
ASSOCIATION FOR LEAVE TO FILE A BRIEF
AS AMICI CURIAE IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONERS

The Securities Industry Association (“SIA”) and the Bond
Market Association (“TBMA”) hereby request, pursuant to
Rule 37.2 of the Rules of this Court, leave to file the
accompanying brief as amici curiae in support of Petitioners.
SIA and TBMA obtained the consent of the Petitioners.

SIA and TBMA offer this brief because the issue to be
decided affects the interests of the SIA and TBMA and their
members. The Securities Industry Association brings
together the shared interests of nearly 600 securities firms to
accomplish common goals. SIA's primary mission is to build
and maintain public trust and confidence in the securities
markets. SIA members (including investment banks, broker-
dealers, and mutual fund companies) are active in all U.S. and

2

foreign markets and in all phases of corporate and public
finance. According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, the U.S.
securities industry employs nearly 800,000 individuals, and
its personnel manage.the accounts of nearly 93-million
investors directly and indirectly through corporate, thrift, and
pension plans. In 2004, the industry generated an estimated
$227.5 billion in domestic revenue and $305 billion in global
revenues.

TBMA was created in 1976 and represents approximately
200 securities firms and banks that underwrite, trade and sell
fixed-income securities in the United States and in
international markets. TBMA members include all primary
dealers in U.S. government securities and all major dealers in
federal agency securities, mortgage-backed and asset-backed
securities, corporate bonds, money market instruments, and
funding instruments such as repurchase and securities lending
agreements. TBMA has worked with Congress, the SEC, the
Federal Reserve Board, the Federal Reserve Bank of New
York, state regulators and self-regulatory organizations to
foster effective, efficient regulation of the markets.

The SIA and/or TBMA have previously filed amici briefs
with the Court in cases affecting civil liability and the federal
securities laws. See, e.g., Dura Pharms., Inc. v. Broudo, 125
S. Ct. 1627 (2005); Howsam v. Dean Witter Reynolds, Inc.,
537 U.S. 79 (2002); Lampf, Pleva, Lipkind, Prupis &
Petigrow v. Gilbertson, 501 U.S. 350 (1991); Rodriguez De
Quijas v. Shearson/American Express, Inc., 490 U.S. 477
(1989); Shearson/American Express Inc. v. McMahon, 482
U.S. 220 (1987).

The question presented by this case is whether the
preemption provision of the Securities Litigation Uniform
Standards Act (“SLUSA”’) applies to state-law class actions
by securities holders who claim that they refrained from
selling securities in reliance on a misrepresentation. This
issue is critically important to the SIA and TBMA because
such suits undermine the efforts of Congress to curb

3

vexatious litigation and enact uniform national standards for
securities class actions. The 5iA and TBMA therefore have a
vital interest in the issue presented in this case and the SIA
and TBMA’s views can assist the Court in deciding whether
certiorari should be granted.

For the foregoing reasons, SIA and 1®MA’s Motion for
Leave to File a Brief as Amici Curiae in support of Petitioners
should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

GEORGE R. KRAMER CARTER G. PHILLIPS

SECURITIES INDUSTRY RICHARD D. BERNSTEIN*
ASSOCIATION APRIL E. FEARNLEY

1425 K Street, N.W. SIDLEY AUSTIN BROWN &

Seventh Floor WOOD LLP

Washington D.C. 20005 1501 K Street, N.W.

(202) 216-2000 Washington, D.C. 20005

(202) 736-8000

MARJORIE E. GROSS

SARAH M. STARKWEATHER

THE BOND MARKET
ASSOCIATION

360 Madison Avenue

New York, New York 10017

(646) 637-9200

Counsel for Amici Curiae
May 16, 2005 * Counsel of Record

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Ce Ca I crcnnncssensensenseccsnnsnsscscnsseneemnss
INTEREST OF THE AMICI CURIAE ..........ccccccceeeeeeeees
SUCRE PUUIDY cxsssssencensmnsemnmnsssannnenssensnsennsessnensssosaete
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION.............

IV.

THIS CASE PRESENTS AN ACKNOWL-
EDGED CONFLICT THAT WILL NOT BE
RESOLVED WITHOUT INTERVENTION BY
Te I crtrennscnersenemensssemnmmemmensnnennen

THE SECOND CIRCUIT'S DECISION IS IN
CONFLICT WITH THE LANGUAGE OF
SLUSA AND THIS COURT'S PRIOR INTER-
PRETATION OF BLUE CHIP STAMPS ..........0000++

CONGRESS COULD NOT HAVE INTENDED
THAT HOLDER CLASS ACTIONS WOULD
HAVE MORE ROBUST REMEDIES THAN
THOSE FOR PURCHASER AND SELLER
See FG CIE ctcsennnssersscsnnssenmemmannsncsncsenensenens

THIS COURT SHOULD GRANT CERTIORARI
TO BLOCK THE SLIPPERY SLOPE INVITED
BY THE SECOND CIRCUIT’S APPROACH ........

Se ee asennnssensenpssencesacassesenennsnsnsseneanemnsomnsenst

(i)

Page

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
CASES Page
_ Arent v. Distribution Scis., Inc., 975 F.2d 1370
SG Ge ecnnnnsennnnenennesmenntennenen 10
Basic Inc. v. Levinson, 485 U.S. 224 (1988)........... 6
Blue Chip Stamps v. Manor Drug Stores, 421
SE Fe Ge ee ntennartncnsncnmemusenasnnnmennen 5,6, 7,8
Boguslavsky v. Kaplan, 159 F.3d 715 (2d Cir.
BE cxonsncenoneptenssmusumntenseneannsnemniannamemmanenmnnantes 9
Burns v. Prudential Secs., 116 F. Supp. 2d 917
es Sa eee ccrensencncncensnntnenessentnemmmmmnnmeenae 11

Chanoff v. United States Surgical Corp., 857 F.
Supp. 1011 (D. Conn.), aff'd, 31 F.3d 66 (2d

Ss ee crertacsinninentcnptentcnnaitanniinaduatasiannenaainienes 1]
Crocker v. FDIC, 826 F.2d 347 (Sth Cir. 1987) ..... 10
Cyrak v. Lemon, 919 F.2d 320 (Sth Cir. 1990) ....... 9
Dabit v. Merrill Lynch, Pierce, Fenner & Smith,

Inc., 395 F.3d 25 (2d Cir. 2005) ..........cccccseesseeeees 3
Dura Pharms., Inc. vy. Broudo, 125 §S. Ct. 1627

GE iccennnsintnneeensseinauniatienimemmetinmemenn 5.6

Green v. Ameritrade, Inc., 120 F. Supp. 2d 795
(D. Neb. 2000), aff'd on other grounds, 279

ms SOP Ee Ge GREED cccsnssnmssmmnneeemmnmansens 11
Green v. Ameritrade, Inc., 279 F.3d 590 (8th Cir.

TTT tetenanpicibipuatenmenmmmmestneanedammnnnenenee 3
Holmes v. Securities Investor Prot. Corp., 503

Rs See el nrnentsnncennntesenenattntamnntamaniictmenes 7
Kagan v. Edison Bros. Stores, Inc., 907 F.2d 690

EEE, Getta icncunreisencspdensiniannuntivansnnentnitememenen 10

Kircher v. Putnam Funds Trust, 403 F.3d 478
(7th Cir. 2005), rehearing denied (May 2,

a inianariaiahatidiarhiteialtitashiieninrnat i niateiteaticianaitienatiaiaenls 3,4, 12
Levine v. Seilon, Inc., 439 F.2d 328 (2d Cir.
EERE eer es sonar woo eer nT me 1]

Morales v. Transworld Airlines, Inc., 504 U.S.
I cic ceaceea hc aidcienaaaeaiiedaldititlaaiaianiaiiciniiin S

iil
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES -— continued

Page
Pelletier v. Stuart-James Co., 863 F.2d 1550
SI UMEEE, Ci einterintncineehesterniiinidnennbintiateeneeemanntans 9
Rieger v. Drabinsky (In re Livent, Inc. Note-
holders Secs. Litig.), 151 F. Supp. 2d 371
ee 9
Riley v. Merrill Lynch, Pierce, Fenner & Smith,
Inc., 292 F.3d 1334 (11th Cir. 2002) ..............00. 3
United States v. O' Hagan, 521 U.S. 642 (1997)..... 6,7
STATUTES
ee 3,5, 8,9
ar Caneeoe OF WUD scncninesrntiennidennenenintnnnninitaeniinennes 6
LEGISLATIVE HISTORY
143 Cong. Rec. 10477 (daily ed. Oct. 7, 1997),
available at 1997 WL 614735 ........ccccccesseseeeeeeeees 8
OTHER AUTHORITIES
Cornerstone Research, Securities Class Action
Case Filings — 2004: A Year in Reviéw (2005),
available at http://securities.stanford.edu/clear-
inghouse_research/2004_ YIR/2004010305.
ee ee eee EE 4
Securities Industry Association, at http://www.
sia.com (last visited May 13, 2005)................0+. I

The Bond Market Association, af http://www.
bondmarkets.com (last visited May 13, 2005)..... 2

INTEREST OF THE AMICI CURIAE'

The Securities Industry Association (“SIA”), established in
1972 through the merger of the Association of Stock
Exchange Firms and the Investment Bankers’ Association,
represents the shared interests of more than 600 securities
firms to accomplish common goals. SIA member-firms
(including investment banks, broker-dealers, and mutual fund
companies) are active in all U.S. and foreign markets and in
all phases of corporate and public finance. According to the
Bureau of Labor Statistics, the U.S. securities industry
employs nearly 800,000 individuals. Industry personnel
manage the accounts of nearly 93 million investors directly
and indirectly through corporate, thrift, and pension plans.
(More information about SIA is available at www.sia.com.)

The Bond Market Association (“TBMA”) represents
approximately 200 securities firms and banks that underwrite,
trade and sell fixed-income securities in the United States and
in international markets. TBMA’s members transact business
in a wide variety of public and private fixed-income
securities. Its membership comprises a diverse mix of
securities firms and banks, including large, multi-product
firms and companies with special market niches. It includes
all primary dealers in U.S. government securities, as
recognized by the Federal Reserve Bank of New York, and all
major dealers in federal agency securities, mortgage-backed
and asset-backed securities, corporate bonds, money market
instruments, and funding instruments such as repurchase and
securities lending agreements. From its inception in 1976,
TBMA has worked with its member firms, Congress, the
SEC, the Federal Reserve Board and the Federal Reserve

' Pursuant to this Court’s Rule 37.6, amici SLA and TBMA state that no
counsel for any party authored this brief in whole or in part, and no person
or entity other than amici and their members made a monetary
contribution to the preparation or submission of the brief.

2

Bank of New York, state regulators, and self-regulatory
organizations to foster effective, efficient regulation; to
enhance the liquidity and efficiency of the fixed income
markets; to encourage sound credit and business practices for
participants in such markets; and to promote the highest
levels of professional standards and conduct in such markets.
(More information about TBMA is available at www.
bondmarkets.com. )

The issue raised by this case is whether holders of
securities, who “refrained from selling” securities in reliance
upon an alleged misrepresentation, Pet. App.-4a-5a, can bring
state-law class actions that avoid the preemption provision of
the Securities Litigation Uniform Standards Act (“SLUSA”).
This issue is one of great import to the securities industry and
investors in this era of proliferating securities litigation. It is
critically important to the SIA and TBMA that the effort of
Congress to curb vexatious litigation in state law securities
fraud suits by enacting the uniform national requirements of
the Private Securities Litigation Reform Act (“PSLRA”), not
fall prey to creative plaintiffs who attempt to plead around
SLUSA preemption and the strict federal securities standards.
Amici therefore have a vital interest in the issue presented in
this case, and their views can assist the Court in resolving that
issue,

INTRODUCTION

Compelling reasons warrant granting certiorari. The
petition presents an acknowledged conflict in the circuit
courts of appeal. The conflict concerns an important and
recurring issue — whether the preemption provision of SLUSA
applies to securities fraud class actions on behalf of holders of
securities that allege they refrained from selling securities in
reliance on an alleged misrepreseniaiion. This conflict
threatens both the national uniformity that SLUSA and the
PSLRA sought to create and the efficient functioning of the

3

securities markets. Only a decision by this Court will resolve
this recurring and important issue.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

I. THIS CASE PRESENTS AN ACKNOWLEDGED
CONFLICT THAT WILL NOT BE RESOLVED
WITHOUT INTERVENTION BY THIS COURT.

IS U.S.C. § 78bb(f)(1) preempts any class action based
upon state law concerning a material misrepresentation or
omission “in connection with the purchase or sale of a
covered security.” As the Seventh Circuit has acknowledged,
there is a plain and undeniable conflict among the circuits
concerning whether this provision preempts a class action
brought by persons who already held the affected security
before the misrepresentation or omission was made. The
Seventh Circuit has held that such “ho'der” class actions are
preempted. Kircher v. Putnam Funds Trust, 403 F.3d 478,
483-84 (7th Cir. 2005), rehearing denied (May 2, 2005). This
is also the official position of the SEC. Pet. App. 91a-94a.
The Second Circuit (in the decision from which a writ of
certiorari is sought), Eighth Circuit, and Eleventh Circuit have
held that “holder” claims are not preempted. Dabit v. Merrill
Lynch, Pierce, Fenner & Smith, Inc., 395 F.3d 25, 43 (2d Cir.
2005); Riley v. Merrill Lynch, Pierce, Fenner & Smith, Inc.,
292 F.2d 1334, 1342-43 (llth Cir. 2002); Green v.
Ameritrade, Inc., 279 F.3d 590, 596-99 (8th Cir. 2002).

An_ illustration will demonstrate the vastly different
outcomes under the conflicting approaches. Suppose H buys
stock at a price of $40 per share in defendant D before any
alleged fraud. As time passes, the stock price climbs to $50.
D allegedly suffers a business setback that it conceals for a
period of time. After the alleged concealment begins, P
purchases D’s stock at $50 per share. Later, when the setback
is subsequently disclosed, D’s stock price drops to $30. H
has remained a holder of D’s stock throughout. H brings a
class action based on state law alleging that the concealment

4

caused the holder class to refrain from selling at the $50
price.”

Separately, P brings a federal § 10(b) class a tien alleging
that the concealment caused those who purchased after the
concealment to suffer a loss from the post-purchase decline
caused by the disclosure of the setbacks. In all federal
circuits, the purchaser class action may proceed.

The circuit conflict concerns the holder class action. In the
Seventh Circuit, the holder class action is preempted, and
immediately dismissed. In contrast, in the Second, Eighth,
and Eleventh Circuits, the holder case proceeds. Indeed, H's
state law class action probably sues for both fraud and
negligence, and for both compensatory and punitive damages,
“in the hope that a local judge or jury may produce an
idiosyncratic award.” Kircher, 403 F.3d at 484.

It is important that this Court resolve the SLUSA
preemption conflict now. In conjunction with the broad stock
market declines between early 2000 and March 2003, there
has been a proliferation of securities litigation. See, e.g.,
Cornerstone Research, Securities Class Action Case Filings -
2004: A Year in Review 2, 16 (2005), available at
http://securities.stanford.edu/clearinghouse_research/2004_ YI
R/2004010305.pdf. This includes numerous holder cases.
See Pet. at 17 n.5 (collecting 24 reported federal decisions
from 2000 to 2005 in holder cases). The Court should resoive
this conflict now before additional judicial resources are
wasted on this existing pipeline of preempted cases.

Most important, a prompt resolution from this Court is
essential to meeting SLUSA’s and the PSLRA’s goals of
national uniformity in securities litigation and an end to
abusive securities cases. See Pet. at 3-4, 11, 16 (discussing

* As we demonstrate infra at 10-11, the premise that a class of holders
could have sold at the $50 price if the truth was disclosed earlier is
economic nonsense.

5

legislative history). As this Court recognized in Blue Chip
Stamps v. Manor Drug Stores, 421 U.S. 723 (1975), faced
with potential securities class actions from all securities
holders — not just purchasers and sellers — potential securities
issuers and securities firms may conclude that ‘“*[t}he hazards
of a business conducted on these terms are [too] extreme.””
Id. at 748 (quoting Ultramares Corp. v. Touche, 174 N.E.
441, 444 (N.Y. 1931) (Cardozo, C.J.)). At a minimum, this
Court has reaffirmed that it is bad policy to permit the “‘in
terrorem’” effect produced by meritless but large class
actions that proceed past the pleading stages to discovery.
Dura Pharms., Inc. v. Broudo, 125 S. Ct. 1627, 1634 (2005)
(quoting Blue Chip Stamps, 421 U.S. at 741). The situation is
particularly bad here. Many defendants face simultaneously a
“holder” class action in state court and a “purchaser/seller”
class action in federal court. This encourages not only a
procedural morass of discovery conflicts and the like, but also
inconsistent substantive rulings. This Court should put a stop
to all of this now.

Il. THE SECOND CIRCUIT’S DECISION IS IN
CONFLICT WITH THE LANGUAGE OF SLUSA
AND THIS COURT’S PRIOR INTERPRETATION
OF BLUE CHIP STAMPS.

SLUSA preemption does not require a misrepresentation
“in connection with the purchase or sale [by the class
members’] of covered securit[ies.]” Rather, SLUSA
preemption requires only a misrepresentation “in connection
with the purchase or sale of a covered security.” 15 U.S.C.
§ 78bb(f)(1) (emphasis added). Holder class actions rely in at
least two ways On a misrepresentation “in connection with the
purchase or sale of a covered security.”

First, as this case illustrates, holder class actions necessarily
allege a misrepresentation “in connection with the purchase or
sale of a covered security” because they allege that a
misrepresentation inflated the company’s publicly-traded
share price. See Pet. App. 6a (discussing respondents’

6

“allegations concerning Merrill Lynch's causing certain
stocks to trade at ‘artificially inflated’ prices through the use
of deceptive devices alleged to be the ‘hallmarks of stock
manipulation’”). Such. alleged market price inflation requires
that numerous purchases be made in reliance on the alleged
material misrepresentation. Specifically, such alleged
inflation occurs only when “the market price of shares traded
on well-developed markets reflects all publicly available
information and, hence, any material misrepresentations.”
Basic, Inc. v. Levinson, 485 U.S. 224, 246 (1988) (emphases
added).

Second, holder class actions necessarily allege an additional
“connection” between the misrepresentation and “the
purchase or sale of a covered security.” Specifically, holder
class actions allege that disclosure of the misrepresentation
caused a decline in the company’s stock price. Such an
alleged decline exists only if a “lower price ... reflect{s]” that
actual purchases and sales were made in reaction to the
corrective disclosure of “the earlier misrepresentation.”
Dura, 125 S. Ct. at 1631-32.

The Second Circuit therefore properly did not say that the
plain or literal language of SLUSA’s preemption provision
fell short of covering a holder class action. Rather, its
decision rests entirely on the premise that when SLUSA was
enacted in 1998, Blue Chip Stamps was the existing,
authoritative interpretation of the exact same “language”
appearing in § 10(b) of the 1934 Securities and Exchange
Act, 15 U.S.C. § 78j(b). Pet. App. 27a, 29a. But this premise
is flawed. Indeed, this Court held in 1997, before SLUSA’s
enactment, that Blue Chip Stamps did not rest on interpreting
the “in connection with” language of § 10(b).

Specifically, in United States v. O'Hagan, 521 U.S. 642
(1997), the Court, quoting Blue Chip Stamps, 421 U.S. at 737,
held: “We so confined the §10(b) private right of action
because of ‘policy considerations.’"” 521 U.S. at 664. If
Congress in 1998 was borrowing the existing judicial

7

interpretation of the “in connection with” language in § 10(b)
when it enacted SLUSA, Congress surely would have been
borrowing this Court’s then-most recent decision, O’ Hagan.
See also Holmes v. Securities Investor Prot. Corp., 503 U.S.
258, 284 (1992) (O’Connor, J., joined by White and Stevens,
JJ., concurring in part and concurring in the judgment) (“The
purchaser/seller standing limitation in Rule 10b-5 damages
actions thus does not stem from a construction of the phrase
‘in connection with the purchase or sale of any security.’”);
Id. at 289-90 (Scalia, J., concurring in the judgment) (“[T]he
limitation we approved in Blue Chip Stamps was essentially a
legislative judgment rather than an interpretive one.”).
O'Hagan authoritatively held that Blue Chip Stamps was not
an interpretation of § 10(b)’s language. 521 U.S. at 664-65.

O'Hagan was right. The text of Blue Chip Stamps itself
demonstrates that Blue Chip Stamps addressed not the
interpretation of § 10(b)’s language, but rather the policy
question of how to confine the judicially-created implied right
of action for § 10(b) violations. The majority stated, “we
would by no means be understood as suggesting that we are
able to divine from the language of § 10(b) the express ‘intent
of Congress’ as to the contours of a private cause of action
under Rule 10b-5.” 421 U.S. at 737. The Court concluded,

we are not dealing here with any private right created by
the express language of §10(b) or Rule 10b-5. No
language in either of those provisions speaks at all to
the contours of a private cause of action for their
violation. . . . We are dealing with a private cause of
action which has been judicially found to exist, and
which will have to be judicially delimited one way or
another unless and until Congress addresses the
question.

Id. at 748-49 (emphases added).

Once it is recognized that Blue Chip Stamps is not based on
the “in connection with” language, there is no basis on which

8

to constrict that language in SLUSA to less than its natural
meaning. Under that meaning, holder class actions that
claim injury from the effects of a misrepresentation on a
stock’s market price, supra, at 5-6, are alleging a mis-
representation “in connection with the purchase or sale of a
covered security.” 15 U.S.C. § 78bb(f)(1) (emphasis added).

Ill. CONGRESS COULD NOT HAVE INTENDED
THAT HOLDER CLASS ACTIONS WOULD
HAVE MORE ROBUST REMEDIES THAN
THOSE FOR PURCHASER AND SELLER CLASS
ACTIONS.

Blue Chip Stamps plainly held that “holder” actions are
abusive. As Blue Chip Stamps elucidated,

a putative plaintiff, who neither purchases nor sells
securities but sues instead for intangible economic injury
such as loss of a noncontractual opportunity to buy or
sell, is more likely to be seeking a largely conjectural
and speculative recovery in which the number of shares
involved will depend on the plaintiff's subjective
hypothesis.

421 US. at 734-35.

‘Nothing in SLUSA’s legislative history refers to holder class actions.
The Second Circuit relied upon floor comments of Senator Dodd that
“(t}his legislation has been carefully crafted only to affect those types of
class actions that are appropriately heard on the federal level.” 143 Cong.
Rec. 10475, 10477 (daily ed. Oct. 7, 1997), available at 1997 WL 614735.
This sentence is merely a conclusion based on the prior sentence’s
statement that seven kinds of actions will remain “in State court.” /d.
Holder class actions were omitted from this list of preserved actions. The
ambiguous comments of a single Senator provide no basis to constrict
SLUSA’s natural meaning. See, e.g., Morales v. Trans World Airlines,
Inc., 504 U.S. 374, 383-85 & n.2 (1992) (holding that “natural meaning”
of preemption provision of “‘any . . . regulation . . . relating to rates,
routes, or services’ reached state regulation of advertising even though
the “legislative history contains no statements specifically addressed to
state regulation of advertising”).

9

It is completely illogical to think that in SLUSA Congress
intended holder class action plaintiffs to have more robust
remedies and litigation tools than are available to class action
plaintiffs who actually purchased or sold securities in reliance
upon a misstatement or omission. SLUSA prevents
purchasers and sellers of a security from bringing class action
claims based on state law even if they are pendent to their
federal claims. See 15 U.S.C. § 78bb(f)(1) (preempting state
law class actions claims “in any State or Federal court”);
Rieger v. Drabinsky (In re Livent, Inc. Noteholders Secs.
Litig.), 151 F. Supp. 2d 371, 385, 442-43 (S.D.N.Y. 2001)
(dismissing pendent state claims for common law fraud,
negligence and negligent misrepresentation by purchasers).
Purchasers and sellers bringing a § 10(b) class action must
prove scienter and loss causation, satisfy heightened pleading
standards, and comply with an initial stay of discovery, and
(if they prevail) their remedies exclude punitive damages.
See Boguslavsky v. Kaplan, 159 F.3d 715, 721 (2d Cir. 1998)
(“punitive damages are unavailable”); Cyrak v. Lemon, 919
F.2d 320, 326 (Sth Cir. 1990) (“Punitive damages are not
recoverable in a 10b-5 action.”); Pelletier v. Stuart-James
Co., 863 F.2d 1550, 1557 (llth Cir. 1989) (“Actual
damages’ has been interpreted to mean some form of
economic loss and does not include punitive damages.”).

If holders are permitted to bring state law class actions, the
arsenal at their disposal would often include punitive
damages, the exaction of burdensome, costly discovery prior
to the motion to dismiss stage, and relaxed pleading
standards. Holder class plaintiffs often would have multiple
state-law theories of recovery at their disposal including
fraud, negligent misrepresentation, and statutory remedies
such as unfair and deceptive trade practices (often with treble
damages). Many such state causes of action are also accorded
a lengthier statute of limitations period. It is incompre-
hensible that Congress (or anyone) would have created a
system where class actions for securities holders have more

10

robust potential remedies and litigation tools than class
actions for purchasers and sellers.

Such an incomprehensible disparity would be even more
inexplicable because every federal court to examine a holder
claim before SLUSA concluded that, as a class, holders
cannot be injured.’ This is best explained in Crocker v.
FDIC, 826 F. 2d. 347, 351 (Sth Cir. 1987) (footnote omitted):

The flaw in the [holders’] argument is that it assumes
a market for the stock existed at an artificially high
price. This inflaied price, and hence the particular
market for the stock, was maintained only because of the
wrongdoing of the [defendants], who concealed material
financial information from the shareholders and the
public that would have demonstrated the failing
condition of the [company]. It follows that, had this
information been released, the stock price would have
immediately and precipitously fallen especially if, as is
implicit in the [holders’] theory, an entire class of
shareholders had simultaneously dumped their stock on
the market. . Thus, there would have been no market for
the stock at the artificially high price. Without such a
market, the [holders’] envisioned “profit opportunity”
evaporates into hardly more than an illusion.

Applying Crocker’s analysis to our earlier illustration,
supra, at 3-4, it is clear what would have happened to the
holder class if there had been no post-purchase misrepre-
sentation concerning the business setback. If the business
setback had been promptly disclosed, D’s stock price would
have fallen from $50 to $30 sooner. The misrepresentation
thus postponed the holders’ recognition of a loss but it did not
cause any loss. For the holder class, the business setback
caused any loss. Accord Kagan v. Edison Bros. Stores, Inc.,
907 F.2d 690, 691-92 (7th Cir. 1990); Arent v. Distribution

* Such “holder” claims were brought in either diversity or RICO cases.

Seis., Inc., 975 F.2d 1370, 1374 (8th Cir. 1992) (“[A]ny
injury to plaintiffs was not caused by [defendant's] failure to
disclose. Plaintiffs were not harmed because they were
unable to realize the true value of their stock — they were
harmed because the true value of their stock was zero.”);
Chanoff v. United States Surgical Corp., 857 F. Supp. 1011,
1018 (D. Conn. 1994), aff'd, 31 F.3d 66 (2d Cir. 1994) (per
curiam), see also Levine v. Seilon, Inc., 439 F.2d 328, 329,
333-34 (2d Cir. 1971) (Friendly, J.) (holding that even if the
purchaser-seller requirement was overruled, a holder could
not prove injury, because “if the representation had not been
made, the price of the stock would not have been inflated, and
there would have been no gain to be realized by a sale”). It is
simply senseless to read SLUSA’s preemption provision as
preserving more robust state law remedies for classes of
uninjured securities holders than for classes of potentially
injured securities purchasers and sellers.

IV. THIS COURT SHOULD GRANT CERTIORARI
TO BLOCK THE SLIPPERY SLOPE INVITED BY
THE SECOND CIRCUIT’S APPROACH.

As the SEC has noted, Pet. App. 96a & n.5, if failure to
satisfy the purchaser/seller element for private § 10(b) actions
may be used to defeat SLUSA preemption, plaintiffs will
surely argue that so too does failure to satisfy 10(b)’s scienter
requirement. See Green v. Ameritrade, Inc., 120 F. Supp. 2d
795, 798-99 (D. Neb. 2000) (holding, in part, that a state law
“claim [was] not preempted by SLUSA because no proof of
scienter [was] required” by the state law claim), aff d on other
grounds, 279 F.3d 590 (8th Cir. 2002); Burns v. Prudential
Secs., 116 F. Supp. 2d 917, 924-26 (N.D. Ohio 2000)
(“[P)laintiffs’ allegations do not satisfy the scienter
requirement for securities fraud under § 10(b) and Rule 10b-
5. Because § 10(b) and Rule 10b-5 are nearly identical to the
removal criteria set forth at § 78bb(f)(1) of SLUSA, it follows
that removal is improper, and remand to state court is the
appropriate course.”). Thus, the Second Circuit's approach

}?

~

invites a slippery slope where arguably, even purchaser/seller
class actions could end up in state court as negligence class
actions. That path is inconsistent with SLUSA’s goals of
national uniformity and ending vexatious securities lawsuits.
Instead, this Court should grant certiorari and establish a
nationwide rule that SLUSA’s “preemptive effect is not
confined to knocking out state-law claims by investors who
have winning federal claims, as plaintiffs suppose. It covers
both good and bad securities claims — especially bad ones.”
Kircher, 403 F.3d at 484.

CONCLUSION
For the foregoing reasons, the Court should grant certiorari.
Respectfully submitted,
GEORGE R. KRAMER CARTER G. PHILLIPS
SECURITIES INDUSTRY RICHARD D. BERNSTEIN*
ASSOCIATION APRIL E. FEARNLEY
1425 K Street, N.W. SIDLEY AUSTIN BROWN &
Seventh Floor Woop LLP
Washington D.C. 20005 1501 K Street, N.W.
(202) 216-2000 Washington, D.C. 20005
(202) 736-8000

MARJORIE E. GROSS

SARAH M. STARKWEATHER

THE BOND MARKET
ASSOCIATION

360 Madison Avenue

New York, New York 10017

(646) 637-9200

Counsel for Amici Curiae
May 16, 2005 * Counsel of Record

Qo)

No. 04-1371

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

MERRILL LYNCH, PIERCE, FENNER & SMITH, INC.,
Petitioner,

V.

SHADI DABIT, on behalf of himself and all
others similarly situated,

Respondents.

On Writ or CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

JOINT APPENDIX

WILLIAM B. FEDERMAN Jay B. KASNER

Counsel of Record Counsel of Record
STuART W. EMMONS Preeta D. BANSAL
FEDERMAN & SHERWOOD Epwarp J. Yopowrz

120 North Robinson Avenue Scott D. Musorr

Suite 2720 JOANNE GABORIAULT

Oklahoma City, OK 73102 SKADDEN, ARPS, SLATE,

(405) 235-1560 MEAGHER & FLom LLP
Counsel for Respondents Four Tunes Square

New York, NY 10036
(212) 735-3000

Counsel for Petitioner

PETITION FOR CERTIORARI FILED APRIL 11, 2005
CERTIORARI GRANTED SEPTEMBER 27, 2005

i

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Appendix A — Relevant Docket Entries Of The
United States Court Of Appeals For The Second
SE 68444 bade adbeenssevarukiesneueneey

Appendix B— Relevant Docket Entries Of The
United States District Court For The Southern
District Of New York (Foley Square) .........

Appendix C — Relevant Docket Entries Of The
United States District Court For The Western
District Of Oklahoma (Oklahoma City) .......

Appendix D — Class Action Complaint Dated April
ME is¢béneuichh oaks seurieaies a¢.buawk>

Appendix E — Order Of The United States District
Court For The Western District Of Oklahoma
Dated And Filed October 11,2002 ...........

Appendix F — First Amended Class Action
Complaint With Exhibits Dated October 21, 2002

Appendix G — Transfer Order Dated October 11,
EE oh oe nb aneededuseds handed bas esinaedas

The following opinions, statutes, regulations and brief
have been omitted in printing this joint appendix because
they appear on the following pages in the appendix to the
Petition for a Writ of Certiorari:

Page
Opinion Of The United States Court Of Appeals For
The Second Circuit Decided January 11,2005... — la

Opinion And Decision Of The United States District
Court For The Southern District Of New York
I Ob nni<n donde cégccanennase 53a

Relevant Statutes And Regulations ............. 56a

Brief Of The Securities And Exchange Commission
CIID oils 0 epee bide bean debanale 72a

a

la

APPENDIX A — RELEVANT DOCKET ENTRIES
OF THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

GENERAL DOCKET
US Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit

Court of Appeals Docket #:03-7499-cv

Nsuit: 3850 STATUTES-Secur Comm Exchange
Dabit v. Merrill Lynch Filed: 5/14/03

Appeal from: SDNY (NEW YORK CITY)

Case type information:
Civil
Private

None

Lower court information:
District: 02-cv-8472

Trial Judge Milton Pollack
MagJudge:
Date Filed: 10/23/02

Date 4/10/2003
order/judgement:
Date NOA filed: 5/9/2003

2a

Appendix A

Fee status:Paid
Panel Assignment:

Panel: JLO SS RCW 40 Foley Sq.
Date of decision 1/11/05 :

Prior cases: NONE
Curreni cases: NONE

Docket as of April 25, 2005 7:11 pm

Docket No. [s] : 03-7499-cv(L), 03-7458-cv(CON)
SHADI DABIT, on behalf of himself and all others similarly
situated, JG INVESTMENTS and IRLYS GUY, on behalf
of themselves and all others similarly situated,

Plaintiffs-Appellants,

Vv.

MERRILL LYNCH, PIERCE, FENNER & SMITH, INC., a
corporation and MERRILL LYNCH & CO., INC.,

Defendants-Appellees.

3a

Appendix A

Shadi Dabit Clell I. Cunningham Esq.
Plaintiff- Appellant [ ret ]
Dunn Swan & Cunningham
210 Park Ave.
Oklahoma City , OK , 73102
405-235-8318

SEC Eric Summergrad Esq.

Amicus Curiae [LDn]
U.S. Securities & Exchange Commis
450 Sth St., NW Principal Assista
Washington , DC , 20549
202-942-0955

Merrill Lynch, Pier Jay B. Kasner Esq.
Defendant-Appellee [ ret }
Skadden Arps Slate Meagher & Flom
4 Times Square
New York , NY , 10036

212-735-3000
Shadi Dabit William B. Federman Esq.
Plaintiff-Appellant [ ret ]

Federman & Sherwwod

120 N. Robinson Ave.
Oklahoma City , OK , 73102
405-235-1560

6/11/03

6/11/03

7/8/03

8/1/03

8/1/03

9/5/03

4a

Appendix A

Scheduling order #1 filed. Record on appeal due
on 7/28/03. Appellant’s brief and appendix due on
8/1/03. Appellee’s brief due on 9/5/03. Argument
as early as week of 10/20/03. It is recommended
that this appeal be heard in tandem with 03-7458,
IJG v. Merrill Lynch. (SB)

Ordered that the following appeals Docket
Nos: 03-7458 are to be heard together. SEE
SCHEDULING ORDER #1.

Letter dated 6/16/03 from William B. Federman
notifying the Court that this appeal and appeals
no. 03-7458 and 03-7999 are not similar and
should not be consolidated received

* * *

Appellant Shadi Dabit brief FILED with proof of
service.

Appellant Shadi Dabit joint appendix filed w/pfs.
Number of volumes: |.

Appellee Merrill Lynch, Pier brief filed with
proof of service.

9/22/03

12/15/03

3/22/04

3/22/04

Sa

Appendix A

Appellant Shadi Dabit reply brief filed with proof
of service.

Case heard before OAKES, SOTOMAYOR,
WESLEY, C.JJ. . (TAPE: CD dated: December
15, 2003)

Letter sent to Allan Capute: requesting an amicus
brief.

Notice to counsel in re: 3/22/04 letter sent
requesting amicus brief.

Dear Mr. Capute:

The panel in the above-referenced appeals
would like to invite the SEC to submit its views
on these cases with regard to the questions listed
below:

1. Whether the jurisprudence interpreting “in
connection with” under § 10(b) of the Securities
Exchange Act of 1934, 15 U.S.C. § 78j(b)
(“§ 10(b)”), and Rule 10b-5, 17 C.F.R. § 240.10b-
5 (“Rule 10b-5”), should be adopted for the
Securities Litigation Uniform Standards Act of
1998, 15 U.S.C. §§ 77p and 78bb(f) (“SLUSA”)?

6a

Appendix A

2. Whether the purchaser-seller rule of standing or
otherwise enunciated in Blue Chip Stamps v. Manor
Drug Stores, 421 U.S. 723 (1975), should be
adopted for SLUSA, so that an action will be
preempted under SLUSA only if the action alleges
that the plaintiff(s) actually purchased or sold a
security as a result of the alleged misrepresentation
or omission?

3. Whether SLUSA preempts actions that could
not have been brought pursuant to § 10(b) and
Rule 10b-5?

4. Where a brokerage allegedly issued
intentionally false and biased research reports to
garner investment banking business, whether the
following state law claims arising from that
activity meet SLUSA’s “in connection with”
requirement:

(a) claims brought by the brokerage’s clients
for annual flat fees paid to the brokerage for
unbiased investn ‘ent research, which fees are not
triggered by any actual purchases or sales of
securities;

(b) claims brought by the brokerage’s clients
for commissions fees paid to the brokerage for
investing in securities recommended by the
biased research;

7a

Appendix A

(c) claims brought by the brokerage’s broker-
employees for investment losses suffered in
retaining securities as a result of the brokerage’s
falsely touting the securities’ values; and

(d) claims brought by the brokerage’s broker-
employees for the loss of future commissions to
be paid by their clients who left the brokerage as
a result of the biased research?

5. Whether the SEC takes a position on any other
claims or arguments raised by the parties in these
cases?

The Court hereby respectfully requests that
the Securities and Exchange Commission submit
its response addressing these questions, within
forty-five (45) days after the date of this letter.
Upon the request of the Commission, I will
furnish the Commission with a copy of the briefs
and the appendices on appeal in these cases.

The parties are allowed fifteen (15) days to
respond to the SEC’s submission. The parties
response is limited to ten (10) typewritten, single-
spaced pages.(RBM)

8a

Appendix A

6/22/04 AMICUS CURIAE SEC, brief filed (as per the

1/11/05

Court’s 3/22/04 order) with proof of service.

Judgment of the district court is Affirmed in part
and Vacated and Remanded in part by published
signed opinion filed. (SS)

* . * *

9a

APPENDIX B— RELEVANT DOCKET ENTRIES
OF THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR
THE SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF NEW YORK
(FOLEY SQUARE)

U.S. District Court
Southern District of New York (Foley Square)
CIVIL DOCKET FOR CASE #: 1:02-cv-08472-MP

Dabit v. Merrill Lynch Date Filed: 10/23/2002

Assigned to:
Judge Milton Pollack Jury Demand: None
Demand: $0 Nature of Suit: 850

Securities/Commodities
Jurisdiction: Federal Question
Case in other court: USDC-WDOK, 5:02-cv-564
MDL PANEL, MDL1484
Cause: 28:1331 Fed. Question: Other

No. 1:02-cv-08472-MP

SHADI DABIT,
on behalf of himself and all others similarly situated,

Plaintiff,
V.

MERRILL LYNCH, PIERCE, FENNER & SMITH, INC..,
a corporation,

Defendant.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0089%3A06. Public record. Not legal advice.
