# Amicus Curiae Brief — KSR Intern. Co. v. Teleflex Inc.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0086%3A05

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2007
- **Citation:** 550 U.S. 398

## Text

ge FILED

7) MAY 2.5 2006
OFFICE THE CLERK

No. 04-1350 |_ SUPREME COURT, U.S._|

In the Supreme Court of the Gnited States

KSR INTERNATIONAL CO., PETITIONER
v.
TELEFLEX INC., ET AL.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FEDERAL CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES
AS AMICUS CURIAE

PAUL D. CLEMENT
Solicitor General
Counsel of Record
PETER D. KEISLER
Assistant Attorney General

gp aon , THOMAS G. HUNGAR
ee Deputy Solicitor General

— = + semana - JEFFREY P. MINEAR
moon! > ane Assistant to the Solicitor

and Solicitor
LINDA M. ISACSON

WILLIAM G. JENKS
ROBERT J. MCMANUS

General

ANTHONY J. STEINMEYER
ANTHONY A. YANG

Associate Solicitors Attorneys

United States Patent and Department of Justice
Trademark Office Washington, D.C. 20530-0001

Alexandria, Va. 22313 (202) 514-2217

ep rys y A ee 9a Pads 4 a ce
Ma re Pare eS Oe
Soeee: sie aie, Re, fe age > uty te Py

aia La t j avs

ee ie

Bil

4

oi ad

+7 ray

7
r

i]

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether a claimed invention can be “obvious,” and
therefore unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. 103(a), without proof
of some “teaching, suggestion, or motivation” to modify or
combine the prior art in the manner claimed.

(I)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
PG odd. nck ocddéddadn bodudb scotecwadansennsaeess 1
A. The Patent Act’s requirement of nonobviousness ... 2
B. The subject matter atissue ..............eeeeeee 4
eI Sd con cantecactevesnendeves 6
NN oa A as hh ik Oi pe tie dele eae ea 9
A. The Federal Circuit’s imposition of a teaching-
suggestion-motivation test to determine whether
a claimed invention would be obvious presents an
important question of patent law that warrants
IE «osc oddubpdndsdecdeacccnttssss 10
B. The question presented has significant practical
consequences and this case provides an
appropriate vehicle for its resolution ............. 16
SE cudcccucuscecadescdbibveonsatestescéancian 20
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases:
Anderson’s-Black Rock, inc. v. Pavement Salvage
gC 5 cdoeuharniiensdenssmad as 12, 17
Bonito Boats, Inc. v. Thunder Craft Boats, Inc., 489
SL no ennc ance each sds 2, 3, 10, 17
City of Erie v. Fap’s A.M., 529 U.S. 277 (2000) ........ 18
Dann v. Johnston, 425 U.S. 219 (1976) ...... 10, 11, 12, 13
Dembiczak, In re, 175 F.3d 994 (Fed. Cir. 1999) .... 14,14
FCC v. National Citizens Comm. for Broad., 436 U.S.
EN ci ete ss inl dnGle hdd déeumals wade tek bae 18
Federal Power Comm'n v. Transcontinental Gas
Pipe Line Corp., 365 U.S. 1 (1961) ...............4.. 18

(III)

IV

Cases—Continued: Page
Graham v. John Deere Co., 383 U.S. 1 (1996) ..... passim
Hotchkiss v. Greenwood, 52 U.S. (11 How.) 248

GEE vc dvcvvdcdicisccdedeans these seunesiees 3, 10
Kahn, In re, 441 F.3d 977 (Fed. Cir. 2006) ............ 13
Kotzab, In re, 217 F.3d 1365 (Fed. Cir. 2000) ........ 8,14
Lee, In re, 277 F.3d 1338 (Fed. Cir. 2002) .......... 14, 15
Pfaff v. Wells Elecs., Inc., 525 U.S. 55 (1998) .......... 10
Rouffet, In re, 149 F.3d 1350 (Fed. Cir. 1998) .......... 14
Ruiz v. A.B. Chance Co., 234 F.3d 654 (Fed. Cir.

DEED | n000ss00esen00d.eessrnisneenrieaeee 15
Sakraida v. Ag Pro, Inc., 425 U.S. 273 (1976) .......... 12
United States v. Adams, 383 U.S. 39 (1966) ........ 12, 13

varner-Jenkinson Co. v. Hilton Davis Chem. Co.,

SP TE. BSCE idan a osksdcsdosienssdtateician 18
Winner Int'l Royalty Corp. v. Wang, 202 F.3d 1340

OR Ge Se oot ccccccdsdssnedverésdicaseeeees 14

Constitution and statutes:

U.S. Const. Art. 1, § 8, Cl. 8 (Patent Clause) ............ 2
Act of Apr. 10, 1790, ch. 7,1 Stat. 109 ............0005. 2
Act of Feb. 21, 1793, ch. 11,1 Stat.318 ................ 2
Act of July 4, 1836, ch. 357, 5 Stat. 117 ................. 2
Act of Mar. 3, 1839, ch. 88, 5 Stat. 353 ................. 2
Act of July 8, 1870, ch. 230, 16 Stat. 198 ................ 2
Act of Aug. 5, 1939, ch. 451, 53 Stat. 1212 .............. 2
Act of July 19, 1952, ch. 950, 66 Stat. 792

(35 U.S.C. 1 et seq.) (Patent Act) ...........22-0005- 2

SR UTE, TRE GOE, 6c cccevccncacecesgavccectnns 2

Statutes—Continued: Page
I i oa eas denaneden 2
LD conbudcacedccetccecedcces passim

Miscellaneous:

Federal Trade Comm'n, 70 Promote Innovation:
The Proper Balance of Competition and Patent
Law and Policy (2003), available at
....... 19
John R. Thomas, Formalism at the Federal Circuit,
, Gs Ge PONG ccccccecece. ceocceces 14

In the Supreme Court of the United States

No. 04-1350
KSR INTERNATIONAL CO., PETITIONER
Uv.
TELEFLEX INC., ET AL.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FEDERAL CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES
AS AMICUS CURIAE

This brief is submitted in response to the order of this
Court inviting the Solicitor General to express the views of
the United States. In the view of the United States, the peti-
tion for a writ of certiorari should be granted.

STATEMENT

Petitioner KSR International Co. is a Canadian company
that markets foot-operated throttle controls—gas pedals—for
passenger cars and light trucks. Pet. App. 20a. Respondents
Teleflex Inc. and its subsidiary Technology Holding Co. sued
KSR in the United States District Court for the Eastern Dis-
trict of Michigan for patent infringement, alleging that two of
KSR’s adjustable gas pedal systems literally infringe Claim
4 of their U.S. Patent No. 6,237,565 (the Engelgau patent).
Id. at la-2a, 20a, 23a-24a. The district court granted KSR’s
motion for summary judgment, concluding that Claim 4 of the

(1)

2

Engelgau patent is obvious within the meaning of Section
103(a) of the Patent Act of 1952, 35 U.S.C. 103(a), and there-
fore invalid. See Pet. App. 18a-49a. The Federal Circuit va-
cated the grant of summary judgment, concluding that the
district court incorrectly applied its “teaching-suggestion-
motivation” test in determining that Claim 4 would have been
obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art. Jd. at la-17a.

A. The Patent Act’s Requirement Of Nonobviousness

The Patent Clause of the Constitution vests Congress with
authority “[t]o promote the Progress of Science and useful
Arts by securing for limited Times to * * * Inventors the
exclusive Right to their * * * Discoveries.” U.S. Const. Art.
1, § 8, Cl. 8. Congress has implemented the Patent Clause
through statutory enactments, commonly krown as the Patent
Acts, that have set out the conditions for securing a patent
and that strike “a careful balance between the need to pro-
mote innovation and the recognition that imitation and refine-
ment through imitation are both necessary to invention itself
and the very lifeblood of a competitive economy.” Bonito
Boats, Inc. v. Thunder Craft Boats, Inc., 489 U.S. 141, 146
(1989).' .

The Patent Act of 1952, as amended, provides the current
law governing the issuance and validity of patents. See 35
U.S.C. 100 et seg. Sections 101 through 103 provide (35 U.S.C.
101-103), as a general matter, that “patentability is dependent
upon three explicit conditions: novelty and utility as articu-
lated in § 101 and § 102, and non-obviousness * * * , as set

' See, e.g., Act of Apr. 10, 1790, ch. 7, 1 Stat. 109; Act of Feb. 21,
1793, ch. 11, 1 Stat. 318; Act of July 4, 1836, ch. 357, 5 Stat. 117; Act of
Mar. 3, 1839, ch. 88, 5 Stat. 353; Act of July 8, 1870, ch. 230, 16 Stat. 198;
Act of Aug. 5, 1939, ch. 451, 53 Stat. 1212; Act of July 19, 1952, ch. 950,
66 Stat. 792.

3

out in § 103.” Graham v. John Deere Co., 383 U.S. 1, 12
(1966); see Bonito Boats, 489 U.S. at 146-151, 156-157. Be-
cause “each of [these conditions] must be satisfied,” only
those new and useful inventions that would not have been
“obvious” at the time of their discovery exhibit the “level of
innovation necessary to sustain patentability.” Graham, 383
U.S. at 4, 17.

Congress enacted Section 103(a) to codify the principle,
which this Court first recognized in Hotchkiss v. Greenwood,
52 U.S. (11 How.) 248 (1851), that a new and useful device
does not qualify for a patent unless it embodies a “degree of
skill and ingenuity” beyond that of “an ordinary mechanic
acquainted with the business.” /d. at 267. See Graham, 383
U.S. at 11-18. Section 103(a) states that a claimed invention
is not eligible for a patent

if the differences between the subject matter sought to be
patented and the prior art are such that the subject mat-
ter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the
invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in
the art.

35 U.S.C. 103(a). “The nonobviousness requirement extends
the field of unpatentable material beyond that which is known
to the public under § 102, to include that which could readily
be deduced from publicly available material by a person of
ordinary skill in the pertinent field of endeavor.” Bonito
Boats, 489 U.S. at 150 (citing Graham, 383 U.S. at 15).

The question of nonobviousness is ultimately one of law,
but it turns on “several basic factual inquiries.” Graham, 383
U.S. at 17. This Court has identified four such inquiries: (1)
“the scope and content of the prior art”; (2) “differences be-
tween the prior art and the claims at issue”; (3) “the level of
ordinary skill in the pertinent art”; and (4) “secondary consid-

4

erations,” such as “commercial success,” that might provide
“indicia of obviousness or nonobviousness.” /d. at 17-18.

B. The Subject Matter At Issue

The technology at issue in this case is relatively simple
and its evolution is straightforward. Before the 1970s, the
driver of an automobile typically controlled the vehicle’s
speed by pressing a foot-operated gas pedal, which was bolted
at a fixed location within the footwell of the vehicle interior.
The pedal would act as a lever, rotate around a pivot point,
and pull a cable or mechanical linkage to actuate the engine
throttle. See Pet. App. 20a-2la. In the 1970s, automobile
manufacturers began offering adjustable pedal assemblies,
designed to accommodate drivers of different heights, that
enabled a driver to adjust the pedal position forward and
backward within the footwell. Jd. at 19a-20a; see C.A. App.
1568 (U.S. Patent No. 5,010,782, Col. 1, ll. 14-27 (Asano pat-
ent)).”

In the 1990s, automobile manufacturers sold increasing
numbers of vehicles in the United States that employed

* The driver’s adjustment of the pedal position could alter the
mechanical “lever{age!” at the pedal pad, by changing the distance
between the pad and the pedal pivot, and it could consequently require
the driver to apply a different amount of force when operating the
pedal. See C.A. App. 1568 (Asano patent, Col. 1, ll. 28-45). The 1989
Asano design addressed that problem by attaching the adjustable pedal
assembly to a fixed pivot point located on a stationary bracket in the
footwell. See id. at 1562, 1565-1567 (Asano patent, Fig. 5-8); Pet. App.
32a-33a. That design then utilized mechanical linkages to preserve a
constant force ratio and counteract the effect of adjusting the distance
between the pedal pad and pedal pivot. See C.A. App. 1568, 1570-1571
(Asano patent, Col. 1, ll. 48-65; Col. 2, Il. 15-23; Col. 8, 1. 63 - Col. 9, 1. 4);
Pet. App. 12a-13a & n.3. Not all adjustable pedal assemblies seek to
address that constant force problem. See, e.g., C.A. App. 1490-1491
(U.S. Patent No. 5,632,183, Col. 1, ll. 35-38, 52-54, Col. 2, ll. 13-15, Col.
4, ll. 26-29 (Rixon ‘183 patent)).

5 ‘

computer-controlled engines and electronic throttle controls.
See Pet. App. 21a, 41a. The manufacturers of gas pedal as-
semblies adapted their non-adjustable assemblies by attach-
ing an electronic sensor to the pedal, in place of the mechani-
cal linkage, to determine the pedal position and transmit a
corresponding electronic signal to the throttle. See id. at 21a.
The designs of that era reveal configurations for non-adjust-
able pedals, mounted on the wall of the footwell, in which the
electronic pedal position sensor is actuated by the pedal pivot
and is located on a stationary wall bracket to which the pedal
and its pivot connect. See id. at 33a-35a."

Respondents’ Engelgau patent reveals an adjustable pedal
apparatus that combines an adjustable gas pedal assembly
with an electronic pedal position sensor. The electronic sen-
sor, which measures the pedal position at the pivot, is at-
tached to the support bracket that connects the pedal assem-
bly to the wall of the footwell. Pet. App. 2a. 26a. The patent
explains that the pedal assembly “can be any of various ad-
justable pedal assemblies” and the electronic pedal position
sensor can be any such sensor “known in the art.” C.A. App.
38-39 (Engelgau patent, Col. 2, il. 54-56; Col. 3, ll. 22-24).

* US. Patent No. 5,385,068 (White patent) (C.A. App. 717-723) is
illustrative. The White patent, which was filed in 1992, discloses a
modular electronic pedal position sensor similar to a sensor later
installed in certain 1994 Chevrolet pick-up trucks. That sensor, known
as a CTS 503 Series position sensor, was designed to be mounted on the
pedal pivot of a gas pedal and included a fitting that allowed the sensor
to engage the pedal pivot shaft on different makes and models of vehicle
gas pedal assemblies. See Pet. App. 32a, C.A. App. 1051-1053 (Willem-
sen Decl. paras. 12-19). The sensor was mounted on the pedal support
bracket in Chevrolet trucks and determined the pedal’s position from
the movement of the pedal pivot shaft. /d. at 1052-1053, 1077 (Willem-
sen Deci. paras. 16-17, 19 & Exh. 8). See also, e.g., U.S. Patent Nos.
4,958,607 (Lundberg patent), 5,233,882 (Byram patent), 5,241,936 (Byler
patent) (C.A. App. 708-716), 5,887,488 (Riggle patent).

6

Claim 4, which is set out verbatim at Pet. App. 3a, de-
scribes an apparatus composed of: (1) a support mounted to
the vehicle structure; (2) an adjustable pedal assembly with a
pedal arm that moves fore and aft with respect to the support;
(3) a pivot located on the support to which the pedal assembly
is attached; and (4) an electronic pedal position sensor at-
tached to the support. /d. at 3a, 25a-26a. Claim 4 further
describes that the electronic pedal position sensor is respon-
sive to the pivot, the position of which remains constant with
pedal arm adjustments. /d. at 3a, 26a.

C. The Proceedings Below

KSR supplies a major automobile manufacturer with ad-
justable gas pedal assemblies for use with electronically con-
trolled throttles in certain truck lines. Respondents, who
compete with KSR, brought this suit alleging that KSR’s
pedal assemblies infringed three of respondents’ patents. As
a result of a series of motions and stipulations, the parties
focused their dispute on whether KSR’s pedal assemblies
infringed Claim 4 of the Engelgau patent. The parties filed
cross-motions for summary judgment, and the district court
granted judgment for KSR on the ground that respondents’
claimed invention would have been obvious to a person of or-
dinary skill in the art and that the Engelgau patent was there-
fore invalid. See Pet. App. 18a-24a.

The district court reached that conclusion based on the
four-part inquiry that this Court set out in Graham, supra.
See 383 U.S. at 17-18. It first determined that all of the ele-
ments of Claim 4 were revealed in the prior art because the
Asano patent taught each element except Claim 4's reference
to the use of an electronic pedal position sensor, which other
prior art references taught. See Pet. App. 28a-35a. The dis-
trict court then determined that a person of ordinary skill in
the art would have had college training in mechanical engi-

7

neering and experience in the field of pedal assemblies. /d.
at 35a-36a. The court next found that there was “little differ-
ence between the teachings of the prior art and claims of the
patent-in-suit,” and it further found that a person skilled in
the art would readily “combine a pivotally mounted adjustable
pedal assembly [the Asano patent] with an off-the-shelf modu-
lar pedal position sensor to solve the problem” that the
Engelgau patent addressed. /d. at 39a, 44a. The court also
evaluated, as a “secondary consideration,” respondents’ claim
of commercial success, but the court concluded that the con-
sideration was “insufficient to overcome |KSR’s] clear and
convincing evidence of obviousness.” /d. at 48a.

In analyzing whether it would have been obvious to a per-
son of ordinary skill to combine the Asano patent with an elec-
tronic pedal position sensor, the district court applied the
Federal Circuit’s “teaching-suggestion-motivation test.” See
Pet. App. 8a, 40a-46a. Under that test, a claimed invention
that combined elements already present in the prior art would
not have been obvious at the time of invention unless there
was a teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that
would have led a person of ordinary skill to combine the prior
art references in the manner claimed. See id. at 40a-41a. The
district court found that a person of ordinary skill would have
been motivated to combine pre-existing adjustable pedal as-
semblies with co-existing electronic pedal position sensors
and to avoid known problems with other pedal assemblies. /d.
at 42a-43a. The court observed that the prior art references
were closely related, others in the field had made similar com-
binations, and the patent examiner, who did not have the ben-
efit of the Asano reference, had recognized similar combina-
tions as obvious. /d. at 43a-46a.

The court of appeals reversed on the ground that the dis-
trict court had incorrectly applied the teaching suggestion-
motivation test. Pet. App. la-17a. The court of appeals stated

8

that its test required the district court to make factual find-
ings showing the “specific understanding or principle within
the knowledge of the skilled artisan that would have moti-
vated one with no knowledge of [the] invention to make the
combination” in “the particular manner claimed by claim 4 of
the |Engelgau] patent.” /d. at 1la-12a (quoting Jn re Kotzab,
217 F.3d 1365, 1371 (Fed. Cir. 2000)); see id. at 16a. In other
words, the court of appeals ruled that the district court could
not find the Engelgau patent invalid as obvious without “spe-
cific findings as to a suggestion or motivation to attach an
electronic control to the support bracket of the Asano assem-
bly.” Jd. at 12a.

The court of appeals concluded that the Asano patent
failed to provide such motivation because it addressed “the
constant pedal force problem” in adjustable pedal assemblies,
see note 2, supra, whereas the Engelgau patent purported to
disclose a “smaller, less complex, and less expensive elec-
tronic pedal assembly.” Pet. App. 12a-13a. The court of ap-
peals also stated that the prior art references that taught the
importance of avoiding movement of the pedal position sen-
sor’s wiring in non-adjustable pedal assemblies likewise were
insufficient because they did not address the problem of wire
chafing in “an adjustable pedal assembly” and did “not neces-
sarily go to the issue of motivation to attach the electronic
control on the support bracket.” /d. at 13a.

The court of appeals concluded that KSR’s other evidence
describing the prior use of electronic pedal position sensors
failed “to make out a prima facie case of obviousness.” Pet.
App. 14a. The court acknowledged that the evidence demon-
strated a motivation to combine an electronic pedal position
sensor with an adjustable pedal assembly and showed that
such a sensor “could have been’ mounted on the support
bracket of a pedal assembly,” but the court concluded that it
failed to show a particular “motivation to attach the electronic

9

control to the support bracket.” /d. at 14a-15a. The court of
appeals accordingly concluded that genuine issues of material
fact existed concerning “whether a person of ordinary skill in
the art would have been motivated * * * to attach an elec-
tronic control to the support structure of the [Asano] pedal
assembly.” Jd. at 16a-17a. It therefore vacated the district
court’s judgment and remanded the case “for further proceed-
ings on the issue of obviousness, and, if necessary, proceed-
ings on the issues of infringement and damages.” /d. at 17a.

DISCUSSION

This Court’s decision in Graham v. John Deere Co., 383
U.S. 1 (1966), sets out a flexible framework for determining
whether a claimed invention is nonobvious within the meaning
of Section 103(a) of the Patent Act of 1952, 35 U.S.C. 103(a),
That decision instructs the lower courts to determine the con-
tent of the prior art, identify the differences between the
prior art and the inventor’s claims, and then determine
whether a person of ordinary skill in the field would have
found the claimed invention obvious. The Federal Circuit has
transformed one means of establishing obviousness under
that framework—proof that the prior art provided a teaching,
suggestion, or motivation for combining separate prior art
references—into an inflexible requirement for determining
obviousness. As this case demonstrates, the Federal Circuit’s
teaching-suggestion-motivation test extends patent protection
to non-innovative combinations of familiar elements. The
issue is important, because many patent applications rest on
the combination of prior art references, and because exten-
sion of patent rights to obvious combinations of familiar ele-
ments retards, rather than advances, new discoveries. This
case presents a sound vehicle for the Court to determine
whether the Federal Circuit’s teaching-suggestion-motivation

10

test should continue to serve as the exclusive means of estab-
lishing obviousness under Section 103(a).

A. The Federal Circuit’s Imposition Of A Teaching-Sugges-
tion-Motivation Test To Determine Whether A Claimed
Invention Would Be Obvious Presents An Important
Question Of Patent Law That Warrants This Court’s
Review

1. This Court has explained that “the patent system rep-
resents a carefully crafted bargain that encourages both the
creation and public disclosure of new and useful advances in
technology, in return for an exclusive monopoly for a limited
period of time.” Pfaff v. Wells Elecs., Inc., 525 U.S. 55, 63
(1998) (citing Bonito Boats, Inc. v. Thunder Craft Boats, Inc.,
489 U.S. 141, 150-151 (1989)). That bargain’s effectiveness in
inducing creative effort and disclosure depends on “a back-
drop of free competition in the exploitation of unpatented
designs and innovations,” and the nonobviousness require-
ment is essential in ensuring that “free exploitation of ideas
will be the rule, to which the protection of a federal patent is
the exception.” Bonito Boats, 489 U.S. at 151. Section 103(a)
embodies the understanding that “concepts within the public
grasp, or those so obvious that they readily could be, are the
tools of creation available for all.” /d. at 156; see Graham,
383 U.S. at 6.

This Court observed in Graham that Section 103(a)’s
nonobviousness requirement codifies a “functional approach,”
traceable to Hotchkiss v. Greenwood, 52 U.S. (11 How.) 248
(1851), for defining the “general level of innovation necessary
to sustain patentability.” See Graham, 383 U.S. at 3-4, 11-12.
That approach proceeds from the perspective of a “hypotheti-
cal person” of ordinary skill in the relevant art, Dann v.
Johnston, 425 U.S. 219, 229 (1976), and turns on whether the
claimed invention “as a whole” would have been obvious at the

ll

time in light of the “differences between the subject matter
sought to be patented and the prior art.” 35 U.S.C. 103(a).

The “ultimate question” of patent validity is a question of
law, Graham, 383 U.S. at 17, but it rests on a judgment, in-
formed by relevant facts, of whether the hypothetical person
of ordinary skill in the art would have found the invention as
a whole “obvious.” Section 103(a) itself identifies three “cen-
tral factors relevant to any inquiry into obviousness” (/ohn-
ston, 425 U.S. at 226): the scope and content of the prior art,
the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue,
and the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. See Gra-
ham, 383 U.S. at 17. Other “secondary considerations” —in-
cluding a long-felt and unfulfilled need for the invention, the
prior failures of others, and the commercial success of the
invention—may also provide “indicia” supporting the legal
conclusion of “obviousness or nonobviousness.” /d. at 17-18,
35-36.

In specifying nonobviousness as a condition of patent-
ability, Section 103(a) codifies the Court’s historic approach
to evaluating whether a claimed invention is sufficiently inno-
vative to warrant a patent, Graham, 383 U.S. at 17, but it does
not specify how courts should weigh the relevant factors in
making the legal determination, in any particular case, of
whether an invention as a whole would have been “obvious.”
While the Court identified in its Grah wm decision the frame-
work for analysis and the relevant considerations, it observed
that the application of Section 103(a) would continue to de-
pend on the “given factual context,” that the inquiry is compa-
rable to that involving similar fact-dependant legal judgments
such as “negligence and scienter,” and that further refine-
ments “should be amenable to a case-by-case development.”
Id. at 18.

This Court’s decisions from Graham forward reflect the
understanding that courts must apply Section 103(a) “realisti-

12

caily” as a “practical test of patentability.” See 383 U.S. at 17.
The Court has accordingly declined to embrace rigid categori-
cal rules that would inflexibly limit the ability of the courts or
the United States Patent and Trademark Office (PTO)
—which has “the primary responsibility for sifting out unpat-
_entable material” (id. at 18)—to make individualized determi-
nations of obviousness. In none of its decisions has the Court
adopted the inflexible rule, which the Federal Circuit applied
in this case and has consistently articulated in other decisions,
that a court or PTO cannot conclude that a claimed invention
would have been obvious unless it makes “specific findings
showing a teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine
prior art in the particular manner claimed by the patent at
issue” (Pet. App. 16a).*

2. The Federal Circuit’s teaching-suggestion-motivation
test subjects persons challenging the validity of a patent, as
well as PTO’s patent examiners, to substantial obstacles in
establishing obviousness beyond those that Section 103(a) and
this Court’s decisions prescribe. As this case aptly demon-
strates, the Federal Circuit’s rigorous and inflexible applica-
tion of its test alters Graham’s functional approach to the
nonooviousness inquiry in a way that unnecessarily sustains
patents that would otherwise be subject to invalidation as
obvious.

* See Sakraida v. Ag Pro, Inc., 425 U.S. 273, 280-282 (1976) (ruling
that a claimed invention of a method for cleaning dairy barns was
obvious); Johnston, 425 U.S. at 226-230 (ruling that a claimed invention
of a computer program for managing bank accounts was obvious);
Anderson’s-Black Rock, Inc. v. Pavement Salvage Co., 396 U.S. 57, 61-
63 (1969) (ruling that a claimed invention of a paving machine was
obvious); United States v. Adams, 383 U.S. 39, 48-52 (1966) (ruling that
the claimed invention of a new type of battery was not obvious);
Graham, 383 U.S. at 24-26, 32-37 (ruling, in two consolidated cases, that
a claimed invention of a plow improvement and a claimed invention of
a container cap were obvious).

13

The Federal Circuit’s test departs from this Court’s pre-
cedents because it treats a particular method of demonstrat-
ing obviousness—namely, proof that the prior art taught,
suggested, or provided a motivation for combining the prior
art references—as the exclusive means of showing obvious-
ness. As the court of appeals stated in this case,

When obviousness is based on teaching of multiple prior
art references, the movant must also establish some “sug-
gestion, teaching, or motivation” that would have led a
person of ordinary skill to combine the relevant prior art
teachings in the manner claimed.

Pet. App. 6a (citations omitted; emphasis added). See id. at
7a, 1la-12a. While this Court’s flexible approach allows ample
room to rely on such teachings, suggestions, or motivations as
a sufficient basis for a finding of obviousness, see United
States v. Adams, 383 U.S. 39, 47 (1966), the Federal Circuit’s
test mandates that showing as a prerequisite to an obvious-
ness determination in any case involving a novel combination
of previously known elements. See Pet. App. at 12a (“the
district court was required to make specific findings as to_
whether there was a suggestion or motivation to combine the
teachings of Asano with ar »ectronic control in the particular
manner claimed by claim 4" (emphasis added)).’

* After the Court called for the views of the United States, the
Federal Circuit stated that its teaching-suggestion-motivation test “is
consistent with governing obviousness law,” citing Section 103(a) and
this Court’s decisions in Johnston and Graham. See In re Kahn, 441
F.3d 977, 987 (2006). But the Kakn decision does not acknowledge the
key difference: This Court's decisions nowhere suggest that a court
must make the specific findings that the Federal Circuit requires. To
the contrary, this Court has found that a claimed invention would have
been obvious based on the small difference between the prior art and
what the inventor claimed, without any mention of teaching, suggestion,
or motivation. See Johnston, 425 U.S. at 230.

14

The Federal Circuit’s test creates a substantial obstacle
to showing that a claimed invention that simply combines
known features without substantial innovation would have
been obvious, because the test requires the party challenging
the patent to come forward with affirmative evidence in the
prior art of a teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine
the features. See, ¢.g., Jn re Kotzab, 217 F.3d 1365, 1370-1371
(Fed. Cir. 2000); Winner Int'l Royalty Corp. v. Wang, 202
F.3d 1340, 1348-1349 (Fed. Cir. 2000); /n re Rouffet, 149 F.3d
1350, 1357 (Fed. Cir. 1998). That showing may be difficult or
impossible even though the combination, on its face, would
have been obvious. For example, such affirmative evidence
may be lacking if the claim arose in a newly emerging techni-
cal field or if the combination was so obvious to persons
skilled in the art that no one would have had need or incentive
to record the trivial extension of the art. See John R.
Thomas, Formalism at the Federal Circuit, 52 Am. U. L. Rev.
771, 801-802 (2003).°

The Federal Circuit states that the teaching, suggestion
or motivation

may be found explicitly or implicitly: 1) in the prior art
references themselves; 2) in the knowledge of those of
ordinary skill in the art that certain references, or disclo-

* Indeed, the Federal Cireuit’s approach has led it to hold that
“(ejommon knowledge and common sense,’ even if assumed to derive
from the | PTO’s] expertise, do not substitute” for evidence of a “specific
hint or suggestion” to combine prior art. See /n re Lee, 277 F 3d 1338,
1344-1345 (2002). Thus, even when prior art is closely analogous to the
invention at issue, the court has required evidence showing a particular
suggestion or motivation to combine the prior art to create the in-
vention. See Jn re Dembiczak, 175 F 3d 994, 997, 1000 (Fed. Cir. 1999)
(lawn trash bag having a Halloween pumpkin design is not prima facie
obvious in the absence of evidence of suggestion to combine normal
trash bag with references describing pumpkin designs on paper bags).

15

sures in those references, are of special interest or impor-
tance in the field; or 3) from the nature of the problem to
be solved, “leading inventors to look to references relating
to possible solutions to that problem.”

Pet. App. 6a (citations omitted). The court’s seemingly help-
ful observation that the teaching, suggestion, or motivation
may be found “explicitly or implicitly” has not, in practice,
substantially reduced the burden that its test imposes. This
case is illustrative. The district court found that the Asano
patent revealed all of the elements of Claim 4 of the Engelgau
patent except the mounting of a pivot-actuated electronic
sensor on the adjustable pedal assembly support structure,
and that other manufacturers had mounted such sensors on
non-adjustable pedal assembly support structures. See id. at
42a-44a. The court of appeals nevertheless concluded that a
mechanical engineer with experience in pedal assembly faced
with the problem of mounting an electronic sensor on an ad-
justable pedal assembly would not be implicitly motivated to
transfer the known technique for mounting the electronic
sensor on the support structure of non-adjustable assemblies
to adjustable assemblies. See id. at 1la-13a; see also 13a-l5a
(rejecting the district court’s alternative bases for finding a
teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the elements).’

The Federal Circuit justifies its rigid teaching-suggestion-
motivation test as a necessary measure to eliminate the possi-
bility of “hindsight-based obviousness analysis.” Pet. App. 6a-
7a (quoting Jn re Dembiczak, 175 F.3d 994, 999 (Fed. Cir.
1999)); see Ruiz v. A.B. Chance Co., 234 F.3d 654, 665 (Fed.

See generally Jn re Lee, 277 F.3d at 1343 (requiring “objective
evidence” of a particular “teaching, motivation, or suggestion to select
and combine the | prior art] references”); [n re Dembiczak, 175 F 3d at
999 (requiring “actual evidence” revealing a “clear and particular”
reason to select and combine the elements as combined in the inven-
tion).

16

Cir. 2000). While an inquiry into teaching, suggestion, or
motivation may shed light on the question of obviousness, this
Court did not perceive a need in Graham or subsequent cases
to employ such a rigid prophylactic test to prevent courts or
patent examiners from “read[ing] into the prior art the teach-
ings of the invention in issue.” Graham, 383 U.S. at 36. The
Federal Circuit’s test effectively constricts this Court’s guid-
ance in Graham respecting the nonobviousness inquiry, it
fails to account adequately for the problem-solving abilities of
persons of ordinary skill in the art, and it underestimates the
capabilities of courts and patent examiners to “resist the
temptation” of hindsight and to consider fairly the question of
obviousness. See ibid. Moreover, if there is a need for the
Federal Circuit's strict measures to guard against the possi-
bility of hindsight, this Court should make that decision itself.

B. The Question Presented Has Significant Practical Con-
sequences And This Case Provides An Appropriate Vehi-
cle For Its Resolution

1. The Federal Circuit’s adoption and strict application of
its teaching-suggestion-motivation test presents an issue of
substantial and ongoing practical importance. As this case
illustrates, the test renders patent examination and litigation
more costly, it grants patent applicants unjustified rewards
for disclosing non-innovative subject matter, and it forecloses
competitors from using the public storehouse of knowledge
that should be freely available to all.

The interlocutory posture of this case does not counsel
against review, because further proceedings on remand are
themselves a product of the Federal Circuit’s rigid rule. The
Federal Circuit's decision to vacate the district court’s grant
of summary judgment will require additional proceedings to
determine whether Claim 4 of the Engelgau patent would
have been obvious. The district court will be required to hold

17

a trial to determine, among other things, “whether a person
of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated, at the
time the invention was made, to attach an electronic control
to the support structure of the pedal assembly disclosed by
the Asano patent.” Pet. App. 16a-17a. Those costly proceed-
ings are unnecessary. The district court convincingly ex-
plained that the combination of known elements would have
been obvious to a mechanical engineer confronted with the
task of developing an electronically controlled adjustable
pedal. /d. at 40a-46a. The claimed invention here is at least
as obvious as the inventions in Graham, see 383 US. at 24-26,
32-37, and Anderson’s-Black Rock, Inc. v. Pavement Salvage
Co., 396 U.S. 57, 60-63 (1969). The Federal Circuit's test nev-
ertheless prevents summary resolution of the issue, poten-
tially grants respondents an undeserved windfall, and pre-
vents a competitor from employing what should be “tools of
creation available to all.” Bonito Boats, 489 U.S. at 156.

The Federal Circuit’s test not only shunts cases to trial
that should be resolved at summary judgment, but it also un-
duly restricts the ability of PTO to reject obvious patent ap-
plications. Congress vested PTO with “primary responsibility
for sifting out unpatentable material.” Graham, 383 U.S. at
18. That responsibility, which requires technical expertise
drawn from a wide variety of disciplines, places extraordinary
burdens on patent examiners, particularly in light of the high
volume of patent applications. In fiscal year 2005 alone, PTO
received more than 400,000 patent applications. Section
103(a) plays a crucial role in filtering out non-innovative appli-
cations and focusing the examination efforts on substantial
claims. When PTO applies its technical expertise and reason-
ably articulates why a patent claim is obvious under Section
103(a), that determination is entitled to deference reflecting
“the primacy of the PTO in ensuring that the claims allowed
cover only subject matter that is properly patentable.”

18

Warner-Jenkinson Co. v. Hilton Davis Chem. Co., 520 U.S.
17, 33-34 (1997). PTO’s obviousness inquiry should not re-
quire an unnecessary search for evidence showing a perticular
suggestion, teaching, or motivation to make insubstantially
innovative combinations of elements that are known in the
prior art. PTO should instead be allowed to bring to bear its
full expertise—including its reckoning of the basic knowledge
and common sense possessed by persons in particular fields
of endeavor—when making the predictive judgment whether
an invention would have been obvious to a person of ordinary
skill in the art.”

2. Respondents contend (Br. in Opp. 2, 17-19) that this
case merely involves a routine application of summary judg-
ment standards that does not warrant this Court’s review. To
the contrary, the case presents an important and recurring
issue of basic importance in the field of patent law. The Fed-
eral Circuit’s longstanding teaching-suggestion-motivation
test has a substantial impact on commercial enterprise and
innovation. See Cisco Systems Amicus Br. It also has been
the subject of critical scholarly commentary. See Intellectual
Property Law Professors Amicus Br. The Federal Trade
Commission’s comprehensive report on the United States
patent system noted the controversy surrounding the
teaching-suggestion-motivation test, describing it as “* core
issue in assessing obviousness and a focal point of current

* Cf. City of Erie v. Pap’s A.M., 529 U.S. 277, 298 (2000) (opinion
of O'Connor, J.) (agency may take official notice of facts within its
special knowledge and is not confined to the evidence in the record in
reaching its expert judgment if party has opportunity to respond); FCC
v. National Citizens Comm. for Broad ., 436 U.S. 775, 813-814 (1978)
(agency's predictive judgment forecasting “the direction in which future
public interest lies necessarily involves deductions based on the expert
knowledge of the agency” (quoting Federal Power Comm'n v. Trans-
continental Gas Pipe Line Corp., 365 U.S. 1, 29 (1961))).

19

debate.” See Federal Trade Comm'n, To Promote Innova-
tion: The Proper Balance of Competition and Patent Law
and Policy, ch. 4, at 9-15 (2003), available at .

This case presents a sound vehicle for examining the mer-
its of the Federal Circuit's test. The court of appeals squarely
ruled that KSR’s undisputed evidence at the summary judg-
ment stage of the proceedings did not establish a prima facie
case of obviousness under its established precedents requir-
ing proof of a teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine.
Pet. App. 14a-15a. Respondents contested KSR’s assertion
that the claimed invention would be obvious to one of ordinary
skill in the art, but they did not dispute the core factual re-
cord relevant to this Court’s review of the court of appeals’
test. See C.A. App. 1547 (Radcliffe Decl. paras. 14-16), 1550
(Andresen Decl. paras. 5-7). KSR has properly preserved its
challenge to the court of appeals’ teaching-suggestion-motiva-
tion test by urging in the proceedings Lelow that this Court’s
decisions provided an alternative basis for affirmance. See
Pet. C.A. Br. 47-50. This case accordingly presents no proce-
dural impediments to this Court’s review.

20

CONCLUSION
The petition for a writ of certiorari should be granted.

Respectfully submitted.
PAUL D. CLEMENT
Solicitor General
PETER D. KEISLER
Assistant Attorney General

THOMAS G. HUNGAR

JAMES A. TOUPIN
General Counsel

JOHN M. WHEALAN
Deputy General Counsel

and Solicitor Deputy Solicitor General
LINDA M. ISACSON JEFFREY P. MINEAR
WILLIAM G. JENKS Assistant to the Solicitor
ROBERT J. MCMANUS General
Associate Solicitors ANTHONY J. STEINMEYER
United States Patent and ANTHONY A. YANG
Trademark Office Attorneys

MAY 2006

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0086%3A05. Public record. Not legal advice.
