# Amicus Curiae Brief — Georgia v. Randolph

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0069%3A09

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2006
- **Citation:** 547 U.S. 103

## Text

No. O1-1067
eS

IN Tu
.

Supreme Court of the Cluited States

STATE OF GEORGLA,
Petition i.

’ Pare
Scor Firz RANDOLPH,

De prondes

On Writ of Certiorari to the
Supreme Court of Georgia

BRIEF OF AMICUS CURIAE
NATIONAL ASSOCTATION OF CRIMINAL
DEFENSE LAWYERS
SLPPORTING RESPONDENT

PAMELATIARRES JEREREY AL LAMBEN

CoC HA, AMICUS COMMIPTEI Counsel of Record
NATIONAL ASSOCLATION OF HE ATHERS. ALLEN
CRIMINAL DEFENSE LAWYER KEVIN TAACOBS

PISO Sth St. NW) Ste. $50 BAKER Borrs LLP.
Washington DC 20056 1200 Ponnsvivania Ave., NW
(202) 872-600 Washington, DC. 2000.2 100

MW Othe OO

(ait ( / faa)

‘ ;
Natrowal 4 in mthion olf MELIAALL “LI lh lapis / (1/0 ies

EE
SS

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether the police may search a home based on the
putative consent of one occupant when another present
occupant of the home expressly objects to the search.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Question Presented idietietstigneenenmemnenenencen i

Statement Of The Case a 2

Summary Of Argument -m *&€
Argument...... penton 9

The Fourth Amendment Does Not Permit
Government Agents To Press Their Way Into
Private Homes And Bedrooms, Past A Present
And Objecting Occupant, Without A Warrant
Or Exigency : 9
A. The Right To Exclude And Corre-
sponding Privacy Interests Are At
. Their Apogee In The Marital Home........... 11
B. The Police May Not Invade The
Home Based On The Putative
Consent Of A Co-Occupant Over The

Express Objection Of The Other,
Present, Co-Occupant u. 13
1. Shared Social Understandings

Support Matlock’s Conclusion That

One Ocevpant May Allow Entry In

The Others’ Absence 14

2. Shared Social Understandings

Preclude Extending Matlock To

Permit Entry Despite Objection By

A Present Occupant 16
3. The Rule Against Entry Over The

Objection Of A Present Occupant
Serves Important Societal Interests ..... - 18

(iii)

iv Vv

TABLE OF CONTENTS-Continued TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Page Page
4. The Property Cases Cited By CASES .
Petitioner And Its Amici Do Not
Support A Contrary Rule 23 Beal Bank, SSB oe and Associates,
C. The Law Enforcement Interest Is WSs. Oe. Se) =
Dwarfed By The Corresponding Boyd v. United States, 116 U.S. 616 (18886) ......... - Il
_ Intrusion On Privacy, Safety, And Buchanan v. Jencks, 96 A. 307 (R.1. 1916) ............. 24
Cher Seeetes Walaa 25 California v. Ciraolo, 476 U.S. 207 (1986) vss... ¥
D. The are bene — Causee v. Anders, 20 N.C. 388 (1839) 24
Randolph's Connection To , ;
Property Was Insufficient To Elevate ; a v. New Hampshire, 408 U.S. 443 26
Her Decision Over Respondents ................ 28 (
CONCLUSION ....0.. ae 80 Denvonpeck v. Afford, 125 8. Ct. S55 GES0) s
Dinsmore v. Renfroe, 225 P. 886 (Cal. Ct.
App. 1924) 24
Dolan v. City of Tigard, 512 U.S. 374 (1994)........ 12, 22
Frazier v. Cupp, 394 U.S. 731 (1968) 15
Frisby v. Schultz, 487 U.S. 474 (1988) 11
Granger v. Postal Telegraph Co., 50 S.E.
193 (S.C. 1905) 23
Griswold v. Connecticut, 381 U.S. 479
(1965) 13
Hawkins v. United States, 358 U.S. 74
(1958) 13
Illinois v. McArthur, 531 U.S. 326 (2001)............. 26, 27
Illinois v. Rodriguez, 497 U.S. 177 (1990) ............... 29
Kaiser Aetna v. United States, 444 U.S. 164
(1979) 12
Katz v. United States, 389 U.S. 347 (1967) .......... 11

Kyllo v. United States, 5383 U.S. 27 (2001)... 2

vi
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page
Lawton v. State, 320 So. 2d 46 (Fla. App.

1975)..... -— : 19
Lingle v. Chevron U.S.A. Inc., 125 S.Ct.

2074 (2005)........ - — 12
Lucero v. Donovan, 354 F.2d 16 (9th Cir.

1966) . 29
Mahoney v. Van Winkle, 21 Cal. 552 (1863)........... 18
Minnesota v. Carter, 525 U.S. 83 (1998) ......... 10, 11, 12
Minnesota v. Olson, 495 U.S. 91 (1990) i2
Moore v. Moore, 34 P. 90 (Cal. 1893) 18
Muehler v. Mena, 125 S. Ct. 1465 (2005) ................ 2
Payton v. New York, 445 U.S. 573 (1980) ...........00+. 26
Rakas v. Illinois, 489 U.S. 128 (1978). 10, 11
Richey v. Brown, 48 Mich. 435 (1885) 17
Roberts v. United States Jaycees, 468 U.S.

609 (1984)..... 20
Rowan v. U.S. Post Office Dept., 397 U.S.

728 (1970) 11
State v. Leach, 113 Wash. 2d 735 (1989) 5
Stein v. Bowman, 38 U.S. (Pet.) 209 (1839)............ 13
Stoner v. California, 376 U.S. 483 (1964).............0.. 15
Trammel v. United States, 445 U.S. 40

(1980) 13

United States v. Craft, 5385 U.S. 274 (2002).......... 21, 22

United States v. Drayton, 536 U.S. 194
(2002) 2, 10, 19

United States v. Knights, 534 U.S. 112
(2001)... 2

vil
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page

United States v. Matlock, 415 U.S. 164

(1974)... - - passim
United States v. Stone, 471 F.2d 170 (7th

Cir. 1972) 15
United States v. United States Dist. Court

for E.D. Mich., 407 U.S. 297 (1972) 12
United States v. Wood, 924 F.2d 399 (1st

Cir. 1991) 13
Warden, Md. Peniten* ary v. Hayden, 387

U.S. 294 (1967) 26

MISCELLANEOUS

86 C.J.S., Tenancy in Common (1997) 24
W. Page Keeton et al., Prosser and Keeton

on the Law of Torts (5th ed. 1984) “ 19
Wayne R. LaFave, Search and Seizure (4th

ed. 2004) 27, 29, 30
Erik Luna, Sovereignty and Suspicion, 48

Duke L.J. 789 (1999) 19
Joseph M. McLaughlin et al., Weinstein's

Federal Evidence (2d ed. 2005) 13
Powell on Real Property (Michael Allen

Wolf, ed., 2005) 16, 22
Thompson on Real Property (David A.

Thomas, ed., 2004) 16, 28

Herbert Thorndike Tiffany & Basil Jones,

The Law of Real Property (3d ed. 1939).......... 17, 24
Lloyd L. Weinreb, Generalities of the

Fourth Amendment, 42 U. Chi. L. Rev.

47 (1974-75) 17, 27

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

No. 04-1067

STATE OF GEORGIA,
Petitioner,
Vv.

ScoTT FITZ RANDOLPH,

Respondent.

On Writ of Certiorari
to the Supreme Court of Georgia

BRIEF OF AMICUS CURIAE
NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF CRIMINAL
DEFENSE LAWYERS
SUPPORTING RESPONDENT

INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE

National Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers
(NACDL) is a nonprofit national bar association working
in the interest of criminal defense attorneys and their
clients. NACDL was founded to ensure justice and due
process for persons accused of crimes and to foster the
integrity, independence, and expertise of the criminal
defense profession. NACDL has more than 12,500
members—joined by 90 affiliate organizations with
35,000 members—including criminal defense lawyers,
U.S. military defense counsel, law professors, and judges

2

committed to preserving fairness within America’s crim-
inal justice system.

This case concerns whether the Fourth Amendment
permits the police to enter the home of a potential
criminal defendant without a warrant where he is present
and objecting, simply because another occupant of the
home—his spouse—purports to consent to the search.
NACDL and its members have a strong interest in

ensuring proper application of Fourth Amendment prin--

ciples in this context and in ensuring that the law accords
appropriate respect to an individual's effort to exclude
others from the most sensitive of places, the home.
NACDL has appeared as amicus curiae in numerous
Fourth Amendment cases in ths Court. See, e.g.,
Muehler v. Mena, 125 S.Ct. 1465 (2005); Denvenpeck v.
Alford, 125 S.Ct. 588 (2004); United States v. Drayton,
536 U.S. 194 (2002); United States v. Knights, 534 U.S.
112 (2001); Kyllo v. United States, 533 U.S. 27 (2001).
STATEMENT OF THE CASE

1. Before May of 2001, respondent Scott Fitz Ran-
dolph and his wife lived in a house they rented from
respondent’s father in Americus, Georgia. 10/3/02 Tr. at
30, 33. In late May of 2001, the couple separated. Mrs.
Randolph took the couple’s son and most of her clothing
and went to stay with her parents in Canada. Respon-
dent remained in the marital home. /d. at 23; Pet. App. 7.

' This amicus brief is filed with the consent of the parties, and letters
of consent are being filed with the Clerk of the Court in accordance
with this Court’s Rule 37.3(a). Pursuant to Rule 37.6, the amicus
submitting this brief and its counsel hereby represent that neither
party to this case nor their counsel authored this brief in whole or in
part, and that no person other than amicus paid for or made a mone-
tary contribution toward the preparation and submission of this
brief.

3

_ On or about July 4, 2001, Mrs. Randolph returned to
the home with their child. Pet. App. 7. She informed
respondent that she intended to collect more of her
belongings and return to Canada. 10/3/02 Tr. at 24.

On the morning of July 6, 2001, respondent awoke to
find Mrs. Randolph highly intoxicated. 10/3/02 Tr. at 24-
26. The couple argued, and Mrs. Randolph said she was
going to collect her things and leave the house. /d. at 27.
Respondent took their son to the house of a family friend.
Id. at 27-28. While respondent was gone, Mrs. Randolph
called the local police department. When the police
arrived, Mrs. Randolph complained that respondent had
taken their child away. She also claimed that respon-
dent’s cocaine use was causing the couple financial
problems. Pet. App. 7. During that same conversation,
Mrs. Randolph revealed to the police that she and
respondent were having marital problems, that she had
separated from him, and that she had recently left the
home for over a month to stay with her family in Canada.
10/3/02 Tr. at 14-15.

When respondent arrived at his home, he found his
wife there along with the police. He told the police where
he had taken the child. He had been concerned, he
explained, that Mrs. Randolph would again take their son
out of the country. Pet. App. 7-8. After retrieving the
child, one of the officers told respondent about Mrs.
Randolph’s allegations of cocaine use. /d. at 8.

The officer asked respondent for permission to search
the house. Respondent unequivocally said “no.” 10/3/02
Tr. at 8; Pet. App. 8. The officer then turned to Mrs.
Randolph and asked for her consent. Mrs. Randolph
agreed. Over respondent’s objection, Mrs. Randolph
then, in the officer’s words, “showed [him] a bedroom
upstairs in the back corner that was reported to be Mr.
Randolph’s.” 10/3/02 Tr. at 8. Peering in the doorway,
the officer observed “a piece of cut straw on top of a jar.”

[f

1

Ibid. Upon closer examination, the officer thought he
saw white residue on the straw, which led him to believe
the straw was used to ingest cocaine. /bid.

The officer left the house to retrieve an evidence bag
and to contact the district attorney. The district attorney
told the officer to stop the search and obtain a warrant.
10/3/02 Tr. at 9; Pet. App. 8. The officer returned to the
home, at which point Mrs. Randolph said she was with-
drawing her consent to the search. The officer collected
the straw and white residue and went to the police station
with respondent and Mrs. Randolph. Pet. App. 8. The
officer then obtained a seareh warrant for the home.
During the ensuing search, the police seized numerous
drug-related items. /bid.

On November 21, 2001, an indictment was filed against
respondent for possession of cocaine. J.A. 1. On January
17, 2002, respondent filed a motion to suppress all evi-
dence seized from his home. The Superior Court denied
the motion, holding that Mrs. Randolph was “still in
possession of common authority to grant consent for
nolice to search the marital home.” J.A. 23.

2. The Georgia Court of Appeals granted respon-
dent’s application for interlocutory appeal and reversed.
Pet. App. 7-47. The court held that it is “inherently
reasonable that police honor a present occupant’s express
objection to a search of his dwelling, shared or other-
wise.” /d. at 10. “If ‘common authority’ is the basis for
allowing one co-occupant to consent to a search on behalf
of all occupants,” the court explained, “it seems
reasonable that ‘common authority’ should permit a co-
occupant to exercise privacy rights on behalf of all
occupants.” /bid. That result was “particularly reason-
able” in cases involving marital disputes, the court added.
“Allowing a wife’s consent to search to override her
husband’s previous assertion of his right to privacy

al threatens domestic tranquility.” /bid.

5

The court of appeals acknowledged that, in United
States v. Matlock, 415 U.S. 164 (1974), this Court had
held that one cotenant could consent to a search of the
dwelling he shared with others. Pet. App. 8-9. But the
court of appeals held that Matlock was “factually and
legally distinguishable” because the nonconsenting ten-
ant in that case was not present and objecting to the
search. Here, reswondent was “not only present, but he
affirmatively exercised his Fourth Amendment right to
be free from police intrusion by refusing to consent to the
search of his house.” /d. at 12.

3. The Supreme Court of Georgia affirmed. Pet.
App. 1-6. The court assumed that it was “faced with a
situation in which two persons have equal use and control
of the premises to be searched.” /d. at 1. Under those
circumstances, the court held, “the consent to * * * a war-
rantless search of a residence given by one occupant is
not valid in the face of the refusal of another occupant
who is physically present at the scene to permit a war-
rantless search.” /bid.

Like the court of appeals, the Georgia Supreme Court
distinguished Matlock. The Georgia Supreme Court
pointed out that, in Matlock, the defendant challenging
the search had not been present on the scene when the
police sought consent from a cotenant. “[TJhe risk
assumed by joint occupancy,” the Georgia Supreme
Court stated, is “merely an inability to control access to
the premises during one’s absence.” Pet. App. 3 (internal
citations omitted). Quoting the Supreme Court of
Washington, the Georgia Supreme Court concluded that,
“should the cohabitant be present and able to object, the
police must also obtain the cohabitant’s consent. Any
other rule exalts expediency over an individual’s Fourth
Amendment guaranties.” /bid. (quoting State v. Leach,
113 Wash. 2d 735, 744 (1989)).

6

‘three Justices dissented. In their view, respondent
had “assumed the risk that because of his diminished
expectation of privacy he had in the home he shared with
his wife, she would expose their common private area” to
a search. Pet. App. 6 (internal citations omitted).

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The Fourth Amendment does not permit the police to
enter a home and conduct a warrantless search, without
exigent circumstances, in direct defiance of a present and
objecting occupant who expressly refuses to consent to
the search.

A. The expectation of privacy is at its apogee when a
citizen is in his home and, in particular, the marital home.
That expectation is reflected in the most fundamental of
all property rights—the right to exclude others.

B. When a present occupant asserts his right to
exclude police officers from his home, the government
cannot overcome this assertion by relying on another
occupant’s purportec consent. The shared social
understandings that supported the Court’s holding in
United States v. Matlock, 415 U.S. 164 (1964), preclude
that result. The social and legal understandings shared
by members of our society do allow one occupant to invite
a third party into his home in the absence of objecting
cotenants. The holding in Matlock reflects those under-
standings. But it is similarly understood that strangers
may not enter the home based on the putative consent of
one occupant when another is present and objects to the
entry. No person on the doorstep of the home, invited to
enter by one inhabitant but confronted with vociferous
objection from another, would think it permissible to
brush the objecting occupant aside and enter none-
theless. The same rule should apply to the police.

To the extent relevant, that rule finds expression in
principles of property law. While one tenant may, absent

7

objection, invite outsiders onto land, he may not do so
when that interferes with the rights and quiet enjoyment
of other tenants, such as where they are present and
object to the intrusion. None of the cases cited by peti-
tioner and its amici license a stranger standing at the
threshold of a home to push his way inside past a present
and objecting occupant at the invitation of another—
much less push his way past the objecting tenant into the
objector’s bedroom.

The prohibition on entry over a tenant’s objection
serves important societal interests. The contrary rule
would increase the likelihood of violent confrontations
and expose the objecting occupant to potential tort liabil-
ity. It would, moreover, encourage the police to create or
exacerbate marital discord by setting one spouse against
the other, a result that is in serious tension with the
sanctity and respect our society accords the marital
relationship.

Allowing the police to disregard the express wishes of
an individual from whom they have sought consent,
moreover, is inconsistent with basic principles of self-
determination and the rule of law. This Court has
explained that the citizen’s decision to consent to a search
is entitled to dignity and respect. By the same token, the
decision not to consent is entitled to equal dignity and re-
spect. When the police ignore a citizen’s wishes after
having purported to seek consent, they send a message of
disrespect for individual constitutional choice.

C. The law enforcement need in this context is
particularly slight. Where there is probable cause, the
police can get a warrant. This Court, moreover, has
recognized that the police may enter a home over a
citizen’s wishes without a warrant when there are exigent
circumstances, and that the police may take reasonable
measures to prevent the destruction of evidence, if they
have sufficient reason to believe such destruction is

8

imminent, while officers obtain a warrant. Consequently,
the only circumstance under which the police would
“need” to rely on the rule advanced by petitioner is when
there is no probable cause to believe a crime has been
committed, no exigency exists, and there is no reason to
fear the imminent destruction of evidence. But that is
precisely the circumstance in which the law enforcement
interest in entering the home is at its nadir. Ir such a
case, it is unjustifiable and unreasonable to sacrifice an
individual’s right to privacy (and society’s corresponding
interests in preventing violent confrontation) to law
enforcement expediency.

D. Finally, the record evidence in this case indicates
that the occupant who purported to give consent—
respondent’s wife, Mrs. Randolph—had an interest in
and relationship to the home (and the bedroom in
particular) that was inferior to respondent’s. Indeed, she
had all but abandoned the home a month earlier, sepa-
rating from respondent. In general, the consent of one
with a subordinate interest in property cannot override
the express wishes of a present occupant with a superior
interest. Moreover, the record reflects that the bedroom
at issue was known to the police as “Mr. Randolph’s
bedroom,” not the couple’s bedroom. Under this Court’s
precedents, one tenant cannot consent to the search of an
area reserved for another’s use and over which she does
not share common authority and control.

9

ARGUMENT

THE FOURTH AMENDMENT DOES NOT PERMIT
GOVERNMENT AGENTS TO PRESS THEIR WAY
INTO PRIVATE HOMES AND BEDROOMS, PAST A
Faaaas AND OBJECTING OCCUPANT, WITHOUT
A WARRANT OR EXIGENCY

This case concerns whether the police must respect a
citizen’s decision to exercise his right to exclude them
from the most private of locations—his home and, in
particular, his bedroom. When the police asked respon-
dent for consent to search his home and bedroom,
respondent unequivocally refused, denying the police
permission to enter without a warrant. The police did not
respond by seeking a warrant or asserting exigent
circumstances. Nor, however, did they respect respon-
dent’s decision to exercise his right to refuse admission to
the police. Instead, they sought to circumvent
respondent’s choice by asking for and obtaining consent
from respondent’s wife (from whom respondent was
separated). They did so even though respondent was
present and expressly objecting to entry. They did so
even though respondent’s wife’s connection to the home
had become attenuated. She and respondent had sepa-
rated; she had abandoned the marital home and relocated
to Canada a month before; and she had returned for only
a few days to collect more of her belongings. Yet, based
on her putative consent, the police entered respondent’s
home and bedroom over his protest.

The police effort to bypass a present citizen’s express
and lawful effort to assert the privacy and sanctity of his
home is inconsistent with the Fourth Amendment’s
irreducible requirement that searches be “reasonable.”
No ordinary citizen at the threshold of another’s home or
bedroom would ever claim the right—or believe that he is
privileged—to push his way inside, past a present and

10

objecting occupant, based on the putative consent of
another. To the contrary, the “understandings that are
recognized and permitted by society,” as well as those
reflected in “concepts of real or personal property law,”
Minnesota v. Carter, 525 U.S. 83, 88 (1998) (quoting
Rakas v. Illinois, 439 U.S. 128, 143-44 (1978)), strictly
prohibit entry under such circumstances. That pro-
hibition and the important societal interests it protects
apply with no less force when the person seeking entry is
no ordinary stranger but the government. _

The police refusal to accept respondent’s decision to
deny consent, moreover, is inconsistent with the prin-
ciples of individual responsibility and self-determination
that undergird the concept of consent generally. As this
Court has observed:

In a society based on law, the concept of agreement
and consent should be given a weight and dignity of
its own. Police officers act in full accord with the
law when they ask citizens for consent. It rein-
forces the rule of law for the citizen to advise the
police of his or her wishes and for the police to act
in reliance on that understanding.

United States v. Drayton, 536 U.S. 194, 207 (2002).

In a society based on law, the decision not to consent,
and words like “no” and “do not,” are likewise entitled to
a weight and dignity of their own. Police officers “act in
full accordance with the law” when they ask for consent.
But they undermine the rule of law, they denigrate the
principle of self-determination, and they send the mess-
age that individual constitutional choice is a charade
when, having been advised of the citizen’s wishes, they
proceed to ignore them without resort to the legal
procedures (e.g., a warrant) that ordinarily serve as a
bulwark of individual liberty. That result and the con-

11

comitant message of disrespect for individual consti-
tutional choice should not be endorsed.

A. The Right To Exclude And Corresponding Pri-
vacy Interests Are At Their Apogee In The
Marital Home

Whether a warrantless search offends the Fourth
Amendment depends first on “whether a person has a
‘constitutionally protected reasonable expectation of pri-
vacy’” in the location at issue. California v. Ciraolo, 476
U.S. 207, 211 (1986) (quoting Katz v. United States, 389
U.S. 347, 360 (1967) (Harlan, J., concurring)). Even
where a defendant has a “subjective” expectation of “pri-
vacy in the place searched,” that expectation must be
“reasonable,” i.e., “one that has a ‘source outside of the
Fourth Amendment, either by reference to concepts of
real or personal property law or to understandings that
are recognized and permitted by society.” Carter, 525
U.S. at 88 (quoting Rakas, 439 U.S. at 143-44).

Nowhere are expectations of privacy more likely to be
reasonable—and more closely guarded by custom and
law—than in the home, particularly where a citizen
expressly objects to the intrusion on “the sanctity of [his]
home and the privacies of life.” Boyd v. United States,
116 U.S. 616, 630 (1886). “[A] special benefit of the
privacy all citizens enjoy within their own walls * * * is an
ability to avoid intrusions.” Frisby v. Schultz, 487 US.
474, 484-85 (1988). “The ancient concept that ‘a man’s
home is his castle’ into which ‘not even the king may
enter’ has lost none of its vitality.” Rowan v. United
States Post Office Dep't, 397 U.S. 728, 737 (1970).

The special solicitude the law affords the privacy and
security of the home reflects both principles of private
property and the home’s important function in our
society. One of the keystones of private property is the
right to exclude others. “(T]he owner’s right to exclude

12

others from entering and using her property [is] perhaps
the most fundamental of all property interests,” Lingle v.
Chevron U.S.A. Inc., 125 S. Ct. 2074, 2082 (2005)—‘“‘one
of the most essential sticks in the bundle of rights that
are commonly characterized as property.’” Dolan v. City
of Tigard, 512 U.S. 374, 384 (1994) (quoting Kaiser Aetna
v. United States, 444 U.S. 164, 176 (1979)). Indeed, “phy-
sical entry of the home” is the “chief evil against which
the wording of the Fourth Amendment is directed.”
United States v. United States Dist. Court for E.D.
Mich., 407 U.S. 297, 313 (1972). The right to exclude,
moreover, is the primary characteristic that sets private
property apart from the commons. The right to invite
entry is shared by both the property owner standing on
his private land and the common citizen standing on
public land. But the right to exclude others is unique to
the owner of private property.

The home, moreover, has long served as a unique
refuge from the insecurity and public scrutiny of the
commons. “The axiom that a man’s home is his castle
*** has acquired over time a power and an independent
significance justifying a more general assurance of per-
sonal security in one’s home, an assurance which has
become part of our constitutional tradition.” Carter, 525
U.S. at 100 (Kennedy, J., concurring) (citation omitted).
It is not only a place to sleep and be “at our most
vulnerable”; it is also a place to entertain visitors and
host overnight guests, who “seek|| shelter in another's
home precisely because it provides [them] with privacy.”
Minnesota v. Olson, 495 U.S. 91, 99 (1990).

The special status of the home is of particular impor-
tance when the government seeks to intrude on the
privacy of a marital household. Just as the walls of the
home shield individual private matters from outside
intrusion, so too they provide a bulwark against intrusion
on the intimacies and confidences of marital life. The

13

importance of barring intrusion on those interests is
repeatedly reflected in law. For example, even setting
aside the Framing-era rule that one spouse may never
testify against the other as to any matter, it is now well-
settled that one spouse may not testify as to confidential
marital communications if the other spouse objects. See
3 Joseph M. McLaughlin, et al., Weinstein’s Federal
Evidence § 505.09, at 505-15 (2d ed. 2005); e.g., United
States v. Wood, 924 F.2d 399, 401-02 (1st Cir. 1991). The
intimacy of the marital household and bedroom must be
accorded similar solicitude when threatened with physi-
cal and not mere testimonial invasion. Cf. Griswold v.
Connecticut, 381 U.S. 479, 485-86 (1965) (“Would we
allow the police to search the sacred precincts of marital
bedrooms for telltale signs of the use of contraceptives?
The very idea is repulsive to the notions of privacy
surrounding the marriage relationship.”).

B. The Police May Not Invade The Home Based On

The Putative Consent Of A Co-Occupant Over

The Express Objection Of The Other, Present,
Co-Occupant

Neither petitioner nor its amici dispute that respon-

dent enjoyed a reasonable expectation of privacy—a

* For at least 150 years after the Constitution's framing, this Court
followed the “general rule that neither a husband nor wife can be
witness for or against the other,” i.e., spouses were held incompetent
to testify against one another even if no marital communications
would be disclosed. Stein v. Bowman, 38 U.S. (1 Pet.) 209, 210
(1839). In Hawkins v. United States, 358 U.S. 74, 77-78 (1958), the
Court rejected the notion of competency as anachronistic and instead
relied on a privilege doctrine, holding that either spouse may object
and thereby foreclose the testimony of the other. Most recently, in
Trammel v. United States, 445 U.S. 40, 583 (1980), the Court con-
cluded that mutual consent is no longer required and that, except for
marital communications, a spouse may voluntarily testify against the
other spouse, but cannot be compelled to do so.

14

legitimate and socially recognized expectation—in his
own home. Nor does anyone claim that respondent him-
self “waived” or otherwise “consented” to an intrusion on
his Fourth Amendment rights or interests. The only
question is whether the consent of a third person—
respondent's wife—is sufficient to overcome his rights
despite his presence and continued objection to physical
entry into his home and bedroom. Custom, the law, and
the societal interests they reflect all demonstrate that the
answer is “no.”
1. Shared Social Understandings Support Mat-
lock’s Conclusion That One -Occupant May
Allow Entry In The Other's Absence

This Court has already concluded that one cotenant
may, in the other’s absence, consent to a search of the
premises. As this Court explained in United States v.
Matlock, 415 U.S. 164, 170 (1974), ‘the consent of one
who possesses common authority over premises or
effects is valid as against the absent nonconsenting
person with whom that authority is shared.” That rule
reflects social custom, common experience, and (to the
extent relevant) principles of property law.

a. Asamatter of custom and experience, members of
our society generally understand that an invitation from
one cotenant to enter the premises is valid and effective
notwithstanding the absence or silence of other co-
tenants. No one invited to enter a home by one of its
occupants would think twice about entering without
separate or express consent from the other occupants.
The social guest invited by one spouse to come inside for
a cup of tea; the business visitor invited to pitch his
wares; the teenager invited inside by his highschool
classmate. Each of these individuals would understand
that—absent some contrary indication—an_ invitation

15

from one of the home’s inhabitants is no less valid than an
invitation from all.

b. That understanding finds expression in principles
of real property law as well. As a general matter,
cotenants may bring guests onto the premises (at least
absent objection from, or interference with the quiet
enjoyment of, other tenants). The law properly assumes
that, if one tenant issues an invitation, his cotenants have
no objection. See pp. 23-24, infra; cf. United States v.
Stone, 471 F.2d 170, 177 (7th Cir. 1972) (Swygert, J.,
dissenting) (“Basic to the third party consent rationale is
the premise that the absent party might, were he
present, consent to the search, in which event no consti-
tutional rights would be violated.”). In that sense, the
ordinary cotenancy relationship includes permission to
bring others into the abode. Contrast Stoner v.
California, 376 U.S. 483, 489 (1964) (while hotel guest
impliedly consents to entry by “maids, janitors, and
repairmen” in “the performance of their duties,” that
consent does not extend to the night clerk or the police).

As a result, one who shares his home with others,
gives them “joint access or control for most purposes,”
and leaves them in sole possession unattended,
“assume(s] the risk that one of their number might
permit the common area to be searched” in his absence.
Matlock, 415 U.S. at 172 n.7. In the context of chattels,
for example, this Court has concluded that a defendant
who not only allowed his cousin to use his duffel bag, but
also left the bag at his cousin’s house, “must be taken to
have assumed the risk that [his cousin] would allow
someone else to look inside.” Frazier v. Cupp, 394 U.S.
731, 740 (1969). That conclusion is fully consistent with
the understandings that members of society share when
multiple individuals inhabit a single home.

16

2. Shared Social Understandings Preclude Evx-
_ tending Matlock To Permit Entry Despite
Objection By A Present Occupant

The social understandings and legal rules that support
the result in Matlock, however, point in precisely the
opposite direction in this case. As a matter of social
custom and shared understanding, no person on the
doorstep of the home, invited to enter by one inhabitant
but confronted with objection from another, would think
it permissible to brush the objecting occupant aside and
enter nonetheless. Whether the potentia! visitor appears
for social or business purposes, the social custom is
clear—the objection of one cotenant renders the invita-
tion of the other ineffective. That is particularly true
when the invitee stands not on the threshold of the home
but on the threshold of a private bedroom.

Consistent with that understanding, concurrent own-
ership or possession also creates a concurrent right to
exclude.’ One cotenant has no right to exclude the other
cotenants—each has an equal right to full use and
enjoyment of the premises. But no cotenant may use the
property to inverfere with the quiet enjoyment of the
others either. 7 Powell on Real Property § 50.03{1]
(Michael Allen Wolf, ed., 2005) (“Each cotenant * * * has
the right to use and enjoy the entire property as if he or
she were the sole owner, limited only by the same right in

7 Powell on Real Property § 50.06[1) (‘In actions against outsiders
to try title, or for ejectment, or for possession, the individual tenant
in common may generally sue alone, with the outcome applicable to
all cotenants”); id. § 52.03[4] (“Each tenant by the entirety js entitled
to * * * protect it against outsiders * * * .”); 4 Thompson on Real
Property §& 31.07(d) (David A. Thomas, ed., 2004) (“Because each
joint tenant is entitled to possession of the whole, each is enabled to
defend the estate against strangers. Title may be vindicated and
trespassers removed from any part by an action of ejectment
brought by any joint tenant.”).

17

the other cotenants.”). That limit on each tenant’s use
forecloses tenants from bringing unwanted visitors onto
the property when objecting cotenants are present. As
one treatise observes:
A license * * * to a stranger, if availed of by the
licensee, does involve an interference with the
possession of the others, and the licensee can, it
would seem, justify his entry only on the theory
that the licensor had authority to act on behalf of
the others in granting such a license. In so far as
the license involves a permission merely to enter on
the land * * * an authority in one cotenant to grant
such a license in behalf of all might well be inferred,
but if one cotenant has implied authority to grant
the license, any other cotenant should have implied
authority to revoke it, the effect of which would be
that the license is valid only until one of the
cotenants expresses his dissent.

2 Herbert Thorndike Tiffany & Basil Jones, The Law of
Real Property § 457, at 274-75 (3d ed. 1939) (emphasis
added); see also Lloyd L. Weinreb, Generalities of the
Fourth Amendment, 42 U. Chi. L. Rev. 47, 63 (1974-75)
(“[Ojrdinarily, persons with equal ‘rights’ in a place
would accommodate each other by not admitting persons
over another’s objection while he was present.”).

Early cases reflect the same principle—even when
dealing with contexts other than the home. In Richey v.
Brown, 58 Mich. 435, 435 (1885), for example, a mother,
son, and daughter owned and resided on a farm as
tenants in common. The defendant, a resident of a neigh-
boring farm, sought consent from the son to enter onto
the land and cut timber, without seeking permission from
the mother or daughter. /d. at 436. As soon as the
mother and daughter learned of the defendant’s doings
on the premises, the mother notified the defendant to
“keep off the land.” /bid. Responding to a trespass

18

action, the defendant argued that he had received a
license from the son. The court held that, without valid
authority from the mother and sister, the son could not
“give a valid assent to the entry of the defendant upon
the premises for any such unlawful purpose.” /bid: See
also Moore v. Moore, 34 P. 90, 92 (Cal. 1893) (affirming
that one tenant-in-common’s “bare license” to “enter, oc-
cupy and cultivate” the land is not a defense to a suit for
ejectment, as “‘no action of a portion of several tenants in
common can impair the right of their cotenants’” (quot-

ing Mahoney v. Van Winkle, 21 Cal. 552, 553 (1863))).
Those cases, which deal with land, should make cases
like this one, which concern entry into the home over the
objection of a present cotenant, an a fortiori conclusion.
Just as one tenant cannot license strangers to enter and
use land to the detriment of the right of quiet enjoyment
of his cotenants, one tenant cannot license guests to enter
and destroy his cotenants’ quiet enjoyment of the home
over their objection. As explained below, that is par-
ticularly true in the context of marital tenancies. See pp.

21-22, infra.
3. The Rule Against Entry Over The Objection Of
A Present Occupant Serves Important Societal
Interests

The rule that a stranger cannot enter a home over the
objection of a present occupant serves numerous and
important social values.

First is keeping the peace. Where there is a dis-
agreement among cotenants about whether to permit a
licensee to enter, the risk of violence is greatly dimin-
ished if the status quo is maintained with the putative
licensee outside the home. As a Florida court observed,
“such a rule is more likely to promote peace and tran-
quility. When one of two joint occupants consents to a

search while the other is actively objecting, the

—_—_ *

19

possibility of an untoward confrontation cannot be
overlooked.” Lawton v. State, 320 So. 2d 463, 465 (Fla.
Dist. Ct. App. 1975). Faced with the potential for violent
confrontation, social custom and the law adhere to the
same principle: Where a co-equal inhabitant objects to
entry, entry is generally proscribed.

Second, the entry of strangers into the home creates
the potential for liability resulting from accidents or
dangerous conditions in the home. The risk of liability is
greater when the entrant is a licensee or invitee rather
than a trespasser. See W. Keeton et al., Prosser and
Keeton on the Law of Torts § 58, at 393 (5th ed. 1984).
Each cotenant who is present may be exposed to liability
because of accidents on the property. As a result, each
must be permitted to limit his liability by barring the
entry of strangers.

Third, the principle of self-determination and adher-
ence to the rule of law require the police to respect
individual choice. Just like anyone else in our society, the
police may seek voluntary consent to enter private
property. Under our system of government, the decision
whether to exclude—like many important and personal
decisions—is generally placed in the hands of the
individual rather than the government. When officers
seek consent to enter, that reinforces the sovereignty of
the individual over his personal property and private
affairs. See Erik Luna, Sovereignty and Suspicion, 48
Duke L.J. 789, 841 (1999). It sends an appropriate
message that, out of respect for individual sovereignty
and choice, the police no less than anyone else may seek
consent and arrive at an understanding that gives them
license to enter private premises. See Drayton, 536 U.S.
at 207.

Conversely, the police must respect the wishes of the
individual even if, contrary to their desires, the individual
withholds consent. (That excepts, of course, the consti-

20

tutionally provided alternative of seeking a warrant on
probable cause.) For the police openly to circumvent an
individual's express decision to refuse consent, without
resort to the legal process of seeking a warrant, under-
mines the sovereignty of the individual over his property
and the principle of individual choice. Moreover, it sends
precisely the wrong message-—that individual constitu-
tional choice will be respected only when it suits the
government’s purposes.

Fourth, and finally, there are important social in-
terests that arise where one deals with the marital
household. (We set aside for the moment the various
indications in the record that respondent’s wife, by virtue
of separating from respondent and relocating a thousand
miles away in Canada, had abandoned her status as co-
equal tenant and assumed the status of overnight guest—
indications that, if considered by this Court, would
compel affirmance. See pp. 28-30, infra.) As explained in
Roberts v. United States Jaycees, 468 U.S. 609, 618
(1984): “The Court has long recognized that, because the
Bill of Rights is designed to secure individual liberty, it
must afford the formation and preservation of certain
kinds of highly personal relationships a substantial mea-
sure of sanctuary from unjustified interference by the
State.” This same interest in the highly private and
sensitive marital relationship is also reflected in common-
law principles, such as the privilege afforded confidential
marital communications. See pp. 12-13, supra. In that
context, neither spouse may testify to private commu-
nications over the other’s objection. The same rule
should apply here. If one spouse objects to the other’s
proposed intrusion into marital privacy, that objection
should be sustained. Failure to object, of course, can
result in forfeiture of the right, as in Matlock itself. But
where the objection is made, it must be respected.

21

Property law, to the extent relevant, also reflects the
special nature of the marital relationship. At common
law, there were three predominant structures of con-
current ownership: tenancy in common, joint tenancy,
and tenancy by the entirety. Tenancy in common, the
most common form of concurrent ownership today, is
characterized by separate fractional ownership by each
tenant. United States v. Craft, 535 U.S. 274, 279-80
(2002). There are no restrictions on who may enter into a
tenancy in common, and tenants in common may uni-
laterally alienate their own shares or place encumbrances
upon those shares. /bid. A joint tenancy is similar in
many respecis: There are no restrictions on who may
enter into a joint tenancy, and each joint tenant enjoys
certain rights in the property, including the right to
exclude. /bid. Unlike a tenancy in common, however,
each joint tenant possesses the entire estate, rather than
a fractional share, and a joint tenant also has a right of
automatic inheritance known as “survivorship.” /bid. In
order for one joint tenant to alienate his interest in the
tenancy, the tenancy must be converted to a tenancy in
common, though most States facilitate such alienation.

Tenancy by the entirety, in contrast, is a “unique sort
of concurrent ownership that can only exist between
married persons.” Craft, 535 U.S. at 280-81 (citing 4 G.
Thompson, Real Property § 33.02 (D. Thomas ed. 1994)).
One of the chief characteristics of a tenancy by the
entirety is that it cannot be severed unilaterally; nor can
a tenant’s interests be conveyed, leased, or transferred
unilaterally. Instead, transfer typically requires the
consent of both spouses or the ending of marriage in
divorce. /d at 281. The ability of tenants by the entirety
to introduce strangers to the household by alienating
their interests is therefore more limited than in other
contexts. Tenants in common can sell their interest and
thereby inject strangers into the property unilaterally;

22

tenants by the entirety may not. 7 Powell on Real
Property §§ 50.06|4|, 52.03|4|. Following those same
principles, many States also hold that neither spouse may
encumber the marital property through separate debts.
Id. § 52.03|3}; e.g., Beal Bank, SSB v. Almand & Assocs.,
780 So. 2d 45, 53 (Fla. 2001) (“{WJhen property is held as
a tenancy by the entireties, only the creditors of both the
husband and wife, jointly, may attach the tenancy by the
entireties property; the property is not divisible on behalf
of one spouse alone, and therefore it cannot be reached to
satisfy the obligation of only one spouse.”).

Addressing the “typical” modern tenancy by the en-
tirety, this Court has concluded that it accords each
spouse an individual right to exclude. Craft, 535 U.S. at
282-83. Indeed, the Court relied on that as a basis for
determining that the husband had a sufficient interest in
an entireties property for it to be subject to a tax lien. /d.
at 283 (“In determining whether respondent’s husband
possessed ‘property’ or ‘rights to property’ within the
meaning of 26 U.S.C. § 6321, we look to the individual
rights created by *** state law rules. According to
Michigan law, respondent’s husband had * * * the
following rights with respect to the entireties property:
*** the right to exclude third parties from it * * * .”)
(emphasis added). Advocating the same position, the
United States observed that “[eJach spouse has separate
rights in the present use of the property,” U.S. Br. at 13,
United States v. Craft, 535 U.S. 274 (2002) (No. 00-1831)
(emphasis added), and characterized the “right of each
spouse ‘to exclude others’ from property held in a
tenancy by the entirety” as “‘one of the most essential
sticks in the bundle of rights that are commonly charac-
terized as property,’” id. at 14 (quoting Dolan, 512 U.S.
at 384) (emphasis added).

This Court, of course, has rejected the view that the
boundaries of lawful police conduct should be set by

23

reference to hoary rules of real property. Matlock, 415
U.S. at 172 n.7. One could hardly expect an officer on the
scene to make fine distinctions among tenants in com-
mon, joint tenants, and tenants by the entirety. But
constitutional limits on police invasions into personal
privacy are informed by the understandings society
shares and respects as legitimate, and property law often
reflects those principles. Here, there can be little dispute
that a stranger at the door is not licensed to push his way
into the house past an objecting cotenant, much less
press his way into the marital bedroom past an objecting
spouse, merely because another purports to consent.
The same rule should apply to the police.

4. The Property Cases Cited By Petitioner And Its
Amici Do Not Support A Contrary Rule

Respondent and its amici cannot seriously contest the
social custom and shared understanding described above.
Nowhere do they identify a social understanding that
strangers may push their way into the marital abode past
a present and objecting spouse at the putative invitation
of the other. Perhaps recognizing that defect, the United
States argues (in a footnote) that real property principles
in fact privilege individual cotenants to insert strangers
into the household over the objection of present and
objecting cotenants. U.S. Br. at 16 n.4.

The argument is not well founded. The cases and cited
authorities stand for a much more limited (and less
controversial) proposition. First, for the most part, they
address the situation where one “tenant in common”
invites a guest or business visitor onto the property with
the acquiescence of or in the absence of another tenant.
See Granger v. Postal Tele. Co., 50 S.E. 193 (S.C. 1905)
(where one tenant in common granted permission to
defendant company to construct and maintain telegraph
lines on the property with the knowledge and consent of

24

the plaintiff cotenant, there is no trespass); Dinsmore v.
Renfroe, 225 P. 886 (Cal. Ct. App. 1924) (plaintiffs,
tenants in common, not present and objecting to the
entry of a stranger). Those cases may recognize the
ability of cotenants to authorize entry despite “non-
consenting cotenants,” 86 C.J.S., Tenancy in Common
§ 135, at 391 (1997), but even that rule is far from
uniformly accepted, ibid. (“some authority” holds that “a
tenant in common cannot license a third person to enter
*** as against the rights of non-assenting cotenants”);
pp. 16-17, supra. In any event, those authorities merely
address “nonconsenting tenants,” i.e., cases where the
consent of another cotenant was not obtained before
entry. They do not address cases where, as here, the
other cotenant is present and expressly objects to entry
because it will interfere with his quiet enjoyment. The
rule for express objections is very different: A license to
enter is “valid only until one of the cotenants expresses
his dissent.” 2 Tiffany & Jones, supra, § 457, at 275.

Other cases support the corresponding rule that, once
an invitee has entered with valid permission, he cannot
be converted into a trespasser and forcibly ousted by a
late-arriving cotenant. See Causee v. Anders, 20 N.C.
388 (1839); Buchanan v. Jencks, 96 A. 307 (R.1. 1916); see
also 86 C.J.S., supra, at 391. That too is consistent with
social understandings and the dominant societal interest
in maintaining the peace. One who enters a home with
consent surely does not do so with the expectation that he
will be assaulted (as in Causee) if another tenant arrives
later and objects to the invitation. Nor does one who
enters under license expect to become the defendant in a
trespass action for damages merely because late-arriving
tenants disagree with the first tenant’s decision to admit
him (as in Jencks).

But that hardly suggests that an invitee can enter into
the home in the first place when another cotenant is

25

present and objecting to entry. None of the cases or
treatises cited by the United States articulate that rule;
they at best address the circumstance of a non-assenting
tenant who raises objections after the fact. Where a
cotenant is present and objects to entry, the cases
generally favor—consistent with the strong interest in
avoiding violent confrontation—preserving the status
quo and disallowing self-help to alter the situation. When
a cotenant is present and objecting, the visitor is not
permitted to push his way inside past the objector, since
such entry may create confrontation. Conversely, when
the visitor has already entered the premises, his “license”
may be withdrawn, but the dissenting cotenant cannot
engage in self-help to eject the visitor forcibly, as that too
could create the potential for undesirable confrontation.

Finally, the cases cited by the United States al! involve
tenants in common, not marital cotenants, and most
involve entry onto land rather than into the home.
Where the occupants are involved in the more intimate
marital relationship, the law is more protective of their
privacy and interests in the home. See pp. 21-23, supra.
It is, moreover, inconsistent with the respect society
accords the marital relationship for police to create or
exploit fissures in the marital bond by pitting spouses
against each other, seeking one spouse’s consent to
overturn the other’s refusal. This Court ought not adopt
a rule that encourages such tactics.

C. The Law Enforcement Interest Is Dwarfed By
The Corresponding Intrusion On Privacy, Safety,

And Other Societal Values
There can be no dispute that consent searches, as a
general matter, serve important law enforcement in-
terests. But that interest is certainly not so great that it
counsels in favor of extending the doctrine to validate
searches where the police ask the defendant for consent

26

and consent is withheld. Indeed, extending the concept
of consent that far would aid law enforcement only in
those cases where the interest in intruding on personal
privacy is particularly slight—where there is no probable
cause to suspect a crime and no exigency.

Where the police have a genuine need to enter the
home against the citizen’s wishes, the system established
by the Framers, as well as this Court’s cases, provide a
mechanism to accommodate that need. Where the
officers have probable cause, they may seek a warrant
and enter the home. Indeed, when it comes to entering
the home, there is a strong presumption in favor of
requiring officers to obtain a warrant issued on probable
cause by a neutral, detached judicial officer. Payton v.
New York, 445 U.S. 573, 586 (1980) (“It is a ‘basic
principle of Fourth Amendment law’ that search»s and
seizures inside a home without a warrant are pre-
sumptively unreasonable.” (quoting Coolidge v. New
Hampshire, 403 U.S. 443, 477-78 (1971))). Where there
are exigent circumstances such as hot pursuit, the police
may dispense with the warrant requirement and pursue
the fleeing suspect into the home. Warden, Md.
Penitentiary v. Hayden, 387 U.S. 294, 298 (1967). And
where the police fear that an individual—tipped off to
their presence by the request for consent or some other
event—may destroy evidence while they obtain a
warrant, the police may briefly detain that individual
outside the home to prevent such destruction while the
warrant is being obtained. ///inois v. McArthur, 531 U.S.
326, 333 (2001).

For that reason, petitioner (Br. at 17) errs in asserting
that the rule set forth by the Supreme Court of Georgia
would “thwart the ability of law enforcement officials to
locate and seize evidence of a crime before evidence is
destroyed.” This Court’s decisions already address that
circumstance. Where there is sufficient reason to believe

—— ow.

27

contraband is present, the officers can obtain a warrant.
And where there is sufficient reason to fear the evi-
dence’s destruction before a warrant can be obtained, as
in McArthur, supra, the police may act reasonably to
prevent the destruction.

Indeed, there appears to be only one circumstance in
which this Court’s cases would frustrate entry—where
the police cannot obtain a warrant issued on probable
cause and they lack sufficient grounds to seek war-
rantless entry by reason of exigent circumstance. But in
that circumstance—where the police do not have
sufficient grounds for believing that a crime is being
committed, and no exigency exists—the law enforcement
interest in entering the home is virtually nonexistent.
The police may have a sufficient interest to ask for
consent to search. But they do not have a sufficient
interest to warrant disregarding the citizen’s decision to
refuse that consent. That is particularly true where, as
here, the police seek to enter the most private of
locations, the home (and within it the bedroom). The
sanctity of the home protected by the Fourth Amend-
ment, the dominion our society affords citizens over their
property, and the principle of self-determination implicit
in the concept of consent should not be sacrificed for
what amounts to the scantest of law enforcement needs.

It therefore comes as no surprise that the leading
legal commentators have almost uniformly reached the
same conclusion as the Supreme Court of Georgia in this
case. “When two or more persons have equal use of a
place in which both are present, the consent of one does
not normally eliminate the need for the consent of the
other(s) before a search is made.” Weinreb, 42 U. Chi. L.
Rev. at 63; 4 Wayne R. LaFave, Search and Seizure
§ 8.3(d), at 159 (4th ed. 2004) (Requiring the consent of

_both occupants has “somewhat greater appeal” because

“the risk assumed by joint occupancy is merely an

28

inability to control access to the premises during one’s
absence.”); see also 4 Thompson on Real Property
§ 31.07(d), at 51 (David A. Thomas, ed., 2004) (“The
consent [of one joint tenant to a police search] is
generally not valid to permit a search if another joint
tenant, present at the same time, objects.”). That
conclusion is mandated by the social understandings that
society accepts as legitimate. It is reflected in principles
of real property law. It is supported by basic principles
of self-determination. And it is compelled by any sensible
balancing between individual liberty and law enforce-
ment need.

D. The Record Indicates That Mrs. Randolph’s Con-
nection To The Property Was Insufficient To
Elevate Her Decision Over Respondent’s

Finally, petitioner overlooks two other factors ren-
dering the search unreasonable in this case: Mrs.
Randoph’s attenuated relationship to the home, and
evidence that—whatever Mrs. Randolph’s relationship to
the home generally—the bedroom searched was not an
area under her common control.

1. While the Georgia Supreme Court resolved this
case under the assumption that Mrs. Randolph and her
husband had equal rights and control over the home, Pet.
App. 1, the record indicates that such was not the case—
and that the police knew that. As explained above, Mrs.
Randolph had separated from her husband and moved
hundreds of miles away, with her son and many of her
belongings, about a month before the search took place.
She had, moreover, recently returned for only a couple
days for the apparently limited purpose of collecting
additional belongings. See pp. 2-3, supra. Given her
separation from her husband, her abandonment of the
home, and the limited purpose of her return, Mrs.
Randolph was more akin to an overnight guest than a co-

wot

29

equal tenant, and her interest in the property was
therefore inferior to that of the home's principal
occupant, respondent.

It is well established that the consent of a mere visitor
is ineffective over the objection of the home’s primary
occupant. As a leading treatise explains, objection by a
present person with a superior interest trumps a consent
given by a person with an inferior interest. See 4
LaFave, supra, § 8.3(d), at 160 (“[A]n objection by the
person with the superior interest would prevail over a
consent given by a person with a lesser interest.”) (citing
cases); Lucero v. Donovan, 354 F.2d 16, 20-21 (9th Cir.
1966) (holding that police search was unlawful where a
“welcome visitor” consented to a warrantless search over
a resident’s protest and demand for a warrant). Here,
the police knew facts that, at the very least, cast doubt on
the extent of Mrs. Randolph’s interest in the property.
10/2/03 Tr. at 14-15. ;

This case, in any event, is utterly unlike //linois v.
Rodriguez, 497 U.S. 177 (1990). The police here did not
merely make a mistake of fact regarding whether some-
one was a cotenant (much less a mistake based on
misrepresentations by the person purporting to give
consent). Instead, the police willfully chose to ignore
respondent’s express and unequivocal decision to refuse
consent and to seek consent from another person instead.
Because the Fourth Amendment proscribes that effort to
bypass respondent’s decision, because it offends the
social understandings we all share, and because it under-
mines important social values (including respect for
individual sovereignty and maintaining the domestic
peace), that tactic cannot be upheld.

2. Petitioner’s position is defective for a second
reason. It is well established that a third party cannot
validly consent to the search of an area over which he has
ne common control, even if that area is within shared

30

premises. 4 LaFave, supra, § 8.3(e), at 167. In Matlock,
for example, this Court focused on whether the occu-
pant’s “relationship to the east bedroom” was sufficient
to afford him authority to give valid consent to a search
of that room. 415 U.S. at 167. The question thus was not
whether the occupant had control over the entire house
in general, but whether there was “common authority,”
“mutual use,” or “joint access or control” over the specific
location in question. /d. at 171 & n.7. Here, the record
evidence indicates that the bedroom where the police
found the straw and white residue was known to the
officer as “Mr. Randolph's bedroom,” not the couple’s
bedroom. Because it has not been established that Mrs.
Randolph had common control over the bedroom, her
consent cannot validate the search.

CONCLUSION

The judgment of the Supreme Court of Georgia should
be affirmed.

Respectfully submitted.

PAMELA HARRIS JEFFREY A. LAMKEN
CO-CHAIR, AMICUS COMMITTEE Counsel of Record
NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF HEATHER S. ALLEN
CRIMINAL DEFE? .E LAWYERS KEVIN T. JACOBS
1150 18th St. NW, Ste. 950 BAKER BOTTs L.L.P.
Washington DC 20036 1299 Pennsylvania Ave., NW
(202) 872-8600 Washington, D.C. 20004-2400
(202) 689-7700

Counsel for
National Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers

SEPTEMBER 1, 2005

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0069%3A09. Public record. Not legal advice.
