# Amicus Curiae Brief — KSR Intern. Co. v. Teleflex Inc.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0086%3A28

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2007
- **Citation:** 550 U.S. 398

## Text

oot

Supreme Court, U.S.
g FLI&ED

No. 04-1350 AUG 2 2 2006
- aes |
In The
Supreme Court of the Anited States
.
KSR INTERNATIONAL CO.,
Petitioner,
V.
TELEFLEX INC. and
TECHNOLOGY HOLDING CO.,
Respondents.
+
On Writ Of Certiorari To The
United States Court Of Appeals
For The Federal Circuit
o
BRIEF OF ECONOMISTS AND

LEGAL HISTORIANS AS AMICI CURIAE
IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONER

Sd

August 22, 2006 JOSHUA D. SARNOFF*

GLUSHKO-SAMUELSON
INTELLECTUAL PROPERTY
LAW CLINIC

WASHINGTON COLLEGE OF LAW

AMERICAN UNIVERSITY

4801 Massachusetts Avenue, NW

Washington, DC 20016

(202) 274-4165

*Counsel of Record
for Amici Curiae
Economists and Legal Historians

—— —
-_--— -- —_—— ee

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO (800) 225-6964
OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342 2831

: dl a?
a ake
Lach

7 ae. pa a3"
a 2 - -
omit

4 \= i

4 = a > ; =
Salt em. 2 a Ss Lae 5 4 7 «
ite Pu en ER tal rez See
7 i Jone “ita ’ ¢ Sa aie
: ofa) ae ; r oo,

a

TABLE OF CONTENTS
Page
Pac ccteiicatninihaitiniiiiansneniebicdninnistnindéi i
TABLE OF AUTHORITIEG..............cccccccccsseccssseceeeess il
INTEREST OF THE AMICI CURIAE .............00...c0000 1
SUMMARY OF THE ARGUMENT .....0.00.0.0....ccceeeeeeees 1
SEP UIITET snchishniStiinsiiadiceiamaddaniinainicleiinidaiicidinaslinnaniinaieiliaiing 3

I. This Court Historically Has Imposed a Sub-

stantial Threshold of Technological Creativity
for the Patentablity of New Inventions .......... 3

Il. The Graham Approach to Determining
Patentability is Sound, But Requires Further
Clarification for Its Proper Understanding
and Application by the Patent Office and the
SUITED cisistesscnscbisicineaisbiescceunantbisibiinieiadieitiiaeesieamideigilpeiditidaa 15

III. The Court Should Clarify the Burdens of
Production and Proof Regarding the Graham
SUPT icssichegeiiieieiidnicrheneisiasiatiniaadedediitsianadedsviciltieaicniliieia 28

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Page
CASES
Altoona Publix Theaters, Inc. v. Am. Tri-Ergon

Corp., 294 US. 477 (1985)...............cccrcessescosscesssesees 11,13
Ames v. Howard, 1 F. Cas. 755 (C.C.D. Mass. 1833).......... 7
Anderson’s-Black Rock, Inc. v. Pavement Salvage

i Ee UT cnccncisibhcnccicdaslibcncastiiitieticapihiiiggtasinetictienneude 14
Animal Legal Def. Fund v. Quigg, 932 F.2d 920

RAIS SSRI Pe me rs es Se 22
Atl. Works v. Brady, 107 U.S. 192 (1888)................ 9, 10, 16
Bean v. Smallwood, 2 F. Cas. 1142 (C.C.D. Mass.

SP iciiciisdeibichecidbccila digest ihn leslie 7
Brown ©. Piper G1 UB. ST (UBTE).......ccccccccsseseccescesscccescesesess 4
Cochrane v. Deener, 94 U.S. 780 (1876)..............ccccccceeeee eens 4
Concrete Appliances Co. v. Gomery, 269 U.S. 177

ERNE TE REEDS IPrrentonnsaereeene: A emmw Iman oF 13, 18, 19, 25
Corning v. Burden, 56 U.S. (15 How.) 252 (1853)............. 30
Cuno Eng. Corp. v. Automatic Devices Corp., 314

8 ERR ER eta Oe ee Ea a ee TE 11,14
Dann v. Johnston, 425 U.S. 219 (1976)................ccccceceeeeee 26
Densmore v. Scofield, 102 U.S. 375 (1880)... 14
Dunbar v. Myers, 94 U.S. 187 (1876) ..........ccccceeeeeceeees 9, 26
Earle v. Sawyer, 8 F. Cas. 254 (C.C.D. Mass. 1825)......6, 14
Electric Cable Joint Co. v. Brooklyn Edison Co., 292

Rr Sa aos a Sere ee 11

Evans v. Eaton, 8 F. Cas. 846 (C.C.D. Pa. 1816),
revd on other grounds, 16 U.S. (3 Wheat.) 454
RRIF eee: PAI en ae Ne ee 2 ON ONES 5

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES -— Continued

Page
Evans v. Eaton, 20 U.S. 356 (1822).........:...ccceeeseesseeeeeeseeeees 5
Florsheim v. Shilling, 137 U.S. 64 (1890)............ccccceeeeeees 11
Graham v. John Deere Co., 383 U.S. 1 (1966) ........... passim
Great Atl. & Pac. Tea Co. v. Supermarket Equip.

Corp., 340 U.S. 147 (1950)................:ccccceeeseeeeees 10, 12, 13
Hailes v. Van Wormer, 87 U.S. (20 Wall.) 353 (1878).......... iS)
Hollister v. Benedict Mfg. Co., 113 U.S. 59 (1885)............ 11
Honolulu Oil Corp. v. Halliburton, 306 U.S. 550

SIT ishcctnrindsiciidishasliciniegai edie ieiindihpabbiondianneiiiteedapinialacletipestinin 12
Hotchkiss v. Greenwood, 52 U.S. (11 How.) 248

STI cxcstoinee baie duesiindhientipdinciilpeeareupeyelteeebigtavesenbayentninai passim
Hovey v. Stevens, 12 F. Cas. 609 (C.C.D. Mass.

SNEED iainaithhicbccniineictaitscguntadiniiescceliianiahendlabibiarippeeaninibdiniriagitn 8
Howe v. Abbott, 12 F. Cas. 656 (C.C.D. Mass. 1842)........... 7
Hybritech Inc. v. Monoclonal Antibodies., Inc., 802

ce 8B Ee eee 22
In re Antonie, 449 F.2d 618 (C.C.P.A. 1977)............ccceeeees 18
In re Clay, 966 F.2d 656 (Fed. Cir. 1992) ..................cceeeee 26
In re Henze, 181 F.2d 196 (C.C.P.A. 1950) ....... 29
In re Kahn, 441 F.3d 977 (Fed. Cir. 2006)............. 24, 25, 26
In re Piasecki, 745 F.2d 1468 (Fed. Cir. 1984)............ 28, 29
In re Sang Su Lee, 277 F.3d 1338 (Fed. Cir. 2002)........... 25
In re Surrey, 319 F.2d 233 (C.C.P.A. 1963) ..................060.. 29
In re Tomlinson, 363 F.2d 928 (C.C.P.A. 1932) ................ .18

In re Warner, 379 F.2d 1011 (C.C.PA. 1967).......00.000..000... 28

iv
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Laboratory Corp. of Am. Holdings v. Metabolite

Labs., Inc., 126 S.Ct. 2921 (2006) ...........sccesecereeeeeeeeesens 3

Lincoln Eng. Co. of Ill. v. Stewart-Warner Corp.,

Se cenncnskcessinitin iibiccieceptiihnsiainpaiiiaalataas 14, 15
Marconi Wireless Telegraph Co. of Am. v. United

Ot Es ree ee ae 25
Merck & Co., Inc. v. Kessler, 80 F.3d 1543 (Fed. Cir.

I cccrresvesesineiibiniiateniesiniacininsiputiteptisninsinnipaleiuleiapaasedadeigsea lanai 22
Novo Industri A/S v. Travenol Labs., Inc., 677 F.2d

re Ge Sian ntcrichtiticanbhnininnigietiininiiis 18
O'Reilly v. Morse, 56 U.S. (15 How.) 62 (1853) ................... 4
Parker v. Flook, 437 U.S. 584 (1978).........ccccccsessseeeeeeeeseees 3
Pearce v. Mulford, 102 U.S. 112 (1880).............. cee eeeeeeeee 11
Penn. R. Co. v. Locomotive Eng. Safety Truck Co.,

gee Bf | a ene wrespenseiitesenn 11, 24
Powers-Kennedy Contracting Corp. v. Concrete

Mixing & Conveying Co., 282 U.S. 175 (1930).............. 12
Princeton Biochemicals, Inc. v. Beckman Coulter,

Inc., 411 F.3d 1332 (Fed. Cir. 2005)................cccceeeeeeeeees 26
Pro-Mold & Tool Co. v. Great Lakes Plastics, Inc.,

75 F.3d 1568 (Fed. Cir. 1996) .................ccssccccscssseoreesees 11
Reckendorfer v. Faber, 92 U.S. 347 (1875) ...........cccceseeeeees 9
Sakraida v. Ag Pro, Inc., 425 U.S. 273 (1976)............ 13, 15
Saranac Automatic Mach. Corp. v. Wirebound

Patents Co., 282 U.S. 704 (1931) ......... cee ceeeeeeeee 11, 12
Smith v. Goodyear Dental Vulcanite Co., 93 US.

GED CFD cxisitinirsectnvtsinncinscmniitiicinaneamm

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page
Smith v. Nichols, 88 U.S. (21 Wall.) 112 (1874).................. 9
Stratoflex, Inc. v. Aeroquip Corp., 713 F.2d 1530

SE PR EA ee a 27
Tec Air, Inc. v. Denso Mfg. Mich. Inc., 192 F.3d 1353

a lreuicliats 11
Teleflex Inc. v. KSR Int'l, Inc., 119 Fed. Appx. 282

EEE a nee er aE 11, 23, 26
Textile Mach. Works v. Louis Hirsch Textile Mach.,

I a i 11, 12
The Packing Company Cases, 105 U.S. 566 (1881).......... 11
Toledo Pressed Steel Co. v. Standard Parte, 307

Ln en a Se eT Cree 12, 27, 28
United States v. Adams, 383 U.S. 39

EST aE en SO 18, 19, 20, 27, 30
Webster Loom Co. v. Higgens, 105 U.S. 580 (1881)........... 23
Whittemore v. Cutter, 29 F. Cas. 1123 (C.C.D. Mass.

EE SSS SSE Ss ne ee oe Ee 6, 7
Wyeth v. Stone, 30 F. Cas. 723 (C.C.D. Mass. 1840)............ 4
Washburn & Moen Mfg. Co. v. Beat ‘Em All Barbed-

Wire Co. (the Barbed Wire patent), 143 U.S. 275

OS SERS ENG AT TR SO LC 22, 23, 24
CONSTITUTION AND STATUTES
SG ee ae ee 3
Act of April 10, 1790, ch. 7, § 1, 1 Stat. 109, 110................ 3
Act of Feb. 21, 1793, ch. 11, § 1, 1 Stat. 318, 318............... 5

Act of Feb. 21, 1793, ch. 11, § 2, 1 Stat. 318, 321............... 5

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page
Act of July 4, 1836, ch. 357, § 1, 5 Stat. 117, 117............ 7,8
Act of July 4, 1836, ch. 357, § 2, 5 Stat. 117, 118........00...... 5
Act of July 19, 1952, ch. 950, § 103, 66 Stat. 792,

SRE SERRE Re es eee ee ee ss tatiahctleedeiaaiad aliiaadad 13, 14
8 EEE eee ee ovee a IRE. -e PRE 4
REF ESPEN a oe wae eee passim
ERIE esa ow Er eee eee Nee aT ene aS 21
| | RTS SRE, SENESCENT 29
35 U.S.C.A § 131 revision note (1954)..............ccccceceeeeeereeees 3
GOVERNMENTAL MATERIALS
Chief Judge Paul R. Michel, “The State of the

Court” (Federal Circuit Bar Association Annual

Conference, June 29, 2006, revised July 10,

2006), available at http://)www-fedcir.gov/speech.

pdf (last visited Aug. 9, 2006) ..................2.ccececeeeeeeeseeeees 19
Manual of Patent Examining Procedure § 2144.06

I 24
Manual of Patent Examining Procedure § 2143.01

ERIE A en one me a 24
I le 4
8 8 SESE SEE aer enon ne 7

U.S. Federal Trade Commission, To Promote
Innovation: The Proper Balance of Competition
and Patent Law and Policy (Oct. 2003), available
at http://www.ftc. gov/os/2003/10/innovationrpt. pdf
Grr Cea Batam, D, Be caticcrcccecscscsecccscoscescccncsveses 22, 28

vii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES -— Continued

Page
OTHER

John H. Barton, Non-Obviousness, 43 IDEA 475
SERIES TS A SPR ate We a 15, 16, 23, 24, 28

John H. Barton, Reforming the Patent System, 287
4 EE een Sa os 10

Greg Blonder, Cutting Through the Patent Thicket;
The current U.S. system is harming innovation.
A simplified process with stronger patents would
encourage economic growth, Business Week
I le cadeniementnmppinnanaes 19

Wesley M. Cohen et al., Protecting Their Intellec-
tual Assets: Appropriability Conditions and Why
U.S. Manufacturing Firms Patent (or Not) (Natl.
Bureau of Econ. Research Working Paper No.
W7552, Feb. 2000), available at http://www.nber.
org/papers/w7552, last visited Aug. 9, 2006).......... 15, 16

John F. Duffy & Robert P. Merges, The Story of
Graham v. John Deere Company: Patent Law’s
Evolving Standard of Creativity, in Intellectual
Property Stories (Jane C. Ginsberg & Rochelle C.
Dreyfuss eds. Foundation 2006)........................+. 9, 16,17

Harold I. Dutton, The patent system and inventive
activity during the industrial revolution 1750-

1852 (Manchester U. Press 1984) .................cccseceeeseeeeeees 8
Niles Eldredge, Darwin, Discovering the Tree of
Life (W.W. Norton & Co. 2005) .0........cccccccsceeeeereneeeenenes 26

Matthew D. Henry & John L. Turner, The Court of
Appeals for the Federal Circuit's Impact on Pat-
ent Litigation, 35 J. Legal Stud. 85 (2006) ................... 29

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES -— Continued

Robert M. Hunt, Federal Reserve Bank of Philadel-
phia, Nonobviousness and the Incentive to Inno-
vate: An Economic Analysis of Intellectual
Property Reform, Working Paper No. 99-3 (Mar.
aD veissiceinticeseisiceseiaitinapitashninsindlbcihaderissieriatiiiadiitnatihtbipaiait 9, 10

Thomas Jefferson, Letter to Isaac MacPherson
(Aug. 13, 1813), reprinted in The Portable Thomas
Jefferson (Merrill D. Peterson ed. Penguin Books
EES EE ees eae es, ke Se 4, 5, 22

B. Zorina Khan, Property Rights and Patent Litiga-
tion in Early Nineteenth-Century America, 55 J.

I 9
Edmund Kitch, Graham v. John Deere Co.: New

Standards for Patents, 1966 Sup. Ct. Rev. 293............. 15
Steven Lubar, The Transformation of Antebellum

Patent Law, 32 Tech. and Culture 932 (1991)................. 7

Robert P. Merges, Commercial Success and Patent
Standards: Economic Perspectives on Innovation,

ee in Ss CE ceritrrictnenencentivien ncn chensibtentecconase 27
Robert P. Merges, Uncertainty and the Standard of
Patentability, 7 High Tech L.J. 1 (1992)..................002- 17

Joel Mokyr, Why Was the Industrial Revolution a
European Phenomenon, 10 Sup. Ct. Econ. Rev. 27
Sr iceijiinantaansinteghitennensastensindbdininsiiiueinaeianinetesiibininiinens 25, 26

Robert C. Post, “Liberalizers” versus “Scientific
Men” in the Antebellum Patent Office, 17 Tech.
CE EEE EEL LE OO Oe 7,8

Giles S. Rich, The Principles of Patentability, 42 J.
Pe, Ge BaD ctrtntcteitninecnsnnttstntesscenisiocins 3, 16, 27

ix

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page
John Schlicher, Patent Law: Legal and Economic
Peirce Ceres BID sseccccececectescnssecectcesccrssccensnousscenssss 15
John R. Thomas, The Patenting of the Liberal
Professions, 40 B.C. L. Rev. 1139 (1999) ..............cccccceeee 3

Edward C. Walterscheid, Patents and Manufactur-
ing in the Early Republic, 80 J. Pat. & Trade-
mark Off. Soc’y 855 (1998) .............cccccccccceeeesssersrreereeeeeees 7

Edward C. Walterscheid, The Hotchkiss Unobvi-
ousness Standard: Early Judicial Activism in the
Patent Law, 13 J. Intell. Prop. L. 103 (2005).... 4, 5, 6, 10

Edward C. Walterscheid, The Use and Abuse of
History: The Supreme Court’s Interpretation of
Thomas Jefferson’s Influence on Patent Law, 39
SUITE TT cdelesechbaihibitihiiteaiabiaapininbbdnebibeudtieiinaeioniien 5

Edward C. Walterscheid, To Promote the Progress to
Useful Arts: American Patent Law and Admini-
stration, 1787-1836 (Part I), 79 J. Pat. & Trade-
ey Se I cecrrnreventhieciotvesiethdectniitsintanieciicits 5

Email from Edward C. Walterscheid to Joshua D.
I I tend dilate 10

ae

te

ay

Al
<
“f
am
ae

i

7" ag

alae Ga: /* i*

we is a |
Rr ae

1

INTEREST OF THE AMICI CURIAE

This brief is filed on behalf of the Economists and Legal
Historians identified in Appendix A (Historians).’ Historians
teach and write about technological development and United
States patent laws. Historians are concerned that the
standards currently applied to determine obviousness by the
U.S. Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit (Federal
Circuit), and thus by the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office
(Patent Office), conflict with historic standards of this Court.
The Court’s standards have required new inventions to make
a substantial technological contribution to the art in order to
be patentable, and thus have helped to assure technological
progress in the United States. By reviewing the history of
the obviousness standard, Historians hope to assist the
Court in re-establishing appropriate thresholds of techno-
logical creativity and in providing guidance for the Patent
Office and courts to determine which new inventions war-
rant patents.

SUMMARY OF THE ARGUMENT

The Patent Office originally and this Court subse-
quently articulated a substantial technological threshold
for the level of inventive contribution that warrants the
grant of a patent. The Court later held this threshold to be
a constitutional requirement. Otherwise, patents would
withdraw from unrestricted use inventions that the public
already constructively possessed and would thereby
retard rather than promote technological progress. Before

’ Petitioner’s and Respondents’ letters of consent have been filed
with the Clerk. This brief was not authored in whole or in part by
counsel for any party. No one other than Amici and their counsel made
a monetary contribution to preparing or submitting this brief.

2

1952, the Court repeatedly held: that new inventions (particu-
larly combinations of prior art elements) were unpatentable
even though they had not been contemplated in the art; that
circumstantial evidence of technological creativity must be
evaluated with care; and that exogenous changes in technol-
ogy would predictably trigger rapid creation of new inven-
tions. Congress ratified the Court’s precedents on the
inventive threshold in 1952, when codifying the obviousness
standard in Section 103 of the Patent Act.

In Graham v. John Deere Co., 383 U.S. 1 (1966), the
Court articulated the purpose of the obviousness standard —
to limit patents to inventions that would not have been made
but for the patent incentive — and specified a methodology for
applying it. Additional guidance is needed, however, for
proper understanding and application of the standard.
Historians suggest that the Court restate the purpose of the
standard as to prohibit patents on inventions that could have
been made within a reasonable period of time and within
reasonable budgetary constraints. This restatement clarifies
that the Graham methodology mandates an inquiry requir-
ing both technical expertise and policy judgment. The
proposed restatement will lead over time to more reasoned
analysis by the Patent Office and the courts. In contrast, the
current standards being applied by the Patent Office and the
Federal Circuit — particularly the teaching, suggestion, or
motivation to combine test created by the Federal Circuit
and applied in this case — conflict with the Court’s jurispru-
dence, are applied without sufficient sensitivity to the
technological context at a particular time, and permit
patents to issue and to be held valid for insignificant contri-
butions to the art.

Historians further suggest that the Court clarify the
proper allocaticn of burdens of production and proof of

3

obviousness. Given the limited resources of the Patent Office,
the current allocation may often lead to erroneous results. At
a minimum, the Court should clarify that to assess obvious-
ness, no evidentiary burden exists to document a teaching,
suggestion, or motivation to combine the prior art.

ARGUMENT

I. This Court Historically Has Imposed a Substantial
Threshold of Technological Creativity for the
Patentability of New Inventions

The 1790 Patent Act required the Patent Office to
review applications to determine if the disclosed “inven-
tion or discovery [was] sufficiently useful and important”
to warrant granting a patent. See Act of April 10, 1790, ch.
7, § 1, 1 Stat. 109, 110.’ Since 1790, this Court has refused
to grant or has invalidated patents unless the new techno-
logical “invention™ for which exclusive rights were sought
resulted from substantial technological creativity. The

* Congress retained this language in the Patent Act until 1952, when
it was eliminated as “‘unnecessary ” ir light of the newly codified obvious-
ness standard. Giles S. Rich, The Principles of Patentability, 42 J. Pat. Off.
Soc’y 75, 80-81 (1960) (quoting 35 U.S.C.A. § 131 revision note (1954)).

* Historians refer to all novel creations and combinations as inven-
tions although many cases treated only those that were patentable as
inventions. Further, “inventions” or “discoveries” may not be patentable
unless they are within the “useful Arts.” U.S. Const., Art. I, § 8, cl. 8. See
Parker v. Flook, 437 U.S. 584, 593 (1978) (assessment of the type of
discovery must precede determination of novelty and obviousness). Cf
Laboratory Corp. of Am. Holdings v. Metabolite Labs., Inc., 126 S.Ct. 2921
(2006) (dismissing as improvidently granted a subject matter challenge to a
patented claim). See generally John R. Thomas, The Patenting of the
Liberal Professions, 40 B.C. L. Rev. 1139, 1163-75 (1999) (discussing
historic understanding of the “technological arts”).

4

Court in this case has the opportunity to affirm this
fundamental premise.

As this Court recognized in Graham, the three-person
Patent Board under the 1790 Patent Act had created rules
that categorically excluded certain types of novel inven-
tions from being considered patentable. See 383 U.S. at 9,
10 & n.3 (application of a machine to a new use;* changes
in the material of construction; changes of form; and use of
previously known implements in combination). The
premise of these rules was that the public constructively
possessed novel inventions that were within the skill in
the art to create or to apply, and thus public rights to use
such inventions should not be taken away by legislative
grants of exclusive rights. See Thomas Jefferson, Letter to
Isaac MacPherson (Aug. 13, 1813), reprinted in The
Portable Thomas Jefferson at 531 (Merrill D. Peterson ed.
Penguin Books 1975) (Jefferson, Letter) (“[T]his right [to
use] ought not to be taken from him and given to a mo-
nopolist, because the first perhaps had occasion so to apply
it.”); Brown v. Piper, 91 U.S. 37, 41 (1875) (inventions
“within the circle of what was well known before ...
belonged to the public”). This premise followed from the
lack of natural rights in inventions and the limited power

* This Court originally prohibited patents for processes and later
permitted new-use patents and patents on processes. Compare Wyeth v.
Stone, 30 F. Cas. 723, 727 (C.C.D. Mass. 1840), and O'Reilly v. Morse,
56 U.S. (15 How.) 62, 112-13 (1853), with Cochrane v. Deener, 94 U.S.
780, 787 (1876). Congress subsequently ratified patents for new uses of
existing inventions. See 35 U.S.C. § 100(b) (“process . . . includes a new
use of a known process, machine”); S. Rep. No. 82-1979, at 6 (1952)
(discussing the process definition).

* See also Edward C. Walterscheid, The Hotchkiss Unobviousness
Standard: Early Judicial Activism in the Patent Law, 13 J. Intell. Prop.
L. 103, 107-08 (2005) (Walterscheid, Hotchkiss).

5

vested in Congress. See id.; Graham, 383 U.S. at 5-6 (Con-
gress may neither “enlarge the patent monopoly without
regard to the innovation, advancement or social benefit
gained thereby” nor “authorize the issuance of patents whose
effects are to remove existent knowledge from the public
domain, or to restrict free access to materials already
available.”).

_ Jefferson also thought that the expertise of the Patent
Office, rather than of courts, was best suited to develop
the principles for determining the threshold of creativity
that warranted granting exclusive rights. See Jefferson,
Letter, supra, at 532. Jefferson was particularly concerned
that the grant of unjustified patents would result in
“harassment by lawsuits.” Jd. Jefferson's views on patent
laws, however, were controversial.°

Congress did not at first follow Jefferson’s advice, as it
eliminated the examination system in the 1793 Patent Act.
See Act of Feb. 21, 1793, ch. 11, § 1, 1 Stat. 318, 318.’ The

* See generally Edward C. Walterscheid, The Use and Abuse of
History: The Supreme Court's Interpretation of Thomas Jefferson's
Influence on Patent Law, 39 IDEA 195 (1999).

" See Edward C. Walterscheid, To Promote the Progress to Useful Arts:
American Patent Law and Administration, 1787-1836 (Part I), 79 J. Pat. &
Trademark Off. Soc’y 61, 72-74 (1997) (describing the transition from an
examination to a registration system based on the English patent system).
Congress did agree that “simply changing the form or the proportions . . . in
any degree, shall not be deemed a discovery.” Act of Feb. 21, 1793, ch. 11,.
§ 2, 1 Stat. 318, 321. See Evans v. Eaton, 8 F. Cas. 846, 852 (C.C.D. Pa.
1816) (the requirement limited patentability to changes in “principles” of
invention), rev'd on other grounds, 16 U.S. (3 Wheat.) 454 (1818); Evans v.
Eaton, 20 U.S. 356, 431 (1822) (same). See Walterscheid, Hotchkiss, supra,
at 108-15 (discussing doctrinal changes resulting from this language). In
1836, Congress eliminated this provision, but the Court continued to
invalidate patents that had issued for such inventions. See id. at 116; Act of
July 4, 1836, ch. 357, § 2, 5 Stat. 117, 118.

6

federal courts thus took up the task of elaborating the
required threshold of technological creativity that war-
ranted the grant of a patent. Like Congress, the courts did
not adopt Jefferson’s views wholesale.

For example, in Earle v. Sawyer, 8 F. Cas. 254 (C.C.D.
Mass. 1825), Justice Story upheld a patent for an im-
proved machine for sawing shingles, which substituted a
circular saw for a perpendicular saw. Justice Story re-
buffed the defendant’s “metaphysical” argument that the
invention was unpatentable without creative ingenuity. Jd.
at 255. Moreover, he rejected the entire argument that:

[an inventor] must find [the invention] out by men-

tal labor and intellectual creation. If the result of

accident, it must be what would not occur to all

persons skilled in the art, who wished to produce

the same result. There must be some addition to

the common stock of knowledge, and not merely

the first use of what was known before.... The

mere putting of two things together, although

never done before, is no invention.
Id. Nevertheless, even Justice Story agreed that not all
new inventions were patentable. In Whittemore v. Cutter,
29 F. Cas. 1123 (C.C.D. Mass. 1813), Justice Story held
that a new use of an existing machine or its combination
with other existing machines was not, without more, a
patentable invention. “(Flor if the different effects were all
produced by the same application of machinery, in sepa-
rate parts, and he merely combined them together, or

* Cf. Walterscheid, Hotchkiss, supra, at 105, 126-32 (arguing that
such judicial elaboration reflected activism that was not authorized by
the statute, but that Congress ultimately ratified the Court's prece-
dents in the 1952 Act).

7

added a new effect, such combination would not sustain
the present patent... .” Jd. at 1124.”

By 1836, Congress repented its earlier decision to
register patents. Congress adopted an examination system
to prevent the widespread issuance of invalid patents that
had resulted in unjustified litigation and destruction of
businesses. See Act of July 4, 1836, ch. 357, § 1, 5 Stat.
117, 117. “Almost 10,000 patents were issued under [the
1793 Act], the majority of which were either for useless
inventions or used to fraudulently impose on the public.””
But effective examination would require the hiring of
highly qualified examiners, who would be familiar with
existing knowledge and technologies in the various arts in
which patents were sought. See S. Rep. No. 24-338, at 4
(1836). Congress did not provide sufficient funds to pay
required salaries, and examiners needed too much time to
research prior art. Thus, although trained examiners became
increasingly rigid in evaluating patentability, patent quality
suffered and significant backlogs in processing developed.”

* See also Bean v. Smallwood, 2 F. Cas. 1142, 1142 (C.C.D. Mass.
1843); Howe v. Abbott, 12 F. Cas. 656, 658 (C.C.D. Mass. 1842); Ames v.
Howard, 1 F. Cas. 755, 757 (C.C.D. Mass. 1833).

* See also S. REP. No. 24-338, at 1-8 (1836) (discussing the
statutory provisions, changes in the economy that had made the patent
system more important, and the need to “arrest injury and injustice at
the threshold”); Steven Lubar, The Transformation of Antebellum
Patent Law, 32 Tech. and Culture 932, 941 (1991) (discussing the
issuance and effects of patents under the 1793 Act).

“ Edward C. Walterscheid, Patents and Manufacturing in the
Early Republic, 80 J. Pat. & Trademark Off. Soc’y 855, 886 (1998).
* See, e.g., Robert C. Post, “Liberalizers” versus “Scientific Men” in
the Antebellum Patent Office, 17 Tech. and Culture 24, 33, 37-39 (1976),
Lubar, supra, at 945. Following a political campaign against rigid
examination, scientists were replaced by political appointees who
(Continued on following page)

8

Pre-1850 examination practice under the American system
was perceived abroad as “‘a miserable failure.’””

In this context, the Supreme Court decided Hotchkiss
v. Greenwood, 52 U.S. (11 How.) 248 (1851). The case
addressed a novel combination of prior art elements. The
inventor had substituted known clay and porcelain door
knobs for common iron knobs, employing a dovetail to secure
the shank. The plaintiffs requested a jury instruction that
clay knobs and shanks in the prior art had not been com-
bined earlier and that the attachment required skill and
invention to achieve the useful result (better functioning and
cheaper manufacturing). See id. at 264. The Court upheld
the trial court’s actual instruction that, if the same form and
purposes of knobs and attachments were known, if clay was
simply substituted for metal, and if “no more ingenuity or
skill [were] required to construct the knob in this way than
that possessed by an ordinary mechanic acquainted with the
business,” then there was no patentable invention and the
issued patent was invalid. Jd. at 265.“

The Court rejected the argument that substitution of
materials — even if it makes an invention “better and
cheaper” to manufacture —- makes for a patentably distinct
invention. Jd. at 266. “The difference is formal, and destitute
of ingenuity or invention. It may afford evidence of judg-
ment and skill in the selection and adaptation of the

lowered examination standards, fueling an explosion in patenting
beginning in the 1850s. See Post, supra, at 39-52.

“ Harold I. Dutton, The patent system and inventive activity
during the industrial revolution 1750-1852 61 (Manchester U. Press
1984) (citation omitted).

“ At least one lower court had interpreted the 1836 Act to preclude
patents on new combinations that were “a very obvious change to any
mechanic.” Hovey v. Stevens, 12 F. Cas. 609, 612 (C.C.D. Mass. 1846).

9

materials in the manufacture of the instrument for the
purposes intended, but nothing more.” Jd. The Court also
rejected the argument that there were unique advantages
to the particular combination. See id. at 266-67 (noting
that even if the fastening produced “a new and peculiar
effect” having various benefits, the effect would be
achieved by other available materials). As the Court later
affirmed in Reckendorfer v. Faber, 92 U.S. 347 (1875), to be
patentable “the results must be the product of the combi-
nation, not a mere aggregate of several results, each the
complete product of one of the combined elements.” Jd. at
353 (citing Hailes v. Van Wormer, 87 U.S. (20 Wall.) 353
(1873)). See also Dunbar v. Myers, 94 U.S. 187, 199 (1876)
(change of “form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution
of equivalents,” does not make an invention patentable, even
though they “may produce better results”) (citing Smith v.
Nichols, 88 U.S. (21 Wall.) 112, 115 (1874)).

Hotchkiss was decided during a period of remarkable
technological change, when invention and innovation were
highly valued.” The Court’s holding should be no surprise,
as the justification for a high creative threshold “rests in
part on the existence of change in social needs, conditions
and technology ... [and] should be less important in a
static society or one experiencing only very gradual
change.”” In Atlantic Works v. Brady, 107 U.S. 192 (1883),

* See, e.g., B. Zorina Khan, Property Rights and Patent Litigation in
Early Nineteenth-Century America, 55 J. Econ. Hist. 58, 70-71 (1995) (also
noting changing judicial attitudes over the course of the 19th Century).

* John F. Duffy & Robert P. Merges, The Story of Graham v. John
Deere Company: Patent Law's Evolving Standard of Creativity, in
Intellectual Property Stories at 114 (Jane C. Ginsberg & Rochelle C.
Dreyfuss eds. Foundation 2006). See Robert M. Hunt, Federal Reserve
Bank of Philadelphia, Nonobviousness and the Incentive to Innovate:
An Economic Analysis of Intellectual Property Reform, Working Paper

(Continued on following page)

10

Justice Bradley provided a detailed conceptual justifica-
tion for setting the threshold of technological contribution
above “ordinary mechanical or engineering skill,” which
precluded patents on inventions that “would naturally and
spontaneously occur... .” Jd. at 200. Otherwise, “[s]uch an
indiscriminate creation of exclusive privileges tends rather
to obstruct than to stimulate invention. It creates a class
of speculative schemers . . . [who anticipate improvements
and use their patent monopolies} to lay a heavy tax upon
the industry of the country, without contributing anything
to the real advancement of the art.” Id. See id. (such
patents “embarrass[] the honest pursuit of business with
fears and apprehensions of concealed liens and unknown
liabilities to lawsuits and vexatious accountings for profits
made in good faith”); Great Atl. & Pac. Tea Co. v. Super-
market Equip. Corp., 340 U.S. 147, 152-53 (1950) (patents
on combinations of “old elements with no change in their
respective functions” withdraw “what already is known
into the field of its monopoly and diminish{] the resources
available to skillful men.”). The Court in Graham there-
fore treated the prohibition of patents on obvious inven-
tions as a constitutional requirement. See 383 U.S. at 6.”

No. 99-3 (Mar. 1999) (explaining how reducing nonobviousness re-
quirements can lead to reductions in research and development activity,
particularly in rapidly innovating industries). Cf John H. Barton,
Reforming the Patent System, 287 Science 1933, 1933 (2000) (limiting
patents on minor inventions reduces patent system costs “without any
effect on the incentives provided for more important innovation”).

" But cf. Walterscheid, Hotchkiss, supra, at 124-26 (arguing that the
Court in Graham interpreted the Constitution to impose a requirement of
inventive contribution beyond novelty, but did not justify the obvious-
ness standard on this requirement). Mr. Walterscheid believes, how-
ever, that the Constitution does require such a prohibition and that
Graham should have been decided on this basis. Email from Edward C.
Walterscheid to Joshua D. Sarnoff (Aug. 21, 2006).

11

In the second half of the 19th Century and the first
half of the 20th Century, the Court solidified its decisions
on the high inventive threshold for patentability, repeat-
edly holding that significant technological creativity was
required above the ordinary skill in the art (as reflected by a
substantial change to prior art applications or functions).”*
The fact that the “new form of result hald) not before been
contemplated” (what the Federal Circuit has characterized
as a teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the prior
art”) did not suffice for patentability. Penn. R. Co., 110 U.S.
at 494. Even without prior contemplation of the combination
and economic motivations to make it, the invention had to
reflect a sufficient technological advance beyond what
ordinary skill could create. Accordingly, the Court (unlike the
Federal Circuit) has treated skill in the art and prior con-
templation as cumulative or disjunctive hurdles.”

* See, eg, The Packing Company Cases, 105 U.S. 566, 571-72
(1881) (citing Pearce v. Mulford, 102 U.S. 112, 118 (1880)); Penn. R. Co.
v. Locomotive Eng. Safety Truck Co., 110 U.S. 490, 494 (1884); Flor-
sheim v. Shilling, 137 U.S. 64, 76 (1890); Saranac Automatic Mach.
Corp. v. Wirebound Patents Co., 282 U.S. 704, 713 (1931) (citing
Hollister v. Benedict Mfg. Co., 113 U.S. 59, 72-73 (1885)); Cuno Eng.
Corp. v. Automatic Devices Corp., 314 U.S. 84, 89-90 (1942).

” See Teleflex Inc. v. KSR Int'l, Inc., 119 Fed. Appx. 282, 285-86
(Fed. Cir. 2005) (citing, inter alia, Tec Air, Inc. v. Denso Mfg. Mich. Inc.,
192 F.3d 1353 (Fed. Cir. 1999); Pro-Mold & Tool Co. v. Great Lakes
Plastics, Inc., 75 F.3d 1568, 1572 (Fed. Cir. 1996)).

* See, e.g., Textile Mach. Works v. Louis Hirsch Textile Mach., 302
U.S. 490, 497 (1938) (“the addition fof a new element to a combination]
must be the result of invention rather than the mere exercise of the skill
of the calling, and not one plainly indicated by the prior art”) (emphasis
added), Altoona Publix Theaters, Inc. v. Am. Tri-Ergon Corp., 294 U.S. 477,
486 (1935) (improvements “must be the result of invention, and not the
mere exercise of the skill of the calling or an advance plainly indicated
by the prior art”) (citing Electric Cable Joint Co. v. Brooklyn Edison Co.,
292 U.S. 69, 79-80 (1934)) (emphasis added).

12

Proof of the existence in the prior art of all of the parts of
the combination thus was normally sufficient to demonstrate
that the invention was unpatentable,” unless the patentee
introduced evidence to show that an unexpected function had
resulted. In that case, the Court would carefully scrutinize
the evidence of an unexpected function and arguments that
the function had resulted from the application of more than
ordinary skill.” Similarly, the Court would carefully scruti-
nize arguments that evidence of commercial success demon-
strated that ordinary skill was insufficient to make the
combination. As the Court recognized, commercial success
can result from many sources, and even success attributable
to the invention does not necessary demonstrate a sufficient
technological contribution.” Thus, the Court rarely credited

* See, e.g., Honolulu Oil Corp. v. Halliburton, 306 U.S. 550, 562
(1939) (“{T}he method claimed in suit was clearly indicated in the prior
art. It cannot reasonably be held that anything more than mechanical
skill ... would be required to suggest the [last step, which was known
from other prior art patents}.”).

™ See, e.g., Powers-Kennedy Contracting Corp. v. Concrete Mixing
& Conveying Co., 282 U.S. 175, 184 (1930) (noting the lack of evidence
of prior impracticability and the “presumption of operability from ...
patenting”); id. at 184-85 (rejecting arguments of inventiveness based
on a change in size, which involved “no more than mechanical! skill and
would not amount to invention”); Toledo Pressed Steel Co. v. Standard
Parts, 307 U.S. 350, 356 (1939) (concluding “[o]n the records before us,
it is impossible to hold that production of the patented device [a ‘mere
aggregation’] required more than mechanical skil] and originality
attributable to those familiar with the art”).

* See, e.g., Textile Mach. Works, 302 U.S. at 498-99 (“success may
be decisive where invention is in doubt, but an insuperable obstacle .. .
here is our inability .. . to say ‘that an art which knew how to [use the
prior art elements] ... required some uncommon talent merely to
conceive of combining the two’”) (citation omitted), Saranac Automatic
Mach. Corp., 282 U.S. at 713-14 (rejecting commercial success evidence
because the patented invention did not “embrace| |” a “new result” and
did not “involve invention”); Great Atl. & Pac. Tea Co., 340 U.S. at 153
(rejecting lower court reliance on evidence that the invention “filled

(Continued on following page)

13

circumstantial evidence of commercial success when direct
evidence suggested that sufficient skill existed in the art.”
Finally, as the Court recognized in Concrete Appliances
Co. v. Gomery, 269 U.S. 177 (1925), a novel combination may
become apparent when exogenous developments in technology
occur or when a new motivation to apply existing technology
arises, resulting in the nearly simultaneous invention of
similar or identical subject matter. A few years prior to the
invention at issue in that case, the use of wet concrete had
become the norm in building practices and prior art devices
for moving grain and similar substances had been adapted for
use with wet concrete. See id. at 182. Once the feasibility of
using wet concrete was established, “common experience in
the mechanical arts would lead one to expect that ... the
mechanical skill of those familiar with engineering and
building problems would seek to make use of known methods
and appliances. ...” Jd. at 184. Given the exogenous techno-
logical developments, the independent and nearly simultane-
ous creation of a novel combination and the existence of
competing patent applications provided “persuasive evidence”
to demonstrate the lack of patentable creativity. Id. at 185.
‘In 1952, Congress codified the Court’s high threshold of
inventive creativity, prohibiting patents on new inventions
that were “obvious” differences from the prior art. See Act

a long-felt want and has enjoyed commercial success” because “commer-
cial success without invention will not make patentability”); Sakraida
v. Ag Pro, Inc., 425 U.S. 273, 282-83 (1976) (production benefits and
commercial success “‘did not produce a “new or different function” . . .
within the test of validity of combination patents.’ ... These desirable
benefits ‘without invention will not make patentability.’”) (citations
omitted).

* See, e.g., Altoona Publix Theaters, 294 US. at 487-88 (lack of invention
“would have to be far more doubtful . . . to be aided by evidence of commercial
success, indicating that it brought realization of a long-felt want”).

14

of July 19, 1952, ch. 950, § 103, 66 Stat. 792, 798 (currently
codified at 35 U.S.C. § 103(a)). Congress provided that:
A patent may not be obtained though the inven-
tion is not identically disclosed or described as
set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differ-
ences between the subject matter sought to be
patented and the prior art are such that the sub-
ject matter as a whole would have been obvious
at the time the invention was made to a person
having ordinary skill in the art to which said
subject matter pertains.
35 U.S.C. § 103(a). As the Court held in Graham, “the
revision was not intended by Congress to change the
general level of patentable invention... [but] was in-
tended merely as a codification of judicial precedents”
including Hotchkiss. 383 U.S. at 17. See id. at 3-4.”

Accordingly, in Anderson’s-Black Rock, Inc. v. Pave-
ment Salvage Co., 396 U.S. 57 (1969), the Court held that
the invention at issue merely combined the functions of
separate machines into one machine, which was “not
critical or essential to the functioning” but rather was only
“a matter of great convenience[ that] did not produce a
‘new or different function ... within the test of validity of
combination patents.’” Jd. at 60 (quoting Lincoln Eng. Co.

* The enacted provision also included that “[p]atentability shall not be
negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.” 35 U.S.C.
§ 103(a). This additional language should not be understood as altering the
Court’s prior standard for the objective technological contribution required.
Rather, it reflects only legislative rejection of the subjective “flash of
creative genius” formulation articulated in Cuno Eng. Corp., 314 U.S. at
91, which the Court in Graham subsequently held was only a “rhetorical
embellishment” of the Hotchkiss standard. 383 U.S. at 15 n.7. Cf Densmore
v. Scofield, 102 U.S. 375, 378 (1880) (quoting appellant’s argument that the
invention lacked “‘a flash of thought’”); Earle, 8 F.Cas. at 255 (rejecting
consideration of “mental labor”).

15

of Ill. v. Stewart-Warner Corp., 303 U.S. 545, 549 (1938)). See
id. at 59 (placing all the components together “is relevant to
commercial success, not to invention”). Similarly, in Sak-
raida, the Court held that, by rearranging old elements to
perform the same functions, the invention might “perhaps
producfe] a more striking result” but “[s]uch combinations
are not patentable under standards appropriate for a combi-
nation patent.” 425 U.S. at 282. See id. at 281-82 (dismissing
evidence of improved function that had been relied on by the
Court of Appeals to reverse the District Court).

Il. The Graham Approach to Determining
Patentability is Sound, But Requires Further
Clarification for Its Proper Understanding
and Application by the Patent Office and the
Courts.

As the Court held in Graham, the purpose of the
obviousness standard is “to develop some means of weed-
ing out those inventions which would not be disclosed or
devised but for the inducement of a patent.” 383 U.S. at
11.¥ This statement of purpose takes into account the
different incentives that exist to make inventions and the
different means of appropriating returns from inventions.”

* Cf. Edmund Kitch, Graham v. John Deere Co.: New Standards
for Patents, 1966 Sup. Ct. Rev. 293, 301 (recommending an “unlikely to
be developed” standard and noting that obviousness analysis “does not
view the inducement of investment . . . as an appropriate function of the
patent system”); John Schlicher, Patent Law: Legal and Economic
Principles at 5-7 (West 1992) (arguing that § 103 forbids patents “where
the cost and risk of independent research to obtain an invention are low
enough that an ordinary researcher would be expected to incur them at
about the same time without the additional incentive of a patent”).

” See, e.g., John H. Barton, Non-Obviousness, 43 IDEA 475, 491-93
(2003) (Barton, Non-Obviousness) (citing Wesley M. Cohen et al.,
(Continued on following page)

16

This statement of purpose, however, does not readily
distinguish when the patent incentive is needed, given
that “there is little doubt that ... routine research would
be done in the absence of a patent system, assuming the
market is important enough.”

This statement of purpose, moreover, fails to articu-
late a relevant time frame over which to assess whether
new inventions would otherwise have been “disclosed or
devised.” See Atl. Works, 107 U.S. at 200 (ordinary me-
chanics continuously make improvements and thus inven-
tions “naturally and spontaneously occur”). The legislative
language requires only that the judgment of obviousness
must be based on the state of the art “at the time the
invention was made.” 35 U.S.C. § 103(a). But obviousness
must be assessed by evaluating what will occur in the
future (based on analysis informed by looking at the past).
Because the articulation in Graham does not directly
address how quickly the art would develop, the Patent
Office and the courts have failed adequately to consider
how quickly the invention might spontaneously occur.”

Protecting Their Intellectual Assets: Appropriability Conditions and
Why U.S. Manufacturing Firms Patent (or Not) (Natl. Bureau of Econ.
Research Working Paper No. W7552, Feb. 2000), available at
http://www.nber.org/papers/w7552, last visited Aug. 9, 2006).

* Barton, Non-Obviousness, supra, at 506. See Duffy & Merges,
supra, at 152 (describing how, once a market developed, “the problem of
streamlining aln) internet checkout was easily solved,” requiring only
“the obvious application of existing techniques to a new problem”).

* See, e.g., Rich, supra, at 81-82 (discussing “the constant increment of
improvements on what we already have,” without explaining how to
differentiate between improvements produced “by the expected skill of
ordinary workers in the arts and by the unobvious developments which
would not occur spontaneously from the application of sucn ordinary skill”).

17

The Graham formulation also contains a conceptual
problem that encourages errors of analysis. Although a
patent provides an economic incentive, this Court’s case law
makes clear that the obviousness determination is a techni-
cal judgment regarding the capability of those skilled in the
art to make the invention. Obviousaess does not and should
not normally involve any consideration of the economic
motivations in the art to create the invention.”

A clearer restatement of the purpose wf the obvious-
ness standard is thus needed. Historians suggest that the
Court hold that the obviousness inquiry is designed to prohibit
patents on inventions that could have been made by those
skilled in the art within a reasonable period of time (following
the time that the invention at issue was actually made) and
within reasonable budgetary constraints. Historians believe
that this standard is implicit in the Court’s holding in
Hotchkiss that an invention is unpatentable if it requires “no
more ingenuity or skill ... to construct ... than that pos-
sessed by an ordinary mechanic acquainted with the busi-
ness.” 52 U.S. (11 How.) at 265." Some threshold of time and
effort is required to distinguish patentable from unpat-
entable inventions. The Court’s precedents regarding combi-
nations functioned as a proxy for directly assessing how
quickly the invention would be “devised or disclosed” and

*° There may be some rare inventions that are so costly and so risky
that the ability to recoup investments must be considered preconditions to
the ability of those skilled in the art to make them. But the level of skill in
the art presumes a reasonable research budget and the ability to engage in
routine development risks. See Robert P. Merges, Uncertainty and the
Standard of Patentability, 7 High Tech L.J. 1, 48-62 (1992).

™ See Duffy & Merges, supra, at 117 (discussing the “persistent
application of ordinary skills” and the “greater level of skill” required by
Hotchkiss, in regard to technical problems solved “after a few months of
modestly ingenious effort”).

18

whether that should be considered quickly enough. Direct
assessment of these questions requires more explicit
application of technical expertise and more explicit articu-
lation of policy judgments.

Because inventive efforts are limited by time and
budgetary constraints, persons having ordinary skill in the
art normally will experiment only with combinations having
reasonable expected probabilities of discovering new or
improved functions. Unless the reward is particularly great or
they have unusually large institutional or individual re-
sources, ordinary artisans cannot experiment with every
possible combination. For this reason, this Court held in the
companion case to Graham that the ability to repetitively
combine all known prior art substitutes does not necessarily
demonstrate obviousness, particularly if the prior art discour-
aged an expectation of success (which is commonly referred
to as teaching away from the solution). See United States v.
Adams, 383 U.S. 39, 51-52 (1966) (the combination battery at
issue required a person skilled in the art to “ignore..
long-accepted factors, [that] when taken together, wud,
we believe, deter any investigation into such a combina-
tion”).” Conversely, as recognized by the Court in Concrete
Appliances Co., once an exogenous technology shift occurs,
skilled artisans will rapidly apply new technology to create
new machines and processes having improved functions that

™ See, e.g., Novo Industri A/S v. Travenol Labs., inc., 677 F.2d
1202, 1208 (7th Cir. 1982) (discussing finite research time); Jn re
Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 620 (C.C.P.A. 1977) (stating that ignoring
unexpected results by focusing on “‘obvious to try’” experimentation is
inconsistent with the second sentence of § 103); In re Tomlinson, 363
F.2d 928, 931 (C.C.P.A. 1932) (stating that an “‘obviousness to try’”
approach to patentability would result in “a marked deterioration” of
incentives to invest in research).

19

earlier would have been thought unlikely to succeed. See 269
US. at 284.”

Significantly, the restatement Historians propose, like the
case law it derives from, poses only a technical question. It
requires determination of the expectation of success in achiev-
ing an inventive contribution of a particular magnitude within
reasonable (as determined by the Patent Office or the courts)
time and budgetary constraints. Nothing in this standard
requires evaluation of motivations — economic or otherwise —
to make the invention at issue, even though a patent might
provide economic motivations to do so. Rather, the standard
takes into account the degree of innovation that would occur
in a field without considering patentability.

This restatement accords with this Court’s holdings in
Graham and Adams, as well as its earlier and later cases.
In contrast, the teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine
test “created by the Federal Circuit”™ and applied in this case
conflicts with this Court’s cases. For example, under the
Federal Circuit’s test, the inventions in Graham should have
been deemed nonobvious, as there was no explicit or implicit
teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art to combine
the known mechanical parts.” In contrast, under the Federal

* Cf. Greg Blonder, Cutting Through the Patent Thicket; The
current U.S. system is harming innovation. A simplified process with
stronger patents would encourage economic growth, Business Week
Online (Dec. 20, 2005) (discussing how AT&T took old microwave
patents and filed identical claims on optical inventions, once the ability
developed to make things smaller).

“ Chief Judge Paul R. Michel, “The State of the Court,” at 9
(Federal Circuit Bar Association Annual Conference, June 29, 2006,
revised July 10, 2006), available at http://www-fedcir.gov/speech pdf
(last visited Aug. 9, 2006).

* See, e.g., 383 U.S. at 24-25 (“We assume that the prior art does
not disclose such an arrangement.... Certainly a person having
(Continued on following page)

20

Circuit's test, the chemical combination in Adams would have
been unpatentable based on a prior art suggestion to combine.”

Given the restatement proposed here, the Court can also
further clarify the methodology adopted in Graham.” As the
Court held in Graham, obviousness or nonobviousness “is
determined” “[a]gainst th{e] background” of: (1) determining
“the scope and content of the prior art”; (2) ascertaining the
“differences between the prior art and the claims at issue”;
and (3) resolving “the level of ordinary skill in the perti-
nent art.” 383 U.S. at 17. Circumstantial evidence of these
facts may be considered in determining obviousness. But
such secondary consideration evidence should be used only to
supplement the factual background against which to legally
determine obviousness. See id. at 17-18 (“Such secondary
considerations as commercial success, long felt but unsolved
needs, failure of others, etc., might be utilized to give light to
the circumstances surrounding the origin of the subject
_ matter sought to be patented.”) (emphasis added). Secondary

ordinary skill in the prior art . .. would immediately see that the thing
to do was what Graham did... .”); id. at 30, 35 (“the [appeals] court
found ‘nothing in the prior art suggesting Scoggin’s unique combination
of these old features’... . The substitution of a rib built into a collar
likewise presents no patentable difference above the prior art.”).

* In Adams, the prior art suggested combination of magnesium
and cuprous chloride for batteries, but because the invention accom-
plished unexpectedly good results using water as an electrolyte (the
problem to be solved) the Court concluded that the combination
reflected an “interdependent functional relationship” and more than
“mere substitution” of prior art designs. 383 U.S. at 50-51.

” See 383 U.S. at 18-19 (emphasizing the need for the Patent
Office to follow the same approach to obviousness determinations to
avoid litigating validity after the fact — thereby “debilitatling] the
patent system” - and to provide a closer correlation of judicial and
administrative practice).

21

considerations (particularly regarding motivations) do not
themselves determine obviousness.

Because the “ultimate question of patent validity” is a
question of law, obviousness (one of the “three conditions” of
validity) also is a question of law. Jd. Like any legal question,
obviousness “lends itself to several basic factual inquiries,” upon
which legal judgment must operate. Jd. Given the restatement
proposed here, the legal judgment applied to the factual back-
ground requires both an expert technical assessment of how
quickly the art would have developed the capability to make the
invention (given reasonable budgetary constraints) and a policy
judgment of whether it would have developed that capability
quickly enough. The expert assessment determines when the
public would possess the knowledge without the inventor's
contribution, and thus could make unrestricted use of the
technology. The policy judgment determines what budgetary
constraints are considered reasonable and whether the public
would have had to wait an unreasonably long time.”

Without additional legislative guidance, the courts (or the
Patent Office”) must develop policies through the “abundance

* How long the public should have to wait will depend on the
importance of the invention. The legal question requires balancing the
benefits of earlier public acquisition with the costs of exclusive rights.
Thus, Congress originally required judgments by the Patent Office
(replaced by the obviousness standard) that an invention must be
sufficiently useful and important. See supra at 3 & n.2. Similarly,
Congress initially and the courts subsequently held that certain
categories of inventions either were not sufficiently important or were
already within the public’s constructive possession at the time of
invention. See supra at 3-4, 5 & n.7, 6-12.

* The Patent Office likely possesses discretion to adopt policies in
individual adjudications, given the need to apply the obviousness
standard when exercising examination authority. See 35 U.S.C. § 131.
However, the Patent Office may be foreclosed from adopting such
policies by legislative (but not interpretive) rules, as the Federal Circuit

(Continued on following page)

22

of cases which [have] not be[en] brought under rule, until
they should have presented themselves under all their
aspects....” Jefferson, Letter, supra, at 532. However, this
Court has not yet provided sufficient guidance regarding how
to make the requisite technical predictions and policy judg-
ments. In the absence of clearer guidance, the courts have
often reached conclusions that are not compelled by the facts
and that lack persuasive, articulated rationales.

For example, in the Barbed Wire patent case” the Court
carefully described the prior art and the differences between
it and the claimed double-stranded, coiled-barbed-wire
invention (which better secured the barb to the wire), as
well as secon’sry considerations of long-felt need, failure
of others to make the necessary substitution, and commer-
cial success.” After its careful recitation of the facts,

has repeatedly held that the Patent Office lacks substantive rulemak-
ing authority. See, e.g., Merck & Co., Inc. v. Kessler, 80 F.3d 1543, 1549-
50 (Fed. Cir. 1996); Animal Legal Def. Fund v. Quigg, 932 F.2d 920, 930
(Fed.Cir.1991).

“ Washburn & Moen Mfg. Co. v. Beat ‘Em All Barbed-Wire Co., 143
U.S. 275 (1892). This case also is significant because of the Court’s stated
reluctance to credit oral testimony regarding prior invention, leading to
adoption of corroboration rules and to a judicially imposed clear and
convincing evidentiary presumption of validity. See id. at 284-92; Hybri-
tech Inc. ». Monoclonal Antibodies., Inc., 802 F.2d 1367, 1375-76 (Fed.
Cir. 1£ « ,. When codifying the presumption of validity in Section 282,
Congress did not freeze the Court’s ability to vary the strength of
presumptions for different facts affecting legal judgments of validity.
The U.S. Federal Trade Commission has called for removal of such a
strong factual presumption. See FTC, To Promote Innovation: The Proper
Balance of Competition and Patent Law and Policy, at ES-8 to ES-10 (Oct.
2003), available at http//www.ftc.gov/os/2003/10Annovationrpt.pdf (last
visited Aug. 9, 2006) (FTC, To Promote Innovation).

“ See 143 U.S. at 281-84. The Court was careful to note that the
secondary consideration evidence did not create an invariable rule of
decision and that commercial success and widespread adoption did not
establish patentable invention in all cases. See id. at 283-84 (citing

(Continued on following page)

23

however, the Court conclusorily held that because the inven-
tor’s invention, disclosure and use had led to widespread
adoption of the technology, “we think the doubts we entertain
concerning the actual inventor of this device [given that it
may have been developed by accident earlier] should be
resolved in favor of the patentee.” Jd. at 292. The Court's
reasoning conflates novelty with obviousness,” and fails to
explain why the combination was patentable. See id. at 283-84
(discussing the conflicting precedents but failing to articulate
why those relied upon were more applicable to the facts).
Even after Graham, sufficient guidance to ground
reasoned judicial decisionmaking has been lacking. For
example, in the case at hand, the Federal Circuit failed to
articulate any relevant and persuasive reasoning for revers-
ing the District Court. See Teleflex Inc., 119 Fed. Appx. at
286-88 (acknowledging that the prior art contained all of the
elements of the combination and describing the grounds for
the District Court’s factual findings of a suggestion to com-
bine); id. at 288 (requiring that “the nature of the problem to
be solved be such that it would have led a person of ordinary
skill in the art to combine the prior art teachings in the
particular manner claimed,” i.e., “when two prior art refer-
ences address the precise problem that the patentee was
trying to solve,” and concluding that the prior art references
did not address the precise problem). Like the reasoning in
the Barbed Wire patent case, the Court of Appeals reasoning
here apparently conflated nonobviousness with novelty“

Webster Loom Co. v. Higgens, 105 U.S. 580, 591 (1881), and Smith v.
Goodyear Dental Vulcanite Co., 93 U.S. 486, 495 (1876)).
“ See id. (Field, J. dissenting “upon the ground there was no
novelty in the invention”).
“ Cf Barton, Non-Obviousness, supra, at 482-83 (“The MPEP’s
demand that there be suggestions in the prior art as a pre-requisite to
(Continued on following page)

24

and failed adequately to explain why the combination was
patentable. Like the Barbed Wire patent case, the Court of
Appeals decision fails to distinguish (much less provides a
reason to ignore) this Court’s precedents holding that new
combinations were obvious when they lacked any unexpected
function or simply applied existing technology to a new use
(which appears to be the case here from the undisputed facts in
the record). Nor does it provide any explanation of why the
combination was a significant achievement, even if it had not
previously been “contemplated.” Penn. R. Co., 110 U.S. at 494.
Unless the Court overrules its precedents, the patent at issue in
this case does not appear sustainable.

The Federal Circuit’s teaching, suggestion, or motiva-
tion to combine test, moreover, conflicts with this Court’s
approach to obviousness in a number of important ways.“
First, it wrongly imposes an additional and unwarranted
evidentiary requirement on the legal judgment of obvious-
ness,” in a misguided effort to prevent “hindsight” bias. Jn

combine references converts non-obviousness to something near
novelty.”).

“ Existing Patent Office guidance to examiners also conflicts with this
Court's jurisprudence, as it is based on the Federal Circuit's (and its predeces-
sor’s) jurisprudence. See, eg, Manual of Patent Examining Procedure
§§ 2144.06, 2143.01 (8th ed Rev. 3 2005); Barton, Non-Obviousness, supra at
480-81 (discussing the requirement for the prior art to suggest substitution of
equivalents); id at 481-82 (discussing the requirement for a prior art sugges-
tion of the desirability of making the combination).

“ Historians note here their general support for the merits amicus
brief filed in support of Petitioner by Intellectual Property Law Professors,
and specifically agree that the teaching, suggestion, or motivation test

improperly converts a legal judgment into a question of fact. Counsel of
Record and some of the Historians were signatories to the brief of Twenty-

Four Intellectual Property Law Professors at the petition stage.

25

re Kahn, 441 F.3d 977, 986-87 (Fed. Cir. 2006).“ As noted
above, prior art suggestions to combine could demonstrate
obviousness, but were not previously required in order to do
so. The Federal Circuit test thus fails to permit consideration
of developments in technology or motivations shortly before
the date of invention, which had not yet resulted in contem-
plation of the particular combination. It thereby eliminates
“foresight” that was part of the skill in the art at the time of
invention. As recognized by Justice Frankfurter in dissent in
Marconi Wireless Telegraph Co. of Am. v. United States, 320
U.S. 1 (1943), the “real question is how significant a jump is
the new disclosure from the old knowledge.” Jd. at 62. After
warning against “(rjeconstruction by hindsight,” Justice
Frankfurter emphasized that “the history of thought records
insight first declared to the world by a particular individual
was ‘in the air’ and ripe for discovery and disclosure.” Jd. For
this reason, the Court held in Concrete Applications Co. that
substantial attention must be paid to developments in
technology just before the invention was made. See 269 U.S.
at 184.“

“ See id. at 988 (discussing the requirement for the Patent Office
to provide “some articulated reasoning with some rational underpin-
ning,” but inappropriately citing to In re Sang Su Lee, 277 F.3d 1338,
1343-46 (Fed. Cir. 2002), which requires highly specific factual findings
reviewed for substantial evidence).

“ This does not mean that all simultaneous inventions should be
considered to have been obvious at the time they were made. See, e.g.,
Joel Mokyr, Why Was the Industrial Revolution a European Phenome-
non, 10 Sup. Ct. Econ. Rev. 27, 54 (2003) (“The emergence of a mini-
mum epistemic base is a necessary but insufficient condition for a new
technique to be invented.”). Thus, perhaps the most famous “simultane-
ous” discovery — the theory of evolution by natural selection, by Charles
Darwin (in basic concept by 1838 and more fully by 1842) and by Alfred
Russel Wallace (at least by 1858) — reflected such a significant advance

(Continued on following page)

26

Second, the Federal Circuit’s test improperly raises the
unwarranted evidentiary burden even higher, by requiring
prior art references that might suggest the combination to
address the “precise problem” solved by the patentee. Teleflex
Inc., 119 Fed. Appx. at 288. This eviscerates the “analogous
arts” doctrine, which had defined the contents of the prior art
available to skilled artisans. See Dann v. Johnston, 425 U.S.
219, 227-29 (1976); In re Clay, 966 F.2d 656, 658-59 (Fed. Cir.
1992). Under that doctrine, once the reference was held
analogous, it was available without restriction both for
combination of its contents and for what it contemplated.

Third, the Federal Circuit’s test converts the technical
capability of the skilled artisan into a business motivation or
research imperative, i.e., it changes the potential to create the
invention from a “could” into a “would.” See, e.g., Kahn, 441
F.3d at 988 (“‘[would] an artisan . .. confronted by the same
problems ... have selected the various elements ... and
combined them in the manner claimed’ ”) (quoting Princeton
Biochemicals, Inc. v. Beckman Coulter, Inc., 411 F.3d 1332,
1337 (Fed. Cir. 2005)). This conflicts with this Court’s prece-
dents holding that, absent unusual functions in the combina-
tion, the person skilled in the art is presumed capable of
making substitutions of known elements without regard to
motivations to do so. See, e.g., Dunbar, 94 US. at 199.

Fourth, the Federal Circuit’s test and related doctrinal
developments alter the Graham approach to secondary

over prior knowledge it dramatically changed human history (although as a
scientific theory it was not a patentable invention). See Niles Eldredge,
Darwin, Discovering the Tree of Life 10-18, 43-53 (W.W. Norton & Co. 2005)
(discussing the factual context for evaluating the scientific contribution).
Nevertheless, given a certain basis of knowledge, institutional set-up, and
luck, “many inventions or their equivalents seem to have been quite
probable ex ante and a few inevitable.” Mokyr, supra, at 38.

27

considerations. Graham, like earlier cases, expressed
skepticism regarding the relevance and strength of secon-
dary consideration evidence.” The Federal Circuit, however,
has required that secondary consideration evidence always
be considered, regardless of the results of the direct techno-
logical inquiry.” The Federal Circuit thus has elevated
secondary considerations into a “quasi-presumption” of
patentability.” Secondary consideration evidence cannot
establish a prima facie case of obviousness that requires a
teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine in the prior
art; it can be used only to rebut such a case. As this Court
has recognized, however, commercial success evidence is
highly suspect, because “market-related factors, as op-
posed to sheer technological superiority” are theoretically
and empirically much more likely to determine commercial
success.” Although failure of others is a better and more
direct indicator of technological achievement,” it also must
be subjected to careful scrutiny, particularly given the
phenomenon of simultaneous invention. See, e.g., Toledo
Pressed Steel Co., 307 U.S. at 356 (discounting evidence

“ See 383 U.S. at 36 (“these factors do not ... tip the scales of
patentability” in light of the “small and non-technical mechanical
differences,” particularly given constructive availability of a prior art
patent that made the prior failures of others “wholly irrelevant”).

* See, e.g., Stratoflex, Inc. v. Aeroquip Corp., 713 F.2d 1530, 1538
(Fed. Cir. 1983).

” See Robert P. Merges, Commercial Success and Patent Stan-
dards: Economic Perspectives on Innovation, 76 Cal. L. Rev. 803, 823-42
(1988) (Merges, Commercial Success).

" Id. at 846. See id. at 852 (discussing improper inferences that result
from commercial success where firms have reasons to avoid experiments). Cf.
Rich, supra, at 84 (commercial success evidence would require “value
judgments of a kind |the Patent Office and courts) are not equipped to make”
and such evidence is rarely available at the time of patenting).

® See Merges, Commercial Success, supra, at 862-66.

28

regarding two prior failures unaccompanied by evidence of
awareness of the relevant prior art, and noting the ab-
sence of any evidence of “widespread effort to solve the
problem here involved”).

Ill. The Court Should Clarify the Burdens of
Production and Proof Regarding the Graham
Factors.

Substantial costs of error result from misapplying the
obviousness standard and issuing patents on obvious inven-
tions.” To minimize such errors, the Court should clearly
articulate the burdens of production and proof in making
Patent Office, the current allocations may often be outcome
dispositive and may frequently lead to erroneous results.“

The Patent Act has been interpreted by the Federal
Circuit and its predecessor to impose a burden of production
and proof regarding obviousness on the Patent Office.” In
light of the discussion above, it is critical that the Court make
clear that no evidentiary burden is placed on the Patent Office
(or the party contesting validity in infringement litigation) to
document a teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior
art to make the invention at issue. The evidentiary burden

“ See Barton, Non-Obviousness, supra, at 495.

™ See FTC, To Promote Innovation, supra, at V-4 to V-24 (discussing
current burdens of effective examination, data on patent quality, the need
for more resources, and recommending post-grant oppositions to address
the numerous invalid patents that predictably issue); Barton, Non-
Obviousness, supra, at 482-83 (nonobviousness “is ultimately predicated
on whether there is an adequate body of literature that is accessible to
patent examiners to render a determination of patentability.”).

* See, eg., In re Piasecki, 745 F.2d 1468, 1472 (Fed. Cir. 1984)
(citing In re Warner, 379 F.2d 1011, 1016 (C.C.P.A. 1967)).

29

relates to the contents of the prior art and to skill in that
art, not to the legal judgment of whether the invention
reflects a sufficient technological advance.

At one time the Federal Circuit’s predecessor adopted
presumptions of unpatentability regarding certain types of
inventions.” These presumptions shifted to applicants the
burdens of production and proof of obviousness in the Patent
Office. Historians encourage the Court to examine its prece-
dents regarding combination and other inventions, to articu-
late the burdens of production and proof of nonobviousness
or obviousness in the Patent Office and in infringement
litigation. In doing so, the Court should specify what author-
ity the Patent Office and lower courts possess to adopt
additional presumptions that shift the burdens to applicants
or patentees, who are the parties most likely to possess
relevant information and incentives to disclose it.

Prior decisions of this Court have been extended by
the Federal Circuit to convert the presumption of validity
under 35 U.S.C. § 282 into a strong evidentiary hurdle in
infringement litigation,” notwithstanding the level of
Patent Office review of the relevant evidence. Historians
encourage the Court to clarify its earlier statements. In
particular, the Court should clarify that a clear and
convincing burden of proof should not apply to issues for

” See, e.g., Piasechi, 745 F.2d at 1472 (citing, e.g., In re Henze, 181
F.2d 196, 201 (C.C.PA. 1950), and In re Surrey, 319 F.2d 233, 235
(C.C.P.A. 1963)).

” See Matthew D. Henry & John L. Turner, The Court of Appeals for the
Federal Circuit’s Impact on Patent Litigation, 35 J. Legal Stud. 85, 114 (2006)
(noting that the Federal Circuit’s “stronger presumption of validity” has
resulted in a three-fold increase in success in overcoming district court
invalidity decisions on appeal, which decisions district courts make half as
often as before and patentees appeal twenty-five percent more often).

30

which the relevant evidence was not previously considered
by the Patent Office.”

Finally, Historians encourage the Court to adopt a burden-
shifting approach to the Graham methodology. If a prima facie
case of obviousness or nonobviousness can be made based on
the facts regarding the prior art and skill, the burdens of
production and proof should then shift to rebut that conclusion
using secondary consideration evidence (and then only for its
bearing on the technological cre:.tivity involved). This appears
to have been the structure contemplated by Graham, when
holding that it is “[algainst this background [that] the obvious-
ness or nonobviousness of the subject matter is determined”
and that when the level of technological creativity has already
been demonstrated, secondary considerations are “wholly
irrelevant.” 383 U.S. at 17, 36.

CONCLUSION

Historically, the Supreme Court has held inventions to
a reasonably high standard of technological creativity in
order to warrant a patent. The Federal Circuit’s teaching-
suggestion-motivation test as applied in this case deviates
from this historical standard, and thus the judgment of
the Court of Appeals should be reversed.

Respectfully submitted,
JOSHUA D. SARNOFF

Counsel of Record for Amici Curiae
Economists and Legal Historians

“ Cf Corning v. Burden, 56 U.S. (15 How.) 252, 271 (1853) (“a
patent, thus issued after an inquisition or examination . . . is entitled to
much more respect, as evidence of novelty and utility, than those
formerly issued without any such investigation.”).

App. 1

IX A- AMI ns
James Bessen
Research on Innovation
Robert Friedel
Professor of History
University of Maryland
Paul Israel
Director and General Editor
The Edison Papers, Rutgers University
Steven Lubar
Professor of American Civilization
Brown University
Robert Merges
Professor of Law
University of California, Berkeley
Michael Meurer
Professor of Law
Boston University School of Law

* Institutional affiliations are provided only for purposes
of identification.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0086%3A28. Public record. Not legal advice.
