# Amicus Curiae Brief — Illinois Tool Works Inc. v. Independent Ink, Inc.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0084%3A19

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2006
- **Citation:** 547 U.S. 28

## Text

[a
Supreme Court. 1 S

|
FILED
(2) | AUG 4 ~ 2005

OFFICE OF THE c
No. 04-1329 CLERK

IN THE
Supreme Court of the Anited States

ILLINOIS TOOL WORKS INC. AND TRIDENT. INC..

Petitioners,
Vv.

INDEPENDENT INK, INC..

Respondent.

On Writ of Certiorari
to the United States Court of Appeals
for the Federal Circuit

’

BRIEF OF THE AMERICAN BAR ASSOCIATION
AS AMICUS CURIAE
IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONERS

Robert J. Grey, Jr., President”
American Bar Association
321 North Clark Street
Chicago, IL 60610

(312) 988-5000

Richard J. Wallis
Kevin D. McDonald

“Counsel of Record

Counsel for Amicus Curiae,
The American Bar Association

TABLE OF CONTENTS
Page
ee Fe SE trcecatsncndinnitancistsinianssanninsnnnaneine ii
DE AUTO E COU BEG BERIID DE cccceseccecoscnscccsnssenssonsssscereonsecese l
SUMMARY OF THE ARGUMENT ............... ce eeeeeeeeeeeeee 2
I EIIIIIITTT suscutestdsinteinciandeitabenapitibiibdidinaintisheniianisininidiensabeineties 8

I. A Presumption That The Existence Of Intellectual
Property Rights Implies Market Power Is Unfounded

PS I svitccnsecintsictiniiinbincinninaisientatntsiitmininnueigaeies 8
A. The Presumption Is False ...........ccccccccccssssssssseees 9
B. The Presumption Is Unworkable..................... 1]
Il. The Market Power Presumption Finds No Support In
The Prior Holdings Of This Court......... seocccsocnenvvesoccees 14
A. The Period OF “Hostility” .....ccccccsssccecscccesesseceee 15
B. The Period Of “Uniqueness” .................:..:00008 17
C. The Period Of Market Power ................:.:000+ 21
Ill. The Doctrine of Stare Decisis Cannot Justify The
Presumption of Market Powet.................:cccceseseeeereeeees 24
A. The Presumption of Market Power Was Not
Necessary to The Result in Loew's ................. 24
B. Loew's Meets The Court’s Criteria For
Rejection Under Stare Decisi8.............:c00000000 26

a There is No “Reliance” Interest That
Supports the Application of Stare Decisis
TEER RNa eee oer eae ee Se I 27

Ce I cxecrnrisneneenesnncntccsnsmnsenssosmmnmnemnsssntecsonsetonndienis 30

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Page
Cases
3 P.M., Inc. v. Basic Four Corp.,

591 F. Supp. 1350 (E.D. Mich. 1984) wo... eeeeeeeeeees 26
A.L Root Co. v. Computer/ Dynamics, Inc..

806 F.2d 673 (6th Cir. 1986)............ deoceneneonneneaneinidi 8, 28
Bleistein v. Donaldson Lithographing Co.. 5

13S U.S.-2359 (IDES) .ccccsssccescncstecctssiensanmmnsninnanennanaa 20
Capital Temps., Inc. v. Olsten Corp..

506 F .26 GSB (28 Cle, UDP) nccccececcnssiitienscatinimsuiuaeaiaan 25, 26
Copperweld Corp. v. Independence Tube Corp..,

467 U.S. TS2 (1DBE) nccccccsccsecssesseseccsstentssenmmnly man aan
Data Gen. Corp. v. Digidyne Corp..,

473 U.S. SOB (1DBS) ncccnccecasccsssessscnsestisitumammmemmmnia 23, 28
Digidyne Corp. v. Data Gen. Corp.,

T34 F.2d 1336 (Sia Che. IDG) ncccccaciistninscntnintsmnsniial 8. 29
Eastman Kodak Co. vy. Image Technical Serv.,

SO4 U.S. 451 (B9GZ) .ncccccsccsssvcsestininmenctiiamensiinmaiaial 25
Festo Corp. v. Shoketsu Kinzoku Kogyo Kabushiki

Ca., 53S US. 722 (GBR) nceccsssstiniincmaiiiiiinmiemannia 20
Fortner Enters., Inc. v. United States Steel Corp..

394 U.S. O95 (ISGP) .nccnsscesnsteenssttennmtionmaeammai 21
Henry v. A.B. Dick Co., 224 U.S. 1 (1912) ccc 15, 16
Independent Ink vy. Illinois Tool Works, Inc..

F956 FSG 1342 (FOG. Civ. BOGS) nccccecccccscsscnsssonsssesocns passim
Indiana Grocery, Inc. v. Super Valu Stores, Inc.,

864 F.2d 1409 (7th Cir. 1989)............ccsscccssecenessesssseeess 13
Int'l Salt Co. v. United States,

55S UD. FS (PSP ccrecicccninssiinnstiaiiasaiiiiins 5, 10, 16, 17, 18
Jefferson Parish Hosp. Dist. No. 2 v. Hyde,

GEG US. 2 (FSBO) ccceccccccssenctinenciinimintisininiiamiemmins passim
Motion Picture Patents Co. v. Universal Film Mfg.

Car, BED US. FEB (OGG Pieccnccvcccsssscseninisdlsssemiatitiiitnanininssn 16

_— ~

iil
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Page
Northern Pac. Ry. Co. v. United States,
EL 6, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 23
Spectrum Sports, Inc. v. McQuillan,
ec 11
State Oil v. Khan, 522 U.S. 3 (1997) ........000cc000 7, 24, 26, 27
Telerate Sys., Inc. v. Caro,
689 F. Supp. 221 (S.D.N.Y. 1988) .................ccccccccessesees 28
Times-Picayune Publ'g Co. v. United States,
Ee 5,17
United States Steel Corp. v. Fortner Enters., Inc.,
ite eceentinseeenenemeesenenase 6, 8, 21, 22, 27
United States v. Loew's Inc., 371 U.S. 38 (1962)........ passim
United States v. Paramount Pictures, Inc.,
a 5, 10, 16, 17, 20
United States v. Yellow Cab Co..,
. EE, >
Walker Process Equip., Inc. v. Food Mach. &
Cihome, Corp... S62 U.S. 172 (19GS).......0002.000.00sceseccceeeeeee 11
Will v. Comprehensive Accounting Corp.,
776 F.2d 665 (7th Cir. 1985) ..........ccccccccccceeeseeees 8, 10, 28
Statutes
i rrnreerreneenmenemmennnsnnenesnasn 4.11
Other Authorities
X P. Areeda, E. Elhauge & H. Hovenkamp,
Antitrust Law (2d ed. 2004) ........c..ccccccceeceeeeneeneenenees 11, 28
P. Areeda & H. Hovenkamp, Antitrust Law
ee 9, 29
IIA P. Areeda, H. Hovenkamp & J. Solow,
LL 9
W. S. Bowman, Jr., Patent and Antitrust Law
ET 15

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

W.S. Bowman, Jr.. Tying Arrangements and the
Leverage Problem &7 Yale LJ. 19 (1957) o.oo 5
Hon. F. H. Easterbroo* . Intellectual Property is Still
Property, 13 Harv. J.L. & Pub. Pol'y 108 (1990) ....28, 29
R. Feldman. The Insufficiency of Antitrust Analysis

for Patent Misuse, 55 Hastings L.J. 399 (2003)............... )
H. Hovenkamp., M. Janis & M. Lemley.

1 JP and Antitrust (Supp. 2005 )..............c.ccccceeeeeees passim
R. N. Pearson. 7ving Arrangements and Antitrust

Policy, 60 Nw. U. L. Rev. 626 (1965) .........ccccccccccceeeeeeee 25

Panel Discussion. The Value of Patents and Other

Legally Protected Commercial Rights, 53 Antitrust

Sassi: SIP Ie iharinsneciestarisohenreiensteniensieiiescinieansibiiteimiibiinieadaibaal )
Market Power and Intellectual Property

Litigation: Hearing Before the Subcomm.

on Courts, the Internet, and Intellectual

Property of the H. Comm. on the Judiciary,

eR EE TT 8
L. A. Sullivan. Handbook of the Law of Antitrust
SD Ge enncnicinsiencstaniensieennntnicinteniieitiiiniaieiiitetinieat 13

STATEMENT OF INTEREST’

The American Bar Association (“ABA”), with over
405,000 members. is the leading national membership
organization of the legal profession. Its members come from
each of the fifty states, the District of Columbia, and the U.S.
territories. Membership is voluntary and includes attorneys
in private practice, government service, corporate law
departments, and public interest organizations, as well as
legislators, law professors, law students, and non-lawyer
associates in related fields. ABA members represent the full
spectrum of public and private litigants, including plaintiffs
and defendants. Among the ABA entities are the Section of
Antitrust Law, with over 9,000 members. and the Section of
Intellectual Property Law. with over 19,000 members.

This case squarely presents the question whether a court
must presume that a patent confers market power for
purposes of a tying claim under Section | of the Sherman
Act. In 1990, the House of Delegates of the ABA adopted a
resolution providing that intellectual property rights shall not
be presumed to define a market or to establish market power
in actions under the antitrust laws.’ Because the ABA

' in accordance with Supreme Court Rule 37.6, the ABA states that this
brief has not been authored in whole or in part by counsel for a party and

? Specifically. the ABA House of Delegates adopied a policy position
a “in principle legislation such as H.R. 469, 101st Cong., Ist

Sess. (1989) (Fish) and S. 270, 101st Cong., 2d Sess. (1989) (Leahy)
which provide{d] that inteilectual property rights should not be presumed
to define a market or to establish market power in actions under the
antitrust laws.” ABA Section of Patent, Trademark & Copyright Law.
Report and Recommendation to the House of Delegates, Report No.

|

represents a uniquely broad spectrum of the American legal
community. its perspective on the central issue in this case
should be helpful to this Court.’

SUMMARY OF THE ARGUMENT

The question presented in this case is narrow and focused.
The Court granted certiorari to determine whether. in a claim
for unlawful tying under Section | of the Sherman Act.
“market power in the relevant market for the tying
product ... is presumed based solely on the existence of [a]
patent on the tying product.” Petition at |. The American
Bar Association urges the Court to hold that the answer is no.
Contrary to the view of the court below. the ABA believes
that this answer is consistent with the Court's prior decisions
and the meaning of Section |. Therefore. the decision of the
Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit should be reversed.

The Federal Circuit held that a presumption of market
power must apply where the tying product is patented not
because such a presumption is factually supportable. nor
because it serves any overriding legal policy. Rather. the
Federal Circuit held that the market power presumption was
mandated by this Court's prior decisions. especially United
States v. Loew's Inc.. 371 U.S. 38 (1962).

But the Court of Appeals. like some others, has misread
Loew's. The “presumption” applied in Loew's was not a
presumption of actual market power. as the Court's tying

122C (Feb. 1990). The action of the House of Delegates adopting the
report is at 115 ABA Reports 42 (1990). The Section report itself is at
11S ABA Reports 1365-70 (1990). In 2001. the ABA reiterated its
support for bills that would prevent any presumption of market power in
intellectual property cases. See Market Power and Intellectual Property
Litigation’ Hearing Before the Subcomm. on Courts, the Internet, and
Intellectual Property of the H. Comm. on the Judiciary, \O07th Cong. 11
(2001) (statement of Charles P. Baker. Chair, ABA Section of
Intellectual Property Law ).

* Both parties have consented to the filing of this brief. The letters of
consent are on file with the Clerk of the Court.

jurisprudence now requires. It was, to use the Loew's
Court's own words, a “presumption of uniqueness resulting
from the existence of the [intellectual property] itself.” 371
U.S. at 48 (emphasis added). Indeed, the Loew's Court
expressly stated that its references to the “requisite economic
power” over the tying product should not be confused with
actual market power:

[T]he requisite economic power may be found on the basis
of either uniqueness or consumer appeal, . . . [because]
market dominance in the present context does not
necessitate a demonstration of market power in the sense
of § 2 of the Sherman Act....

Id. at 45 n.4. The “presumption of uniqueness” in Loew's,
moreover, was obviated by this Court's later decisions in
which the requirement of “power” in the tying product
market was expressly defined to mean actual market power
in the sense of power over price.

Neither Loew's nor any other decision of this Court has
ever applied a presumption of actual market power to decide
a case in which the tying product was protected by a patent
or copyright. Thus, the ABA does not believe that Loew's
must be overruled. We emphasize. however, that the
question presented is not whether any decisions of this Court
must be overturned, or how many, but whether a
presumption of market power based on intellectual property
alone should be rejected. While the necessity of overruling
Loew's may be debatable, the American Bar Association
respectfully submits that the question presented by the
Petition is not.

A. The Presumption Is Baseless And Unworkable.

The ABA adopted its 1990 policy because the market
power presumption has no basis in economic reality and
therefore unjustifiably reduces incentives to innovate. We
are aware of no evidence that the fact of a patent, copyright,
or other intellectual property confers market power in all or
even a significant majority of cases. The judicial and

4

academic consensus that any such presumption is unwise,
moreover. is overwhelming. As a result. neither the court
below nor the Respondent here has cited any economic or
legal commentator who currently defends the presumption.

Members of the executive and legislative branches agree
that the presumption should be rejected. Both antitrust
enforcement agencies have eschewed it in their intellectual
property enforcement guidelines. and Congress specifically
amended the patent laws to ensure that any claim of
“misuse” based on tying would require proof of market
power. 35 U.S.C. § 271(d).’ Even those few courts that
have regarded the presumption as mandated by Loew's. have
made no attempt to defend it.

The presumption is also unworkable. as the anomalies that
arise from the Federal Circuit's attempt to apply it in this
case demonstrate. To reach the result below. the Federal
Circuit concluded that:

(1) a presumption that a patent creates market power in
fact is warranted under Section | of the Sherman Act, but
plays no role whatsoever under Section 2.

(2) the market power presumption must be deemed
rebuttable (a conclusion based on “clearly articulated
Supreme Court dicta.” Pet. App. 15a (the Federal Circuit's
opinion reported at 396 F.3d 1342). but it may not be
rebutted by evidence going to the heart of any finding of
actual market power. that is. the “presence of competing
substitutes for the tying product.” Pet. App. 16a (internal
quotation marks omitted). and

(3) the presumption carries with it a presumed
geographic market. in which (contrary to existing law and

* See H. Hovenkamp. M. Janis & M. Lemley. /P and Antitrust § 4.26, at
4-36 (Supp. 2005) (hereinafter “HJL Treatise”) (“It would also be
irrational for Congress to immunize patent ties from Patent Act liability
only to have them condemned under the Sherman or Clayton Act... .”).

5

common sense) every product with a United States patent
competes in a market defined as the United States.

These propositions have no basis in the decisions of this
Court or the economics of tying arrangements. Rather, they
demonstrate the difficulty of applying a presumption with no
basis in fact to actual cases. If the Federal Circuit's
presumption is not rejected, that difficulty will be visited on
every member of the bench and bar struggling with the
application of antitrust law to intellectual property.

B. This Court’s Decisions Do Not Support The
Market Power Presumption.

The lower court’s conclusion that it was bound to apply
the market power presumption to a patented tying product
reflects a fundamental misunderstanding of Loew's and this
Court's tying jurisprudence.

Many of the Court's early tying decisions condemned
tying arrangements included in intellectual property licenses
as inherently anticompetitive. A principal rationale
employed by the Court during that period was the so-called
“leveraging fallacy’—that the patentee was using one
monopoly (on the invention) to gain a second monopoly (on
the tied product).° Although that rationale has not survived
the Court’s later decisions, it was the primary basis for the
findings of per se illegality in decisions such as /nternational
Salt Co. v. United States, 332 U.S. 392 (1947), and United
States v. Paramount Pictures, Inc., 334 U.S. 131 (1948).

In the 1950s, the Court decided a tying case for the first
time by focusing on the degree of the seller's power in the
market for the tying product.” In a series of subsequent cases
that included Loew's, however, the Court emphasized that
the requisite “power” was not actual market power, but

’ See, e.g. W. S. Bowman, Jr., Tying Arrangements and the Leverage
Problem, 67 Yale LJ. 19 (1957).

. Times-Picayune Publ'g Co. v. United States, 345 U.S. 594 (1953).

6

merely a showing of distinctiveness or uniqueness. This
showing was easily met in a patent case. “[s]ince one of the
objectives of the patent laws is to reward uniqueness... .”
Loew's, 371 U.S. at 46. But. even as these cases found that
patents could justify a “presumption of uniqueness” by
definition. id at 48. the Court acknowledged that a
presumption of actual market power could not be justified.
because it was “common knowledge” that patents do not
necessarily confer market power. Northern Pacific Ry. Co.
v. United States, 356 U.S. 1. 10 n.8 (1958).

Loew's was the first and last case in which this Court
applied a presumption of any kind to a tying product
protected by intellectual property rights. But Loew's
specifically denied that its “presumption” was the same as
the presumption applied by the Federal Circuit below—that a
patented tying product may be presumed to confer actual
market power. Thus. Loew's simply did not ask or answer
the question presented here.

The Court's subsequent cases have taken a different
approach to the question of “power” in tving cases and have
thus undermined the rationale for the Loew's “presumption
of uniqueness.” Beginning with United States Steel Corp. v.
Fortner Enterprises, Inc.. 429 U.S. 610 (1977) (“Fortner
IT’), the Court has held repeatedly that a tying claim cannot
survive unless a plaintiff first pleads and proves that the
seller has genuine market power in the tying product.
Fortner Il reversed a judgment of illegal tying based upon
jury findings of uniqueness because those findings did not
establish actual market power. In 1984, Jefferson Parish
Hospital District No. 2 v. Hyde, 466 U.S. 2 (1984) (“Hyde”),
confirmed the rule by rejecting a tying claim in which the
seller had only 30 percent of the tying market. Based on
these decisions, scholars have concluded that this Court's
current requirement of market power in the tying product
“would refuse to find sufficient power in /nternational
Salt... or in decisions such as Paramount or Loew's... .”
HJL Treatise, supra note 4. § 4.2e4(A). at 4-31.

7

In its opinion below, the Federal Circuit acknowledged
this change in the law of tying, but argued that it occurred
only for unpatented products, not patented ones. Pet. App.
6a. The Federal Circuit based this conclusion principally on
“dicta” from Hyde suggesting that the Court's current market
power requirement could be satisfied by the existence of a
patent. Pet. App. 9a, 14a-15a. That suggestion, which was
immediately challenged by the four concurring Justices, and
later questioned by other members of the majority, cannot
change the holding of Loew's. And that holding did not
apply a presumption of market power to intellectual
property.

C. Stare Decisis Does Not Justify Adherence To The

Presumption Of Market Power.

In the view of the ABA, the principles of stare decisis do
not present an obstacle to the Court’s rejection of the
presumption of market power.

First, this Court overrules only cases in which the
principle at issue was necessary to the result. The Loew's
Court relied on additional evidence of arguable market
power that provides alternative grounds for the holding.

Second, if the Court concludes that it must overrule
Loew's to reverse the judgment below, there are powerful
reasons to do so. As improved analysis of economic
practices and priorities has evolved, this Court has overruled
several prior holdings in the antitrust area, especially in cases
challenging assumptions underlying per se rules of liability.
See, e.g., State Oil v. Khan, 522 U.S. 3, 20 (1997) (“Khan”).
Here, both the overwhelming opposition to the presumption
and the continued debate over the meaning of Loew's make
this an even more compelling case for overcoming stare
decisis.

Third, Loew's has caused uncertainty, not reliance.
Accordingly, the ABA does not believe that members of the
legal and business community have relied to their detriment
on the interpretation of Loew's that the Federal Circuit found

8

controlling here. Rather, the ABA believes that the majority
view for the past twenty years that patents do not justify a
presumption of market power has been undermined and
unsettled by the decisions. including the opinion below,
redefining the Loew's presumption to mean market power.
Any disapproval of Loew's that accompanies rejection of the
market power presumption would result in clarity and
common sense, not disappointed expectations.

ARGUMENT

I. A Presumption That The Existence Of Intellectual
Property Rights Implies Market Power Is
Unfounded And Unwise.

The presumption of market power applied by the Court of
Appeals below has no basis in economic reality or legal
policy. In the 1980s. it became ctear that. despite this
Court's decisions in Fortner I] and Hyde. some lower courts
would presume market power from the existence of a patent
or copyright.’ while others would not.* The ABA adopted its
first resolution opposing the presumption in 1990, and has
maintained that position for the reasons summarized by the
Chair of the ABA Section of Intellectual Property Law when
testifving before Congress in 2001:

Because such presumptions are arbitrary. ignoring real
world facts, they have no proper basis from the point of
view of either intellectual property or antitrust law, and
they lower incentives created by intellectual property law
to invest in new jobs and new industrial facilities based on
technical advances.”

. Digidyne Corp. v. Data Gen. Corp. 734 F.2d 1336 (9th Cir. 1984).

* will v. Comprehensive Accounting Corp., 776 F.2d 665 (7th Cir. 1985);
Al. Root Co. v. Computer Dynamics, Inc., 806 F.2d 673 (6th Cir. 1986).

” See Market Power and Intellectual Property Litigation: Hearing Before
the Subcomm. on Courts, the Internet, and Intellectual Property of the H.
Comm. on the Judiciary, \O7th Cong. 11 & nn.l & 2 (2001) (Statement
of Charles P. Baker, Chair, Section of Intellectual Property Law, on

9

We ask the Court to reject the presumption for two principal
reasons:

A. The Presumption Is False.

First and foremost, “whether a patent confers market
power is a question of fact, not policy.”'” As the Petition in
this case amply demonstrates (Pet. 19-20), there is no
empirical evidence that patents confer market power in every
case (as the presumption holds), or even in any significant
number of cases. In fact. the evidence available indicates
that the vast majority of patents confer neither market power
nor monetary profit to the patentee.'' Thus, there is nothing
to contradict the answer to the question from Professor
Areeda: “Patents, copyrights, trademarks, and other forms of
intellectual property do not themselves confer any market

sell

power.

Nor is the factual case for the presumption improved, as
the Respondent argues, by narrowing the field of
“presumptive” patents to those that are employed in tying
arrangements. This Court has repeatedly recognized the
benefits of and reasons for tying arrangements that apply

behalf of the American Bar Association citing prior testimony by the
ABA on this issue) (Mr. Baker’s statement is also available at

http://www.abanet.org/ intelprop/ marketpower.pdf).

'0 pb. Areeda and H. Hovenkamp, Antitrust Law $518, at 194 (Supp.
2005).

' See, e.g., Comments of F. M. Scherer, Panel Discussion, The Value of
Patents and Other Legally Protected Commercial Rights, 53 Antitrust
L.J. 535, 547 (1985) (“{s}tatistical studies suggest that the vast majority
of all patents confer very little monopoly power—at least, they are not
very profitable”); R. Feldman, The Insufficiency of Antitrust Analysis for
Patent Misuse, 55 Hastings L.J. 399, 437 (2003) (“eighty percent to
ninety percent of patents never create any monetary return on the patent
holder” (footnote omitted)).

'2 11A P. Areeda, H. Hovenkamp & J. Solow, Antitrust Law ¥ 523, at 130
(Ist ed. 1995) (original emphasis).

10

with or without market power.’ Among those benefits are
quality assurance and customer preference.'* Of particular
note here, tying can be used as a means of “metering” the use
of the invention itself. allowing the patentee to charge more
to those who use the invention more intensively (that is,
those who buy more ink), and less to those who do not. Such
metering is “nearly always procompetitive.”'* In such a
case. the patentee who imposes the tie “would be precisely
equivalent to the lessor of an automobile who charges by the
mile that the lessee drives.”'® Thus. the mere use of a tie,
successful or not. cannot transform Illinois Tool. or a rental
car company, into a monopolist.

In addition to its theoretical flaws and lack of empirical
evidence, the argument that a patentee who insists on a tying
arrangement “must” have market power is belied by the
history of tying cases brought before this Court. In each of
the Court's antitrust cases discussed below involving a tying
product subject to intellectual property rights. there was clear
evidence that the defendant did not have market power in the
tving product. In /nternational Salt, “there were several
firms selling roughly equivalent lixator machines,”'’ and in
Paramount and Loew's “not only the defendants but
presumably numerous rivals offered copyrighted motion
pictures of equivalent quality and desireability.”'* Indeed.
the record in this case—which reflects substantial other
sellers of substitutes for the tying product. and was fatal to

' See, ¢. g.. Will, 776 F.2d at 673 (“The Supreme Court emphasized in
Hyde and again in National Collegiate Athletic Association that tying
may have competitive benefits.” ) (citations omitted).

'* HJL Treatise. supra note 4, § 21.2, at 21-8.
'S id, at 21-12.

© id. at 21-13.

7 Id. § 4.2e4, at 4-31.

” Jd. Those rivals would include the four co-defendants in Paramount
Pictures. Columbia Pictures, Universal. United Artists, and Loew’s itself.

the Section 2 claim below—belies any claim that the
presumption is ordinarily true.

Because the presumption is groundless, it places a burden
on intellectual property rights that is unjustified. Thus, there
is striking unanimity among both economic and legal
commentators that the presumption is harmful to consumers
and should be abandoned. See Pet. 19. The federal enforce-
ment agencies have expressly eschewed the presumption in
their enforcement guidelines. Pet. 17-18. And Congress has
expressly amended the Patent Act to provide that any claim
of “misuse” by tying must prove market power, “thereby
abolishing any presumption that a patent itself defines a
market or implies market power.”'” For these reasons, most
courts have also rejected the presumption (Pet. 9) and others
that have applied it have done so solely in deference to this
Court.

B. The Presumption Is Unworkable.

In its attempt to apply the presumption of market power to
the case before it, the opinion below highlights certain
anomalies of the presumption, and actually creates new ones.

First, the court had to acknowledge that the presumption it
found warranted in a Section | tying case had no application
whatsoever in a Section2 claim. Pet. App. 17a. The
conclusion that Section 2 requires market power was
mandated by this Court’s decisions in Walker Process and
Spectrum Sports® The Court of Appeals offered no

'° x P. Areeda, E. Elhauge & H. Hovenkamp, Antitrust Law § 1737c, at
83 (2d ed. 2004), citing 35 U.S.C. § 271(d), and noting: “While the Act
does not define proof of illegal tying under the antitrust laws, it would be
anomalous to equate patents with power for antitrust purposes but not for
misuse purposes, for the patent misuse defense is either equivalent to the
antitrust offense or more hostile to the tying defendant.”

20 Walker Process Equip., Inc. v. Food Mach. & Chem. Corp., 382 U.S.
172, 177-78 (1965) (“Without a definition of that market there is no way
to measure [the patentee’s] ability to lessen or destroy competition. . . .
There may be effective substitutes for the device which do not infringe
the patent.”); Spectrum Sports, Inc. v. McQuillan, 506 U.S. 447 (1993).

12
rationale for the distinction, and none is apparent. If the
presumption were grounded in fact, it would have at least
some relevance to any antitrust analysis of market power.
Instead, the anomalous result was accepted below for a
single reason: “Neither /nternational Salt nor Loew's dealt
with section 2 of the Sherman Act.” Pet. App. 17a.

Of-greater practical consequence, however, the Court of
Appeals next considered what would happen afier the
presumption was applied. For, unlike this Court's decision
in Loew's, the Federal Circuit's decision here did not end the
case in the plaintiff's favor. Acknowledging that this Court
had never decided the issue. the Court of Appeals concluded
that the presumption must be rebuttable. based on “clearly
articulated Supreme Court dicta.” Pet. App. 15a. That dicta
came from the Court’s 1984 Hyde decision, in which the
majority observed that it was “fair to presume” that a patent
“gives the seller market power.” /d. (quoting Hyde. 466 U.S.
at 16). The Federal Circuit thus remanded the case to give
the defendant an opportunity to rebut the presumption of
market power.

In doing so. however, the court further observed that
“[t]he mere presence of competing substitutes for the tying
product ....is insufficient to” rebut the presumption. Pet.
App. 16a. This language came from the decision in Loew's,
in which (as noted) the presumption applied was expressly
not a presumption of market power, but a presumption of
“uniqueness.” The Loew's Court was simply stating that the
presence of competing substitutes was insufficient to
overcome the presumption because, even though directly
relevant to the question of market power, market power was
not the test: “Market dominance—some power to control
price ard to exclude competition—is by no means the only
test of whether the seller has the requisite economic power.”
Loew's, 371 U.S. at 45.

Because it applied the Loew's language about “competing
substitutes” to a test that dves require market power under

13

this Court’s current law, the Federal Circuit's rule is quite
extraordinary. There is no more direct evidence that a party
lacks market power than the presence of other significant
competitors already in the market.”' Such competitors, by
definition, are supplying options to consumers, have
overcome any barriers to entry, and may have the current
capacity to expand output and defeat any attempt by the
alleged monopolist to curtail output.” After excluding this
compelling evidence from consideration, the Federal Circuit
stated that

[t]he presumption can only be rebutted by expert
testimony or other credible economic evidence of the
cross-elasticity of demand, the area of effective
competition, or other evidence of lack of market power.

Pet. App. 16a. But what “expert testimony” on the subject of
actual market power would ignore the presence of direct
competitors? What cross-elasticities will be more relevant
than those of the “competing substitutes”? And what “other
evidence of lack of market power” will suffice? In antitrust
terms, it is as if the Federal Circuit has told the patent holder
that you may rebut a presumption that it is raining, perhaps
by expert analysis of barometric pressure, or by measuring
reservoir levels, but not by going outside and taking your hat
off.

There is practical difficulty in the Federal Circuit's
selection of a “rebuttable” geographic market as well.
Although Loew's made no reference to geographic markets
either, the Federal Circuit supplied one itself: “Thus, a
patent presumptively defines the relevant market as the

2! & L.A. Sullivan, Handbook of the Law of Antitrust § 8, at 30-31
(West 1977) (“[MJarket power is the power of a firm to affect the price
which will prevail on the market in which the firm trades. Whether a
seller possesses such power depends upon the... availability of
substitutes for the seller’s product.”).

= See, ¢.g., Indiana Grocery, Inc. v. Super Valu Stores, Inc., 864 F.2d
1409, 1414-15 (7th Cir. 1989).

14

nationwide market for the patented product itself... .~ Pet.
App. 15a (emphasis added). But there is no reason to believe
that all products with U.S. patents compete in the same
“nationwide” geographic market. It is widely recognized
that geographic markets for patented products may have only
a local reach. or may go well beyond domestic borders.~°
Here. the Federal Circuit's presumption of a “nationwide™
market does not even comport with the market definition of
this very plaintiff. who argued in the District Court that “the
geographic market for the tying product is the United States
and Canada.” Pet. App. 45a.

We emphasize these practical problems because the
consequences of these rules will be visited on those
individuals and businesses attempting to negotiate, execute.
and enforce intellectual property agreements—as well as the
28.000 members of the ABA's Sections of Intellectual
Property Law and Antitrust Law attempting to advise clients
and try cases.

Il. The Market Power Presumption Finds No Support
In The Prior Holdings Of This Court.

As noted. we do not believe the market power
presumption can be supported as a matter of economic
policy. A closer question is whether the Court's precedent
has previously applied such a presumption. The Court of
Appeals construed Loew's to hold “that, where the tying
product is patented or copyrighted, market power may be
presumed rather tnan proven.” Pet. App. 8a. To square that
holding with the Court's later decisions requiring genuine
market power to support a claim of tying, the Court of
Appeals also construed Loew's as “confirm[ing] that patent
tying is a distinct doctrine” from tying involving nonpatented

>? See. e.g. HJL Treatise. supra note 4, § 4.3b, at 4-45 (giving examples
of different markets and concluding that “the characteristics of the
[patented] good itself determines the size of the market and the range of
competitive choices”).

15

products. Pet. App. 9a. As indicated, we do not believe that
Loew's can support either proposition.

The flaw in the Circuit Court's reading lies in its failure to
recognize the role in this Court’s decisions of “economic
power” in the tying product, and how the definition of that
power has changed over time. The Court’s decisions can be
divided into three parts: (1) the period of “hostility” —before
power in the tying product was even considered, (2) the
period of “uniqueness’—when “power™ was defined to mean
a sense of distinctiveness so easy to satisfy that it could be
inferred from the existence of the tie itself. and (3) the
current period of actual market power—in which power is
defined as market power in the modern sense of power over
price.

A. The Period Of “Hostility.”

Nearly one hundred years ago, this Court rejected an
attack on a tying arrangement strikingly similar to this one—
in which a patented mimeograph machine was licensed on
the condition that the licensee purchase the ink from the
patent holder. Henry v. A.B. Dick Co., 224 U.S. 1 (1912).
The patentee had argued, even then, that the tying
arrangement was a form of metering, by which the licensor
“is merely insuring to himself a royalty based upon the
output of the machine.” /d. at 65. In upholding the tie as
consistent with the use of the patent right, the majority
rejected the argument of Chief Justice White in dissent that
the use of a tie allowed the patent holder “to bring within the
claims of his patent things which are not embraced therein,
thus .. . to multiply monopolies at the will of an interested
party.” /d. at 53. This was an early and forceful articulation
of what many have called the “patent leveraging fallacy.””*

>4 W.S. Bowman, Jr. Patent and Antitrust Law 154 (U. Chi. Press 1973).
Whether the leveraging theory was properly applied in the Court's early
cases is not within the scope of the question presented here. We note
only that the theory has been abandoned in the Court’s modern decisions,

16

Five years later, in Motion Picture Patents Co. v.
Universal Film Mfg. Co., 243 U.S. 502 (1917), the views of
Chief Justice White prevailed. and Henry v. A.B. Dick was
overruled. This time. Justice Holmes dissented:

The supposed contravention of public interest sometimes
is stated as an attempt to extend the patent law to
unpatented articles. which of course it is not, and more
accurately as a possible domination to be established by
such means. But the domination is one only to the extent
of the desire for the |patented] fea pot or film feeder, and
if the owner prefers to keep the pot or the feeder unless
you will buy his tea or films. | cannot see in allowing him
the right to do so anything more than an ordinary
incidence of ownership .. . .

243 U.S. at 520 (emphasis added). The Court then embarked
on a_ period of self-described “hostility” to tying
arrangements. See Loew's, 371 U.S. at 46. That period
culminated in the Court’s 1947 decision in /nternational Salt
Co. v. United States, 332 U.S. 392 (1947), where the tying
product was patented. and its 1948 decision in United States
v. Paramount Pictures, Inc., 334 U.S. 131 (1948), where the
tying product was copyrighted.

International Salt and Paramount Pictures are significant
here because the Federal Circuit has suggested that they must
be “overrulfed]~ to reject the presumption of market power.
Pet. App. 14a. But that is difficult to justify when neither

see. e.g.. Jefferson Parish Hosp. Dist. No. 2 v. Hyde, 466 U.S. 2, 36
(1984) (O°Connor, J.. concurring) (“The existence of a tied product
normally does not increase the profit that the seller with market power
can extract from sales of the tying product.”) (emphasis omitted), and is
routinely rejected by the commentators: “Tying cannot enable a patentee
to attain a double monopoly profit by tying unpatented goods.” HJL
Treatise. supra note 4, § 21.3b, at 21-20. See also Hyde, 466 U.S. at 36
(concurrence describing this view as “easily demonstrated and widely
accepted”). Whatever the historical merit of the leveraging theory, it
helps to explain why the Court's early decisions did not address the issue
of power in the tying product market.

17

case addressed, or even discussed, any requirement of power
in the tying product. Instead, the cases relied expressly on
the leveraging theory as their rationale.?> The /nternational
Salt opinion condemned the tie as long as the “volume of
business” affected in the tied product not be “insignificant or
insubstantial.” 332 U.S. at 396. The principal competitive
evil identified was the tendency of the tie “to foreclose
competitors from” access to sales of the tied product. /d If
these cases no longer comport with this Court's tying
jurisprudence, they were disapproved long ago. It is not
necessary to overrule them for providing the “wrong” answer
to a question that was never asked.

B. The Period Of “Uniqueness.”

The first case to consider any concept of power in the
tying market came five years later in Times-Picayune
Publishing Co. v. United States, 345 U.S. 594 (1953). There
the Court refused to condemn as an illegal tie a newspaper's
requirement that ads be run in both its morning and
afternoon papers. The Court’s opinion described the
Sherman Act’s prohibition on tying as confined to cases
where “the seller enjoys a monopolistic position in the
market for the ‘tying’ product.” 345 U.S. at 608. Because
the defendant had no power in the relevant market for
advertising, the tying claim was rejected.

In a series of subsequent decisions, however, the Court
made clear that the definition of the “power” sufficient to
satisfy this test was not actual market power in the modern
sense of power over price, but something far broader. The
first was Northern Pacific Railway Co. v. United States, 356
U.S. 1 (1958), in which the tying product was the

>> Im'l Salt, 332 U.S. at 395-96 (“But the patents confer no right to
restrain use of, or trade in, unpatented salt.”); Paramount Pictures, 334
U.S. at 158 (“Where a high quality film greatly desired is licensed only if
an inferior one is taken, the latter borrows quality from the former and
strengthens its monopoly by drawing on the other.”).

18

“exclusive” landholdings of certain railroads along the right-
of-way. Justice Black made clear that the suggestion in
Times-Picayune that the defendant have a “monopolistic
position” would not be taken literally:

While there is some language in the Jimes-Picayune
opinion which speaks of “monopoly power” or
“dominance” over the tying product as a necessary
precondition for application of the rule of per se
unreasonableness to tying arrangements, we do not
construe this general language as requiring anything more
than sufficient economic power to impose an appreciable
restraint on free competition in the tied product... ..

356 U.S. at 11. That power could be found in a tying case
“regardless of the source from which the power is derived

and whether the power takes the form of a monopoly or not.” -

Id. Indeed, that definition of power was so broad that it
could be inferred from the very fact of the tying arrangement
itself: “The very existence of this host of tying arrangements
is itself compelling evidence of the defendant’s great
power....” /d at 7-8.

As the defendants in Northern Pacific argued
unsuccessfully that market power was now the test, they
tried to distinguish /nternational Salt, which had not required
proof of power. by asserting that the existence of the patent
made the difference. Justice Black disagreed:

In arriving at its decision in /niernational Salt the Court
placed no reliance on the fact that a patent was involved
nor did it give the slightest intimation that the outcome
would have been any different if that had not been the
case. If anything, the Court held the challenged tying
arrangements unlawful despite the fact that the tying item
was patented, not because of it.

Id. at 9 (original emphasis). For the Court in Northern
Pacific, the result in I/nternational Salt was compelling
evidence that the requisite power was nof true market

19

power—if that were the test, a patent alone clearly would not
meet it:

Of course it is common knowledge that a patent does
not always confer a monopoly over a_ particular
commodity. Often the patent is limited to a unique form
or improvement of the product and the economic power
resulting from the patent privileges is slight.

Id. at 10 n.8.

Four years later, this Court’s decision in Loew 's continued
the process of defining down the concept of “power” in the
tying market. The Court’s oft-repeated statement that “[t}he
requisite economic power is presumed when the tying
product is patented or copyrighted” was immediately
preceded by this passage:

Market dominance—some power to control price and to
exclude competition—is by no means the only test of
whether the seller has the requisite economic power.
Even absent a showing of market dominance, the crucial
economic power may be inferred from the tying product's
desirability, to consumers or from uniqueness in its
attributes.

371 U.S. at 45 (footnote omitted). The Loew's Court thus
could not have been clearer that its definition of the
“requisite economic power” was not “some power to control
price,” and thus not actual market power in its modern sense.
The Loew's Court continued in a footnote that a finding of
“economic power...on the basis of either uniqueness or
consumer appeal . . . does not necessitate a demonstration of
market power.” 371 U.S. at 45 n4. And the Court
specifically noted that “it should seldom be necessary in a
tie-in sale case to embark on a full-scale factual inquiry into
the scope of the relevant market . . . [or compute] the seller's
percentage share in that market.” /d.

Once the requisite power was defined as “uniqueness,”
moreover, a presumption of such power based on the
existence of intellectual property followed by definition,

20

because “one of the objectives of the patent laws is to reward
uniqueness.” /d. at 46. This is understandable. A patent is
awarded only to inventions that are both novel and not
obvious.” and thus distinctive by their very nature. A
copyrighted work. moreover, is literally unique, as the law
protects only the original item itself.*’ Thus. it was not
difficult for the Loew's Court to find that the holding of
Paramount Pictures, notwithstanding its failure to address
the issue of power. fit comfortably into the “presumption of
uniqueness.” for “[a] copyrighted feature film does not lose
its legal or economic uniqueness because it is shown on a
television rather than a movie screen.” 371 U.S. at 48.

In sum. and contrary to the opinion below, Loew 's did not
“ma|k]Je clear that. where the tying product is patented or
copyrighted. market power may be presumed rather than
proven. Pet. App. 8a (emphasis added). Rather, it held
only that uniqueness may be (and arguably must be)
presumed from a copyright or patent. And that, as this Court
has repeatedly stressed. is a very different inquiry.**

"2 g.. Festo Corp. v. Shoketsu Kinzoku Kogvo Kabushiki Co., 535 U.S.
722. 736 (2002) (citing 35 U.S.C. $§ 101-103 (1994 ed. and Supp. V)).

>” Bleistein v. Donaldson Lithographing Co., 188 U.S. 239, 250 (1903)

(Holmes, J.) (“Personality always contains something unique. . . . [Even]
a very modest grade of art has in it something irreducible, which is one
man’s alone. That something he may copyright .. . .”).

“* Nor did Loew's “confir[m] that patent tying is a distinct doctrine” from
the law governing non-patented products. Pet. App. 8a. The Court of
Appeals based that conclusion solely on a reference in Loew's to the
defendants’ argument “that their behavior is not to be judged by the
principle of the patent cases .... but by the general principles which
govern .. . nonpatented products.” /d. But the Loew's Court, like Justice
Black in Northern Pacific, rejected the defendants’ argument that the
doctrines were separate. noting that “[a]pplicability of Paramount
Pictures brings with it a meeting of the test of Northern Pacific (for
unprotected products], since Paramount Pictures is but a particularized
application of the general doctrine as reaffirmed in Northern Pacific.”
Loew's, 371 U.S. at 50.

21

A The Period Of Market Power.

The Court’s subsequent decisions in Fortner I] and Hyde
fundamentally altered the law of tying. In Fortner //, the
Court reversed a finding of requisite power in the tying
product market that was based on a finding of uniqueness.
That finding, in turn, was based on several indicia of
uniqueness suggested by Justice Black in his prior opinion
for the Court in Fortner 1.7” See Fortner II, 429 U.S. at 614-
16. Among the findings of uniqueness considered in Fortner
/] was the same one that Justice Black had stressed in his
Northern Pacific opinion: that “petitioners entered into tying
arrangements with a significant number of customers in
addition to Fortner.” /d. at 614. This time, however, the
Court rejected these findings as insufficient to establish the
power requirement for tying. /d. at 618.

The Fortner I] Court explained that “uniqueness” was
relevant to the question of tying product power only to the
extent that it reflected “whether the seller has the power,
within the market for the tying product, to raise prices or to
require purchasers to accept burdensome terms that could not
be exacted in a completely competitive market.” /d. at 620
(footnote omitted). The Court acknowledged that a
commentator on Fortner | had “correctly analyzed the
burden of proof” when he stated that “[it is] clear that market
power in the sense of power over price must still exist.” /d.
at 620 n.13.

In this way, the definition of power for purposes of the
“forcing” requirement in tying was changed fundamentally
from the approach of Northern Pacific and Loew's. Whereas
in Loew's true market power was simply one means of
showing the requisite “uniqueness,” now “uniqueness” was
relevant only as a means of showing real power over price.
Because what the plaintiff in Fortner // labeled “uniqueness”

29 Fortner Emers., Inc. v. United States Steel Corp., 394 U.S. 495
(1969).

22

did not relate to actual market power. moreover, the plaintiff
lost. /d. at 621-22. The doctrine was cemented by the
decision in Hyde. where the Court rejected a tying claim
because a 30-percent market share was too small to show
market power. despite evidence that the surgical services
involved were “unique” in other senses. Hyde, 466 U.S. at
27 (“While these factors may generate “market power’ in
some abstract sense. they do not generate the kind of market
power that justifies condemnation of tying.” (footnote
omitted)). //vde thus turned on precisely the kind of “factual
inquiry into the... seller's percentage share” of the market
that the Loew 's opinion said was unnecessary “in a tie-in sale
case.” Loew's. 371 U.S. at 45 n.4. Those holdings cannot be
squared with the statement in Loew's that “the mere presence
of competing substitutes for the tying product” is insufficient
to defeat a tying claim. Loew's, 371 U.S. at 49.

The Federal Circuit's conclusion that the requirement of
tving product power was fundamentally altered by these
decisions with respect to most products, but was left
undisturbed when the tying product was patented or
copyrighted. does not follow. The principal ground for the
Federal Circuit's conclusion was a statement in Hyde—
which the Federal Circuit described as “clearly articulated
Supreme Court dicta” (Pet. App. 15a)—that it is “fair to
presume” that a patent “gives the seller market power.” /d.
at 9a (quoting Hyde. 466 U.S. at 16). But that statement is
insufficient to resolve the question presented here for
numerous reasons.

Because Hivde did not involve intellectual property, the
Statement about patents in the majority opinion was not
necessary to the Court's holding. Thus, that remark should
be read with caution. especially when the only authority cited
was Loew's itself. see Hyde, 466 U.S. at 16, citing 371 U.S.
at 45-47. including the very page stating that a tying claim
“does not necessitate a demonstration of market power... .”
Loew 's. 371 U.S. at 45 n.4.

23

The Court’s assertion, moreover, if construed to presume
actual market power, had aiready been questioned by other
“clearly articulated Supreme Court dicta.” Pet. App. 15a.
Indeed, the falsity of that proposition was described as
“common knowledge” by the Court twenty-five years earlier
in Northern Pacific, 356 U.S. at 10 n.8.

The Hyde majority's remark about patents was further
questioned by the four concurring members of the Court.
Indeed. Justice O°Connor’s Hyde concurrence described the
presumption of market power in patent cases as a “common
misconception.” 466 U.S. at 37 1.7 (O’Connor, J.,
concurring). And when, only two months later, the Ninth
Circuit relied on Loew's to apply a presumption of market
power to intellectual property Justices White and Blackmun,
both members of the Hyde majority, dissented from the
Court’s refusal to grant certiorari, describing the Ninth
Circuit decision as “suspect on several grounds.” Data Gen.
Corp. v. Digidyne Corp., 473 U.S. 908, 909 (1985) (White,
J.. dissenting from denial of cert.) (urging review to
determine “what effect should be given to the existence of a
copyright . . . in determining market power’).

We do not suggest that “nose-counting,” as the Federal
Circuit characterized it, Pet. App. 12a, can be used to declare
a change in this Court’s law. The question here is whether
the language in Hyde—telied upon, and characterized as
dicta, by the Federal Circuit—should suffice to carve a
patent exception to the new requirement of market power in
tying cases.

The answer is that dicta should not decide cases. One of
the many ironies of the cases following Hyde is that this
Court’s effort to expand the range of legality under the
antitrust laws for beneficial ties in all areas (by redefining
the recuired “power” as market power) has inadvertently
narrowed the scope of legality for ties involving intellectual
property. By also redefining the Loew's “presumption” to be
one of market power, courts like the Federal Circuit have

24

taken what was designed to be an additional burden for the
claimant (who must prove real market power) and turned it
into a burden for the intellectual property defendant (for
whom real market power is presumed). Only by relying on
the “dicta” in Hvde could the Federal Circuit reach such a
strange result under this Court's decisions.

In sum. a review of this Court's tying jurisprudence does
not support the holding of the Federal Circuit below. Rather,
the conclusion of Justice O°Connor in the concurring opinion
in Hyde still holds: “Nor does any presumption of market
power find support in our prior cases.”

Ill. The Doctrine of Stare Decisis Cannot Justify The
Presumption of Market Power.

A. The Presumption of Market Power Was
Not Necessary to The Result in Loew’s.

We have shown that there is no need to overrule Loew's
because its holding did not depend on the question presented
here. While it may be true that many of the presumptions,
rationales. and acknowledged “hostilities” underlying
Loew's have been undermined by the Court's tying
jurisprudence. that happened long ago. As this Court
observed in reconsidering another antitrust precedent,
“[w]ith the views underlying [Loew 's] eroded by this Court's
precedent. there is not much of that decision to salvage.”
State Oil vy. Khan, 522 U.S. at 21.

This Court has made it clear that the doctrine of stare
decisis is reserved for holdings. Thus, in Copperweld Corp.
v. Independence Tube Corp., 467 U.S. 752, 760 (1984), the
Court pointed out that. while many of its prior decisions had
expressed approval of the intra-enterprise conspiracy
doctrine. “in all but perhaps one instance” that doctrine was
unnecessary to the result. The Court did not, for example,
overrule its decision in United States v. Yellow Cab Co., 332

” Hyde. 466 US. at 38 n.7.

25

U.S. 218 (1947), on which many had relied in applying the
intra-enterprise conspiracy doctrine. That was because
Yellow Cab had been misinterpreted as applying the doctrine.
when in fact it did not. See Copperweld, 467 U.S. at 762
(finding “little support for the broad doctrine Yellow Cab has
been thought to announce’).

The Court may deal with Loew's in the same way,
because the holding in Loew's may be supported on
alternative grounds, independent from the presumption of
uniqueness. In Loew's, the lower court had found that each
film “was in itself a unique product.” The court had relied
on evidence of the characteristics of each copyrighted film,
which “varied in theme, in artistic performance, in stars, in
audience appeal, etc..” for its conclusion that each defendant
had market dominance over each film. Loew's, 371 U.S. at
48 (quoting 189 F. Supp. at 381). Based on this evidence,
this Court concluded that each defendant “had a
‘monopolistic’ position as to each tying product,” resulting
in “sufficient economic power” to “confirm — the
presumption” and condemn the tie. /d at 48.°' Under this
view, each individual film was a market unto itself in which
the defendants held complete power over price and output.
Because such a market definition is theoretically possible,”
it is not clear that the holding in Loew's was necessarily
dependent on any presumption. Indeed, several courts have
distinguished Loew's on these grounds.”

*! Professor Pearson, in contemporaneous commentary, agreed with this
approach, stating that “unless the Court is to play the part of the critic in
each block-booking case to come before it, it would have to take the
position either that each film is a separate product or that films are
fungible. | think it was well warranted in taking the former approach.”
R. N. Pearson, Tying Arrangements and Antitrust Policy, 60 Nw. U. L.
Rev. 626, 651 n.88 (1965).

= See Eastman Kodak Co. v. Image Technical Serv., Inc., 504 U.S. 451,
482 (1992).

” See, e.g., Capital Temps., Inc. v. Olsten Corp., 506 F.2d 658, 663 (2d
Cir. 1974) (“The appellant misreads Loew's if he concludes that the mere

26

B. Loew's Meets The Court’s Criteria For
Rejection Under Stare Decisis.

If. notwithstanding the above analysis, Loew's is read as
supporting a presumption of market power, it appropriately
may be overruled in keeping with the Court's past
application of stare decisis. This Court has pointed out that
“{iJn the area of antitrust law. there is a competing interest.
well represented in this Court's decisions, in recognizing and
adapting to changed circumstances and the lessons of
accumulated experience.” Ahan, 522 U.S. at 20. Rejecting
the putative market power presumption of Loew's thus fits
comfortably within the Court's “common-law tradition” of
developing antitrust doctrine. /d. at 20-21. Here, as in
Copperweld, this Court “has never explored or analyzed in
detail the justifications for such a rule.” 467 U.S. at 766.
Here. as in Khan. “the analytical underpinnings of [Loew's]
were substantially weakened by™ later decisions. 522 U.S. at
14.

Indeed. this is a stronger case for reversal in at least two
ways. First. the extent of opposition to the presumption is
unprecedented. For this Court to uphold an antitrust rule
deemed unambiguously harmful to consumers solely on the
basis of stare decisis would transform the doctrine into an
“inexorable [and irrational] command.” Khan, 522 U.S. at
20. Second. unlike the rules rejected in Copperweld and
Khan, there is substantial disagreement as to what this
Court's “prior” rule has been. As we explain below, there is
ample dissent among the courts as to what Loew's requires.
That was not the case in Copperweld. where Justice Stevens
pointed out that “it had been the universal conclusion of both
the lower courts and the commentators that this Court's cases
establish” the intra-enterprise conspiracy doctrine. 467 U.S.

existence of the copyrighted tying motion pictures was enough to create
the tying.”): 3 P.M. Inc. v. Basic Four Corp., 59\ F. Supp. 1350, 1359
n.11 (E.D. Mich. 1984). See also HJL Treatise, supra note 4, at 4-37
n.114.

27

at 783-84 (Stevens, J., dissenting). In Khan, moreover, there
was no dispute that the Court's decisions had declared
maximum vertical price-fixing unlawful per se. 522 U.S. at
7. The case for stare decisis is undermined where, as here.
there is sharp disagreement as to whether the “established”
rule is, in fact, established.

Cc. There is No “Reliance” Interest That
Supports the Application of Stare Decisis
Here.

Respondent has argued that the doctrine of stare decisis
prohibits the Court from overruling Loew's because
members of the legal and business communities have for
several decades relied on Loew's and ordered their affairs
accordingly. Resp. Br. in Opp. to Cert. at 5. If the Court
determines that it must overrule Loew's, the ABA believes
that it offers a valuable perspective on the extent to which
this legal doctrine has ordered legal affairs. In our view,
Respondent has it backwards.

For nearly 30 years, it has been clear to bench and bar that
the per se rule against tying was not a per se rule in the same
sense as others, that is, one in which no inquiry into actual
market structure is made. Rather. the Court held in Fortner
/1 and emphatically reaffirmed in Hyde that a tying
arrangement cannot harm competition without a showing of
actual market power in the tying product. This requirement,
as the Federal Circuit acknowledged below, Pet. App. 6a-7a,
marked a fundamental change from this Court's prior
precedents.

These decisions eroded the basis for assuming that the
Court would continue to apply any presumption to
intellectual property—much less a new presumption of
genuine market power. This view was confirmed shortly
after the 1984 decision in Hyde, when the Ninth Circuit
construed Loew's to require a presumption of market power

28

and two Justices of the Hyde majority promptly labelled the
decision “suspect.”** By 1986, both the Sixth and Seventh
Circuits had rejected that reading of Loew's.’ and the
majority of courts thereafter concurred. Pet. 23 n.8.

In fact. the criticism of the Ninth Circuit's Digidyne
decision for over twenty years makes the point that there has
been no “reliance” by the legal and business community on
the presumption of Loew's. Far from being accepted as an
inevitable application of Loew's, Digidyne has been assailed
by commentators, rejected by other Circuits, and ignored by
numerous District Courts.” Thus, the suggestion of the
Federal Circuit below that the presumption of market power
in patent cases is a settled doctrine only questioned by the
Sixth Circuit in 4.1 Root and by two others “in dictum,”
Pet. App. I3a. is unfounded. On the contrary, Judge
Easterbrook’s description fifteen years ago is closer to the
mark:

The tying doctrine was linked to market power in Hyde,

and although some lower courts missed the message and

_continued to hold that copyrights and patents are
monopolies. most got on board.”

4 Data Gen. Corp. v. Digidyne Corp.. 473 U.S. 908, 908 (1985) (White.
J.. dissenting from denial of cert.).

*S 4.1 Root Co. v. Computer’ Dynamics, Inc., 806 F.2d 673 (6th Cir.
1986): Will v. Comprehensive Accounting Corp., 776 F.2d 665 (7th Cir.
1985),

*° See X Areeda & Hovenkamp. € 1737d, at 83-85 (discussing Digidyne
and observing that “[t}he basis for inferring power from a copyright or
trademark is even weaker than it is for patents”): Will, 776 F.2d at 673
n.4 (rejecting Digidvne). Telerate Sys., Inc. v. Caro, 689 F. Supp. 221,
236 (S.D.N.Y. 1988) (same): X Areeda & Hovenkamp, € 1737d. at 85
n.37 (collecting cases).

*” Hon. FH. Easterbrook, Intellectual Property is Still Property, 13

Harv. J.L. & Pub. Pol'y 108, 113 (1990). The principal case that “missed
the message” at that time was Digidyne:

The Ninth circuit held in Digidine Corp. v. Data General Corp., 734

F.2d 1336 (9th Cir. 1984), that the software of a computer

29

Current commentators agree that “[e]ven in antitrust cases.
the presumption of market power for patents has largely
disappeared since 1988.”°* In commenting on the Federal
Circuit's decision in this case, moreover, Professor
Hovenkamp concluded as follows:

Heretofore the presumption of market power for patented
or copyrighted products had languished to the point that
antitrust plaintiffs chose not to rely on it. With the
Federal Circuit's new imprimatur, however, one can
expect that plaintiffs will rely on the presumption in a
much wider variety of situations, and in most of these it
will be unwarranted.”

Whichever way the Court decides to resolve the issue
now, the state of the law we have set forth does not describe
orderly adherence to an established precedent reflected by
the holding of cases such as Digidyne. It describes, rather, a
state of uncertainty. And that uncertainty has been
heightened dramatically by this decision of the Federal
Circuit, a court which has stated that “the antitrust
consequences of patent tying... is a question governed by
our law.” Pet. App. 4a-5a (footnote omitted).

From the perspective of the ABA, therefore, there has not
been “reliance” by the legal or commercial community on
the presumption in Loew's in any sense important to stare
decisis. Rather, there has been a consensus that a
presumption of market power is unwarranted as a matter of

representing less than one percent of any market represented
economic power sufficient to bar a tie-in between hardware and
software. Almost everyone else, including the Seventh Circuit, in
Will v. Comprehensive Accounting Corp., 776 F.2d 665 (7th Cir.
1985), rejected that view and held that intellectual property is now
just like other property.

Id. at 113 0.18.

WL Treatise, supra note 4, at 4-36.

*” Areeda & Hovenkamp, supra note 10, 4 518, at 197-98 (Supp. 2005)
(footnote omitted).

30

economics and legal policy. At the same time, the ABA has
recognized that. while most courts have rejected the
presumption of market power. others have felt constrained to
apply it. The Court's effort to provide clarity and guidance
in this area of the law will be frustrated as long as there are
those who believe that the presumption of market power in
patent cases is “still” the law.
CONCLUSION

For the reasons stated. the ABA respectfully requests that
this Court reverse the decision of the Court of Appeals for
the Federal Circuit.

Respectfully submitted,

Robert J. Grey. Jr.. President”
American Bar Association
321 North Clark Street
Chicago, IL 60610

(312) 988-5000

Richard J. Wallis

Kevin D. McDonald

“Counsel of Record

Counsel for Amicus Curiae,
The American Bar Association

August 3. 2005

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0084%3A19. Public record. Not legal advice.
